View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread
01-02-2023, 08:29 AM
I'm fairly sanguine about the transfer window. No surprises at us being ineffective in getting our targets - nothing changes! Glad we didn't get the midfielder from Swindon though as it had injury disaster written all over it but and a big but, we should've been all out for a CB no matter the cost and an attacking midfielder. However, am I surprised? - nope! Ron seems to be a likeable character but I cannot stand his Hibs! Hopefully, LJ will start using our younger players, that would be a massive positive for me!
01-02-2023, 08:30 AM
We are weaker than before the window opened and then closed, but we were weak anyway.
We have no cover for left centre back, and he's playing with an injury, our keeper is one injury away from us playing a kid.
We are playing our 3rd and 4th choice centre halves.
Nisbet is injured, and we did sign a loan player, who knows how good he is?
MaGenniss is injured again, we needed another midfielder.
We would get by with everyone fit, but FFS we all know thats not happening at Easter Road..
I don’t disagree with this and when LJ said we will be stronger from the window than when we went into it I suspect was as much as a result of reducing the squad size and working with less players than necessarily signing top players. Of course we would like to do both.
As I said last night the business was done for last night not for the window
01-02-2023, 08:31 AM
Our midfield is awful.
I don't agree with that at all.
01-02-2023, 08:31 AM
I don’t disagree with this and when LJ said we will be stronger from the window than when we went into it I suspect was as much as a result of reducing the squad size and working with less players than necessarily signing top players. Of course we would like to do both.
As I said last night the business was done for last night not for the windowYou think we will sign a freebie?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
NGoloGrantie
01-02-2023, 08:32 AM
I don’t think we are finished with signings yet. I find it strange that we haven’t heard from hibs or Patrick McPartlin to confirm we are finished. I reckon there’s a free agent we have been after and will announce today. Complete guesswork but somehow I’m still hopeful [emoji28]
Svengali
01-02-2023, 08:32 AM
That's just not true though is it. It's quite a good standard for the league we are in.
I think our midfield is poor Hibernian Verse, for where we want to be and who we want to compete with. Comparing it to the rest, whilst I can understand what you’re saying, we need to be better than that.
I think players (like Newell) either go missing or are too inconsistent and it lacks depth.
Quite worrying our left side is the combined age of 71, when Stevenson & McGeady play.
01-02-2023, 08:40 AM
Got to hope this group can get us through the next 14 games.
One positive is it doesn't look like many of the clubs around us have strengthened significantly.
01-02-2023, 08:46 AM
You think we will sign a freebie?
Yeah I don’t think we are done yet
01-02-2023, 08:54 AM
Got to hope this group can get us through the next 14 games.
One positive is it doesn't look like many of the clubs around us have strengthened significantly.
But they dont have an injury list like ours to key players ,and st Mirren snd Livi have games in hand against us Nisbet injured last night and would be surprised if we don’t get further injuries it’s not ideal but we are where we are and have to get on with it and give it our best shot
01-02-2023, 09:01 AM
But they dont have an injury list like ours to key players ,and st Mirren snd Livi have games in hand against us Nisbet injured last night and would be surprised if we don’t get further injuries it’s not ideal but we are where we are and have to get on with it and give it our best shot
I totally agree Ronnie and I'm hopeful that we'll be picking up a free agent or two this week
Livi appear to be unchanged but St Mirren have lost a couple of first teasers so a crumb of comfort. Any injuries in the spine and we're in trouble
01-02-2023, 09:11 AM
I think our midfield is poor Hibernian Verse, for where we want to be and who we want to compete with. Comparing it to the rest, whilst I can understand what you’re saying, we need to be better than that.
I think players (like Newell) either go missing or are too inconsistent and it lacks depth.
Quite worrying our left side is the combined age of 71, when Stevenson & McGeady play.
Our midfield hasn't been the issue this season, our defence has and I'm starting to think it was down to Porteous swanning about as we've looked much more solid at centre back with Fish & Hanlon (Fish who was labelled not good enough and Hanlon who is past it).
Can you explain what you mean by "go missing" please?
The depth I can understand, but it doesn't make it poor. The only player in midfield around our position in the table that I'd take would be Baccus, the rest wouldn't get near the starting XI.
