View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

Rumble de Thump
13-01-2023, 12:28 PM
He's got a 4 year contract. If he does well at RC he'll be back. If he doesn't do well he won't be in demand but he wont walk away from his contract. I think he'll be back one way or another.

Three year contract.

Willis1875
13-01-2023, 12:30 PM
I do think most teams need a DM in there squad , have we anyone at us that could play as a DM in our current squad?

Allan Delferriere looked better than Kenneh in pre season IMO

13-01-2023, 12:31 PM
Certainly not a RB from his highlights reel he a CM

We could def do with one of them. Looks decent in highlights video but you can’t judge a player from them. Will have to wait and see.

13-01-2023, 12:32 PM

FFS. We played against nothing in those games and all the plays looked like superstars. Delf has been playing at Edin City and although competent at that level he hasn't stood out. He's a classic player who has got much better by people not seeing him. (Mackay, Tait, Bradley)

Willis1875
13-01-2023, 12:37 PM
FFS. We played against nothing in those games and all the plays looked like superstars. Delf has been playing at Edin City and although competent at that level he hasn't stood out. He's a classic player who has got much better by people not seeing him. (Mackay, Tait, Bradley)

All I’ve said is he looked better than Kenneh did in pre season games,which he did imo

Calm yourself down

13-01-2023, 12:40 PM
Eh? What's with the attitude? I never said anything that remotely suggests that.

Geez, you're a touchy bunch today.

We've sent plenty of players out on loan to top league sides in the past, not all of them come back to us better players.

EDIt - yeah, I think LJ has written him off. We managed to get him out on loan, the first step to letting him go would be my bet.

Hahaha talk about touchy :faf:

13-01-2023, 12:41 PM
All I’ve said is he looked better than Kenneh did in pre season games,which he did imo

Calm yourself down

Taveres looked like zico in pre season. We should start him now.

Willis1875
13-01-2023, 12:43 PM

The poster which I replied to asked if there was anybody in the squad that can play DM,I replied what I replied.

What did I say that was wrong?

13-01-2023, 12:46 PM
Grim, I didn't realise the length of contact he got.

I hope we're setting our sights a bit higher next season.

Do we really think that a dozen or so games under Malky Mackay is going to change him into a first team regular who can influence games enough to see us challenging for third?? That would be quite some improvement in the lad.

I'd rather we go out and sign a couple of quality players in the summer rather than hoping for some of our younger players to come good.

Have we learnt nothing from the last 2 years?

Out of interest, what are the lessons you think we should have learned?

13-01-2023, 12:51 PM

Do we really think that a dozen or so games under Malky Mackay is going to change him into a first team regular who can influence games enough to see us challenging for third?? That would be quite some improvement in the lad.

I'd rather we go out and sign a couple of quality players in the summer rather than hoping for some of our younger players to come good.

I may of course be wrong, but I genuinely don't remember your posts in previous years being so relentlessly negative.

13-01-2023, 12:52 PM

I don't think we are playing this afternoon? :greengrin

SickBoy32
13-01-2023, 12:56 PM
Out of interest, what are the lessons you think we should have learned?

Don't sign guys who have never played first team football would be good for starters

13-01-2023, 12:57 PM
I don't think we are playing this afternoon? :greengrin
We could send a .net select to play against him this afternoon if he is available and then we can decide if he gets to stay based on his performance.

13-01-2023, 12:59 PM

The point is though that Kenneh looked nothing like Zico or any other superstar in those games.

13-01-2023, 01:00 PM

MM certainly improved the likes of Hungbo, Harry Clark and Regan Charles-Cook so on that basis yes I think there is every chance MM will improve him as a player as much as getting regular games will.

Why we always so negative man so tiresome

13-01-2023, 01:01 PM
I may of course be wrong, but I genuinely don't remember your posts in previous years being so relentlessly negative.

Isn't he just being realistic though? It is only negative because most things around the club have been negative.

13-01-2023, 01:02 PM
Don't sign guys who have never played first team football would be good for starters

I'd adjust that to say "be careful spending a huge chunk of your budget on guys who have never played first team football. They might not hit the ground running and expectation should be appropriately managed. This is less likely to be a problem if the new player is to be bled slowly into an already strong and settled team."

In isolation I don't think the signing of Kenneh was a bad one and I still think he can go on to be an excellent player for us.

It's when you're expecting him to revolutionise a toiling midfield, and when you group him together with all the other players of similar experience that it looks careless.

I don't have a problem with any individual signing Hibs have made although I think the overall strategy has been shambolic.

13-01-2023, 01:08 PM
MM certainly improved the likes of Hungbo, Harry Clark and Regan Charles-Cook so on that basis yes I think there is every chance MM will improve him as a player as much as getting regular games will.

Hannah_hfc
13-01-2023, 01:09 PM
https://twitter.com/melechosher/status/1613701607329349632?s=46&t=D8_ClMXDS1KX3LPJZ3f4Cg

Zambian RB linked, don’t know how reliable the poster is.

According to Wikipedia, started his career playing for a club called ‘Happy Hearts’… eek [emoji102]

Donegal Hibby
13-01-2023, 01:10 PM
I agree I was impressed with Delferriere when I saw him and could play DM though like Kennah probably not ready for the first team yet . ( Good answer though) 👍

13-01-2023, 01:16 PM
That's a different argument though. So if we brought in Ronan (I know the tweet is BS) then probably Campbell drops to the bench. Stronger midfield and stronger bench. All I was saying is that those 4 are a pretty decent midfield.

Aye that’s fair enough, agree about it being a different argument

13-01-2023, 01:16 PM
https://twitter.com/jack187571/status/1613855249202036738?s=46&t=Yl-pTZ9t0_4lYV4-KUoQ-w

Might be some news coming

Fake as fluck.

LunasBoots
13-01-2023, 01:19 PM
So who are we actually linked with or rumoured to be in for? Just Ronan?

13-01-2023, 01:25 PM

No-one. Including Ronan.

13-01-2023, 01:26 PM
Kings Kangwa is the best player I’ve ever seen going by this https://youtu.be/akE5FZyKlAg

Looks more of a Johnson type of signing based on his style.

Although the Twitter account seems made up due to followers it’s been posting a lot lately and what a random random rumour to come up with.

Guy has a high market value and length of contract too.

Can’t see it being true but so random so make upBased on his name alone I say sign him

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

HibsGW
13-01-2023, 01:42 PM
No-one. Including Ronan.

I was going to say are we actually linked with Ronan at all or is it just this fake picture from earlier?

Donegal Hibby
13-01-2023, 01:43 PM
Kings Kangwa is the best player I’ve ever seen going by this https://youtu.be/akE5FZyKlAg

Looks more of a Johnson type of signing based on his style.

Although the Twitter account seems made up due to followers it’s been posting a lot lately and what a random random rumour to come up with.

Guy has a high market value and length of contract too.

Can’t see it being true but so random so make up
If he does come to us on loan does this mean red star Belgrade doesn't want him and it's there first step in getting rid of him ? Gladly sign him up by the footage you have of him :greengrin

I'm Spartacus
13-01-2023, 01:52 PM
What's with the fake mock up's??

13-01-2023, 01:55 PM
What's with the fake mock up's??

Sad as :greengrin I mean why would you

Trinity Hibee
13-01-2023, 01:56 PM
https://twitter.com/lw_scouting/status/1613891527700250626?s=46&t=uhWvXIpv_kW4oM6LZT7qgw

Good diagram detailing the squad and their remaining contracts etc.

One error is McGeady should be 0.5

LunasBoots
13-01-2023, 01:59 PM
No-one. Including Ronan.

13-01-2023, 02:06 PM

Yet if we signed him on a 1 year deal and he started brilliantly we'd be slating the club for not tieing him down.

The laddie is young enough to improve with first team football and good enough to suggest that he could be a great wee player for us if the loan does what we want it to.

dchibs
13-01-2023, 02:10 PM
https://twitter.com/melechosher/status/1613701607329349632?s=46&t=D8_ClMXDS1KX3LPJZ3f4Cg

Zambian RB linked, don’t know how reliable the poster is.

Whats Effe doing these days?

13-01-2023, 02:36 PM
Yet if we signed him on a 1 year deal and he started brilliantly we'd be slating the club for not tieing him down.

The laddie is young enough to improve with first team football and good enough to suggest that he could be a great wee player for us if the loan does what we want it to.

I'd love us to sign any player who starts brilliantly for us :greengrin

13-01-2023, 02:43 PM

Yeah I acknowledged this myself earlier.

I would always have put myself in the Happy Clapper camp previously but I just don't see the positives just now. Wish I did.

I wouldn't say I'm relentless though, that's harsh. I'd also say my posts are pretty measured and thought through in most cases and I never set out to insult anyone or be snidey with them.

