View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

Bridge hibs
26-11-2022, 04:00 PM
Some Hibs fan he's turned out to be. :rolleyes:Hibs fan or not, he obviously thinks he can cut it at a higher level and be financially secure, he is a young lad wanting to better himself and test himself away from Scotland (most likely)

26-11-2022, 04:00 PM
Can’t until we sign a 18 year old centre-back on loan from Fleetwood Town to replace him.

26-11-2022, 04:03 PM
I’m going to guess that the people who moaned the loudest about him all season will be be the ones who moan loudest about him now moving on.

Bridge hibs
26-11-2022, 04:07 PM
I’m going to guess that the people who moaned the loudest about him all season will be be the ones who moan loudest about him now moving on.Im not believing it until that poster James comes on with his egg timer smiley thingy 😀

26-11-2022, 04:07 PM
I can however expect him to sign a new deal with a release clause to ensure the club gets something worthwhile for his development.

Bye Ryan.

I understand but maybe Ryan's just wants to move in January and a new contract means more pressure on fans wanting to stay etc also would mean teams paying more for him.

He should of been sold in the summer and I wish him all the best in the future.

We have seen some good moments in his Hibs Career but also some bad moments and for me this season he has been a liability for us at times so the time is right to move on.

Will be interesting to see what teams actually want him and how he will progress outside of Scotland.

26-11-2022, 04:09 PM
That’s football nowadays unfortunately disappointing to lose RP
But wish him good luck in his career
Hope he goes south or Abroad and not to ugly sisters

26-11-2022, 04:10 PM
Dylan signed for Forrest Green

26-11-2022, 04:11 PM
Some Hibs fan he's turned out to be. :rolleyes:

Could have done what McGinn and Cummings did.

Is it too spiteful to suggest he shouldn’t play?

26-11-2022, 04:14 PM
I understand but maybe Ryan's just wants to move in January and a new contract means more pressure on fans wanting to stay etc also would mean teams paying more for him.

He should of been sold in the summer and I wish him all the best in the future.

We have seen some good moments in his Hibs Career but also some bad moments and for me this season he has been a liability for us at times so the time is right to move on.

Will be interesting to see what teams actually want him and how he will progress outside of Scotland.

Aye the whole point is a supposed die hard Hibs fan playing for the club could sign a wee extension with a release clause to ensure his favourite team and employers who developed him get something instead of being sold for absolute peanuts. He still could easily be sold in January in that case.

Poor from him and I'd like to see him dropped. He's been just as culpable as the rest of the team in the recent run.

LewysGot2
26-11-2022, 04:15 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-look-to-cash-in-on-ryan-porteous-after-defender-tells-club-he-wont-sign-new-deal-3932726

Porteous being sold in January.

Colour me shocked :wink:

Will Fish looks a ready made replacement in the short term.

26-11-2022, 04:19 PM
Aye the whole point is a supposed die hard Hibs fan playing for the club could sign a wee extension with a release clause to ensure his favourite team and employers who developed him get something instead of being sold for absolute peanuts. He still could easily be sold in January in that case.

Poor from him and I'd like to see him dropped. He's been just as culpable as the rest of the team in the recent run.

No different to Riordan. I’m sure I even remember Riordan willing to sign a pre contract at a certain date that meant Celtc had less compensation to pay before the clubs came to an agreement on compensation.

26-11-2022, 04:21 PM
Not surprised at all by that news. He’s never been interested in signing a new deal.

Bridge hibs
26-11-2022, 04:22 PM

Poor from him and I'd like to see him dropped. He's been just as culpable as the rest of the team in the recent run.Or perhaps there are interested clubs who are only willing to pay a certain amount for him due to his current contract status and may pull out if the fee goes up, therefore scuppering his move

26-11-2022, 04:25 PM
Or perhaps there are interested clubs who are only willing to pay a certain amount for him due to his current contract status and may pull out if the fee goes up, therefore scuppering his move

Then that makes it worse.

Some Hibs fan that.

CL0762
26-11-2022, 04:25 PM

Nope. Why should we continue to develop a player who’ll be leaving in the summer which will undoubtedly play on his mind.

Reserves or sell IMO.

Fuzzywuzzy
26-11-2022, 04:27 PM
It will be embarrassing if he doesn't leave in January and left with a guy that doesn't want to be here and has not been that great this season at all.

WestStandWillie
Porto snubbing new deal isn’t earth shattering. Think it was a cert when he was dragging his heels a couple of months ago.

His heart’s no been in it lately. Sloppy mistakes, poor defending and possibly inflated ego after that Scotland cap.

When he’s on his game he’s superb but that’s no been there in recent times and we’ve struggled as such.

Hoped he’d sign a new deal and get us some decent money but alas he was gonna run his contract down. Shame that.

Not really unexpected but someone like Ryan should've been offered a new deal long before the likes of Newell, JDH and Campbell, the club go their priorities all wrong here.

Donegal Hibby
Hibs fan or not, he obviously thinks he can cut it at a higher level and be financially secure, he is a young lad wanting to better himself and test himself away from Scotland (most likely)

As soon as it becomes your job , you don’t. Make decisions as a fan

You can't expect him to stay at Hibs forever when he obviously have ambitions and can't see celtic or rangers coming for him.
He could have signed a year deal and moved in summer which would have helped Hibs get a decent price for him , now we are looking at getting much less for him than we should , think we all knew he was going to do this and shows he's not really that bothered about the club he's suppose to support losing money. He's went away down in my estimation of him and sooner he's away now the happier I will be . My own personal opinion of him the last couple of weeks is he's been playing s***e anyhow.

26-11-2022, 04:29 PM
Maybe we can use the fee we get for the last 6 months of Porteous’ contract to pay off any of the long term deals we gave to Doidge, Newell, Campbell, Henderson or JDH.

26-11-2022, 04:30 PM
He could have signed a year deal and moved in summer which would have helped Hibs get a decent price for him , now we are looking at getting much less for him than we should , think we all knew he was going to do this and shows he's not really that bothered about the club he's suppose to support losing money. He's went away down in my estimation of him and sooner he's away now the happier I will be . My own personal opinion of him the last couple of weeks is he's been playing s***e anyhow.

He should be looking after himself. I’m sure he would have signed a contract a couple of years ago - but we probably offered him nothing at that time when he wanted it

26-11-2022, 04:32 PM

What did mcginn do? He didn't sign a new deal.

26-11-2022, 04:34 PM
Some Hibs fan he's turned out to be. :rolleyes:

And his agent!

Scotty Leither
26-11-2022, 04:38 PM
Celtic will pick him up for £100k or so, just because they can. He’ll get an easier time from refs if he goes to them as well.

****ing dispiriting time to be a Hibs supporter just now. If we lose the first two games back after the break I can see Johnson being mutually consented and Kean getting the gig to the end of the season with a brief to keep us up.

The untouchable Head of Recruitment will not be going anywhere, though, whatever happens.

26-11-2022, 04:45 PM
Hounded out by the media. I wish him well
He’s been responsible for a lot of it himself though.

GreenGray
26-11-2022, 04:45 PM
Porteous should have been offered a new contract years ago, another **** up by the ckub

26-11-2022, 04:46 PM
What did mcginn do? He didn't sign a new deal.

Did he not sign a new deal in his last season with us?

26-11-2022, 04:47 PM
Porteous should have been offered a new contract years ago, another **** up by the ckub

Why? You don’t often offer a player a new deal when they’re only 2 years in to a 5 year deal.

26-11-2022, 04:47 PM
Imagine wanting the best financial deal for yourself and your family at the expense of a corporation during a recession.

Football isn't immune to the failings of capitalism. Get over it.

LewysGot2
26-11-2022, 04:49 PM
And his agent!

Who’s the agent?

26-11-2022, 04:50 PM
Maybe we can use the fee we get for the last 6 months of Porteous’ contract to pay off any of the long term deals we gave to Doidge, Newell, Campbell, Henderson or JDH.

26-11-2022, 04:50 PM
Can't blame him. Hounded by Scottish media and Scottish refs. Hope he doesn't go west. He will turn out to be very very good player who will get a heap of caps after he leaves hibs

26-11-2022, 04:51 PM
Who’s the agent?

https://www.77sportsmanagement.com/about/

GreenGray
26-11-2022, 04:52 PM
Why? You don’t often offer a player a new deal when they’re only 2 years in to a 5 year deal.

You do when it’s clear they have the talent. Johnson has said as much himself.

Not too bothered by this news. I'd have dropped him recently.

Mcbizz1998
Imagine wanting the best financial deal for yourself and your family at the expense of a corporation during a recession.

But he can sign a new contract and still do that.

You do when it’s clear they have the talent. Johnson has said as much himself.

Johnson said after the game today that we were two and a half years too late with the offer.

26-11-2022, 04:53 PM
Ron and Ian will have some top kid from states lined up

Nobody is blaming him for leaving the club, but he could have done so by signing a new deal and the club receiving a fee.

