View Full Version : Scottish Independence
18-09-2014, 09:02 PM
Slam!!! The doors closed. Good luck guys!
18-09-2014, 09:05 PM
Slam!!! The doors closed. Good luck guys!
FLICK ME - All of a sudden we get a balanced news report on the BBC :fuming:
18-09-2014, 09:07 PM
I've got that cup final feeling.
Hope I don't feel like I usually do after cup finals tomorrow morning.
18-09-2014, 09:07 PM
YouGov have announced they will release the results of their on-the-day poll at 2230 hrs.
18-09-2014, 09:09 PM
I've got that cup final feeling.
Hope I don't feel like I usually do after cup finals tomorrow morning.
I feel more excited about this than any major hibs game I've been to combined. :aok:
18-09-2014, 09:09 PM
Good Luck Scotland. YES :aok:
18-09-2014, 09:10 PM
YouGov have announced they will release the results of their on-the-day poll at 2230 hrs.
That must have been the one I completed.
18-09-2014, 09:17 PM
Adam Boulton reckons that turnout might have been over 100% in some places. Dum-dum.
18-09-2014, 09:19 PM
According to Armando Iannucci:-
No exit poll but it'll be obvious if the TV announcer says 'And now the season finale of Simon Schama's 'A History of Britain.'
Its just been on BBC3!
18-09-2014, 09:20 PM
Its just been on BBC3!
How did it finish? :cb
18-09-2014, 09:21 PM
I feel more excited about this than any major hibs game I've been to combined. :aok:
Im thinking about a cup final I deluded myself into thinking we would win. I can't control the madness, but at least I'm aware of it! :greengrin
18-09-2014, 09:23 PM
Odds seems to be saying bookies think it's no. Yes on the drift, No going from 1/4 to 2/11 and even 1/7 in places.
They sometimes get it wrong though.
18-09-2014, 09:34 PM
YouGov on the day poll saying 54% No to 46% Yes.
18-09-2014, 09:34 PM
YouGov on the day poll saying 54% No to 46% Yes.
Is the fact that it's "recontacted" voters significant?
18-09-2014, 09:36 PM
What did it say on their previous poll?
18-09-2014, 09:37 PM
Not sure.
I'd assume that would be for trends and weighting purposes.
The sample size was 1828 and 800 postal votes.
18-09-2014, 09:37 PM
Might be a daft question but how does the overall result work?
Is it decided based on the 32 local authorities or is it based on individual votes?
18-09-2014, 09:38 PM
Is it decided based on the 32 local authorities or is it based on individual votes?
Individual votes.
18-09-2014, 09:40 PM
Individual votes
18-09-2014, 09:41 PM
Not sure.
I'd assume that would be for trends and weighting purposes.
The sample size was 1828 and 800 postal votes.
People on Twitter emphasising that this is not an exit poll.
It's, presumably, "some" of the people who have been polled before. Would that still exclude first-time voters?
The fact that it's a larger sample gives it a bit more credence IMO.
18-09-2014, 09:42 PM
Individual votes.
Individual votes
Cheers.
I thought so but was confused because I've seen a few places with 'Yes 0 - 0 No, 0/32'.
What did it say on their previous poll?
52:48 No.
Not sure. I'd assume that would be for trends and weighting purposes. The sample size was 1828 and 800 postal votes.
Can a sample size if 2,500 really be anywhere near accurate considering the turnout and no FPTP or other normally limiting factors?
Sure they try and get a fair representation / cross section but even so...
18-09-2014, 09:45 PM
Can a sample size if 2,500 really be anywhere near accurate considering the turnout and no FPTP or other normally limiting factors?
That's been my beef right from the start.
As PB says, though, it's to spot trends more than give an accurate prediction, IMO.
18-09-2014, 09:47 PM
In almost 4.3m votes. It could be a fair representaion, equally it could be miles out.
18-09-2014, 09:48 PM
I put a bet on at 3/1 about an hour ago. Its now 6/1...
18-09-2014, 09:49 PM
52:48 No.
Kellner from Youov saying 1 point increase in No accounted for by those switching from Yes to No (it was a re-contact of those in the last poll)
18-09-2014, 09:49 PM
I don't understand how the bookies know only 45mins after polls close.
18-09-2014, 09:51 PM
YouGov boss has said he is 99% sure it will be a No win.
My girlfriend is a 1st time voter but signed up for YouGov a few months ago on my advice and has been polled 3 times lately including today so don't think this is excluding 1st timers. Probably stands to reason that most people who complete YouGov polls will likely have some interest in current affairs and politics though so unlikely to be many 1st time voters.
18-09-2014, 09:52 PM
I just got 7/1 with skybet. I've got a feeling the bookies and pollsters are wrong on this one
18-09-2014, 09:54 PM
This is like Hibs going 1-0 down after five minutes.
18-09-2014, 09:54 PM
YouGov boss has said he is 99% sure it will be a No win.
