View Full Version : NO to reconstruction

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37

10-06-2020, 01:38 PM
To be clear:-

1. it's not for the clubs. it's for community benefit.

2. JA has "only" paid about £2.6m. The rest of the money is via Gift Aid.... ie from the taxpayer.

It's exactly £2.5m I think, (£3,125,000 - 20%, 1/5 = £625,000)

10-06-2020, 01:41 PM
No, if he’s claiming gift aid on the donation then the money has to be used for charitable purposes. Player wages won’t qualify.

The Gift Aid is claimed on the donation to the SPFL Trust.

It's then up to the SPFLT to define "community purposes" when it gives out the grants.

10-06-2020, 01:43 PM
No, if he’s claiming gift aid on the donation then the money has to be used for charitable purposes. Player wages won’t qualify.

I don't think that's correct. He's paid the money to a registered charity, that's the end of it I believe.

10-06-2020, 01:44 PM

It's then up to the SPFLT to define "community purposes" when it gives out the grants.

We replied at the same time but yours is better, of course! :greengrin

10-06-2020, 01:44 PM

You're correct. Calculator malfunction earlier :greengrin

Wait till some folk hear that the UK taxpayer is shelling out £625k to save Scottish fitba....... :cb

10-06-2020, 01:48 PM
Neil McCann is all in favour of colt teams, and mentions Andy Robertson as a ‘classic example’... of someone who didn’t come through a colt team.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52993945

Thick. As. Mince.

Ex-Rangers and Hearts player in support of proposal the benefits Rangers and Hearts. 😱😱

10-06-2020, 01:50 PM
Hopefully be some news about it soon. I’m sure the conference call was this morning

10-06-2020, 01:58 PM

Sorry but no this isn’t correct.

If gift aid is claimed, it must meet HMRC criteria - which it will assuming that SPLFT is a registered charity or otherwise defined as providing public benefit.

This still means the cash can not be used for commercial purposes, eg player wages.

SPFLT does not have free reign to define community benefit as it pleases.

10-06-2020, 01:58 PM
Hopefully be some news about it soon. I’m sure the conference call was this morning

Wish they'd just hurry up and move it onto the next stage. I love a good courtroom drama. Wonder who'll play Leslie Deans in the movie.

10-06-2020, 01:59 PM
Neil McCann is all in favour of colt teams, and mentions Andy Robertson as a ‘classic example’... of someone who didn’t come through a colt team.

Thick. As. Mince.

TBF

There are literally 1000's of examples of players who have developed through the lower leagues that have went on to win the champions league and captain Scotland

There's Andy Robertson...

10-06-2020, 02:00 PM
Wish they'd just hurry up and move it onto the next stage. I love a good courtroom drama. Wonder who'll play Leslie Deans in the movie.

Dame Edna :thumbsup:

10-06-2020, 02:02 PM

It's a shame that Bela Lugosi's no longer with us.

10-06-2020, 02:02 PM
Dame Edna :thumbsup:

That's Ann Budge.

10-06-2020, 02:03 PM
It's a shame that Bela Lugosi's no longer with us.

oooohhhhh now there's an earworm........ :greengrin

Green Blood
10-06-2020, 02:03 PM

One of these two!2355323554

10-06-2020, 02:05 PM
That's Ann Budge.

Ha ha your right if she is not available perhaps Bagpuss could stand in.

10-06-2020, 02:06 PM
Jabba the hut’s all done in CGI these days, they’d only have to slap a wig on the top of him for Ann Budge

10-06-2020, 02:08 PM

David Cross looks a wee bit like Mr Dean's and he already starred in a film called "Demoted" so hes got a chance

https://m.imdb.com/title/tt1221207/

10-06-2020, 02:10 PM
This has dragged on longer than waiting for Steven Whittaker to sign did

10-06-2020, 02:16 PM
This has dragged on longer than waiting for Steven Whittaker to sign did

Assuming you started waiting the day he left Hibs in 2007, then yes, that's about right.

10-06-2020, 02:17 PM
Sorry but no this isn’t correct.

If gift aid is claimed, it must meet HMRC criteria - which it will assuming that SPLFT is a registered charity or otherwise defined as providing public benefit.

This still means the cash can not be used for commercial purposes, eg player wages.

SPFLT does not have free reign to define community benefit as it pleases.

HMRC only administer the initial donation.

It will be OSCR who regulate the grant-giving process, and they who will review SPFLT's definition of community benefit. I haven't seen that yet, hence why I'm unsure what it actually means.

There is an argument on here ..... and I'm still not sure whether I agree with it... that contributing to wages might help to keep a club afloat, hence the "community benefit". I think that may be valid for the smaller clubs, less so for clubs like us.

10-06-2020, 02:23 PM
Ex-Rangers and Hearts player in support of proposal the benefits Rangers and Hearts. 😱😱

Really annoys me that the BBC keep giving these idiots air time and column inches. They are usually virtually unchallenged as well - where is the scrutiny of his comments in that article? I haven't bothered with a TV license for a while and it's times like this I remember why.

10-06-2020, 02:23 PM
The silence is deafening, has been for weeks! Clearly an agreement reached in principle some time ago to secure HMFC's place in top league. The discussions have been about how it is sold to the fans and the wider public so that there are minimal repercussions and fuss. Said all along that money passing hands is always conditional. Stinks badly this whole mess.
I’m not so sure. The longer it goes the worse it would look. Quick and painful would have been better if they were going to go that way.

10-06-2020, 02:27 PM
Really annoys me that the BBC keep giving these idiots air time and column inches. They are usually virtually unchallenged as well - where is the scrutiny of his comments in that article? I haven't bothered with a TV license for a while and it's times like this I remember why.
Questions answered and answers questioned. A policy completely ignored by the BBC.

EI255
10-06-2020, 02:28 PM
Really annoys me that the BBC keep giving these idiots air time and column inches. They are usually virtually unchallenged as well - where is the scrutiny of his comments in that article? I haven't bothered with a TV license for a while and it's times like this I remember why.McCann says "he's got a real problem" with Hearts position. WTF? Away and grow an inch ya Rangers fud.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

10-06-2020, 02:29 PM

This was the same guy who without challenge on Sportsound on Saturday, maintained that Hearts and Partick thistle had not had the sporting chance to save themselves from relegation. Completely ignoring the Sporting chance they had in the 30 odd league games already played this season.

Badabing
10-06-2020, 02:32 PM

Thick. As. Mince.

He is proving to be the major bellend. Looks like he's touting himself to be the next incumbent at the PBS.

10-06-2020, 02:32 PM
He is proving to be the major bellend. Looks like he's touting himself to be the next incumbent at the PBS.

I do hope so!

Green Blood
10-06-2020, 02:37 PM

Aye, he looks up to Ann Budge apparently!

10-06-2020, 02:40 PM
aye, he sooks up to ann budge apparently!

ftfy

10-06-2020, 02:42 PM
If Neil McCann was made of chocolate he'd eat himself. I listened to a guy drone on and on one night on the radio before realising it was him. Absolutely cringe when he's on the tele

10-06-2020, 02:46 PM

YES PLEASE! :greengrin

10-06-2020, 02:49 PM
If Neil McCann was made of chocolate he'd eat himself. I listened to a guy drone on and on one night on the radio before realising it was him. Absolutely cringe when he's on the tele

Absolutely loves himself, still thinks he done a great job at Dundee. :greengrin

10-06-2020, 02:51 PM
Assuming you started waiting the day he left Hibs in 2007, then yes, that's about right.

10-06-2020, 02:52 PM
I’m not so sure. The longer it goes the worse it would look. Quick and painful would have been better if they were going to go that way.

I see it the other way. The longer it goes on, the more likely they will get their way. I see Doncaster as a reluctant hangman, who knows he should pull the lever for the drop but, if he let’s it drag on, there’s a chance they’ll get a last minute reprieve.