LewysGot2

Ah, I knew he was mentoring him and Fraser Murray but didn’t think he was with them as agents.

LewysGot2
26-11-2022, 04:55 PM
Ron and Ian will have some top kid from states lined up

Aw nut, dinnae joke…

26-11-2022, 04:55 PM
Nobody is blaming him for leaving the club, but he could have done so by signing a new deal and the club receiving a fee.

He’d be reliant on a club meeting our valuation as well though.

I don’t think there are many players in his position who would be signing a deal that might limit his future choices.

26-11-2022, 04:56 PM
Ah, I knew he was mentoring him and Fraser Murray but didn’t think he was with them as agents.

I don't think Andy himself does much if anything, it'll be the two names mentioned on the site.

GreenGray
26-11-2022, 04:57 PM

There’s no guarantee a club would come in for him though? It’s a short career can’t knock him for it really.

26-11-2022, 05:08 PM
Did he not sign a new deal in his last season with us?

Nope. He didn't. Which potentially cost us millions.

26-11-2022, 05:24 PM
He’d be reliant on a club meeting our valuation as well though.

I don’t think there are many players in his position who would be signing a deal that might limit his future choices.

Not really, it would be a gentleman’s agreement that the club would entertain bids and not hold him back.

We did it with Cummings.

26-11-2022, 05:25 PM
Nope. He didn't. Which potentially cost us millions.

We still bagged £3m for him. If we get a tenth of that for Porteous I’d be very surprised.

26-11-2022, 05:26 PM
There’s no guarantee a club would come in for him though? It’s a short career can’t knock him for it really.

No you can’t in fairness. I’m just bitter that he’s been quite **** this season and will leave us for nothing.

Fuzzywuzzy
26-11-2022, 05:42 PM

Gawain?? Is there a roundtable kicking about? Sounds like a rees-mogg sprog

Hibiza
26-11-2022, 05:45 PM
We are just a shambles.

thebausburst
26-11-2022, 07:06 PM
Like some others I’m dissapointed but on the other hand his form has been very inconsistent at times, driving and going forward he can look great at times, but then he throws himself down a lot trying to win fouls and has been at fault for some poor goals from crosses / poor marking. LJ badly needs to address the softness that’s crept back in again need to get stuck in and do the basics defensively, 4-4-2 with 2 up top and score some goals!

26-11-2022, 07:25 PM
Hibs will need to be very careful in January and bring in quality.

Losing Boyle and Porteous is a huge blow in terms of ability, confidence and charisma.

They need replaced

Dmas
26-11-2022, 07:46 PM
Hibs will need to be very careful in January and bring in quality.

Losing Boyle and Porteous is a huge blow in terms of ability, confidence and charisma.

They need replaced

Porto won’t be as big a miss as first thought, Rocky is a better option at this moment in time, I’d rather we made efforts to sort out the midfield used Hanlon Rocky fish and the young guys for the season and waited till summer to replace Porto and someone else in to replace Hanlon

26-11-2022, 08:20 PM
Porto won’t be as big a miss as first thought, Rocky is a better option at this moment in time, I’d rather we made efforts to sort out the midfield used Hanlon Rocky fish and the young guys for the season and waited till summer to replace Porto and someone else in to replace Hanlon

EGL2000
26-11-2022, 11:32 PM
Personally think getting rid is a move for both parties.

McGruber
27-11-2022, 09:38 AM
Celtic will pick him up for £100k or so, just because they can. He’ll get an easier time from refs if he goes to them as well.

****ing dispiriting time to be a Hibs supporter just now. If we lose the first two games back after the break I can see Johnson being mutually consented and Kean getting the gig to the end of the season with a brief to keep us up.

The untouchable Head of Recruitment will not be going anywhere, though, whatever happens.

The most depressing thing there is Kean being in interim charge!

27-11-2022, 09:49 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/josh-doig-sparks-transfer-bidding-28594171

Hibiza
27-11-2022, 03:01 PM
Like some others I’m dissapointed but on the other hand his form has been very inconsistent at times, driving and going forward he can look great at times, but then he throws himself down a lot trying to win fouls and has been at fault for some poor goals from crosses / poor marking. LJ badly needs to address the softness that’s crept back in again need to get stuck in and do the basics defensively, 4-4-2 with 2 up top and score some goals!

LJ (The Storyteller) and his employers , badly need to address themselves.

Up-the-slope
27-11-2022, 04:27 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/josh-doig-sparks-transfer-bidding-28594171

seems to have made a real impression and continued to develop - his club looked like it was going to do ok early in season but fell away pretty quickly.

Be interesting to see what fee if / when he does move - or if some cash rich Championship / EPL team bids it up to silly levels (EPL clubs seem willing to punt big on developing potential 18-21 year olds knowing that one out of 5 making it big is probably still cheaper than buying finished product) For Josh's development staying abroad probably better for him

27-11-2022, 05:45 PM
i hope verona don't take up Bologna's offer as it says they(Bologna) would want to try do a player swap + cash, we will lose out if the cash offer is reduced because a player is getting chucked in the mix as well

big gogs
27-11-2022, 06:07 PM
i hope verona don't take up Bologna's offer as it says they(Bologna) would want to try do a player swap + cash, we will lose out if the cash offer is reduced because a player is getting chucked in the mix as well
I may be wrong here,is not the value of the 2 players,and not the cash offer.

Paulie Walnuts
27-11-2022, 06:26 PM

I’m fairly certain the player used in the swap gets ‘valued’ and we’d still get our %.

May21/05/216
27-11-2022, 07:35 PM
I've been told that leeds are trying sign mcginn

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Hibiza
27-11-2022, 07:39 PM
The most depressing thing there is Kean being in interim charge!

Can there be anything more depressing than this ?

27-11-2022, 07:40 PM
I've been told that leeds are trying sign mcginn

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

His style would fit that team

27-11-2022, 07:43 PM
The day he is starting games for us on a consistent basis we'll be playing championship football and I honestly believe he'd struggle at the level as well.

he has played 226 minutes of football for us, mental to judge him as not good enough based on that.

27-11-2022, 10:00 PM
Can there be anything more depressing than this ?

Kean stepping aside from the interim role to allow Butcher to return on a permanent contract?

28-11-2022, 05:44 AM
LJ (The Storyteller) and his employers , badly need to address themselves.

What do you mean?

28-11-2022, 06:48 AM
he has played 226 minutes of football for us, mental to judge him as not good enough based on that.

100%

I actually think despite him playing very little minutes and often at times we’re chasing a game he’s created a decent amount of chances.

More than our other players (per minutes) in those positions with the exception of Boyle anyway.

28-11-2022, 07:35 AM
Boyle injured and if Porto goes that’s 2 of our top scorers missing.

The lack of goals is seriously worrying.

We can dominate games but we will have big issues if we can’t score more goals / get someone in who can score regularly.

Souter96Mac
28-11-2022, 07:54 AM
Could/needs to be one of our most important transfer windows. Have to get it right or we could be in real trouble

28-11-2022, 11:30 AM
I’m fairly certain the player used in the swap gets ‘valued’ and we’d still get our %.

Yep there would be a value attached to the other player

28-11-2022, 03:33 PM
Flo signs for Huddersfield

28-11-2022, 03:39 PM

I’m sure their manager was the one that recommended him to Lennon when we signed him.

28-11-2022, 03:47 PM

He has some agent.

Never realised how poor Huddersfield were doing this season though

28-11-2022, 04:02 PM
Think Hibs and Flo were a good match but agent and Money played part maybe he can knuckle down and kenny Miller gets him going

28-11-2022, 04:38 PM
I’m sure their manager was the one that recommended him to Lennon when we signed him.

He was

28-11-2022, 04:47 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/the-12-hibs-players-on-expiring-contracts-including-several-new-signings-and-easter-road-hero-3840713

Put Blaney and Josh O’Connor out on loan for one year - if Josh actually signs as he could easily move to another club - and the other ten I’d not lose any sleep over.

GreenGray
28-11-2022, 04:55 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/the-12-hibs-players-on-expiring-contracts-including-several-new-signings-and-easter-road-hero-3840713

Put Blaney and Josh O’Connor out on loan for one year - if Josh actually signs as he could easily move to another club - and the other ten I’d not lose any sleep over.

I always thought McGeady had a two year deal for some reason.

Is Laidlaw not missing from that list too?

If we lose Laidlaw and O’Connor after letting Young go to rangers last year because the club thought he wasn’t as good as the other two that would be a real shambles.

28-11-2022, 05:00 PM

That’s the only two I’d give new deals too as well. There’s an argument Stevenson could be a useful backup but it’s time to replace him as backup with Macintyre. Same with McGregor and promoting one of the U19 CB’s to 3rd or 4th choice.

Dmas
28-11-2022, 05:01 PM

If we lose Laidlaw and O’Connor after letting Young go to rangers last year because the club thought he wasn’t as good as the other two that would be a real shambles.

They’ll be coming up for 19 by the time contracts are up and have had no first team games under there belt maybe there just not good enough?

