View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33

29-01-2023, 04:07 AM
It’s a strange one but LJ said he would not start him as he was suffering from a dead leg, surely that would affect his physical
There is an article now up on hibs news 24/7 where L J is stating it’s not true Nizzy failed his Medical
confirms he had a dead leg and hadn’t trained all week so that’s why he was on the bench But he fully expects him to start v Ross County
So wonder if the rumours from a lot of my Rangers supporting friends that he is going there this window are also untrue
If there is no medical issue and he keeps scoring his value will only rise as his contract isn’t up in the summer Clubs looking fir a proven scorer will still pay good money for him

29-01-2023, 04:13 AM
It’s a strange one but LJ said he would not start him as he was suffering from a dead leg, surely that would affect his physical
GGTTHA medical isn't about short term issues it's more to distinguish concern against the financial outlay over the course of the contract

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

29-01-2023, 05:57 AM

A dead leg would have no impact on a medical, they look at everything that's happened to a player over the course of a few years

29-01-2023, 06:33 AM
Injured.
B

Was on the bench for Arbroath yesterday.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Paulie Walnuts
29-01-2023, 07:25 AM
I'm so confused. The guy who sits next to us at ER said LJ was interviewed before the game and said Nisbet failed the medical. I guess that's absolute bollocks then?!

He didn’t outright say that but I thought that’s what LJ seemed to be alluding to.

ElginHibbie
29-01-2023, 09:18 AM
Could it maybe be that Nisbet didn’t fail medical but something did come up on it that made Millwall want to alter the contract?

Don’t want to add to conspiracies going around, I think if he had failed it outright that would be in the press

Whatever happened glad he’s still here and hope he still is come Wednesday

29-01-2023, 01:25 PM
From Twitter so probably Keek

🚨🟢Panathinaikos alongside Hibernian are monitoring the 25yo CB, Ferro case from SL Benfica

#paofc #panathinaikos #benfica #slbenfica

29-01-2023, 01:27 PM

🚨🟢Panathinaikos alongside Hibernian are monitoring the 25yo CB, Ferro case from SL Benfica

From which account though?

29-01-2023, 01:29 PM

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferro_(footballer)

Decent enough pedigree, would imagine Panathinaikos would be able to offer a much better deal than us though.

29-01-2023, 01:30 PM

@gsideridiss

29-01-2023, 01:31 PM

Decent enough pedigree, would imagine Panathinaikos would be able to offer a much better deal than us though.
Agreed it does sound fanciful, but it's Sunday and at least it's a rumour 😀

29-01-2023, 01:33 PM
Accompanying article on a radge looking Greek publication suggests that we’re favourites for a loan move.

It’s a rumour, I’ll take it!

29-01-2023, 01:40 PM

Looks to have had a decent career so far and looking at the club's he's played for, I'd imagine he'd be out of our reach wage wise. Never heard of him let alone seen him play, but based on his career to date, it seems he'd be an improvement on what we have.

29-01-2023, 01:41 PM
Here’s the original Portuguese article which the story was sourced from - https://www.abola.pt/Clubes/2023-01-29/benfica-os-dois-clubes-na-linha-da-frente-para-o-emprestimo-de-ferro/974401/40

Translates to:

The permanent transfer of Germán Conti to Lokomotiv Moscow has opened up new possibilities for central defender Ferro, who may now be loaned out again.

Benfica had all the vacancies for transfers abroad completed and, therefore, was trying to permanently transfer the Portuguese centre-back. Ferro was loaned to Vitesse, but will leave the Dutch club.

Kansas City and two other clubs in the MLS, North American league, were interested in hiring, but there was no agreement. Panathinaikos, from Greece, and, above all, Hibernian, from Scotland, are at the forefront of receiving the 25-year-old centre-back on loan until the end of the season.

CentreForward
29-01-2023, 01:51 PM
He sounds decent although he appears to have played very few senior games for a 25 year old.

29-01-2023, 01:58 PM
He sounds decent although he appears to have played very few senior games for a 25 year old.

The senior games he has played though

40+ appearances for Benfica. Played for Vitesse, Valencia & Hadjuk split aswell.

Can't see him at Hibs though.

29-01-2023, 02:07 PM

https://twitter.com/gsideridiss/status/1619693958711615489

29-01-2023, 02:10 PM
Now picked up by the Record (I know they're just regurgitating stuff from elsewhere).

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-29023836

CentreForward
29-01-2023, 02:14 PM
The senior games he has played though

40+ appearances for Benfica. Played for Vitesse, Valencia & Hadjuk split aswell.

Can't see him at Hibs though.

Good point and those are certainly quality clubs. Sadly you may be right about him not coming to us.

29-01-2023, 02:25 PM
Good point and those are certainly quality clubs. Sadly you may be right about him not coming to us.

Good experience and a good age!

Cat Stanton
29-01-2023, 02:36 PM
Now picked up by the Record (I know they're just regurgitating stuff from elsewhere).

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-29023836

Now picked up by EEN - who are obviously just regurgitating stuff from *here*..

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-leading-the-race-to-land-portuguese-defender-on-loan-4005649

29-01-2023, 02:45 PM
Right footed. We still need another LCB.

29-01-2023, 02:47 PM
Now picked up by EEN - who are obviously just regurgitating stuff from *here*..

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-leading-the-race-to-land-portuguese-defender-on-loan-4005649

Not with Patrick reporting it. Seems legit

HendoDelivered
29-01-2023, 02:48 PM
Hope there is truth in Ferro. Good pedigree.

29-01-2023, 02:49 PM
Right footed. We still need another LCB.

Findlay I’m guessing? Can’t see them only signing one with Rocky/Porteous needing replaced.

29-01-2023, 02:51 PM

The club ambassador is really spoiling us.

Donegal Hibby
29-01-2023, 03:31 PM
I'd be very surprised if there was anything in the rumour of the Benfica player .
https://youtu.be/DC1ysOlR_P4

NC1875
29-01-2023, 06:28 PM
Hibs are 'leading the race' to land their ideal replacement for the recently departed Ryan Porteous.

The Easter Road side are chasing Benfica defender Fransisco Ferro, who they hope to sign on loan for the rest of the season.

The 25-year-old is currently on loan at Dutch top flight side Vitesse Arnhiem, but A Bola report that the Portuguese giants are looking to loan the defender to a different country for the second half of the season.

Hibs are in the market for another defender after Rocky Bushiri was ruled out for three months.

Benfica have knocked back offers from America and Greece for the stopper who's featured 96 times for their B side.

29-01-2023, 06:56 PM
I'd be very surprised if there was anything in the rumour of the Benfica player .

He looks huge. We need a big, strong centre half that is dominant in the air. We've not had one since McGregor really. Still can't see it, as I'd imagine he'll be out of our league, but you never know.