McGruber
01-02-2023, 09:31 AM
I don’t think we are finished with signings yet. I find it strange that we haven’t heard from hibs or Patrick McPartlin to confirm we are finished. I reckon there’s a free agent we have been after and will announce today. Complete guesswork but somehow I’m still hopeful [emoji28]
Hope so. Did we not pick up Jonathan Spector as a free agent centre back after the window couple years ago. We just need some cover.
Worth remembering Snodgrass was sat outside the Co-op with a 'free to a good home' sign for 3 or 4 weeks after the summer window. Players will be available
McGruber
01-02-2023, 09:36 AM
On a positive note, since the break, Youan has looked a different player. Not the finished article by any stretch but showing what you want to see - continual improvement. He is adapting to the game here where as some don't. Reminds of Boyle. We have the option and would like to see us take it, could be a very shrewd piece of business
01-02-2023, 09:37 AM
On a positive note, since the break, Youan has looked a different player. Not the finished article by any stretch but showing what you want to see - continual improvement. He is adapting to the game here where as some don't. Reminds of Boyle. We have the option and would like to see us take it, could be a very shrewd piece of business
I'm sure someone on here said the agreed fee in the loan deal is £750k. If that's true, I'm not sure I'd be paying that for him.
01-02-2023, 09:38 AM
That also relies on Youan wanting to stay.
01-02-2023, 09:39 AM
I'm someone on here said the agreed fee in the loan deal is £750k. I'm not sure I'd be paying that for him.
I would. I can already see him stretching and running rings around European defences :greengrin
Mainstandman
01-02-2023, 09:54 AM
As our previous defence has lost 1.7 goals a game, I don;t really lament their loss. current defence on 0.5 goals a game!
01-02-2023, 10:03 AM
As our previous defence has lost 1.7 goals a game, I don;t really lament their loss. current defence on 0.5 goals a game!
That’s all fine and well until the current defence get injuries.
NC1875
01-02-2023, 10:03 AM
No the only possible explanation is we are all being taken for mugs, or so people keep saying
I can understand if it was one window. But we’ve needed to strengthen in all areas for numerous windows now and haven’t.
You can’t keep making excuses for people running the club. It’s a shambles.
Glad you’re happy to see Hearts stroll to 3rd and the millions it brings while we seem happy to aim for top 6 like it’s some sort of achievement.
McGruber
01-02-2023, 10:09 AM
I'm sure someone on here said the agreed fee in the loan deal is £750k. If that's true, I'm not sure I'd be paying that for him.
£750K really! That's put a dampener on it
MKHIBEE
01-02-2023, 10:11 AM
I would. I can already see him stretching and running rings around European defences :greengrin
Is he leaving then?
01-02-2023, 10:15 AM
I can see two positives from this window - though time will tell if they are the start of a plan/a process or not.
1. If you look at the neighbours in EH11, it's not so long ago they had a bloated & underachieving squad, with no clear strategy, and guys like Damour and Malaury Martin clogging up their wage bill, offering nothing on the park. They took a window to perform a "Get Rid" surgery, without adding too much for the long haul, but they then got their boy Savage in as DoF, and, pains me to say it, since then they have tended to sign "winners".
The Jan 2023 window was one where we needed to get people out the building as top priority (and stop the drain on morale that comes with too many "losers" passing their time too-comfortably at HTC with no positive energy to bring to the party). You might think that's too harsh, too black & white (though I think it's a fair summary fwiw).
2. Lee Johnson called it (and imo he called it right) in the weeks before the window - I need 10 out, and even if I get one in, that might be enough for this window.
We are nowhere near being in a Good Place, but we are in a Better Place than we were on 1 Jan.
I'd have liked to have seen Henderson, Tavares and Cabraja go too, - but in saying that, if they are here til May, they'll get my full support to improve on their previous performances.
01-02-2023, 10:22 AM
£750K really! That's put a dampener on it
Surely not. I'd definitely take a punt on him at £250k or even £300k but he's never worth £750k. And I like him as a player, but he's hugely inconsistent.
#2 Double Tap
01-02-2023, 10:51 AM
I usually see the positives but having 3 recognised centre backs (one old and having injury issues) definately isn't reaching the level of what ifs
I still wouldn't be shocked to see us sign someone
When guys like u are concerned the rest of us should be terrified.
