View Full Version : NO to reconstruction
15-04-2020, 08:21 PM
Hibs have already voted to take a financial hit because it was the right thing to do. Why do you assume we'll do differently this time?
Also, Hearts in the same league would only guarantee 1 derby at ER.
We’re due 2 away, and 2 home after the split, next season, as it stands
If reconstruction allows Hearts to stay in the Premiership then Hibs will support it. 2,3 or 4 derbies a season will have a significant financial impact and nobody in the Hibs hierarchy will turn that down.
They would have to factor in lost season ticket revenue as some won't renew if Hearts are saved and Hibs voted for it (the same would happen over there if the positions were reversed). It wouldn't stop me renewing but some wouldn't because of it.
15-04-2020, 08:37 PM
Season ticket sales will drop massively if there is a 16, 18 or 20 team league.
We'd be replacing full houses against Hearts and the Ugly Sisters with a couple of hundred fans from St Mirren or Inverness, so it will be much easier to get a walk up ticket.
I was under the impression that St Mirren are currently in the top Division. Hearts would also be in any 16-18 team top division. Are you deliberately trying to make a bad case against reconstruction? Or talking bollox?
15-04-2020, 08:38 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/36999758
Should be an interesting proposal from Budge if she wants to go from 42 to 44 senior clubs?
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200415/fbdc21921141fa133ee5c976a81b663b.plist
Hibees1973
15-04-2020, 08:49 PM
So the people leading the group to propose reconstruction are Granny Budge and some guy from Accies.
The leaders of the two teams currently occupying last and second last in the league.
Talk about self interest. :hug:
15-04-2020, 09:01 PM
If reconstruction allows Hearts to stay in the Premiership then Hibs will support it. 2,3 or 4 derbies a season will have a significant financial impact and nobody in the Hibs hierarchy will turn that down.
We just voted to call the league as is on Friday. By doing that we voted against having 2, 3 or 4 derbies next season.
15-04-2020, 09:03 PM
14 teams could split after match 26, then play home and away. 38 games, same as now. Not saying it's a good idea, but it is potentially better than a larger still league.
I suggested the same on another thread - and it's better than the current set up if only because it evens up home and away fixtures across the board. However there is a weakness and another poster suggested something better which counteracts it.
The problem with a 7/7 split is a team needs to sit idle every match day post split. This could be circumvented by making it a 6/8 split - meaning top half have 36 fixtures while bottom 8 have 40 - so extra matches could ease the pain of missing out on the big matches.
Should be an interesting proposal from Budge if she wants to go from 42 to 44 senior clubs?
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200415/fbdc21921141fa133ee5c976a81b663b.plist
Not like her to go back on what she said previously.
15-04-2020, 09:18 PM
There has been a proposal on the table for at least a month. No relegation throughout. 14 team top league. Falkirk promoted. Bottom two divisions go regional. Kelty and Brora promoted. Plus Rangers and Celtic colts.
That gave me the boak.
Why dont you just wind up the jambos then Zelda.
15-04-2020, 09:28 PM
I suggested the same on another thread - and it's better than the current set up if only because it evens up home and away fixtures across the board. However there is a weakness and another poster suggested something better which counteracts it.
The problem with a 7/7 split is a team needs to sit idle every match day post split. This could be circumvented by making it a 6/8 split - meaning top half have 36 fixtures while bottom 8 have 40 - so extra matches could ease the pain of missing out on the big matches.
One of the issues with a 6/8 split is for those in 7th or 8th place who are clear of relegation and have nothing really to play for. More meaningless games.
15-04-2020, 09:29 PM
Ayr Utd owner will vote against restructure. A quote from him.
'Let's be realistic about this. If we go down this road, we're doing it to appease the likes of Hearts and Partick Thistle.
"And I'm sorry but that's insane.
"If you're going to restructure, do it properly, not because you're worried about the legal challenges flying around'
15-04-2020, 09:30 PM
This year was shaping up to be excellent.
The relegation battle was interesting.
The battle for top 6 was wide open.
The battle for European places was far from over.
Rangers had fallen away but had made a decent fist of a title challenge for much of the season.
Celtic still had to get past some decent clubs if they were to win the Scottish Cup.
Playoffs would, as ever, have been interesting.
There is no good reason to reconstruct anything.
There are plenty of bad reasons, most of all placating Rangers and Hearts, 2 badly run clubs who should be facing natural consequences of their mismanagement.
:aok: :agree:
15-04-2020, 09:33 PM
I've seen a draft of her proposal.
To be honest I don't think her naming it "The Budge Fudge - through the glass curtain" will please too many clubs.
15-04-2020, 09:34 PM
'Let's be realistic about this. If we go down this road, we're doing it to appease the likes of Hearts and Partick Thistle.
"If you're going to restructure, do it properly, not because you're worried about the legal challenges flying around'
This is what most people think, but they are letting Budge have her wee task force because she’s a pompous idiot.
Any reconstruction she proposes will be as well designed as her main stand and ignored.
It may however lead to a restructure in time... but not for next season.
15-04-2020, 09:41 PM
We just voted to call the league as is on Friday. By doing that we voted against having 2, 3 or 4 derbies next season.
The vote wasn't for the Premiership, though.
15-04-2020, 09:51 PM
respect 👍 i hope many more clubs feel the same
You also said on the other thread that a problem with the current set up was you might have 18, 19 or 20 home games. You're now advocating a set up where 6 in the league will definitely have 18 and 8 will have 20. How will that work with season tickets? Get a refund if you make the top 6 or pay an extra 10% if you don't make the top 6?
The more teams you put in the league and the more matches you have after the split then the more chance you have of loads of meaningless games.
Below is the league table after all but Rangers and St Johnstone had played 26 games. Imagine if it was 14 teams in your suggested set up and had say 1 of the extra teams at the bottom alongside Hearts and 1 of them a point ahead of us so we just miss out on the top 6 at your split. There are 10 games left for the top 6 but we can no longer qualify for Europe (which I think from next season Scotland will have 5 European places). We then have to play 14 games where there's every chance we'd be miles ahead of relegation so are just playing for the 7th place prize money. How many walk up tickets would we sell for the 14 games? Not many. You might be better off not buying a season ticket at the start of the season just walk ups and wait to see if we're looking like making the top 6 and then buy a half season ticket.
15-04-2020, 09:59 PM
The vote wasn't for the Premiership, though.
It was so long as Uefa give permission to wind up leagues. The formula has now been set by that vote. Only the timing remains.
15-04-2020, 09:59 PM
Can you find/tell me where you seen this quote from?
15-04-2020, 10:16 PM
I was under the impression that St Mirren are currently in the top Division. Hearts would also be in any 16-18 team top division. Are you deliberately trying to make a bad case against reconstruction? Or talking bollox?
No, and no.
We currently have two home games against each of Hearts and the Ugly Sisters. Any league with 16, 18 or 20 teams will mean only one home game against of those three, with the other being replaced by a team of the calibre of St Mirren or Inverness.
Losing three of our biggest six games of the season is hardly an attractive proposition. Compare the expected gate for a post split fixture with Sevco against the gate against a team like Dundee or Hamilton when Hibs have little to play for.
15-04-2020, 10:30 PM
Not as is. We voted to potentially move down a place if no further games can be played.
15-04-2020, 10:39 PM
Not as is. We voted to potentially move down a place if no further games can be played.
We could still draw the wee huns in the league cup or Scottish cup.
King Cosell
15-04-2020, 10:47 PM
I cannot stand Hearts, their supporters are appallingly dressed and they smell, but if we were in Hearts' position, would relegating us be fair?
If your answer's no, it's not fair for Hearts to go down. Simple as.
15-04-2020, 10:48 PM
We voted to accept the SPFL's proposal which in turn means we wont have any derby matches next season pending UEFA's approval.
I cannot see why Hibs would vote to have a bigger league. We would be distributing prize money amongst 14 teams instead of 12 meaning we would hit our own pockets. We have already sold a few thousand season tickets based on 38 games. A league of 14 could change that.
Also from a strategic point of view, without Hearts in the league we have the 4th biggest budget meaning we have a great chance of Europe. They gets always cost us so many points. Is it next season we get the extra European spot?
15-04-2020, 10:49 PM
I cannot stand Hearts, their supporters are appallingly dressed and they smell, but if we were in Hearts' position, would relegating us be fair?
Agree that it's not fair. It's bloody hilarious though.
15-04-2020, 10:50 PM
We voted to accept the SPFL's proposal which in turn means we wont have any derby matches next season pending UEFA's approval.
I cannot see why Hibs would vote to have a bigger league. We would be distributing prize money amongst 14 teams instead of 12 meaning we would hit our own pockets. We have already sold a few thousand season tickets based on 38 games. A league of 14 could change that.
Agree. I was just saying the placings won’t be as is for this year. We’d go down a place.
The Baldmans Comb
15-04-2020, 10:57 PM
There is also the point that at the moment Hamilton, St Mirren, Ross County, St Johnstone, Livi and Kilmarnock have Hearts exactly where they want them for financial reasons ( TV money is split based on league position) which is out of the league.
A 14 team league next year and Hearts with their budget are very likely to attain a much higher league position than 12th.
Hence without Hearts around all these teams gain a place which we have seen with Hibs/St Johnstone can be £125,000.
Similarly higher up as you would expect Hearts to be top 6 so why do Motherwell and Sheepies want to compete with them.
Financially its better for many clubs that Hearts are out the picture for one season until they bounce back as they will romp the championship.
15-04-2020, 11:19 PM
You also said on the other thread that a problem with the current set up was you might have 18, 19 or 20 home games. You're now advocating a set up where 6 in the league will definitely have 18 and 8 will have 20. How will that work with season tickets? Get a refund if you make the top 6 or pay an extra 10% if you don't make the top 6?
The more teams you put in the league and the more matches you have after the split then the more chance you have of loads of meaningless games.
Below is the league table after all but Rangers and St Johnstone had played 26 games. Imagine if it was 14 teams in your suggested set up and had say 1 of the extra teams at the bottom alongside Hearts and 1 of them a point ahead of us so we just miss out on the top 6 at your split. There are 10 games left for the top 6 but we can no longer qualify for Europe (which I think from next season Scotland will have 5 European places). We then have to play 14 games where there's every chance we'd be miles ahead of relegation so are just playing for the 7th place prize money. How many walk up tickets would we sell for the 14 games? Not many. You might be better off not buying a season ticket at the start of the season just walk ups and wait to see if we're looking like making the top 6 and then buy a half season ticket.
Fair points - all these split arrangements seem to have a drawback of some kind.
16-04-2020, 12:10 AM
Would they relegate us?..............in a f***ing heartbeat.
16-04-2020, 12:11 AM
They would have been first to respond :agree:
1875godsgift
16-04-2020, 12:22 AM
If we were in Hearts position then I would have no argument with us being relegated.
On that basis #SEND_THEM_DOON
BegbieHSC
16-04-2020, 12:40 AM
A 14 team league would be a sham, and unworkable.
I feel like an 18-20 team league could work (play everyone twice), but very few clubs would vote for it.
