View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

24-01-2023, 05:24 PM
No idea regarding the veracity of this story but I reckon Nisbet will be agitating to get away.

He wanted a move as soon as he arrived which got right on my nerves and has made it difficult for me to warm to him subsequently.

Clearly 1 million is nowhere near enough to tempt the club but this is probably the start of an uncomfortable week for both the club and the fanbase.

24-01-2023, 05:27 PM
No idea regarding the veracity of this story but I reckon Nisbet will be agitating to get away.

He wanted a move as soon as he arrived which got right on my nerves and has made it difficult for me to warm to him subsequently.

Clearly 1 million is nowhere near enough to tempt the club but this is probably the start of an uncomfortable week for both the club and the fanbase.

Know what you mean, it’s almost like he thinks he needs to make up for lost time.

The injury he suffered probably made it worse and he thinks he needs to get to England and earning more money asap.

If I was him I’d be wanting a better move than Millwall though.

Sam Cosgrove went to Birmingham when Nisbet was linked, look how that’s turned out for him

24-01-2023, 05:28 PM
Remind me what % Dunfermline get from Hibs for any sale of Nisbet

24-01-2023, 05:32 PM
Starting to wonder if something else is going at the club.

As far as Nisbet is concerned, don’t think there is anything untoward. He’s a good player and there is interest, just as there was before.

We won’t sell unless we want to though. For all their faults, the current owner/board have shown they won’t just take the first offer they get for someone.

24-01-2023, 05:34 PM
Know what you mean, it’s almost like he thinks he needs to make up for lost time.

The injury he suffered probably made it worse and he thinks he needs to get to England and earning more money asap.

Sam Cosgrove went to Birmingham when Nisbet was linked, look how that’s turned out for him

He’s just coming up for 26 so he doesn’t really have a big window of opportunity to get the contract that’ll set him up for life.

Think it’ll be the summer before we sell though.

24-01-2023, 05:37 PM
EEN saying the bid will be rejected and remains to be seen whether they’ll go back in. Scott Burns saying the clubs are close to an agreement. Hmm…

If we sell him for less than 2-3m then it's clear Gordon's trying to recoup what he can. Which would make sense given the silence.

Would that be clear aye?

What a load of nonsense seriously

Millwall are in contention for the Championship play offs.

There are surely worse options for someone in their mid twenties than earning a decent few quid, living in London and playing at a level which is a decent level yet one he should still hope to be able to make an impact at?

McGruber
24-01-2023, 05:44 PM
Laidlaw to Villa is the other one aswell, if all of the above comes to pass the club have serious questions to answer

Hopefully not and he at least gets to step on the park. Can't think of any youngster having been given a look in by Johnson outwith the friendlies... where they looked pretty good

McGruber
24-01-2023, 05:47 PM
EEN saying the bid will be rejected and remains to be seen whether they’ll go back in. Scott Burns saying the clubs are close to an agreement. Hmm…

An agreement like, 'so we are agreed, he's yours for 3 million'

ShetlandHibby
24-01-2023, 05:52 PM
A lot may depend on what the club budgeted for at the start of the season. Did we budget for getting passed the first round of the Scottish? Did we budget for 3/4th in the league? If we were ambitious in our budgeting and we don’t or don’t look likely to hit targets then we need to fill the shortfall.

RossScott1991
24-01-2023, 05:58 PM
Nisbet has never properly loved it here and current state who would. He itched for a move first bid that came in. And will be desperate to get this one over the line

cameronw-hfc
24-01-2023, 06:00 PM
Just waiting for the transfer request to break and it'll be back to old times. Not heard anything just fully expect Nisbet to throw his toys out the pram

24-01-2023, 06:00 PM
A lot may depend on what the club budgeted for at the start of the season. Did we budget for getting passed the first round of the Scottish? Did we budget for 3/4th in the league? If we were ambitious in our budgeting and we don’t or don’t look likely to hit targets then we need to fill the shortfall.

We’re already loaning out and selling players we paid fees for in the last 12 months. We are out both cups early doors. The manager and CEO are both now on record saying we need to get outs first rather than ins. The owner has been absolutely silent. Youth players aren’t getting signed up.

We are basically saying - without publicly saying it - that we haven’t the funds.

24-01-2023, 06:01 PM

We won't be filling in a shortfall by selling our biggest assett way below his value, 1 million is way below his value

24-01-2023, 06:03 PM
We’re already loaning out and selling players we paid fees for in the last 12 months. We are out both cups early doors. The manager and CEO are both now on record saying we need to get outs first rather than ins. The owner has been absolutely silent. Youth players aren’t getting signed up.

We are basically saying - without publicly saying it - that we haven’t the funds.

Or that the squad size is too big.

loanheadhibby
24-01-2023, 06:04 PM
Millwall are in contention for the Championship play offs.

There are surely worse options for someone in their mid twenties than earning a decent few quid, living in London and playing at a level which is a decent level yet one he should still hope to be able to make an impact at?

Agreed. It would be a fantastic opportunity for him. Too good to turn down.

Bad for us obviously but would not want to stand in anyone’s way as long as good deal for club also.

He’d be well advised to look at how these turned out career wise for Cummings & Cosgrove.

Thought we paid a fee for Jimmy Jeggo?

JimboHibs
Anything of intrest happened giving this thread is on page 176.

loanheadhibby
24-01-2023, 06:05 PM
Just waiting for the transfer request to break and it'll be back to old times. Not heard anything just fully expect Nisbet to throw his toys out the pram

If the deal is right for the club, he’ll be away. Hopefully he learned his lesson from last time. Maybe injury gave him time to reflect

24-01-2023, 06:06 PM
Naw. Just, naw.

If he goes we're ****ed.

cameronw-hfc
24-01-2023, 06:07 PM
If the deal is right for the club, he’ll be away. Hopefully he learned his lesson from last time. Maybe injury gave him time to reflect

I get that, I just don't think he'll care about what's right for the club, and will force the move regardless. He's done it at every club he's been at.

24-01-2023, 06:08 PM
League goals this season from Hibs strikers that aren't injured and aren't Nisbet:

HendoDelivered
24-01-2023, 06:09 PM
I get that, I just don't think he'll care about what's right for the club, and will force the move regardless. He's done it at every club he's been at.

24-01-2023, 06:12 PM

Cant see it, he will have matured after last time and he is now a Scottish international..I will say again we cannot be accepting anything south of 3m

24-01-2023, 06:13 PM
Or that the squad size is too big.

What’s your thoughts on Hibs loaning a player we signed for a 6 figure fee, announcing it as a real coup, then loaning hun and going on record stating there’s a 7 figure buy clause ?

Sorry, but if we value a player in the milllion pound bracket contractually, why on earth is a club languishing 6th (and not at the time of the loan), not playing him ?

It’s not ‘good business’, it’s Kensall taking us for fools. If he succeeds at Sparta and is then bought, and we end up bottom six, there’ll be outrage. If he fails, we’ve a player back who we have over valued, not really played, and will question - rightly - why we placed such high value on him.

The recruitment team and CEO are an utter shambles.

24-01-2023, 06:20 PM
Thought we paid a fee for Jimmy Jeggo?

Who looks absolutely no better or worse than a player we are happily trying to shift (JDH). Yep, only one game in admittedly, but he offered nothing in a game that adrenaline and a derby debut should have offered much more. In a good performance on Sunday (by the team) I honestly didn’t see anything he will bring to this side. Wasn’t tidy in possession, early booking, never imposing, and for a debut I’m expecting much much more even if it is his first game. Dylan Tait looked way more impressive pre season if I’m brutally honest.

Nutmegged
24-01-2023, 06:20 PM
Nisbet has never properly loved it here and current state who would. He itched for a move first bid that came in. And will be desperate to get this one over the line

I think that might be true, he ever really had a chance to, his firat season he scored 18 goals, we finished 3rd and got to the Scottish Cup Final, in most seasons he'd have been hero worshiped by the fans but as we played behind closed doors there was no or at least very little connection with the fans, then last year he got injured after a meh season and has just burst back onto the scene again after the World Cup probably with the idea to get himself in the shop window.

So I'd agree he probably hasn't got the Hibs bug in his time but can understand why that would be the case.

Donegal Hibby
24-01-2023, 06:24 PM
Naw. Just, naw.

