View Full Version : NO to reconstruction
11-06-2020, 02:46 PM
Don't need to say it publicly. Doncaster says he wants responses asap, and by Monday 10am at latest. If he gets enough negative replies say by Friday he and board can say that already there is no support to go for an egm and vote.
Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
What I was meaning is if it’s out there in the public domain and he has already had their feedback it could force him to do as you say and call an early halt. If it’s all kept hush hush then I think he’ll wait until Monday regardless of how many negative responses he’s received.
11-06-2020, 02:48 PM
one of these posts is definitely a woosh, but i'm genuinely not sure which.
whoosh
EI255
11-06-2020, 02:48 PM
I can't see this going through at all, I can see rangers spitting the dummy and voting no since their colts idea has been pushed to one side.I can't see it either.
Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
Marco G
11-06-2020, 02:51 PM
What I was meaning is if it’s out there in the public domain and he has already had their feedback it could force him to do as you say and call an early halt. If it’s all kept hush hush then I think he’ll wait until Monday regardless of how many negative responses he’s received.Fair enough.
Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
11-06-2020, 02:52 PM
If we vote for reconstruction there will be severe backlash from our fans. The other clubs aren't in the same boat, but I can't imagine all of them voting in favour.
11-06-2020, 02:54 PM
whoosh
Well I was half right.
11-06-2020, 02:57 PM
If we vote for reconstruction there will be severe backlash from our fans. The other clubs aren't in the same boat, but I can't imagine all of them voting in favour.
Let's be honest. If this was Dundee going down and Dundee United going mad about them being saved none of us would give a toss.
This is very much a local thing for local people.
GreenPJ
11-06-2020, 03:00 PM
If we vote for reconstruction it has to be assumed that the board believes that the reconstruction benefits our club first and foremost.
Hibs4185
11-06-2020, 03:02 PM
Let's be honest. If this was Dundee going down and Dundee United going mad about them being saved none of us would give a toss.
This is very much a local thing for local people.
If hearts lived within their means and stopped this big team pish, I’d happily accept reconstruction.
Just look at their bend the knees thread and you’ll see why every single hibs fan should oppose reconstruction. The James Anderson money is actually hearts’ money all of a sudden.
Send them down and hopefully they will learn some humility.
11-06-2020, 03:02 PM
This is very much a local thing for local people.[emoji16]
Agreed, with Mrs Doctor Budge in the Mr Chinnery role.
11-06-2020, 03:05 PM
If hearts lived within their means and stopped this big team pish, I’d happily accept reconstruction.
Just look at their bend the knees thread and you’ll see why every single hibs fan should oppose reconstruction. The James Anderson money is actually hearts’ money all of a sudden.
I agree with you that they should go down but its definitely true that nobody else is raging about this like we are.
11-06-2020, 03:08 PM
You can Guarentee that if this goes through there will be another vote to change back to 12 within 5 years as it will be boring as **** and deeply unpopular.
11-06-2020, 03:12 PM
I agree with you that they should go down but its definitely true that nobody else is raging about this like we are.
We're the most afffected, and it's not just down to local rivalry.
They're the club the nearest in size to us in terms of attendances and turnover. Along with Aberdeen, ourselves and Hearts are in the same price range when targetting players (or at least we should be).
Hearts have screwed up and deserve to be relegated and therefore deserve the financial penalty that comes with that. It's right that Hibs should be in a better position than them.
If reconstruction goes ahead then, out of the 2 teams, Hibs will be the ones that are "punished".
11-06-2020, 03:13 PM
Listening to today’s Sportsound everyone appeared to be all for the proposal and couldn’t see much wrong with it and thought it suited all clubs and took away the relegation issue. Until Steven Thomson queried what the relegation situation in a 14 would be. Two down? Brian McLaughlin states that this would all be revealed in the “next phase” if enough clubs back the proposal. Thomson started to make his point that if it’s two automatics then clubs like St Mirren etc would heave major reservations over but before getting discussed further it was “time to move on” and discussion was stifled.
Surely the issue of relegation has been included in the proposal for clubs to ponder as to what their indication to the board will be?
11-06-2020, 03:14 PM
You can Guarentee that if this goes through there will be another vote to change back to 12 within 5 years as it will be boring as **** and deeply unpopular.
The bottom two clubs won't vote to kick themselves out.
11-06-2020, 03:16 PM
Why wait five years when you can have a vote every single week?
Why should only a yes vote for reconstruction signal the end of voting?
There needs to be procedures put in place after this FFS. Periods for votes should be clearly defined and proposals should only be put forward once they are considered serious options among all clubs. This situation of a new one made public every five minutes has been farcical.
Whenever I feel aggravated by the prospect of 14-10-10-10 I need only look at the sensible posts on this thread outlining how little benefit there is to most clubs, and common sense surely prevails here.
That exactly what would happen. Guess the board and clubs know this.
Disguising temporary as permanent is what they’re doing.
It all seems so pointless as it cant pass.
11-06-2020, 03:17 PM
Listening to today’s Sportsound everyone appeared to be all for the proposal and couldn’t see much wrong with it and thought it suited all clubs and took away the relegation issue. Until Steven Thomson queried what the relegation situation in a 14 would be. Two down? Brian McLaughlin states that this would all be revealed in the “next phase” if enough clubs back the proposal. Thomson started to make his point that if it’s two automatics then clubs like St Mirren etc would heave major reservations over but before getting discussed further it was “time to move on” and discussion was stifled.
Surely the issue of relegation has been included in the proposal for clubs to ponder as to what their indication to the board will be?
Would it really be an automatic 2 down? That would meen 2 up from a 10 club championship?
11-06-2020, 03:19 PM
I’m sure it would be information given to the clubs, they couldn’t ask them to vote for something without knowing that key bit of information. As above clubs like St Mirren, Hamilton, Ross County will want to know that especially.
mayo hibee
11-06-2020, 03:21 PM
I would imagine it will still be one down and a playoff, to keep the smaller teams in the league on board.
Agree it will be crap but I can't see it changing back, will need 13 out of 14 to want it changed.
Wakeyhibee
11-06-2020, 03:22 PM
The bottom two clubs won't vote to kick themselves out.
Without a change in voting, once it's in as permenant, it will be even harder to reverse with a minimum 3 down to enable 1 promotion.
11-06-2020, 03:23 PM
In a 14 team league are we only relegating 1 team? That in itself is ridiculous. 20 teams in the EPL and they relegate 3.
What a complete closed shop this league would be with as loads have said tons of dug ***** games from February onwards. I guess it’s up to the clubs now however it would take a seismic change in opinion for this to go through.
11-06-2020, 03:24 PM
There’s no danger clubs like Hamilton or Inverness will vote in the future for mass relegation on season. This 14 team ***** we will be stuck with for years just to save Hearts.
11-06-2020, 03:24 PM
Hahaha humility.
Thomson and James McFadden say playing teams 4 times a season is dull but they don't seem to realise teams will either still play 5 teams 4 times or play more teams 4 times i.e. 7 teams.
Current set up is all teams play:
5 teams x 4
6 teams x 3
Proposed set up top 6 play:
5 teams x 4
8 teams x 2
Bottom 8 play:
7 teams x 4
6 teams x 2
And that's without any ridiculous Europran place playoffs between clubs from opposite sides of the split.
hibeerealist
11-06-2020, 03:29 PM
I originally thought that but there are too many on Brokeback that actually know him and can vouch for his jamboness. How he gets his info, I'm not sure but he does appear to have got a few things right in the past according to them.
He is apparently friendly with the super conveyancer LD.
11-06-2020, 03:32 PM
The 11-1 voting structure would mean it would never happen. Who is going to vote for three teams relegated?
