View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread
Would need to have been registered by 5pm yesterday I think so highly unlikely.
Where did you get that time from? I've tried to find confirmation but haven't managed to.
21-01-2023, 12:40 PM
I’m presuming the 2 going LJ mentioned in his presser yesterday, will be from Mitchell, Cabraja, JDH and Jair
Henderson hopefully
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 12:42 PM
I'm beginning to think that there will be no signings, period.I think the poster who posted it on here about it being posted on twitter about a signing may confirm later due to his inbox being rammed
With apologies 🤣
HendoDelivered
21-01-2023, 12:48 PM
James jeggo seems to be the new twitter rumour…
21-01-2023, 12:50 PM
James jeggo seems to be the new twitter rumour…Lifted directly from here to be fair
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
21-01-2023, 12:50 PM
Where did you get that time from? I've tried to find confirmation but haven't managed to.
Sure I read it somewhere might be completely wrong
21-01-2023, 12:51 PM
That HibsCentral guy sure knows his stuff eh?
HendoDelivered
21-01-2023, 12:53 PM
That HibeeSS0762 guy sure knows his stuff eh?
Fixed :greengrin
NC1875
21-01-2023, 01:08 PM
Reminds me of Edwin De Graff
21-01-2023, 01:08 PM
Got to the 'stage 2 of 10' bit and tapped out. Sick of the knowing whats wrong and how to fix. Spinning yarn and buying time. Like an 'I'll change' in a doomed relationship which if this already isn't will be if we get scudded Sunday.
So - LJ has arrived in the summer - has had a half season to properly assess the squad and is now slap in the middle of his 1st mid-season window - so he calls it Stage 2 of a 10 stage (team building?) process. What's so difficult to understand?
Hibees1973
21-01-2023, 01:10 PM
Seems a lot of guys on here expected a new signing this week.
I'm delighted we haven't. Would have been a lot to expect someone to make a radical difference tomorrow.
We need to shift a whole load of crap out first, who have made zero impression on the 1st team. Those shipped out so far, we won't miss any of them. I would prefer we wait until a DOF comes in first, even if it's not soon.
I don't want Ron's son to have any say on new signings until a DOF comes in. He has created a complete shambles. Just hope the DOF has some credibility and is able to have full control on how players are recruited.
With the points we have already I reckon we have just enough in the squad to stay up this season and make a fresh start in 2023-2024.
21-01-2023, 01:11 PM
Anyone know what type of centre mid Jeggo is?
Also is this a recruitment team, LJ or DoF signing?🤣
He seems to have been linked with a lot of decent clubs over the years.
21-01-2023, 01:11 PM
Reminds me of Edwin De Graff
In what way?
sauzeelegod
21-01-2023, 01:13 PM
Looks like he’s a defensive mid.
21-01-2023, 01:13 PM
I'm delighted we haven't. Would have been a lot to expect someone to make a radical difference tomorrow.
We need to shift a whole load of crap out first, who have made zero impression on the 1st team. Those shipped out so far, we won't miss any of them. I would prefer we wait until a DOF comes in first, even if it's not soon.
I don't want Ron's son to have any say on new signings until a DOF comes in. He has created a complete shambles. Just hope the DOF has some credibility and is able to have full control on how players are recruited.
With the points we have already I reckon we have just enough in the squad to stay up this season and make a fresh start in 2023-2024.
Nah let's bring in better players now
21-01-2023, 01:20 PM
The player we supposedly signed yesterday or a player we are rumoured to be interested in?
21-01-2023, 01:20 PM
I'm perfectly comfortable with us signing nobody this window. It's probably the lesser of the two evils. Rather than than bring in more dross. Would rather wait until we have a DoF in place.
Silky
21-01-2023, 01:21 PM
Still seems to be plenty chatter about it online.
That doesn't necessarily make it true though. No evidence, no names, no sources, no announcement. No happened.
21-01-2023, 01:30 PM
James Jeggo?
21-01-2023, 01:34 PM
James Jeggo?
The players will be unsure how to make his surname more matey and footballery 😁
21-01-2023, 01:46 PM
The players will be unsure how to make his surname more matey and footballery [emoji16]
Jeggsy for sure.
I think the poster who posted it on here about it being posted on twitter about a signing may confirm later due to his inbox being rammed
With apologies 🤣
I've yet to be convinced.
21-01-2023, 02:15 PM
You’d rather self sabotage than make new signings?
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 02:18 PM
You’d rather self sabotage than make new signings?I wouldnt read too much into what he says, he doesnt even know the name of Ron Gordons Son 😀
21-01-2023, 02:30 PM
Another Marquee signing
21-01-2023, 02:35 PM
I wouldnt read too much into what he says, he doesnt even know the name of Ron Gordons Son 😀
😂😂😂
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 02:35 PM
Another Marquee signing
Who have we signed ?
21-01-2023, 02:40 PM
Who have we signed ?
James Lanier
21-01-2023, 02:41 PM
Who have we signed ?
Guy Rope. Managed to tie him down on a 3 year deal.
21-01-2023, 02:42 PM
Who have we signed ?
Mark key.
Formerly of Swindon and Bristol rovers.
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 02:43 PM
James Lanier
Im going to wait until someone googles that name 🫣
21-01-2023, 02:44 PM
Who have we signed ?
Tent Alexander-Arnold.
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 02:44 PM
Aye ok, I now see the OPs inTent 🥹
21-01-2023, 03:01 PM
Nigerian centre back Gaz Ebo
21-01-2023, 03:11 PM
Nigerian centre back Gaz Ebo
He's just a poor man's Per Gola.
