View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

18-01-2023, 01:44 PM
Aware I'm in a minority here, but we have a derby at the weekend where our starting XI has its weaknesses (and the bench has no real go-to player) BUT we also have a few players in great form, who are playing to impress

Marshall - looking to get back his Scotland place
Nisbet - living up to the hype, scoring 7 in 6 games, looking to get his Scotland place back and boost his profile
Porteous - never (yet) won a derby and gives the impression he is keen to sign off with a landmark victory

Is it frustrating we haven't added to the team (yes) but does that mean we've no chance on Sunday (hell it doesnt)

18-01-2023, 01:44 PM
So having a bloated squad whereby a lot of the players are not (yet) ready or proven to be playing week in week out is/was the priority to address. Its not just about releasing cash to sign other players but the squad size was too big, that leads to disruption where you will have a higher proportion not playing who won't be happy and creating unrest in the squad after a while. The squad size needs/needed to come down first.

No it doesn’t need to come down first. We need to address the glaring issues on the park and in the background trim the squad. We currently don’t have a right back for example.

18-01-2023, 01:45 PM
Aware I'm in a minority here, but we have a derby at the weekend where our starting XI has its weaknesses (and the bench has no real go-to player) BUT we also have a few players in great form, who are playing to impress

Nisbet - living up to the hype, scoring 7 in 6 games, looking to get his Scotland place back and boost his profile
Porteous - never (yet) won a derby and gives the impression he is keen to sign off with a landmark victory

Is it frustrating we haven't added to the team (yes) but does that mean we've no chance on Sunday (hell it doesnt)
Marshall retired from international

cameronw-hfc
18-01-2023, 01:45 PM

Has Marshall not retired from Int Football?

archie
18-01-2023, 01:51 PM
Marshall retired from international

Some media reports he would reconsider if asked following Gordon's injury.

18-01-2023, 02:02 PM
No it doesn’t need to come down first. We need to address the glaring issues on the park and in the background trim the squad. We currently don’t have a right back for example.

We've got 2.

18-01-2023, 02:04 PM
We've got 2.
A well we can close the window now and forget about any signings then my mistake.

18-01-2023, 02:07 PM
We've got 2.

Cadden isn’t a right back if he is one of the 2.

That’s one obvious problem that we have had this season - finding consistent full backs who can actually defend 1v1s and crosses.

GreenPJ
18-01-2023, 02:08 PM

It really does - adding more people to a squad before you know you have definitely moved others on will do nothing for squad morale and results. We had 2 right backs on the bench on Saturday - you would need to ask the manager why he elected not to play either of them but deemed them good enough for the bench and we have one injured (although hopefully fit for Sunday) - whether any of them are good enough is a different question but certainly 2 of them have not had a fair opportunity to suggest yes or no.

18-01-2023, 02:13 PM
Tbh that’s what I would expect from a January window and why I think LJ’s talk of overhauling the squad, getting rid of masses of players and replacing them with one or two bits of quality seems extremely unlikely. If he can convince enough people of that for long enough though when we approach the summer we can get the next pitch about how summer recruitment will be different this time. Its like we’ve seen this movie before ��

Can’t wait to see the campaign for season tickets based on that strategy. They must think we are total idiots. Sure there will some who think buying a season ticket is what being a supporter is all about but there are a considerable number who don’t. We’ve been pish for the last two seasons but don’t worry it will all be alright in the summer when Lee has trimmed his squad and brought in real quality.

SickBoy32
18-01-2023, 02:15 PM
You would think it would work that way but our management/owner/board have proved as a fact they’ve no idea what they’re doing. They’ve signed a whole lot of dross and in less than a season telling us their main focus during this window is getting rid of the dross we’ve signed. Regardless of who they’re trying to get rid of the main focus should be to put a team on the park with players in the right positions. That’s is what 1000’s of punters paid £400 on season tickets to see. Not to watch a bunch of corporate numpties play football manager and fob us off with the type of spin Boris Johnson would be proud of.

TheHibernator
18-01-2023, 02:16 PM

I admire your optimism, but I don’t share it.

It’s crucial we get at least 1 player in before Sunday imo a full back or a centre mid, we can’t go out with the same team that played at NY. We also need to put Porteous back in at centre half because we’ve no chance of a clean sheet otherwise. If we can keep it tight and Nisbet continues his form then we’ve got chance but from what I seen at the Dundee United game I can’t picture it.

Scotty Leither
18-01-2023, 02:18 PM
Businesses surely don’t just work based on cash in the bank.

They make projections about incomes going forward and make investments in the business based on that?!

There has to be someone at the club who has the foresight to calculate who it is likely we could get off the wage bill, how much beating Hearts and going on a cup run could make us and the difference each league placing could be worth to us. If those calculations are wrong or we get put out the cup early we have sellable assets we can use either by selling Porto now, Nisbet in the summer or possibly even through a Josh Doig sale windfall.

I don’t believe we are sitting there saying we currently have x in the bank but if we get rid of three players we can add their wages together to sign someone. It just can’t work like that.

I think the last bit of your statement is pretty much what Gordon has told Kensell to do.

There was one time we signed THREE players in time to play Falkirk at a Brockville on the first game in January. Graham Mitchell, Tommy McIntyre and Dougie Bell.

Three decent players who were deemed to be better than what we had as they went straight into the team; McIntyre and Mitchell went onto become mainstays.

It can be done, Gordon for some reason is choosing not to, and it’s a heavy hand of poker he’s currently playing.

18-01-2023, 02:19 PM
It really does - adding more people to a squad before you know you have definitely moved others on will do nothing for squad morale and results. We had 2 right backs on the bench on Saturday - you would need to ask the manager why he elected not to play either of them but deemed them good enough for the bench and we have one injured (although hopefully fit for Sunday) - whether any of them are good enough is a different question but certainly 2 of them have not had a fair opportunity to suggest yes or no.

I wonder if the new deadline day programme will have us all waiting up to see how many players we’ve moved on. Never mind the glaring issues we have right now. Players can be moved on when possible, that doesn’t need to be before we’ve addressed the issues we have. It may well be players from within but that’s not happening so I presume they are worse than we have on the pitch, if not the manager needs to be sacked immediately.

AugustaHibs
18-01-2023, 02:20 PM
Must be a signing coming today imo.

18-01-2023, 02:24 PM
Must be a signing coming today imo.

I hope you're right but what makes you think that?

18-01-2023, 02:28 PM
There’s a kind of imperfect storm of uncertainty at the club, with the hunt for a DoF an admission of the recruitment shambles over the past few seasons. There’s no trust in the current system and even if we made an appointment before the end of the month, it leaves scant time to get deals done. It’s not much of a stretch to suggest that lack of trust extends to the manager, who will be under more scrutiny should we lose on Sunday, so do you allow him to find new players when he could well be out on his ear by Monday?
Unloading some peripherals isn’t going to provide much cash after the ridiculous summer spree and our obvious desperation to land a fee for Porteous allows interested parties to come in late with lowball bids and, of course, he might not fancy the best offer.
A win on Sunday changes the complexion completely around LJ, but I don’t see the club, which seems utterly rudderless at the moment, taking any significant action to try and improve the starting XI over the next few days.

