View Full Version : NO to reconstruction
Renfrew_Hibby
01-06-2020, 01:49 PM
Just on that given the huge financial institutions in this country it is absolutely pathetic how little sponsorship is given to the national sport.
It's all golf and rugger buggers.
Has anyone got the irony that this development could mean all of the folllowing:-
1. All clubs able to play football - no forced reconstruction
2. We as a club benefit as well - more money for players
3. Less investment into Hearts - as he is helping other clubs
“Pleasing”
Benny Anderson was maybe going to help Scottish football all along.
Budge maybe using him to save a bit face.
01-06-2020, 02:02 PM
Budge saves no face. Fair play to JA if this goes ahead and it genuinely is NSA. Budge will have been a hindrance to the process, not a help.
01-06-2020, 02:03 PM
Even then, surely BG wouldn’t be against what is essentially free sponsorship. If he is going to hand over stacks of his own cash anyway he’d surely be better promoting the firm he’s a partner of?
Or is it that he’s wanting something in return that BG wouldn’t want to be a part of.. for example, reconstruction.
Well they would if they didn’t want their brand associated with it, be that ‘free’ or not.
I’m not sure a premium investment house brand like BG really see themselves as the name of lower league Scottish football.
01-06-2020, 02:04 PM
It's all golf and rugger buggers.
Even so you would still think something could have been sorted. Can't actually think of one deal at all.
01-06-2020, 02:05 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200601/ee4f997f56b5ab1df62d3b148e76b53a.jpg
So Budge out of the goodness of her heart(s) introduces this guy to Doncaster and he is putting in millions to Scottish football but there is nothing in it for Hearts?! Aye right.....
vuefrom1875
01-06-2020, 02:07 PM
So Budge out of the goodness of her heart(s) introduces this guy to Doncaster and he is putting in millions to Scottish football but there is nothing in it for Hearts?! Aye right.....
Smell a rat here🤔
01-06-2020, 02:07 PM
My thoughts exactly, and does Doncaster et al know this?!
Lee Marvin
01-06-2020, 02:11 PM
Looks like he may actually be the white knight that Scottish football has been needing.
It's going to be great when his money help Hibs fulfil fixtures in the top flight next season - Hearts fans will probably turn against him....:greengrin
It’s the timing that bothers me.
Just get the reconstruction proposal in the bin.
That’s where it was going today.
01-06-2020, 02:16 PM
If this guy's money keeps several of our clubs from going out of business then that has to be a good thing.
Lee Marvin
01-06-2020, 02:16 PM
There is something in it for Hearts, which is the ability to play games next season. Without this money, they wouldn't be able to do so.
I believe he was waiting to see if Hearts could be saved from relegation. If they could, he would have provided the capital directly to them as he has done the last 4 years. However, when it became clear that this was not going to happen, he has decided to use the money to ensure they don't have to mothball for a season which could potentially lead to administration. This may be way off, but it's where I am at just now.
One thing is clear though, this will not save Hearts as that would be bribery. James Anderson does not want, nor need, the kickback from that on his plate.
Hearts are down, but they will be able to play.
There is something in it for Hearts, which is the ability to play games next season. Without this money, they wouldn't be able to do so.
I believe he was waiting to see if Hearts could be saved from relegation. If they could, he would have provided the capital directly to them as he has done the last 4 years. However, when it became clear that this was not going to happen, he has decided to use the money to ensure they don't have to mothball for a season which could potentially lead to administration. This may be way off, but it's where I am at just now.
One thing is clear though, this will not save Hearts as that would be bribery. James Anderson does not want, nor need, the kickback from that on his plate.
I can see your points but I will believe it when Hearts kick off in the Championship - so after Hearts feel they have been shafted by Scottish football this guy who funds them decided to help everyone out with his cash?
Why not just keep Hearts going and laugh when the other clubs fold?
Also if he has enough money to fund Scottish football he surely has enough to keep Hearts out of administration for a year?
01-06-2020, 02:26 PM
I’m leaning towards this way of thinking too. It makes more sense to me than Hearts/JA openly bribing clubs with support from the SPFL.
hibeerealist
01-06-2020, 02:27 PM
I think that is very logical and most likely on the button. If they had no games until Jan at least they would be bang in trouble.
01-06-2020, 02:41 PM
And I’m sure he will holding a wedge back for the flumps so that they can walk the league and guarantee SPL return all singing & dancing.
Another thing that does not make sense - where was he with his cash in regards to hard up Jambo's getting a refund of the season ticket home games that were missed at the end of the season? That would be spare change to someone like him surely?
01-06-2020, 02:48 PM
:singing:
"So when you're near me, darling can't you hear me, S.O.S"
:brokenyam:
:singing:
"So when you're near me, darling can't you hear me, S.O.S"
:brokenyam:
“The cash you gave us, nothing else can save us. S.O.S”
Gloucester Hibs
01-06-2020, 02:52 PM
Another thing that does not make sense - where was he with his cash in regards to hard up Jambo's getting a refund of the season ticket home games that were missed at the end of the season? That would be spare change to someone like him surely?
Also the enforced player wage cuts. You’d have thought a benevolent chap like him might have stepped in at either of those points.. 🤔
01-06-2020, 02:56 PM
It might be that the Benny’s are only happy giving funds for infrastructure/ capital investment rather than day to day funding of the club?
01-06-2020, 02:57 PM
Just on that given the huge financial institutions in this country it is absolutely pathetic how little sponsorship is given to the national sport.
Maybe nowadays but when Bank of Scotland existed they sponsored the Premier League for a number of years.They also sponsored all the international age group teams below senior level as well as youth athletics,rugby and cricket.
01-06-2020, 03:00 PM
This stinks to high heaven
There's no such thing as a free lunch
God knows I suppose but I got a bad feeling about this - wouldn't surprise me if they say that Budges plan is rejected but new reconstruction talks are ongoing and we end up with Hearts saved. Money talks
Lets face it if hearts did get saved it would be plain bribery.
The reconstruction bid went down the pan like everyone said it would.
01-06-2020, 03:03 PM
These investment talks should have zero connection with reconstruction talks/voting.
01-06-2020, 03:05 PM
Something's not right, maybe it's the cynic in me. Maybe i'm paranoid.
I thought today was the day that reconstruction was finally thrown out? If not, why not?
1. Why has the reconstruction talks not concluded before discussing this investment?
2. Is this total coincidence that the major investor in Hearts is offering to invest in Scottish football on the day that reconstruction talks are due to be put to bed?
3. Is this really an impartial investment? Who says it is apart from Ann Budge.....! :fibber:
4. Who's monitoring/witnessing the discussions between Doncaster/Anderson?
5. Is this investment likely to influence voting on reconstruction, how can we tell?
EI255
01-06-2020, 03:05 PM
Smell a rat here[emoji848]100%
Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
01-06-2020, 03:06 PM
These investment talks should have zero connection with reconstruction talks/voting.
It’s the only reason the SPFL were open to it. Before Saturday they were of the opinion that the money was available but only under certain circumstances (i.e Hearts get bumped up to the Premiership via reconstruction) which is why it hadn’t been entertained by them.
Lee Marvin
01-06-2020, 03:07 PM
Something's not right, maybe it's the cynic in me. Maybe i'm paranoid.
I thought today was the day that reconstruction was finally thrown out? If not, why not?
1. Why has the reconstruction talks not concluded before discussing this investment?
2. Is this total coincidence that the major investor in Hearts is offering to invest in Scottish football on the day that reconstruction talks are due to be put to bed?
3. Is this really an impartial investment? Who says it is apart from Ann Budge.....! :fibber:
4. Who's monitoring/witnessing the discussions between Doncaster/Anderson?
5. Is this investment likely to influence voting on reconstruction, how can we tell?
Point 5. Easy - if it goes through its bribery. If it doesn't, it has not influenced it
Fuzzywuzzy
01-06-2020, 03:08 PM
Have they ever mentioned to their fans about a refund for the rest of the season? Livi had told hearts fans to go to hearts for refunds as they hadn't handed the money over for ticket sales
01-06-2020, 03:09 PM
This money isn’t going to change the opinions of the clubs throughout the leagues. They’ll be delighted and it might help them play through till crowds can come back. AB’s reconstruction proposal still has the same glaring faults as before, a bung won’t fix them.
01-06-2020, 03:14 PM
This money isn’t going to change the opinions of the clubs throughout the leagues. They’ll be delighted and it might help them play through till crowds can come back. AB’s reconstruction proposal still has the same glaring faults as before, a bung won’t fix them.
Hope you're right Heisenberg
01-06-2020, 03:16 PM
Hope you're right Heisenberg
So do I :greengrin
That old saying springs to mind "you scratch my back and I'll scratch your back"
The Count
01-06-2020, 03:28 PM
Hope reconstruction of the leagues is binned today.Then we will really see if this offer is totally independant of Hearts.The longer this goes on the more suspicious i will get.
01-06-2020, 03:28 PM
Maybe nowadays but when Bank of Scotland existed they sponsored the Premier League for a number of years.They also sponsored all the international age group teams below senior level as well as youth athletics,rugby and cricket.
Can't remember that they did well for certain clubs who subsequently went pop did they not?
01-06-2020, 03:31 PM
Baillie Gifford is a group with a worldwide reputation.Don’t think sponsoring Scottish football will be on their agenda.
They usually sponsor the Edinburgh book festival which is cancelled so that money is available.
01-06-2020, 03:34 PM
“The cash you gave us, nothing else can save us. S.O.S”
When you're gone, how can I even try to go on....er quite easily! My my
Greenworld
01-06-2020, 03:49 PM
Were the premier clubs not speaking today ?