10-06-2020, 02:54 PM
So, still absolutely no news? Who’d have thunk it.

How this shambles is allowed to drag on is beyond me.

10-06-2020, 02:57 PM

The concern for me is the leaks and the statements have dried up. Perhaps clubs are working together to save Hearts :rolleyes:

SuperAllyMcleod

That’s what I’m hoping for, as much to get him off my telly and radio as to see him fail with the Jambos. Hopefully he will appoint Stephen Craigen as his No 2.

Hibeesforever

Treating the fans with disdain, hopefully some statements later

10-06-2020, 03:02 PM

Hearts are in reports gearing up for legal action on the same day their benefactor gives cash to clubs, this will all be threats to make this go through as they try to look the good guy that’s been hard done by. If that millionaire boy Colin Weir was still alive Partick would probably have done similar. Now the spfl will know hearts have the cash to take to court too.

Green Blood
10-06-2020, 03:03 PM
Still trying to word the statement that reconstruction is best for Scottish football and the decision has nothing to do with money or other inducements! Doncaster's bin must be full of crumpled bits of paper, he can't sell it to us with any degree of honesty. Budge would be better asking him how much to win the league or a cup. Maybe she can also ask Fifa what it would cost to play in la liga!

10-06-2020, 03:03 PM
Thats twice now.Remember a couple of weeks ago we were supposed to get the final news Budge's crap non proposal was getting binned?
Instead of that we got the unmasking of superjambo, here to save football itself.
So here we are today, again, the day (once again) we're waiting on news that Rangers non proposal is getting binned as its basically another bribe and just as bad as Budge's.
But no.All we've had is how superjambo has today saved football in a non bribe no strings donation, without the mention of strings.
The timing is brutal.

10-06-2020, 03:04 PM
This is getting way beyond tiresome now.

10-06-2020, 03:04 PM
HMRC only administer the initial donation.

It will be OSCR who regulate the grant-giving process, and they who will review SPFLT's definition of community benefit. I haven't seen that yet, hence why I'm unsure what it actually means.

There is an argument on here ..... and I'm still not sure whether I agree with it... that contributing to wages might help to keep a club afloat, hence the "community benefit". I think that may be valid for the smaller clubs, less so for clubs like us.

Essentially, it must provide public benefit.

I think you would find it very hard to argue that paying the wages of some footballers is a public benefit.

10-06-2020, 03:05 PM
This was the same guy who without challenge on Sportsound on Saturday, maintained that Hearts and Partick thistle had not had the sporting chance to save themselves from relegation. Completely ignoring the Sporting chance they had in the 30 odd league games already played this season.
Heard him on the radio this morning saying how unfair it was for both clubs, especially Hearts! Hearts were 4 points adrift with 6 to play, Partick were one point behind with a game in hand ffs.
The man is an idiot.

10-06-2020, 03:06 PM
I hope Hibs take legal action if somehow reconstruction is bribed through.
Scottish football can go to '[;;..
Pass me the oxygen.

10-06-2020, 03:07 PM
Sometimes I think some Hibs fans worry more about hearts than their own fans. Relax man folk stressing out waiting on an announcement on this, whatever happens happens am more worried about Hibs if hearts stay down good if not so be it won’t lose any sleep. Am certainly not stressing out over it which seems some really are.

Logie Green
10-06-2020, 03:09 PM
Heard him on the radio this morning saying how unfair it was for both clubs, especially Hearts! Hearts were 4 points adrift with 6 to play, Partick were one point behind with a game in hand ffs.
The man is an idiot.

4 points behind with 8 to play.

10-06-2020, 03:10 PM
Maybe some arm twisting going on !

10-06-2020, 03:10 PM

Correcshun!

10-06-2020, 03:11 PM
This is getting way beyond tiresome now.

Bore us all to death then give in. Decent plan tbh.

10-06-2020, 03:11 PM
Essentially, it must provide public benefit.

I think you would find it very hard to argue that paying the wages of some footballers is a public benefit.

"Some" is the important word for me. If it maintained the squad at, say, Cowdenbeath, and helped to put a team on the park every week, then yeah, I'd say there is a public benefit. (insert your own line here about the public benefit of Cowdenbeath ....)

For an extra midfielder at Hibs, probably not.

And that is where the stipulation "it's up to the clubs to show the community benefit" comes in.

On the other hand, Hibs might be able to say "we have need of an extra couple of bodies at the Foundation."

Potty78
10-06-2020, 03:12 PM
Sometimes I think some Hibs fans worry more about hearts than their own fans. Relax man folk stressing out waiting on an announcement on this, whatever happens happens am more worried about Hibs if hearts stay down good if not so be it won’t lose any sleep. Am certainly not stressing out over it which seems some really are.stage am at too,more interested to know if hibs are going back training tomorrow or anytime soon?

10-06-2020, 03:13 PM
stage am at too,more interested to know if hibs are going back training tomorrow or anytime soon?

Next Monday I believe

10-06-2020, 03:14 PM
stage am at too,more interested to know if hibs are going back training tomorrow or anytime soon?

Would be good to get some sort of communication from the club this week to confirm their plans.

10-06-2020, 03:16 PM
Would be good to get some sort of communication from the club this week to confirm their plans.

Sky reported yesterday that Rangers were starting training a day or two earlier than everyone else but rest were resuming next Monday.

10-06-2020, 03:22 PM
Sky reported yesterday that Rangers were starting training a day or two earlier than everyone else but rest were resuming next Monday.

Tick tack toe with the young boys to see who's in the colt squad

10-06-2020, 03:22 PM

trying to get an (h)unfair advantage on everyone else :greengrin

10-06-2020, 03:29 PM
trying to get an (h)unfair advantage on everyone else :greengrin
Hunestly, yer jokes are rotthun......

Greenworld
10-06-2020, 03:31 PM
I think its unusually slow on Twitter also , to get virtually nothing from any of the sports guys or papers on the meeting is a little strange , unless they are still talking.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

10-06-2020, 03:32 PM
I think its unusually slow on Twitter also , to get virtually nothing from any of the sports guys or papers on the meeting is a little strange , unless they are still talking.

Might be a timed announcement for 5pm or something and they’ve been told to keep quiet till then? Usually one of the BBC guys have had something from Budge/Gardiner by now.

10-06-2020, 03:33 PM
My mistake, but he is still an idiot.

10-06-2020, 03:34 PM
Might be a timed announcement for 5pm or something and they’ve been told to keep quiet till then? Usually one of the BBC guys have had something from Budge/Gardiner by now.

Neither of those blabber mouths are anywhere near the grown ups meeting.

Board only.

10-06-2020, 03:35 PM

Jeezo! How many times 40 minutes will that be?

MacGruber
10-06-2020, 03:37 PM

Feels like if it was a no we would have heard long before now. Doors are locked until reconstruction is agreed...

10-06-2020, 03:39 PM
Jeezo! How many times 40 minutes will that be?

They're using Google Meet now to get the full hour...

10-06-2020, 03:41 PM
Feels like if it was a no we would have heard long before now. Doors are locked until reconstruction is agreed...

More likely its a no to reconstruction and the legal eagkes ensuring the announcement is watertight and not open to legitimate challenge.

10-06-2020, 03:44 PM
More likely its a no to reconstruction and the legal eagkes ensuring the announcement is watertight and not open to legitimate challenge.

Because they can’t reconstruct the leagues without a proposal and a vote or there would be a riot.

dchibs
10-06-2020, 03:48 PM
McCann says "he's got a real problem" with Hearts position. WTF? Away and grow an inch ya Rangers fud.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

He also said Stendel could have got them one more position up which would have saved them, but that would have only taken them to a playoff position, he thinks he is the voice of authority when we know hes useless. Tommy Wright should have knocked his head off.

