View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

20-01-2023, 04:07 PM
JDH hasn’t played all season and there are some wetting their pants coz he’s injured again. It doesn’t comprehend.

I think its also based on Newell being out and us deciding to loan out Kenneh

Thats 3 centre mids that might be unavailable on what was already a much debated part of our team

20-01-2023, 04:09 PM
This could be a total pumping on Sunday. What an Absolute mess, I said at the beginning of the season there would be protests before Christmas, if we take a pumping Sunday then now is that time. These charlatans are running us into the ground and taking all enjoyment of the game away from us. Why let guys like Melkersen and kenneh leave when we aren't bringing anyone in imminently. We are now weaker than we were the last time we took a pasting of them, what kind of sensible management is that?

You were wrong then.

If we get beaten on Sunday it doesn't make your prediction correct as it's late January.

It's kinda like you want Hibs beaten and a subsequent protest to make you happy.

Mikey_1875
20-01-2023, 04:10 PM
JDH hasn’t played all season and there are some wetting their pants coz he’s injured again. It doesn’t comprehend.

I think it’s more that news has tipped it over the edge rather than the loss of JDH alone. Newell suspended, Kenneh sent on loan and the signings we were hoping to have in this week don’t look to have materialised.

It pretty much cements the situation where players are going to be played out of position which hasn’t worked out well for us so far this season.

20-01-2023, 04:11 PM

Aye but it’s the alternatives we’re now left with

Scotty Leither

Thats 3 centre mids that might be unavailable on what was already a much debated part of our team

It's looking like selection tombola again then. Surely the Gordons could commercialise the concept and find a sponsor for it?

It's stuff like that we all get excited about, after all.

Hibs4185
Ron's had enough of his play toy, no more money

Would be hardly surprising given the dogs abuse his son hers and the current criticism he’s getting.

Exactly.

Also means Porto likely to start in midfield which doesn’t work so we’ll now have a pish defence and a pish midfield.

20-01-2023, 04:13 PM
We are either waiting to see if we need to empty LJ on Monday or our financial situation is worse than they are letting on.

There aren’t many more plausible excuses for not having a couple in by now. I’ll be giving the team full backing on Sunday but we are so ill equipped it’s hard to believe.

What about the link about Bailey Wright posted 5 minutes before your post. Is that a plausible enough explanation why a player might have been in by now but isn't?

AugustaHibs
20-01-2023, 04:14 PM
Would be hardly surprising given the dogs abuse his son hers and the current criticism he’s getting.

Well his wee laddie wouldn’t have got criticism of his old man didn’t force him into a role he knows **** all about.

Couldn’t sleep with a footballer let alone pick one out to sign for hibs

20-01-2023, 04:14 PM

Aye but it’s all warranted though

20-01-2023, 04:15 PM
You were wrong then.

If we get beaten on Sunday it doesn't make your prediction correct as it's late January.

It's kinda like you want Hibs beaten and a subsequent protest to make you happy.

Thought it was a strange one. An "I told you so" that hadn't actually told us so.

20-01-2023, 04:16 PM
I still think we can win on Sunday - just as much as we could lose

I do think the club has done themselves no favours though if we do lose

Players moved on and zero replacements 2/3 into the transfer window

I also think JDH will definitely play and its a bit of mind games by us (or am I being too generous?)

20-01-2023, 04:16 PM
As things stand, this is THE worst transfer window in my entire time as a Hibs fan. And I don't say that lightly at all.

Scotty Leither
20-01-2023, 04:17 PM

They own a club that styles itself as one of the top four or five in the country, which has a large latent support and plays in the country's capital city.

QED that brings with it a lot of scrutiny. If he can't cope with that or doesn't like it, I'd respectfully suggest he's bought the wrong club.

That "press conference" Johnson just gave to Hibs TV was utterly risible given the lack of incoming transfers, so it cuts both ways, I'm afraid.

20-01-2023, 04:18 PM
Well his wee laddie wouldn’t have got criticism of his old man didn’t force him into a role he knows **** all about.

Couldn’t sleep with a footballer let alone pick one out to sign for hibs

That 2nd line is about as bad as our transfer window

20-01-2023, 04:19 PM
More from a numbers point of view for me

No Kenneh or Newell available so very short in that area

It’s a cert Porto will be in midfield

20-01-2023, 04:21 PM
As things stand, this is THE worst transfer window in my entire time as a Hibs fan. And I don't say that lightly at all.

Are you under 8 years old?

Mikey_1875
20-01-2023, 04:22 PM
What about the link about Bailey Wright posted 5 minutes before your post. Is that a plausible enough explanation why a player might have been in by now but isn't?

Of course it is for that one player. What about the rest? We have 5/6 months to plan for this window and I find it hard to believe that every player we want to sign is in a similar situation to Wright.

It doesn’t seem like there are any plans in place for this window on the face of it apart from get as many out the door as possible and see what we are left to play with after.

20-01-2023, 04:23 PM

Surely we’ve learned that he can’t play there. 3 at the back would be better if those are the options.

Or Lewis in midfield

JammyDoidger
20-01-2023, 04:24 PM
You were wrong then.

My point was I wasn't far off, everyone thought I was trolling and the sorts at the beginning of the season, when I could see it all coming. Scattergun recruitment, that everyone at the club including the dinner lady I think gets to pick a player to sign, a manager that doesn't know his erse from his elbow, and too many players that have no heart or desire. Aslong as they look good on instagram, Recipe for disaster. Are they going to appoint a DOF to actually take control? Or another yes man just to please us short term and say they tried the DOF route and It didn't work, I don't trust any decision anyone at this club makes right now.

20-01-2023, 04:28 PM

Not even remotely close. The window remains open

20-01-2023, 04:30 PM

Cant see it. JDH Magennis and Campbell I suspect

20-01-2023, 04:31 PM
Cant see it. JDH Magennis and Campbell I suspect

JDH injured

20-01-2023, 04:32 PM
I really get annoyed at the way they’re making out the squad will be better if it’s smaller.

If Laidlaw etc are better than those that were on the bench he should have been ahead of them.

He shouldn’t have to wait for players who have contributed nothing to leave before he gets his chance.

This isn’t improving our squad.

I’m really disappointed in the club, I get there is still over a week left but you’d think they’d want players in straight away to assist us in winning

20-01-2023, 04:33 PM

The decision to let Kenneh go out on loan before we had a replacement lined up is absolutely scandalous.

We knew Newell wasn’t available for this game. We’ve left ourselves so short in midfield.

20-01-2023, 04:34 PM
I really get annoyed at the way they’re making out the squad will be better if it’s smaller.

If Laidlaw etc are better than those that were on the bench he should have been ahead of them.

He shouldn’t have to wait for players who have contributed nothing to leave before he gets his chance.

I’m really disappointed in the club, I get there is still over a week left but you’d think they’d want players in straight away to assist us in winning

I think the youth players will start playing after the Dortmund game. Is there not a limit where a player cannot play in the development squad anymore? I assumed they were being held back so they could all play in that game together.

20-01-2023, 04:36 PM
My point was I wasn't far off, everyone thought I was trolling and the sorts at the beginning of the season, when I could see it all coming. Scattergun recruitment, that everyone at the club including the dinner lady I think gets to pick a player to sign, a manager that doesn't know his erse from his elbow, and too many players that have no heart or desire. Aslong as they look good on instagram, Recipe for disaster. Are they going to appoint a DOF to actually take control? Or another yes man just to please us short term and say they tried the DOF route and It didn't work, I don't trust any decision anyone at this club makes right now.

You are miles off.

We haven't been beat on Sunday and there haven't been any protests.

20-01-2023, 04:39 PM
Of course it is for that one player. What about the rest? We have 5/6 months to plan for this window and I find it hard to believe that every player we want to sign is in a similar situation to Wright.

It doesn’t seem like there are any plans in place for this window on the face of it apart from get as many out the door as possible and see what we are left to play with after.

Ron probably doesn't want to waste any more money until a DoF is in place. Maybe it's just dawned on him that recruitment of players has been a shambles. Better late than never I suppose.

He's hanging the Manager out to dry on Sunday. In the likely event we lose, then it gives him a good excuse to sack him. If we miraculously win the game, then LJ stays on as a puppet under a DoF and leaves of his own accord.

Ron's probably not fussed about another gubbing by Hearts, so the game is irrelevant. Win win for Ron.