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
chippy
01-06-2020, 03:51 PM
Hope reconstruction of the leagues is binned today.Then we will really see if this offer is totally independant of Hearts.The longer this goes on the more suspicious i will get.
I’ve been in favour of permanent reconstruction but this stinks to high heaven. Got to be strings attached somewhere, maybe not now but in the future. Spfl got to be careful, but yes relegate Hearts and call BGs bluff. He’ll help fund Hearts Championship rivals .... I can’t see that.
01-06-2020, 03:56 PM
Were the premier clubs not speaking today ?
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Meant to be, nothing’s come out yet though.
01-06-2020, 04:00 PM
I'm now beginning to think she is ill. Seriously. her flip-flopping, desperate and nonsensical ramblings were funny to start with, but she sounds like someone who needs medical help.
Correct! Budge said on Saturday that she wants to keep the conversation going on reconstruction. Clearly what she is doing here is trying to morph the discussions on reconstruction and funding for clubs into one.
So clubs become less concerned about their finances and become more inclined to vote through reconstruction.
The longer these discussions drag on the more likely reconstruction will happen.
01-06-2020, 04:06 PM
They also lavishly funded Rangers while at the same time trying to close down Celtic.
01-06-2020, 04:10 PM
Correct! Budge said on Saturday that she wants to keep the conversation going on reconstruction. Clearly what she is doing here is trying to morph the discussions on reconstruction and funding for clubs into one.
So clubs become less concerned about their finances and become more inclined to vote through reconstruction.
The longer these discussions drag on the more likely reconstruction will happen.
Being able to play games next season thanks to this money isn’t going to make clubs suddenly vote for AB’s proposal. It’s a shambles. That’s not to say some other sort of reconstruction plan could be brought forward but it’ll need to be a whole lot better than what she’s produced. The SPFL are only happy to accept this money from JA on the basis that it’s purely no strings attached, anything else wouldn’t be entertained.
TheDude
01-06-2020, 04:10 PM
Just clicked on this thread for the first time.
The anonymous donations came from a few partners at Baillie Gifford.
No speculation or rumour, 100% fact.
Not sure how much, I was told they put in a couple of million. Couldn't tell you the exact number though.
Have you seen the social make up of the partners at Baillie Gifford? unlikely football fans never mind Yams. The Dude a Jambo sleeper?
What was that?
Thought prem clubs were meeting today? What happened to that?
Wakeyhibee
01-06-2020, 04:29 PM
:agree: removes obstacles from the lower divisions. The SPFL can take money quite legitimately as no decision made at the time.
This is gonna rumble for a couple of weeks at least.
01-06-2020, 04:33 PM
Meant to be, nothing’s come out yet though.
As said before, something stinks
01-06-2020, 04:34 PM
What was that?
I think you should have added a big smiley to the post, really rub it in.
01-06-2020, 04:34 PM
This is ****ing ridiculous
These are 2 separate matters
Thank you for the offer to assist clubs with this equipment
No we’re not reconstructing the league to benefit 1 poorly managed club
01-06-2020, 04:35 PM
If reconstruction gets the go ahead, us fans have been taken for complete mugs
It cant go ahead.
It was dead in the water when jambo moneybags was thrown at the locked doors of the last chance saloon.
Aldoo
01-06-2020, 04:48 PM
Surely now it is even more important than ever that reconstruction doesn’t go through. If Andersons money comes through and we stay as is then it’s hats off to him.
If reconstruction was to suddenly occur now after it was roundly suggested by the overwhelming majority that it was a total no it would leave all involved wide open to accusations of improper behaviour no matter how it’s presented to fans.
TheDude
01-06-2020, 04:49 PM
I think you should have added a big smiley to the post, really rub it in.
Feels like an opportunity lost now!
Hibeesforever
01-06-2020, 04:49 PM
Clearly the SPFL is trying to keep silent until all divisions have discussed the reconstruction proposal...good luck with that, sure it will leak out shortly.
The Count
01-06-2020, 04:54 PM
Surely now it is even more important than ever that reconstruction doesn’t go through. If Andersons money comes through and we stay as is then it’s hats off to him.
If reconstruction was to suddenly occur now after it was roundly suggested by the overwhelming majority that it was a total no it would leave all involved wide open to accusations of improper behaviour no matter how it’s presented to fans.
Spot on this would just be sporting bribery by the back door.
01-06-2020, 06:08 PM
Clearly the SPFL is trying to keep silent until all divisions have discussed the reconstruction proposal...good luck with that, sure it will leak out shortly.
That though is what is required.
Let all four divisions have their separate discussions this week, then announce that all four have rejected the reconstruction proposal. That, combined with the need to release the fixtures for next season, will kill off any chance Budge has of getting reconstruction for season 20/21.
If she raises the subject again, tell her she's got until 31 December to research and fully develop a comprehensive proposal for season 21/22.
Bit gutted we cant use Benny Factor anymore.
01-06-2020, 06:28 PM
Bit gutted we cant use Benny Factor anymore.It isn't only one person.
If Anderson wants to fund Scottish football then why doesn’t his company sponsor the league? There’s no sponsor for next season...
BG would go nowhere near Scottish Football and definitely nothing to do with Hearts given their previous history.
Let all four divisions have their separate discussions this week, then announce that all four have rejected the reconstruction proposal. That, combined with the need to release the fixtures for next season, will kill off any chance Budge has of getting reconstruction for season 20/21.
If she raises the subject again, tell her she's got until 31 December to research and fully develop a comprehensive proposal for season 21/22.
Wait until the multiple millions are in the bank and then confirm reconstruction has been voted against. Then announce top legal team are on standby.
01-06-2020, 07:03 PM
BG would go nowhere near Scottish Football and definitely nothing to do with Hearts given their previous history.
BG already provide sponsorship to Hearts for some of their community work.
“Heart of Midlothian has announced the launch of a pioneering new Innovation Centre at the recently redeveloped Tynecastle Park.
The Innovation Centre, which is sponsored by Baillie Gifford, aims to promote community cohesion by helping people and businesses develop important skills. It is hoped that it will play an important role in helping to regenerate the local area.” - 29/05/19
https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/article/heart-of-midlothian-to-launch-pioneering-new-innovation-centre
01-06-2020, 07:56 PM
If she raises it again she should be told to get to f***
Caversham Green
01-06-2020, 08:00 PM
Bit gutted we cant use Benny Factor anymore.
We can use Benny Anderson - let the ABBA puns flow.
Mind you, Annie-Frayed hasn't aged well.
BG already provide sponsorship to Hearts for some of their community work.
“Heart of Midlothian has announced the launch of a pioneering new Innovation Centre at the recently redeveloped Tynecastle Park.
The Innovation Centre, which is sponsored by Baillie Gifford, aims to promote community cohesion by helping people and businesses develop important skills. It is hoped that it will play an important role in helping to regenerate the local area.” - 29/05/19
https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/article/heart-of-midlothian-to-launch-pioneering-new-innovation-centre
One does stand corrected and I should have looked a bit better.
In my defence it is more community based than football (although it’s hearts) if you get what I mean.
I don’t think I’ll be mentioning this to my BG chums! Oops [emoji2359]
01-06-2020, 08:01 PM
🤣🤣🤣
Theres one Bjorn every minute
We already did a hibs.net rendition of S.O.S earlier.
01-06-2020, 09:09 PM
The winner takes it all.......the losers 'get ejected'🤣
01-06-2020, 09:15 PM
One does stand corrected and I should have looked a bit better.
In my defence it is more community based than football (although it’s hearts) if you get what I mean.
I don’t think I’ll be mentioning this to my BG chums! Oops [emoji2359]
It is part of the PR marketing of very rich successful companies. Drop a few pennies into the community to help their image while top staff take millions every year in reward.
Box 17
01-06-2020, 09:21 PM
Ann's about to meet her Waterloo.
AltheHibby
01-06-2020, 09:25 PM
Ann's about to meet her Waterloo.
As long as the loo has been cleaned since Craigie boy was there...
The Count
01-06-2020, 09:26 PM
Well BG really want to be connected tbrough an employee to a bribe if the leagues are reconstructed and Hearts are saved.Yes they would want the good publicity of an employee helping to save Scottish football but not any bad publicity if it looks dodgy dealings.
01-06-2020, 09:39 PM
12 premiership clubs need to send their intentions via email to the spfl by Friday according to the daily record.
I see the article also says the SPFL could have been due to pay back Sky £5.5m but Doncaster is close to finalising an agreement on £1.5m which will be spread over 5 years. Sounds like a good deal. Maybe Budge will be a philanthropist and waive her parachute payment to cover the 1st instalment.
01-06-2020, 10:52 PM
Some pretty outlandish conspiracy theories on this thread. Pretty embarrassing imo and some of it is the kind of pish I’d expect to see on keechboak. Crazy stuff.
01-06-2020, 10:59 PM
I see the article also says the SPFL could have been due to pay back Sky £5.5m but Doncaster is close to finalising an agreement on £1.5m which will be spread over 5 years. Sounds like a good deal. Maybe Budge will be a philanthropist and waive her parachute payment to cover the 1st instalment.
That would the right and proper thing to do after all the kefuffle she’s caused.
If she says sorry and promises never to do it again, we will say no more about it.
01-06-2020, 11:19 PM
The winner takes it all.......the losers 'get ejected'🤣
Money, Money, Money it's a rich man's game....