Generally I view this place as having a blether. I'm often on the end of folk jumping in wanting an argument with me though whereas I find it easy to disagree with others without fighting. We all want roughly the same after all.

I could also point to posters here, yourself included, who rush to have a pop at fellow Hibs fans for the slightest of things. I won't though, 'cause I don't want cause an argument :greengrin

13-01-2023, 02:45 PM

See above, skip past my posts, or ignore me?

Tiresome? I barely make a few posts a day and regularly go days without posting anything. Give me a break!

SQHib
13-01-2023, 02:46 PM
https://twitter.com/lw_scouting/status/1613891527700250626?s=46&t=uhWvXIpv_kW4oM6LZT7qgw

Good diagram detailing the squad and their remaining contracts etc.

One error is McGeady should be 0.5

Agreed - good summary although Hanlon is 1.5

The Sundance Kid
13-01-2023, 02:48 PM
Agreed - good summary although Hanlon is 1.5

And Melkersen is 3.5, rather than 2.5

OldEast
13-01-2023, 02:50 PM

Best advice today. It's surely easier to shake your head and move on.

13-01-2023, 03:22 PM

Tiresome? I barely make a few posts a day and regularly go days without posting anything. Give me a break!

Or ignore the word ‘We’ as a collective as fans or else I’d have said ‘you’. 👍

What about my response to the part you didn’t quote? Re working with MM?

Fuzzywuzzy
13-01-2023, 04:11 PM
Could see Hanlon and Stevenson both at Dunfermline next season if they get promoted. Sure Stevenson lives dulloch way

13-01-2023, 04:14 PM

i think it’s now clear when LJ said we needed to move on players before we could bring in a couple he was being honest with the fans
To date it’s younger players being moved on so thst wont have freed up a lot of money

Am sure we will have targets but our hands will be tied till some of the higher earners get moved on
We also now need to pay for a Director of Football So some of the money saved may have to go to that persons Salary

13-01-2023, 04:44 PM
Mikey Devlin Available

13-01-2023, 04:53 PM
Based on his name alone I say sign him

At 5ft 6in he’s have shades of Latapy about him!

xqnq1875
13-01-2023, 05:09 PM
Heard some positive news about dof progression from quite a reliable source, broke the news to me that we were after a dof before the news got out, we have been in contact with John Park I’m unsure if he wants to come to hibs or not but that fact we have been in contact with him is good to hear, also seen a few rumours about Alan burrows from motherwell to become our dof that is completely false he does a similar role to Ben kensell so it definitely won’t be him

13-01-2023, 05:10 PM
Mikey Devlin Available

He’s perennially injured. He’s played less than 5 hours of first team football in the last 2.5 seasons.

13-01-2023, 05:19 PM
Could see Hanlon and Stevenson both at Dunfermline next season if they get promoted. Sure Stevenson lives dulloch way

Raith Rovers for Lewis if he was ever to leave!

13-01-2023, 05:30 PM
We absolutely can’t emerge from this window with JDH Campbell and newell being our midfield

Magennis ?

JimboHibs
13-01-2023, 05:39 PM
Good thread this 👏

Donegal Hibby
13-01-2023, 05:45 PM
Raith Rovers for Lewis if he was ever to leave!
Hopefully Lewis Stevenson gets another year contract , he's still a player worth having.

13-01-2023, 06:20 PM
Hopefully Lewis Stevenson gets another year contract , he's still a player worth having.

Difficult one for me. Leaving aside Lewis' outstanding service to Hibs is it an indictment of where we are now that extending his playing career is an issue being considered. Hes not Maldini and never has been. We should have moved on but havent. Same for Paul Hanlon.

cameronw-hfc
13-01-2023, 06:21 PM
Difficult one for me. Leaving aside Lewis' outstanding service to Hibs is it an indictment of where we are now that extending his playing career is an issue being considered. Hes not Maldini and never has been. We should have moved on but havent. Same for Paul Hanlon.

Both are completely fine as squad players, and id argue having them around the club adds more than letting them go, even if they aren't playing.

Frogga
13-01-2023, 06:23 PM
Both are completely fine as squad players, and id argue having them around the club adds more than letting them go, even if they aren't playing.

Couldn't agree more.

13-01-2023, 06:26 PM
Seeing hearts squad tonight and how many players they have out injured shows how much quality they have

JammyDoidger
13-01-2023, 06:27 PM
Seeing hearts squad tonight and how many players they have out injured shows how much quality they have

They should be a shoe in for third again, not good.

Feed McGraw
13-01-2023, 06:35 PM
Seeing hearts squad tonight and how many players they have out injured shows how much quality they have They can have have all the so called quality they like but they`re still hearts - or as the Romans called them : "Guffius maximus".

13-01-2023, 06:42 PM
Agree

13-01-2023, 06:42 PM
Seeing hearts squad tonight and how many players they have out injured shows how much quality they haveNo sure on that M Smith

Looks past it to me.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230113/336a095c19e291375e1a6b45320f6c7b.jpg

Donegal Hibby
13-01-2023, 06:48 PM
No sure on that M Smith

Looks past it to me.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230113/336a095c19e291375e1a6b45320f6c7b.jpg

Shankland's heads shrunk in all 😂

13-01-2023, 06:59 PM

Well of course. Maldini was right footed. Lewis is left footed.

Victor
13-01-2023, 07:00 PM
they should be a shoe in for third again, not good.

wtfc

13-01-2023, 07:17 PM

I would expect Lewis to go into the youth coaching set up, he done his badges at the same time as McGregor and seemingly loved mentoring Doig and Mackie last season.

13-01-2023, 07:18 PM
They should be a shoe in for third again, not good.

Taking that Jammy in your nick a little too far perhaps. Lots of games to play still!

Hfc_Since1875
13-01-2023, 07:30 PM
There was a photo shoot at Easter road today, not sure of any further details but fingers crossed it’s a signing

fiolex1
13-01-2023, 07:42 PM
There was a photo shoot at Easter road today, not sure of any further details but fingers crossed it’s a signing
New Director of Football………………………….Ian Gordon

13-01-2023, 07:57 PM
There was a photo shoot at Easter road today, not sure of any further details but fingers crossed it’s a signingHopefully Kirsty Gallagher

13-01-2023, 08:27 PM
Hopefully Kirsty Gallagher

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji1534][emoji122][emoji122]

13-01-2023, 08:46 PM
Motherwell sign 6'3 striker Mikael Mandron.

That will be some height in their attack if they can get him in beside Van Veen

13-01-2023, 09:06 PM
Motherwell sign 6'3 striker Mikael Mandron.

That will be some height in their attack if they can get him in beside Van Veen

Can see the style of football they want. Cloggers, hope they stay down there.

timewilltell
13-01-2023, 09:24 PM
They can have have all the so called quality they like but they`re still hearts - or as the Romans called them : "Guffius maximus".

They are above us.

DinkyTwo
13-01-2023, 09:32 PM

Lewis hasn't put a foot wrong when called upon lately.

Agree about Hanlon though, looks past it sadly

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

Hibees1973
13-01-2023, 09:38 PM
Not sure why you’re getting stick for this post, it makes a lot of sense. There’s no doubting our league is physically demanding.

Yeah. My opening sentence was the key to my point.

It focused on our numerous new signings then trying to figure out why so many of them are getting injured and why they have not made any impact.

I can take criticism and personal digs. It’s no big deal.

K-Zazu
13-01-2023, 09:40 PM

What quality players?

13-01-2023, 10:10 PM
Hopefully Kirsty Gallagher

*Gallacher

13-01-2023, 10:18 PM
Well of course. Maldini was right footed. Lewis is left footed.

He was very good with both feet. Very few like him. One of the best of all time.

13-01-2023, 10:40 PM
What quality players?

A quality of player that finished 3rd last season and 6 points clear in third as it stands, as well as managing games in the European group stage this season. Churlish to suggest otherwise IMO.

13-01-2023, 10:42 PM
A quality of player that finished 3rd last season and 6 points clear in third as it stands, as well as managing games in the European group stage this season. Churlish to suggest otherwise IMO.

But wasn’t that cause everyone else was crap and the league was weak? Seemingly that was the case when we finished 3rd

13-01-2023, 10:48 PM
But wasn’t that cause everyone else was crap and the league was weak? Seemingly that was the case when we finished 3rd

I don’t think we were any great shakes when we finished 3rd, but did so on merit. We then badly fell away the following season, Hearts look to have maintained the level of last season while navigating European group stage.

I don’t think hearts are any great shakes either, but it’s a level we currently aspire to and a level of consistency we also aspire to.