21-01-2023, 03:13 PM
He's just a poor man's Per Gola.[emoji23]
21-01-2023, 03:26 PM
He's just a poor man's Per Gola.
We could sign Pat Eo to partner him.
21-01-2023, 03:30 PM
2 goals for Steven Bradley today albeit against stenhousemuir.
Takes him to 2 goals and 2 assists in 4 games since joining.
21-01-2023, 03:31 PM
Mark key.
Formerly of Swindon and Bristol rovers.
Is he a Pole?
Heard we are also looking at french central midfielder Guy Ropê...
And Dutch forward Erik ten Pegs..
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 03:35 PM
Wondering whats taking the club so long. Starting to have doubts now.
Tent Alexander-Arnold.
Pops up with a goal now and again.
Victor
21-01-2023, 03:37 PM
Waiting for the folks on Hibs.net to run out of tent puns?
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 03:39 PM
Wondering whats taking the club so long. Starting to have doubts now.Maybe because we havent signed anyone ?
21-01-2023, 03:39 PM
Is he a Pole?
Heard we are also looking at french central midfielder Guy Ropê...
And Dutch forward Erik ten Pegs..
I have it on good authority that it's a Swedish centre half.
Tarp Olin :agree:
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 03:41 PM
Maybe because we havent signed anyone ?
Probably.
It's a hard Norwegian centre half
Erik Shaun
Fuzzywuzzy
The players will be unsure how to make his surname more matey and footballery 😁
Just jeg
Always liked everyone referring to drey wright as drey wright
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 03:43 PM
It's a hard Norwegian centre half
Erik ShaunIt was actually his centre half partner Bun Gee, cant play anyway as he is suspended
I really hope Ron and co are conTent with what they are doing. I hope they announce something soon to release the tentsion amongst the support.
Ps sorry I’ll get ma coat!
21-01-2023, 03:46 PM
I really hope Ron and co are conTent with what they are doing. I hope they announce something soon to release the tentsion amongst the support.
Ps sorry I’ll get ma coat!
They'll have to pitch their announcement carefully.
Korean midfielder Campi Ng
21-01-2023, 03:48 PM
Think they’re doing the same as with Boyle and announcing it the morning of
Feed McGraw
21-01-2023, 03:50 PM
Hearing now that it`s Billy Bigtop........and please no circus puns.
hibsforeurope
21-01-2023, 03:52 PM
Or just as likely to have realised there was a cut off for registering players for this round of the cup and hold off until Monday ( if anyone has signed at all).
21-01-2023, 03:53 PM
Went out this morning, came on here to see pun upon pun, am I right in thinking we have been linked to a guy called Jeggo?
Where did this rumour come from?
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 03:56 PM
Would be mental if so. Surely could boost ticket sales and get the sell out if they announce today?
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 03:57 PM
Hearing now that it`s Billy Bigtop........and please no circus puns.
My mate, now a football player worked in a circus and did a human cannonball act. They never replaced him when he retired, they couldn’t find anyone else of the same calibre
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 04:00 PM
Mad hatter told you cm mate🤝
21-01-2023, 04:00 PM
Jeggo official now
21-01-2023, 04:01 PM
Jeggo signed official
Jimmy jeggo confirmed 18 month deal
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 04:01 PM
Told yous all! 😁😁😁 didn't doubt my source for a second... 😂
21-01-2023, 04:02 PM
An actual signing :hyper :hyper
21-01-2023, 04:02 PM
Available tomorrow?
21-01-2023, 04:03 PM
Great news that we have a guy in, doesn't look as though he's playing tomorrow though.
Trinity Hibee
21-01-2023, 04:03 PM
Available tomorrow?
Don’t be daft. Waiting on international clearance. Might see him next season
dphibs
21-01-2023, 04:04 PM
It’s Jimmy Jeggo just announced
supershotmo
He better be good. Sounds desperate.
Injured already
21-01-2023, 04:05 PM
Don’t be daft. Waiting on international clearance. Might see him next seasonJesus christ, you know pretty much every signing from another clubs needs international clearance?
Where's the signings????!!!
Hibs - a signing
Aye but he needs international clearance!!!
Boooo.
Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 04:05 PM
Sorry but is this guy any good ? Don't find it all that a exciting signing to be honest !
21-01-2023, 04:06 PM
International clearance is the norm for players moving cross border, I'm sure you knew that though.
21-01-2023, 04:06 PM
Sorry but is this guy any good ? Don't find it all that a exciting signing to be honest !Heared he's crap mate
Honestly no idea but he's played at a pretty decent level for a good amount of time
Trinity Hibee
21-01-2023, 04:08 PM
International clearance is the norm for players moving cross border, I'm sure you knew that though.
I’m not really interested. He’s not ready to play yet so couldn’t care less now. If we go out tomorrow because we have played a very weak starting 11 the season is done and this signing may as well waited to the summer.
Not the players fault but the club can’t expect us to be satisfied with this. Haha it’s beyond parody now.
:singing: Jimmy
Jimmy Jeggo
Jimmy Jeggo
Jimmy
Jimmy Jeggo
finally get to sing the Jimmy Boco tune again
I’m not really interested. He’s not ready to play yet so couldn’t care less now. If we go out tomorrow because we have played a very weak starting 11 the season is done and this signing may as well waited to the summer.Have a kit kat mate
Log off and have kit kat
21-01-2023, 04:09 PM
Does anyone know if he's been injured? Less than 300 appearances for a 30 year old seems quite low.