At the end of the day, most clubs want the Old Firm and tbf, us Hearts and Aberdeen as well at home twice for the ticket sales. Anything that impacts on that will get rejected by the clubs.
Reconstruction ain’t gonna happen - Hearts are doon!
BegbieHSC
16-04-2020, 12:45 AM
And also, the reconstruction ‘task force’ strikes me as a carrot thrown by the SPFL to delay the legal challenge Budge wants to pursue. If the task force she leads fails, would she have any grounds to take legal action for the consequences of said failure?
For as incompetent as the SPFL are, this was a fairly clever move.
Man Down Under
16-04-2020, 05:49 AM
If your answer's no, it's not fair for Hearts to go down. Simple as.Would Hearts want league reconstruction if they weren't being relegated?
Sent from my SM-A205GN using Tapatalk
16-04-2020, 06:21 AM
If we were in Hearts' position? As in 12th? Bottom of the league? Yeah, I'd expect to be relegated for finishing bottom. If the league is acknowledging Celtic as 1st and getting the league, then we have to acknowledge 12th and relegation. I'm not having this "oh they're 10 points clear and Hearts are only 4 points behind at the bottom" argument. Neither are mathematically over. But it's the only choice left.
Anything other than Hearts getting relegated now is appalling.
16-04-2020, 06:30 AM
If your answer's no, it's not fair for Hearts to go down. Simple as.Any club's fans would think it unfair if they were in that position – they are about as far from impartial as you can be. And Hibs fans are obviously not the group to ask for an unbiased opinion on Hearts.
A better question would be if some team that we bear no particular ill will, say St Johnstone or Ross County, were in Hearts' position, would relegating them be fair?
While I'd have a degree of sympathy (as with Patrick Thistle) that they don't get the chance to play their way out if it, I'd certainly see it as the 'least unfair' option given the circumstances.
Frankhfc
16-04-2020, 06:40 AM
And also, the reconstruction ‘task force’ strikes me as a carrot thrown by the SPFL to delay the legal challenge Budge wants to pursue. If the task force she leads fails, would she have any grounds to take legal action for the consequences of said failure?
For as incompetent as the SPFL are, this was a fairly clever move.
Budge must be the most gullible and stupid I've heard of if she has fallen for that without assurances from the SPFL. It simply beggars belief that its merely a dangled carrot. There must be more to it than that. Its what leads me to think there is a fair possibility that reconstruction without relegation could happen, I hope not, but no-ones that silly, surely?
16-04-2020, 06:42 AM
I are always been hopeful of league reconstruction to a 18 team league. For me it’s all about playing each team home and away once each season. My thought process on this is teams that don’t have the points to get to Europe or have too many to get relegated have a brilliant platform to bring through young talent.
I understand and appreciate this would vastly reduce the prize money each season, however if we started bringing through young talent that was to improve the team this would save us or any team from buying. I believe if we started giving young lads the chance like we did we could actually have a better league and international team too which would lead to a better TV deal.
Not sure how good my ideas are but I genuinely believe our league has been stale for years. However before league reconstruction should go ahead we should sit down and go through any proposals for the good of the game not to save Hearts. A one year league reconstruction for me is a definite no goer.
16-04-2020, 06:50 AM
Budge must be the most gullible and stupid I've heard of if she has fallen for that without assurances from the SPFL. It simply beggars belief that its merely a dangled carrot. There must be more to it than that. Its what leads me to think there is a fair possibility that reconstruction without relegation could happen, I hope not, but no-ones that silly, surely?
Ann Budge is not restructuring Scottish football - especially alongside the Hamilton representative. Even though Hamilton may see it as a way to stay in top division longer if more teams. (Less risk of relegation).
It’s a tick box exercise to show they heard her but it’s not happening.
The UEFA meeting on 23rd will then follow with Celtic champions and Hearts relegated (again).
Budge and Lewis from Hamilton will submit reconstruction ideas in 6 weeks - close to end of May. Surely that’s not enough time to negotiate with SKY and get everyone on board - less money in a time when clubs need more (including Rangers who need ££!). It will also mess with Hearts plans as they accept relegation as they could be getting on with preparing for Championship but Budge will be trying to squirm this though.
This won’t be passed as it’s the 11-1 vote.
So they will say they tried but it wasn’t possible.
Clubs will then try prepare for Europa League qualifiers / Champions League qualifiers and sort out contracts of players which finish end of May.
Partick and others may try legally to launch an enquiry like Rangers having a go at Doncaster and co but I think they won’t get anywhere.
Celtic Champions
Hearts - relegated (again)
Dundee Utd - as announced Champions yesterday = promoted instead of Hearts.
As soon as this is sorted several clubs should be charged for bringing the game into disrepute with various allegations.
Final point - Budge may try for reconstruction for season after just to make sure they aren’t stuck in Championship for many seasons but at the end of the day it’s the 11-1 vote again will be the issue plus renegotiating a SKY deal which is then 1 season into a 4 season contract.
berwickhibee
16-04-2020, 06:50 AM
I are always been hopeful of league reconstruction to a 18 team league. For me it’s all about playing each team home and away once each season. My thought process on this is teams that don’t have the points to get to Europe or have too many to get relegated have a brilliant platform to bring through young talent.
I understand and appreciate this would vastly reduce the prize money each season, however if we started bringing through young talent that was to improve the team this would save us or any team from buying. I believe if we started giving young lads the chance like we did we could actually have a better league and international team too which would lead to a better TV deal.
Not sure how good my ideas are but I genuinely believe our league has been stale for years. However before league reconstruction should go ahead we should sit down and go through any proposals for the good of the game not to save Hearts. A one year league reconstruction for me is a definite no goer.
Agree, if reconstruction is required, why the hurry.
Hearts never mentioned it until now.
Let's do it properly in 2022. Why rush it to appease a team
Who have continously overspent and cheated their way
Through Scottish football.
Rumble de Thump
16-04-2020, 06:53 AM
The SPFL wasn't in a position to offer assurances. Some clubs have just been publicly posturing to appease their fans.
Sevco, for example, had to be seen to be trying to stop Celtic being awarded the title even though they were always going to eventually be declared champions. Dundee made a farce of their vote so had to act like they were trying to save Scottish football even though the only thing they could actually do was vote yes or no. With Hearts, Budge's reputation was in tatters before the pandemic broke out. If she goes through the motions, acting like she's trying her best to keep Hearts in the premier league when it's a lost cause, maybe she'll win favour with some Hearts fans.
chippy
16-04-2020, 07:38 AM
I think there is a fair chance of reconstruction. I agree with comment about posturing to appease certain clubs fans. Also it is possible that the task force is some sort of sham. It is suggested on here by Ozy and others that there’s no chance of an agreement due to voting criteria requiring an 11-1 and the unwillingness of many to share the spoils.
I think the biggest impediment is not the above or the potential loss of 4 old firm games or the Wider sharing of the TV deal. it is the voting structure itself which is at risk if you bring in more premier teams. If you make it 14 or 16 what would it be? For former 12-2 or latter 12-4. Either way that stops the old firm veto. From this debate and others before there are many 14/16 even 18 club proposals that could maintain 4 old firm games for TV and still allow 6/8 clubs 4 games vs Old Firm. The other red herring is the money split. The current splits could easily be maintained for a deal to be done for say 4/5 years.
That is the likeliest issue to stop reconstruction in my view. If it does happen though the likeliest option to pass would be the 14 team league with an 8/6 split. Of course the league could be expanded but the new clubs whether 2 or 4 don’t get full voting rights in the premier for 4 years therefore maintaining the old form veto
16-04-2020, 07:41 AM
What's good for the Goose...
16-04-2020, 07:44 AM
I’m not sure anything significantly changes with the Sky deal as long as the reconstruction allows for 4 old firm games. And still keep 2 Edinburgh derbies and 2 Dundee derbies minimum. The overall amount of games they’ll show doesn’t change either.
How the overall pot of money/prize money is distributed is up to the SPFL clubs and will be the real sticking point. I don’t think it has a chance of passing under a one-season only change but a long term 14 team top division may be more attractive to more clubs than we think.
Hope I’m wrong
Who the **** is she to decide. Get yourself tae ****. Sorry and apologises for the rant. She now thinks she’s the messiah of Scottish Football.
Truth be told she doesn’t give a flying hoot about any club and is happy to see them booted out of league or change the rules to suit her and her cheats.
16-04-2020, 07:58 AM
I am not entirely sure why people keep saying its unfair on Hearts. They are adrift at the bottom after 30 games. Its merited. Partick are the only club who could have a genuine complaint.
16-04-2020, 08:02 AM
Longer term I am in favour of reconstruction. Reckon its the way forward. It should be discussed and researched properly over a season or two before being implemented in a couple of years. Not some rushed nonsense just to keep Hearts in the league.
16-04-2020, 08:21 AM
Good post, this size of league makes harder for the OF to win it and as for meaningless games what if this season had been played out and we were in the bottom six ? we would have been safe from relegation but having to play five "meaningless" games. My point is there is always meaningless games and in the past supporters would stay away as unlike nowadays they were mostly walk ups as opposed to todays fans who are mostly ST holders. I think it's worth a go for a few seasons then review it but not for next season naturally !
16-04-2020, 08:32 AM
League restructuring is something that needs to be considered but it just can’t be rushed and it certainly can’t be for 1 season. An 18 team premiership has long been argued for, most fans are bored with playing the same teams 3 or 4 times a season. But losing a potential 8 decent games against Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and Hearts to replaced by smaller teams is just not going to bring fans into stadiums.
Hibs have lost out already with the ending of the season, prize money and 4 home games. If an extended league further dilutes TV money and prize money it’s not a runner for me. There is already a huge disparity in the distribution of tv money and prize money, the top two get the most the rest get the crumbs. If league restructuring is to take place it should be for the 21/22 season. If it’s rushed I hope Hibs will vote against it but wait until the last minute to do so.
16-04-2020, 08:37 AM
Ayr Utd chairman been quite vocal this morning. Says he won’t be voting for a 14 team league Premiership (although not sure he has a vote)
Basically saying reconstruction is not about appeasing certain clubs
He told the Ayrshire Post : "I have no interest in suing people or pursuing legal challenges.
"But if that is the proposal put to us, I will find myself having a very real problem.
You can't tell me that, all of a sudden, a 14 team Premiership is the solution to our game's problems.
"Let's be realistic about this. If we go down this road, we're doing it to appease the likes of Hearts and Partick Thistle. "And I'm sorry but that's insane.
"If you're going to restructure, do it properly, not because you're worried about the legal challenges flying around.
Also, why should Inverness be promoted from our league when they are in a play-off place just the same as Dundee and Ayr United? I would view that as grossly unfair."
The 42 member clubs are set to chew the fat as Hearts' Ann Budge and Hamilton's Les Gray lead a reconstruction taskforce.
But Ayr chairman Cameron insists his club won't be bullied into backing the much mooted 14 team setup.
He said: "We've done the logical thing by finally passing the SPFL resolution.