29-01-2023, 07:07 PM
Aberdeen sign Watford CB Mattie Pollock on loan. Think we've missed a trick not partnering Pollock & Fish

JimboHibs
29-01-2023, 07:25 PM
Hope there is truth in Ferro. Good pedigree.

And so does David Bates have a good pedigree on paper and he's of similar age.Im not saying Ferro isn't good but be careful what you wish for , if he was as good as led to believe.

cameronw-hfc
29-01-2023, 07:31 PM
Looking at his stats, 2.43 touches in attacking penalty box, top 1% of centre backs. Maybe likes a goal then 😂. Ranks well for tackles but the rest look a bit meh. Very poor heading stats on FBref

LunasBoots
29-01-2023, 07:33 PM
We've signed players more suited to Portuguese football before and they haven't handled the style difference here.

Donegal Hibby
29-01-2023, 07:40 PM
Looking at his stats, 2.43 touches in attacking penalty box, top 1% of centre backs. Maybe likes a goal then 😂. Ranks well for tackles but the rest look a bit meh. Very poor heading stats on FBref
The poor heading stats quite surprising considering he's 6'4 . Sorry 6'2 I meant!

EGL2000
29-01-2023, 07:46 PM
And so does David Bates have a good pedigree on paper and he's of similar age.Im not saying Ferro isn't good but be careful what you wish for , if he was as good as led to believe.

He's got a much better pedigree than David bates. Played champion's league football for Benfica. While bates was playing 2nd div football in Germany.

29-01-2023, 07:49 PM

Bates couldn't get a game for Sheffield Wednesday when he was on loan there tbf.

29-01-2023, 08:02 PM
We've signed players more suited to Portuguese football before and they haven't handled the style difference here.

Russel latapy

29-01-2023, 08:05 PM
Russel latapy

Poor man's Josh Campbell.

McGruber
29-01-2023, 09:02 PM
2 days to go now. The Aberdeen result as tremendous as it was can't mask we desperately need players in.
Hopefully truth in this Portugese CB or Wright and Findlay. 2 of those 3 be cracking start. Then just add in Arfield and we are nearly done

29-01-2023, 09:10 PM
2 days to go now. The Aberdeen result as tremendous as it was can't mask we desperately need players in.
Hopefully truth in this Portugese CB or Wright and Findlay. 2 of those 3 be cracking start. Then just add in Arfield and we are nearly done

Was thinking who we would get in over the next 48hrsbor so and who we have been linked with

Findlay
Wright
Arfield
Ferro

Wonder if there are possibilities from the city group?

Also wonder if there may be any further movement out the way.

29-01-2023, 09:28 PM
Was thinking who we would get in over the next 48hrsbor so and who we have been linked with

Findlay
Wright
Arfield
Ferro

Wonder if there are possibilities from the city group?

Also wonder if there may be any further movement out the way.

2 defenders is a must, and a midfielder would be a great add 🤞

skyehibee
30-01-2023, 07:24 AM
Surely some signings today then?

30-01-2023, 07:27 AM
Genuine question, asking out of interest

Do we still have a formal partnership with Brighton?

30-01-2023, 08:03 AM
Surely some signings today then?

I would think so, does the fact that we have a game up in Dingwall tomorrow make us unlikely to do business tomorrow?

For example if Kevin Nisbet is playing against Ross County he can hardly travel to get a medical done afterwards.

30-01-2023, 08:09 AM
I would think so, does the fact that we have a game up in Dingwall tomorrow make us unlikely to do business tomorrow?

For example if Kevin Nisbet is playing against Ross County he can hardly travel to get a medical done afterwards.

That would be so for any outgoings. I assume there could still be work on incomings until the window SLAMS SHUT! on Tuesday.

Edit: Also any peripheral players may still be outgoings - JDH?

ElginHibbie
30-01-2023, 08:10 AM

Yeah, if anything is gonna happen with Nisbet it will happen today or very least someone will report on something today

30-01-2023, 08:18 AM

I'm sure the last time this came up it was disregarded entirely by BK.

30-01-2023, 08:22 AM

You would have to assume there will be press coverage today if Nisbet going elsewhere. Hope he stays until end of the season not sure he will though.

sean04
30-01-2023, 08:26 AM
Conrad Egan Riley from Burnley

30-01-2023, 08:29 AM

The dreaded Youtube highlights reel. We've been fooled by that numerous times. Looks class though :greengrin

30-01-2023, 08:30 AM

Where you seeing this

30-01-2023, 08:54 AM

PSV rumoured to be wanting him.

Meltdown incoming

Arfield further down the pecking order?

30-01-2023, 08:55 AM

Rangers have reached full agreement to sign Nicolas Raskin, here we go! Deal in place with Standard Liegi on permanent move 🚨🔵 #RangersFC

ElginHibbie
30-01-2023, 08:56 AM

Did notice he was on bench at weekend and didn't get on, still be surprised to see him come to us and if he does imagine wouldn't be until summer

30-01-2023, 08:59 AM

Rangers have reached full agreement to sign Nicolas Raskin, here we go! Deal in place with Standard Liegi on permanent move 🚨🔵 #RangersFC

Interesting....I heard a Hibs player might be moving to SL .

30-01-2023, 08:59 AM
Would we be happy 1st Feb with:?

GK: Marshall / M. Johnson

RB: Cadden / Miller
CB: Fish / Ferro*
CB: Hanlon / Findlay*
LB: Stevenson / Cabraja

DM: Jeggo / JDH
CM: Campbell / Magennis
CM: Newell / Henderson

RW: McGeady / Jair
LW: Youan / McKirdy
CF: Nisbet / O'Connor / Laidlaw

Assuming no Bushiri, Kuchy, Hauge or Boyle for the foreseeable

30-01-2023, 09:01 AM

Oooohhhhh do tell

30-01-2023, 09:01 AM
Wonder if Maloney will come in for Henderson.

30-01-2023, 09:02 AM

Aye so it seems.

Certainty.

30-01-2023, 09:03 AM
Aye so it seems.

Sorry what’s SL

30-01-2023, 09:03 AM

Or maybe one of our other midfielders…..:wink:

30-01-2023, 09:04 AM
Sorry what’s SL

Standard liege

HendoDelivered
30-01-2023, 09:09 AM

Tavares?

Only one I could think would be JDH? Unless it’s one of the young players.

Standard liege

Who’s heading there

30-01-2023, 09:10 AM
Sorry what’s SL

Standard Life. Just ordering up a new headset for Jair now.

davhibby
Delferriere going back there maybe?

HIBS NUTS
Aye so it seems.

Allan Delferriere played in the past for them.
And MMV

davhibby
30-01-2023, 09:20 AM
Standard Life. Just ordering up a new headset for Jair now.

Permanent or loan?