01-06-2020, 11:28 PM
I think more so now than ever, HMFC will get their reconstruction and be saved from the drop. Reconstruction was booted weeks ago but here we are again stuck in Groundhog Day while the can keeps getting kicked up the road so we’ll all either forget or be sickened by the whole episode that when it’s called and they are saved, all of us will simply be relieved it’s over. It’s shameful but money talks.
01-06-2020, 11:32 PM
I think more so now than ever, HMFC will get their reconstruction and be saved from the drop. Reconstruction was booted weeks ago but here we are again stuck in Groundhog Day while the can keeps getting kicked up the road so we’ll all either forget or be sickened by the whole episode that when it’s called and they are saved, all of us will simply be relieved it’s over. It’s shameful but money talks.
Do you reckon the clubs who’ve all said they won’t back it are going to do a u-turn then? They’ll be saved in so much that the fear of them not having a league to play in will be removed.
01-06-2020, 11:34 PM
Do you reckon the clubs who’ve all said they won’t back it are going to do a u-turn then? They’ll be saved in so much that the fear of them not having a league to play in will be removed.
Yes I do given the opportunity for them to get further finances with NSA.
HFC93
01-06-2020, 11:44 PM
Hibs and St Mirren will vote against it. End of reconstruction talks. Fear not.
proud_and_green
01-06-2020, 11:47 PM
I don't understand why reconstruction would automatically have to mean no relegation for Hearts. Surely the right answer would be top three from championship promoted!
Sent from my G8441 using Tapatalk
01-06-2020, 11:48 PM
Aww naw, here we go again, lost e-mails, late e-mails, spoiled e-mails
02-06-2020, 03:43 AM
Some pretty outlandish conspiracy theories on this thread. Pretty embarrassing imo and some of it is the kind of pish I’d expect to see on keechboak. Crazy stuff.
Some weird stuff indeed. Maybe a few got too much sun.🤣
02-06-2020, 06:09 AM
Keith Jackson in the Daily Record states:
Unfortunately for Ann Budge there will have to be at least one non-negotiable string attached. Let’s call it the Santa Clause.
Because if James Anderson is serious about popping down Scottish football’s chimney to protect it at this time of crisis then, it stands to reason, this act of philanthropic generosity must not be mistaken for something more cynical.
If, for example, Hearts were to suddenly find themselves catapulted back into the top flight after Budge’s timely intervention then Anderson’s benevolence could begin to look like something else.
And that would paint an ugly picture of Scottish football being prepared to drop its knickers for the highest bidder – as well as its principles and what’s left of its sporting integrity.
So, yes, there absolutely must be one condition bolted on to any offer Anderson is prepared to pull out of his bulging sack of cash – Hearts will have to begin next season in the second tier after all.
02-06-2020, 06:10 AM
The Ayr chairman obviously enjoying the press coverage 😂 Still sticking the boot in.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/ann-budges-hearts-reconstruction-pitch-22122441
02-06-2020, 06:13 AM
I don't understand why reconstruction would automatically have to mean no relegation for Hearts. Surely the right answer would be top three from championship promoted!
:agree: Will Hearts vote as Championship or Premiership team? I assume Championship, but I’ve not actually heard or read that’s the case. Like you, I’ve asked on several occasions why everyone assumes that Hearts would be included in a reconstructed Premiership. Who decides who will be promoted and what criterion is there for Hearts to be one of them. Anyway, as KJ says, it should not and might not happen.
02-06-2020, 06:15 AM
:agree: Will Hearts vote as Championship or Premiership team? I assume Championship, but I’ve not actually heard or read that’s the case. Like you, I’ve asked on several occasions why everyone assumes that Hearts would be included in a reconstructed Premiership. Who decides who will be promoted and what criterion is there for Hearts to be one of them. Anyway, as KJ says, it should not and might not happen.
They are a championship team and have already taken part in meeting concerning championship teams.
Ann Budge and Hearts given reconstruction D-Day as James Anderson confirms SPFL offerThe businessman is willing to make a big donation even if the Jambos go down.
Hearts face the agony of having their fate sealed by email this week – despite Tynecastle backer James Anderson confirming he is willing to plough millions into clubs all over the country.
Anderson’s big-money bail-out could be completed this week after he held talks with SPFL (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/scottish-professional-football-league) bosses to confirm the offer does not depend on the Jambos being thrown a lifeline to stay in next season’s Premiership.
League chief executive Neil Doncaster (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/neil-doncaster) gave all 12 top-flight clubs a briefing on Anderson’s generosity at an online conference call last night.
But he also asked each one to declare their position on a possible league reconstruction by email before the end of this week.
That will leave Hearts and owner Ann Budge (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/ann-budge) – who introduced the governing body to her philanthropic pal – in a sweat as she waits to discover if there is enough appetite to create a 14-team top division for next season.
Or if her club is now facing the uncertainty of being relegated into a Championship that may not be able to play out a full season of fixtures.
It is hoped Anderson’s cash offer could help the second tier afford the testing and sterilising measures required to get the league up and running quicker then expected.
But unless 11 of the top 12 are prepared to back her proposal for an emergency shake-up of the leagues then Hearts will be sent down regardless.
Anderson held video conference call talks with Doncaster and SPFL chairman Murdoch MacLennan yesterday after Budge personally helped to facilitate the meeting.
And Anderson made it clear there are no catches or conditions to the money he says is to help all 42 clubs.
Anderson is one of the Edinburgh-based moneymen whose silent contributions have helped Budge rebuildHearts (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/hearts-fc) after she rescued the club from administration.
A source close to the discussions said: “There was an obvious concern that James might be looking at this with his Hearts hat on.
“But it does seem as if he is genuinely trying to do something altruistic on behalf of the Scottish game as a whole and what he is proposing is an incredible gesture.
“Of course the devil is always in the detail and there are more talks to be hand. But he has assured the SPFL his proposal is entirely unlinked to reconstruction or the situation facing Hearts.
“It appears he really could be Scottish football’s Santa Claus.
“But the talks will now move on to how much each club stands to get and the mechanisms involved in distributing any funds.”
Before meeting with Premiership clubs to discuss Budge’s proposals the SPFL confirmed the cash is spread around all 42 clubs. It’s possible a deal could be completed before the end of this week.
Doncaster said: “We had a very constructive and worthwhile discussion with James. We agreed on the need to progress things as swiftly as possible.
“The is an extremely generous one and we have committed to work together to quickly iron out the details and develop a concrete proposal which could make a significant difference to our 42 clubs.”
Doncaster then held a further two and half hours of talks with Premiership clubs to discuss the next step. He also revealed he is close to agreeing a compensation deal with broadcasters Sky for having to cancel the end to season 2019-20.
It’s understood the TV giants could have been due as much as £5.5million for the SPFL’s failure to finish the season but are now in discussions about settling for a reduced clawback sum of £1.5m, to be paid back over the course of their new five-year deal at £300,000 per season.
Doncaster has also asked all 12 top-flight clubs for permission to continue those discussions
02-06-2020, 06:36 AM
Definition....
bribe
verb
verb: bribe; 3rd person present: bribes; past tense: bribed; past participle: bribed; gerund or present participle: bribing
dishonestly persuade (someone) to act in one's favour by a gift of money or other inducement.
02-06-2020, 06:48 AM
Doncaster said: “We had a very constructive and worthwhile discussion with James. We agreed on the need to progress things as swiftly as possible.
“The is an extremely generous one and we have committed to work together to quickly iron out the details and develop a concrete proposal which could make a significant difference to our 42 clubs.”
This is the bit that interests me - if the cash is to be spread about all 42, I wonder if they do that based on the prize pot distribution %ages?
That would mean that the lower league clubs would get a pittance from this.
It would be more sensible if the distribution numbers were - in some way - turned on their head in order to push more of Andersons cash to the lowest leagues.
02-06-2020, 06:56 AM
Fair play to the guy
If Hearts go down he still parts with the cash
What’s the definition of philanthropist?
Win! Win!
02-06-2020, 06:58 AM
Fair play to the guy
If Hearts go down he still parts with the cash
What’s the definition of philanthropist?
Win! Win!
Just for balance. People can make their own minds up.:greengrin
Definition
philanthropist
/fɪˈlanθrəpɪst/
noun
noun: philanthropist; plural noun: philanthropists
a person who seeks to promote the welfare of others, especially by the generous donation of money to good causes.
02-06-2020, 07:02 AM
Let’s say that reconstruction to 14 is voted in, who decides which two clubs are moved up from the Championship? Is procedure written down somewhere? Has Budge stipulated in her proposals that Hearts will/must be included? Is it just an assumption that Hearts would be included?
02-06-2020, 07:04 AM
Sniff sniff.
Suppose there could be a fine line between philanthropist and briber.
All it takes is a two letter word.
If.
02-06-2020, 07:07 AM
Just for balance. People can make their own minds up.:greengrin
Definition
philanthropist
/fɪˈlanθrəpɪst/
noun
noun: philanthropist; plural noun: philanthropists
a person who seeks to promote the welfare of others, especially by the generous donation of money to good causes.
OK!
02-06-2020, 07:20 AM
Let’s say that reconstruction to 14 is voted in, who decides which two clubs are moved up from the Championship? Is procedure written down somewhere? Has Budge stipulated in her proposals that Hearts will/must be included? Is it just an assumption that Hearts would be included?
I’ve said that for a while. I know it wouldn’t happen, but surely as a Championship club they now have the exact same case for getting promoted as the rest of the clubs in that league?
You either use last seasons sporting performance - and surely in sport you would reward Dundee and Inverness for fairly good seasons rather than reward Hearts for a bad one or you don’t use it and then Hearts don’t have any more right than Morton etc?