"It was pretty ugly and not perfect, and not everyone was going to like it, but it was the best way forward in the circumstances as far as I could tell.
"We're in danger of opening ourselves up to more farce here.
"If I could be convinced that a 14 team Premiership was the way to go, of course I'd support it. But I'm not.
"And by the way, it's not like I'm a huge fan of a 16 team setup either.
"I have long argued for either 18 or 20 but we all know that will never happen.
"What I'm simply saying is you can't force through a 14 team Premiership off the back of all this. It wouldn't be right."
16-04-2020, 08:41 AM
Ayr Utd chairman been quite vocal this morning. Says he won’t be voting for a 14 team league Premiership (although not sure he has a vote)
Basically saying reconstruction is not about appeasing certain clubs
He told the Ayrshire Post : "I have no interest in suing people or pursuing legal challenges.
"But if that is the proposal put to us, I will find myself having a very real problem.
You can't tell me that, all of a sudden, a 14 team Premiership is the solution to our game's problems.
"Let's be realistic about this. If we go down this road, we're doing it to appease the likes of Hearts and Partick Thistle. "And I'm sorry but that's insane.
"If you're going to restructure, do it properly, not because you're worried about the legal challenges flying around.
Also, why should Inverness be promoted from our league when they are in a play-off place just the same as Dundee and Ayr United? I would view that as grossly unfair."
The 42 member clubs are set to chew the fat as Hearts' Ann Budge and Hamilton's Les Gray lead a reconstruction taskforce.
But Ayr chairman Cameron insists his club won't be bullied into backing the much mooted 14 team setup.
He said: "We've done the logical thing by finally passing the SPFL resolution.
"It was pretty ugly and not perfect, and not everyone was going to like it, but it was the best way forward in the circumstances as far as I could tell.
"We're in danger of opening ourselves up to more farce here.
"If I could be convinced that a 14 team Premiership was the way to go, of course I'd support it. But I'm not.
"And by the way, it's not like I'm a huge fan of a 16 team setup either.
"I have long argued for either 18 or 20 but we all know that will never happen.
"What I'm simply saying is you can't force through a 14 team Premiership off the back of all this. It wouldn't be right."
Good to hear hope that s the opinion in the Premiership too.
16-04-2020, 08:49 AM
League restructuring is something that needs to be considered but it just can’t be rushed and it certainly can’t be for 1 season. An 18 team premiership has long been argued for, most fans are bored with playing the same teams 3 or 4 times a season. But losing a potential 8 decent games against Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and Hearts to replaced by smaller teams is just not going to bring fans into stadiums.
Hibs have lost out already with the ending of the season, prize money and 4 home games. If an extended league further dilutes TV money and prize money it’s not a runner for me. There is already a huge disparity in the distribution of tv money and prize money, the top two get the most the rest get the crumbs. If league restructuring is to take place it should be for the 21/22 season. If it’s rushed I hope Hibs will vote against it but wait until the last minute to do so.
Pretty much where I am. It plainly isn't for the right reasons at this stage as there will always be some team done over while Hearts and others have a case for complaint it is quite simply the fairest way to deal with it that teams at the bottom of the league go down as they would have done at the end of the season. Reconstruction should only ever happen after months of proper consultation for the good of all not thrown together because Hearts don't like it. If Hamilton were where Hearts are this simply wouldn't be getting considered. I will be seriously hacked off if there is some half baked proposal which gets voted through to save them as I don't think they would do the same for us and we should utilise the opportunity,
16-04-2020, 09:08 AM
Just for an interesting comparison lets take season 72-73 with an 18 team league and remember hardly any St back then
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1972–73_Hibernian_F.C._season
We all know this is being done for all the wrong reasons and the Ayr Utd Chairman hits the nail on the head..... it’s to appease Hearts and Patrick!
Tick tock
16-04-2020, 09:12 AM
Just for an interesting comparison lets take season 72-73 with an 18 team league and remember hardly any St back then
We could have won that league if we hadn't utterly collapsed in mid-March. What happened there?
chippy
16-04-2020, 09:23 AM
Good to hear hope that s the opinion in the Premiership too.
Would he be against it if Ayr were in ICT or Dundee’s place? Would he accept a 16 team league?
16-04-2020, 09:30 AM
What if UEFA call the leagues but say relegation must be avoided where possible or frame it in some some such legal gobbledygook?
Have any of the powerful uefa nations got a big team in trouble?
16-04-2020, 09:32 AM
What if UEFA call the leagues but say relegation must be avoided where possible or frame it in some some such legal gobbledygook?
Have any of the powerful uefa nations got a big team in trouble?
Scotland!!! Partick will be relegated from Div 1. No one else in Scotland that I can see
16-04-2020, 09:54 AM
Good post, this size of league makes harder for the OF to win it and as for meaningless games what if this season had been played out and we were in the bottom six ? we would have been safe from relegation but having to play five "meaningless" games. My point is there is always meaningless games and in the past supporters would stay away as unlike nowadays they were mostly walk ups as opposed to todays fans who are mostly ST holders. I think it's worth a go for a few seasons then review it but not for next season naturally !
Celtic, Rangers, Hibs and St Johnstone would have little or nothing to play for under the 12 team league however it is possible as many as 11 - 13 teams would have nothing to play for in 18 team league. This season was set up for a decent finish I don't think that would be the case in an 18 team league.
The gap now compared to 50 years ago between the haves and have nots is far wider i just don't think it would work for the majority of Scottish clubs.
16-04-2020, 10:01 AM
Celtic, Rangers, Hibs and St Johnstone would have little or nothing to play for under the 12 team league however it is possible as many as 11 - 13 teams would have nothing to play for in 18 team league. This season was set up for a decent finish I don't think that would be the case in an 18 team league.
The gap now compared to 50 years ago between the haves and have nots is far wider i just don't think it would work for the majority of Scottish clubs.
I beg to differ, teams from the lower leagues are better set up than ever, fancy Hibs to go to any ground in the championship and get an easy win ?
16-04-2020, 10:06 AM
Would he be against it if Ayr were in ICT or Dundee’s place? Would he accept a 16 team league?That theoretical issue doesn't really arise in his article, he's talking a lot of sense about the motives of those that actually are shouting the loudest.
16-04-2020, 10:11 AM
Longer term I am in favour of reconstruction. Reckon its the way forward. It should be discussed and researched properly over a season or two before being implemented in a couple of years. Not some rushed nonsense just to keep Hearts in the league.
Somebody, somewhere will always be looking for reconstruction. I would only be interested in an 18 or 20 team league but as we all know without going into tall the whys and wherefores that’s never going to happen.
For me this 12 team league, with it’s flaws and all, has been the best and most stable proposal. The playoffs could be fairer to the Championship clubs but hey, we’ve proven the Premiership club can still be **** enough to go down.:greengrin
Change for changes sake is bad enough but change for the naked self interest of Hearts is beyond the pale.
16-04-2020, 10:13 AM
An 18 team league won't happen, that means st Johnstone, Livingston, Hamilton, st Mirren and Kilmarnock will only fill their stadium twice a season, and because they rely on the uglies money they won't vote it through.
I would want 18 team league myself but can't see it
16-04-2020, 10:13 AM
...and only 2pts for a win. The 3pt win distorts the relative standings in the league.
16-04-2020, 10:16 AM
I beg to differ, teams from the lower leagues are better set up than ever, fancy Hibs to go to any ground in the championship and get an easy win ?
Fancy Celtic and Rangers to drop points to any of them? Celtic would be 1\20 with the bookies for some games and they don't often get it wrong. Would I fancy any mid table championship team to win at ER no.
16-04-2020, 10:20 AM
We absolutely rogered the top 2 in the championship out the cup this season. We'd win that league easily.
16-04-2020, 10:33 AM
Fancy Celtic and Rangers to drop points to any of them? Celtic would be 1\20 with the bookies for some games and they don't often get it wrong. Would I fancy any mid table championship team to win at ER no.
It wasn't so long ago that Clyde knocked Celtic out the cup, I would fancy any mid table championship to give us a good game at ER. ICT, Hearts ! Dundee, Dunfermline. Easy games, how many times have we fallen into that trap ?
16-04-2020, 10:34 AM
We absolutely rogered the top 2 in the championship out the cup this season. We'd win that league easily.
Aye, a re-play and the other went to extra time !
16-04-2020, 10:47 AM
What one went to extra time ?
RossScott1991
16-04-2020, 10:59 AM
What is the general feeling amongst everyone, who thinks there’s a chance of it happening? Those saying it won’t happen are you convinced of this or is it more just hope than expectation
16-04-2020, 11:01 AM
You sure?
16-04-2020, 11:02 AM
What one went to extra time ?
Your right, had a brain fade there !
16-04-2020, 11:03 AM
It wasn't so long ago that Clyde knocked Celtic out the cup, I would fancy any mid table championship to give us a good game at ER. ICT, Hearts ! Dundee, Dunfermline. Easy games, how many times have we fallen into that trap ?
“It wasn’t so long ago”
Just the 14 years!!!
The Baldmans Comb
16-04-2020, 11:08 AM
What is the general feeling amongst everyone, who thinks there’s a chance of it happening? Those saying it won’t happen are you convinced of this or is it more just hope than expectation
It needs an 11:1 vote and I am absolutely convinced this won't be achieved.
St Mirren, Hamilton, Ross County face relegation or play offs the following year when you revert to 12 teams.
Hibs face season ticket sale wrath if they vote for it.
Celtic and Sevco like the status quo and cosy already agreed Sky deal that no one wants to renegotiate.
Aberdeen, Motherwell and us don't want to compete with Hearts for European places.
Everyone benefits from Hearts being out of the league as they have strong resources so could easily bounce back to be top 6 so most clubs drop a place down and lose TV money as that is paid out on league position.
1:11 is my prediction not 11:1.
16-04-2020, 11:13 AM
If Celtic and rangers get their colt teams I can see them voting for it, the size of league they win won't matter too much to them compared to that.
Hearts obviously will. I feel like somehow Hamilton will be convinced given they're also steering it (very much a secondary role behind hearts) although I think it's not in their interests - they should just be thankful they've somehow lasted another year in the premiership against all odds.
Livi made sounds that they were open to reconstruction - but I genuinely can't see why they or anyone else would want to vote for it.
I make that 8-4 to the no's. :dunno:
16-04-2020, 11:14 AM
Your right, had a brain fade there !
I've had many over the years :greengrin
16-04-2020, 11:19 AM
I like the league as it is. The top six and bottom six almost always have loads to play for. Keep it.
There must have been about a handful of all Scottish football supporters that even mentioned any kind of league reconstruction this season or last season before this all kicked off. It’s not as if people have been championing this for years and now is the perfect opportunity. It was fine the way it is.
16-04-2020, 11:28 AM
I like the league as it is. The top six and bottom six almost always have loads to play for. Keep it.
There must have been about a handful of all Scottish football supporters that even mentioned any kind of league reconstruction this season or last season before this all kicked off. It’s not as if people have been championing this for years and now is the perfect opportunity. It was fine the way it is.