30-01-2023, 09:31 AM
Hibs just tweeted "👀"

It's twitter so probably a lot of pish 😉

ElginHibbie
30-01-2023, 09:33 AM
Hibs just tweeted "👀"

It's twitter so probably a lot of pish 😉

Replying to SPFL vote for new header photo, we're winning it at least!

30-01-2023, 09:34 AM

😂😂😂😂😂😂 haha just got trolld by hibs

I'm Spartacus
30-01-2023, 09:38 AM

2 wins in 36 hours? What's going on?! :)

ElginHibbie
30-01-2023, 09:59 AM

The Sun reporting this now

30-01-2023, 10:03 AM
The Sun reporting this now

Wiki says he has 9 first team games to date, including one champions league one for Man City! Is he known to LJ through his City Group connections?

30-01-2023, 10:03 AM
Wiki says he has 9 first team games to date, including one champions league one for Man City! Is he known to LJ through his City Group connections?

That's not what his Wiki says.

30-01-2023, 10:08 AM

It does when I look at his wiki

13 appearances total but 4 are for Man City U21 in the Other column. So 9 for the first teams of Man City and Burnley

Edit: though those 4 appearances were in the EFL Trophy so were probably against first team players (unless two EPL/Championship U21 sides can get drawn together)

30-01-2023, 10:08 AM

Soccerbase has him playing 6 times for Burnley and 3 times for Man city , not sure how many minutes he got over those 9 games.

Edit 183 mins for Man City with 90 in the CL league against Spotting

282 minutes for Burnley

30-01-2023, 10:10 AM
Played most of his games as a right back looking at transfermarkt, including the appearance in the Champions league for Man City.

No chance of that

NGoloGrantie
Played 90 mins against sporting in the champions league for city. Must be decent if pep rated him

30-01-2023, 10:12 AM
Would we be happy 1st Feb with:?

GK: Marshall / M. Johnson

RB: Cadden / Miller
CB: Fish / Ferro*
CB: Hanlon / Findlay*
LB: Stevenson / Cabraja

DM: Jeggo / JDH
CM: Campbell / Magennis
CM: Newell / Henderson

RW: McGeady / Jair
LW: Youan / McKirdy
CF: Nisbet / O'Connor / Laidlaw

Assuming no Bushiri, Kuchy, Hauge or Boyle for the foreseeable

Think we'd need at least another midfielder on top of that as we cant rely of Magennis' fitness and don't think Henderson is going to cut it here.

Maybe another forward depending on if Khukareyvich will be back soon or not.

30-01-2023, 10:12 AM
Played 90 mins against sporting in the champions league for city. Must be decent if pep rated him

IIRC they were 5-0 up from the first leg, but still the fact that they wanted to give him game time rather than some other youngster suggests he was highly thought of.

bringbackbenny
30-01-2023, 10:15 AM
No chance of that

I wouldn't dismiss it? Maloney signed him for us on the loan then purchase. Plus did he not coach him in the Celtic youths?

yerauldda
30-01-2023, 10:16 AM
PSV reportedly want Egan Riley. Clearly talented.

30-01-2023, 10:16 AM

Oh yes it is! :greengrin

30-01-2023, 10:23 AM
As long as he's better than Nathan Wood, Darnell Johnson or any other of the highly rated youngsters we've had directly on loan from England. In fairness Will Fish looks pretty decent so maybe being overly sceptical.

30-01-2023, 10:24 AM
PSV reportedly want Egan Riley. Clearly talented.

I got a message about this one this morning interesting it’s in the press aswell so must be something in it

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 10:29 AM
This would be a signing that would have me seriously worried in all fairness.

30-01-2023, 10:29 AM
I wouldn't dismiss it? Maloney signed him for us on the loan then purchase. Plus did he not coach him in the Celtic youths?

No way you take over on a Friday and bring Henderson in right away as your first signing!

30-01-2023, 10:30 AM

Can't believe I am asking but why's that?

30-01-2023, 10:31 AM
Announced by Hibs CJ

ElginHibbie
30-01-2023, 10:31 AM
Egan-Riley announced on loan

yerauldda
30-01-2023, 10:32 AM
Not sure how much he'll play but covers 3 positions we're no blessed with numbers in and has played in the last 16 of the UCL. Hope he does well!

30-01-2023, 10:32 AM
Wonder if we see him as a RB or CH

30-01-2023, 10:36 AM
This would be a signing that would have me seriously worried in all fairness.Shocked

Shocked and appalled

[emoji44][emoji23]

McGruber
30-01-2023, 10:37 AM
Could be an exciting signing though young lads on loan a gamble. It has to be coupled up with experienced defenders - will wait and see how we end up when window closes

30-01-2023, 10:38 AM
DONE DEAL:

https://twitter.com/Record_Sport/status/1620022495049908224

EGL2000
30-01-2023, 10:41 AM
Kind of signing that just fills me with zero hope. Hardly any of these promising youngsters from England ever do well at us. Huge difference between youth football and senior level. Hopefully be a decent player though!

30-01-2023, 10:41 AM
Provided we sign more experienced defenders then fair enough, good to have some backup.

However, this literally does fit the "young player on loan from English second/third tier side with hardly any competitive appearances" trope we've seen too many times over the years.

30-01-2023, 10:42 AM
As long as he's better than Nathan Wood, Darnell Johnson or any other of the highly rated youngsters we've had directly on loan from England. In fairness Will Fish looks pretty decent so maybe being overly sceptical.

Nathan Wood is 1st choice at Swansea now so he obviously had something about him. We just didn't pick him

Willis1875
30-01-2023, 10:43 AM
Kind of signing that just fills me with zero hope. Hardly any of these promising youngsters from England ever do well at us. Huge difference between youth football and senior level. Hopefully be a decent player though!

Lots of talent from down there,We just never seem to sign the right ones.
Our neighbours across the city seem to have more hits than misses in that market.
I’m fairly optimistic about this one

147lothian
DONE DEAL:

https://twitter.com/Record_Sport/status/1620022495049908224

Just checked Wiki he has represented England at every level from under 15 - 19 makes him a very exciting signing. Shows the club are moving in the right direction with Ryan moving on.

Explain why?

EGL2000
30-01-2023, 10:45 AM
Just checked Wiki he has represented England at every level from under 15 - 19 makes him a very exciting signing. Shows the club are moving in the right direction with Ryan moving on.

To be fair that means pretty much nothing. Sure Nathan wood captained the under 21s and we all know how that one worked out. Some proper guff gets in those England youth setups.

Our 4th player on loan meaning we’d only be permitted one more.

yerauldda

Don't think he's in any way comparable to what we've loaned in from England before.
I wish people would stop making sweeping generalisations on signing's from the same country.

There's nothing to suggest he'll either be a success or failure, let's judge him on how he does for us after more than one game, Will Fish evidence of making is look silly for judging a player after one game. Nathan Wood has also done very well since going back down south.

