View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread
Willis1875
31-01-2023, 10:04 PM
https://twitter.com/StokeyyG2/status/1620545067189702657?t=D2qvkWpZjgEonCXLZMPnmg&s=19
Ouch [emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Would be aswell chucking £10million + down the drain
31-01-2023, 10:08 PM
Jonjo Shelvey to Notts Forest? I don't understand what any managers see in this guy!?
HibeeSS0762
31-01-2023, 10:09 PM
Could we be getting ready to announce another?
Mcbizz1998
31-01-2023, 10:11 PM
Duncan Watmore signs for Millwall looking scarily older than I remember him.
https://twitter.com/MillwallFC/status/1620457126534549508
supermcginn
31-01-2023, 10:11 PM
Jonjo Shelvey to Notts Forest? I don't understand what any managers see in this guy!?
Very good player for Newcastle over the years. Some ovation he got tonight when he came on to the pitch to say goodbye.
31-01-2023, 10:12 PM
https://twitter.com/StokeyyG2/status/1620545067189702657?t=D2qvkWpZjgEonCXLZMPnmg&s=19
Ouch [emoji23]
That will have cost them a small fortune, not sure how long he had left on his deal but they would have had to pay him off ..
31-01-2023, 10:12 PM
Duncan Watmore signs for Millwall looking scarily older than I remember him.
https://twitter.com/MillwallFC/status/1620457126534549508
It is 9 years since he played for us
Mcbizz1998
31-01-2023, 10:14 PM
It is 9 years since he played for us
Emm yep. It is. Thanks mate.
31-01-2023, 10:14 PM
Very good player for Newcastle over the years. Some ovation he got tonight when he came on to the pitch to say goodbye.
He has always looked like an awkward player any time I have seen him! 🤷
cameronw-hfc
31-01-2023, 10:15 PM
He has always looked like an awkward player any time I have seen him! 🤷
Lovely footballer. If he could run he'd be unreal, but some ping on him
Donegal Hibby
31-01-2023, 10:15 PM
He's been excellent for Newcastle United. Actually sorry he's leaving . Only 30 year old too , cracking signing by Forrest imo
LunasBoots
31-01-2023, 10:16 PM
Yup, always someone I liked and thought he'd kick on when he was younger but never really did, good signing for Forest though.
Mcbizz1998
31-01-2023, 10:16 PM
Agree. One of the guys who’s been at Newcastle for as long as they have been in the doldrums under Ashley.
31-01-2023, 10:17 PM
Ouch [emoji23]
It’s mad to think Doherty played 13 games for Hibs and is now in La Liga
31-01-2023, 10:18 PM
It’s going to be a young centre half on loan isn’t it?
31-01-2023, 10:18 PM
If at all?
31-01-2023, 10:19 PM
Thinking the exact same 😩
31-01-2023, 10:19 PM
Can I go to bed yet?
31-01-2023, 10:20 PM
Are you really just going to judge players by age?
I want us to sign a good player, whatever age they may be.
Potty78
Thinking the same unfortunately!
Is he any good?
31-01-2023, 10:21 PM
It’s all very quiet but the club have been good at keeping transfers close to their chest.
Hopefully get another 2 announced minimum
It certainly seems that way
Forrest sign keylor navas
31-01-2023, 10:22 PM
It certainly seems that way
What's happened?
I’m still not convinced we’ve signed a young player from down south that’s actually been worthwhile. Not recently anyway
It’s a market we continue to utilise but barely seem to reap any rewards from it
Potty78
As we all do but our manager said he was looking for experience. Fingers crossed it still happens!
31-01-2023, 10:23 PM
Is he any good?
Not the point, what age is he?
31-01-2023, 10:24 PM
What's happened?
Nothing has happened haha. It’s all very quiet
Willis1875
31-01-2023, 10:24 PM
Not the point, what age is he?
25 but has only averaged 32 games a season throughout his career,seems low
31-01-2023, 10:25 PM
Motherwell sign Jack Aitchison.
Used to be highly rated.
31-01-2023, 10:25 PM
Forrest sign keylor navas
Forest must have a huge squad!
31-01-2023, 10:26 PM
As we all do but our manager said he was looking for experience. Fingers crossed it still happens!
He also said that’s very difficult though.
If we’ve tried to get experience but have found a young player we think is better, I’d like to think we would sign the younger player.
31-01-2023, 10:26 PM
Well given just about every single young player we’ve signed recently has been ***** I’m not overly confident in our decision making in that market.
MagicSwirlingShip
31-01-2023, 10:28 PM
Motherwell sign Jack Aitchison.
Used to be highly rated.
Was tipped for the top when at Celtic
#2 Double Tap
31-01-2023, 10:29 PM
one of you twitter boys wanna tweet hibs n ask if we can go to bed:wink:
31-01-2023, 10:32 PM
See Gary Caldwell signed James Scott for Exeter.
Got to wonder what he saw with us to sign him 🤣 only played a couple of games under them towards the end end
31-01-2023, 10:33 PM
Pat Nevin just been on BBC news talking about Chelsea's insane 100 million plus new signing wearing his Hibs tartan scarf :greengrin
#2 Double Tap
31-01-2023, 10:35 PM
well sign another, loan from brighton left back
McHibby
31-01-2023, 10:36 PM
Forest must have a huge squad!
They have bought an insane number of players since the summer. I know they were practically replacing their squad in the close season, but that must be around 25 players they've brought in.
ElginHibbie
Nah, that would mean that link up actually meant something, got to go more negative than that
Gordy M
St Mirren hoping to loan Lowry from Rangers. Looks a good player. Would be a good signing for them.
31-01-2023, 10:37 PM
See Gary Caldwell signed James Scott for Exeter.
Got to wonder what he saw with us to sign him 🤣 only played a couple of games under them towards the end end
I actually thought he was pretty good for a month or two towards the end and he didn't play that much at the start of the Maloney era.
Can understand why Caldwell might think a fit (!!!) Scott would be worth a punt.
et_hibby
31-01-2023, 10:37 PM
Nah, that would mean that link up actually meant something, got to go more negative than that
Think he means Motherwell, mate!
31-01-2023, 10:38 PM
I actually thought he was pretty good for a month or two towards the end and he didn't play that much at the start of the Maloney era.
Can understand why Caldwell might think a fit (!!!) Scott would be worth a punt.
Looking at the announcement video/photos he looks in even worse shape than when he was here!
EGL2000
Sure he's not just went to Motherwell?
Looking forward to us announcing Mark De Man.
St Mirren hoping to loan Lowry from Rangers. Looks a good player. Would be a good signing for them.
Lowry along with watt would be two very good signings for them
Gordy M
31-01-2023, 10:40 PM
Lowry along with watt would be two very good signings for them
Yeh im not sure Watt would be that great. He always stars well and then seems to disappear. Lowry looks good though.
ElginHibbie
Think he means Motherwell, mate!
...I should go to bed
Heard we’re getting Dutchman “Kahnstop Dacross”
Leicester sign Harry Souttar for 15 million
Willis1875
31-01-2023, 10:41 PM
Yeh im not sure Watt would be that great. He always stars well and then seems to disappear. Lowry looks good though.
That’s us cursed for this weekend
et_hibby
...I should go to bed
Heh heh.. you never know!
#2 Double Tap
haha, i meant like the boy above said, motherwell sign a left back on loan fi brighton :))
i need to learn how to type or speak or whatever it is.
Just think the way the play and having him along side Main and Ayunga could work well for them.
Decent options for st Mirren
That’s terrible
31-01-2023, 10:43 PM
Got to assume if we were getting that Welsh midfielder from Swindon we’d have heard about it by now.
Just a centre half to come then or we expecting anything more?
Wee update form Patrick what’s his name wouldn’t go a miss.
31-01-2023, 10:44 PM
Looking at the announcement video/photos he looks in even worse shape than when he was here!
Unfortunately that doesn't surprise me.
Gordy M
31-01-2023, 10:45 PM
Just think the way the play and having him along side Main and Ayunga could work well for them.
Decent options for st Mirren
Yeh possibly mate. Obviously has talent, but not a great scoring record. Im sure its about a goal every 5 games.
#2 Double Tap
31-01-2023, 10:45 PM
from bbc
Brian McLauchlin
BBC Sport Scotland
We're still looking at possibly Killie & possibly Dundee United.