20-01-2023, 04:41 PM
The decision to let Kenneh go out on loan before we had a replacement lined up is absolutely scandalous.

We knew Newell wasn’t available for this game. We’ve left ourselves so short in midfield.Your assuming we know Newell is out

[emoji51][emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

20-01-2023, 04:46 PM

Couldn’t agree more.

If we got rid of 4 or 5 but brought 2 good players in it would make sense. To lose players who have played first team football and not bring in anybody in isn’t making the squad better in any way, shape or form.

20-01-2023, 04:53 PM
Very strange the Hibs media team haven’t asked any questions about the transfer window - I’ll wager they’re under instructions to completely avoid the topic.

MagicSwirlingShip
20-01-2023, 04:56 PM
Looks to me like a few targets we thought we could get in have chosen to go elsewhere. And who would blame them?

20-01-2023, 05:01 PM

The point I was making is there are any number of reasons a transfer might not yet have happened. The poster had pretty much ruled out everything except for LJ to be sacked on Monday or we're in dire financial trouble. Yet there was 1 perfectly good example just a few posts before.

How many are we expecting in? 2 or 3 is it? From what little rumours there are, Bailey Wright seems to be the most plausible one so we've got a pretty good explanation why 33.3% or 50% of our transfers in haven't happened yet. We've no idea what is happening with our transfer targets so you (and others) just completely guess.

I find it hard to believe we have only just started, in the last few days, to look at who we want to bring in. In fact, I find it hard to believe anyone would think that but there you go, it's what you think.

20-01-2023, 05:01 PM
I think the youth players will start playing after the Dortmund game. Is there not a limit where a player cannot play in the development squad anymore? I assumed they were being held back so they could all play in that game together.
So it's a given in your eyes that we will lose to Dortmund? Give the boys a chance, even if a slim one.

20-01-2023, 05:02 PM
Looks to me like a few targets we thought we could get in have chosen to go elsewhere. And who would blame them?

Shouldn’t have released the players we did then.

If JDH is injured for Sunday we go into the game with Magennis and Campbell as our only midfielders. Should never have been allowed to happen.

20-01-2023, 05:05 PM
So it's a given in your eyes that we will lose to Dortmund? Give the boys a chance, even if a slim one.

No but it's the only reasonable explanation I can give to them not getting senior game time. Prevent them getting injured and allowing to play with their age groups (mates) in a massive game that will, sadly, likely be one of their biggest games in their career (in terms of continental competitions).

20-01-2023, 05:07 PM

If JDH is injured for Sunday we go into the game with Magennis and Campbell as our only midfielders. Should never have been allowed to happen.

We have Delferriere back and Henderson is still around...

20-01-2023, 05:09 PM

That will definitely be one of the excuses along with the spin and smoke and mirrors they’ll use.

GreenPJ
20-01-2023, 05:11 PM
That will definitely be one of the excuses along with the spin and smoke and mirrors they’ll use.

Or we win and little/no excuses needed :greengrin

20-01-2023, 05:12 PM

So should we have brought players in before the others went out? What if we hadn't managed to get suitable deals agreed for outgoing players? Then we could end up with the same problem of a bloated squad.

20-01-2023, 05:13 PM
Nothing out from an actual press conference with LJ yet? The club one clearly just avoided asking about transfers as instructed.

20-01-2023, 05:15 PM

And Taverez, although i suppose we'd be better with Clout, at least that would give us another substitute.

20-01-2023, 05:15 PM
So should we have brought players in before the others went out? What if he hadn't managed to get suitable deals agreed for outgoing players? Then we could end up with the same problem of a bloated squad.

Yes, I would expect the people at the club to have the foresight to work out who they can get off the wage bill.

Are you suggesting if we never sent Kenneh on loan to Ross County we wouldn’t have been able to find another loan for him anywhere else?

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2023, 05:16 PM
Couldn’t agree more.

If we got rid of 4 or 5 but brought 2 good players in it would make sense. To lose players who have played first team football and not bring in anybody in isn’t making the squad better in any way, shape or form.
I had hoped we would have had 2 quality players in by now ( midfielder and defender ) specially with us loaning out a midfielder and having injuries on top of this as well . If we don't sign anyone we are a much weaker team going into what is our biggest game of the season .

20-01-2023, 05:18 PM
Piss poor we have let players go and not signing anyone ahead of a huge game.

20-01-2023, 05:21 PM
Can’t imagine Delferierre being involved, would mean he can’t go to another team for the remainder of the season as he would have played for 2 teams

20-01-2023, 05:23 PM
Can’t imagine Delferierre being involved, would mean he can’t go to another team for the remainder of the season as he would have played for 2 teams

He’s not training with the first team either.

20-01-2023, 05:24 PM

Wouldn’t be against Delferriere getting some game time.

Henderson looks like a wee boy lost and as if he would struggle att Spartans

20-01-2023, 05:29 PM
Piss poor we have let players go and not signing anyone ahead of a huge game.

I honestly don’t think this game has any bearing on their thoughts and plans for recruitment. They’re hell bent on trimming the squad and I have no belief there’s any ambition to bring players in this window. We may be offered a couple of loans at the end of the window to paper over the cracks but any strengthening isn’t happening. The CEO statement basically said it all.l

20-01-2023, 05:31 PM
Yes, I would expect the people at the club to have the foresight to work out who they can get off the wage bill.

Are you suggesting if we never sent Kenneh on loan to Ross County we wouldn’t have been able to find another loan for him anywhere else?

I'm suggesting that if your starting point is a bloated squad and you don't just want to get players out but want to bring some players in too, it is sensible to get the deals done to get the players out as early as possible and not wait until late in the window in case you might get injuries. Presumably the manager, the club, the player and his agent thought it was a good loan deal. I daresay we could have got an alternative one for him but it might not have been nearly as good. What if we'd waited and the only team interested was a League 1 or League 2 team? Would you have been happy with that?

cameronw-hfc
I honestly don’t think this game has any bearing on their thoughts and plans for recruitment. They’re hell bent on trimming the squad and I have no belief there’s any ambition to bring players in this window. We may be offered a couple of loans at the end of the window to paper over the cracks but any strengthening isn’t happening. The CEO statement basically said it all.l

He didn't tho did he. Said he would be negotiating ins and outs this window, all he said was that the focus was mainly on outs, which we already knew. Didn't say anything about not signing anyone though.

The Sundance Kid
Nothing out from an actual press conference with LJ yet? The club one clearly just avoided asking about transfers as instructed.

Press conference is now up on Hibs TV, I’ve just given it a watch. No direct questions from the press about incomings, which was a bit frustrating as they went on at length about the possible departure of particularly Porteous but also Nisbet.

There were a couple of questions that dealt with the strength of the squad and I thought it was noticeable that Johnson seemed to emphasise bringing through players from the youth academy more than recruiting players, which he referenced only once.

I’ve included the two below quotes from when he was speaking about this:

‘There’s 6/7 gone out the door now, there’ll be a couple more and obviously the next phase is to bring through, i.e. up from the young squad or recruit.’

‘We’re a small squad at the moment but that’s what we’re after. We know we want to reduce the quantity, increase the quality and bring the young lads through.’

at last 61
And Taverez, although i suppose we'd be better with Clout, at least that would give us another substitute.

Your showing your age now,oh sheet so have i

20-01-2023, 05:33 PM

To be honest, it looks like we’re stripping the squad back so the next manager has as close to a blank canvas as he can get.

I just find it hard to believe we are doing that with a manager still in place, doesn’t pass the common sense test that really.

Mikey_1875
20-01-2023, 05:34 PM
The point I was making is there are any number of reasons a transfer might not yet have happened. The poster had pretty much ruled out everything except for LJ to be sacked on Monday or we're in dire financial trouble. Yet there was 1 perfectly good example just a few posts before.

How many are we expecting in? 2 or 3 is it? From what little rumours there are, Bailey Wright seems to be the most plausible one so we've got a pretty good explanation why 33.3% or 50% of our transfers in haven't happened yet. We've no idea what is happening with our transfer targets so you (and others) just completely guess.

I find it hard to believe we have only just started, in the last few days, to look at who we want to bring in. In fact, I find it hard to believe anyone would think that but there you go, it's what you think.

With a game as big as what we have coming on Sunday then yeah, I do believe that there are very few plausible reasons to let so many go and not bring in any replacements bar the two I’ve mentioned.

