View Full Version : NO to reconstruction
29-05-2020, 11:53 AM
Any up date on our Semi and Final????
Or have we just torn up the season end off!!!!
I couldn’t give a toss about the Cup now tbh. All about next season now as far as I’m concerned.
29-05-2020, 12:01 PM
That sounds like the Conveyancer has been in her ear again with that latest pearl of wisdom...honestly, these brilliant legal minds at Tynecastle.
You've got to take your Cossack hat off to them sometimes, you really do.
And when it all goes tits up you can rip it off and kick it round the piazza 😃
Don't like the European play-off idea at all, it's crap for the 4th, 5th and 6th place teams. 5th and 6th don't even get a shot despite performing better over the season than the teams below them, and 4th can potentially have the reward for a great season snatched away with a single poor performance.
You can argue that the Euro place from the cup is similarly unfair on the team that just misses out in the league, but there at least it's a separate competition, rather than losing out on a league-based Euro place to a team that you have outperformed in the league. And if the cup setup is deemed unfair, you don't improve the situation by awarding another European place in an unfair manner.
Ultimately I think this kind of setup feels contrived precisely because that's what is: an attempt to inject excitement into a league size that just doesn't quite work. For all its detractors, the split in the 12-team league works well, and that's partly because it happens late in the season and so there's no need to artificially add interest to the lower section.
Couldn't agree more.
29-05-2020, 12:02 PM
Seen an interview with Ian Maxwell SFA CEO who seemed to be indicating it would likely be with fans so assume initial thoughts are later in the season if poss.
Maybe we’ll get two cup finals on the same weekend next May.
It’s not that complicated and if we ended up with 14 one day it’s maybe the way to go.
Top 6 play each other Home and Away - 36 total games and gets the 4 Old Firms 🤢
2nd - Europe
3rd - Europe
4th - European Play off final
5th and 6th - hard luck
Bottom 8 splits into 2 groups of 4. Teams play each other home and away taking them up to 32 games. Within each group the top 2 teams qualify for a European play off (Quarter Final) and the bottom 2 qualify for relegation play offs.
The playoffs are knockout with the 4 European play off teams drawn against each other to play Home and Away before the winner of the Semi Final plays the team that finished 4th.
Seems extremely harsh on 5th and 6th so maybe a way we could play about with it but I think European play offs for the extra spot could be a game changer in Scotland. Attendances will be up for the clubs aiming for a play off spot as the season winds down and then the play offs themselves would likely be near sell outs and great TV games to sell to a broadcaster
Maybe is a wee bit complicated but far superior to the set up here - https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018–19_Danish_Superliga
It sounds like you are better off being 7th at the split rather than 6th. That it a situation you should never have. Sporting integrity goes out the window as 6th plays 7th, with 1 point in it, in the last game before the split. It's then a battle to see who scores the most own goals to secure 7th place.
Wakeyhibee
29-05-2020, 12:05 PM
I’ve not heard many before suggesting the 12 club split works well. That aside, arguments for a 14 team league ( not to save Hearts) are often about reducing the relegation fear factor for everyone outside the old firm. Giving teams some breathing space perhaps to play some younger talent and possibly more attacking football. No one can scientifically demonstrate that thought, it would need tested in practice for certainly more than 2 seasons , I’d suggest 4 minimum. If it fails on key targets , then go back to 12 or whatever. Of course the spilt you describe above is contrived. One large league is deemed by many to be be unsustainable and the existential ‘need’ to have 4 old firm games requires a split in anything above a 10 club league. I also take your point re the unfairness of the Euro place play offs, but the same stands for promotion places or relegation play of places. However I think a better solution is for the bottom 8 to continue and play 14 games each. The winner goes into the Euro play offs with 5 and 6. If the Cup winner is from outside the top 4 only then would 4th be in the play offs.
This would mean the Scottish Cup final being moved to an earlier date in May or the play offs going into June.
It could mean 3 team play off one season, 4 team another if you are still to include 7th.
A bottom split playing 40 games would finish later than the top half with the 4 extra games all in the latter half. This might give an undue advantage to 7th. We already have that in the relegation playoffs which is deemed unfair by some.
14 teams is a halfway house and no matter how you split it, is worse than what we have. It causes more issues than it solves.
It does seem there is some openness to reconstruction. Those who have said so recently all seem to agree it's for later, when it can be fully worked out and put in place before a ball is kicked so everyone knows what they're playing for.
She is claiming restriction of trade as they have been "forced" down to a lower league without all the games having been completed. Her view is that is unlawful.
Might well able to argue that in a court of law, would she win possibility, would she lose probably.
chippy
29-05-2020, 12:11 PM
You’ve not heard many people saying the split works well before because for the silent majority the current set up works well. Like a lot of things in life the few people making the most noise are those who are unhappy and wanting change. Just because you see some people making a big fuss about changing the structure, doesn’t mean there isn’t a large majority of people happy with how it currently is.
Ah the silent majority theory. Any time I’ve seen any polling done re league structure , albeit not just Hibs fans , I’m pretty sure larger league sizes are more popular.
29-05-2020, 12:16 PM
Its not just the UK govt they need to consider, if they are playing in France (for example) there is 14 days isolation there, play the game then 14 days isolation on return to the UK.
That also applies if you are going on your hols by the way.
Thanks, I know one thing if I was a club that had games in Europe that could be cancelled because of isolation laws from different countries then I’d be voting No for reconstruction as this would water down the payments for placing a at the end of the season.
possibly no European money, watered down payments because of bigger league. If this is voted through I really wonder what is in it For certain clubs.
chippy
29-05-2020, 12:17 PM
This would mean the Scottish Cup final being moved to an earlier date in May or the play offs going into June.
It could mean 3 team play off one season, 4 team another if you are still to include 7th.
A bottom split playing 40 games would finish later than the top half with the 4 extra games all in the latter half. This might give an undue advantage to 7th. We already have that in the relegation playoffs which is deemed unfair by some.
14 teams is a halfway house and no matter how you split it, is worse than what we have. It causes more issues than it solves.
It does seem there is some openness to reconstruction. Those who have said so recently all seem to agree it's for later, when it can be fully worked out and put in place before a ball is kicked so everyone knows what they're playing for.
I would absolutely fine with a proper, powerful task force set up to plan this for the future. But please no Henry McLeish. Gordon Strachan and Alex Ferguson would do me
29-05-2020, 12:17 PM
Ah the silent majority theory. Any time I’ve seen any polling done re league structure , albeit not just Hibs fans , I’m pretty sure larger league sizes are more popular.
But when you ask which of their favourite players needs to be sold to pay for it, it becomes less popular.
29-05-2020, 12:21 PM
I couldn’t give a toss about the Cup now tbh. All about next season now as far as I’m concerned.
I can only tell you my story, in reply.
Came down with covid on 6 March.
It hit me & my wife like a train.
Led to a secondary pneumonia infection
In total 7 weeks (50 days) of illness, often violent illness.
And the relevance of it all is this:
In the worst moments (the ones where you are scared to drift off to sleep in case your already-shallow breathing gets worse...) the thought that kept me going was "this bxstard illness isnt making me miss a shot at revenge at hampden"
I would love to see that game played
It got me through.
hibeerealist
29-05-2020, 12:23 PM
Aye, 16-18 team league seems to be popular with fans but cant see it happening. 14 team Premier is NONSENSE, How does that improve on the current 12 .?? I am all ears..................................
THE ONLY REASON A 14 IS BEING PUT FORWARD IS BECAUSE BUDGIE BELIEVES IT WILL SAVE HERTZ! I DO MEAN SAVE TOO, THEIR FINANCIAL SITUATION, CONTRARY TO WHAT THEY WOULD HAVE US ALL BELIEVE, MUST BE EXTREMELY FRAGILE AND THE FUTURE IN THE CHAMPIONSHIP WILL PUSH THEM FURTHER TOWARDS THE EDGE!!
:cb :flag:
chippy
29-05-2020, 12:23 PM
[QUOTE=Ozyhibby;6187548]But when you ask which of their favourite players needs to be sold to pay for it, it becomes less popular.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE
Ah the 1+1 =3 Theory. Seriously I’m sure there has been polls on this site on re construction in the past. Can anyone recall the results.
hibeerealist
29-05-2020, 12:25 PM
In the worst moments (the ones where you are scared to drift off to sleep in case your already-shallow breathing gets worse...) the thought that kept me going was "this bxstard illness isnt making me miss a shot at revenge at hampden"
It got me through.
Hope it is making you stronger Springbank wish you & your wife a full recovery!!
29-05-2020, 12:31 PM
It got me through.[emoji106] Best wishes to you and I hope you get to see it happen.
29-05-2020, 12:36 PM
The silent majority dont come on fan sites or participate in self enrolling polls. Social media cocoons you in your own self confirming bubble.
Wakeyhibee
29-05-2020, 12:37 PM
I would absolutely fine with a proper, powerful task force set up to plan this for the future. But please no Henry McLeish. Gordon Strachan and Alex Ferguson would do me
And no Budge either. For anyone wanting a genuine look at this, she has single handedly scuppered it with her amateurish and ill thought out attempts. After this debacle I doubt anyone will be willing or want to further it.
chippy
29-05-2020, 12:45 PM
It got me through.
Well done getting through it and I agree I want the chance to stuff them at Hampden or Murrayfield
chippy
29-05-2020, 12:46 PM
And no Budge either. For anyone wanting a genuine look at this, she has single handedly scuppered it with her amateurish and ill thought out attempts. After this debacle I doubt anyone will be willing or want to further it.
Your probably right , she couldn’t have handled it any worse.
29-05-2020, 12:47 PM
Most football fans don’t use twitter or message boards. That’s the problem with social media, you end up joining groups and following people who agree with your viewpoint creating an echo chamber which gives the false impression that a larger proportion of people share your views than do in reality.
29-05-2020, 12:47 PM
Might well able to argue that in a court of law, would she win possibility, would she lose probably.