I would think Hibs are finished for the night, from what I've been told. Although, they're not actually saying the door's closed yet. 19 minutes left - plenty time!
McGruber
31-01-2023, 10:46 PM
We had one priority above all others as soon as we lost Porteous, then compounded by the injury to Rocky. An experienced centre back is a must. In need of midfield reinforcements aswell but if we could only get one it would be the CB. We must have something lined up
31-01-2023, 10:46 PM
So are we stronger coming out of the window than we were at the start of the window?
31-01-2023, 10:47 PM
from bbc
Brian McLauchlin
BBC Sport Scotland
We're still looking at possibly Killie & possibly Dundee United.
I would think Hibs are finished for the night, from what I've been told. Although, they're not actually saying the door's closed yet. 19 minutes left - plenty time!
Hedging his bets and a bit contradictory there no?
31-01-2023, 10:48 PM
So are we stronger coming out of the window than we were at the start of the window?
Not in defence for me.
We’d be left with Hanlon and a couple of younger inexperienced lads in there
We need a CB with some experience in the door surely
Gordy M
31-01-2023, 10:48 PM
Results wise i would say we are:aok:
31-01-2023, 10:49 PM
That’s terrible
Judging a signing before he’s even played a game for us. Typical Hibs.net
Watford sign wesley Hoedt.
Tough for porto
SloopJB
31-01-2023, 10:50 PM
We had one priority above all others as soon as we lost Porteous, then compounded by the injury to Rocky. An experienced centre back is a must. In need of midfield reinforcements aswell but if we could only get one it would be the CB. We must have something lined up
Sometimes players lined up just might not get over the line.
Happened to millwall.
31-01-2023, 10:50 PM
We better no be done !
JamesHFC
31-01-2023, 10:51 PM
It's not looking good.
AugustaHibs
No danger are we done, surely.
Looks like that's that then..
When does the summer transfer window thread open
31-01-2023, 10:52 PM
Danger Fourpence should be announced shortly.
Leicester sign Harry Souttar for 15 million
Demonstrating the insanity of the English market.
When does the summer transfer window thread open
Summer
Torto7
Hoppe is going to be very good.
31-01-2023, 10:53 PM
No danger are we done, surely.
To end up with 3 centre-backs for the rest of the season is shocking.
I’m hopefully wrong.
31-01-2023, 10:54 PM
Can’t believe we haven’t got a centre half in.
Might have to be an out of contract experienced CH over next few days
Absolutely not, no.
The deadwood shifting has been reasonable but the late injuries may be what makes the difference.
Losing Rocky is significant and we better pray that Nisbet hasn't done anything too serious.
Saturday has temporarily papered over a lot of cracks.
We're not top 6 material imo and the consistent decline over several successive transfer windows is concerning.
Having said that, I don't really have a problem with the idea of supporting a few of "our own" kids into the first team from the fringes of the squad.
And did it make sense to plough a lot of money into the squad when we have fairly major changes to the leadership of the football department looming? Probably not.
It’s been a pretty appalling window to be honest.
31-01-2023, 10:55 PM
Time yet…….
Not that I know anything tk be fair. I just suspect we’d have leaked the info to a friendly journalist if we were done.
JamesHFC
If we don't sign someone tonight then we must be looking into the free agent market. We've lost Porteous & Rocky (for 3 months min). It was public knowledge we were seeking an experienced CB, we lost out on Bailey to Rotherham. Obviously couldn't afford Findlay. Heard tonight we were after the boy MacDonald that Aberdeen signed too.
Ah that old chestnut
We barely ever do this by the way
Chorley Hibee
31-01-2023, 10:56 PM
It’s been a pretty appalling window to be honest.
Just more of the same.
Kiss Europe goodbye now.
HibeeSS0762
Calm down troops… we have another announcement to make!
That's said every year with players but never happens
If we don't sign someone tonight then we must be looking into the free agent market. We've lost Porteous & Rocky (for 3 months min). It was public knowledge we were seeking an experienced CB, we lost out on Bailey to Rotherham. Obviously couldn't afford Findlay. Heard tonight we were after the boy MacDonald that Aberdeen signed too.
Do many people get freed In January? Genuine question, obviously Lafferty and the likes but there won't be many I wouldn't think?
ErinGoBraghHFC
Spill
31-01-2023, 10:57 PM
Hopefully a couple!
31-01-2023, 10:58 PM
I wish they would hurry up, I'm up at 5.30.
Go on... we're waiting.
JamesHFC
BBC say otherwise.
Tommy75
Absolutely not, no.
The deadwood shifting has been reasonable but the late injuries may be what makes the difference.
Losing Rocky is significant and we better pray that Nisbet hasn't done anything too serious.
Saturday has temporarily papered over a lot of cracks.
We're not top 6 material imo and the consistent decline over several successive transfer windows is concerning.
Having said that, I don't really have a problem with the idea of supporting a few of "our own" kids into the first team from the fringes of the squad.
And did it make sense to plough a lot of money into the squad when we have fairly major changes to the leadership of the football department looming? Probably not.
If we'd had Boyle, McGeady, Nisbet and Mykola fit all season we'd be comfortable top 6 imo.
HibeeSS0762
Hopefully a couple!
1 definitely. Potentially 2. Time will tell. Remember how long the Mckirdy Saga played out for. Relax man. Hibs.net users we need a clear out, Hibs start a clear out, worst transfer window ever.
Hopefully a couple!
Welcome, Mr and Mrs Lafferty.
Yan Dhanda looked useful for County, he’ll have one year left in the summer. Wouldn’t be surprised if he ends up with a few suitors, I’m sure he was pretty highly rated at Swansea at one time.
JamesHFC
If we'd had Boyle, McGeady, Nisbet and Mykola fit all season we'd be comfortable top 6 imo.
Add Magennis to that list too.
Any idea what time? I'm desperate to get to sleep 🤣
Murder mystery?
Eden Mill?
31-01-2023, 10:59 PM
Danger Fourpence and Mark De Man?
Yan Dhanda looked useful for County, he’ll have one year left in the summer. Wouldn’t be surprised if he ends up with a few suitors, I’m sure he was pretty highly rated at Swansea at one time.
Yeah I like him, good player.
1 definitely. Potentially 2. Time will tell. Remember how long the Mckirdy Saga played out for. Relax man. Hibs.net users we need a clear out, Hibs start a clear out, worst transfer window ever.
Aye but we also had to add some experience
Not just get rid without replacing. Especially one of our better players
31-01-2023, 11:00 PM
Agreed, but we must accept that the "if" in your sentence is doing quite a lot of heavy lifting.
SloopJB
So we have tried.
Rotherham probably pay more than us.
Players we can’t afford are out of our price range.
Players make choices.
Might be better playing someone out of position rather than getting a player that can’t get a club.
BBC say otherwise.
To be fair, sitting in the car heading down the A9 and McLaughlin knows as much as us. He’s just been reading off twitter or whatever.
Tick Tock Tick
https://media.istockphoto.com/photos/midnight-midday-picture-id157682650?k=6&m=157682650&s=612x612&w=0&h=YHidLubMMgrXdv4CzOirrSebiIrfCT0zTkJKsNfhHVc=
31-01-2023, 11:01 PM
Ffs
cameronw-hfc
31-01-2023, 11:02 PM
Just because its not announced yet doesn't mean it's not done.
McGruber
31-01-2023, 11:03 PM
Will find out who the centre back is in the morning. Off to bed
HibeeSS0762
31-01-2023, 11:03 PM
Spot on mate. I’m presuming you’ve heard we have Atleast 1 done?
31-01-2023, 11:04 PM
Aberdeen sign some striker dude from Blackburn on loan
cameronw-hfc
31-01-2023, 11:04 PM
Just know one was getting very, very tight for time but we were trying. Not sure if there's others or not just know one was very close, whether we got it or not I'm not sure
31-01-2023, 11:05 PM
Aberdeen sign some striker dude from Blackburn on loanDilan markanday
31-01-2023, 11:06 PM
Dilan markanday
cool, 6th signing i think they said
JammyDoidger
31-01-2023, 11:09 PM
2 loan signings and jimmy jeggo. We've cleared about 10 out. Surely we are still bringing in another couple here?