With regards to our other potential targets you’re correct. No one has it as fact but we can still offer an opinion on it. I’ve said Wright is fair enough but I find it unlikely that our potential shortlist of targets are all unavailable to sign until after the derby.

I’m not sure who mentioned that we have only started to look at who to bring in a few days ago? On the face of it I don’t think we have been allowed to pursue these targets until players have been confirmed out the door. That isn’t a good strategy for the position we are in.

20-01-2023, 05:34 PM
So should we have brought players in before the others went out? What if we hadn't managed to get suitable deals agreed for outgoing players? Then we could end up with the same problem of a bloated squad.

Yes, that is absolutely what we should have done. However those taking the decisions see signing new players as a very much a second order priority.

20-01-2023, 05:35 PM
To be honest, it looks like we’re stripping the squad back so the next manager has as close to a blank canvas as he can get.

I just find it hard to believe we are doing that with a manager still in place, doesn’t pass the common sense test that really.

Agree

20-01-2023, 05:37 PM

It’s been clear for ages that there wasn’t going to be much happening in terms of players coming in this month. I think a lot of people just didn’t want to believe what was coming out from the club because of how bad we are.

I’ve been saying for weeks that I’m not surprised in the slightest that there wasn’t much happening. But the way Johnson spoke after the game last week, coupled with Kenneh and Melkersen going (both players who were on the pitch in the last couple of weeks) I really thought we would have someone in for this weekend.

It’s a bloody mess.

MagicSwirlingShip
20-01-2023, 05:37 PM
Press conference is now up on Hibs TV, I’ve just given it a watch. No direct questions from the press about incomings, which was a bit frustrating as they went on at length about the possible departure of particularly Porteous but also Nisbet.

There were a couple of questions that dealt with the strength of the squad and I thought it was noticeable that Johnson seemed to emphasise bringing through players from the youth academy more than recruiting players, which he referenced only once.

I’ve included the two below quotes from when he was speaking about this:

‘There’s 6/7 gone out the door now, there’ll be a couple more and obviously the next phase is to bring through, i.e. up from the young squad or recruit.’

‘We’re a small squad at the moment but that’s what we’re after. We know we want to reduce the quantity, increase the quality and bring the young lads through.’

No problem with us bringing through young players. One of the greatest things about being a Hibs fan

20-01-2023, 05:38 PM
He didn't tho did he. Said he would be negotiating ins and outs this window, all he said was that the focus was mainly on outs, which we already knew. Didn't say anything about not signing anyone though.

Focus on out but he was still responsible for in’s and outs is 100% correct. Focusing on outs is the key bit. If we do bring in some loans to paper over the cracks he will be responsible. It’s smoke and mirrors and deflection.

20-01-2023, 05:39 PM
I'm suggesting that if your starting point is a bloated squad and you don't just want to get players out but want to bring some players in too, it is sensible to get the deals done to get the players out as early as possible and not wait until late in the window in case you might get injuries. Presumably the manager, the club, the player and his agent thought it was a good loan deal. I daresay we could have got an alternative one for him but it might not have been nearly as good. What if we'd waited and the only team interested was a League 1 or League 2 team? Would you have been happy with that?

This is also the case with signings. Waiting until the end of the window is likely to leave you with the dregs and may encourage other teams to hold you to ransom on price if they know you are desperate.

Of course it is entirely possible to try to both shift people out and bring new people in at the same time early in the window, unless you already decided that no one is coming in until you move a bunch out. Which means you are prioritising the finances rather than the squad.

20-01-2023, 05:40 PM
No problem with us bringing through young players. One of the greatest things about being a Hibs fan

Of course but this isn’t the way to do it.

If he thought Laidlaw was better than Melkerson for example, why didn’t he put Laidlaw on the bench or play him ahead of him?

He’s presenting this as being part of some strategy of his but I personally don’t buy that.

20-01-2023, 05:42 PM
It’s been clear for ages that there wasn’t going to be much happening in terms of players coming in this month. I think a lot of people just didn’t want to believe what was coming out from the club because of how bad we are.

I’ve been saying for weeks that I’m not surprised in the slightest that there wasn’t much happening. But the way Johnson spoke after the game last week, coupled with Kenneh and Melkersen going (both players who were on the pitch in the last couple of weeks) I really thought we would have someone in for this weekend.

It’s a bloody mess.

Pretty much this. Every noise coming out of the club at the start of the window hinted that there was no budget to sign anyone. We’ve probably made a dent but not by much. I’d guess we’ll sign two whenever Porteous is sold.

20-01-2023, 05:43 PM

You seriously expect he would come straight our and say either 'we won't be signing anyone' or even 'we may sign some but not unless we shift others out first'? I thought he was completely unambiguous - 'the focus is on outs' were I think the words he used. Which is interesting because earlier in the season RG explicitly stated that we now had quality throughout the squad.

I'm now of the view that someone or some persons were bull****ting Ron at the time and he just took it hook, line and sinker.

20-01-2023, 05:49 PM
If you have a bloated stomach you don’t immediately put in another two or three pieces of quality food ,
We still have a bloated squad ,so more medicine to swallow yet

20-01-2023, 05:58 PM
Pretty much this. Every noise coming out of the club at the start of the window hinted that there was no budget to sign anyone. We’ve probably made a dent but not by much. I’d guess we’ll sign two whenever Porteous is sold.

Ron is well off, his son isn’t qualified, both have been conspicuous by their absence. The owner isn’t interested in putting his money into players - simple as that. He wants the support and the commercial side to finance things. The Melkerson club statement was a **** take - implying we’ve negotiated a deal that may never ever happen (7 figures). Implies we don’t rate or want him, and in the unlikely event he hits the ground running with Sparta, we “win” - I’m sorry, but if you rate a player in the million bracket you don’t loan him out - you keep him and play him.

They very simply don’t know what they’re doing at Hibs, have unqualified staff in charge, and a travelling salesman approach to football. Think John Candy selling shower curtain rings in Planes, Trains and Automobiles and you have Hibs recruiting strategy - Ron Gordon is the overarching problem at Hibernian Football Club - end of !

20-01-2023, 05:59 PM
Of course but this isn’t the way to do it.

If he thought Laidlaw was better than Melkerson for example, why didn’t he put Laidlaw on the bench or play him ahead of him?

He’s presenting this as being part of some strategy of his but I personally don’t buy that.

If this was part of his strategy why were they not integrated throughout the season.

He’s full of *****!

20-01-2023, 06:00 PM
Ron is well off, his son isn’t qualified, both have been conspicuous by their absence. The owner isn’t interested in putting his money into players - simple as that. He wants the support and the commercial side to finance things. The Melkerson club statement was a **** take - implying we’ve negotiated a deal that may never ever happen (7 figures). Implies we don’t rate or want him, and in the unlikely event he hits the ground running with Sparta, we “win” - I’m sorry, but if you rate a player in the million bracket you don’t loan him out - you keep him and play him.

They very simply don’t know what they’re doing at Hibs, have unqualified staff in charge, and a travelling salesman approach to football. Think John Candy selling shower curtain rings in Planes, Trains and Automobiles and you have Hibs recruiting strategy - Ron Gordon is the overarching problem at Hibernian Football Club - end of !

Can you explain to me why wanting the 'commercial side to fund things' is a bad thing?

20-01-2023, 06:05 PM
Don't worry guys, Giant Play up Hibernians foam hands will be available along with even more tellies.

Boy, am I looking forward to eating humble pie Sunday.

20-01-2023, 06:07 PM
Can you explain to me why wanting the 'commercial side to fund things' is a bad thing?

Because it’s not being directed into the squad as and when it should be - simple as that. This season we had and have a chance of UEFA riches - he’s not put his own money into speculating to accumulate. He never reads the room, acts indecisively and only after real adversity, and hides when it’s tough.

The Kensall interview was embarrassing- utterly embarrassing!

20-01-2023, 06:08 PM

Exactly opposed to an individual funding things then leaving the club in a mess where have wee seen that before in Scotland eh. Ridiculous comment really

20-01-2023, 06:09 PM
Because it’s not being directed into the squad as and when it should be - simple as that. This season we had and have a chance of UEFA riches - he’s not put his own money into speculating to accumulate. He never reads the room, acts indecisively and only after real adversity, and hides when it’s tough.

The Kensall interview was embarrassing- utterly embarrassing!