Personally I'd like an expanded league but up to 16 or even 18 teams. Your right though that this hasn't really been on the agenda for a long time and there has been no consensus amongst fans or the clubs on this.
It absolutely cannot be railroaded through at this point in time.
16-04-2020, 11:38 AM
Personally I'd like an expanded league but up to 16 or even 18 teams. Your right though that this hasn't really been on the agenda for a long time and there has been no consensus amongst fans or the clubs on this.
👍
16-04-2020, 11:43 AM
Found this when doing a quick Google search. Said it was leaked from the SPFL, but not sure if that's correct.
The plan would be:
14 Premier League teams phase 1 pre-split, playing 26 games home & away.
Top 8 teams would then split into a Premier League 1, playing another 14 games home and away
Bottom 6 teams would then form Premier League 2, joining the top two from the Championship.
All 14 Premier League teams would play 40 games in the season instead of the current 38.
Would generate interest at the time of the split and also then the push for Title/European spots.
Thoughts?
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EUDvjESXsAYjU1X?format=jpg&name=large
Sioux
16-04-2020, 11:44 AM
And no wonder. More than half the clubs have nothing to play for after Christmas. Friendlies glorified as league games, and the main reason the 18 team set up was changed.
16-04-2020, 11:50 AM
And no wonder. More than half the clubs have nothing to play for after Christmas. Friendlies glorified as league games, and the main reason the 18 team set up was changed.
And yet Spain, Italy, England, Germany, France etc all have 18-20 team and seen to manage just fine. We still have plenty of meaninglessness games with the split just a naff way of adding "competition".
I'm just tired of seeing us like up against the same teams 4 times a season in the league, and with the cups thrown in possibly 5/6 times a season.
16-04-2020, 11:53 AM
Best option for me would be the following:
14 team top division
14 team second division
18 team third division (Kelty, Bonyrigg, Brora and Inverurie promoted from lower leagues)
Splits: top two leagues split after everyone has played everyone else home and away - top division into 6/8 (to offset lost income from no second OF home games), championship into 7/7. Third division play each other home and away.
Relegation: two relegated from top and second division, with 3rd bottom entering into playoff with 3rd, 4th and 5th from division below. Three relegated from third division, replaced by winners of HFL and LFL and winner of playoff involving the two second-placed teams.
Europe: 1st and 2nd qualify for UCL, 3rd qualifies for EL. 4th, 5th and 6th enter into a playoff with 7th from the other end of the split for the ECL place - 4th playing 7th over two legs and 5th playing 6th. The two winners play each other at a neutral venue in the final - if the Scottish Cup ECL place is passed down into the league then 4th automatically get it and the playoff is between the 5th-8th placed teams. If only three teams are qualifying for Europe due to us being **** then the playoff is cancelled.
Sorted. Honestly, if they apply all my ideas for just the top division then I'm happy.
CLASS OF 72 -73
16-04-2020, 12:04 PM
Take your point that there is loads to play for in the current set up but 'about a handful' for a bigger league? Only because its just not financially viable and shot down by the powers at be so supporters have parked the enthusiasm. Like many I'd have 16 any day. Current set up is boring playing each other 4 times.
16-04-2020, 12:08 PM
And yet Spain, Italy, England, Germany, France etc all have 18-20 team and seen to manage just fine. We still have plenty of meaninglessness games with the split just a naff way of adding "competition".
I'm just tired of seeing us like up against the same teams 4 times a season in the league, and with the cups thrown in possibly 5/6 times a season.
...and they all have more European spots to play for and more teams at risk of relegation. Their apples are out pears.
The Baldmans Comb
16-04-2020, 12:09 PM
If Celtic and rangers get their colt teams I can see them voting for it, the size of league they win won't matter too much to them compared to that.
Hearts obviously will. I feel like somehow Hamilton will be convinced given they're also steering it (very much a secondary role behind hearts) although I think it's not in their interests - they should just be thankful they've somehow lasted another year in the premiership against all odds.
Livi made sounds that they were open to reconstruction - but I genuinely can't see why they or anyone else would want to vote for it.
Hamilton are the counter balance to Queen Annie.
If there is any team that are going to lose out when you switch back to 12 and have to relegate 3 clubs its Hamilton.
You would have to have a permanent 14 team league and try to restrict relegation to 1 down fixed or maybe plus a play off for Hamilton to be in favor.
They know when they go down they aren't coming back up for a long time.
16-04-2020, 12:10 PM
Found this when doing a quick Google search. Said it was leaked from the SPFL, but not sure if that's correct.
The plan would be:
Top 8 teams would then split into a Premier League 1, playing another 14 games home and away
Bottom 6 teams would then form Premier League 2, joining the top two from the Championship.
All 14 Premier League teams would play 40 games in the season instead of the current 38.
Would generate interest at the time of the split and also then the push for Title/European spots.
Thoughts?
It’s a bloody dog’s dinner thst’s been mooted for years by Gordon Smith. Disregarded every time. Ann Budge will have a road to Damascus revelation no doubt.
16-04-2020, 12:16 PM
[QUOTE=Sioux;6145420]And no wonder. More than half the clubs have nothing to play for after Christmas. Friendlies glorified as league games, and the main reason the 18 team set up was changed.[/QUOTAye, that was the crap league that let us play young players instead of searching the lower leagues of every country known to man looking for a bargain that could slot straight in to the team as losing is unthinkable and relegation even more so. Back then with the so called crap league we had teams going to the world cups but we decided to go with a ten team league and it has been a downward spiral ever since.
16-04-2020, 12:16 PM
I would almost guarantee at least one probably 2-3 teams would become detached in an 18 team league. I suppose there would be the odd shock and one of two teams would perform above their predicted place but imho there would be many many meaningless games.
16-04-2020, 12:21 PM
[QUOTE=Sioux;6145420]And no wonder. More than half the clubs have nothing to play for after Christmas. Friendlies glorified as league games, and the main reason the 18 team set up was changed.[/QUOTAye, that was the crap league that let us play young players instead of searching the lower leagues of every country known to man looking for a bargain that could slot straight in to the team as losing is unthinkable and relegation even more so. Back then with the so called crap league we had teams going to the world cups but we decided to go with a ten team league and it has been a downward spiral ever since.
I'm not sure the size of the league has much to do with how good our national team is.
We ended the 18 team league in 1975. We had only been to one WC in the previous 15 years, and no Euros. Since then, we've been to 5 WC's, and 1 Euro.
16-04-2020, 12:25 PM
I understand that some people might have that point of view but I mostly go to watch Hibs win individual games..... as I long since gave up hope of us ever winning the league and we only win a cup every ten to twenty years.
So, to me at least, no game is meaningless.
chippy
16-04-2020, 12:39 PM
The plan would be:
Thoughts?
Though I’m a 16 team fan this is one of the best options . Good for the Top 8 and makes the bottom 8 set of 14 games interesting if 2 go down
chippy
16-04-2020, 12:41 PM
[QUOTE=greenpaper55;6145460]
I'm not sure the size of the league has much to do with how good our national team is.
We ended the 18 team league in 1975. We had only been to one WC in the previous 15 years, and no Euros. Since then, we've been to 5 WC's, and 1 Euro.
chippy
16-04-2020, 12:44 PM
[QUOTE=greenpaper55;6145460]
Good point but I’d say that 1978 team came through the old 18 team set up as did many of the 1982 team, maybe even some of 1986. As well as that many Scottish players from the old 1st division were picked up by English clubs
chippy
16-04-2020, 12:49 PM
14 team top division
14 team second division
18 team third division (Kelty, Bonyrigg, Brora and Inverurie promoted from lower leagues)
Splits: top two leagues split after everyone has played everyone else home and away - top division into 6/8 (to offset lost income from no second OF home games), championship into 7/7. Third division play each other home and away.
Relegation: two relegated from top and second division, with 3rd bottom entering into playoff with 3rd, 4th and 5th from division below. Three relegated from third division, replaced by winners of HFL and LFL and winner of playoff involving the two second-placed teams.
Europe: 1st and 2nd qualify for UCL, 3rd qualifies for EL. 4th, 5th and 6th enter into a playoff with 7th from the other end of the split for the ECL place - 4th playing 7th over two legs and 5th playing 6th. The two winners play each other at a neutral venue in the final - if the Scottish Cup ECL place is passed down into the league then 4th automatically get it and the playoff is between the 5th-8th placed teams. If only three teams are qualifying for Europe due to us being **** then the playoff is cancelled.
Sorted. Honestly, if they apply all my ideas for just the top division then I'm happy.
Pretty good mate I’m in for this if no to 16. I’m also an outlier as I’d like colts teams in a 4th tier but being able to rise to Tier 2 or 3
16-04-2020, 12:49 PM
I'm the same. Every year there's been interesting developments in both halves of the league (apart from whos going to win it). I dont see any benefit in allowing another couple of teams in. Apart from the obvious one Hearts will get, by not being relegated (which is only a benefit to Hearts Derby games aside). I cant see anything being passed anyway & not sure what Budges thinking is by agreeing to head up the steering group.
Best option for me would be to relegate Hearts, promote Dundee Utd and have a 12 Team SPL!
With the Championship, League 1 and 2 remaining the same.
Simple this really!
Tug Wilson
16-04-2020, 12:56 PM
The plan would be:
Thoughts?
How do you add in the 2 Championship teams to the bottom 6? What happens to points earned already?
chippy
16-04-2020, 12:56 PM
We could have won that league if we hadn't utterly collapsed in mid-March. What happened there?
We lost John Brownlie to a thuggish tackle/broken leg and soon after Mickey ‘genius ‘
Edwards to a long suspension
chippy
16-04-2020, 01:04 PM
Excellent point re the colts teams and I think we’d be up for a B team in the pyramid set up too. I’m all for that as long as it’s open to all the premier clubs- doubt more that 6 would do it though. That could swing Old Firm, Hibs and Aberdeen behind it so who would oppose it then ? It would also make it a permanent fix
16-04-2020, 01:06 PM
The plan would be:
Thoughts?
That's even more stupid than the original 12-12 into 8-8-8 idea first proposed. It can't work with a 14 team league and the only reason they would propose it is so Hearts don't get relegated.
16-04-2020, 01:15 PM
Reconstruction sounds good. Anything to shake up the tedium that is Scottish football.
Jpdhfc
16-04-2020, 01:26 PM
How do you add in the 2 Championship teams to the bottom 6? What happens to points earned already?
What would the championship teams be playing for after the split.
16-04-2020, 01:44 PM
Reconstruction sounds good. Anything to shake up the tedium that is Scottish football.
😂😂😂
Wakeyhibee
16-04-2020, 01:56 PM
14 team top division
14 team second division
With 2 up 2 down and
3rd bottom v 3rd to 5th championship play offs
Bottom half got all to play for all the way as does top half of championship.
houstonhibbee
16-04-2020, 01:57 PM
Good point
maybe they all reset to 0 points?
how many go Down?
and how many come up from division 1?
