View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread
05-01-2023, 05:08 PM
That'll make even more Hibs fans krankie....
05-01-2023, 05:21 PM
Dunno what's more cringe about that, the use of Hoots Mon Och Aye hilarious fake Scots or the fact that trialists haven't been eligible for competitive fixtures since about 1980.
Donegal Hibby
05-01-2023, 05:23 PM
That'll make even more Hibs fans krankie....
Though if he scores and we win HH , our fans will be FAN- DABI-DOZI :thumbsup:. 😂
05-01-2023, 05:32 PM
Shinnie is a cracking signing for the sheep. Someone we're crying out for
05-01-2023, 05:33 PM
Dunno what's more cringe about that, the use of Hoots Mon Och Aye hilarious fake Scots or the fact that trialists haven't been eligible for competitive fixtures since about 1980.
I'm just happy with the imaginary scene where someone has to take Ian Gordon to one side and explain to him who the Krankies are etc...
MKHIBEE
05-01-2023, 05:39 PM
I'm just happy with the imaginary scene where someone has to take Ian Gordon to one side and explain to him who the Krankies are etc...
Hopefully before he signs them up
05-01-2023, 05:39 PM
Hopefully before he signs them up
Don't.
05-01-2023, 05:43 PM
Think their manager actually helped him get a move to Hibs in some way.
Yep think he might have been his agent at one time.
05-01-2023, 05:45 PM
Exactly the sort of player we need
Hates losing can play and can double up as a referee also :greengrin
05-01-2023, 05:47 PM
And in a position we are crying out for, perhaps Henderson will come good. :boo hoo:
05-01-2023, 05:49 PM
Don't.Cannae see it happening, not once someone explains to him that wee Jimmy isn't just small because he's on the telly.
Now, if Burney Nesbitt comes up on football manager..............
Cletus
05-01-2023, 06:02 PM
What a farce. Aberdeen linked with Shinnie, Hearts linked with this Aussie ‘wonderkid’. Meanwhile we’re sat in the bottom half of the league, linked with nobody of note and on the verge of losing one of our best players for next to nothing. Utterly hopeless.
05-01-2023, 06:16 PM
What a farce. Aberdeen linked with Shinnie, Hearts linked with this Aussie ‘wonderkid’. Meanwhile we’re sat in the bottom half of the league, linked with nobody of note and on the verge of losing one of our best players for next to nothing. Utterly hopeless.
Just because we haven’t been linked publicly with anyone doesn’t mean we haven’t identified targets and are making steps to get them signed up. I’d be gobsmacked if we weren’t.
05-01-2023, 06:18 PM
Just because we haven’t been linked publicly with anyone doesn’t mean we haven’t identified targets and are making steps to get them signed up. I’d be gobsmacked if we weren’t.
We’ve been linked with the boy from Burnley.
32 year old centre half, can’t remember his name though.
Daniel 1875
05-01-2023, 06:18 PM
Aberdeen have just announced Shinnie - quick turnaround. Loan until end of season
05-01-2023, 06:19 PM
It's January, the worst month of the year. I come on here for my hair-shirt of doom and gloom, and you have to spoil it with balanced and rational posts.
Do one.
We’ve been linked with the boy from Burnley.
32 year old centre half, can’t remember his name though.
Kevin Long
05-01-2023, 06:20 PM
Aberdeen have just announced Shinnie - quick turnaround. Loan until end of season
Doing business early with key games coming up …. Why they doing that
05-01-2023, 06:20 PM
Dunno why folk are complaining about not being linked with anyone...does anyone really trust the recruitment dept to get it right?
Paulie Walnuts
05-01-2023, 06:21 PM
Unfortunately that could be the signing of the window imo.
chippy
05-01-2023, 06:23 PM
So who’s selecting the targets you think we might be after? A manager who could be sacked in 4 days, a recruitment team that’s being re structured doubtless with a new chief , the tea lady ???
05-01-2023, 06:23 PM
McKirdy-tastic. After the last 5 transfer windows my gob is feeling pretty repeatedly smacked.
05-01-2023, 06:24 PM
So who’s selecting the targets you think we might be after? A manager who could be sacked in 4 days, a recruitment team that’s being re structured doubtless with a new chief , the tea lady ???
One man and his FM keyboard...
I’d have more faith in the tea lady at this moment in time!!
The new DOF?
05-01-2023, 06:26 PM
I have no idea. I’m hoping that even our dysfunctional recruitment system is at least trying to fix things. They have to be.
05-01-2023, 06:28 PM
Shinnie in at Aberdeen - quality addition - would be up there with our best midfielders
There are more than a few .netters that I'd like to see gobsmacked. Repeatedly. (not you I might add)
I’d love plays in early but not being linked in the media doesn’t mean much, we’ve signed plenty lately with little to no notice.
Think of last January too - Clarke, Henderson and Melkersen announced in the first couple of days.
I’m hoping for a quality centre back and creative centre mid minimum.
Someone mentioned Van Veen too and I think he’s someone that would be cheap and make a fair difference. He can score, hold it up and create. He makes defenders defend
05-01-2023, 06:29 PM
I’d have more faith in the tea lady at this moment in time!!
The new DOF?
if she had any close association with our club for a long time i imagine Ron would have got shot of her and installed a hot drinks machine
Percy Vere
05-01-2023, 06:35 PM
Our recruitment department are working 24/7 to unearth a few gems. Dinna worry.
05-01-2023, 06:37 PM
Can imagine this transfer window thread to follow the pattern of the last few. Majority of posts will be updates about who other teams are signing whilst we don’t look like making moves.
Maybe the club are holding out see how the next 3 games go incase they have to sack another manager.
Our recruitment department are working 24/7 to unearth a few gems. Dinna worry.
The Mozambique pro league are panicking at the thought of losing their star players.
Scotty Leither
05-01-2023, 06:38 PM
Dunno why folk are complaining about not being linked with anyone...does anyone really trust the recruitment dept to get it right?
Maybe the manager, his assistant, and Steve Kean can pool their respective contacts and knowledge base to come up with even two imaginative loan deals?
I’ll venture they’re not allowed to unless Ian clears it with his faither, on that note does anyone even know if Gordon Snr is in the country, and indeed was he in attendance at the Derby?
Willis1875
05-01-2023, 06:41 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-has-already-spoken-to-players-not-in-his-plans-insists-hibs-midfielder-3976265
Bridge hibs
05-01-2023, 06:45 PM
So who’s selecting the targets you think we might be after? A manager who could be sacked in 4 days, a recruitment team that’s being re structured doubtless with a new chief , the tea lady ???Does it matter who we are linked with or who we will reportedly sign, makes no difference because the fun sponges on here will still find something to moan their ****ing tits off about
05-01-2023, 06:48 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-has-already-spoken-to-players-not-in-his-plans-insists-hibs-midfielder-3976265
Butcheresque
05-01-2023, 06:49 PM
Before the derby?? That’s even worse 🤣🤣
Willis1875
05-01-2023, 06:49 PM
Butcheresque
Yep heading that way every passing day
EGL2000
05-01-2023, 06:50 PM
Alex Pritchard a slight possibility? Out of contract with Sunderland this summer, always contributes good numbers both goals and assists from midfield. Lee will also know him. Kind of experienced player we should be looking at but probably outwith our budget if being honest.
05-01-2023, 06:51 PM
Would we ? There seems to be a bit of a trend on here that a few are prepared to rip into our own players, young players too but whenever hearts sign a player he is a ****ing superstar
Gives me the ****ing boak, hibs fans aye
Some of the name calling and vitriol aimed at our players on here is ****ing brutal, I get the criticism which is absolutely deserved but **** me, its relentless
Well said … but still not as bad as Facebook and Twitter
Johnson stayed out of the away dressing room at Tynecastle following the final whistle and told the media his squad has too many “average” players, adding that he would “rather get rid of ten and sign one that is high quality” (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-promises-plenty-of-movement-in-january-transfer-window-as-boss-blasts-average-hibs-squad-players-3971750).
that kind of talk will get me back onside with him again
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-has-already-spoken-to-players-not-in-his-plans-insists-hibs-midfielder-3976265So you'd assume the majority of they players Wernt in the squad on the weekend - or atleast didn't get many/any minutes
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
05-01-2023, 06:52 PM
Already told the players that aren’t in his plans they aren’t wanted. Sounds very Butcheresque.