11-06-2020, 03:34 PM
St Johnstone chairman Steve brown says he can’t see reconstruction happening. It today’s courier. Sounds like he hasn’t changed his position of no. Just needs one more. Over to you Ron.
11-06-2020, 03:34 PM
Yo-yo teams might be in favour of it as extra insurance against relegation. In normal circumstances Hearts would have been one of the most against. Hibs and Aberdeen will definitely be against, probably Motherwell, Killie and some others as well.
Who knows what Aberdeen will do? Cormack seems to come out with a different view every time a mic is shoved in his face.
The 11-1 voting structure would mean it would never happen. Who is going to vote for three teams relegated?
13-1 surely?
11-06-2020, 03:39 PM
By this point Hearts will have a decent team and be challenging for Europe and vote to change back
11-06-2020, 03:39 PM
Thomson and James McFadden say playing teams 4 times a season is dull but they don't seem to realise teams will either still play 5 teams 4 times or play more teams 4 times i.e. 7 teams.
Current set up is all teams play:
5 teams x 4
6 teams x 3
Proposed set up top 6 play:
5 teams x 4
8 teams x 2
Bottom 8 play:
7 teams x 4
6 teams x 2
And that's without any ridiculous Europran place playoffs between clubs from opposite sides of the split.
With the European play offs the teams in 5th and 6th in a 14 team league would play each other 6 times a season.
Musselbound
11-06-2020, 03:41 PM
They would never vote for that. But I believe it is more likely do be only one down automatically now and another in a play-off. I still can't see 11 Premiership clubs voting for it myself.
11-06-2020, 03:42 PM
13-1 surely?
And a 13-1 voting structure would mean a 14 team Premiership would be there forever. A structure that was started on the back of a fag packet with no planning, discussions, costings, feasibility studies or fan input. It would be a disaster for Scottish football, a structure put together to save Hearts on the back of a bribe.
13-1 surely?
Why 13-1.
There are only 12 SPL teams
11-06-2020, 03:42 PM
St Johnstone chairman Steve brown says he can’t see reconstruction happening. It today’s courier. Sounds like he hasn’t changed his position of no. Just needs one more. Over to you Ron.
There’s a difference between not seeing it happening and not voting for it. Plenty might be in favour but still can’t see it happening.
11-06-2020, 03:44 PM
So basically Doncaster is saying at least 11 premiership clubs are in favour of reconstruction if he says the new plans has enough support.
I doubt that.
11-06-2020, 03:44 PM
What happens if 10 premiership clubs vote for it and 2 against then 10 championship sides vote for it to pass? Thats 20/22 for but i take it that it would fail due to not being 11 premiership clubs?
It would fail... but remember that vote will only take place after this initial "vote" on monday.
11-06-2020, 03:45 PM
I read that but I think it’s ambiguous and open to interpretation. I think he says that he actually doesn’t oppose this proposal but, as you say, doesn’t think it will happen. Now, to me, that is not a indication that he will vote ‘no’. He could vote ‘yes’ but think it will not go through because of how he thinks other clubs might vote. So I wouldn’t bank on ‘no’ from St Johnstone.
11-06-2020, 03:48 PM
Why 13-1.
There are only 12 SPL teams
12 at present, 14 if the reconstruction happens. Another thing that hasn’t been mentioned, would it still only need two clubs to block a change or will that be changed. Have they even thought about it or are they just making it up as they go along.
11-06-2020, 03:49 PM
It would fail... but remember that vote will only take place after this initial "vote" on monday.
I hope it doesn't get as far as that - would hope that at least 3 Premiership clubs see how bad this plan is and indicate that they wouldn't consider it. If that happens, then it's dead - no vote required.
So basically Doncaster is saying at least 11 premiership clubs are in favour of reconstruction if he says the new plans has enough support.
I doubt that.
No he is not saying that. If even half the teams mention they are not against a move to 14 then he has to move towards a more formal conversation.
Who knows what Aberdeen will do? Cormack seems to come out with a different view every time a mic is shoved in his face.
True. But behind the scenes I expect them to be a No. They must realise they have no chance of ever putting it back to 12.
11-06-2020, 03:50 PM
Agree it will be crap but I can't see it changing back, will need 13 out of 14 to want it changed.
75% of 14 is 10.5 or 11 out of 14.
11-06-2020, 03:51 PM
The Premiership alone needs 90% which would be 13-1.
11-06-2020, 03:51 PM
I wonder if we will actually get a breakdown of this indicative vote? And how close does it have to be before going to a proper vote or is there going to be one of those anyway. Say it's 6-6 (without Nishy's hat trick), is that enough to finally kill this dead?
11-06-2020, 03:53 PM
It doesn’t make sense at all, why have a vote for a vote? Why not just have a vote
11-06-2020, 03:54 PM
If we change to 14 the voting system ensures we will never revert back to 12. Smaller teams will never vote for a system which would result in up to 4 teams being relegated from the Premiership in one season.
hibeerealist
11-06-2020, 03:56 PM
90% of 14 not 75%
11-06-2020, 03:57 PM
I quote from Doncasters statement "However, the board has judged there is sufficient support for a permanent change to merit this second stage of consultation."
What i would like to know is how they got to this position, did they ask every club or is it his personal judgement that this should go for a vote ? this needs clarification but what's the chances ?
With the European play offs the teams in 5th and 6th in a 14 team league would play each other 6 times a season.
And potentially once in League Cup group and once in knockout stages. Potentially could get them in the Scottish Cup and have a replay so although very unlikely, 2 teams could play each other 10 times.
Numptie
11-06-2020, 03:59 PM
It doesn’t make sense at all, why have a vote for a vote? Why not just have a vote
A vote needs a resolution, and that would need to be set out formally - answering all the questions around money, votes, relegation, playoffs etc. Doncaster hasn't thought about these yet so needs to know if he has to do some proper work for a change.
11-06-2020, 04:00 PM
I read that but I think it’s ambiguous and open to interpretation. I think he says that he actually doesn’t oppose this proposal but, as you say, doesn’t think it will happen. Now, to me, that is not a indication that he will vote ‘no’. He could vote ‘yes’ but think it will not go through because of how he thinks other clubs might vote. So I wouldn’t bank on ‘no’ from St Johnstone.
I also think that was before the latest proposal. Seemed to be focussed on the hun colt proposal.
11-06-2020, 04:00 PM
There is additional work to create full vote. Paper work etc. They really dont want to waste more time doing that. Its a wast of lawyers time for starters!
11-06-2020, 04:02 PM
I think he was basing it on the current 11-1 rule in the prem. would that then become 13-1 once we move to 14.. if we move of course.
11-06-2020, 04:02 PM
A vote needs a resolution, and that would need to be set out formally - answering all the questions around money, votes, relegation, playoffs etc. Doncaster hasn't thought about these yet so needs to know if he has to do some proper work for a change.
Yes, and how long would all that take to be put together and be agreed. It’s virtually impossible to do that within the timescales and any change of that magnitude should be worked through properly not rushed through for a permanent change.
11-06-2020, 04:09 PM
There is additional work to create full vote. Paper work etc. They really dont want to waste more time doing that. Its a wast of lawyers time for starters!
Aye fair enough
What I should’ve said is it doesn’t make sense to those of us that are a bit thicker 😂
11-06-2020, 04:21 PM
I quote from Doncasters statement "However, the board has judged there is sufficient support for a permanent change to merit this second stage of consultation."
What i would like to know is how they got to this position, did they ask every club or is it his personal judgement that this should go for a vote ? this needs clarification but what's the chances ?He asked all the clubs what they thought would have a chance of passing. My guess is that a few of them are in cahoots and have each suggested 14-10-10-10.
11-06-2020, 04:23 PM
If this was Hamilton instead of Hearts I would still be against 14 team league.
It’s got disaster written all over it for many reasons.
