View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread
15-01-2023, 01:25 PM
What’s the 3/4 goals hes cost us can you enlighten me?
Weak hands vs hearts for their first
Rooted to his line for their 3rd when he could've cleared the danger
Rooted to his line when he could've cleared the danger for motherwell's first.
There's 3 from the last three games. Nearly cost us one yesterday as well.
He's in the bottom 7% for save % in the league. So effectively one of, if not the worst save %s.
He might not be the biggest problem, but he's a problem..
15-01-2023, 01:58 PM
Weak hands vs hearts for their first
Rooted to his line for their 3rd when he could've cleared the danger
Rooted to his line when he could've cleared the danger for motherwell's first.
There's 3 from the last three games. Nearly cost us one yesterday as well.
He's in the bottom 7% for save % in the league. So effectively one of, if not the worst save %s.
He might not be the biggest problem, but he's a problem..
Not blaming him for Hearts first goal, not sure where else he could’ve palmed the shot to and can’t remember anyone blaming him at the time either.
Fair enough with the 3rd can’t argue with that.
He was never on his line for Motherwells first goal, he was 12yards out when the ball falls to the Motherwell player and he comes out to close him down.
Not blaming him for Hearts first goal, not sure where else he could’ve palmed the shot to and can’t remember anyone blaming him at the time either.
Fair enough with the 3rd can’t argue with that.
He was never on his line for Motherwells first goal, he was 12yards out when the ball falls to the Motherwell player and he comes out to close him down.
He definitely should have done better for the 1st hearts goal I reckon.
15-01-2023, 02:21 PM
Watching Shinnie for Aberdeen. That is exactly what we need and I wonder if we even tried to get him. Constantly involved on and off the ball, noises the opposition up and plays it simply but quickly
Scotty Leither
15-01-2023, 02:52 PM
Watching Shinnie for Aberdeen. That is exactly what we need and I wonder if we even tried to get him. Constantly involved on and off the ball, noises the opposition up and plays it simply but quickly
He would have been deemed too expensive.
NC1875
15-01-2023, 02:55 PM
His names not exotic enough for Ian Gordon
15-01-2023, 02:59 PM
He was always going back to Aberdeen. We’d have no chance even if we wanted him.
15-01-2023, 03:07 PM
He was always going back to Aberdeen. We’d have no chance even if we wanted him.Agree
Similar to us and Boyle I imagine
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
15-01-2023, 03:14 PM
His names not exotic enough for Ian Gordon
Lewis Miller and Harry McKirdy must be among the least exotic football names going 😂
supermcginn
15-01-2023, 03:19 PM
Not a chance. Rocky is a far better shot stopper.
Bogdan was better than both of them.
PHeffernan
15-01-2023, 03:29 PM
Has played 12 league matches in two and a half seasons including none this.
Looks like he is pretty much done.
Was very good at Hibs until he suffered a bad concussion.
15-01-2023, 03:38 PM
Shows how important confidence is for a goalkeeper, remember him being awful when he first signed, then had the game of his life and was excellent after that.
1875Sean
15-01-2023, 03:53 PM
That’s why he was 2nd to Rocky
15-01-2023, 03:55 PM
I predict you will be wrong
I predict one of you will be wrong.
15-01-2023, 04:02 PM
Is there any rumours whatsoever? Even on the PM board?
Seems far too quiet to not even be linked with anyone.
Percy Vere
15-01-2023, 04:09 PM
Don't think anyone is really saying he's not a good keeper. Obviously his career shows us that he is. What I read from the posts so far is that people maybe expected him to still be absolute top class but like many players his best days are maybe declining. For me he is the least of our problems and his distribution is absolutely fantastic.
He’s a quality keeper and will be for another two or three seasons.
He’s got a leaky defence in front of him and any mistakes a goalkeeper makes are always obvious and highlighted. I’ve been to a few matches this season where Marshall has made double saves, penalty saves. Great distribution and a commanding figure. We are very lucky to have him.
All his experience will be beneficial for our young keepers and defenders.
Any criticism about his quality just shows the poster has nae clue!
15-01-2023, 04:25 PM
Is there any rumours whatsoever? Even on the PM board?
Seems far too quiet to not even be linked with anyone.We might have a defensive signing this week
hibsforeurope
15-01-2023, 05:06 PM
We might have a defensive signing this week
Just 1? If Porto goes we probably need 3 plus a defensive midfielder.
cameronw-hfc
15-01-2023, 05:08 PM
More well rounded but not on the same level when it comes to shot stopping.
15-01-2023, 05:15 PM
Chelsea have completed the signing of Ukraine forward Mykhailo Mudryk from Shakhtar Donetsk in a deal worth up to £89m.
The 22-year-old has agreed an eight-and-a-half-year deal for 70m euros (£62m), plus a further 30m euros (£27m) in bonuses.
"I'm so happy to sign for Chelsea," said Mudryk.
Arsenal also wanted Mudryk, who scored seven goals in 12 league appearances for Shakhtar this season.
Yikes
15-01-2023, 05:19 PM
Chelsea have completed the signing of Ukraine forward Mykhailo Mudryk from Shakhtar Donetsk in a deal worth up to £89m.
The 22-year-old has agreed an eight-and-a-half-year deal for 70m euros (£62m), plus a further 30m euros (£27m) in bonuses.
"I'm so happy to sign for Chelsea," said Mudryk.
Arsenal also wanted Mudryk, who scored seven goals in 12 league appearances for Shakhtar this season.
Yikes
It's for FFP reasons. Fee will be spread over his contract length.
If he flops they've got a very expensive problem though. Arsenal desperately wanted him but didn't want to pay that money.
15-01-2023, 05:25 PM
If he flops they've got a very expensive problem though. Arsenal desperately wanted him but didn't want to pay that money.
It works out at less than £200k a week. Only!
A fortune for you and I but sweeties compared to the likes of Haaland and Mbappe in particular.
15-01-2023, 05:27 PM
It works out at less than £200k a week. Only!
A fortune for you and I but sweeties compared to the likes of Haaland and Mbappe in particular.
Well, his wages will be significant too. But yes, Chelsea aren't exactly in financial trouble. Its one hell of a big wage bill and expensive squad. I'd imagine wage bill will be a couple million per week more than Arsenal who are miles ahead.
15-01-2023, 05:30 PM
Well, his wages will be significant too. But yes, Chelsea aren't exactly in financial trouble. Its one hell of a big wage bill and expensive squad. I'd imagine wage bill will be a couple million per week more than Arsenal who are miles ahead.
I assumed that was his wages.
Is that the transfer fees?
15-01-2023, 05:33 PM
I assumed that was his wages.
Is that the transfer fees?
Transfer fee is 100 million.
Wages not mentioned, but supposedly over 200k a week.
thebausburst
15-01-2023, 05:36 PM
Anything in Conor Ronan to Hibs or is it a load of rubbish?
15-01-2023, 05:38 PM
Anything in Conor Ronan to Hibs or is it a load of rubbish?
Last I read it looked like the MLS was a possibility
thebausburst
15-01-2023, 05:40 PM
Last I read it looked like the MLS was a possibility
Ah ok, shame he’d be a cracking signing
15-01-2023, 05:55 PM
Can't believe there isn't any reasonable rumours midway through January. We need to get rid of another 5-6 players but still I'd expect 1-2 to be nearing signing. Hope we see some movement both ways this week.
15-01-2023, 06:00 PM
Have to say I think Arsenal have had a lucky escape…. He’s never worth that sort of cash and he would not displace Martinelli.