My girlfriend is a 1st time voter but signed up for YouGov a few months ago on my advice and has been polled 3 times lately including today so don't think this is excluding 1st timers. Probably stands to reason that most people who complete YouGov polls will likely have some interest in current affairs and politics though so unlikely to be many 1st time voters.
Or pensioners.
18-09-2014, 09:58 PM
Haha, yeh it's exactly how I feel too.
Has any other country ever decided against independence before?
the_ginger_hibee
18-09-2014, 10:00 PM
Maybe a free-kick on the edge of the box to Hibs.... :greengrin
W.Hills
WAS 1/16
NOW 1/9
18-09-2014, 10:02 PM
Haha, yeh it's exactly how I feel too.
Has any other country ever decided against independence before?
Quebec. (Flag debate!)
18-09-2014, 10:10 PM
18-09-2014, 10:12 PM
9/2 for yes now
18-09-2014, 10:13 PM
Maybe a free-kick on the edge of the box to Hibs.... :greengrin
W.Hills
WAS 1/16
NOW 1/9
Free kick hits the wall and the break leads to a shot off the woodwork.
1/12 plays 7/1 on 365.
18-09-2014, 10:14 PM
There's going to be a lot of disappointed people on here in a few hours, I feel.
Cannot see any way that there's going to be a "Yes" outcome.
TheReg!
18-09-2014, 10:14 PM
Just put £20 on yes at 9/2.
May as well get something from the yes vote if it happens :aok:
18-09-2014, 10:17 PM
I'm now ****ting myself :(
The thought of being apart of the UK tomorrow is upsetting :(
18-09-2014, 10:19 PM
Grammar and spelling can completely change the meaning of a statement. :greengrin
18-09-2014, 10:22 PM
Grammar and spelling can completely change the meaning of a statement. :greengrin
No need to be a dick :aok:
18-09-2014, 10:25 PM
Irrespective of the result, you're going to be upset tomorrow.
18-09-2014, 10:25 PM
Postal vote sample from Edinburgh is 70/30 to No.
18-09-2014, 10:32 PM
Postal vote sample from Edinburgh is 70/30 to No.
i'm certainly not surprised at that, Edinburgh was always going to be a resounding no unfortunately (imo) it's about time Dundee was made the capital of Scotland :greengrin
18-09-2014, 10:34 PM
No need to be a dick :aok:
Funny, many people seem to think that :confused:
CyberSauzee
18-09-2014, 10:38 PM
I don't understand how the bookies know only 45mins after polls close.
Two things shifted this. YouGov poll news of a widening result in favour of No, plus massive liabilities the bookies have accrued on a No vote over the last 12+ months. Any hint of a No win will shift the prices so they don't accrue any more on a No vote.
ruthven_raiders
18-09-2014, 10:38 PM
@MrHarryCole: Reminded that YouGov were 14% out at the last referendum (AV)
You never know
Stranraer
18-09-2014, 10:44 PM
There's going to be a lot of disappointed people on here in a few hours, I feel.
I think you're right unfortunately. I'll be off here for a few days, sitting in my room listening to Margaret on the Guillotine and other cheerful Morrissey songs :rolleyes:
Stranraer
18-09-2014, 10:45 PM
@MrHarryCole: Reminded that YouGov were 14% out at the last referendum (AV)
You never know
Thank you for posting that, has given me some hope :)
18-09-2014, 10:47 PM
I think you're right unfortunately. I'll be off here for a few days, sitting in my room listening to Margaret on the Guillotine and other cheerful Morrissey songs :rolleyes:
Listen, let's remember that this is the internet.
Not one declaration has been made yet. Stay calm.
18-09-2014, 10:47 PM
Unless more people have voted Yes.... :greengrin
Gut feeling is these polls are usually right. No idea how small sample polls actually manage to predict but they usually do... It's affecting me a lot more than I thought it would tbh. Ive felt quite emotional at times today..Going to have to switch from sky as Adam Boulton et al are doing my nut in...
18-09-2014, 10:49 PM
We are on different sides tonight but I have watched you post the last few weeks and you should be proud of the part you played.
18-09-2014, 10:50 PM
I'v enjoyed your posts mate in the last few weeks. :aok:
ruthven_raiders
18-09-2014, 10:50 PM
Thank you for posting that, has given me some hope :)
Been looking thru twitter for some comfort. My wife has down yougov surveys for years and has never been asked to comment on the referendum, and she's a yes
18-09-2014, 10:52 PM
Gut feeling is these polls are usually right. No idea how small sample polls actually manage to predict but they usually do... It's affecting me a lot more than I thought it would tbh. Ive felt quite emotional at times today..Going to have to switch from sky as Adam Boulton et al are doing my nut in...
If he starts another interview with "In the event of a no vote" once more the telly is getting launched oot the windae!!! :grr:
18-09-2014, 10:53 PM
Can't grasp how the polls are indicating NO. Everywhere I go the support for YES is overwhelming. I don't get it, I really don't get it.