Chorley Hibee
10-06-2020, 03:52 PM
Hibs need to be letting us know where they stand on this now.

This nonsense is now having an effect upon Hibs revenue, as many fans (myself included) are withholding funds until this is brought to a conclusion.

Still of the opinion that reconstruction is happening (Hearts survive) and it will be a gradual drip feed of info before the grand reveal.

Anderson's money to the SPFL Trust today is just the first chapter.

If this happens, then I'm finished with the game here.

147lothian
10-06-2020, 03:54 PM
The silence is deafening, has been for weeks! Clearly an agreement reached in principle some time ago to secure HMFC's place in top league. The discussions have been about how it is sold to the fans and the wider public so that there are minimal repercussions and fuss. Said all along that money passing hands is always conditional. Stinks badly this whole mess.

Your not alone in your thinking this is from rory78 from JKB 20 minutes ago

"Most of these tin pot chairman like to shout and them not shouting can only be a good thing".

10-06-2020, 03:55 PM

Ah, that old trick. Click "Send" at 5pm then switch off phone and laptop then bugger off home (though he's probably already there, working). Deal with the fallout the next day.

10-06-2020, 03:58 PM

Or they're negotiating a better deal with Anderson or in discussion with Sky or there's a full scale riot. Who know, all speculation until the great reveal but for such a simple exercise (confirm Hearts relegated) they're making a hell of a meal of it.

10-06-2020, 03:59 PM
Ah, that old trick. Click "Send" at 5pm then switch off phone and laptop then bugger off home (though he's probably already there, working). Deal with the fallout the next day.

Business classic

Old boss of mine enjoyed swanning off at lunchtime but enjoyed calling the office to speak to random people at 4:58 to ensure we were all still there

He was a hun

10-06-2020, 04:01 PM
5pm. Statement?

10-06-2020, 04:03 PM
Your not alone in your thinking this is from rory78 from JKB 20 minutes ago

"Most of these tin pot chairman like to shout and them not shouting can only be a good thing".

Tin Pot Chairmen... that made me laugh. Coming from a fan whose chairperson failed to order seats, paid over £1 million quid for a pitch then held a concert on it, wrecking it in the process, spent £24 million building a single tiered stand with no directors box or decent media facilities and with restricted views (still not finished) o and with castle views (views of a castle right enough, Tynecastle HS), paying 3 managers at the time and wasted other folks money yet again.

I’m glad we have a tin pot chairmen if that’s the state of them.

Idiots!

10-06-2020, 04:04 PM

It is surely 20% of the donated amount, not 20% of the donated money + gift aid.

If he donated £2.5m, 20% of that is £500k, so would only be £3m in total. His donation therefore is just north of £2.6m.

Chorley Hibee
10-06-2020, 04:08 PM
If Hibs are constantly getting updated information then the stance may shift.
Hibs wont take a decision based on Hearts, it will be based on what is in Hibs best interests.

This whole farce is now affecting Hibs more than most other clubs.

It's time they voiced their disapproval of the whole charade, if that's their genuine stance.

10-06-2020, 04:11 PM
It is surely 20% of the donated amount, not 20% of the donated money + gift aid.

If he donated £2.5m, 20% of that is £500k, so would only be £3m in total. His donation therefore is just north of £2.6m.

Gift Aid is 25% not 20% .

10-06-2020, 04:12 PM
This whole farce is now affecting Hibs more than most other clubs.

It's time they voiced their disapproval of the whole charade, if that's their genuine stance.

On the 30th Anniversary of HOH, would be ironic if Hibs were instrumental in saving Hearts.

10-06-2020, 04:13 PM
"Some" is the important word for me. If it maintained the squad at, say, Cowdenbeath, and helped to put a team on the park every week, then yeah, I'd say there is a public benefit. (insert your own line here about the public benefit of Cowdenbeath ....)

For an extra midfielder at Hibs, probably not.

And that is where the stipulation "it's up to the clubs to show the community benefit" comes in.

On the other hand, Hibs might be able to say "we have need of an extra couple of bodies at the Foundation."

Sorry CWG, I can see your argument but that is not how the public benefit test works.

Paying wages of staff at HCF: absolutely, as that is a charitable organisation set up to deliver public benefit.

Paying wages of footballers: this wouldn’t have been defined as a charitable activity a few months ago, so why now?

Because JA is claiming gift aid, the money must be used for charitable purposes... although I am assuming not every club will have a charitable offshoot and they may find some wriggle room in these, ahem, ‘unprecedented’ times.

10-06-2020, 04:14 PM
On the 30th Anniversary of HOH, would be ironic if Hibs were instrumental in saving Hearts.

I think if we tell them to do one forcibly enough, it might save whatever tiny shred of dignity they have left.

Will that do?

10-06-2020, 04:17 PM

Happy to be corrected with this. My understanding was that the gift aid % was tied to the donor's basic rate of tax. Would that not make it 40% in relation to Anderson's basic tax rate? Can anyone clarify please.

10-06-2020, 04:20 PM

It's 25% of the amount donated, which means it also makes up 20% of the total including the gift aid.

If you donate £10, the gift aid is 25% of that (£2.50). The total is then £12.50, of which the £2.50 gift aid makes up 20%.

I think that means that £2.5m was the correct original donation amount,

Nothing yet? Beyond a joke

Happy to be corrected with this. My understanding was that the gift aid % was tied to the donor's basic rate of tax. Would that not make it 40% in relation to Anderson's basic tax rate? Can anyone clarify please.

It isnt tied to the donor's basic rate of tax its a flat 25%, that the charity claims after the donation.

10-06-2020, 04:21 PM

Basic rate is 20% for everyone.

Where it differs for Higher Rate taxpayers is that they can claim tax relief at that higher rate. It doesn't, though, make a difference to the amount of the Gift Aid reclaimed by the charity.

10-06-2020, 04:21 PM

I think it's the same for everyone (otherwise it would be hideously complex to administer).

10-06-2020, 04:22 PM
It's 25% of the amount donated, which means it also makes up 20% of the total including the gift aid.

If you donate £10, the gift aid is 25% of that (£2.50). The total is then £12.50, of which the £2.50 gift aid makes up 20%.

I think that means that £2.5m was the correct original donation amount,

Thats correct.

Hearts have been relegated for the fifth time since the Premier League was introduced in 1975. The second highest out of all clubs.

Wharra big massive team.

Hibeewilly
The SPFL trust gets 2.5m plus 25%...3.125m
Anderson can claim back the higher rate of tax that he pays minus the basic rate of tax (20%) on his total donation.

10-06-2020, 04:23 PM
It isnt tied to the donor's basic rate of tax its a flat 25%, that the charity claims after the donation.

Ok. Thanks for replying.

Basic rate is 20% for everyone.

Where it differs for Higher Rate taxpayers is that they can claim tax relief at that higher rate. It doesn't, though, make a difference to the amount of the Gift Aid reclaimed by the charity.

Except that the rate is 25% not 20%

One way or another, you’d have thought something would have leaked by now

10-06-2020, 04:25 PM

The amount of the donation is treated as the net payment, ie net of the 20% tax relief. Thus a donation of £100 is the net of a gross donation of £125.

The charity reclaims 20% of the £125, ie £25.

Charity now has £125. Donor is down £100, taxpayer down £25.

10-06-2020, 04:26 PM

Maybe they don’t want to spoil James Anderson’s day

10-06-2020, 04:27 PM
Maybe they don’t want to spoil James Anderson’s day

Probably one of the strings. :greengrin

10-06-2020, 04:27 PM
Except that the rate is 25% not 20%

25% of the net. 20% of the gross. See above :)

10-06-2020, 04:29 PM
The amount of the donation is treated as the net payment, ie net of the 20% tax relief. Thus a donation of £100 is the net of a gross donation of £125.