But haven’t we increased the size of the budget by around 30% since he’s came in and got the commercial side of the club doing really well? I’d say that’s the sustainable side not him ploughing his own cash in as he’s said from minute one he wouldn’t just do that.

20-01-2023, 06:11 PM
If this was part of his strategy why were they not integrated throughout the season.

He’s full of *****!

Exactly.

I think in his pitch for the job he would have spoken about bringing through young players. He’s done absolutely none of that so far.

At the start of the season one of his targets would have been to do well in cup competitions.

I suspect him all of a sudden looking to the youth is geared towards self preservation more than anything in case we lose on Sunday.

20-01-2023, 06:11 PM
But haven’t we increased the size of the budget by around 30% since he’s came in and got the commercial side of the club doing really well? I’d say that’s the sustainable side not him ploughing his own cash in as he’s said from minute one he wouldn’t just do that.

Doing it the way we have is absolutely fine and as you say sustainable. Sadly he let his wee laddie and Ben Kensell loose with that increased budget.

20-01-2023, 06:13 PM
The only positive about zero signings as each day goes on is obviously the player they do bring in will be absolutely brilliant.

No pressure to the new guy when he finally arrives !

20-01-2023, 06:15 PM

He was told we need a new pitch - he refused to invest in it. Pitch is awful. He’s allowed his unqualified son to pitch and buy players who don’t play or have been moved on. He’s got rid of important staff.

We are 6th in a very poor SPFL, and the time to speculate and invest is now. He won’t - he’ll rely on fans and yes, the increased commercial activity - but if we’ve done so well commercially, why are we three weeks into a window with not one signing ?

Taken for fools mate. I really rate you as a poster, like your outlook on things, but Ron is indeed conning the support in my opinion.

20-01-2023, 06:22 PM
St Johnstone make 6 figure offer for Jordan White of Ross County 👀

20-01-2023, 06:22 PM
He was told we need a new pitch - he refused to invest in it. Pitch is awful. He’s allowed his unqualified son to pitch and buy players who don’t play or have been moved on. He’s got rid of important staff.

We are 6th in a very poor SPFL, and the time to speculate and invest is now. He won’t - he’ll rely on fans and yes, the increased commercial activity - but if we’ve done so well commercially, why are we three weeks into a window with not one signing ?

Taken for fools mate. I really rate you as a poster, like your outlook on things, but Ron is indeed conning the support in my opinion.

Will be interested to see how well we’re doing commercially when the accounts come out. Don’t think they’ll include any of the increased hospitality revenue we are now taking but we’ve had about 4000 different sponsors and partnerships over the last couple of years.

20-01-2023, 06:23 PM

Wow, I thought our recruitment was bad. That’s a shocker 😂

20-01-2023, 06:24 PM

He’s absolutely horrible but it’s still a kick in the knackers they’ve got money to spend on ***** like that but we’ve got no money to spend on our *****.

Potty78
20-01-2023, 06:24 PM

JDH only here as he failed his medical at FGR🤦*♂️

20-01-2023, 06:25 PM
I'm actually fuming we haven't signed anyone yet 😂. 34 years old and genuinely so annoyed.

If we lose on Sunday it's really not going to be pretty is it?

20-01-2023, 06:25 PM

Are they not getting a new pitch in the summer?

Otherwise I agree re Ron not putting his hands in his pockets. He’s made the mess. He could clean it up like Anderson with donations (probably not allowed).

I don’t subscribe to the con ***** though. That’s hearts patter

20-01-2023, 06:27 PM

Thought he turned down FGR, hadn't realised he failed a medical.

Otherwise I agree re Ron not putting his hands in his pockets. He’s made the mess. He could clean it up like Anderson with donations (probably not allowed).

He imagines it's a business - it's not.

I'm actually fuming we haven't signed anyone yet 😂. 34 years old and genuinely so annoyed.

If we lose on Sunday it's really not going to be pretty is it?

I’m the same and I’m 41 if that helps.

I’ve actually been pretty relaxed all week as I was sure we’d get at least one player in. The fact we’ve not has my bottom lip going. Now we know JDH has got injured again too has about sent me over the edge and he’s no even that good.

I had it in my mind we were getting a hybrid pitch put in this summer.

20-01-2023, 06:28 PM

I’ve actually been pretty relaxed all week as I was sure we’d get at least one player in. The fact we’ve not has my bottom lip going. Now we know JDH has got injured again too has about sent me over the edge and he’s no even that good.

Why? Why on earth would you have been sure of that?

20-01-2023, 06:29 PM
I had it in my mind we were getting a hybrid pitch put in this summer.

So did I

BegbieHSC
20-01-2023, 06:30 PM
I can only assume the lack of activity is one of the below reasons:

1. We’re skint.
2. Or is it Uncertainty about who’s going to be manager at the end of the month? It we win on Sunday, does LJ get a clean slate, and given the opportunity to spend? If we lose, is he getting punted, and we don’t want a future manager to be lumbered with another managers recent signings?

Either way, time’s ticking. If we lose, it’s unforgivable from the board that they’ve allowed us to go in to a cup derby, weaker than the derby we got pumped in a few weeks ago.

It’s pretty clear that the derbies mean a lot more to the supporters than the club itself, and that’s a very worrying disconnect.

20-01-2023, 06:30 PM

Aye the JDH injury coupled with sending Kenneh out on loan without a replacement has tipped me over the edge as well. It's actually baffling.

20-01-2023, 06:31 PM
Why? Why on earth would you have been sure of that?

Because I’m a dreamer.

I didn’t think for a second we would release the players we have without bringing in at least one player.

20-01-2023, 06:33 PM

1. We’re skint.
2. Or is it Uncertainty about who’s going to be manager at the end of the month? It we win on Sunday, does LJ get a clean slate, and given the opportunity to spend? If we lose, is he getting punted, and we don’t want a future manager to be lumbered with another managers recent signings?

Either way, time’s ticking. If we lose, it’s unforgivable from the board that they’ve allowed us to go in to a cup derby, weaker than the derby we got pumped in a few weeks ago.

It’s pretty clear that the derbies mean a lot more to the supporters than the club itself, and that’s a very worrying disconnect.

Or our targets have options they are considering just becuase we have a big game this weekend doesn't mean an incoming signing is working to the same timeframe as the support in making a decision.

20-01-2023, 06:33 PM
Will be interested to see how well we’re doing commercially when the accounts come out. Don’t think they’ll include any of the increased hospitality revenue we are now taking but we’ve had about 4000 different sponsors and partnerships over the last couple of years.

Tavares - never plays - fee involved
Melkerson - loaned - fee involved - rarely played
Haughe - fee paid - immediately loaned, never played
Bojang - don’t even go there
Kenneh - loaned, big salary
Fish - awful player

I’m sure when Billy Lowe invigorated our hospitality offering and thus increased revenues he didn’t anticipate it would be blown on speculative ‘shots in the dark’.

I’m all for increasing revenue but I want qualified people making the important football decisions.

Screens, fireworks, dodgy pre match singers, etc - nah, give me a good football team first and foremost please 👍 it’s not the NFL

20-01-2023, 06:34 PM
Or our targets have options they are considering just becuase we have a big game this weekend doesn't mean an incoming signing is working to the same timeframe as the support in making a decision.

We shouldn’t have let so many players leave then.

20-01-2023, 06:39 PM
We shouldn’t have let so many players leave then.

The players people were saying weren't good enough? You can't win if you are Hibs 🤣

20-01-2023, 06:39 PM
Thinking back to the Jan 2nd Derby - was it just me who thought we may have added a new player as soon as the window opened ?

Fast forward 3 weeks and having lost the last derby 3-0 we haven’t added a single player to the squad to improve our starting 11. Even the 2nd half when McGeady and Magennis came on (as he picked wrong starting team) we lost 1-0.

If the team don’t win Sunday fans have a right to be absolutely furious with the club (manager and board etc).

20-01-2023, 06:40 PM
The worst thing about the situation is they’ve lost the trust of the support or most of it. I for one would rather they came clean and told us what’s going on. They are deflecting and spinning drivel hoping they can pull the wool over the supporters eyes. Like politicians I absolutely hate this sort of behaviour, if anyone on Hibs management or the owner told me water was wet I’d be running my hand under the tap to check. They are all sleazy charlatans.

cameronw-hfc
IF someone was signed today, the club could be waiting on word back to see if they made the 5pm registration deadline before announcing 🤫

Thinking back to the Jan 2nd Derby - was it just me who thought we may have added a new player as soon as the window opened ?