Think Arsenal would be better buying another number 9
15-01-2023, 06:05 PM
Just 1? If Porto goes we probably need 3 plus a defensive midfielder.
Think the one defensive player is what LJ said he hoped to bring in this week.
15-01-2023, 07:25 PM
Seen this on twitter
Translated
Elias Hoff Melkersen: that's when the Sparta-led attacks came to be reinforced. Sparta gaat na het succes met Tobias Lauritsen en Joshua Kitolano dus umuneer voor een Noor. Melkersen (20) now plays nog voor Hibernian. Deal must be completed quickly. #transferwinter
https://twitter.com/BartKruyt/status/1614718601272893442?t=oPlsmJcua5RzCiG0WUHsTg&s=19
15-01-2023, 07:29 PM
Seen this on twitter
Translated
Elias Hoff Melkersen: that's when the Sparta-led attacks came to be reinforced. Sparta gaat na het succes met Tobias Lauritsen en Joshua Kitolano dus umuneer voor een Noor. Melkersen (20) now plays nog voor Hibernian. Deal must be completed quickly. #transferwinter
https://twitter.com/BartKruyt/status/1614718601272893442?t=oPlsmJcua5RzCiG0WUHsTg&s=19
Aye it seems he’s away. Not sure whether it’s a loan or permanent deal.
15-01-2023, 07:30 PM
Seen this on twitter
Translated
That would be Sparta Rotterdam interest then, if this is to be believed
15-01-2023, 07:30 PM
Aye it seems he’s away. Not sure whether it’s a loan or permanent deal.
From what I can see on Twitter it's a 'rental' so looks like a loan
15-01-2023, 07:37 PM
That would be Sparta Rotterdam interest then, if this is to be believed
Sitting 6th in the Eredivise
15-01-2023, 07:39 PM
Sitting 6th in the Eredivise
Must be a loan with a view to buying him then. Wouldn’t make sense for a team better than us to borrow one of our squad players who can’t get a game, must be a longer term plan for him there.
Willis1875
15-01-2023, 07:39 PM
That’s a great move for him tbf
15-01-2023, 07:42 PM
Sparta Rotterdam is some move for him with their league position.
You’ve got to wonder how much game time he’ll get though?
Surely he needs to play every week in a league similar to our.
Unless we’re planning on just breaking even with him and accepting it never worked out
15-01-2023, 07:50 PM
Hopefully just a loan 🙏
15-01-2023, 07:53 PM
Hopefully just a loan 🙏
I think there is a great player in there if we can develop him properly and hope this is just a loan.
Greenwich_Hibby
15-01-2023, 07:58 PM
No great loss. Reputation based on fee paid and one good game. Done nothing since apart from run around a lot.
EGL2000
15-01-2023, 08:03 PM
I still think Melkerson could be an excellent player so hoping this is just a loan.
HibeeMackenzie
15-01-2023, 08:03 PM
I heard the other day he was next out the door on loan, but a loan to a team doing well at a higher level than us doesn’t make sense to me
15-01-2023, 08:05 PM
Seen this on twitter
Translated
‘ Twenty-year-old Melkersen still plays in Scotland, with Hibernian. For that team, he competed in thirteen league games this season; he didn't score. Melkersen must become the successor to Mario Engels with Sparta, who left for Tokyo Verdy, Japan, at the end of December.
With Melkersen's hoped arrival, Sparta will once again go for a Norwegian player. Last summer, Rotterdammers picked up Joshua Kitolano and Tobias Lauritsen from Odds BK and they are a great success at Sparta. On Saturday evening, Kitolano scored the winning goal against Excelsior at Lauritsen's report.
After the derby won 1-0, head coach Maurice Steijn already indicated that he was hopeful for the rapid arrival of a new forward. Now it turns out that Sparta is in the final phase for Melkersen, an attacker who can play on the flank and in the centre. He will mainly have to be seen as the stand-in for Lauritsen.’
1875Sean
15-01-2023, 08:10 PM
Sparta Rotterdam is some move for him with their league position.
You’ve got to wonder how much game time he’ll get though?
Surely he needs to play every week in a league similar to our.
Unless we’re planning on just breaking even with him and accepting it never worked out
Don’t they have a b team that plays in the league below? Maybe it’s join them
15-01-2023, 08:17 PM
Melkersen doesn't really get that much game time with us. Most of his appearances have been subs and rarely impacts the game. I like his potential as a player but he will see this as a step up. If hibs get a reasonable fee then it's probably best for both parties.
HibeeMackenzie
15-01-2023, 08:20 PM
Record saying loan with option to buy, I’d be disappointed if we let him leave permanently there’s definitely a player in there
15-01-2023, 08:22 PM
Record saying loan with option to buy, I’d be disappointed if we let him leave permanently there’s definitely a player in there
Yes, I think there’s a good chance he’ll be a really good player and score a lot of goals for a decent team, in time.
He’s one I’d liked to have stuck around ahead of others but hopefully the life works out well for us both.
LunasBoots
15-01-2023, 08:28 PM
Another one that would be for the future rather than the here and now, can see why he's another one away
15-01-2023, 08:30 PM
Is that is down to two fit forwards then, Nisbet and McKirdy?
That’s a great move for him tbf
He might at least get some game time, sad state of affairs when Youan is pish most weeks and he gets the odd 10 mins.
mcfly
15-01-2023, 08:32 PM
This just goes to show our recruitment has been a total shambles this season.
Spending all our time moving on players we signed in the summer.
What about some new talent that goes straight into the first team and improves it please?
Stokesy's on fire
15-01-2023, 08:33 PM
Fingers crossed its only a loan deal
chippy
15-01-2023, 08:39 PM
Maybe Doidge returning
What about some new talent that goes straight into the first team and improves it please?
Except Melkersen cane in the January.
HIBS NUTS
15-01-2023, 08:43 PM
Maybe Doidge returning
He might return, as he’s been absolutely dire for kilmarnock.
15-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Maybe Doidge returning
Hopefully to go out for good.
15-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Melkerson leaving for good would strike me as the biggest example of a failed transfer policy - the first big money overseas signing (whatever it was, even if the fee is exaggerated this was sold as a coup) and he's not developed at all during his time here.
I'd find it a fair stretch that if he went to Holland on loan and did well he'd even want to come back.
15-01-2023, 08:47 PM
Travares next to go out on loan
15-01-2023, 08:49 PM
Travares next to go out on loanSo we are likey to see out in the next 2 weeks
Melkerson
Tavares
Porteous
JDH
Mitchell
Have to have some folk lined up to come in surley
Melkerson leaving for good would strike me as the biggest example of a failed transfer policy - the first big money overseas signing (whatever it was, even if the fee is exaggerated this was sold as a coup) and he's not developed at all during his time here.
I'd find it a fair stretch that if he went to Holland on loan and did well he'd even want to come back.
It could well be he's not developed because the manager and his coaches aren't that great, we've went backwards drastically since Johnson came in, who in the squad has improved, I'll give you Nisbet but that'll be more down to him I suspect.
HFC93
He might at least get some game time, sad state of affairs when Youan is pish most weeks and he gets the odd 10 mins.Youan offers a lot more in games than Melkersen does.
Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk
Is that is down to two fit forwards then, Nisbet and McKirdy?
Making space for Leigh?!?
15-01-2023, 08:50 PM
It could well be he's not developed because the manager and his coaches aren't that great, we've went backwards drastically since Johnson came in, who in the squad has improved, I'll give you Nisbet but that'll be more down to him I suspect.