#2 Double Tap
31-01-2023, 11:10 PM
Agreed, but we must accept that the "if" in your sentence is doing quite a lot of heavy lifting.
no as much as the post a few down who added in magennis haha
King Cosell
31-01-2023, 11:11 PM
Ross County highlights up on YouTube.
31-01-2023, 11:13 PM
Looking like yet another rank transfer window
SloopJB
31-01-2023, 11:16 PM
Aw man, I haven’t seen two of them play yet, are they that bad?
JamesHFC
31-01-2023, 11:16 PM
Sold Porteous, Rocky out for majority of the season and we are left with 2 young loan players and an ageing Paul Hanlon at centre back.
Gordy M
31-01-2023, 11:19 PM
Im sure the poster on here who said we have an announcement still to make, knew and posted, about Jeggo before it was known. Im hoping he or she is right again.
Svengali
Glad i stayed up…. We’ve went from tracking a midfielder and Centre Half to getting neither.
Our CH for the remainder of the season are a young inexperienced loanee and another we thought past it who apparently needs pain killing injections….
Yas…
Aw man, I haven’t seen two of them play yet, are they that bad?
How’s things looking from under that sand
Percy Vere
31-01-2023, 11:20 PM
Could there be a free agent in the offing?
SloopJB
31-01-2023, 11:21 PM
How’s things looking from under that sand
Is it my turn to make something up now?
Can’t we just give the team a chance?
31-01-2023, 11:23 PM
Could there be a free agent in the offing?
Every window we hope for a free agent signing, very very rarely happens 🤣
Think the last couple people have said we’ve signed one too and his announcement would be a day or two after the window closed..
31-01-2023, 11:24 PM
Is it my turn to make something up now?
Can’t we just give the team a chance?
Have the team not been given a chance? We’re nearly in February.
We’ve lost one CB to injury and sold another. The least we should’ve expected with a CB with a bit experience to come in.
I feel better about the team now than I did at the start of the window.
Squad not got the depth I would like but the Australian boy in midfield gives us better balance imo. I also think Fish has been better than I gave him credit for to be fair to him and I like the squad is being topped up with young guys. Thought Egan-Riley looked really promising when he came on too.
Just my opinion but I think we will be a better team than we were in the first half of the season. Still a lot of work to do though.
cameronw-hfc
Didn't announce mckirdy till way after midnight. Not been tole anything new, but I do have a wee feeling we might have one. No journo seems to be responding to Hibs comments, Hibs haven't said anything and I know we were pushing it fine for one. Could be we think it's done but waiting on confirmation. Could be anything.
Ignore that, just seen we're done😂 left it too late as usual then.
LunasBoots
31-01-2023, 11:26 PM
Pretty concerning that we are a couple injuries away from toiling. Jeggo looks decent but the jury's out until we see the other two, wee bit underwhelming
HibeeSS0762
Didn't announce mckirdy till way after midnight. Not been tole anything new, but I do have a wee feeling we might have one. No journo seems to be responding to Hibs comments, Hibs haven't said anything and I know we were pushing it fine for one. Could be we think it's done but waiting on confirmation. Could be anything.
I’m pretty certain we will have signed a defender to be honest.
https://twitter.com/mhendry92/status/1620579129379938305?s=46&t=cQG5K1ECG4Cn7gJ-tjdajw
Done according to Mark Hendry.
Absolute joke of a window yet again if true.
31-01-2023, 11:27 PM
I feel better about the team now than I did at the start of the window.
Squad not got the depth I would like but the Australian boy in midfield gives us better balance imo. I also think Fish has been better than I gave him credit for to be fair to him and I like the squad is being topped up with young guys. Thought Egan-Riley looked really promising when he came on too.
Just my opinion but I think we will be a better team than we were in the first half of the season. Still a lot of work to do though.
Really? That’s some opinion on it
We’ve replaced Porteous with an unknown inexperienced youngster from Burnley and lost Rocky for the rest of the season.
Nisbets went off injured tonight and magennis is nowhere to be seen again
In what way can we feel better about the team now than at the start of the window?
It’s the usual false confidence from some. It’s been another terrible window
HibeeSS0762
31-01-2023, 11:27 PM
I’m pretty certain we will have signed a defender to be honest.
Me too mate.
HibeeSS0762
31-01-2023, 11:28 PM
https://twitter.com/mhendry92/status/1620579129379938305?s=46&t=cQG5K1ECG4Cn7gJ-tjdajw
Not a single journalist was anywhere close with Hoppe. Come on
31-01-2023, 11:28 PM
We’ve replaced Porteous with an unknown inexperienced youngster from Burnley and lost Rocky for the rest of the season.
In what way can we feel better about the team now than at the start of the window?
It’s the usual false confidence from some. It’s been another terrible windowUnbeaten in 4 probably playing a part in that I would think
AugustaHibs
31-01-2023, 11:29 PM
That’s a shocker.
Can wave goodbye to 4th and most likely me renewing if the second half of the season goes how I imagine it will.
Wtf is our ST money going to?
Time will tell I guess but lot of pressure on Jeggo. We still can’t seem to win midfield battles and he’s the only one likely to change that.
JammyDoidger
Imagine we actually haven't signed an experienced centre half, how do the club actually explain that one, when they've been banging on about getting experience in. As bad as we are run and as bad as our recruitment has been I don't believe we've not signed at least one more.
31-01-2023, 11:30 PM
That’s a shocker.
Can wave goodbye to 4th and most likely me renewing if the second half of the season goes how I imagine it will.
Wtf is our ST money going to?
You only renew when we are doing well?
Unbeaten in 4 probably playing a part in that I would think
Class.
Unbeaten in 4 trophy winners.
Perhaps it’s been the opposition we’ve faced that’s seen our form improved.
The only decent side we’ve played this month pulled our pants down twice
Imagine we actually haven't signed an experienced centre half, how do the club actually explain that one.We lost Wright and couldn't find another one probaly?
I mean we couldve taken Anthony Stewart - he's experienced
SloopJB
31-01-2023, 11:31 PM
Have the team not been given a chance? We’re nearly in February.
We’ve lost one CB to injury and sold another. The least we should’ve expected with a CB with a bit experience to come in.
I mean the team as it is now but ok, I will, and maybe my head is in the sand.
I expect a CB with a bit experience would be on our list but accept we may be outbid or just not what the players want.
Is what it is and I’m too old to be angry about it, see where the squad takes us and support them.
Win or lose or draw.
31-01-2023, 11:32 PM
Class.
Unbeaten in 4 trophy winners.Lol, what a llama
You asked what could be causing someone to feel better about the team now
Unbeaten in 4 and near the right end of the form table is a valid reason for that isn't it?
It’s the usual false confidence from some. It’s been another terrible window
Just my opinion.
I think we look more of a team now than we did a few weeks ago. Probably helped with the return of McGeady but I think the new midfielder gives us a better balance too. I liked Porteous but I think it feels a bit like a cloud has lifted now he’s gone.
We beat Aberdeen 6-0 at the weekend and should have won tonight, maybe that’s clouded my judgement a bit but I just feel better about the team now than I did a few weeks back.
You’re dismissing the new guy from Burnley just because he’s inexperienced, I’m not, maybe that’s one reason for our difference of opinion as well.
AugustaHibs
You only renew when we are doing well?
No I don’t, but when it appears money is just being pissed down the drain and the people in charge don’t seem to have a clue what they are doing then I feel like it’s just a waste of money.
JammyDoidger
31-01-2023, 11:33 PM
We lost Wright and couldn't find another one probaly?
I mean we couldve taken Anthony Stewart - he's experienced
Would you settle for that?
31-01-2023, 11:33 PM
****ing hell 😐 that is shocking if true.
31-01-2023, 11:34 PM
We’re guff. Guff recruitment. Guff squad. Guff window. Guff future. Guff. Happy clapping weirdos.
31-01-2023, 11:35 PM
Would you settle for that?Depends on the guy we just signed having much about him
I'd rather we signed another centre half but only one that is adding really quality
If there's none I'd rather wait until summer
Gordy M
31-01-2023, 11:35 PM
Its great the way that we sign a guy who has played champions league and a guy who has cost about 6 million euros in transfer fees as "2 loan signings" in a totally dismissive way......