02-06-2020, 07:25 AM
Does the Budge master plan for the 14 team premier league set out how voting on financial and other matters will be conducted.
Will it still require only 2 votes to kill any proposal or will it change ? I’m sure 2 Glasgow clubs will need to know.
Also I saw Celtic were calling out for the fixture list to come out ASAP so they can plan their season. Are they going to change the league numbers at this late stage ?
02-06-2020, 07:26 AM
The proposal is not that two as yet undecided clubs are in the top 14, it's specifically Hearts and ICT.
Sergio sledge
02-06-2020, 07:37 AM
This is the bit that interests me - if the cash is to be spread about all 42, I wonder if they do that based on the prize pot distribution %ages?
It would be more sensible if the distribution numbers were - in some way - turned on their head in order to push more of Andersons cash to the lowest leagues.
Yeah, with the new broadcast deal and the vast majority of that going to the premiership I don't think any of Andersons money should be going to the premiership clubs. It might mean we al have to cut our cloth a little to afford the equipment and drop in income with lack of crowds (at least to start with) but the lower league clubs need the money a lot more than premiership clubs.
02-06-2020, 07:38 AM
The proposal is not that two as yet undecided clubs are in the top 14, it's specifically Hearts and ICT.
How is it fair for ICT to be promoted - they were only in a play off spot. Goes against the fairness argument that’s been played to death?
steviehibsleith
02-06-2020, 07:42 AM
I think this guy is genuine and as photos have shown he goes to games. Couple of things strike me is he has gifted money before no strings so gifting to Scottish football to maintain the game without strings or terms seems reasonable for him
Obviously very friendly with Budge so as we all think Hearts will be playing in the championship next season and with his donation may start September?
Why would he do this if Hearts as soon as construction defeated would stop Scottish football taking all 41 clubs to court with Lawyers fees etc
I think he Accepts they are down and just wants a League for them to play in . Suits me just fine Football survives and they are down
percy veer
02-06-2020, 07:47 AM
How is it fair for ICT to be promoted - they were only in a play off spot. Goes against the fairness argument that’s been played to death?
its not fair.. its because the chairman used to work for hearts and rangers and is shouting loudest along with budge.
James Stephen
02-06-2020, 07:50 AM
Yeah, with the new broadcast deal and the vast majority of that going to the premiership I don't think any of Andersons money should be going to the premiership clubs. It might mean we al have to cut our cloth a little to afford the equipment and drop in income with lack of crowds (at least to start with) but the lower league clubs need the money a lot more than premiership clubs.
Agree with this, and id like to think celtic and the huns wouldnt take any, and im mot sure Hibs, Dons and even Utd need it more than some lower league teams?
berwickhibee
02-06-2020, 07:51 AM
The Ayr chairman obviously enjoying the press coverage 😂 Still sticking the boot in.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/ann-budges-hearts-reconstruction-pitch-22122441
The 3rd biggest club with the 4th largest average attendance, again😁🤣💚
02-06-2020, 07:57 AM
its not fair.. its because the chairman used to work for hearts and rangers and is shouting loudest along with budge.
But would you rather Hearts or ict came up?
The fallout for him publicly (given we know what Scottish football is like, social media) would be massive IF he had insisted Hearts stayed up.
For a guy that doesn’t like publicity it would be a massive own goal.
We also have to remember, for Hearts to stay up there is a consequence on other leagues and teams - both in terms of impact on league they play in and financially.
If this doesn’t come off / he walks away then we can be certain there was some underhand stuff going on. Even if ND wanted to create a fudge he has publicly talked about no strings attached 5 mins after Budge rant on recorded interview on Saturday Sportsound.
I think this is all above board and a tremendous offer from what we can hear. I also think it was clever to tell the top tier clubs to email back views on reconstruction paper by Friday (not a formal vote) and it will be into next week before the views come out. We know it’s dead in the water as it is given the reaction. But if the SPFL has come out yesterday and said no to reconstruction then all it could do is radge up Anderson when not needed.
In a time of high emotion, let’s hope the SPFL take the cash this week and let the clubs vote on reconstruction and let democracy win.
02-06-2020, 08:36 AM
Hibs and St Mirren will vote against it. End of reconstruction talks. Fear not.
The only reason Aberdeen are so vocal in favour of something like this is (IMO) because of the latent Stewart Milne guilt...
...all votes, including reconstruction, require an 11-1 to pass. This Budge proposal has next to no chance of passing.
And a lot of football fans recall a time, not so long ago, when Aberdeen had the decisive vote to move away from "11-1" (and they voted to keep 11-1).
I see a lot of self-preservation in their "wanting to be seen to be seen" approach to this vote.
Otherwise, it fails, and a lot of the Yam frustration would be "bloody Aberdeen, 11-1 is their fault" etc.
I\m no soothsayer btw - it's all on JKB already
02-06-2020, 08:47 AM
To his credit in his preface he did use the Carlsberg Clause..."probably"
02-06-2020, 08:58 AM
'Condescending and smug'. Sums her up.
Caversham Green
02-06-2020, 09:00 AM
There is a sort of precedent. The last time there was a vacancy in the top flight was when the real Rangers closed down. Dunfermline finished bottom, were relegated and stayed relegated. Ross County were promoted as winners of the second tier and Dundee were promoted as runners up to replace the now-dead Rangers. Dundee were then screwed over by Hearts delaying their administration until the season was over.
By that logic it should be ICT and Dundee that get the vacancies this time.
02-06-2020, 09:01 AM
The 3rd biggest thing makes me cringe. Do any of the English clubs claim to be 3rd biggest?
02-06-2020, 09:08 AM
The 3rd biggest thing makes me cringe. Do any of the English clubs claim to be 3rd biggest?
It’s a horrendous claim to fame. Quite Trump-esque.
We’re a big club, huge club. Third biggest club actually, don’t forget it. Third biggest club in the land.
Caversham Green
02-06-2020, 09:09 AM
Since it's apparently linked to the problems caused by Covid-19 I think it should be distributed on a needs basis - possibly by way of grants. Clubs should apply for a grant showing costings of installing equipment, testing and general costs together with a declaration of how much they can cover themselves.
Either that or a fixed sum to each club in each division with the lower divisions receiving more than the higher ones.
02-06-2020, 09:12 AM
We’re a big club, huge club. Third biggest club actually, don’t forget it. Third biggest club in the land.
With the 4th biggest crowds.[emoji23]
jingler1954
02-06-2020, 09:14 AM
There is a sort of precedent. The last time there was a vacnacy in the top flight was when the real Rangers closed down. Dunfermline finished bottom, were relegated and stayed relegated. Ross County were promoted as winners of the second tier and Dundee were promoted as runners up to replace the now-dead Rangers. Dundee were then screwed over by Hearts delaying their administration until the season was over.
Exactly my thoughts.
02-06-2020, 09:37 AM
It might not be a case of dishing out money. He might commit to paying for covid tests, or the cost of setting up one or more stadiums as a behind-closed-doors hubs to get some games on for the lower divisions.
02-06-2020, 09:49 AM
There is a sort of precedent. The last time there was a vacancy in the top flight was when the real Rangers closed down. Dunfermline finished bottom, were relegated and stayed relegated. Ross County were promoted as winners of the second tier and Dundee were promoted as runners up to replace the now-dead Rangers. Dundee were then screwed over by Hearts delaying their administration until the season was over.
Exactly my thoughts.
I agree with this. But, given there is no definitive rule or guidance for this, I would suggest that the rule of thumb is that teams who were performing best at their respective levels and on an upwards curve, ie, Dundee and ITC go up, and teams performing worst at their level, ie Hearts should not be considered. If such a rule had been in place, I’m willing to bet that the ‘philanthropic’ gesture would not have been on the table. I think Anderson has stated ‘no strings attached’ in a gamble that Hearts will benefit, but, if not, too bad, it’s pocket money and he still comes out of it smelling of roses.
02-06-2020, 09:56 AM
With the 4th biggest crowds.[emoji23]
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk4th biggest capacity stadium?
02-06-2020, 09:57 AM
I agree with this. But, given there is no definitive rule or guidance for this, I would suggest that the rule of thumb is that teams who were performing best at their respective levels and on an upwards curve, ie, Dundee and ITC go up, and teams performing worst at their level, ie Hearts should not be considered. If such a rule had been in place, I’m willing to bet that the ‘philanthropic’ gesture would not have been on the table. I think Anderson has stated ‘no strings attached’ in a gamble that Hearts will benefit, but, if not, too bad, it’s pocket money and he still comes out of it smelling of roses.
If he's smart enough to have made as much money as he has, he's surely smart enough to see that reconstruction won't pass the Prem vote even if lower league clubs were swayed.
No doubt Budge hoped it might influence things (hence her original mention including the line that Hearts might not be in a position to help if they were in the Championship), but I think Anderson's main motivation is to make sure a full Championship season gets played. Anything else would be disastrous for Hearts, so from that point of view it's probably money well spent.
02-06-2020, 10:11 AM
To be fair the situation in England is totally different, there aren’t two clubs who are so much bigger in terms of support & finances than the rest of the league put together as in Scotland.
02-06-2020, 10:14 AM
To be fair the situation in England is totally different, there aren’t two clubs who are so much bigger in terms of support & finances than the rest of the league put together as in Scotland.
Still embarrassing though. What does being third biggest win you? Absolutely nothing. Weird thing to brag about if you ask me.
I would say Anderson should have a say on how it is spent i.e. all or most on testing costs for the Championship downwards and the Premiership should be able to cover all or most of their's from the Sky money then that's fair enough. Whilst that essentially is a condition being attached that would be fine because it isn't related to trying to influence the reconstruction voting.