13-01-2023, 11:09 PM
He was very good with both feet. Very few like him. One of the best of all time.

1875godsgift
13-01-2023, 11:36 PM

That Maldini guy wasn't too bad either mind.

14-01-2023, 07:08 AM
With newell suspended and kenneh away, who will be the midfield next week

14-01-2023, 07:35 AM
Reports that Connor Ronan could be going to the MLS.

Paulie Walnuts
14-01-2023, 07:45 AM

Only leaves us with JDH, Campbell and Magennis. And Magennis seems to have a knock apparently.

Bridge hibs
14-01-2023, 07:46 AM
Only leaves us with JDH, Campbell and Magennis. And Magennis seems to have a knock apparently.

Yip and JDH hasnt played first team football in months

14-01-2023, 07:46 AM

Well prepared as usual for a derby

Bridge hibs
14-01-2023, 07:47 AM
Well prepared as usual for a derby

Has the transfer window closed ?

14-01-2023, 07:48 AM

And Henderson!

14-01-2023, 07:49 AM

Will anyone who is potentially brought in, start next week?

Trinity Hibee
14-01-2023, 07:50 AM

Even if someone is brought in, it’s going to be the week of the derby. Let’s not pretend that’s ideal

Bridge hibs
14-01-2023, 07:51 AM
Will anyone who is potentially brought in, start next week?I dont know, but I would expect us to be looking at players, I would be surprised it we are not given we have Newell suspended, JDH not kicked a ball in months, Magennis possible knock and Kenneh away to RC

Bridge hibs
14-01-2023, 07:53 AM
Even if someone is brought in, it’s going to be the week of the derby. Let’s not pretend that’s idealWhos pretending its ideal ? It could be a player ready to come straight in, do you know what the plans are ?

Trinity Hibee
14-01-2023, 08:03 AM
Whos pretending its ideal ? It could be a player ready to come straight in, do you know what the plans are ?

Jesus mate it’s not really a debate if a player is brought in this week they won’t have seen their teammates or at best it will have been 1 or possibly 2 days. You don’t chuck someone like that straight into a derby game. You haven’t said it’s not an issue but it’s been insinuated. Don’t want this thread to turn into another argument so I’m going to leave my thoughts there as I’ve nothing else to say on it.

18Craig75
14-01-2023, 08:04 AM

Porto, hopefully. Never won a derby…it could be written in the stars for him to end his Hibs career giving it a big GIRUY to them at the end of the game having scored the only goal of the game.

Bridge hibs
14-01-2023, 08:09 AM
Jesus mate it’s not really a debate if a player is brought in this week they won’t have seen their teammates or at best it will have been 1 or possibly 2 days. You don’t chuck someone like that straight into a derby game. You haven’t said it’s not an issue but it’s been insinuated. Don’t want this thread to turn into another argument so I’m going to leave my thoughts there as I’ve nothing else to say on it.Ffs some touchy souls on here nowadays 🤣

You know how football works dont you ? We could sign a player today, tomorrow or middle of next week, Im sure if they have played the game before they will have their big boys pants on and derby or not will give it their all. Hearts have done that many times for big games, what a game to make your debut eh, they dont come much bigger ?

14-01-2023, 08:36 AM
Even if someone is brought in, it’s going to be the week of the derby. Let’s not pretend that’s ideal

Aye Boyle being announced the morning of last time was a nightmare 👀

14-01-2023, 08:38 AM

To be fair though, Boyle wasn't exactly walking into an environment that he wasn't used to.

Trinity Hibee
14-01-2023, 08:47 AM

Fair point but I think you’ll agree he is the exception due to the circumstances. Anyone we get in will very likely not have been playing for their club for a while.

14-01-2023, 08:48 AM
I'd rather see us play Stevenson in midfield against them, than JDH or Henderson

14-01-2023, 08:51 AM
I'd rather see us play Stevenson in midfield against them, than JDH or Henderson

I would agree. Henderson is far too lightweight for a derby

NC1875

I’d rather play Lewis Hamilton than Henderson to be fair.

We needed to strengthen the midfield about 6 windows ago and each window we’ve managed to get weaker.

We’re in desperate need of quality, 2 weeks into the window and nothing. The club really are taking us for mugs

Not in the last semi he wasn't.

14-01-2023, 08:53 AM
Kenneh leaving may well be the best decision but we really need to have at least 1, if not 2 first team ready midfielders to come in.

Tully
14-01-2023, 08:54 AM
Whos pretending its ideal ? It could be a player ready to come straight in, do you know what the plans are ?

Same as the plans have been all season scatter brained

Bridge hibs
14-01-2023, 09:02 AM
Same as the plans have been all season scatter brained👏

14-01-2023, 09:05 AM

Indeed played well in that game

14-01-2023, 09:07 AM
Kenneh leaving may well be the best decision but we really need to have at least 1, if not 2 first team ready midfielders to come in.

Agree

Greenio
14-01-2023, 09:07 AM
Porto, hopefully. Never won a derby…it could be written in the stars for him to end his Hibs career giving it a big GIRUY to them at the end of the game having scored the only goal of the game.

We've never won a derby with Porto playing?

14-01-2023, 09:18 AM
I’d rather play Lewis Hamilton than Henderson to be fair.

Except that's not fair in the slightest. :faf:

The club really are taking us for mugs

Of course they are. I can see them now, sitting around the boardroom table, pointing at a photo of the fans, and taking it in turns to give evil laughs at us.

The bast***s.

Paulie Walnuts
14-01-2023, 09:20 AM
We've never won a derby with Porto playing?

I found that strange as well. I’ve had a look though and it doesn’t appear so unless I’ve missed it.

The Horgan and Boyle games at tynecastle he wasn’t in the squad and we’ve not won at home since the natural order derby.

14-01-2023, 09:44 AM

To be fair to him, was his best performance in a Hibs jersey to date not last season's semi at Hampden against them?

Yes, I know we lost, but he actually looked pretty decent that day.

He looks bereft of confidence and totally lost at the moment though so I'm not saying I'd be in favour of playing him.

14-01-2023, 09:54 AM

True, but since then he’s been plummeting like Tesla shares. Hell, even my semi would put up more of a fight to the Hertz midfield just now.

There is a player in there, but I’m starting to lose count of how many players at Hibs we say that about.

Greenworld
14-01-2023, 09:59 AM
Even if someone is brought in, it’s going to be the week of the derby. Let’s not pretend that’s idealYou know what in the scheme of things I'm actually not giving a monkeys about hearts . There is a chance here to start some serious changes to the team. If LJ is true to his word then we will likley only see maybe 2 players come in this window. It's the quality of player that must improve and that costs.
So we can go into the cup game with no fear hearts by the way are once again flattering to deceive they are not that good but for Hibs this season is al about the leugue

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

14-01-2023, 10:16 AM
I found that strange as well. I’ve had a look though and it doesn’t appear so unless I’ve missed it.

The Horgan and Boyle games at tynecastle he wasn’t in the squad and we’ve not won at home since the natural order derby.

Correct. He's never won a derby.

14-01-2023, 10:28 AM
Will anyone who is potentially brought in, start next week?

James McArthur or Greg Docherty would 100% start if we were to signe any of them.

davhibby
14-01-2023, 11:13 AM
James McArthur or Greg Docherty would 100% start if we were to signe any of them.

We have no chance of signing Greg Docherty, he’s been starting pretty much every week in the Championship for the last 18 months

14-01-2023, 11:18 AM
Are Kilmarnock keeping Doidge till end of the Season? Given he had t scored for them assume they might want to cut short the Loan

14-01-2023, 11:32 AM

McArthur is done - on year to year contracts at Palace as a result of continuing injuries.

Scotty Leither
14-01-2023, 11:58 AM
You know what in the scheme of things I'm actually not giving a monkeys about hearts . There is a chance here to start some serious changes to the team. If LJ is true to his word then we will likley only see maybe 2 players come in this window. It's the quality of player that must improve and that costs.
So we can go into the cup game with no fear hearts by the way are once again flattering to deceive they are not that good but for Hibs this season is al about the leugue

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Speak for yourself. He needs to win this Cup-tie.

14-01-2023, 12:01 PM
Speak for yourself. He needs to win this Cup-tie.

Wins the cup game he gets to end of the season for me.

14-01-2023, 12:05 PM
Wins the cup game he gets to end of the season for me.

I suspect he will get to the end of the season regardless

SON OF PADDY
14-01-2023, 12:16 PM
Couldn't agree more.

I concur!

14-01-2023, 12:21 PM
To be fair to him, was his best performance in a Hibs jersey to date not last season's semi at Hampden against them?

Yes, I know we lost, but he actually looked pretty decent that day.

He looks bereft of confidence and totally lost at the moment though so I'm not saying I'd be in favour of playing him.