Hearts claim they care about greater good of Scottish football and the reality is if they weren’t last they wouldn’t be for this proposal.
Are Dundee Utd voting as a Premier team or if things go to a vote?
My gut teams me this proposal will be rejected but it shouldn’t even be getting this far so close to new season.
This off season mess can never happen again as it’s damaging to the game in Scotland.
11-06-2020, 04:23 PM
That’s why it’s a Sham I made that point yesterday They clearly know what relegation portions are
So why not make it clear now what they are instead of asking for this pish of indicative reaction
Then if enough give this they then get told what the relegation rules are and can vote against it
If they knew now enough might indicatively indicate they are not interested and no need fir a further meeting
Just can’t see the Logic in this at all
11-06-2020, 04:25 PM
If this was Hamilton instead of Hearts I would still be against 14 team league.
It’s got disaster written all over it for many reasons.
Hearts claim they care about greater good of Scottish football and the reality is if they weren’t last they wouldn’t be for this proposal.
Are Dundee Utd voting as a Premier team or if things go to a vote?
My gut teams me this proposal will be rejected but it shouldn’t even be getting this far so close to new season.
This off season mess can never happen again as it’s damaging to the game in Scotland.
Same here - it's just a bad set up all in.
They're proposing a permanent bad situation to resolve a temporary bad situation. It's ridiculous.
18Craig75
11-06-2020, 04:37 PM
It’s not enough for Hibs to just vote against this IMO. Keep hearing the BBC and others point out that there are ‘no losers in this model’ - is £150k a meaningless amount of money n Scotland now? Johnstone haven’t spent any time in the top 6 all season and yet we rolled over and took the hit...
More importantly - it’s a horrendous league set up an model for all the reasons in previous posts. Hibs should be actively lobbying against this never mind just voting against it.
11-06-2020, 04:42 PM
I originally thought that but there are too many on Brokeback that actually know him and can vouch for his jamboness. How he gets his info, I'm not sure but he does appear to have got a few things right in the past according to them.
We had one similarly well informed chap just like that right here during the Romanov Administration era. I think Hearts named a seat in the new stand after him.
What are the bbc all about?
Why the agenda?
seanshow
11-06-2020, 04:45 PM
how many clubs are getting relegated out of the 14?
I lost interest in this debate because history shows getting an agreement from 12 or 42 clubs very rarely happens.
but looking at the naysayers from a couple of weeks ago, Aberdeen dont want it permanent, St mirren were against, Dundee utd declared they would no longer entertain any discussion or vote on reconstruction, Hibs obviously.
The spfl board are just entertaining various proposals to make it appear they are trying for a solution, (covering there tracks) even though its never going to happen.
That’s why it’s a Sham I made that point yesterday They clearly know what relegation portions are
So why not make it clear now what they are instead of asking for this pish of indicative reaction
Then if enough give this they then get told what the relegation rules are and can vote against it
If they knew now enough might indicatively indicate they are not interested and no need fir a further meeting
Just can’t see the Logic in this at all
Mclauchlin was very cagey about the change to the financial structure. Think he was only talking about how much each place loses to pay prize money to 2 extra clubs. 1st place loses 0.38% so based on £3.35m is only £12,730. That's fine but Mclauchlin conveniently didn't mention 13th and 14th place which would need about an extra £1m each season to bring them up to the right sort of level. You can't reduce it by about £60k per place then all of a sudden by £600k. I'd estimate it'd be an average of approx £75k/£80k from each of the other 12 clubs.
Either that isn't being addressed or Mclauchlin was being very sleekit with the numbers by not mentioning it.
2019/2020 money:
8th - Kilmarnock - £1.37m
9th - St Mirren - £1.31m
10th - Ross County -5.00% - £1.25m
11th - Hamilton Accies 4.75% - £1.18m
12th - Hearts - 4.50% - £1.12m
Ladbrokes Championship
1st - Dundee United - £562,500
2nd - Inverness CT - £475,000
11-06-2020, 04:50 PM
What are the bbc all about?
Why the agenda?
Tom English and Brian McGlaughlin are in love with Budge.
11-06-2020, 04:52 PM
how many clubs are getting relegated out of the 14?
I lost interest in this debate because history shows getting an agreement from 12 or 42 clubs very rarely happens.
but looking at the naysayers from a couple of weeks ago, Aberdeen dont want it permanent, St mirren were against, Dundee utd declared they would no longer entertain any discussion or vote on reconstruction, Hibs obviously.
The spfl board are just entertaining various proposals to make it appear they are trying for a solution, (covering there tracks) even though its never going to happen.
You would hope so. All this **** show to save hearts and they still will take the spfl to court if it fails. Hopefully this way any court will laugh in their faces.
11-06-2020, 05:05 PM
I'm struggling to see how there are 'no losers' in this situation.
In this proposed scenario, the top six teams each have one less home game.
The bottom eight teams would have one more home game, but would also have less visits from Celtc, The Rangers, Aberdeen and probably at least one of the Edinburgh clubs. I'd imagine that would be quite a bit of a reduction in overall attendance, i.e. less income.
I'm presuming as well that the TV money would have to be split over fourteen clubs instead of twelve.
11-06-2020, 05:15 PM
I'm struggling to see how there are 'no losers' in this situation.
In this proposed scenario, the top six teams each have one less home game.
The bottom eight teams would have one more home game, but would also have less visits from Celtc, The Rangers, Aberdeen and probably at least one of the Edinburgh clubs. I'd imagine that would be quite a bit of a reduction in overall attendance, i.e. less income.
I'm presuming as well that the TV money would have to be split over fourteen clubs instead of twelve.
Yeah, it's garbage. I honestly can't see a positive in it at all.
Juniper Greens
11-06-2020, 05:15 PM
I'd probably be for this as long as the bottom 8 have something to play for, like a playoff between themselves and 5th or 4th (depending on coefficients) for the last euro place
11-06-2020, 05:30 PM
We all know Hearts fans are "different" and this thread proves it they are a very strange bunch obsessed with sodomy .
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/189011-will-hibs-bend-the-knee/
hibee1993
11-06-2020, 05:31 PM
I'd probably be for this as long as the bottom 8 have something to play for, like a playoff between themselves and 5th or 4th (depending on coefficients) for the last euro place
The whole proposal is ridiculous. They should just do away with the split. What would be the point in coming 5th prior to split to then just have to play a play off at the end of season?
Which means that we could well end up with weaker teams qualifying for Europe, not necessarily deservedly (think of our playoff with Falkirk), resulting in the coefficient being damaged, ultimately leading to us losing European places. I believe the main reason we stopped giving a Euro spot to the SC runners-up in the event of the winner having already qualified was to make sure that we had the strongest possible qualifiers (such as they are).
What strikes me as most remarkable in this whole thing is that long-term it's as bad for Hearts as it is for everyone else. This suggests to me that either Hearts are not thinking things through, or their short-term position is a lot worse than they are prepared to admit publicly.
Which means that we could well end up with weaker teams qualifying for Europe, not necessarily deservedly (think of our playoff with Falkirk), resulting in the coefficient being damaged, ultimately leading to us losing European places. I believe the main reason we stopped giving a Euro spot to the SC runners-up in the event of the winner having already qualified was to make sure that we had the strongest possible qualifiers (such as they are).
What strikes me as most remarkable in this whole thing is that long-term it's as bad for Hearts as it is for everyone else. This suggests to me that either Hearts are not thinking things through, or their short-term position is a lot worse than they are prepared to admit publicly.Benny Briber will make sure they dont go under.Screwing the whole of Scottish football to avoid their just rewards.
11-06-2020, 05:46 PM
Benny Briber will make sure they dont go under.Screwing the whole of Scottish football to avoid their just rewards.
Hearts would never have backed a 14 team permanent top division with a ridiculous split in any other circumstance, anyone of them that says they would are lying.