HendoDelivered
05-01-2023, 06:52 PM
Was surprised about that myself. Ginto looked a bit uncomfortable there answering some of they questions I thought.
Bridge hibs
05-01-2023, 06:53 PM
Well said … but still not as bad as Facebook and Twitter
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThankfully I avoid those places mate 👍
Paulie Walnuts
05-01-2023, 06:53 PM
Depends if they played/were in the squad.
If there’s guys like Bojang, Miller etc who are never getting in match day squads then I don’t see the problem.
If he’s saying it guys like Henderson, Kenneh, Cabraja etc who are not only getting into the squad but are getting game time then yeah, that’s a mess.
I’m not sure we’ve 10 guys that never get any game time though so it most likely does include guys who are getting on the pitch.
Willis1875
05-01-2023, 06:54 PM
So you'd assume the majority of they players Wernt in the squad on the weekend - or atleast didn't get many/any minutes
You’d think one of the ones he’s spoke to is Will Fish though
05-01-2023, 06:55 PM
Only if any of them were in the squad!
Paulie Walnuts
05-01-2023, 06:56 PM
Johnson stayed out of the away dressing room at Tynecastle following the final whistle and told the media his squad has too many “average” players, adding that he would “rather get rid of ten and sign one that is high quality” (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-promises-plenty-of-movement-in-january-transfer-window-as-boss-blasts-average-hibs-squad-players-3971750).
that kind of talk will get me back onside with him again
If they’re genuine high quality, think a Greg Docherty or Graeme Shinnie level of high quality, then that would improve us massively. I just can’t see us getting in anyone all that much different to the dross we’ve been signing.
05-01-2023, 06:58 PM
the official calendar has Porteous and Bojang for January
that'll be they two away to start with
05-01-2023, 06:58 PM
Trying to think of more established players not in the squad
Doidge
Mitchell
Jair (possibly?)
Miller? Been injured so maybe not
Bojang
Dabrowski
JDH
That's 5-7 straight off the bat
Bradleys gone too
Willis1875
05-01-2023, 06:59 PM
the official calendar has Porteous and Bojang for January
that'll be they two away to start with
They will need to realise another one at the start of February as there will be nobody left in the squad in the current one
05-01-2023, 06:59 PM
Alex Pritchard a slight possibility? Out of contract with Sunderland this summer, always contributes good numbers both goals and assists from midfield. Lee will also know him. Kind of experienced player we should be looking at but probably outwith our budget if being honest.
No chance. He’s a crackin player. He pretty much starts every game for them. I’d imagine if he’s not signing a new deal, it’s his choice not Sunderland’s.
Willis1875
05-01-2023, 07:00 PM
Trying to think of more established players not in the squad
Doidge
Mitchell
Jair (possibly?)
Miller? Been injured so maybe not
Bojang
Dabrowski
JDH
That's 5-7 straight off the bat
Bradleys gone too
Wonder if he spoke to Mitchell round about the Celtic game hence the social media post from him about loyalty
05-01-2023, 07:00 PM
We only hear usually about the successful approaches
I know for a fact that Hibs approached Newcastle prior to the World Cup about the possibility of getting Kuol on loan when he moved there.
So, Yes, it doesn’t mean we haven’t identified targets….just convincing clubs that Hibs are a good stable club to loan their players to at the moment might be more of a challenge
05-01-2023, 07:01 PM
Kamberi has signed for Huddersfield.
05-01-2023, 07:02 PM
Wonder if he spoke to Mitchell round about the Celtic game hence the social media post from him about loyaltyCould be
I won't imagine any of that is unusual either - same thing must happen at all clubs every winter/summer
We might have more than usual to shift tho
thebausburst
05-01-2023, 07:04 PM
This whole players need to leave before any come in, what happened to the Porto contract offer cash, why can’t we use that?
05-01-2023, 07:04 PM
They will need to realise another one at the start of February as there will be nobody left in the squad in the current one
two keepers on February, wonder if Dabrowski could go as he's not going to get a chance whilst DM has the gloves
if she had any close association with our club for a long time i imagine Ron would have got shot of her and installed a hot drinks machine
Oft……
05-01-2023, 07:09 PM
Only if any of them were in the squad!
Agree …. Disastrous approach if any in squad.
I reckon he had to play some and his line will be you need to sell yourself to potential suitors. Very risky strategy.
Suspect some of his comments after game were about Hanlon and Stevenson with the reference of punting aimlessly up in the air and some have been here too long. Both have been doing this for years when faced with any form of press on them.
Hanlon’s lack of appetite when he ran away from Kyogo for Celtic goal and his jog back as Humphrey’s ran past was ridiculously poor. Maybe he ain’t up for it if he has been told he’s on the way out
I just can’t see it being realistic we will be able to move on enough squad players to free up enough wages to allow us to sign a quality player.
We might be able to move on one or two if we’re lucky but anybody who isn’t performing with us, is only likely to move to a smaller club who will pay less wages and no many players would be up for that. I’d imagine players would be more inclined to ride it out and wait till LJ is sacked.
If we do manage to get players off the books it won’t be until the last minute.
Willis1875
two keepers on February, wonder if Dabrowski could go as he's not going to get a chance whilst DM has the gloves
I’d rather we punted the loan goalie back down south and kept Dabrowski until the end of the season with a view to promoting the highly thought of young goalie in the 19’s
I just can’t see it being realistic we will be able to move on enough squad players to free up enough wages to allow us to sign a quality player.
We might be able to move on one or two if we’re lucky but anybody who isn’t performing with us, is only likely to move to a smaller club who will pay less wages and no many players would be up for that. I’d imagine players would be more inclined to ride it out and wait till LJ is sacked.
Bloody hell we need at least 4 quality players to try and salvage the season!
Tully
05-01-2023, 07:13 PM
Shinnie signs with the sheep
EGL2000
05-01-2023, 07:13 PM
Porto wages that were offered can surely be used? Hibs saying it was the best possible contract they could offer so so should be a significant improvement on his current deal.
05-01-2023, 07:14 PM
Agree with the last bit. I’ll be pleasantly surprised if we sign anyone before the last week of the window.
05-01-2023, 07:14 PM
Porto wages that were offered can surely be used? Hibs saying it was the best possible contract they could offer so just be a significant improvement on his current deal.
Good point.
05-01-2023, 07:18 PM
Wonder if he spoke to Mitchell round about the Celtic game hence the social media post from him about loyalty
I imagine that was about not being in the squad and he just reacted like a child.
No surprise they were deleted once he was back in the squad for Kuharevych
05-01-2023, 07:24 PM
I’d rather we punted the loan goalie back down south and kept Dabrowski until the end of the season with a view to promoting the highly thought of young goalie in the 19’s
i think he's a safe pair of hands, pun intended, but he must be wondering when he will get a long run in the first team, he's also out of contract this summer :hmmm:
Kamberi has signed for Huddersfield.
He's got the best agent in football.
05-01-2023, 07:27 PM
He's got the best agent in football.
That’s Oliver Burke’s agent
Willis1875
05-01-2023, 07:28 PM
i think he's a safe pair of hands, no pun intended, but he must be wondering when he will get a long run in the first team, he's also out of contract this summer :hmmm:
Yeah let him see out his contract….sign a pre contract if he wants and look to bleed in Murray Johnson
For me I’d rather keep guys that have been around the club a long time for the run-in instead of a loanee even if he will be used sparingly
05-01-2023, 07:30 PM
i think he's a safe pair of hands, pun intended, but he must be wondering when he will get a long run in the first team, he's also out of contract this summer :hmmm:
He’s a decent Number 2 but won’t break into our team so needs to be playing as a first pick keeper. I think what people need to remember aswell is that LJ won’t be sitting down telling 10 players your not good enough your away, not in all cases. There will be discussion had both ways probably for a wee while now and some players will want to move on to be playing regularly. He’d then be willing to let them go if it works for all parties I’d suspect Dabrowski is a good example of that.