02-06-2020, 10:19 AM
Looking at my crystal ball I see:
Ann Budge keeps the pot boiling under her never ending draft proposal as long as possible. This results in the more susceptible clubs becoming nervous about legal action (which will never happen) and makes the vote tighter.
However, Hearts stay down but Tynecastle becomes the hub stadium for Premiership matches, resulting in their receiving a significant financial lift, not to mention some state of the art medical equipment.
Hampden fills that role in the west.
Tanadice becomes the eastern hub for Championship games with Rugby Park filling that role in the west.
02-06-2020, 10:23 AM
If he's smart enough to have made as much money as he has, he's surely smart enough to see that reconstruction won't pass the Prem vote even if lower league clubs were swayed.
No doubt Budge hoped it might influence things (hence her original mention including the line that Hearts might not be in a position to help if they were in the Championship), but I think Anderson's main motivation is to make sure a full Championship season gets played. Anything else would be disastrous for Hearts, so from that point of view it's probably money well spent.
I hope you’re right. Incidently, can I say that, for years, when I see a post by you, I always read your name as ‘nonshinyfish‘. My son does same. I mentioned it to him once ...... not that we were talking badly about you. :greengrin
02-06-2020, 10:27 AM
I hope you’re right. Incidently, can I say that, for years, when I see a post by you, I always read your name as ‘nonshinyfish‘. My son does same. I mentioned it to him once ...... not that we were talking badly about you. :greengrin
Yeah, this is a common impairment apparently.
02-06-2020, 10:32 AM
Yes I do given the opportunity for them to get further finances with NSA.
So the clubs will have an opportunity to continue playing next season because of this extra cash. Why would they want to rearrange the leagues? I don’t think there is a chance of reconstruction now. The only “reason” for it now would be to stop hertz and PT being relegated. The outspoken lower league teams won’t turn their position imo.
02-06-2020, 10:42 AM
I tell you, we are a big club. We are not the first biggest, not the second biggest, but the THIRD BIGGEST club. That is BIG!!! And GOOD!
Snake oil salesman / woman / submariners / Mrs Dr's all sound the same...
02-06-2020, 10:46 AM
The muppets on KB are still havering about the massive boycotting of away grounds if they stay in the Championship next season. I get their superficial, emotional response not to put money into the coffers of clubs they don’t like but, if they are going to bounce right back to play with the big boys, surely one of the ‘givens’, is that they fully support their team at every venue they play at. Imagine the psychological and negative effect on their players’ morale, if they play all away games without any support. Are they so arrogant that they think that promotion would be a formality?
02-06-2020, 10:52 AM
The muppets on KB are still havering about the massive boycotting of away grounds if they stay in the Championship next season. I get their superficial, emotional response not to put money into the coffers of clubs they don’t like but, if they are going to bounce right back to play with the big boys, surely one of the ‘givens’, is that they fully support their team at every venue they play at. Imagine the psychological and negative effect on their players’ morale, if they play all away games without any support. Are they so arrogant that they think that promotion would be a formality?
Probably.
They’ve managed to shed a good few members of their squad but they’re still stuck with all the same dross - Zlamal, Souttar, Clare, Boyce, Uche, Washington, Walker, Damour, Halkett, Harring - that played most weeks and had them bottom of the league. They’ll not be blowing the league away next year like they did previously, it’ll be a slog. And if there’s no fans on their side I’m not sure they’ll have what it takes going up to Inverness, away to Dundee, Morton etc. They’ll be counting on their home form being good.
02-06-2020, 10:56 AM
I have the 3rd biggest knob in my football team and I'm so proud of it im going to go around telling everyone
02-06-2020, 11:18 AM
I have the 3rd biggest knob in my football team and I'm so proud of it im going to go around telling everyone
That’s a bit cocky.
proud_and_green
02-06-2020, 11:36 AM
Ann Budge and Hearts given reconstruction D-Day as James Anderson confirms SPFL offerThe businessman is willing to make a big donation even if the Jambos go down.
Hearts face the agony of having their fate sealed by email this week – despite Tynecastle backer James Anderson confirming he is willing to plough millions into clubs all over the country.
Anderson’s big-money bail-out could be completed this week after he held talks with SPFL (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/scottish-professional-football-league) bosses to confirm the offer does not depend on the Jambos being thrown a lifeline to stay in next season’s Premiership.
League chief executive Neil Doncaster (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/neil-doncaster) gave all 12 top-flight clubs a briefing on Anderson’s generosity at an online conference call last night.
But he also asked each one to declare their position on a possible league reconstruction by email before the end of this week.
That will leave Hearts and owner Ann Budge (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/ann-budge) – who introduced the governing body to her philanthropic pal – in a sweat as she waits to discover if there is enough appetite to create a 14-team top division for next season.
Or if her club is now facing the uncertainty of being relegated into a Championship that may not be able to play out a full season of fixtures.
It is hoped Anderson’s cash offer could help the second tier afford the testing and sterilising measures required to get the league up and running quicker then expected.
But unless 11 of the top 12 are prepared to back her proposal for an emergency shake-up of the leagues then Hearts will be sent down regardless.
Anderson held video conference call talks with Doncaster and SPFL chairman Murdoch MacLennan yesterday after Budge personally helped to facilitate the meeting.
And Anderson made it clear there are no catches or conditions to the money he says is to help all 42 clubs.
Anderson is one of the Edinburgh-based moneymen whose silent contributions have helped Budge rebuildHearts (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/hearts-fc) after she rescued the club from administration.
A source close to the discussions said: “There was an obvious concern that James might be looking at this with his Hearts hat on.
“But it does seem as if he is genuinely trying to do something altruistic on behalf of the Scottish game as a whole and what he is proposing is an incredible gesture.
“Of course the devil is always in the detail and there are more talks to be hand. But he has assured the SPFL his proposal is entirely unlinked to reconstruction or the situation facing Hearts.
“It appears he really could be Scottish football’s Santa Claus.
“But the talks will now move on to how much each club stands to get and the mechanisms involved in distributing any funds.”
Before meeting with Premiership clubs to discuss Budge’s proposals the SPFL confirmed the cash is spread around all 42 clubs. It’s possible a deal could be completed before the end of this week.
Doncaster then held a further two and half hours of talks with Premiership clubs to discuss the next step. He also revealed he is close to agreeing a compensation deal with broadcasters Sky for having to cancel the end to season 2019-20.
It’s understood the TV giants could have been due as much as £5.5million for the SPFL’s failure to finish the season but are now in discussions about settling for a reduced clawback sum of £1.5m, to be paid back over the course of their new five-year deal at £300,000 per season.
Doncaster has also asked all 12 top-flight clubs for permission to continue those discussionsWhy oh why is it always being quoted as 'if hearts are relegated, they have already been relegated.
Presumably Doncaster' s briefing to 12 top flight teams did not include Hearts but did include Utd.
02-06-2020, 11:44 AM
Why oh why is it always being quoted as 'if hearts are relegated, they have already been relegated.
Presumably Doncaster' s briefing to 12 top flight teams did not include Hearts but did include Utd.
Yep. Terrible reporting.
Same as their "Hearts hit new season ticket high" headline from yesterday. Either they've never sold more than 5k before (which isn't the case) or every ST they sell this year counts as a "new high" - which is technically cirrect but crap reporting.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-hit-new-season-ticket-high-fans-backing-continues-2871116
02-06-2020, 11:45 AM
4th biggest capacity stadium?
7th actually...😉
02-06-2020, 11:47 AM
7th actually...[emoji6]They should get that on a scarf surely.
02-06-2020, 11:48 AM
So sorry, but me too
02-06-2020, 12:08 PM
Looking at my crystal ball I see:
Ann Budge keeps the pot boiling under her never ending draft proposal as long as possible. This results in the more susceptible clubs becoming nervous about legal action (which will never happen) and makes the vote tighter.
However, Hearts stay down but Tynecastle becomes the hub stadium for Premiership matches, resulting in their receiving a significant financial lift, not to mention some state of the art medical equipment.
Hampden fills that role in the west.
Tanadice becomes the eastern hub for Championship games with Rugby Park filling that role in the west.Why would the smallest pitch in the league and in the worst condition be considered appropriate for a hub?
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
02-06-2020, 12:43 PM
So the clubs will have an opportunity to continue playing next season because of this extra cash. Why would they want to rearrange the leagues? I don’t think there is a chance of reconstruction now. The only “reason” for it now would be to stop hertz and PT being relegated. The outspoken lower league teams won’t turn their position imo..
I hope you are right!
02-06-2020, 12:51 PM
We need to nip this in the bud now. She's had plenty of time to put proposals forward, we've indulged them enough. Let's vote on this proposal, get it in the bin and ensure no further discussions are allowed.
If they're going to sue they need to told of the consequences but after that it's up to them, Scottish football just needs to get on with it.
02-06-2020, 12:58 PM
hahaha, I have only just realised this aswell :greengrin:greengrin
02-06-2020, 04:39 PM
Why would the smallest pitch in the league and in the worst condition be considered appropriate for a hub?
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
It wouldn’t. I just think it will be a sweetener on the back of all AB’s hard work not getting reconstruction. Remember she ha that great selling point of having two sets of changing rooms. 🤣
Also has the hugest capacity of any ground that will offer a neutral venue for the big league clubs even though there will be no fans of course.