18-09-2014, 10:54 PM
We are on different sides tonight but I have watched you post the last few weeks and you should be proud of the part you played.
18-09-2014, 10:54 PM
BBC isn't much better, Alistair Carmichael couldnae wait to portray the Yes campaign as thugs and intimidatory. Failing to mention the yes guy stabbed in the face of course.
18-09-2014, 10:56 PM
BBC isn't much better, Alistair Carmichael couldnae wait to portray the Yes campaign as thugs and intimidatory. Failing to mention the yes guy stabbed in the face of course.
The guy at the party was funny, I've no idea what he was saying though
18-09-2014, 10:57 PM
The guy at the party was funny, I've no idea what he was saying though
Looked and sounded like he'd been joining in with the festivities, reckon that was a deliberate technical issue :greengrin
18-09-2014, 11:00 PM
@pjrarab: Right so Dundee first count has Yes at 71% now if that's confirmed we need to understand that just yesterday BT claimed Dundee was 54% NO!
Also landslide yes in Angus
18-09-2014, 11:02 PM
@pjrarab: Right so Dundee first count has Yes at 71% now if that's confirmed we need to understand that just yesterday BT claimed Dundee was 54% NO!
Also landslide yes in Angus
From my earlier exercise, don't think 71% would be enough for an overall Yes.
CyberSauzee
18-09-2014, 11:03 PM
I think Jackie Bird's dress has been outdone in the orange stakes by her day-glo tan.
ACLeith
18-09-2014, 11:03 PM
Can either side ask for a recount? :rolleyes:
18-09-2014, 11:05 PM
From my earlier exercise, don't think 71% would be enough for an overall Yes.
Cracking start though if true.
CyberSauzee
18-09-2014, 11:06 PM
Head of Ipsos-Mori Edinburgh think North Lanarkshire for Yes 52/48
https://twitter.com/SH_IpsosMORI/status/512735992432705536
Edit: reason for significance of this is it's a big population centre, and the bookies have had no idea what way it would go, so a potential good barometer of overall result.
18-09-2014, 11:07 PM
Steven Hope @SH_IpsosMORI (https://twitter.com/SH_IpsosMORI) · 14m (https://twitter.com/SH_IpsosMORI/status/512735992432705536) Talk of North Lanarkshire result by 1245. Will be key result. I have estimated it as a slim Yes win with 52% of the vote. #indyref (https://twitter.com/hashtag/indyref?src=hash)
even if it does finish as a no vote i hope voters continue to vote for the SNP in local elections etc etc, they are the ONLY party in Scotland that will fight for Scotland :agree: we can already thank them for forcing the three westminster stooges in to giving us more power(cough cough)
Yes making a comeback?
18-09-2014, 11:11 PM
Dumfries and Galloway expected 3-4am
18-09-2014, 11:13 PM
Yes making a comeback?
A comeback from what?? No counts have been confirmed. All speculation until the important stuff starts.
18-09-2014, 11:15 PM
http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_09_2014/post-12782-0-60925300-1411082013.jpg
18-09-2014, 11:15 PM
http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_09_2014/post-12782-0-60925300-1411082013.jpg
Always liked Dundee. Beautiful city.......
18-09-2014, 11:16 PM
Not enough, I reckon :)
18-09-2014, 11:16 PM
A comeback from what?? No counts have been confirmed. All speculation until the important stuff starts.
From being 1/20.
18-09-2014, 11:20 PM
YES Scotland @Independent_SCO (https://twitter.com/Independent_SCO) 5m (https://twitter.com/Independent_SCO/status/512741441852801024) STV reporting that North Ayrshire should be more than 55% in favour of a Yes vote. #indyref (https://twitter.com/hashtag/indyref?src=hash)
18-09-2014, 11:20 PM
YES Scotland @Independent_SCO (https://twitter.com/Independent_SCO) · 14s (https://twitter.com/Independent_SCO/status/512742899671252994) Yes sources increasingly confident of taking Scotland's biggest city: Glasgow.
18-09-2014, 11:22 PM
I had a dream last night...... Griffiths signed for us today in an independent Scotland...
:hyper::hyper::hyper::hyper::hyper::hyper::hyper:: hyper::hyper::hyper:
18-09-2014, 11:23 PM
1-1 after 15 minutes. Griffiths screamer.
18-09-2014, 11:24 PM
YES Scotland @Independent_SCO (https://twitter.com/Independent_SCO) · 21s (https://twitter.com/Independent_SCO/status/512743731632422912) The first #IndyRef (https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndyRef?src=hash) result could be announced within the next hour.
18-09-2014, 11:24 PM
From being 1/20.
Lol..... Ma bad... :idiot:
18-09-2014, 11:25 PM
YES Scotland @Independent_SCO (https://twitter.com/Independent_SCO) · 14s (https://twitter.com/Independent_SCO/status/512742899671252994) Yes sources increasingly confident of taking Scotland's biggest city: Glasgow.
How reliable is this info? On a scale of 1-10, 1 being not very and 10 being solid.
