View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33

30-01-2023, 02:57 PM

Careful Jim or the Smiley Police will be out to get you!

30-01-2023, 02:58 PM

:greengrin :agree:

30-01-2023, 02:59 PM
That is really worrying imo.

I don’t want to sound negative but we can’t get carried away with the Aberdeen result.

We still need quality in this window in a couple of areas

Perhaps the level of quality that the club is looking for is either not available or is outwith the club's budget?

Would you rather that the club signed someone simply for the sake of it and use up resources that might be better used for the next transfer window or to perhaps get a player to extend their contract?

There is a balancing act, and clearly the club and the manager feel that there is better value in promoting youth players vs the options currently available on the transfer market.

30-01-2023, 03:00 PM
Don't need to sign someone on a 4 year deal but just add that extra experience on loan with a higher wage even. Can't just put the season on hold for a DOF that we haven't yet got in the door.
Older players with experience aren’t signing for 14 games. They’ll want long term deals. It’s not that easy in January. I’m surprised we got Jeggo to be honest. If they are out there we’ll be interested. The season is anything but on hold but again we are not skint. The mantra seems to be Quality over quantity. The balance between inexperienced gamble versus experienced quality is being addressed and not before time. There’s room for both but there needs to be a balance.

30-01-2023, 03:09 PM
I’m oddly OK with an experienced CB.

If we can get a bit more dead wood out of the team (Henderson, Tavares) I’d be quite happy to let the youngsters work their way into the team.

We have some very good young players and it’s as good a time as any being out of both cups and seemingly reasonably safe from relegation.

30-01-2023, 03:14 PM
Kind of signing that just fills me with zero hope. Hardly any of these promising youngsters from England ever do well at us. Huge difference between youth football and senior level. Hopefully be a decent player though!

So, which is it? :greengrin

Silky
30-01-2023, 03:43 PM
Looking for just a CH doesn't seem like enough for me.

But if it means more game time for the boys coming through the academy, then I can live with it.

I know what you mean. I don't know what is best. I love seeing academy boys come through and have seen the club slated in the past when hot prospects move to other clubs because we won't give them game time. But I also realise that we need to have some experienced heads in the side if we are to progress. I sometimes think If we don't play the kids, what is the point in investing in an academy if there is no pathway. Constantly signing "experienced" players blocks that pathway, so what's the point? I often wonder if we are blocking the way of a golden generation for a short termist fix of an olden generation and that someone else will reap what we've sown.

30-01-2023, 03:45 PM
Really hope this isn't true. Still need a creative forward thinking midfielder

Josh Campbell

30-01-2023, 03:49 PM
“The Evening News understands there are no immediate plans to add in the other areas of the park with Johnson keen to use youth players to supplement his squad.“

Latest from the EEN. Experienced defender still wanted but that aside seems we are relying on youth.

Fourth place is absolutely up for grabs and even third is not gone given we are nine points behind Hearts who just dropped two points against Livi. So we have a very strong prospect of Europe next season if we get our act together. Hearts made a lot of money from their European jaunt this year.

If, in those circumstances, we do not strengthen further in this window then frankly really hard questions need to be asked. How Johnson can say what they suggest he is saying beggars belief. Firstly it completely contradicts what he told us at the start of the window and secondly it is laughable given the weakness of our squad.

I can only hope he is lying through his teeth in order to dampen the financial expectations of other clubs we may try to negotiate with in the remaining 31 hours of this window. If not and we end up signing no-one else then he and others at the club are taking the piss out of the support.

30-01-2023, 03:51 PM
https://i.ibb.co/1qxL5pT/Screenshot-2023-01-30-16-50-26-26-0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg (https://ibb.co/k8FxfrX)

Is that our Henderson?

30-01-2023, 03:52 PM
https://i.ibb.co/1qxL5pT/Screenshot-2023-01-30-16-50-26-26-0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg (https://ibb.co/k8FxfrX)

Is that our Henderson?

Surely not.

30-01-2023, 03:54 PM

Is that our Henderson?

Must be. Liam left Celtic just as Maloney came back.

30-01-2023, 03:57 PM

Is that our Henderson?

Cannot be surely?

30-01-2023, 03:59 PM
It’s definitely a bold move from Maloney. Henderson has failed to make his mark at every club he’s been at so a move to the English Championship is the logical next step for him.

30-01-2023, 04:01 PM
I think there's a player in Henderson potentially but I could be, and probably am, completely wrong.

30-01-2023, 04:01 PM
What a first move by Maloney

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 04:04 PM
Surely not.
Yeah , I'm with you easty still think he will come good yet 😂

30-01-2023, 04:06 PM
I’ll judge him on his ability, age and experience is meaningless if the player in question is s***e. Hearts signed a 20 year old with no first team games played this season and he bossed it in the derby and Hearts are yet to concede a goal when he’s playing. Would they have been better with some late twenties journey man who can’t get off the bench for a League 1 side?

Exactly. I sometimes think if we signed Gavi or Jude Bellingham folk would be dismissive because they're teenagers.

CJ may or may not be a baller, but writing him off before he's even played because of his age is just daft

Willis1875
30-01-2023, 04:12 PM

Martin Kelly is his first move in the market

Svengali
30-01-2023, 04:16 PM
Happy enough to see what comes of CJ. But we need a bit of experience in there and we need something in midfield.

Let’s see what the next 24 hours or so brings.

LJ talked about needing a leader, lets hope there’s more to come. Saturday result doesn’t hide the holes in our squad

30-01-2023, 04:18 PM

👮🚨🚓

30-01-2023, 04:19 PM
[QUOTE=DunblaneHibby;7260288]I remember it well![/QUOTE

Pretty sure we wore purple for the home tie. Looked very exotic all those years ago!

It was the away leg where we wore it, which was the first time we wore a purple strip.

Svengali
30-01-2023, 04:20 PM
Would a move for James McCarthy be a bad shout? No idea if he’s injured BTW.

He’s 32 so still couple of years in him

30-01-2023, 04:20 PM
Henderson would be a tremendous signing for Maloney, has all the qualities you’d want when scrapping it out at the bottom of the Championship😏

Svengali
30-01-2023, 04:22 PM
Henderson would be a tremendous signing for Maloney, has all the qualities you’d want when scrapping it out at the bottom of the Championship😏

Yeah, can see him mixing it with the cloggers eh

30-01-2023, 04:23 PM

Perpetually injured, last thing we need right now.

30-01-2023, 04:29 PM

Is that our Henderson?

All is forgiven Shaun. Always said you were a top bloke.

30-01-2023, 04:31 PM
I think there's a player in Henderson potentially but I could be, and probably am, completely wrong.

I think there is as well however no getting away his form has been disappointing recently. Good opportunity to stake a place at Motherwell but was very poor. Think he is the sort of player you need to give a run of games to however he does need to earn that chance.

30-01-2023, 04:33 PM

It’s definitely a bold move from Maloney. Henderson has failed to make his mark at every club he’s been at so a move to the English Championship is the logical next step for him.

I think Henderson will be an excellent signing for Wigan. He's such a creative player and just what they need in their fight against relegation. Still young, so has lots of potential to develop into a top class player.

I'll be devastated when he leaves.

If any Wigan fans are looking in, he's going to get you off your seats!