(Fingers crossed expressing this publicly is enough for me to look extremely foolish come Friday).

18-01-2023, 02:29 PM
It’s because there never seems to be a middle ground with us imo. We’re either fighting for Europe and having a half decent season or we aren’t fighting for Europe and it’s a ***** season

This is what’s making me pissed off with our lack of activity this month particularly because a European place isn’t far away at all

IMO this is the middle ground. This is standard. It's not that fun but there's good moments mixed in with a heap of pish. However I find it baffling when you read (particularly on Facebook groups which is part of the problem) that it's the worst team ever and rubbish like that. I've seen many Hibs teams much poorer than this, Maloney's was a tough watch but even then there were some decent moments to get out of the seat for.

I think loads of folk just want to generate extra pessimism for the sake of argument while, frankly, I can no longer be arsed. Maybe that's a bigger problem. I still enjoy going along to the games, I'll maybe have a shout and moan or a wee greet if we're bottom of the table and getting horsed by pish while showing no commitment but as it is I'd rather just enjoy the good moments as I wait for our next proper decent team which, history shows, should come along soon...ish.

18-01-2023, 02:31 PM

Porteous has never won a derby!? :yw::bitchy:

That's mental, see what you allow to happen when you go the way I say above :bitchy::grr:

18-01-2023, 02:32 PM
Reality hits home for me I am afraid:-

1. SUMMER - We stretched the budget in the summer but time given volume of recruits and unexpected Boyle signing. I am sure Johnson admitted we went over budget but might be wrong.

2. CASH - We therefore don’t have any material budget for new players, yes we are shipping a few out but we haven’t received a fee or even a special windfall (McGinn, Doig sell in)

3. PLAYERS VIEW OF US - let’s be honest we are not a great proposition for decent players? We are a game away from a manager change potentially and we are making big structure changes and openly talking about ditching big parts of the squad.

I have switched off Hibs notifications for first time in a transfer window ☹️

AugustaHibs
18-01-2023, 02:35 PM
I hope you're right but what makes you think that?

Sorry I should’ve said; I’ve got no info.

I know the board are daft but they can’t be THAT stupid to think we can go into this game, with a weaker squad than we had on the 2nd.

18-01-2023, 02:35 PM
Reality hits home for me I am afraid:-

1. SUMMER - We stretched the budget in the summer but time given volume of recruits and unexpected Boyle signing. I am sure Johnson admitted we went over budget but might be wrong.

2. CASH - We therefore don’t have any material budget for new players, yes we are shipping a few out but we haven’t received a fee or even a special windfall (McGinn, Doig sell in)

3. PLAYERS VIEW OF US - let’s be honest we are not a great proposition for decent players? We are a game away from a manager change potentially and we are making big structure changes and openly talking about ditching big parts of the squad.

I have switched off Hibs notifications for first time in a transfer window ☹️

I only switched off the incoming transfer updates……….. I think. 😂

18-01-2023, 02:49 PM
Looks like it's Colorado Rapids that Connor Ronan will be signing for . The same team that has Sam Nicholson and Danny Wilson

18-01-2023, 02:50 PM
Porteous has never won a derby!? :yw::bitchy:

That's mental, see what you allow to happen when you go the way I say above :bitchy::grr:

Only Hanlon and Stevenson have won a derby against Hearts.

Rest of the group who will play Sunday will have never won a game against Hearts.

18-01-2023, 02:58 PM

Rest of the group who will play Sunday will have never won a game against Hearts.

Robbie hasn’t won a derby at Easter Road as manager.

IMO this is the middle ground. This is standard. It's not that fun but there's good moments mixed in with a heap of pish. However I find it baffling when you read (particularly on Facebook groups which is part of the problem) that it's the worst team ever and rubbish like that. I've seen many Hibs teams much poorer than this, Maloney's was a tough watch but even then there were some decent moments to get out of the seat for.

I think loads of folk just want to generate extra pessimism for the sake of argument while, frankly, I can no longer be arsed. Maybe that's a bigger problem. I still enjoy going along to the games, I'll maybe have a shout and moan or a wee greet if we're bottom of the table and getting horsed by pish while showing no commitment but as it is I'd rather just enjoy the good moments as I wait for our next proper decent team which, history shows, should come along soon...ish.

Aye that’s fair enough, everyone’s entitled to their opinion on what’s happening at the club just now. I’d probably agree in that the season is nothing better than mediocre so far. Shouts of the “worst hibs team ever” is hyperbolic pish.

I reckon after the highs of 2016 and the season following that, as well as the good season during covid, this slump has felt worse for some because we seemed to be a club on the up and thought maybe, probably stupidly, that we were going to reap the rewards for just a little bit longer.

End of the day, we’re all wanting a successful hibs team, some people just vent in different ways!

GreenGray
Would surely be mental to let Kenneh go and not bring in another midfielder, surely,

We’d been crying out for a holding midfielder for years, we sign one finally, club hypes him up like nothing else, we then let him go and don’t bring in any midfield replacements?

Are we actually going to finish the window with out midfield worse than it was before? I didn’t even know that was possible.

18-01-2023, 02:59 PM
Appleton sacked as Blackpool manager after 7 months in charge - and 1 in in 11 games.

18-01-2023, 03:00 PM
Robbie hasn’t won a derby at Easter Road as manager.

Something (Hibs players winning a derby or Robbie getting his win) will change this weekend.

MagicSwirlingShip
18-01-2023, 03:02 PM
Something (Hibs players winning a derby or Robbie getting his win) will change this weekend.

Unless it’s a draw 😅

18-01-2023, 03:05 PM
Unless it’s a draw 😅

There will be a winner Sunday. No replay.

18-01-2023, 03:06 PM

Not true.

18-01-2023, 03:07 PM

Robbie must be gutted!

18-01-2023, 03:08 PM
Not true.

Who have I missed ?

18-01-2023, 03:10 PM
Who have I missed ?
Joe Newell

18-01-2023, 03:10 PM
Not true.

Who else has? Nobody springs to mind.

18-01-2023, 03:11 PM
Unless it’s a draw 😅

I know you're joking but if we win but not in the 90 minutes, some won't class it as a bona fide win. 😀

18-01-2023, 03:12 PM
Joe Newell

I’d probably go back and read the post fella

18-01-2023, 03:13 PM

I thought it was a replay at this round in the cup?

18-01-2023, 03:14 PM
I thought it was a replay at this round in the cup?

Na they’ve scrapped replays from this season apart from the preliminary rounds

18-01-2023, 03:15 PM
I’d probably go back and read the post fella
Fair play just realised he’s suspended. :greengrin Bonus imo.

18-01-2023, 03:17 PM
Fair play just realised he’s suspended. :greengrin

Silly red card last season.