For the record i think she is slavering pish....but thats her thought process.
chippy
29-05-2020, 12:48 PM
[QUOTE=hibbyfraelibby;6187572]The silent majority dont come on fan sites or participate in self enrolling polls. Social media cocoons you in your own self confirming bubble.[/QUOT
True. It would be good at some point in the future for the club to ask its fan base what it thinks. They have our emails
Where are these polls?
29-05-2020, 01:08 PM
No chance would that get anywhere in court. They’ve been “forced” down a league even though they themselves voted to end the season as is knowing that bottom place gets relegated? That wouldn’t even make it to court. It’s almost like she’s claiming that relegation isn’t usually a consequence of being the worst team in the league and finishing bottom.
29-05-2020, 01:13 PM
Well done getting through it and I agree I want the chance to stuff them at Hampden or Murrayfield
But you’re a Jambo.
29-05-2020, 01:23 PM
But you’re a Jambo.
Wonder if the clue was in the name...they have famous chips you know. So Tinycastle is really just a big rusting pink wriggly tin chippy
It got me through.
Well done on getting through it. March 6 was my birthday, I was meant to be at a concert in London, I didn't go. On the Monday, 3 days later I was meant to go to Cheltenham, at last minute I cancelled. Cost me about £1k but best decision I ever made! Crazy to think lockdown didn't come into effect until 17 days after you became ill. Glad you're still here with us & hopefully you'll enjoy a great cup day when it happens!
chippy
29-05-2020, 01:50 PM
Wonder if the clue was in the name...they have famous chips you know. So Tinycastle is really just a big rusting pink wriggly tin chippy
Now now children these things can hurt
29-05-2020, 02:18 PM
It got me through.
So happy you and the better half got through this vile virus. All the best for the future.
Wakeyhibee
29-05-2020, 02:24 PM
Your probably right , she couldn’t have handled it any worse.
So I think we're all agreed it's dead in the water now. But once Hearts have got promoted back, what would be you're preference, still a 14 team or bigger?
29-05-2020, 02:26 PM
Because of the revenue generated by ticket sales the Semis won't be played until we are allowed full or close to capacity in stadiums.
Id guess it will be January at the earliest
The semi final revenue could well keep hertz afloat. Unfortunately.
Budge: Doncaster, now that I've lost the vote I want you to invoke the rule that says you can override any democratic decision reached by the clubs.
Neil Doncaster: Good afternoon Ann. Now which rule is that pray tell?
Budge: The one that an intelligent fellow posted about on Kickback a few days ago. Can't remember his name.
29-05-2020, 03:12 PM
Now now children these things can hurt
Can we just empty you now please?
Sometimes you undercover Yams are amusing, but you’ve got boring.
29-05-2020, 03:14 PM
The semi final revenue could well keep hertz afloat. Unfortunately.
Hearts are not going bust. They have lots of money behind them.
Green Blood
29-05-2020, 03:17 PM
They are an utter embarrassment to themselves and the rest of Scottish football. Here is part of a statement taken from the evening news! The common thread is that the premier league is always 14 teams under reconstruction, does she not see that she is taking the piss of those teams in the lower leagues. I think the rest of Scottish football want them down as well.
“Under that, I split the remaining clubs 14-14 but it doesn’t need to be 14-14. What I am trying to do is get clubs who are like-minded, with the same problems and challenges, to sit down and say this will work for us or that won’t work for us or this will only work if such and such happens. They need to drive it themselves.
“I just had to get something down to get that debate going. It might turn out to be 14-14-14 or 14-10-10, or even 14-12-0 depending on how much of the season teams can sign up to and under what circumstances. But, now we need to know that so we can move on and try to finalise this because this is not easy for any of us and we all need to make plans.”
29-05-2020, 03:23 PM
So basically just anything will do as long as the premiership is 14 teams.
Has she now dropped all pretence this is for the good of Scottish Football with the zero team league idea?
29-05-2020, 03:26 PM
They are an utter embarrassment to themselves and the rest of Scottish football. Here is part of a statement taken from the evening news! The common thread is that the premier league is always 14 teams under reconstruction, does she not see that she is taking the piss of those teams in the lower leagues. I think the rest of Scottish football want them down as well.
“Under that, I split the remaining clubs 14-14 but it doesn’t need to be 14-14. What I am trying to do is get clubs who are like-minded, with the same problems and challenges, to sit down and say this will work for us or that won’t work for us or this will only work if such and such happens. They need to drive it themselves.
“I just had to get something down to get that debate going. It might turn out to be 14-14-14 or 14-10-10, or even 14-12-0 depending on how much of the season teams can sign up to and under what circumstances. But, now we need to know that so we can move on and try to finalise this because this is not easy for any of us and we all need to make plans.”
She's making a fool of herself. Almost feel embarrassed for her
29-05-2020, 04:14 PM
So basically just anything will do as long as the premiership is 14 teams.
Has she now dropped all pretence this is for the good of Scottish Football with the zero team league idea?
Yes we are now at the 14-nX stage. :greengrin
Can't see how anybody could quibble with that finely honed detail? Get it voted on already, it's FOR THE GOOD OF SCOTTISH FOOTBALL!!!! :rolleyes:
29-05-2020, 04:18 PM
It got me through.
Well glad to hear you’re on the mend. I did say that was my view on the Cup though. I just find it a bit farcical the prospect of playing out the semis and final with radically different squads. Not for me at all.
29-05-2020, 04:25 PM
It is boring. Almost as relentless as the masterplanner herself in the reconstruction crusade.
chippy
29-05-2020, 04:29 PM
Tell you what when the new season starts we can meet up in the Windsor Buffet if you really want to test me on my Hibs credentials?
An unbelievable amount of backtracking and trying to rewrite history because she ersed up the original statement/proposal.
It is just like when she said if you don't play the full 38 games you shouldn't be relegated and if you don't play the full 38 games you shouldn't get the title. This brought on a backlash (no doubt mostly from Celtic fans) so she came out the next day saying she meant if the rules could be changed for 1 thing (the title) then they should be changed for another (no relegation).
Here's the full article.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-owner-ann-budge-explains-reconstruction-plans-and-calls-spfl-clubs-state-playing-intentions-coming-year-2868054
29-05-2020, 04:51 PM
An unbelievable amount of backtracking and trying to rewrite history because she ersed up the original statement/proposal.
It is just like when she said if you don't play the full 38 games you shouldn't be relegated and if you don't play the full 38 games you shouldn't get the title. This brought on a backlash (no doubt mostly from Celtic fans) so she came out the next day saying she meant if the rules could be changed for 1 thing (the title) then they should be changed for another (no relegation).
Here's the full article.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-owner-ann-budge-explains-reconstruction-plans-and-calls-spfl-clubs-state-playing-intentions-coming-year-2868054
The SPFL just pulled that rug from right under her/their feet with their agreement with the Scottish Government. Thanks Nicola.. has Peter renewed hia ST yet?
It's time this whole saga was brought to a conclusion. We're merely delaying the inevitable & Doncaster needs to put a time line down to get a vote done & dusted next week.
29-05-2020, 05:01 PM
It's time this whole saga was brought to a conclusion. We're merely delaying the inevitable & Doncaster needs to put a time line down to get a vote done & dusted next week.
He has. Clubs meeting by division in the week ahead, agreement with SG to start training in 2 weeks and new season on schedule to start in 9 weeks time, with restrictions.
Jobs a good un. Expect the fixture list to be published on the 5th of June or there abouts. The drawbridge is up...
29-05-2020, 05:03 PM
Budge has abandoned the lower leagues. She can't get them to support her proposals, but they're currently critical to get the votes she needs for the whole shabang. Catch 22.
Instead, she says, ok you just do what you want. All I'm interested in getting 14 places in the Premier by whatever means I ****ing well can. If that doesn't need wee teams to vote - great. And if it still fails, I've got legal action as fall back. When this all over, we're going to be the most wanted, loved, popular club in Scotland, just behind The Rangers.
May21/05/216
29-05-2020, 05:07 PM
So happy you and the better half got through this vile virus. All the best for the future.
GGTTHHopefully you and your wife
I'm into day 35 and I'm over the worse but my energy levels are poor just walking to the shops is like I've 10km it's a horrible illness
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Green Blood
29-05-2020, 05:09 PM
The disgusting skid mark of a club that they are have used the Covid 19 pandemic as a vehicle to escape relegation! I am certain right from the very start she has seen Covid 19 as her knight in white armour. I know, the very thought of that is disgusting and reprehensible, however to HMFC it was grasped as an opportunity.
Disgusting club, relegate them then admin to follow!
29-05-2020, 05:13 PM
Budge will soon be asking to play the remaining games of last season from Aug 1.
The disgusting skid mark of a club that they are have used the Covid 19 pandemic as a vehicle to escape relegation! I am certain right from the very start she has seen Covid 19 as her knight in white armour. I know, the very thought of that is disgusting and reprehensible, however to HMFC it was grasped as an opportunity.
Disgusting club, relegate them then admin to follow!i’ve actually heard jambos say covid19 is going to save the jambos. Just as lockdown started.
Jdawg
29-05-2020, 05:26 PM
Tell you what when the new season starts we can meet up in the Windsor Buffet if you really want to test me on my Hibs credentials?
Great pub
Budge has abandoned the lower leagues. She can't get them to support her proposals, but they're currently critical to get the votes she needs for the whole shabang. Catch 22.
Instead, she says, ok you just do what you want. All I'm interested in getting 14 places in the Premier by whatever means I ****ing well can. If that doesn't need wee teams to vote - great. And if it still fails, I've got legal action as fall back. When this all over, we're going to be the most wanted, loved, popular club in Scotland, just behind The Rangers.
Yeah, the plan to save Scottish football (because everybody else was just sitting on their backsides doing nothing about it) has now become just do a 14 top league and the rest can sort themselves out.
29-05-2020, 05:46 PM
https://www.falkirkfc.co.uk/2020/05/28/plea-to-spfl-identify-clubs-willing-to-play/
Maybe reconstruct to allow Falkirk and Partick into championship if L1&2 can’t play.