30-01-2023, 04:33 PM
Fourth place is absolutely up for grabs and even third is not gone given we are nine points behind Hearts who just dropped two points against Livi. So we have a very strong prospect of Europe next season if we get our act together. Hearts made a lot of money from their European jaunt this year.

If, in those circumstances, we do not strengthen further in this window then frankly really hard questions need to be asked. How Johnson can say what they suggest he is saying beggars belief. Firstly it completely contradicts what he told us at the start of the window and secondly it is laughable given the weakness of our squad.

I can only hope he is lying through his teeth in order to dampen the financial expectations of other clubs we may try to negotiate with in the remaining 31 hours of this window. If not and we end up signing no-one else then he and others at the club are taking the piss out of the support.

I honestly have never thought they were planning any significant signings in this window, Kensell’s DOF statement basically said that. I also think they are hoping to avoid relegation, limp into the top 6 and if we’re lucky get a European spot.

There is no “let’s get players in to push for Europe” thoughts going on at all. I think the season has been all but binned in terms of ambition and then maybe push on for next season.

Svengali
30-01-2023, 04:40 PM
I honestly have never thought they were planning any significant signings in this window, Kensell’s DOF statement basically said that. I also think they are hoping to avoid relegation, limp into the top 6 and if we’re lucky get a European spot.

There is no “let’s get players in to push for Europe” thoughts going on at all. I think the season has been all but binned in terms of ambition and then maybe push on for next season.

If we are seriously thinking that then i worry, but it would sum us up as a club over last couple of years.

We currently occupy 5th place. If we’re not thinking europe ahead of the mighty Livingston, St Mirren and a p1sh Aberdeen (who we've beaten twice this season) we may as well just give up.

Our ambition is European places, its achieveable… na forget the extra revenue and let’s just consolidate and hope for the best

30-01-2023, 04:42 PM
If we are seriously thinking that then i worry, but it would sum us up as a club over last couple of years.

We currently occupy 5th place. If we’re not thinking europe ahead of the mighty Livingston, St Mirren and a p1sh Aberdeen (who we've beaten twice this season) we may as well just give up.

Our ambition is European places, its achieveable… na forget the extra revenue and let’s just consolidate and hope for the best

Yip I highly doubt they have binned this season already, its a poor league, a couple of wins and you are almost in a European spot so no danger they are thinking the season is gone already

Svengali
30-01-2023, 04:47 PM
Yip I highly doubt they have binned this season already, its a poor league, a couple of wins and you are almost in a European spot so no danger they are thinking the season is gone already

My thoughts too mate. My response wasn’t a dig at poster but if club were thinking it’s about consolidating and see where it takes us, they have zero ambition and no clue. 4th is more than achievable.

I would be concerned if that’s us done on transfers-in, even if Nisbet is here come Wednesday. Which we will know tomorrow when line ups are announced.

30-01-2023, 04:49 PM

Equally because of that they may have decided to give that a go with what we’ve got…

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 04:51 PM
We did sign Henderson on a free? Just it says in this article Wigan would have to pay a fee for him , I wouldn't have thought we would be to hard to deal with on this one.
https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/hibernian-midfielder-on-wigan-athletic-transfer-radar/

30-01-2023, 04:51 PM

I don’t think he’s even got a couple of games in him

30-01-2023, 04:52 PM
Equally because of that they may have decided to give that a go with what we’ve got…

Possibly, with the way our recruitment has been in the last couple of years who knows what they are thinking

Svengali
30-01-2023, 04:53 PM
I don’t think he’s even got a couple of games in him

😂😂

30-01-2023, 05:04 PM

That’s exactly what I mean. They’re not going to
‘push’ with ambitious signings this season but hope we’ve got enough in our squad plus maybe a couple of loans and see where we get. My point is they’re not sitting thinking about bringing quality signings in to have a real go at Europe. I would really like that but just can’t see it being their thought process.

30-01-2023, 05:15 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfers-the-state-of-play-before-deadline-day-bailey-wright-stuart-findlay-deji-oshilaja-francisco-ferro-outgoings-targets-4006815

Deji Oshilaja?

"Reports that Hibs have had a bid rejected for Burton Albion’s Deji Oshilaja are wide of the mark" - a bit ambiguous?

Hokey jokey song for Deji sign him

HarpOnHibee
30-01-2023, 05:27 PM
If any Wigan fans are looking in, he's going to get you off your seats!

Then walking down the stairs, then out of the stadium, then into your cars. :wink:

timewilltell
30-01-2023, 05:33 PM
CJ Egan-Riley: Burnley defender joins Hibernian on loan

From the BBC.

30-01-2023, 05:39 PM
‘push’ with ambitious signings this season but hope we’ve got enough in our squad plus maybe a couple of loans and see where we get. My point is they’re not sitting thinking about bringing quality signings in to have a real go at Europe. I would really like that but just can’t see it being their thought process.
Maybe they think they have enough rather than hope?

30-01-2023, 05:39 PM
I'm looking forward to seeing what CJ has to offer.

https://youtu.be/Gx4fKdMhK94

30-01-2023, 05:42 PM

https://youtu.be/Gx4fKdMhK94He didn't get to where he is today by not being good at defending?[emoji6]

30-01-2023, 05:47 PM
He didn't get to where he is today by not being good at defending?[emoji6]

Ha ha. I wish he had said that.

He starts of with the standard platitudes to the brilliant fans, the city, and our history but he actually sounds intelligent and genuinely keen as the interview develops.

AltheHibby
30-01-2023, 05:56 PM
He didn't get to where he is today by not being good at defending?[emoji6]

Sunshine Desserts on Leith?

Speaking about CJ Egan-Riley after his debut against the Portuguese side, at right-back, Guardiola said: “CJ Egan-Riley played really good and didn't miss one ball. He is a seven out of ten footballer; not exceptional in anything but that is a good sign as a defender as he doesn't make any mistakes."

Welcome to Hibernian CJ, looking forward to seeing what you can bring to the club.

Let's get Henderson to Wigan and try bring in another CB and CM.

Svengali
30-01-2023, 05:59 PM

I hear what you’re saying. I don’t think they need to be really ambitious signings or players we have to pay over the odds for. But, a couple of decent solid players to improve the core group could go a long way, as the league is pretty poor.

The club need to do what Lee does every moment of every day…. Look up.

30-01-2023, 06:00 PM
Maybe they think they have enough rather than hope?

Maybe they do. I think a lot of Hibs fans were thinking we were going to address our problems by getting in much needed quality in this window, I don’t think the hierarchy of the club ever had that plan. They will go with what we have and hope or think it’s enough for Europe whichever way you want to put it. I would have liked them to actually push for it but for whatever their reasons I don’t see that happening by making the signings fans were expecting.

Obviously hope we do push on and get a couple in tomorrow. 🤞

JammyDoidger
30-01-2023, 06:08 PM
Josh Doig not in the Verona squad for tonight's game..nearing a move?

30-01-2023, 06:12 PM
👮*♂️👌😂👍

Willis1875
30-01-2023, 06:19 PM
Josh Doig not in the Verona squad for tonight's game..nearing a move?