The charity reclaims 20% of the £125, ie £25.

It doesnt work like that. If a donation is made of £100 or say someoe buys something in a charity shp worth £100 and they gift aid then the charity receives an extra value of 25% from the Govt (tax) on top of the £100 received and the extra 25% (£25 in this case) is claimed by the charity after the sale.

10-06-2020, 04:31 PM
It doesnt work like that. If a donation is made of £100 or say someoe buys something in a charity shp worth £100 and they gift aid then the charity receives an extra value of 25% from the Govt (tax) on top of the £100 received and the extra 25% (£25 in this case) is claimed by the charity after the sale.

We are both saying the same thing.

The 25% is because the basic rate of tax is 20%. If the basic rate of tax were 10%, the Gift Aid percentage would be 12.5% of the net amount.

10-06-2020, 04:33 PM
We are both saying the same thing.

The 25% is because the basic rate of tax is 20%.

:greengrin yes we are figure wise but im just explaining how gift aid works (I work in the Charity sector)

10-06-2020, 04:35 PM
Nero calculated his tax return while Rome burned

10-06-2020, 04:36 PM
:greengrin yes we are figure wise but im just explaining how gift aid works (I work in the Charity sector)

Cool :)

I've just done a GA reclaim form for a charity. Freaking hate them 😆

10-06-2020, 04:36 PM
They must have rejected any reconstruction for it to take this long.
Probably going on about legal action/compensation now.

10-06-2020, 04:39 PM
Probably going on about legal action/compensation now.What legal action / compensation would that be?

10-06-2020, 04:39 PM

I doubt it, they are probably still arguing about whether to open the bourbons or custard creams.

plhibs
10-06-2020, 04:40 PM

Was this only a board members meeting,no clubs involved.

10-06-2020, 04:41 PM
I doubt it, they are probably still arguing about whether to open the bourbons or custard creams.

The bourbon industry had links to slavery. **** em.😁

Logie Green
10-06-2020, 04:41 PM
Any chance we could take Mr Anderson’s £50k, add a few bob to it and stick a bid in for Hickey? 😜

10-06-2020, 04:42 PM

...no-one is touchong the jammy dodgers though😁

10-06-2020, 04:43 PM
What legal action / compensation would that be?
Well there will be none i guess but thats what they’ve been threatening.

10-06-2020, 04:45 PM
...no-one is touchong the jammy dodgers though😁

What about the cream buns?

Wakeyhibee
10-06-2020, 04:47 PM

I think it's the opposite, the problem is at the top no matter how you slice it. Teams lower down, the vocal ones at least have said no to 14 so 18 isn't much different. So I presume they're talking cash and a 14-10-10-10.

10-06-2020, 04:50 PM
Nero calculated his tax return while Rome burned

I got it !! Nice one

10-06-2020, 04:57 PM
Sorry CWG, I can see your argument but that is not how the public benefit test works.

Paying wages of staff at HCF: absolutely, as that is a charitable organisation set up to deliver public benefit.

Paying wages of footballers: this wouldn’t have been defined as a charitable activity a few months ago, so why now?

Because JA is claiming gift aid, the money must be used for charitable purposes... although I am assuming not every club will have a charitable offshoot and they may find some wriggle room in these, ahem, ‘unprecedented’ times.

Now, I started the day on your side of the fence...some posters on here got me rethinking things. Now I'm not sure again. 😁

Ps have you been to Cowdenbeath?

10-06-2020, 04:58 PM
Any chance we could take Mr Anderson’s £50k, add a few bob to it and stick a bid in for Hickey? 😜

£51k then?

Nice to give the fools something to cheer about while their club plummets in relevance.

10-06-2020, 05:01 PM
They will be sorting out the compo for the relegated teams.

10-06-2020, 05:02 PM
It's amazing that there have been no leaks whatsoever.

Sioux
10-06-2020, 05:03 PM

The donor makes a payment of £100. The donor gets his tax relief in relation to the basic rate of tax (20%). To arrive at the gross element the gift is grossed up relevant to the tax rate, so in this case the donation becomes £125 (100 x 100/80).

In the charity's hands, the gift is still £100 but because the donor gets tax relief at 20%, fairy dust turns £20 into £25. The tax credit now becomes £25, which is repayable.

The staring point is the grossing up of the donation, because the donor is deemed to have taken tax relief at 20% at the point of donating. Not simply because the Govt decides that a charity will receive 25% extra.

If the basic tax rate is reduced or increased, the formula remains the same, but the charity won't get 25% of the gift.

If the tax rate was 15%, the charity would get £17.65.

I can't be bothered doing this with the Scottish Variable Rate.

(And I work in HMRC) :greengrin

10-06-2020, 05:03 PM

I would offer them it for Boyce. It’s a win win. They get the benefactors cash and we get a player who doesn’t want to play in the lower leagues.

10-06-2020, 05:04 PM

There will be the usual DR/Sun EXCLUSIVE tonight. It’s a stick on.

10-06-2020, 05:06 PM
There will be the usual DR/Sun EXCLUSIVE tonight. It’s a stick on.

And they'll both contradict each other.

10-06-2020, 05:06 PM

BBC Sportsound podcast for today had Chris McLaughlin on and he is usually balanced. He said Budge proposal was dead and Rangers proposal was greeting better feedback but unlikely to fly just now. Did say more sympathy for reconstruction by some clubs.

His view was this has more days to run..

10-06-2020, 05:07 PM
Banderson saying the money can be used for wages and bills.

10-06-2020, 05:09 PM
The donor makes a payment of £100. The donor gets his tax relief in relation to the basic rate of tax (20%). To arrive at the gross element the gift is grossed up relevant to the tax rate, so in this case the donation becomes £125 (100 x 100/80).

In the charity's hands, the gift is still £100 but because the donor gets tax relief at 20%, fairy dust turns £20 into £25. The tax credit now becomes £25, which is repayable.

The staring point is the grossing up of the donation, because the donor is deemed to have taken tax relief at 20% at the point of donating. Not simply because the Govt decides that a charity will receive 25% extra.

If the basic tax rate is reduced or increased, the formula remains the same, but the charity won't get 25% of the gift.

If the tax rate was 15%, the charity would get £17.65.

I can't be bothered doing this with the Scottish Variable Rate.

(And I work in HMRC) :greengrin

Oh you do do you? When you gonna answer the ****ing phone?

10-06-2020, 05:11 PM

10-06-2020, 05:14 PM

Well that's us telt then.

Sioux
10-06-2020, 05:15 PM

Never. I don't deal with the public.

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

10-06-2020, 05:18 PM
Never. I don't deal with the public.

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Well your colleagues who do can’t be arsed answering either! 😤

10-06-2020, 05:30 PM
Regarding the donation.

Surely morally it should be used for community projects for all clubs.

Instead clubs will apply for the money and ***** it on wages when they have had staff furloughed already or use it to sign a new player.

Again Scottish Football short term gains instead of improving infrastructure etc.

10-06-2020, 05:30 PM
BBC Sportsound podcast for today had Chris McLaughlin on and he is usually balanced. He said Budge proposal was dead and Rangers proposal was greeting better feedback but unlikely to fly just now. Did say more sympathy for reconstruction by some clubs.

It's never ending. So tedious

10-06-2020, 05:35 PM
The plumbing at Hampden must be first rate - no leaks.

10-06-2020, 05:38 PM

The Rangers proposal is the worst of the lot of them. If I was a CEO on a Premiership Zoom call about it I'd be insisting that they have to add into the proposal a change to the voting structure from 11-1 to 9-3 for everything otherwise it's a flat 'No'.