Henderson should be nowhere near the first team.

PHeffernan
14-01-2023, 12:47 PM
I suspect he will get to the end of the season regardless

I hope so.

Spudster
14-01-2023, 01:26 PM
More a suggestion than a rumour.
Conor Coventry defensive midfielder at West Ham. Out of contract end of season, played for Ireland through all ages groups except senior. Seems well thought of from his time at MK Dons in League One.

JamesHFC
14-01-2023, 04:58 PM
Chelsea splashing another 100m on Mudryk with a 7.5 year contract. Terrific player but how do they get away with spending so much?

HendoDelivered
14-01-2023, 05:14 PM
We must sign a ready made centre mid before the hearts game

EGL2000
14-01-2023, 05:24 PM
Chelsea splashing another 100m on Mudryk with a 7.5 year contract. Terrific player but how do they get away with spending so much?

Probably cause they actually make a decent amount in players sales. People never look at net spends they are actually not even in the top 2 highest net spends in England over past couple of years, due to getting good fees for players they sell. Quite often see them getting 15-20 mil for squad fodder they never play.

NC1875
14-01-2023, 05:32 PM

We’ve been saying that for about 3 years yet Newell still plays 90 minutes every week. Absolute imposter

14-01-2023, 05:45 PM
Potentially a defensive signing next week according to Johnson

Also expects Hanlon and Cadden back

LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 05:50 PM

If only

14-01-2023, 05:54 PM
Good on Luke Shanley grilling LJ on Sky 👍 could also sense frustration in LJ’s responses regarding getting players in - says it all. Open yer pockets Ron 👍

Scotty Leither
14-01-2023, 06:00 PM
Good on Luke Shanley grilling LJ on Sky 👍 could also sense frustration in LJ’s responses regarding getting players in - says it all. Open yer pockets Ron 👍

Got a link?

14-01-2023, 06:02 PM
Got a link?

https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1614321775743205378?s=46&t=hNGrk7A33GrAJhR58yjOkg

Auckland Hibs
14-01-2023, 06:03 PM
Potentially a defensive signing next week according to Johnson

Also expects Hanlon and Cadden back

Our record on players "returning" is as bad as our recruitment - don't be surprised if Cadden is out for another 4 weeks.

McGruber

Hopefully, then LJ can put him in at left back

Good on Luke Shanley grilling LJ on Sky [emoji106] could also sense frustration in LJ’s responses regarding getting players in - says it all. Open yer pockets Ron [emoji106]https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1614321775743205378?t=GvZyEnpjgptpkiB2dSly1A&s=19

NC1875
14-01-2023, 06:05 PM
Hopefully, then LJ can put him in at left back

👏🏼 and Stevenson at centre mid, Campbell right back 🤣

14-01-2023, 06:06 PM
I'm guessing as he talks about a leader in defense the signing they are hoping to make will be an experienced one

14-01-2023, 06:06 PM
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1614321775743205378?t=GvZyEnpjgptpkiB2dSly1A&s=19

Annoys me he is trying to claim the credit for changing shape that lead to our equaliser.

The original set up was absolutely ****ing bonkers, no credit given for correcting that Lee.

hhibs
14-01-2023, 06:08 PM

JDH ,Magennis,Campbell but with LJ bingo who the **** knows?

14-01-2023, 06:12 PM
JDH ,Magennis,Campbell but with LJ bingo who the **** knows?

I can’t play next week I’m afraid, already said I’d go for a pint in the morning.

Sorry.

14-01-2023, 06:23 PM
Hopefully we do get some experience in. Think 2-3 fit good experienced players would transform our current team.

14-01-2023, 06:48 PM
Hopefully we do get some experience in. Think 2-3 fit good experienced players would transform our current team.

14-01-2023, 07:12 PM
Nearly half way through the month and pretty astounding we’ve not brought anyone in yet

14-01-2023, 07:14 PM
Nearly half way through the month and pretty astounding we’ve not brought anyone in yet

I wonder if there’s an element of us trying to force LJ’s hand and get him to resign?

We’re clearly not backing him.

14-01-2023, 07:16 PM

In the LJ post match Sky interview he talks about trying to bring a leader into the back line. First I’ve heard him talking in those terms

The proof will be in the pudding of course

14-01-2023, 07:18 PM
We need to get our finger out and get at least one new player in before next week. Either someone that gives us half a chance of competing in the middle of the park or a centre half who will go in and try to organise that shambles of a defence.

It was clear we weren’t going to do much business (incoming) in this window but whatever we are going to do has to be done now. Not once we’ve been knocked out the cup and dropped further back in the league.

14-01-2023, 07:20 PM
In the LJ post match Sky interview he talks about trying to bring a leader into the back line. First I’ve heard him talking in those terms

If you speak enough ***** eventually you'll say something that makes sense. Given Porteous will be away soon it makes sense that it's at the back but I can't help feel we'd be better served with a leader in the middle. Someone who makes the rest around them raise their game. At the minute they're all as bad as each other and need someone who's a level above that makes them take a second look at themselves and encourages some improvement. They can't be happy with results and given I'm not fond of LJ much he's not solely to blame. Professional footballers my hoop.

14-01-2023, 07:21 PM

Proof will be the owner putting his money where his absent mouth is and giving him money rather than waiting until releasing bit part players 👍

Ron Gordon has the money - time to walk the talk 👍

LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 07:22 PM

Still need a midfielder though or defence is still going to come under similar pressure

14-01-2023, 07:22 PM

Is that to replace Porto though? If it is then we’re just pretty much standing still.

If it’s not then it means he’s still planning on playing porto in midfield.

Just a hunch but I think he’s just a slaver who’s saying things he thinks people want to hear.

It’s good players we need, not leader or players with high IQ’s, just better footballers than we have the now and in positions we need them.

LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 07:23 PM

Who wants to to come here though, I got the impression we may have already missed out on some of Johnsons targets

14-01-2023, 07:38 PM
We need to get our finger out and get at least one new player in before next week. Either someone that gives us half a chance of competing in the middle of the park or a centre half who will go in and try to organise that shambles of a defence.

It was clear we weren’t going to do much business (incoming) in this window but whatever we are going to do has to be done now. Not once we’ve been knocked out the cup and dropped further back in the league.

Said this today.

Astonishing we have played 3 games once window opened and I still think our starting team weaker is weaker than before.

Boyle and Cadden, Myko injured.

Nisbet, JDH and McGeady back.

Lose Porto and definitely weaker.

4 points out of 9 and a derby loss included.

We now have a huge game next Sunday and limited time for any new player to settle / train.

14-01-2023, 07:40 PM

Aye your last sentence nails it

The guy talks a power of *****.

LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 07:44 PM
Said this today.

Astonishing we have played 3 games once window opened and we

I still think our starting team weaker is weaker than before.

Boyle and Cadden, Myko injured.

Nisbet, JDH and McGeady back.

Lose Porto and definitely weaker.

4 points out of 9 and a derby loss included.

We now have a huge game next Sunday and limited time for any new player to settle / train.

Business should have been done before now to at least let new players settle in to things ahead of the Derby, all a big mess.

14-01-2023, 07:52 PM
Clear as dat me need a centre midfield. Stops playing porteous out of position.. full backs a real cause for concern as well

14-01-2023, 07:58 PM
Proof will be the owner putting his money where his absent mouth is and giving him money rather than waiting until releasing bit part players 👍

Ron Gordon has the money - time to walk the talk 👍How much are you expecting him to put in ? How much do you think we`d need to buy the quality of players who`d improve us instantly and who`d be interested in playing in our league ?

andrew70
14-01-2023, 08:23 PM
How much are you expecting him to put in ? How much do you think we`d need to buy the quality of players who`d improve us instantly and who`d be interested in playing in our league ?

Surely the question should be how much more are you expecting him to put in?

The supporter base also needs to stand up for the test and give more to the coffers.

We aren’t well off. Spent a fortune in the summer. We need a proper coach.

14-01-2023, 08:30 PM
How much are you expecting him to put in ? How much do you think we`d need to buy the quality of players who`d improve us instantly and who`d be interested in playing in our league ?

He bought a Scottish football club and made grandiose plans about being competitive and be at least the third force - we’re not - so I expect him to put his money in as well as ours to back up his claims 👍it’s that simple and thus far he’s not 👍

14-01-2023, 08:31 PM
Not our biggest issue, but we need a new keeper.

14-01-2023, 08:31 PM

and why is that? Because he made 1 mistake today?

14-01-2023, 08:34 PM
Surely the question should be how much more are you expecting him to put in?

The supporter base also needs to stand up for the test and give more to the coffers.

We aren’t well off. Spent a fortune in the summer. We need a proper coach.