18-09-2014, 11:28 PM
Rupert Murdoch Tweets : EXIT polls sound very ominous for yes...Cameron and Miliband must keep their promises and not weasel out'
18-09-2014, 11:28 PM
Ok.... I know I have been fannying about but my honest opinion is the polls have got this massively wrong and there will be a landslide yes vote..... Oh... And come home sparky.. :thumbsup:
18-09-2014, 11:29 PM
Rupert Murdoch Tweets : EXIT polls sound very ominous for yes...Cameron and Miliband must keep their promises and not weasel out'
Tell him it's not a freaking exit poll. :rolleyes:
18-09-2014, 11:30 PM
took me 5 mins to copy that from the ticker thingy on STV :grr:
18-09-2014, 11:30 PM
:faf::faf::faf::faf:
18-09-2014, 11:31 PM
serious road crash on A9 Delays Highland count by 90 mins
brythehibby
18-09-2014, 11:33 PM
Can the polls be taken at face value? Have they polled people in poverty and lower society? The yes camp have put a lot of effort on the ground to get these people to turn up and vote and it could be the difference IMO.
I'm still hopeful. As someone said yougov got it 14% out in general elections, that was with a 60% turnout. The bigger the turnout the wider the error of margin I would assume. I've not given up hope just yet.
Did you just see that on Sky news? Did I imagine it?
Looked and sounded like he'd been joining in with the festivities, reckon that was a deliberate technical issue :greengrin
He did, he looked half cut :greengrin
ChicagoHibee
18-09-2014, 11:34 PM
Watching across the pond here and I've probably had too much Caol Ila 12, but Sarah Smith is looking good tonight.
18-09-2014, 11:35 PM
More specific please...
18-09-2014, 11:35 PM
See what?
18-09-2014, 11:36 PM
BBC News saying Falkirk is expected to go no.
18-09-2014, 11:36 PM
BBC News saying Falkirk is expected to go no.
That's a biggie.
18-09-2014, 11:37 PM
A big pile of No papers on a No table, when there was clearly Yes papers on the table.
18-09-2014, 11:37 PM
Ruth Davidson admitted it looks like they have lost North Lanarkshire
18-09-2014, 11:38 PM
could be declaration for East Lothian approx 2:30am, no's confident of a 60% vote
18-09-2014, 11:38 PM
Ruth Davidson is looking horny tonight or is it my cheap "Goldkrone" brandy's aphrodisiac qualities?
18-09-2014, 11:43 PM
0031 if you have Sky news on and can rewind.
18-09-2014, 11:44 PM
Ruth Davidson is looking horny tonight or is it my cheap "Goldkrone" brandy's aphrodisiac qualities?
Holy ****!!! I'm a massive YES but on that one I'm a big ****ing NAW!!!! :shocked:
18-09-2014, 11:46 PM
A big pile of No papers on a No table, when there was clearly Yes papers on the table.
Just seen a picture of that in Facebook.
18-09-2014, 11:47 PM
0031 if you have Sky news on and can rewind.
The middle bunch definitely has a YES on top. Well spotted.
the_ginger_hibee
Can you post on here for the hibs.net masses?
Its a 100% Yes vote on a No table.
18-09-2014, 11:48 PM
Can you post on here for the hibs.net masses?
https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152271186742186&id=619722185&set=a.449727822185.247222.619722185&source=48
18-09-2014, 11:49 PM
Its a 100% Yes vote on a No table.
Yes
If the twitter map is anything to go by it'll be a landslide for yes.
Pollsters on now saying they'll have to check things out after the event which seems to say they know bugger all.
The middle bunch definitely has a YES on top. Well spotted.
As a No maybe I should have kept it quiet! Another pile of Yes on the left hand side as well.
Police investigating electoral fraud in Glasgow? Reported on Stv
18-09-2014, 11:50 PM
If the twitter map is anything to go by it'll be a landslide for yes.
Pollsters on now saying they'll have to check things out after the event which seems to say they know bugger all.
Not many OAPs on twitter tweeting their support for No so means nothing.
18-09-2014, 11:53 PM
As a No maybe I should have kept it quiet! Another pile of Yes on the left hand side as well.
Yes Dundee tweeting that papers have not yet been sorted and are just resting on that table.
18-09-2014, 11:54 PM
Apparently that's just piles of papers resting on a no table waiting to be sorted.
18-09-2014, 11:55 PM
Yes Dundee tweeting that papers have not yet been sorted and are just resting on that table.
Good its clarified.
18-09-2014, 11:57 PM
jackie bird is hotter than the sun............FACT :drool:
18-09-2014, 11:59 PM
Not many OAPs on twitter tweeting their support for No so means nothing.
Should have put a smiley on the end of the twitter thing. (never use it myself)
19-09-2014, 12:03 AM
Salmond cancelled his appearance at the Aberdeen count.
19-09-2014, 12:04 AM
Am I reading right on the BBC ticker that No believe they have secured 62% of the vote based on a 12000 sample?