That's Budge's suggestion and it's a shocker. A team from the bottom section plays 70% (28 of 40) of its games against the bottom clubs but can still qualify for Europe. Hardly fair on the club in 4th or 5th to miss out.
Wakeyhibee
11-06-2020, 05:55 PM
Mclauchlin was very cagey about the change to the financial structure. Think he was only talking about how much each place loses to pay prize money to 2 extra clubs. 1st place loses 0.38% so based on £3.35m is only £12,730. That's fine but Mclauchlin conveniently didn't mention 13th and 14th place which would need about an extra £1m each season to bring them up to the right sort of level. You can't reduce it by about £60k per place then all of a sudden by £600k. I'd estimate it'd be an average of approx £75k/£80k from each of the other 12 clubs.
Either that isn't being addressed or Mclauchlin was being very sleekit with the numbers by not mentioning it.
2919/2020 money:
9th - St Mirren - £1.31m
Ladbrokes Championship
With the increased TV deal I think some will be shaved off each for 13th/14th. No one will see a drop just not as big an increase as they were expecting.
huggie1875
11-06-2020, 05:55 PM
We all know Hearts fans are "different" and this thread proves it they are a very strange bunch obsessed with sodomy .
wish I hadn't looked that really pissed me off "our 50k" for that comment Hibs cant allow these imposters to bribe their way into the league they are a championship club end off also if they want to keep using the prefix "the famous" then fair enough then they are the famous championship club hearts
https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhGQASAPcEAAAAAAD/Qv EQv///wD/QAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAD/QCH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh QQFZAAEACwAAAAAGQASAAAIjgAJCBQIoGDBgQgTKiwooGHDgws hDgTgsOLDhAAGaAQwUYBBhx85EtS4cWLGjR5JSjxZkgDFkwwLo hTJUqTLlANiwvQ4seVNjwwfBoVokKjFo0Jlksz506NFiklZtoQ KFSjIoktLVv1YsahSn1WP0vzq02VYoAjJMsVYVKHZrDbdupW6V q5cunHtRjQoMCAAIfkECRQABAAsCQADAAQABAAACAsABQgkILC gwYEBAQAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIaQABEBhIkCCAgwQFICxIAMCAhwI JCJgYcaDDhwMiTqRoEGPGgRsVdoSYMGTFixU3AlCI8KBLiwcpu vT4MSTLgzQFKlQ5M dKmS4vkjQZNKdEjiMx6lxoUCjEigWdfmSYlCTVpi vah0YEAAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIZwABEBhIsKBBAQAEGiSQUCEBARA dDgQwoKJCiBEJUqw44CJGhxstDsSYkSFHhx8RahQ5MWFEhQ0Tj iQZk6NIhB8b2uzIMKfOnQBoxgzJ82NLokVlakQqUOJSoAsnQo1 q0qZTg0MHBgQAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGkAARAYSJAgg IMEBSAsSADAgIcCCQiYGHGgw4cDIk6kaBBjxoEbFXaEmDBkxYs VNwJQiPCgS4sHKbr0 DEky4M0BSpUOTPnSpkuL5I0GTSnRI4jMepcaFAoxIoFnX5kmJQ k1aYvr2odGBAAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGcAARAYSLCgQ QEABBokkFAhAQEQHQ4EMKCiQogRCVKsOOAiRocbLQ7EmJEhR4c fEWoUOTFhRIUNE44kGZOjSIQfG9rsyDCnzp0AaMYMyfNjS6JFZ WpEKlDiUqALJ0KNatKmU4NDBwYEACH5BAkKAAQALAkAAAAQABI AAAhpAAEQGEiQIICDBAUgLEgAwICHAgkImBhxoMOHAyJOpGgQY 8aBGxV2hJgwZMWLFTcCUIjwoEuLBym69PgxJMuDNAUqVDkz50q ZLi SNBk0p0SOIzHqXGhQKMSKBZ1 ZJiUJNWmL69qHRgQACH5BAkKAAQALAkAAAAQABIAAAhnAAEQGE iwoEEBAAQaJJBQIQEBEB0OBDCgokKIEQlSrDjgIkaHGy0OxJiR IUeHHxFqFDkxYUSFDROOJBmTo0iEHxva7Mgwp86dAGjGDMnzY0 uiRWVqRCpQ4lKgCydCjWrSplODQwcGBAAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIaQABEBhIkCCAgwQFICxIAMCAhwI JCJgYcaDDhwMiTqRoEGPGgRsVdoSYMGTFixU3AlCI8KBLiwcpu vT4MSTLgzQFKlQ5M dKmS4vkjQZNKdEjiMx6lxoUCjEigWdfmSYlCTVpi vah0YEAAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIZwABEBhIsKBBAQAEGiSQUCEBARA dDgQwoKJCiBEJUqw44CJGhxstDsSYkSFHhx8RahQ5MWFEhQ0Tj iQZk6NIhB8b2uzIMKfOnQBoxgzJ82NLokVlakQqUOJSoAsnQo1 q0qZTg0MHBgQAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGkAARAYSJAgg IMEBSAsSADAgIcCCQiYGHGgw4cDIk6kaBBjxoEbFXaEmDBkxYs VNwJQiPCgS4sHKbr0 DEky4M0BSpUOTPnSpkuL5I0GTSnRI4jMepcaFAoxIoFnX5kmJQ k1aYvr2odGBAAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGcAARAYSLCgQ QEABBokkFAhAQEQHQ4EMKCiQogRCVKsOOAiRocbLQ7EmJEhR4c fEWoUOTFhRIUNE44kGZOjSIQfG9rsyDCnzp0AaMYMyfNjS6JFZ WpEKlDiUqALJ0KNatKmU4NDBwYEACH5BAUKAAQALAkAAAAQABI AAAhpAAEQGEiQIICDBAUgLEgAwICHAgkImBhxoMOHAyJOpGgQY 8aBGxV2hJgwZMWLFTcCUIjwoEuLBym69PgxJMuDNAUqVDkz50q ZLi SNBk0p0SOIzHqXGhQKMSKBZ1 ZJiUJNWmL69qHRgQADs=
11-06-2020, 05:57 PM
So so much wrong with that thread. They are a truly thick bunch. I just shook my head at the kiwidug’s ridiculous post.
Ignoring the homophobia on that thread, we can use the 50k to pay back STF after he paid their poppy bill.
Very strange how only partial details have been released to the media. A bit on the redistribution of prize money to accommodate 2 extra teams but nothing on the much bigger amount to address the approx £600k drop in money from 12th to 13th and 14th.
Nothing on how many teams to be relegated.
Nothing about whether or not Budge's dreadful suggestion to have a playoff for the last European place is included.
Presumably the clubs have been told at this stage. If they haven't then it is a bit sly holding it back from them.
Ignoring the homophobia on that thread, we can use the 50k to pay back STF after he paid their poppy bill.
Yet they wonder why they're the most disliked club and fans.
11-06-2020, 06:07 PM
Same here - it's just a bad set up all in.
They're proposing a permanent bad situation to resolve a temporary bad situation. It's ridiculous.
It might be that a 14 team top flight is a genius idea but I’ve seen no evidence or compelling arguments in favour. My gut feeling is that it will be similar to the current set up, but a bit worse.
If it really is a good idea, let’s analyse it in more detail and introduce it for the 21/22 season. Otherwise we are heading for potential disaster.
Thanks, Jim, that’s the one. I got the impression he was personally in favour and looking for ways to tweak it into acceptability.
OK thanks but that was a week ago & referred specifically to the Budge proposal which is now dead. He hasn't asked anything like this for the new proposal as far as I can see.