This a cracker from kickback :greengrin

49 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:
I'll ask my original question again then. If we are offered reconstruction and therefore a place in the top league, then what exactly do you think we can go to court for? Because clearly the suggestion of declining a place in the top league and then going to court because we have been placed in The Championship is mental beyond any level of comprehension.

Response.
**** ****. I don't want reconstruction. If Hearts except reconstruction and move on that is capitulation. Have you any idea what it's going to be like for us if Scottish football remains corrupt. That has to be fixed or there is no point.

Oh you do do you? When you gonna answer the ****ing phone?:greengrin

Does anyone else think they should be telling fans something about the meeting? Is it nowt to do with us?

10-06-2020, 05:42 PM
I don't think that's correct. He's paid the money to a registered charity, that's the end of it I believe.

Feels like it, if we ever get out of here, if we ever get out of here.

10-06-2020, 05:44 PM

:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious

10-06-2020, 05:45 PM

I would prefer for him to go to Celtic for less than that and then immediately loaned out to St Mirren next season. Imagine the absolute seethe 😀

10-06-2020, 05:53 PM
Does anyone else think they should be telling fans something about the meeting? Is it nowt to do with us?I'd like to know, but if they haven't said anything yet there will be a reason why.

10-06-2020, 05:57 PM

Aye but he’s a f******.

I'd like to know, but if they haven't said anything yet there will be a reason why.

That is true and that is my concern :rolleyes:

Hibeesforever
I'd like to know, but if they haven't said anything yet there will be a reason why.

Rest assured the journalists will be trying their best to find out. Very strange there have been no leaks. It would be a massive sea change to go for reconstruction but feels like something is going on.

10-06-2020, 05:58 PM
I think it's the opposite, the problem is at the top no matter how you slice it. Teams lower down, the vocal ones at least have said no to 14 so 18 isn't much different. So I presume they're talking cash and a 14-10-10-10.

From what i’ve taken in so far, the premier clubs will reject any reconstruction by a good margin, the lower league clubs have gotten to the stage when they have enough clubs to reject any change.
Apart from that no one talks about the championship who need 8 votes for to pass and almost all are against any reconstruction.
Its never going to pass unless votes can be bought.

10-06-2020, 06:00 PM
Rest assured the journalists will be trying their best to find out. Very strange there have been no leaks. It would be a massive sea change to go for reconstruction but feels like something is going on.

Maybe allowing Anderson’s donation to get all the headlines first and not buried under no to reconstruction in the tea time news shows.

10-06-2020, 06:03 PM
From what i’ve taken in so far, the premier clubs will reject any reconstruction by a good margin, the lower league clubs have gotten to the stage when they have enough clubs to reject any change.
Apart from that no one talks about the championship who need 8 votes for to pass and almost all are against any reconstruction.
If it fails to get enough votes in any of the divisions it fails. The lower league clubs could all be in favour but if two prem clubs vote against the whole thing fails.

But there hasn’t been any vote anyway.

10-06-2020, 06:03 PM

My take on the Championship is that they haven’t changed... Dunfermline, Ayr and Raith have said no so that’s their 8 votes gone.

10-06-2020, 06:04 PM
If it fails to get enough votes in any of the divisions it fails. The lower league clubs could all be in favour but if two prem clubs vote against the whole thing fails.

Surely they would have all that information now?!

10-06-2020, 06:06 PM
Surely they would have all that information now?!

There hasn’t been a vote today though. There was no proposal to vote on. It was a kicking about ideas session. However, if enough clubs made it clear they weren’t interested there would be no point having a vote.

10-06-2020, 06:07 PM

I think L1 and 2 need 15 between them with Forfar, Clyde, Peterhead, Cowdenbeath, Cove and I’m sure the Stenhousemuir chairman indicated no.... I think Elgin too.

10-06-2020, 06:08 PM
So maybe Doncaster asking for suggestions is meaning they are tying themselves up working out any permeation that might get more support
Or are they having to put together something that can then be voted on and that will then be the end of it
But agree we as fans deserve some form of communication , as lack of it just leads to speculation

10-06-2020, 06:10 PM
There hasn’t been a vote today though. There was no proposal to vote on. It was a kicking about ideas session. However, if enough clubs made it clear they weren’t interested there would be no point having a vote.

Sorry, that’s what I meant, so does the silence from today’s meeting mean there is enough interest to take it to a vote?

10-06-2020, 06:11 PM
So maybe Doncaster asking for suggestions is meaning they are tying themselves up working out any permeation that might get more support
Or are they having to put together something that can then be voted on and that will then be the end of it
But agree we as fans deserve some form of communication , as lack of it just leads to speculation

Plausible

10-06-2020, 06:12 PM

This, I feel we are being treated badly

10-06-2020, 06:16 PM
I think L1 and 2 need 15 between them with Forfar, Clyde, Peterhead, Cowdenbeath, Cove and I’m sure the Stenhousemuir chairman indicated no.... I think Elgin too.

Yes but the point is that for the vote to carry it must pass the criteria across all the divisions.

10-06-2020, 06:17 PM
Yes but the point is that for the vote to carry it must pass the criteria across all the divisions.

Indeed it does. Sorry I should have acknowledged that in my previous post.

10-06-2020, 06:19 PM
Sorry, that’s what I meant, so does the silence from today’s meeting mean there is enough interest to take it to a vote?

I have no idea why they can’t come out with an update. They made it public there were talks today and will know a lot of folk are waiting on news from that. The communication is abysmal.

Potty78
10-06-2020, 06:19 PM
Personally think they will be working on a 14 10 10 10 reconstruction to try and push through. It seems to be the only one where no club loses out. Just my opinion mind!

10-06-2020, 06:22 PM
Personally think they will be working on a 14 10 10 10 reconstruction to try and push through. It seems to be the only one where no club loses out. Just my opinion mind!
No one loses out in the first instance but when you revert to a 12 which is the only workable structure we have just now, loads of clubs are relegated. No one would vote for that.

Potty78
10-06-2020, 06:24 PM
No one loses out in the first instance but when you revert to a 12 which is the only workable structure we have just now, loads of clubs are relegated. No one would vote for that.

True but depends if permanent or not perhaps!

10-06-2020, 06:24 PM
I think we should use the 50K to make a big green flag with the current league table on it and thanking Hearts for paying for the flag!

10-06-2020, 06:26 PM
True but depends if permanent or not perhaps!
Obviously if permanent then yes but again very few want a permanent 14 team top league. It’s only being considered because of Hearts.

10-06-2020, 06:26 PM

Apart from the 12 teams currently in the top flight who now have to split the pot 14 ways & the prospect of nearly 60% of the league, either being in a relegation dogfight or playing meaningless games, after less than 70% of the season has been completed. Every plan has a downside.

10-06-2020, 06:27 PM
I'm not one for defending them in the slightest but it's a bit of a piss take for Hearts fans. If we're getting tired of it they must be doing their ringers. Must be ***** being a wee club like them.

Pleasing.

Wakeyhibee
10-06-2020, 06:28 PM

I can see the championship being persuaded on that basis now things have changed. Theres no change bottom two other than 2 promoted, so I cant see them blocking it. It's as you were.

As you say it's the top, convincing clubs and sorting out the prize split so no losers financially.

It's just unusual it's taking this long given such opposition to the 14 teams Prem no matter what permutations you come up with below.

I hope it gets booted.

10-06-2020, 06:30 PM
This, I feel we are being treated badlyAs it stands final league positions, relegation and promotion have all been confirmed and we're waiting on the Premiership fixture list being published.

Hearts submitted a member's motion wanting to change things. The SPFL board then asked if there was any more for any more while we're at it. We don't know how many clubs submitted ideas as only the huns' thing was made public.

Budge has already admitted that their thing isn't happening. There's not a hope in hell that enough Premiership clubs will permit OF colts into the league, let alone their potential lower league adversaries.