05-01-2023, 07:35 PM
Unfortunately that could be the signing of the window imo.
I couldn’t give a toss about the loan Aussie for Hearts but this Shinnie move is genuinely depressing
We should have been in trying to give him a 4 year deal, make him captain, whatever it took. He would solve a lot of our problems overnight IMO
Aberdeen will improve now
whereswallace?
05-01-2023, 07:37 PM
Kevin Long signs for Birmingham
05-01-2023, 07:38 PM
Kevin Long signs for Birmingham
FFS, the one player we’ve been linked with 😂
I thought he sounded utter ***** and another Michael Nelson but I’m still going to throw my toys out the pram 😂
Up-the-slope
05-01-2023, 07:54 PM
Have I missed something.... pages of ranting about Hearts signing Newcastle loanee.... when nothing officially done.... :dunno:
05-01-2023, 07:55 PM
Aberdeen sign Patrik Myslovič
05-01-2023, 07:55 PM
FFS, the one player we’ve been linked with 😂
I thought he sounded utter ***** and another Michael Nelson but I’m still going to throw my toys out the pram 😂
We expect nothing less.
05-01-2023, 08:00 PM
I couldn’t give a toss about the loan Aussie for Hearts but this Shinnie move is genuinely depressing
We should have been in trying to give him a 4 year deal, make him captain, whatever it took. He would solve a lot of our problems overnight IMO
Aberdeen will improve now
aberdeen not been getting good results paid lots of money on players in last window and have paid off a few managers over the past few years They are not getting bigger crowds than us But they have moved early to back the Manager to try and secure fourth place and put pressure on Hearts for third
Yet we appear to be in such a mess signing too many promising players most of whom don’t look like fulfilling thst goal
We now presumably have been forced to accept we need first team ready quality players in , but appear to have to move players on before we can do that
It’s a Shambles
Players we approach may well be put off by what’s going on snd may also think we are capable of going down so it’s going to be difficult to attract the players we need
I know it’s early days ,and a win v Well and one quslity signing next week could help us kick on
EGL2000
05-01-2023, 08:02 PM
Aberdeen sign Patrik Myslovič
Similar mould to the two boys they brought in from the Hungarian league. No idea what he's like, but has played a good amount of first team football for his age.
05-01-2023, 08:05 PM
That’s what we should be doing. Getting players in early.
05-01-2023, 08:06 PM
I’m sure that’s exactly what we would be doing if we had the budget to do so.
Scotty Leither
05-01-2023, 08:07 PM
So unless we sign someone tomorrow, we're going with the same squad for the Motherwell game? You wonder if the Board get the level of discontent just now.
We've also got a cup tie with that mob in two weeks where another defeat will see crowds drop like a stone. Can we afford NOT to sign a couple of players?
05-01-2023, 08:07 PM
I’m sure that’s exactly what we would be doing if we had the budget to do so.
Like someone else said, there was a budget to offer Porteous a bumper new contract, where’s that money gone?
Paulie Walnuts
05-01-2023, 08:16 PM
Like someone else said, there was a budget to offer Porteous a bumper new contract, where’s that money gone?
I honestly find no budget hard to believe. As you say, there was a budget to give Porteous a huge contract and there’s no way we can have spent all the Doig money.
05-01-2023, 08:18 PM
I’m not usually one for panicking but I was expecting we would have brought someone in.
05-01-2023, 08:20 PM
I honestly find no budget hard to believe. As you say, there was a budget to give Porteous a huge contract and there’s no way we can have spent all the Doig money.
One thing, IMO, that we can’t accuse the board of is spending money on getting players in. About 90% of them have turned out to be pish, but if we aren’t looking to do business (yet) I think there’s good reason (lack of funds) for it.
05-01-2023, 08:20 PM
Is this going to be the rebuttal for posters concerns of us not bringing anyone in, no budget? I’m not having that
05-01-2023, 08:21 PM
So unless we sign someone tomorrow, we're going with the same squad for the Motherwell game? You wonder if the Board get the level of discontent just now.
We've also got a cup tie with that mob in two weeks where another defeat will see crowds drop like a stone. Can we afford NOT to sign a couple of players?
The squad is more than good enough to beat Motherwell if they are set up properly and get wired in.
Obviously neither of these things is guaranteed.
05-01-2023, 08:22 PM
Is this going to be the rebuttal for posters concerns of us not bringing anyone in, no budget? I’m not having that
If it’s not down to finances, why wouldn’t they look to get players in? We’re not exactly shy of making signings.
05-01-2023, 08:23 PM
If it’s not down to finances, why wouldn’t they look to get players in? We’re not exactly shy of making signings.
I’m not having that it’s down to not having any budget either
To be fair nobody other than a few on here are suggesting that.
To my eyes it's more a case of getting the numbers of a bloated squad down by replacing several duds with a few quality additions.
What do you think the real reason is? Genuine question by the way.
05-01-2023, 08:24 PM
I'd rather we sign a gem of a player on the 31st January as opposed to another duffer in the first week of January.
05-01-2023, 08:25 PM
He’s a decent Number 2 but won’t break into our team so needs to be playing as a first pick keeper. I think what people need to remember aswell is that LJ won’t be sitting down telling 10 players your not good enough your away, not in all cases. There will be discussion had both ways probably for a wee while now and some players will want to move on to be playing regularly. He’d then be willing to let them go if it works for all parties I’d suspect Dabrowski is a good example of that.
KD is still only 24 so still probably another 14 years for a keeper :agree: those,if any, on the longer contracts who have been told they're not in LJ's longer-term plans will need to weigh things up, guaranteed long-term salary without first team football or a mutal parting of the ways to get FT football elsewhere, wonder what Doidge will do as his contract extension is until 2024
05-01-2023, 08:25 PM
One thing, IMO, that we can’t accuse the board of is spending money on getting players in. About 90% of them have turned out to be pish, but if we aren’t looking to do business (yet) I think there’s good reason (lack of funds) for it.
Lack of funds to improve the squad yet Ron has told us several times how successful we are commercially. The next set of accounts are going to be interesting.
05-01-2023, 08:29 PM
We’ve signed 20 odd players in 12 months, with nowhere near as many leaving.
The wage bill has gone up massively and you need to draw the line somewhere. Makes sense that the board would be looking to get rid of 3 or 4 decent wages before we can commit to players coming in
05-01-2023, 08:30 PM
What do you think the real reason is? Genuine question by the way.
Because our recruitment team are terrible at their job. Hence why’s it’s being restructured
Don’t trust them whatsoever to identify what this squad needs or the correct players to fill those positions
Scotty Leither
05-01-2023, 08:31 PM
I'd rather we sign a gem of a player on the 31st January as opposed to another duffer in the first week of January.
I'd rather we signed two decent starters for the next two league games, and especially for the Cup Tie.
loanheadhibby
05-01-2023, 08:34 PM
I’m honestly amazed that after everything that was said after Mondays debacle, we are going in to Motherwell game with exactly the same squad.
Appreciate it is early in the window but deary me.
05-01-2023, 08:34 PM
I’m not having that it’s down to not having any budget either
That’s what I’m saying though. If it’s not budget, what is the reason?
05-01-2023, 08:35 PM
Lack of funds to improve the squad yet Ron has told us several times how successful we are commercially. The next set of accounts are going to be interesting.
Agree about the accounts.
loanheadhibby
05-01-2023, 08:36 PM
Mate, we could be bottom 2 and out the cup by 31st January. I’d rather get a couple of decent bodies in before the cup tie to give us a fighting chance.
Season could be over by 31st January.
05-01-2023, 08:38 PM
Mate, we could be bottom 2 and out the cup by 31st January. I’d rather get a couple of decent bodies in before the cup tie to give us a fighting chance.
Or 4th and through to the next round.
fiolex1
05-01-2023, 08:39 PM
Probably can’t get anybody in until we get people out?