Rumble de Thump
11-06-2020, 06:10 PM
wish I hadn't looked that really pissed me off "our 50k" for that comment Hibs cant allow these imposters to bribe their way into the league they are a championship club end off also if they want to keep using the prefix "the famous" then fair enough then they are the famous championship club hearts
https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhGQASAPcEAAAAAAD/Qv EQv///wD/QAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAD/QCH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh QQFZAAEACwAAAAAGQASAAAIjgAJCBQIoGDBgQgTKiwooGHDgws hDgTgsOLDhAAGaAQwUYBBhx85EtS4cWLGjR5JSjxZkgDFkwwLo hTJUqTLlANiwvQ4seVNjwwfBoVokKjFo0Jlksz506NFiklZtoQ KFSjIoktLVv1YsahSn1WP0vzq02VYoAjJMsVYVKHZrDbdupW6V q5cunHtRjQoMCAAIfkECRQABAAsCQADAAQABAAACAsABQgkILC gwYEBAQAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIaQABEBhIkCCAgwQFICxIAMCAhwI JCJgYcaDDhwMiTqRoEGPGgRsVdoSYMGTFixU3AlCI8KBLiwcpu vT4MSTLgzQFKlQ5M dKmS4vkjQZNKdEjiMx6lxoUCjEigWdfmSYlCTVpi vah0YEAAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIZwABEBhIsKBBAQAEGiSQUCEBARA dDgQwoKJCiBEJUqw44CJGhxstDsSYkSFHhx8RahQ5MWFEhQ0Tj iQZk6NIhB8b2uzIMKfOnQBoxgzJ82NLokVlakQqUOJSoAsnQo1 q0qZTg0MHBgQAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGkAARAYSJAgg IMEBSAsSADAgIcCCQiYGHGgw4cDIk6kaBBjxoEbFXaEmDBkxYs VNwJQiPCgS4sHKbr0 DEky4M0BSpUOTPnSpkuL5I0GTSnRI4jMepcaFAoxIoFnX5kmJQ k1aYvr2odGBAAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGcAARAYSLCgQ QEABBokkFAhAQEQHQ4EMKCiQogRCVKsOOAiRocbLQ7EmJEhR4c fEWoUOTFhRIUNE44kGZOjSIQfG9rsyDCnzp0AaMYMyfNjS6JFZ WpEKlDiUqALJ0KNatKmU4NDBwYEACH5BAkKAAQALAkAAAAQABI AAAhpAAEQGEiQIICDBAUgLEgAwICHAgkImBhxoMOHAyJOpGgQY 8aBGxV2hJgwZMWLFTcCUIjwoEuLBym69PgxJMuDNAUqVDkz50q ZLi SNBk0p0SOIzHqXGhQKMSKBZ1 ZJiUJNWmL69qHRgQACH5BAkKAAQALAkAAAAQABIAAAhnAAEQGE iwoEEBAAQaJJBQIQEBEB0OBDCgokKIEQlSrDjgIkaHGy0OxJiR IUeHHxFqFDkxYUSFDROOJBmTo0iEHxva7Mgwp86dAGjGDMnzY0 uiRWVqRCpQ4lKgCydCjWrSplODQwcGBAAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIaQABEBhIkCCAgwQFICxIAMCAhwI JCJgYcaDDhwMiTqRoEGPGgRsVdoSYMGTFixU3AlCI8KBLiwcpu vT4MSTLgzQFKlQ5M dKmS4vkjQZNKdEjiMx6lxoUCjEigWdfmSYlCTVpi vah0YEAAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIZwABEBhIsKBBAQAEGiSQUCEBARA dDgQwoKJCiBEJUqw44CJGhxstDsSYkSFHhx8RahQ5MWFEhQ0Tj iQZk6NIhB8b2uzIMKfOnQBoxgzJ82NLokVlakQqUOJSoAsnQo1 q0qZTg0MHBgQAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGkAARAYSJAgg IMEBSAsSADAgIcCCQiYGHGgw4cDIk6kaBBjxoEbFXaEmDBkxYs VNwJQiPCgS4sHKbr0 DEky4M0BSpUOTPnSpkuL5I0GTSnRI4jMepcaFAoxIoFnX5kmJQ k1aYvr2odGBAAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGcAARAYSLCgQ QEABBokkFAhAQEQHQ4EMKCiQogRCVKsOOAiRocbLQ7EmJEhR4c fEWoUOTFhRIUNE44kGZOjSIQfG9rsyDCnzp0AaMYMyfNjS6JFZ WpEKlDiUqALJ0KNatKmU4NDBwYEACH5BAUKAAQALAkAAAAQABI AAAhpAAEQGEiQIICDBAUgLEgAwICHAgkImBhxoMOHAyJOpGgQY 8aBGxV2hJgwZMWLFTcCUIjwoEuLBym69PgxJMuDNAUqVDkz50q ZLi SNBk0p0SOIzHqXGhQKMSKBZ1 ZJiUJNWmL69qHRgQADs=
Hearts fans are obsessed with pretending other peoples' money is theirs.
11-06-2020, 06:11 PM
OK thanks but that was a week ago & referred specifically to the Budge proposal which is now dead. He hasn't asked anything like this for the new proposal as far as I can see.
That is because he now has that feedback and I would suggest a lot of teams are in favour of 14 team league.
11-06-2020, 06:13 PM
My guess is that Doncaster has asked clubs why they wouldn’t back Hearts’ proposal. Some have said they want 14-10-10-10 and others have said they want permanent, so he has put two and two together. Those who would favour a permanent change aren’t necessarily going to back this though. They may prefer a more thought out larger league. I’d guess at least 4 will vote against this.
Not So Young
11-06-2020, 06:19 PM
2919/2020 money:
9th - St Mirren - £1.31m
Ladbrokes Championship
I don't think they will find this a problem.
They will add 13th & 14th money to the pot for the top league. and 23 & 24 to the Championship etc
They only have to find the money for teams 43 & 44 and that can't be much when it's split between the top 14 teams
11-06-2020, 06:24 PM
They will add 13th & 14th money to the pot for the top league. and 23 & 24 to the Championship etc
They only have to find the money for teams 43 & 44 and that can't be much when it's split between the top 14 teams
What happens to the TV money? A fixed amount, that was split 12 ways, has to be split 14 ways.
My guess is that Doncaster has asked clubs why they wouldn’t back Hearts’ proposal. Some have said they want 14-10-10-10 and others have said they want permanent, so he has put two and two together. Those who would favour a permanent change aren’t necessarily going to back this though. They may prefer a more thought out larger league. I’d guess at least 4 will vote against this.
I agree with you but why was he even asking this question, is this not a leading question which is not in his remit to ask ?
That does not solve the £500,000+ drop in prize money from 12 to 13 which is massive if you are relegated.
What i would like to know is how they got to this position, did they ask every club or is it his personal judgement that this should go for a vote ? this needs clarification but what's the chances ?
Yip Read that & the bit about fast track to an EGM, tell you what this is going to happen.
Here’s where we are at the moment:
Denial
Anger
——>Bargaining<——
Depression
Acceptance
The depression stage starting from Monday is going to be amusing
I really like the current 12 team league.Its almost perfect in every way.
10 teams would maybe be more balanced fixture wise but just doesnt give enough leeway for two promotions/relegations that 12 does.
Moving to 14 and things go downhill rapidly.
Split at 26 games.Smaller clubs lose a round against the big guns.
Dont know how many league games you’ll play altogether from the start? 36 top half 40 matches bottom.
How many relegations? Would have to be max two as the championship still has ten teams and three up from ten is well.......ridiculous.
So it would be a wrong relegation ratio from the top league.
Why ruin Scottish football?
This wouldnt be happening if St Mirren were bottom.
I see McLaughlin has corrected his voting requirements in today's article to include the 11-1 for the Premiership. Elsewhere still omitting it though.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52999362
12-12-10-10
A bit puzzling why Partick or any lower league club hasnt proposed this?