Got the flu

30-01-2023, 06:29 PM
Oliver Burke heading to Millwall

30-01-2023, 06:30 PM
Maybe they do. I think a lot of Hibs fans were thinking we were going to address our problems by getting in much needed quality in this window, I don’t think the hierarchy of the club ever had that plan. They will go with what we have and hope or think it’s enough for Europe whichever way you want to put it. I would have liked them to actually push for it but for whatever their reasons I don’t see that happening by making the signings fans were expecting.

I thought they said priority was outgoings and potentially one or two in. LJ did say he wanted quality in but never specifically mentioned this window.. Jeggos got a good pedigree and seems to be slotting in well & the new lad has championship experience, a few games for man city & a game in champions league..hopefully decent too

30-01-2023, 06:40 PM

Consolation prize for Nisbet?

30-01-2023, 06:41 PM

That boy has some agent

mcfly
30-01-2023, 06:45 PM
So anyone think we will bring in more players tomorrow?

30-01-2023, 06:46 PM
Fair play to hibs so far

They have got rid of some dead wood which I had been calling for months as well as many others

Still a bit to go but a step in the right direction

Henderson
Doyle-Hayes
Tavares

Should all be punted in my opinion with close monitoring to Magennis as his injuries are ridiculous now.

2-3 half decent signings before the window closes and we might just make a fist for fourth in one of the poorest standard seasons of top flight Scottish football yet.

Over to you hibs

Up-the-slope

https://youtu.be/Gx4fKdMhK94
Playing with Kevin De Bruyne..... he will hardly notice the difference :greengrin

I liked when asked what his atributes are he says technical ability & calmness in possession Hes not lacking confidence anyway:top marks

Torto7

Is the scout only allowed to sign Scottish strikers? They bid for Dykes as well. Burke is brutal and seems to want to break the record for clubs played for by the looks of things.

kentao
30-01-2023, 06:48 PM

What do clubs see in him... 30m+ in fees with a return of 174 games and 17 goals in league competitions at differing levels.

Josh Campbells got to be worth a fortune he's already got 15 goals from 92 games :)

McGruber
30-01-2023, 06:49 PM
I thought they said priority was outgoings and potentially one or two in. LJ did say he wanted quality in but never specifically mentioned this window.. Jeggos got a good pedigree and seems to be slotting in well & the new lad has championship experience, a few games for man city & a game in champions league..hopefully decent too

After the Aberdeen game LJ said 'at least a couple in' with the mantra since Tynecastle being 'ready to go in the first team, quality players'. Start of the window they did say depends on getting some out and they certainly managed that plus Porteous being sold and Bushiri injury. I expect we'll sign a couple with experienced centre back a must

Torto7
30-01-2023, 06:49 PM
Fair play to hibs so far

They have got rid of some dead wood which I had been calling for months as well as many others

Henderson
Doyle-Hayes
Tavares

Should all be punted in my opinion with close monitoring to Magennis as his injuries are ridiculous now.

2-3 half decent signings before the window closes and we might just make a fist for fourth in one of the poorest standard seasons of top flight Scottish football yet.

Over to you hibs

I'd keep Tavares, he's got quick feet and plenty of ability. His problem is he needs to put on some muscle, same with Henderson. Agree on Magennis, it's beyond a joke now.

30-01-2023, 06:50 PM

Yep, that’s my take on it too. I think there was much bigger expectations from some fans though. Hopefully we can land a decent midfielder and a couple more defenders before the window closes and who knows.

Torto7
30-01-2023, 06:51 PM
After the Aberdeen game LJ said 'at least a couple in' with the mantra since Tynecastle being 'ready to go in the first team, quality players'. Start of the window they did say depends on getting some out and they certainly managed that plus Porteous being sold and Bushiri injury. I expect we'll sign a couple with experienced centre back a must

We might have been expecting Nisbets money to fund any incomings. I'm beginning to think we might only see one more in.

30-01-2023, 06:57 PM
What do clubs see in him... 30m+ in fees with a return of 174 games and 17 goals in league competitions at differing levels.

Josh Campbells got to be worth a fortune he's already got 15 goals from 92 games :)

One of life’s great mysteries this. He once had a decent 3 weeks in his career back in August 2016 which encouraged Leipzig to spend £13m on him. He was pish out there and then Tony Pulis then at West Brom inexplicably spent the same on him.

The only thing that I think people see is that a club once paid millions of pounds for him so there must be something there. There absolutely isn’t. He averages 2 to 3 goal involvements as season.

He changes club every single year and continues to be awful. Someone will likely think they can salvage something him next window as well.

scm70nyd1973
30-01-2023, 07:05 PM
Welcome aboard CJ important position for us so hopefully the guys ready to go

One for the oldies here (like myself) but I hope that CJ shines big time for us and goes on to have a glittering career and will one day say “ I didn’t get where I am today without playing for Hibernian FC” 🤭

…. I’ll get my coat 😂

30-01-2023, 07:08 PM
Consolation prize for Nisbet?
Not even close

30-01-2023, 07:09 PM

Gutted for Millwall.

30-01-2023, 07:11 PM

He runs awfy fast. That's aboot it.

ErinGoBraghHFC
30-01-2023, 07:11 PM
Gutted for Millwall.

Nah **** them, hope they’re paying him way over the odds. *****.

jakeshibs
30-01-2023, 07:21 PM

what if the quality is not available at this moment in this transfer, do you want the club just to buy for the sake of it as we have tried that previously and thats why we are in this mess.

thebausburst
30-01-2023, 07:23 PM
I'd keep Tavares, he's got quick feet and plenty of ability. His problem is he needs to put on some muscle, same with Henderson. Agree on Magennis, it's beyond a joke now.

Tavares for me is clearly well below SPL standard, surely the club will be looking to punt him if anyone will take him!

30-01-2023, 07:25 PM
what if the quality is not available at this moment in this transfer, do you want the club just to buy for the sake of it as we have tried that previously and thats why we are in this mess.

Yes I want them just to buy for the sake of it, what do you think? Just get anyone in, the postman maybe. That’s absolutely nothing near what I’ve said.

30-01-2023, 07:26 PM
Wigan bid rejected for Nisbet.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/kevin-nisbet-hibs-reject-wigan-athletic-bid-for-star-striker-as-shaun-maloney-eyes-reunion-4007341

30-01-2023, 07:26 PM
We have rejected a bid by Wigan for Nisbet.

30-01-2023, 07:27 PM
He has a set price, Maloney, pay it or **** off.

30-01-2023, 07:27 PM
Nah **** them, hope they’re paying him way over the odds. *****.

Had about 9 or 10 clubs, 2nd time at Millwall also forgot had a loan at Celtic and, and 13 yes 13 caps for Scotland.

30-01-2023, 07:28 PM
I think I actually admire the club for their approach this window it would be so easy to empty out the dross we don’t want Port different of course and bring in multiple other players. The whole idea was to refuse the quantity and have a stronger smaller squad. That’s all somewhat driven by the right quality being available which maybe hasn’t been the case, if we had signed say the 2 projects Hearts have in the Aussie and the Japanese lad and they didn’t hit the ground running the club wound be hammered for not learning and doing the same again. Sometimes better working with what you have and promoting youth than adding players for the sake of it. Realistically which team outside maybe the old firm have actually added real quality this window that’s made you stand up and say that’s great business. There are undoubtedly areas of the team to improve but I’d rather wait till the summer than take more punts on more this month.