If he goes we're ****ed.
Hibs have rejected the lowball offer . There's no way we will sell Nisbet for that kinda money , it's seriously below his valuation. Millwall are at it and what we should do is offer 350,000 or so for Fleming, style's or Mitchell who are valued much higher , see how they like it ?.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-reject-millwall-bid-for-kevin-nisbet-after-lions-fall-well-short-of-scotland-strikers-valuation-3999910

loanheadhibby

Absolute guarantee he’ll not care about the club and rightly so from his point of view. Short career, just back from long term injury. For him, take the money and run.

The club get rid of players who are not good enough without a thought. Players/Agents look after themselves.

Who looks absolutely no better or worse than a player we are happily trying to shift (JDH). Yep, only one game in admittedly, but he offered nothing in a game that adrenaline and a derby debut should have offered much more. In a good performance on Sunday (by the team) I honestly didn’t see anything he will bring to this side. Wasn’t tidy in possession, early booking, never imposing, and for a debut I’m expecting much much more even if it is his first game. Dylan Tait looked way more impressive pre season if I’m brutally honest.

Dylan Tait played a kickabout at a snails pace in pre season. Jeggo came in on one training session and did ok in a game that was a million miles away from that. The way the performances of boys like Tait and Delferrière are being over egged from pre season is mental.

24-01-2023, 06:27 PM
Who do we bring in if Nisbet leaves?

24-01-2023, 06:28 PM

We play with a false no 9

24-01-2023, 06:28 PM

Guy that was scoring loads for Ayr might be an option. Not sure how he’s doing now right enough.

McGruber
24-01-2023, 06:31 PM

It'll be a question for the summer I think.
If a serious bid comes in and accepted I doubt they'd bring anyone in and go with what we have. Sounds mental I know, but we've done it with the midfield for long enough.

Johnson on record about turning Youan into a top number 9.....

Donegal Hibby
24-01-2023, 06:33 PM
Guy that was scoring loads for Ayr might be an option. Not sure how he’s doing now right enough.
Watched Ayr Utd recently and he was awful no were near good enough for Hibs . Very surprised some of you think we will sell Nisbet for such a low offer btw . I don't think he will be going anywhere for a offer like that.

mcfly
24-01-2023, 06:34 PM

Without his goals we are in a relegation battle. No doubt about it.

Once he’s gone there are no saleable assets left.

Worrying times and crowds will start to be affected.

1 goal in 6 not sure how he's playing?

LunasBoots
He may not leave for that offer bit it certainly sets the ball rolling for other offers to come in.

Nutmegged
24-01-2023, 06:35 PM

We'd end up with that rocket Tony Watt

24-01-2023, 06:35 PM
Transfer news LIVE: Eamonn Brophy set leave St Mirren for Ross County loan | @ScottBurns75

24-01-2023, 06:37 PM
We play with a false no 9

We’ve been playing with false (insert any number in here) for the majority of this season so why not 9😏

24-01-2023, 06:42 PM
Joe Savage had already been appointed when Hearts lost to Brora and their starting line up contained 4 of his signings (Kastsneer, GMS, Gnanduillet & McEneff). His early signings were mostly rubbish. They key difference maker now is that they are spending a lot more money than everyone else outwith the Old Firm.

His signings?...he started in December 2020. My point was about how things can turn if done properly.They appointed Lancefield (ex Brighton and Norwich recruitment department) in July 21 and in October 21 Ian Gordon (owners son) replaced Mathie. You would be hard pressed to argue our transfer dealings have been better than theirs over this period. The problem we have, and where we agree, is that they are now using their financial advantage properly (excluding their manager) rather than wasting it as Levein did (and Aberdeen are doing).

24-01-2023, 06:42 PM
Watched Ayr Utd recently and he was awful no were near good enough for Hibs . Very surprised some of you think we will sell Nisbet for such a low offer btw . I don't think he will be going anywhere for a offer like that.

Nisbet hasn’t started agitating, kicking off and reducing his own value yet though…

24-01-2023, 06:43 PM
What’s your thoughts on Hibs loaning a player we signed for a 6 figure fee, announcing it as a real coup, then loaning hun and going on record stating there’s a 7 figure buy clause ?

Sorry, but if we value a player in the milllion pound bracket contractually, why on earth is a club languishing 6th (and not at the time of the loan), not playing him ?

It’s not ‘good business’, it’s Kensall taking us for fools. If he succeeds at Sparta and is then bought, and we end up bottom six, there’ll be outrage. If he fails, we’ve a player back who we have over valued, not really played, and will question - rightly - why we placed such high value on him.

The recruitment team and CEO are an utter shambles.

Bad recruitment. Too many players not ready for the 1st team.

I'd say an option to buy at the end of a loan amount is not the same thing as a current value amount. Anyone that thinks that misunderstands it. When a club puts a player out on loan they do so with the intention of him developing as a player therefore his value should have increased.

I'd say the loan deal means we still rate him and if he does well we don't want to lose him on the cheap. The same folk complaining £1m+ is too high would be the 1st to complain if he did well and it had been set at about what we paid for him.

Do you think he's currently good enough to be starting every week? If we get £1m from Sparta in the summer then'll we'll have made a good profit from a player that's only started a handful of times.

24-01-2023, 06:45 PM
Dylan Tait played a kickabout at a snails pace in pre season. Jeggo came in on one training session and did ok in a game that was a million miles away from that. The way the performances of boys like Tait and Delferrière are being over egged from pre season is mental.

It’s all about opinions and first impressions mate - my first impression is he’s nothing above average. The only notable thing he did for me was take a booking early doors and other than that was anonymous because we rightly played width, circulating it wide and by passing their midfield as often as possible (rightly so as they were strong in midfield).

If he succeeds, I’ll happily concede the point. Last three managers haven’t signed a dynamic creative midfielder - that’s what we need, that’s what we lack, and signing a defensive midfielder for the biggest game of the season showed a lack of real intent.

24-01-2023, 06:47 PM
Transfer news LIVE: Eamonn Brophy set leave St Mirren for Ross County loan | @ScottBurns75

He’d get a game/decent amount of minutes for us

24-01-2023, 06:53 PM
We’ve been playing with false (insert any number in here) for the majority of this season so why not 9😏

St Mirren need to move a few on as they lost a significant amount in their last financial year
Lucky they’ve drawn Rangers away in the Scottish Cup, will be a nice wee payday for them

Torto7
24-01-2023, 07:03 PM
On Laidlaw. If true Im not sure what the club can do? Rangers lost Wilson to Villa recently and hes more highly rated than Laidlaw at youth level.

24-01-2023, 07:09 PM
On Laidlaw. If true Im not sure what the club can do? Rangers lost Wilson to Villa recently and hes more highly rated than Laidlaw at youth level.

And Celtic lost Ben Doak to Liverpool, although they got a decent fee
Not much we can do when these clubs with plenty money come calling
It’s a shame we’re not giving any of them a chance though

EGL2000
24-01-2023, 07:10 PM
Someone mentioned macauley bonne as a potential replacement. Not possible now as already played for 2 clubs this year, has just moved to Charlton.

24-01-2023, 07:11 PM

What is this about?

MagicSwirlingShip
24-01-2023, 07:16 PM
What is this about?

Rumoured Laidlaw has been eyed up by Aston Villa, out of contract end of season alongside a few others from the youth team

gegs70
24-01-2023, 07:19 PM
8 am sure bigger clubs that Millwall will be keeping an eye on Nisbet. He looked really frustrated after and duriing the Derby. Seems we are having a huge fire sale. Will we have another player lined up if the right offer comes in?

24-01-2023, 07:23 PM

We kept Porteous when Celtc wanted him because we put an agreed plan in place to fast track his progression. If we lose any of the U19s to higher up the food chain before they have even played for us, and for pittance, I would give Hibs a large portion of the blame. I wouldn’t blame the likes of Laidlaw for leaving given there’s no pathway into the first team and we would rather play square pegs in round holes than give opportunities to youngsters.

All that said, hopefully the likes of Laidlaw etc sign new deals and stay.

24-01-2023, 07:23 PM
8 am sure bigger clubs that Millwall will be keeping an eye on Nisbet. He looked really frustrated after and duriing the Derby. Seems we are having a huge fire sale. Will we have another player lined up if the right offer comes in?

No, not a fire sale. No surpise that clubs are in for Porteous and Nisbet.