05-01-2023, 08:39 PM
Which if true would significantly reduce our chances of signing anyone decent. Who’d want to join a relegation threatened team?
Like we did in the summer.
05-01-2023, 08:42 PM
If we're in the bottom 2 the season definitely won't be over, but I agree we can't wait till the end of the window, we need a couple in very quickly
loanheadhibby
05-01-2023, 08:42 PM
Or 4th and through to the next round.
Agreed. Based on recent performances and our available squad (assuming we don’t sign before 31st Jan), which option do you think is most plausible?
loanheadhibby
05-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Which if true would significantly reduce our chances of signing anyone decent. Who’d want to join a relegation threatened team?
Absolutely. You look at Dons signing Shinnie today. I’m not saying him but exactly the type of player we could be doing with.
Dons are in as much trouble as us and are not hanging about
05-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Agreed. Based on recent performances and our available squad (assuming we don’t sign before 31st Jan), which option do you think is most plausible?
Based on that your scenario but I think things might improve soon.
05-01-2023, 08:47 PM
That’s what I’m saying though. If it’s not budget, what is the reason?
Yeah exactly my thoughts. Why else would we not be signing players given our current state? The manager has said himself it’s firstly going to be about getting players out the door. We can’t just keep adding to an already bloated squad and wage bill.
Greenwich_Hibby
05-01-2023, 08:48 PM
Not looking to publicise pundits, but one got it spot on yesterday, Hibs are a pantomime at the moment from top to bottom....
chippy
05-01-2023, 08:49 PM
The Yanks don’t live in Scotland let alone Edinburgh, why would discontented fans trouble them ?
05-01-2023, 08:51 PM
The Yanks don’t live in Scotland let alone Edinburgh, why would discontented fans trouble them ?
Ian Gordon lives in Edinburgh.
Stokesy's on fire
05-01-2023, 08:51 PM
Absolutely. You look at Dons signing Shinnie today. I’m not saying him but exactly the type of player we could be doing with.
Shinnie is rubbish
chippy
05-01-2023, 08:53 PM
Ian Gordon lives in Edinburgh.
His permanent abode or a pied-a-terre? There is a difference
HendoDelivered
05-01-2023, 08:55 PM
Shinnie is rubbish
Strolls into our team though. Decent player and proven at this level, exactly what we need.
Scotty Leither
05-01-2023, 08:57 PM
Gordon Snr has a base here.
05-01-2023, 08:58 PM
His permanent abode or a pied-a-terre? There is a difference
His permanent abode.
1875M
05-01-2023, 08:59 PM
Shinnie is rubbish
Would be the first name on our team sheet.
hibsforeurope
05-01-2023, 09:01 PM
I’d imagine the delay is down to a combination of the targets identified likely being along the previous untried mould and new lists needing to be compiled. And the need to find cash to pay off some of the deadwood, there’s no way we’ll get clubs to take most of them off our hands willingly.
05-01-2023, 09:02 PM
Shinnie is rubbish
Would walk into our midfield
LunasBoots
05-01-2023, 09:03 PM
While others are getting there business done early, we'll just hang about until the end of the window and make a couple panic buys.
GreenGray
05-01-2023, 09:05 PM
I’d imagine the delay is down to a combination of the targets identified likely being along the previous untried mould and new lists needing to be compiled. And the need to find cash to pay off some of the deadwood, there’s no way we’ll get clubs to take most of them off our hands willingly.
I’d be surprised if anyone wanted our squad players after our manager slandered them so publicly [emoji2371]
Torto7
05-01-2023, 09:14 PM
Folk are using any excuse to moan about the club now. Shinnie if he was coming back to Scotland was only ever going to go to Aberdeen.
Stokesy's on fire
05-01-2023, 09:15 PM
Yup anyone would though
Stokesy's on fire
05-01-2023, 09:16 PM
Would be the first name on our team sheet.
Na
05-01-2023, 09:17 PM
Leighton Clarkson set to leave Aberdeen, wonder what the plan with him is?
Another loan? Another team want him permanent?
Always been very impressed with him
chippy
05-01-2023, 09:18 PM
Walk into or through?
GreenGray
05-01-2023, 09:18 PM
Folk are using any excuse to moan about the club now. Shinnie if he was coming back to Scotland was only ever going to go to Aberdeen.
Maybe, I just hope we’re looking for a midfielder with similar experience, talent and leadership. Genuinely crying out for it and we have been for a while now, all good teams need someone like that.
05-01-2023, 09:22 PM
That’ll be a blow for them. He’s a good player.
05-01-2023, 09:23 PM
I may have missed it but I’m surprised I’ve not seen anyone stating the obvious. Who would want to sign and commit their future to a club where the manager may get the sack any week now. A combination of a lot of factors resulting in us not doing business yet, I’m preparing myself for more loans this window the quality of which will likely be determined on us winning the next few games to settle the LJ out stuff or sack him and appoint a new manager and scrape about for last minute loans. Could land somewhere in the middle granted but this is how I’m seeing it.
loanheadhibby
05-01-2023, 09:23 PM
Shinnie is rubbish
I’ll bow to your superior knowledge as not seen him for a few years. I still think him (or his type) would do us the world of good. Especially in the derby cup tie.
05-01-2023, 09:27 PM
Who cares where Ron Gordon lives. He’s got places around the world and he definitely has a flat in Edinburgh !
Anyway so the latest summary..
Recruitment has been re-structured - but no confirmation of this. Some fans say it’s taking place now which again makes no sense as it should have been done weeks ago.
We have no money so can’t sign anyone ? Doubt I believe that with the commercial deals and ST sales plus player sales.
We won’t sign anyone till players move - well we could be waiting a while till the deadwood find a club milking us of every penny. If the deadwood doesn’t move do we just carry on as we are ?
Some fans are waiting for the gem of a player that comes at end of window once we are out the cup - season pretty much over apart from relegation playoff survival and LJ possibly emptied ?
Anything I’ve missed ?
Feel like we have been here before with needing players in key areas …..hint centre midfield… and with all the players in world football we haven’t already identified / can’t find 1 player who will make us better in that area ?
05-01-2023, 09:27 PM
Always thought Aberdeen would be after Connor Ronan, sure both Aberdeen and Hearts were reportedly interested.
05-01-2023, 09:32 PM
Always thought Aberdeen would be after Connor Ronan, sure both Aberdeen and Hearts were reportedly interested.
Hopefully Shinnie and the other boy they signed today rule out their interest in Ronan.
I wonder if Johnson would be interested in him or if he’s another that the recruitment team want and not him?..
05-01-2023, 09:40 PM
😐 Shinnie back at Aberdeen is an unreal signing!
I may have missed it but I’m surprised I’ve not seen anyone stating the obvious. Who would want to sign and commit their future to a club where the manager may get the sack any week now. A combination of a lot of factors resulting in us not doing business yet, I’m preparing myself for more loans this window the quality of which will likely be determined on us winning the next few games to settle the LJ out stuff or sack him and appoint a new manager and scrape about for last minute loans. Could land somewhere in the middle granted but this is how I’m seeing it.
I have thought the same. If Hibs wanted to sign a player, would they commit this early in the window, I doubt it.
gegs70
I’ll bow to your superior knowledge as not seen him for a few years. I still think him (or his type) would do us the world of good. Especially in the derby cup tie.
Shinnie is better than what we have....
05-01-2023, 09:43 PM
To be fair nobody other than a few on here are suggesting that.
To my eyes it's more a case of getting the numbers of a bloated squad down by replacing several duds with a few quality additions.
I was thinking that as well - where's the no budget stuff come from?
I don't imagine there's a huge pot of cash sitting there but the pressing issue is that the squad is too big as it is so we need to get folk off the books as well as r funding a few players to improve the first team.
Trinity Hibee
05-01-2023, 09:44 PM
Disappointing to see the sheep have got shinnie. He’s exactly what we lack. Aggression and a leader. Probably wasn’t much chance of him coming here anyway
GreenPJ
05-01-2023, 09:49 PM
Most football players recognise that they will move multiple times in their career, they will also know that the manager that recruits them could go at relatively short notice - if the money is right and they are advised that they will be first team material I suspect most are happy to move.