Nathan Wood is 1st choice at Swansea now so he obviously had something about him. We just didn't pick him

He was awful when we did though. Although, Fish had one awful game out of position and was written off (by me included) and wasn't anywhere near as bad in his actual position at the weekend.

Johnson is actually the one that I don't think was as bad as a lot of folk made out. I think he looked OK against Celtic in his first game. Unfortunately, he then got a retrospective ban for a challenge in that game and never played again. IIRC, there was a bit of an outrage at the time that he got the ban. I think it coincided with a change of manager as well. Did Heckingbottom not get appointed after the Celtic game?

Nothing against the lad

But hibs have signed this exact type of young player with a magnificent record on paper and every one in recent times absolutley brutal.

Let’s hope he’s a good one.

Jury still out hibs.

30-01-2023, 10:46 AM

1) this guy
2) #99
3) fish
4) youan

30-01-2023, 10:46 AM

Doesn't read to badly though

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/cj-egan-riley-career-so-far

Logie
30-01-2023, 10:47 AM
1) this guy
2) #99
3) fish

Who is the other one?

Youan

Willis1875
1) this guy
2) #99
3) fish

Who is the other one?
Youan

duffers
1) this guy
2) #99
3) fish

Who is the other one?

Youan is it not?

30-01-2023, 10:48 AM
1) this guy
2) #99
3) fish

Who is the other one?

Youan option to buy

30-01-2023, 10:49 AM
Hope we sign Youan perm this window

Want there rumors we had done that months ago?

30-01-2023, 10:49 AM
Thanks all

30-01-2023, 10:51 AM

30-01-2023, 10:54 AM
Burnley fans saying very calm and composed on the ball and will do well for us. I'm happy with it.

Donegal Hibby
Can't believe I am asking but why's that?
Another young inexperienced player . We already have Fish who's 19 maybe the lads very good though was hoping for more experienced players 24 ,25 ,26 . It's one of the mistake's I think we made in the summer signing to many young inexperienced young players. He's here now so good luck to him .

Not sure how much he'll play but covers 3 positions we're no blessed with numbers in and has played in the last 16 of the UCL. Hope he does well!

Which is a good point, RB, Centre Back and DM.

Hopefully we can add in two experienced players before this window slams shut!

30-01-2023, 10:56 AM

Want there rumors we had done that months ago?

Don't think it has to specifically be done during the window, does it? He'll be registered as a Hibs player until the end of the season so we'll be able to do it later on. Agree we should be looking to do it sooner than later but it doesn't have to be before tomorrow. Maybe we've already been trying but Youan might want to wait, if he continues to play well he might get a better contract.

Paulie Walnuts
30-01-2023, 10:58 AM
Just need to see how he goes really. Comes with a similar pedigree to a lot of the young guys we’ve signed from England recently. They’ve often not worked out but that’s not to say he won’t.

Groathillgrump
30-01-2023, 11:02 AM
Myko is also on loan from Troyes.

Dmas
30-01-2023, 11:04 AM
Welcome aboard CJ important position for us so hopefully the guys ready to go

McGruber
30-01-2023, 11:04 AM
Still hoping we manage to get Wright, seems the right type on and off the park

30-01-2023, 11:06 AM
Welcome aboard CJ important position for us so hopefully the guys ready to go

He didn't get where he is today by not being ready to go. 🙂

Paulie Walnuts
30-01-2023, 11:07 AM
Don't think it has to specifically be done during the window, does it? He'll be registered as a Hibs player until the end of the season so we'll be able to do it later on. Agree we should be looking to do it sooner than later but it doesn't have to be before tomorrow. Maybe we've already been trying but Youan might want to wait, if he continues to play well he might get a better contract.

Can be done anytime. Technically he wouldn’t become our player until the summer if we done it outside the window but that wouldn’t make any actual difference.

Crookie88
30-01-2023, 11:08 AM
1) this guy
2) #99
3) fish
4) youan

Is Ryan Schofield not on loan also?

30-01-2023, 11:08 AM

Recalled.

30-01-2023, 11:09 AM

Recalled.

30-01-2023, 11:09 AM
Can be done anytime. Technically he wouldn’t become our player until the summer if we done it outside the window but that wouldn’t make any actual difference.

Thanks, that's what I thought.

30-01-2023, 11:13 AM
Disappointed to see hibs saying he played vs sporting Lisbon, when he didn't.

30-01-2023, 11:14 AM

Willis1875
30-01-2023, 11:16 AM

He did though?

ElginHibbie

Aye he did https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/60666631

He didn't get where he is today by not being ready to go. 🙂:greengrin

30-01-2023, 11:17 AM
Love this signing players with posh names. Hibs class :greengrin

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/64452134

30-01-2023, 11:18 AM
He didn't get where he is today by not being ready to go. [emoji846]https://images.app.goo.gl/dU1pBLMGWckvFS1w8

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

30-01-2023, 11:20 AM
https://images.app.goo.gl/dU1pBLMGWckvFS1w8

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

https://youtu.be/R5Os_SrLJ0w 😀

30-01-2023, 11:21 AM
Aye he did https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/60666631

That's sporting club de Portugal?

Did he play against sporting lisboa benfica too?

30-01-2023, 11:21 AM
He did though?

He did indeed but some football hipsters like to pull others up for using that English colloquial name rather than their full Portuguese name.

30-01-2023, 11:22 AM
That's sporting club de Portugal?

Did he play against sporting lisboa benfica too?

Someone has too much time on their hands.

30-01-2023, 11:24 AM
Can be done anytime. Technically he wouldn’t become our player until the summer if we done it outside the window but that wouldn’t make any actual difference.It does if it frees up space for another loan

Greenworld
30-01-2023, 11:25 AM
Watched the livingston game yesterday thought Stephane*Omeonga had a great game in midfield his contract is up may 23 think he would be a great addition

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

30-01-2023, 11:28 AM
He did indeed but some football hipsters like to pull others up for using that English colloquial name rather than their full Portuguese name.

It's wrong though.

Just call then sporting. Or are we hibernian edinburgh?

Hannah_hfc
30-01-2023, 11:29 AM
Not sure you get included in Peps Man City squad for being a dud, looks like Vincent Kompany also rates him. Egan- Riley has some promise, hoping he can show same quality for us [emoji1695]

30-01-2023, 11:29 AM
He didn't get where he is today by not being ready to go. [emoji846]:hilarious26426

ElginHibbie
30-01-2023, 11:32 AM
It's wrong though.

Fact that every year people seem to get us and Hibernians from Malta mixed up that name change might not be a bad idea

30-01-2023, 11:40 AM
It's wrong though.

I think I’ll just continue to call them Sporting Lisbon and people will continue to know exactly who I mean.

howdenthehibby
30-01-2023, 11:41 AM

Super!