30-01-2023, 07:29 PM
Maloney putting the knife in.

Up-the-slope
Maloney can get lost....

And surely if he wasnt wanting to go to the Den KN would not consider Wigan at any wages :confused:

Michael Beale 'has his eyes' on a striker he wants to bring to Ibrox this summer 👀

Watch his press conference in full ➡️ youtube.com/watch?v=eWPMhn

30-01-2023, 07:30 PM

No Maloney doing his job. Managers 9/10 always go back for players they have worked with

JamesHFC
30-01-2023, 07:30 PM
Nisbet waiting for bigger and better things imo

Andymac85
30-01-2023, 07:31 PM
He runs awfy fast. That's aboot it.

Did the coach he had in Germany not call him an ‘empty hard drive’ referring to his inability to take in and ‘learn’ information.

EGL2000
30-01-2023, 07:32 PM
That would be a terrible move for nisbet, very good chance he would be playing league 1 football next season.

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 07:33 PM
Rejected a bid for. Nisbet .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/kevin-nisbet-hibs-reject-wigan-athletic-bid-for-star-striker-as-shaun-maloney-eyes-reunion-4007341

30-01-2023, 07:34 PM

No chance he’s putting the knife in, he’s just doing his job.

30-01-2023, 07:41 PM
Wigan will be going down and I'm sure Nisbet will know that playing League One football isn't going to help his chances of getting back in the Scotland squad.

30-01-2023, 07:44 PM
That would be a terrible move for nisbet, very good chance he would be playing league 1 football next season.
Certainly would and hopefully he'll remember the frustration of playing under Maloney and his Maloney ball stile of play.
Plus no possibility Hibs could replace Nisbet in the time remaining before window shuts.

HarpOnHibee
30-01-2023, 07:47 PM

3rd place and European Football :agree:

30-01-2023, 07:47 PM
Beat it Maloney

Wrong player, it’s Henderson your after

30-01-2023, 07:50 PM
Simmer down Maloney ya welt.

JammyDoidger
30-01-2023, 07:56 PM
Never really had a bad word to say about Maloney but now he's a wee tosser.

30-01-2023, 07:58 PM
Be interesting to see if Kevin is in the match day squad tomorrow.

30-01-2023, 07:59 PM
Never really had a bad word to say about Maloney but now he's a wee tosser.

Why?

Potty78
30-01-2023, 08:00 PM
Think Miller may go out on loan!

30-01-2023, 08:02 PM

Hibs to attempt the no right backs challenge

McGruber
30-01-2023, 08:03 PM

Surely not

30-01-2023, 08:06 PM
Be interesting to see if Kevin is in the match day squad tomorrow.
He is up in Dingwall preparing fir the match with the squad Hopefully Thsts the way it stays

Hibeewilly
30-01-2023, 08:07 PM
If we can get another defender/right back in that would make sense. He looked totally unfit when he came on on Saturday. Game time in a lower league would be ideal

30-01-2023, 08:09 PM
Hibs to attempt the no right backs challenge

CJ can play RB

30-01-2023, 08:10 PM
Forget the set price he is scoring in most of his games just The price will go up in the summer So unless it’s mental money reject reject reject
Plus his agents said he wants to concentrate on hibs st oresent sonthat tells me he knows where he is going in the summer if he keeps his firm going

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 08:13 PM
If we can get another defender/right back in that would make sense. He looked totally unfit when he came on on Saturday. Game time in a lower league would be ideal
Just back from a lengthy injury though isn't he ?

30-01-2023, 08:15 PM
St Mirren fans reckon Wigan are in for Baccus, that would be a big loss for them with Erhahon looking likely to sign for Lincoln.

Hibeewilly
30-01-2023, 08:17 PM
Just back from a lengthy injury though isn't he ?
Exactly so he needs to go out on loan for game time as he wont get it here.....

LunasBoots
30-01-2023, 08:18 PM
We'll probably only know by the time the squads announced tomorrow whether he's away, br hard if decent last minute bids start flowing

30-01-2023, 08:19 PM
Local journalist in Wigan claiming bid for Nisbet isn't true and it's an agent causing mischief.

Musselbound
30-01-2023, 08:22 PM
One for the oldies here (like myself) but I hope that CJ shines big time for us and goes on to have a glittering career and will one day say “ I didn’t get where I am today without playing for Hibernian FC” 🤭

…. I’ll get my coat 😂

I see what you did. :wink:

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 08:25 PM
Don't know why you think he wouldn't get game time at us , for me he's our only natural right back, I've quite liked him any time I've watched him , imo give him game time and we have a good player on our hands.

30-01-2023, 08:26 PM
Local journalist in Wigan claiming bid for Nisbet isn't true and it's an agent causing mischief.

I hope it’s not Kevin Nisbet’s agent. 😳

30-01-2023, 08:27 PM

…. I’ll get my coat 😂

That's about the 5th time I've read that on here,can someone explain the reference?

30-01-2023, 08:28 PM
That's about the 5th time I've read that on here,can someone explain the reference?

It's a Reggie Perrin reference

30-01-2023, 08:29 PM

https://youtu.be/R5Os_SrLJ0w

30-01-2023, 08:29 PM

https://youtu.be/drlPbIWAz-E

30-01-2023, 08:31 PM
Fair play to hibs so far

Henderson
Doyle-Hayes
Tavares

Over to you hibs

I would keep JDH but be delighted to see Hendo go on a permanent and Jair on a loan

30-01-2023, 08:35 PM
It's a Reggie Perrin reference

Oh right, can't say I've ever watched it, cheers anyway.

30-01-2023, 08:35 PM
One of life’s great mysteries this. He once had a decent 3 weeks in his career back in August 2016 which encouraged Leipzig to spend £13m on him. He was pish out there and then Tony Pulis then at West Brom inexplicably spent the same on him.

The only thing that I think people see is that a club once paid millions of pounds for him so there must be something there. There absolutely isn’t. He averages 2 to 3 goal involvements as season.

He changes club every single year and continues to be awful. Someone will likely think they can salvage something him next window as well.

He was a teenager when he moved to Germany. They were buying potential. Clearly, they were wrong because he hasn’t improved.

As for Pulis… gonna measure my words carefully here, but some managers have aroused suspicions about their motivations for certain transfers.

30-01-2023, 08:42 PM
Wonder why McGrath can't get a gig for Utd? Injured? Doesn't fit the system or just not good enough? Wonder if there is any truth in Henderson to Wigan he would be part of the deal, cash plus him on loan to the end of the season?

Assuming we are looking for some cash.

30-01-2023, 08:48 PM

I think it’s fairly certain Maloney would have picked up the phone to Nisbet to ask if he was interested before they put a bid in.

30-01-2023, 08:49 PM
Thought Maloney might have recalled the boy Humphreys from hearts

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 08:49 PM
Sheff weds are rumoured to have made a loan enquiry about Stephen Welsh of Celtic.

30-01-2023, 08:50 PM
I think it’s fairly certain Maloney would have picked up the phone to Nisbet to ask if he was interested before they put a bid in.

You would think Nisbet knows how to block numbers on his phone.