05-01-2023, 09:51 PM
Most football players recognise that they will move multiple times in their career, they will also know that the manager that recruits them could go at relatively short notice - if the money is right and they are advised that they will be first team material I suspect most are happy to move.
Not a few days into a transfer windows they wouldn’t that’s for sure
cameronw-hfc
05-01-2023, 09:53 PM
Not sure people are understanding the situation. Just because we need to move players it doesn't mean we are skint or have no money, but having a squad the size we do is mental. It's taking huge amounts of money out of the club that we can't keep losing for another few years, so before we bring some in, we need some to leave first.
Doesn't mean we are skint, doesn't mean the commercial work has failed, it just means the squad is too big. Clubs much bigger and richer than Hibs have this issue all the time, it's annoying, but we can't just keep signing players because we have money in the bank, there needs to be a balance and right now the balance is way off, hence us needing to shift a few first.
We still have money, we're still doing well financially for a Scottish club not in the old firm, but we aren't doing well enough to keep spending when we're already spending a fortune that we don't need to spend on a massive squad.
Trinity Hibee
05-01-2023, 09:55 PM
Not sure people are understanding the situation. Just because we need to move players it doesn't mean we are skint or have no money, but having a squad the size we do is mental. It's taking huge amounts of money out of the club that we can't keep losing for another few years, so before we bring some in, we need some to leave first.
Doesn't mean we are skint, doesn't mean the commercial work has failed, it just means the squad is too big. Clubs much bigger and richer than Hibs have this issue all the time, it's annoying, but we can't just keep signing players because we have money in the bank, there needs to be a balance and right now the balance is way off, hence us needing to shift a few first.
We still have money, we're still doing well financially for a Scottish club not in the old firm, but we aren't doing well enough to keep spending when we're already spending a fortune that we don't need to spend on a massive squad.
Whilst I agree to a certain extent it’s clear we need better players in now. Waiting for players to move on before we do that writes off the rest of the season which most would see as unacceptable. Same thing happened last January
05-01-2023, 10:19 PM
The more I’ve thought on it, the more I find it bizarre that Johnson chose to describe our unwanted players in the terms he did. Especially entering a crucial window.
If I was recruiting and had some interest in Hibernian’s fringe players, I’d be concerned to hear a manager describing them as mediocre, lacking football IQ, unable to manipulate the ball, and so on. Ironically, I think it shows a lack of management IQ.
I get that it’s implicitly clear that he doesn’t rate them, else we wouldn’t be trying offload these players, but it hardly helps the sales pitch. There are so many different ways he could have gone about it whilst still getting his frustration across.
05-01-2023, 10:35 PM
What is our squad size? I mean of available players and not development squad?
05-01-2023, 10:37 PM
Hearts close to announcing Oda, negotiations ongoing for Patterson and Kuol had a tour of their facilities.
No idea what sort of player Patterson is now a days? Before he was full of energy but seemed to have changed his game quite a bit
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-to-welcome-yutaro-oda-after-talks-with-garang-kuol-and-push-to-sign-callum-paterson-3975943
05-01-2023, 10:39 PM
I feel sorry for the first Hibs signing already, welcome to the lions den😂
05-01-2023, 10:39 PM
The more I’ve thought on it, the more I find it bizarre that Johnson chose to describe our unwanted players in the terms he did. Especially entering a crucial window.
If I was recruiting and had some interest in Hibernian’s fringe players, I’d be concerned to hear a manager describing them as mediocre, lacking football IQ, unable to manipulate the ball, and so on. Ironically, I think it shows a lack of management IQ.
I get that it’s implicitly clear that he doesn’t rate them, else we wouldn’t be trying offload these players, but it hardly helps the sales pitch. There are so many different ways he could have gone about it whilst still getting his frustration across.
Was it the players he doesn’t want to keep he described like that? I thought it was the players who played the derby he was describing, the majority of which will be ones he wants to keep.
#2 Double Tap
05-01-2023, 10:44 PM
a standard sized squad is 25 players. we have 27 registered as first teamers. the myth our squad is this enourmous collection of players is fantasy land. sure some of them are not good enough, and if all in natural positions then the squad is unbalanced, but we have 2 extra bodies.
marshal
dabrowski
schofield
cadden...porto...rocky......cabraja
miller......fish......hanlon.....stevenson
.....................................mitchell
boyle.........magennis.....newell.....youan
mcgeady....campbell......jdh.........tavares
.................kenneh
............................henderson
..............mykola.........nisbet
..............bojang.........melkerson
................................mckirdy
05-01-2023, 10:44 PM
What is our squad size? I mean of available players and not development squad?
27 listed as being first team squad on website. Discount Bojang as we know he’s away so 26.
#2 Double Tap
05-01-2023, 10:48 PM
27 listed as being first team squad on website. Discount Bojang as we know he’s away so 26.
i forgot about that ;)
Donegal Hibby
05-01-2023, 10:50 PM
Recently on another thread I commented that I had watched sheff Wednesday and was impressed by Barry Bannon , did someone say he was released ?
05-01-2023, 11:04 PM
Was it the players he doesn’t want to keep he described like that? I thought it was the players who played the derby he was describing, the majority of which will be ones he wants to keep.
He described us as having too many of these players and it was followed by his comments about needing to move players on, so at the very least there’s crossover there.
McGruber
05-01-2023, 11:11 PM
28 first team (not including Bojang)
36 development (including Tait, Delferrie, Hague etc)
McGruber
05-01-2023, 11:15 PM
the more i’ve thought on it, the more i find it bizarre that johnson chose to describe our unwanted players in the terms he did. Especially entering a crucial window.
If i was recruiting and had some interest in hibernian’s fringe players, i’d be concerned to hear a manager describing them as mediocre, lacking football iq, unable to manipulate the ball, and so on. Ironically, i think it shows a lack of management iq.
'deadwood... Get yer deadwood... Two for a pound...two for a pound'
05-01-2023, 11:16 PM
'deadwood... Get yer deadwood... Two for a pound...two for a pound'[emoji23][emoji23][emoji106]
05-01-2023, 11:18 PM
28 first team (not including Bojang)
36 development (including Tait, Delferrie, Hague etc)
Was speaking to Hague at the derby and he said he hadn’t spoken to hibs about his future so I’m going to assume he’s not one of the 10 or so.
05-01-2023, 11:37 PM
We still have money, we're still doing well financially for a Scottish club not in the old firm, but we aren't doing well enough to keep spending when we're already spending a fortune that we don't need to spend on a massive squad.Some very good points . Keep reading about our huge squad but some are playing regularly on loan at other clubs ( Mackie , Tait pre injury , Johnson at Edinburgh , etc ) and am not sure other clubs do not have similar number of players . Also , we were supposed to be playing at least a dozen matches against Under 23 or similar of English clubs , which would have given a lot of players match experience while increasing contacts with other clubs . Main thing is who are these " better " players we all want us to sign ? If we`re talking of players in Scottish League and signing now , can anyone give a realistic name of someone who isn`t injured and who would improve squad ( trying to be serious so " anyone would be better than current squad " is not really useful ) ? Obviously someone is being paid to sign players but that doesn`t mean it`s an easy job given league we play in and financial restrictions . We almost signed a defender from Uruguay , did sign a striker from Gambia even though that didn`t work out in the end and got Cabraja from a Slovenian ( ? ) team so club have already shown they`ll look far and wide for new players . Hopefully , whoever leaves this month , we`ll have some surprise signings lined up
05-01-2023, 11:59 PM
Some very good points . Keep reading about our huge squad but some are playing regularly on loan at other clubs ( Mackie , Tait pre injury , Johnson at Edinburgh , etc ) and am not sure other clubs do not have similar number of players . Also , we were supposed to be playing at least a dozen matches against Under 23 or similar of English clubs , which would have given a lot of players match experience while increasing contacts with other clubs . Main thing is who are these " better " players we all want us to sign ? If we`re talking of players in Scottish League and signing now , can anyone give a realistic name of someone who isn`t injured and who would improve squad ( trying to be serious so " anyone would be better than current squad " is not really useful ) ? Obviously someone is being paid to sign players but that doesn`t mean it`s an easy job given league we play in and financial restrictions . We almost signed a defender from Uruguay , did sign a striker from Gambia even though that didn`t work out in the end and got Cabraja from a Slovenian ( ? ) team so club have already shown they`ll look far and wide for new players . Hopefully , whoever leaves this month , we`ll have some surprise signings lined up
Mackie away on perm transfer not loan
06-01-2023, 12:59 AM
Macaulay bonne
Ronan Curtis
Both linked with us in the summer and out of contract at the end of the season.