The supporter base that continued to buy season tickets during covid when we couldn’t even attend games then watched our money wasted by those running the club. We’ve more than done our bit.

14-01-2023, 08:35 PM
and why is that? Because he made 1 mistake today?

One?

Cost us the first goal, nearly cost us another late on.
Cost us a goal at tynie being nailed to his line.
Could've cut out motherwell first as well if he wasn't nailed to his line.

One of the worst save %s in the league.

Doesn't communicate.

loanheadhibby
14-01-2023, 08:39 PM
One?

Doesn't communicate.

I said same after Derby rinsing and got slaughtered for it.

Unfortunately his age is catching up with him. Doesn’t make enough saves. Makes too many mistakes. A slight upgrade on Macey but not much more than that.

14-01-2023, 08:39 PM

He has had an awful defence infront of him - today our best centre back was played in midfield so someone with 45 mins first team experience could be slotted in next to a guy we signed by mistake. We also started with a midfielder at right back. You would need to be superman to marshall (pardon the pun) that back line.

14-01-2023, 08:40 PM
Ron was told we need a new pitch - it’s awful as was shown sugar - new screens and hospitality took precedence 👍 that’s his priority I’m afraid. Some argue it’s the long game, I’d argue he really doesn’t care about what’s current and the football side of things. Awful owner and so out of touch it’s untrue.

14-01-2023, 08:41 PM
He has had an awful defence infront of him - today our best centre back was played in midfield so someone with 45 mins first team experience could be slotted in next to a guy we signed by mistake. We also started with a midfielder at right back. You would need to be superman to marshall (pardon the pun) that back line.

Marshall is not the problem.

loanheadhibby
14-01-2023, 08:42 PM
Marshall is not the problem.

He’s not the solution either. We need better.

14-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Ron was told we need a new pitch - it’s awful as was shown sugar - new screens and hospitality took precedence 👍 that’s his priority I’m afraid. Some argue it’s the long game, I’d argue he really doesn’t care about what’s current and the football side of things. Awful owner and so out of touch it’s untrue.

Pretty sure he cares. Won't make money from selling the club unless he improves the on-field performance. Think he's guilty of misjudging how difficult it would be to get us where we should be.

14-01-2023, 08:47 PM
I wonder if there’s an element of us trying to force LJ’s hand and get him to resign?

We’re clearly not backing him.

I’m convinced that is what is happening.

14-01-2023, 08:47 PM
I can’t play next week I’m afraid, already said I’d go for a pint in the morning.

Sorry.

Well I thought this was funny. :greengrin

14-01-2023, 08:49 PM
Pretty sure he cares. Won't make money from selling the club unless he improves the on-field performance. Think he's guilty of misjudging how difficult it would be to get us where we should be.

I think he’s guilty of not putting his money up and getting us there 👍 regarding caring, he certainly didn’t care when dismissing really good people at the club who were successful in their roles. Sooner he is gone the better and the club will thrive 👍 he’s a charlatan 👍

coldingham hibs
14-01-2023, 08:50 PM

Agree, distribution is great but decision making is awful. I’d imagine his saves to shot ratio is also pretty poor.

Just checked and he looks like he has the lowest save % in the league.

14-01-2023, 08:51 PM
I’m convinced that is what is happening.

No chance that's what's happening.

Managers don't resign. They wait to be sacked so they get their money.

14-01-2023, 08:52 PM

That's definitely true that he's not being helped by the dross in front of him.

But if we're playing with a high line - which we are, he needs to be 10 yards further forward, and he isn't that keeper.

He also does not communicate. I sit behind him and can't hear a word from him in 45 minutes.

14-01-2023, 08:57 PM
He bought a Scottish football club and made grandiose plans about being competitive and be at least the third force - we’re not - so I expect him to put his money in as well as ours to back up his claims 👍it’s that simple and thus far he’s not 👍Has he ever said that we would definitely become 3rd force or better and if so in how many years ? He certainly said aim would be that but no promises or guarantees or time scale . Anyway , has there ever been a regular 3rd best ? Aberdeen had a great run of being 2nd in a league with no Rangers which is like 3rd now but it didn`t last . Hearts were third last year and are probably favourites to be 3rd again this year but doesn`t mean they won`t drift back to bottom 6 and maybe relegation like only 3 years ago in next year or two . Are you suggesting RG hasn`t put money in ? I`m reluctant to defend RG as I don`t know exact financial details and of course I`d prefer us to be owned by someone who had an emotional attachment to Hibs too but from what I can see our club seems to have spent money on players and managers and improved income from hospitality etc considerably even if we`re not getting the results or entertainment we`d like .

14-01-2023, 09:09 PM
One?

Doesn't communicate.

Was Marshall at fault for the 1st goal today?

I'd defo blame him for the 3rd at tynie and probably should have done better at the first

I said it on match thread but the past 2 games he has made some really strange decisions with through balls, like he's struggling to judge them or something

He did make an excellent save last week though

He's fine for me

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 09:12 PM

I'd defo blame him for the 3rd at tynie and probably should have done better at the first

I said it on match thread but the past 2 games he has made some really strange decisions with through balls, like he's struggling to judge them or something

He's fine for me

Think that's the problem though, he was supposed to be more than fine. I love Marsh, and as a keeper myself I can be pretty protective of keepers, but he's really disappointed me. He doesn't make too many saves, he's concededed more goals than XG says he should have and one of the lowest save percentages in the league.

14-01-2023, 09:15 PM
Think that's the problem though, he was supposed to be more than fine. I love Marsh, and as a keeper myself I can be pretty protective of keepers, but he's really disappointed me. He doesn't make too many saves, he's concededed more goals than XG says he should have and one of the lowest save percentages in the league.In saying that I can't think of many other howlers he's had this year in terms of goals conceded

He started the season really well,. Particulary with the ball at his feet but has been shakey the last few weeks

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 09:18 PM
In saying that I can't think of many other howlers he's had this year in terms of goals conceded

He started the season really well,. Particulary with the ball at his feet but has been shakey the last few weeks

I don't think he's the first position we need to upgrade, but he's definitely not quite where I expected him to be. 4/5 other players id replace first but wouldn't be against a shot stopper like Rocky coming back, think a lot took him for granted, would win us 6/9 points every season, made some absolutely ridiculous saves at times.

14-01-2023, 09:19 PM
How can you be certain the next owner will be better?

I’m certain the next owner will put football and Hibernian before personal gain yes 👍 narcissistic owner, nepotistic, surrounded by yes men 👍

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 09:25 PM
I’m certain the next owner will put football and Hibernian before personal gain yes 👍 narcissistic owner, nepotistic, surrounded by yes men 👍

It's quite literally impossible to be certain of the next owner unless you know who it is? Otherwise you haven't a clue, like the rest of us

14-01-2023, 09:36 PM

He's fine for me

For me, Porto kneed it back to him. He wasn't paying attention and boots it out for a throw. They score from the throw in.

Maybe putting all the blame on him is harsh, but his lack of paying attention and poor kicking cost us.

Agreed he made a great save last week, but also felt he could've done better with their first, but was 10 yards back from where he should've been.

14-01-2023, 09:43 PM
It's quite literally impossible to be certain of the next owner unless you know who it is? Otherwise you haven't a clue, like the rest of us

I don’t know who the next owner will be, my point being he or she will be better than this absent landlord 👍 worst owner we’ve had and it’s a low bar that’s been set by him 👍 Duff, Gray and Rowland all over again. Football secondary and income all important. All RG cares about is money.

If he puts his money into the football department- I’ll concede - he simply hasn’t thus far. Support has though 👍

14-01-2023, 09:44 PM
So it’s now Marshall’s turn, is there anyone we haven’t slaughtered or wanted replaced for not being good enough 😂. There is nothing wrong with him he’s a perfectly good keeper for our league, he will make mistakes like everyone else but there aren’t many better in the league that’s for sure

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 09:46 PM
I don’t know who the next owner will be, my point being he or she will be better than this absent landlord 👍 worst owner we’ve had and it’s a low bar that’s been set by him 👍 Duff, Gray and Rowland all over again. Football secondary and income all important. All RG cares about is money.

If he puts his money into the football department- I’ll concede - he simply hasn’t thus far. Support has though 👍

He's got it all wrong, but we are currently spending way more on transfers than I've ever seen in my lifetime. Multiple 6 figure fee's paid for players, if he's done anything, it's aimlessly spend money on players that aren't worth it, but to claim he hasn't spent on the football dept is just false.

14-01-2023, 09:49 PM
I genuinely can’t believe I’ve been off here a couple of hours and come back to Marshall being the problem. 🤣🤣

People forget about all the good saves he makes and shot saved % is completely dependent on the quality of shots you face and how many.