01-02-2023, 10:51 AM
Don’t think we can question the 750k if, as reported, we’ve built in a 7 figure option to buy for Melkerson. These amounts may be accurate but are insurance for the club loaning the player…..should they set the world alight!
badabing67
01-02-2023, 10:53 AM
The focus now turns to the appointment of the DoF. I have not seen a short list of candidates and heard very little from the club , other than the announcement we were getting one. This will be a crucial appointment we must get right
sahpaton
01-02-2023, 10:54 AM
Glad you’re happy to see Hearts stroll to 3rd and the millions it brings while we seem happy to aim for top 6 like it’s some sort of achievement.
No idea how you’ve got to that from what I said but fair enough
01-02-2023, 11:06 AM
The focus now turns to the appointment of the DoF. I have not seen a short list of candidates and heard very little from the club , other than the announcement we were getting one. This will be a crucial appointment we must get right
Not sure we'll ever see a shortlist. I'll be done quietly behind the scenes and probably be someone none us have heard of before.
01-02-2023, 11:07 AM
Why would you see a shortlist of candidates?
Are Hibs going to do a twitter poll?
01-02-2023, 11:10 AM
Surely not. I'd definitely take a punt on him at £250k or even £300k but he's never worth £750k. And I like him as a player, but he's hugely inconsistent.
I don't think he's been inconsistent- his performance levels have been much the same most weeks. I just think most of us believe he has potential to be much more productive considering the skill and pace he has.
01-02-2023, 11:12 AM
If he keeps developing, £750k could be a good price! He has the ability and is starting to improve his decision making. Speculate to accumulate :wink::greengrin
01-02-2023, 11:13 AM
If he keeps developing, £750k could be a good price! He has the ability and is starting to improve his decision making. Speculate to accumulate :wink::greengrin
Totally agree. There isn't a hope in hell that we could get a player like Youan in for 300k. Not even adjusting that figure for inflation would get you near what he could be worth in a few years.
Just_Jimmy
That’s all fine and well until the current defence get injuries.Or play someone decent.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
When you don’t have much squad depth you end up playing players regularly and without much rest.
Magennis- come back - injured
Nisbet - come back - injured
McGeady - wouldn’t be surprised if he’s injured next few weeks
Myko was playing every week and became injured.
I will be amazed if we don’t get any more injuries from now till end of the season and the same group of players won’t be able to cope.
01-02-2023, 11:15 AM
When you don’t have much squad depth you end up playing players regularly and without much rest.
I will be amazed if we don’t get any more injuries from now till end of the season and the same group of players won’t be able to cope.
Magennis played about 3 games and was injured, Nisbet was on the bench at the weekend, and McGeady has stayed fit since he came back and was taken off in the Aberdeen game.
01-02-2023, 11:16 AM
Every team will pick up injuries going by that. No one outside of Celtic (not even Rangers) have the amount of good first team players required to mix it up every week.
Hearts tried it on Saturday at Livi with 5 changes and paid the price. That's even with the Japanese Messi and Australian Ronaldo playing.
JamesHFC
01-02-2023, 11:24 AM
The cost of players is increasing heavily. 750k is a fair price imo, Melkersen didn't cost much less really.
01-02-2023, 11:38 AM
Our midfield hasn't been the issue this season, our defence has and I'm starting to think it was down to Porteous swanning about as we've looked much more solid at centre back with Fish & Hanlon (Fish who was labelled not good enough and Hanlon who is past it).
Can you explain what you mean by "go missing" please?
The depth I can understand, but it doesn't make it poor. The only player in midfield around our position in the table that I'd take would be Baccus, the rest wouldn't get near the starting XI.
You must be watching different games from me then. Everyone I talk to summarises the key problem as our midfield has zero creativity and offers zero protection to the defence. Obviously by using the term 'zero' I'm being confrontational, but it's the way that I see it.
In the vast majority of games, it's either we have loads of possession but do very little with it or we're totally over-run, which is when the "goes missing" term is mentioned. The only games when the midfield has been effective is when we're up against 10/9 men or the game against a very poor Aberdeen team, when we've used the extra space to our advantage.
01-02-2023, 11:45 AM
The Hearts DoF (or whatever they call him) was on the radio last night explaining the difficulty in getting players at our level because of Brexit - the English clubs who worked previously have picked up players from across the EU now can't, because of work permit criteria, and so everyone's competing for the same group of players, ace because of the money involved, Scottish clubs struggle to compete.
You only have to look at the competition we were facing from other clubs for our targets to see that it's an issue that we don't have the means to bankroll against.