Fast forward 3 weeks and having lost the last derby 3-0 we have added a single player to the squad to improve our starting 11. Even the 2nd half when McGeady and Magennis came on (as he picked wrong starting team) we lost 1-0.

If the team don’t win Sunday fans have a right to be absolutely furious with the club (manager and board etc).

It really is quite staggering. Can’t see how we win on Sunday with that defence and midfield

Potty78
20-01-2023, 06:41 PM

Just what I was told mate🤷*♂️

20-01-2023, 06:43 PM
The players people were saying weren't good enough? You can't win if you are Hibs 🤣

We’ve left ourselves with 2 fit central midfielders available for Sunday.

It’s a squad game and some of the people we released were needed. If we found better and then moved them on then great, that’s what we all wanted. We’ve not though, we’ve released players and replaced them with players who the manager thought were worse than them when picking teams/squads in recent weeks.

NC1875
20-01-2023, 06:47 PM

The starting 11 isn’t good enough. Never mind the ones that were on the bench. Spin it anyway you want, we should have had players in by now.

20-01-2023, 06:47 PM

The players who have left weren’t good enough, but that doesn’t change the fact we’re weaker now than when we started the window.

Much like last January, we had a woeful midfield at the start of that window. We Let Hallberg & Gogic go which in itself was fine, but not when we only brought in Henderson. We somehow managed to make the midfield poorer last January. We look to be repeating the same mistakes this window.

20-01-2023, 06:48 PM
IF someone was signed today, the club could be waiting on word back to see if they made the 5pm registration deadline before announcing [emoji2958]Surely that wouldn't take 3 hours

cameronw-hfc
20-01-2023, 06:51 PM
Surely that wouldn't take 3 hours

Not sure, don't think 3h is too long but could be wrong. Might also be waiting until tomorrow to announce and get interviews/pictures done today after the deal was wrapped up.

20-01-2023, 06:52 PM
The players who have left weren’t good enough, but that doesn’t change the fact we’re weaker now than when we started the window.

Much like last January, we had a woeful midfield at the start of that window. We Let Hallberg & Gogic go which in itself was fine, but not when we only brought in Henderson. We somehow managed to make the midfield poorer last January. We look to be repeating the same mistakes this window.

It’s a fair point.

It was JDH, Newell and Campbell and folk were raging every week as there was no other options.

Then we added Kenneth then we loaned him out.

Magennis is back but we are still short.

I would argue we don’t have a defensive midfielder at the club.

Percy Vere
20-01-2023, 06:53 PM
Going to need two or three of the youngsters on the bench.
The players who should have been getting a chance before now.

20-01-2023, 06:53 PM
Scott Robertson (celtic kid) signs for Fleetwood Town

20-01-2023, 06:54 PM
Not sure, don't think 3h is too long but could be wrong. Might also be waiting until tomorrow to announce and get interviews/pictures done today after the deal was wrapped up.Assume you've heard thats what's happend?

It would be strange to have zero info leaking out

20-01-2023, 06:55 PM
It’s a fair point.

It was JDH, Newell and Campbell and folk were raging every week as there was no other options.

Then we added Kenneth then we loaned him out.

Magennis is back but we are still short.

I would argue we don’t have a defensive midfielder at the club.

Delferriere?

The starting 11 isn’t good enough. Never mind the ones that were on the bench. Spin it anyway you want, we should have had players in by now.

Absolutely but some folk believing their spin seem to think that there’s a plan to get quality players in. They have no plan, no list they’re working on and no intention of strengthening the team at this windows. Just carefully worded statements to the naive supporters to con them, shameful.

If he indeed did

20-01-2023, 06:56 PM
Absolutely but some folk believing their spin seem to think that there’s a plan to get quality players in. They have no plan, no list they’re working on and no intention of strengthening the team at this windows. Just carefully worded statements to the naive supporters to con them, shameful.Who told you that?

20-01-2023, 06:59 PM

So he has a serious enough undiagnosed injury to fail a medical but played for us on Saturday?

You know that's 100% bull**** right?

20-01-2023, 06:59 PM
Scott Robertson (celtic kid) signs for Fleetwood Town

Think he’s a really good young player.

Unfortunately I think our poor recruitment has made us unable to go for guys like him and Stephen Kelly who signed for Livi in the summer

20-01-2023, 07:01 PM
Who told you that?

Dominic Cummings

cameronw-hfc
20-01-2023, 07:03 PM
Assume you've heard thats what's happend?

It would be strange to have zero info leaking out

Sent you a pm, I think lol.

20-01-2023, 07:06 PM
Sent you a pm, I think lol.

Been ages since I got a pm 👀

Kilmarnock are trying to get Lewis Mayo on a permanent. Seems to have been around for ages, playing at Killie, Dunfermline and Partick Thistle. Not sure if he's any good but he's a big 6'3 centre half aged 22 and a decent amount of games under his belt.

Counting down for this first pun

20-01-2023, 07:06 PM
Dominic CummingsOh good, itl be 110% nonsense then [emoji106]

20-01-2023, 07:08 PM
Been ages since I got a pm [emoji102]

Kilmarnock are trying to get Lewis Mayo on a permanent. Seems to have been around for ages, playing at Killie, Dunfermline and Partick Thistle. Not sure if he's any good but he's a big 6'3 centre half aged 22 and a decent amount of games under his belt.

Counting down for this first punLewis Mayo?

What's the Hellmanns!

20-01-2023, 07:09 PM
Sent you a pm, I think lol.Lol, didn't work but I've messaged you regarding our quadruple unveiling [emoji23]

20-01-2023, 07:10 PM
With a game as big as what we have coming on Sunday then yeah, I do believe that there are very few plausible reasons to let so many go and not bring in any replacements bar the two I’ve mentioned.

With regards to our other potential targets you’re correct. No one has it as fact but we can still offer an opinion on it. I’ve said Wright is fair enough but I find it unlikely that our potential shortlist of targets are all unavailable to sign until after the derby.

I’m not sure who mentioned that we have only started to look at who to bring in a few days ago? On the face of it I don’t think we have been allowed to pursue these targets until players have been confirmed out the door. That isn’t a good strategy for the position we are in.

Are you suggesting the club should sign 2nd, 3rd or 4th choice targets before Sunday even if they think they can get the 1st choice targets after Sunday?

You said "It doesn’t seem like there are any plans in place for this window on the face of it apart from get as many out the door as possible and see what we are left to play with after."

Apologies if I've misunderstood you but it sounded to me like you were saying that the club does no advance planning other than that.

I can agree it is likely the deals for the outs had to be done before the ins, which makes sense to me. In an ideal world you'd have the incoming players ready to sign the minute the outgoing deals are concluded but how often does it work as perfectly as that? Not very often, I'd bet. Particularly when it isn't a like for like replacement. We've stated we're trying to improve the quality and want around 2 (was it?) in so on that basis the 6 or 7 needed to go 1st. One way to end up with a bloated squad is to bring too many in before you've got enough out.

As far as I can see, the only player who's gone that might have started, unless I've forgotten someone, is Kenneh and that's only because JDH just got injured. He's 50/50 so we don't even know he's definitely out.

20-01-2023, 07:11 PM

1. We’re skint.

Why do people keep saying this, we are not going into the game weaker than the last derby we are going in stronger with Porto playing, McGeady and Magennis will start and those 2 and Nizzy have more games and minutes Into them since then. We are absolutely going into this game in better shape and this is what is giving me hope

Potty78
So he has a serious enough undiagnosed injury to fail a medical but played for us on Saturday?

Funnily no I dont because I trust the person who told me👍🏻

Fair enough mate just a differing of opinion I guess but respect yours even though I see things slightly differently 👍

Potty78
20-01-2023, 07:12 PM
Why do people keep saying this, we are not going into the game weaker than the last derby we are going in stronger with Porto playing, McGeady and Magennis will start and those 2 and Nizzy have more games and minutes Into them since then. We are absolutely going into this game in better shape and this is what is giving me hope

Agreed👍🏻

20-01-2023, 07:13 PM

I wouldn’t believe what you hear I don’t believe he did

20-01-2023, 07:15 PM
Funnily no I dont because I trust the person who told me👍🏻

Right. But actually think about it. It's nonsense.