He’s a top keeper.

Him and Nisbet are the only two that I don’t think we can improve on at the moment.

14-01-2023, 09:49 PM
So it’s now Marshall’s turn, is there anyone we haven’t slaughtered or wanted replaced for not being good enough 😂. There is nothing wrong with him he’s a perfectly good keeper for our league, he will make mistakes like everyone else but there aren’t many better in the league that’s for sure

So if he costs us 3 or 4 goals in 3 games, we should just be cool with it?

Really?

If macey or marciano were in nets and performing how he was, there would be uproar.

14-01-2023, 09:55 PM
Well I thought this was funny. :greengrinSo did I . Constant negativity about players , managers , decisionmakers etc etc becomes tiresome after a while especially as there are rarely suggestions on how to do better .

Keepthefaith
14-01-2023, 09:55 PM

oh come on, have a word with yourself. narcissistic and nepotistic really?? remember LD approved the sale to him and endorsed him as a responsible owner. we may not have had the success we had all hoped for under him yet, and he has got some things wrong but it's pretty outrageous to be so careless in your description.

I was brought up a Newcastle fan - maybe have a look at what happened there when they wanted new owners - if you want narcissistic then he's your man right there.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 09:56 PM
I genuinely can’t believe I’ve been off here a couple of hours and come back to Marshall being the problem. 🤣🤣

People forget about all the good saves he makes and shot saved % is completely dependent on the quality of shots you face and how many.

He’s a top keeper.

Him and Nisbet are the only two that I don’t think we can improve on at the moment.

Yeah, that's why XG along with save % tells you if he's facing good shots or not. As of 5th December when JD posted the stats, he had faced an XG of 14.08, conceding 20, so 6 more than he should.

Macey - 35.5 XGc, 37 conceded, so only 2 more than he should.

Marcianos stats show how special he was- 35.5 xGC, 28 conceded, so 7 less goals than he should have based on the quality of chances.

Marciano- 75% save rate, 2.6 saves per game
Macey- 69%, 2.6 saves per game
Marshall- 55% save rate, 1.7 saves per game.

Credit to JDHibs on Twitter.

14-01-2023, 09:59 PM
For me, Porto kneed it back to him. He wasn't paying attention and boots it out for a throw. They score from the throw in.

Maybe putting all the blame on him is harsh, but his lack of paying attention and poor kicking cost us.

Agreed he made a great save last week, but also felt he could've done better with their first, but was 10 yards back from where he should've been.

I'd say putting all on the blame on him for the first goal for concedeeding a throw is is more than a harsh [emoji23]

14-01-2023, 10:01 PM
Yeah, that's why XG along with save % tells you if he's facing good shots or not. As of 5th December when JD posted the stats, he had faced an XG of 14.08, conceding 20, so 6 more than he should.

Marcianos stats show how special he was- 35.5 xGC, 28 conceded, so 7 less goals than he should have based on the quality of chances.

But what is classed as a good shot?

Imo Marshall has saved a lot of shots this season that were brilliant and you genuinely wouldn’t expect him to save.

Mistakes? A couple I’d say you could maybe interpret as him maybe doing more but Celtic being the main one.

14-01-2023, 10:01 PM

Marshall is a better keeper than Macey - it’s not even a debate.

Stats or no stats.

The defence in front of him is the issue playing an aging Stevenson - no right back and a mixture of CB pairings ! Also a weak midfield who don’t protect the back line.

Up-the-slope
14-01-2023, 10:02 PM

that is utter nonsense - no comparison. The rest is unsubstantiated at best.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:04 PM
But what is classed as a good shot?

Imo Marshall has saved a lot of shots this season that were brilliant and you genuinely wouldn’t expect him to save.

Mistakes? A couple I’d say you could maybe interpret as him maybe doing more but Celtic being the main one.

An xG model uses historical information from thousands of shots with similar characteristics to estimate the likelihood of a goal on a scale between 0 and 1. For example, a shot with an xG value of 0.2 is one that we would generally expect to be converted twice in every 10 attempts.

And the main one being Hearts 3rd surely, absolute howler.

He's better than Macey, but he's nowhere near as good as most expected him to be so far.

14-01-2023, 10:11 PM
An xG model uses historical information from thousands of shots with similar characteristics to estimate the likelihood of a goal on a scale between 0 and 1. For example, a shot with an xG value of 0.2 is one that we would generally expect to be converted twice in every 10 attempts.

He's better than Macey, but he's nowhere near as good as most expected him to be so far.

Surely the hearts goal doesn’t come into any shot analysis though?

You could argue he’s at fault for that, you could also argue he’d expect the defence to deal with a simple through ball.

I can see all the projected stats in the world but none would convince me Marshall is a poor keeper.

I just think people look at stats way too much with football now and it doesn’t tell anywhere near the full story.

For example if a midfielder has a 90% pass success rate compared to one at 70%. But the one at 70% is the creator and trying difficult passes instead of passing it side to side

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:13 PM

You could argue he’s at fault for that, you could also argue he’d expect the defence to deal with a simple through ball.

I can see all the projected stats in the world but none would convince me Marshall is a poor keeper.

I just think people look at stats way too much with football now and it doesn’t tell anywhere near the full story.

For example if a midfielder has a 90% pass success rate compared to one at 70%. But the one at 70% is the creator and trying difficult passes instead of passing it side to side

Tbf I've never said he was a poor keeper, not even close. He's underperforming though, my eyes tell me that, as do the stats. Stats on their own aren't perfect but they can help paint a pretty good picture especially when by almost all metrics he's underperforming.

14-01-2023, 10:17 PM

For example if a midfielder has a 90% pass success rate compared to one at 70%. But the one at 70% is the creator and trying difficult passes instead of passing it side to sideBut stats are generally much more granular now than a simple 'pass completion percentage.'.
That makes them far batter for painting an overall picture of what the players strengths and weakness are and the type of player they are

Scott Allan's overall pass completion was probably quite poor but his key passes stat would be fairly high I'm sure

14-01-2023, 10:20 PM
But stats are generally much more granular now than a simple 'pass completion percentage.'.
That makes them far batter for painting an overall picture of what the players strengths and weakness are and the type of player they are

Scott Allan's overall pass completion was probably quite poor but his key passes stat would be fairly high I'm sure

You’re right, but my point is you can paint stats in any way you want.

Hibs done it earlier in the season with some players that made them look like the best CM etc in the league, where as realistically they were nowhere near it

I saw an overview of stats yesterday about creativity, passing etc and Yan Dhanda of Ross county was one of the best in the league, also near the top for a few was Euan Henderson.

Celtic midfielders ranked very low, probably due to the amount they have the ball. But outsiders looking in would think Yan Dhanda was more creative than Turnbull, Hatate, Oriley etc

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:23 PM
You’re right, but my point is you can paint stats in any way you want.

Hibs done it earlier in the season with some players that made them look like the best CM etc in the league, where as realistically they were nowhere near it

I saw an overview of stats yesterday about creativity, passing etc and Yan Dhanda of Ross county was one of the best in the league, also near the top for a few was Euan Henderson.

Celtic midfielders ranked very low, probably due to the amount they have the ball. But outsiders looking in would think Yan Dhanda was more creative than Turnbull, Hatate, Oriley etc

These stats haven't been 'painted' in any way though. It's a direct comparison vs our previous 2 keepers. Save %, XG-gosls conceded is by far the best way to see if a keeper is performing using stats. I simply put the stats out there after someone else already had for others to see.

14-01-2023, 10:27 PM
These stats haven't been 'painted' in any way though. It's a direct comparison vs our previous 2 keepers. Save %, XG-gosls conceded is by far the best way to see if a keeper is performing using stats. I simply put the stats out there after someone else already had for others to see.

Yet you quoted the hearts third goal which will not come under a goal he is expected to save?

There’s no danger a 1 v 1 where the striker scored in the box is classed statistically as one he should save.

The same way if a keeper comes and misses a cross and the striker taps on in at the back post, that won’t come down to an expected save?

They’re just mistakes (depending how you view them)

Regardless of the stats I’d much rather Marshall ahead of Macey, it’s not even close imo.

Fair enough though, everyone’s got their own opinions/views!

Silky
14-01-2023, 10:37 PM

There will be variables though. That "shot with an xG value of 0.2" may be wind affected, take a rogue bounce, be deflected, whatever.

Hearts third was a bad error. Unfortunately, all keepers make them. However, I often think that if the team defended better then Marsh wouldn't have been put in that position in the first place. Both United's goals today were defended terribly, the second took a wild deflection and it looked like Marsh had it covered.
For me, the only stats that interest me are how many times the defence (in fact the whole team) fail to close down the oposition resulting in them a free hit at our keeper.