30-01-2023, 08:51 PM

Why won’t he get game time here? He just played at the weekend.

Silky
30-01-2023, 08:54 PM

Is that not tapping up? Mind you, questionable manager so questionable practices.

30-01-2023, 08:57 PM
https://bit.ly/3Y6Y8H3

Best mates with McKirdy too. Maybe give us something different in midfield.

30-01-2023, 08:58 PM

Best mates with McKirdy too. Maybe give us something different in midfield.Interesting one that

7 goals this season so far

Surprised he's in L2 though

30-01-2023, 09:00 PM

Good experience.

yerauldda
30-01-2023, 09:02 PM
Still a good age. Surprised he’s down in league two.

Dr_Regal
Good player Williams

Hibs rejected bid from Wigan Athletic for Kevin Nisbet today - not close enough to valuation. Ex-manager Shaun Maloney, who has good relationship with the player, now in charge of Latics. Time running out for suitors given where we are in window and Hibs playing tomorrow night.

https://twitter.com/atkotweets/status/1620180473946456068?s=46&t=aYoYfSl7fsZjcRcQJ6BQ6A

Had about 9 or 10 clubs, 2nd time at Millwall also forgot had a loan at Celtic and, and 13 yes 13 caps for Scotland.

Absolute disgrace that.

30-01-2023, 09:03 PM

Sure I remember him at Sunderland in the Documentary they had on the TV

30-01-2023, 09:06 PM

Like the sound of this. Remember watching Sunderland documentary on Netflix and he came across as a really nice guy. Also Wales took him to WC literally because he's a good lad around the dressing room. We need some characters around the place

Decent option too

Souter96Mac
30-01-2023, 09:08 PM
Think he's had injury issues, but that aside, he would fit the bill imo. A type of attacking/creative player we need in the midfield.
I wonder if this deal would hinge on a midfielder leaving

30-01-2023, 09:09 PM
Think he's had injury issues, but that aside, he would fit the bill imo. A type of attacking/creative player we need in the midfield.
I wonder if this deal would hinge on a midfielder leavingJust need Maloney to spend 500k on Ewan Henderson

Hibeewilly
30-01-2023, 09:12 PM
Why won’t he get game time here? He just played at the weekend.
He came on when we were 4 up for the last 15. I've never been impressed with him since he came here but opinions eh....Good luck to the lad and hope he proves me wrong....

David_D
30-01-2023, 09:22 PM
Sky Saying Maloney has made a bid for Campbell now.

thebausburst
30-01-2023, 09:23 PM
Good player Williams

He’s a cracking player, but reading the quotes from him he’s not going anywhere.

30-01-2023, 09:24 PM

Piss off Shaun.

30-01-2023, 09:24 PM
https://twitter.com/AnthonyRJoseph/status/1620185171587911680?t=alhjMUWYskwMY6GgiSbhWg&s=19

yerauldda
30-01-2023, 09:25 PM
Oh it’s all getting tasty, tomorrow will be fun

30-01-2023, 09:26 PM
Maloney doesn't have much of an imagination it seems. Hopefully signs Henderson before he's sacked again.

30-01-2023, 09:27 PM

Maybe McKirdy recommend him?

30-01-2023, 09:29 PM

Maloney you can have Henderson but Campbell too ?!!

30-01-2023, 09:30 PM
Always rated Williams as a player. Very good on the ball, had some injury issues for a while which is the only reason I can imagine that he’s at Swindon.

Found a home there when fit and loved it?

Would be happy if we can get him.

Henderson - Clearly has ability but can’t seem to do anything with it the majority of games and looks to have no confidence. Would sell him to Wigan despite the fact I think he has a lot of potential to kick on somewhere else.

Campbell - Said it loads he’s one of our best players this season, think it would cost Wigan a lot to get him.

skyehibee
30-01-2023, 09:31 PM
https://twitter.com/AnthonyRJoseph/status/1620185171587911680?t=alhjMUWYskwMY6GgiSbhWg&s=19

No chance they have the cash to get him.

30-01-2023, 09:33 PM
Maloney doesn't have much of an imagination it seems. Hopefully signs Henderson before he's sacked again.

I don’t understand the bitterness towards Maloney here, he’s just doing his job.

He’s taken over at a club with not long left in the transfer window so he’s trying to sign players he knows, makes complete sense.

30-01-2023, 09:35 PM
I don’t understand the bitterness towards Maloney here, he’s just doing his job.

He’s taken over at a club with not long left in the transfer window so he’s trying to sign players he knows, makes complete sense.

So it's either Hibs or Belgian international players. 🤔

30-01-2023, 09:37 PM
Think Wigan would be a brilliant move for Henderson.

Pretty poor move to Campbell who could potentially get a better offer soon the way he’s going. Maloney’s style also never seemed to suit him

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 09:39 PM
So it's either Hibs or Belgian international players. 🤔
Hope man city have Kevin de bruyne tied up on a long contract :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
30-01-2023, 09:39 PM
Think Wigan would be a brilliant move for Henderson.

Pretty poor move to Campbell who could potentially get a better offer soon the way he’s going. Maloney’s style also never seemed to suit him

Wigan would be an astonishing move for Henderson. He’s nowhere near that level.

HarpOnHibee
30-01-2023, 09:40 PM

We're just doing out job as Hibs fans by politely telling him to GTF. Don't really see the problem.

30-01-2023, 09:41 PM
Never thought I’d say this but I’d actually be disappointed to see Campbell go and for that reason I hope Hibs tell Maloney to **** off on Nisbet and Campbell.

JamesHFC
30-01-2023, 09:42 PM
I heard about the interest at the game Saturday. I've just been told by the same person its likely hes going.

30-01-2023, 09:42 PM
I heard about the interest at the game Saturday. I've just been told by the same person its likely hes going.

Would be disappointed if he goes.

30-01-2023, 09:43 PM

What player? There’s three been linked with moves to Wigan 😂

JamesHFC
Would be disappointed if he goes.

They are offering him a big pay rise.

JamesHFC
What player? There’s three been linked with moves to Wigan 😂

Take a look at the Campbell thread from Saturday.

30-01-2023, 09:44 PM

He was absolutely one of the worst managers I've seen at ER, and I've following Hibs since 1970 so seen plenty come and go, now he's determined to finish what he started, ruin Hibs just as things appear to be improving, a little.

So far as Nisbet going to Wigan. I've been to their stadium and their home crowd was near enough outnumbered by a 3000 strong Nottingham Forest support. Not a bad stadium, but if Nizzy was prepared to knock back Millwall why the **** would he go to Wigan instead? They are skint, in the drivers seat for relegation and the glory days are well behind them with little prospect of them ever returning ... not even a good option as a stepping stone IMO, he would be far better placed holding on here until the summer and see if the rumour of interest from Real Madrid I'm about to start comes to anything :greengrin

As for interest in Campbell. The guy has improved a good bit since the season started and has a goal in him, he could turn into a big player for us if he continues to progress, if Maloney want's him then we should ask for £3,000,000

The lad Williams from Swindon could be a decent shout, lots of experience and if his mention of 'location' being important referred to geography rather than league there are few, if any, cities better than Edinburgh. If McKirdy is good mates with him that could help both of them.