Rocky but get your point
Willis1875
15-01-2023, 08:50 PM
Making space for Leigh?!?
🤣🤣
Youan offers a lot more in games than Melkersen does.
He's had one decent game in the last ten, pish the rest of the time, can't hit a barn door and can't cross. Melkersen getting the odd 5 mins will never see him progress, the management have to take a lot of the blame for players lack of development.
15-01-2023, 08:56 PM
It beggars belief how useless this crew have been. I’m still baffled that people think we’re going to sing decent players in this window. It’s an utter zhitshow.
15-01-2023, 08:57 PM
He's had one decent game in the last ten, pish the rest of the time, can't hit a barn door and can't cross. Melkersen getting the odd 5 mins will never see him progress, the management have to take a lot of the blame for players lack of development.
I just have imagined his assists for us 🤷
15-01-2023, 08:58 PM
Exactly. Whatever it is Hibs had planned for these youngsters, it's sure as hell not the right environment for them. Wasting their careers to some extent.
Decent amount assists from wide areas for someone who can't cross though eh.
Exactly. Whatever it is Hibs had planned for these youngsters, it's sure as hell not the right environment for them. Wasting their careers to some extent.
Or they arnt good enough we took a chance and in reality they arnt what we need?
15-01-2023, 09:08 PM
Or they arnt good enough we took a chance and in reality they arnt what we need?
How many chances did we really need to take then? Tavares, Melkerson, Hague, Mueller, Delfierre - even if they are/were punts for the future, you'd have hoped for a better return than one 45 minutes in a cup tie to now.
It's guesswork as to what the real issue or whether these rumoured loans could even prove to be worthwhile for Hibs for their future development here. As it stands though, there's obviously some combination of factors where we've bought ultimately substandard players and it's an utter failure of recruitment to waste so much money on such gambles, or our set-up - coaching, player pathway, tactics, style of play - simply isn't good enough to bring guys with a bit of potential on to a better level.
I'd quite like us to be seen as an attractive place to.move to. Can't imagine anyone we've signed since Maloney would be greatly content with the career choice they'd made.
HFC93
15-01-2023, 09:15 PM
He's had one decent game in the last ten, pish the rest of the time, can't hit a barn door and can't cross. Melkersen getting the odd 5 mins will never see him progress, the management have to take a lot of the blame for players lack of development.Joint thrid for assists in the league and the most for any non-Old Firm player but he can't cross though.
15-01-2023, 09:16 PM
Glad of the clear out but a bit baffling to solely focus on clearing out players that never play...
Surely the players that do play every week are not good enough either and should be part of the clear out?
Shame to be getting rid of so much youth with talent. Failings of recruitment and senior players at the club. Should have enough quality in our squad to give youth a shot but no chance that's happening anytime soon.
Scotty Leither
15-01-2023, 09:16 PM
How many chances did we really need to take then? Tavares, Melkerson, Hague, Mueller, Delfierre - even if they are/were punts for the future, you'd have hoped for a better return than one 45 minutes in a cup tie to now.
It's guesswork as to what the real issue or whether these rumoured loans could even prove to be worthwhile for Hibs for their future development here. As it stands though, there's obviously some combination of factors where we've bought ultimately substandard players and it's an utter failure of recruitment to waste so much money on such gambles, or our set-up - coaching, player pathway, tactics, style of play - simply isn't good enough to bring guys with a bit of potential on to a better level.
I'd quite like us to be seen as an attractive place to.move to. Can't imagine anyone we've signed since Maloney would be greatly content with the career choice they'd made.
These points should be put to Gordon the next time he decides to grant us an audience, or Kensell, or Ian Gordon?
It’s an utter shambles and this recruitment team are a ****ing embarrassment to Hibernian football club.
15-01-2023, 09:26 PM
Assume Runar Hauge will be out shortly too...
15-01-2023, 09:31 PM
Doesn’t help when we have went through 3 managers in a year all with very different approaches and styles. I’m not saying these lads arnt good enough sorry I mean won’t be good enough but so far they haven’t shown enough. Believe me no manager deliberately holds back a player, if they believe they are good enough they will get the game time those who don’t show enough won’t and will end up being moved on as we are seeing.
15-01-2023, 09:45 PM
Confirmed
Dabrowski
Balde
Bradley
Brydon
Kenneh
Bojang
Rumoured
Mitchell
Porteous
Melkersen - loan
Tavares - loan
JDH
Returned
Emmanuel Johnson
Allan Delferierre
Runar Hauge
The above potentially all going as it stands, wouldn’t surprise me if another couple of names like Cabraja appear later too.
The majority have had little to no impact on the season so won’t be a loss at all.
But does anyone have faith in us suitably replacing them?
Or will it come to dead like day again only for us to announce another Sylvester Jasper.
With the amount gone/potentially going it will surely free up a good amount of money.
3 quality additions would really transform this team if we can get them
Scotty Leither
15-01-2023, 09:52 PM
Confirmed
Dabrowski
Balde
Bradley
Brydon
Kenneh
Bojang
Rumoured
Mitchell
Porteous
Melkersen - loan
Tavares - loan
JDH
Returned
Emmanuel Johnson
Allan Delferierre
Runar Hauge
The above potentially all going as it stands, wouldn’t surprise me if another couple of names like Cabraja appear later too.
The majority have had little to no impact on the season so won’t be a loss at all.
But does anyone have faith in us suitably replacing them?
Or will it come to dead like day again only for us to announce another Sylvester Jasper.
With the amount gone/potentially going it will surely free up a good amount of money.
3 quality additions would really transform this team if we can get them
The laddie Johnson couldn’t get a start for Edinburgh in the third division. He’s part of this exciting link up with Charleston Battery who are up there with Rainbow FC in the “who the **** are they?” stakes.
15-01-2023, 10:05 PM
The laddie Johnson couldn’t get a start for Edinburgh in the third division. He’s part of this exciting link up with Charleston Battery who are up there with Rainbow FC in the “who the **** are they?” stakes.
cameronw-hfc
15-01-2023, 10:14 PM
Asked a Edinburgh fan on twitter his opinion and he said he's absolutely rapid, but blows very hot and cold. Could be a world beater one day and honking the next game. Seems to me like we gambled on his physical attributes and hoped his technical ones would round themselves out here, hasn't quite happened though. Know he's popular with the 18's/development lads though.
Not saying he's good enough or ever will be, just adding a bit of context to a signing we've pretty much heard nothing about since he joined.
15-01-2023, 10:23 PM
Just having a look at free agents/contexts expiring in the summer and there’s a few you’d imagine would come in and improve us that are well within our means;
Connor Wickham - ST - Out of contract
Tyler Blackett - CB - Out of contract
Above probably struggling to afford/have better offers.
Ryan Hardie - ST - Contract expires in summer
Ethan Hamilton - CM - Contract expires in summer
Michael Rose - CB - Contract expires in summer
Carl Winchester - Versatile - contract expires in summer (regular under Johnson at Sunderland)
Them 4 would surely come in and provide much needed competition, reliability and quality.
The might not be the wow quality we’re looking for but I reckon our squad would be a lot more solid and competitive with them
Scotty Leither
15-01-2023, 10:26 PM
Asked a Edinburgh fan on twitter his opinion and he said he's absolutely rapid, but blows very hot and cold. Could be a world beater one day and honking the next game. Seems to me like we gambled on his physical attributes and hoped his technical ones would round themselves out here, hasn't quite happened though. Know he's popular with the 18's/development lads though.
Not saying he's good enough or ever will be, just adding a bit of context to a signing we've pretty much heard nothing about since he joined.
I’ve watched him twice, playing 3rd tier football don’t forget. File him under similar to Tavares but better than Bojang.
It wouldn’t surprise me if his deal was the same as Meuller in that there’s no fee involved unless he’s sold on when he returns home and that fee would go to his parent club and not Hibs.
We are royally having the piss extracted out of us and the Gordons have some hard questions to answer.
15-01-2023, 10:28 PM
I’ve watched him twice, playing 3rd tier football don’t forget. File him under similar to Tavares but better than Bojang.
It wouldn’t surprise me if his deal was the same as Meuller in that there’s no fee involved unless he’s sold on when he returns home and that fee would go to his parent club and not Hibs.
We are royally having the piss extracted out of us and the Gordons have some hard questions to answer.
It won’t be like that because he’s never been signed to MLS.
Scotty Leither
15-01-2023, 10:30 PM
It won’t be like that because he’s never been signed to MLS.
Who’s he signed to then, and what level do Charleston Battery play at?
15-01-2023, 10:34 PM
Who’s he signed to then, and what level do Charleston Battery play at?
He’s signed to Hibs. Hibs loaned him to Charleston while we awaited his work permit. He had no association with Charleston until we loaned him to them.
Scotty Leither
15-01-2023, 10:39 PM
He’s signed to Hibs. Hibs loaned him to Charleston while we awaited his work permit. He had no association with Charleston until we loaned him to them.
This is bewildering…Who did we sign him from, then?
15-01-2023, 10:41 PM
Which games did you see him?
Willis1875
15-01-2023, 10:44 PM
This is bewildering…Who did we sign him from, then?
We signed him from a Barcelona residency academy based in USA
Steve Kean is associated with that particular signing
15-01-2023, 10:48 PM
Who did we sign him from, then?
He was at the Barcelona US residential football academy in Arizona. It’s starting to change in the US but professional teams haven’t historically had their own youth systems. Like the major US sports, youth development is done through the education system, schools, then college and then players enter the US professional leagues via the draft system. Johnson had an offer to join one of the top colleges for football in the US, UC Berkeley, but turned down the offer to go professional early.
15-01-2023, 10:50 PM
We signed him from a Barcelona residency academy based in USA
Steve Kean is associated with that particular signing
Johnson was on trial with us before Kean was appointed.
Scotty Leither
15-01-2023, 10:51 PM
Which games did you see him?
Peterhead and Dunfermline.
Scotty Leither
15-01-2023, 10:52 PM
He was at the Barcelona US residential football academy in Arizona. It’s starting to change in the US but professional teams haven’t historically had their own youth systems. Like the major US sports, youth development is done through the education system, schools, then college and then players enter the US professional leagues via the draft system. Johnson had an offer to join one of the top colleges for football in the US, UC Berkeley, but turned down the offer to go professional early.
Thanks. From what you’ve detailed above, he’s another Iain Gordon signing. Enough said.
15-01-2023, 10:52 PM
We signed him from a Barcelona residency academy based in USA.
An even more illustrious name than Charleston Battery & Rainbow FC in the “who the **** are they?” stakes
Willis1875
15-01-2023, 10:53 PM
Johnson was on trial with us before Kean was appointed.
Just going by the press release on his signing and the quotes directly from Steve Kean in the EEN
15-01-2023, 10:57 PM
An even more illustrious name than Charleston Battery & Rainbow FC in the “who the **** are they?” stakes
What does that matter who had heard of institute when we signed Ivan
15-01-2023, 11:02 PM
Peterhead and Dunfermline.
He played about half an hour in one and about 15m in the other (and scored), no sure how you can form a decent opinion based on that but there you go.
‘ Twenty-year-old Melkersen still plays in Scotland, with Hibernian. For that team, he competed in thirteen league games this season; he didn't score. Melkersen must become the successor to Mario Engels with Sparta, who left for Tokyo Verdy, Japan, at the end of December.
With Melkersen's hoped arrival, Sparta will once again go for a Norwegian player. Last summer, Rotterdammers picked up Joshua Kitolano and Tobias Lauritsen from Odds BK and they are a great success at Sparta. On Saturday evening, Kitolano scored the winning goal against Excelsior at Lauritsen's report.
After the derby won 1-0, head coach Maurice Steijn already indicated that he was hopeful for the rapid arrival of a new forward. Now it turns out that Sparta is in the final phase for Melkersen, an attacker who can play on the flank and in the centre. He will mainly have to be seen as the stand-in for Lauritsen.’
Signing a Norwegian because the 2 current Norwegians have done well. That's a worse signing policy than ours. 😀😀
(I know that's not really what they're saying.)
Scotty Leither
16-01-2023, 06:27 AM
He played about half an hour in one and about 15m in the other (and scored), no sure how you can form a decent opinion based on that but there you go.
...and he can't get a regular game in the 3rd tier. Now he's recalled from the loan, where's he going to go now?
I'll wager they'll try and slip him quietly out the door and hope nobody notices, and Ian Gordon will be sent back to his bedroom to prise out the next superstar from his computer.
16-01-2023, 07:00 AM
...and he can't get a regular game in the 3rd tier. Now he's recalled from the loan, where's he going to go now?
I'll wager they'll try and slip him quietly out the door and hope nobody notices, and Ian Gordon will be sent back to his bedroom to prise out the next superstar from his computer.
All the players were recalled. It had nothing to do with the ability of any of them.
16-01-2023, 07:37 AM
All the players were recalled. It had nothing to do with the ability of any of them.
Correct but someone allegedly watching the boy for less than half a game knows best
Paulie Walnuts
16-01-2023, 07:40 AM
Correct but someone allegedly watching the boy for less than half a game knows best
His lack of game time was down to his ability though.
If he couldn’t get a game down there then he’s clearly not good enough for us.
I’ve never seen FC Edinburgh play. I don’t need to have though to know that the guys who don’t regularly start for them aren’t good enough for us.
Mainstandman
16-01-2023, 08:32 AM
Just having a look at free agents/contexts expiring in the summer and there’s a few you’d imagine would come in and improve us that are well within our means;
Carl Winchester - Versatile - contract expires in summer (regular under Johnson at Sunderland)
Them 4 would surely come in and provide much needed competition, reliability and quality.
The might not be the wow quality we’re looking for but I reckon our squad would be a lot more solid and competitive with them
I've no idea what he's like as a player but Carl Winchester is an excellent name!
16-01-2023, 08:42 AM
I’ve never seen FC Edinburgh play. I don’t need to have though to know that the guys who don’t regularly start for them aren’t good enough for us.
16-01-2023, 08:47 AM
Connor Wickham has spent about 70% of his career injured, good player when fit but made of glass. Now going down the leagues since being released by Palace and not staying anywhere very long. Don't know anything about the other names.
16-01-2023, 08:47 AM
I've no idea what he's like as a player but Carl Winchester is an excellent name!
He’d rifle the goals in
16-01-2023, 08:50 AM
He’d rifle the goals in
You're going to trigger the punsters!
16-01-2023, 08:58 AM
Connor Wickham has spent about 70% of his career injured, good player when fit but made of glass. Now going down the leagues since being released by Palace and not staying anywhere very long. Don't know anything about the other names.
We've got no chance of getting him. He signed for Forest Green in League 1 in the summer. Scored 9 goals in 20 appearances. Forest Green were desperate to keep him but he chose to leave. He's now talking to a number of Championship clubs.
16-01-2023, 09:04 AM
We've got no chance of getting him. He signed for Forest Green in League 1 in the summer. Scored 9 goals in 20 appearances. Forest Green were desperate to keep him but he chose to leave. He's now talking to a number of Championship clubs.
Good. At Palace he had more comebacks than Frank Sinatra.
16-01-2023, 09:11 AM
:top marksGoes without saying really.
Just shows how low we've sunk when we're even discussing a player at this level starting for the Hibs first team.
16-01-2023, 09:16 AM
Just shows how low we've sunk when we're even discussing a player at this level starting for the Hibs first team.
Nobody is really discussing him starting for the Hibs first team just now.
16-01-2023, 09:17 AM
Not really. Hibs players have always gone on loan to lower league teams for experience.
Nobody is calling for Johnson to start for Hibs. Some folk are moaning that we ever signed him in the first place. Again, we've always taken a chance on youth players and this is no different, won't have been expensive. It's just getting conflated now with our terrible first team signings.
16-01-2023, 09:21 AM
Who’s calling for him to start for the Hibs first team? Read the comments the discussion is someone saying he’s not good enough based on hardly seeing him, the other hasn’t see him at all and is saying he can’t get a game for EC so tells him all he needs to know. The point being made is give the laddie a chance before writing him off already.
Feed McGraw
16-01-2023, 09:27 AM
I've no idea what he's like as a player but Carl Winchester is an excellent name! It sure is pardner ! I wonder what Liberty Valance is up to these days ? He would toughen up the midfield no end !! 😄
16-01-2023, 09:29 AM
I think if both teams could have agreed on a training schedule that would work for Edinburgh they may have got more game time. There was concern that Hibs timetable was detrimental to the condition of the players. Caveat that its a total one sided opinion. Either way I don't think any of them will be at Hibs for much longer.
16-01-2023, 09:38 AM
More time than players are usually given before being written off :greengrin
Assume Runar Hauge will be out shortly too...
Is he not still on loan at Dundalk?
16-01-2023, 10:11 AM
More time than players are usually given before being written off :greengrin
😂😂😂😂 very true
16-01-2023, 10:12 AM
He’s back here I spoke to him at the Derby and hadn’t spoken to the club about his long term future or what was happening with him at that point. Suspect that’s changed now though
16-01-2023, 11:13 AM
Their season is finished
16-01-2023, 11:43 AM
Pat expecting the deal for Melkersen to be done later today. Loan with option to buy.
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1614965582234804232?s=46&t=DNDtMGmedt_raiSbEY26yg
16-01-2023, 12:02 PM
Pat expecting the deal for Melkersen to be done later today. Loan with option to buy.
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1614965582234804232?s=46&t=DNDtMGmedt_raiSbEY26yg
I would’ve preferred to make a judgement call on him after a consistent run of games somewhere but obviously Johnson has seen nothing that impresses him. What a shambles our recruitment has been🙈
16-01-2023, 12:03 PM
Melkersen away confirmed
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/elias-melkersen-joins-sparta-rotterdam-on-loan
“Has all the attributes to be a top number 9”
“Now is the time for Elias to get regular starts to implement all the hard work he’s put into training.“
So we put him on loan to a team who will likely be better than us and with an option to buy him?
If you want rid of him because we don’t think he’s good enough right now then fair enough, the option to buy could be more than we paid for him which again is fair enough.
Just find the comments don’t add up with the outcome
16-01-2023, 12:04 PM
He’d rifle the goals in
Then be off to Dillinger's for a few well earned Frontier beers
muzzando
16-01-2023, 12:07 PM
Melkersen away confirmed
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/elias-melkersen-joins-sparta-rotterdam-on-loan
“Now is the time for Elias to get regular starts to implement all the hard work he’s put into training.“
So we put him on loan to a team who will likely be better than us and with an option to buy him?
If you want rid of him because we don’t think he’s good enough right now then fair enough, the option to buy could be more than we paid for him which again is fair enough.
Same page says Sparta can buy him for a pre agreed 7 figure fee so would definitely make a profit if that happened but I just can't see it
ChilliEater
16-01-2023, 12:08 PM
Official site saying option to buy for a 7 figure fee. Good business, I guess.
16-01-2023, 12:09 PM
Melkersen away confirmed
7 figure fee 👀
16-01-2023, 12:10 PM
7 figure fee 👀
Just noticed that now, would be good business if they take up the option!
Just something about the way we’ve spoke about him then allowed him to leave when Nisbet is the only fit striker annoys me!🤣
16-01-2023, 12:11 PM
Cant see him getting regular starts in a team sixth in that league. Hope he does though.
16-01-2023, 12:12 PM
You just know he’s going to bang them in for them and the pre arranged fee will then be criticised as we could have got more🤣
16-01-2023, 12:16 PM
An announcement or two incoming is surely now imminent?
16-01-2023, 12:18 PM
I guess the 7 figure sum is a safety net for Hibs, chances are he’ll be back and should he rip it up we’re suitably compensated, seems fair enough.
16-01-2023, 12:19 PM
So, wait, profit?
The system.... works?
16-01-2023, 12:20 PM
Official site saying option to buy for a 7 figure fee. Good business, I guess.
If that's the case that a brilliant bit of business by Hibs. Comes back after getting more game time or leaves for a million plus.
16-01-2023, 12:20 PM
I guess the 7 figure sum is a safety net for Hibs, chances are he’ll be back and should he rip it up we’re suitably compensated, seems fair enough.
Yes, a good bit of business by Hibs in this case.
I'll be surprised if we see the 7 figure sum heading our way but good luck to him.
16-01-2023, 12:23 PM
An announcement or two incoming is surely now imminent?
You would hope , think that's us down to a 1st team squad of 23 with Boyle and Mykolo being out injured, I'd expect to see Mitchell go, that should leave a couple of spaces?
Paulie Walnuts
16-01-2023, 12:23 PM
So, wait, profit?
The system.... works?
Only if they decide to buy him.
16-01-2023, 12:25 PM
If that's the case that a brilliant bit of business by Hibs. Comes back after getting more game time or leaves for a million plus.
Or the scenario where he doesn't impress and comes back.
Not being negative, but it's not quite a shoe in that Hibs are on to a guaranteed winner here.
Paulie Walnuts
16-01-2023, 12:27 PM
Or the scenario where he doesn't impress and comes back.
Not being negative, but it's not quite a shoe in that Hibs are on to a guaranteed winner here.
Good we’ve got him out the door for a bit but I just can’t see him playing at that level so I’m not sure what we’re hoping will be achieved.
16-01-2023, 12:27 PM
So, wait, profit?
The system.... works?
Only if someone’s willing to pay a million for him.
Would take a tenth of that right now IMO.
16-01-2023, 12:37 PM
Same page says Sparta can buy him for a pre agreed 7 figure fee so would definitely make a profit if that happened but I just can't see it
I wonder if Bodo/Glimt are due a sell-on.
16-01-2023, 12:46 PM
PM reporting still some interest in JDH from Bristol Rovers and from abroad but no new offers as yet.
16-01-2023, 12:47 PM
Derek riordan on the bench would fill me with more hope of a goal in the dying moment than what we have had coming on recently.
16-01-2023, 12:49 PM
PM reporting still some interest in JDH from Bristol Rovers and from abroad but no new offers as yet.Rumour is he's rovers bound
Maybe depending on who we can bring in
16-01-2023, 12:50 PM
Cant see him getting regular starts in a team sixth in that league. Hope he does though.
Dutch sides actually know how to develop footballers, though.
16-01-2023, 12:51 PM
Melkersen away confirmed
What do you expect them to say ? Elias hasn't delivered on the pitch and has no chance of a starting place, so rather than him languishing in the West Stand, we're sticking him out on loan to offset his wages.
Of course, they're going to talk him up an exciting prospect. That's standard PR.
Rumour is he's rovers bound
I hadn't actually heard anything regarding that l, wonder if there will be a fee involved. Depending on who goes out this week it could be an interesting team selection on Sunday.
I actually rate JDH so would be disappointed in that.
I don’t think many of our centre mids are poor as such, it’s just the balance is miles off.
I also think there’s a bit too much hope on Magennis, take his injuries out of it and I’m just not convinced he’s as good as some expect him to be
16-01-2023, 12:54 PM
Happy to find out Sparta Rotterdam have a worse recruitment team than us :greengrin
HIBS NUTS
16-01-2023, 12:57 PM
What’s good about the deal, is because they are a big club, they will probably cover most of his wages.
However i suspect the £1 million release, clause, is to deflect from any criticism of the original transfer.
Good luck to him, and i hope he does well.
Mcbizz1998
16-01-2023, 01:05 PM
I don’t like the option to buy part of this. The point of a loan would be to get him some game time and come back to play for Hibs. If he now does well we will probably lose him, if he doesn’t play then he comes back and we are in the same position as we are now.
16-01-2023, 01:05 PM
Happy to find out Sparta Rotterdam have a worse recruitment team than us :greengrin
Any quotes from Rotterdam head of recruitment, Adriian von Goerden, about why they have signed an unproven young striker on loan with an option to buy? :confused:
16-01-2023, 01:06 PM
Any quotes from Rotterdam head of recruitment, Adriian von Goerden, about why they have signed an unproven young striker on loan with an option to buy? :confused:
Not yet but Sparta.Net will be a hoot
16-01-2023, 01:10 PM
I don’t like the option to buy part of this. The point of a loan would be to get him some game time and come back to play for Hibs. If he now does well we will probably lose him, if he doesn’t play then he comes back and we are in the same position as we are now.I'd he does well we are getting 1 million plus, which at this point seems pretty decent
16-01-2023, 01:11 PM
I've seen this alluded to a couple of times.
Are we saying that Hibs and Edinburgh have had a fall out? If so, is there any sort of reasoning behind it that can be mentioned?
16-01-2023, 01:13 PM
https://twitter.com/moira_gordon/status/1614980247392292865?s=46&t=9z58VwFjq_ctaJ8swaBmUA
More to follow Melkersen out.
Club closing in on signings
16-01-2023, 01:21 PM
I've seen this alluded to a couple of times.
Are we saying that Hibs and Edinburgh have had a fall out? If so, is there any sort of reasoning behind it that can be mentioned?
Edin were not happy with the training schedules amongst other things. In short they were training on the Friday at HTC when Edin wanted them at players meetings with them. Again its a one sided view.
Souter96Mac
16-01-2023, 01:25 PM
Interesting deal, hopefully he gets game time and kicks on. If he does fantastically well, then it sounds like we'll be making a decent profit.
Just wonder who these ins are, and what positions
16-01-2023, 01:26 PM
I usually enjoy when we are searching for a new manager, all this transfer business is just as interesting though.
It isn’t very often you see a struggling manager given the chance to make substantial changes.
I really hope that the “ins” are of a standard that show we know what we are doing.
16-01-2023, 01:29 PM
PM reporting still some interest in JDH from Bristol Rovers and from abroad but no new offers as yet.
Sorry if I’m being thick but who is PM?
16-01-2023, 01:30 PM
Prime minister?
Willis1875
16-01-2023, 01:30 PM
Paul Merson
mcfly
16-01-2023, 01:37 PM
So who is our replacement striker if Kevin Nisbet gets injured now?
this transfer window appears to be just moving on the players we bought in in the summer.
No mention is anyone in and we need them Now , not at the end of the window.
Never felt so dis attached from hibs as I do now. Terrible stuff
Willis1875
16-01-2023, 01:41 PM
this transfer window appears to be just moving on the players we bought in in the summer.
He will stick Big Will Fish up there
16-01-2023, 01:43 PM
Not necessarily disagreeing with you, but I’d stick this one up in the loft with the Christmas tree for now and get it back down at the end of the transfer window if it still applies.
16-01-2023, 01:50 PM
Perry Mason.
16-01-2023, 01:54 PM
What’s good about the deal, is because they are a big club, they will probably cover most of his wages.
However i suspect the £1 million release, clause, is to deflect from any criticism of the original transfer.
Good luck to him, and i hope he does well.
How do we know it is £1,000,000. The club said 7 figure sum, but they could be talking about Norwegian kroner. 1,000,000 kroner is about £83k. :greengrin
16-01-2023, 01:56 PM
Patrick Mcpartlin - supposedly Hibs reporter for the Evening News.
mcfly
16-01-2023, 01:59 PM
Not necessarily disagreeing with you, but I’d stick this one up in the loft with the Christmas tree for now and get it back down at the end of the transfer window if it still applies.
Have to disagree. We have a big game this Sunday that will make or break the season in terms of fans confidence.
Lose and crowds will plummet
We knew the deficiencies in the team and we have not changed it.
In fact we just play midfielders at right back and centre backs in midfield.
What’s next David Marshall up front v hearts 🙈🙈
I’m just disappointed in the club at letting the fans down again
16-01-2023, 02:08 PM
Derek riordan on the bench would fill me with more hope of a goal in the dying moment than what we have had coming on recently.
Could he still do a job for us 👀😂
16-01-2023, 02:33 PM
Patrick Mcpartlin - supposedly Hibs reporter for the Evening News.
How "supposedly"? He is a massive Hibby.
16-01-2023, 02:38 PM
So, wait, profit?
The system.... works?It's all this having to be half decent on the football pitch that's ersing up the business "model".
And if only the fans would just hand over money without the need to keep turning up at the ground..........
16-01-2023, 02:45 PM
Right now i'm quite comfortable bringing in nobody until a DoF is appointed. Just don't have any confidence that we'll bring in anyone decent. Rather we didn't waste any more money on utter dross. Sad really.
16-01-2023, 02:50 PM
Right now i'm quite comfortable bringing in nobody until a DoF is appointed. Just don't have any confidence that we'll bring in anyone decent. Rather we didn't waste any more money on utter dross. Sad really.
And if a DoF comes after the window closes we end up depleting our squad in number and not making it any better in terms of quality. The talk of teh huge squad was strange anyway as it was pretty much the same size as Hearts squad
16-01-2023, 02:53 PM
And if a DoF comes after the window closes we end up depleting our squad in number and not making it any better in terms of quality. The talk of teh huge squad was strange anyway as it was pretty much the same size as Hearts squad
Aye but it fits into them saying stuff to keep the fans happy
“We’ve learned from our mistakes”
“Quality over quantity”
“Fast attacking high pressing football”
The clubs been a mouth piece over the last season and a half and delivered none of it.
16-01-2023, 02:54 PM
Exactly the way I feel. I suspect that the very reason they are delaying LJ's sacking, is to get the DoF in so that he/she will be in place to lead on the recruitment of our next Manager with players to follow.
The problem is, the transfer window will likely be shut by the time we get a DoF and new Manager in place. We desperately need the addition of quality players to rescue our season.
16-01-2023, 02:56 PM
How "supposedly"? He is a massive Hibby.
Good news. I don't know him personally.
16-01-2023, 03:21 PM
I wonder how much interest there is from Bristol rovers for JDH.
Maybe a couple more outs before Sunday but Will there be any ins.
16-01-2023, 03:21 PM
Is this what we are really accepting as fans ??!
The squad is worse now than the last derby at the start of January and since the transfer window opened due to the injuries to Boyle, Cadden and Myko.
If we don’t sign a starter this week week we deserve everything we get as it’s absolutely woeful management of recruitment and planning.
Paulie Walnuts
16-01-2023, 03:23 PM
Is this what we are really accepting as fans ??!
The squad is worse now than the last derby at the start of January and since the transfer window opened due to the injuries to Boyle, Cadden and Myko.
If we don’t sign a starter this week week we deserve everything we get as it’s absolutely woeful management of recruitment and planning.
It’s essentially writing the season off if we do that, much the same as we done last season when we sold Boyle and brought in a raft of untested pish.
Thankfully it sounds like we’re getting players in though. Just need to hope they are actually good.
16-01-2023, 03:24 PM
Saw the record saying LJ wants two new players in this month. If one of them isn’t a central midfielder we may aswell chuck it for the season.
davhibby
16-01-2023, 03:30 PM
With all these players leaving hopefully some of the youngsters will get a look in.
16-01-2023, 03:33 PM
Christian Ramirez looks likely to be signing for Columbus Crew
leith lynx
16-01-2023, 03:41 PM
Paddy Mcaloon
16-01-2023, 03:48 PM
Paddy Mcaloon
The Best Jewel Thief In The World
16-01-2023, 03:52 PM
With all these players leaving hopefully some of the youngsters will get a look in.
I am hoping this is the case too.
16-01-2023, 04:26 PM
If Giakoumakis goes after celtic accepting a bid I wouldn't be surprised if they go for Nisbet
16-01-2023, 04:29 PM
If Giakoumakis goes after celtic accepting a bid I wouldn't be surprised if they go for Nisbet
Don’t dispute they would bid for a second, however I also don’t think for a second that they would make a serious offer we’d even remotely consider.
Not a threat to him seriously leaving us.
16-01-2023, 04:39 PM
If Giakoumakis goes after celtic accepting a bid I wouldn't be surprised if they go for NisbetFind it strange they are selling him tbh
16-01-2023, 04:43 PM
Could he still do a job for us 👀😂
We could bring him on for free kicks near the end of the game.
Hibee Daft
16-01-2023, 05:09 PM
Josh O'connor / Ethan Laidlaw / Macintyre and few if the others dhould all be given a chance and shown they will get game time here. Melkerson and bojang leaving shoukd allow tht
16-01-2023, 05:18 PM
Only if someone’s willing to pay a million for him.
Would take a tenth of that right now IMO.
Thank **** you have nothing to do with decision making at our club then 🤡
16-01-2023, 05:24 PM
Raith Rovers?
16-01-2023, 05:27 PM
Thank **** you have nothing to do with decision making at our club then 🤡
How much do you think he is currently worth? And don't think there is any need for the clown part at the end, no wonder so many threads or posts are getting deleted just now
16-01-2023, 05:29 PM
How much do you think he is currently worth? And don't think there is any need for the clown part at the end, no wonder so many threads or posts are getting deleted just now
Certainly wouldn’t be selling him for 100k as suggested.
16-01-2023, 05:31 PM
Certainly wouldn’t be selling him for 100k as suggested.
So you think after only 2 goals in 12 months(albeit not much game time) we could get over £100k. I'd be amazed if that was to happen
16-01-2023, 05:34 PM
So you think after only 2 goals in 12 months(albeit not much game time) we could get over £100k. I'd be amazed if that was to happen
So brilliant business by the recruitment team getting 7 figures
16-01-2023, 05:36 PM
So brilliant business by the recruitment team getting 7 figures
IF they take up the option to sign him, there is nothing guaranteed. And if we do get a 7 figure fee for him then amazing bit of business by the club
16-01-2023, 05:47 PM
Joseph Hungbo signed on loan at Huddersfield. Had a decent stint at Ross County last season.
16-01-2023, 05:49 PM
IF they take up the option to sign him, there is nothing guaranteed. And if we do get a 7 figure fee for him then amazing bit of business by the club
Lol
The Green Sea
16-01-2023, 05:51 PM
7 have now left or gone on loan. Time for a bit of quality to come in.
16-01-2023, 05:52 PM
Lol
Not really sure what is funny
Hibiza
16-01-2023, 05:55 PM
Raith Rovers?
You beat me to it . Just a passenger.
16-01-2023, 06:28 PM
ah righty
this is a wonderful gesture by the Shakhtar president...
Shakhtar Donetsk president Rinat Akhmetov has pledged to donate £22m to the Ukrainian war effort following the transfer of Mykhailo Mudryk to Chelsea.
The Premier League side signed Mudryk from Shakhtar (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64281139) on Sunday in a deal worth up to £89m, a transfer record for Ukrainian football.
Akhmetov said the money would help a project named 'Heart of Azovstal,' aimed at "helping Mariupol defenders and the families of fallen soldiers".
Ukraine was invaded by Russia in 2022.
"I want to thank the entire civilised world for helping Ukraine," said Akhmetov.
16-01-2023, 06:44 PM
Private Member ?
CL0762
16-01-2023, 07:38 PM
He will stick Big Will Fish up there
Flashbacks to Yogi and David Stephens there, cheers.
16-01-2023, 08:31 PM
Private Member ?
Patrick McGoohan...we are after a Number 6 afterall 👌
Someone that takes no prisoners.
16-01-2023, 08:45 PM
Livingston have signed a Dominican Republic centre half from Finish club Haka, Martindale is expecting a centre half to leave this window :hmmm:
https://i.ibb.co/Rj7SHv8/Screenshot-20230116-214828-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/y4VRsf2)
Which, the injured one? 🤔
16-01-2023, 08:54 PM
Jack Fitzwater was linked with championship clubs down south not long ago. I really don’t know if he’s good but he’s been part of a good defence so he must have something about him. I would be quite happy if we went for him.
16-01-2023, 08:56 PM
https://i.ibb.co/Rj7SHv8/Screenshot-20230116-214828-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/y4VRsf2)
Which, the injured one? 🤔
Obileye and Fitzwater both out of contact in the summer. Not sure I'd be keen on either although I know a few on here rate Fitzwater. Maybe he's better than what I recall seeing of him.
16-01-2023, 09:10 PM
How do we know it is £1,000,000. The club said 7 figure sum, but they could be talking about Norwegian kroner. 1,000,000 kroner is about £83k. :greengrin
£7 ?
That’s a figure with 7 in it?
16-01-2023, 09:12 PM
Which, the injured one?
forgive me, i haven't a clue what i'm looking at here, it's been a long day :) but de Lucas is the man, had two trials with them
Jack Fitzwater was linked with championship clubs down south not long ago. I really don’t know if he’s good but he’s been part of a good defence so he must have something about him. I would be quite happy if we went for him.
yep i think it will most certainly be him
BegbieHSC
16-01-2023, 09:44 PM
Any chat about ins would be grand. Not worried…
16-01-2023, 09:47 PM
Any chat about ins would be grand. Not worried…
Staggering. Going into the cup game weaker than we were for the league derby. Not that big a game for the club anyway it seems
16-01-2023, 09:52 PM
Sun reporting Celtic are back interested in Nisbet.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10072374/kevin-nisbet-celtic-transfer-giorgos-giakoumakis-cho-gue-sung/
16-01-2023, 09:57 PM
Any chat about ins would be grand. Not worried…Johnson hopes to have 1 in this week
Seemed to suggest it was a defensive player
With rumours of JDH out, we must surley be looking for a central midfielder (we need one atkeast regardless if he stays or goes)
For 1 without anyone major leaving we need 1 very good centre half and 1 very good centre mid minimum
17-01-2023, 04:39 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10072374/kevin-nisbet-celtic-transfer-giorgos-giakoumakis-cho-gue-sung/
We must have a big game coming up and a striker bang in form…hold up
17-01-2023, 05:58 AM
yep i think it will most certainly be him
Any chat we are in for him? Would be a solid signing imo.
17-01-2023, 06:21 AM
He was shocking against us.
chippy
17-01-2023, 06:24 AM
He was shocking against us.
Do you judge someone on one game? Not saying we should sign him but need to look beyond one game
17-01-2023, 06:30 AM
Do you judge someone on one game? Not saying we should sign him but need to look beyond one game
I’ve only seen him 3 times this season and he hasn’t impressed. BUT do we not normally judge a player after about 15 mins on here? Hes certainly not a player that would build from the back so if it’s Fitz and Rocky next season it will have to be a different brand of football.
17-01-2023, 06:42 AM
Staggering. Going into the cup game weaker than we were for the league derby. Not that big a game for the club anyway it seems
Agreed. Total incompetence from those running the club. Even if we add new players next few days, chucking them into a game without much preparation is far from ideal.
17-01-2023, 06:50 AM
How are we weaker?
h1bs4life
17-01-2023, 06:51 AM
Definitely hopefully at least 2 in this week , something to give the fans a boost maybe sell more tickets.
Still , looking forward to the game :flag:
NC1875
17-01-2023, 06:52 AM
Unfortunately if there is any truth in it, Nisbet will push for the move.
We’re crap as it is, without Nisbet we are relegation material.
17-01-2023, 07:05 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/ryan-porteous-blackburn-rovers-transfer-28972517
Bid in for Porto now apparently.
17-01-2023, 07:10 AM
If so, wonder if we can get Welsh and / or Ralston as part of any deal. More than decent defenders who seem out the picture at Parkhead
17-01-2023, 07:11 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/ryan-porteous-blackburn-rovers-transfer-28972517
Bid in for Porto now apparently.
Has to be a decent enough fee to allow him to leave before the cup game. Could be very light in numbers for Sunday if he goes.
17-01-2023, 07:11 AM
Hibs won’t sell Nisbet this window , unless there is a ridiculous bid and a suitable replacement .. Celtic could perhaps provide the latter , but not the former . No chance imho ..
17-01-2023, 07:18 AM
You just know Hearts would pull out all the stops to get players in before a huge derby game. In fact they've done just that and also done it in the past. Like it or not the mentality between the two clubs when it comes to the derby is totally different.
17-01-2023, 07:40 AM
You just know Hearts would pull out all the stops to get players in before a huge derby game. In fact they've done just that and also done it in the past. Like it or not the mentality between the two clubs when it comes to the derby is totally different.
What about Juha Rioppa?
yerauldda
17-01-2023, 07:44 AM
According to a Blackburn based journalist, the fee is around 500k. Not sure I fully believe that, pretty good deal for all involved with 5 months left on his deal.
Hopefully Hibs manage to stall until after Sunday.
17-01-2023, 07:45 AM
Hibs won’t sell Nisbet this window , unless there is a ridiculous bid and a suitable replacement .. Celtic could perhaps provide the latter , but not the former . No chance imho ..
There is a norwegian forward at Sparta Rotterdam could maybe do a job, he would cost 7 figures though :greengrin
17-01-2023, 08:01 AM
How are we weaker?
Newell and Cadden injured and we haven’t added anyone.
JDH back from injury but hardly played.
McGruber
17-01-2023, 08:04 AM
JDH back from injury but hardly played.
Porteous would make a huge difference if he is still here. I'm assuming they will wait until after the game to sell... they better!
Mrimbetween
17-01-2023, 08:10 AM
Porteous would make a huge difference if he is still here. I'm assuming they will wait until after the game to sell... they better!
Was hoping the same and by the looks of it that may well be the case
January is notoriously difficult to bring players in and get others out
Reckon it will go down to the wire with a couple coming in
Still plenty time though
17-01-2023, 08:10 AM
JDH back from injury but hardly played.Cadden is expected to be back isn't he?
17-01-2023, 08:14 AM
According to a Blackburn based journalist, the fee is around 500k. Not sure I fully believe that, pretty good deal for all involved with 5 months left on his deal.
Hopefully Hibs manage to stall until after Sunday.
Is that the fee that's reported or are they taking that from reports that Hibs are looking for about 500k?
MelbourneHibees
17-01-2023, 08:28 AM
I wonder if now that Ana ctual bid is on the table it will force the hand if other teams to start a bit if a bidding war. I also wonder if this now means we might not risk playing him again this window?
Greenworld
17-01-2023, 08:31 AM
Is that the fee that's reported or are they taking that from reports that Hibs are looking for about 500k?Either way he is a steal at that
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Greenworld
17-01-2023, 08:33 AM
Hibs won’t sell Nisbet this window , unless there is a ridiculous bid and a suitable replacement .. Celtic could perhaps provide the latter , but not the former . No chance imho ..The question I guess is what value do you put on Nisbet . 2.5 -3.5 million? If so then I can see celtic or for that matter rangers bidding for him.
17-01-2023, 08:40 AM
To be fair I stupidly forgot Porto missing last game.
The bench worries me as last time he started wrong team and least brought on McGeady and Magennis
17-01-2023, 08:44 AM
I’ve only seen him 3 times this season and he hasn’t impressed. BUT do we not normally judge a player after about 15 mins on here? Hes certainly not a player that would build from the back so if it’s Fitz and Rocky next season it will have to be a different brand of football.
Given we're particularly weak in midfield at the moment, a more direct approach may be the best option. :dunno:
17-01-2023, 08:51 AM
I wonder if now that Ana ctual bid is on the table it will force the hand if other teams to start a bit if a bidding war. I also wonder if this now means we might not risk playing him again this window?
Can’t really see a bidding war happening as Porteous can sign a pre contract with teams.
GreenPJ
17-01-2023, 08:58 AM
The question I guess is what value do you put on Nisbet . 2.5 -3.5 million? If so then I can see celtic or for that matter rangers bidding for him.
If he stays fit and focussed as he is just now we would get more than £3M in the summer window and lots of suitors so really it would have to be £4.0M+ if we were to even consider talking in this window.
McGruber
17-01-2023, 08:59 AM
We don't have to get all our business done before Sunday, just a right back, centre back, 2 centre mids a left back and a striker - the rest we can get after the game 😏
17-01-2023, 09:00 AM
Either way he is a steal at that
He's a steal at that, but it's also a good deal for us if we can get it.
I can't believe how badly his contract situation has been managed, yet we gave extensions to Newall and JDH over a year ago.
So if he goes our shopping list is
Centre Half
Centre Defensive Mid
Centre Mid
Right Back
We are really leaving it late.