12-12-0-0 set up.
29-05-2020, 05:55 PM
**** Falkirk.
https://www.falkirkfc.co.uk/2020/05/28/plea-to-spfl-identify-clubs-willing-to-play/
Maybe reconstruct to allow Falkirk and Partick into championship if L1&2 can’t play.
12-12-0-0 set up.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkReally do think all the clubs should be playing next season. This is just Falkirk joining the armageddon squad as they’d gain an unjust promotion.
29-05-2020, 05:58 PM
12-12-0-0 set up.
I don't see how the championship can go ahead bcd. Tv money is for the premier so that's the division to concentrate on getting going. Others will all be able to restart once crowds can be admitted. If you're not in a division where tv money is greater than the costs of opening a ground bcd makes no sense.
The SPFL admin should be working on different plans for next season depending on when spectators can be admitted. In the lower three divisions play each other three times if that's October, twice if it's January. Hearts should just accept that.
angus hibby
29-05-2020, 05:59 PM
Any reconstruction plan needs to be in place at least a year before it takes place. Teams have to know what they are playing for at the start of the season.
coldingham hibs
29-05-2020, 06:03 PM
12-12-0-0 set up.
I’m not sure how you can do this. What happens if lockdown rules change in September or October and these teams are allowed supporters into games. We would have 2-3 leagues below the top league with a complete mish-mash of teams.
chippy
29-05-2020, 06:10 PM
Great pub
Are you a regular ?
Wakeyhibee
29-05-2020, 06:12 PM
The championship is the worst place to be right now. Premier will most likely get underway and survive with BCD. Leagues 1 and 2 (bar Partick and Falkirk) are best placed for socially distanced crowds without affecting income should we get to phase 3 by Aug/Sep. I wonder if Raith are regretting getting promoted?
bringbackbenny
29-05-2020, 07:07 PM
The championship is the worst place to be right now.
That's a bitch for Hearts 😎
29-05-2020, 07:10 PM
So we return to training on 11th of June. Good news. Hearts have to wait though
29-05-2020, 07:27 PM
So we return to training on 11th of June. Good news. Hearts have to wait thoughA team with UEFA compliant changing rooms cant start?
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
29-05-2020, 07:29 PM
A team with UEFA compliant changing rooms cant start?
Of course they can. They just need a UEFA compliant pitch and to be playing in the top flight.
29-05-2020, 07:59 PM
Are you a regular ?
Where is the Windsor Buffet?
29-05-2020, 08:01 PM
[QUOTE=MrSmith;6187936]Where is the Windsor Buffet?[/QUOTE
Elm Row
29-05-2020, 08:05 PM
Elm Row
Jeez. I don’t think the question was meant to be answered by you.
The seethe over on kickback has reached a new level!!!!
How dare they try and start the season why the establishment club have not decided what will happen.
munchar
29-05-2020, 08:16 PM
This is more than the season not finishing. Hearts could’ve been relegated before the 8 games were completed. I still think they would’ve tried for reconstruction, “because they spent lots of money trying to stay up”.
Strange, strange breed our not so good neighbours. Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but I genuinely feel there would be quite a lot on here if roles were reversed, saying we only have ourselves to blame for being cut adrift at the bottom after 30 games. I don’t see ANY Hearts fans with the same views.
chippy
29-05-2020, 08:41 PM
[QUOTE=JohnMcM;6187938]
Jeez. I don’t think the question was meant to be answered by you.
Wow so it was a trick question. Now that I know where it is , you’re very welcome to come along as well at start of season depending when 1st game on TV I guess. The natives are friendly.
29-05-2020, 10:07 PM
[QUOTE=tamig;6187939]
Wow so it was a trick question. Now that I know where it is , you’re very welcome to come along as well at start of season depending when 1st game on TV I guess. The natives are friendly.
I’ve been in the boozer on many occasions and know it very well.
29-05-2020, 10:09 PM
Elm Row
29-05-2020, 10:17 PM
This is more than the season not finishing. Hearts could’ve been relegated before the 8 games were completed. I still think they would’ve tried for reconstruction, “because they spent lots of money trying to stay up”.
Strange, strange breed our not so good neighbours. Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but I genuinely feel there would be quite a lot on here if roles were reversed, saying we only have ourselves to blame for being cut adrift at the bottom after 30 games. I don’t see ANY Hearts fans with the same views.
I don't recall anyone on here being idiotic enough to suggest reconstruction as a way to avoid being relegated in 2014.
chippy
29-05-2020, 10:20 PM
[QUOTE=chippy;6187968]
So is that a yes to meet up 1st game so you can check out my Hibernian credentials?
29-05-2020, 10:53 PM
[QUOTE=tamig;6188044]
So is that a yes to meet up 1st game so you can check out my Hibernian credentials?
I couldn’t care tbh. I just find the constant championing of reconstruction a la Budge a bit strange.
29-05-2020, 11:06 PM
[QUOTE=tamig;6188044]
Are you the hardest man in The Windsor?
29-05-2020, 11:07 PM
He'd be the only man in the Windsor just now
30-05-2020, 02:53 AM
[QUOTE=chippy;6187968]
Started going in the mid 70s before games. Love it.
30-05-2020, 04:24 AM
Budge will soon be asking to play the remaining games of last season from Aug 1.
TBH that was my first thought.
Get them to ****!
30-05-2020, 04:26 AM
Of course they can. They just need a UEFA compliant pitch and to be playing in the top flight.
Who will they play though? A team of furloughed players?
30-05-2020, 06:41 AM
Kris Boyd tells it like it is....
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5648215/hearts-chief-ann-budge-needs-to-forget-about-re-organising-the-premiership-and-move-on-says-kris-boyd/
30-05-2020, 07:13 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5648215/hearts-chief-ann-budge-needs-to-forget-about-re-organising-the-premiership-and-move-on-says-kris-boyd/
Ffs. That article will have put the compo up to £30m now.
She chose fight instead of acceptance.
Unsuccessful choice. She’s probably had dozens of screaming Duncans pushing her to fight though.Dozens of voices in her head at night.
Keep listening to the voices.
Millions of pounds.
Votes.
Expulsion.
Fairness.
Court.
Leslie.
Lord Dribble.
Court.
Diddy clubs.
Close shaves.
Sherry.
Chips.
Stop trading.
Seaside.
Jeez, you know you're in trouble when Kris Boyd starts talking sense & sounds both literate & authoritative compared to Budge's ramblings! I sense the media are turning!
30-05-2020, 07:27 AM
For those not wishing to click on that website, it's a good read as long as you're not a Hertz fan. Text copied below; it's a 'pleasing' read that ends "The Premiership will be fine without them. It’s Hearts as a football club that needs major reconstruction."
FOR a very successful businesswoman, Ann Budge isn’t half a lousy judge of character.
Having made millions from doing deals, you would think she’d have the savvy to sense when she’s being led up the garden path.
But apparently not.
She’s had blind faith in certain people since taking over at Hearts, with big-money contracts being handed out left, right and centre on players who probably couldn’t believe their luck.
Now it seems she’s been given some questionable advice on the best way to persuade rival clubs to save the Jambos from the Championship.
Honestly, it’s like one blunder after another.
Budge shouldn’t have been so quick to trust. But I wonder if the penny has now dropped that she’s surrounded by people who are in it for themselves.
The upshot is the mismanagement at Hearts — from top to bottom — is the reason they’re heading for the Championship.
Budge needs to get that into her head.
Lobbying the Premiership clubs for league reconstruction is a waste of time, both hers and everyone else’s. Especially with the confrontational and passive- aggressive tone she seems to think will work.
It’s time she realised Hearts have been relegated — rightly or wrongly — and started dealing with it.
The same way, rightly or wrongly, that Celtic are champions, in case she hasn’t noticed. Prize money has been handed out. All this pleading for a change to the leagues isn’t doing anyone any good.
If Budge wants to help Hearts and the teams around her then she should be talking more to the chairmen in the Championship and below and trying to come up with something that helps all of them.
Because for me, when the Sky TV deal kicks in and matches are played, even behind closed doors, the top flight will be fine without Hearts.
If she really has the best interests of Scottish football at heart, then that’s who she should be talking to.
Get in touch with the people at Partick Thistle and Falkirk and see if there’s something they can do together to help the clubs at that end of the ladder.
Forget about the Premiership because, frankly, that’s none of her business now.
I have to laugh, though. All the talk of operating for the benefit of everyone in Scottish football cracks me up, it really does.
I realised in 2012 everyone was in it for themselves when they sent the biggest club in this country to the bottom tier.
And another thing, if St Mirren were in this same situation, does anyone think Budge would bat an eyelid? No, me neither.
She’d be sitting at home without a second thought for Saints.
And yet here she is, pleading for a deal that effectively reduces the income at Jim Goodwin’s club and others for next season. Do me a favour.
That’s what sticks in my throat about all this. Sure, you could argue Hearts were given a raw deal with the season ending early. But would there have been such an outcry had it been St Mirren, Ross County or Hamilton Accies? Not a chance.
Hearts are where they are and they need to deal with it, pure and simple.
Don’t tell me they had games against the bottom six to play, and they would have got out of it. They won only four games in the league all season and three of those victories came against Hibs, twice, and Rangers.
In their last game in Paisley they were meant to be fighting for their lives, but instead they had all the judgment of Dominic Cummings — but with far less determination to stay in a job.
They need to take a leaf out of Partick Thistle’s book now and move on with some dignity.
The Jags have shown true class throughout all this. They were relegated even though a game in hand could have kept them up. That’s what I call an injustice.
But after initially taking a stance, they quickly accepted the decision and started making plans for their future.
Hearts haven’t done that and are determined to string out their fight as long as possible, even talking about legal action.
That’s right, the club who say they’re looking out for the whole of Scottish football want to sue the SPFL and its clubs if they don’t get their way. You couldn’t make it up.
Budge should be looking closer to home. She should be analysing where things went wrong, and it shouldn’t take her very long.