So the bottom line is that no change is programmed. A couple of ideas (that we know of) have been submitted but which aren't going to happen.

It'd be nice if something leaks, but there's nothing to worry about.

10-06-2020, 06:32 PM
Regarding the donation.

Surely morally it should be used for community projects for all clubs.

Instead clubs will apply for the money and ***** it on wages when they have had staff furloughed already or use it to sign a new player.

Again Scottish Football short term gains instead of improving infrastructure etc.

Are you just assuming that? Id ignore anything banderson says - he really is useless.

10-06-2020, 06:33 PM
Zero chance.We wouldnt commit to 14 permanent as its a horrible number and so unbalanced.Plus we would have unfair promotions replacing unlucky relegations.then if it was temporary we'd have unfair relegations and have to fire back two or three teams back to non league.
Reconstruction is not wanted or needed.

10-06-2020, 06:41 PM
3 relegations when it reverts back to a 12 team league isn't going to sit well with anyone outside the uglies. As we saw ourselves all it takes is poor form and you're spiraling down the league. I'd have thought that would be the last thing the likes of Hamilton or Ross County would vote for. Just makes it even more precarious for them.

10-06-2020, 06:45 PM
3 relegations when it reverts back to a 12 team league isn't going to sit well with anyone outside the uglies. As we saw ourselves all it takes is poor form and you're spiraling down the league. I'd have thought that would be the last thing the likes of Hamilton or Ross County would vote for. Just makes it even more precarious for them.

+ up to 4 relegated from the Championship and League 1 once it reverts too and another 2/3 from League 2

10-06-2020, 06:46 PM
Over on Brokeback, they are creaming themselves that someone on Twitter called "The 4th Official" has said that AB is now planning legal action. Unfortunately you have to pay to see what he/she is actually saying but I think that maroon pound is being spent on it. Muppets

10-06-2020, 06:48 PM
If they are planning legal action then they are oot !

10-06-2020, 06:52 PM
Over on Brokeback, they are creaming themselves that someone on Twitter called "The 4th Official" has said that AB is now planning legal action. Unfortunately you have to pay to see what he/she is actually saying but I think that maroon pound is being spent on it. Muppets

That was 5 hours ago. AB planning legal action has been on the go for weeks.

10-06-2020, 06:53 PM
If they are planning legal action then they are oot !

Top tip - don`t believe everything you read on Twitter especially if you have to pay to access it

Bit like those old Clubcall numbers. Welcome.....to......Hibernian......Football.....Cl ub....Hotline...........etc etc

PH91
10-06-2020, 06:58 PM

Whilst i dont think it is unfair or that there is a case for the courts i do think that any team relegated after 30 games of an originally intended 38 game season can count themselves unlucky. They might have went down, they might not, but the chance to play out of the mess they got themselves in has been taken away.

A temp 14-10-10-10 has its drawbacks but none are insurmountable:
Each team takes a small financial hit - all businesses are just now and i would have thought clubs would accept it if felt they were doing the right thing in sporting terms
3 teams go down after a year - 11 stay up though, the same as now
Split after 26 games - terrible permanently but could be accepted for a year

If the relegation threatened teams had said they didn't think it was entirely right and presented the above i would have been ok with Hibs taking the moral high ground and going with it. But the condescending, hypocritical and downright insulting way Budge has gone about the whole thing has really changed my stance and i hope reconstruction gets booted out. And given what we have heard from chairmen up to now i think its just a matter of time before it will.

10-06-2020, 06:59 PM

Just had a look and don't know how reliable he is but has 39.5k followers, but the again trump has 82m followers

10-06-2020, 07:08 PM
Obviously if permanent then yes but again very few want a permanent 14 team top league. It’s only being considered because of Hearts.

Even hearts don’t want a permanent 14 team top division.

KingPat4
10-06-2020, 07:11 PM
This jobbie is now so smelly, it's time environmental health was called in.

10-06-2020, 07:17 PM

At the rate she does things at we'll be halfway through the season by the time she starts it.

Wonder what's happened to the enforced reconstruction they said Doncaster was going to implement. 🤔

10-06-2020, 07:18 PM
Great. The SPFL want 14-10-10-10 'back on the table' according to Kheredine

https://twitter.com/Kheredine2018/status/1270797043372605443?s=19

10-06-2020, 07:18 PM
14 10 10 10 back on the table.

What a ****ing farce

10-06-2020, 07:19 PM
The @spfl have written to Championship clubs, asking them to commit to a 27 game season. More details soon @BBCSportScot. & Reconstruction hasn’t gone away; the model @spfl would like to get (back) on the table is 14-10-10-10. Would keep @JamTarts @PartickThistle @StranraerFC up

My god. Just put it to a vote and get it over with.

10-06-2020, 07:19 PM

So the bribe is working!

10-06-2020, 07:20 PM
Its time for Hibs to speak up imo. Today shouldve been the day we moved onto getting football back but these clowns are persisting with keeping uncertainty on the table.

10-06-2020, 07:20 PM
So the bribe is working!

Would seem so eh! Absolute joke.

10-06-2020, 07:21 PM
Its time for Hibs to speak up imo. Today shouldve been the day we moved onto getting football back but these clowns are persisting with keeping uncertainty on the table.

Why would the SPFL want it on the table???

10-06-2020, 07:22 PM
I could well be they are working through the issues clubs have to come up with a reconstruction that can be put in place for the coming season. It is fairly unusual nothing had been reported or leaked by now. Bottom line is it’s still a guessing game but I do agree that the supporters of clubs should be updated to the high level situation.

If indeed we are to reconstruct I think they should be having a consultation period with supporters of clubs which takes time. It would jus be like our game to go ahead and deliver a change without proper consultation with its customers us the fans. Personally I’d like to see a 16-18 team top league, my fear is if they change it to 14 now it will be years and years before we see it increased which in itself is an issue as we don’t want to keep changing our model. All goes back to the main point it needs time and proposer due diligence to get it right.

10-06-2020, 07:23 PM
The @spfl have written to Championship clubs, asking them to commit to a 27 game season. More details soon @BBCSportScot. & Reconstruction hasn’t gone away; the model @spfl would like to get (back) on the table is 14-10-10-10. Would keep @JamTarts @PartickThistle @StranraerFC up

That's my thinking, just put it to a vote and be done with it 1 way or another. Time on all the discussions is surely up.

10-06-2020, 07:23 PM

Which two teams would be added to the Premiership?

One team has been promoted, one team has been relegated. There are no more automatic slots leaving 3 championship and a premiership in the playoffs.

10-06-2020, 07:25 PM
So the bribe is working!

Explains the silence Wonder how they will justify this if that ends up being the outcome
Am scunnerred if that’s what happens

10-06-2020, 07:26 PM
I’m disgusted the way the ordinary fan is being treated? Has it got nothing to do with us? Will they make changes (reconstruction) without a bloody word to us?
Are we just to accept this? And all to save that horrible lot!!

Sounds like SPFL clubs want this ridiculous 14 team premier league.

Wonder if there’s any chance of the club speaking to us to tell us why. Happy enough to communicate with us when asking for our money., why the radio silence now?

That's my thinking, just put it to a vote and be done with it 1 way or another. Time on all the discussions is surely up.

They are clearly still leaning on whoever isn’t yet happy to vote it through

So does that suggest the premiership teams are on board?

10-06-2020, 07:27 PM

I bought 4 season tickets for next seasons not only will I get little use of them I have to watch a 6/8 split 😂😂 brilliant

I’m disgusted the way the ordinary fan is being treated? Has it got nothing to do with us? Will they make changes (reconstruction) without a bloody word to us?
Are we just to accept this? And all to save that horrible lot!!

Correct, I’m really annoyed at all this nonsense now.