28-11-2022, 05:02 PM

I thought Laidlaw was also out of contract but with him not featuring at all in first team squads perhaps the EEN and/or LJ doesn’t see as a potential first team squad member

28-11-2022, 05:04 PM

If the first team players there, the only one I’d be fussed about keeping would be Kukharevych but that’s probably unlikely. The rest have contributed nothing (or very little at a push) this season.

Have a feeling it may finally be time up for Lewis cone the end of this season.

Paulie Walnuts
28-11-2022, 05:35 PM
If the first team players there, the only one I’d be fussed about keeping would be Kukharevych but that’s probably unlikely. The rest have contributed nothing (or very little at a push) this season.

Have a feeling it may finally be time up for Lewis cone the end of this season.

I’d be very surprised if Lewis is kept on. One of my favourite ever Hibs players but if he gets a new contract then the club is all over the shop.

28-11-2022, 05:40 PM
I’d be very surprised if Lewis is kept on. One of my favourite ever Hibs players but if he gets a new contract then the club is all over the shop.

He'll be cheap, is experienced, still fit, rarely injured and has a great attitude. I'd say with the volume of transfers both in and out that are required for this squad over the next couple of transfer windows that it might be advantageous to keep Stevenson on as a squad player.

28-11-2022, 05:46 PM
He is perfect for a back up. I'd hope he got a further year. The problem is that everyone we bring in to replace him is not as good as Lewis even at his advanced age. Cabraja is not the answer imo and seems similar to Doig in that he is better going forward but positionally poor at the back. Doig improved that and will keep improving Cabraja is probably as good as he is going to get

28-11-2022, 05:54 PM
He'll be cheap, is experienced, still fit, rarely injured and has a great attitude. I'd say with the volume of transfers both in and out that are required for this squad over the next couple of transfer windows that it might be advantageous to keep Stevenson on as a squad player.

I think there is a valid argument to keep him but, IMO, you just keep coming back to the same issue if you continue to retain him on that basis.

I think Cabraja is a better left back (even if his form has dipped lately) and by next season we need to be looking at promoting someone like McIntyre. Otherwise it’s difficult to see where there is ever going to be a pathway for some of the young players.

With the number of long contracts we’ve handed out, the only way we might be able to refresh the squad properly will be to get rid of those not in contract come the end of the season.

28-11-2022, 05:57 PM
I think there is a valid argument to keep him but, IMO, you just keep coming back to the same issue if you continue to retain him on that basis.

I think Cabraja is a better left back (even if his form has dipped lately) and by next season we need to be looking at promoting someone like McIntyre. Otherwise it’s difficult to see where there is ever going to be a pathway for some of the young players.

With the number of long contracts we’ve handed out, the only way we might be able to refresh the squad properly will be to get rid of those not in contract come the end of the season.

Yup, see your point of view too. Unsure about Cabraja, think he's been poor since his first few games but definitely want more of the young team to be given chances and I like to look of O.McIntrye. I think Stevenson has performed well whenever he has been in a midfield role over the past season or so which is where I would allocate him as a squad player for the rest of the season and next year, if he's kept on.

28-11-2022, 06:22 PM
Lewis Stevenson will be 25 in January according to the EEN.

GreenGray
28-11-2022, 06:52 PM
They’ll be coming up for 19 by the time contracts are up and have had no first team games under there belt maybe there just not good enough?

It was just in the summer they were demmed good enough though? What’s changed since then? They’ve both looked good in the UEFA youth games I’ve watched

28-11-2022, 07:06 PM
That’s the only two I’d give new deals too as well. There’s an argument Stevenson could be a useful backup but it’s time to replace him as backup with Macintyre. Same with McGregor and promoting one of the U19 CB’s to 3rd or 4th choice.

I think Steveson was doing his badges, possibly a deal similar to Daz and have him as a player/dev coach.

Dmas
28-11-2022, 07:29 PM
It was just in the summer they were demmed good enough though? What’s changed since then? They’ve both looked good in the UEFA youth games I’ve watched

I’ve not seen them at all, it just seems strange to me that with all the goal scoring issues and injury problems these two guys haven’t came close to a sniff and they have been allowed to get so close to being free agents, it’s not mismanagement it just comes across like they might not be fancied

28-11-2022, 08:15 PM
Mental the amount out of contract and how little we’d care about losing any of them.

O’Connor and Blaney I’d keep based on reputation and potential.

McGeady I think will be quality if we can get him on the pitch. Huge if though. Depends if he features the rest of the season and if how he players.

Kuharevych I’d keep but I’d imagine hugely unlikely.

Youan has been the most disappointing for me, I genuinely thought he’d be brilliant but hasn’t even came close to it. I do find it weird Johnson said he’d keep using him as a 9 and make him learn the role but hardly played him there since.

Dazzjw1875
29-11-2022, 05:43 AM
Unfortunately we're not in a position to dish out new contracts on a sentimental basis. I wouldn't be to bothered loosing any apart from Myka but he will go back to his club after loan. We need a major clear out and rebuild but ofcourse the recruitment can't have another horrific window..

29-11-2022, 06:26 AM
Would be cheap and it’ll no doubt attract ‘not good enough’ comments but I’d be going for Tiffoney from Patrick Thistle to cover for Boyle. Always impressed me, great talent in the wrong league, could easily step up. Only early 20’s, loads of games in the bank, could be coached and developed. A real bums off seat player too, gives his all.

Paulie Walnuts
29-11-2022, 06:30 AM
Would be cheap and it’ll no doubt attract ‘not good enough’ comments but I’d be going for Tiffoney from Patrick Thistle to cover for Boyle. Always impressed me, great talent in the wrong league, could easily step up. Only early 20’s, loads of games in the bank, could be coached and developed. A real bums off seat player too, gives his all.

Is he not a bit part player at Partick?

29-11-2022, 06:36 AM
Is he not a bit part player at Partick?

Had a 4 game spell out the squad and can only imagine it was injury as he’s a mainstay in McCall’s squad and McCall expects him to go much higher in the game.

29-11-2022, 06:54 AM

On a similar note I’ve liked the big Ross County defender when I’ve seen him recently, scored against us i think. Forget his name but big number 6 I think.

29-11-2022, 06:55 AM
On a similar note I’ve liked the big Ross County defender when I’ve seen him recently, scored against us i think. Forget his name but big number 6 I think.

Iacovitti?

He’s out of contract in the summer I think.

29-11-2022, 07:44 AM

Very very direct and pretty solid for a winger, Alan Forrest type.

Saw him a couple of times for Patrick and he looked miles about that level, albeit when I saw him at Livi he never stood out at all. Which is a bit odd as I imagine Livi being the perfect team for him.

Maybe he’s just a bit of a late bloomer?

29-11-2022, 07:48 AM
I love these types of signings.

Playing well at a level just below ours and players who are needing someone to give them a chance.

Sadly I don’t think they fit the Gordon profile. They quite explicitly said that if these players were any good, they’d be snapped up by more prosperous clubs than ours closer to home and that we’d have to try to gain an advantage in another way.

Not an unreasonable argument but it has to be backed up with results / evidence, which they’ve so far failed to deliver.

McGruber
29-11-2022, 07:51 AM

Wouldn't necessarily be against it however in our position I think we need to bring in 2 or 3 proven quality players at this level ready to go. Can't be having more punts just now

29-11-2022, 07:57 AM
Hibs will go for a youngster on loan to replace Boyle ..it would be aligned to the strategy they’ve been following - and will create a likely outcry on here is my guess ….

29-11-2022, 08:04 AM
Hibs will go for a youngster on loan to replace Boyle ..it would be aligned to the strategy they’ve been following - and will create a likely outcry on here is my guess ….

I get why there’s a need to get a proven winger but that’s easier said than done.

There’s not many obvious choices out there who are available, proven players aren’t that easy to come by.

I know it was under a different regime but i wonder if we’ll go back in for Morgan Robert’s. Career seems to have really stalled but had masses of potential at one point.

29-11-2022, 08:12 AM

Was Jasper last transfer window.

29-11-2022, 08:15 AM
Wonder if we’d go back in for Ronan Curtis if we’re replacing Boyle? Linked with him and summer and he’s out of contract at the end of the season.

The one I’d love to see us sign is Ayoub Assal, already a good player but also has unlimited potential.

Fwiw I actually thought Jasper could be a really good player and is one I’d have taken a gamble on (depending on the fee).

McGruber
29-11-2022, 08:26 AM
Wonder if we’d go back in for Ronan Curtis if we’re replacing Boyle? Linked with him and summer and he’s out of contract at the end of the season.

The one I’d love to see us sign is Ayoub Assal, already a good player but also has unlimited potential.

Fwiw I actually thought Jasper could be a really good player and is one I’d have taken a gamble on (depending on the fee).

Thought the same about Jasper

Paulie Walnuts
29-11-2022, 08:40 AM
Was Jasper last transfer window.

And he was absolutely terrible. If that’s the kind of player we’ll be getting in this January then we’re in real bother.