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:38 PM
Yet you quoted the hearts third goal which will not come under a goal he is expected to save?

There’s no danger a 1 v 1 where the striker scored in the box is classed statistically as one he should save.

The same way if a keeper comes and misses a cross and the striker taps on in at the back post, that won’t come down to an expected save?

They’re just mistakes (depending how you view them)

Regardless of the stats I’d much rather Marshall ahead of Macey, it’s not even close imo.

Fair enough though, everyone’s got their own opinions/views!

The stats and me mentioning the hearts goal aren't the same point, the stats were just so people could make their own minds up.

My opinion is that the hearts goal is a howler, he's way out of position and if he should have came out and claimed it imo. Wasn't a great piece of skill or finish, it was made easier by Marshall being nowhere to be seen.

As you say though, we all see things different so fair enough. I just expected more, as I've said though, would be others id replace before Marshall though.

14-01-2023, 10:40 PM
The stats and me mentioning the hearts goal aren't the same point, the stats were just so people could make their own minds up.

My opinion is that the hearts goal is a howler, he's way out of position and if he should have came out and claimed it imo. Wasn't a great piece of skill or finish, it was made easier by Marshall being nowhere to be seen.

But that is part of my point.

I’ve read a lot of people viewing that goal as a howler by Marshall however there will be 0 record of that statistically.

So how many goals did Macey concede that whilst weren’t shots that he was expected to save, came about as a result of a really bad mistake/bit of goal keeping by him?

cameronw-hfc
14-01-2023, 10:44 PM
But that is part of my point.

I’ve read a lot of people viewing that goal as a howler by Marshall however there will be 0 record of that statistically.

So how many goals did Macey concede that whilst weren’t shots that he was expected to save, came about as a result of a really bad mistake/bit of goal keeping by him?

Tbf the stats were before the game, but I'd hazard a guess and say that a 1v1 is a good enough chance statistically, however it was made even easier by shocking goalkeeping.

Would he have saved it if he didn't dart off to the side before coming out, maybe, maybe not, but him doing that almost guarantees the goal.

I actually don't remember Macey making that many howlers, and thought he was unfairly criticized at times, he just never really made any great saves. He was the definition of average for me. Marshall should be above average but currently he's performing quite a bit below the standards he's set for himself.

Pete70
14-01-2023, 10:45 PM
There are lies, damn lies and statistics.

15-01-2023, 12:24 AM
This place gets more bizarre every day.

See if the result of this transfer window was that we brought in a new keeper.. it would just about sum-up the state of the last year.

OldEast
15-01-2023, 04:15 AM
Agree, distribution is great but decision making is awful. I’d imagine his saves to shot ratio is also pretty poor.

Just checked and he looks like he has the lowest save % in the league.

Where's Bogdan? Our best keeper in years. To be clear I'm not slagging Marshall, just loved Bogdan.

coco mc
15-01-2023, 05:14 AM
Where's Bogdan? Our best keeper in years. To be clear I'm not slagging Marshall, just loved Bogdan.

ferencvaros Back in Hungary , Adam would return to Edinburgh in a heartbeat . He and the family are obsessed with the city .

15-01-2023, 05:21 AM
This place gets more bizarre every day.

See if the result of this transfer window was that we brought in a new keeper.. it would just about sum-up the state of the last year.

It’s crazy, Marshall is the best keeper we have had in years. He has had a superb career elsewhere but apparently he isn’t good enough for us.

OldEast
15-01-2023, 05:26 AM
ferencvaros Back in Hungary , Adam would return to Edinburgh in a heartbeat . He and the family are obsessed with the city .

Love to see him back.

OldEast
15-01-2023, 05:30 AM
It’s crazy, Marshall is the best keeper we have had in years. He has had a superb career elsewhere but apparently he isn’t good enough for us.

Don't think anyone is really saying he's not a good keeper. Obviously his career shows us that he is. What I read from the posts so far is that people maybe expected him to still be absolute top class but like many players his best days are maybe declining. For me he is the least of our problems and his distribution is absolutely fantastic.

Paulie Walnuts
15-01-2023, 05:48 AM

He’s a top keeper.

I can’t believe you and others have interpreted people saying he’s not been as good as they’d hoped to mean he’s the problem.

Most people have said he’s still pretty decent, just that they’d hoped he’d have been better.

That’s the way mild criticism goes on here now though. People start frothing at it and declare that everyone’s now calling Marshall **** when nobody has said anything of the sort.

OldEast
15-01-2023, 05:58 AM
I can’t believe you and others have interpreted people saying he’s not been as good as they’d hoped to mean he’s the problem.

Most people have said he’s still pretty decent, just that they’d hoped he’d have been better.

That’s the way mild criticism goes on here now though. People start frothing at it and declare that everyone’s now calling Marshall **** when nobody has said anything of the sort.

You've summed up .net nicely 👍🏻

Bridge hibs
15-01-2023, 07:46 AM
It’s crazy, Marshall is the best keeper we have had in years. He has had a superb career elsewhere but apparently he isn’t good enough for us.Agree, Marshall is the very least of our worries just now. The worlds best keepers would struggle with that defence and midfield, or lack off in front of them

15-01-2023, 08:01 AM
I’ll predict we sign no one in time for the derby

15-01-2023, 08:14 AM
He's got it all wrong, but we are currently spending way more on transfers than I've ever seen in my lifetime. Multiple 6 figure fee's paid for players, if he's done anything, it's aimlessly spend money on players that aren't worth it, but to claim he hasn't spent on the football dept is just false.

Not sure what age you are, but I think we would have been spending more when McLeish was manager!!

The money being spent on players isn't coming out of RGs pocket though. It's our money being spent.

I think the point the poster was making is that RG needs to spend some of his own money to get us out of the mess.

If you know differently, it would be good if you could share the info. Otherwise, I'm not sure what was false about the post you quoted?

15-01-2023, 08:19 AM

I reckon we will, possibly a couple. We simply can't afford not to.

NC1875
15-01-2023, 08:24 AM
Can’t believe with the state of our defence and midfield, people are moaning about Marshall 😂

This place is mental

raeburnhibs
15-01-2023, 08:27 AM
Marshall? this place is bizarre. Literally the whole team minus Nisbet should be replaced before we think about replacing the goalkeeper. Did you see the defence yesterday?

15-01-2023, 08:41 AM

I predict you will be wrong

15-01-2023, 08:42 AM
So if he costs us 3 or 4 goals in 3 games, we should just be cool with it?

Really?

If macey or marciano were in nets and performing how he was, there would be uproar.

What’s the 3/4 goals hes cost us can you enlighten me?

15-01-2023, 08:43 AM

Bit hypocritical to say I’m misquoting stuff to go ahead and misquote others by saying they’re frothing at the bit and declaring everyone is now calling him **** - I don’t think anyone has said or done that that

Whilst others may have not said he’s the problem they’ve said

“Need a new keeper”
“Decision making is awful”
“One of the worst save % in the league”
“He doesn’t communicate”
“He doesn’t make too many saves”
Comparisons to Macey

I think is clear why folk would interpret that or say in jest about how people are now saying he’s the problem

15-01-2023, 08:48 AM
Bit hypocritical to say I’m misquoting stuff to go ahead and misquote others by saying they’re frothing at the bit and declaring everyone is now calling him **** - I don’t think anyone has said or done that that

“Need a new keeper”
“He doesn’t communicate”
Comparisons to Macey

I think is clear why folk would interpret that or say in jest about how people are now saying he’s the problem

Marshall (along with the resigning of Boyle) has been our best recent signing by a distance. But not having watched him much aside from National games I’ve been surprised just how much of a sweeper keeper he isn’t. And he doesn’t seem to be all that slow either, he just seems reluctant. He’s the best keeper we’ve had in a long time, but the team has to play in a way that’s going to make the best of him and not leave him exposed, either to crosses at the edge of the 6 yard box or to through balls where he has to come out.

No one’s saying he’s not a big step up (I think)

15-01-2023, 08:50 AM

Depends what you mean in time…

Time to train / settle in and know team mates then they should be at training Monday morning.

15-01-2023, 09:02 AM
I predict you will be wrong

Do you reckon we might see some one early I. The week? I'd really like 2 but LJ made it sound like it would probably be 1.

15-01-2023, 09:14 AM
Reports that Blackburn Rovers are interested in Porteous.

gegs70
15-01-2023, 09:23 AM
Do you reckon we might see some one early I. The week? I'd really like 2 but LJ made it sound like it would probably be 1.

BBC gossip suggest he is just hopeful of bringing someone in before the hearts game? No gossip no link to a player. It doesn't hugely feel as though the board are backing the manager??

cameronw-hfc
15-01-2023, 09:55 AM
Not sure what age you are, but I think we would have been spending more when McLeish was manager!!