Sioux
16-04-2020, 01:59 PM
Yeah let's change for the sake of change. It's like changing a 10 year old car for a 9 year old one, same make and model, same components, and expecting a better car.
No one would do that unless there was certainty that the newer car was significantly better than the old.
16-04-2020, 02:04 PM
Excellent point re the colts teams and I think we’d be up for a B team in the pyramid set up too. I’m all for that as long as it’s open to all the premier clubs- doubt more that 6 would do it though. That could swing Old Firm, Hibs and Aberdeen behind it so who would oppose it then ? It would also make it a permanent fix
The lower league sides had to be persuaded long and hard to actually open the pyramid system and it got opened being heavily favoured towards the league teams. I don’t think we will ever see East Stirling or Berwick Rangers back ever in the leagues. I don’t see what 10/20 down there would have to gain by further opening the leagues and introduced colt teams to take there places either? Many clubs would be voting to be demoted eventually that way - it could see the demise of many professional clubs who have historically been part of Scottish football.
16-04-2020, 02:05 PM
Yeah let's change for the sake of change. It's like changing a 10 year old car for a 9 year old one, same make and model, same components, and expecting a better car.
No one would do that unless there was certainty that the newer car was significantly better than the old.
Correct.
inglisavhibs
16-04-2020, 02:15 PM
The 18 club league nearly killed Scottish Football for good, far too many meaningless games which next to nobody attended. With our population 12 is the maximum we should have.
16-04-2020, 02:42 PM
Hamilton are the counter balance to Queen Annie.
If there is any team that are going to lose out when you switch back to 12 and have to relegate 3 clubs its Hamilton.
You would have to have a permanent 14 team league and try to restrict relegation to 1 down fixed or maybe plus a play off for Hamilton to be in favor.
They know when they go down they aren't coming back up for a long time.
What they need to be there for them to vote in favour of it will likely be there though I think.
Hearts aren't going to sign off on this without having made Hamilton happy or else they'll know they're not going to win the vote. Hamilton will be the first team they look to appease. Get them onside then start working on sweeteners for the rest.
16-04-2020, 03:23 PM
That's even more stupid than the original 12-12 into 8-8-8 idea first proposed. It can't work with a 14 team league and the only reason they would propose it is so Hearts don't get relegated.
The 12/12 into 8/8/8 is by far the best option on the table as long as everyones points are rest to Zero after you qualify for your play off group.
Top 8 battling for 4 or 5 Euro spots
Middle 8 battling to stay in top12 or get promoted into top12
Bottom 8 battling for survival in the top tier of 24 with only 5 guaranteed.
That set up would have meaningful games right to the very last game of every season.
16-04-2020, 03:40 PM
It needs an 11:1 vote and I am absolutely convinced this won't be achieved.
St Mirren, Hamilton, Ross County face relegation or play offs the following year when you revert to 12 teams.
Hibs face season ticket sale wrath if they vote for it.
Celtic and Sevco like the status quo and cosy already agreed Sky deal that no one wants to renegotiate.
Aberdeen, Motherwell and us don't want to compete with Hearts for European places.
Everyone benefits from Hearts being out of the league as they have strong resources so could easily bounce back to be top 6 so most clubs drop a place down and lose TV money as that is paid out on league position.
1:11 is my prediction not 11:1.
That all makes complete sense.
James Stephen
16-04-2020, 03:59 PM
The 12/12 into 8/8/8 is by far the best option on the table as long as everyones points are rest to Zero after you qualify for your play off group.
Top 8 battling for 4 or 5 Euro spots
Middle 8 battling to stay in top12 or get promoted into top12
Bottom 8 battling for survival in the top tier of 24 with only 5 guaranteed.
That set up would have meaningful games right to the very last game of every season.
Resetting points is a mental idea, and completely defeats the purpose of a league season.
The fact that people are having to come up with such outlandish contrivances to try and get something that is vaguely practical shows how ridiculous the whole idea of doing a reconstruction in 2 weeks is.
It's more like changing you perfectly good Merc for an unreliable Dacia and agreeing to pay more each month for it.
Green Badger
16-04-2020, 04:39 PM
Resetting points is a mental idea, and completely defeats the purpose of a league season.
The fact that people are having to come up with such outlandish contrivances to try and get something that is vaguely practical shows how ridiculous the whole idea of doing a reconstruction in 2 weeks is.
Totally agree, I am yet to see a single idea that is better than the current setup and likely to gain the votes necessary to be implemented. Nor do I expect to see one magically appear in the next 2 weeks.
16-04-2020, 05:00 PM
Whats mental about restting points to Zero?
Stage one is a qualification round of fixtures. A Competition in itself. Once you qualify you are in a new league.
Are you suggesting as an example that you should carry forward points won in say the Euro or WC qualifiers to the 1st round of the competition proper. Now that would be mental.
tonyrougier123
16-04-2020, 05:01 PM
Totally agree, I am yet to see a single idea that is better than the current setup and likely to gain the votes necessary to be implemented. Nor do I expect to see one magically appear in the next 2 weeks.
Anything is better than the current setup imo.
We should be goiing for summer football and a winter British cup.and a 16 team league
16-04-2020, 05:06 PM
Stage one is a qualification round of fixtures. A Competition in itself. Once you qualify you are in a new league.
Are you suggesting as an example that you should carry forward points won in say the Euro or WC qualifiers to the 1st round of the competition proper. Now that would be mental.
You think Celtic or Rangers would ever agree to that? Not one single chance.
16-04-2020, 05:10 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/robbie-neilson-keen-14-team-premiership-and-says-hearts-should-be-there-2540797
Thank goodness United don’t get a vote
James Stephen
16-04-2020, 05:21 PM
Neither of those competitions is a league, and qualifying for a tournament is a completely different thing to a league championship.
The whole point in a league is deciding who is best, and worst, across the duration of the season, based on the most (or fewest) points. That idea makes a mockery of that.
Couldn't agree more. You could have a team lose every single game and be more than 20 points behind the 9th placed and then they're equal again. Can't believe anyone would be stupid enough to come up with such an unfair set up. I hope that's what Budge puts forward, it is sh¡t.
CorrieHibs
16-04-2020, 05:22 PM
I get a horrible feeling she is going to pull this off. I don’t know how. I just know she is an ego maniac and will have had some assurances from clubs, before setting off on this quest. Plus Hearts are the luckiest team in the world.
16-04-2020, 05:27 PM
One thing that could work is if you reset the 4th placed team in the Championship to 0, put 1st in the Championship and 12th in the Premiership on the same points, and everyone relative to where they were before the split.
Let's take this season as an example, with the points tallies after everyone played each other twice:
Ross County: 22
St Mirren: 19
Hamilton: 18
Hearts: 14
Dundee Utd: 45
Inverness: 32
Ayr: 28
Dundee: 28
They would start out post-split with the following:
Ross County: 25
St Mirren: 22
Hamilton: 21
Hearts: 17
Dundee Utd: 17
Inverness: 4
Ayr: 0
Dundee: 0
That way, what you actually do pre-split matters. Ross County have a bit of a cushion ahead of their rivals, whilst Inverness, Ayr and Dundee wil ahve to work hard to get promoted.
Sioux
16-04-2020, 05:28 PM
So, you want 24 teams to play something like 24 matches to qualify for either a PL 1,2 or 3. An example: top eight compete in PL1 where the club with the least amount of points uses a magic wand and now becomes joint top. Is that right? Would that not mean the top 3 or 4 of the original 12 are playing a series of friendlies, knowing they are sure to qualify?
I hardly think that fans will turn out in numbers for these qualifying matches.
This has to be the most 'mental' idea ever. An actual league season that last 6 or 7 weeks!
WOW.
16-04-2020, 05:35 PM
Neither of those competitions is a league, and qualifying for a tournament is a completely different thing to a league championship.
The whole point in a league is deciding who is best, and worst, across the duration of the season, based on the most (or fewest) points. That idea makes a mockery of that.
Both of them start out as leagues and ultimately after a second league phase progress to a knock out competition. But thats mental right because it doesn't fit with your fixed and intransigent view.
Just for clarity the first phase of fixtures are "qualifying"
Its different and its radical but lets stick with a model that gifts thd league to one ugly or the other just because.
Cant see championship clubs wanting a 14 club spfl either. Losing out on the bigger clubs income.
Not really fair to take the top two out.
Almost a whole division would struggle financially.
Just because hearts cant accept they were the worst team and finished bottom in season 2019/20.
One thing that could work is if you reset the 4th placed team in the Championship to 0, put 1st in the Championship and 12th in the Premiership on the same points, and everyone relative to where they were before the split.
Let's take this season as an example, with the points tallies after everyone played each other twice:
That way, what you actually do pre-split matters. Ross County have a bit of a cushion ahead of their rivals, whilst Inverness, Ayr and Dundee wil ahve to work hard to get promoted.
That makes it even worse. You'd have Inverness, Ayr and Dundee battling to avoid relegation and everyone else would have 14 virtually meaningless games because they're miles ahead of relegation.
16-04-2020, 05:50 PM
That makes it even worse. You'd have Inverness, Ayr and Dundee battling to avoid relegation and everyone else would have 14 virtually meaningless games because they're miles ahead of relegation.
They started in the bottom tier anyway so it wouldn't make much of a difference. If leagues were closer around the time of the split then it'd be more exciting - means teams get rewarded or punished either way.
St Mirren, Hamilton and Hearts would all be in danger of relegation given how well United were performing up until that point. The bottom four teams go down while the top four go up.
I get a horrible feeling she is going to pull this off. I don’t know how. I just know she is an ego maniac and will have had some assurances from clubs, before setting off on this quest. Plus Hearts are the luckiest team in the world.
Assurances like Partick and Inverness had from Dundee? She needs to get an 11-1 majority in the Premiership which is highly unlikely.
I've yet to see a decent possible set up that will likely make all clubs no worse off, like Budge says should be the case. You've only got to look on social media and the Jambos can't even agree amongst themselves on the best set up so what chance is there of getting one that works for all clubs.
16-04-2020, 05:57 PM
I hope Budge’s ideas are the same as the ones on here. Will be the easiest 11-1 defeat against a restructure
16-04-2020, 06:00 PM
2 leagues of 20. 2 up 2 down at every level. That’ll do. Let’s put it in place in 3 years time.
16-04-2020, 06:04 PM
2 leagues of 20. 2 up 2 down at every level. That’ll do. Let’s put it in place in 3 years time.
I don't see that ever happening. There'd be a lot less money for a lot of teams. A lot of middle of the table boring games too I'd imagine.
They started in the bottom tier anyway so it wouldn't make much of a difference. If leagues were closer around the time of the split then it'd be more exciting - means teams get rewarded or punished either way.
St Mirren, Hamilton and Hearts would all be in danger of relegation given how well United were performing up until that point. The bottom four teams go down while the top four go up.
It would make a difference as I pointed out in your example because of the number of virtually meaningless games for the other 5 teams. It's not much good having to rely on it being close at the split when as your example shows how bad it would be if they're not close. A boring remaining 14 games for 5 sets of fans.