If she still can’t work it out, then she should look back to some of my old columns, because I think I’ve been pretty much spot on with that club for a while.
I got slaughtered when I played at Tynecastle, because I told it like it is, but I just shrugged it off and smiled. Fact is, I know some Hearts fans and they know I’m right, because they’ve told me.
That’s fine by me, but pundits like myself — and newspaper reporters — have pretty much got things bang on in recent months where Hearts are concerned.
Even Michael Stewart has called this one correctly, and that’s saying something!
But this self-pity act of theirs has worn thin. The world-is-against-us routine doesn’t wash when you think how much help Hearts got from the SPFL when building their new stand.
The Premiership will be fine without them.
It’s Hearts as a football club that needs major reconstruction. Just as much as the SPFL board.
30-05-2020, 07:32 AM
There’s a lot of sense in there - his ghost writer got a bit confused in the middle though: I don’t remember any club being demoted in 2012, certainly not the biggest one.
30-05-2020, 07:34 AM
Anyone know what he means by the comment below?
The world-is-against-us routine doesn’t wash when you think how much help Hearts got from the SPFL when building their new stand.
30-05-2020, 07:36 AM
I don't recall anyone on here being idiotic enough to suggest reconstruction as a way to avoid being relegated in 2014.
Indeed, we all knew it was Hibs that needed to be reconstructed.
Hearts are in such a shambles, they blame the World for their situation. So it's the World that needs to change.
Zondervan
30-05-2020, 07:36 AM
Guess he means the postponed home fixtures until it was finished.
30-05-2020, 07:38 AM
Being allowed to switch fixtures and have some at Murray field.
30-05-2020, 07:38 AM
They were allowed to play their first few games away from home and bent over backwards to allow them to use Murrayfield.
30-05-2020, 07:39 AM
For those not wishing to click on that website, it's a good read as long as you're not a Hertz fan. Text copied below; it's a 'pleasing' read that ends "The Premiership will be fine without them. It’s Hearts as a football club that needs major reconstruction."
FOR a very successful businesswoman, Ann Budge isn’t half a lousy judge of character.
Having made millions from doing deals, you would think she’d have the savvy to sense when she’s being led up the garden path.
But apparently not.
She’s had blind faith in certain people since taking over at Hearts, with big-money contracts being handed out left, right and centre on players who probably couldn’t believe their luck.
Now it seems she’s been given some questionable advice on the best way to persuade rival clubs to save the Jambos from the Championship.
Honestly, it’s like one blunder after another.
Budge shouldn’t have been so quick to trust. But I wonder if the penny has now dropped that she’s surrounded by people who are in it for themselves.
The upshot is the mismanagement at Hearts — from top to bottom — is the reason they’re heading for the Championship.
Budge needs to get that into her head.
Lobbying the Premiership clubs for league reconstruction is a waste of time, both hers and everyone else’s. Especially with the confrontational and passive- aggressive tone she seems to think will work.
It’s time she realised Hearts have been relegated — rightly or wrongly — and started dealing with it.
The same way, rightly or wrongly, that Celtic are champions, in case she hasn’t noticed. Prize money has been handed out. All this pleading for a change to the leagues isn’t doing anyone any good.
If Budge wants to help Hearts and the teams around her then she should be talking more to the chairmen in the Championship and below and trying to come up with something that helps all of them.
Because for me, when the Sky TV deal kicks in and matches are played, even behind closed doors, the top flight will be fine without Hearts.
If she really has the best interests of Scottish football at heart, then that’s who she should be talking to.
Get in touch with the people at Partick Thistle and Falkirk and see if there’s something they can do together to help the clubs at that end of the ladder.
Forget about the Premiership because, frankly, that’s none of her business now.
I have to laugh, though. All the talk of operating for the benefit of everyone in Scottish football cracks me up, it really does.
I realised in 2012 everyone was in it for themselves when they sent the biggest club in this country to the bottom tier.
And another thing, if St Mirren were in this same situation, does anyone think Budge would bat an eyelid? No, me neither.
She’d be sitting at home without a second thought for Saints.
And yet here she is, pleading for a deal that effectively reduces the income at Jim Goodwin’s club and others for next season. Do me a favour.
That’s what sticks in my throat about all this. Sure, you could argue Hearts were given a raw deal with the season ending early. But would there have been such an outcry had it been St Mirren, Ross County or Hamilton Accies? Not a chance.
Hearts are where they are and they need to deal with it, pure and simple.
Don’t tell me they had games against the bottom six to play, and they would have got out of it. They won only four games in the league all season and three of those victories came against Hibs, twice, and Rangers.
In their last game in Paisley they were meant to be fighting for their lives, but instead they had all the judgment of Dominic Cummings — but with far less determination to stay in a job.
They need to take a leaf out of Partick Thistle’s book now and move on with some dignity.
The Jags have shown true class throughout all this. They were relegated even though a game in hand could have kept them up. That’s what I call an injustice.
But after initially taking a stance, they quickly accepted the decision and started making plans for their future.
Hearts haven’t done that and are determined to string out their fight as long as possible, even talking about legal action.
That’s right, the club who say they’re looking out for the whole of Scottish football want to sue the SPFL and its clubs if they don’t get their way. You couldn’t make it up.
Budge should be looking closer to home. She should be analysing where things went wrong, and it shouldn’t take her very long.
If she still can’t work it out, then she should look back to some of my old columns, because I think I’ve been pretty much spot on with that club for a while.
I got slaughtered when I played at Tynecastle, because I told it like it is, but I just shrugged it off and smiled. Fact is, I know some Hearts fans and they know I’m right, because they’ve told me.
That’s fine by me, but pundits like myself — and newspaper reporters — have pretty much got things bang on in recent months where Hearts are concerned.
Even Michael Stewart has called this one correctly, and that’s saying something!
But this self-pity act of theirs has worn thin. The world-is-against-us routine doesn’t wash when you think how much help Hearts got from the SPFL when building their new stand.
The Premiership will be fine without them.
It’s Hearts as a football club that needs major reconstruction. Just as much as the SPFL board.
It is a cracking read. Jumbos must be exploding.
30-05-2020, 07:40 AM
They were allowed to play their first few games away from home and bent over backwards to allow them to use Murrayfield.
That can’t be right? Everyone is against them etc?
30-05-2020, 07:40 AM
Guess he means the postponed home fixtures until it was finished.
also allowing them to play at Murrayfield rather than make them play at Tinycastle with reduced capacity.
Sweet Left Peg
30-05-2020, 07:50 AM
Boyd still can't resist a few blue-eyed digs in there though. Pandering to the Rangers fans that buy that rag in an article about another team.
El Gubbz
30-05-2020, 08:02 AM
Surely we can’t get in to a situation where the team finishing 8th gets a crack at Europe but the team finishing 5th don’t? That can’t be right
Aye there’s loads that could be done to make it fairer on the teams finishing higher up
A knockout tournament to figure out who’s the best team to take the extra spot for a knockout tournament isn’t the worst idea, though think the real key to doing better in Europa is clubs not entering from a standing start
30-05-2020, 08:03 AM
Boyd still can't resist a few blue-eyed digs in there though. Pandering to the Rangers fans that buy that rag in an article about another team.
I'm willing to forgive him this time as that's a cracking read!😂
Juice-Terry
30-05-2020, 08:04 AM
True, but I think we can let that pass on this occasion. Send thum doon!
30-05-2020, 08:07 AM
Well, if that's the Scottish media turning against them it must be about time for the fat lady to start singing.
Bye, bye jam tarts.
El Gubbz
30-05-2020, 08:07 AM
It sounds like you are better off being 7th at the split rather than 6th. That it a situation you should never have. Sporting integrity goes out the window as 6th plays 7th, with 1 point in it, in the last game before the split. It's then a battle to see who scores the most own goals to secure 7th place.
As I say - there’s no need to copy letter for letter but it’s an exciting enough league to take inspiration from. Definitely would make the end of season VERY exciting with loads of broadcastable games (increasing the value of our product) - I’d rather something where 4th, 5th and 6th made the play offs and the 2 bottom 8 group winners played each other at the end of season for that final spot
Would need a solution that increases the number of games for the bottom 8 runner ups to get more games in though
Marco G
30-05-2020, 08:10 AM
Todays Sun says Hearts could lose their SFA membership if they go to the Scottish courts. FIFA only allows clubs to go to the Court of arbitration for sport. If they go to local courts FIFA asks for them to be punished by their own association!
Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
30-05-2020, 08:10 AM
Always liked big Boydy..
https://i.postimg.cc/V65FMDG9/F6404-C4-B-6162-4-AAB-A8-C5-D6-E75324141-B.jpg (https://postimg.cc/5YdvWqMj)
30-05-2020, 08:13 AM
This weekend, possibly into Monday, is the end game.
30-05-2020, 08:16 AM
What a car crash Heart of Midlothian are
hibeerealist
30-05-2020, 08:25 AM
Unsuccessful choice. She’s probably had dozens of screaming Duncans pushing her to fight though.Dozens of voices in her head at night.
Millions of pounds.
Votes.
Expulsion.
Fairness.
Court.
Leslie.
Lord Dribble.
Court.
Diddy clubs.
Close shaves.
Sherry.
chips.
Stop trading.
Seaside.
LOL love it!
30-05-2020, 08:31 AM
Aye there’s loads that could be done to make it fairer on the teams finishing higher up
A knockout tournament to figure out who’s the best team to take the extra spot for a knockout tournament isn’t the worst idea, though think the real key to doing better in Europa is clubs not entering from a standing start
Todays Sun says Hearts could lose their SFA membership if they go to the Scottish courts. FIFA only allows clubs to go to the Court of arbitration for sport. If they go to local courts FIFA asks for them to be punished by their own association!
Has anything happened to the French clubs that went to court over their relegation/loss of Euro place ?
30-05-2020, 08:32 AM
Posted before but I feel it’s worth sharing again
Pie & Bovril forum post from a St Mirren fan:
“For her plan to go through, in the 21/22 season you would be doing the following:
Relegate 3 Premier league sides to get back to 12. 3 down 1 up.