21-01-2023, 04:09 PM
I always said that hibs net was a haven for happy hibees. 😆
21-01-2023, 04:11 PM
https://youtu.be/6x50SZvhYhk?t=42
https://youtu.be/cAiqIo9wVys?t=27
Sportsound just said got some news coming from Hibs in a couple of minutes. 🤞
Trinity Hibee
21-01-2023, 04:12 PM
Sportsound just said got some news coming from Hibs in a couple of minutes.
Maybe tomorrows games been postponed?
21-01-2023, 04:12 PM
And German left back Gründ Sheit
21-01-2023, 04:13 PM
Does anyone know if he's been injured? Less than 300 appearances for a 30 year old seems quite low.
Not really relevant to your question as I assume this was when he was younger however I see he had Leukaemia.
Must have a hell of an attitude and work ethic to get through that and become a professional football player.
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 04:14 PM
Apology for what?
Told you last night mate. Also, pretty sure Hibs are doing same thing as they did with Boyle. He’ll be in contention for Sunday👍
Does anyone know if he's been injured? Less than 300 appearances for a 30 year old seems quite low.15/16 looks wrong but maybe don't track sturm graz ii games?
That's still 20 odd games a year on average since he was 20
He better be good. Sounds desperate.
How is it desperate?
Feed McGraw
21-01-2023, 04:16 PM
My mate, now a football player worked in a circus and did a human cannonball act. They never replaced him when he retired, they couldn’t find anyone else of the same calibre:thumbsup:
Mikey_1875
21-01-2023, 04:17 PM
Great if he can make tomorrow but it’s a position we needed addressing regardless. It’s a role we have struggled to fill for a while so hopefully he can adapt to the game here and do the business. Certainly has enough experience at a decent level.
How is it desperate?
You can't win! We sign an experience, international defensive midfield and it seems desperate 🤣🤣
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1616847089052286979?t=Mex7KxmDmjNRAB6nG3BTKA&s=19
Told you last night mate. Also, pretty sure Hibs are doing same thing as they did with Boyle. He’ll be in contention for Sunday👍
We must have applied for a work permit a few weeks ago then.
21-01-2023, 04:18 PM
Sorry but is this guy any good ? Don't find it all that a exciting signing to be honest !
I feel a bit like that but some of our most underwhelming signings have been our best. Quite funny the ITK folk on Twitter telling us to be very excited, worth the wait etc then we announce James Jeggo.
Good to see he trained with us too.
cameronw-hfc
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1616847089052286979?t=Mex7KxmDmjNRAB6nG3BTKA&s=19
Which would indicate maybe I was right last night that they were waiting on his permit before announcing. Being an international means the permit would have been much quicker. Can't train without one, but can train without clearance, just needs that to play.
Should say I'm not claiming itk on that was just pure guesswork from me as to why it hadn't been announced.
Lee Marvin
How does that seem low? 30 games per season over ten years
21-01-2023, 04:20 PM
According to TransferMarkt he has English citizenship.
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 04:20 PM
Check two posts below you mate👍
21-01-2023, 04:21 PM
Which would indicate maybe I was right last night that they were waiting on his permit before announcing. Being an international means the permit would have been much quicker. Can't train without one, but can train without clearance, just needs that to play.
Should say I'm not claiming itk on that was just pure guesswork from me as to why it hadn't been announced.He seems to have english citizenship
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 04:21 PM
According to TransferMarkt he has English citizenship.
Also, international clearance doesn’t take nearly as long as work permit. Boyles took a day or so. He’ll be in squad on Sunday👍
supershotmo
21-01-2023, 04:22 PM
How is it desperate?
30 year old Aussie. Surely we can scout the market better.
21-01-2023, 04:23 PM
Check two posts below you mate👍
So born in Austria, moved to Australia, played in Belgium, Greece, Austria and Australia but has British citizenship. Well travelled! :greengrin
21-01-2023, 04:23 PM
Looks like he's played twice in the past 2 weeks so should be fit
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 04:24 PM
So that’s it. Boys finished before he’s even kicked a ball. What chance you given someone? He’s played at a good level and has played games this season. International caps so I would say he’s ready to hit the ground running🤣
Wtf 🤣
We want experience that can hit the ground running, and we have signed someone who can do that!
Tully
So who's the other signing we've made?
30 year old Aussie. Surely we can scout the market better.What market and how can you have any idea what he's like?
Negative for Negatives sake
HarpOnHibee
Also, international clearance doesn’t take nearly as long as work permit. Boyles took a day or so. He’ll be in squad on Sunday👍
Not sure if throwing him straight into this one is the best idea. He'll have no idea what he's in for.
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 04:25 PM
International so wouldn't have taken as long, look at Celtic and everyone asking why they got WP through within a day or two when we waited weeks.
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 04:25 PM
So born in Austria, moved to Australia, played in Belgium, Greece, Austria and Australia but has British citizenship. Well travelled! :greengrin
Correct. Probably to do with relatives I’m going to presume.
Billy McKirdy
21-01-2023, 04:26 PM
James Jago (!) ? Never heard of him
21-01-2023, 04:27 PM
I don't know. His name sounds a bit like a mix of Jenga and Lego. Something for Hibs to build on. :greengrin
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 04:27 PM
So who's the other signing we've made?
Seemingly in for a player from an English prem side on loan. Presuming it’s a youth player and Connor Ronan but that’s been very well documented on here.
21-01-2023, 04:28 PM
Sounds like a good signing to me. Exactly what we need.