That's unbelievable and hugely disappointing if I am reading right.
19-09-2014, 12:06 AM
Pretty stinking turn out for dundee
19-09-2014, 12:07 AM
Very poor considering it's such a big Yes city.
Try comparing it to the normal turn out at elections. It's still a superb turn out.
Really poor by the standards of this election. Dundee should be a big Yes city so maybe starting to prove Better Together done a better job of getting their vote out and mobilised.
19-09-2014, 12:14 AM
Really poor by the standards of this election. Dundee should be a big Yes city so maybe starting to prove Better Together done a better job of getting their vote out and mobilised.
I'm starting to think that the last minute panic with Cameron, Clegg and Milliband was maybe better planned than it first appeared - maybe it swayed a lot of the "not sure" brigade.
19-09-2014, 12:18 AM
West Lothian turnout 86%
some 'glum' faces on the YES team in Stirling
19-09-2014, 12:19 AM
They're starting to paint a fairly bleak picture for Yes on the BBC coverage, still no declarations for a while though so still hope.
19-09-2014, 12:20 AM
How can they know enough to be glum when nothing's been counted yet? Seems a little strange.
19-09-2014, 12:20 AM
What does Salmond do if there is a hefty defeat for Yes? Does he resign or does he stand by his record in the Scottish Parliament and fight on?
19-09-2014, 12:22 AM
How can they know enough to be glum when nothing's been counted yet? Seems a little strange.
The counts are well under way now and both camps are allowed to observe how it's going. They will be well aware if they are looking like they are falling short
19-09-2014, 12:23 AM
Salmond cancelled his appearance at the Aberdeen count.
Saw that.
Not appearing at his local count is poor IMO.
the_ginger_hibee
Yes/No reps will be watching over all counts, taking notes and personal counts which will be spread internally. Poll figures and turnouts in certain areas also won't help the Yes mood. Very different look in the Better Together party.
**** me Sky aren't half making a meal out of the suspected election fraud surrounding 4 ballot papers.
19-09-2014, 12:24 AM
Salmond apparently couldn't get his flight to Aberdeen due to fog, although thought he was already in Aberdeen? Driving to Edinburgh now.
19-09-2014, 12:24 AM
STV's reporting that it looks like 'No' for Clackmananshire, announcement imminent.
They're starting to paint a fairly bleak picture for Yes on the BBC coverage, still no declarations for a while though so still hope.
I've noticed that as well.
Is it just me or is the BBC coverage showing a bit of bias? The chair seems to be sneering and trying to ridicule the SNP guy.
19-09-2014, 12:25 AM
Saw that.
He must be shattered. Not seen any of the better together heavy weights either.
19-09-2014, 12:25 AM
What does Salmond do if there is a hefty defeat for Yes? Does he resign or does he stand by his record in the Scottish Parliament and fight on?
He;s taken 30 years to get to this stage and still leads the biggest party in the land. British politics is in for a big shake up whichever way it goes, so I think he'll be around for a while yet.
19-09-2014, 12:26 AM
Yeah the Yes folk they've had on, he keeps interrupting them.
Dundee account stopped due to a fire alarm.
Saw that.
If it was a normal constituency based election I would agree but it's not. I am no fan of his but when he does appear it should be to address the entire nation as our First Minister.
19-09-2014, 12:27 AM
Alex Salmond will resign before lunchtime tomorrow. Sturgeon will step in assuming she wants what will become a nothing job really. SNP deid now for 50 years.
Cameron to make statement by breakfast time and he is now in a real sticky wicket as he will probably not get backbench support for devo max....unless he makes bigger constitutional change that favours England.
Interesting to see what Gordon Brown does next as well.
UK can probably expect big changes in next 12-24 months.
19-09-2014, 12:28 AM
I'm starting to think that the last minute panic with Cameron, Clegg and Milliband was maybe better planned than it first appeared - maybe it swayed a lot of the "not sure" brigade.
Some may disagree but Devo Max was always the most popular option, ahead of Independence. That tells me the people did not want full independence but they were pushed into a corner when it was not included as an option. As the Yes campaign gained momentum it looked good for the Yes voters but at the end of the day it looks like the people have spoken and it's a No to independence.
He must be shattered. Not seen any of the better together heavy weights either.
Really? :greengrin
He's never been involved in an election before?
He was scheduled to appear, why did he cancel?
Clackmannanshire goes No.
35410 votes turnout 88.6%
Yes: 16350 No: 19036 rejected: 24
54% No 46% Yes.
That was one Yes really wanted to take. Bad news.
clackmannanshire declares
YES- 16,350
NO- 19,036
19-09-2014, 12:29 AM
That's a 54:46 split, bollox. Still, a wee county so all is not lost.
19-09-2014, 12:30 AM
If it was a normal constituency based election I would agree but it's not. I am no fan of his but when he does appear it should be to address the entire nation as our First Minister.
I would accept and agree with that but he was scheduled to attend until this evening, I understand. Why the cancellation?