24-01-2023, 07:36 PM
Hibs have rejected the lowball offer . There's no way we will sell Nisbet for that kinda money , it's seriously below his valuation. Millwall are at it and what we should do is offer 350,000 or so for Fleming, style's or Mitchell who are valued much higher , see how they like it ?.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-reject-millwall-bid-for-kevin-nisbet-after-lions-fall-well-short-of-scotland-strikers-valuation-3999910

all we would be doing is insulting they players if we valued them so low

GreenPJ
24-01-2023, 07:37 PM
Rumoured Laidlaw has been eyed up by Aston Villa, out of contract end of season alongside a few others from the youth team

Did he not go down to Liverpool and Man Utd a couple of years ago to train - he is young and has been playing well at his age level but how many times have we seen that they can't take the next step up. I am not saying that Laidlaw or O'Connor can't make the next step but Hibs have been proven more right than not when letting youngsters go.

Kean has done a good job with the U19's and if he believes that they are worth a contract I am sure he will have told the powers that be that. I hope that one or both of the young strikers get a chance in the next few games to see if they have what it takes to play first team football.

McGruber
24-01-2023, 07:39 PM

You're right, not much we can do but surely put a contract offer to the better ones before they get into the last 6 months. I appreciate it is always hard to tell with youth, even the better ones like Laidlaw ultimately might not make it - but got to be more organised for what we view as the better potential players.

cameronw-hfc
24-01-2023, 07:39 PM
Rumours on Twitter say Cadden next one out.

24-01-2023, 07:41 PM

I’d find that hard to believe

cameronw-hfc
24-01-2023, 07:42 PM
I’d find that hard to believe

Not heard anything myself just posting what I've seen on twitter.

ErinGoBraghHFC
24-01-2023, 07:49 PM

Surely not? Not a big fan of Cadden but he’s by far the best option at RB at the club just now. This is a right shambles

24-01-2023, 07:50 PM
Heartz knock back a bid for Sibbick from Blackpool for £400k

is he really good ?

24-01-2023, 07:53 PM
Surely not? Not a big fan of Cadden but he’s by far the best option at RB at the club just now. This is a right shambles

Already a shambles. Our best RB isn't a very good RB.

Cadden is never a RB. He can't defend.

If we had a good RB would Cadden be in the team? Doubt it, that's the problem we have. Players who aren't the best in their positions play week in week out and probably take up a fair portion of the budget in salary.

24-01-2023, 08:02 PM
Cadden would surprise me but LJ likes a 4 at the back and he is only suitable for a more advanced right sided player. The problem is will we get any better or does he see Miller as being ready. I much prefer Cadden but Miller hasn't been involved much due to injury

Dmas
24-01-2023, 08:07 PM
Cadden would surprise me but LJ likes a 4 at the back and he is only suitable for a more advanced right sided player. The problem is will we get any better or does he see Miller as being ready. I much prefer Cadden but Miller hasn't been involved much due to injury

How would he even know if Miller is ready has he even been fit enough to train?

24-01-2023, 08:08 PM
I’d be surprised about Cadden as he’s a first pick and only signed a contract extension last year until 2025.

Suppose it could come down to his salary and if Johnson thinks Miller Megwa are sufficient quality if both can stay fit and get games.

We do concede a lot of goal down the right hand side so maybe he thinks Miller could stop that, save a couple of k a week and bring in quality elsewhere all whilst receiving a fee

24-01-2023, 08:09 PM
I’d be delighted if Cadden was away. Can’t think who’d want him though.

Trinity Hibee
24-01-2023, 08:13 PM
Heartz knock back a bid for Sibbick from Blackpool for £400k

is he really good ?

No

Scotty Leither
24-01-2023, 08:15 PM

Got to be said it’s ‘The Cat’ who has started the rumour and also that there is a dressing room split

24-01-2023, 08:16 PM
How would he even know if Miller is ready has he even been fit enough to train?

He's been on the bench the last couple of matches so I hope so.

24-01-2023, 08:16 PM
Got to be said it’s ‘The Cat’ who has started the rumour and also that there is a dressing room split

The dressing room unrest has been talked about for months.

cameronw-hfc
24-01-2023, 08:17 PM

I posted about a split on the PM board last week as well tbf. I'm sure others said they heard the same, if what I've heard is true the dressing room ain't a nice place to be atm

24-01-2023, 08:18 PM

Educated guesses then.

MikeyS
24-01-2023, 08:20 PM

Which was mentioned on here Sunday evening too by Cameron I believe. I can totally see the truth in it all, think back to the McGeady interview after 'Well. Had a chance to back LJ and he gave it a massive side step.

You said in another thread he was willing to sign a new contract did you not?

cameronw-hfc
Educated guesses then.

Was he not pretty reliable until he got one or two wrong and got hounded off of here? I remember him being a poster, then I must have missed what happened as I don't remember when he stopped/it all kicked off.

24-01-2023, 08:21 PM
What’s worst with the changing room?

In fairness I imagine any changing room that’s had 10 defeats in the last 14 or whatever it is wouldn’t be a nice place to be.

They can moan about whatever they want and make all the excuses but the players are the ones going out there and playing poorly

cameronw-hfc
24-01-2023, 08:21 PM
You said in another thread he was willing to sign a new contract did you not?

Based on his interview he gave before his injury saying he hopes it's sorted soon, wasn't any info I had or anything. I'm sure I cleared that up a few replies after 👍

24-01-2023, 08:23 PM
Educated guesses then.

24-01-2023, 08:27 PM
Was he not pretty reliable until he got one or two wrong and got hounded off of here? I remember him being a poster, then I must have missed what happened as I don't remember when he stopped/it all kicked off.

Nah, at the risk of going over old ground, he would make vague educated guesses based on information that was already out there.

Like he’s doing just now with Cadden maybe leaving and rumours of unrest in the camp.

cameronw-hfc
24-01-2023, 08:31 PM
Nah, at the risk of going over old ground, he would make vague educated guesses based on information that was already out there.

Like he’s doing just now with Cadden maybe leaving and rumours of unrest in the camp.

Fair enough mate.

24-01-2023, 08:32 PM
Educated guesses then.
At best

24-01-2023, 08:42 PM

In fairness I imagine any changing room that’s had 10 defeats in the last 14 or whatever it is wouldn’t be a nice place to be.

They can moan about whatever they want and make all the excuses but the players are the ones going out there and playing poorly

Manager has been bad mouthing players since start of the season and saying they are not good enough, he shouldn’t be telling punters that, it will defo get back to players and they will think who the f*** is this guy bad mouthing us while up the town.

#2 Double Tap
24-01-2023, 08:53 PM
Manager has been bad mouthing players since start of the season and saying they are not good enough, he shouldn’t be telling punters that, it will defo get back to players and they will think who the f*** is this guy bad mouthing us while up the town.

Slavers are gonna slaver, it’s what they do.

24-01-2023, 08:57 PM
Had a quick look on a Millwall forum. Seems this guy doesn't rate him much.

Peckham Lion
Today at 7:19 PM
#1,122
The media are saying we've been knocked back, quite possibly bollox. He's a bit of a crock, had a bad injury, unproven outside of park football in Scotland, would be surprised if we were in for him.
HappyLion
HappyLion

Mrimbetween
24-01-2023, 08:59 PM
No

Hate to say it but sibbick was a standout on sunday

24-01-2023, 09:00 PM
Watford are ‘in talks’ over signing Ryan Porteous from Hibs, according to a report.

However, a move for the Scotland cap may not be concluded until after the clash with Aberdeen.

Record Sport previously reported that Blackburn Rovers and the Hornets were among the clubs chasing the signature of the 23-year-old, who is out of contract this summer. The Athletic now claim those talks are at an advanced stage

24-01-2023, 09:08 PM

The slavers’ slaver

24-01-2023, 09:10 PM

Has he actually been saying to randoms certain players aren’t good enough?

I was one that wanted to keep him but the results since he’s took over, way we got them and cup exits is making it difficult.

He also doesn’t help himself going out the night before a derby, complaining about the players mindset when playing the old firm and then next game comparing us to a fiat and Celtic a Lamborghini or whatever it was. Saying we have the best front 3 out with the old firm when Nisbet is the only one scoring.

Then there’s the camel jacket away at Celtic and having his hands in his sleeves when we played hearts on the 2nd.

He just needs to shut up and stop brining unwanted attention to him and the club.

24-01-2023, 09:14 PM

24-01-2023, 09:16 PM

I was one that wanted to keep him but the results since he’s took over, way we got them and cup exits is making it difficult.