30-01-2023, 11:42 AM
I hope the young lad appreciates the Premiership isn't a walk in the park. I'm sure he does. Guess it increases our defensive options. Hope he's more a Harry Clarke than a Nathan Wood.

30-01-2023, 11:42 AM
I think I’ll just continue to call them Sporting Lisbon and people will continue to know exactly who I mean.

Hibs 6 Sporting Club de Portugal 1

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/classic-match-hibs-6-sporting-lisbon-1-sept-27-1972-2443925

30-01-2023, 11:43 AM
Burnley fans saying very calm and composed on the ball and will do well for us. I'm happy with it.

Without having read any of the posts after this one, can I just point out that most fans of English clubs would rate their dug to make a go of it in the Scottish premiership. I remain firmly convince it's one of the reasons so many players from the EFL and EPL reserve teams have struggled to make an impact at Hibs ... even if it's unconsciously I cant help thinking they think they can skoosh it here and get a bit of a shock when it turns out not to as much of a stroll as they thought it was going to be.

MKHIBEE
30-01-2023, 11:46 AM

I see what you did there

30-01-2023, 11:46 AM

Super

30-01-2023, 11:49 AM
Super

Great :greengrin

EGL2000
30-01-2023, 11:50 AM
Without having read any of the posts after this one, can I just point out that most fans of English clubs would rate their dug to make a go of it in the Scottish premiership. I remain firmly convince it's one of the reasons so many players from the EFL and EPL reserve teams have struggled to make an impact at Hibs ... even if it's unconsciously I cant help thinking they think they can skoosh it here and get a bit of a shock when it turns out not to as much of a stroll as they thought it was going to be.

Yeah I get this feeling with alot of players from down south aswell.

30-01-2023, 11:51 AM
It's wrong though.

To be fair that is what it says on the club's badge :greengrin

30-01-2023, 11:54 AM

Hope so

30-01-2023, 11:58 AM
Nothing against the lad whatsoever as I’m sure he must have something about him but it’s just a bit deflating.

Young versatile centre half with extremely limited first team football coming in.

Linked with Wright, Findlay and Forro and sign this lad on loan.

Not the experience we had hoped for, quality will hopefully be up to the standard we need but a 20 year old on loan to compete with our 19 year old on loan isn’t exactly what I think the majority of fans think the squad need

30-01-2023, 11:59 AM
I'm all for signing younger guys with ability on loan, on loan with an option to buy or just signing outright provided they are going to be playing beside a larger number of more experienced players who will settle them in and help them on. If we don't do that however we are minimising the chances of those signings making it and developing.

We need a minimum of two signings in this window of players with some experience who are ready to go. We need many more than that really but I would say two is the minimum we can get away with given our injuries and the wafer-thin level of depth to our squad. Judging from Saturday's substitutions we might have had a better range of options already if we had been a bit more determined to bring on some of our own younger players before now.

McGruber
30-01-2023, 12:01 PM
Nothing against the lad whatsoever as I’m sure he must have something about him but it’s just a bit deflating.

Young versatile centre half with extremely limited first team football coming in.

Not the experience we had hoped for, quality will hopefully be up to the standard we need but a 20 year old on loan to compete with our 19 year old on loan isn’t exactly what I think the majority of fans think the squad need

You are right but lets hope it is an extra option and we are still bringing in the others with experience.

Crunchie
30-01-2023, 12:02 PM
Welcome to the club CJ, I hope you're not reading the usual negative pish on here.

Torto7
30-01-2023, 12:03 PM
I see the usual bedwetting already. For what its worth this is a good signing and he's more likely to play RB so Id assume Cadden is offski. Ive watched him for Citys youth team. Hes good, no need to panic.

30-01-2023, 12:08 PM
I see the usual bedwetting already. For what its worth this is a good signing and he's more likely to play RB so Id assume Cadden is offski. Ive watched him for Citys youth team. Hes good, no need to panic.

Did he play right back for City?

30-01-2023, 12:14 PM

I still think Findlay sounds absolutely pish so I’m certainly not deflated we’ve signed this guy.

I’m happy not to judge players by their age though.

30-01-2023, 12:14 PM

I don’t think it‘a to do with where they came from, most of the players just weren’t good enough. It’s not as if the likes of Darnell Johnson and Daniel Boateng are now excelling elsewhere, they are at a level below Hibs.

One of the benefits of having an experienced DoF or Head of Recruitment is they will hopefully have strong contacts with clubs and scouts down south meaning you avoid getting the dross from these clubs. Our hit rate for young players signed and loaned from down south was excellent when John Park was here: Caldwell, Sheils, Morrow, Murphy, Rocastle, Hogg & McNeil all contributed to different degrees. Hearts have improved massively in this area since bringing in Savage & Lancefield, players like Cochrane, Simms, Kuol and Hill are much better than the type of dross they were getting on loan from down south previously.

30-01-2023, 12:16 PM
https://twitter.com/footyinsider247/status/1620047930575945734?s=46&t=2_fTaW0TxKyBSxHGlcIZfw

30-01-2023, 12:19 PM

Looks like it

DunblaneHibby
30-01-2023, 12:25 PM
Hibs 6 Sporting Club de Portugal 1

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/classic-match-hibs-6-sporting-lisbon-1-sept-27-1972-2443925
I remember it well!

30-01-2023, 12:26 PM
I still think Findlay sounds absolutely pish so I’m certainly not deflated we’ve signed this guy.

I’m happy not to judge players by their age though.

Going into this window and with Porteous leaving and Rocky injured would you have said the you’d want a 20 year old with limited experience on loan?

It’s nothing against the boy himself and on an individual basis I have no issues with this type of signing.

I just think as a collective and where we’re at it’s not what I’d have picked. He might be brilliant.

I just feel like previous loans we’ve had of highly rated youngsters or our latest recruitment of young players doesn’t fill me with confidence.

Hopefully he turns out to be good business.

The one thing that gives me a bit of hope as it seems to be a signing through the city group contact that Johnson knows so surely comes very highly recommended

30-01-2023, 12:27 PM
Welcome to .net CJ.

Torto7
30-01-2023, 12:27 PM

Hes like Carter Vickers, versatile. To me hes more likely to play for us at rightback. He played multiple positions for Citys youth team including CB/RB/DM. I think hes a right back myself.

30-01-2023, 12:28 PM
https://twitter.com/footyinsider247/status/1620047930575945734?s=46&t=2_fTaW0TxKyBSxHGlcIZfw

Looks like he's listed as a CB but has played in midfield more this season than as a CB?

30-01-2023, 12:32 PM
Going into this window and with Porteous leaving and Rocky injured would you have said the you’d want a 20 year old with limited experience on loan?

It’s nothing against the boy himself and on an individual basis I have no issues with this type of signing.