HendoDelivered
Wigan are also expected to continue their pursuit of Hibs striker Kevin Nisbet & midfielder Ewan Henderson on #DeadlineDay.

30-01-2023, 09:45 PM
They are offering him a big pay rise.

Just hope we have someone lined up to replace him.

JamesHFC
30-01-2023, 09:45 PM
Just hope we have someone lined up to replace him.

It's up to Hibs whether they want to sell him but Campbell is happy to join at the wages they would be offering apparently.

30-01-2023, 09:46 PM
So who are we talking about Campbell, Nisbet or a n other?

30-01-2023, 09:46 PM
We’ve rejected a double bid for Nisbet and Campbell from Wigan.

JamesHFC
30-01-2023, 09:47 PM
So who are we talking about Campbell, Nisbet or a n other?

Campbell. No idea on the Nisbet situation, hoping he stays.

30-01-2023, 09:47 PM
I'm supprised Wigan have money were they not in administration?

JamesHFC
30-01-2023, 09:48 PM
I'm supprised Wigan have money were they not in administration?

They have offered less than seven figures.

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 09:51 PM
Hope Maloney and Wigan get relegated.

30-01-2023, 09:51 PM

For both????

JamesHFC
30-01-2023, 09:52 PM
For both????

Campbell.

Campbell. No idea on the Nisbet situation, hoping he stays.
Hope they both stay, zero time left to fill the vacancies they would leave, hate January transfer window.

Campbell.

Well he’ll be staying then

Hope Maloney and Wigan get relegated.

Hope he gets the sack even quicker than he did here.

30-01-2023, 09:54 PM

FFS, losing Porto was bad enough, but to lose Campbell and Nisbet in the same window would be nothing short of a mini disaster, it would rip out our goal threat up front and from midfield and we could seriously even kiss the prospect of 4th goodbye .... never thought I would be saying this about Campbell but we would be absolutely mental to sell him just now, probably they only player in our team who has shown improvement this season and as I said, if he continues to improve we could end up getting 3 million for him, not the 200K or whatever insulting offer it is the mighty Wigan are offering.

BegbieHSC
30-01-2023, 09:55 PM
Wigan couldn’t afford either players boots. No chance either are going there. They can hardly afford to pay the players they’ve got. Fake news.

Campbell and Nisbet staying.

Bronson
The nisbet bid was HALF what millwall agreed. Couldn’t mark maloney’s neck with a blowtorch. Don’t bother picking up the phone next time he calls👍🏻 muppet

May21/05/216
30-01-2023, 09:56 PM
Campbell is going nowhere

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

30-01-2023, 09:57 PM
That's just ridiculous, even a poor manager like Maloney knows his value way more than that and he's on a long contract.
It's the one big thing I blame Ron Gordon for and it was appointing Maloney as Hibs manager so out of his depth from the moment he stepped through the door. Makes me so angry.

30-01-2023, 09:58 PM
FFS, losing Porto was bad enough, but to lose Campbell and Nisbet in the same window would be nothing short of a mini disaster, it would rip out our goal threat up front and from midfield and we could seriously even kiss the prospect of 4th goodbye .... never thought I would be saying this about Campbell but we would be absolutely mental to sell him just now, probably they only player in our team who has shown improvement this season and as I said, if he continues to improve we could end up getting 3 million for him, not the 200K or whatever insulting offer it is the mighty Wigan are offering.

Easy Tiger.

Were not losing them but Wigan get Ewan Henderson instead.

30-01-2023, 09:59 PM
https://twitter.com/SimpsonsSPFL/status/1620194745149718528?t=mv-sGRBTKuqPKE2GO3wAMQ&s=19

30-01-2023, 10:00 PM
https://twitter.com/SimpsonsSPFL/status/1620194745149718528?t=mv-sGRBTKuqPKE2GO3wAMQ&s=19

😂😂

30-01-2023, 10:01 PM
So good, brilliant.

30-01-2023, 10:03 PM
I mean, he's obviously not got time to scout players and go through the process, so he's going for what he knows. Very much doubt we'll sell anyone.

30-01-2023, 10:03 PM
The nisbet bid was HALF what millwall agreed. Couldn’t mark maloney’s neck with a blowtorch. Don’t bother picking up the phone next time he calls👍🏻 muppet

You would think after managing the club for 6 months Maloney would at least have an inkling that we haven't been suckers bending over for carpet baggers from darn saff for some years now .... we got around half a million quid for Porto and he had less than 6 months left on his contract. Nisbet has 10 full Scotland caps and 8 goals in 8 games this season for Hibs ....... If they genuinely did offer half the Millwall fee Hibs should publicly call them out for the chancers they obviously are.

30-01-2023, 10:08 PM
You would think after managing the club for 6 months Maloney would at least have an inkling that we haven't been suckers bending over for carpet baggers from darn saff for some years now .... we got around half a million quid for Porto and he had less than 6 months left on his contract. Nisbet has 10 full Scotland caps and 8 goals in 8 games this season for Hibs ....... If they genuinely did offer half the Millwall fee Hibs should publicly call them out for the chancers they obviously are.
As you say if half the Millwall fee they are at it, still think a bit of **** string going on from Maloney.

30-01-2023, 10:09 PM
The Wigan bid would have been testing the waters with hibs. They probably knew the bids would be rejected. Tomorrow will be interesting.

30-01-2023, 10:12 PM
I'd be surprised if any of our attacking players wanted to be managed by Maloney again. He stifles the game with his honking tactics and formation, both Nisbet and Campbell looked terrible under Maloney.

30-01-2023, 10:15 PM
As you say if half the Millwall fee they are at it, still think a bit of **** string going on from Maloney.

Don't know the Wigan set up but doubt Maloney has anything to do with the transfer fees.

30-01-2023, 10:16 PM
https://twitter.com/simpsonsspfl/status/1620199169314152448?s=46&t=aYoYfSl7fsZjcRcQJ6BQ6A

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 10:23 PM
The Wigan bid would have been testing the waters with hibs. They probably knew the bids would be rejected. Tomorrow will be interesting.
I'd doubt they have the money we would be looking for Nisbet and Campbell anyhow

30-01-2023, 10:23 PM

The journo reckons Wigan will be back in for Nisbet and Henderson tomorrow.
https://twitter.com/AnthonyRJoseph/status/1620189315719634946?t=HuNBkyquZz9zQy2gYbKnkA&s=19

EGL2000
30-01-2023, 10:24 PM
Surely Campbell would be out of wigan's range financially right now? Young player with long amount of time on his contract and inform. Surely gotta be at least a couple mil, which I don't think Wigan have right now.

Berwickhibby
30-01-2023, 10:25 PM
The journo reckons Wigan will be back in for Nisbet and Henderson tomorrow.
https://twitter.com/AnthonyRJoseph/status/1620189315719634946?t=HuNBkyquZz9zQy2gYbKnkA&s=19

They can take Henderson…hell I will drive him down :greengrin

30-01-2023, 10:30 PM
They can take Henderson…hell I will drive him down :greengrin

I'll follow behind just in case you get a puncture and he gets second thoughts whilst waiting.

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 10:31 PM
Hope he gets the sack even quicker than he did here.
Its very possible , Wigan are a complete basket case of a club and Maloney's definitely not a good manager. Recipe for disaster I think .