What have they got to lose?
11-06-2020, 06:44 PM
Here’s where we are at the moment:
Denial
Anger
——>Bargaining<——
Depression
Acceptance
The depression stage starting from Monday is going to be amusing
Us or them?:wink:
11-06-2020, 06:48 PM
12-12-10-10
That`s the next one on the list!
I'm OK with the 14 we should settle for nothing less than a top 6 finish every season as club which means ugly sisters 4 home games plus at least one home Edinburgh Derby depending what state their in. Let's look at what best for Hibs and forget all this tribal nonsense.
It does not pay the bills.
SuperAllyMcleod
11-06-2020, 06:50 PM
I really like the current 12 team league.Its almost perfect in every way.
10 teams would maybe be more balanced fixture wise but just doesnt give enough leeway for two promotions/relegations that 12 does.
Moving to 14 and things go downhill rapidly.
Split at 26 games.Smaller clubs lose a round against the big guns.
Dont know how many league games you’ll play altogether from the start? 36 top half 40 matches bottom.
How many relegations? Would have to be max two as the championship still has ten teams and three up from ten is well.......ridiculous.
So it would be a wrong relegation ratio from the top league.
Why ruin Scottish football?
This wouldnt be happening if St Mirren were bottom.
I agree, the current set up is good, the only thing I would alter is the playoff. At the moment it favours the Premiership team as they only have one tie, I’d have them play 4th in the Championship with the winner playing the winner of 2nd v 3rd as happens in the other playoffs.
The more teams analyse the proposed change the more flaws they will find with it so I reckon it will be dead and buried on Monday.
11-06-2020, 06:57 PM
I'm OK with the 14 we should settle for nothing less than a top 6 finish every season as club which means ugly sisters 4 home games plus at least one home Edinburgh Derby depending what state their in. Let's look at what best for Hibs and forget all this tribal nonsense.
I agree we need to look at what is best for Hibs.
That rules out a league structure where there is no guarantee that we will finish top six, rules out a league structure where we could finish fourth but miss out on Europe to the team that finished seventh, rules out a league structure that will cost us season ticket money as we can only charge for 18 games, rules out a league structure that will cost us season ticket sales as people hold off in case we find ourselves in the bottom eight, rules out a league structure that will see half our season being meaningless games if we're in the bottom eight etc
Your top six expectation is what we already have under the 12 team league, so the 14 team league offers only negatives and no positives for Hibs.
Easy to see what is best for us.
11-06-2020, 06:58 PM
It doesn’t pay the bills but then again neither does only playing 36 games a season in comparison to 38
11-06-2020, 06:59 PM
If reconstruction goes through, do we get sixth place prize money, so that we don't suffer due to coronavirus?
Yeh lets forget about all this tribalism.Lets just sell our shares to the enemy.
Lets go away and play bowls and do some knitting and smile while we get shafted.
11-06-2020, 07:00 PM
Somebody should send this to Leeanne
11-06-2020, 07:04 PM
Top post.
So Hearts claiming restriction of trade and wanting to prevent the league from starting will mean they'll need to stump up for this bond of caution to cover the restriction of trade they'll be causing 41 clubs? Sounds very expensive, multiple millions no doubt which they'll lose if they lose the case. How is it done? Is it cash in escrow?
The details of how it works are I believe contained in Sevtion 33 of the Court of Session Rules...but I'm sure their conveyancer, sorry crack legal advisory team, would know that.😁
11-06-2020, 07:06 PM
If she’s any sense she’ll already have looked at that and every other forum. Maybe better she doesn’t look at this one though as she’ll be schizo like the rest of us.
11-06-2020, 07:06 PM
So we will know by about 1030am on Monday if there is enough indicatives votes to move this to a full resolution vote. But even if it passes on Monday it would be at least another 4/5 days until the full vote would be completed. We are getting closer to end of June for confirmation IF they get enough indicative votes on Monday.
My view is that ND is looking for at least 3/4 teams to say NO to him in the SPL indicative Monday vote then he can close it all down for good.
Nah, we'll know on Sunday night when the DR starts its first print run😉
11-06-2020, 07:08 PM
12-12-10-10
This would have been supported weeks ago and has been mentioned by a number of posters.
Suspect that if anyone but the entitled horde were being relegated to the championship it would have been the favoured option.
huggie1875
11-06-2020, 07:10 PM
conversation i had with one of them at work when Romanov nearly ended them
Me - you think yous have it bad this will cost Hibs millions
Him - aye no more derbies
Me - not that we'll have to fill the corners in to accommadate all the new fans we'll be the only game in town
Him - bolt i'll never become a Hibs fan
me - we don't want you you're tainted but we'll welcome your kids and your kids kids.
https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhDwAPANEAAP///729vVn/yAAAACH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh/sFodHRwOi8vd3d3LnJ0bHNvZnQuY29tL2FuaW1hZ2ljLwoKQ3J lYXRlZCB3aXRoIEFuaW1hZ2ljIEdJRiBWIDEuMjEKYnkgUmlna HQgdG8gTGVmdCBTb2Z0d2FyZSBJbmMuCgpUbyBzdXBwcmVzcyB 0aGlzIG1lc3NhZ2UgaW4gdGhlIHJlZ2lzdGVyZWQgdmVyc2lvb gp1bmNoZWNrICJPcHRpb25zIHwgQW5pbWFnaWMgY29tbWVudCB mcmFtZSIKACH5BAkeAAEALAAAAAAPAA8AAAI6jD2Zx5EC4WIjW nmqeFIPtElh GnX SiqulUDALyw7LozHM/tdveuw5PlfsAWjvMBtRQYiqnTyKgaBQAh QQJHgABACwAAAAADwAPAAACOYw9mceRAuFiI1p5qnhbbtSF3OB cplQpqrqlADC88Ju6M023G86nZRzD Uot2SiDUmAomsik4VA1CgAh QQJHgABACwAAAAADwAPAAACOow9mceRAuFiI1p5qnhSD7RJYfh p1/koqrpVAwC8sOy6MxzP7Xb3rsOT5X7AFo7zAbUUGIqp08ioGgUA IfkECR4AAQAsAAAAAA8ADwAAAjqMPZnHkQLhYkM8WcfJ0nbtRK KoVeNpZcqqpBYADHAMqy9d166M41ko49F odTsAiqyJI1LZNJwrBoFACH5BAkeAAEALAAAAAAPAA8AAAI6jD 2Zx5EC4WIjWnmqeFIPtElh GnX SiqulUDALyw7LozHM/tdveuw5PlfsAWjvMBtRQYiqnTyKgaBQAh QQJHgABACwAAAAADwAPAAACOow9mceRAuFiQzxZx8nSdu1Eoqh V42llyqqkFgAMcAyrL13XrozjWSjj0X6h1OwCKrIkjUtk0nCsG gUAIfkECR4AAQAsAAAAAA8ADwAAAjqMPZnHkQLhYiNaeap4Ug 0SWH4adf5KKq6VQMAvLDsujMcz 12967Dk V wBaO8wG1FBiKqdPIqBoFADs=