I just think as a collective and where we’re at it’s not what I’d have picked. He might be brilliant.

I just feel like previous loans we’ve had of highly rated youngsters or our latest recruitment of young players doesn’t fill me with confidence.

Hopefully he turns out to be good business.

The one thing that gives me a bit of hope as it seems to be a signing through the city group contact that Johnson knows so surely comes very highly recommended

I’ll judge him on his ability, age and experience is meaningless if the player in question is s***e. Hearts signed a 20 year old with no first team games played this season and he bossed it in the derby and Hearts are yet to concede a goal when he’s playing. Would they have been better with some late twenties journey man who can’t get off the bench for a League 1 side?

30-01-2023, 12:33 PM
It's wrong though.

The French press calls us Hibernian Edimbourg. Quite like that to be honest. Think the addition of Edinburgh to our name would help raise the profile of the club.

greenflyer
30-01-2023, 12:34 PM
" Give the ball to Riley" :flag::hibees

30-01-2023, 12:35 PM
Welcome to the club CJ, I hope you're not reading the usual negative pish on here.

Yeh mate, but it's not unjustified negativity is it.

We've had a number of players from the EFL and reserve EPL players on loan who have struggled to make an impact at Hibs. No it doesn't mean the next one up is bound to follow their example, but we have reached the stage with this sort of signing where their CV with stuff like one game in a dead rubber in the UCL, being capped at every level for England bar the first team, or they were captain of Liverpool reserves for 2 seasons doesn't impress us any more .... we are very much at the point where the only way to form an opinion on these guys is to actually see them play.

So yeh, welcome to Hibs CJ. I hope you knock it out the park and we're all greetin' come May when we realise the club can't afford to keep you ... but yer gonna have to make that happen yourself.

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 12:39 PM
I don't think it's negative pish to have concerns about signing another young player with our track record in the summer. I do think at the moment it's worrying that our only senior center half is Paul Hanlon, if he gets injured we are left with a 19 and 20 who have played less than 20 first team games between them . Anyhow hopefully the club are looking into getting some experienced players in and not going down the route they did in the summer .

30-01-2023, 12:40 PM

That's a very interesting question. Given what they have done in the last 5 years, in particular their very professional and successful systematic recruitment strategy , I really hope we do.

30-01-2023, 12:40 PM
I’ll judge him on his ability, age and experience is meaningless if the player in question is s***e. Hearts signed a 20 year old with no first team games played this season and he bossed it in the derby and Hearts are yet to concede a goal when he’s playing. Would they have been better with some late twenties journey man who can’t get off the bench for a League 1 side?

You say this but as soon as it doesn’t work out people slaughter the recruitment team for signing untested youngsters.

Remember how excited everyone was about Tavares, Hauge, Melkersen, Kenneh etc? Majority off those guys have been wrote if already and recruitment slated to a certain degree

Johnson also said he wanted guys in who are ready to go, this has guys played a couple of games this season?

Hibees1973
30-01-2023, 12:41 PM
Not surprised this is all our recruitment team have managed to get in, particularly in central defence. There is a day to go so there may be another central defender, hopefully. We were light even before Porteous left and Bushiri got injured.

A competent recruitment team would have signed full-backs who have the flexibility to play in central defence. However, Lewey, Cabraja and Cadden are nowhere near being competent central defenders.

In the last 2 or 3 transfer windows most central defenders signed have been inexperienced, similar to this guy. Seem to have a blind spot with Centre Halfs down at East Mains.

I don't think it's negative pish to have concerns about signing another young player with our track record in the summer. I do think at the moment it's worrying that our only senior center half is Paul Hanlon, if he gets injured we are left with a 19 and 20 who have played less than 20 first team games between them . Anyhow hopefully the club are looking into getting some experienced players in and not going down the route they did in the summer .

Maybe we could hold fire on the negativity until the guy has at least kicked a ball for us?

I doubt that CJ is the only player coming in before the end of this window.

ShadesLongThrow
[QUOTE=DunblaneHibby;7260288]I remember it well![/QUOTE

Pretty sure we wore purple for the home tie. Looked very exotic all those years ago!

30-01-2023, 12:42 PM
Not surprised this is all our recruitment team have managed to get in, particularly in central defence. There is a day to go so there may be another central defender, hopefully. We were light even before Porteous left and Bushiri got injured.

A competent recruitment team would have signed full-backs who have the flexibility so play in central defence. However, Lewey, Cabraja and Cadden are nowhere near being competent central defenders.

In the last 2 or 3 transfer windows most central defenders signed have been inexperienced, similar to this guy. Seem to have a blind spot with Centre Halfs down at East Mains.

So we sign a player who CAN play full back and central defence, and then you criticise them for not doing so? :greengrin

30-01-2023, 12:46 PM
That's a very interesting question. Given what they have done in the last 5 years, in particular their very professional and successful systematic recruitment strategy , I really hope we do.

If we do have a relationship with Brighton and Hove Albion it's in the same ball park as Britain's 'special relationship' with the USA or the Auld Alliance. It might have been a thing at one point, but in reality at's about as useful as a pop gun in a tank battle.

Greenworld
30-01-2023, 12:46 PM
I don’t think it‘a to do with where they came from, most of the players just weren’t good enough. It’s not as if the likes of Darnell Johnson and Daniel Boateng are now excelling elsewhere, they are at a level below Hibs.

One of the benefits of having an experienced DoF or Head of Recruitment is they will hopefully have strong contacts with clubs and scouts down south meaning you avoid getting the dross from these clubs. Our hit rate for young players signed and loaned from down south was excellent when John Park was here: Caldwell, Sheils, Morrow, Murphy, Rocastle, Hogg & McNeil all contributed to different degrees. Hearts have improved massively in this area since bringing in Savage & Lancefield, players like Cochrane, Simms, Kuol and Hill are much better than the type of dross they were getting on loan from down south previously.Speaking of DOF what's taking so long

Hibees1973
30-01-2023, 12:47 PM
So we sign a player who CAN play full back and central defence, and then you criticise them for not doing so? :greengrin

You do like a sly emoji when respdonding to others, in your posts. Cut it out, it's childish.

Regarding recruitment, it's yet another inexperienced guy. Seems they are not learning from mistakes at EM.

You say this but as soon as it doesn’t work out people slaughter the recruitment team for signing untested youngsters.

Remember how excited everyone was about Tavares, Hauge, Melkersen, Kenneh etc? Majority off those guys have been wrote if already and recruitment slated to a certain degree

Johnson also said he wanted guys in who are ready to go, this has guys played a couple of games this season?

We’ve also signed older, experienced players who haven’t been good enough in Cabraja, Mueller, Mitchell etc. The problem is we have signed too many players who aren’t good enough to contribute to the first team straight away regardless of their age. Whether a player is 19 or 29, the only thing that matters isn’t terms of contributing to the first team is their level of ability.