19-09-2014, 12:32 AM
jackie bird is hotter than the sun............FACT :drool:
Its so far from being a fact its ridiculous!
19-09-2014, 12:32 AM
He;s taken 30 years to get to this stage and still leads the biggest party in the land. British politics is in for a big shake up whichever way it goes, so I think he'll be around for a while yet.
The SNPs core reason for being is to all intents and purposes dead in the water for the forseeable future.
I think he has to go.
Ach it's full of Huns anyway so no surprise.
Next :greengrin
19-09-2014, 12:34 AM
It's less than 1% of the vote, don't think we should be reading too much into it.
19-09-2014, 12:36 AM
Created with boundary changes to increase the tory vote - less than 1% of the population so no bed wetting yet please:greengrin
19-09-2014, 12:39 AM
Exactly. The greater Pilton area could claw that back. Good start for the no but.
The SNPs core reason for being is to all intents and purposes dead in the water for the forseeable future.
I think he has to go.
He still has good support within his party and I'd be surprised if got ousted. Even if he loses, Scotland still gets more powers so he'll spin it as win win. One battle in the war etc. He got here by gradualism, can't see him changing tack now.
It's less than 1% of the vote, don't think we should be reading too much into it.
Had a Yes rating of 10 though and has been SNP for years in the Scottish Parliament and a straight shoot between Labour and the SNP at Westminster.
It's a blow to lose that one.
19-09-2014, 12:41 AM
Gordon Chree @gordonchree (https://twitter.com/gordonchree) 12m (https://twitter.com/gordonchree/status/512760033478590465) SNP sources believe it looks like No has won West Lothian 53-47 #scotdecides (https://twitter.com/hashtag/scotdecides?src=hash)
Had a Yes rating of 10 though and has been SNP for years in the Scottish Parliament and a straight shoot between Labour and the SNP at Westminster.
It's a blow to lose that one.
Tory voters switched to SNP for local elections - not such a big surprise.
There is no question that YES should have won Clacks. Basically a 35,000 person opinion poll.
No will win this by 8-10% overall.
19-09-2014, 12:43 AM
There is no question that YES should have won Clacks. Basically a 35,000 person opinion poll.
I'd agree with this.
Can see a comfortable No win. Not just based on one result. Very early on the mood coming from different camps in elections becomes clear and the sounds and signs coming from Yes are sombre.
19-09-2014, 12:44 AM
He still has good support within his party and I'd be surprised if got ousted. Even if he loses, Scotland still gets more powers so he'll spin it as win win. One battle in the war etc. He got here by gradualism, can't see him changing tack now.
I'd be amazed. He has poured all his energy into Independence for his whole career. It is his and his party's reason for being.
He has lost the argument. He will resign tomorrow.
19-09-2014, 12:45 AM
I live in Clackmannanshire and I'm strongly Yes. I agree, there's no doubt if we were to win independence then we needed to win Clacks. Not only did we need to win it but we needed to win it well.
19-09-2014, 12:46 AM
rumours we have won north lanarkshire.
19-09-2014, 12:46 AM
Forgetting the vote for a minute, I should like Labour, but every time Joanne Lamont opens her mouth I cringe big time, how can she be in charge of a national party?:confused:
19-09-2014, 12:47 AM
Yes unofficially conceding West Lothian 55-45.
the_ginger_hibee
19-09-2014, 12:47 AM
West Lothian set to be No 53% - Yes 47% according to BBC via SNP council group.
the_ginger_hibee
19-09-2014, 12:48 AM
Yes unofficially conceding West Lothian 55-45.
West Lothian set to be No 53% - Yes 47% according to BBC via SNP council group.
54 - 46 then ?
ChicagoHibee
19-09-2014, 12:48 AM
This blows.....I'm finishing my bottle of Caol Ila 12 and heading to bed.
19-09-2014, 12:50 AM
Who is this UKIP fud?
The dead hand of socialism is killing Scotland apparently and what we need is a good dose of capitalism.
****ing erse.
19-09-2014, 12:51 AM
Balls, clinging to straws but these are still small constituencies, if we're still close before Glasgow/Aberdeen then it's all to play for.
19-09-2014, 12:52 AM
that's the way i see it as well :agree: even if yes ends up with 46% of the total vote that's nearly 50%(i said nearly :wink:) of scots wanting to break away from the UK, the war goes on, the SNP will do far more for this country than any puppet Scottish Labour party will ever do, not looking forward to Johann Lamont finally coming out from that shadow she's been hiding behind whilst her puppet master down in westminster visited Scotland to beg
19-09-2014, 12:53 AM
If Yes are losing by these margins in Clacks and West Lothian then they are heading for a real doing in Edinburgh.
Have to say I am really surprised at the level of support for No. Didn't think it would be so high.
Time for bed I think. BBC Scotland chat starts to open up wounds and politicians talking over each other in usual back to type and irritating way.