I wont lose any sleep if they go under you never know might be the only way the uglies monopoly ends with Mercers dream realised well sort off https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhGQASAPcEAAAAAAD/Qv EQv///wD/QAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAD/QCH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh QQFZAAEACwAAAAAGQASAAAIjgAJCBQIoGDBgQgTKiwooGHDgws hDgTgsOLDhAAGaAQwUYBBhx85EtS4cWLGjR5JSjxZkgDFkwwLo hTJUqTLlANiwvQ4seVNjwwfBoVokKjFo0Jlksz506NFiklZtoQ KFSjIoktLVv1YsahSn1WP0vzq02VYoAjJMsVYVKHZrDbdupW6V q5cunHtRjQoMCAAIfkECRQABAAsCQADAAQABAAACAsABQgkILC gwYEBAQAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIaQABEBhIkCCAgwQFICxIAMCAhwI JCJgYcaDDhwMiTqRoEGPGgRsVdoSYMGTFixU3AlCI8KBLiwcpu vT4MSTLgzQFKlQ5M dKmS4vkjQZNKdEjiMx6lxoUCjEigWdfmSYlCTVpi vah0YEAAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIZwABEBhIsKBBAQAEGiSQUCEBARA dDgQwoKJCiBEJUqw44CJGhxstDsSYkSFHhx8RahQ5MWFEhQ0Tj iQZk6NIhB8b2uzIMKfOnQBoxgzJ82NLokVlakQqUOJSoAsnQo1 q0qZTg0MHBgQAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGkAARAYSJAgg IMEBSAsSADAgIcCCQiYGHGgw4cDIk6kaBBjxoEbFXaEmDBkxYs VNwJQiPCgS4sHKbr0 DEky4M0BSpUOTPnSpkuL5I0GTSnRI4jMepcaFAoxIoFnX5kmJQ k1aYvr2odGBAAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGcAARAYSLCgQ QEABBokkFAhAQEQHQ4EMKCiQogRCVKsOOAiRocbLQ7EmJEhR4c fEWoUOTFhRIUNE44kGZOjSIQfG9rsyDCnzp0AaMYMyfNjS6JFZ WpEKlDiUqALJ0KNatKmU4NDBwYEACH5BAkKAAQALAkAAAAQABI AAAhpAAEQGEiQIICDBAUgLEgAwICHAgkImBhxoMOHAyJOpGgQY 8aBGxV2hJgwZMWLFTcCUIjwoEuLBym69PgxJMuDNAUqVDkz50q ZLi SNBk0p0SOIzHqXGhQKMSKBZ1 ZJiUJNWmL69qHRgQACH5BAkKAAQALAkAAAAQABIAAAhnAAEQGE iwoEEBAAQaJJBQIQEBEB0OBDCgokKIEQlSrDjgIkaHGy0OxJiR IUeHHxFqFDkxYUSFDROOJBmTo0iEHxva7Mgwp86dAGjGDMnzY0 uiRWVqRCpQ4lKgCydCjWrSplODQwcGBAAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIaQABEBhIkCCAgwQFICxIAMCAhwI JCJgYcaDDhwMiTqRoEGPGgRsVdoSYMGTFixU3AlCI8KBLiwcpu vT4MSTLgzQFKlQ5M dKmS4vkjQZNKdEjiMx6lxoUCjEigWdfmSYlCTVpi vah0YEAAh QQJCgAEACwJAAAAEAASAAAIZwABEBhIsKBBAQAEGiSQUCEBARA dDgQwoKJCiBEJUqw44CJGhxstDsSYkSFHhx8RahQ5MWFEhQ0Tj iQZk6NIhB8b2uzIMKfOnQBoxgzJ82NLokVlakQqUOJSoAsnQo1 q0qZTg0MHBgQAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGkAARAYSJAgg IMEBSAsSADAgIcCCQiYGHGgw4cDIk6kaBBjxoEbFXaEmDBkxYs VNwJQiPCgS4sHKbr0 DEky4M0BSpUOTPnSpkuL5I0GTSnRI4jMepcaFAoxIoFnX5kmJQ k1aYvr2odGBAAIfkECQoABAAsCQAAABAAEgAACGcAARAYSLCgQ QEABBokkFAhAQEQHQ4EMKCiQogRCVKsOOAiRocbLQ7EmJEhR4c fEWoUOTFhRIUNE44kGZOjSIQfG9rsyDCnzp0AaMYMyfNjS6JFZ WpEKlDiUqALJ0KNatKmU4NDBwYEACH5BAUKAAQALAkAAAAQABI AAAhpAAEQGEiQIICDBAUgLEgAwICHAgkImBhxoMOHAyJOpGgQY 8aBGxV2hJgwZMWLFTcCUIjwoEuLBym69PgxJMuDNAUqVDkz50q ZLi SNBk0p0SOIzHqXGhQKMSKBZ1 ZJiUJNWmL69qHRgQADs=
I agree, the current set up is good, the only thing I would alter is the playoff. At the moment it favours the Premiership team as they only have one tie, I’d have them play 4th in the Championship with the winner playing the winner of 2nd v 3rd as happens in the other playoffs.
The more teams analyse the proposed change the more flaws they will find with it so I reckon it will be dead and buried on Monday.
Agree about the playoff.
Two semis and a final is whats needed here.Could we ask hearts to propose this? That seems to be the best way to get the SPFL board to want to change anything.
11-06-2020, 07:11 PM
He is apparently friendly with the super conveyancer LD.
Which is how he landed up in Saughton😉
xyz23jc
11-06-2020, 07:13 PM
Should be pinned up in the dressing room before every Derby match... Not that there will be many in the coming years... Hopefully! :greengrin
11-06-2020, 07:17 PM
12-12-10-10
I proposed a 12/12/12/6+6 the other day which makes much.more sense and means Hurtz stay where they belong
I take it everyone on here who is on social media is making views know to the club, Leeanne etc? I am but if in doubt do it. We need it to be crystal clear how we feel. I am sure they will do the right thing.
11-06-2020, 07:37 PM
I take it everyone on here who is on social media is making views know to the club, Leeanne etc? I am but if in doubt do it. We need it to be crystal clear how we feel. I am sure they will do the right thing.
No offence but if you are sure they will do the right thing why bother them on social media?
11-06-2020, 07:40 PM
I don't disagree however if the club do the right thing and Hearts still sneak their way out of this I think we just act with a bit of dignity no toys out the pram. Just think of a few digs we can have at them about their relegation. It is strange but no matter how bad they are how arrogant they are, how much they cheat they always seem to come up roses. Sad but true.
Clarence
11-06-2020, 07:40 PM
12-12-10-10
Makes sense to me.
monarch
11-06-2020, 07:46 PM
They certainly have their friends in the media.
Brian Mclaughlin’s bewildering statements on the podcast were bad enough (“hardly any difference to each club’s’ payout” and “an advantage to the proposed set up is that clubs would know where they stand for next season “). Then we had David “fully self sufficient” Southern (remember him during Romanov’s era) on STV News at Six telling us what a great idea the proposal is. He now calls himself a Football industry Advisor :greengrin
Heaven help us with these experts spouting their p-sh.
It doesn’t pay the bills but then again neither does only playing 36 games a season in comparison to 38
Guaranteed 18 home games and none of the issues carry on with the home games after the split which is always controversial plus also 4 ugly sister homes unlike the moment.
Far better for us providing we go all out every season for top 6.Easier to budget for as well.
hibeerealist
11-06-2020, 07:53 PM
Brian Mclaughlin’s bewildering statements on the podcast were bad enough (“hardly any difference to each club’s’ payout” and “an advantage to the proposed set up is that clubs would know where they stand for next season “). Then we had David “fully self sufficient” Southern (remember him during Romanov’s era) on STV News at Six telling us what a great idea the proposal is. He now calls himself a Football industry Advisor :greengrin
One thing in common, both Jambos
It really doesnt sit right why they are getting all this airtime and free advertising? Its nearly been like a political partys campaign with payments made to people in positions to get the messages over.
hibeerealist
11-06-2020, 07:54 PM
Which is how he landed up in Saughton😉
:greengrin Lol
Guaranteed 18 home games and none of the issues carry on with the home games after the split which is always controversial plus also 4 ugly sister homes unlike the moment.
Far better for us providing we go all out every season for top 6.Easier to budget for as well.
We always go out with the intention of doing as well as we can.
Sorry i just dont get you.