Have teams fighting it out for 1 promotion spot in a 14 team championship.
Relegate 7 teams from the same 14 team championship.
Have teams vying for 1 promotion spot from the 14 team league 1.
Relegate 10 teams from the 14 team league 1.
So in a best case scenario (not even including possible playoffs which could lead to more promotion and relegation) that would mean in 2021/22, you'll have a situation where 2 teams across Scottish football (not including HL/LL) will be promoted and at least 20 out of 42 teams across the board are going to be relegated.
All to save Hearts. Absolutely ****ing ludicrous. This old ****** should be booted into the nearest body of water immediately. “
30-05-2020, 08:32 AM
This all just box ticking nonsense now. The SPFL by saying they want clubs to vote for it means theyve covered their backs. It will be something like "we tried to urge members to make a change but ultimately in a members vote they decided to maintain the current format and there is nothing we can do about it. Sorry Hearts"
I mean, one of my jambo mates said she had a lengthy update on Hearts tv and during it when talking about going to court she said "we might not win any court case" so she obviously knows shes fighting a losing battle.
30-05-2020, 08:35 AM
Hearts use the Rangers tactics of threats, arrogance and staunchness. In Rangers case it was all bravado to appease their neanderthal support. Hearts think it's a legitimate route to take. Embarrassing yet hilarious watching it all unfold especially the realisation that they aren't as big and huge as they think they are.
30-05-2020, 08:39 AM
This all just box ticking nonsense now. The SPFL by saying they want clubs to vote for it means theyve covered their backs. It will be something like "we tried to urge members to make a change but ultimately in a members vote they decided to maintain the current format and there is nothing we can do about it. Sorry Hearts"
I mean, one of my jambo mates said she had a lengthy update on Hearts tv and during it when talking about going to court she said "we might not win any court case" so she obviously knows shes fighting a losing battle.
The SPFL board have to let the clubs vote on it, but they haven't said they want the clubs to vote for it, quite the opposite - 3 weeks ago they disbanded the reconstruction task force saying there was no appetite for it at the moment.
30-05-2020, 08:54 AM
Posted before but I feel it’s worth sharing again
Pie & Bovril forum post from a St Mirren fan:
“For her plan to go through, in the 21/22 season you would be doing the following:
Relegate 3 Premier league sides to get back to 12. 3 down 1 up.
Have teams fighting it out for 1 promotion spot in a 14 team championship.
Relegate 7 teams from the same 14 team championship.
Have teams vying for 1 promotion spot from the 14 team league 1.
Relegate 10 teams from the 14 team league 1.
So in a best case scenario (not even including possible playoffs which could lead to more promotion and relegation) that would mean in 2021/22, you'll have a situation where 2 teams across Scottish football (not including HL/LL) will be promoted and at least 20 out of 42 teams across the board are going to be relegated.
All to save Hearts. Absolutely ****ing ludicrous. This old ****** should be booted into the nearest body of water immediately. “
It's a nonsense, it really is.
The quicker it's booted into the long grass, the better.
Marco G
30-05-2020, 09:23 AM
Has anything happened to the French clubs that went to court over their relegation/loss of Euro place ?I know, it's odd that nothing has been said about that process being against FIFA regulations, but it must be imo.
30-05-2020, 09:26 AM
I think autocorrect changed "will" to "might" in that quote 😉
Has anything happened to the French clubs that went to court over their relegation/loss of Euro place ?
http://www.republicworld.com/sports-news/football-news/french-club-appeals-against-early-ligue-1-finish-rejected-by-french-judge.html
They've got chips AND TV!! Wow!
30-05-2020, 10:38 AM
The SPFL board have to let the clubs vote on it, but they haven't said they want the clubs to vote for it, quite the opposite - 3 weeks ago they disbanded the reconstruction task force saying there was no appetite for it at the moment.
They don’t have to allow a vote.
They will if they get a specific resolution properly delivered with the requisite support. That has to be resolution deemed competent to be implemented if approved.
I don’t think they’ve had such a resolution proposed so nothing at all just now that they have to allow a vote on.
Tomsk
30-05-2020, 10:40 AM
We've entered the twilight zone when quoting Kris Boyd as some sort of authority.
The article is a mess, although in truth I stopped reading at:
"I realised in 2012 everyone was in it for themselves when they sent the biggest club in this country to the bottom tier."
Every time this lie is repeated it should be challenged. Rangers were not sent anywhere. They ceased to exist. A brand new club called Rangers was then catapulted into the bottom tier of Scottish football mainly because the clubs there wanted a sook at the Hun teat for a season.
Stop lying, Kris. You'll feel better for it.
30-05-2020, 10:46 AM
Of course the Rangers fan Boyd still hasn't got his head round the fact old Rangers were liquidated in 2012 and the new club was fast tracked into the leagues. They weren't SENT anywhere.
Whilst he is spot on about Budge this delusion undermines the whole piece and proves his point that everyone is in it for themselves.
Tomsk
30-05-2020, 10:49 AM
Of course the Rangers fan Boyd still hasn't got his head round the fact old Rangers were liquidated in 2012 and the new club was fast tracked into the leagues. They weren't SENT anywhere.
Whilst he is spot on about Budge this delusion undermines the whole piece and proves his point that everyone is in it for themselves.
30-05-2020, 11:09 AM
Blinded to the fact he helped kill the old Rangers with his £215k EBT which of course had a side letter which was not registered with the SFA.
30-05-2020, 11:16 AM
Clyde have their say 😁😁
https://m.clydefc.co.uk/news/2020/05/30/6432/#.XtJAVbfTVkw
30-05-2020, 11:16 AM
Yes, a lot of sense ruined by that infantile line.
30-05-2020, 11:20 AM
Hearts use the Rangers tactics of threats, arrogance and staunchness. In Rangers case it was all bravado to appease their neanderthal support. Hearts think it's a legitimate route to take. Embarrassing yet hilarious watching it all unfold especially the realisation that they aren't as big and huge as they think they are.
And to be honest, none of the Hearts fans who I know genuinely believe they've got much of a genuine grievance.
30-05-2020, 11:25 AM
Clyde have their say 😁😁
https://m.clydefc.co.uk/news/2020/05/30/6432/#.XtJAVbfTVkwGee whiz. They could have just said "no". There's a lot of windbags in Scottish football.
30-05-2020, 11:25 AM
Clyde have their say 😁😁
That's a very well written statement. Yet another club who can wave goodbye to the maroon pound.
30-05-2020, 11:48 AM
Gee whiz. They could have just said "no". There's a lot of windbags in Scottish football.
Yeah but it’s more fun that way
30-05-2020, 11:53 AM
I must be the only one who approves of Boyd's factually inaccurate claim that
Any Sevco fan who reads that has been reminded that Scottish football did not rearrange itself to suit their previous club, so will object to such a rearrangement to suit a mere lower league club.
30-05-2020, 11:54 AM
I must be the only one who approves of Boyd's factually inaccurate claim that
Any Sevco fan who reads that has been reminded that Scottish football did not rearrange itself to suit their previous club, so will object to such a rearrangement to suit a mere lower league club.
A rangers fan that can read?! Lol good one
30-05-2020, 11:59 AM
A rangers fan that can read?! Lol good one
Conceded.
30-05-2020, 12:12 PM
Richard Gordon on Off The Ball says Budge interview with Mclaughlin saying Budge admits proposal is dead. Not likely to go to vote. So juicy bit on legal case.
chippy
30-05-2020, 12:26 PM
[QUOTE=chippy;6188059]
Not that sort of pub. I’m not even the hardest pensioner in it. By hard I’m assuming you mean violent at least I hope that’s what you meant. My perspective these last 25 years is more yogic and Buddhist meditation.
30-05-2020, 12:27 PM
Millions of pounds.
Votes.
Expulsion.
Fairness.
Court.
Leslie.
Lord Dribble.
Court.
Diddy clubs.
Close shaves.
Sherry.
Chippy.
Stop trading.
Seaside.
Sorted.:wink:
30-05-2020, 12:32 PM
Celtic urge SPFL to release fixture list for new season
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/scotland/52861707
30-05-2020, 12:44 PM
Good. Time to start planning positively towards getting next season underway.
30-05-2020, 12:49 PM
Good. Time to start planning positively towards getting next season underway.
Yipee
Wakeyhibee
30-05-2020, 12:55 PM
Shows as much regard to ABs proposals as she has shown to other clubs situations. Not even a caveat, brilliant :greengrin
Sorted.:wink:
Her chippy account on .net :thumbsup:
http://www.republicworld.com/sports-news/football-news/french-club-appeals-against-early-ligue-1-finish-rejected-by-french-judge.html
Of course Budge will reference the French situation but conveniently not mention a judge has kicked it out.
30-05-2020, 01:53 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/ann-budge-fires-back-jim-22109776
Budge reminds me of Trump in the way that she cannot let a single perceived media slight go. Each and every criticism provokes a heated, excessively lengthy response.
Any figure in the public eye with media savvy will issue, at most, a single statement or firm rebuttal and simply let the story burn itself out. With Budge it's statement after increasingly rambling statement, which does nothing but fan the flames and make her look ever more unhinged.
The media must love the way they can push her buttons so easily.
30-05-2020, 03:03 PM
So millions of pounds donated to the lower divisions by the no strings attached philanthropists. Budge fails in her reconstruction proposal and goes to court and wins which then financially damages all the clubs the no strings philanthropists have just helped out.
I don’t think Budgie has really thought this through.
30-05-2020, 04:31 PM
That's a very well written statement. Yet another club who can wave goodbye to the maroon pound.
Thought the same myself, ann fudge can kiss goodbye to reconstruction
30-05-2020, 04:32 PM
So millions of pounds donated to the lower divisions by the no strings attached philanthropists. Budge fails in her reconstruction proposal and goes to court and wins which then financially damages all the clubs the no strings philanthropists have just helped out.