JammyDoidger
30-01-2023, 10:31 PM
Wigan, who in their right mind would want to go to Wigan. And especially to be managed by Shaun Maloney. Get to your bed wee man. Maybe if he's a big boy and sleeps in his own bed all night we could give him Henderson in the morning.

McGruber
30-01-2023, 10:34 PM
I've lost count of how many posters beat Jack Ross with the 'handing out long contracts to the likes of Campbell' line. I'll bet lots of the same posters are insulted by the Wigan bid not being 7 figures.

... and I'm not exempt in this! 😒

Wonder if the next turn around might be McKirdy, Miller or Tavares...

Funny old game.

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 10:36 PM
I'll follow behind just in case you get a puncture and he gets second thoughts whilst waiting.
Hell I will ride shotgun incase he does have second thoughts!

30-01-2023, 10:36 PM
I've lost count of how many posters beat Jack Ross with the 'handing out long contracts to the likes of Campbell' line. I'll bet lots of the same posters are insulted by the Wigan bid not being 7 figures.

... and I'm not exempt in this! 😒

Wonder if the next turn around might be McKirdy, Miller or Tavares...

Funny old game.
My moneys on mckirdy and miller.

30-01-2023, 10:44 PM
Surely Campbell would be out of wigan's range financially right now? Young player with long amount of time on his contract and inform. Surely gotta be at least a couple mil, which I don't think Wigan have right now.

Campbell obviously had a very good weekend, and has undoubtedly improved this season, but I don’t think we’re getting anyone paying a multi million pound fee for him. Got a bit to go before that’s the case IMO.

30-01-2023, 10:46 PM
I'd be surprised if any of our attacking players wanted to be managed by Maloney again. He stifles the game with his honking tactics and formation, both Nisbet and Campbell looked terrible under Maloney.Disagree . Nisbet got injured soon after Maloney joined us but did well in games before injury after difficult spell in 2021 and Maloney seemed to often pick Campbell even when his form was dodgy . Not many folk rated Campbell up to the end of 2021 but he started to improve while Maloney was manager then continued well this season .

davhibby
30-01-2023, 10:48 PM
My moneys on mckirdy and miller.

McKirdy can’t play for anyone else this season so you can rule him out

30-01-2023, 10:50 PM
Disagree . Nisbet got injured soon after Maloney joined us but did well in games before injury after difficult spell in 2021 and Maloney seemed to often pick Campbell even when his form was dodgy . Not many folk rated Campbell up to the end of 2021 but he started to improve while Maloney was manager then continued well this season .
Not how I remember it. Nisbet started to look really poor and IIRC Maloney had him dropping deeper and deeper. Campbell had the support increasingly on his back after looking completely out of sorts.

30-01-2023, 10:56 PM
McKirdy can’t play for anyone else this season so you can rule him outFrom improving?

[emoji23]

davhibby
30-01-2023, 11:02 PM
From improving?

[emoji23]

That’ll teach me not to scan over posts without reading properly 😂

K-Zazu
30-01-2023, 11:17 PM
So we’ve managed to get into a position that we are going to be playing Paul Hanlon every week?

30-01-2023, 11:19 PM
So we’ve managed to get into a position that we are going to be playing Paul Hanlon every week?

In every position. 😂

31-01-2023, 12:10 AM
If any Wigan fans are looking in I would say it's a shame that some of the comments, including mine, have perhaps been a wee bit over the top. The annoyance is at any club chancing their arm offering nonsense money for our players.

When you look at the fact that that town has Man United, Man City, Liverpool and Everton all within less than an hours travelling time anybody who still sticks with Wigan Athletic has my respect that's for sure. Oh and the nicest bogs I've ever seen in a fitba stadium :greengrin

Oh and PS .... I hope for your sake the Poundland Guardiola has finally accepted that you need better players than Hibs, or Wigan, can afford if you want to play like Man City ... if he hasn't then enjoy EFL 1.

31-01-2023, 05:38 AM
Disagree . Nisbet got injured soon after Maloney joined us but did well in games before injury after difficult spell in 2021 and Maloney seemed to often pick Campbell even when his form was dodgy . Not many folk rated Campbell up to the end of 2021 but he started to improve while Maloney was manager then continued well this season .

Nisbet scored 1 league goal for Maloney and did **** all else.

Maloney said he was doing well for him but whatever it was he thought he did well, it didn’t involve kicking a football.

31-01-2023, 05:43 AM
Campbell obviously had a very good weekend, and has undoubtedly improved this season, but I don’t think we’re getting anyone paying a multi million pound fee for him. Got a bit to go before that’s the case IMO.

A goal scoring midfielder who's been banging them in in September and still doing so in January, scores all sorts of goals and who can also make last ditch tackles?

I think you're underestimating the market, and I hope the club dont make your mistake.

31-01-2023, 05:48 AM
Is that not tapping up? Mind you, questionable manager so questionable practices.

Happens everywhere. Players are spoken to before bids on pretty much every transfer I'd say.

31-01-2023, 05:50 AM

Campbell? Surely not

31-01-2023, 05:55 AM

That is fantastic :greengrin

31-01-2023, 05:57 AM
Wigan, who in their right mind would want to go to Wigan. And especially to be managed by Shaun Maloney. Get to your bed wee man. Maybe if he's a big boy and sleeps in his own bed all night we could give him Henderson in the morning.

:faf::faf: :not worth

31-01-2023, 05:58 AM
Terrible if we lose Campbell this window. I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea however no one can argue with his goals and assists return so far this season. He also brings bags of energy into the team. He’d be a huge loss and if the club have decided to sell him shame on them.

Crunchie
31-01-2023, 05:58 AM
Campbell? Surely not
He's going nowhere at the moment, but if the boy keeps up this kind of form the vultures will be out in the summer.

31-01-2023, 05:59 AM
Why is it that none of the Gorgie Gallacticos ever seem to be hunted during transfer windows? I would have thought that the greatest football team since Brazil 1970 would have the huge European teams chasing their players for mega bucks

31-01-2023, 06:00 AM
He's going nowhere at the moment, but if the boy keeps up this kind of form the vultures will be out in the summer.

Which is fair enough as he has improved hugely

31-01-2023, 06:02 AM
Terrible if we lose Campbell this window. I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea however no one can argue with his goals and assists return so far this season. He also brings bags of energy into the team. He’d be a huge loss and if the club have decided to sell him shame on them.

I like him but every player has his price and if we get a decent fee to upgrade of course we'll take it. Its not like the midfield collectively hasnt been a problem this season.

31-01-2023, 06:17 AM
If Hibs have any sense then Wigan can't afford Campbell. The last time we had a young, dynamic, hard working, goal scoring midfielder who came through the ranks and is improving all the time we got 4.4m for him. If he goes it's about time that our transfer record was broken. I am in no way saying he is better than Brown but you get the gist.

31-01-2023, 06:20 AM
I had an early night last night but it appears to all be kicking off with Wigan coming in for a raid! Hopefully they only get Henderson 🤞🏻

Dunno how true the Jonny Williams stuff is but would have played a bit with McKirdy and I'd love a creative midfielder.

31-01-2023, 06:24 AM
Apparently bid 100k for Findlay

https://t.co/djDi6NX0Bz

31-01-2023, 06:34 AM
Sorry if I’ve missed this but apparently we’re after Johnny Williams from Swindon. That would be a great signing.