Not making excuses, I think we should have brought more in, but I can see it's not easy.
Greenworld
01-02-2023, 12:10 PM
It never takes long for our fans to get back to complaining. Hibs should have won last night and that would have been a great result given the weather.
I though fish looked excellent in his proper position and beside hanlon looks a good partnership.
I like that we are playing a back 4 just now.
Cadden needs taken out of right back as he we is proving a weak link.
New striker arrives out of the blue and thank god.
We cannot just keep signing players remembering that mcguiness Boyle nisbet rocky will al be back at some point.
Midfield wise I think we look much better with jeggo and think it starting to look much better .
I'm giving the club a bit of slack we are apparently utterly crap but just 8 points behind hearts in Third would have and should have been 6 points but for corruption.
Let's get this Dof in pronto .
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
01-02-2023, 12:15 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-hints-that-hibs-could-dip-into-free-agent-market-to-bolster-squad-4009895
01-02-2023, 12:23 PM
Josh Mullin of Ayr United should be worth a look in the summer market, excellent young player
01-02-2023, 12:25 PM
Josh Mullin of Ayr United should be worth a look in the summer market, excellent young playerHe's 30?
Torto7
The Hearts DoF (or whatever they call him) was on the radio last night explaining the difficulty in getting players at our level because of Brexit - the English clubs who worked previously have picked up players from across the EU now can't, because of work permit criteria, and so everyone's competing for the same group of players, ace because of the money involved, Scottish clubs struggle to compete.
You only have to look at the competition we were facing from other clubs for our targets to see that it's an issue that we don't have the means to bankroll against.
Not making excuses, I think we should have brought more in, but I can see it's not easy.
Seems like pish to me. The English don't seem to be struggling to sign anyone from abroad. We've just done it ourselves.
Torto7
He's 30?
01-02-2023, 12:27 PM
Which makes it all the more vital that we develop our own players.
The difficulties are what they are and they are ones faced by all clubs outwith the ones who can afford to sign full internationals, which is about 70% of the clubs operating in the UK. Whatever the difficulties we can't put our current predicament simply down to them, the fact is our signing policy has resulted in the mess we are in. Come the summer we need at least 7 experienced .... decent .... ready to go players, and as I said on another thread one of them needs to be a 'wow I can't believe he's signed for us' type signing.
It's a big ask, but it's a situation of our own making and it can't be stressed enough how unforgiving the fans will be if we don't get this right in the summer.
As I type I can see my Hibs scarf from here and I can console myself with the fact that our colours are very very pretty :greengrin
01-02-2023, 12:27 PM
Seems like pish to me. The English don't seem to be struggling to sign anyone from abroad. We've just done it ourselves.
Maybe not the top premiership teams but the rest have definitely seen a shift in player signings from abroad.
01-02-2023, 12:28 PM
He's 30?
Wand wasn’t he just released by Livi?
01-02-2023, 12:32 PM
Wand wasn’t he just released by Livi?Yes
Spudster
01-02-2023, 12:40 PM
That's great news if the Hearts DOF is that inept. Different rules between Scotland and England regarding work permits for footballers. Much easier to get work permits in Scotland for young foreign players. Shown by the huge influx of random foreigners in the league this season, in the hope they perform to a level that gains a work permit down south and then sell them on to an English cub for serious money. Only issue is it means clubs take too many chances and get it wrong ie Bojang.
01-02-2023, 12:43 PM
That's great news if the Hearts DOF is that inept. Different rules between Scotland and England regarding work permits for footballers. Much easier to get work permits in Scotland for young foreign players. Shown by the huge influx of random foreigners in the league this season, in the hope they perform to a level that gains a work permit down south and then sell them on to an English cub for serious money. Only issue is it means clubs take too many chances and get it wrong ie Bojang.
If the English clubs cant get players in as easy from overseas, they will be competing with the same group of players we are from within the UK.
Silky
01-02-2023, 12:47 PM
Which makes it all the more vital that we develop our own players.
The difficulties are what they are and they are ones faced by all clubs outwith the ones who can afford to sign full internationals, which is about 70% of the clubs operating in the UK. Whatever the difficulties we can't put our current predicament simply down to them, the fact is our signing policy has resulted in the mess we are in. Come the summer we need at least 7 experienced .... decent .... ready to go players, and as I said on another thread one of them needs to be a 'wow I can't believe he's signed for us' type signing.