I don't know. His name sounds a bit like a mix of Jenga and Lego. Something for Hibs to build on. :greengrin
Like a brick ****house 😁
Maybe we will be getting Jeggo with it?
Seemingly in for a player from an English prem side on loan. Presuming it’s a youth player and Connor Ronan but that’s been very well documented on here.
I thought the latest was Ronan going to the MLS?
Not sure if throwing him straight into this one is the best idea. He'll have no idea what he's in for.
We have no other DM. If he can play he should.
JamesHFC
🤣🤣🤣 dearie me
21-01-2023, 04:29 PM
Sure I remember Justin Skinner make his debut in a Derby? Didn't have a great game mind 😀
HibeeSS0762
I thought the latest was Ronan going to the MLS?
I’m only passing on info Iv been told mate. Take of it what you will. Just merely passing information on mate👍
Chelsea perchance?
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 04:30 PM
Chelsea perchance?
Not a clue mate
HarpOnHibee
21-01-2023, 04:31 PM
We have no other DM. If he can play he should.
Then I hope the boy has some blood and guts about him. Anything less and they'll go right through him.
That’s two players no?
HibeeSS0762
Chelsea perchance?
If you’ve heard it’s Chelsea then I’m gonna presume it will be. Do you have any info on who?
LunasBoots
You can't win! We sign an experience, international defensive midfield and it seems desperate 🤣🤣
Already seen quite a few Belgians stating in other places they never really rated him, for me the jury's out until we see him, he's 30 year old and his stats hardly scream out he's better than what we have.
Chelsea perchance?
What makes you say that Flash?
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 04:32 PM
🤣🤣🤣 dearie me
Sign a 19-20yo: get your act together hibs, need players ready to play now
Sign a 30yo international: surely we could do better
Honestly mental btw. Some fans are never happy.
21-01-2023, 04:32 PM
What makes you say that Flash?
One in 20 chance of looking in the know.
Seems worth the gamble.
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 04:33 PM
Chelsea perchance?
Chelsea is what I've heard. Heard last night it was one signed and trying to get one loan from Chelsea.
Aye OK, how many times you seen him play?
Already seen quite a few Belgians stating in other places they never really rated him, for me the jury's out until we see him, he's 30 year old and his stats hardly scream out he's better than what we have.
That's the spirit mate 😏
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 04:34 PM
Did you hear of Latapy before he signed ?
21-01-2023, 04:35 PM
One in 20 chance of looking in the know.
Seems worth the gamble.
Great shout 😂
Can I take Man City please?
Some folk complain just for the sake of it.
What about James Jeggo, heard of him?
21-01-2023, 04:36 PM
Maybe we could be positive about him instead of immediately defaulting to negative?! Defensive midfield with good experience across a number of good leagues and is an international player? Sounds a good addition to a squad who has no real DM...
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 04:37 PM
Chelsea is what I've heard. Heard last night it was one signed and trying to get one loan from Chelsea.
You got any names?
Bridge hibs
Inexperienced DM out - Experience DM in, is that wrong ?
Tully
Heard deal was done ,no names, with 3 more going out
21-01-2023, 04:38 PM
Already seen quite a few Belgians stating in other places they never really rated him, for me the jury's out until we see him, he's 30 year old and his stats hardly scream out he's better than what we have.Playing in the top leagues on a few countries with international caps
I'd say that would suggest he's better than Campbell and JDH right away
We also don't have another DM so he's probably better than his direct competitors
HibeeSS0762
Heard deal was done ,no names, with 3 more going out
Deal done for whom?
JamesHFC
Judge him after a few games, his CV is better than probably all of our midfielders. The lad's in his prime too.
21-01-2023, 04:39 PM
Great shout 😂
Can I take Man City please?
You can but I am right.......
cameronw-hfc
You got any names?
Same as last night mate, no named, was only told one today/last night was signed and a Chelsea loanee we were pushing for. Do have a name of a CB we are interested in but not sure its gone very far yet, and don't think I can say. Not Bailey, English Champ player most of his career, 33yo, worked with LJ before.
HibeeSS0762
Take it you don’t have any names?
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 04:40 PM
Same as last night mate, no named, was only told one today/last night was signed and a Chelsea loanee we were pushing for. Do have a name of a CB we are interested in but not sure its gone very far yet, and don't think I can say. Not Bailey, English Champ player most of his career, 33yo, worked with LJ before.
Understandable mate. Have u heard the Chelsea loaner has been signed?
Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 04:40 PM
I feel a bit like that but some of our most underwhelming signings have been our best. Quite funny the ITK folk on Twitter telling us to be very excited, worth the wait etc then we announce James Jeggo.
Yeah quite funny and then we sign some guy we never heard of 😂 . Not one I'm overly excited about but he might turn out 🤞
21-01-2023, 04:42 PM
Same as last night mate, no named, was only told one today/last night was signed and a Chelsea loanee we were pushing for. Do have a name of a CB we are interested in but not sure it’s gone very far yet, and don't think I can say. Not Bailey, English Champ player most of his career, 33yo, worked with LJ before.
With that amount of information you’d be aswell just give us the name….👀
cameronw-hfc
Understandable mate. Have u heard the Chelsea loaner has been signed?
Nah, only that we are interested. Only heard one was signed yesterday early afternoon, thought it was wright, obviously was Jeggo.
You’re a mystery at times to me Flash.
Are you no just meant to take the piss out people who say stupid things? I cannae work out if you’re being serious or no.
Fratelli
21-01-2023, 04:43 PM
Ben Kensell has just posted on LinkedIn re Jeggo signing, saying ‘more to follow’.