He also doesn’t help himself going out the night before a derby, complaining about the players mindset when playing the old firm and then next game comparing us to a fist and Celtic a Lamborghini or whatever it was. Saying we have the best front 3 out with the old firm when Nisbet is the only one scoring.

Then there’s the camel jacket away at Celtic and having his hands in his sleeves when we played hearts on the 2nd.

He just needs to shut up and stop brining unwanted attention to him and the club.

Unfortunately LJ insists with a formation that just involves one up.

Cat Stanton
24-01-2023, 09:27 PM
Not heard anything myself just posting what I've seen on twitter.

Saying "it's on twitter" is like 20 years ago (ie pre-twitter) saying "heard a guy muttering to himself at a bus stop".

In both cases what was said was not necessarily true.

24-01-2023, 09:29 PM

Agree totally easy excuse the managers fault

24-01-2023, 09:31 PM

Imagine a number of clubs would. Was he not our player of the year last season

24-01-2023, 09:36 PM

Think that’s being a bit unfair. He did have some contacts and posted legitimate info.

24-01-2023, 09:36 PM
Remind me what % Dunfermline get from Hibs for any sale of Nisbet
Someone else may have responded but my recollection is it coukd around the 30 percent mark Similiat to what we had to pay st Mirren when we sold Mcginn
But I may may a bit out

24-01-2023, 09:38 PM
Watford are ‘in talks’ over signing Ryan Porteous from Hibs, according to a report.

However, a move for the Scotland cap may not be concluded until after the clash with Aberdeen.

Record Sport previously reported that Blackburn Rovers and the Hornets were among the clubs chasing the signature of the 23-year-old, who is out of contract this summer. The Athletic now claim those talks are at an advanced stage

Have to admit I've given Porto a wee bit of stick the past few months for not signing an extension to get us more money etc. But if he sticks around until after the Aberdeen game fair play to the boy. Be easy to sit out the big games with a big money move looming, but he's playing and still giving 100%.

Auckland Hibs
24-01-2023, 09:39 PM
The slavers’ slaver

Harsh IMO.

He had some good info, it didn't end well for him on here but he often shared some rumours that came through.

24-01-2023, 09:40 PM

Ben drip feeding more pish.

24-01-2023, 09:42 PM
Someone else may have responded but my recollection is it coukd around the 30 percent mark Similiat to what we had to pay st Mirren
But I may may a bit out

That's what I thought Ronnie, just wondering if it's 30% of any profit. Not sure what we paid for Nisbet but there was talk of 400? So if he went for 1m ( which he won't) would it be 30% of £600k.

24-01-2023, 09:46 PM
It's normally a % of any future profit

cameronw-hfc
24-01-2023, 09:46 PM
Saying "it's on twitter" is like 20 years ago (ie pre-twitter) saying "heard a guy muttering to himself at a bus stop".

In both cases what was said was not necessarily true.

Didn't say it was mate, posted it here to see what others thought / if anyone had heard the same, as before the tweet I hadn't.

Cat Stanton
24-01-2023, 09:51 PM
Didn't say it was mate, posted it here to see what others thought / if anyone had heard the same, as before the tweet I hadn't.

Yes, sorry, wasn't having a go at you at all. Just making a general point about some of the mince that gets tweeted. Apologies.

hibbie02
24-01-2023, 10:34 PM
Ben drip feeding more pish.

Was talking to a Watford supporting colleague today and he specifically asked about Porto. He was saying he had heard good things about Porto and he would likely improve the current Watford defence hugely. Apparently their view of their defence is much the same as our view of our Defence. Watford fans are saying it is happening....but didn't say when!

cameronw-hfc
24-01-2023, 10:38 PM
Yes, sorry, wasn't having a go at you at all. Just making a general point about some of the mince that gets tweeted. Apologies.

No worries 👍

leithsansiro
24-01-2023, 10:56 PM
Not even remotely in the know, but if we want to be getting ready-made guys who know the league and can make a step up, I'd reckon the following are all worth a look. Our best team of recent years was built around picking guys up from "lower" clubs and giving them a platform.

Nicky Devlin, right back (and captain) from Livingston
Ian Harkes, midfielder from Dundee Utd
Alex Iacoviti, centre back from Ross County
Stephen Kelly, midfield playmaker from Livingston
Harry Milne, left back from Partick Thistle

Torto7
24-01-2023, 11:11 PM
Not even remotely in the know, but if we want to be getting ready-made guys who know the league and can make a step up, I'd reckon the following are all worth a look. Our best team of recent years was built around picking guys up from "lower" clubs and giving them a platform.

I'm not sure on the others but he is utterly honking. Slow, poor on the ball and rash in the tackle.

Percy Vere
24-01-2023, 11:25 PM
Must be two or three in the Darvel team we should be drafting in before Aberdeen come to town. Put the fear into them.

Clarence
25-01-2023, 05:12 AM
Must be two or three in the Darvel team we should be drafting in before Aberdeen come to town. Put the fear into them.

Just get the manager. The players would be refreshed by a team talk with no mention of the SAS, football IQ or how they are all 5hite.

JammyDoidger
25-01-2023, 05:12 AM
Hearing Bailey wright won't be joining Portsmouth, deal potentially back on..

jakeshibs
25-01-2023, 05:27 AM

He also doesn’t help himself going out the night before a derby, complaining about the players mindset when playing the old firm and then next game comparing us to a fiat and Celtic a Lamborghini or whatever it was. Saying we have the best front 3 out with the old firm when Nisbet is the only one scoring.

i agree

25-01-2023, 05:48 AM
It's normally a % of any future profit

So if we sell him for less than we paid for him do Dunfermline owe us money? 😁

Dmas
25-01-2023, 06:20 AM

He’s not wrong though is he? maybe those players should look at themselves and try proving him wrong instead of proving the blokes point and chucking the toys out the pram, 2 guys have lost there jobs cause of them already one them supposedly there pal in JR

25-01-2023, 06:27 AM
He’s not wrong though is he? maybe those players should look at themselves and try proving him wrong instead of proving the blokes point and chucking the toys out the pram, 2 guys have lost there jobs cause of them already one them supposedly there pal in JR

Although he might not be wrong in that some players aren’t good enough, there’s a way to go about it.

They’re also better players than losing 10 games in 14, I’m pretty sure most fans on here could lead us to a better record than that 😅

McGruber
25-01-2023, 06:48 AM
Although he might not be wrong in that some players aren’t good enough, there’s a way to go about it.

They’re also better players than losing 10 games in 14, I’m pretty sure most fans on here could lead us to a better record than that 😅

Said it at the time. Calling the players deadwood, low football IQ, 'getting rid' and so on.
For a guy that swallowed a thesaurus would it have been difficult to say 'some players opportunities might be limited here and would be in their interests for them to find a new challenge' or however he wants to say it, at least publicly.

Should it matter, no. Players should prove him wrong, do their job, accept the deserved criticism. In the reeal world players have egos and people all react different.

The kind of thing that leads to a split camp and losing the dressingroom... ah wait 🤔

JimboHibs
25-01-2023, 07:00 AM

I'm the opposite I'd be pretty gutted.

25-01-2023, 07:09 AM
Hearing Bailey wright won't be joining Portsmouth, deal potentially back on..LJ in.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

25-01-2023, 07:10 AM

Exactly he gets us up the pitch more than anyone else.

AugustaHibs
25-01-2023, 07:47 AM
Exactly he gets us up the pitch more than anyone else.

Jessica Ennis hill could be brought in to do that though, doesn’t make him a good footballer.

He also looks like he’s towing a caravan now and can’t beat a man to save himself.

Let’s no even get into a discussion regarding his ‘delivery’

Paulie Walnuts
25-01-2023, 07:57 AM

Genuine question here, would you really?

Obviously it’s all about opinions but I find the idea anyone would be gutted Cadden left mental.

Percy Vere
25-01-2023, 08:02 AM
Just get the manager. The players would be refreshed by a team talk with no mention of the SAS, football IQ or how they are all 5hite.

😂 LJ he’s a modern manager mate. In 5 years we will all be speaking the lingo and wearing camel coats to games. You know it makes sense.

25-01-2023, 08:04 AM
Celtic sign striker

BREAKING! Celtic complete Oh Hyeon-gyu transfer as South Korean striker signs five-year deal year deal ✍️🇰🇷

bit.ly/3WDeAxQ

JimboHibs
25-01-2023, 08:11 AM
Genuine question here, would you really?