The team in 5th place in the Championship could be miles behind at the point the top 4 go up but then only have to scrape past one of them in a play off to get the Premiership place for next season.
Mixing and matching the leagues midway through the season is a terrible idea. For every one time it might work out okay you'd have half a dozen times it wouldn't.
16-04-2020, 06:09 PM
Teams get relegated every year. Why should this one result in reconstruction?
I hope Budge’s ideas are the same as the ones on here. Will be the easiest 11-1 defeat against a restructure
Me too. 🙂
Several pundits have commented in recent times how well the split has been working and for a change I agree with them on something. Some even said they didn't like the idea of the split at first but had changed their mind.
16-04-2020, 06:22 PM
Her quest is one of desperation. She will grasp at any opportunity presented to her in order to save their filthy skins.
murray26
16-04-2020, 06:26 PM
You can almost guarantee Hibs Celtic and Aberdeen won’t vote for this.. and I really don’t see why the other clubs would want to split the prize money.. it’s not going to happen and they know it.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/22438732
16-04-2020, 06:40 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.scotsman.com/sport/football/scottish-championship/spfl-considers-expanding-scottish-championship-12-team-league-547147%3famp
Think is the option Budge should go for, saves Partick, and helps Falkirk
James Stephen
16-04-2020, 06:45 PM
Id suggest that if a plan is that complicated, its probably the wrong plan.
16-04-2020, 07:03 PM
12/12=8/8/8 is a sensible proposal and one I've advocated for over thirty years.
After 22 games the league splits. The top eight and bottom eight retain their points as they have played the same opponents.
The middle eight is the tricky part, so I'd have 9th and 1st start with 6 pts, 10th and 2nd with 4 pts, 11th and 3rd with 2pts and 12th and 4th with 0 pts. That gives a reward based on the first part of the season.
Plenty to play for in each league before and after the split.
12/12=8/8/8 is a sensible proposal and one I've advocated for over thirty years.
After 22 games the league splits. The top eight and bottom eight retain their points as they have played the same opponents.
The middle eight is the tricky part, so I'd have 9th and 1st start with 6 pts, 10th and 2nd with 4 pts, 11th and 3rd with 2pts and 12th and 4th with 0 pts. That gives a reward based on the first part of the season.
Plenty to play for in each league before and after the split.
Any changing of team's points midway through the season makes it highly probable it will be unfair on at least one team.
Having that many games after the split involving that many teams increases the likelihood of meaningless games.
16-04-2020, 07:37 PM
Any changing of team's points midway through the season makes it highly probable it will be unfair on at least one team.
Having that many games after the split involving that many teams increases the likelihood of meaningless games.
You have eight teams chasing the title and four European places.
You have eight teams playing for a place in the top twelve the next season.
You have eight teams battling to avoid two relegation places.
Every game means something for at least one of the teams involved until the last couple of weeks of the season.
Contrast that with a league of 16, 18 or 20.
16-04-2020, 07:51 PM
If Sevco were top of the league 10 points ahead of Celtic and Hearts were second bottom would either of them be spouting the nonsense they are now.
Not a chance. The fact 80%+ voted for the proposal speaks volumes. On any other given season the teams in the relegation/playoff spots would be the ones voting no. And the OF team in 2nd place. Shame its Hearts & Rangers this season... not!
You have eight teams chasing the title and four European places.
You have eight teams playing for a place in the top twelve the next season.
You have eight teams battling to avoid two relegation places.
Every game means something for at least one of the teams involved until the last couple of weeks of the season.
Contrast that with a league of 16, 18 or 20.
After 22 games this season Dundee United had 17 more points than Inverness in 2nd, 18 more points than Ayr in 3rd and 23 more point than Dundee in 4th. You're saying their lead over these teams should then be reduced to 2, 4 and 6 points. Hardly fair is it?
Also, re the 8 teams playing to avoid the 2 relegation spots. There's every chance the top teams at the split would be comfortably clear of the bottom so they'd be in for a boring 14 game run in with nothing to play for, or would you unfairly chop their lead down to a couple of points?
Greenfly
17-04-2020, 12:01 AM
No. Full stop.
You can almost guarantee Hibs Celtic and Aberdeen won’t vote for this.. and I really don’t see why the other clubs would want to split the prize money.. it’s not going to happen and they know it.
Agree. Celtic, Aberdeen and Hibs almost certainly no to 14 team league, especially a rushed temporary one. Don’t see why Rangers would go for it and would the likes of St Mirren, Livi, Ross County and St Johnstone vote for increased chance of relegation and c£250k less distribution cash? Yes they might get another home game versus on of the smaller teams but hardly compensates for one less OF game which they will miss out on.
Livi for example (if finished bottom 8) could expect 8000 Celtic fans x £20 = £160k plus hospitality versus a home game v St Mirren that brings in 2000 fans x £20 = £40k. So they are -£120k down plus £250k distribution cash. Can anyone tell me where the upside for them is? They also have a bigger chance of relegation and less chance of finishing higher up league if ‘strong’ Hearts saved.
17-04-2020, 05:12 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/incredible-celtic-sacrifice-reconstruction-former-21879976
This explanation of what to do with the prize money makes sense (if you ignore it’s coming from a clearly biased hearts sympathiser). The issues will probably arise more from clubs not wanting to miss out on OF home games and the ticket money that brings them.
17-04-2020, 05:36 AM
Queen Anne, The Budgie, Bagpuss Mrs Budge is on radio 5 just before 9:00 no doubt it will be a plea not relegate them.
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18348625.stewart-gilmour-expanding-premiership-14-clubs-just-save-hearts-joke/
17-04-2020, 07:29 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/incredible-celtic-sacrifice-reconstruction-former-21879976
This explanation of what to do with the prize money makes sense (if you ignore it’s coming from a clearly biased hearts sympathiser). The issues will probably arise more from clubs not wanting to miss out on OF home games and the ticket money that brings them.
Started reading it, then saw the name David Southern
17-04-2020, 07:45 AM
Started reading it, then saw the name David SouthernIs he still self sufficient? Or is he just being sufficiently selfish to ensure Hearts don't get the relegation they've deserved by virtue of their league position and performances.
Another roaster in the pre and post admin Hearts tradition.
James Stephen
17-04-2020, 07:46 AM
The PR operation has begun - expect it to reach fever pitch in next couple of weeks, where it will eventually try to paint the proposals (whatever they are) as a brillisnt fait accompli that you would be mad to vote against.
Queen Anne, The Budgie, Bagpuss Mrs Budge is on radio 5 just before 9:00 no doubt it will be a plea not relegate them.
She sounded absolutely broken.
He asked if she was only doing this to save her own club and she refused to answer
steviehibsleith
17-04-2020, 08:04 AM
If as is being widely reported large gatherings will not be allowed until a vaccine is available (GSK and Sanofi working together think December ...) then for me all clubs are surely planning for at least 50% less gate revenue for next season
That being the case surely no SPL team is going to allow a bigger division diluting their cut of Sky £30 million a year deal .
It could be with closed door games for the near future TV revenue is vital and madness to lose £5/6 hundred thousand allowing just two more teams in .
17-04-2020, 08:04 AM
She is on now saying no one benefits from relegation - no Shiit Sherlock:greengrin went on to repeat it three times.
They have made substantial investment to try and avoid relegation and they should not go down.
She was asked if she could understand why fans may think it strange she heads up a task force that may benefit her club, she did not seem to grasp of understand the question :rolleyes:
17-04-2020, 08:05 AM
As they seek to deliver the vast improvements Budge says are required I'm hoping they take the opportunity to clean up the smell that goes with mystery benefactors being able to just dump money in football clubs without any disclosures and seemingly doing it tax free.
Just doesn't look right. We've heard how unfair the system seems to be to some so let's have transparency.
17-04-2020, 08:11 AM
Started reading it, then saw the name David Southern
While I admit he’s an absolute walloper, the point about prize money makes sense I think and could see some support for reconstruction. If it’s temporary reconstruction in any form I think it’ll fall on its arse.
17-04-2020, 08:13 AM
She is on now saying no one benefits from relegation - no Shiit Sherlock:greengrin went on to repeat it three times.
They have made substantial investment to try and avoid relegation and they should not go down.
She was asked if she could understand why fans may think it strange she heads up a task force that may benefit her club, she did not seem to grasp of understand the question :rolleyes:
So it's about buying your way out of relegation and not playing your way out of it? What a complete roaster. We spent more than you so we dont deserve to go down. Sporting integrity my erchie
17-04-2020, 08:19 AM
A cringeworthy interview, I agree with you re her handling of the question, not for the first time she displays signs of a person who just doesn't listen, she blusters and stumbles on with her preconceived position.
17-04-2020, 08:30 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18348625.stewart-gilmour-expanding-premiership-14-clubs-just-save-hearts-joke/
Gilmour says: "If we change we should go to a top 16. There are 16 genuine full-time football clubs in Scotland. A 16 team top flight would give them protection and mean there is a further distribution of money."
Would be interesting to know who he thinks the 16 "genuine full-time" clubs are. The current top flight plus the Dundee clubs, ICT, Dunfermline and Partick Thistle is 17 - who's the odd one out? What about traditionally lower-Prem/upper-Champ clubs that are currently struggling like Raith Rovers or Falkirk?
17-04-2020, 08:31 AM
Gilmour says: "If we change we should go to a top 16. There are 16 genuine full-time football clubs in Scotland. A 16 team top flight would give them protection and mean there is a further distribution of money."
Would be interesting to know who he thinks the 16 "genuine full-time" clubs are. The current top flight plus the Dundee clubs, ICT, Dunfermline and Partick Thistle is 17 - who's the odd one out? What about traditionally lower-Prem/upper-Champ clubs that are currently struggling like Raith Rovers or Falkirk?
Think Raith and Falkirk are still full time, and I think Airdrie have full time apprentices
17-04-2020, 08:34 AM
See from all the the ideas floated, can anyone detail a benefit to Hibs of voting yes? Or to Aberdeen, Motherwell, Livi, St Johnstone.....
17-04-2020, 08:35 AM
Think Raith and Falkirk are still full time, and I think Airdrie have full time apprentices
I assume there are others in the Championship that are full time, I just picked out the obvious bigger clubs. I wonder if Gilmour's distinction of "genuine" full time clubs is to rule out some that regularly have to switch to being part time when income falls?
17-04-2020, 08:53 AM
He misrepresents it though as saying it only affects the bottom league. It doesn’t.
The top prize in every league from championship down is reduced to whatever the third place prize is. Also for premiership clubs, the smallest prize you can earn(from being last) is significantly reduced as well.
He is presenting it as no harm to other clubs when that is not the case.
The prize pot in every league drops except in the premiership where it increases but has to be shared out with more clubs.
17-04-2020, 08:57 AM
While I admit he’s an absolute walloper, the point about prize money makes sense I think and could see some support for reconstruction. If it’s temporary reconstruction in any form I think it’ll fall on its arse.
No it doesn’t. It reduces the prize money for the three lowest divisions. Why should they vote for that?