She hasn't thought it through, she cares about hearts and them only, selfish rubber chopped old mare
147lothian
30-05-2020, 04:45 PM
Clyde have their say 😁😁
Budge's proposal is sailing up the Clyde:bye:
30-05-2020, 05:05 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/ann-budge-fires-back-jim-22109776
Budge reminds me of Trump in the way that she cannot let a single perceived media slight go. Each and every criticism provokes a heated, excessively lengthy response.
Any figure in the public eye with media savvy will issue, at most, a single statement or firm rebuttal and simply let the story burn itself out. With Budge it's statement after increasingly rambling statement, which does nothing but fan the flames and make her look ever more unhinged.
The media must love the way they can push her buttons so easily.
Putting aside the nonsense she spouted in today's interview, she actually came across as irrational, unfocused and hysterical. I haven't heard her speaking much before today, so not sure if that's her normal style?
If not, it could be a sign she's completely lost the plot. Maybe an indication of the pressure she's under, which as much as us hibbys have a laugh about, must be intolerable. Whatever way you analyse it, she has completely mismanaged the club's finances and realisation is setting in that her last throw of the dice has failed.
She better watch herself though, as she's skating on very thin ice with the alleged donation from the philanthropist. If this is any way linked to upgrading Hearts to the top league, she is likely to be in direct contravention of The Bribery Act.
30-05-2020, 05:14 PM
I'm now beginning to think she is ill. Seriously. her flip-flopping, desperate and nonsensical ramblings were funny to start with, but she sounds like someone who needs medical help.
Putting aside the nonsense she spouted in today's interview, she actually came across as irrational, unfocused and hysterical. I haven't heard her speaking much before today, so not sure if that's her normal style?
If not, it could be a sign she's completely lost the plot. Maybe an indication of the pressure she's under, which as much as us hibbys have a laugh about, must be intolerable. Whatever way you analyse it, she has completely mismanaged the club's finances and realisation is setting in that her last throw of the dice has failed.
She better watch herself though, as she's skating on very thin ice with the alleged donation from the philanthropist. If this is any way linked to upgrading Hearts to the top league, she is likely to be in direct contravention of The Bribery Act.
The timing of it just 2 days before the clubs meet re her reconstruction "discussion paper" seems highly questionable.
30-05-2020, 05:50 PM
I'm now beginning to think she is ill. Seriously. her flip-flopping, desperate and nonsensical ramblings were funny to start with, but she sounds like someone who needs medical help.
I posted on here months ago that I had concerns re her mental health after watching her rambling interview when introducing Stendel. Things have gone from bad to worse since then.
30-05-2020, 05:58 PM
I posted on here months ago that I had concerns re her mental health after watching her rambling interview when introducing Stendel. Things have gone from bad to worse since then.
Agree despite obvious frustrations with her approach she is basically running this on her own apparently without any chief exec support at all. I don't know the structure of Hearts but we obviously have Leeann and Ron, I have no concept of who Hearts executive team are. Was Gardner replaced when he forgot to order the seats? :greengrin
She obviously isn't the most competent and get the impression she isn't that comfortable being the public face but don't see any obvious sidekick or support.
For her own health she needs to step back and take a break so she can concentrate on Hearts for next season.
30-05-2020, 06:40 PM
Was reading that hearts taking the SPFL to court would breach sfa rules they signed up to. Could be properly expelled ftom the league for that as well as booted out of Scottish cup
Go on Ann do it, take em to court
Fuzzywuzzy
30-05-2020, 06:48 PM
Was reading that hearts taking the SPFL to court would breach sfa rules they signed up to. Could be properly expelled ftom the league for that as well as booted out of Scottish cup
Go on Ann do it, take em to court
For anyone associated with hearts not to know that is embarrassing to say the least
30-05-2020, 07:42 PM
Not that sort of pub. I’m not even the hardest pensioner in it. By hard I’m assuming you mean violent at least I hope that’s what you meant. My perspective these last 25 years is more yogic and Buddhist meditation.
I’ve just clocked who you remind me of. Your writing style is identical. A poster who had various monikers over the years. The main one that sticks in the mind is “Gail” - who seemed to have an intense dislike of Paul Hanlon for some reason. The stuff you’ve posted over these past few weeks could very well have come from “Gail’s” own keyboard.
30-05-2020, 07:48 PM
Would love all the clubs to take them up on their generous offer of free covid testing equipment and then vote them down!
No strings attached
The silly twits arent giving their fans refunds for the remaining season games but could now “afford” to give all the lower league clubs, like them, £35-40k for covid testing
What a ****ing shower of dafties
chippy
30-05-2020, 08:40 PM
I’ve just clocked who you remind me of. Your writing style is identical. A poster who had various monikers over the years. The main one that sticks in the mind is “Gail” - who seemed to have an intense dislike of Paul Hanlon for some reason. The stuff you’ve posted over these past few weeks could very well have come from “Gail’s” own keyboard.
Fascinating. I think you need help.
The Count
30-05-2020, 08:52 PM
Chippy however you are give it a rest please.
chippy
30-05-2020, 09:10 PM
Chippy however you are give it a rest please.
Sure but why don’t you give the same advice to Inspector Clouseau and his ‘forensic linguistic analysis.’ above ?
The Count
30-05-2020, 09:17 PM
Good to hear Chippy that you are the bigger person and prepared to move on.Thanks and Cheers
30-05-2020, 09:30 PM
Would love all the clubs to take them up on their generous offer of free covid testing equipment and then vote them down!
No strings attached
The silly twits arent giving their fans refunds for the remaining season games but could now “afford” to give all the lower league clubs, like them, £35-40k for covid testing
What a ****ing shower of dafties
I'm wondering if Phil Anthropist's offer is only to fund the second tier and is caused by Queen of the South saying they can't afford to play behind closed doors. The suggested solution to that appears to be an eighteen game season starting in January.
That would be a disaster for Hearts because they need the income from a full season to pay their inflated wages. The full season improves their chances of finishing top due to the depth in their squad, whereas a few bad results in a shortened season could leave them in the playoffs.
30-05-2020, 10:23 PM
Fascinating. I think you need help.
I’m fine thanks. You’re the one banging the Budge bongos.
30-05-2020, 11:50 PM
Hearts fans allover this on kickback lots of tick tocking going on
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/premiership-restart-plan-jeopardy-skint-22113923?1
30-05-2020, 11:54 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/premiership-restart-plan-jeopardy-skint-22113923?1
Hearts fans are ****ing idiots.
31-05-2020, 04:35 AM
Well thank goodness for hearts extremely generous offer, via Their numerous benefactors and philanthropists, to provide free covid testing kits and Ppe equipment for all clubs - no strings attached!
Ian Maxwell said a week ago the SFA would help with costs and anticipated the testing could actually be done for less than half the £4500.
Well thank goodness for hearts extremely generous offer, via Their numerous benefactors and philanthropists, to provide free covid testing kits and Ppe equipment for all clubs - no strings attached!
Maybe they're offloading a batch of face masks which with no strings attached are useless. :cb
31-05-2020, 05:05 AM
Maybe they're offloading a batch of face masks which with no strings attached are useless. :cb
The hearts of facemasks
31-05-2020, 07:14 AM
All I can say is that people on this board and Scottish football in general have very very short memories. It’s only a few years since Hearts were last relegated and the top flight of the domestic game was almost destroyed by the lack of the maroon pound back then. Now here we are in the covid era, where everything is so much more precarious, signing our own death warrant.
The top league done without Hibs, hearts and Rangers a few year ago.
Pretty sure it will survive without the smallest of those three.
Once they’ve gone will anyone notice they’ve gone?
31-05-2020, 09:19 AM
I just had a look at the Premiership for season 20/21. I didn't notice that anything had gone and it looks to be in robust health for a competitive season with no obvious weak links.
Hibeesforever
31-05-2020, 09:23 AM
Why do we need tests carried out anyway. Nice to have but not essential. If we are in Phase 2 then players are just like the normal population
31-05-2020, 09:23 AM
Budge is increasingly bewildered and confused it seems.
On Sportsound she said that ‘we wouldn’t hear a peep from her’ if Hearts had finished 12th after 38 games.
Therefore, all this bluster about reconstruction being essential for the Scottish game has just been a total distraction.
The only reason she is pursuing this is because she thinks it’s ‘unfair’.
31-05-2020, 09:28 AM
On Sportsound she said that ‘we wouldn’t hear a peep from her’ if Hearts had finished 12th after 38 games.
Therefore, all this bluster about reconstruction being essential for the Scottish game has just been a total distraction.
A more contradictory person you’ll never meet.
31-05-2020, 09:56 AM
Hearts are only relevant to their own fans and us with being city neighbours and the comedy value. Nobody else gives a flying **** about them. Sooner they realise that the better. They're just a wee yo-yo club from Gorgie
Box 17
31-05-2020, 10:01 AM
She's got the baying fans pushing her to do and say things she doesn't really believe in and are doomed to failure. Budge also knows that she needs to be seen to be doing something because otherwise the focus will switch to her disastrous management of the footballing department and how they found themselves being the worst team in the league, in spite of the millions spent.
There is not going to be an easy way out for her and when the penny drops with the Gorgie hordes, one way or another she will be hounded out of Tynecastle very soon.
James Stephen
31-05-2020, 10:22 AM
So on the one hand, Budge is offering to facilitate a multi-million pound injection into Scottish football for purely philanthropic reasons.
On the other hand, she is threatening expensive legal action if the other clubs dont agree to her plans.
And she doesnt see how this is at best, a contradictory position, at worst could be construed as coercion or bribery?
Wakeyhibee
31-05-2020, 10:32 AM
It's been acknowledged that the current situation is the "least unfair" way to resolve it. The vote and decisions have been vindicated in that returning to football is still not guaranteed until 1st August at the earlier. Resuming would have taken us into October easy.
She's been asked to come up with an alternative. Not unreasonable considering the vast majority and the SPFL board thought that they had taken the best or only available option. The ones she's put forward have been dismissed, not out of malice, out of choice for their own circumstances.