I want experience as much as anyone but Egan Riley is definitely a good player.

He's 6ft so not small.

Think more like Harry Clarke.

He's got a good football IQ so obviously LJ will like him as he was in Man City youth academy for years and played 1st team at City year over a year ago.

I do hope we bring in a couple more ideally permanent deals.

30-01-2023, 12:48 PM
Speaking of DOF what's taking so long

No idea but if we are recruiting someone who is currently a director at another club they’ll have a notice period.

30-01-2023, 12:49 PM
Burton have rejected offers from Hibs and Gillingham for defender Deji Oshilaja ❌

- Albion want to keep the centre-back to help their bid to stay up in League One

From Football Insider on Twitter

30-01-2023, 12:50 PM

A competent recruitment team would have signed full-backs who have the flexibility to play in central defence. However, Lewey, Cabraja and Cadden are nowhere near being competent central defenders.

Ehhh he can play CH, RB and Holding Mid so doesn’t that blow your flexibility theory? Also this isn’t a recruitment team player it’s LJ who’s wanting him in as knew him from down south. As with another couple we are trying to get over the line relax. Judge the boy on how he does not his age, not cause we have signed previous players from down south who weren’t good for us, on his own merit.

30-01-2023, 12:53 PM
This Football insider is reporting Erhahon is away from St Mirren, assuming they are pretty knowledgeable?

🚨 FI SOURCES! 🚨

- Lincoln City have agreed to sign St Mirren midfielder Ethan Erhahon. ✍

- £3000,000 fee agreed. 💰

- Imps have beaten off interest from multiple English sides. 💪

#OurStMIrren #WeAreImps

30-01-2023, 12:54 PM
Burton have rejected offers from Hibs and Gillingham for defender Deji Oshilaja ❌

- Albion want to keep the centre-back to help their bid to stay up in League One

From Football Insider on Twitter

Centre back - solid player - right footed but can play left or right CB.

30-01-2023, 12:57 PM
You do like a sly emoji when respdonding to others, in your posts. Cut it out, it's childish.

Regarding recruitment, it's yet another inexperienced guy. Seems they are not learning from mistakes at EM.

The guy has played in the champions league not all players are the same irrespective of age.

30-01-2023, 01:02 PM

and it’s not what L J said would be happening . We were told a couple of quality signings that would be able to go into the first team and make an impact
Will see what’s he turns out to be like , but I find it a strange one given the Rhetoric we were getting

30-01-2023, 01:03 PM
Still after an experienced centre half

https://twitter.com/frazfletcher/status/1620030352583725057?s=46&t=CdCBDLYbnZOThoEFwTrzVQ

30-01-2023, 01:03 PM

Pretty sure we wore purple for the home tie. Looked very exotic all those years ago!
Yep I remember it well Loved that strip

30-01-2023, 01:08 PM
Would make Wright even easier now?

FI SOURCES! 🚨

- Joseph Anderson is arriving at Sunderland to undergo a medical. 🩺

- The Everton defender has been granted permission to finalise a move to the Championship giants after agreeing terms. ✍

Souter96Mac
30-01-2023, 01:15 PM
Would make Wright even easier now?

FI SOURCES! 🚨

- Joseph Anderson is arriving at Sunderland to undergo a medical. 🩺

- The Everton defender has been granted permission to finalise a move to the Championship giants after agreeing terms. ✍

I think it's safe to say Wright will be leaving Sunderland this window. He wasn't in the squad on the weekend. But who to will be the question

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 01:18 PM
Maybe we could hold fire on the negativity until the guy has at least kicked a ball for us?

I doubt that CJ is the only player coming in before the end of this window.
I wish the guy every success and I'm in no way judging CJ before he's kicked a ball for us and again i don't think having concerns about signing a young defender when we have one already and only one experienced one is being negative. I doubt he will be the only signing though do think we need more experienced players rather than young rookie ones . Hopefully we will sign a couple of these :aok:

30-01-2023, 01:21 PM
The French press calls us Hibernian Edimbourg. Quite like that to be honest. Think the addition of Edinburgh to our name would help raise the profile of the club.

Hearts still have Midlothian though. Forever in their shadow

30-01-2023, 01:24 PM

This limit actually only applies to domestic loans so we could feasibly have more than one new loan.

30-01-2023, 01:27 PM

I'm sure it was purple in the away leg

30-01-2023, 01:32 PM
I wish the guy every success and I'm in no way judging CJ before he's kicked a ball for us and again i don't think having concerns about signing a young defender when we have one already and only one experienced one is being negative. I doubt he will be the only signing though do think we need more experienced players rather than young rookie ones . Hopefully we will sign a couple of these :aok:
Of course your being negative, but your not alone in that respect.

leith lynx
30-01-2023, 01:39 PM
[QUOTE=ShadesLongThrow;7260316]

Yes, purple with white sleeves in Lisbon, all green at ER.

30-01-2023, 01:41 PM
I think people are right to be concerned given our recent record of signing young players who haven't cut the mustard. The comments from Burnley fans are pretty much the same as the Middlesbrough ones when we signed Nathan Wood. It seems we are still in the market for an experienced defender so i'm not overly concerned. Just need to see how it goes. He might be brilliant.

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2023, 01:43 PM
Of course your being negative, but your not alone in that respect.
A couple of decent signings will change that 👍

30-01-2023, 01:52 PM
Heard we have made an attempt to sign Turnbull on loan, not sure if Celtic want to let him go on loan or he would come but been told we have enquired.

McGruber
30-01-2023, 01:56 PM
Heard we have made an attempt to sign Turnbull on loan, not sure if Celtic want to let him go on loan or he would come but been told we have enquired.

Turnbull would be superb but like Arfield, just can't see it

30-01-2023, 01:58 PM

That would be a rediculous signing, he came off the bench yesterday so is still seen as part of the squad so would be strange for them to allow him to come here.

I would have thought they would loan him down south or even try and get a few for him.

DR saying we won’t be signing Wright, Findlay or Ferro.

Potty78

Would be brilliant but I'd imagine there would be a long list of teams after him if he's to go on loan!

30-01-2023, 01:59 PM
We have signed a guy that can play both RB and CH as cover. Sounds solid to me.

We are also still trying to bring in a 1st team ready CH. Good.

Will we get anymore or do we need anymore? Jeggo looks like a good addition so far.

Marshall / Johnson

Cadden / Miller / Egan-Riley
Fish / Egan-Riley
Hanlon / A N Other
Stevenson / Cabreja

Campbell / Magennis
Jeggo / JDH / MacIntyre
Newell / Henderson

McGeady / Laidlaw / O’Connor
Nisbet / McKirdy / Myko
Youan / Taveres /

Edinburgh Green
30-01-2023, 02:04 PM
Turnbull would be superb but like Arfield, just can't see it

Arfield was on. Been told today that it's now off.