Explains the silence Wonder how they will justify this if that ends up being the outcome
Am scunnerred if that’s what happens

Scottish football is finished if you can buy yourself out of relegation and the rules of the governing body. There still has to be a vote but this can’t rumble on much longer.

10-06-2020, 07:28 PM
I’m not as convinced as many that Hibs will vote against it. If there were that many teams objecting to it the. It wouldn’t still be rumbling on.

10-06-2020, 07:28 PM
I could well be they are working through the issues clubs have to come up with a reconstruction that can be put in place for the coming season. It is fairly unusual nothing had been reported or leaked by now. Bottom line is it’s still a guessing game but I do agree that the supporters of clubs should be updated to the high level situation.

If indeed we are to reconstruct I think they should be having a consultation period with supporters of clubs which takes time. It would jus be like our game to go ahead and deliver a change without proper consultation with its customers us the fans. Personally I’d like to see a 16-18 team top league, my fear is if they change it to 14 now it will be years and years before we see it increased which in itself is an issue as we don’t want to keep changing our model. All goes back to the main point it needs time and proposer due diligence to get it right.

I’m happy for reconstruction to take place SMAXXA but not this season. I agree that there is a need for proper consultation and that takes time. Now is not the time.

I would however prefer 18 team league playing each other only twice a season.... home and away!

It still needs voting on and I cannot see it being voted in for this season. We need to move in.

It is now very tedious imho!

10-06-2020, 07:29 PM
Utterly brutal.If the clubs knew this then they would not have voted to end the league early.
They would have waited and completed the season.
Whos benefiting from the bribe?

I’m not as convinced as many that Hibs will vote against it. If there were that many teams objecting to it the. It wouldn’t still be rumbling on.

I think it looks like we’re voting for it.

Scottish football is finished if you can buy yourself out of relegation and the rules of the governing body. There still has to be a vote but this can’t rumble on much longer.

Was holding off till July to buy my season ticket I will be thinking long and hard now whether to commit depending on what the final proposal is if passed

10-06-2020, 07:30 PM
The "nobody disadvantaged" reconstruction where all clubs lose because the money is diluted due to two extra clubs. Plus the need to adjust the money for 13th and 14th in the Premier to the detriment of the Championship clubs.

This ***** needs to go to a vote immediately.

If there were that many teams objecting to it the. It wouldn’t still be rumbling on.

But it’s something different AGAIN that’s being debated

This is actually a ****ing joke

I wouldn’t mind reconstruction (minus the saving Hearts bit) if the league was actually going to improve. Moving to 14 teams in the top flight is horrific, terrible split and less money for clubs throughout the leagues. Season could potentially be over in February. Why would we vote for that?

What makes you think that?

10-06-2020, 07:31 PM
Scottish football is finished if you can buy yourself out of relegation and the rules of the governing body. There still has to be a vote but this can’t rumble on much longer.Football is done.There's no connection to the people anymore if money can change outcomes.Plenty other sports out there with integrity.

10-06-2020, 07:32 PM
What makes you think that?

The fact the spfl want a 14 team league and the deafening silence from our club.

10-06-2020, 07:32 PM
The fact the spfl want a 14 team league and the deafening silence from our club.

Our club might have said no but other 11 say yes. Nothing to make a statement on yet

10-06-2020, 07:33 PM
They are clearly still leaning on whoever isn’t yet happy to vote it through

Is it leaning or is it bullying/coercion. Maybe some thought it should be at least delayed a little so it didn't go through on the same day as the JA money. After all, don't want Scottish football to be accused of accepting bribes.

10-06-2020, 07:34 PM
All sounds coming from St Mirren on reconstruction have been negative. They don’t want it. Ross County chairman was quoted as being against it last week as it’s too late in the day. There’s two already. A small bung from JA isn’t going to sway the Premier league sides. I see no reason why they’d change their minds unless the SPFL are actually running scared of the potential legal action.

I wouldn’t mind reconstruction (minus the saving Hearts bit) if the league was actually going to improve. Moving to 14 teams in the top flight is horrific, terrible split and less money for clubs throughout the leagues. Season could potentially be over in February. Why would we vote for that?

This point seems to be getting lost in amongst everything else. A 14 team league will be garbage.

Absolute farce and embarrassment, vote taken to end season weeks ago and this is still rumbling on, budge was allowed to go on and on and on instead of being told it’s done!

Knew this wouldn’t be over and done with, glad I got it in writing that they will refund season tickets if reconstruction happens. I personally think the idea of being 7th in January and playing for nothing until the end of May mind numbing.

10-06-2020, 07:37 PM
Our club might have said no but other 11 say yes. Nothing to make a statement on yet

Not asking for a statement.

There’s plenty for the club to be speaking to us about.

Our thoughts on league reconstruction.
Our preparation for returning to training in the current climate and how that’s going to look.
Transfer plans for the summer seeing as we’re now in pre-season.

The club got in a terrible habit of only speaking to us when they wanted money before, we’ve slipped right back into that habit recently..

coldingham hibs
10-06-2020, 07:38 PM
Knew this wouldn’t be over and done with, glad I got it in writing that they will refund season tickets if reconstruction happens. I personally think the idea of being 7th in January and playing for nothing until the end of May mind numbing.

Absolutely, a total waste of time & money. The fans are the clubs and we need to know what is going on.

10-06-2020, 07:39 PM

That’s what I was saying mate. As I’ve said earlier I’m not too fussed if Hearts stay down or not but I’m probably in the minority I realise that and I think if Hibs vote for it and probably on the grounds of morals and no club being relegated side of things it will turn out to be a massive own goal from the supporters perspective and undo a lot of the good stuff.

My main issue would be the club have a responsibility to the fans to let their voices be heard and what we would want going forward and if they don’t do this through proper consultation it would be wrong. Unless they already have a view through KP and canvassing social media and sites like this which is fairly overwhelming what the fans want, and going against this for no/little business benefit again will be difficult to justify.

It would just be sooo Hibs to have been brilliant throughout the COVID and at the final hurdle wipe it all out for a lot of people.

10-06-2020, 07:40 PM
Absolutely, a total waste of time & money. The fans are the clubs and we need to know what is going on.

I will definitely be asking for a refund if reconstruction happens, I will simply become a walk up. I’ve a 200 mile round trip to the games, so my circumstances are a little different but none the less, the 6/8 split isn’t for me.

All sounds coming from St Mirren on reconstruction have been negative. They don’t want it. Ross County chairman was quoted as being against it last week as it’s too late in the day. There’s two already. A small bung from JA isn’t going to sway the Premier league sides. I see no reason why they’d change their minds unless the SPFL are actually running scared of the potential legal action.

Aberdeen also said it’s not the right time for it

And this new 14-10-10-10 is it permanent? 2 seasons? 5 seasons?

No doubt this will rumble on another week

Not asking for a statement.

There’s plenty for the club to be speaking to us about.

Our thoughts on league reconstruction.
Our preparation for returning to training in the current climate and how that’s going to look.
Transfer plans for the summer seeing as we’re now in pre-season.

The club got in a terrible habit of only speaking to us when they wanted money before, we’ve slipped right back into that habit recently..

I agree 100%. Even a fortnightly update of whats happening around the club and the work being done behind the scenes to get us ready football coming back. St.Mirren manage weekly updates so it cant be that difficult. We constantly hear how the club wants to improve communication which is then followed by walls of silence for weeks and months on big issues.

10-06-2020, 07:41 PM
Nothing has changed, everyone will have to vote on it, can't see why the club's that previously said no weeks ago would have change their minds now, still can't see enough people voting for it

This can't keep going on and on though, asking to change a league format without consulting the fans is shocking behaviour even in the current climate

10-06-2020, 07:42 PM

So you’ve jumped to the conclusion hibs must be in favour of it purely because they’ve not released a statement for the fans to read?