It's a big ask, but it's a situation of our own making and it can't be stressed enough how unforgiving the fans will be if we don't get this right in the summer.
As I type I can see my Hibs scarf from here and I can console myself with the fact that our colours are very very pretty :greengrin
I tend to agree, but I do wonder how we manage to develop our own if we constantly sign 6 our 7 ready to go players.
01-02-2023, 12:50 PM
He's 30?
Must be getting my Ayr players mixed up 😮😆👍
01-02-2023, 12:50 PM
Josh Mullin of Ayr United should be worth a look in the summer market, excellent young player
Maybe getting him mixed up with someone else? 30 and freed by Livi, just signed permanent for Ayr.
Spudster
01-02-2023, 12:55 PM
If the English clubs cant get players in as easy from overseas, they will be competing with the same group of players we are from within the UK.
Whilst not competing with us in the foreign market which they have limited access to.
01-02-2023, 01:09 PM
I tend to agree, but I do wonder how we manage to develop our own if we constantly sign 6 our 7 ready to go players.
You simply aren't giving your youngsters a fair shot if you stick them into a failing team and ask them to cover for the deficiencies of the more experienced players around them. The whole point of having a reasonably experienced team with a good sprinkling of decent players is that you can blood youngsters in an environment where they are surrounded by players who can help them, and yes cover for the mistakes they are bound to make in the beginning.
Chuck 3 guys out of the under 19 team into the first team all at once expecting them to make it a whole lot better and you are simply asking for trouble, one or two at a time with loads of help around them is the ideal scenario, anything other than that unless they are exceptionally talented and all you are doing is setting them up to fail. That's one of the reasons why this club needs to sign a decent number of 'ready to go' players. It will help our youngsters, not hinder them.
Percy Vere
01-02-2023, 01:24 PM
Please not his lordship Mr J Collins.
Think Park or someone with his sort of pedigree is required.
raeburnhibs
01-02-2023, 01:29 PM
Please not his lordship Mr J Collins.
Think Park or someone with his sort of pedigree is required.
John Collins yada yada yada. You are entitled to your opinion. have you ever met him? I've never found him anything other than polite and personable. JC V MS, I know who I'm siding with and it wasn't the one who's face was tripping him on the Hampden pitch in 2007
01-02-2023, 01:56 PM
It never takes long for our fans to get back to complaining. Hibs should have won last night and that would have been a great result given the weather.
I though fish looked excellent in his proper position and beside hanlon looks a good partnership.
I like that we are playing a back 4 just now.
Cadden needs taken out of right back as he we is proving a weak link.
New striker arrives out of the blue and thank god.
We cannot just keep signing players remembering that mcguiness Boyle nisbet rocky will al be back at some point.
Midfield wise I think we look much better with jeggo and think it starting to look much better .
I'm giving the club a bit of slack we are apparently utterly crap but just 8 points behind hearts in Third would have and should have been 6 points but for corruption.
Let's get this Dof in pronto .
Excellent post. The hysteria has been way OTT. Didn't realise how close a win that we were robbed of would have taken us to Hearts.
01-02-2023, 02:07 PM
John Collins yada yada yada. You are entitled to your opinion. have you ever met him? I've never found him anything other than polite and personable. JC V MS, I know who I'm siding with and it wasn't the one who's face was tripping him on the Hampden pitch in 2007
Where has John Collins succeeded at anything since he bolted from Hibs because he wasn't given the budget he wanted. His man management skills are at best suspect and I would imagine a DOF needs a fair bit of that.
As for Michael Stewart .... can you tell me any player who wouldn't be pissed off to see his team 4 - 1, could have been 5 - 1 up in a cup final with less than 15 minutes to go and he has to watch Shelton Martis come on instead of him ... nae wonder his face was tripping him, so far as I can see that was a deliberate slap in the face by JC and nothing more.
01-02-2023, 02:33 PM
There's no question that we should have signed at least one central defender, but the overall squad/development squad is still so bloated and/or will be when the loanees return that there is still such a lot of work to be done in getting rid of a lot of them that it is perhaps not surprising that we didn't make more signings.
We will never be told but we must have *****ed an incredible amount of cash on this exercise of sheer folly.
I think the damning thing for me is that not one of the development squad signings has looked of anything like the required standard, but more worryingly than that virtually all of those signed for the first team don't either.