31-01-2023, 11:36 PM
Done for tonight but what about for the window
Its great the way that we sign a guy who has played champions league and a guy who has cost about 6 million euros in transfer fees as "2 loan signings" in a totally dismissive way......But they are young
Ergo, pish.
Depends on the guy we just signed having much about him
I'd rather we signed another centre half but only one that is adding really quality
If there's none I'd rather wait until summer
I think we've spent on short term players to allow a summer rebuild and I don't think Johnson is out of the woods yet. Hopefully we will see a central defender but Fish has looked much better the last couple of games.
31-01-2023, 11:37 PM
We’re guff. Guff recruitment. Guff squad. Guff window. Guff future. Guff. Happy clapping weirdos.
Somethings telling me you’re no buying into the feel good factor around the club the now?
If we are done for the night, would be nice to get a wee communication from someone at the club. Alan Burrows tweet is so simple but just a good bit of communication from someone who knows how fans minds work on TDD.
https://twitter.com/alan_burrows/status/1620573778907639808?s=46&t=ZvKuhmeLnk4Ewtu8PWN7CA
31-01-2023, 11:37 PM
Its great the way that we sign a guy who has played champions league and a guy who has cost about 6 million euros in transfer fees as "2 loan signings" in a totally dismissive way......
I don’t think it’s so much being dismissive of the two guys we’ve not really seen yet, it’s more about the overall shift in the squad. The team was already faltering badly and I can’t really see an argument to say we’re coming out of this window anything but weaker.
Torto7
31-01-2023, 11:38 PM
Riley can play at CH and will impress everyone. I've watched him for City u23. He will either take Cadden or Fish's position. Hoppe looks really good and has played at a higher level than Hibs. I've liked what I've seen from Jeggo so far. If we make another signing as speculated then I cant see the problem.
Ewan Henderson has played in the champions league
Donegal Hibby
Me too mate.
Hope so mate , as it stands Paul Hanlon is our only experienced centre half and if he gets injured we will be playing a 19 and 20 year old that haven't played many first team games . Sorry for being negative but I do find that fact a little worrying.
31-01-2023, 11:39 PM
Just my opinion.
I think we look more of a team now than we did a few weeks ago. Probably helped with the return of McGeady but I think the new midfielder gives us a better balance too. I liked Porteous but I think it feels a bit like a cloud has lifted now he’s gone.
We beat Aberdeen 6-0 at the weekend and should have won tonight, maybe that’s clouded my judgement a bit but I just feel better about the team now than I did a few weeks back.
You’re dismissing the new guy from Burnley just because he’s inexperienced, I’m not, maybe that’s one reason for our difference of opinion as well.
You think a cloud has been lifted because we’ve sold our best centre half? I canny even begin to make sense of that.
With regards to tonight, by all accounts, a draw was supposedly a fair result over the 90 minutes but I never seen it so can only go on what I’ve read.
I’m comparing what we’ve lost to what we’ve replaced them with is all and from that respect, it’s been another failure of a window
Should have gave Ian gordon the full window. He wouldn't have steered us wrong.
I think we've spent on short term players to allow a summer rebuild and I don't think Johnson is out of the woods yet. Hopefully we will see a central defender but Fish has looked much better the last couple of games.Yep, our defence has looked largely untroubled the last 180 minutes
Fish had a decent game tonight defensively in what would be one of the toughest physically places to go - especially given the weather
JammyDoidger
Tony watt has played in the champions league. Means nothing. We were told we would be signing experienced players, more nonsense if we don't bring anyone else in.
31-01-2023, 11:40 PM
After the derby rage and elation beating Aberdeen I'm back to being meh about Hibs.
At best I think it's another of our famous seasons of transition. At worst we slip down the table.
31-01-2023, 11:41 PM
Somethings telling me you’re no buying into the feel good factor around the club the now?
If we are done for the night, would be nice to get a wee communication from someone at the club. Alan Burrows tweet is so simple but just a good bit of communication from someone who knows how fans minds work on TDD.
https://twitter.com/alan_burrows/status/1620573778907639808?s=46&t=ZvKuhmeLnk4Ewtu8PWN7CA
Feel good factor 🤣🤣🤣???
Come on tae **** bingo, you can’t seriously be believing half the stuff you’re coming out with just now!
A Scottish cup win is a feel good factor not going a few games unbeaten against absolute dross!
31-01-2023, 11:41 PM
Nikola Maksimovic is the rumour
31-01-2023, 11:44 PM
Nikola Maksimovic is the rumour31 free agent
Played for Napoli who signed him for 21 million euros
I'd say no chance [emoji23]
Hilarious if they announced him after the last 30 mins of teeth gnashing tho
31-01-2023, 11:44 PM
You think a cloud has been lifted because we’ve sold our best centre half? I canny even begin to make sense of that.
With regards to tonight, by all accounts, a draw was supposedly a fair result over the 90 minutes but I never seen it so can only go on what I’ve read.
I’m comparing what we’ve lost to what we’ve replaced them with is all and from that respect, it’s been another failure of a window
Yes, clouds been lifted because he didn’t want to be here. I think that would have effected the atmosphere within the group.
31-01-2023, 11:45 PM
Feel good factor 🤣🤣🤣???
Come on tae **** bingo, you can’t seriously be believing half the stuff you’re coming out with just now!
A Scottish cup win is a feel good factor not going a few games unbeaten against absolute dross!
Just a joke as the guy I quoted clearly wasn’t feeling the feel good factor.
Been a long day, I think you need to go for a lie down 😂
31-01-2023, 11:46 PM
Doesn’t seem to have played since the end of 2021, for some reasonHe played against ac Milan in April 2022
31-01-2023, 11:46 PM
Just a joke as the guy I quoted clearly wasn’t feeling the feel good factor.
Been a long day, I think you need to go for a lie down 😂
Have you read your posts? There’s only one of us needing a lie down mate
If this is the squad looking better our standards have completely fell off a cliff
K-Zazu
31-01-2023, 11:47 PM
Rumour from where ?
31-01-2023, 11:47 PM
Doesn’t seem to have played since the end of 2021, for some reason
His last game was for Genoa in October. Played 90 mins in a 4-1 loss to Lazio. I'd say no chance he's signing for Hibs.
31-01-2023, 11:48 PM
He played against ac Milan in April 2022
Ah, that’s better! Near enough 150 Serie A appearances… surely not?!
Underwhelming. We’re now vulnerable in central defence, still weak at left back, have next to no decent cover in midfield and may be no further forward up front depending on Nisbet’s injury.
We were told we’d have quality in after the outs. We’ve taken one signing and two loans. I think the squad is thin in quality and cover. I’d have expected better in trying to push seriously for 4th.
Rumour from where ?
The guys talking on ‘The Hibs Ramble’.
Loads of experience and a very good level but not played in ages by the looks of it so doesn’t fit the match fit and ready to go comments Johnson described.
I’d be stunned if it was him
NGoloGrantie
Any truth in this maksimovic?
31-01-2023, 11:51 PM
Have you read your posts? There’s only one of us needing a lie down mate
If this is the squad looking better our standards have completely fell off a cliff
The depth of the squad isn’t looking better but I think there’s a better shape about the team and I’m feeling positive about the new guys who have come in. I also like the fact the young guys are filling the squad, youthful enthusiasm is infectious and goes a long way imo.
If I end up being wrong then so be it.
Gordy M
Aberdeen fans on twitter were taking about Maksimovic signing for them but it was quickly dismissed due to wages etc.
Underwhelming. We’re now vulnerable in central defence, still weak at left back, have next to no decent cover in midfield and may be no further forward up front depending on Nisbet’s injury.
We were told we’d have quality in after the outs. We’ve taken one signing and two loans. I think the squad is thin in quality and cover. I’d have expected better in trying to push seriously for 4th.Loans are just signings though
If they do well and get us into 4th it's no bearing whether we bought them or not - certainly we arnt gonna be signing folk as expensive as Hoppe on a perm
31-01-2023, 11:52 PM
The guys talking on ‘The Hibs Ramble’.
Loads of experience and a very good level but not played in ages by the looks of it so doesn’t fit the match fit and ready to go comments Johnson described.