Obviously it’s all about opinions but I find the idea anyone would be gutted Cadden left mental.

My own opinion is he's never a RB , play him in his correct position Right midfield and he's a big asset to the team.

25-01-2023, 08:22 AM
My own opinion is he's never a RB , play him in his correct position Right midfield and he's a big asset to the team.

Agree That’s the problem

25-01-2023, 08:25 AM
Celtic sign striker

BREAKING! Celtic complete Oh Hyeon-gyu transfer as South Korean striker signs five-year deal year deal ✍️🇰🇷

bit.ly/3WDeAxQ

Oh boy!

25-01-2023, 08:38 AM

The position of “right midfield” doesn’t exist though. Nobody plays a 4-4-2 anymore. He can’t play where Youan or McGeady play, which is a wide forward.

He can play right wing back (with 3 at the back) which LJ does not seem interested in playing.

25-01-2023, 08:39 AM

Wasn’t all that long ago you were saying the same about Nisbet.

leith lynx
25-01-2023, 08:40 AM

Agree with Devlin and Milne, also the Morton left back Strapp has impressed.

25-01-2023, 08:48 AM

Devlin isn’t a bad player, but he’s nae better than Paul McGinn is/was.
Harkes and Iacoviti would be big downgrades on what we have.

I’ve no seen anything of Milne to form an opinion, and other than the double he scored the other day I’d never really noticed Steven Kelly, but his records pretty terrible for a striker. We’ve already got forwards who dinnae score much.

25-01-2023, 08:50 AM
Devlin isn’t a bad player, but he’s nae better than Paul McGinn is/was.
Harkes and Iacoviti would be big downgrades on what we have.

I’ve no seen anything of Milne to form an opinion, and other than the double he scored the other day I’d never really noticed Steven Kelly, but his records pretty terrible for a striker. We’ve already got forwards who dinnae score much.

Pretty sure Kelly is a midfielder, I could be wrong. He hasn't long signed for Livi so it's not someone we would be signing anyway tbh.

25-01-2023, 08:51 AM
Oh boy!

Oh Bhoy.

25-01-2023, 08:56 AM
Pretty sure Kelly is a midfielder, I could be wrong. He hasn't long signed for Livi so it's not someone we would be signing anyway tbh.

Is he? I’m just going by what I saw on Soccerbase to be honest

https://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=93404&season_id=155

25-01-2023, 09:00 AM
Is he? I’m just going by what I saw on Soccerbase to be honest

https://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=93404&season_id=155

Bizarrely that has him on loan at livi and I'm sure he signed a permanent deal. I'm often wrong though 😀

25-01-2023, 09:23 AM
Bizarrely that has him on loan at livi and I'm sure he signed a permanent deal. I'm often wrong though 😀

He’s a central midfielder and joined permanently in the summer. Contracted to 2025.

25-01-2023, 09:33 AM
Jessica Ennis hill could be brought in to do that though, doesn’t make him a good footballer.

He also looks like he’s towing a caravan now and can’t beat a man to save himself.

Let’s no even get into a discussion regarding his ‘delivery’

Hes faster than prob 80% of our team. Not sure what player you are watching.

Greenworld
25-01-2023, 09:36 AM
Someone else may have responded but my recollection is it coukd around the 30 percent mark Similiat to what we had to pay st Mirren when we sold Mcginn
But I may may a bit outYour spot on it is 30% it was mentioned when he was to go to Birmingham for 2.8 million funny how that seems great now

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

25-01-2023, 09:55 AM
Oh Bhoy.

He is now!

tonyrougier123
25-01-2023, 10:01 AM
Agree with Devlin and Milne, also the Morton left back Strapp has impressed.

There’s good hungry players in championship. We often forget how stuffy and resilient these teams are. You just want correct attitude and application from players,and let the ball players play and deliver.

leith lynx
25-01-2023, 10:06 AM
There’s good hungry players in championship. We often forget how stuffy and resilient these teams are. You just want correct attitude and application from players,and let the ball players play and deliver.
Exactly 👍

25-01-2023, 10:20 AM
Wasn’t all that long ago you were saying the same about Nisbet.

I was bang-on about Nisbet from Jan 21 til his injury. He was appalling.

He's been a different player since he returned. Seems to have developed a first touch, the ability to hold the ball up a lot better, and his movement has gone up 10 fold.

tonyrougier123
25-01-2023, 10:25 AM
I was bang-on about Nisbet from Jan 21 til his injury. He was appalling.

He's been a different player since he returned. Seems to have developed a first touch, the ability to hold the ball up a lot better, and his movement has gone up 10 fold.

A change in his attitude has helped him.
Looks really happy to be playing again,amazing what playing with the right mind set can do for a player.

25-01-2023, 10:34 AM
A change in his attitude has helped him.
Looks really happy to be playing again,amazing what playing with the right mind set can do for a player.

I think his attitude looks night and day. Previous to his injury he didn't appear to have any desire about him whatsoever. Every time a ball came into the box he wouldn't move. He wouldn't compete for 50/50's. His pressing was non-existent.

The 3rd goal he scored v Motherwell was real eye-opener. He made a decoy run to the back post, then shoved the defender out his way to make space. A brilliant piece of striking. He'd never have done that last season.

I actually thought Sunday was up there with his best games for us. In any previous games v Hearts, he's been a passenger. Physically he really competed. His hold-up play was excellent.

tonyrougier123
25-01-2023, 10:41 AM
I think his attitude looks night and day. Previous to his injury he didn't appear to have any desire about him whatsoever. Every time a ball came into the box he wouldn't move. He wouldn't compete for 50/50's. His pressing was non-existent.

The 3rd goal he scored v Motherwell was real eye-opener. He made a decoy run to the back post, then shoved the defender out his way to make space. A brilliant piece of striking. He'd never have done that last season.

I actually thought Sunday was up there with his best games for us. In any previous games v Hearts, he's been a passenger. Physically he really competed. His hold-up play was excellent.

I remember him and big doidge working too deep both were nearly never present when the ball came in for them.

One of my complaints at the time was we never seemed to play through the middle,even in dangerous areas centrally we over done the play it out wide tactics. Stifled us a bit I felt under JR.

Aye the movement against Motherwell and even Sunday,showed his forward intelligence. But the finishing was 1st class.

I’m an open critic of his too,I can’t stand a transfer request,but I’m just over the moon to see a striker looking the biz up front again.

25-01-2023, 10:52 AM
I remember him and big doidge working too deep both were nearly never present when the ball came in for them.

One of my complaints at the time was we never seemed to play through the middle,even in dangerous areas centrally we over done the play it out wide tactics. Stifled us a bit I felt under JR.

Aye the movement against Motherwell and even Sunday,showed his forward intelligence. But the finishing was 1st class.

I’m an open critic of his too,I can’t stand a transfer request,but I’m just over the moon to see a striker looking the biz up front again.

I've never doubted his finishing and I think technically he's always been a good footballer. The issue was, he would only seem to wait until the ball was given to him perfectly.

On Sunday, we saw him sticking his backside into defenders and busting his balls to protect the ball. That was something he never did before.

Chorley Hibee
25-01-2023, 10:57 AM
I've never doubted his finishing and I think technically he's always been a good footballer. The issue was, he would only seem to wait until the ball was given to him perfectly.

On Sunday, we saw him sticking his backside into defenders and busting his balls to protect the ball. That was something he never did before.

I've never been a fan since he downed tools for months after submitting a transfer request.

I've no doubt the increased work rate you mention is purely to put himself in the shop window for a move.

I'm quite happy for him to leave, but only for the right price.

tonyrougier123
25-01-2023, 10:59 AM

Agreed. He’s came back improved overall.

Donegal Hibby
25-01-2023, 11:31 AM
Millwall have upped there offer from 1.1 million to 2.3 million now

Chorley Hibee
25-01-2023, 11:32 AM

If true, then Hibs have a difficult decision on their hands.

tonyrougier123
25-01-2023, 11:33 AM
Omeonga could be available,Livy looking to reduce budget.
When he plays generally they get positive results.

Watched they’re draw against hearts at Tynie on Alba,he was superb.
Never gave them a moments peace and was classy passing and linking,and most importantly done a lot of dirty work tracking back and putting them on the front foot.

Source?