21-01-2023, 04:44 PM
Wonder if the Chelsea boy on loan will be a striker similar to Kuharevych whilst he is out?
21-01-2023, 04:44 PM
JJ started 9 months ago for Aus v Saudi in final WC regional qualifier and also played 45 v Japan just before this. Seemed to get injured around May/June which left him out of the Peru matches and then missed the final squad cut for Qatar.
Good signing imo.
21-01-2023, 04:46 PM
the age of 23, Jeggo swapped Australia for Austria, joining Austrian side Sturm Graz where he played 73 times and added the Austrian Cup to his trophy cabinet in 2018.
He then made the switch to Austria Vienna in the summer of 2018, where he spent two seasons with the Austrian Bundesliga side – adding another 55 appearances to his name and featuring in both the Europa League and UEFA Conference League Qualifiers.
More recently, Jeggo spent time in the Greek top-flight joining Aris Thessaloniki and featured 55 times for the Greek outfit across two seasons. In January 2022, Jeggo joined Belgian side KAS Eupen on Deadline Day and went on to make 23 appearances in the Jupiler Pro League.
My mate, now a football player worked in a circus and did a human cannonball act. They never replaced him when he retired, they couldn’t find anyone else of the same calibre
My mate did the same, minimum wage but 45p a mile.
supershotmo
Some folk complain just for the sake of it.
Are you delighted with the signing.
21-01-2023, 04:47 PM
Sounds solid enough. Well done, Hibs and welcome Jimmy.
NC1875
21-01-2023, 04:47 PM
Thought I recognised the name. Brother in law just confirmed Rangers were in for Jeggo when Gerrard was there.
21-01-2023, 04:48 PM
How can you not be happy that we have addressed a key position where everyone knows we have an issue by brining in an experienced, international player?
ElginHibbie
21-01-2023, 04:49 PM
Thought I recognised the name. Brother in law just confirmed Rangers were in for Jeggo when Gerrard was there.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2704251/james-jeggo-rangers-steven-gerrard/amp/
21-01-2023, 04:49 PM
Sure I remember Justin Skinner make his debut in a Derby? Didn't have a great game mind 😀
Did we no sign Skinner when we were in D1?
21-01-2023, 04:51 PM
the age of 23, Jeggo swapped Australia for Austria, joining Austrian side Sturm Graz where he played 73 times and added the Austrian Cup to his trophy cabinet in 2018.
He then made the switch to Austria Vienna in the summer of 2018, where he spent two seasons with the Austrian Bundesliga side – adding another 55 appearances to his name and featuring in both the Europa League and UEFA Conference League Qualifiers.
More recently, Jeggo spent time in the Greek top-flight joining Aris Thessaloniki and featured 55 times for the Greek outfit across two seasons. In January 2022, Jeggo joined Belgian side KAS Eupen on Deadline Day and went on to make 23 appearances in the Jupiler Pro League.
I’m assuming strum Graz to Austria Vienna is a step up and he must have done well to earn that move?
Austrian football means nothing to me
I am delighted we have signed someone and will give him a fair chance before passing judgement. I'm certainly not going to complain because of the country anyone's from or because they're 30.
Still, at least if he turns out to be no good you'll be able to say "I told you so".
21-01-2023, 04:52 PM
I’m assuming strum Graz to Austria Vienna is a step up and he must have done well to earn that move?
Austrian football means nothing to me
Thanks Midge!
A midfielder who didn't make the Australia world cup squad when the likes of Jackson Irvine, Keanu Baccus and Cameron Devlin did, is not exactly encouraging. I have zero confidence in our recruitment team to spot a player, so I'm not overly hopeful with this signing. It's a signing eventually though, I suppose.
Bridge hibs
My mate did the same, minimum wage but 45p a mile.**** off !! 🤣🤣
HibeeMackenzie
21-01-2023, 04:53 PM
That’ll be Aden Flint then?
21-01-2023, 04:54 PM
Aden.
My mate did the same, minimum wage but 45p a mile.Free on the job accommodation when not working as well.
A midfielder who didn't make the Australia world cup squad when the likes of Jackson Irvine, Keanu Baccus and Cameron Devlin did, is not exactly encouraging. I have zero confidence in our recruitment team to spot a player, so I'm not overly hopeful with this signing. It's a signing eventually though, I suppose.
He was injured mate.
As someone said above, he was injured in the summer so didn't make the squad.
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 04:55 PM
A midfielder who didn't make the Australia world cup squad when the likes of Jackson Irvine, Keanu Baccus and Cameron Devlin did, is not exactly encouraging. I have zero confidence in our recruitment team to spot a player, so I'm not overly hopeful with this signing. It's a signing eventually though, I suppose.You mentioned Devlin, how good is he and whats his previous prior to being a superstar at the tramps ?
Mcbizz1998
21-01-2023, 04:56 PM
Devlin and Irvine would walk into our current midfield.
Anyway, Jeggo was injured.
21-01-2023, 04:57 PM
At least check if he was injured or not before embarrassing yourself.
Nothing wrong with Jackson Irvine either.
CL0762
21-01-2023, 04:58 PM
Moan at Hibs like **** to make a signing.
Then moan like **** at the signing we make.
I wonder if some people are actually fans of the club or if they’re just sitting in a stained vest soaked in their own pish giggling away at their absolutely hoaching posts.
Verging on the latter.
21-01-2023, 04:59 PM
Did we no sign Skinner when we were in D1?