And now this has been added. There's a good reason Doncaster mentioned "another Chairman" in his response (witness most likely), and the reference to 'now' no strings intimates there was before.
It's to be seen which blind alley she wants to go down now. Any positives/investment will be without conditions she's said that on national radio.
31-05-2020, 10:57 AM
The longer Budge has her eye off the ball dreaming up rediculous proposals etc the more Hearts are going to toil in the Championship. Her full focus should be on making sure everyone at that club are geared up for promotion
31-05-2020, 11:08 AM
The longer Budge has her eye off the ball dreaming up rediculous proposals etc the more Hearts are going to toil in the Championship. Her full focus should be on making sure everyone at that club are geared up for promotion
They haven't got a Manger, they haven't got a DOF or director of sports, they have lost the guy who headed up their medical department and lost a guy who played FM at home scouting players 😂😂 they are an absolute basket case.
Just as well Budge can multi task 😂
They haven't got a Manger, they haven't got a DOF or director of sports, they have lost the guy who headed up their medical department and lost a guy who played FM at home scouting players 😂😂 they are an absolute basket case.
Or no crib for a bed.
31-05-2020, 11:25 AM
Did Levein head up their medical dept?
31-05-2020, 11:36 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/ann-budge-reveals-craig-levein-role-hearts-plan-revamp-medical-department-bid-reduce-injuries-1361184
Yip, headline on Jan 10 2020 EEN
Ann Budge reveals Craig Levein role as Hearts plan revamp of medical department in bid to reduce injuries
31-05-2020, 11:55 AM
A more contradictory person you’ll never meet.
I have and a more dangerous obfuscator you could not find.
Never on budget
Never on time
Never as specified
Scope creep
Underhanded "interventions"
Sneering dismisal of contractual obligations
Alison Newell was the brains, she was just the blunt edged bodger.
If you ever had business dealings you'll recognise the pattern.
31-05-2020, 12:15 PM
Exactly and we survived three years in the Championship and Won The Scottish Cup the Hard way
31-05-2020, 12:43 PM
Seems like the supreme multi-tasker who gladly took the role of co-chairing the reconstruction task force and promised swift results is in fact a somewhat confused old fool who likes to blame everyone else for her own failings.
Her amateurish proposal (delayed again and again, then half-baked and full of contradictions) is astonishing and beggars belief.
31-05-2020, 02:08 PM
I’m fine thanks. You’re the one banging the Budge bongos.
Craig Levein will be getting jealous...
Thief
31-05-2020, 02:25 PM
Or no crib for a bed.
[emoji23][emoji23]
zitelli62
31-05-2020, 03:29 PM
Will be like dominic Cummings everyone will have forgotten about it in 2 weeks time.
31-05-2020, 05:45 PM
King Kenny says relegate Hearts
https://www.sundaypost.com/fp/the-covid-19-crisis-has-us-all-thinking-differently-and-could-lead-the-old-firm-to-england/
31-05-2020, 05:54 PM
Will be like dominic Cummings everyone will have forgotten about it in 2 weeks time.
Na
The sink hearts have caused and the way they have spoken and treated to treat the SPFL and the clubs will not be forgotten in a rush
https://www.sundaypost.com/fp/the-covid-19-crisis-has-us-all-thinking-differently-and-could-lead-the-old-firm-to-england/
Exactly what loads and loads of people have said.
Hearts have been relegated just like the worst team does every year.
ICT and Dundee would have the right to promote.
No gonna happen though.
No to reconstruction.
31-05-2020, 08:48 PM
This Hearts team will deservedly find itself in the record books.
They will be the team that got relegated the most times in one season.
01-06-2020, 05:22 AM
So is today the day where hearts are finally told to bolt?
It should be but you know what this saga has been like.
Every chance each league talks last till the end of the week.
They’ll then set a date for a vote which will most likely be in another couple of weeks.
Fuzzywuzzy
01-06-2020, 05:56 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/james-anderson-unmasked-hearts-mystery-22117108
Pretty sure budge would not have wanted this coming out just now while she seemingly tried to control things.
01-06-2020, 06:10 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/james-anderson-unmasked-hearts-mystery-22117108
Pretty sure budge would not have wanted this coming out just now while she seemingly tried to control things.
Thing is if clubs were even given money in Scotland / I would make a condition it has to be used in infrastructure or something that would benefit the game long term.
Chucking 6k a week at Boyce or a similar is just a waste. Clubs should use it to bring old stadiums up to date etc.
Donation of money or not - Hearts still are relegated and I expect the proposal to fail spectacularly today.
01-06-2020, 06:19 AM
Well blow me it was a Baillie Gifford partner after all. Hats off to all those who said so. He must be regretting how the money was wasted at Hearts. No wonder he wants to help the the game in general now
James Stephen
01-06-2020, 06:23 AM
Fair play to the guy, sounds like a very good egg.
A good guy for Hearts to have in their corner.
01-06-2020, 07:04 AM
Well blow me it was a Baillie Gifford partner after all. Hats off to all those who said so. He must be regretting how the money was wasted at Hearts. No wonder he wants to help the the game in general now
The DR story shows that, yet again, the media seem to have difficulty in distinguishing between personal wealth and wealth managed by an investment fund. But Amazon, Tesla and Facebook are not bad investments in this current crisis.
01-06-2020, 07:07 AM
The DR story shows that, yet again, the media seem to have difficulty in distinguishing between personal wealth and wealth managed by an investment fund. But Amazon, Tesla and Facebook are not bad investments in this current crisis.On the other hand, his investment in Hearts was not such an inspired decision.
01-06-2020, 07:29 AM
On the other hand, his investment in Hearts was not such an inspired decision.
Amazed he is considering more investment. Just as well for Hearts he did.
01-06-2020, 07:32 AM
Stopped reading at Old Firm to England
For this to cone out today when it could have been any day in the last few years?
It just looks like bribery.
01-06-2020, 07:36 AM
So when he started to sponsor Scottish Opera etc did he ask a 3rd party to broker the deal then or did he do what would be seen as normal and go direct to the organisation? Fair play to him for all of that stuff but this is a bit suspicious in my eyes.
01-06-2020, 07:39 AM
And another thing, where was his philanthropy when charities, the NHS and many many small businesses were owed money by hearts? He could have bought them, glad he didn't to be honest as he would probably have done better than budge, but this all looks a bit sneaky.
01-06-2020, 07:44 AM
And another thing, where was his philanthropy when charities, the NHS and many many small businesses were owed money by hearts? He could have bought them, glad he didn't to be honest as he would probably have done better than budge, but this all looks a bit sneaky.
It does, it's the Hearts way.
One way or other the delay in finalising all this will have been used by Budge to wring concessions out of clubs, she's failed and it's likely there'll be another round of manipulation on the back of this incredibly coincidental announcement.
01-06-2020, 07:50 AM
So when he started to sponsor Scottish Opera etc did he ask a 3rd party to broker the deal then or did he do what would be seen as normal and go direct to the organisation? Fair play to him for all of that stuff but this is a bit suspicious in my eyes.
It's not even suspicious, it's blatant.
I the document she submitted she said that Hearts would help other clubs with testing but they could only do so if they were in the top league.
Now, by chance or design, she's had to reveal the source of the backing and he's having to go along with the "no strings" thing.
01-06-2020, 07:51 AM
This has made relegation a certainty now. No way could the SFA or The SPFL be seen to be allowing a club to buy their way out of a relegation. The repercussions would last a long time and do irreparable damage to the Scottish game.
This move has sent Hearts down.
01-06-2020, 07:53 AM
Hopefully this just allows their Championship season to be played out in full then. Be hilarious if they managed to **** it up and stayed down.
Green Blood
01-06-2020, 08:01 AM
The following statements are from excerpts from todays papers. It suddenly has dawned on me that the SPFL and Doncaster himself is desperate for reconstruction. Him hosting three way meets by zoom or phone is clearly an attempt to bully lower league chairmen into agreeing with Budge's proposal! That explains why the SPFL are giving her all these opportunities, sickening really!
SPFL figures behind the scenes are trying to influence clubs to vote for the proposal but it still looks to end in disappointment for Budge. - Daily Record
He (Doncaster) wrote: “I have had a number of conversations with Ann this week, including one that also involved another club chairman.”
That’s a reminder to Budge that there was a witness to the discussions in the shape of Alloa (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/alloa-athletic-fc)’s Mike Mulraney. - Daily Record
01-06-2020, 08:06 AM
Tbf someone in his position sponsoring opera is different to putting money into a football club given the emotions football stirs, for that reason I can see why he wanted to remain anonymous and is probably less than happy that his identity has now been revealed. Possibly his offer to inject money into the lower leagues was with no strings attached all along but Budge saw the opportunity to use it to her/Hearts advantage.
Money can’t buy everything.
01-06-2020, 08:13 AM
Tbf someone in his position sponsoring opera is different to putting money into a football club given the emotions football stirs, for that reason I can see why he wanted to remain anonymous and is probably less than happy that his identity has now been revealed. Possibly his offer to inject money into the lower leagues was with no strings attached all along but Budge saw the opportunity to use it to her/Hearts advantage.
He could still have been anonymous and contacted Doncaster directly. I don't think for a minute that there was an initial no strings conversation. I think there would have been a giant ripe involved to start with and that would have been to keep the cheating *******s in the premier league. There is nothing that those lying cheating poppy theiving ****s wouldn't do
The Count
01-06-2020, 08:15 AM
Scottish football needs the money and it would be very welcome to help us through this pandemic.But at what cost to the integrity of the game ??? Very difficult position if this millions of pounds donation is true.There will be indirect strings attached to favour Hearts or no donation in my opinion.So what is best for Scottish football ? Integrity or cash??
01-06-2020, 08:22 AM
He has pumped serious money into the hertz, and has seemingly offered a serious amount to keep Scottish fitba in the lower leagues going, he cant be seen to be bribing the SPFL. As someone has earlier said, "hertz are down" theres no saving them.