Potty78
20-01-2023, 07:20 PM
Right. But actually think about it. It's nonsense.

So it's on here that's he's injured again? It's not the first time a club have played someone with an injury. He's been out for months, but you'll be right as always👍🏻

Potty78
20-01-2023, 07:23 PM
I wouldn’t believe what you hear I don’t believe he did

You're normally in the know so fair doos, just saying what I heard and the person has no need to lie🤷*♂️

20-01-2023, 07:24 PM
Cameron, I think we’re all after a PM mate. Spill it

hibsforeurope
20-01-2023, 07:26 PM

Boyle Told us he played for 7 years with an undiagnosed acl injury so is quite plausible.

20-01-2023, 07:33 PM
Hibs have had issues with injured players coming back too soon or not being diagnosed this season.

Mitchell
Myko being on bench
Boyle
Rocky played 1st derby with thigh injury

Will be interesting to see how Cadden does Sunday if involved and I'm hoping we aren't relying on Nisbet every game something happens to him as he was out for a long time previously.

20-01-2023, 07:45 PM
Been ages since I got a pm 👀

Counting down for this first pun

We’re used to signing players from more exotic climes than that under Ron the Condiment.

20-01-2023, 07:47 PM
This is also the case with signings. Waiting until the end of the window is likely to leave you with the dregs and may encourage other teams to hold you to ransom on price if they know you are desperate.

Of course it is entirely possible to try to both shift people out and bring new people in at the same time early in the window, unless you already decided that no one is coming in until you move a bunch out. Which means you are prioritising the finances rather than the squad.

Are you saying the best players go early in a transfer window? I disagree, plenty of good players are sold late in a transfer window. I'm surprised that many people are interested every transfer deadline day if it's likely to just be the dregs that are left.

You call it prioritising finances rather than the squad, I'll call it working within a budget and making sure we reduce the squad to an appropriate size. I'd point out that Ron is also prepared to be flexible within that, having busted the budget to bring back Boyle. I don't think the club can be criticised for not spending on the squad. Criticise them for not spending wisely enough, yes. But not spending? No.

cameronw-hfc
20-01-2023, 07:48 PM
Cameron, I think we’re all after a PM mate. Spill it

Seems to be a decent bit of chatter now on twitter someone has signed, and I've been told similar earlier on today, that's all I know and can say

20-01-2023, 07:49 PM
We’re used to signing players from more exotic climes than that under Ron the Condiment.

Eggsactly.

20-01-2023, 07:50 PM
Matt Macey looks like he's Portsmouth bound for a year loan, last time he was even in the Luton squad was November from what i can see, Aberdeen and Dundee utd had shown an interest

hibsforeurope
20-01-2023, 07:51 PM
Seems to be a decent bit of chatter now on twitter someone has signed, and I've been told similar earlier on today, that's all I know and can say

Someone who requires a work permit or are they available Sunday?

Potty78
20-01-2023, 07:52 PM

Twitter must be saying a name🤞

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2023, 07:52 PM
I didn't actually think Melkersen or Kennah weren't good enough but two young players that weren't ready for our first team and needed a loan to get some game time and was quite happy to see them go out on loan ( surprised by option to sell Melkersen btw ) as I felt we would add maybe two quality players before the derby .( Midfielder & defender).

Let's not forget our rivals have taken in 3 and they have had time to train and get to know there new team mates . I don't know if they are any good but it still adds options to there squad . We have had injuries and have let players go even though we have been struggling and had to play players out of position which I could understand why as we had injuries and Porto being in midfield as we hadn't any drive there .

One player we have been linked with " Bailey wright" the manager of his current club says won't be leaving till after the weekend which I thought ok at least if we sign a good midfielder before the Derby we can move Porto back to defense and that would be something at least but even that doesn't look like happening now .

Normally I'm quite positive but lack of even a midfielder coming in today has me worried about Sunday . Really annoyed with the way the clubs getting run and this just shows how badly it is being run.

Mikey_1875
20-01-2023, 07:53 PM
Are you suggesting the club should sign 2nd, 3rd or 4th choice targets before Sunday even if they think they can get the 1st choice targets after Sunday?

You said "It doesn’t seem like there are any plans in place for this window on the face of it apart from get as many out the door as possible and see what we are left to play with after."

Apologies if I've misunderstood you but it sounded to me like you were saying that the club does no advance planning other than that.

I can agree it is likely the deals for the outs had to be done before the ins, which makes sense to me. In an ideal world you'd have the incoming players ready to sign the minute the outgoing deals are concluded but how often does it work as perfectly as that? Not very often, I'd bet. Particularly when it isn't a like for like replacement. We've stated we're trying to improve the quality and want around 2 (was it?) in so on that basis the 6 or 7 needed to go 1st. One way to end up with a bloated squad is to bring too many in before you've got enough out.

As far as I can see, the only player who's gone that might have started, unless I've forgotten someone, is Kenneh and that's only because JDH just got injured. He's 50/50 so we don't even know he's definitely out.

I suppose it depends. Assuming we have our say three first choice targets in mind at the start of the window are we waiting 21 days into the window on all three to secure them? I just don’t think it’s a likely scenario and unless all three are very good then I would have been getting someone else in the door, or at least not letting a centre mid go knowing Newell is suspended.

The second part probably is a bit poorly worded but as I said in the previous post I am meaning that we haven’t started actively pursuing the targets until X amount were out the door. I didn’t mean that we were just beginning to identify them a few days ago.

I don’t have too much of an issue with the players who have went elsewhere and realise they aren’t key players in the team. The poor planning for me as pointed out by others is what appears like the lack of multi tasking and having a signing ready to go when one leaves although appreicate that it isn’t so simple in the real world as you said.

To be honest if it was just a league game against Ross County at the weekend there probably wouldn’t be anywhere near as much said about it. I suppose we will never have all the facts of what is going on behind the scenes but I just feel that the board haven’t done everything in their power to prepare us for this game. Couple that with a manager I don’t have a lot of faith in and it’s a pretty bleak outlook for such a big game.

20-01-2023, 07:53 PM
If you have a bloated stomach you don’t immediately put in another two or three pieces of quality food ,
We still have a bloated squad ,so more medicine to swallow yet

Well most people wouldn't.
https://youtu.be/GxRnenQYG7I
😀

20-01-2023, 07:56 PM

Don't start the famous Hibs work permit chat :faf:

cameronw-hfc
20-01-2023, 07:58 PM

Genuinely no clue. Just putting 2+2 together going on what I've heard and how many tweets I'm seeing now.

Wasnt even going to say anything but now others seem to be tweeting about it I figured it's not exactly privy info anymore. Although I've said as much as I know so not sure about if they're available or if it's a foreign signing or that.

20-01-2023, 07:59 PM
Genuinely no clue. Just putting 2+2 together going on what I've heard and how many tweets I'm seeing now.

Who is Twitter saying we have signed? I don’t do twitter

cameronw-hfc
20-01-2023, 08:01 PM
Who is Twitter saying we have signed? I don’t do twitter

No names, just the usual "📝📝" tweets and similar the last hour or so.

20-01-2023, 08:11 PM
No names, just the usual "📝📝" tweets and similar the last hour or so.

Come oan Sunshine, spill the beans

20-01-2023, 08:11 PM
The worst thing about the situation is they’ve lost the trust of the support or most of it. I for one would rather they came clean and told us what’s going on. They are deflecting and spinning drivel hoping they can pull the wool over the supporters eyes. Like politicians I absolutely hate this sort of behaviour, if anyone on Hibs management or the owner told me water was wet I’d be running my hand under the tap to check. They are all sleazy charlatans.

You want the club to tell us this? 🤔

cameronw-hfc
20-01-2023, 08:14 PM
Come oan Sunshine, spill the beans

Already said I've literally no clue, didn't get any names, posted as much as I know 😂

20-01-2023, 08:29 PM
Fabrizio Roman tweets

Excl: Croatia international right back Josip Juranović close to joining Union Berlin from Celtic, talks very advanced between clubs and player side. 🚨🇭🇷 #transfers

Negotiations are at final stages — here we go expected soon.

20-01-2023, 08:30 PM

I agree. It's a loser's mentality.

5 goals in the 2 games since then for Nisbet. He is the key.

GRA
20-01-2023, 08:38 PM

This 100%. We're nowhere near as bad as people are making out. Goals in this team for sure. Just need to switch on at the back.