19-09-2014, 12:59 AM
Rumours of 58% No in Fife
**** this i'm off to bed.
19-09-2014, 01:02 AM
Orkney:
Turnout: 14907 83.7%
Yes: 4883 No: 10004 67% No.
58-42 overall now.
Orkney no vote.
the_ginger_hibee
Rumours of 58% No in Fife
**** this i'm off to bed.
Yes hammered in Orkney. 67-32
19-09-2014, 01:04 AM
Flog Orkney of to Norway or Iceland :agree::greengrin
Was that expected?
Orkney was an expected No vote as far as I'm aware.
Shetland and Orkney are always going to vote No.
the_ginger_hibee
19-09-2014, 01:05 AM
Was that expected?
Lib Dem stronghold; margin could have been tighter but NO vote expected.
Was that expected?
It was the region most likely to vote no
total scores on the doors
YES- 21,233
No- 29,040
Was that expected?
Yes! Lib/Dem safe seat.
19-09-2014, 01:06 AM
Was that expected?
A No was expected but bigger margin that anyone predicted.
19-09-2014, 01:06 AM
total scores on the doors
YES- 21,233
No- 29,040
Only about 4 million to go!
19-09-2014, 01:08 AM
Was that expected?
Huge landslide vote for the Lib-Dems at last election
19-09-2014, 01:10 AM
see that johann lamont, she's great at interrupting others on the panel when they are speaking, but puts her hand up asking to finish what she's slavering her usual p@sh
19-09-2014, 01:12 AM
Flog Orkney of to Norway or Iceland :agree::greengrin
Sounds good to me!!! Most of them want to be independant from Scotland!!! Hypocrites. :wink:
blaikie
19-09-2014, 01:18 AM
Sitting in my balcony in Kos watching the updates as they come in! I wouldn't even do this for the football!
Hopefully Yes vote prevails shakey start but not lost far from it!
19-09-2014, 01:21 AM
Sitting in my balcony in Kos watching the updates as they come in! I wouldn't even do this for the football!
Thats the spirit blaikie!!! Keep the faith.... But Dinnae rub it in telling us yer sitting on yer balcony in Kos....:wink:
19-09-2014, 01:25 AM
Political "Happy Clapper". ****in booooo!
19-09-2014, 01:41 AM
Anybody on a balcony in Bulgaria?
19-09-2014, 01:41 AM
Shetland:
Yes: 5669 No: 9961
64-36
19-09-2014, 01:42 AM
Shetland vote no
the_ginger_hibee
19-09-2014, 01:44 AM
Anybody on a balcony in Bulgaria?
:faf::greengrin:thumbsup:
Ma tears, they're full o' pride.
19-09-2014, 01:44 AM
3/32 declared
YES- 26,902
feardies/orange lodge members/islanders/standard life employees - 38,991
:(
19-09-2014, 01:47 AM
i'm kinda hoping Dundee has a total eloctorate of 2,000,000 :greengrin
19-09-2014, 01:48 AM
John Swinney all but concedes Perth and Kinross to the No campaign. With Edinburgh looking like a 60/40 for No think it's all but over.
19-09-2014, 01:49 AM
West Lothian looking likely 53% naw
19-09-2014, 01:49 AM
I'm struggling to keep watching Sky's coverage of this.... Just for the fact Adam Boulton's smug puss is doing my box in!!!!! :grr:
the_ginger_hibee
19-09-2014, 01:50 AM
John Swinney all but concedes Perth and Kinross to the No campaign. With Edinburgh looking like a 60/40 for No think it's all but over.
BT chairman confident of Midlothian and Falkirk.
19-09-2014, 01:50 AM
No suprise with Perth.
Was a Tory area, and a strong one at that, for years and the recent shift to the SNP maybe painted a false picture.
It's really a case of how big a margin for No now.
I've argued for a few years now that the SNPs strong showing in Holyrood elections was false, as the result at the last general election showed. It's annoying to be proved right, to some extent, in such a soul destroying way.
19-09-2014, 01:51 AM
Ach well, no payrise for another decade.
19-09-2014, 01:53 AM
Whilest various people have valid and solid reasons to vote no, seems some folk will believe Hibs style quality over quantity pish lies, genuinely gutted so far but ce la vie we just have to get on with it
speedy_gonzales
19-09-2014, 02:00 AM
BT chairman confident of Midlothian and Falkirk.
Falkirk looks good for a YES, a colleague has been campaigning there for weeks and keeps running out of flyers, flags, pamphlets. She's also involved in the count there, she's been on FaceBook to say it's looking good for a YES, we'll wait and see though.
the_ginger_hibee
19-09-2014, 02:01 AM
Falkirk looks good for a YES, a colleague has been campaigning there for weeks and keeps running out of flyers, flags, pamphlets. She's also involved in the count there, she's been on FaceBook to say it's looking good for a YES, we'll wait and see though.
Here's hoping :agree:
Western Isles votes no
Western Isles
YAY- 9,195
NAY-10,544
the_ginger_hibee
19-09-2014, 02:02 AM
Western Isles votes no
That was an achievable Yes.