Now is the time where folk with money need to open their wallets and are seen to be helping society as a whole, whether its saving the game , donating to food banks, the NHS etc,, everyone that can make a difference should be doing it now. Well done tae the guy.
01-06-2020, 08:29 AM
He could still have been anonymous and contacted Doncaster directly. I don't think for a minute that there was an initial no strings conversation. I think there would have been a giant ripe involved to start with and that would have been to keep the cheating *******s in the premier league. There is nothing that those lying cheating poppy theiving ****s wouldn't do
Yes he could but I’m sure Budge would have been happy to act the big one and be seen to be “saving Scottish football” by getting her friend to invest in it and all the while use it to her advantage and get her grubby club back in the top league. I totally agree with your last sentence. I’m not convinced tho if he contacted Doncaster direct his identity would have remained secret, by going through Budge he perhaps expected it would.
01-06-2020, 08:32 AM
It is a bribe
If every court case was so simple. “Is this a bribe?”......”No M’lud”.....”oh, ok then”.
Expect a few lower league clubs softening their stance to reconstruction in the coming days.
01-06-2020, 08:33 AM
Think you are spot on hence the clarification required from Doncaster needing to be no strings. Assumption being initial discussion was playing on the Heartstrings. :greengrin
Lee Marvin
01-06-2020, 08:40 AM
It is a bribe
If every court case was so simple. “Is this a bribe?”......”No M’lud”.....”oh, ok then”.
Expect a few lower league clubs softening their stance to reconstruction in the coming days.
No chance. Too many have stated their position and every single stakeholder of Scottish football knows reconstruction is doomed.
Any radical change in this, along with millions from Anderson, would be seen as nothing other than bribery. I am sure the clubs wouldn't care, however James Anderson would never get involved in a scandal like that. Absolutely no chance!!
This has finally sealed their fate - however they now have a chance of actually having a league to play in next year.
One guy having more pocket change money than all the bottom leagues.
This is nuts.
01-06-2020, 09:09 AM
For this to cone out today when it could have been any day in the last few years?
It just looks like bribery.
That’s because it is He could of chosen to sponsorScottish Football at any point over the last few years as i hasn’t been awash with money
But all if a sudden it’s now when Budge has exhausted other avenues
It stinks
But if it can be spectated from any pre conditions that any investment only happens if Hearts are reinstated to Top League fair enough
But this could well mean more time is needed to work through how this could be used
So will be very interested in today’s statement after clubs meet or video conference
01-06-2020, 09:13 AM
That wouldn't have made any difference to the creditors who lost out.
01-06-2020, 09:22 AM
It's clear now that there can't be conditions put on the donation so the SPFL should accept the money, use it to support all the clubs getting the league started again, and be grateful for it.
I don't think we need to look for ulterior motives when it's offered like that, if anything it makes it harder to do what Hearts want otherwise there will be justifiable calls of bribery.
01-06-2020, 09:41 AM
No chance. Too many have stated their position and every single stakeholder of Scottish football knows reconstruction is doomed.
Any radical change in this, along with millions from Anderson, would be seen as nothing other than bribery. I am sure the clubs wouldn't care, however James Anderson would never get involved in a scandal like that. Absolutely no chance!!
This has finally sealed their fate - however they now have a chance of actually having a league to play in next year.
Your faith in the integrity of wealthy financiers and investment companies is a credit to you. I don’t share it.
Sergio sledge
01-06-2020, 09:41 AM
I think he's realised that reconstruction isn't happening and that Hearts are goosed if they can't play a full season in the championship so Budge has convinced him this is needed to try to get a full season going in the championship and prevent them from having another admin.
It's either give a couple of £M to prop up the other clubs or watch Hearts go into admin and FOH or Budge or AN other have to pony up again to get Hearts through another CVA/admin process and back challenging.
01-06-2020, 10:32 AM
Jim McInally directed an accusation of bullying towards Ann Budge in forcing reconstruction to save Hearts, this now has merit to it.
01-06-2020, 11:07 AM
Bully Budge
01-06-2020, 11:15 AM
Bully Budge
A finger of Budge is just enough to bully the teams below?
Gloucester Hibs
01-06-2020, 11:27 AM
🤢
01-06-2020, 11:32 AM
I think he's realised that reconstruction isn't happening and that Hearts are goosed if they can't play a full season in the championship so Budge has convinced him this is needed to try to get a full season going in the championship and prevent them from having another admin.
It's either give a couple of £M to prop up the other clubs or watch Hearts go into admin and FOH or Budge or AN other have to pony up again to get Hearts through another CVA/admin process and back challenging.
How far will a couple of £M go though? If it's restricted to the championship clubs it's £200,000 each and that's not going to last long without paying customers if continual covid testing is required on top of players wages.
Doncaster should undoubtedly be carrying out the procedures needed to allow any money that's on offer to get to the SPFL for distribution, but I don't think it's realistic to try to start playing any of the three lower divisions until crowds are allowed back into grounds. Until then their best plan is to keep spending down to the minimum. That means releasing anyone who's out of contract and keeping any who remain on furlough for as long as the facility continues.
The tv deal is for the premier so it's worth trying to get that under way from August.
Even when crowds get back there could well be restrictions on numbers. I see that Poland is allowing 25% of ground capacity at games. That would actually work ok at most league 1 and 2 clubs, but would restrict admittance to the championship - it's the most vulnerable division.
01-06-2020, 11:44 AM
How far will a couple of £M go though? If it's restricted to the championship clubs it's £200,000 each and that's not going to last long without paying customers if continual covid testing is required on top of players wages.
Doncaster should undoubtedly be carrying out the procedures needed to allow any money that's on offer to get to the SPFL for distribution, but I don't think it's realistic to try to start playing any of the three lower divisions until crowds are allowed back into grounds. Until then their best plan is to keep spending down to the minimum. That means releasing anyone who's out of contract and keeping any who remain on furlough for as long as the facility continues.
The tv deal is for the premier so it's worth trying to get that under way from August.
Even when crowds get back there could well be restrictions on numbers. I see that Poland is allowing 25% of ground capacity at games. That would actually work ok at most league 1 and 2 clubs, but would restrict admittance to the championship - it's the most vulnerable division.
I estimate championship clubs need a million to survive a season without gate money - based on 18 home games, average attendance of 2,000 and £20 per head spent on tickets etc.
Pinkie
01-06-2020, 11:48 AM
I like it! Can I suggest a couple more lines?:
A finger of Budge is just enough to bully the teams below,
A finger of Budge is just enough to try to run the show,
It's full of dubious sub-text and passive aggresive woe, oh
A finger of Budge is just enough to bully the teams below!
Please stop the finger of Budge stuff. Just had my lunch.
01-06-2020, 12:01 PM
What time is today's meeting to discuss her latest re-organisation proposal?
01-06-2020, 12:06 PM
😂😂
Although not sure how I feel about ‘A finger of Fudge’ being sung by someone called Pinkie... 🤭😂😂
01-06-2020, 12:13 PM
I was just about to post this.
Bung, bung, bung let me hear you say wayo....wayo.
01-06-2020, 12:36 PM
Thank god you said of and not in...I'm eating my lunch🤑
01-06-2020, 12:40 PM
Bung, bung, bung let me hear you say wayo....wayo.
If I remember rightly Scott "Lets Make Some Noise" Wilson used to play that at Claymores games...
01-06-2020, 12:41 PM
I don’t think anyone knows exact times other than “today”. Hopefully get some news this afternoon.
01-06-2020, 12:45 PM
Scottish football needs the money and it would be very welcome to help us through this pandemic.But at what cost to the integrity of the game ??? Very difficult position if this millions of pounds donation is true.There will be indirect strings attached to favour Hearts or no donation in my opinion.So what is best for Scottish football ? Integrity or cash??
If Anderson wants to fund Scottish football then why doesn’t his company sponsor the league? There’s no sponsor for next season...
inglisavhibs
01-06-2020, 12:52 PM
I was just about to post this.
There are meetings planned with each division. It’s Budge’s last throw of the dice, give up £1m of donations and save £3m by avoiding relegation. If this benefactor is so interested in the smaller clubs he could use the money to buy them all the testing kit to allow the teams get playing again. No chance of that of course.
01-06-2020, 01:07 PM
If Anderson wants to fund Scottish football then why doesn’t his company sponsor the league? There’s no sponsor for next season...
Because it’s not ‘his company’.
He’s a partner amongst many.
I would assume any money he has or will give to Hearts or Scottish Fitba’ will be his own.
01-06-2020, 01:25 PM
Because it’s not ‘his company’.
He’s a partner amongst many.
I would assume any money he has or will give to Hearts or Scottish Fitba’ will be his own.
Even then, surely BG wouldn’t be against what is essentially free sponsorship. If he is going to hand over stacks of his own cash anyway he’d surely be better promoting the firm he’s a partner of?
Or is it that he’s wanting something in return that BG wouldn’t want to be a part of.. for example, reconstruction.
01-06-2020, 01:37 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200601/2cc01ab787ac7fe7e9b7b362554a4b3b.jpg
Brilliant :thumbsup:
hibbyfraelibby:
Thank god you said of and not in...I'm eating my lunch
Sorry :na na:
Even then, surely BG wouldn’t be against what is essentially free sponsorship. If he is going to hand over stacks of his own cash anyway he’d surely be better promoting the firm he’s a partner of?
Or is it that he’s wanting something in return that BG wouldn’t want to be a part of.. for example, reconstruction.
Baillie Gifford is a group with a worldwide reputation.Don’t think sponsoring Scottish football will be on their agenda.
Would be hilarious if the SPFL put out another statement saying reconstruction is dead in the water. 😂😂😂
01-06-2020, 01:46 PM
Baillie Gifford is a group with a worldwide reputation.Don’t think sponsoring Scottish football will be on their agenda.
Just on that given the huge financial institutions in this country it is absolutely pathetic how little sponsorship is given to the national sport.
01-06-2020, 01:46 PM
Yeah this looks like theyve realised the lower leagues might not even get started so this is their latest throw of the dice.