Be interesting to see how we do in the midfield without him.

Campbell JDH and magennis would be busy enough. I’m hoping he doesn’t stick Josh out at right back

18-01-2023, 03:17 PM
Joe Newell

Joe Newell like Boyle not playing Sunday.

No replays this weekend. Extra time and penalties if needed.

18-01-2023, 03:21 PM

As things stand:

Unbeaten: None
Winning record: Boyle (6-5-4), McGregor (5-5-3)
Even record: Cabraja (0-1-0), Mitchell (0-1-0)
Losing record: Stevenson (13-15-18), Hanlon (10-10-18), Newell (1-3-4)
No wins: Porteous (0-3-3), Cadden (0-3-3), Campbell (0-2-3), Doyle-Hayes (0-2-2), Nisbet (0-2-2), Henderson (0-2-2), Bushiri (0-2-2) Magennis (0-1-2), Marshall (0-1-1), Youan (0-1-1), McKirdy (0-0-1), Fish (0-0-1), McGeady (0-0-1)
Never played: Miller, Tavares, Schofield, Hauge, Johnson, Kuharevich

18-01-2023, 03:23 PM
As things stand:

No wins: Porteous (0-3-3), Cadden (0-3-3), Campbell (0-2-3), Doyle-Hayes (0-2-2), Nisbet (0-2-2), Henderson (0-2-2), Bushiri (0-2-2) Magennis (0-1-2), Marshall (0-1-1), Youan (0-1-1), McKirdy (0-0-1), Fish (0-0-1), McGeady (0-0-1)

It’s difficult to polish it

18-01-2023, 03:26 PM
Sorry I should’ve said; I’ve got no info.

I know the board are daft but they can’t be THAT stupid to think we can go into this game, with a weaker squad than we had on the 2nd.

I think you underestimate the Gordons and BK :hilarious

18-01-2023, 03:34 PM
As things stand:

Yup so of those available Sunday only Stevenson and Hanlon have played in a winning derby.

18-01-2023, 03:37 PM
https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/bailey-wright-attracts-aberdeen-interest-28990335

Bailey Wright being linked with Aberdeen.

He would have played under LJ at Sunderland, not sure if there paths crossed at Bristol City too? Can play centre half or right back, I would have thought he’d be one we would look at too.

18-01-2023, 03:37 PM
Surely one we’d be looking at? LJ will know him very well.

https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/bailey-wright-attracts-aberdeen-interest-28990335

18-01-2023, 03:38 PM

He would have played under LJ at Sunderland, not sure if there paths crossed at Bristol City too? Can play centre half or right back, I would have thought he’d be one we would look at too.

I was unaware Tony Mowbray’s brother was head of recruitment at Aberdeen

NC1875
18-01-2023, 03:45 PM
I was unaware Tony Mowbray’s brother was head of recruitment at Aberdeen

I thought it would’ve been an “Ian Cormack” 😂

hibsforeurope
18-01-2023, 03:49 PM

it's looking more and more likely there is no money and we can't/won't sign anyone unless new cash comes in to the club.

18-01-2023, 04:02 PM
it's looking more and more likely there is no money and we can't/won't sign anyone unless new cash comes in to the club.

Well if the bad form, square pegs in round holes and bottom six form continues they’ll have even less to spend in the next window. It’s not a great outlook for supporters with the cost of living as it is.

18-01-2023, 04:04 PM
How much has our squad's footballing IQ gone up?

Were the lower paid players that never played actually dragging our football IQ down that much?

I expect brainiacs for the derby now.

18-01-2023, 04:08 PM
We are after Wright too apparently

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/9975500/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-hibs-hearts-aberdeen/

18-01-2023, 04:10 PM
I reckon after the highs of 2016 and the season following that, as well as the good season during covid, this slump has felt worse for some because we seemed to be a club on the up and thought maybe, probably stupidly, that we were going to reap the rewards for just a little bit longer.

End of the day, we’re all wanting a successful hibs team, some people just vent in different ways!

This definitely applies to me.

I totally bought into RGs chat when he arrived. I thought, finally, we have someone who wants to take us forwards and realise our potential.

I thought with the crowds going up and having a new owner willing to spend some money, that we would have seen incremental improvement in the quality of players we could bring in.

Instead, we've gone backwards at an alarming rate.

So yeah, now I'm pretty cheesed off. We were so close to having a little taste of continued improvement that to see it all wasted so quickly, hurts.

This maybe isn't the worst Hibs squad of all time, but it's certainly up there with the worst in my lifetime.

skyehibee
18-01-2023, 04:10 PM

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/9975500/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-hibs-hearts-aberdeen/

Finally a name to a rumour!

18-01-2023, 04:12 PM
Surely one we’d be looking at? LJ will know him very well.

Aberdeen would probably offer to pay more of his wage while on loan than Hibs would. Mind you, if the player has any say in it he might prefer to play for LJ (if they got on ok previously).

18-01-2023, 04:13 PM

He would be a good signing and bring some leadership also.

18-01-2023, 04:14 PM

Would certainly be someone that would be coming in ready to play right away. On the bench for Sunderland at the weekend but started the two games prior to that.

18-01-2023, 04:16 PM
I thought we would be after Wright as did most on here.

I hope it is a genuine rumour and not a case of the press being notified by Hibs fans reaction and just chucking our name in there too.

Out with Wright I’m genuinely getting disappointed and drained by the apparent lack of rumours. I remained hopeful and giving the club the benefit of the doubt but unfortunately it looks like we’re going to go into this derby even weaker

You would think they’d want the business done as soon as possible. D put us in a good place for the derby.

18-01-2023, 04:17 PM

A RUMOUR!!!

This may be the sun playing us off against the dons knowing he’ll end up there thus making it look like we’ve missed out.

But doesn’t look like he’d be a bad signing

18-01-2023, 04:20 PM

With LJ saying he hoped to have a defensive player in this week I'm surprised it's taken so long to be linked with him. Not so surprised when you see Aberdeen have also been linked with him.

Looks like he's had 15 appearances for Sunderland this season playing 837 minutes with 8 appearances playing the full 90 minutes.

18-01-2023, 04:20 PM

I hope it is a genuine rumour and not a case of the press being notified by Hibs fans reaction and just chucking our name in there too.

Out with Wright I’m genuinely getting disappointed and drained by the apparent lack of rumours. I remained hopeful and giving the club the benefit of the doubt but unfortunately it looks like we’re going to go into this derby even weaker

You would think they’d want the business done as soon as possible. D put us in a good place for the derby.

I would hope it to be true too and not just another teaser so the press can take great delight in saying another player chooses Aberdeen over Hibs. We certainly need some quality added.

JammyDoidger
18-01-2023, 04:40 PM
Johnson had Bailey Wright at Bristol City then a Sunderland, if we are in for him we should get him, if there is wages to offer Porteous a bumper contract there's wages to replace him. Mon Hibs get the finger out.

18-01-2023, 04:44 PM
Impressed when I seen Wright for Sunderland and can tell he’s a good character from interviews

LunasBoots
18-01-2023, 04:47 PM

Agree, normally the in the know sort of folk have pretty concrete information on the rumour front, this window it's been pretty dead on that front

LunasBoots
18-01-2023, 04:50 PM
Aberdeen would probably offer to pay more of his wage while on loan than Hibs would. Mind you, if the player has any say in it he might prefer to play for LJ (if they got on ok previously).

I'd be surprised if Aberdeen are in for him, they seem to have done a bit of business defensively already and look pretty sound

HairyMM
18-01-2023, 04:52 PM
Johnson had Bailey Wright at Bristol City then a Sunderland, if we are in for him we should get him, if there is wages to offer Porteous a bumper contract there's wages to replace him. Mon Hibs get the finger out.

🤔 not sure if that is a positive or negative …..time will tell I suppose :flag:

18-01-2023, 04:55 PM
Is Wright a leftie or a rightie

18-01-2023, 04:58 PM
Looking at a Sunderland fans forum he's either on 20k per week or 10k max. He's either got 6 months left of a contract or 18 months left. He's to good for Aberdeen and our pub league. Sunderland could do better. If Porteous signs for Sunderland they can see him moving on. He's just become a dad so wouldn't move to Scotland, he's moving to Australia.

Think I covered most things😃
Football forums eh.

18-01-2023, 04:59 PM
Is Wright a leftie or a rightie

Think he's right footed but looking on YouTube he's definitely played lcb

HairyMM
18-01-2023, 05:01 PM

18-01-2023, 05:06 PM

Will he want to sign for LJ, when he could get bumped soon

Dr_Regal
18-01-2023, 05:12 PM
Would be a great signing

18-01-2023, 05:14 PM

Same could be said about Goodwin. If Aberdeen lose tonight we go above them if we win our next league game.

18-01-2023, 05:15 PM
Don't know much about him but hes coming from a level that's would suggest quality

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

18-01-2023, 05:17 PM
Don't know much about him but hes coming from a level that's would suggest quality

The bench in the championship?

Are you being sarcastic and this is a whoosh moment? 😂

18-01-2023, 05:23 PM
Wonder if Boyle could have a word with him

18-01-2023, 05:25 PM
Wonder if Boyle could have a word with him

Or McGeady?

18-01-2023, 05:35 PM
Or McGeady?

I feel like Boyle would have better things to say about the club tbh 😂

18-01-2023, 05:48 PM
The bench in the championship?

Are you being sarcastic and this is a whoosh moment? [emoji23]Not sarcastic at all

His pedigree is decent

18-01-2023, 05:51 PM
Not sarcastic at all

His pedigree is decent

I think he sounds decent as well. I just think you over egged the level he would be coming from 😜

Mcbizz1998
18-01-2023, 05:56 PM
At least it’s a rumour!

18-01-2023, 06:04 PM
I think he sounds decent as well. I just think you over egged the level he would be coming from [emoji12]Bit boring though compared to the Congolese Superleague

18-01-2023, 06:05 PM
He would be a good signing and bring some leadership also.

Good if he joins us. If he goes to Aberdeen he's ***** 😉

18-01-2023, 06:10 PM

I’m willing to guess that’s completely made up.

LunasBoots
18-01-2023, 06:11 PM
On big wages though it would appear...

18-01-2023, 06:11 PM

Educated guess is my educated guess.

ErinGoBraghHFC
18-01-2023, 06:19 PM
Bit boring though compared to the Congolese Superleague

If he’s no willing to set his heid on fire, Aberdeen are welcome to him imo

18-01-2023, 06:26 PM

You’d be wrong then

18-01-2023, 06:27 PM
Aberdeen linked too. No contest. Next!

18-01-2023, 06:56 PM
You’d be wrong then

Interesting.

Do you think we’ll get him then and if so, chances of him coming in before Sunday?

chippy
18-01-2023, 07:07 PM
It’ll be about the wages on offer I imagine

McGruber
18-01-2023, 07:11 PM
Interesting.

Do you think we’ll get him then and if so, chances of him coming in before Sunday?

If Porteous hasn't left before Sunday would a new centre back in make a great deal of difference? Presumably Bailey is seen as Porteous replacement? If he is needed for Sunday and Porteous still here does he come in for Rocky? Would that improve the team that much. Or if he comes in do we play a 3? Gives us the option I suppose. If anything was hoping for a quality centre mid brought in ready to play

supermcginn
18-01-2023, 07:12 PM

Wrong I'm afraid.

If Porteous hasn't left before Sunday would a new centre back in make a great deal of difference? Presumably Bailey is seen as Porteous replacement? If he is needed for Sunday and Porteous still here does he come in for Rocky? Would that improve the team that much. Or if he comes in do we play a 3? Gives us the option I suppose. If anything was hoping for a quality centre mid brought in ready to play

For me, if we get a new centre half in this week they play with Porteous and I think it could make a big difference.

Willis1875

It probably allows Johnson to stick Porteous in midfield

Bridge hibs
18-01-2023, 07:14 PM
Wrong I'm afraid.

Is he signing for hibs ?

18-01-2023, 07:20 PM
Could do a lot worse than look at that Armstrong from killie. Good player

18-01-2023, 07:20 PM

I don’t know much about the guy, one of the links said he can play right back as well though?

18-01-2023, 07:22 PM

Thought he looked good against Celtic as well

18-01-2023, 07:48 PM
I wonder if we’re close to appointing a DoF and we want all new signings under this window to appear to be under his management.

Get him off to a good start, fans will praise him and it will look like an apparent shift in quality?

Only thing I can think of other than the club being miles off it which I really hope isn’t the case

18-01-2023, 07:51 PM
I wonder if we’re close to appointing a DoF and we want all new signings under this window to appear to be under his management.

Get him off to a good start, fans will praise him and it will look like an apparent shift in quality?

Only thing I can think of other than the club being miles off it which I really hope isn’t the case

I just genuinely think we had no budget left and have had to try and make space. Maybe we were willing to go above and beyond to try and tie Porteous down but that cash wasn’t then made available for other players when he said no?

I’m sure they would’ve made signings by now if they had the means to do so.

18-01-2023, 07:55 PM
I just genuinely think we had no budget left and have had to try and make space. Maybe we were willing to go above and beyond to try and tie Porteous down but that cash wasn’t then made available for other players when he said no?

The making space could also mean some of that money saved will be used to pay D of F Salary if we are that skint

JimboHibs
18-01-2023, 07:59 PM

We should have taken a look at the now Killie manager.

18-01-2023, 08:01 PM

I totally agree. It doesn’t surprise me that we’re at this stage without any bodies in. With what was coming out before the window opened there was never going to be much happening. I also don’t think we were ever solving all our problems in this window because of the structural changes and all the stupid contracts we’ve handed out. We need at least a couple of players who go in to the 11, even if they’re short term (which I think anyone will be).

Gordy M
18-01-2023, 08:06 PM
Im sure i watched a press conference earlier with LJ and he stated that he hope to get at least 2 in? It was on twitter but cant find it now?

Gordy M
18-01-2023, 08:11 PM
This one?

https://twitter.com/TheHibsAreHere/status/1615788511570837505?t=fnEgXhkWL25YkvFBAyWl1g&s=19

Yeh thats the one.......did you opem it?? Lol

18-01-2023, 08:31 PM

No thanks. He’s got killie going and playing woefully.

18-01-2023, 08:45 PM

Aye flying at Kili second bottom

18-01-2023, 09:01 PM
Aye flying at Kili second bottom

Don’t get peoples clamour for Mcinnes. His style of football is completely outdated at our level and it gets found out

18-01-2023, 09:06 PM
If Goodwin gets punted think we should get Wright ok

18-01-2023, 09:19 PM
Leeds beat Everton for the signing of 20 year old Hoffenheim striker Georginio Rutter for a club record £36m

18-01-2023, 09:22 PM
I would think we will get a couple of loans until the end of the season. I can’t imagine we will be signing players on 3/4/l year deals if LJ is on a shoogly peg. At least if it does end up being a dross season the squad has been cut back for whoever is next on the chopping block in the summer.

18-01-2023, 10:18 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfer-latest-club-chiefs-make-ryan-porteous-decision-ahead-of-scottish-cup-derby-with-hearts-3992445

Toulouse, Udinese and Blackburn all speaking to us re Porteous.

No mention of players joining

18-01-2023, 10:20 PM
Don’t get peoples clamour for Mcinnes. His style of football is completely outdated at our level and it gets found out

He is like an even more dull Jack Ross

NC1875
18-01-2023, 11:02 PM
If Goodwin gets punted think we should get Wright ok

Aberdeen will stump up for him now after tonight.

18-01-2023, 11:02 PM

I didn’t want him when Ross got punted, and I don’t want him now.

Do I think our team would be doing better right now if he had come in, in the summer? Probably

18-01-2023, 11:47 PM
Aberdeens pumping will probably increase there need for Bailey Wright

19-01-2023, 05:50 AM
No thanks. He’s got killie going and playing woefully.

Competed way better than we did v Celtic twice and also last night, He is improving them imo.

19-01-2023, 05:56 AM
Si Ferry on open goal mentioned in the latest podcast that we are/were interested in Lawal that plays for Celtic B team.

Appears that would be Bosun Lawal, 19 year old defender/midfielder.

Can’t see that being true as in still looking at him however I’d have believed it months ago, one I would take from them is Scott Robertson

19-01-2023, 06:49 AM

His favourite way to win is 1-0. Says it all.

Silky
19-01-2023, 06:53 AM

At least it's a win.

JimboHibs
19-01-2023, 07:00 AM

The 'our level' statement .... I'm all ears whats our level.

19-01-2023, 07:17 AM

It’s actually the most common score in football.

Bad Habits
19-01-2023, 07:54 AM
Matt Penney anyone?

has been a standout at Motherwell, and just returned to Ipswich after his loan deal expired.

OldEast
19-01-2023, 08:01 AM
It’s actually the most common score in football.

It's actually 1-1 but you're right for some leagues.

19-01-2023, 08:05 AM
Matt Penney anyone?

has been a standout at Motherwell, and just returned to Ipswich after his loan deal expired.

Looked very ropey against us a couple of weeks ago

19-01-2023, 08:08 AM
https://twitter.com/voicesofthevic/status/1615998330911293440?s=46&t=AwLcFtWtXIx7euVo3rjUTA

Don’t remember seeing him being linked with us in the summer. Played a decent amount of games last season.

Enjoy Exeter…

kentao
19-01-2023, 08:09 AM
Matt Penney anyone?

I'd take him, although he did have a howler for our 2nd goal, he was 1 of 2 players that stood out for me the other was Mckinstry. If we are going to continue chucking £300k at youth projects would it not be a better idea to cherry pick the ones already performing in our league. It worked well enough for the Old Firm for years.

19-01-2023, 08:10 AM
Matt Penney anyone?

Think he’s a good player on the ball, lacking a bit defensively.

Plays with a bit more intensity than Cabraja.

I’m happy with Cabraja though, going through a bit of poor form but overall I think he’s a good player.

19-01-2023, 08:14 AM
Danny ings signs for West Ham

The Wireless
19-01-2023, 08:14 AM
Matt Penney anyone?

Not good enough for Ipswich ? No risk there then!

19-01-2023, 08:30 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfer-latest-club-chiefs-make-ryan-porteous-decision-ahead-of-scottish-cup-derby-with-hearts-3992445

Toulouse, Udinese and Blackburn all speaking to us re Porteous.

No mention of players joining

L J said he hoped to have one new player in before the Derby So assume he is still Hoping

19-01-2023, 09:04 AM
L J said he hoped to have one new player in before the Derby So assume he is still Hoping

So if someone signs today do we think he would go straight into the team at the weekend? No time to train or assimilate?

Helensburghhibs
19-01-2023, 09:07 AM
So if someone signs today do we think he would go straight into the team at the weekend? No time to train or assimilate?

If we make a signing decent enough I would have him in the team wearing his old club colours and trainers if needs be

19-01-2023, 09:08 AM

Too late to be fully up to speed for our biggest game of the season. LJ must be privately furious.

19-01-2023, 09:13 AM
Too late to be fully up to speed for our biggest game of the season. LJ must be privately furious.Ach, there'll be a focus group with flip charts and big pens, facilitators the whole nine yards, analysing the latest gems playing in the Belize Premier Division (South) as we speak. Keep the faith.

19-01-2023, 09:14 AM
Ach, there'll be a focus group with flip charts and big pens, facilitators the whole nine yards, analysing the latest gems playing in the Belize Premier Division (South) as we speak. Keep the faith.

Getting a bit sick of these jokes about our scouting system looking at these obscure leagues just because we took a punt on Bojang.

I’ve got every faith our scouts will be doing a decent job and scouting a much more elite division like the Belize Premier Division (North)

19-01-2023, 09:28 AM
Getting a bit sick of these jokes about our scouting system looking at these obscure leagues just because we took a punt on Bojang.

I’ve got every faith our scouts will be doing a decent job and scouting a much more elite division like the Belize Premier Division (North)North ffs! North?

You've obviously never been to a South game or probably never even seen one.

Disclaimer:the absence of any first hand knowledge of a league or player is not necessarily a bar to a signing so long as you have a couple of betamax tapes of someone that looks vaguely like him tearing up the wing.

19-01-2023, 09:31 AM

He wasn’t a regular starter under Johnson at Sunderland.

19-01-2023, 09:33 AM
North ffs! North?

You've obviously never been to a South game or probably never even seen one.

Disclaimer:the absence of any first hand knowledge of a league or player is not necessarily a bar to a signing so long as you have a couple of betamax tapes of someone that looks vaguely like him tearing up the wing.

Come back when a team in the south league has won the Caribbean Shrimp Company LTD cup.

19-01-2023, 09:36 AM
Too late to be fully up to speed for our biggest game of the season. LJ must be privately furious.

Would suggest it’s only us, the fans, who think it’s our biggest game of the season.

19-01-2023, 09:38 AM
He talks more sheite than me.

19-01-2023, 09:39 AM
Come back when a team in the south league has won the Caribbean Shrimp Company LTD cup.[emoji23]
You got me there, I think we will have moved onto analysis of the Cook Islands La Liga now, so fingers crossed there'll be a game changing signing in time for Sunday.

Percy Vere
19-01-2023, 09:45 AM

Might be best that he’s not fully assimilated
Bring something fresh to the team

19-01-2023, 10:06 AM
We once signed a player-Harvey McCreadie- who we had to get out of jail. Think we've missed a trick here.

19-01-2023, 10:10 AM
Come back when a team in the south league has won the Caribbean Shrimp Company LTD cup.

Forrest, is that really you?

Mrimbetween
19-01-2023, 10:38 AM
Bailey Wright anyone ??

19-01-2023, 11:03 AM
Bailey Wright anyone ??

Definitely would take him as he’s a character and adds leadership.

He would replace Porto and still means we need to recruit in central midfield.

Donegal Hibby
19-01-2023, 11:23 AM
Seen this article about bailey wright.
https://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/football/sunderland-fans-deliver-interesting-transfer-theory-after-bailey-wright-to-hibernian-links-emerge-3992854

19-01-2023, 11:43 AM
I can see us announcing someone today just guess work

I'm Spartacus
19-01-2023, 11:53 AM
Bailey Wright anyone ??

I first read that as 'Tommy Wright'! :) Haha the strength of the mind eh?

19-01-2023, 11:54 AM
I can see us announcing someone today just guess work

Well, they said we'd have someone in by the cup game, so there's a 1 in 3 shot that we do.

Just hope it's someone whose very good at the old football.

bythecringe
19-01-2023, 12:00 PM
We once signed a player-Harvey McCreadie- who we had to get out of jail. Think we've missed a trick here.
I remember him - not that he was any good. Perhaps the Cheshire League where I think he came from could be our new go to league for players? Surely we could afford the train fare to actually see in action what we’re buying.

Broxburn Greens
19-01-2023, 12:02 PM
Ach, there'll be a focus group with flip charts and big pens, facilitators the whole nine yards, analysing the latest gems playing in the Belize Premier Division (South) as we speak. Keep the faith.

Funny because it’s probably true!

19-01-2023, 12:27 PM
Who was the last player to make their debut in a derby?

Jonathan Spector?

Lester B
19-01-2023, 12:40 PM
Seen this article about bailey wright.
https://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/football/sunderland-fans-deliver-interesting-transfer-theory-after-bailey-wright-to-hibernian-links-emerge-3992854

Just spoken to a Sunderland supporting mate who says the strong rumours there this morning is that he's heading to Aberdeen as stated elsewhere. He's fallen down the pecking order there but my mate says he's a leader on the park. He sounds ideal for what we need.

archie
19-01-2023, 12:42 PM
Just spoken to a Sunderland supporting mate who says the strong rumours there this morning is that he's heading to Aberdeen as stated elsewhere. He's fallen down the pecking order there but my mate says he's a leader on the park. He sounds ideal for what we need.

Hopefully the chaos at Aberdeen puts him off.

Lester B
19-01-2023, 12:48 PM

Hopefully but have a bit of chaos ourselves at the moment!:wink:

ehf
19-01-2023, 12:48 PM
[emoji23]
You got me there, I think we will have moved onto analysis of the Cook Islands La Liga now, so fingers crossed there'll be a game changing signing in time for Sunday.

Announce Grover Harmon! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grover_Harmon

19-01-2023, 12:49 PM

Hopefully he saw last night result and chooses Hibs. Maybe Hearts have done us a favour ?!

Feels like that would be a record number of Oz players in Prem league if he arrives ?!

Lester B
19-01-2023, 12:49 PM
I first read that as 'Tommy Wright'! :) Haha the strength of the mind eh?

Could be worse. Could have read it as Drey!

Donegal Hibby
19-01-2023, 12:51 PM
Certainly could do with some leadership in our team also a good centre half by all accounts, was hoping the player would rather team up with our manager who had him twice though we will just have to wait and see . I did read that Sunderland weren't prepared to let him go till after there match this weekend also.

LunasBoots
19-01-2023, 12:55 PM

Well hopefully he wasn't the one Johnson said would be done this week

19-01-2023, 12:55 PM

This smacks of when Jack Ross said he needed a defender all summer long and ended up with Nathan Wood. Rapidly losing patience with the recruitment team so god knows how the manager feels. On paper, the boy Wright looks the type of player we need. A no nonsense leader type. Hopefully get him in.

19-01-2023, 12:56 PM
https://twitter.com/tam_mcfanny/status/1616065567919640577?s=46&t=LkMp_ETJmPUGD3Ff1jKCFw

Poster twitter name suggest he may indeed be a fanny and taking the piss

19-01-2023, 12:58 PM
https://twitter.com/tam_mcfanny/status/1616065567919640577?s=46&t=LkMp_ETJmPUGD3Ff1jKCFw

I’m no sure his name, Tam McFanny, is doing much for his credibility.

Hope it’s not his real name.

19-01-2023, 12:59 PM

3 followers too.

More than me tbf

19-01-2023, 12:59 PM

I hope it is!

19-01-2023, 01:03 PM

Does he wear a McFanny hat though?

19-01-2023, 01:04 PM
Does he wear a McFanny hat though?

[emoji23][emoji23]

19-01-2023, 01:17 PM
Announce Grover Harmon! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grover_Harmon[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23] We have a winner. Brilliant spot

Careful what you wish for I think the "recruitment team " look in here for guidance.

19-01-2023, 03:12 PM

Tam McAnus would've been better.

19-01-2023, 03:22 PM

Hope it’s not his real name.There must be thousands of people in Scotland called Tam who don't get their credibility called into question because they might prefer Tam to Thomas, what's the problem here? [emoji6]

JamesHFC
19-01-2023, 03:26 PM
Who was the last player to make their debut in a derby?

Jonathan Spector?

Boyle if you include returning players.

19-01-2023, 03:28 PM
Trossard to Arsenal for 20 million + 7 million in add ons with 6 months left on his contract

19-01-2023, 03:35 PM
Trossard to Arsenal for 20 million + 7 million in add ons with 6 months left on his contract

He has 18 months left on his contract, Brighton triggered a 1 year extension clause in his contract earlier this month.

19-01-2023, 03:38 PM
He has 18 months left on his contract, Brighton triggered a 1 year extension clause in his contract earlier this month.

My mistake

19-01-2023, 03:40 PM
Reports that Lazio are interested in signing Miovski from Aberdeen £2.2m

19-01-2023, 03:48 PM
Looks like we won't be getting anyone in the door today then.

McGruber
19-01-2023, 03:58 PM
Looks like we won't be getting anyone in the door today then.

There's 2 announcements to come,

1. Just pre Hearts game, we have kept Porteous for the game and he will play - how well we've done

2. Just pre window closing, we have appointed 'insert name' as Director of football to oversee the new structure and summer recruitment

Pepper with lovely PR spin and deflection achieved.

Get your season tickets next season to support insert name in his super summer recruitment drive

Chip shop Joe
19-01-2023, 04:03 PM

I think that is a great signing. Especially when you see some of the fees down south. A superb bit of business!

NC1875
19-01-2023, 04:06 PM
And another day passes. Are we allowed to moan about the lack of signings yet.

JammyDoidger
19-01-2023, 04:10 PM

Where is the invisible man? Wonder if we will hear from him at the end of this window. Sleepwalking our way right out of the Scottish cup, or admitting defeat unsure which one.

19-01-2023, 04:10 PM
Paul Lambert open to managing in Scotland again according to daily Ranger

19-01-2023, 04:12 PM

Genuinely shocked we haven't made a signing yet.

19-01-2023, 04:13 PM

I’m not.

Fans being taken for mugs.

19-01-2023, 04:17 PM
The select few on .net already are. I look forward to the same bunch making the same statements day after day after day after day after day. Maybe I should have paid more attention the first time they repeated themselves. Oh wait I did.

19-01-2023, 04:18 PM

What’s the rush? We don’t have any big games coming up

19-01-2023, 04:18 PM
The select few on .net already are. I look forward to the same bunch making the same statements day after day after day after day after day. Maybe I should have paid more attention the first time they repeated themselves. Oh wait I did.

Stick them on ignore and you won’t have to

Should we not have expected signings yet or do we need to wait on you telling us when it’s alright?

19-01-2023, 04:20 PM
Paul Lambert open to managing in Scotland again according to daily Ranger

He’s one of the Bookies favourites for the Dons job, if Goodwin is fired

19-01-2023, 04:24 PM

Same as you, genuinely in disbelief we’ve not made one signing to a struggling team ahead of a really important game.

We heard the outs are as important as the ins and we’d come out the window a better team.

Well as it stands we’re a weaker team with less option.

God forbid something happen to Nisbet tomorrow or on Sunday as it will be McKirdy and Youan up top.

19-01-2023, 04:26 PM
Stick them on ignore and you won’t have to

Should we not have expected signings yet or do we need to wait on you telling us when it’s alright?
Lol. Maybe I'm just long past the age where I get my panties in a bunch over things I have no control over. You carry on though, you're doing a fine job.

19-01-2023, 04:27 PM
Lol. Maybe I'm just long past the age where I get my panties in a bunch over things I have no control over. You carry on though, you're doing a fine job.

You can control what you see on this site though so if you don’t like seeing certain posts over and over, place those people on ignore and you won’t see them.

None of us have much control over things that go on at hibs, maybe we should just close .net down?

19-01-2023, 04:28 PM

Said the person with twisted panties over people's comments on a forum...

19-01-2023, 04:31 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64302265
Hibs considering Blackburn offer - so says Brain McLauchlin

19-01-2023, 04:31 PM
Said the person with twisted panties over people's comments on a forum...
Oh aye right, bang to rights guvnor lol.

19-01-2023, 04:32 PM
He’s one of the Bookies favourites for the Dons job, if Goodwin is fired

We could and have done worse.

19-01-2023, 04:33 PM
You can control what you see on this site though so if you don’t like seeing certain posts over and over, place those people on ignore and you won’t see them.

None of us have much control over things that go on at hibs, maybe we should just close .net down?
If you repeat that every day for the next month you might be able to bring some others on board with your suggestion.

19-01-2023, 04:34 PM
Same as you, genuinely in disbelief we’ve not made one signing to a struggling team ahead of a really important game.

We heard the outs are as important as the ins and we’d come out the window a better team.

Well as it stands we’re a weaker team with less option.

God forbid something happen to Nisbet tomorrow or on Sunday as it will be McKirdy and Youan up top.

It’s maybe just me but I’m not surprised in the slightest about how the window has played out so far. Thought it would be difficult to shift anyone of any significance. And didn’t expect much in the way. Just couldn’t see it going any other way with what was coming out in the lead up to it.

It’s beyond poor but I’m not surprised.

19-01-2023, 04:35 PM
If you repeat that every day for the next month you might be able to bring some others on board with your suggestion.

I’ve not had to bring others on board with anything, people form their own opinions.

If you don’t have an opinion on us not signing anyone then that’s fair enough but it’s not unexpected for people to be concerned at this point in January with no signings giving how poor we are

19-01-2023, 04:36 PM
What is the mystery element that has somehow enabled others to make signings but not us?

19-01-2023, 04:37 PM
What is the mystery element that has somehow enabled others to make signings but not us?Money

19-01-2023, 04:38 PM
Money

Nope.

Ryan Porteous Hibs transfer saga takes another twist as Jon Dahl Tomasson confirms Blackburn bid

bit.ly/3XjD2Fw

In some ways I'm glad we haven't signed anyone because based on the evidence the current recruitment set up is a complete shambles and I don't trust anyone to sign anyone good.

I’ve not had to bring others on board with anything, people form their own opinions.

If you don’t have an opinion on us not signing anyone then that’s fair enough but it’s not unexpected for people to be concerned at this point in January with no signings giving how poor we are

Undefeated in two! 😁

19-01-2023, 04:39 PM
Ryan Porteous Hibs transfer saga takes another twist as Jon Dahl Tomasson confirms Blackburn bid

bit.ly/3XjD2Fw

He can do better than Blackburn IMO.

Colinton Hibby
I am honestly astonished that we have not brought anyone in to the club this window. We’ve let a good few go and freed up money but still no movement. We are desperately short in all departments of the team and need tried, tested and experienced players in. At this moment our squad is worse off, much worse, than before the window opened and we were short to start with. Wtf is going on? I thought we would have a couple of good signings in by now.

Undefeated in two! 😁

Here we go 10 in a row

19-01-2023, 04:41 PM

Yes, but the owner decided Lee Johnson was the better bet. :wink:

19-01-2023, 04:41 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64302265
Hibs considering Blackburn offer - so says Brain McLauchlin

Hopefully we can get a sell-on clause, probably better than trying to get a few more £££ just now.

19-01-2023, 04:42 PM
In some ways I'm glad we haven't signed anyone because based on the evidence the current recruitment set up is a complete shambles and I don't trust anyone to sign anyone good.

They’re also going to be responsible for recruiting a DOF, so hopefully they don’t make a mistake with that too. Their recruitment record so far has been abysmal.

19-01-2023, 04:42 PM
Here we go 10 in a row

I'll be happy with 3 in-a-row.

MagicSwirlingShip
19-01-2023, 04:44 PM

Imagine choosing Blackburn over Toulouse or Udine.

LunasBoots
19-01-2023, 04:45 PM

bit.ly/3XjD2Fw

Wonder if there's a chance he won't play on Sunday now

#AnnounceJoeNewellsContractExtension

I'll be happy with 3 in-a-row.

Aw absolutely, here we go 3 in a row in all competitions

MagicSwirlingShip
19-01-2023, 04:46 PM
#AnnounceJoeNewellsContractExtension

Ban

19-01-2023, 04:47 PM
They’re also going to be responsible for recruiting a DOF, so hopefully they don’t make a mistake with that too. Their recruitment record so far has been abysmal.

Not entirely fair, surely they must have snatched Ian Gordon as Head of Recruitment from under the noses of several other clubs?

19-01-2023, 04:49 PM

Blackburn are quality, the original old time English team with a rich history. They are a real community club with salt of the Earth supporters who don’t fall into the trap of Man U, Liverpool, Man City etc. who are all in close proximity. Plus that’s where my wife is from, Mon the Rovers. 😂

LunasBoots
19-01-2023, 04:51 PM

Maybe he doesn't fancy playing overseas...

DIXIHIBS
19-01-2023, 04:54 PM

Going abroad is not for everyone. Maybe happier in more familiar surroundings.

19-01-2023, 04:54 PM
Not entirely fair, surely they must have snatched Ian Gordon as Head of Recruitment from under the noses of several other clubs?

Forgot about him, he also seems to be versatile and can (ehem) operate in a number of positions. 😁

19-01-2023, 04:55 PM

Sounds very much like your panties are bunching up!

I remember when you used to offer your opinion on things Hibs related. Now all you do is slag off Hibs fans for having a different opinion to your own. Day after day after day.....

19-01-2023, 04:57 PM
#announceWillFishonapermanentdeal

19-01-2023, 04:57 PM
If you were (insert name here) currently in charge of recruitment at Hibs would you at this stage:

a) decide that if we haven't got a really strong signing over the line in time for the derby then we shouldn't bother in this window
or
b) decide that a limp DoF structure announcement at the beginning of the window probably isn't going to cut it with the support on its own so it might be an idea to make a couple of 'meh' signings at least to show some vague interest in the footballing side
or
c) decide that the fans know nothing and announce your new DoF immediately after the window closes in a weird effort to buy off criticism while giving said new DoF the equivalent of a transfer window hospital pass

Asking for a clueless and making-it-up-as-he-goes-along friend.

19-01-2023, 04:58 PM
What is the mystery element that has somehow enabled others to make signings but not us?

Common sense and foresight.

Scotty Leither
19-01-2023, 05:00 PM
I am honestly astonished that we have not brought anyone in to the club this window. We’ve let a good few go and freed up money but still no movement. We are desperately short in all departments of the team and need tried, tested and experienced players in. At this moment our squad is worse off, much worse, than before the window opened and we were short to start with. Wtf is going on? I thought we would have a couple of good signings in by now.

Ben Kensell will explain it all on Hibs TV, it'll all be part of the masterplan, which appears to be shifting out all the ***** they've signed, selling Porteous this window (wouldn't surprise me if he doesn't play in the Derby, despite the club saying he won't move until after it), and everything is going to be alright after our new DoF comes in.

Won't sign anyone of note, as I actually think the owner is cutting his losses and is tired of his toy.

****ing joke.

19-01-2023, 05:04 PM
Ben Kensell will explain it all on Hibs TV, it'll all be part of the masterplan, which appears to be shifting out all the ***** they've signed, selling Porteous this window (wouldn't surprise me if he doesn't play in the Derby, despite the club saying he won't move until after it), and everything is going to be alright after our new DoF comes in.

Won't sign anyone of note, as I actually think the owner is cutting his losses.

****ing joke.

I think the owner is in it for the longer haul, but he and the people he has appointed have made a complete cod of the footballing side.

We are currently in the position that there is no-one in there with any authority who knows what they are doing with signings and there is little trust between those who are on the executive side and those who are on the football side.

They need a DoF because, to be blunt, they are superb on the revenues side but 5hite on the football side. It's like having an excellent guided missile but the explosives inside it are made of caps.

19-01-2023, 05:05 PM

Won't sign anyone of note, as I actually think the owner is cutting his losses and is tired of his toy.

****ing joke.

You hate Hibs eh 😂

19-01-2023, 05:06 PM

****ing joke.

Ron Gordon being invisible now suggests he's ashamed of his repeated mistakes, backing up signing policy on podcasts and with media with little to no evidence to his stance. Or, as you say, he's looking to sell.

Scotty Leither
19-01-2023, 05:08 PM
You hate Hibs eh 😂

Can you no do any better than that pal?

Change your material or your scriptwriter, FFS.

19-01-2023, 05:10 PM
You hate Hibs eh 😂

Is there much wrong in what was said? Do you think it’s good enough we have no new faces ahead of another derby after 3 weeks ago?

19-01-2023, 05:12 PM

He could also do a lot worse than a club who should make the Championship play offs this season.

That was the John McGinn path to the premier league.

19-01-2023, 05:40 PM
Is there much wrong in what was said? Do you think it’s good enough we have no new faces ahead of another derby after 3 weeks ago?

Not in isolation no but over the piece it’s constant

19-01-2023, 05:40 PM
Can you no do any better than that pal?

Change your material or your scriptwriter, FFS.

Quite content pal don’t you worry

19-01-2023, 05:41 PM
Anyway here’s one, Keetings to Tranent Juniors 🤔

Hibiza
19-01-2023, 05:42 PM
Gordon's , kensell & Johnson OUT. Football ( soccer) men in .

19-01-2023, 05:45 PM
Gordon's , kensell & Johnson OUT. Football ( soccer) men in .

Original from you as ever.

19-01-2023, 05:49 PM

Who would you trust to bring in the new faces ?

19-01-2023, 05:56 PM
Who would you trust to bring in the new faces ?

Marti Caine?

Hibiza
19-01-2023, 05:57 PM
Original from you as ever.

You're welcome Sir , just my opinion .

Hibiza
19-01-2023, 05:58 PM
Marti Caine?

😂😂😂

19-01-2023, 05:59 PM
6'7 Matt Macey could be joining Aberdeen or Dundee Utd on loan accord to Alan Nixon

Up-the-slope
19-01-2023, 06:02 PM
I just had a look on Blackburn Rovers Fans site transfer thread (see what they are making of bid for Ryan)...

Heavens its like a carbon copy of this thread complaints about - owners / transfer policy / contracts run down etc etc :greengrin

19-01-2023, 06:02 PM
6'7 Matt Macey could be joining Aberdeen or Dundee Utd on loan accord to Alan Nixon

That’s good, weakens both

19-01-2023, 06:13 PM
I just had a look on Blackburn Rovers Fans site transfer thread (see what they are making of bid for Ryan)...

Heavens its like a carbon copy of this thread complaints about - owners / transfer policy / contracts run down etc etc :greengrin

Last accounts to June 2021 (Covid)
T/O £14.5m
Wages £25m
Wages to turnover ratio 172%