Donegal Hibby
If true, then Hibs have a difficult decision on their hands.
It's still imo well below his valuation and hopefully it gets rejected mate .
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/64400937

25-01-2023, 11:34 AM
Millwall have upped there offer from 1.1 million to 2.3 million nowLol, that's some jump

Mad we never accepted £1 million in our firesale

25-01-2023, 11:36 AM
2.3m upfront with a sell on could probably tempt them to accept. Some end to the window if Nisbet and Porteous go.

25-01-2023, 11:37 AM
2.3m upfront with a sell on could probably tempt them to accept. Some end to the window if Nisbet and Porteous go.

This could be McKirdy's big chance 😁

25-01-2023, 11:38 AM
Nisbet’s rejuvenation on retired from injury was thought by many as being one good reason why we shouldn’t really be feeling we’d be involved in a relegation scrap.

If we didn’t replace with a high quality, ready made striker, that fear could return.

On the bright side though, the proposed hovercraft link from Leith to Kircaldy would be very handy indeed for Raith Away.

https://i.postimg.cc/1XQpyDdM/61266-FA9-A29-A-46-D5-B49-B-9-F6-CDE4287-B2.jpg (https://postimg.cc/dk57BZwT)

25-01-2023, 11:40 AM
https://twitter.com/jamiekborthwick/status/1618226532731822080?s=46&t=8pqySJywquxY2GZVeyfADA

Fee that could go up to 2.3 million

We won’t be far away from dealing at that type of fee.

Really fear for the remainder of the season as it’s abundantly clear we’re not going to be doing much the other way.

Think he'll be off then. A year left in the summer. Can't see is turning that down. Hope we do, but can't see it.

Can we recall Bojang?

25-01-2023, 11:41 AM
https://twitter.com/jamiekborthwick/status/1618226532731822080?s=46&t=8pqySJywquxY2GZVeyfADA

So probably 1.3m with add ons if Millwall go up and he scores 45 goals etc.

25-01-2023, 11:43 AM
Will we realistically get much more for him now than in the summer?

Donegal Hibby
25-01-2023, 11:44 AM
Source?
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/64400937

25-01-2023, 11:47 AM

Key word - COULD!

25-01-2023, 11:48 AM

Tell them to ram it. Dreadful offer.

LunasBoots
25-01-2023, 11:50 AM
If that's the case we won't turn that down I'd imagine

Donegal Hibby
25-01-2023, 11:50 AM
I don't think we will let him go for 2.3m , it's still well below his valuation plus the fact it would be near impossible to get somebody as good in as most clubs don't want to lose there best players in the January window .

Zambernardi1875
25-01-2023, 11:51 AM
It would have to be in the 4-5mil range to realistically think about selling Nisbet in this window. We’d get those figures quoted easily in the summer and more if he keeps scoring

25-01-2023, 11:52 AM
Key word - COULD!

Exactly what does he have to do for us to get athat fee? And what is the fee before any add ons?

Sounds like a poor deal to me?

25-01-2023, 11:52 AM
It would have to be in the 4-5mil range to realistically think about selling Nisbet in this window. We’d get those figures quoted easily in the summer and more if he keeps scoring

With 12 months left on his contract in the summer? Just can't see a price like that for a player outside the old firm.

LunasBoots
25-01-2023, 11:53 AM

No chance, not in a player at that point with 12 months left on his contact.

Chorley Hibee
I don't think we will let him go for 2.3m , it's still well below his valuation plus the fact it would be near impossible to get somebody as good in as most clubs don't want to lose there best players in the January window .

His valuation is surely based upon what someone is willing to pay.

At the moment, that is 2.3m.

That could rise if more clubs bid, or Hibs negotiate a higher fee, but I'd be surprised if we end up with much more than that figure reported.

Got to think the effect it will have on Lee Johnson and the squad if Nisbet goes for a fee that could go up to 2 million.

I’d imagine they’d be raging and deflated.

Zambernardi1875
25-01-2023, 11:55 AM
With 12 months left on his contract in the summer? Just can't see a price like that for a player outside the old firm.

What 2.5mil in the summer if he keeps scoring

25-01-2023, 11:56 AM

Sorry, totally misread your post! I totally agree, needs to be a bigger fee to sign this window. Agree we could get the same £2mil plus in the summer.

LunasBoots
25-01-2023, 11:56 AM

And if he gets injured from now to the end of the season? Can't take the chance on that or he'll leave for nothing

Willis1875
25-01-2023, 11:57 AM

Will he keep scoring if he doesn’t get a move this window though?It appears from the outside that he’s wanted away for quite some time.
It’s not ideal but we probably have to act now whilst we can get something decent
Sorry I realise I’ve quoted the wrong post

25-01-2023, 11:59 AM
Harsh IMO.

He had some good info, it didn't end well for him on here but he often shared some rumours that came through.
Yes had some good contacts.

25-01-2023, 12:00 PM

We absolutely wouldn't.

yerauldda
25-01-2023, 12:00 PM
I'd imagine we could negotiate closer to 3 which I would be happy to accept.
Not sure what he's done for anyone to think we'd get anywhere near 5 million with less than 18 months left on his deal.

Zambernardi1875
25-01-2023, 12:02 PM
We absolutely wouldn't.

If he keeps scoring we’ll get 2.5mil easily in the summer

Devante Cole
Sam Cosgrove
Ryan Hardie
Dipo Akinyemi

Any other strikers we can think of to replace Nisbet that at least have previous experience of scoring a goal or a bit of quality

Celtic sign striker

bit.ly/3WDeAxQ
And right there we see the problem with Scottish football

Willis1875
25-01-2023, 12:04 PM

Will he keep scoring though or will his head go

25-01-2023, 12:04 PM

That’s the main issue though. We don’t let him leave then the toys come out the pram again and the goals could dry up like they did previously. If he were to be able to carry on his form and he wasn’t kicking off looking to move I’d definitely keep him.

25-01-2023, 12:05 PM
Devante Cole
Sam Cosgrove
Ryan Hardie
Dipo Akinyemi

Any other strikers we can think of to replace Nisbet that at least have previous experience of scoring a goal or a bit of quality

Come on now, now of these are u19 players with zero first team experience

25-01-2023, 12:06 PM

Sorry I misunderstood and thought you meant we would get 4 or 5 in the summer.

Zambernardi1875
25-01-2023, 12:06 PM
That’s the main issue though. We don’t let him leave then the toys come out the pram again and the goals could dry up like they did previously. If he were to be able to carry on his form and he wasn’t kicking off looking to move I’d definitely keep him.

Well if he did that you’d have to question his own professionalism.

25-01-2023, 12:08 PM

He did it last time.

25-01-2023, 12:08 PM
If he keeps scoring we’ll get 2.5mil easily in the summerWhat happens if he downs tools and only scores 1 or 2 by end off season we won’t get much. We need to take a decent amount now.

Willis1875
25-01-2023, 12:09 PM

We absolutely would have to but that wouldn’t help us get the reported near 2.5million on offer now

25-01-2023, 12:10 PM

This is it.

I think he might be saying to them I want to go and I’m not signing a new contract no matter what.

We saw before what an unhappy Nisbet looks like

Lee Marvin
25-01-2023, 12:12 PM
Rocky
Boyle
Nisbet
Porteous
Magennis (because... well, he is never fit)

All will probably not play for Hibs again this season (I know Magennis will but I am past counting on him anymore). With alleged chaos behind the scenes (and the other injuries we have) there is every possibility the wheels could come off Hibs (if they havent already).

Strap in folks!!

25-01-2023, 12:13 PM
Devante Cole
Sam Cosgrove
Ryan Hardie
Dipo Akinyemi

Hope somebody can think of better, there has to be better.

Donegal Hibby
25-01-2023, 12:14 PM
Sorry, totally misread your post! I totally agree, needs to be a bigger fee to sign this window. Agree we could get the same £2mil plus in the summer.
If he stays and keeps scoring I think we will get over £3 mil plus for him in the summer.

25-01-2023, 12:15 PM
What happens if he downs tools and only scores 1 or 2 by end off season we won’t get much. We need to take a decent amount now.

He will be focusing on staying in Scotland squad so that would be silly of him.

Myko can't be far away from a return now though, no?

If we could keep Nisbet beyond the weekend, that would be huge.