That is a huge recruitment failure.
The no more than 2 teams in one season rule has done us up like a kipper here in not being able to move on a lot of these players like Delfierre, Hauge etc and yet again a rule put in place to mitigate against abuse by the richer clubs harms those further down the pyramid.
Mr Kensell has a long few months preparing to get rid off so many players at the end of the season, I suspect the DOF position won't be filled for a good while yet as most of these players will still need paid.
Willis1875
01-02-2023, 02:35 PM
Where has John Collins succeeded at anything since he bolted from Hibs because he wasn't given the budget he wanted. His man management skills are at best suspect and I would imagine a DOF needs a fair bit of that.
As for Michael Stewart .... can you tell me any player who wouldn't be pissed off to see his team 4 - 1, could have been 5 - 1 up in a cup final with less than 15 minutes to go and he has to watch Shelton Martis come on instead of him ... nae wonder his face was tripping him, so far as I can see that was a deliberate slap in the face by JC and nothing more.
He’s managed a 200kg deadlift at the gym
01-02-2023, 02:42 PM
It just feels like whenever we hit the transfer window we’ve ripped up the previous script and started again, which is another ongoing excuse to kick the can down the road and not address the glaring problems in our squad. It always seems to be some managerial reorganisation which needs to be given time to bed in before we fully address our squad.
At some point the management that is in place needs to take ownership of the state our playing squad is in and bin the never ending transition and patience spin.
01-02-2023, 02:44 PM
Were Hull City successful in their bid for Murray Aiken yesterday? I can’t find anything about this.
greenflyer
01-02-2023, 02:46 PM
[QUOTE=NAE NOOKIE;7264818]Where has John Collins succeeded at anything since he bolted from Hibs
In June 2014, Collins was appointed to the position of assistant manager at Celtic. He left the club at the end of the 2015–16 season, at the same time as Deila.
01-02-2023, 02:49 PM
There are far superior candidates out there than either of that pair.
01-02-2023, 03:11 PM
I'm not as downhearted about this transfer window as some are. We've addressed a real problem area with Jeggo. Brought in a versatile defender to bolster the back line and a forward who looks to be in the mould of Kukharevych. As far as January transfer windows go i think it's been OK.
We've also moved on a serious amount of sub standard squad players. Hopefully the planning has now started for the summer.
01-02-2023, 03:15 PM
It just feels like whenever we hit the transfer window we’ve ripped up the previous script and started again, which is another ongoing excuse to kick the can down the road and not address the glaring problems in our squad. It always seems to be some managerial reorganisation which needs to be given time to bed in before we fully address our squad.
At some point the management that is in place needs to take ownership of the state our playing squad is in and bin the never ending transition and patience spin.
I actually can’t believe the position were in at centre half. Having one experienced centre half (who has been suffering fitness wise and form wise all season) along with one young centre half and another young utility type player seems mental to me. We spoke about needing an experienced centre half on for the whole window, it’s crazy that we couldn’t/wouldn’t find one IMO.
I think Fish and Hanlon have looked pretty decent in the two games together but I’m not convinced its enough to get us through the season, especially with far tougher tests to come.
Basildon Hibs
01-02-2023, 03:20 PM
Our 'ready to go players' are usually pish, injured or both.
01-02-2023, 03:21 PM
I'm not as downhearted about this transfer window as some are. We've addressed a real problem area with Jeggo. Brought in a versatile defender to bolster the back line and a forward who looks to be in the mould of Kukharevych. As far as January transfer windows go i think it's been OK.
We've also moved on a serious amount of sub standard squad players. Hopefully the planning has now started for the summer.
I'm with you. I'm heartened by the fact Josh O'connor is getting a look in. We're supposed to be providing a pathway for our youngsters so let's do it.
I see little point in removing the bloat from the squad and then bloating it. If the right quality isn't available then go with a tight nit unit and give youth a chance.
Basildon Hibs
01-02-2023, 03:25 PM
I'm with you. I'm heartened by the fact Josh O'connor is getting a look in. We're supposed to be providing a pathway for our youngsters so let's do it.
I see little point in removing the bloat from the squad and then bloating it. If the right quality isn't available then go with a tight nit unit and give youth a chance.
Still never addressed the 'soft' midfield, again .. 🙄
drumatic44
01-02-2023, 03:36 PM
How about Pat Nevin ? plenty of admin exoerience at Motherwell, lives in Duns , not that far from East Mains. Good guy, worth a
shout !!.