I’d be stunned if it was him
Put his name into Twitter and seems to be a lot of Aberdeen fans from a few days ago saying he was lined with them but not from any credible source.
Lot of ***** imo
JammyDoidger
31-01-2023, 11:55 PM
You'd think they would tell us they were done if that was the case eh?
31-01-2023, 11:57 PM
2 loan signings and jimmy jeggo. We've cleared about 10 out. Surely we are still bringing in another couple here?
In all honesty I can't help thinking the club are hoping to cling on until the summer and try to do real business then, for a few reasons.
We have yet to appoint a director of football ( please not John Collins ) whose main job will be to oversee transfer policy and transfers, it would tie his hands a wee bit if we signed a load of permanent players in a desperate punt for 4th this season who in the long run might not be good enough for what we are aiming for going forward.
We currently have a number of players out injured or battling ongoing injury issues who could play a vital role at the club next season if and when we get them fit. Boyle, Rocky, Magennis ( I know I know ) being the obvious ones.
It is still on the cards that we might get a very decent chunk of cash if Doig is transferred and if Nisbet keeps on his current trajectory then another 2 to 3 million quid bid for him could be on the cards. We have already had a reasonable clear out and with loans ending in the summer that would clear the decks even more.
With us being out of the cup and 4th place still very much up for grabs in a league where nobody can claim to be favourites for that last Euro spot we might well have been willing to take a calculated risk and hope we land it with the squad we have plus a couple in this window which we now have. We currently stand 11 points clear of 11th with a decent goal difference to Dundee United, nothing is certain with this club, but relegation being on the cards would take not only a pretty major meltdown on our part, but a couple of the other clubs below us to significantly up their game.
At the end of the day not signing a load of players in this window might end up being a blessing in disguise come the summer. We could start that window with a far smaller squad than we started this season with and a chunk of cash to play with in transfer money and freed up wages. The only thing I would say is if it does come to that we would pretty quickly have to sign a player whose arrival at the club will enthuse swaying ST renewers and back him up with a few signings that have the fans nodding their heads in agreement.
I don't think for a second Hibs started this transfer window planning things to go this way, but as it's gone on with us failing to add any significant numbers it could well be how they are now looking at the situation.
Just_Jimmy
01-02-2023, 12:04 AM
Exactly as expected.
The club is run by clowns.
But we gubbed the worst Aberdeen team in memory...
Utter shambles
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-02-2023, 12:13 AM
**** off you’re having a laugh man [emoji1787]
01-02-2023, 12:14 AM
Loans are just signings though
If they do well and get us into 4th it's no bearing whether we bought them or not - certainly we arnt gonna be signing folk as expensive as Hoppe on a perm
Yeah, that’s really not the point of my post as I suspect you know. We’ve brought in just three players , the weaknesses we have are blindingly obvious and have not been addressed, we are at best no further forward and - as suspected - we’ve done a lot of making our mouths go (and let that become public knowledge) with little actual product. Talk is cheap and that’s largely what we have been treated to.
The crew in charge of these things forfeited trust quite a while back and this window has done next to nothing to recover it in my view. If we somehow make 4th the credit will likely lie with whoever brought on the youngsters we are going to need to rely on. How we are still in the position of Henderson being our midfield impact sub is mind boggling.
01-02-2023, 12:20 AM
Yeah, that’s really not the point of my post as I suspect you know. We’ve brought in just three players , the weaknesses we have are blindingly obvious and have not been addressed, we are at best no further forward and - as suspected - we’ve done a lot of making our mouths go (and let that become public knowledge) with little actual product. Talk is cheap and that’s largely what we have been treated to.
The crew in charge of these things forfeited trust quite a while back and this window has done next to nothing to recover it in my view. If we somehow make 4th the credit will likely lie with whoever brought on the youngsters we are going to need to rely on. How we are still in the position of Henderson being our midfield impact sub is mind boggling.If we make 4th surely the 'credit' is to the club?
You might not like what they have done this tnf window but if we achieve Europe, surley it worked?
I would've liked another centre half but I'm not at the disaster stage
01-02-2023, 12:27 AM
In all honesty I can't help thinking the club are hoping to cling on until the summer and try to do real business then, for a few reasons.
We have yet to appoint a director of football ( please not John Collins ) whose main job will be to oversee transfer policy and transfers, it would tie his hands a wee bit if we signed a load of permanent players in a desperate punt for 4th this season who in the long run might not be good enough for what we are aiming for going forward.
We currently have a number of players out injured or battling ongoing injury issues who could play a vital role at the club next season if and when we get them fit. Boyle, Rocky, Magennis ( I know I know ) being the obvious ones.
It is still on the cards that we might get a very decent chunk of cash if Doig is transferred and if Nisbet keeps on his current trajectory then another 2 to 3 million quid bid for him could be on the cards. We have already had a reasonable clear out and with loans ending in the summer that would clear the decks even more.
With us being out of the cup and 4th place still very much up for grabs in a league where nobody can claim to be favourites for that last Euro spot we might well have been willing to take a calculated risk and hope we land it with the squad we have plus a couple in this window which we now have. We currently stand 11 points clear of 11th with a decent goal difference to Dundee United, nothing is certain with this club, but relegation being on the cards would take not only a pretty major meltdown on our part, but a couple of the other clubs below us to significantly up their game.
At the end of the day not signing a load of players in this window might end up being a blessing in disguise come the summer. We could start that window with a far smaller squad than we started this season with and a chunk of cash to play with in transfer money and freed up wages. The only thing I would say is if it does come to that we would pretty quickly have to sign a player whose arrival at the club will enthuse swaying ST renewers and back him up with a few signings that have the fans nodding their heads in agreement.
I don't think for a second Hibs started this transfer window planning things to go this way, but as it's gone on with us failing to add any significant numbers it could well be how they are now looking at the situation.
This makes sense - but it's simply not going to work whilst the club is owned by the idiots who currently own it.
We get to the summer and - on paper - it goes the way you describe.
In reality, we wait on the "jam tomorrow" that never comes, the Doig money, the McGinn sell on, the money for a Porteous or a Nisbet. The club fails to commit decisively to anything because they know that they MIGHT get a windfall that changes things.
Then it doesn't come and we're left patching up the squad with last minute panic buys and loans, blaming then punting managers and getting nowhere. By then we'll have a director of football to blame for it too, who we might punt or frustrate into walking away.
All the while, the core of the squad who we know we can count on being present gets smaller and weaker, window upon window.
Hibs are transition FC because they're very poorly led and that is highly unlikely to change.
01-02-2023, 12:30 AM
If we make 4th surely the 'credit' is to the club?
You might not like what they have done this tnf window but if we achieve Europe, surley it worked?
Sometimes achievements can be made in spite of things rather than thanks to them. I agree with ODS that if we get 4th this season (I now don't think we have any chance fwiw) it is in spite of certain people and departments and thanks to others for effectively having bailed out their incompetence.
LunasBoots
01-02-2023, 12:45 AM
Touch and go whether we get 4th I'd say, Aberdeen seem to have gone all out to bolster there squad, time will tell over the next month which way things start to pan out.
01-02-2023, 12:57 AM
If we make 4th surely the 'credit' is to the club?
Me neither mate. FFS the way folk are going on you would think Hibs have a history of knocking it out the park in the January transfer window and that our failure to address our problems the way we would have liked in this one is some sort of aberration compared to other seasons.
OK the situation isn't what we hoped for as of midnight last night, but it's hardly the bloody disaster it's being painted as. Jeggo doesn't look too bad and whose to say CJ won't fit in just fine with Hanlon and Fish, whose to say the lad Hoppe won't hit the ground running. The only undeniable major issues we still have IMO is a real weakness at right back and a lack of strength in depth.
As it is Youan has now scored in each of his last two games which is a positive and hopefully Nisbet, who remember we could well have lost forever this week, doesn't have too bad an injury.
In the end it's up to the manager to get a tune out of what he has and you can cover up a multitude of sins with a high work ethic and a good game plan. IMO if LJ can get his act together there's no reason we can't aim for 4th place, the competition for that spot is St Mirren and Livingston with Aberdeen and St Johnstone behind them. No matter how hit and miss Hibs have been this season are folk seriously saying those teams are of such high quality compared to us that 4th place is out of reach with 14 games still to go ... and yes I appreciate that as I type Livvi and St Mirren have 2 games in hand on us.