I don't think we risk the huffy downing of tools again. If we get them to £2.3m (without it being a pile of add ons to take it to £2.3m) plus some sort of interest in his future ie we get a windfall if Millwall go up, then I think we should do it.

For all the talk of how good he's been since he came back from injury he's been a bit of a flat track bully - lots of goals against weaker teams but some quiet and poor performances and few goals in the biggest games. I don't think he's as indispensable as some people do, whilst acknowledging that some of his performances have been top notch and in many ways those are still the games that we need to be winning to cement a high league position.

Lewis Mayo is reportedly on his way out of Rangers, he's currently on loan at Killie but Rangers may sell. He's been linked with a move to 'several Scottish clubs and English clbs' one guy being cryptic on Twitter making out it could be Hibs

I know it's not much but it's a rumour 😂

https://twitter.com/TheRealDaveG/status/1618207479279783936?t=5Mk7K9PVVS0rtswK0-Kp2Q&s=19

LunasBoots
25-01-2023, 12:16 PM
If he stays and keeps scoring I think we will get over £3 mil plus for him in the summer.

Or we negotiate a deal closer to 3 million now, anything could happen between now and the end of the season, one injury and we will likely be at a point we get not very much. Don't think the club are in a position to take that chance.

25-01-2023, 12:18 PM
If we lost Porteous and Nisbet in this window you can kiss goodbye to the rest of the season in every context other than the possible threat of relegation. That will almost certainly be accompanied by another money-spinning season in Europe for Hearts.

We won't in this window recruit the quality at the back to replace the former and we certainly won't find goals at the front to replace the latter - either from what we have or what we may sign.

I think there's a very strong likelihood that we will be denuded of most of the limited quality we have by the end of this window and we won't remotely come close to replacing it. If that turns out to be the case the owners and their lackeys better prepare for a truly poisonous atmosphere at games and a mutinous set of supporters approaching the next season ticket sales.

In 2022 there was quite a lot of bollocks talked about our raft of new signings being exciting young prospects about to break through. Few people will buy into that crap again. Next to no-one will buy into LJ as the continuing manager if we see most of his previous signings sold, loaned or simply not played while our form remains horrific.

They're going to have to bring in a name rather than a prospect as the new manager, sign established players rather than wannabes as first team picks and they are going to have to do both very early on since we won't get to see these people playing much before the summer window closes and therefore during the period when they will be desperate for season ticket sales. And a late DoF appointment (or one that then needs to 'review' things for months) won't cut it either.

In short, they've made a total **** of things and the only way to rectify that is admitting they got it wrong, finding some cash and getting some real football people to take charge on the football side. If they think Hibs are just a business I suspect they are about to find out the hard way that there is a lot more to it than that.

What's that saying? **** around and find out?

25-01-2023, 12:18 PM

I don't think we risk the huffy downing of tools again. If we get them to £2.3m (without it being a pile of add ons to take it to £2.3m) plus some sort of interest in his future ie we get a windfall if Millwall go up, then I think we should do it.

For all the talk of how good he's been since he came back from injury he's been a bit of a flat track bully - lots of goals against weaker teams but some quiet and poor performances and not main goals in the biggest games. I don't think he's as indispensable as some people do, whilst acknowledging that some of his performances have been top notch and in many ways those are still the games that we need to be winning to cement a high league position.

mid feb and then he needs to get match fit

25-01-2023, 12:19 PM

I know not exactly inspiring but I would take Cosgrove, Cole and Hardie in a heartbeat if Nisbet goes.

Purely for the reason that I know them and what they can do in this league.

I have the fear we’ll try something ridiculous again

25-01-2023, 12:19 PM
mid feb and then he needs to get match fit

I'd imagine with the extra budget the fee should give us, we could get a decent loan in

25-01-2023, 12:20 PM
Or we negotiate a deal closer to 3 million now, anything could happen between now and the end of the season, one injury and we will likely be at a point we get not very much. Don't think the club are in a position to take that chance.

They had a £3m offer for Dykes turned down last week

25-01-2023, 12:20 PM

For all the talk of how good he's been since he came back from injury he's been a bit of a flat track bully - lots of goals against weaker teams but some quiet and poor performances and not main goals in the biggest games. I don't think he's as indispensable as some people do, whilst acknowledging that some of his performances have been top notch and in many ways those are still the games that we need to be winning to cement a high league position.

But there’s no one scoring the goals he has in our squad.

We don’t get that draw against dundee utd without Nisbet as no-one else in the squad has the vision or quality to score the goals he did.

Same with his hatrick at motherwell. He’s always in the right place at the right time which is what we lacked when he was out.

Hibs without Nisbet really gives me the fear of the play offs

LunasBoots
25-01-2023, 12:22 PM
Millwall got any strikers out of favour that we could get a loan out of?

25-01-2023, 12:23 PM

I think we have to take it. He was dog**** from Jan 21 until his injury. We'd have been lucky to get £2.30 for him prior to his injury. He's has had 1 great month in 2 years. We'd be mental to turn down this opportunity again.

tonyrougier123
25-01-2023, 12:29 PM

Yuma Suzuki,jump on the Japanese bandwagon.
Might cost a bit played in Europe back in Japan just now.

25-01-2023, 12:31 PM
But there’s no one scoring the goals he has in our squad.

We don’t get that draw against dundee utd without Nisbet as no-one else in the squad has the vision or quality to score the goals he did.

Same with his hatrick at motherwell. He’s always in the right place at the right time which is what we lacked when he was out.

Hibs without Nisbet really gives me the fear of the play offs

Kukharevych scored 3 in his last 5 before he got injured

25-01-2023, 12:41 PM
Devante Cole
Sam Cosgrove
Ryan Hardie
Dipo Akinyemi

Sam Cosgrove is apparently still on £18k per week. Can't see him leaving that to join us. Plus he'll likely stay with Plymouth and get promoted to the Championship

25-01-2023, 12:44 PM

I still don’t reckon he scores the kind of goals nisbet does. Nisbet seems to create goals from half chances.

25-01-2023, 12:45 PM
https://twitter.com/jamiekborthwick/status/1618241345818181633?s=46&t=8pqySJywquxY2GZVeyfADA

Trying to get a centre back in before Saturday (previous tweets) and looking likely Nisbet will be gone by Saturday

25-01-2023, 12:50 PM
https://twitter.com/jamiekborthwick/status/1618241345818181633?s=46&t=8pqySJywquxY2GZVeyfADA

Trying to get a centre back in before Saturday (previous tweets) and looking likely Nisbet will be gone by Saturday

Pretty mental. That’s us rushed to get a midfielder in before the hearts game and now rushing to get a CB in before Saturday.

Instead of having a well thought and drawn out plan for signings we were needing this month before January arrived

Greenworld
25-01-2023, 12:55 PM
Texts going about that nisbet is on his way to Watford and he requested it.

25-01-2023, 12:56 PM

Saturday should be some laugh 😀
I hate January windows

25-01-2023, 12:57 PM
Some laugh

25-01-2023, 12:57 PM

Do Watford know about this?🤣

Torto7
25-01-2023, 01:04 PM

Hibs offered him an extension and he's refused to play ball. They even discussed a year extra on his current deal. The boys a f@nny imo. He's recently changed agents as well. Asking for a move six months into a deal says it all about him.

25-01-2023, 01:07 PM
If there wasn't a threat of relegation I would take this offer, no problem.

However, even with the money we'd lose out on, and the prospect of relying on an unhappy striker for the remainder of the season, it is simply too big a risk as it stands. I have no idea where the goals we need are going to come from because there is no way we are guaranteed to get a decent replacement with the budget we have and in this window.

mcfly
25-01-2023, 01:09 PM
So who starts up front on sat?

Youan and mckirdy?

What a total shambles this transfer window has been.

If I did my job as bad I’d be emptied out.

LunasBoots
25-01-2023, 01:10 PM
Hibs offered him an extension and he's refused to play ball. They even discussed a year extra on his current deal. The boys a f@nny imo. He's recently changed agents as well. Asking for a move six months into a deal says it all about him.

We are a stepping stone for many young players, he's no loyalty to us, if you where going to earn money to set you up for life you'd likely be offski too, don't really have a problem with that.

Torto7
25-01-2023, 01:12 PM
We are a stepping stone for many young players, he's no loyalty to us, if you where going to earn money to set you up for life you'd likely be offski too, don't really have a problem with that.