29-11-2022, 08:44 AM
Be good to get some players in in January but given the bloated squad we have, I'm not so sure.

29-11-2022, 09:10 AM
And he was absolutely terrible. If that’s the kind of player we’ll be getting in this January then we’re in real bother.

Jasper was crap. Was away on loan at Bristol Rovers at the start of this season but went back to Fulham in October as he couldn't really get in the team.

He had one decent half performance v Motherwell, but was mostly diddy for us.

29-11-2022, 09:18 AM
Jasper was clearly a back-up option when the Rogers deal fell through and it showed.

Paulie Walnuts
29-11-2022, 09:19 AM
Jasper was clearly a back-up option when the Rogers deal fell through and it showed.

Who is Rogers?

29-11-2022, 09:21 AM
Who is Rogers?

He is very jolly, won't fit a Hibs 😁

29-11-2022, 09:25 AM
Who is Rogers?

Morgan Rogers.

Young Man City winger we tried to get but he pied us for someone else, then that deal fell through.

Think his career his the rails a bit since then.

Perfect for us 😃

29-11-2022, 09:55 AM
Morgan Rogers.

Young Man City winger we tried to get but he pied us for someone else, then that deal fell through.

Think his career his the rails a bit since then.

Perfect for us 😃

Be interesting to see if we go for him again especially with Johnson’s contacts with city.

29-11-2022, 10:02 AM
I liked Jasper.

He was hot and cold but I thought he'd have got better with time, not unlike how Rocky has.

Jasper was certainly a lot better than what we have available to play in that position right now.

29-11-2022, 10:05 AM
Be interesting to see if we go for him again especially with Johnson’s contacts with city.

Also one we can put a fair bit positive spin on, “player we’ve tracked for a long time etc, delighted to finally get our man bla bla bla”

Would be a move away from the hopefull punt perception people have got about the clubs transfer activity just now.

thebausburst
29-11-2022, 10:46 AM
I liked Jasper.

He was hot and cold but I thought he'd have got better with time, not unlike how Rocky has.

Jasper was certainly a lot better than what we have available to play in that position right now.

I wasn’t bothered about Jasper, however he was like Messi compared to Tavares who imo is awful

EGL2000
29-11-2022, 11:08 AM

Didn't stand out at all at Livingston in the prem, actually think he even struggled to start games.

29-11-2022, 11:13 AM
I liked Jasper.

He wasn't for me at all. I was unfortunate to be at Dens Park that night. Jasper summed up the Maloney era.

29-11-2022, 11:14 AM

Could be a good shout. Left sided too and only 25.

29-11-2022, 11:38 AM
He wasn't for me at all. I was unfortunate to be at Dens Park that night. Jasper summed up the Maloney era.

I wasn’t there that night tbf, and I’m led to believe it was a dreadful performance, the type that can heavily influence your thinking.

29-11-2022, 11:50 AM
I wasn’t bothered about Jasper, however he was like Messi compared to Tavares who imo is awful

Tavares has only played about 200 minutes :dunno:

29-11-2022, 12:31 PM
He is very jolly, won't fit a Hibs 😁
Would cause a Mellie in the dressing room.

29-11-2022, 12:41 PM

I get why people are disappointed with him but it is too early to write him off completely. There’s plenty examples in the current squad of people taking a bit time to settle and then getting better.

Boyle, Newell and Rocky are the obvious examples but can also add Doidge to that and Campbell has been better this season than last too.

Sometimes it takes a bit time for players to come good. It might not for him but it’s too early to say either way.

29-11-2022, 02:07 PM
I get why people are disappointed with him but it is too early to write him off completely. There’s plenty examples in the current squad of people taking a bit time to settle and then getting better.

Boyle, Newell and Rocky are the obvious examples but can also add Doidge to that and Campbell has been better this season than last too.

Sometimes it takes a bit time for players to come good. It might not for him but it’s too early to say either way.

Personally I would give him a run of games

29-11-2022, 02:34 PM

He should have played against Kilmarnock IMO. There was absolutely no creativity in that side. He might not have played well and it might not have worked, he’d have at least tried to create things though and there wasn’t anyone else in the team who could do that.

chippy
29-11-2022, 02:38 PM

I’d give the jersey to O’Connor and Laidlaw to fight over. If Tavares gets better, fine he can get back in.

29-11-2022, 02:41 PM
Griffiths wanted by morton on a short term deal.

Haymaker needs to put his hand in his own pocket and bring him home 😃

29-11-2022, 02:55 PM
We could loan out more players than Man City with squad we have

29-11-2022, 02:59 PM
I’d give the jersey to O’Connor and Laidlaw to fight over. If Tavares gets better, fine he can get back in.

If they have a slow start would you write them off as quickly as Tavares is being written off?

29-11-2022, 03:06 PM
Maybe Tavarez could get a run of games in our all conquering developement team, and perhaps we could see then if he's got anything the 1st team need?

29-11-2022, 03:11 PM

If only I had won the $1b powerball the other day

29-11-2022, 03:25 PM

It was refreshing to see someone beat their man and get a cross in as he did against Middlesbrough. I've not written him off yet.

chippy
29-11-2022, 03:26 PM
If they have a slow start would you write them off as quickly as Tavares is being written off?
Not at all, I’d rest them/ give them development games and bring them back when ready. I’ve not written off Tavares yet

29-11-2022, 03:26 PM

His hand would be in his pocket if he signed for us 🤣🤣

29-11-2022, 03:28 PM
Maybe Tavarez could get a run of games in our all conquering developement team, and perhaps we could see then if he's got anything the 1st team need?

Surely the Dev team has to have some games organised to play in first.

29-11-2022, 03:35 PM

Think they have one game in December, away to Queen of the South next Tuesday. Next one is on 24th January
Hardly any football for last years under 18’s

PHeffernan
29-11-2022, 04:16 PM

Jasper was crap. Was away on loan at Bristol Rovers at the start of this season but went back to Fulham in October as he couldn't really get in the team.

He had one decent half performance v Motherwell, but was mostly diddy for us.

He's only just turned 21.
Will find his level after his Fulham contract ends.

29-11-2022, 04:19 PM
Get Scottish players in

PHeffernan
29-11-2022, 04:22 PM
Get Scottish players in

Which ones?

29-11-2022, 04:23 PM
Get Scottish players in

Interesting you say this. We have an above average % of players from overseas
Something like 67% are from overseas. The average in the premiership is 60%
Aberdeen are 75% and Hearts 46%

29-11-2022, 04:33 PM
Which ones?

I can think of one...

29-11-2022, 04:50 PM
I can think of one...
:hyper

chippy
29-11-2022, 04:51 PM
Fair point. Maybe could play the 1st team then. Should’ve joined the Lowland League

Hibiza
29-11-2022, 04:55 PM

200 mins of dross Mr Robot , imho.

Hibiza
29-11-2022, 04:59 PM

That's a great idea - see if he's up to it or not

29-11-2022, 05:16 PM
That's a great idea - see if he's up to it or not

It’s a cliche of course but I always found attacking players are the most who suffer from lack of confidence and lack of minutes provides them no opportunity to get that level of confidence and consistency we all expect.

Tavares must have ability to get through the Benfica system or quite simply they wouldn’t have kept him there. I always fall back on my old coach Alex Young (Golden Vision) nearly tearing his wee curls out trying to teach me an offside trap free kick where you time your run as defenders played for offside. I could never quite master it, mostly down to failing to master what he coached me but that severely affected my confidence throughout a game because it got to me and I really wanted to impress him because he was such a wonderful coach to me, One game it clicked, I mastered it, and scored - simply because he kept telling me to persevere, keep the head up and it’ll happen naturally. From then, you couldn’t keep me away from the ball.

Tavares might just need similar coaching, patience and it’ll fall into place once he adapts and more importantly gains confidence.

zitelli62
29-11-2022, 05:47 PM
Ramirez from Aberdeen out of favour and scores goals for fun and probably won't have porteous as a team mate a no brainer and it would be one up Goodwin.

29-11-2022, 05:49 PM
Ramirez from Aberdeen out of favour and scores goals for fun and probably won't have porteous as a team mate a no brainer and it would be one up Goodwin.

Eh, he doesn't score for fun, hes out of favor for a reason

I think goodwin would probably be delighted to get rid of an aging out of favor player.

29-11-2022, 05:50 PM

Honestly think Nisbet and McKirdy will make a great partnership. I’d be *****ing whatever money we have in January in creativity from midfield.

29-11-2022, 05:55 PM
Honestly think Nisbet and McKirdy will make a great partnership. I’d be *****ing whatever money we have in January in creativity from midfield.

It’s never recovered since losing a balanced midfield of Bartley, McGinn, McGeouch and Allan, with Fyvie, Liam Henderson and an experienced Thomson as terrific back up. It’s ludicrous we’ve totally neglected that area of the pitch.

Added to that, legendary status aside, there’s no way Lewy and Paul should still be at the club if we want 3rd season upon season. They’re simply not good enough now.