19-09-2014, 02:02 AM
Western Isles
YAY- 9,195
NAY-10,544
Was that expected?
19-09-2014, 02:03 AM
Was that expected?
Nope.
Yes would have wanted that one. Almost a banker.
Was that expected?
An utter bloody doing so far.
Not quite sure how I feel about all this, might need a few days to calm myself cause don't wanna look like a fud losing the head on social media.
4/32 declared
Yes- 36,097
naw- 49,535
Was that expected?
unfortunately...nope
19-09-2014, 02:05 AM
Just back from the parliment with my mates. Unreal scenes up there, absolute heaving.
19-09-2014, 02:06 AM
Still only 13k votes in it. While I firmly believe No will win, that can turn round in a second.
ChicagoHibee
19-09-2014, 02:06 AM
I'm hoping for a Dewey defeats Truman moment.....but this is not looking good.
19-09-2014, 02:07 AM
whats with all this sampling boxes and looking at votes is all this allowed?
19-09-2014, 02:08 AM
Of course. Same in every election.
19-09-2014, 02:11 AM
All areas announced this far count for a small percentage of the vote. Although I'm hoping that it's largely indicative of the general mindset, especially considering that a couple of areas were considered yes territory.
19-09-2014, 02:12 AM
Jeezo.... Talking about smug little pricks..... As if by magic houndation of farts Ian Murray appears on ma telly!!!! :grr:
19-09-2014, 02:13 AM
All areas announced this far count for a small percentage of the vote. Although I'm hoping that it's largely indicative of the general mindset, especially considering that a couple of areas were considered yes territory.
Looking good for No, winning the Western Isles was never expected.
(((Fergus)))
19-09-2014, 02:15 AM
More concerned about these fire alarms in Dundee.
Still only 13k votes in it. While I firmly believe No will win, that can turn round in a second.
exactly, although i'm still expecting the no's to triumph they are only 13,500 votes ahead, 53% against 47%, just under half of the votes not wanting to be part of the UK, at the very least hopefully augers well for the continuation of an SNP party in power at Holyrood, it's just going to take a little longer for the war to be won :greengrin
Looking good for No, winning the Western Isles was never expected.
Rumours circulating of a close call in Glasgow and a landslide No in Edinburgh as well.
19-09-2014, 02:18 AM
An SNP guy on STV (Andrew Wilson) already speaking like it's a done deal. :-(
19-09-2014, 02:19 AM
Of course. Same in every election.
im usually sleeping by now :aok:
19-09-2014, 02:19 AM
Claire Stewart on STV has stepped up her game at least :eek::love ya!:
(((Fergus)))
19-09-2014, 02:21 AM
Sterling rising on the news
19-09-2014, 02:23 AM
Come oan Dundee!!!! Give me something to smile about....:thumbsup:
capitals_finest
19-09-2014, 02:24 AM
Hamden feeling for me. Excitement quickly turning into disappointment.
19-09-2014, 02:24 AM
Morning to you all - I'm listening here this evening to Radio 5 Live and reading your posts for updates as the Californian/US tv is full of football and local news and endless advertising - early doors yet, looking good for no, but there's a long way to go. Easy for me to stay awake - it's only 7:20, I'm off for a meal, some decent wine and then I hope to be updated on the situation back home by this lot of "independence lovers" - failing that, you guys and the Beeb. Seems Glasgow had a lower turnout than in general (anyone surprised by that?)
19-09-2014, 02:26 AM
just did the exact same on bbc
19-09-2014, 02:29 AM
He made the point that I made earlier in that Devo Max was always the preferred option for people, even above independence. That is what we have now been promised. People were forced into a corner as it was not on the ballot paper but if this was the preferred option then did the people really want independence?
19-09-2014, 02:30 AM
Come oan Dundee!!!! Give me something to smile about....:thumbsup:
the one sure YES one, and it's had two fire alarms :rolleyes:
19-09-2014, 02:33 AM
Need a city to vote yes if independence is to happen.
Scotland looking like the peculiar case of a country that refused its own independence... Quebec voted against leaving Canada in 1995 but far as I know it never had nation status...
the one sure YES one, and it's had two fire alarms :rolleyes:
:smokin
Predicted 60-40 No in East Lothian.
19-09-2014, 02:34 AM
inverclyde declared
yes- 27,243 = 49.9%
no- 27,329 = 50.1%
kin unbelievable
19-09-2014, 02:35 AM
Inverclyde 27243 yes 27329 no Tight
shankssaysno
19-09-2014, 02:36 AM
Who's Eilean Siar?
Isle of lewis
speedy_gonzales
19-09-2014, 02:37 AM
Here's hoping :agree:
Insider is saying 54% to YES, going through spoilt ballots now. Don't shoot me if I'm wrong though!
19-09-2014, 02:37 AM
scores on the doors
yes= 63,340
no= 76,864
19-09-2014, 02:38 AM
Come on Dundee :thumbsup: