View Full Version : Greggs Winter 2022-23 transfer thread
27-01-2023, 02:13 PM
Is Nisbet tries to force a move on deadline day, tough **** IMO. We have our price.
They'll low ball us with some bid, get KN to put in a transfer request and finally offer what we're after by Tuesday night
2.5m for a scotland International is peanuts. And a no-brainer for Rantic
badabing67
27-01-2023, 02:13 PM
But we don't play two strikers
Wonder if that's where we have been going wrong
27-01-2023, 02:14 PM
They'll low ball us with some bid, get KN to put in a transfer request and finally offer what we're after by Tuesday night
2.5m for a scotland International is peanuts. And a no-brainer for Rantic
He put in a transfer request a year ago and we refused it
27-01-2023, 02:16 PM
He put in a transfer request a year ago and we refused it
Whether we accept it or reject it is irrelevant its about them getting the player to do their dirty work. Only this time we have a weaker hand with only 18 months on his contract
27-01-2023, 02:20 PM
Whether we accept it or reject it is irrelevant its about them getting the player to do their dirty work. Only this time we have a weaker hand with only 18 months on his contract
We don't have to sell him and we won't unless we get the right fee. The other option is for him to stay on his current contract until summer 2024 and risk another injury to scupper his life changing move. Given his desperation to join Birmingham a year ago, I don't believe he'll let that happen.
Hibs have aces too.
raeburnhibs
27-01-2023, 02:20 PM
No wonder so many witches were burnt in Scotland!
It could be that he is being a bit sensible here, he is just back from a long term injury, playing really well, he's had a look [Millwall or South London/Kent isn't a place I'd want to live, although I've spent a vast majority of my life living in London] and the summer will bring in even more options for him, and keep this form up, better options.
I may be wrong, but everything doesn't have to be a conspiracy.
He didn't have to live on Millwall High Street ffs, he could have got a lovely Thames view apartment for example with his 10k a week. There is no conspiracy other than tapping up by Celtic or maybe Rangers
Thames view apartment, on 10k a week, he'd be lucky to get a barge adjacent to the Thames Barrier:greengrin
kentao
27-01-2023, 02:26 PM
Maybe with the rumoured interest we have in Arfield, Der Hun are going to play hardball and try and get a cash + player deal for Nisbet.
Hibee Daft
27-01-2023, 02:28 PM
Id rather he left for free in 18months than sell to either Celtic or Rangers
27-01-2023, 02:30 PM
No wonder so many witches were burnt in Scotland!
It could be that he is being a bit sensible here, he is just back from a long term injury, playing really well, he's had a look [Millwall or South London/Kent isn't a place I'd want to live, although I've spent a vast majority of my life living in London] and the summer will bring in even more options for him, and keep this form up, better options.
I may be wrong, but everything doesn't have to be a conspiracy.
Don't generalise so much. Kent is a beautiful county.
27-01-2023, 02:31 PM
raeburnhibs
27-01-2023, 02:31 PM
Thames view apartment, on 10k a week, he'd be lucky to get a barge adjacent to the Thames Barrier:greengrin
He's not buying it outright! You have heard of that unusual concept called mortgages right? I believe they even lend to footballers these days...
Greenworld
27-01-2023, 02:36 PM
Id rather he left for free in 18months than sell to either Celtic or RangersNever understood the problem selling to them if they pay what Hibs want then let Him go .
It's speaks more about Him because I don't beleive for one minute he will be with Hibs before this window closes
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Paloschi
27-01-2023, 03:03 PM
Would we take a deal for Nisbet with Scott Wright and Arfield coming to us? Certainly could be done. We’d need another forward mind.
Still 2 cb’s short too.
If not, would like us to look at Josh Knight (pboro) and Josh Windass (sheff utd)
badabing67
27-01-2023, 03:09 PM
Would there be any chance of player plus cash deal with Salford City to get Stevie Mallan back. I was thinking Hendo. just thinking out loud
SloopJB
27-01-2023, 03:11 PM
He may end up there in 18 month for free then, so why not accept any potential offer and let him go now or in the summer?
we would then have funds and not have his wage bill.
Not trying to get him to go, just like to think the club will do what is right for the club.
He's not buying it outright! You have heard of that unusual concept called mortgages right? I believe they even lend to footballers these days...
Property prices in the more fashionable parts of London [including the river] are dropping, wouldn't be a good idea to spend a five figure monthly fee for a mortgage, when the net worth of the property is dropping.
27-01-2023, 03:11 PM
Would we take a deal for Nisbet with Scott Wright and Arfield coming to us? Certainly could be done. We’d need another forward mind.
Still 2 cb’s short too.
If not, would like us to look at Josh Knight (pboro) and Josh Windass (sheff utd)
Windass is at Wednesday and they turned down a bid of 1m in the summer so that won't be happening
27-01-2023, 03:16 PM
Would there be any chance of player plus cash deal with Salford City to get Stevie Mallan back. I was thinking Hendo. just thinking out loud
Why on earth would we want Mallan back?
Red Cabbage
27-01-2023, 03:16 PM
Hibs have set the mark with the £2m+ from Millwall. Anything less and I'd rather we kept him until the summer where we would still get £1m plus.
I don't understand why anyone would want to keep a player that clearly doesn't want to be at the club. Stalls us being able to rebuild without him and we are stuck with a player who most likely won't give a 100%.
Tongue in cheek.
Yes, some bad areas, plenty good and there are some fast train links to London, although a serious problem with reliability with the train network and congested roads to and from, New Cross, caused by the dense population, even although their training facilities are close to Sevenoaks and the M20, which all in, for me, it's not a place where I'd want to live or work, personal choice.
The real issue for me is the conspiracies being stated, almost as fact.
Potty78
27-01-2023, 03:21 PM
I don't understand why anyone would want to keep a player that clearly doesn't want to be at the club. Stalls us being able to rebuild without him and we are stuck with a player who most likely won't give a 100%.
He needs to keep scoring to be recognised as his form since he came back suggests. I'd keep him till the summer to keep us up
27-01-2023, 03:22 PM
Why on earth would we want Mallan back?
He’s injured anyway
27-01-2023, 03:22 PM
He’s injured anyway
That's why! :wink:
27-01-2023, 03:24 PM
Still 2 cb’s short too.
No chance we could get Windass
ElginHibbie
27-01-2023, 03:27 PM
So clearly doesn't want to be at the club that he has just refused a transfer out the club?
HIBS NUTS
27-01-2023, 03:31 PM
For all the oldies out there, we once swapped the fantastic IAN MUNRO, to THE rangers, for Ally Scott, and graham fyfie.
It sticks in my mind as one of the worst bits of business the club have ever done.
They were horrendous, i don’t trust we will get a good deal from them.
patstanton70
27-01-2023, 03:35 PM
For all the oldies out there, we once swapped the fantastic IAN MUNRO, to THE rangers, for Ally Scott, and graham fyfie.
It sticks in my mind as one of the worst bits of business the club have ever done.
Ally Scott once scored a glorious back header against Clydebank in the old league cup…..I think!
27-01-2023, 03:37 PM
Why cause of something that happened decades ago lol
27-01-2023, 03:39 PM
Ally Scott once scored a glorious back header against Clydebank in the old league cup…..I think!Used to run like Max Wall, Scored with his knee from about a yard out in a European game if my memory serves me right.
We got done over by the now defunct Glasgow rangers on that deal.
Tongue in cheek.
Yes, some bad areas, plenty good and there are some fast train links to London, although a serious problem with reliability with the train network and congested roads to and from, New Cross, caused by the dense population, even although their training facilities are close to Sevenoaks and the M20, which all in, for me, it's not a place where I'd want to live or work, personal choice.
Totally agree about the conspiracies nonsense. I suspect he's realised he can do better than Millwall. FWIW I think their training ground remains in North Bromley, near Beckenham Place Park. My grandson was on work experience there in summer. New Cross is a dump but plenty beautiful and expensive areas nearby.
27-01-2023, 03:46 PM
I remember but whit in the name of the pharking wee man does that have to do with the here and now?
HIBS NUTS
27-01-2023, 03:47 PM
Why cause of something that happened decades ago lol
Aye hated them decades ago, that passion still remains, horrible club then, horrible club now. 👍🏻
27-01-2023, 04:03 PM
Tongue in cheek.
I was born in Rotherhithe between Tower Bridge and Rotherhithe Tunnel. Great place to grow up near the river, family moved when I was 12. Times change though and even I wouldn't choose to return.
As for the transfer I don't have a clue what's going on and nor do any of the posters on here. Some of the posts on here are laughable and obviously dreamed up out of frustration.
27-01-2023, 04:05 PM
Still 2 cb’s short too.
I reckon they’d want a similar fee for Wright as we were offered for Nisbet. He features in almost every game for them. On top of that, I doubt Wright would accept the mammoth pay cut nor do I think Sevco would subsidise his wages.
Mikey_1875
27-01-2023, 04:06 PM
Porteous transfer on the official site now. All the best Ryan.
27-01-2023, 04:07 PM
Still 2 cb’s short too.
If Rangers offer what Millwall did plus those 2 players then fine.
LunasBoots
Porteous transfer on the official site now. All the best Ryan.
With the time it's took I'd imagine we'll be announcing a replacement pretty soon
With 2 top strikers we’d probably sneak 4th with with the rest being rubbish also. KN could then leave for 2.5-3mil and we’d be in Europe.
I have my doubts, currently we have Fish and Hanlon as our centre halves, that is bloody frightening, and add in no quality full backs, we will struggle to stop goals going in against any team in Scotland.
Mind you i think i'm correct in saying we are only 11 points off 3rd.
27-01-2023, 04:09 PM
I was born in Rotherhithe between Tower Bridge and Rotherhithe Tunnel. Great place to grow up near the river, family moved when I was 12. Times change though and even I wouldn't choose to return.
As for the transfer I don't have a clue what's going on and nor do any of the posters on here. Some of the posts on here are laughable and obviously dreamed up out of frustration.
The mere mention of Rotherhithe had me playing Elvis Costello’s New Amsterdam. Cheers, haven’t listened to it for ages, great track. :greengrin
Hibees1973
27-01-2023, 04:16 PM
With the time it's took I'd imagine we'll be announcing a replacement pretty soon
With Ron's son at the helm it will be Colin Murdock or a sensation from the Andorran 5th tier.
Totally agree about the conspiracies nonsense. I suspect he's realised he can do better than Millwall. FWIW I think their training ground remains in North Bromley, near Beckenham Place Park. My grandson was on work experience there in summer. New Cross is a dump but plenty beautiful and expensive areas nearby.
Yeah, the current one is there, between Beckenham/Bromley, off the A20. The new one is being built close to Sevenoaks. I used to go to Forest Hill/Crystal Palace park, pretty often, late seventies, early eighties, like I mentioned, it was tongue in cheek, although, personally, like I said, I would never have lived in that side of London, but London was always tribal like that, not so much these days, as most of the Londoners have moved away. :)
So clearly doesn't want to be at the club that he has just refused a transfer out the club?
He clearly doesn't want to be at Millwall even more clearly than he doesn't want be at Hibs. 🤔
The Green Sea
27-01-2023, 04:31 PM
I think he might do better than Millwall. I’m also not a fan although my negative experience dates back to a QPR v Millwall game. Their fans were utterly horrendous. Let’s see what happens but Aberdeen will be pissed as he’ll be playing tomorrow I would have thought.
TheHibernator
27-01-2023, 04:34 PM
Porteous confirmed away, cya👋🏻
yerauldda
27-01-2023, 04:36 PM
Not quite sure he merits the big fuss on Twitter by Hibs, he’s not Boyle/McGinn.
I really think that people need to get a grip!
He is a 25 year old footballer, who has spent most of his career in the lower tiers of Scottish football. The average time he has left, to maximise his earnings, for what is an extremely short career, is around seven years. He is not a Hibs diehard, who has sworn his life and soul to the club, who would be prepared to sacrifice his earning's potential and security, for him and his family. He would be an utter mug to do so and would be showing great disloyalty, himself and family, or future family, if he were to do so.
Hfc_Since1875
27-01-2023, 04:37 PM
Patrick Mcpartlin confirms:
- hibs ARE in talks with Oxford for Findlay
- Bailey wright still an option
- Emmanuel Johnson on loan to Austin FC
Not quite sure he merits the big fuss on Twitter by Hibs, he’s not Boyle/McGinn.
Came up through the ranks, still think he could've signed a wee 1yr deal to give us a wee but more, that was disappointing
Donegal Hibby
27-01-2023, 04:41 PM
Article I read says that Oxford United aren't interested in loaning him but want it to be a permanent deal . Was he not just a big huddie ? Don really remember him so probably being unfair there .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/stuart-findlay-targeted-hibs-club-26088746
27-01-2023, 04:44 PM
Hopefully get Wright and Findlay.
Would make a massive difference to us with those two in the heart of the defence
27-01-2023, 05:13 PM
Article I read says that Oxford United aren't interested in loaning him but want it to be a permanent deal . Was he not just a big huddie ? Don really remember him so probably being unfair there .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/stuart-findlay-targeted-hibs-club-26088746
We could do with a big lump at the back who can head and block and clear the ball.
27-01-2023, 05:15 PM
Would make a massive difference to us with those two in the heart of the defence
Definitely need two centre halves in. Can’t rely on Fish/Hanlon.
27-01-2023, 05:18 PM
Agree
Since 2019, when Jack Ross (to his credit) told the board a new top tier centre back was needed, we have lost so many of the Same Goal
Ginelly at the weekend was just the latest
A serious, basic but competent centre half stops it happening on at least 3 twists & turns - we lose a goal
1. Basic punt up park - a basic centre half never let's it bounce, nods it into the stands, we reset.
Instead porteous let's it bounce
2. Then Porto gets outfoxed, gives away a needless free kick. That just doesn't happen with solid pro's
3. The defence cocks up the clearing header & it lands nicely to be belted home 0-1 early doors
I am telling you, NONE of that happens with a solid cb
27-01-2023, 05:20 PM
The garden of England
27-01-2023, 05:21 PM
Thank god that's over with.
27-01-2023, 05:25 PM
Nisbet waiting on Morelos transfer to join the stickies? 🤔
The garden of England
Yip, for many generations of Londoners, a place where they spent their holiday's, while earning a crust, picking hops and living as communities, in the huts provided.
Like a lot of places, austerity hit hard, especially the Kent coastal districts.
27-01-2023, 05:32 PM
Nisbet waiting on Morelos transfer to join the stickies? 🤔
Absolute guarantee. He isn't flying to Millwall and cancelling unless he's been contacted.
Donegal Hibby
27-01-2023, 05:40 PM
We could do with a big lump at the back who can head and block and clear the ball.
I suppose when you put it like that it would make sense to have have one alright , Is the Findlay guy got a bit of pace , sure I read somewhere one of bailey's weaknesses was his lack of pace.
I remember but whit in the name of the pharking wee man does that have to do with the here and now?
A leopard never changes it's spots!
jakedance
27-01-2023, 05:57 PM
Agree
Since 2019, when Jack Ross (to his credit) told the board a new top tier centre back was needed, we have lost so many of the Same Goal
Ginelly at the weekend was just the latest
A serious, basic but competent centre half stops it happening on at least 3 twists & turns - we lose a goal
1. Basic punt up park - a basic centre half never let's it bounce, nods it into the stands, we reset.
Instead porteous let's it bounce
2. Then Porto gets outfoxed, gives away a needless free kick. That just doesn't happen with solid pro's
3. The defence cocks up the clearing header & it lands nicely to be belted home 0-1 early doors
I am telling you, NONE of that happens with a solid cb
Absolutely right. It was a shocker. It’s very rare Hearts gift us a goal like that but we do it all the time. Brutal being a Hibee.
27-01-2023, 06:08 PM
A leopard never changes it's spots!
Oh yes they do. Ladies & gents, I give you the Snow Leopard.
itslegaltender
27-01-2023, 06:21 PM
any mention of the Paddy McCourt to Hibs rumour?
27-01-2023, 06:26 PM
Findlay would be a steady enough signing. Glad we're looking at this type rather than punts on unknown 19 year olds. Need a bit of stability and experience in the team.
27-01-2023, 06:30 PM
Tongue in cheek.
I'm sure I remember hearing that there was only one living boy in New Cross! 😀
Svengali
27-01-2023, 06:34 PM
Feel sorry for Johnson, he found a list of transfer targets in Ian’s
office
https://youtu.be/bT9WrBE9h8A
JammyDoidger
27-01-2023, 06:35 PM
The fact we are going in to tomorrows game against a rival for Europe with will bloody fish and an injured aging Paul Hanlon as our only options at centre half is a disgrace. We've had all window to strengthen knowing Porto was leaving. And the nisbet situation again, a joke. We deserve better!
27-01-2023, 06:37 PM
Findlay would be a steady enough signing. Glad we're looking at this type rather than punts on unknown 19 year olds. Need a bit of stability and experience in the team.
Is a guy who can’t get his game for Oxford United really a safer bet just because you’ve heard of him?
Oxford fans on that message board weren’t exactly glowing in their praise of him either.
He’d be better than nothing but I can’t say it’s one I’m overly pleased about. I hope we aren’t getting him on anything more than a loan until the end of the season.
Quality over quantity has been the mantra, is replacing Porteous with Findlay really quality over quantity? Pretty much the opposite for me.
bringbackbenny
27-01-2023, 06:42 PM
Carter the Unstoppable agrees :agree:
You're right
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAmAFWfYaYo&ab_channel=fromoutofnowhereis
27-01-2023, 07:17 PM
Remember listening to After The Watershed on the bus on way back from the League Cup final..my dad was younger then than I am now..😬
badabing67
27-01-2023, 07:33 PM
What's the chances one of those is Nisbet
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64429635
27-01-2023, 07:38 PM
What's the chances one of those is Nisbet
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64429635
Hope not for their sake, he wants to concentrate on Hibs for now.
badabing67
27-01-2023, 07:48 PM
Hope not for their sake, he wants to concentrate on Hibs for now.
Good answer
LewysGot2
27-01-2023, 07:58 PM
If he goes there then hell mend him at that point. If he stays and works hard, that'll do.
I don't think he has any real affinity to us. He asked away within 6 months of signing for us. Think we know he's not going to be here long.
It's, as usual, the lack of sense of direction as a club in terms of recruitment and retention policy that's the pisser
Scotty Leither
27-01-2023, 08:06 PM
Emanuel Johnson loaned/franchised to FC Austin in Texas.
Another one of Ian Gordon’s vanity projects who will never kick a ball in earnest for Hibernian.
Whenever this new DoF is announced, Gordon Jr must be nowhere near the recruitment process thereafter for new players. Total imposter.
27-01-2023, 08:10 PM
Another one of Ian Gordon’s vanity projects who will never kick a ball in earnest for Hibernian.
Whenever this new DoF is announced, Gordon Jr must be nowhere near the recruitment process thereafter for new players. Total imposter.
He came across here on trial and it was someone here who made the decision based on the trial he was worth a deal, that wouldn’t have been Ian Gordon.
27-01-2023, 08:11 PM
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/kevin-nisbet-s-hibs-future-still-unclear-as-interest-remains-in-scotland-striker-despite-millwall-transfer-collapse/ar-AA16OltC?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=56ba310f682f4d9b8d1dc8f0ec52f404
Scotty Leither
27-01-2023, 08:14 PM
He came across here on trial and it was someone here who made the decision based on the trial he was worth a deal, that wouldn’t have been Ian Gordon.
Who sourced him then?
27-01-2023, 08:14 PM
Explain why this equates to a vanity project?
27-01-2023, 08:17 PM
Who sourced him then?
Not a clue.
I’m saying Ian Gordon never decided to sign him though, that would have been someone else after a period on trial with us.
davhibby
27-01-2023, 08:19 PM
Not a clue.
I’m saying Ian Gordon never decided to sign him though, that would have been someone else after a period on trial with us.
Steve Kean presumably. I’m not sure how a youngster going out on loan results in him being a vanity project though. Seems pretty standard to me but some people seem to be desperate to get their knickers in a twist over anything and everything at the moment
27-01-2023, 08:20 PM
Anthony Gordon Newcastle bound, £45m
Scotty Leither
27-01-2023, 08:22 PM
Explain why this equates to a vanity project?
He’s got a 3.5 year deal. Tavares has a 4-year deal. I would imagine their deals are a contributory factor to us currently being rookered skint.
All on the watch of the Head of Recruitment,
Neither of them has made any kind of impression whatsoever. I’ll stick with “vanity project”, on reflection.
EGL2000
27-01-2023, 08:22 PM
Ridiculous amount of money, boy can't even get a game for Everton the now.
27-01-2023, 08:25 PM
He couldn't get a game for Edinburgh in League One, so despite being quick he was clearly nowhere near the standard needed. I'd love to know how much we've wasted on this development team so far.
Scotty Leither
27-01-2023, 08:26 PM
Not a clue.
So a player with American heritage is signed by us on a THREE AND A HALF YEAR DEAL.
He comes to us and is loaned back to Charleston Battery, who then in turn loan him back to Edinburgh where he can’t get a game in the 3rd tier and is now loaned back again to a team in America.
Nothing to do with dead hand of Ian Gordon, right enough.
andrew70
27-01-2023, 08:26 PM
He’s got a 3.5 year deal. Tavares has a 4-year deal. I would imagine their deals are a contributory factor to us currently being rookered skint.
All on the watch of the Head of Recruitment,
Neither of them has made any kind of impression whatsoever. I’ll stick with “vanity project”, on reflection.
Tavares was a player that LJ suggested. He had been “scouting” him for a couple of years.
That won’t fit the narrative on here though.
27-01-2023, 08:29 PM
So a player with American heritage is signed by us on a THREE AND A HALF YEAR DEAL.
He comes to us and is loaned back to Charleston Battery, who then in turn loan him back to Edinburgh where he ant get a game on the tier, and is now loaned back again to a team in America.
Nothing to do with dead hand of Ian Gordon, right enough.
What are you not getting about him coming on trial and one of the coaches thinking he was worth a deal?
Mainstandman
27-01-2023, 08:31 PM
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/kevin-nisbet-s-hibs-future-still-unclear-as-interest-remains-in-scotland-striker-despite-millwall-transfer-collapse/ar-AA16OltC?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=56ba310f682f4d9b8d1dc8f0ec52f404
I still maintain he’s got something else on the go be it now or in the summer. He’s never been a hibee
Scotty Leither
27-01-2023, 08:31 PM
What are you not getting about him coming on trial and one of the coaches thinking he was worth a deal?
See the last line of my post and the name “Ian Gordon”. He signed/franchised Mueller as well. That’s the model we work under, and that’s sticking out a week.
27-01-2023, 08:33 PM
Do we know he was training with us and on trial before we signed him? Not all the development squad were. So that raises the question of who was signing the players for the development squad.
27-01-2023, 08:34 PM
See the last line of my post and the name “Ian Gordon”. He signed/franchised Mueller as well. That’s the model we work under, and that’s sticking out a week.
Mueller never came on trial to be judged by the coaches over here before signing?
27-01-2023, 08:35 PM
Great deal for Everton. Is this the start if Newcastle justbthrowing money around? Gordon is ok but he's not 45m ok
Do we know he was training with us and on trial before we signed him? Not all the development squad were. So that raises the question of who was signing the players for the development squad.
Yes
Yeah, he put a photo of some boy he came on trial with on Instagram the other week. Johnson got a deal, the other guy never.
Scotty Leither
27-01-2023, 08:37 PM
Mueller never came on trial to be judged by the coaches over here before signing?
You’re right - he was signed directly by Ian Gordon on his say-so, trust me on that one.
27-01-2023, 08:39 PM
That's a strange one. I've only seen him on telly of course but to me he doesn't even come close to the standard they'll need for Champions League football. Baffling.
I still maintain he’s got something else on the go be it now or in the summer. He’s never been a hibee
Not that many in the current team are.
27-01-2023, 08:40 PM
Yeah, he put a photo of some boy he came on trial with on Instagram the other week. Johnson got a deal, the other guy never.
OK. Whoever was sanctioning all those development team signings has wasted a significant amount of money at our level anyway.
Hopefully we can get 2 centre halves and a centre mid of decent pedigree before the window closes. I'll not be holding out much hope though to be honest.
27-01-2023, 08:40 PM
You’re right - he was signed directly by Ian Gordon on his way-so, trust me on that one.
Yes, I don’t doubt that about Mueller but we’re no discussing him the now. We’re talking about Johnson.
It’s two different scenarios and just because they’re both American, doesn’t make the situation the same with the both of them.
27-01-2023, 08:41 PM
OK. Whoever was sanctioning all those development team signings has wasted a significant amount of money at our level anyway.
Hopefully we can get 2 centre halves and a centre mid of decent pedigree before the window closes. I'll not be holding out much hope though to be honest.
Agreed
27-01-2023, 08:41 PM
Yeah but he came on trial and the coaches didn’t like what they seen but Ian Gordon insisted on signing him 😂 laughable man.
Scotty Leither
27-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Yeah but he came on trial and the coaches didn’t like what they seen but Ian Gordon insisted on signing him 😂 laughable man.
What’s “laughable” is a three and a half year deal for someone who looks like won’t ever kick a ball for Hibs. Head of Recruitment had f all to with the deal, of course.
27-01-2023, 08:47 PM
What’s “laughable” is a three and a half year deal for someone who looks like won’t ever kick a ball for Hibs. Head of Recruitment had f all to with the deal, of course.
His role in the deal seems quite obvious on this one, he had a player recommended to us so he agreed for him to come over for our coaches to have a proper look at him.
He will have then acted upon the coaches instruction to offer him a deal.
Greenworld
27-01-2023, 08:47 PM
I still maintain he’s got something else on the go be it now or in the summer. He’s never been a hibeeI beleive the club will be Celtic they have manage to move on GIORGIOS GIAKOUMAKIS and I suspect they will be the team that nisbet has changed his mind for
27-01-2023, 08:52 PM
I beleive the club will be Celtic they have manage to move on GIORGIOS GIAKOUMAKIS and I suspect they will be the team that nisbet has changed his mind for
Celtic just signed Oh hyeon-gyu who I would have thought was the replacement for Giakoumakis
Greenworld
27-01-2023, 09:03 PM
Celtic just signed Oh hyeon-gyu who I would have thought was the replacement for GiakoumakisThe fans complained the could not make song up for that name [emoji16]
Greenworld
27-01-2023, 09:08 PM
Celtic just signed Oh hyeon-gyu who I would have thought was the replacement for Giakoumakisthink we can be happy if work is indeed done. If Giakoumakis leaves there could be an argument for a third striker*
Celtic managers words
27-01-2023, 09:14 PM
It’s laughable you think he had something to do with the coaches wanting to sign him. Bingo had explained it perfectly above, your constantly banging on about negative stuff and using this to somehow support your IG point. I don’t think it needs more evidence he’s done a bad job but let’s not be ridiculous wit scenarios like this.
Ridiculous amount of money, boy can't even get a game for Everton the now.
Can't get a game for Everton due to his attitude, my mates an Everton fan and can't stand him, went in the huff when his move didn't materialise in the summer.
27-01-2023, 09:19 PM
Howe has spent some amount of coin.
think we can be happy if work is indeed done. If Giakoumakis leaves there could be an argument for a third striker*
Celtic managers words
Maeda is Japan's no1 striker but Ange prefers to play hi behind the main striker, surprised if Ange wants Nisbet, doesn't seem his type of striker.
archie
27-01-2023, 09:25 PM
And has some amount to spend. TBF I think there is a good player in there.
27-01-2023, 09:30 PM
The fans complained the could not make song up for that name [emoji16]
Oh hyeong-Gyu with the sad face
Come up to Parkhead and live it up
You're beyond the back four
What did you dive for
Effin get up! 😉
27-01-2023, 09:33 PM
Not a clue.
But he did offer him a ridiculous contract.
Going forward Ian Gordon should be nowhere near contracts, ideally nowhere near Hibs.
Oh hyeong-Gyu with the sad face
Come up to Parkhead and live it up
You're beyond the back four
What did you dive for
Effin get up! 😉
😀
Mental...
27-01-2023, 09:37 PM
Going forward Ian Gordon should be nowhere near contracts, ideally nowhere near Hibs.
Thought it was Kensell who did contracts. Whoever is doing contracts recently has seen some incredible terms agreed Newell JDH 4 years Henderson three and a half
Thought it was BK that does the contracts.
27-01-2023, 09:41 PM
Surely just a matter of time until BK is announced as our new trainer! 😀
27-01-2023, 09:44 PM
Thought it was Kensell who did contracts. Whoever is doing contracts recently has seen some incredible terms agreed Newell JDH 4 years Henderson three and a half
It is. In fairness as we have seen with the likes of JDH, Mitchell etc these long contracts allow us to recoup some of the wages spent on them so doesn’t bother me too much. Always clubs wanting to buy them, fools born every day 😂
27-01-2023, 09:45 PM
Surely just a matter of time until BK is announced as our new trainer! 😀
Na IG identifies them, runs the rule over them on trial and decides what contract to offer them. BK would just get in the way 😂
Hibees1973
27-01-2023, 09:50 PM
It is. In fairness as we have seen with the likes of JDH, Mitchell etc these long contracts allow us to recoup some of the wages spent on them so doesn’t bother me too much. Always clubs wanting to buy them, fools born every day 😂
I find it amazing we have managed to ship some of this dross out.
I suspect we have made it attractive for other clubs to take them. May have been a cash incentive to the player or something to the buying club to take them off our hands.
Or it might be as you say, the buying clubs are fools.
supermcginn
27-01-2023, 09:59 PM
So did west ham and Nottingham forest yet look at them. Villa have spent an absolute fortune last few years yet they are hopeless. Chelsea have nearly spent more in the last week than Newcastle have since the takeover.
27-01-2023, 10:02 PM
Na IG identifies them, runs the rule over them on trial and decides what contract to offer them. BK would just get in the way 😂
Sorry, bit of 90s footwear humour there 😃
I find it amazing we have managed to ship some of this dross out.
I suspect we have made it attractive for other clubs to take them. May have been a cash incentive to the player or something to the buying club to take them off our hands.
Or it might be as you say, the buying clubs are fools.
Caldwell took the credit for Mitchell.
27-01-2023, 10:16 PM
He’s the stooge.
Silky
27-01-2023, 10:24 PM
No get much for coins! I'd be expecting a club of their means to be spending big
Chorley Hibee
27-01-2023, 10:34 PM
Tavares was a player that LJ suggested. He had been “scouting” him for a couple of years.
Further proof that Johnson talks out of his arse.
Seems to try that line with every player who comes into ER now.
27-01-2023, 10:39 PM
Mainly cause LJ talks absolute bollocks, surely? Hasn't he just said that about Jeggo? Guys a chancer.
Chorley Hibee
27-01-2023, 10:41 PM
Mainly cause LJ talks absolute bollocks, surely? Hasn't he just said that about Jeggo? Guys a chancer.
Amazingly he never signed any of these guys when down South, yet they all rock up at ER though.
Club is full of charlatans.
27-01-2023, 10:55 PM
Maybe scouting is the wrong phrase but no reason he hadn't been tracking them as possible players of interest?
27-01-2023, 11:01 PM
This is wrong and not the case. LJ said he was aware of Travares as a player and was surprised to see Hibs had got him. He never identified or instigated the signing this was all done prior to even him being appointed Travares was on the clubs radar.
So that’s not going to fit your narrative 👍
27-01-2023, 11:24 PM
This is wrong and not the case. LJ said he was aware of Travares as a player and was surprised to see Hibs had got him. He never identified or instigated the signing this was all done prior to even him being appointed Travares was on the clubs radar.
So that’s not going to fit your narrative 👍
That's exactly as I remember it. Not a Johnson signing although he did make positive noises at the time. Surprised then we've seen so little of Tavares. We do have a lot of options in his position though and we were told he was "one for the future". We've made a lot of signings like that recently - should have a hell of a team the season after next!
GreenArmy1875
28-01-2023, 07:02 AM
That's exactly as I remember it. Not a Johnson signing although he did make positive noises at the time. Surprised then we've seen so little of Tavares. We do have a lot of options in his position though and we were told he was "one for the future". We've made a lot of signings like that recently - should have a hell of a team the season after next!
Should be sent on loan to see what he's got
chippy
28-01-2023, 07:05 AM
Who will take him on loan? What level can he function at?
Lendo
28-01-2023, 07:13 AM
Do we still have Dylan Tait on the books?
Injured.
B
Gloucester Hibs
28-01-2023, 07:23 AM
Admittedly only a snapshot, but he looked decent in the Norwich friendly
28-01-2023, 07:37 AM
Should be sent on loan to see what he's got
And recall Dan Macksy from Inverness as he would surely offer more
Lendo
28-01-2023, 07:39 AM
Admittedly only a snapshot, but he looked decent in the Norwich friendly
I liked the look of him pre-season and during the cup. My Raith pals raves about him. Clearly Johnson doesn’t rate him however.
28-01-2023, 07:41 AM
I liked the look of him pre-season and during the cup. My Raith pals raves about him. Clearly Johnson doesn’t rate him however.
Game IQ or something
28-01-2023, 07:47 AM
Maybe scouting is the wrong phrase but no reason he hadn't been tracking them as possible players of interest?
Nah he’s a liar. Just trotting out the company line. Trust the project.
thebausburst
28-01-2023, 07:53 AM
Most worrying line from LJs presser yesterday for me was “Everybody wants top class, experience, a recent playing history, and with the wages we are paying that’s not always easy”.
28-01-2023, 08:01 AM
Game IQ or something
I can’t believe a manager can pretend to be bothered about player IQ yet pick Youan every week.
Not saying he’s wrong to pick Youan as his unpredictability is one of our bigger threats going forward but you can’t really go criticising it in some players whilst tolerating it to such an extent in another.
28-01-2023, 08:06 AM
Most worrying line from LJs presser yesterday for me was “Everybody wants top class, experience, a recent playing history, and with the wages we are paying that’s not always easy”.
Another excuse.
28-01-2023, 08:10 AM
I thought everyone knew that already. It's the same for every club, everywhere around the globe, that isn't mega rich. It's why clubs like ours all try to find those "hidden gems" or youngsters "with potential". Our wage structure is what it is and we, as do most others, have to work to it. Sugar daddies stick to the bigger clubs for their higher profile.
Whether you rate LJ or not he can't attract players that want more than we can pay and saying it out loud shouldn't surprise anybody. It's not a secret. Take a club like my home town team Palace. Their income (mainly due to tv money) dwarfs that of Hibs yet Palace are amongst the poor relations compared to the top six clubs and have to shop in the relative "bargain basement" and their supporters are no happier about that than we are.
SloopJB
28-01-2023, 08:33 AM
Another excuse.
Exactly, we should pay much more than we can afford to.
28-01-2023, 08:37 AM
I thought everyone knew that already. It's the same for every club, everywhere around the globe, that isn't mega rich. It's why clubs like ours all try to find those "hidden gems" or youngsters "with potential". Our wage structure is what it is and we, as do most others, have to work to it. Sugar daddies stick to the bigger clubs for their higher profile.
Whether you rate LJ or not he can't attract players that want more than we can pay and saying it out loud shouldn't surprise anybody. It's not a secret. Take a club like my home town team Palace. Their income (mainly due to tv money) dwarfs that of Hibs yet Palace are amongst the poor relations compared to the top six clubs and have to shop in the relative "bargain basement" and their supporters are no happier about that than we are.
It's absolutely not a secret and what LJ I'd saying should be clear to everyone. We are minnows in terms of the global game and its finances.
But I'm not judging Hibs against PSG, Newcastle, Man City etc. I'm looking at Livi ahead of us and St Mirren same points as us and wondering why this is the case, despite our considerably larger budget.
mcfly
28-01-2023, 08:39 AM
We were told we would have a stronger better quality squad at the end of this transfer window.
We are no where near having a stronger squad.
We have 2 massive games and we are relying on our young players. Which is good but why weren’t they played when Nisbet was injured?
28-01-2023, 08:41 AM
Don't think he was a regular starter at Killie also likes an injury.
mcfly
28-01-2023, 08:41 AM
This applies to all clubs…. Any excuse to appease fans.
This is why you have scouts to find the players we can afford, otherwise what are they doing all day?
28-01-2023, 08:42 AM
It's absolutely not a secret and what LJ I'd saying should be clear to everyone. We are minnows in terms of the global game and its finances.
But I'm not judging Hibs against PSG, Newcastle, Man City etc. I'm looking at Livi ahead of us and St Mirren same points as us and wondering why this is the case, despite our considerably larger budget.
Fair post
high bee
28-01-2023, 08:46 AM
He needs to realise we pay good wages for this level and they just need to keep it simple, buy proven quality at our level to be competitive for 3rd.
Stop trying to be too clever and finding 10 diamonds in the rough 1st team ready players. By all means take a punt on a few fringe players that may develop but not at the cost of the team.
28-01-2023, 08:47 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/footyinsider247/status/1619245513353609216?s=46&t=F0y8hf7JU81RixzeIKNWiQ
28-01-2023, 08:58 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/footyinsider247/status/1619245513353609216?s=46&t=F0y8hf7JU81RixzeIKNWiQ
Impressive that we can sell a player to Watford but not manage to get one back as part of the deal 😂
big gogs
28-01-2023, 08:58 AM
Another excuse.
Could the manager be telling the truth.players want as much money as possible,they are human.why not hold out for a better deal elsewhere,us mere mortals do the same .we want to make as much money in our careers.we have to take a step back,and take off our blinkers,give them the money and they will sign ,if not they won’t.such is life.
28-01-2023, 09:02 AM
Nisbet has the face of a hun.
28-01-2023, 09:06 AM
Another excuse.
I'd have thought it was a fact.
Top class, experienced players cost a lot of money a) to buy and b) in wages.
Compared to hundreds of clubs around Europe, we don't have a lot of money to spend.
It's definitely not easy to bring in top class, experienced players which is why few SPFL clubs ever do.
We have managed to bring in Marshall, McGeady and Boyle so we do try.
aberhibsfc
28-01-2023, 09:09 AM
Following LJs soundbites, I find it hard to determine what he does rate, and whether he has the judgement to.
28-01-2023, 09:09 AM
I'd have thought it was a fact.
Top class, experienced players cost a lot of money a) to buy and b) in wages.
Compared to hundreds of clubs around Europe, we don't have a lot of money to spend.
It's definitely not easy to bring in top class, experienced players which is why few SPFL clubs ever do.
We have managed to bring in Marshall, McGeady and Boyle so we do try.
We have enough to be fighting for 3rd in this league. We are massively under performing and what wages we do have were clearly squandered by the committee. We don’t need to be compared against anyone but the other top6 teams in Scotland.
28-01-2023, 09:17 AM
We have enough to be fighting for 3rd in this league. We are massively under performing and what wages we do have were clearly squandered by the committee. We don’t need to be compared against anyone but the other top6 teams in Scotland.
I don’t think we have enough to be in the mix for third. Pains me to say but I think Hearts are stronger all over the park and it’s no coincidence once they were pumped out of Europe they have pretty much been unbeaten.
A lot will depend on the next couple of days. Keep Nisbet and supplement the squad with a couple of experienced players we should be in the mix for top 6.
Fail to do the above and I can’t see anything other than bottom 6 and perhaps even worse.
portycabbage
28-01-2023, 09:23 AM
I don’t think we have enough to be in the mix for third. Pains me to say but I think Hearts are stronger all over the park and it’s no coincidence once they were pumped out of Europe they have pretty much been unbeaten.
A lot will depend on the next couple of days. Keep Nisbet and supplement the squad with a couple of experienced players we should be in the mix for top 6.
Fail to do the above and I can’t see anything other than bottom 6 and perhaps even worse.
I think the point being made was that while the current team isn’t good enough for 3rd, LJ can’t say we don’t have enough money to do better, given most teams in the league seem to have recruited better on a smaller budget
OldEast
28-01-2023, 09:29 AM
I always thought he had a Celtic face
28-01-2023, 09:32 AM
I always thought he had a Celtic face
He has, like McGeady in his younger day.
They always look like they’ve run to the bus stop just as the bus pulls away.
zero-seven
28-01-2023, 09:34 AM
On drugs mate , third ? Third bottom at present, we are clueless
28-01-2023, 09:38 AM
Yet only 4 points from 4th
28-01-2023, 09:40 AM
That's true but it's not the point under discussion.
It's coming to the end of the transfer window and the manager is explaining why we've struggled to recruit ready made, top class footballers.
He's just said what every other Hibs manager has said in these circumstances, something that we know is true. He's not done well in his time here, but I don't think he deserves criticised for stating facts.
JimboHibs
28-01-2023, 09:41 AM
Top 6 chat is ridiculous, when have we reguarly been competitive within the top 6 over the past say 30 years,do you realise our points totals end of season have been closer to teams finishing 7th to 10th place than 1st or 2nd ... some achievement to finish 3rd and be around anything from 25 - 30 points behind the league winner.
28-01-2023, 09:46 AM
Aye torn :greengrin
loanheadhibby
28-01-2023, 09:51 AM
I think the point being made was that while the current team isn’t good enough for 3rd, LJ can’t say we don’t have enough money to do better, given most teams in the league seem to have recruited better on a smaller budget
I’ve got some sympathy for LJ tho. I agree with your point that he should be doing much better with players/budget we have at our disposal.
However LJ can see clearly we are miles off challenging ****bos. They have a depth to their squad we can only dream about. They sign players who are ready to play from the day they are signed.
When he took job, he would probably not realised the financial difference between Hibs & ****bos, never mind the ugly sisters.
28-01-2023, 09:52 AM
Top 6 chat is ridiculous, when have we reguarly been competitive within the top 6 over the past say 30 years,do you realise our points totals end of season have been closer to teams finishing 7th to 10th place than 1st or 2nd ... some achievement to finish 3rd and be around anything from 25 - 30 points behind the league winner.
How far away from 1st and 2nd is irrelevant to be honest, Hearts finished 3rd last season and were 28 points behind 2nd place Rangers, and only 26 ahead of 2nd bottom St Johnstone.
28-01-2023, 09:52 AM
He never said we don’t have enough money to do better he has said which anyone with an understanding of football knows top players cost money he’s absolutely right. That’s not defending our season so far, ability to compete with other clubs in the league, state of the squad those are all other discussions to be had. The better players spoken about on here are all generally loans or cheap punts look at other teams Simms, Ronan, McGrath to name a few are the types of players we need to be looking at for quality without paying big money albeit on loan at times. For every one of these there are masses of jaspers of the world it’s getting the right players at our price we need to master, something we have got spectacularly wrong in the last few years.
JimboHibs
28-01-2023, 10:17 AM
How far away from 1st and 2nd is irrelevant to be honest, Hearts finished 3rd last season and were 28 points behind 2nd place Rangers, and only 26 ahead of 2nd bottom St Johnstone.
Thats my point , the league is pish and breeds poor teams supporters get all moist at the thought of finishing 3rd,the the same conversations will be happening unless there's a new league set up.
portycabbage
28-01-2023, 10:18 AM
He never said we don’t have enough money to do better he has said which anyone with an understanding of football knows top players cost money he’s absolutely right. That’s not defending our season so far, ability to compete with other clubs in the league, state of the squad those are all other discussions to be had. The better players spoken about on here are all generally loans or cheap punts look at other teams Simms, Ronan, McGrath to name a few are the types of players we need to be looking at for quality without paying big money albeit on loan at times. For every one of these there are masses of jaspers of the world it’s getting the right players at our price we need to master, something we have got spectacularly wrong in the last few years.
“Top players” do cost money, but LJ was quoted as saying that in response to our current recruitment issues, and no one is expecting “top players”. It’s not the wage structure that has hampered recruitment. We have a top 5 budget but have only finished top 5 around 3 times in the last 12 years, so you’re right to say we need to recruit better at our price range.
Silky
28-01-2023, 10:24 AM
He needs to realise we pay good wages for this level and they just need to keep it simple, buy proven quality at our level to be competitive for 3rd.
Stop trying to be too clever and finding 10 diamonds in the rough 1st team ready players. By all means take a punt on a few fringe players that may develop but not at the cost of the team.
Do we really know this? I've read various posts stating Hearts and Aberdeen pay more than us. And who, or what, would be "proven quality at our level"? Are they affordable? And also, I would argue, being first team ready doesn't necessarily equate to being any good!
Donegal Hibby
28-01-2023, 10:25 AM
I thought we were 6th with a chance to go 5th today?
28-01-2023, 10:35 AM
Thats my point , the league is pish and breeds poor teams supporters get all moist at the thought of finishing 3rd,the the same conversations will be happening unless there's a new league set up.
3rd gets you European football. Is that no something to get excited about?
Should any team outside the big 6 in England be looking to start a new league they have a chance of winning? All the teams except PSG in France? Should Scotland and Latvia and Lithuania be looking to set up our own World Cup just cos we cannae win the real one?
CentreForward
28-01-2023, 10:35 AM
Agree with all of that !
high bee
28-01-2023, 10:41 AM
Do we really know this? I've read various posts stating Hearts and Aberdeen pay more than us. And who, or what, would be "proven quality at our level"? Are they affordable? And also, I would argue, being first team ready doesn't necessarily equate to being any good!
Yes I’d say we do, not enough to be ahead of Aberdeen and Hearts every season but enough to be competitive for 3rd. We’ve got players like Boyle, McGeady, Marshall etc who must be on decent wages and we’re paying fees for players and apparently paid big wages for Mueller etc that ended up being pointless punts. That’s before we consider how big the squad was a couple of weeks ago, I’d rather have a smaller squad of quality.
Percy Vere
28-01-2023, 10:52 AM
Amazingly he never signed any of these guys when down South, yet they all rock up at ER though.
Club is full of charlatans.
Get a grip
Chorley Hibee
28-01-2023, 11:00 AM
Get a grip
You keep your head in the sand mate, I'll continue to call it as I see it.
28-01-2023, 11:02 AM
Gutted we won't have a Pollock/Fish CB pairing.
28-01-2023, 11:03 AM
You are living in a different world, this lot have no chance of 3rd,and never have. We don't have the quality in fact we don't have the quality to fight for Europe nevermind 3rd.If we make top 6 I will be astounded, even though we are 6th now.
28-01-2023, 11:05 AM
He has, like McGeady in his younger day.
They always look like they’ve run to the bus stop just as the bus pulls away.
I remember someone saying a few years ago that the golfer Jason Dufner had a face that always looked like someone had just stolen something from him.
Nisbet and McGeady are a bit like that.
28-01-2023, 11:10 AM
Never mind, there are plenty more like them in the sea.
28-01-2023, 11:12 AM
Pillock/Fish pairing might be more accurate.
on-the-level
28-01-2023, 11:15 AM
Pillock/Fish pairing might be more accurate.
Pillock & Pish surley
28-01-2023, 11:32 AM
I remember someone saying a few years ago that the golfer Jason Dufner had a face that always looked like someone had just stolen something from him.
Nisbet and McGeady are a bit like that.
Sour pus’
Paulie Walnuts
28-01-2023, 11:43 AM
“Top players” do cost money, but LJ was quoted as saying that in response to our current recruitment issues, and no one is expecting “top players”. It’s not the wage structure that has hampered recruitment. We have a top 5 budget but have only finished top 5 around 3 times in the last 12 years, so you’re right to say we need to recruit better at our price range.
mcfly
28-01-2023, 11:47 AM
You are living in a different world, this lot have no chance of 3rd,and never have. We don't have the quality in fact we don't have the quality to fight for Europe nevermind 3rd.If we make top 6 I will be astounded, even though we are 6th now.
I think finishing 10th would be sufficient with what has gone on this season.
Clear out all recruiting dept and get the DOF in who knows players.
This season has been a disaster but we need to win some games soon and I’d love to hear from the owner and CEO acknowledging their part of it
Trinity Hibee
28-01-2023, 11:52 AM
I think finishing 10th would be sufficient with what has gone on this season.
Clear out all recruiting dept and get the DOF in who knows players.
This season has been a disaster but we need to win some games soon and I’d love to hear from the owner and CEO acknowledging their part of it
Quicker we get out of a relegation scrap the more time we’ve got to get this DoF right and start looking at players for next year.
28-01-2023, 11:58 AM
Quicker we get out of a relegation scrap the more time we’ve got to get this DoF right and start looking at players for next year.
Why isn’t a DoF in now?
Trinity Hibee
28-01-2023, 12:00 PM
Why isn’t a DoF in now?
Well that’s another question. Who knows is the answer
28-01-2023, 12:07 PM
This is where I am too G, what a mess! 😬
28-01-2023, 12:10 PM
It’s quite amazing the amount of Hibs fans peddling the “fact” that we are in a relegation scrap 6th in the league and 7 points from 9th.
JimboHibs
28-01-2023, 12:11 PM
3rd gets you European football. Is that no something to get excited about?
Should any team outside the big 6 in England be looking to start a new league they have a chance of winning? All the teams except PSG in France? Should Scotland and Latvia and Lithuania be looking to set up our own World Cup just cos we cannae win the real one?
Laughable to even compare French football with ours league.
28-01-2023, 12:15 PM
This is where I am too G, what a mess! 😬
3 new first choice signings and keep nibs.net and no reason why we can't push for fourth 😁
GreenGray
28-01-2023, 12:22 PM
I wonder if the club are taking the chance to have clear out and have decided to go down the path of getting the youth players in the first team. Similar to Riordon, Brown Thompson etc.
Certainly a way to get the fans behind the team.
Trinity Hibee
28-01-2023, 12:26 PM
It’s quite amazing the amount of Hibs fans peddling the “fact” that we are in a relegation scrap 6th in the league and 7 points from 9th.
Sorry was poor wording. We certainly aren’t clear of a relegation/play off battle though
28-01-2023, 01:18 PM
No we don't.
28-01-2023, 01:24 PM
We need to get the youngsters playing and recruit good experienced players. Don't overload the squad though, which is what we have done for 2+ seasons now. Should be 1 experienced pro and 1 youngster for every position. Don't need more than that. We need to have faith in the youth coming through.
Paulie Walnuts
28-01-2023, 01:44 PM
We’re also 7 points from 11th.
28-01-2023, 02:55 PM
Youan is starting to show enough, hope we make it permanent. He's really starting to adjust to Scottish football and I think if he continues to develop he has the talent to get a move to Championship down south or even the Premier League. If his end product was better he'd be nowhere near Hibs.
HendoDelivered
28-01-2023, 02:58 PM
Youan is starting to show enough, hope we make it permanent. He's really starting to adjust to Scottish football and I think if he continues to develop he has the talent to get a move to Championship down south or even the Premier League. If his end product was better he'd be nowhere near Hibs.
Not at the game today - is he playing through the middle?
28-01-2023, 05:10 PM
What is happening with Jair Tavares?
Thought today would have been the perfect time to give him a run out when the game was done
28-01-2023, 05:44 PM
What is happening with Jair Tavares?
Thought today would have been the perfect time to give him a run out when the game was done
Think he going out on loan
28-01-2023, 06:41 PM
Good weekend so far, just need someone to bid for Henderson now!
28-01-2023, 06:50 PM
Good weekend so far, just need someone to bid for Henderson now!
Caldwell took Mitchell, could Maloney take Henderson?😅
K-Zazu
28-01-2023, 06:57 PM
Do we have an option to buy Youan?
Or maybe a manager who's surname begins with R.
Do we have an option to buy Youan?
Yep
28-01-2023, 07:03 PM
I’m intrigued
Robinson?
28-01-2023, 07:07 PM
https://twitter.com/edinburghsport/status/1619419180851232770?s=46&t=mpAhFqvoShmUnP6ojiX0Dg
Great news and fair play to Nisbet
28-01-2023, 07:09 PM
I’m intrigued
Robinson?