Bridge hibs
29-11-2022, 05:56 PM
Ramirez from Aberdeen out of favour and scores goals for fun and probably won't have porteous as a team mate a no brainer and it would be one up Goodwin.Scores for fun ?

2022-23 (5 appearances 0 league goals)
2021-22 (36 appearances 10 league goals)

29-11-2022, 06:00 PM

I wonder how many times someone has said this over the last 6 years, yet window after window we bring in average run of the mill dross, yet spend fortunes by our standards on forwards not even ready for the first team?

29-11-2022, 06:03 PM
Think they have one game in December, away to Queen of the South next Tuesday. Next one is on 24th January

Where are all these friendlies against English clubs that were promised, more BS from Kensall et al.

29-11-2022, 06:17 PM
Where are all these friendlies against English clubs that were promised, more BS from Kensall et al.

I believe there was a programme of games in place via English U23 sides. We decided this was a better route than putting a B team in the Lowland league. The leagues started and the English teams decided against it, leaving us in the lurch.

This has annoyed me, we took the wrong option and have a development team not getting as much game time as they should.

EGL2000
29-11-2022, 06:18 PM
[QUOTE=Squealing pig;7177704]Get Scottish players in[/QUOTE
]

Personally don't think many players in the Scottish prem improve us a great deal and the ones that do I think we would struggle to afford/attract. Players from lesser known leagues always gonna be cheaper than starters from Motherwell and the like.

29-11-2022, 06:25 PM
I believe there was a programme of games in place via English U23 sides. We decided this was a better route than putting a B team in the Lowland league. The leagues started and the English teams decided against it, leaving us in the lurch.

This has annoyed me, we took the wrong option and have a development team not getting as much game time as they should.

Think it fell through, no idea why
It was to be with the likes of Brentford and Huddersfield I believe

chippy
29-11-2022, 06:59 PM

A shambles . Could have been in the Lowland league with younger guys getting great experience

CL0762
29-11-2022, 07:01 PM

This sums up the entire club for me.

All these youngsters brought in, and they’ve either ended up out on loan or barely kicked a ball in months.

An embarrassing sham, summed up by the fact they got beaten off their Dunfermline (yes league 1 Dunfermline) counterparts 😂😂😂

Donegal Hibby
29-11-2022, 07:12 PM
We lost Scott Allan and never replaced his creativity , badly missing a player like that imo

29-11-2022, 07:17 PM

All these youngsters brought in, and they’ve either ended up out on loan or barely kicked a ball in months.

An embarrassing sham, summed up by the fact they got beaten off their Dunfermline (yes league 1 Dunfermline) counterparts 😂😂😂
I think half the issue is we’ve got players ideally to play in there however as there on loan the clubs might not want them to play. When you think of

…………………Johnson………..

Megwa…Blaney…McLellend…McIntyre….

……………..Tait….Delferierre…..

Hauge…………Laidlaw……….Tavares…….

……………………Bojang…..

O’Connor
Balde
Brydon
Johnson
Aiken
Rueben McAllister
Bradley

They could all benefit from playing development football and the ones not on loan use it to get minutes in their leg.

But that’s a huge amount of players with none of them really challenging the first team (yet).

Yes I know some were signed for the first team and not the dev however we need a way to make it as competitive as possible and as often as possible for the players on the brink of first team football and have it almost as the old style reserves.

No point in having all these youngsters with loads of potential but not giving them enough oppertunity

29-11-2022, 07:29 PM
I think half the issue is we’ve got players ideally to play in there however as there on loan the clubs might not want them to play. When you think of

…………………Johnson………..

Megwa…Blaney…McLellend…McIntyre….

……………..Tait….Delferierre…..

Hauge…………Laidlaw……….Tavares…….

……………………Bojang…..

O’Connor
Balde
Brydon
Johnson
Aiken
Rueben McAllister
Bradley

They could all benefit from playing development football and the ones not on loan use it to get minutes in their leg.

But that’s a huge amount of players with none of them really challenging the first team (yet).

Yes I know some were signed for the first team and not the dev however we need a way to make it as competitive as possible and as often as possible for the players on the brink of first team football and have it almost as the old style reserves.

No point in having all these youngsters with loads of potential but not giving them enough oppertunity

I’d much rather watch that team play than the current Hibs first team.

Musselbound
29-11-2022, 07:44 PM
It’s a cliche of course but I always found attacking players are the most who suffer from lack of confidence and lack of minutes provides them no opportunity to get that level of confidence and consistency we all expect.

Tavares must have ability to get through the Benfica system or quite simply they wouldn’t have kept him there. I always fall back on my old coach Alex Young (Golden Vision) nearly tearing his wee curls out trying to teach me an offside trap free kick where you time your run as defenders played for offside. I could never quite master it, mostly down to failing to master what he coached me but that severely affected my confidence throughout a game because it got to me and I really wanted to impress him because he was such a wonderful coach to me, One game it clicked, I mastered it, and scored - simply because he kept telling me to persevere, keep the head up and it’ll happen naturally. From then, you couldn’t keep me away from the ball.

Tavares might just need similar coaching, patience and it’ll fall into place once he adapts and more importantly gains confidence.

I've thought likewise re your point about Tavares coming from Benfica. Seems to me other fringe players get cut more slack than Tavares does, even though they are faring no better. Seems like a lot of people have made their minds up about him very early. He's only been in Scottish football for a few months.

29-11-2022, 07:46 PM
I've thought likewise re your point about Tavares coming from Benfica. Seems to me other fringe players get cut more slack than Tavares does, even though they are faring no better. Seems like a lot of people have made their minds up about him very early. He's only been in Scottish football for a few months.

He's looked better every time I've seen him. Granted he hasn't looked great yet, but think with more minutes in the first time he’ll show what he's capable of.

29-11-2022, 07:50 PM

I think we were just mis-sold the fact that he was closer to being first team ready than he actually is.

Hibs raised expectation over the summer, expectation he hasn’t been able to match. Yet.

29-11-2022, 07:50 PM
He's looked better every time I've seen him. Granted he hasn't looked great yet, but think with more minutes in the first time he’ll show what he's capable of.

Agreed, I think he’ll come good

29-11-2022, 07:52 PM

If you give someone a 5 year deal, you think you’ve signed a decent player

29-11-2022, 07:57 PM
Anyone else a bit concerned our midfield are all only contracted to the summer of 2025? Hope we’re working on tying them down.

29-11-2022, 07:59 PM
We desperately need some leaders in this team - in the defence, in midfield and in the forward positions.

When we go a goal down, there's no-one in this team that has the determination or skill to turn things around in our favour. God forbid if we ever go two nil down at Tynie with this team.

Two nil down at Tynie (hibs.net) (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?358287-Two-nil-down-at-Tynie&p=7032268&highlight=#post7032268)

Stop buying allegedly promising young players and buy Scottish players with a mix of grit and determination.

29-11-2022, 08:34 PM
Anyone else a bit concerned our midfield are all only contracted to the summer of 2025? Hope we’re working on tying them down.

I really hope this is said with the tongue firmly in cheek.

zitelli62
29-11-2022, 08:49 PM
Scores for fun ?

2022-23 (5 appearances 0 league goals)
2021-22 (36 appearances 10 league goals)

Outwith Boyle and nisbet what hibs player scored more than 10 goals last season, bearing in mind d Boyle out for the seasand nisbet still to play after injury you obviously think we can do better.

29-11-2022, 08:58 PM
The one thing I think the club got wrong with Tavares was giving him the number 10 shirt (that he initially declined).

Bridge hibs
29-11-2022, 09:00 PM
Outwith Boyle and nisbet what hibs player scored more than 10 goals last season, bearing in mind d Boyle out for the seasand nisbet still to play after injury you obviously think we can do better.

Ramires scores for fun you said, 10 league goals in 30 last season, the much slated midfielder Josh Campbell has scored half that amount already compared to the fun scoring Ramires who has scored a whopping 0 in 5 league games this season

Its a no from me

zitelli62
29-11-2022, 09:09 PM
Ramires scores for fun you said, 10 league goals in 30 last season, the much slated midfielder Josh Campbell has scored half that amount already compared to the fun scoring Ramires who has scored a whopping 0 in 5 league games this season

Its a no from me
Ramirez fell out with Goodwin that's why he's not playing your right though josh campbell has scored 5 this season with half a season to go nothing to worry about then the goals will fly in.

Bridge hibs
29-11-2022, 09:14 PM
Ramirez fell out with Goodwin that's why he's not playing your right though josh campbell has scored 5 this season with half a season to go nothing to worry about then the goals will fly in.

Ive seen a fair bit of him on tv and to be honest I dont think he would add anymore than Miko has, I dont know his situation at the sheep but if he was raring to go then Im surprised he isnt playing every week

29-11-2022, 09:29 PM
I’m not sure it matters what striker we bring in

It’s the creativity throughout the team and from midfield we need to fix

29-11-2022, 09:35 PM
I’m not sure it matters what striker we bring in

It’s the creativity throughout the team and from midfield we need to fix

I’d love us to sign a midfielder that can shoot from outside the box.