There's a way to move like McGinn then you have the Nisbets of the world. He's spent a good chunk of time injured. He could give us a years extension. I'm not really bothered if he goes tbh anyway. I've never taken to him.

25-01-2023, 01:13 PM

Youan and mckirdy?

McKirdy and Laidlaw for me.

Enthusiasm and effort go a long way in this league. I’m not writing McKirdy off yet like some, he needs to be played up front though in a two.

badabing67
25-01-2023, 01:13 PM
Omeonga could be available,Livy looking to reduce budget.
When he plays generally they get positive results.

Watched they’re draw against hearts at Tynie on Alba,he was superb.
Never gave them a moments peace and was classy passing and linking,and most importantly done a lot of dirty work tracking back and putting them on the front foot.

Jack Ross must of had an opportunity to sign him before he went to Livi but never took it. I thought it was a big mistake at the time. He is out of contract at the end of the season, we could do much worse than getting him back. I think we should try and get him on a pre-contract. Or even try and get him now especially if Magennis is going to be out long term again.

25-01-2023, 01:14 PM

I agree.

It's tough, because I appreciate they're our 2 best players but imo Hibs won't be able to move forward until Porteous and Nisbet leave the club.

The decline has been happening since they downed tools after taking the huff 2 years ago. Since then we've had inconsistent, temperamental football from the pair of them and somehow been made to feel like we should be grateful for it.

For the first time in a while we've got a fragmented dressing room and a club that seems to be totally disunited.

Losing the pair of them will be like ripping a plaster off. It's going to be painful and it's not going to come without it's problems but it will be the first step on the way to us actually moving in the right direction.

The recruitment team being trusted to replace them isn't an insignificant problem but it is a separate problem.

I can't wait to see the back of the pair of them.

I accept I'm probably alone in thinking that.

tonyrougier123
25-01-2023, 01:14 PM

I get that attitude but both nisbet and especially Porteous would’ve got the big money moves they crave even taking the lucrative deals hibs supposedly had on the table for both.

Torto7
25-01-2023, 01:15 PM

Youan and mckirdy?

Bring Back Deeks

DoubleDangerous
25-01-2023, 01:16 PM
Surely we have got to give Laidlaw and O'Conner a shot if Nisbet is gone.

What's the point in even having these youth teams if there's no chance of them getting an actual chance in the first team!

25-01-2023, 01:18 PM
I agree.

It's tough, because I appreciate they're our 2 best players but imo Hibs won't be able to move forward until Porteous and Nisbet leave the club.

The decline has been happening since they downed tools after taking the huff 2 years ago. Since then we've had inconsistent, temperamental football from the pair of them and somehow been made to feel like we should be grateful for it.

For the first time in a while we've got a fragmented dressing room and a club that seems to be totally disunited.

Losing the pair of them will be like ripping a plaster off. It's going to be painful and it's not going to come without it's problems but it will be the first step on the way to us actually moving in the right direction.

The recruitment team being trusted to replace them isn't an insignificant problem but it is a separate problem.

I agree and I'm sure plenty others will.

Nisbet in particular can GTF as soon as we agree an acceptable fee.

Torto7
I agree.

I agree. Ryan is a bit of a cock behind the scenes from what I've heard. I've always supported him but for a guy who makes a lot of individual errors it must stick in their craw when he tries to moan at them for making the same errors he does. KM can do one as well. I'm sick to death of his injuries.

And he is still working his way back to fitness after months out Nothing guaranteed He could break down again

mcfly
25-01-2023, 01:19 PM
I agree.

Fragmented dressing room?

That’s up to the manager to resolve and in my view he is the problem.

Really hope the owner and ceo understand the fans frustrations and that we are in serious trouble because fans will start to get restless soon.

We need 2or 3 experienced players now to keep us up then have a major rethink in the summer re how we move forward.

25-01-2023, 01:19 PM
I wonder if we're letting him go because we're worried about relapse. We certainly didn't budge last time.

25-01-2023, 01:20 PM
Do Watford know about this?🤣

Mind The Gap

leith lynx
25-01-2023, 01:20 PM
Sam Cosgrove is apparently still on £18k per week. Can't see him leaving that to join us. Plus he'll likely stay with Plymouth and get promoted to the Championship

Ryan Hardie for me.

Lee Marvin
25-01-2023, 01:21 PM
Surely we have got to give Laidlaw and O'Conner a shot if Nisbet is gone.

What's the point in even having these youth teams if there's no chance of them getting an actual chance in the first team!

If two or three of the youngsters do not get an opportunity now, they never will. I would be looking to leave in the summer if I was in that youth team.

25-01-2023, 01:23 PM
I agree.

You aren't Smartie. Excellent post.

Chorley Hibee
25-01-2023, 01:24 PM
I agree.

If it's any consolation, then I feel the exact same way.

25-01-2023, 01:29 PM
Half a penny for Martin Boyle's thoughts on all this.

Completely different club and atmosphere he's come back to.

RossScott1991
25-01-2023, 01:30 PM
There is going to be a meltdown. But I’m going to look at the bigger picture. There’s not much left to play for really.

Time to cash in on nisbet who’s never enjoyed it at hibs reslly.
Cash in on Porteous what we can get.
Get rid of garbage that are taking wages up.
Try promote a few kids in the door.
And let’s be honest Probaly need to muster a few more wins 5 maybe to stay clear of relegation.

It’s not going to be pretty and will be painful at first. But a total rebuild is needed. I have no interest in pointless loans from England or signing journeymen on deadline day.

Reset button is needed at this club and hopefully it will involve a new manager working with a DOF.

25-01-2023, 01:30 PM
I agree.

I think you make a lot of good points there and you’ve actually swayed me to your way of thinking.

Have you ever thought of running for elected office? :greengrin

DoubleDangerous
25-01-2023, 01:36 PM
There is going to be a meltdown. But I’m going to look at the bigger picture. There’s not much left to play for really.

Time to cash in on nisbet who’s never enjoyed it at hibs reslly.
Cash in on Porteous what we can get.
Get rid of garbage that are taking wages up.
Try promote a few kids in the door.
And let’s be honest Probaly need to muster a few more wins 5 maybe to stay clear of relegation.

It’s not going to be pretty and will be painful at first. But a total rebuild is needed. I have no interest in pointless loans from England or signing journeymen on deadline day.

Reset button is needed at this club and hopefully it will involve a new manager working with a DOF.

My thoughts too mate. I'd rather see the U19s given a shot, ship out the dross we've bought in the last couple of windows, and hopefully avoid relegation.

25-01-2023, 01:36 PM
I agree.

Great Post.

RP has continually looked out for himself. I don't buy the "should have been done 18m ago" narrative he is now using. I would not have given him a huge contract 18m ago - he was a bombscare! He has huge potential, but is self centred. He makes mistakes and just walks away, but screams at others in the team. I will be interested to see the defence without him. Not convinced we will ship more goals....

As for KN. He asked for a transfer 6 months into his contract with us and at the first sniff of a move.

Frankly I'm fed up of fans backing these two over the club. There is a way to get a big move and leave hibs in a good state. These 2 are doing the exact opposite.

25-01-2023, 01:45 PM
Half a penny for Martin Boyle's thoughts on all this.

Completely different club and atmosphere he's come back to.

He only left in January not 2016.

25-01-2023, 01:53 PM
SSN saying 2 million plus add ons, we are considering the offer

25-01-2023, 01:55 PM
SSN saying 2 million plus add ons, we are considering the offer

Doubt we will consider that for long we will take that, the stalling will be to identify a replacement.

Silky
25-01-2023, 01:58 PM
Great Post.

RP has continually looked out for himself. I don't buy the "should have been done 18m ago" narrative he is now using. I would not have given him a huge contract 18m ago - he was a bombscare! He has huge potential, but is self centred. He makes mistakes and just walks away, but screams at others in the team. I will be interested to see the defence without him. Not convinced we will ship more goals....

As for KN. He asked for a transfer 6 months into his contract with us and at the first sniff of a move.

Frankly I'm fed up of fans backing these two over the club. There is a way to get a big move and leave hibs in a good state. These 2 are doing the exact opposite.

:agree: Have to say I agree with that. Take the cash and move on. Particularly as another poster has said that KN has asked to leave again. He has 18 months left and clearly won't sign again. If he stays, he goes for pennies later and the club then get it tight for not selling when they had the chance.

25-01-2023, 02:01 PM
Could do with another 1 or 2 clubs making a bid