02-06-2020, 04:56 PM
Just been on the BBC Sports Scottish Premiership pages and there's nothing on the front page regarding re-construction. Has the topic gone away now? Anyone know the latest?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/scottish-premiership
02-06-2020, 05:17 PM
Just been on the BBC Sports Scottish Premiership pages and there's nothing on the front page regarding re-construction. Has the topic gone away now? Anyone know the latest?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/scottish-premiership
Oh it's still a thing unfortunately. David Tanner tweeted this earlier this morning.
"11am:
Ann Budge faces her most sceptical audience as her charm offensive reaches a meeting with Championship clubs.
I wonder if Ann’s plans will emerge from this meeting in their current state?
Feedback - incoming!
A pivotal hour or two for #Hearts’ bid for #SPFL reconstruction"
02-06-2020, 05:49 PM
We need to nip this in the bud now. She's had plenty of time to put proposals forward, we've indulged them enough. Let's vote on this proposal, get it in the bin and ensure no further discussions are allowed.
If they're going to sue they need to told of the consequences but after that it's up to them, Scottish football just needs to get on with it.
The fact that no one is discussing how 14-14-14 could work in detail shows that it is dead. Be patient: the SPFL got stung by appearing to hasten the vote on ending the season, now they are letting Budge’s ideas die a public and protracted death.
It’s humiliating for her really, as each day another chairman comes out and ridicules her plan or questions her integrity. But she started all this so she can have few complaints.!
proud_and_green
02-06-2020, 06:16 PM
The fact that no one is discussing how 14-14-14 could work in detail shows that it is dead. Be patient: the SPFL got stung by appearing to hasten the vote on ending the season, now they are letting Budge’s ideas die a public and protracted death.
It’s humiliating for her really, as each day another chairman comes out and ridicules her plan or questions her integrity. But she started all this so she can have few complaints.!I was going to make that very point.
Any assistance with testing will not change anything regarding the number of relegations from each of the leagues under reconstruction or for that matter the ridiculously unbalanced fixtures.
The money is there regardless of the fact that Hearts have been relegated, or so we are told.
There is no reason why Hearts would be one of the teams that would be brought in to the Premier League, they have no more right than any other Championship side, the league has already been called and they are a championship side.
It would be very 'peculiar' if a) reconstruction now happened and b) Hearts were favoured in that reconstruction.
Final point, **** the hearts!
I have long argued on here that there is no evidence of corruption in the SFA and SPFL. Yes there has been some poor decision making, but accusations of corruption are just a lazy argument.
However if there is a string attached to this latest offer, then we have some clear evidence of corruption.
Funnily enough JKB who also claim corruption are turning a blind eye to this potential
There cant be any reconstruction. This week will probably be used to show Budge exactly why.
02-06-2020, 07:36 PM
Everyday for monyhs now they have been squealing like pigs about reconstruction on every media outlet you can find. Now this money turns up from the magic money tree and the silence is deafening. I’m suspicious.
MacGruber
02-06-2020, 08:03 PM
If reconstruction was thrown out yesterday or today we would have heard, 100%.
It'll be done. Just sorting out the detail and the spin now. Was done as soon as JA got involved. 'No strings attached' quips have been setting the scene. Might aswell go one league of 37 or however many survive. Do away with relegation. If these ****s slither out of it again, what's the point.
02-06-2020, 08:12 PM
This is brutal. People have been moaning their heads off about Budge and her scheme getting too much coverage.
Now folk aren't happy that nothing's being said.
It won't happen!
02-06-2020, 08:16 PM
It'll be done. Just sorting out the detail and the spin now. Was done as soon as JA got involved. 'No strings attached' quips have been setting the scene. Might aswell go one league of 37 or however many survive. Do away with relegation. If these ****s slither out of it again, what's the point.
Keep the faith. All SPL clubs have until Friday to submit their vote. Doncaster doesn’t want a repeat of the Dundee vote scenario so will be making sure the I’s are dotted and the T’s crossed before releasing anything.
Neil Doncaster is keeping his powder dry. He'll have learnt from last time that the results shouldn't be released until all clubs have voted. Even though this is presumably an informal vote as there isn't a firm proposed structure to vote on. They'll just be asked to say if, in principle, they are for 14-14-14 or 14-14-16 with a subsequent vote whether or not to make it permanent.
02-06-2020, 09:41 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5660818/james-anderson-set-to-hand-over-4-75m-spfl/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1591133467
Sun still saying it’s unlikely to get voted through. League One/Two meeting tomorrow. Sounds like an unofficial vote is taking place to gauge the interest level.
02-06-2020, 10:00 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/5660818/james-anderson-set-to-hand-over-4-75m-spfl/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1591133467
Sun still saying it’s unlikely to get voted through. League One/Two meeting tomorrow. Sounds like an unofficial vote is taking place to gauge the interest level.
Jees, £4.75M. If anything summed up with chasm between English and Scottish football, this does. £4.75 is a game-saver up here, where it doesn't amount to pocket change down south. Puts our game in Scotland into perspective and shows just why other countries treat us with such disdain.
02-06-2020, 10:02 PM
Yep, just another angle to save Hearts.
02-06-2020, 10:03 PM
The SPFL are also close to agreeing a deal with sky which will allow clubs to sell virtual season tickets and broadcast matchds on their own clubs tv channels.
02-06-2020, 10:05 PM
Jees, £4.75M. If anything summed up with chasm between English and Scottish football, this does. £4.75 is a game-saver up here, where it doesn't amount to pocket change down south. Puts our game in Scotland into perspective and shows just why other countries treat us with such disdain.
The other way to look at it is that it is easier to save our game than it is in England. We don't have as far to fall.
02-06-2020, 10:26 PM
This is brutal. People have been moaning their heads off about Budge and her scheme getting too much coverage.
Now folk aren't happy that nothing's being said.
It won't happen!
In her interview with Brian McLauchlin last weekend she conceded her reconstruction attempts were doomed to fail so I'm assuming it's now all about ensuring the yams have a league to play in by propping up the lower leagues. It's the Budge way. Just keep throwing cash at things and hope they work.
02-06-2020, 10:35 PM
@kheridine18
If what I’m hearing is correct , I can understand why @spfl CE Neil Doncaster describes the James Anderson consortium money as “extremely generous” and “could make a significant difference” to the Scottish game. Am told the donation is well over £4m...
02-06-2020, 10:38 PM
£4.75M isn't in itself a game saver. However it's a significant amount which if applied in the right places could either tide significant teams over temporary cashflow problems to keep them going until the new tv money comes in, or be used to keep lower divsion clubs in existence.
Rather than comparing with England which has ten times our population and a much larger multiple of commercial income, compare us with countires which have similiar populations. If the figure quoted is correct and can be directed properly it will make a huge difference to Scotland's football future.
Do we think this is beginning to sound like 42 x £100,000??
That would be fantastic.
£4.75M isn't in itself a game saver. However it's a significant amount which if applied in the right places could either tide significant teams over temporary cashflow problems to keep them going until the new tv money comes in, or be used to keep lower divsion clubs in existence.
Rather than comparing with England which has ten times our population and a much larger multiple of commercial income, compare us with countires which have similiar populations. If the figure quoted is correct and can be directed properly it will make a huge difference to Scotland's football future.Great if it helps the wee teams play next season.
Nothing wrong with comparing. Its chicken feed.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Hearts = the laughing stock of Scottish football for past 12 months.
Even by those standards they appear to heading towards and even greater moment of hilarity.
- Reconstruction- dead in the water as per proposal
- It’s ok though as other clubs won’t be able to operate therefore reconstruction will come along anyway.
- Hearts benefactor offers to save the day
- Not only to smaller clubs but ALL clubs (us, ‘St Midden’, Dundee)
- Therefore clubs more likely to play and less likely to have emergency reconstruction.
- Benefactor pony up £4.5m = less money for ha ha Hearts
- Budge last resort was legal action but this would be against the expense of the clubs who are just about to receive £4.5m from Hearts connected benefactor.
You really couldn’t make it up. The comedy value is just endless 😂😂😂
Hearts = the laughing stock of Scottish football for past 12 months.
Even by those standards they appear to heading towards and even greater moment of hilarity.
- Reconstruction- dead in the water as per proposal
- It’s ok though as other clubs won’t be able to operate therefore reconstruction will come along anyway.
- Hearts benefactor offers to save the day
- Not only to smaller clubs but ALL clubs (us, ‘St Midden’, Dundee)
- Therefore clubs more likely to play and less likely to have emergency reconstruction.
- Benefactor pony up £4.5m = less money for ha ha Hearts
- Budge last resort was legal action but this would be against the expense of the clubs who are just about to receive £4.5m from Hearts connected benefactor.
You really couldn’t make it up. The comedy value is just endless 😂😂😂
Have they figured out yet that thanks to JA the chances of enforced reconstruction have reduced greatly and a court case now seems highly unlikely? Or are they still debating about whether they'll win £15m or £20m?
Top trumpet Kiwidoug
“Posted 9 hours ago
How's the SPFL today? Still running like a well oiled machine?
Has Ann given them the names of our QCs yet and given them the amount of compo we're seeking for being illegally expelled?
I'd go for £10m if it was me. We won't get that but we might get half.
Good times”
03-06-2020, 06:52 AM
The SPFL are also close to agreeing a deal with sky which will allow clubs to sell virtual season tickets and broadcast matchds on their own clubs tv channels.
Is that for all or just non season ticket holders?
03-06-2020, 06:58 AM
Top trumpet Kiwidoug
“Posted 9 hours ago
Has Ann given them the names of our QCs yet and given them the amount of compo we're seeking for being illegally expelled?