29-11-2022, 09:41 PM

I’d love us to sign a midfielder that can shoot from outside the box.

I’d love us to sign a midfielder.

29-11-2022, 09:54 PM
I’d love us to sign a midfielder.

If we sign another defensive midfielder I’ll cry and not with tears of joy.

29-11-2022, 11:55 PM
If you give someone a 5 year deal, you think you’ve signed a decent player

Yes a young lad moving from another county on a 5 year deal but let’s get rid of him or just slaughter him after 5 months with limited game time, never get why folk go over the top with young players. They all make the grade or not at different times and stages folk need to relax

29-11-2022, 11:58 PM

Youngsters signed go on loan to further there development shocker, jeezo your really moaning about that? What difference or relevance does losing a game against Dunfermline have on anything?

Moaning for moaning sake

30-11-2022, 05:36 AM

Assume must be arranged friendlies as well. Thought we were meant to play English teams.

30-11-2022, 05:46 AM
The one thing I think the club got wrong with Tavares was giving him the number 10 shirt (that he initially declined).

Is that right? Makes no sense if the player didn't want it other than put pressure on as well.

30-11-2022, 05:52 AM
Yes a young lad moving from another county on a 5 year deal but let’s get rid of him or just slaughter him after 5 months with limited game time, never get why folk go over the top with young players. They all make the grade or not at different times and stages folk need to relax

That is where I am. A huge learning curve football wise and culture. A bit of support goes along way.

30-11-2022, 06:23 AM
I really hope this is said with the tongue firmly in cheek.

I was indeed talking tongue in cheek. Although given Hibs’ refusal to address the midfield for so long I think I’m beginning to experience Stockholm syndrome with them.

30-11-2022, 06:29 AM

Paulie Walnuts
30-11-2022, 06:56 AM

I was actually just about to ask that.

Do this development team ever really play that often?

Paulie Walnuts
30-11-2022, 07:03 AM
Interesting you say this. We have an above average % of players from overseas
Something like 67% are from overseas. The average in the premiership is 60%
Aberdeen are 75% and Hearts 46%

Really?

As an average I would have thought the league would be miles lower than that.

30-11-2022, 07:07 AM
Really?

As an average I would have thought the league would be miles lower than that.

Do those figures for “overseas” mean non Scottish?

30-11-2022, 08:03 AM
Do those figures for “overseas” mean non Scottish?

Yep seems way too high

30-11-2022, 08:15 AM
Is that right? Makes no sense if the player didn't want it other than put pressure on as well.

Yeah mate, link below

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/jair-tavares-explains-hibs-number-10-shirt-dilemma-as-he-makes-martin-boyle-promise-3783855?amp

Never liked 23, offered 10 but thought no because of the expectations then must have hard a change of heart after speaking to family

30-11-2022, 08:18 AM
Yep seems way too high

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/startseite/verein/903

All on here if you want to have a look
Can change from team to team, or league as a total

Caversham Green
30-11-2022, 08:30 AM
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/startseite/verein/903

All on here if you want to have a look
Can change from team to team, or league as a total

That shows 18 'foreigners' at Hibs. If you click on the number 18 it gives you a list. Boyle and McGeady are included in the list.

30-11-2022, 09:06 AM
Agreed, I think he’ll come goodMe too, Benfica have one of the best academy's and youth set ups out there and Tavares was obviously good enough to have progressed through that.
The guy needs a chance to settle in to a new country and level and style of football that is somewhat more industrial and less sophisticated than he has likely been used to.

Weir07
30-11-2022, 09:20 AM
Me too, Benfica have one of the best academy's and youth set ups out there and Tavares was obviously good enough to have progressed through that.
The guy needs a chance to settle in to a new country and level and style of football that is somewhat more industrial and less sophisticated than he has likely been used to.

How many of Benfica's youth academy go on to be top flight footballers though? Very few I'd imagine.

30-11-2022, 09:23 AM
Me too, Benfica have one of the best academy's and youth set ups out there and Tavares was obviously good enough to have progressed through that.

This is where the criticism is more directed at the club than player IMO.

Aberdeen sign a player from the Benfica academy, in to the team and scoring goals. Hearts sign a player from Oz, in to the team first pick centre half.

We sign players from same teams but we need to be patient, let them settle and so on. They were signed as first team players but aren’t capable of contributing to the first team (at the moment) hence why we’re in such a mess.

30-11-2022, 09:34 AM

Aberdeen sign a player from the Benfica academy, in to the team and scoring goals. Hearts sign a player from Oz, in to the team first pick centre half.

We sign players from same teams but we need to be patient, let them settle and so on. They were signed as first team players but aren’t capable of contributing to the first team (at the moment) hence why we’re in such a mess.

Yep, I think this is where most frustration is - not that the players might come good in a year or two, but that we have not brought players in that are ready for first team football.

30-11-2022, 09:44 AM

Once miller is fit I think he’ll make himself first choice right back

30-11-2022, 09:53 AM

Based on what ? The few times I’ve seen him he’s looked nowhere near ready. His few minutes away to St Mirren he looked like a fan who had one a competition to get a game.

McGruber
30-11-2022, 09:54 AM

Any idea what the injury is? Been out for ages

30-11-2022, 10:00 AM

He looked a couple of years on loan at a decent level to learn how to play football away from being ready to challenge for a first team position to me.

Decent athlete, not a footballer yet.

His injury is a problem as he'd likely have been improving by training at a club at our level every day had he been fit.

EGL2000
30-11-2022, 10:16 AM
How many of Benfica's youth academy go on to be top flight footballers though? Very few I'd imagine.

6 graduates in the squad from their last champions league game with four starting. Say that's very good considering they are one of the best sides in Europe right now. That also does not take into account a number of the ones they sell for good fees too top clubs around Europe.

Weir07
30-11-2022, 10:18 AM
Based on what ? The few times I’ve seen him he’s looked nowhere near ready. His few minutes away to St Mirren he looked like a fan who had one a competition to get a game.

Yep, seems like Lee Johnson doesn't fancy Miller either, given the amount of playing time he got when he was fit, another signing to file under the utter failure category.

Hopefully this whole recruitment mess bottoms out some time soon but I can't see it with the current owner in charge.

Weir07
30-11-2022, 10:24 AM
6 graduates in the squad from their last champions league game with four starting. Say that's very good considering they are one of the best sides in Europe right now. That also does not take into account a number of the ones they sell for good fees too top clubs around Europe.

Thanks for the info, I didn't know that and it is higher than I'd have imagined it to be but it will still be a small percentage of academy players that become regular top flight footballers. I'd suggest Taveres won't be one of them, not at Hibs anyway. Obviously delighted to be proved wrong.

Sergio sledge
30-11-2022, 10:57 AM

There was a games program in place as you say against the likes of Brentford and Huddersfield but then Hibs decided to sack the guy they brought in to organise and manage this and no-one at the club has bothered to follow up on it in his place so it has fallen through.

Now we are left with a bloated squad of players who aren't getting anywhere near enough game time and throwing away good money at it.

It was a good idea in theory but, like a lot of things at Hibs just now, the execution and organisation by the club is a shambles and it's just a waste of money right now.

30-11-2022, 11:02 AM

It should be noted that Tavares made six starts for Benfica B last season. The guy has not had much football at all in recent years. If only we had a development team to get him match ready…

30-11-2022, 11:23 AM
There was a games program in place as you say against the likes of Brentford and Huddersfield but then Hibs decided to sack the guy they brought in to organise and manage this and no-one at the club has bothered to follow up on it in his place so it has fallen through.

Now we are left with a bloated squad of players who aren't getting anywhere near enough game time and throwing away good money at it.

It was a good idea in theory but, like a lot of things at Hibs just now, the execution and organisation by the club is a shambles and it's just a waste of money right now.

Who was that?

30-11-2022, 11:29 AM
Who was that?

Finlay Stark but I’m sure that they recruited someone else but maybe they aren’t up to the same standard. Finlay definitely wasn’t sacked, he moved onto Brighton (IIRC)

Who knows but without a competent Head of Football Operations/Sporting Director then these things will continue to happen.

Dmas
30-11-2022, 11:44 AM

Who was sacked?

30-11-2022, 11:45 AM
This is all highly interesting, but perhaps it can go in a Dev Team thread as its got nothing to do with Winter Signings.

30-11-2022, 11:49 AM
Finlay Stark but I’m sure that they recruited someone else but maybe they aren’t up to the same standard. Finlay definitely wasn’t sacked, he moved onto Brighton (IIRC)

Who knows but without a competent Head of Football Operations/Sporting Director then these things will continue to happen.

Finally our link up with Brighton comes to fruition. :greengrin

30-11-2022, 11:57 AM

Sorry who was sacked?

30-11-2022, 01:10 PM
Sorry who was sacked?
It appears no one was, someone left for a better job.