McGruber
31-01-2023, 06:35 AM
Wright would have had the ideal credentials and from the infamous reliability of the youtube reel Ferro looked a player. Sounds like we've looked elsewhere with no success and Findlay the back up option. Could be a good addition though even though not blazed a trail since Killie. Clarke got a consistent tune out of him

31-01-2023, 06:37 AM
Wright would have had the ideal credentials and from the infamous reliability of the youtube reel Ferro looked a player. Sounds like we've looked elsewhere with no success and Findlay the back up option. Could be a good addition though even though not blazed a trail since Killie. Clarke got a consistent tune out of him

Think Findlay is a left side centre half and Wright is right sided and able tk play right back. I’m not sure it’s one or the other and suspect Findlay seen more as the long term replacement for Hanlon.

McGruber
31-01-2023, 06:39 AM
Think Findlay is a left side centre half and Wright is right sided and able tk play right back. I’m not sure it’s one or the other and suspect Findlay seen more as the long term replacement for Hanlon.

I'd be okay with settling for both plus Williams, Arfield and Turnbull..

31-01-2023, 06:39 AM
Remember we have a game tonight !!

Wonder how this is affecting any players who are meant to be playing. Understand they stayed in the highlands last night.

Maybe a good thing players are far north and the thought of travelling down south even further may put them off.

Steven79
31-01-2023, 06:44 AM
Remember we have a game tonight !!

Wonder how this is affecting any players who are meant to be playing. Understand they stayed in the highlands last night.

Maybe a good thing players are far north and the thought of travelling down south even further may put them off.I hope someone is ready to drive Henderson down to Wigan. [emoji102]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Dmas
31-01-2023, 06:46 AM
Not how I remember it. Nisbet started to look really poor and IIRC Maloney had him dropping deeper and deeper. Campbell had the support increasingly on his back after looking completely out of sorts.

This is my memory also Nisbet was basically playing centre mid as we watched hundreds of cross balls fly into nobody in the box, I would say cadden seemed to improve under maloney possibly pushed further up than he has been this season but Campbell and Nisbet for me didn’t look great at all

31-01-2023, 07:02 AM
I hope someone is ready to drive Henderson down to Wigan. [emoji102]

It's Henderson to be delivered.

31-01-2023, 07:03 AM

Post of the day and it’s only just after 8.

31-01-2023, 07:04 AM
A goal scoring midfielder who's been banging them in in September and still doing so in January, scores all sorts of goals and who can also make last ditch tackles?

I think you're underestimating the market, and I hope the club dont make your mistake.

Or you could argue he scored a few in September then didn’t score again for 17 games until January. I think he needs to be doing it consistently before we are talking about selling him for millions.

I’m not trying to criticise Campbell here but the result at the weekend hasn’t half elevated the abilities of everyone. I don’t think anyone will be offering millions for him just yet.

Slim Shady
31-01-2023, 07:08 AM

A bid from a Leageu One club was already rejected this season.

Steven79
31-01-2023, 07:14 AM
It's Henderson to be delivered.[emoji1787][emoji108]

Paulie Walnuts
31-01-2023, 07:19 AM
Or you could argue he scored a few in September then didn’t score again for 17 games until January. I think he needs to be doing it consistently before we are talking about selling him for millions.

I’m not trying to criticise Campbell here but the result at the weekend hasn’t half elevated the abilities of everyone. I don’t think anyone will be offering millions for him just yet.

Pretty much where I am.

If someone offers serious money for him I’d let him go if we could get someone else lined up. Whilst he’s had his moments they’ve been over a 6 month period and I don’t think he’s performed like a multi million pound player generally speaking. He’s been much improved since last season but if you asked someone on Friday if they’d take millions for Campbell then I think near enough everyone would say yes, I don’t think one hatrick against the most woeful of Aberdeen sides should change that too much.

If we can extract £1.5m or so from someone for him I’d take it.

31-01-2023, 07:24 AM

As long as we don’t use Evri :greengrin

31-01-2023, 07:27 AM
Would Johnny Evans be seen as a replacement for Campbell?

31-01-2023, 07:29 AM
Leicester signing a guy from Syracuse University in the USA. Imagine the sneering if that was us…

https://twitter.com/skysportsnews/status/1620335661189419008?s=46&t=Zn0ieMfhepDFOafRPnwUbA

Obviously the guy might turn out to be awful, but it imho it shows that there’s a market for players there if you know what you’re looking for.

Crunchie
31-01-2023, 07:30 AM
Pretty much where I am.

If someone offers serious money for him I’d let him go if we could get someone else lined up. Whilst he’s had his moments they’ve been over a 6 month period and I don’t think he’s performed like a multi million pound player generally speaking. He’s been much improved since last season but if you asked someone on Friday if they’d take millions for Campbell then I think near enough everyone would say yes, I don’t think one hatrick against the most woeful of Aberdeen sides should change that too much.

It wasn't just the goals, it was his overall play which has been superb in an underachieving side. He's a young man going places we would be foolish to let him leave unless it's for BIG money.

31-01-2023, 07:32 AM

Totally fair post that. On the back of the result on Saturday, every player is great, Johnson is the man, we are going to challenge for 3rd.….I think some folk are getting a wee bit carried away.

I don’t want us to sell Campbell, I think he’s only going to get better if we continue to play him in his proper position. Interestingly the terrible coach we should be getting rid of (or so I’ve read on here) SDG has been singing the praises of Josh Campbell for a long time, telling people he has all the attributes to be a top player, while working closely on his development.

31-01-2023, 07:34 AM
Pretty much where I am.

Don't see the point in selling Campbell now for no reason as he continues to develop. He's one that's actually one of our own, falling into the sort of category of young player with potential that we have scattered our transfer budget all over on players not good enough. And he understands the club, the league, what its all about etc. So he shows a bit of something and straight away want rid?

The evidence of ourselves and other clubs at our level being able to replace talent sold over the years isn't great. Just because you get the money in the bank doesn't mean better players are coming in.

Doig left and we still have Lewy at LB.

Stewboy
31-01-2023, 07:44 AM
Don't see the point in selling Campbell now for no reason as he continues to develop. He's one that's actually one of our own, falling into the sort of category of young player with potential that we have scattered our transfer budget all over on players not good enough. And he understands the club, the league, what its all about etc. So he shows a bit of something and straight away want rid?

The evidence of ourselves and other clubs at our level being able to replace talent sold over the years isn't great. Just because you get the money in the bank doesn't mean better players are coming in.

Doig left and we still have Lewy at LB.

Aye, that is where I am. Keep him and let him develop for at least another year. He's still got a bit to go on his contract as well, so if he does continue to develop then we've still the option to sell

31-01-2023, 07:51 AM
Findlay, Wright and Williams would be a very positive end to the window. Can’t see it though.

Souter96Mac
31-01-2023, 07:53 AM
Findlay, Wright and Williams would be a very positive end to the window. Can’t see it though.

Can't see us bringing in 2 CBs.

Ardenttwo
31-01-2023, 08:00 AM
I hope someone is ready to drive Henderson down to Wigan. [emoji102]

Me me me me 🖐