I’d much rather hibs went quietly about their business as oppose to being involved in a who can shout the loudest argument.

Hibs will vote in the way they see fit for the club whether fans agree with it or not

Robbo6-2
Ffs folk need to calm the **** down.

Nothing has been decided and what will be will be.

I couldny gee two ****s if hearts stay up or not. Bigger things to worry about.

If they go down great, if they stay up least we get Edinburgh derby.

Clubs voted to end the league with current postions final.Funny how it seems its the SPFL board who cant accept the situation that they made now.
Amazing what money can do to people.

It all needs out in the open.Clubs need to tell us whats happening here now.

10-06-2020, 07:43 PM
We need to make our club crystal clear on fallout from this.

Nothing has changed, everyone will have to vote on it, can't see why the club's that previously said no weeks ago would have change their minds now, still can't see enough people voting for it

This can't keep going on and on though, asking to change a league format without consulting the fans is shocking behaviour even in the current climate

Surely if enough clubs are against it, they would have let they’re feelings known today?
Why , then, the need for another vote?
I don’t like this one bit

If they go down great, if they stay up least we get Edinburgh derby.Stuff the derby.They are bribing their way out of relegation.

10-06-2020, 07:44 PM
I agree 100%. Even a fortnightly update of whats happening around the club and the work being done behind the scenes to get us ready football coming back. St.Mirren manage weekly updates so it cant be that difficult. We constantly hear how the club wants to improve communication which is then followed by walls of silence for weeks and months on big issues.

KP does a very good monthly update.

Integrity is at stake and transparency

Remember that when they continue to outbid is for players and we penny pincher as season ticket sales immediately stop. The club will lose many fans on the back of this IF they support it.

10-06-2020, 07:45 PM
Surely if enough clubs are against it, they would have let they’re feelings known today?
Why , then, the need for another vote?
I don’t like this one bit

Maybe it's 8-4 or 9-3 and they think that they can change a couple of clubs minds on it, a vote will make it final and show that the SPFL put it to its members in case of a court case etc, shows they've exhausted every avenue

10-06-2020, 07:45 PM
That’s what I was saying mate. As I’ve said earlier I’m not too fussed if Hearts stay down or not but I’m probably in the minority I realise that and I think if Hibs vote for it and probably on the grounds of morals and no club being relegated side of things it will turn out to be a massive own goal from the supporters perspective and undo a lot of the good stuff.

My main issue would be the club have a responsibility to the fans to let their voices be heard and what we would want going forward and if they don’t do this through proper consultation it would be wrong. Unless they already have a view through KP and canvassing social media and sites like this which is fairly overwhelming what the fans want, and going against this for no/little business benefit again will be difficult to justify.

It would just be sooo Hibs to have been brilliant throughout the COVID and at the final hurdle wipe it all out for a lot of people.

Despite my tantrum tonight, it’s not actually about Hearts staying up, although that’s added fuel to the fire 😊

A 14 team premier league that splits half way through the season is utter pish and it’s not what the fans want. Why are the fans of all clubs, apart from hearts, being ignored here?

We are already getting poor value for our season tickets next season, to vote to make them even worse without any sort of communication to us to explain the thought process is taking the piss.

I realise it’s not been confirmed that’s what’s happening yet so I am opening myself up to being mocked for pissing my pants prematurely but I still think the club could be speaking to us better than they have been over the last couple of weeks (funnily enough since season tickets made such an encouraging start)

coldingham hibs
10-06-2020, 07:46 PM
Sorry but 2 games against Rangers, Celtic, Aberdeen, Hearts (potentially) & Dundee Utd, we end up in 7th or 8th and have 4 games against Ross County, Inverness, Hamilton, Livingston. That sounds just fantastic.

And by that time Budge will be long gone and won’t give a damn what form the leagues take.

Someone who won’t be involved in the game in less than a year trying to call the shots? Gimme a break.

Reconstruction being forced through by 11 clubs doesnt bother me. Hibs voting it through does. If we have a 14 team top flight come August and Hibs have voted against it then so be it. The club cant be faulted or blamed and while it will be a joke outcome at least we had no part in it. But if the club vote for it, theyre in for a shock if they think this will just die down and go away. I am sure we will do the right thing. The club arent daft but the continual silence from the club doesnt help in situations like this.

Thats not actually true.

I appreciate you are not happy at this reconstruction nonsense, but Hibs engagement recently has been excellent - both via the clubs and the fans rep on here.

KP does a very good monthly update.

E mail him I will be with my view and asking him to make the club aware of it
But will wait till someone has the decency to let us know what happened today and what any new structure will look like

10-06-2020, 07:47 PM

I couldn’t care if Hearts stayed up either, what I do care about is the circumstances that would have changed an overwhelming no vote for a terrible 14 team format that if permanent ruins the league and your ST or temporary where there’s going to be a whole load of relegation in a couple of seasons, maybe even us. Hearts will strengthen due to their benefactor so won’t be their problem by then. It stinks.

Lee Marvin

If Hibs vote for this - and I dont think we will - the current incumbents on the board will never be forgiven by a large percentage of the fanbase.

I think this will now go through with an 11-1 vote. It's an absolute disgrace!!

hibeerealist

In that case WTF is the problem with 12-12-10-10?

Why does it have to be 14 Prem?

This would only be to save the jobby that won’t flush, no other reason.

10-06-2020, 07:48 PM
Maybe it's 8-4 or 9-3 and they think that they can change a couple of clubs minds on it, a vote will make it final and show that the SPFL put it to its members in case of a court case etc, shows they've exhausted every avenue

The rules in place, that they also voted for, show they don’t have a case to take to court!
Why would the SPFL fear this?

10-06-2020, 07:48 PM
So you’ve jumped to the conclusion hibs must be in favour of it purely because they’ve not released a statement for the fans to read?

I’d much rather hibs went quietly about their business as oppose to being involved in a who can shout the loudest argument.

Hibs will vote in the way they see fit for the club whether fans agree with it or not

Do you think the only way the club can keep the fans informed is with a ‘who can shout the loudest argument?’

Do you not think there’s a middle ground somewhere?

‘The spfl want a 14 team league’ is what’s being reported in the media, are we not part of that?

ionahibby
10-06-2020, 07:49 PM
We need to make our club crystal clear on fallout from this.

Agree, they can take their season ticket back if they think this is a good idea. A halfway spilt on the season is bloody ridiculous. All to keep these clowns up. Surprised nobody has mentioned anything about bribery to Doncaster. He must know what this looks like.

GonzoReturns
10-06-2020, 07:49 PM
Is it possible additional funding is being made available to offset any prize money losses from expanding the league......if this does go through Hearts will see themselves running Scottish football and what happens in the future if they are once again in the relegation spot!!! This is much more than saving Hearts this is about the whole integrity and ethics of Scottish football.

10-06-2020, 07:51 PM
Thats not actually true.

I appreciate you are not happy at this reconstruction nonsense, but Hibs engagement recently has been excellent - both via the clubs and the fans rep on here.

Fans rep has yes but not the club. He does an excellent job but on big issues it shouldnt be left up to the fans rep to explain the clubs thinking as thats unfair on him

How much is Duncan Anderson chucking around behind the scenes.

201 pages of absolutely nothing.

Do you think the only way the club can keep the fans informed is with a ‘who can shout the loudest argument?’

Do you not think there’s a middle ground somewhere?

‘The spfl want a 14 team league’ is what’s being reported in the media, are we not part of that?

But maybe there’s nothing to tell the fans right now?

If it goes to an official vote maybe hibs will then release a statement advising what way they voted like they did when they voted to end the season early

10-06-2020, 07:52 PM
in that case wtf is the problem with 12-12-10-10?

Why does it have to be 14 prem?

This would only be to save the jobby that won’t flush, no other reason.

this....damn disgrace