Can’t see Bonne but Curtis was the rumour before Boyle signed, now he’s out of contract can we expect to see us interested in him again?
PHeffernan
06-01-2023, 02:02 AM
Macaulay bonne
Ronan Curtis
Can’t see Bonne but Curtis was the rumour before Boyle signed, now he’s out of contract can we expect to see us interested in him again?
Bonne has been released by QPR
Donegal Hibby
06-01-2023, 02:20 AM
Macaulay bonne
Ronan Curtis
One I've been looking at is " Danny Batth " I'm probably away of the mark again as he's rumoured to be on 15,000 a week at Sunderland and played 23 times this year which would rule him out totally though I think he's 32 now and coming out of contract also he is a player that Johnson seems to have liked in the past trying 2 or 3 times to sign him !
06-01-2023, 05:44 AM
Yup anyone would though
Not quite anyone :greengrin
Edinburgh Green
06-01-2023, 05:51 AM
Rumoured target Kevin Long has signed for Birmingham
06-01-2023, 05:56 AM
Rumoured target Kevin Long has signed for Birmingham
It’s not a rumour. It was confirmed yesterday
https://twitter.com/bcfc/status/1611092094914813965?s=61&t=THUkLpr-EpZq7WHGMMZIgg
Trinity Hibee
06-01-2023, 06:47 AM
Recently on another thread I commented that I had watched sheff Wednesday and was impressed by Barry Bannon , did someone say he was released ?
Contract ends in the summer
Scotty Leither
06-01-2023, 07:34 AM
Some very good points . Keep reading about our huge squad but some are playing regularly on loan at other clubs ( Mackie , Tait pre injury , Johnson at Edinburgh , etc ) and am not sure other clubs do not have similar number of players . Also , we were supposed to be playing at least a dozen matches against Under 23 or similar of English clubs , which would have given a lot of players match experience while increasing contacts with other clubs . Main thing is who are these " better " players we all want us to sign ? If we`re talking of players in Scottish League and signing now , can anyone give a realistic name of someone who isn`t injured and who would improve squad ( trying to be serious so " anyone would be better than current squad " is not really useful ) ? Obviously someone is being paid to sign players but that doesn`t mean it`s an easy job given league we play in and financial restrictions . We almost signed a defender from Uruguay , did sign a striker from Gambia even though that didn`t work out in the end and got Cabraja from a Slovenian ( ? ) team so club have already shown they`ll look far and wide for new players . Hopefully , whoever leaves this month , we`ll have some surprise signings lined up
Shaun Rooney would improve our defence, he can play across the back line, and he chips in with odd goal or two as we’ve found out to our cost…
Physically robust as well, but Fleetwood would want a fee which would rule us out, probably.
Pathetic state of affairs.
Bridge hibs
06-01-2023, 07:39 AM
Shaun Rooney would improve our defence, he can play across the back line, and he chips in with odd goal or two as we’ve found out to our cost…
Physically robust as well, but Fleetwood would want a fee which would rule us out, probably.
Pathetic state of affairs.Shaun Rooney ffs, we got rid of a consistent right back to Motherwell who is better than Rooney. Agree he is better going forward but pretty rank at the back
06-01-2023, 07:48 AM
Pathetic state of affairs.
Wayne Rooney would improve our defence 😁
Mcbizz1998
06-01-2023, 07:50 AM
It’s not a rumour. It was confirmed yesterday
https://twitter.com/bcfc/status/1611092094914813965?s=61&t=THUkLpr-EpZq7WHGMMZIgg
He’s saying he was rumoured to be coming to Hibs.
06-01-2023, 07:56 AM
Graeme Shinnie back to the sheep on a season long loan. Goodwin citing Shinnie's strong leadership qualities as something which will improve his team. This is the type of signing we need.
Mackie away on perm transfer not loan
Think he means Mackay
06-01-2023, 08:24 AM
Shaun Rooney ffs, we got rid of a consistent right back to Motherwell who is better than Rooney. Agree he is better going forward but pretty rank at the back
McGinn was anything but consistent under Maloney, he had more individual errors directly leading to goals than anyone else in the team. Having watched some of the goals Motherwell have conceded this season, he has picked up where he left off with us.
06-01-2023, 08:34 AM
Graeme Shinnie back to the sheep on a season long loan. Goodwin citing Shinnie's strong leadership qualities as something which will improve his team. This is the type of signing we need.
That's a fantastic signing. Always a player i hoped we'd sign. A **** on the pitch which is exactly what we're missing.
Trinity Hibee
06-01-2023, 08:35 AM
That's a fantastic signing. Always a player i hoped we'd sign. A **** on the pitch which is exactly what we're missing.
Agree. It’s the reason I’d hoped Scott brown would have come back to us when he left Celtic. He would have improved our midfield.
06-01-2023, 08:49 AM
I feel sorry for the first Hibs signing already, welcome to the lions den😂
Is it too early to say he’s ***** and doesn’t improve us? :greengrin
06-01-2023, 09:16 AM
Hasn't shinnie had major injuries since he left Aberdeen? God knows we don't need more of that.
06-01-2023, 09:20 AM
Is it too early to say he’s ***** and doesn’t improve us? :greengrin
No. Or that he doesn't really want to be here.
Mainstandman
06-01-2023, 09:25 AM
out of contract at end of season but all the talk is he will re sign. plus prob on £10K
Bridge hibs
06-01-2023, 09:37 AM
McGinn was anything but consistent under Maloney, he had more individual errors directly leading to goals than anyone else in the team. Having watched some of the goals Motherwell have conceded this season, he has picked up where he left off with us.McGinn was a steady player, not a great right back but steady, he had his faults but then so did most of the defence, Doig/Stevenson included. In reference to Rooney I do t think he was or is any better
06-01-2023, 09:38 AM
Wayne Rooney would improve our defence 😁
Colleen Rooney would improve defence and attack.
McGruber
06-01-2023, 09:51 AM
Hearts with Snodgrass & Aberdeen with Shinnie - exactly the type of player we need in the middle of the park. If we bring in anyone hopefully it is this type of player. A big dirty centre back would go a long way aswell
06-01-2023, 10:04 AM
I think shinnie was only ever going back to Aberdeen (outside Of) if he was returning to Scotland
Similar to us and Boyle
06-01-2023, 10:37 AM
Hearts with Snodgrass & Aberdeen with Shinnie - exactly the type of player we need in the middle of the park. If we bring in anyone hopefully it is this type of player. A big dirty centre back would go a long way aswell
Its weird that they are ''exactly the type we need'' and are completely and utterly different players.
Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2023, 10:37 AM
Stephen Welsh and Connor Ronan would be my two main targets this month. Both would probably be loans so you’d like to think they’d be achievable.
If there was any chance of convincing Docherty to sign a pre contract as well (or even better, sign now) I’d also be all over that.
Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2023, 10:38 AM
Its weird that they are ''exactly the type we need'' and are completely and utterly different players.
We need more than one new signing in the middle of the park though in an ideal world.
Our midfield would be infinitely better with both Shinnie and Snodgrass in it, so I think it’s fair to say they’re both the types of player we need, which I do realise isn’t what the poster said.
06-01-2023, 10:41 AM
Stephen Welsh and Connor Ronan would be my two main targets this month. Both would probably be loans so you’d like to think they’d be achievable.