17-04-2020, 08:59 AM
Our pal Barry Anderson confirms today that 11 teams in the top league need to vote reconstruction through.
17-04-2020, 09:03 AM
No it doesn’t. It reduces the prize money for the three lowest divisions. Why should they vote for that?
I agree it’s unlikely but it’s not impossible. Better chance of promotion for these sides if there’s two up automatically and a playoff place.
17-04-2020, 09:04 AM
Is he still self sufficient? Or is he just being sufficiently selfish to ensure Hearts don't get the relegation they've deserved by virtue of their league position and performances.
Another roaster in the pre and post admin Hearts tradition.
Yep just waiting on Charlie Mann and Firework Phil to put their oar in. :greengrin
17-04-2020, 09:09 AM
At last - someone telling it like it is!
Whats going to happen when clubs rightly reject her groups proposals as theyre based on saving a self centred club, BUT are still open to reconstruction for the right reasons?
Done over a decent length of time and with fair warning?
Will budge just dump the group as all she cared about was using it to cheat hearts back into the top flight?
Or will she continue trying to reconstruct while hearts are down? Going on radio shows, using jambos in the media?
How long before a fishy ex Scottish politician pipes up?
17-04-2020, 09:15 AM
Gilmour is an arse - plenty of St M fans agree too - and shouldnt have a voice in this.
17-04-2020, 09:19 AM
She is on now saying no one benefits from relegation ...
I wish she'd shut up with this and that people would put her right.
As things stand teams being promoted (thus taking the place of those being relegated) benefit.
Everyone (else) benefits from relegation because they don't have to split sponsorship and prize money between more teams in the event of league reconstruction.
17-04-2020, 09:24 AM
Whats going to happen when clubs rightly reject her groups proposals as theyre based on saving a self centred club, BUT are still open to reconstruction for the right reasons?
Done over a decent length of time and with fair warning?
Will budge just dump the group as all she cared about was using it to cheat hearts back into the top flight?
Or will she continue trying to reconstruct while hearts are down? Going on radio shows, using jambos in the media?
How long before a fishy ex Scottish politician pipes up?
If she's still there she will, otherwise Hearts will be obliged to overspend yet again to try to ensure immediate promotion.
Stanton Spence
17-04-2020, 09:25 AM
At last - someone telling it like it is!At last? I think that article was written on the 1st of April mate
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
17-04-2020, 09:38 AM
At last? I think that article was written on the 1st of April mate
Then I'm quite surprised that I never come across it until now. I would have thought that folk who feel the same way that he does would have made more capital out of it. If they have/did then it means that I missed an awful lot of coverage of an important statement/viewpoint. Oh well - must be an age thing.
PS I should also have been clearer - I wasn't referring to his reconstruction views, just his comments re the Jambos.
17-04-2020, 10:07 AM
Anybody been on other fans forums to get a flavour of their thinking regarding reconstruction? Had a look at Aberdeen AFC chat and it seems pretty similar in views to this forum. Anybody looked at the likes of Motherwell, Killie or the others?
Obviously we know Hearts position and I suspect Hamilton as well will back their proposal..
Stanton Spence
17-04-2020, 10:19 AM
I'm struggling to keep up myself mate and actually thought it was a new article until I noticed it was dated the 1st of April at the top and I only looked because I've made the same mistake myself the other day [emoji849]
As much as I can't wait to see these delusional ****s relegated I'm fair enjoying watching them squirm, desperately running up blind alleys looking for a way out of the mess they have put themselves
Our pal Barry Anderson confirms today that 11 teams in the top league need to vote reconstruction through.
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji41]
So she needs to persuade 11 SPL teams that league reconstruction for 1 year will benefit them!! O ma sides.
I maybe wrong but straight away I cannot see Accies, St Mirren and maybe St J voting for it!
17-04-2020, 10:26 AM
So she needs to persuade 11 SPL teams that league reconstruction for 1 year will benefit them!! O ma sides.
I maybe wrong but straight away I cannot see Accies, St Mirren and maybe St J voting for it!
*Pedant alert: she needs to persuade 10 clubs..😜
*Pedant alert: she needs to persuade 10 clubs..[emoji12]
Oops. It’s been a long week! (Poor excuse I know) still won’t get 10 [emoji41]
17-04-2020, 10:42 AM
Beautiful, isn’t it? 😁
17-04-2020, 10:52 AM
Presumably we'll vote against as there is no way a proposal at this stage would be good for us or the SPL. So would need only 1 other club to vote no.
Beautiful, isn’t it? [emoji16]
O yes!
Presumably we'll vote against as there is no way a proposal at this stage would be good for us or the SPL. So would need only 1 other club to vote no.
We don’t need to do anything imho. Others will already know exactly how they are going to vote even without seeing the proposal (s)
17-04-2020, 11:05 AM
Think that there should be league reconstruction starting next season.
No relegation from the Premiership and no promotion from the championship for 5 years.
17-04-2020, 11:05 AM
Anything that splits the spfl prize money with more teams is bad for us. Bringing in another team with a higher budget than us is bad for us as it makes it harder for us to get those top prizes and Euro qualification.
So far, I can see no advantage to us, so why would we vote for it?
hibeerealist
17-04-2020, 11:08 AM
Anybody been on other fans forums to get a flavour of their thinking regarding reconstruction? Had a look at Aberdeen AFC chat and it seems pretty similar in views to this forum. Anybody looked at the likes of Motherwell, Killie or the others?
Obviously we know Hearts position and I suspect Hamilton as well will back their proposal..
Why would Hamilton back the Hertz proposal??
17-04-2020, 11:11 AM
It sounds like they're going to be the #2 in putting it together. They'll get what they need to get from it I think.
17-04-2020, 11:12 AM
They’re part of the team creating the proposal?
17-04-2020, 11:13 AM
I wish she'd shut up with this and that people would put her right.
As things stand teams being promoted (thus taking the place of those being relegated) benefit.
Everyone (else) benefits from relegation because they don't have to split sponsorship and prize money between more teams in the event of league reconstruction.
I think the more Budge spouts this kind of stuff, the more clubs will turn against the idea. Hearts are naturally trying to save their own skins, but she's already sounding like a stuck record.
Clubs won't vote for a 1 season temporary fix to suit Hearts. A permanent restructuring of the league may sway the majority, but I still can't see it being enough to make it happen.
chippy
17-04-2020, 11:22 AM
See from all the the ideas floated, can anyone detail a benefit to Hibs of voting yes? Or to Aberdeen, Motherwell, Livi, St Johnstone.....
1. less chance of relegation costing loads
2. playing more teams spread across Scotland
3. more local derbies
4. more chance of young Scots being played/ becoming valuable assets
5. More attacking football
6. better for national team - more S it’s playing at a younger age getting 1st team football
7.larger leagues helps above to get closer to old firm
8. Football solidarity- its unfair to the clubs being relegated/ or in play off spots even though one of them is Hearts
that enough?
17-04-2020, 11:29 AM
3. more local derbies
6. better for national team - more S it’s playing at a younger age getting 1st team football
8. Football solidarity- its unfair to the clubs being relegated/ or in play off spots even though one of them is Hearts
that enough?
Eh no.
Points 2,3,4,5 and 7 are either wrong or your opinion.
Less money in game, poorer players, more meaningless games, possibly worse tv deal, why rush this now without proper scrutiny?
17-04-2020, 11:36 AM
Eh no.
Points 2,3,4,5 and 7 are either wrong or your opinion.
Less money in game, poorer players, more meaningless games, possibly worse tv deal, why rush this now without proper scrutiny?
Not sure point 1 is correct either. It all depends on numbers being relegated. If 1 from fourteen then it is correct but if 2 from 14 then it's wrong. Also if it's 1 down 1 up then the div1 clubs won't go for it. It's a ****ing mess and all done to appease that total ****wit Budge and her even bigger ****wit fans. I'll say it again reconstruction is not necessary and if it was let's plan it properly and make it happen next season so all clubs know what they are playing for.
17-04-2020, 11:56 AM
3. more local derbies
that enough?
No really. My question was about the incentive for clubs to vote yes. Unless it’s financially beneficial, they won’t.
Point 1, straight away, I’d disagree with. With a larger league you’d be increasing the number of teams relegated also. If it’s a temporary solution it would probably be three going back down next year. More chance of getting relegated.
A lot of what you have listed is just your opinion. Not a lot to suggest it would actually happen though.
dchibs
17-04-2020, 11:58 AM
They’re part of the team creating the proposal?
Perhaps he drew out the shortest straw.
17-04-2020, 12:07 PM
Not sure why Hamilton are likely to gain through this proposal. They are one of the clubs likely to lose a fortune.
17-04-2020, 12:10 PM
3. more local derbies
that enough?
Whilst all of these are perhaps valid reasons it needs to be thorough and time taken to work out the best scenario. Not some hashed up version put together by the teams at the bottom of the league who are only out to benefit themselves.
17-04-2020, 12:11 PM
Not sure point 1 is correct either. It all depends on numbers being relegated. If 1 from fourteen then it is correct but if 2 from 14 then it's wrong. Also if it's 1 down 1 up then the div1 clubs won't go for it. It's a ****ing mess and all done to appease that total ****wit Budge and her even bigger ****wit fans. I'll say it again reconstruction is not necessary and if it was let's plan it properly and make it happen next season so all clubs know what they are playing for.
2 from 14 is a higher mathematical chance of relegation than 1 from 12, but only if all things are equal.
I think it's fair to say the chances of relegation are less in a 14 team league (unless they are looking to relegate 4 teams a season).
17-04-2020, 12:13 PM
Hamilton have finished in the bottom 3 for the last 4 seasons. There is zero chance they’ll vote in favour of a temporary reconstruction which would lead to the bottom 3 being relegated next season.
St Mirren have finished bottom three in 10 of their 12 top flight seasons since the move to a 12 team leave.
17-04-2020, 12:16 PM
A good way for Anne Budge to win over all the clubs would be for her to go on national radio, TV and write in the papers every day how stupid they all are to relegate Hearts. [emoji849]
17-04-2020, 12:17 PM
Hamilton have finished in the bottom 3 for the last 4 seasons. There is zero chance they’ll vote in favour of a temporary reconstruction which would lead to the bottom 3 being relegated next season.
If they finished 10th again like they have in those season then they would still be safe.
17-04-2020, 12:18 PM
They’re part of the team creating the proposal?Interesting that it's all Mrs doctor Budge blustering her way through the media. The Hamilton guys probably sitting doing nothing just waiting on the vote.
17-04-2020, 12:19 PM
A good way for Anne Budge to win over all the clubs would be for her to go on national radio, TV and write in the papers every day how stupid they all are to relegate Hearts. [emoji849]
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[emoji23][emoji23]
She's made a great start as well.
17-04-2020, 12:20 PM
If they finished 10th again like they have in those season then they would still be safe.
and if they finish 3rd from bottom again they’ll be relegated. If they are to gamble on their top flight future through reconstruction, what is their potential reward?
Finishing 10th in a 14 team league probably won’t bring much more in terms of prize money than 10th in a 12 team league as the prize pot will be spread thinner.