That's mental becuase I think you are right but sure I can remember him playing Hearts and the game passing him by. My mind is playing tricks 😜
21-01-2023, 05:00 PM
Everything about this signing is what most have been asking for. Vast experience and is a midfielder that appears to be more defensive. Can’t complain. Let’s hope he does the business.
Moan at Hibs like **** to make a signing.
Then moan like **** at the signing we make.
I wonder if some people are actually fans of the club or if they’re just sitting in a stained vest soaked in their own pish giggling away at their absolutely hoaching posts.
Verging on the latter.
I used to wonder that too but I just think negative people aren't happy unless they've got something to be unhappy about.
21-01-2023, 05:01 PM
That's mental becuase I think you are right but sure I can remember him playing Hearts and the game passing him by. My mind is playing tricks 😜
Oh, maybe that was first derby after promotion? Although I thought we'd let him go by then. Maybe not. I didn't think we were right to let him go as he did well at Dunfermline.
21-01-2023, 05:02 PM
This has Jeggo suspended until 28 January.
https://www.transfermarkt.com/james-jeggo/profil/spieler/179467
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 05:02 PM
That's mental becuase I think you are right but sure I can remember him playing Hearts and the game passing him by. My mind is playing tricks 😜Justin Skinner was a decent solid player, it was quite a clever signing, as was Tom Smith, Paul Holsgrove, Lovering etc
Lee Marvin
21-01-2023, 05:03 PM
this guys CV is as good as anybody we have signed in a while, yet some still complain. Ridiculous
NC1875
21-01-2023, 05:05 PM
We’ll play him anyway 🤣
SON OF PADDY
Did you hear of Latapy before he signed ?
Exactly!
Superfurry72
The cup is totally different though I think. Newell is only serving his suspension tomorrow after getting sent off last April.
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 05:07 PM
Can't see anymore before tomorrow, might be wrong but think we will see at least one more next week, maybe 2/3 if things fall our way, although things can happen quickly and wouldn't be surprised to see us sneak another in before the derby, whether it's tonight or tomorrow. Know we're pushing for a few more, January is a nightmare though.
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 05:08 PM
Exactly!
Tbf I agree with the point being made, but didn't Latapy finish top 50 of the Ballon D'or before coming to us? Wasn't exactly a shot in the dark signing 😂
21-01-2023, 05:09 PM
Skinner played in the Premier before we got relegated. Pretty sure he played when Harper and Lavety scored in a 2-1 derby win at home
JamesHFC
21-01-2023, 05:10 PM
"He recovered from Leukemia in his teenage years battling back to live his dream of playing professional football."
His character is not to be questioned anyway.
21-01-2023, 05:11 PM
Agree … incredible but not surprising by the keyboard warriors.
21-01-2023, 05:12 PM
Maybe we could be positive about him instead of immediately defaulting to negative?! Defensive midfield with good experience across a number of good leagues and is an international player? Sounds a good addition to a squad who has no real DM...
Well said mate
21-01-2023, 05:13 PM
Can't see anymore before tomorrow, might be wrong but think we will see at least one more next week, maybe 2/3 if things fall our way, although things can happen quickly and wouldn't be surprised to see us sneak another in before the derby, whether it's tonight or tomorrow. Know we're pushing for a few more, January is a nightmare though.
You’ve covered all potential outcomes in that post so you’ll likely be right 🤣
21-01-2023, 05:13 PM
Skinner played in the Premier before we got relegated. Pretty sure he played when Harper and Lavety scored in a 2-1 derby win at home
That will be the game 😂 thought I was imagining things for a minute.
Looks like the Hearts game was his 2nd game with his debut being against Motherwell?
Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 05:16 PM
That will be the game 😂 thought I was imagining things for a minute.
James jeggo
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/james-jeggo-becomes-first-january-signing
21-01-2023, 05:17 PM
Plays with Regan Charles cook seemingly sign him
As well
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 05:17 PM
You’ve covered all potential outcomes in that post so you’ll likely be right 🤣
Not wrong actually, but yeah it is vague lol. I don't really know anything other than we are after a few, just a hunch we won't see anymore before the derby but if things go our way will be more than only 2 players like some said at the start of the window, we're defo after a few more.
Green Reaper
21-01-2023, 05:22 PM
Not wrong actually, but yeah it is vague lol. I don't really know anything other than we are after a few, just a hunch we won't see anymore before the derby but if things go our way will be more than only 2 players like some said at the start of the window, we're defo after a few more.
Sounds positive, thanks for the update
Just_Jimmy
21-01-2023, 05:24 PM
"He recovered from Leukemia in his teenage years battling back to live his dream of playing professional football."
His character is not to be questioned anyway.But it very much will be by some of the retired superstars that follow Hibs. [emoji849]
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
SON OF PADDY
21-01-2023, 05:28 PM
A wee bit of research, would have shown you that JJ was injured and didn't make the WC squad!
But hey,that wouldn't have suited your agenda.
Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 05:31 PM
This is about 7 years old of Jeggo .
https://youtu.be/niGw-JtczjI
21-01-2023, 05:32 PM
Glad we have finally made a move to bring in a player to an area we need.
Said last night we didn’t have a natural CDM at the club.
Hopefully we can still get Bailey Wright from Sunderland.
21-01-2023, 05:32 PM
Maybe we could be positive about him instead of immediately defaulting to negative?! Defensive midfield with good experience across a number of good leagues and is an international player? Sounds a good addition to a squad who has no real DM...[emoji106]
This could and should be a step in the right direction and hopefully done early enough to affect our current biggest game of the season.