Good times”
He really is mentally unhinged. Good times!?! His team hav been ***** for years, th y have wasted squillions on rubbish players, rubbish managers and multiple DOFs, an unfinished stand that is more than double the original cost, £1m on a pitch that they turn d into a tatty patch, never finished above Hibs since we came up and have actually been relegated. All of that before you remind him that they are poppy theiving charity robbing tax dodging pension stealing, NHS didling cheats. Good times indeed kiwidug*****
Doubt JA (Benny)would put a penny towards funding going to court when they dont have a case.
03-06-2020, 07:06 AM
Doubt JA (Benny)would put a penny towards funding going to court when they dont have a case.
Especially now he's unmasked & perceived to have skin in the game
03-06-2020, 07:33 AM
What is his terms? Is it a loan? Guys who make millions as investors don't normally give money away for free.
03-06-2020, 07:34 AM
What is his terms? Is it a loan? Guys who make millions as investors don't normally give money away for free.
This one has 😀
03-06-2020, 08:18 AM
Top trumpet Kiwidoug
“Posted 9 hours ago
Good times”
:hilarious £10m, even £5m :hilarious
In fact - court case :hilarious
03-06-2020, 08:50 AM
There was no vote on Monday, no vote on Tuesday and no vote today. As widely reported the clubs have been asked to vote by email on Friday. The SPFL has learned its lesson about being open and is enforcing confidentiality to prevent "bullying" and "public shaming" that was alleged by the the bullies and shamers when they called the league.
03-06-2020, 08:57 AM
It must have increased now? It was going up at a rate of about 5-10 million every few days recently. Probably take the SPFL for £40m now. Will give them a good fund to start with for when they get parachuted into the English Championship for their push to the EPL.
03-06-2020, 09:04 AM
Top trumpet Kiwidoug
“Posted 9 hours ago
Good times”
"Good times"
That's up there with their second half of the season being demonstrably better than ours.
These are about the worst times for them. Relegated after an utterly disastrous and miserable (for them) season, league reconstruction laughed out the room by every division, and facing the prospect of potentially not being able to play until January... "Good times" 😂😂😂😂😂😂
03-06-2020, 09:07 AM
Its a donation not a loan. The same arrangement he has with hertz is how I take it.
03-06-2020, 09:45 AM
Queens Park president, Gerry Crawley, has now backed the reconstruction proposals. (https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18490746.scotlands-oldest-club-queens-park-back-hearts-league-reconstruction-proposal-turning-professional/)
Never trust a Creepy Crawley Spider!
Queens Park president, Gerry Crawley, has now backed the reconstruction proposals. (https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18490746.scotlands-oldest-club-queens-park-back-hearts-league-reconstruction-proposal-turning-professional/)
He's been quiet, then free money appears?
03-06-2020, 10:03 AM
Bribery, collusion and bullying by nefarious means. Now there is a court case waiting to be scheduled! How much will we get out of the jumbo's FC? £20m, £30m close them down? Oh Im sure we could get £2.50 for that glass curtain. KiwiFud, are you listening?
147lothian
03-06-2020, 10:39 AM
There was no vote on Monday, no vote on Tuesday and no vote today. As widely reported the clubs have been asked to vote by email on Friday. The SPFL has learned it lesson about being open and is enforcing confidentiality to prevent "bullying" and "public shaming" that was alleged by the the bullies and shamers when they called the league.
This is how I see it, but have a look at how the SPFL enforcing confidentiality is viewed on manypointsback
Posted by JimboJambo one hour ago
"I think if the money offered by JA is unconditional why wasn't it confirmed on Monday? Clear to me there are moves afoot so the longer that this silence lasts the more likely it is that we will get reconstruction".
What a rag the daily record is.
Fans survey says 67% want reconstruction.
What planet they on.
Planet Budge, Benny and hearts fans thats what planet.
This is how I see it, but have a look at how the SPFL enforcing confidentiality is viewed on manypointsback
"I think if the money offered by JA is unconditional why wasn't it confirmed on Monday? Clear to me there are moves afoot so the longer that this silence lasts the more likely it is that we will get reconstruction".
As we all know, all monies will have to be unconditional as if there is inference of this being used to influence teams to vote a certain way then that’s bribery!
03-06-2020, 11:19 AM
Hate to say but I agree with him
03-06-2020, 11:37 AM
As we all know, all monies will have to be unconditional as if there is inference of this being used to influence teams to vote a certain way then that’s bribery!
The way JA will try and sell the donation may be as follows:
Giving a donation to SPFL clubs is unconditional. However, the value of that donation will be reduced if there is no reconstruction leading to Hearts being reinstated into the Premiership, i.e., a £4.5m donation to all clubs would need to be reduced to £1.75m as £3m of it would be diverted to Hearts to cover their £3m loss of being in the Championship.
So providing funding is unconditional, it's just that the value of the funding would be different. Still sounds like a bribe, but perhaps more shades of grey, the detail of which may be buried by morphing the 2 discussions on reconstruction and funding into one.
The way JA will try and sell the donation may be as follows:
Giving a donation to SPFL clubs is unconditional. However, the value of that donation will be reduced if there is no reconstruction leading to Hearts being reinstated into the Premiership, i.e., a £4.5m donation to all clubs would need to be reduced to £1.75m as £3m of it would be diverted to Hearts to cover their £3m loss of being in the Championship.
So providing funding is unconditional, it's just that the value of the funding would be different. Still sounds like a bribe, but perhaps more shades of grey, the detail of which may be buried by morphing the 2 discussions on reconstruction and funding into one.
That is a bribe but JA will never ever say it like that. His reputation is more than that!
I still think they’ll be in championship
03-06-2020, 11:44 AM
He doesn't seem to have changed his mind though, it's just that he hasn't said anything up to now.
I still can't see St Mirren, Ross County, Dundee Utd, Hamilton, Livingston, Kilmarnock, St Johnstone and Hibs agreeing to 4 clubs being relegated in 2 years time.
03-06-2020, 11:51 AM
He doesnt sound the sharpest from that interview so he probably gets on well with Budge.
03-06-2020, 11:58 AM
There was no vote on Monday, no vote on Tuesday and no vote today. As widely reported the clubs have been asked to vote by email on Friday. The SPFL has learned it lesson about being open and is enforcing confidentiality to prevent "bullying" and "public shaming" that was alleged by the the bullies and shamers when they called the league.
Doubt it will take 4 days for clubs to decide on somethings they'd already decided on a few weeks ago, so the SPFL will likely know it's been rejected and Budge remains the owner of a 2nd division club.
Hate to say but I agree with him
03-06-2020, 11:59 AM
Its a donation not a loan. The same arrangement he has with hertz is how I take it.
He has been a partner for 30 years, run two of their top performing funds. Probably bagged about £300 million in bonuses. Invested a lot in his own funds. Net worth north of £500 million. Thisis loose change to him.
03-06-2020, 12:06 PM
I suspect that Budge, Hearts, the board and pretty much anyone else involved have accepted than any reconstruction is dead in the water.
This donation (which if true is an excellent piece of news) I reckon is a vehicle to ensure that the lower leagues can start without fans, simple as. This basically allows Hearts to play.
Playing devils advocate I suspect if the Jams were not being relegated this proposal would not have seen the light of day.
I suspect that Budge, Hearts, the board and pretty much anyone else involved have accepted than any reconstruction is dead in the water.
This donation (which if true is an excellent piece of news) I reckon is a vehicle to ensure that the lower leagues can start without fans, simple as. This basically allows Hearts to play.
Playing devils advocate I suspect if the Jams were not being relegated this proposal would not have seen the light of day.
I'm with you on this one. Makes complete sense.
03-06-2020, 12:43 PM
Christ I hope you're right
Maybe JA genuinely couldn't believe what a pigs ear Budge and Hearts were making of the PR side of the reconstruction campaign and he's doing this to "buying back" some goodwill with the lower league clubs
hibeerealist
03-06-2020, 12:49 PM
Difficult to say so for sure that is just speculation, JA is a very upright pillar of society and very well respected. He may well have donated to Scottish Football without Hertz demise, I am not comfortable giving AB the credit for his philanthropy and JA might well have donated without her involvement he seems that kind of person!
Who knows, he might decide to divide his donations going forward - to both Edinburgh teams and SPFL, THAT WOULD BE VERY GENEROUS.
03-06-2020, 01:06 PM
He doesn't seem to have changed his mind though, it's just that he hasn't said anything up to now.
I still can't see St Mirren, Ross County, Dundee Utd, Hamilton, Livingston, Kilmarnock, St Johnstone and Hibs agreeing to 4 clubs being relegated in 2 years time.
Or most of them giving up on a 3rd old firm home game if 6/8 split.
MacGruber
03-06-2020, 01:14 PM
It would be funny if they lost out by one and that deciding vote was Stranraer as they were pissd off that their name kept getting used as a reason to vote yes but they were getting left in the bottom league.
Nobody should suffer... except Stranraer
Christ I hope you're right
Maybe JA genuinely couldn't believe what a pigs ear Budge and Hearts were making of the PR side of the reconstruction campaign and he's doing this to "buying back" some goodwill with the lower league clubs
Shouldn’t be able to buy goodwill.
Hearts reputation had plunged straight to the bottom of the gutter last week.
Now they’re the saviours of football.
He’s diverted the spotlight.
03-06-2020, 01:30 PM
Shouldn’t be able to buy goodwill.
Hearts reputation had plunged straight to the bottom of the gutter last week.
Now they’re the saviours of football.
He’s diverted the spotlight.