17-04-2020, 01:01 PM
Wonder what celtic make of her saying titles shouldnt be awarded. Think thats 1 vote against her.
cocteautwin
17-04-2020, 01:18 PM
Wonder what celtic make of her saying titles shouldnt be awarded. Think thats 1 vote against her.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-owner-ann-budge-says-no-titles-and-no-relegation-only-fair-spfl-solution-2541646
Interesting tactical move by Budge - instantly gets a large percentage of Scottish football fans and media on her side (but majorly pees off the opposite side).
17-04-2020, 01:21 PM
I think the SPFL have played a blinder in appointing Queen Anne they've literally handed her a shovel and told her to keep on digging.
17-04-2020, 01:23 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-owner-ann-budge-says-no-titles-and-no-relegation-only-fair-spfl-solution-2541646
Interesting tactical move by Budge - instantly gets a large percentage of Scottish football fans and media on her side (but majorly pees off the opposite side).
Amazing. She needs 11 clubs on side and she has just ruled one out already.
17-04-2020, 01:27 PM
Her points are ridiculous.
The relegated club don’t get a relative double hit. All clubs are suffering equally right now from Covid. Those that get relegated get the additional hit that would come from that process anyway.
17-04-2020, 01:31 PM
Amazing. She needs 11 clubs on side and she has just ruled one out already.
She’s basically begging. If she appeals to Rangers she’ll piss off Celtic and vice versa. Partick Thistle’s statement shows true class and as they say, they are a well run club with no debt that will bounce back whereas Hearts, please help us for overspending again, beg beg beg.
17-04-2020, 01:43 PM
Her points are ridiculous.
The relegated club don’t get a relative double hit. All clubs are suffering equally right now from Covid. Those that get relegated get the additional hit that would come from that process anyway.
This is a belter:
“I think we should also be recognising that some of us have made substantial investments to try to avoid relegation. As I said, I don't think anyone gains from relegation."
WTAF?
Sporting integrity wins, Ann, because you knew back in July, and you knew in January, that if you finished 12th you would be relegated.
Yip and let’s hope her good work continues!
17-04-2020, 01:45 PM
This is a belter:
“I think we should also be recognising that some of us have made substantial investments to try to avoid relegation. As I said, I don't think anyone gains from relegation."
WTAF?
Sporting integrity wins, Ann, because you knew back in July, and you knew in January, that if you finished 12th you would be relegated.
A really good test of whether her reconstruction plan is really for the greater good of Scottish football is if she would accept that it begins from the next again season.
Separates out the plan from the immediate self interest.
17-04-2020, 01:54 PM
If no-one gains from relegation perhaps it should be abolished permanently. Promote two clubs each year. Once the league's so big that there are more games than days in the year we might have to rethink, but until then everyone's a winner.
On a more serious point, I don't see a reconstruction for one year getting through. While the teams in league 1 and 2 don't care much whether there's 14 or 12 teams in the Premier, if you make it 14 for one year only then 3 teams can relegated from league 2 in summer 21, and there's no way that'll get passed. It's either a permanent 14 or no change.
Would Dundee utd get a vote or would hearts get the vote?
Now the season is technically finished and Dundee utd have been promoted with the jambos moving down?
Who has that vote?
17-04-2020, 01:57 PM
Would Dundee utd get a vote or would hearts get the vote?
Now the season is technically finished and Dundee utd have been promoted with the jambos moving down?
Who has that vote?
No one has been promoted or relegated yet.
Hearts are still in the Premiership.
17-04-2020, 01:59 PM
Haven’t the spfl declared promotion for D-Utd? Could be a slight shift in the 11-1 system if they have and they get a vote?
17-04-2020, 02:04 PM
Hearts haven't been relegated but my understanding was that United had been promoted. :dunno:
17-04-2020, 02:14 PM
If it were to be 14 teams would it just be two rounds of fixures. No chance there will be time for 4 rounds and 3 makes it even unfairer than the split.
17-04-2020, 02:14 PM
Haven’t the spfl declared promotion for D-Utd? Could be a slight shift in the 11-1 system if they have and they get a vote?
Hearts haven't been relegated but my understanding was that United had been promoted. :dunno:
From the SPFL website. No mention of promotion for anyone.
THE SPFL HAS ANNOUNCED THAT THE DIRECTORS’ WRITTEN RESOLUTION ENDING SEASON 2019/20 IN THE LADBROKES CHAMPIONSHIP, LADBROKES LEAGUE 1 AND LADBROKES LEAGUE 2, HAS BEEN PASSED WITH AGREEMENT BY 81% OF ALL MEMBERS.
The SPFL has announced that the directors’ written resolution ending Season 2019/20 in the Ladbrokes Championship, Ladbrokes League 1 and Ladbrokes League 2, has been passed with agreement by 81% of all members.
The announcement comes after the remaining Ladbrokes Championship club signified their agreement to the resolution today; resulting in Dundee United FC being declared champions of the Ladbrokes Championship, Raith Rovers FC being declared champions of Ladbrokes League 1, and Cove Rangers FC being declared champions of Ladbrokes League 2.
17-04-2020, 02:25 PM
THE SPFL HAS ANNOUNCED THAT THE DIRECTORS’ WRITTEN RESOLUTION ENDING SEASON 2019/20 IN THE LADBROKES CHAMPIONSHIP, LADBROKES LEAGUE 1 AND LADBROKES LEAGUE 2, HAS BEEN PASSED WITH AGREEMENT BY 81% OF ALL MEMBERS.
The SPFL has announced that the directors’ written resolution ending Season 2019/20 in the Ladbrokes Championship, Ladbrokes League 1 and Ladbrokes League 2, has been passed with agreement by 81% of all members.
The announcement comes after the remaining Ladbrokes Championship club signified their agreement to the resolution today; resulting in Dundee United FC being declared champions of the Ladbrokes Championship, Raith Rovers FC being declared champions of Ladbrokes League 1, and Cove Rangers FC being declared champions of Ladbrokes League 2.
Do you think Dundee Utd, Raith Rovers and Cove Rangers would have voted in favour without assurances that being declared champions would result in promotion?
17-04-2020, 02:35 PM
Do you think Dundee Utd, Raith Rovers and Cove Rangers would have voted in favour without assurances that being declared champions would result in promotion?
Almost certainly not. Although, I can't see why they would even need reassurances. Voting yes is the only way they could have voted, in almost any circumstances.
But the fact is they haven't been promoted yet. And they won't be until the SPFL makes the final call.
17-04-2020, 03:04 PM
I guess they don't specifically say promotion. Dundee United released a statement stating they had been promoted and all the media I've seen have reported it as such. That would be quite the stitch up - maybe it's what Dundee were secretly negotiating over the weekend. :greengrin
Tommy75
17-04-2020, 03:22 PM
I assume Rangers would not vote for reconstruction then given their latest statment included this paragraph:
"There is precedent within Scottish football that a league must not be compromised by changing the rules during the course of the competition"
Are they saying you can't change the rules on relegation after the season has started.
Certainly can't see Celtic voting for reconstruction after Budge's about them not deserving the title.
17-04-2020, 05:47 PM
Leeann Dempster on the task force along with the bloke from Dundee and Ann Budge. We’re voting for this aren’t we?
We're going to have to rely on Celtic and 1 other voting against it.
17-04-2020, 05:51 PM
She's probably bored on lockdown and wanting a laugh I'd imagine, no way are we voting for it, I have no worries on that
17-04-2020, 05:59 PM
Certainly won’t be a popular move amongst the majority of supporters
The years of cheating and over spending from hearts (which is still going on) and our CEO is on a panel to try save them from relegation?
**** that.
Im on all kind of panels at my work, most of them i don't give a flying **** about, doesn't mean anything
17-04-2020, 06:00 PM
Hibs have no reason to be involved at all on this. Sit back and be neutral until the motion is received.
Poor judgment from LD.
17-04-2020, 06:01 PM
If Budgie is involved it'll be a disaster. She can't even order seats for a stand so wouldn't trust her to reconstruct the league at the 11th hour. Don't really get why if you award the title to the team at the top of the league you shouldn't relegate the team at the bottom? If Herts were second bottom they wouldn't be proposing league reconstruction. Desperate stuff.
17-04-2020, 06:02 PM
We're voting for it. Don't think LD will put something forward and then vote against it.
17-04-2020, 06:03 PM
Leeann could be on the group simply to stick her neb in and to make sure that the information presented to the other clubs is accurate.
I've proposed myself and participated on sub-committees purely to keep an eye on things and retain an element of input/control.
17-04-2020, 06:06 PM
Hibs have not reason to be involved at all on this. Sit back and be neutral until the motion is received.
Poor judgment from LD.I disagree. See my post above.
17-04-2020, 06:06 PM
I don’t think her involvement automatically means we are going to vote for it. It means she’ll have a good understanding of any proposal put forward but doesn’t mean she’ll support it.
If we vote yes to any reconstruction, she’s got to realise how much it risks alienating a sizeable of our own support.
Stanton Spence
17-04-2020, 06:07 PM
Why do they need 15 folk to sort out a proposal which consists of a yes or no to the one question?
17-04-2020, 06:08 PM
We're voting for it. Don't think LD will put something forward and then vote against it.What's the purpose of a feasibility study? Often those involved will recommend that the project in question shouldn't go ahead.
17-04-2020, 06:10 PM
Why do they need 15 folk to sort out a proposal which consists of a yes or no to the one question?
It isn’t just one question. There are dozens of ways you could reconstruct.
17-04-2020, 06:11 PM
It isn’t just one question. There are dozens of ways you could reconstruct.
There’s also one way you can tell the worst team in the league to do one. Get them down. Reconstruction doesn’t benefit our club at all in no way shape or form.
17-04-2020, 06:11 PM
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk15 people from 6 leagues isn't OTT.
And they're there to formulate the question(s). They might come up with 2-3 options including the status quo. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200417/10520ea5388436f5dfce0abc6bd787de.jpg
17-04-2020, 06:12 PM
What's the purpose of a feasibility study? Often those involved will recommend that the project in question shouldn't go ahead.
Like you where before. I hope you are right.
17-04-2020, 06:13 PM
There’s also one way you can tell the worst team in the league to do one. Get them down. Reconstruction doesn’t benefit our club at all in no way shape or form.
I never suggested it did.
Stanton Spence
17-04-2020, 06:15 PM
15 people from 6 leagues isn't OTT.
And they're there to formulate the question(s). They might come up with 2-3 options including the status quo. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200417/10520ea5388436f5dfce0abc6bd787de.jpgMore to it than I thought or know then which is why I'm no business man. This could get messy if we vote yes
murray26
17-04-2020, 06:17 PM
I’m getting increasingly peed off with this charade.. it’s not going to happen end off.. Leanne should be nowhere near this circus..
17-04-2020, 06:18 PM
I’ve said it elsewhere, as soon as Budge was put in charge of this farago, it was obvious there would be reconstruction and no relegation. Hope I’m wrong but it’s looking more likely as every day passes.