I'm not asking folk to be mental happy clappers and I'm not pretending I'm anything like positive we can finish 4th and significantly improve our results, all I'm saying is lets wait until we're absolutely positive the patient is deid before we bury him.
01-02-2023, 01:20 AM
Me neither mate. FFS the way folk are going on you would think Hibs have a history of knocking it out the park in the January transfer window and that our failure to address our problems the way we would have liked in this one is some sort of aberration compared to other seasons.
OK the situation isn't what we hoped for as of midnight last night, but it's hardly the bloody disaster it's being painted as. Jeggo doesn't look too bad and whose to say CJ won't fit in just fine with Hanlon and Fish, whose to say the lad Hoppe won't hit the ground running. The only undeniable major issues we still have IMO is a real weakness at right back and a lack of strength in depth.
As it is Youan has now scored in each of his last two games which is a positive and hopefully Nisbet, who remember we could well have lost forever this week, doesn't have too bad an injury.
In the end it's up to the manager to get a tune out of what he has and you can cover up a multitude of sins with a high work ethic and a good game plan. IMO if LJ can get his act together there's no reason we can't aim for 4th place, the competition for that spot is St Mirren and Livingston with Aberdeen and St Johnstone behind them. No matter how hit and miss Hibs have been this season are folk seriously saying those teams are of such high quality compared to us that 4th place is out of reach with 14 games still to go ... and yes I appreciate that as I type Livvi and St Mirren have 2 games in hand on us.
I'm not asking folk to be mental happy clappers and I'm not pretending I'm anything like positive we can finish 4th and significantly improve our results, all I'm saying is lets wait until we're absolutely positive the patient is deid before we bury him.
The lack of depth is pretty terrifying. We’re an injury to one or two key players away from looking like we’re in trouble, players who don’t exactly have unblemished injury records (Hanlon, Nisbet, McGeady).
I can’t pretend that there isn’t something about chucking in a whole bunch of young players via necessity that appeals though. The credentials of the loan players seem good and we have some fringe youngsters of our own who deserve an opportunity.
It’s starting to look like it’s getting harder and harder to remain competitive on recruitment with our budget so if we’re going to have a credible team, we’re maybe going to have to grow one rather than buy one?
01-02-2023, 04:23 AM
What a dreadful window. Clearly just a sticking plaster over the gaping wound until the summer.
01-02-2023, 04:26 AM
If Hanlon gets injured we’re ****ed. Proper lack of depth in a few areas actually which could end up killing us.
01-02-2023, 04:40 AM
If Hanlon gets injured we’re ****ed. Proper lack of depth in a few areas actually which could end up killing us.
Hanlon IS injured
JammyDoidger
01-02-2023, 05:17 AM
If there is one thing we needed in this window, it was an experienced centre half. That's before Rocky got injured and Porteous left. I find it so hard to believe that we haven't managed to get one in. I'll still not believe it until someone from Hibs tells us we are done😂.
OldEast
01-02-2023, 05:29 AM
I completely understand what he means. Yes Porteous was one of our best players and his ability will be missed short term. I absolutely also believe though that his incessant shouting (not in a supportive way) was very likely making his team mates nervous. The new found freedom will help them relax and play the game their way, which after all is why Hibs signed them.
BoyledEgg
01-02-2023, 05:42 AM
I completely understand what he means. Yes Porteous was one of our best players and his ability will be missed short term. I absolutely also believe though that his incessant shouting (not in a supportive way) was very likely making his team mates nervous. The new found freedom will help them relax and play the game their way, which after all is why Hibs signed them.
Agreed, it was also good to see defenders who defend and clear danger. Few times Fish just knocked it out of play and reset, instead of this trying to keep the ball in then losing posession to the opposition, which Porteous did against Hesrts which then led to there first goal.
01-02-2023, 05:45 AM
Have we seriously not signed a ****ing centre half???
01-02-2023, 05:48 AM
Touch and go whether we get 4th I'd say, Aberdeen seem to have gone all out to bolster there squad, time will tell over the next month which way things start to pan out.
They’ve signed dross, especially that Angus Macdonald according to fans of all his previous clubs on Twitter.
Just because theyve signed a few players doesn’t mean they’ll be in a better position to kick on.
We signed a load of ***** in the summer, and now because we didn’t sign enough players in January people are on the clubs back.
01-02-2023, 06:14 AM
Another classic hibs transfer window :hilarious
01-02-2023, 06:20 AM
All window, we need 2 centre half’s, one certainty to be experienced.
Said at start of window hibs will get the untried youngster.
Bang on!
01-02-2023, 06:21 AM
Have we seriously not signed a ****ing centre half???
Thought the young guy was a CH
Clarence
01-02-2023, 06:22 AM
I can understand not going overboard on the signings before the DoF comes in but not signing an experienced centre half is really an indication of where we are as a football club.
01-02-2023, 06:22 AM
Can play right back and centre half. Looked promising when he came on. Physically solid and apparently good on the ball.
Possible an experienced centre back can be brought in out the window. Thank goodness we brought another forward in.
NC1875
01-02-2023, 06:25 AM
Embarassment again. All the people saying before the Hearts game that we had plenty time to sign players etc. We just knew it wasn’t happening.
The clubs a joke right now.
01-02-2023, 06:25 AM
We needed two CB's coming in when we knew Porto was away. Add Rocky's injury and the manager publicly coming out stating he wanted an experienced defender in, I'm shocked we haven't signed another CB as well.
CJ takes us to three CB's and Hanlon seems to be playing through another injury.
McGruber
01-02-2023, 06:26 AM
If there is one thing we needed in this window, it was an experienced centre half. That's before Rocky got injured and Porteous left. I find it so hard to believe that we haven't managed to get one in. I'll still not believe it until someone from Hibs tells us we are done😂.
Of course we have - not half keeping us in suspense though 😆
duffers
01-02-2023, 06:33 AM
Could Timm Klose be worth a look? 34 year old centre back just released from Bristol City.
01-02-2023, 06:34 AM
Embarassment again. All the people saying before the Hearts game that we had plenty time to sign players etc. We just knew it wasn’t happening.
The clubs a joke right now.
Does this squad have it to get a result against Hearts in couple months ?
Can’t believe we are back to having Hanlon and Stevenson still in our back 4.
Midfield very similar and will get over run.
Amazing we brought in 2 more young players (ok they have some positive reviews) but we have been needing some seasoned professionals and leadership.
One day we may learn but will be amazed if we finish 4th.
01-02-2023, 06:35 AM
We seem to be doing a lot of last minute scrambling in the transfer windows these days. Ever since that McGrath episode it’s been the same despite what Kensell promised when he arrived.
01-02-2023, 06:39 AM
Umpteen transfer windows now where we seem to flounder around being linked with players, only for nothing to happen. We then end up signing players at the last minute who are either young inexperienced loanies and/or guys who have been warming their @rses on the benches/stands of mediocre clubs at best.
The same people making the same mistakes on recruitment repeatedly.
JammyDoidger
01-02-2023, 06:41 AM
Umpteen transfer windows now where we seem to flounder around being linked with players, only for nothing to happen. We then end up signing players at the last minute who are either young inexperienced loanies and/or guys who have been warming their @rses on the benches/stands of mediocre clubs at best.
We must be skint, something just doesn't add up here. 12 players out, 2 loans in and jimmy jeggo. That's not what we were promised going into this window, our manager isn't one for talking keek is he?
McGruber
01-02-2023, 06:44 AM
Does this squad have it to get a result against Hearts in couple months ?
Can’t believe we are back to having Hanlon and Stevenson still in our back 4.
Midfield very similar and will get over run.
Amazing we brought in 2 more young players (ok they have some positive reviews) but we have been needing some seasoned professionals and leadership.
One day we may learn but will be amazed if we finish 4th.
I think that's the better way to put it, seasoned professionals. Especially in defence but midfield reinforcements too. The arguments that Egan-Riley is quality and it's good players not about age misses the point. We were given the narrative of the strategy, moving away from inexperienced loans and punts - at least in this window. Of course the young guys could come in and smash it. They could be good players. Nathan Woods is a good player, you don't start for Swansea if you are not. He just wasn't good for us because he wasn't ready. All signings are a gamble, young or old, known or unknown. We were just meant to be mitigating the risk this time round with bringing in hardy pros, leaders. Hope Hanlon stays fit or they dip in and get cover from a free agent
01-02-2023, 06:45 AM
It’s disappointing that we have not managed to sign another CH so far, but it’s it been for a lack of trying.