Bridge hibs
21-01-2023, 05:34 PM
A wee bit of research, would have shown you that JJ was injured and didn't make the WC squad!
Shows you the desperation on here to put a player down before they have even kicked a ball
21-01-2023, 05:44 PM
He got injured during the qualifying rounds.
21-01-2023, 05:44 PM
Shows you the desperation on here to put a player down before they have even kicked a ballAbsolutely - pathetic really
Goes someway to ruin my enjoyment of this message board actually, which is a shame
SON OF PADDY
21-01-2023, 05:45 PM
Tbf I agree with the point being made, but didn't Latapy finish top 50 of the Ballon D'or before coming to us? Wasn't exactly a shot in the dark signing 😂
Tbh I didn't know that!
I can recall a story about Alex McLeish, on seeing Latapy in traning for the first time.
Lock the gate, no one leaves till we sign him.
21-01-2023, 05:45 PM
Absolutely - pathetic really
Goes someway to ruin my enjoyment of this message board actually, which is a shame
Every signing or appointment needs to be given time to show what they offer
21-01-2023, 05:49 PM
Shows you the desperation on here to put a player down before they have even kicked a ball
How??
His point was answered politely earlier, why are you jumping in assuming he's desperate about anything?
Another damn pile on.
LunasBoots
Absolutely - pathetic really
Well you can see why people are sceptical due to past descions recruitment wise that have mainly not worked out.
Maybe the club have learnt we'll just have to wait and see.
HibeeSS0762
Going by someone on Twitter. It seems they’ve heard we’re signing another Australian👍
https://twitter.com/chriswood1875x/status/1616849730776043521?s=46&t=VkQodwCXBMF2zYzIm8-tqw
21-01-2023, 05:53 PM
Going by someone on Twitter. It seems they’ve heard we’re signing another Australian👍
https://twitter.com/chriswood1875x/status/1616849730776043521?s=46&t=VkQodwCXBMF2zYzIm8-tqw
Probably pinning his hopes on Bailey Wright?
21-01-2023, 05:53 PM
Wright you’d imagine
HibeeSS0762
21-01-2023, 05:54 PM
Wright you’d imagine
That’s what I thought mate.
McGruber
21-01-2023, 05:58 PM
Might this just be alluding to the signing of James Jeggo? Another Australian as in on top of Boyle & Miller? The tone of it - 21 days to sign someone doesn't sound like it is talking about signing number 2
21-01-2023, 05:59 PM
In the video of Jimmy Jeggo pictures Hibs put on Instagram there is someone watching the training session in casual clothes with a member of the coaching team. Doesn’t look too dissimilar to Wright 😂
21-01-2023, 06:07 PM
How??
His point was answered politely earlier, why are you jumping in assuming he's desperate about anything?
Another damn pile on.
Why can't people be excited and happy we have signed someone, of decent experience and pedigree. It's not a pile of it's people genuinely not getting why you would dismiss a player before he has even kicked a ball. It's madness.
21-01-2023, 06:12 PM
How??
Another damn pile on.
Nobodies piling on to anyone, a negative slant on a signing was proven to be unnecessary is all.
21-01-2023, 06:12 PM
Going by someone on Twitter. It seems they’ve heard we’re signing another Australian[emoji106]
https://twitter.com/chriswood1875x/status/1616849730776043521?s=46&t=VkQodwCXBMF2zYzIm8-tqwJason Cummings [emoji28]
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 06:22 PM
Would imagine this is wright.
21-01-2023, 06:25 PM
How does that seem low? 30 games per season over ten years
Joe Newell, who's 30 in March, has played nearly 400 club games so far.
Martin Boyle, who's 30 in April, has played nearly 450 club games so far.
Paul Hanlon had played over 400 club games by his 30th birthday.
Lewis Stevenson had also played over 400 club games by his 30th birthday.
Someone's explained he had leukaemia earlier in life so perhaps that's the reason, less than 300 club appearances at 30 just seemed a bit low to me and I just wondered if he'd had any injury issues.
Silky
21-01-2023, 06:30 PM
Why can't people be excited and happy we have signed someone, of decent experience and pedigree. It's not a pile of it's people genuinely not getting why you would dismiss a player before he has even kicked a ball. It's madness.
It's because it doesn't fit the narrative. There is an air of negativity around the club and becuase of this everything becomes a stick with which to beat the club. That coupled with the fact the guy is not either from the English Premiership or the like and is maybe not well known, he's instantly crap. It's funny, though, becuase they never offer alternatives or base their views on seeing him play, yet if Aberdeen or Hearts had signed him, we'd have missed out. Its all bollocks!
21-01-2023, 06:37 PM
In the video of Jimmy Jeggo pictures Hibs put on Instagram there is someone watching the training session in casual clothes with a member of the coaching team. Doesn’t look too dissimilar to Wright [emoji23]Him? https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230121/ef5c5e3869714d65320745fc8ba178d2.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230121/02eb90e16859815bfbd3718e11f43c7d.jpg
21-01-2023, 06:41 PM
Him? https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230121/ef5c5e3869714d65320745fc8ba178d2.jpg
That’s some Saul Goodman investigative **** right there.
21-01-2023, 06:48 PM
No idea if this is a good signing or not but we should find out pretty quickly. It's certainly one of the positions we very badly need to upgrade and he appears to have decent experience so its not the usual 20 year old hit and hope.
Now for a Porteous replacement and a Scot Allan type, preferably with a bit of pace. Better throw in a left back too and have a wee think about what happens after Nisbet.