The money being spent on players isn't coming out of RGs pocket though. It's our money being spent.

I think the point the poster was making is that RG needs to spend some of his own money to get us out of the mess.

If you know differently, it would be good if you could share the info. Otherwise, I'm not sure what was false about the post you quoted?

I'll take the defeat there, I was taken to my first games during that Era but was too young to remember any of it tbf. I meant more look at Farmer/Petrie era compared to now, we are actually spending money, but ill take your word for it that McLeish era we spent more.

The point was more Rons painted as someone that's spent nothing on football dept and solely focused on corporate and big screens and that's not true, he's invested a good amount in the football dept, we just haven't spent it well at all. Blown big fees(for our standard) on young players with potential but nothing to improve us right now. I do think we need to spend better, but I also think it's worth noting he has spent on the football dept and as much as I wish he would spend more, I can also see why he's spending more on corporate and big screens etc.

He's trying to bring in more income to the club so it can sustain itself and make those signings naturally, but I will concede even I'd have liked him to spend a bit less on the business side, I just think people exaggerated a bit much and overlook the fee's we've spent on Melkersen, Mckirdy, McAlister, Rocky(I think was around 100k? Might be wrong). I mind Collins getting slated because we spent 250k or something on him which was massive for us at the time and he wasn't up to it, but we've spent a decent bit more than that on some players we've signed recently if you add it up, so we are spending a decent amount for our level, just not very well.

cameronw-hfc
15-01-2023, 09:57 AM

As a shot stopper he's nowhere near Marciano, although despite me saying I expected more he's definitely still one of the better one's.

15-01-2023, 10:00 AM
As a shot stopper he's nowhere near Marciano, although despite me saying I expected more he's definitely still one of the better one's.

Behave.

I was a massive fan of Rocky, but there’s absolutely no way I’d say Marshall was nowhere as a good a shot stopper. Marshall is as good, if not better.

15-01-2023, 10:02 AM
Behave.

I was a massive fan of Rocky, but there’s absolutely no way I’d say Marshall was nowhere as a good a shot stopper. Marshall is as good, if not better.

Not a chance. Rocky is a far better shot stopper.

cameronw-hfc
15-01-2023, 10:03 AM
Behave.

No chance. Rocky had his flaws, but as a pure shot stopper he's the best we've had in some time. The stats I posted earlier show how ridiculous he was, Macey and Marshall conceding more than XG says they should, Marciano was 7 below the XG. His coming for crosses and kicking was a bit gash, but as a shot stopped he was a bit special.

McGruber
15-01-2023, 10:16 AM
Marshall is better with his feet than Marciano with much better passing.. come to think of it, it's better passing we need in midfield.... LJ...

15-01-2023, 10:17 AM
Behave.

His % of saves v shots isn’t great though.

darwenhibby
15-01-2023, 10:19 AM
Reports that Blackburn Rovers are interested in Porteous.

A guy in my pub who’s a season ticket holder at Blackburn mentioned it last night.
Might be mileage in that left back coming to us.

15-01-2023, 10:23 AM
His % of saves v shots isn’t great though.

I like stats in football, but in isolation they don’t mean much. A goalie could concede 90% of the shots he faces, and have had no chance with any of them, then the stats look horrendous, but if you can’t save them…you can’t save them.

EGL2000
15-01-2023, 10:43 AM
I like stats in football, but in isolation they don’t mean much. A goalie could concede 90% of the shots he faces, and have had no chance with any of them, then the stats look horrendous, but if you can’t save them…you can’t save them.

Totally agree. There's been none that I can think of this season where the "shot stopping aspect of his game has lead to a clear error on his part". A few where you think he should of been out quicker but apart from that I think he's been fine. With some of the guff we have had in goals in recent years I'm very surprised people are complaining.

h1bs4life
15-01-2023, 11:06 AM
Stats mean nothing , certainly in football but also in all walks of life . You read into them what you want
Are Hibs using stats when signing players rather than going to watch them in the flesh , if they are probably the reason why a lot of recent signings have been poor.
Marshall has made a couple of mistakes like all keepers do but is a very good keeper and very good with his feet although his confidence has probably took a battering with the recent performance.
The ballboys have been getting the ball quickly to Marshal to get things moving , recently most of the team have there back to him causing delays.
Yesterday players were throwing there arms up in the air bit more after misplaced passes and more noticeable in the highlights after Rocky headed past Marshal there would normally be a handshake or similar between nothing yesterday.

15-01-2023, 11:07 AM
A guy in my pub who’s a season ticket holder at Blackburn mentioned it last night.
Might be mileage in that left back coming to us.

What have I missed? What left back is it we are interested in?

15-01-2023, 11:23 AM
What have I missed? What left back is it we are interested in?

Tayo Edun, I mentioned this a few days ago as a Twitter rumour

Was on the bench yesterday as they lost 4-0

Scotty Leither
15-01-2023, 11:41 AM
I'll take the defeat there, I was taken to my first games during that Era but was too young to remember any of it tbf. I meant more look at Farmer/Petrie era compared to now, we are actually spending money, but ill take your word for it that McLeish era we spent more.

The point was more Rons painted as someone that's spent nothing on football dept and solely focused on corporate and big screens and that's not true, he's invested a good amount in the football dept, we just haven't spent it well at all. Blown big fees(for our standard) on young players with potential but nothing to improve us right now. I do think we need to spend better, but I also think it's worth noting he has spent on the football dept and as much as I wish he would spend more, I can also see why he's spending more on corporate and big screens etc.

He's trying to bring in more income to the club so it can sustain itself and make those signings naturally, but I will concede even I'd have liked him to spend a bit less on the business side, I just think people exaggerated a bit much and overlook the fee's we've spent on Melkersen, Mckirdy, McAlister, Rocky(I think was around 100k? Might be wrong). I mind Collins getting slated because we spent 250k or something on him which was massive for us at the time and he wasn't up to it, but we've spent a decent bit more than that on some players we've signed recently if you add it up, so we are spending a decent amount for our level, just not very well.

The borrowing for the refit under the stand is I believe, all secured borrowing which he would get back if he sold up.

The fees on players are never released now, and I'll venture they're nowhere near what's quoted.

For instance we never spent a fee on the American superstar Meuller, it went to his parent club when he moved back from us, a point I made on another thread and was corroborated by another poster.

He doesn't get the intense rivarly of Scottish football, his son's signings are all mostly lightweights who can't cope with the physical rigours of the SPL, and I'll venture him and son don't get the significance of the Derby match either.

I get constant emails from the club telling me my "matchday hospitality experience" is ready and then add-ons asking me to buy a range of stuff I don't need.

It seems to be all about the game-day experience at Easter Road, and the result of the match itself seems to be getting lost.

I really hope we win the Cup tie with that mob, but I can't see it as there appears to be a stand-off going on with the CEO and manager as to any further recruitment, and that's partly evidenced in his bizarre team selections.

They'll gear everything up as usual for this game, we'll go in hoping to win it, but as long as the big screens look nice and the pies in hospitality are hot, the currently elusive Gordons will be happy.

WestStandMoaner
15-01-2023, 12:29 PM

Ron has spent little of his own money apart from his initial purchase. It is season ticket money the money from player sales and conveniently forgotten is the couple of million we received from the insurance during the pandemic . Ron might be the current owner but it is the fans money that the Gordon’s spend not their own. Unfortunately, they have spent our money on complete garbage because put simply they don’t not know what they are doing.

Paulie Walnuts
15-01-2023, 12:32 PM

“Need a new keeper”
“He doesn’t communicate”
Comparisons to Macey

You said people are saying he’s ‘the problem’. If you’re ‘the problem’ in this Hibs team, you’re ****.

WestStandMoaner
15-01-2023, 12:38 PM

Ron has spent little of his own money apart from his initial purchase. It is season ticket money the money from player sales and conveniently forgotten is the couple of million we received from the insurance during the pandemic . Ron might be the current owner but it is the fans money that the Gordon’s spend not their own. Unfortunately, they have spent our money on complete garbage because put simply they don’t not know what they are doing.

15-01-2023, 12:45 PM

How much of his own money do you think he should be spending? Few hundred grand? Couple of million?

Why would he?

Who else would?

hhibs
15-01-2023, 12:56 PM

Now that would be a signing !

15-01-2023, 12:59 PM
How much of his own money do you think he should be spending? Few hundred grand? Couple of million?

Why would he?

Who else would?

Yip I highly doubt there are many owners or majority shareholders use their own personal money on day to day stuff

15-01-2023, 01:00 PM
Now that would be a signing !

No point in wasting money on a position we don't really need to improve on just now