We should be safe enough with what we have and perhaps good enough, given the recent form evidence that we stay in the top 6 and maybe challenge for top 4.
For those that are saying, what if we get an injury at CH etc. Well that’s true, it could be a nightmare, but we could say the same about our GK, or McGeady, or Youan etc.
At what point do we stop signing people based on what ifs? Let’s just rely on the dev/youth pool and see where we get to.
JammyDoidger
01-02-2023, 06:46 AM
Could Timm Klose be worth a look? 34 year old centre back just released from Bristol City.
At this rate I'd take Miroslav Klose at centre half.
01-02-2023, 06:47 AM
I'd have been delighted with this window if we got a CB in.
01-02-2023, 06:47 AM
I think that's the better way to put it, seasoned professionals. Especially in defence but midfield reinforcements too. The arguments that Egan-Riley is quality and it's good players not about age misses the point. We were given the narrative of the strategy, moving away from inexperienced loans and punts - at least in this window. Of course the young guys could come in and smash it. They could be good players. Nathan Woods is a good player, you don't start for Swansea if you are not. He just wasn't good for us because he wasn't ready. All signings are a gamble, young or old, known or unknown. We were just meant to be mitigating the risk this time round with bringing in hardy pros, leaders. Hope Hanlon stays fit or they dip in and get cover from a free agent
That’s pretty much my take on it. It’s a nice thought to “just want good players” but this squad absolutely needs some experience in key areas. The manager himself said he wanted it. He got that in midfield with Jeggo but has been let down in other areas (unless they announce something today!).
Couple of injuries at the back and we are toiling massively.
Percy Vere
01-02-2023, 06:49 AM
Class.
Unbeaten in 4 trophy winners.
Perhaps it’s been the opposition we’ve faced that’s seen our form improved.
The only decent side we’ve played this month pulled our pants down twice
Always with the glass half empty!
We can only play who is in front of us
Would you rather we lost the last 4 games?
01-02-2023, 06:50 AM
It’s disappointing that we have not managed to sign another CH so far, but it’s it been for a lack of trying.
We should be safe enough with what we have and perhaps good enough, given the recent form evidence that we stay in the top 6 and maybe challenge for top 4.
For those that are saying, what if we get an injury at CH etc. Well that’s true, it could be a nightmare, but we could say the same about our GK, or McGeady, or Youan etc.
At what point do we stop signing people based on what ifs? Let’s just rely on the dev/youth pool and see where we get to.I usually see the positives but having 3 recognised centre backs (one old and having injury issues) definately isn't reaching the level of what ifs
I still wouldn't be shocked to see us sign someone
01-02-2023, 06:53 AM
When I was hearing the likes of Wright, Williams and Arfield I was really hopeful this window - sadly, yet again, this recruitment team have failed massively and the manager’s narrative for experience and leadership hasn’t been either followed or achieved. Yet another poor window that doesn’t address midfield creativity or defensive leadership at the back. Ridiculous we are having to put up with it time and time again.
Percy Vere
01-02-2023, 06:58 AM
We were told we’d have quality in after the outs. We’ve taken one signing and two loans. I think the squad is thin in quality and cover. I’d have expected better in trying to push seriously for 4th.
Well according to Stuart93 every team after top three are dross, so we should romp 4th.
01-02-2023, 06:59 AM
When I was hearing the likes of Wright, Williams and Arfield I was really hopeful this window - sadly, yet again, this recruitment team have failed massively and the manager’s narrative for experience and leadership hasn’t been either followed or achieved. Yet another poor window that doesn’t address midfield creativity or defensive leadership at the back. Ridiculous we are having to put up with it time and time again.
We did try though. Should we have broke the bank to get them? Swindon refused to sell, should. We have sent the heavies round to sort them out?
swin82
01-02-2023, 07:03 AM
Is darren mcgregor still registered 👀
01-02-2023, 07:05 AM
Have the club issued a “Business Concluded” Transfer window message?
01-02-2023, 07:08 AM
https://twitter.com/MotherwellFC/status/1620693561359441922?t=Hnq1X1RKbqlQRDZNHofFIA&s=19
Jon Obika announced at Motherwell
Percy Vere
01-02-2023, 07:09 AM
Can play right back and centre half. Looked promising when he came on. Physically solid and apparently good on the ball.
Possible an experienced centre back can be brought in out the window. Thank goodness we brought another forward in.
Steady Jim you’ll be getting called a happy clapper shortly. 😂
01-02-2023, 07:12 AM
Well according to Stuart93 every team after top three are dross, so we should romp 4th.
They are, unfortunately that includes us.
01-02-2023, 07:17 AM
Have the club issued a “Business Concluded” Transfer window message?
Nope, which is why the hysteria should be put on hold :greengrin
Percy Vere
01-02-2023, 07:17 AM
They are, unfortunately that includes us.
But we’re not any worse are we and if we could get a few of our injured back we would romp 4th. I’m hoping the 3 new guys are decent and that a few young players get a chance to shine. If we get to the summer 4th and one or two young players established in 1st team, I’d take it.
And a free agent centre back please. Today.
NC1875
01-02-2023, 07:19 AM
We did try though. Should we have broke the bank to get them? Swindon refused to sell, should. We have sent the heavies round to sort them out?
That’s ok then. Give Ian Gordon a pat on the back. At least he tried.
If we were after Williams, why leave it to the last day ? Did we not have other targets ?
We’re being taken for mugs by the clowns running the club.
An excellent study from poster SDG looked at the previous 10 seasons before this one and found that:-
"Our permanent January signings have been;
Scott Robertson
None
Franck Dja Djédjé
Tomáš Černý
Fraser Fyvie
Kevin Thomson
Otso Virtanen
Chris Humphrey
Scott Gallacher
Cammy Bell
Gael Bigirimana
Paul McGinn
Matt Macey
Jackson Irvine
Chris Cadden
Chris Mueller
Elias Melkersen
Demetri Mitchell
Runar Hauge
Although there's a few success stories in there I think it's fair to say that most decent signings coming in during January are likely to be on 6 month loan deals."
Only a blind optimist would have expected us to be able to persuade an experienced centre-half to leave the English Leagues to join a club who finished 8th in the SPL last season and are on their third manager in 15 months.
If you were the person in charge of recruitment negotiations at our club, what tactics would you have used? It's not only about wages, but about career progression.
Like it or not, most EPL players wouldn't touch the SPFL with a ten foot pole.
EGL2000
01-02-2023, 07:27 AM
A study from poster SDG looked at the previous 10 seasons before this one and found that:-
"Our permanent January signings have been;
Scott Robertson
None
Franck Dja Djédjé
Tomáš Černý
Fraser Fyvie
Kevin Thomson
Otso Virtanen
Chris Humphrey
Scott Gallacher
Cammy Bell
Gael Bigirimana
Paul McGinn
Matt Macey
Jackson Irvine
Chris Cadden
Chris Mueller
Elias Melkersen
Demetri Mitchell
Runar Hauge
Although there's a few success stories in there I think it's fair to say that most decent signings coming in during January are likely to be on 6 month loan deals."
Only a blind optimist would have expected us to be able to persuade an experienced centre-half to leave the English Leagues to join a club who finished 8th in the SPL last season and are on their third manager in 15 months.
If you were the person in charge of recruitment negotiations at our club, what tactics would you have used? It's not only about wages, but about career progression.
Like it or not, most EPL players wouldn't touch the SPFL with a ten foot pole.
Clearly don't need to be from the English league though.
01-02-2023, 07:27 AM
While I don't think sacking the Manager would achieve anything, there's been a common thread during his tenure of saying stuff which never happens, e.g., high press, quality not quantity, etc. All words and bluster and no action.
01-02-2023, 07:29 AM
We are weaker than before the window opened and then closed, but we were weak anyway.
We have no cover for left centre back, and he's playing with an injury, our keeper is one injury away from us playing a kid.
We are playing our 3rd and 4th choice centre halves.