Crunchie
01-02-2023, 03:51 PM
His man management skills gave us a memorable day at Hampden, the likes of which we can only dream of again.
He did absolutely NOTHING wrong that day. I would welcome him back to ER with open arms, his knowledge of the game would surpass most.
01-02-2023, 03:58 PM
His man management skills gave us a memorable day at Hampden, the likes of which we can only dream of again.
He did absolutely NOTHING wrong that day. I would welcome him back to ER with open arms, his knowledge of the game would surpass most.
I would remember the semi final as well, vs St J at Tynecastle - a tonne of pressure riding on that game, into extra time, and his team selection and tactics got the win.
I was one of the (small number of thousands) who went to both the Scottish Cup semi & the replay vs Dunfermline.
I frankly didn't care then (and still don't care now) if players didn't feel they were best pals with their manager.
They had a shot at immortality (the cup double07) and blew it.
Greenworld
01-02-2023, 04:10 PM
How about Pat Nevin ? plenty of admin exoerience at Motherwell, lives in Duns , not that far from East Mains. Good guy, worth a
shout !!.Is it a clerical assistant were after
hibby rae
01-02-2023, 04:12 PM
shout !!.
Pat's living the dream getting paid travelling around Europe to go to games. He's not got any interest in going back into club roles.
01-02-2023, 04:15 PM
Pat's living the dream getting paid travelling around Europe to go to games. He's not got any interest in going back into club roles.
Any way we could change your mind Pat?
01-02-2023, 04:15 PM
Get a real job.
Crunchie
01-02-2023, 04:16 PM
I would remember the semi final as well, vs St J at Tynecastle - a tonne of pressure riding on that game, into extra time, and his team selection and tactics got the win.
I was one of the (small number of thousands) who went to both the Scottish Cup semi & the replay vs Dunfermline.
I frankly didn't care then (and still don't care now) if players didn't feel they were best pals with their manager.
As you say a chance of immortality and their heads were up their own *****, I was there that night too and we barely got out of 3rd gear, as poor as I've seen us play there and there's been some horror shows as you know.
01-02-2023, 04:19 PM
As you say a chance of immortality and their heads were up their own *****, I was there that night too and we barely got out of 3rd gear, as poor as I've seen us play there and there's been some horror shows as you know.
Not sure playing Damon Gray instead of Fletcher helped. Was a clear red ignored by Thompson in the first game which would have helped. Not sure many worse feelings coming out of Hampden after the replay
01-02-2023, 04:19 PM
Still never addressed the 'soft' midfield, again .. 🙄
You really saying Jimmy Jeggo is soft?:confused:
Donegal Hibby
01-02-2023, 04:24 PM
Was reading this article in the EEN and one of the three players I thought mighten be a bad shout as cover defensively wise for us till the end of the season , played for us before too.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/three-free-agent-defenders-hibs-could-target-ex-norwich-stalwart-scottish-cup-winner-former-manchester-united-man-4010081
Mcbizz1998
01-02-2023, 04:51 PM
Was reading this article in the EEN and one of the three players I thought mighten be a bad shout as cover defensively wise for us till the end of the season , played for us before too.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/three-free-agent-defenders-hibs-could-target-ex-norwich-stalwart-scottish-cup-winner-former-manchester-united-man-4010081
Gunnarsson would do nicely.
01-02-2023, 04:58 PM
Klose would do, great experience
01-02-2023, 05:10 PM
Gunnarsson would do nicely.I still don't know why we didn't sign Gunnarsson permanently. Looked a player and a goal threat too.
I'd definitely consider taking him as a free agent.
Potty78
01-02-2023, 05:14 PM
Was at both games too, that's defo in the top 3 of disappointing hampden trips for me only behind Ayr and (canny mind the other one🙈)no sure we even created that many chances in the replay?
raeburnhibs
01-02-2023, 05:57 PM
Absolutely, 100%
01-02-2023, 09:19 PM
You really saying Jimmy Jeggo is soft?:confused:
Think he is a good signing. Thought he played well yesterday until he was strangely subbed.
01-02-2023, 09:21 PM
Think he is a good signing. Thought he played well yesterday until he was strangely subbed.
I think he looks very average. His use of the ball is poor. What I will say about him is he knows when to stop a counter attack and take a yellow card for the team. Been a while since we've had a defensive mid like that.