Plus we're at home & their away record this season hasn't been great. I'm confident their hubris will come back to bite them.

20-01-2023, 09:03 PM
Ross County linked with Eamonn Brophy.

20-01-2023, 09:05 PM
Ross County linked with Eamonn Brophy.Probably a replacement for Jordan White who might be saints bound

xyz23jc
20-01-2023, 09:11 PM
I agree. It's a loser's mentality.

5 goals in the 2 games since then for Nisbet. He is the key.#

HEARTS DERBY DAY CHANGING ROOM NOTICEBOARD......! :greengrin
! :giruy2::giruy2::giruy2:

20-01-2023, 09:40 PM
Boyle Told us he played for 7 years with an undiagnosed acl injury so is quite plausible.

So it's on here that's he's injured again? It's not the first time a club have played someone with an injury. He's been out for months, but you'll be right as always👍🏻

Right, and what happened when Boyle found out? He immediately got surgery and got it fixed. You think JDH is risking his career with an injury this medical threw up (a club aren't turning down a player who is out for 2 weeks, it would be something serious to fail a medical) to play for a club wanting rid of him?

Its nothing to do with me being ''right as always''. Its just laughable if you actually think about it for 30 seconds.

Hes failed a medical test and Hibs have him in the squad days later and hes happy with that? How dumb to do think club and player are?

20-01-2023, 09:52 PM
We have lost 6 more goals that them over 22 league games so nothing to choose between the defences particularly as I think they still have to play Rangers and Celtic(perhaps) in this round.

HibeeSS0762
20-01-2023, 09:58 PM
✍️

20-01-2023, 10:02 PM
Did Lee Johnson say "we want to reduce the quality, increase the quality"? Genuinely thought my ears were deceiving me.

tonyrougier123
20-01-2023, 10:03 PM
✍️

??

20-01-2023, 10:09 PM
Don’t think it was done by the 5pm deadline. But we have an arrival.What position?

20-01-2023, 10:16 PM
Believe it’s a CM

Guess that means no name?

20-01-2023, 10:18 PM
Believe it’s a CMExcellent

Let's hope it's someone with real quality

Its a a crucial position to improve

Hopefully it did get done by the deadline - be a wee brucey bonus

20-01-2023, 10:25 PM
Guess that means we haven't signed anyone

21sMay
20-01-2023, 10:25 PM
Center midfielder ....

NGoloGrantie
20-01-2023, 10:29 PM
Kings kangwa!

20-01-2023, 10:30 PM
Kings kangwa!

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkPlease lord make it so!

tonyrougier123
20-01-2023, 10:30 PM
Kings kangwa!

Who?

20-01-2023, 10:34 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1616565483393654785?t=ILEzD8VM-yntBmHIURqpCg&s=19

Wants players in that will hit the ground running

HibeeSS0762
20-01-2023, 10:39 PM

I’ll take an apology later.

20-01-2023, 10:40 PM
Kings kangwa!

Work permit will take a while.

20-01-2023, 10:45 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1616565483393654785?t=ILEzD8VM-yntBmHIURqpCg&s=19

https://media.tenor.com/Jx34T4ASnpEAAAAC/partridge-i-dont-know.gif

20-01-2023, 10:50 PM
https://media.tenor.com/Jx34T4ASnpEAAAAC/partridge-i-dont-know.gifMust be signing Duk then! [emoji23]

RossScott1991
20-01-2023, 11:06 PM

Honestly starting to struggle reading through any of his interviews / quotes.

Just talks absolute endless waffle

20-01-2023, 11:10 PM

Just talks absolute endless waffleI'm not sure what he says in the link I posted that's waffle?

"We will take the best possible players for the best possible price. We are looking for players who can hit the ground running. You don’t want to spend six to eight weeks trying to get someone fit. It’s not an easy window to get that. If you are taking someone off a subs’ bench who’s been idle for a while, or a young player who’s maybe not experienced the tempo, or an older player who needs a consistent flow of games then that’s a bit delicate for any club in this window. We need instant impact, not six to eight weeks.”

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2023, 11:11 PM
Must be signing Duk then! [emoji23]

20-01-2023, 11:13 PM
Must be signing Duk then! [emoji23]

👏👏 Well played

Silky
20-01-2023, 11:26 PM

Just talks absolute endless waffle

As do some folk on here, in the media and in life in general. That sort of loquaciousness is rife in society at the moment; on social media and the likes so I wouldn't get too het up about it. If it's causing a struggle, just ignore it.

20-01-2023, 11:33 PM
I'm not sure what he says in the link I posted that's waffle?

"We will take the best possible players for the best possible price. We are looking for players who can hit the ground running. You don’t want to spend six to eight weeks trying to get someone fit. It’s not an easy window to get that. If you are taking someone off a subs’ bench who’s been idle for a while, or a young player who’s maybe not experienced the tempo, or an older player who needs a consistent flow of games then that’s a bit delicate for any club in this window. We need instant impact, not six to eight weeks.”

They’ve had months to scout players we need, it’s absolute waffle and spin. It’s like we’ve suddenly been put into a position where we need players in certain areas. They’re taking the piss.

McGruber
20-01-2023, 11:53 PM
I'm not sure what he says in the link I posted that's waffle?

Got to the 'stage 2 of 10' bit and tapped out. Sick of the knowing whats wrong and how to fix. Spinning yarn and buying time. Like an 'I'll change' in a doomed relationship which if this already isn't will be if we get scudded Sunday.

21-01-2023, 12:02 AM
As do some folk on here, in the media and in life in general. That sort of loquaciousness is rife in society at the moment; on social media and the likes so I wouldn't get too het up about it. If it's causing a struggle, just ignore it.

I used to like loquacious allsorts, haven't had them in years......

Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 12:44 AM
I used to like loquacious allsorts, haven't had them in years......

🤣👏

21-01-2023, 01:08 AM
Got to the 'stage 2 of 10' bit and tapped out. Sick of the knowing whats wrong and how to fix. Spinning yarn and buying time. Like an 'I'll change' in a doomed relationship which if this already isn't will be if we get scudded Sunday.

That's a shame, you read about 400 words and stopped mid-sentence with only 12 left to go.

21-01-2023, 04:46 AM

loquaciousness [consults dictionary) :)

When there’s less joy from the football we’re left with sound bite ion repeat. Tiresome. I’m usually I overly positive camp but it’s wearing me down. Listens to a clip on “Breaking the News” - Radio Scotland and you had to guess who was speaking. Ithe turn or phrase, mannerisms and sounded like Lee but it was actually David Beckham. I can’t get it out of m head now…

Hibs4185
21-01-2023, 06:36 AM

LD inherited more than 10 problems and she fixed them pretty quickly. Struggling to see how things can go so badly so quickly that it’s only stage 2 of 10 that’s needing fixed.

If the club has been allowed to become such a shambles so quickly then BK is ultimately responsible

21-01-2023, 06:42 AM
Day 21 of the window being open…

Surely we will announce a player today to give the fans even a small boost.

The club aren’t going to leave it till the final week / few days to bring players (a player) in like some folk predicted are they?!

21-01-2023, 06:58 AM
When you think the club has learned their lesson and players / manager coming out saying biggest game of season

Releasing a hefty amount of players which is the right thing to do

Sign not even one

All very hibs

Can’t wait for the triple signing announcement with 2 upcoming stars who have English premiership experience of 82 minutes between them.

Lose on Sunday and it’s pandemonium

21-01-2023, 07:32 AM
When you think the club has learned their lesson and players / manager coming out saying biggest game of season

Releasing a hefty amount of players which is the right thing to do

Sign not even one

All very hibs

Can’t wait for the triple signing announcement with 2 upcoming stars who have English premiership experience of 82 minutes between them.

Lose on Sunday and it’s pandemonium

Agree it would help our cause but we have enough to beat them with what we have signing or not. That won’t be a popular view but I believe it to be the case.

21-01-2023, 07:47 AM
McGeady

Too much hair

21-01-2023, 08:18 AM
Agree it would help our cause but we have enough to beat them with what we have signing or not. That won’t be a popular view but I believe it to be the case.

I agree with this.