Nisbet is injured, and we did sign a loan player, who knows how good he is?
MaGenniss is injured again, we needed another midfielder.
We would get by with everyone fit, but FFS we all know thats not happening at Easter Road..
01-02-2023, 07:32 AM
Our level of ambition is dismal. In what conceivable way has this transfer window strengthened us?
I find it relentlessly dispiriting, the utterly dishonest mood music statements of intent the club issues either directly itself through various talking heads or indirectly through media and social media leaks, the catalog of 'Hibs are enquiring about/Hibs have offered' palliatives they use as literal crowd management. This Groundhog Day cycle of the eternal 'jam tomorrow' line is laughable.
It is possible I suppose that this isn't simply incompetence, penny pinching and lack of real ambition. It could also be genuinely 5hit or completely absent messaging. It could be all of these combined. Perhaps not having one real leadership figure of stature at the club means that no-one knows what to think because the club is incapable of publicly and credibly articulating anything remotely resembling a strategy.
Virtually none of us expect miracles and it is laughable to suggest that we do. As Hibs supporters we are used to a rinse and repeat cycle of 'make do and mend' on the footballing side. Over the many years it has generally been obvious that our strategy was one of trying to blend both bringing youth through and making the odd gem signing to raise the threshold of quality and experience available. Recently however we have seen what appears to be quite a lot of cash thrown at external punts which have generally gone nowhere, no explanation of how and why that happened, no indication of what (if any) the new strategy is, no apology and no-one taking responsibility for the failure. Serially we have seen that those few statements which are made by club representatives turn out out be variously ludicrous, unmet, untrue, invented, deflective or just plain contradictions of reality.
More recently our atrocious form was met with silence, a more or less rushed out commitment to a DoF role (but no actual DoF appointment), then more silence. Having ar5ed our season in terms of winning anything by capitulating in the first round of both cups we then approach the transfer window making noises about improving our quality. We then end up pretty much at stand still and arguably with a weaker squad going into the critical last few games of the season despite the fact that a European spot is very much an arithmetical possibility.
Perhaps Lee Johnson's Hibs will somehow be a different team in the remainder of the season from what we have seen in the 30 odd games so far. I doubt it though. We've already helped usher Hearts towards third place and a lucrative European spell for the second year in a row by failing to impose ourselves on an insipid league. If our lack of ambition and forward thinking also forfeits fourth place and again chokes off our own chances of revenue from Europe next season we will fall still further behind in revenue and therefore team and squad strength terms. All of this - all of it - is on the owners, Kensell and Johnson. They'll get the credit if we do well and they absolutely should be taking responsibility for when we don't.
01-02-2023, 07:41 AM
It’s been a poor window, as it was always likely to be, bringing in quality in the Jan window is notoriously difficult even if there is a desire to do so. But I think the club’s priority was always reducing costs during this window which they will have done with the numbers leaving. Other than that I don’t see anything approaching a strategy. That said the mini recovery, though hardly a feel good factor, has lifted some of the gloom from the lows of the derby defeats. Sitting a point off 4th at this stage after what we’ve endured this season seems bizarre, but it’s still a very reasonable target given the poor standard of the other teams. Let’s hope the young players get a chance to step up in the second part of season & can make some impact, and we are lucky for once with injuries, strap in & hope for the best.
01-02-2023, 07:49 AM
We are weaker than before the window opened and then closed, but we were weak anyway.
We have no cover for left centre back, and he's playing with an injury, our keeper is one injury away from us playing a kid.
We are playing our 3rd and 4th choice centre halves.
Nisbet is injured, and we did sign a loan player, who knows how good he is?
MaGenniss is injured again, we needed another midfielder.
We would get by with everyone fit, but FFS we all know thats not happening at Easter Road..
I'm not sure we are. We are weaker in defence but stronger in midfield and attack.
01-02-2023, 07:55 AM
Our level of ambition is dismal. In what conceivable way has this transfer window strengthened us?
I find it relentlessly dispiriting, the utterly dishonest mood music statements of intent the club issues either directly itself through various talking heads or indirectly through media and social media leaks, the catalog of 'Hibs are enquiring about/Hibs have offered' palliatives they use as literal crowd management. This Groundhog Day cycle of the eternal 'jam tomorrow' line is laughable.
It is possible I suppose that this isn't simply incompetence, penny pinching and lack of real ambition. It could also be genuinely 5hit or completely absent messaging. It could be all of these combined. Perhaps not having one real leadership figure of stature at the club means that no-one knows what to think because the club is incapable of publicly and credibly articulating anything remotely resembling a strategy.
Virtually none of us expect miracles and it is laughable to suggest that we do. As Hibs supporters we are used to a rinse and repeat cycle of 'make do and mend' on the footballing side. Over the many years it has generally been obvious that our strategy was one of trying to blend both bringing youth through and making the odd gem signing to raise the threshold of quality and experience available. Recently however we have seen what appears to be quite a lot of cash thrown at external punts which have generally gone nowhere, no explanation of how and why that happened, no indication of what (if any) the new strategy is, no apology and no-one taking responsibility for the failure. Serially we have seen that those few statements which are made by club representatives turn out out be variously ludicrous, unmet, untrue, invented, deflective or just plain contradictions of reality.
More recently our atrocious form was met with silence, a more or less rushed out commitment to a DoF role (but no actual DoF appointment), then more silence. Having ar5ed our season in terms of winning anything by capitulating in the first round of both cups we then approach the transfer window making noises about improving our quality. We then end up pretty much at stand still and arguably with a weaker squad going into the critical last few games of the season despite the fact that a European spot is very much an arithmetical possibility.
Perhaps Lee Johnson's Hibs will somehow be a different team in the remainder of the season from what we have seen in the 30 odd games so far. I doubt it though. We've already helped usher Hearts towards third place and a lucrative European spell for the second year in a row by failing to impose ourselves on an insipid league. If our lack of ambition and forward thinking also forfeits fourth place and again chokes off our own chances of revenue from Europe next season we will fall still further behind in revenue and therefore team and squad strength terms. All of this - all of it - is on the owners, Kensell and Johnson. They'll get the credit if we do well and they absolutely should be taking responsibility for when we don't.
Don’t worry - if things go well for us, and other teams drop points, there’s still a chance we finish the league only one place behind our recently relegated neighbours.
Truly living the dream.
01-02-2023, 07:56 AM
That’s ok then. Give Ian Gordon a pat on the back. At least he tried.
If we were after Williams, why leave it to the last day ? Did we not have other targets ?
We’re being taken for mugs by the clowns running the club.
I always wonder why folks to go straight to DEFCOM 1 and hit out at the club when there are a whole host of possible reasons why we didnt get Williams or another target! Not everything in the world is the fault of the Gordons or Ben :confused:
01-02-2023, 07:56 AM
Very well put and struggle to disagree with any of that. It eloquently explains why there is such a detach between the club and fans that Stubbs and Dempser worked so hard to re-establish post-Butcher.
sahpaton
01-02-2023, 07:58 AM
I always wonder why folks to go straight to DEFCOM 1 and hit out at the club when there are a whole host of possible reasons why we didnt get Williams or another target! Not everything in the world is the fault of the Gordons or Ben :confused:
No the only possible explanation is we are all being taken for mugs, or so people keep saying
01-02-2023, 08:13 AM
I'm not sure we are. We are weaker in defence but stronger in midfield and attack.
Our midfield is awful.
01-02-2023, 08:18 AM
Our midfield is awful.
That's just not true though is it. It's quite a good standard for the league we are in.
01-02-2023, 08:23 AM
We are definitely weaker at the back - the lack of centre backs is amazing - ok Rocky injured hasn’t helped but we knew Porto was going - but is his replacement ?
Midfield - Jeggo being better than Kenneth is the only possible difference. The midfield will still go missing when we are up against it.
Feels like we are back to the stage of the team nearly picking itself due to injuries / lack of depth and quality.
Most of the frustrations know that it’s a league with many inconsistent teams and a solid spine and core can get you 3rd or 4th. It just feels we will be hoping for 4th rather than making it happen and building for the future.
Summer will be an even bigger rebuild now with loans leaving and others older etc. Maybe that’s the clean slate they wanted after the mess they put us in last few years with poor signings.