If there was any chance of convincing Docherty to sign a pre contract as well (or even better, sign now) I’d also be all over that.
Welsh seems right out of favour at Celtic surely that's a decent possibility. Has Ronan played at all at his parent club?
Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2023, 10:43 AM
Welsh seems right out of favour at Celtic surely that's a decent possibility. Has Ronan played at all at his parent club?
He’s played 1 minute in the league and 65 mins in the cup
Been on the bench about 1/2 of Wolves games.
06-01-2023, 10:48 AM
Stephen Welsh would be my pick as well but can see him being loaned out to an English Championship team or a Belgian team as Celtic quite like the Belgian loan market.
McGruber
06-01-2023, 10:55 AM
I don't think they are that different - experienced, quality centre mids. Snodgrass plays deeper than he used and Shinnie will sit in the same area. More combative maybe but they play in the same area, the area we are soft in. They might have a different style but either would improve us instantly and are exactly the type we need
DIXIHIBS
06-01-2023, 10:59 AM
Colleen Rooney would improve defence and attack.
Mickey Rooney??
06-01-2023, 10:59 AM
Yep they are the sort of quality we need even if for second part of the season.
1875M
06-01-2023, 11:09 AM
Na
Better than any of our midfielders except Magennis when he’s played in the right position. Is also better than both of our left backs and he’s a central midfielder.
06-01-2023, 11:11 AM
Better than any of our midfielders except Magennis when he’s played in the right position. Is also better than both of our left backs and he’s a central midfielder.
He was. Let's see how he does this time.
Yes, and both are what we are missing, a bit of dig from one and creativity from the other, exactly what we need.
NC1875
06-01-2023, 11:20 AM
Yes, and both are what we are missing, a bit of dig from one and creativity from the other, exactly what we need.
We don’t sign what “we need”. We’ve needed they 2 midfielders and a starting centre half for about 6 transfer windows now.
06-01-2023, 11:25 AM
We don’t sign what “we need”. We’ve needed they 2 midfielders and a starting centre half for about 6 transfer windows now.
Pfft. Signing what we need doesn't matter. That's only for nonsense reasons like making sure you win derbies and qualify for Europe. I'd much rather we went for a 19 year old Ugandan winger who may or may not come good in three years time. That's the way.
Saint Hibee
06-01-2023, 11:28 AM
I might be in a minority of one, but I always thought Shinnie was mince. Yes, he whined a lot and kicked people, but that's it.
I might be in a minority of one, but I always thought Shinnie was mince. Yes, he whined a lot and kicked people, but that's it.Same here. If he played in a Hibs strip there is no way he would get away with the antics he got up to with Aberdeen.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
06-01-2023, 11:32 AM
I might be in a minority of one, but I always thought Shinnie was mince. Yes, he whined a lot and kicked people, but that's it.
I don't think he's mince, does a job but he should have been sent off in about 85% of the games he played in, up here he was unbookable for some reason
06-01-2023, 11:34 AM
Pfft. Signing what we need doesn't matter. That's only for nonsense reasons like making sure you win derbies and qualify for Europe. I'd much rather we went for a 19 year old Ugandan winger who may or may not come good in three years time. That's the way.
Marvellous stuff.
Trinity Hibee
06-01-2023, 11:45 AM
Marvellous stuff.
He’s not wrong
Donegal Hibby
06-01-2023, 11:46 AM
Contract ends in the summer
out of contract at end of season but all the talk is he will re sign. plus prob on £10K
I watched weds recently and he was the standout player in the match even at 33 I'd take him though weds would be mad to let him go . Motherwell have cut short Louis Moult's loan ( thought he would have done well there ) and are saying they are hopeful of having a couple of players in for our match ,hope we do too.
06-01-2023, 11:47 AM
You don’t get named in the Premiership Team of the Season 4 times in 6 years for just whining a lot and kicking people.
archie
06-01-2023, 11:53 AM
I would have loved to see Shinnie here. But I couldn't see him signing for anyone but Aberdeen. I think if he signed for anyone else the uproar would have been the same as if Boyle had signed for another Scottish team.
06-01-2023, 11:56 AM
You don’t get named in the Premiership Team of the Season 4 times in 6 years for just whining a lot and kicking people.
Although he did do a hell of a lot of both these things.
PPZPOL
06-01-2023, 12:00 PM
A midfielder kicking people and whining would be a good start if you ask me. Standards are so low right now that someone needs to start dragging this mob in the right direction as there’s nobody cut out to do it at the minute, that’s been clear for a few seasons now.
06-01-2023, 12:03 PM
Although he did do a hell of a lot of both these things.
The league cup tie at ER just before covid, he made a bad challenge on Agyepong in extra time having been booked
Then scored in the penalty shoot out
Hibee Daft
06-01-2023, 12:14 PM
A few 6 month loans would be ideal especially with Johnson on a shoogly peg.
Surely theres some decent players out there we can bring in on loan who need game time (noy youth players)
06-01-2023, 12:43 PM
Motherwell stating they are trying to get two players in before the hibs game be interesting to see if they manage that
06-01-2023, 12:44 PM
I wouldn’t be all that surprised if for the second January window in a row we somehow manage to weaken an already woeful midfield. Letting Gogic & Hallberg go, fine decisions in their own right, but not when only bringing in Henderson.
This window we could let JDH go and also lose Porteous who has had to play there, and conceivably not bring a midfielder in.
06-01-2023, 12:46 PM
Motherwell stating they are trying to get two players in before the hibs game be interesting to see if they manage that
Hopefully two of ours :wink:
06-01-2023, 12:54 PM
I don't think he's mince, does a job but he should have been sent off in about 85% of the games he played in, up here he was unbookable for some reason
Creating that situation is a skill in itself.
Easy for a Rangers captain, not so much an Aberdeen one.
06-01-2023, 12:56 PM
06-01-2023, 01:11 PM
Exactly. If we had been lining up players to sign in this window they would already be here. We can’t afford to wait until the end of the window to bring in much needed quality and then wait until they’re match fit. We’ll be out of the cup and fighting a relegation battle by then. I don’t think there’s any plan other than getting rid of the dross we’ve accumulated over the past few windows, which is all very well but not bringing in quality will see us down.
06-01-2023, 01:12 PM
The Shinnie that left Aberdeen would be a tremendous signing, he’s still not that old either so no reason why he won’t be the same player. Although there is no way he’d get away with the antics he used to at Aberdeen if he’d signed for us.
Torto7
06-01-2023, 01:27 PM
Why are people going on about Shinnie? His whole family are from Aberdeen, he was only ever going to go back to Aberdeen.
06-01-2023, 01:30 PM
Who would then play oot their skin scoring worldie goals!
06-01-2023, 01:39 PM
Exactly. If we had been lining up players to sign in this window they would already be here. We can’t afford to wait until the end of the window to bring in much needed quality and then wait until they’re match fit. We’ll be out of the cup and fighting a relegation battle by then. I don’t think there’s any plan other than getting rid of the dross we’ve accumulated over the past few windows, which is all very well but not bringing in quality will see us down.
Why would you imagine that players of the quality LJ is looking for would take the first offer that the window provides? Any manager will tell you that the January window is difficult.
06-01-2023, 01:42 PM
Why would you imagine that players of the quality LJ is looking for would take the first offer that the window provides? Any manager will tell you that the January window is difficult.This is true but it shouod mean we might have to pay more to get deals done quicker
06-01-2023, 01:47 PM
Why are people going on about Shinnie? His whole family are from Aberdeen, he was only ever going to go back to Aberdeen.
Because Aberdeen have recognised they needed to improve their midfield and have acted quickly.
That’s what people want us to do, not necessarily with Shinnie.
Steve Austin
06-01-2023, 01:49 PM
This is true but it shouod mean we might have to pay more to get deals done quicker
This Window will define Lee Johnson’s reign as manager ,Ron has to dip in his pocket for real proven quality players mentally and physically tough ?.
I fear we are Two games away from either a New manager hunt begins or we turn around The Ship before we hit the iceberg .