30-01-2023, 02:04 PM

Will we get anymore or do we need anymore? Jeggo looks like a good addition so far.

Marshall / Johnson

Fish / Egan-Riley
Hanlon / A N Other
Stevenson / Cabreja

Campbell / Magennis
Jeggo / JDH / MacIntyre
Newell / Henderson

Nisbet / McKirdy / Myko
Youan / Taveres /
Looks decent to me

30-01-2023, 02:05 PM
That would be a rediculous signing, he came off the bench yesterday so is still seen as part of the squad so would be strange for them to allow him to come here.

I would have thought they would loan him down south or even try and get a few for him.

Yeah I agree was surprised and I’m not convinced Celtic would even let him go. Probably been told to F Off when we asked lol

McGruber
30-01-2023, 02:08 PM

That's disappointing. Hopefully there's an alternative

30-01-2023, 02:12 PM

Pleased we’re not signing Findlay. Shame about the other two as they sounded decent I think.

30-01-2023, 02:12 PM
Leicester City bidding 15million for Harry Souttar. I think Dundee Utd would be due a few quid if it goes through?

30-01-2023, 02:14 PM
Leicester City bidding 15million for Harry Souttar. I think Dundee Utd would be due a few quid if it goes through?
Good player

McGruber
30-01-2023, 02:15 PM

Marshall / Johnson

Fish / Egan-Riley
Hanlon / A N Other
Stevenson / Cabreja

Campbell / Magennis
Jeggo / JDH / MacIntyre
Newell / Henderson

Nisbet / McKirdy / Myko
Youan / Taveres /

Need more.

1 experienced CH minimum, ideally 2 and midfielder.
When you consider Magennis can't stay fit, MacIntyre is a left back and Henderson adds no value. JDH somewhere between out of favour and missed most of the season injured. 1 midfielder minimum.

Johnson said at least a couple. Also quaity ready to go which isn't Egan-Riley's CV so there should be more to come

*Egan-Riley might prove to be a good signing and have quality but is not the type of experienced quality Johnson was adamant we would be in for.

30-01-2023, 02:16 PM
Hearts still have Midlothian though. Forever in their shadow

It should be Heart of West Lothian since a large number of their fans reside there.

30-01-2023, 02:19 PM

🤔😱🙅

30-01-2023, 02:20 PM

I mentioned the other day that turbull and maclaren would be the two ideal players who would flourish in this team. Would have been shocked if we got DT though.

30-01-2023, 02:22 PM
“The Evening News understands there are no immediate plans to add in the other areas of the park with Johnson keen to use youth players to supplement his squad.“

Latest from the EEN. Experienced defender still wanted but that aside seems we are relying on youth.

Souter96Mac
30-01-2023, 02:24 PM
“The Evening News understands there are no immediate plans to add in the other areas of the park with Johnson keen to use youth players to supplement his squad.“

Latest from the EEN. Experienced defender still wanted but that aside seems we are relying on youth.

Really hope this isn't true. Still need a creative forward thinking midfielder

30-01-2023, 02:24 PM
Pleased we’re not signing Findlay. Shame about the other two as they sounded decent I think.
And yet people were falling over to get Findlay on board, he's achieved the square root of f all since he left Killie.

30-01-2023, 02:26 PM

To go into rest of the season with 2 players on loan and Hanlon would be mental at centre-back.

30-01-2023, 02:30 PM

Happy there is finally some talk about trying to implement some of the younger guys into the first team. High hopes to Aitken, Laidlaw, O'Connor, Blaney, O.McIntyre with good reports on Rudi M, McAllister and others at that age group.

McGruber
30-01-2023, 02:31 PM

Nah, I don't believe that Johnson telling us there would be at least a couple ready to go first team quality players was just deflection when we were under the cosh.

Now.. where's that Director of football gone!...

JammyDoidger
30-01-2023, 02:32 PM
It's really looking like we are skint. Where is the money we were going to give Porto? And the wages for all the guys that have left during this window?

30-01-2023, 02:33 PM
[QUOTE=ShadesLongThrow;7260316]

Correct, one of the finest displays of total football i ever seen, in that second half, doon the slope, magic.

30-01-2023, 02:37 PM
It's really looking like we are skint. Where is the money we were going to give Porto? And the wages for all the guys that have left during this window?
Maybe waiting on a director of football. LJ might not be his/her cup of tea.Recruitment team the same. Why would we be splashing cash before that is up and running. We are not skint.

30-01-2023, 02:39 PM
Looking for just a CH doesn't seem like enough for me.

But if it means more game time for the boys coming through the academy, then I can live with it.

30-01-2023, 02:42 PM

That is really worrying imo.

I don’t want to sound negative but we can’t get carried away with the Aberdeen result.

We still need quality in this window in a couple of areas

ElginHibbie
30-01-2023, 02:44 PM

Feel like whoever is manager says the same towards the end of every window to lower expectations, will wait and see what happens in next 36 hours before I start worrying

30-01-2023, 02:44 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfers-the-state-of-play-before-deadline-day-bailey-wright-stuart-findlay-deji-oshilaja-francisco-ferro-outgoings-targets-4006815

Deji Oshilaja?

"Reports that Hibs have had a bid rejected for Burton Albion’s Deji Oshilaja are wide of the mark" - a bit ambiguous?

JammyDoidger
30-01-2023, 02:47 PM
Maybe waiting on a director of football. LJ might not be his/her cup of tea.Recruitment team the same. Why would we be splashing cash before that is up and running. We are not skint.

Don't need to sign someone on a 4 year deal but just add that extra experience on loan with a higher wage even. Can't just put the season on hold for a DOF that we haven't yet got in the door.

JammyDoidger
30-01-2023, 02:47 PM
That is really worrying imo.

I don’t want to sound negative but we can’t get carried away with the Aberdeen result.

We still need quality in this window in a couple of areas

30-01-2023, 02:48 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfers-the-state-of-play-before-deadline-day-bailey-wright-stuart-findlay-deji-oshilaja-francisco-ferro-outgoings-targets-4006815

Deji Oshilaja?

"Reports that Hibs have had a bid rejected for Burton Albion’s Deji Oshilaja are wide of the mark" - a bit ambiguous?

Yep what does that mean? We didn't bid, we may bid, we bid and it was accepted. As you say needs a bit clarification

30-01-2023, 02:49 PM

Deji Oshilaja?

Not ambiguous. Because it follows that up by saying Ferro is ALSO not an option.

We're not in for him.

SloopJB
30-01-2023, 02:54 PM
I'm really nervous about saying anything positive about the current team and club as a whole just now.

30-01-2023, 02:55 PM
I'm really nervous about saying anything positive about the current team and club as a whole just now.