21-01-2023, 06:56 PM
Him? https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230121/ef5c5e3869714d65320745fc8ba178d2.jpg
Does Wright no have a beard?
21-01-2023, 06:56 PM
Wright and Jeggo would hopefully help Miller massively too with the Australian link and experience
andrew70
21-01-2023, 06:59 PM
No idea if this is a good signing or not but we should find out pretty quickly. It's certainly one of the positions we very badly need to upgrade and he appears to have decent experience so its not the usual 20 year old hit and hope.
Now for a Porteous replacement and a Scot Allan type, preferably with a bit of pace. Better throw in a left back too and have a wee think about what happens after Nisbet.
Oscar MacIntyre should play left back. Have some courage like we did with Doig and he wouldn’t let us down.
21-01-2023, 06:59 PM
Does Wright no have a beard?
21-01-2023, 07:02 PM
😂😂😂
21-01-2023, 07:07 PM
Oscar MacIntyre should play left back. Have some courage like we did with Doig and he wouldn’t let us down.
Played very well pre season up against a very good player (Hernendez) v Norwich. Some would say we shouldn't stick a youngest in such a big game, but maybe if he'd already been given 1st team action during the season he (and others) would already be ready to play in such big games.
Percy Vere
21-01-2023, 07:11 PM
Glad we have finally made a move to bring in a player to an area we need.
Said last night we didn’t have a natural CDM at the club.
Hopefully we can still get Bailey Wright from Sunderland.
Agreed
Jeggo and Wright would be two solid signings
21-01-2023, 07:47 PM
It reflects Where some fans have sunk to over the past few months There's not been a lot too be optimistic about
But I will keep an open mind and hope this is the turning point Maybee we have hit rock bottom and now things will turn soon
jakeshibs
21-01-2023, 08:06 PM
It's because it doesn't fit the narrative. There is an air of negativity around the club and becuase of this everything becomes a stick with which to beat the club. That coupled with the fact the guy is not either from the English Premiership or the like and is maybe not well known, he's instantly crap. It's funny, though, becuase they never offer alternatives or base their views on seeing him play, yet if Aberdeen or Hearts had signed him, we'd have missed out. Its all bollocks!
so very true in this current climate
21-01-2023, 08:09 PM
🤣🤣 confirmed
Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 08:36 PM
Have we any Aussie Hibs fans that have seen Jeggo play?
Hibees1973
21-01-2023, 08:41 PM
G'day.
This guy is fair dinkum.
Likes a swim and loves a barby during the summer.
Strewth, gonna be a great signing.
21-01-2023, 08:45 PM
Does Wright no have a beard?I never said it was Wright but thats obviously proven to be a man with a beard based on the poster a few above
[emoji23]
21-01-2023, 10:22 PM
Latapy appeared on that list when he was with us. Think it was just because one of the coaches canvassed had him on their list of three.
21sMay
21-01-2023, 10:32 PM
Expect a loan deal to be announced for wright on monday
cameronw-hfc
21-01-2023, 10:35 PM
Latapy appeared on that list when he was with us. Think it was just because one of the coaches canvassed had him on their list of three.
Fair enough, didn't realise it was when he was with us. Thought it was during his Porto days.
22-01-2023, 12:30 AM
Expect a loan deal to be announced for wright on monday
I hope so, or we are putting all our jeggs in the one basket.
cameronw-hfc
22-01-2023, 12:40 AM
I hope so, or we are putting all our jeggs in the one basket.
Interested in another CB as well so doubt it. Not sure if it's as well as Wright or if Wright doesn't work out, but another big lad that LJ has worked with before.
Bridge hibs
22-01-2023, 06:39 AM
Interested in another CB as well so doubt it. Not sure if it's as well as Wright or if Wright doesn't work out, but another big lad that LJ has worked with before.I think someone would be an immediate replacement for Porteous as I would expect today to be his last game
22-01-2023, 06:59 AM
Nonsense. He wasn't injured, nor do I have an agenda. If you'd done a wee bit of research yourself, you'd see he was fit but just wasn't selected for the world cup squad. Anyway, I hope he has an absolute stormer of a debut against these *****.
Bridge hibs
22-01-2023, 07:04 AM
Nonsense. He was neither injured, nor do I have an agenda. If you'd done a wee bit of research yourself, you'd see he was fit but just wasn't selected for the world cup squad. Anyway, I hope he has an absolute stormer of a debut against these *****.At the end of the day its neither here nor there whether he made the Australia squad. Its about how he does now and particularly today, thats the best way to judge him. Who knows he could be a good find and perhaps play his way back into the Aussie squad
Heres to a solid performance and win today against those ***** 🇳🇬🇳🇬👍
22-01-2023, 07:05 AM
At the end of the day its neither here nor there whether he made the Australia squad. Its about how he does now and particularly today, thats the best way to judge him. Who knows he could be a good find and perhaps play his way back into the Aussie squad
Heres to a solid performance and win today against those ***** 🇳🇬🇳🇬👍
Here here! GGTTH
HendoDelivered
22-01-2023, 09:46 AM
Interested in another CB as well so doubt it. Not sure if it's as well as Wright or if Wright doesn't work out, but another big lad that LJ has worked with before.
Flint?
Silky
22-01-2023, 09:50 AM
Interesting. I wonder if the fact that we are pursuing players who have worked with LJ before suggests that, no matter the outcome today, he is going nowhere.
22-01-2023, 09:51 AM
Forza Fred on the main board.
22-01-2023, 10:01 AM
Bailey Wright on the bench for Sunderland today as they take on Middlesbrough