Don't think anyone sees those fuds as the saviours. Everyone can see right through what they have been trying to do right from the start, even those who supported reconstruction saw it.
Now with the possibility of extra funds that she was keeping hidden away until, what I think was a slip if the tongue on radio, uncovered the benefactor folk I've spoken to still think she is a sleekit auld liar
147lothian
03-06-2020, 01:53 PM
Good post, Neil Doncaster has been stung once with the Dundee vote, he's not going to let that happen again and IMO its the same with this donation, he's waiting until Friday until he has something to say, it seems like some of our neighbours are reading too much into the silence, but I also suspect that AB knows reconstruction isn't going to happen and I can see the logic in your point I hope your right
03-06-2020, 01:59 PM
"Good times" from a fan whose team have just been relegated. Only a Jambo could come out with such delusions.
03-06-2020, 02:19 PM
"Good times" from a fan whose team have just been relegated. Only a Jambo could come out with such delusions.
:agree: Covid-19, players wages cut, not just relegated but rejected by Prem clubs, 4 wins in 30, manager sacked, no football in front of fans, Hearts haemorrhaging money. Yip, when you're a Jambo, this is as good as it gets.
03-06-2020, 02:21 PM
They seem to be a very blinkered fan base.
03-06-2020, 02:32 PM
https://bbc.in/3eQtg7j
5 year reconstruction on the table from Doncaster.
Budge only bothered about the Premiership and happy to let the lower leagues do what they please.
03-06-2020, 02:33 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52905133
SPFL: Neil Doncaster asks clubs about 14-team top flight for five years
Looks like the man's money is coming with strings attached after all ...
Green Blood
03-06-2020, 02:34 PM
This is getting ridiculous, those that think reconstruction is not going to save HMFC have their heads buried in the sand. Dungcaster wants it and is giving Budge all the opportunities to get it. This is ridiculous and an investigation is needed if HMFC stay up
03-06-2020, 02:35 PM
Budge only bothered about the Premiership and happy to let the lower leagues do what they please.
Looking like Hearts have bought the support of Doncaster. Only the clubs to go now.
03-06-2020, 02:35 PM
Unbelievable
03-06-2020, 02:37 PM
The only way this could be anymore blatant is if she wanted a 13 team league.
03-06-2020, 02:38 PM
Doesn’t look like it’s going to be over anytime soon then. Going to go on and on until Hearts get a result they are pleased with. I’ve always been of the opinion that it had no chance but if the SPFL want it to happen they’ll probably ensure it does.
03-06-2020, 02:38 PM
Who's to bet a 14-team league is voted in, fans, clubs etc think it's great and want it to continue, and then at the end of it the OF strike it down and relegate three clubs.
03-06-2020, 02:39 PM
Why 5 years why not 1, 2,3 or forever 😂 what a joke
03-06-2020, 02:39 PM
Ffs!
03-06-2020, 02:40 PM
I don’t understand why folk thought for a second that this guy was interested in philanthropical gestures to Scottish football. I think they’ll keep gnawing away at it till Budge gets her way. I don't think LD would vote for it but I can see us eventually being the only top flight club to say no.
03-06-2020, 02:42 PM
At least the bribery in Scotland is out front where everyone can see it I suppose. So much for this Anderson character having too much integrity for this sort of thing.
Be interesting to see if Hibs change their stance? Would be more shameful than the move on statement if we did.
03-06-2020, 02:43 PM
Serious question though why woukd Hearts make up one of the 14 in the top tier?
What a surprise! I am about done with Scottish football if this happens. Throw some money about and avoid relegation. We laugh at England being all about the cash!
03-06-2020, 02:45 PM
Reconstruction isn’t important anymore it’s all about a 14 team league in other words it’s ALL about Hearts and the bribe..
03-06-2020, 02:46 PM
Every SPFL Chairman and CEO should ask Doncaster one question: is the BG man's £4.xm donation contingent on Hearts staying in the Premiership or not?
If not, let's have the donation, and we can look into the value of league reconstruction next year, let's not rush it through.
If the donation needs Hearts to stay in the Prem, then we get to find out if the SPFL can be bought or not.
Aldoo
03-06-2020, 02:46 PM
Serious question though why woukd Hearts make up one of the 14 in the top tier?
Although it’s a legitimate question and one that’s popped up a number or times on here we need to stop asking it as it’s pretty obvious the plan/deal is and always will be to ensure that teams 13 and 14 are hearts and ICT. I’ve not heard a peep from Dundee or any team querying this either.
03-06-2020, 02:48 PM
Would this go with a top 6/bottom 8 split?
That's a non-starter imho, especially five years of it.
Who in their right mind would want that?
Scottish football bribed by the jambo.
After all their poppy thieving and not paying staff.
To getting the SPFL board to actively try to get them away with relegation?
Really couldnt make it up.
Plenty other sports out there.
Lee Marvin
03-06-2020, 02:50 PM
Well there you go, public bribery does exist within the SPFL.
I am close to being done with Scottish football and I will 100% not set foot inside ER if we vote for this.
03-06-2020, 02:50 PM
So would there be relegation after year one , what if your top of the championship and this happens or year two or three ? It's an absolute joke !
03-06-2020, 02:51 PM
I'm sure the people in charge of clubs will see right through this just like they have done so far.
03-06-2020, 02:51 PM
Or three teams relegated every year FFS !
Reconstruction isn’t important anymore it’s all about a 14 team league in other words it’s ALL about Hearts and the bribe..
That's the exact thing - it says Budge just wants a 14 team league and she is not bothered about the other leagues they can do what they want 😆 so basically it's Hearts in the top league and who cares what else happens! Unreal
03-06-2020, 02:52 PM
Doncaster is just keeping Ann sweet by showing he's making some attempt to help, they will be down in the Championship next season.
03-06-2020, 02:54 PM
Hopefully Anderson has simply asked Doncaster to pose the question with his offer standing regardless of the answer.
1, 2 or 5 years is the same pish. I can't see it passing.
03-06-2020, 02:56 PM
For Doncaster to even suggest a 5 year reconstruction is mental. It’ll be good to see how they plan to overcome objections in the top league of “we like it the way it is”.
Still needs an 11-1 vote to happen
2 years or 5 years - it still involves 3 teams getting relegated at some point
At least 4 clubs could see themselves in danger of that
MacGruber
There it is. Always said it was inevitable. They always slither out of it.
If the season plays out they would have went down.
Now, they stay up, offload their expensive flops, cut wages etc. Not only escape but have used it to position themselves better
One of the leagues must have sent the email saying ram your reconstruction.
Doncasters told Benny and Budge and Budge has probably taken a hissy fit.
Bribes bribes bribes.
Doncaster shouldnt be doing hearts bidding full stop.
03-06-2020, 02:58 PM
There it is. Always said it was inevitable. They always slither out of it.
If the season plays out they would have went down.
Now, they stay up, offload their expensive flops, cut wages etc. Not only escape but have used it to position themselves better
Jumping the gun a bit.
It’s still pretty far away from them staying up.
03-06-2020, 02:59 PM
Although it’s a legitimate question and one that’s popped up a number or times on here we need to stop asking it as it’s pretty obvious the plan/deal is and always will be to ensure that teams 13 and 14 are hearts and ICT. I’ve not heard a peep from Dundee or any team querying this either.
Correct.
I suspect people are trying to be funny but considering how the season ended early, of course Hearts would be one of the teams that stay up. It’s a stupid argument to suggest otherwise.
h1bs4life
03-06-2020, 03:02 PM
Looking at the BBC website its not just mention change to 14 , its also what would it take to change it to 14.
Bribery in Scottish Football who would have thought it.
If this goes through we better be putting out a statement saying we voted against it otherwise all the good work club has done to bring club and fans close together again will go down the tubs.
We will end up worse off than the flumps as we will end up loosing a fair few fans if we vote yes.
Looks like the bribe , oops sorry I mean the unequivocally no string attached money , had the desired effect.............. hopefully they are still told to bolt, but the way Doncaster has put the question makes it look like a fait accompli
The one way it might work is Hearts for relegation and the top three from the Championship join ?
Nae coincedence of course that Scott Gardiner's ICT come up. Shambles if this passes. I'd like to think Hibs would stand strong against this publicy if needed.
03-06-2020, 03:06 PM
****ing joke if this happens. All just to save Hearts.
03-06-2020, 03:07 PM
Hibs should tell them to beat it. If this went ahead the only club in Scotland to lose cash would be us.
Easy to see now how they managed to get a dodgy ref in that cup final.
Corrupt.
MacGruber
03-06-2020, 03:09 PM
Jumping the gun a bit.
It’s still pretty far away from them staying up.
I don't think they are.
Now language of if not why not means Doncaster wants it and SKY are on board.
Hearts were heading down. Now they won't be and have saved cash on cuts and getting rid of duds
Hibs will end up the only top tier team punished moving down to 7th.
Blatant bribery - no attempt to even hide it.
03-06-2020, 03:09 PM
I'm honestly sick of Scottish football.
03-06-2020, 03:14 PM
I don't think they are.
Now language of if not why not means Doncaster wants it and SKY are on board.
Hearts were heading down. Now they won't be and have saved cash on cuts and getting rid of duds
Hibs will end up the only top tier team punished moving down to 7th.
Blatant bribery - no attempt to even hide it.
Na I mean you’re jumping the gun a bit.
As things stand hearts are still going down and there’ll have to be a massive swing for that not to be the case
03-06-2020, 03:15 PM
Doncaster is just keeping Ann sweet by showing he's making some attempt to help, they will be down in the Championship next season.
After my initial rage subsided this is how I see it with 😎