30-11-2022, 01:19 PM

Was it not the boy from Livingston we got in, got the blame for a couple of the early season admin howlers.

Don't think him nit organising games is reason Dev team aren't playing as much. Did the English clubs nit decide after the season had started they weren't interested anymore.

30-11-2022, 01:31 PM
It appears no one was, someone left for a better job.

Probably Finlay Stark, he was the Academy administrator. A really good lad, who left for an excellent job at Brighton. Think he’s their Assistant Club secretary

Sergio sledge
30-11-2022, 03:00 PM

Finlay recruited someone specifically to run the games program while he was still at the club. Finlay then left and by this summer the games program was near enough set up but then Hibs decided to sack the guy and no-one at Hibs has followed up on the games program since he left.

Sergio sledge
30-11-2022, 03:04 PM

Agree, it's a shambles behind the scenes because there's no-one who knows what they are doing on the football side of things in charge with a clear strategy and with the power to make the required decisions to deliver that.

30-11-2022, 03:25 PM
Finlay recruited someone specifically to run the games program while he was still at the club. Finlay then left and by this summer the games program was near enough set up but then Hibs decided to sack the guy and no-one at Hibs has followed up on the games program since he left.

Donnie Forbes was the lad, he was highly thought of!
So strange that he was in and out so quickly. He’s now Head of Academy and Recruitment Operations at Queen’s Park

30-11-2022, 03:35 PM
Agree, it's a shambles behind the scenes because there's no-one who knows what they are doing on the football side of things in charge with a clear strategy and with the power to make the required decisions to deliver that.

Coming up with a new approach, having a clear pathway to continuously replenish the first team, a new b team to get players ready for the rigours of the first team and a signing strategy to keep the conveyor belt rolling. It’s easy to come up with all these ideas, and they are good ideas, Hibs have shown little to suggest they can successfully implement it though. It is early days but the club are going to have to learn from their mistakes fast and put egos to the side to make the decisions that are needed.

30-11-2022, 04:13 PM

If that is true, we really are being run by a set of amateurs. What is the point of bringing in a raft of players for the development team, but dont arrange games for them to play?

Scotty Leither
30-11-2022, 04:15 PM

This is where I'm at.

Pissed off with the whole "experimental" air around Hibs, especially recruitment. That coupled with the manager's shtick about us having to apparently take a few hammerings along the way is making me lose faith with those running our football club.

We simply have to put up two strong showings in these upcoming Derby fixtures, with no "mitigating factors" excuses trottted out if we lose them.

30-11-2022, 05:03 PM
He looked a couple of years on loan at a decent level to learn how to play football away from being ready to challenge for a first team position to me.

His injury is a problem as he'd likely have been improving by training at a club at our level every day had he been fit.

Couple of years away on loan I’d love to hear the rational for this?

30-11-2022, 05:48 PM
Couple of years away on loan I’d love to hear the rational for this?

He just looked very, very raw to me. I don't think he has the footballing ability to play for Hibs yet and I don't think he has the blinding pace of Boyle or Sproule that made them a handful straight away despite being raw.

He may have something about him and he looks to be a fit lad but he looks like another "project" to me.

Boyle got to mature in the Championship, Sproule got to make his way with very good players around him but I think chucking Miller into a struggling side right now would be throwing him to the wolves.

To put it bluntly, I think he's looked pish every time I've seen him but accept he's making a step up in standard and think he should be given an opportunity of sorts to up his game. I don't think he's a dozen games away, I think he's many more than that away and that's why I think at best he's a couple of hefty loan spells and a fair bit of improvement away from being a player who makes a meaningful contribution for a top 6 side.

andrew70
30-11-2022, 06:54 PM
He just looked very, very raw to me. I don't think he has the footballing ability to play for Hibs yet and I don't think he has the blinding pace of Boyle or Sproule that made them a handful straight away despite being raw.

He may have something about him and he looks to be a fit lad but he looks like another "project" to me.

Boyle got to mature in the Championship, Sproule got to make his way with very good players around him but I think chucking Miller into a struggling side right now would be throwing him to the wolves.

To put it bluntly, I think he's looked pish every time I've seen him but accept he's making a step up in standard and think he should be given an opportunity of sorts to up his game. I don't think he's a dozen games away, I think he's many more than that away and that's why I think at best he's a couple of hefty loan spells and a fair bit of improvement away from being a player who makes a meaningful contribution for a top 6 side.

He’s a right back. He’s not going to have blinding pace as the wingers you mentioned.

He struggled at beginning of season and is now injured but I can imagine he’ll be able to cross a ball a lot better than Cadden.

I watched him in the summer playing for Australia youth team in Asian Champs and he had a strong run on him with a jinking movement, dip off the shoulder which beat his opponents more often than not.

Seen enough to hope that he’ll be an improvement once fully fit.

He never had a break because of the aforementioned championships so possibly why he’s suffered an injury.

30-11-2022, 07:31 PM
In years to come, I fear we're going to look back on this period with a fair amount of bemusement. Where we've spent a fair wad of cash accruing a mish-mash of youngsters, given them barely anything to do, and these Belgian, Australian Norwegians and Portuguese are making a living playing the odd game at a field near Tranent.

Can't help but feel in time these guys will feel slightly regretful at their career choices.

30-11-2022, 08:45 PM

He has played 156 minutes of football; not even 2 games worth. How you can come to that conclusion after that little time is ridiculous.

30-11-2022, 09:01 PM
I'm not expecting a miracle come January and the transfer window but I do want some improvement in on what we already have.

our number 1 priority was a CM or two but now with the Porteous confirmation and Boyle's injury what now?

I'm struggling to see who LJ is moving on and hoping he's not relying on JDH, Magennis and Mcgeady. I will accept he's been injured and still has a second half of the season to give us something.

Myko has shown he can score goals and nownwe have Nisbet back which is a different option but I wouldn't be bothered if we sent back Youan and even Bojang.

Mitchell
Youan
Bojang

Move these players on for a start and two need to go from this list

Campbell
Henderson
JDH

Newell is on the border line for me as I think he would be a useful squad member but can see why posters would want him gone as a very frustrating player but on his day a very good footballer.

Magennis must be on his last chance now to show he can go on a good run of games?

30-11-2022, 09:02 PM
He has played 156 minutes of football; not even 2 games worth. How you can come to that conclusion after that little time is ridiculous.

I don't think you'd need 156 minutes to spot that I wasn't good enough to be playing for Hibs.

He might come good eventually and I hope he does.

Just voicing my opinion - that in what I saw early on, he looked nowhere near the required quality, like quite a few players we have on the fringes of our squad right now.

30-11-2022, 09:19 PM

I think the fact that a number of the players signed have so few minutes says a lot about their ability. There is a lot of talk about developing and so on but they were signed as first team players. Granted we’d like them to develop in to something more but fundamentally they were signed to play for us and they’re not. And if they can’t play in a team that is as poor as this, I’m not sure that any amount of sitting on the bench not playing will get them more ready to play.

With the way the squad is I'm not hopeful for January because we have so many players contracted taking up space.

Jdawg
30-11-2022, 09:31 PM
I don't think you'd need 156 minutes to spot that I wasn't good enough to be playing for Hibs.

He might come good eventually and I hope he does.

Just voicing my opinion - that in what I saw early on, he looked nowhere near the required quality, like quite a few players we have on the fringes of our squad right now. I agree. Looked absolutely awful. Takes an age to try and control a pass into him. Maybe nerves but doesn’t look like a footballer.

30-11-2022, 09:34 PM
Any idea what the injury is? Been out for ages

Not sure what the initial injury was however when he came back he strained his hamstring, hopefully back soon.

Genuinely surprised by the lack of folk that rate him. The only game I thought he was poor was Falkirk where everyone was terrible as he normally trustworthy Stevenson was brutal.

He showed against good and experienced players against norwich that he has more than enough ability to at least compete with Cadden.

Imo he has more ability on the ball than Cadden, he can chop or cruyff at ease and seems to skin players with footwork or a intelligent pass inside far more than Cadden who is more of a straight like runner.

I think with Miller he’d get our attacking players on the ball quicker and in better positions. I also think he’s more likely to pick someone out or create a chance in the final third. Although he did have a couple of passes pre season that we’re head scratchers

I like Cadden fwiw, I just think at times he crams the game too much and makes it easy for teams to defend - albeit puts in the occasional good ball

01-12-2022, 05:55 AM
He’s a right back. He’s not going to have blinding pace as the wingers you mentioned.

He struggled at beginning of season and is now injured but I can imagine he’ll be able to cross a ball a lot better than Cadden.

I watched him in the summer playing for Australia youth team in Asian Champs and he had a strong run on him with a jinking movement, dip off the shoulder which beat his opponents more often than not.

Seen enough to hope that he’ll be an improvement once fully fit.

He never had a break because of the aforementioned championships so possibly why he’s suffered an injury.