The key man (in my view) will be Elie Youan

Hearts couldn't handle him

If the last derby had finished 2-2 no-one could have complained

We were terrible first half (wrong team selection) and Hearts scored their two gifts

We, on the other hand, missed our two gifts (Elie at end of first half, and the keeper's double save in the second half)

We have Porto back, Nisbet scoring, Hanlon is getting a long-overdue (and well-earned) rest, we have a manager who knows you need McGennis (and McGeady) in a derby, and Elie Youan surely gets his shot away next time he's through on the keeper

Those are all reasons we should be more competitive on Sunday

Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 08:23 AM
I agree with this.

We were terrible first half (wrong team selection) and Hearts scored their two gifts

We, on the other hand, missed our two gifts (Elie at end of first half, and the keeper's double save in the second half)

We have Porto back, Nisbet scoring, Hanlon is getting a long-overdue (and well-earned) rest, we have a manager who knows you need McGennis (and McGeady) in a derby, and Elie Youan surely gets his shot away next time he's through on the keeper

And also get Porteous to wind that wee fanny Devlin up, sure to get a red

NC1875
21-01-2023, 09:00 AM
I agree with this.

Hearts had the game won at half time, they didn’t need to do anything 2nd half. They let us have the ball and with that, all we managed to do was to concede a 3rd.

21-01-2023, 09:24 AM

Hearts had the game won at half time, they didn’t need to do anything 2nd half. They let us have the ball and with that, all we managed to do was to concede a 3rd.

Yeah we didn’t threaten them at all 🙄

21-01-2023, 09:26 AM

Loquaciousness...

https://tenor.com/4v8a.gif

21-01-2023, 09:48 AM
Interesting no one asked him about players signing in the pre match press conference.

Almost like they were told not to..

HFC93
21-01-2023, 09:53 AM
Interesting no one asked him about players signing in the pre match press conference.

Almost like they were told not to..Don't think that's true. Quick Google search shows me that Patrick McPartlin asked him about Bailey Wright: https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-coy-over-hibs-links-with-sunderlands-bailey-wright-but-admits-i-want-players-who-can-hit-the-ground-running-3995504

Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk

21-01-2023, 09:53 AM

They got lucky with Magennis miss and obviously Youan should score. We were poor first half no doubt but they were hugely helped by the gift of a first goal and a penalty a little fortunately. You give them too much credit me thinks.

21-01-2023, 09:54 AM
Don't think that's true. Quick Google search shows me that Patrick McPartlin asked him about Bailey Wright: https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-coy-over-hibs-links-with-sunderlands-bailey-wright-but-admits-i-want-players-who-can-hit-the-ground-running-3995504

Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk

Just going by the one uploaded on HibsTV

Silky
21-01-2023, 09:55 AM
Loquaciousness...

https://tenor.com/4v8a.gif

😂. I have no idea where that came from! Must have been the Aldi's Belgian beer! 😂😂

21-01-2023, 10:15 AM
😂. I have no idea where that came from! Must have been the Aldi's Belgian beer! 😂😂

I shall make haste to visit the aforementioned merchant and exchange the necessary coin of the realm to purchase the delightful elixer in order to assess its effect on grammatical preeminence.

I trust that it won't be an exercise in floccinaucinihilipilification.

21-01-2023, 10:30 AM
I agree with this.

I’m all for being positive but Elie Youan is not a player to rely on.

Hopefully he’ll have a good day on Sunday but the last derby was a microcosm of his time with us. His attempt when through on goal was embarrassing

21-01-2023, 10:36 AM
I’m all for being positive but Elie Youan is not a player to rely on.

Hopefully he’ll have a good day on Sunday but the last derby was a microcosm of his time with us. His attempt when through on goal was embarrassing

21-01-2023, 10:40 AM

You’ve spent the last year and a bit telling everyone how s**** Kevin Nisbet is so don’t be surprised if people take your opinion on forward players with a massive pinch of salt.

21-01-2023, 10:44 AM
That rumour of a CM signing last night appears to be baloney

21-01-2023, 10:48 AM

Who does Baloney play for, any good?

21-01-2023, 10:53 AM

At last a rumour with some meat in it.

21-01-2023, 11:19 AM

Still seems to be plenty chatter about it online.

Sioux
21-01-2023, 11:25 AM
Just going by the one uploaded on HibsTV

That wasn't a press conference.

21-01-2023, 11:30 AM
Who does Baloney play for, any good?

West Ham?

HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 11:39 AM

Guaranteed it’s happened mate. Just a matter of time announcing it. And when it does I’ll have an apology from you again😅

21-01-2023, 11:40 AM
Guaranteed it’s happened mate. Just a matter of time announcing it. And when it does I’ll have an apology from you again😅

Apology for what?

HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 11:42 AM
Apology for what?

You stated last night I was talking nonsense and then again today🤣

21-01-2023, 11:44 AM

Where did I specifically target you?

21-01-2023, 11:45 AM

I believe you, do you know who it is, and what’s his pedigree

Ahhh just say it man!

thebausburst
By the way Jai Quitongo looks like a player for Morton, would certainly be a major upgrade on likes of Tavares based on this performance against Celtic.

HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 11:49 AM

There.

HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 11:49 AM

And here. Are your eyes painted on?

21-01-2023, 11:52 AM
That's just being rude.

You should apologise :na na:

Still seems to be plenty chatter about it online.

Where about online?
Do you have a link?

who is it we've signed but not bothered announcing? I believe you, loads don't.

21-01-2023, 11:53 AM

Don't see any benefit of not announcing a signing we have apparently made, makes no sense to me

Donegal Hibby
There.
Any idea what type of midfielder he is mate ?

There.

You want an apology for that? This is becoming an attention seeking venture now.

Extremely loose with the rumour, delete posts and then asking for apologies...

MagicSwirlingShip
21-01-2023, 11:55 AM

Questionable considering the source

HFC93
21-01-2023, 11:55 AM

Heard he's dug meat

Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 11:56 AM
You want an apology for that? This is becoming an attention seeking venture now.

Extremely loose with the rumour, delete posts and then asking for apologies...And its on twitter anyway

Just ****ing apologise to the twitterer and be done with it man 🤣

There were other rumours on Twitter...

I make no specific reference to you.

At this rate you are going to need to apologise to me and my eyes.

Extremely loose with the rumour, delete posts and then asking for apologies...

Very much attention seeking.

I'm a knob 😂

MagicSwirlingShip
21-01-2023, 11:57 AM
Any idea what type of midfielder he is mate ?

I’m assured he hits the ground when running

And its on twitter anyway

Just ****ing apologise to the twitterer and be done with it man 🤣

Post a link please

Where about online?
Do you have a link?

Just mindless twitter chatter with wink, wink, nudge, nudge type nonsense.

Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 11:59 AM
Post a link please

I dont do twitter mate but just read on here that there was a rumour on twitter

🤣

That wasn't a press conference.

https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/video/8032

You might want to tell the press that were there and the guy who uploads it and names it that on Hibs tv then

21-01-2023, 12:00 PM
West Ham?

:applause:

21-01-2023, 12:03 PM

21-01-2023, 12:08 PM
https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/video/8032

You might want to tell the press that were there and the guy who uploads it and names it that on Hibs tv then

the link doesn’t work

21-01-2023, 12:10 PM
the link doesn’t work

Copy and paste the url and it works

hibsforeurope
21-01-2023, 12:12 PM
Surely any signing now won’t be able to play tomorrow now this round has started.

DIXIHIBS
21-01-2023, 12:18 PM
I know I'm not the most social media savvy but I've not got a clue what the last few pages on this thread are all about😨😨

21-01-2023, 12:18 PM

Sounds like spam to me!

21-01-2023, 12:19 PM
Surely any signing now won’t be able to play tomorrow now this round has started.

Boyle was signed the night before we played Hearts
The real question is how fit this new signing is, and when did he last play
Surely we haven’t been doing our shape training well before now

21-01-2023, 12:22 PM

Would need to have been registered by 5pm yesterday I think so highly unlikely.

21-01-2023, 12:23 PM
I know I'm not the most social media savvy but I've not got a clue what the last few pages on this thread are all about😨😨

Not the only one :greengrin

21-01-2023, 12:27 PM
I'm beginning to think that there will be no signings, period.

21-01-2023, 12:33 PM
I'm beginning to think that there will be no signings, period.

The transfer window is open another week and a half. Frustrating as it is for us fans the deadline isn't tomorrow's important game.

21-01-2023, 12:33 PM
I’m presuming the 2 going LJ mentioned in his presser yesterday, will be from Mitchell, Cabraja, JDH and Jair