Saint are skint
28-01-2023, 07:13 PM
Elie is a bit like Martin Boyle when he first came - in a swap for Alex Harris ISTR - many thought he had pace but nothing else to offer Hibs and we got the worse end of the deal. Look how that turned out. Martin's hard work and good coaching improved his game no end, and I really hope we could do the same with Elie.
28-01-2023, 07:13 PM
Saint are skint
Maybe we are paying them.
Silky
28-01-2023, 07:16 PM
Brian Rice? Bit of a step down.
Crunchie
28-01-2023, 07:19 PM
https://twitter.com/edinburghsport/status/1619419180851232770?s=46&t=mpAhFqvoShmUnP6ojiX0Dg
It would be massive for us if we hold on to him till the end of the season.
badabing67
28-01-2023, 07:40 PM
Something about that transfer deal must of spooked him. I wonder what it was
Hibee Daft
28-01-2023, 07:42 PM
Maybe told him he wouldnt be starting right away. He will want to be in Scotland squad and hes got a good chance of it with his current form here.
28-01-2023, 07:48 PM
Are Millwall even that great a club? I know they can pay inflated wages due to the ridiculous money in the leagues in England but apart from that?
This is a man we are told is driven. Who wants to get the best from a short career. So is a jump to Millwall really the way to go?
Something would spook me about a move to Millwall.
Millwall.
JamesHFC
28-01-2023, 07:54 PM
Are Millwall even that great a club? I know they can pay inflated wages due to the ridiculous money in the leagues in England but apart from that?
This is a man we are told is driven. Who wants to get the best from a short career. So us a jump to Millwall really the way to go?
Millwall.
We are a bigger club than Millwall.
28-01-2023, 08:36 PM
Every chance, get your mortgage on it.
28-01-2023, 08:36 PM
Seriously?
No chance he's at a standard to play in that league.
Maybe told him he wouldnt be starting right away. He will want to be in Scotland squad and hes got a good chance of it with his current form here.
Good point.
You told me today you paid off your mortgage whe you were 36?
28-01-2023, 09:37 PM
I am friends with a Millwall fan who didn’t think they would shell out that amount of money He has heard the story going the rounds down there is Nisbet failed his medical
He looks fitter snd stronger than ever so clearly something doesn’t add up
I just hope he now stays to the summer as if he keeps this form up he will be worth more than the Millwall bid
MagicSwirlingShip
28-01-2023, 09:40 PM
Yogi Hughes said on the radio Nisbet took the train down & no one from Milwall was there to collect him & his agent at the other end. They made their way to Millwall themselves. Apparently this turned KN off the move.
28-01-2023, 09:41 PM
This is a man we are told is driven. Who wants to get the best from a short career. So is a jump to Millwall really the way to go?
Millwall.
Millwall are potentially 4 months away from the EPL. Nisbet would have been their record signing in their quest to get there. Combined with a massive pay increase I would say it was a no brainer.
28-01-2023, 09:42 PM
Yogi Hughes said on the radio Nisbet took the train down & no one from Milwall was there to collect him & his agent at the other end. They made their way to Millwall themselves. Apparently this turned KN off the move.
They could have got a taxi from Kings X 😂
MagicSwirlingShip
28-01-2023, 09:56 PM
They could have got a taxi from Kings X 😂
Hardly rolling out the red carpet
HibeeMackenzie
28-01-2023, 10:20 PM
Henderson JDH and possibly a loan for Tavares out.
2 centre halves and one other in
More chances for the young boys to be in the squad
Would we accept that come Tuesday night?
28-01-2023, 10:20 PM
Just watching match of the day & noticed Wright not playing or listed as a sub for Sunderland. May mean nothing but .......
28-01-2023, 10:31 PM
Would we accept that come Tuesday night?We`ve only got 15 matches to go with big gaps between matches in February and March ( who makes fixture lists ? Could surely have played more midweek matches and finished season earlier rather than have very short close season in summer 2023 ? ) so may not need big squad after this week . Hopefully win European youth tie on 7th February which may affect team selections . Hope JDH stays as I think he`d make an impact . He`d have enjoyed games like one aganst Dons that`s for sure . Henderson and Tavares need games so maybe a loan would help .
HibeeMackenzie
28-01-2023, 10:33 PM
We`ve only got 15 matches to go with big gaps between matches in February and March ( who makes fixture lists ? Could surely have played more midweek matches and finished season earlier rather than have very short close season in summer 2023 ? ) so may not need big squad after this week . Hopefully win European youth tie on 7th February which may affect team selections . Hope JDH stays as I think he`d make an impact . He`d have enjoyed games like one aganst Dons that`s for sure . Henderson and Tavares need games so maybe a loan would help .
From what I’ve heard JDH wants away
28-01-2023, 10:43 PM
We`ve only got 15 matches to go with big gaps between matches in February and March ( who makes fixture lists ? Could surely have played more midweek matches and finished season earlier rather than have very short close season in summer 2023 ? ) so may not need big squad after this week . Hopefully win European youth tie on 7th February which may affect team selections . Hope JDH stays as I think he`d make an impact . He`d have enjoyed games like one aganst Dons that`s for sure . Henderson and Tavares need games so maybe a loan would help .
The gaps in the fixture lists are because we’re out of the cups.
28-01-2023, 10:49 PM
Would we accept that come Tuesday night?
Not for me.
A brilliant win today but I imagine a bit of a one off (happy to be proven wrong like the did today 🤣).
Our squad is really small now and taking those 3 out would leave us with next to nothing and almost 0 replacements.
I’m all for giving the young lads a chance but at the ages of 18 I don’t want us being reliant on them.
Couple of defenders, midfielder and a striker as it stands for me and that’s without anyone else going.
28-01-2023, 11:07 PM
Heard we are in for Liam Scales so we can go for a Fish Scales combination in defence to deal with slippery forwards.
AugustaHibs
28-01-2023, 11:22 PM
Heard we are in for Liam Scales so we can go for a Fish Scales combination in defence to deal with slippery forwards.
Was about to lose the head until I read on.
He is one of the worst centre halves I’ve ever seen.
Absolutely bizarre how he’s playing at this level and contracted to Celtic.
28-01-2023, 11:23 PM
Ross Stewart off injured for Sunderland today and apparently will be out for a while.
Nisbet someone they’ll be looking at?
28-01-2023, 11:25 PM
Good shout
28-01-2023, 11:35 PM
You told me today you paid off your mortgage whe you were 36?
I'm only 34 mate!! Lump on Henderson to Wigan.
28-01-2023, 11:52 PM
Was about to lose the head until I read on.
He is one of the worst centre halves I’ve ever seen.
Absolutely bizarre how he’s playing at this level and contracted to Celtic.
Aye he is shocking. His defensive partner is just as bad.We do need at least 1 centre half though. Hope we can sign Upa MECANO and build our defence around him
29-01-2023, 12:08 AM
Good to hear. Hope he stays.
29-01-2023, 01:35 AM
I'm so confused. The guy who sits next to us at ER said LJ was interviewed before the game and said Nisbet failed the medical. I guess that's absolute bollocks then?!
ozhibs
29-01-2023, 01:39 AM
I am friends with a Millwall fan who didn’t think they would shell out that amount of money He has heard the story going the rounds down there is Nisbet failed his medical
He looks fitter snd stronger than ever so clearly something doesn’t add up
I just hope he now stays to the summer as if he keeps this form up he will be worth more than the Millwall bid
It’s a strange one but LJ said he would not start him as he was suffering from a dead leg, surely that would affect his physical