Thought he looked excellent in the bounce games in Portugal yet bizarrely looked almost like a different player when playing in games over here. Assuming he was a bit nervous first up and was still settling in however a shame he has been injured as thought he would be a good signing. Could do with him coming back in to provide some depth down that side of the pitch.

01-12-2022, 07:37 AM
I think the fact that a number of the players signed have so few minutes says a lot about their ability. There is a lot of talk about developing and so on but they were signed as first team players. Granted we’d like them to develop in to something more but fundamentally they were signed to play for us and they’re not. And if they can’t play in a team that is as poor as this, I’m not sure that any amount of sitting on the bench not playing will get them more ready to play.

With the way the squad is I'm not hopeful for January because we have so many players contracted taking up space.

He is injured which is why he won’t be playing.

Tavares hasn’t had much and neither has Bojang, who is also injured and Mckirdy was also injured. Fish was clearly back up but other than that the rest have featured quite a bit unless i’m
missing anybody?

He is a young player coming to a new country with a different style of football, as many of our signings have.

I agree we should have balanced better between players who know the league and young talents that we can help to develop so that we could blend them in better.

The idea however that after less than 2 games worth of football we can say a player looks nowhere near our level is stupid.

01-12-2022, 08:13 AM
He is injured which is why he won’t be playing.

Tavares hasn’t had much and neither has Bojang, who is also injured and Mckirdy was also injured. Fish was clearly back up but other than that the rest have featured quite a bit unless i’m
missing anybody?

He is a young player coming to a new country with a different style of football, as many of our signings have.

I agree we should have balanced better between players who know the league and young talents that we can help to develop so that we could blend them in better.

The idea however that after less than 2 games worth of football we can say a player looks nowhere near our level is stupid.

I think it works both ways and you can form an opinion pretty quickly. Kukharevych you could tell after about half an hour of his first game that he could play a bit.

Some may come good but if we persist with the same policy and waiting and waiting and waiting then they’ll all be doing it in The Championship. We really need some players for now, in January.

01-12-2022, 08:37 AM
Ronaldo potentially going to a club in Saudi Arabia.

2.5 year deal worth £175m per season!!

01-12-2022, 09:22 AM
Ronaldo potentially going to a club in Saudi Arabia.

2.5 year deal worth £175m per season!!

He should speak to Martin Boyle first

01-12-2022, 09:55 AM
I think it works both ways and you can form an opinion pretty quickly. Kukharevych you could tell after about half an hour of his first game that he could play a bit.

Some may come good but if we persist with the same policy and waiting and waiting and waiting then they’ll all be doing it in The Championship. We really need some players for now, in January.

I agree completely. i think it’s a good idea to be developing young players but we need to also look at an immediate impact on the first team in january.

01-12-2022, 10:07 AM
Johnson says he plans to trim the squad.

Like I said in my previous post I am struggling to see who is going to be offloaded.

Loans could be terminated if available?

01-12-2022, 10:38 AM

Like I said in my previous post I am struggling to see who is going to be offloaded.

We've got quite a lot of similar players, ability-wise. They all have something that makes you want to think twice about the wisdom of losing them but they don't quite have enough to feel like they have the standout ability to be our better players in a good team.

It almost comes down to a toss of the coin as you can't get rid of them all.

To be perfectly honest - I think this describes almost all of our players. They're all either good but injury prone, experienced club legends but getting on with question marks over their contribution going forward, good on their day but hopelessly inconsistent, great at getting into positions but poor at providing a final ball, plenty potential but not yet ready, just in the door so not had a chance to settle etc etc. Collectively it leaves us with a substandard team.

And if we're to bring in more players who we can rely upon to make a contribution, we're probably going to have to shed a few.

On an individual basis it will probably seem harsh, but collectively it's hard to argue that it isn't necessary.

01-12-2022, 10:45 AM
We've got quite a lot of similar players, ability-wise. They all have something that makes you want to think twice about the wisdom of losing them but they don't quite have enough to feel like they have the standout ability to be our better players in a good team.

It almost comes down to a toss of the coin as you can't get rid of them all.

To be perfectly honest - I think this describes almost all of our players. They're all either good but injury prone, experienced club legends but getting on with question marks over their contribution going forward, good on their day but hopelessly inconsistent, great at getting into positions but poor at providing a final ball, plenty potential but not yet ready, just in the door so not had a chance to settle etc etc. Collectively it leaves us with a substandard team.

And if we're to bring in more players who we can rely upon to make a contribution, we're probably going to have to shed a few.

On an individual basis it will probably seem harsh, but collectively it's hard to argue that it isn't necessary.

I mean as in which teams are going to be in a hurry to put bids in for our players?

That's what I mean is struggling to see who will be offloaded.

01-12-2022, 11:06 AM

Imo;

Schofield/Dabrowski
Porteous
Mitchell
JDH - will want to be first choice and not a sub
Youan - dependent on if they think they can get better in
Bradley
Bojang

01-12-2022, 11:17 AM

Anyone who isn’t the regular 14/15 players. All the players out on loan and those others that are an age they should be in the first team.

01-12-2022, 11:17 AM
I mean as in which teams are going to be in a hurry to put bids in for our players?

I see the post you're replying to did not quite get what you meant but the content of his post is IMO an excellent description of how many of our supporters feel about our squad (including me). You can also see the same in how we view which youngsters to keep/let go..... but the bullet has to be bitten.

01-12-2022, 11:44 AM

I wondered if this is why Johnson is pushing the idea of selling Porteous in January rather than keeping him until the end of the season.

With all the daft contracts we’ve handed out it’s going to be difficult to move folk on. If we sell Porteous then whatever fee we get plus his wage might let us get two in.

01-12-2022, 01:11 PM

I think we'll struggle to get top whack for them, so we may have to cut some losses. As I say, we're talking about players who offer something (but not quite enough) and I imagine any deals to see players leave may raise eyebrows when it comes to making financial sense for us.

Other clubs may think they can do more with our imperfect players, or may think the players they currently have may complement the strengths and weaknesses of who we're looking to shift.

Demetri Mitchell still has the profile of an ex-Man Utd player, a team might gamble that they'd get a player of ability they wouldn't normally, just by taking a gamble that they'd get and keep him fit. They might have a striker who gambles every time to get in the 6 yard box, meaning they'll get more of an end product from the balls that Cadden has fizzed across the box for us than we have. They might think they'll get Youan back to August form or they might think they'll get Porto to cut out the nonsense and concentrate. They might be at a level where Melkerson or Jair can play every week and make an impact.

They aren't going to be easy decisions for us, they might sting, and they won't be universally popular. But in order to have a better second half to the season than the first, I reckon they need to be made.

01-12-2022, 01:35 PM
I think we'll struggle to get top whack for them, so we may have to cut some losses. As I say, we're talking about players who offer something (but not quite enough) and I imagine any deals to see players leave may raise eyebrows when it comes to making financial sense for us.

Other clubs may think they can do more with our imperfect players, or may think the players they currently have may complement the strengths and weaknesses of who we're looking to shift.

Demetri Mitchell still has the profile of an ex-Man Utd player, a team might gamble that they'd get a player of ability they wouldn't normally, just by taking a gamble that they'd get and keep him fit. They might have a striker who gambles every time to get in the 6 yard box, meaning they'll get more of an end product from the balls that Cadden has fizzed across the box for us than we have. They might think they'll get Youan back to August form or they might think they'll get Porto to cut out the nonsense and concentrate. They might be at a level where Melkerson or Jair can play every week and make an impact.

They aren't going to be easy decisions for us, they might sting, and they won't be universally popular. But in order to have a better second half to the season than the first, I reckon they need to be made.

With the exception of Marshall & Boyle I don’t think we would miss or particular notice if any others were to leave. There’s some I’d actively be looking to move on like Mitchell, Doidge, Henderson & Magennis. Or others like, Cadden & Newell who are decent enough players but I’d let it be known discreetly that if any clubs were to come in for them we’d not stand in their way.

01-12-2022, 01:43 PM
With the exception of Marshall & Boyle I don’t think we would miss or particular notice if any others were to leave. There’s some I’d actively be looking to move on like Mitchell, Doidge, Henderson & Magennis. Or others like, Cadden & Newell who are decent enough players but I’d let it be known discreetly that if any clubs were to come in for them we’d not stand in their way.

I think Magennis is a terrific player but he's not terrific when he's on the treatment table. I've been a big supporter of him but even i could reluctantly accept the club moving him on now. He'd probably sign for the likes of Dundee United and never have an injury again though. Henderson has to be high on the list of players to move on. Mitchell, Hanlon (won't happen), Stevenson (won't happen), Doidge could all do with coming off the wage bill too imo. I'm really not convinced by Melkersen either it has to be said. Hauge either. Maybe a loan for Melkersen would do him good.

01-12-2022, 01:47 PM
No idea who will be leaving, but equally I don't think many will be coming in.

01-12-2022, 01:51 PM
Sadly we’ve reached that point in the Hibs supporting cycle where I’m completely indifferent to who leaves in the window.

Marshall and Boyle apart, don’t think I would be bothered who left tbh.