01-02-2023, 09:27 PM
I think he looks very average. His use of the ball is poor. What I will say about him is he knows when to stop a counter attack and take a yellow card for the team. Been a while since we've had a defensive mid like that.
Looking at Jeggo previous games he seems to get yellow cards very regularly.
He will definitely end up suspended at some point.
Crunchie
01-02-2023, 09:29 PM
I think he looks anything but very average, time will tell.
01-02-2023, 09:33 PM
How good he is remains to be seen but I’ve been impressed by his start and more than anything it is a relief that Hibs seem to have recruited exactly what we needed in there. Good age, good experience, good set of attributes to compliment what we already had.
01-02-2023, 09:33 PM
I wouldn’t be surprised if the new d.o.f has already been decided and he is assessing the club , squad etc.. If not then it’s something we need to be looking to finalise asap. Leaving that appointment too late will hinder us come the summer imo
HarpOnHibee
01-02-2023, 09:35 PM
Jeggo's slotted in well considering he was thrown right in there with no previous experience of the game in Scotland. I reckon he'll get better as he has more time to adjust.
01-02-2023, 09:37 PM
I wouldn’t be surprised if the new d.o.f has already been decided and he is assessing the club , squad etc.. If not then it’s something we need to be looking to finalise asap. Leaving that appointment too late will hinder us come the summer imo
Plenty time it’s only start of Feb
01-02-2023, 09:40 PM
Plenty time it’s only start of Feb
I know , buy we need to be approaching the end of this season with a clear vision and plan. Need to know who goes , and have the right players to come in lined up early on. We cant afford to be fannying about into august still looking for signings.
01-02-2023, 09:44 PM
I know , buy we need to be approaching the end of this season with a clear vision and plan. Need to know who goes , and have the right players to come in lined up early on. We cant afford to be fannying about into august still looking for signings.
Totally agree mate and think we will as still a lot of time to work that through in reality. DOF will be in place long before end of season
01-02-2023, 10:27 PM
I concur.
02-02-2023, 12:11 AM
[QUOTE=NAE NOOKIE;7264818]Where has John Collins succeeded at anything since he bolted from Hibs
In June 2014, Collins was appointed to the position of assistant manager at Celtic. He left the club at the end of the 2015–16 season, at the same time as Deila.
Ach well there you go then, about a year as assistant manager 8 years ago at a club with a budget 10 x that of all but one club. If that doesn't qualify him to be our director of football I don't know what does.
02-02-2023, 06:06 AM
Think his positional play looks good and definitely looks like a very good communicator. Looks to me and appreciate very early days like a good acquisition who does the ugly things well. The sort of experience we need to play that role.
02-02-2023, 06:13 AM
He got an assist with an amazing long taking pass forward to Youan on Tuesday! 😁
02-02-2023, 07:21 AM
Don’t believe we are anywhere close to deciding on a DoF.
Sioux
02-02-2023, 07:54 AM
Don’t believe we are anywhere close to deciding on a DoF.
Based on what?
Crunchie
02-02-2023, 08:00 AM
Based on what?
His inside knowledge of the club, or just another unjustified dig.
02-02-2023, 08:13 AM
His inside knowledge of the club, or just another unjustified dig.
Even if it was pure speculation on my point, which it isn’t, how you could view my comment as just another unjustified dig I’ll never know.
Crunchie
02-02-2023, 08:20 AM
Even if it was pure speculation on my point, which it isn’t, how you could view my comment as just another unjustified dig I’ll never know.
If you're not prone to having digs at the club I apologise, but how can you know we're not close to appointing a DOF.
02-02-2023, 08:29 AM
If you're not prone to having digs at the club I apologise, but how can you know we're not close to appointing a DOF.
I spoke to BK midway through January and he told me it wouldn’t be dealt with for some while at least until the window was shut.
‘Not that we’ve not had quality applicants’
Crunchie
02-02-2023, 08:30 AM
I spoke to BK midway through January and he told me it wouldn’t be dealt with for some while at least until the window was shut.
‘Not that we’ve not had quality applicants’
The window is now shut :greengrin
02-02-2023, 10:06 AM
Ross County have just announced a loan signing from Wigan, this was obviously done on Tuesday but for some reason have just got round to announcing it today.
02-02-2023, 10:11 AM
That's us done I think.