No players in rumours at all,just outgoings reported ?
Lets hope For all us Hibees we ain’t looking at becoming a joke team in media as it seems at moment too?,every pundit is ripping into us !!!!.:confused:
et_hibby
06-01-2023, 02:01 PM
😀😀
Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2023, 02:03 PM
Because Aberdeen have recognised they needed to improve their midfield and have acted quickly.
That’s what people want us to do, not necessarily with Shinnie.
I’ve been using Docherty and Shinnie as examples of who we should be going for, but they can’t be the only players of that ilk, style around. The recruitment teams job is to find us one.
I have no confidence in them doing so.
Torto7
06-01-2023, 02:08 PM
I’ve been using Docherty and Shinnie as examples of who we should be going for, but they can’t be the only players of that ilk, style around. The recruitment teams job is to find us one.
I have no confidence in them doing so.
Until some of the excess guff goes I'd imagine we wont be signing anyone. Nor do I think LJ should get the chance to sign anyone as he's proven to be useless so far. We spent plenty in the summer.
Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2023, 02:08 PM
Until some of the excess guff goes I'd imagine we wont be signing anyone. Nor do I think LJ should get the chance to sign anyone as he's proven to be useless so far. We spent plenty in the summer.
Getting rid of excess guff isn’t going to make us any better.
We’ll still have the same players going out onto the pitch every week letting us down.
Torto7
06-01-2023, 02:15 PM
Getting rid of excess guff isn’t going to make us any better.
We’ll still have the same players going out onto the pitch every week letting us down.
Getting rid to raise funds. The wage bill must be out of control now. If I was in charge I wouldn't be in any hurry to give LJ more money. He can raise what he likes from the players already here going out but no fresh spending on top of the bloated squad we already have.
Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2023, 02:17 PM
Getting rid to raise funds. The wage bill must be out of control now. If I was in charge I wouldn't be in any hurry to give LJ more money. He can raise what he likes from the players already here going out but no fresh spending on top of the bloated squad we already have.
If we don’t spend then we’re in danger of going down imo.
06-01-2023, 02:18 PM
This Window will define Lee Johnson’s reign as manager ,Ron has to dip in his pocket for real proven quality players mentally and physically tough ?.
I fear we are Two games away from either a New manager hunt begins or we turn around The Ship before we hit the iceberg .
No players in rumours at all,just outgoings reported ?
Lets hope For all us Hibees we ain’t looking at becoming a joke team in media as it seems at moment too?,every pundit is ripping into us !!!!.:confused:
Don't forget he has already had a full summer transfer window.
2 games into the window and no new players or even movement out.
I'm amazed they didn't have a CM lined up ready for 1st week in Jan.
06-01-2023, 02:26 PM
Don't forget he has already had a full summer transfer window.
2 games into the window and no new players or even movement out.
I'm amazed they didn't have a CM lined up ready for 1st week in Jan.
That’s my thoughts too, they had months to scout players that should have been brought into the team immediately. The fact we’ve not brought anyone in yet suggests to me they haven’t anyone. I may be wrong but why else would you wait when we’re on a 9 loss from 11 run?
Hibee Daft
06-01-2023, 02:29 PM
Its only the 6th of jan..Dont panic, DONT PANIC!
Steve Austin
06-01-2023, 02:40 PM
Aye the club and team looks like DADS ARMY!..
misfits and players and people running it making us a joke team
06-01-2023, 02:40 PM
That’s my thoughts too, they had months to scout players that should have been brought into the team immediately. The fact we’ve not brought anyone in yet suggests to me they haven’t anyone. I may be wrong but why else would you wait when we’re on a 9 loss from 11 run?
Yeah quite right. They should have Uber'd a few ex-SAS gadgies to the hooses of whoever our targets are and frogmarched the khants right doon tae Easter Road and and burned the soles of their feet with cigarette ends until they signed a contract. Petrie oot....
06-01-2023, 02:46 PM
We don't have any money.
06-01-2023, 02:53 PM
We don't have any money.
If we don't have any money the Ron needs to pony up some more.
06-01-2023, 02:59 PM
We don't have any money.
How were we able to offer Porto a substantial wage rise then?
MKHIBEE
06-01-2023, 03:00 PM
What happens if he doesn’t?
06-01-2023, 03:01 PM
I think we’ll see signings only if we get money for Porto, Doig moving again, and two or three are shifted (any combo of those scenarios). Ron isn’t ponying up that’s for sure. Not in my opinion anyway. Lee wasn’t even asked about the window in the Hibs TV presser which says it all.
06-01-2023, 03:04 PM
As we haven't come out of the starter blocks like lightning in the first six days of this window which closes on 31st January - 25 days time - I think it is fairly safe already to draw some conclusions.
We have been in trouble for some time and that has been obvious to everyone. We have very clearly needed to add quality for months now and on the back of that you would expect that the targets we need were identified long ago either by the manager or the 'recruitment team'. However we still haven't signed anyone (or indeed offloaded anyone) and the critical next three fixtures are respectively just 2, 6 and 14 days away. This is genuinely astonishing.
I would argue that we are already in a position where it is too late for any new signings to integrate in time for either of those first two fixtures and the same will be true for the Hearts fixture within days.
The only plausible explanations are:
1. We didn't start identifying targets until the derby fiasco.
or
2. We are genuinely financially unable to sign ANYONE until we first ship players out.
or
3. We are deliberately going to wait until very close to the end of the window to see what our injury situation/squad thinning exercise leaves us looking like before we sign anyone.
or
4. Despite the statement from the Manager and the indirect noises from club we actually have no serious intention of going into the transfer market in this window.
My conclusion is that unless we make signing(s) in the next few days we are likely, once again, to be left scrabbling around at the very end of the window trying to sign leftovers - way too late for the four league games and the one cup game taking place before the window closes and probably too late for the game against St Mirren on 4th February too. We currently have 13 games left to play in the league (not counting relegation play-offs). If this turns out to be correct then by the time any signings we do make are available we will have just 8 games left to play.
Given the utterly abject state we are in that is ****ing irresponsibly mental.
06-01-2023, 03:04 PM
Weird eh. We have to move players on to get more in....but we were able to offer someone the equiv of 3 decent first time players wages? Its like its all total bull *****.
06-01-2023, 03:05 PM
I’m with Brightside on this Bingo, but it is a valid question. The fact we’ve not brought anyone in yet suggests we need to move players on before we can bring others in and/or we are probably looking at the loan market.
06-01-2023, 03:09 PM
Weird eh. We have to move players on to get more in....but we were able to offer someone the equiv of 3 decent first time players wages? Its like its all total bull *****.
It's short-sighted lunacy. Porto's offer was a piece of financial speculation that while his signing a contract would raise our salary bill it would also get us a fat fee for him at a later date.
Signing the two or three quality players we need now would also be financial speculation in that it would be expected to protect season ticket sales next season and support prospects for sponsorship, walk-ups and other revenues by helping us to not be completely 5hit. Not to mention being insurance against any prospect of relegation.
The former is a bright shiny bauble thing, the latter is bread and butter. Someone can't see the wood for the trees.
06-01-2023, 03:10 PM
I’m with Brightside on this Bingo, but it is a valid question. The fact we’ve not brought anyone in yet suggests we need to move players on before we can bring others in and/or we are probably looking at the loan market.
I think we know we might have to replace the manager shortly and don’t want to give him any money as he’s wasted so much already.
I think we may also need to keep money back to pay him off.
It’s a bit of a chicken and egg situation but I think most people would recognise if we lose on Sunday there’s a fair chance he’ll get sacked, with that being the case does it make sense to back him now? Probably not and probably not fair on any player we were to bring in.
06-01-2023, 03:17 PM
Or we are working on it and need to get them over the line! You can read anything you want into this, as people are doing, based on their inherent feelings towards the current owner, staff and manager. We WANT to move players on, we have said that, doesn't mean it's linked to brining anyone new in though, easily separate things, but if we do get a fee for Porto or clear wages we can use that to put towards better quality players coming in on fees or wages.