11-06-2020, 07:56 PM
That’s ok to go out every season and aim for top 6 (like what we do just now) however a poor start to the season means you’re in 7th come the end of January and your season is effectively over. That sounds magic
HFC93
11-06-2020, 07:57 PM
I think a few folk on here are getting their knickers in a twist over nothing. Not a lot has changed, and the same obstacles remain with it only taking a few clubs to sink these proposals.
11-06-2020, 08:04 PM
Oh well this confirms that Leeann will be voting for a 14 team SPL to save her future employer.
Vlad Magic Vlad Magic
Posted 17 minutes ago
22 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:
Any truth in the rumours about Dempster being fed up with Ron the con and coming to join us?
Not sure about joining us but I have heard
there has been disruptive conversations between the 2.
Dempster on the front line dealing with disgruntled fans and Ron trying to balance the books.
A perfect storm.
11-06-2020, 08:06 PM
Just been looking on other fans forums. Aberdeen fans seem not too fussed which way it goes, but one fan posted this:
They’ve already said there won’t be Celtic v Sevco games until fans are allowed back in, which is going to cause a ****storm if there is a split after 2 rounds of fixtures
Is that correct; no Old Firm games until fans are able to generate that special Old Firm atmosphere?
11-06-2020, 08:07 PM
Oh well this confirms that Leeann will be voting for a 14 team SPL to save her future employer.
Vlad Magic Vlad Magic
Posted 17 minutes ago
Any truth in the rumours about Dempster being fed up with Ron the con and coming to join us?
Dempster on the front line dealing with disgruntled fans and Ron trying to balance the books.
A perfect storm.
just goes to show how jealous they are of us having a proper chief executive in charge of football operations.
11-06-2020, 08:08 PM
Vlad Magic Vlad Magic
Posted 17 minutes ago
A perfect storm.
Hahahahahahahahaha 😂😂😂
Dr What If?
11-06-2020, 08:15 PM
I am not opposed to reconstruction, I for one think the 12-10-10-10 named after another country's league is rubbish.....but 14-10-10-10??? How is that better? It was bad enough when it looked like it was being done just to save a club from relegation - at least there was the rather weak excuse that it wasn't fair to relegate anyone without finishing the season, weak, but at least its an argument. Now it looks like we are only contemplating it because a rich fan has chucked us a few quid to stop his team going down. Vote for this and you are telling the world that the rules can be bought, not exactly a product new fans are going to rush to buy in to.
Maybe there is an even wealthier Rangers fan out there who can donate an even larger 'no strings' amount of money to call the 19/20 season null and void to stop Celtic winning 9 in a row? Maybe there will be an even even richer Celtic fan? Is this how Scottish football will finally find an alternative to SKY money?
11-06-2020, 08:18 PM
Vlad Magic Vlad Magic
Posted 17 minutes ago
A perfect storm.
Comedy gold. What a bunch o weirdos :blah:
BH Hibs
11-06-2020, 08:27 PM
Just been looking on other fans forums. Aberdeen fans seem not too fussed which way it goes, but one fan posted this:
Is that correct; no Old Firm games until fans are able to generate that special Old Firm atmosphere?
Let as many of them in as possible just now I say. Just don't let them back out.
11-06-2020, 08:30 PM
I find it amazing the amount of air time given to those in favour of reconstruction over recent weeks.
Tonight it was the turn of David Southern, former chief executive of hearts, appearing on Scotland Today.
He spouted "14-10-10-10 is not only reasonable, it is actually the correct decision."
How the hell is he allowed to make such a statement as if it's fact, when it's only his opinion?
No doubt we'll be subjected to other 'experts' in the coming days, all eager to save the cheats from dropping into the Championship.
11-06-2020, 08:32 PM
I find it amazing the amount of air time given to those in favour of reconstruction over recent weeks.
Tonight it was the turn of David Southern, former chief executive of hearts, appearing on Scotland Today.
He spouted "14-10-10-10 is not only reasonable, it is actually the correct decision."
How the hell is he allowed to make such a statement as if it's fact, when it's only his opinion?
No doubt we'll be subjected to other 'experts' in the coming days, all eager to save the cheats from dropping into the Championship.And a right motley crew they are.
Self sufficient Southern[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
11-06-2020, 08:33 PM
You all need to stop reading kickback! It’s not good for your health.
sorrow sorrow
11-06-2020, 08:34 PM
Of course the “no strings attached” donation was to save hearts from relegation.Thats how the rich and wealthy world works in any business situation.Just look at the timing of it?
I honestly don’t blame the guy for doing it,he has pumped about 7 million quid into them through Baille Gifford investors and his own personal wealth so of course he wants them in the top league.
I’m not saying it’s right but that’s how the world works and the wealthy buy there way in most situations in life.
sorrow sorrow
11-06-2020, 08:36 PM
Ps they are still going to be playing championship football whenever the leagues start.
11-06-2020, 08:37 PM
I think St Mirren, Hamilton, Livingston and Ross Co will be in favour of this now that it’s a permanent deal.
Relegation next year will prob still be 1 down and a play off like it is now so the chances of being relegated in future are reduced.
Their fans seem happy enough with it, so if the club goes with their fans feelings like we’re expecting Hibs to do, we could be in real danger of this happening.
I don’t think there are any clubs in the top league with strong enough feelings against it. Most will look at it from the view of being further away from relegation each year.
I really hope they’ve thought about what happens if you’re not in the top 6 though. For us, I think it would be a disaster.
I think St Mirren, Hamilton, Livingston and Ross Co will be in favour of this now that it’s a permanent deal.
Relegation next year will prob still be 1 down and a play off like it is now so the chances of being relegated in future are reduced.
Their fans seem happy enough with it, so if the club goes with their fans feelings like we’re expecting Hibs to do, we could be in real danger of this happening.
I don’t think there are any clubs in the top league with strong enough feelings against it. Most will look at it from the view of being further away from relegation each year.
I really hope they’ve thought about what happens if you’re not in the top 6 though. For us, I think it would be a disaster.It is simply a worse structure than we currently have.No idea why clubs would want to vote for a long term worse structure.
I despair.
11-06-2020, 08:42 PM
They are a disturbing bunch.
The details of how it works are I believe contained in Sevtion 33 of the Court of Session Rules...but I'm sure their conveyancer, sorry crack legal advisory team, would know that.😁
Thanks. So a cash deposit or something with a suitable value as security. They don't have anything of value, the stadium would probably not be much good as nobody would want to buy it. Not sure how much the land would be worth. Could build quite a few flats there right enough. They won't have enough cash either unless JA was willing/daft enough to risk his.
What do you think? Surely they're not going to risk an interdict? The risks for them are far too great.
Clarence
11-06-2020, 08:52 PM
I think a few folk on here are getting their knickers in a twist over nothing. Not a lot has changed, and the same obstacles remain with it only taking a few clubs to sink these proposals.
My thoughts exactly.
It is simply a worse structure than we currently have.No idea why clubs would want to vote for a long term worse structure.
I despair.
I still don’t think it’ll get voted through!
11-06-2020, 08:53 PM
It is simply a worse structure than we currently have.No idea why clubs would want to vote for a long term worse structure.
I despair.
Saves a lot of teams. Like I said Killie Motherwell St Johnstone hold the key to not supporting this. Why the old firm want this too is baffling.
11-06-2020, 08:56 PM
No doubt we'll be subjected to other 'experts' in the coming days, all eager to save the cheats from dropping into the Championship.
This is the guy who claimed Hearts were solvent even as they ran out of cash to pay their players.
He’s either thick, or untrustworthy, or both, but I’m not listening to him. As you say, it’s outrageous he is given a media platform.
Saves a lot of teams. Like I said Killie Motherwell St Johnstone hold the key to not supporting this. Why the old firm want this too is baffling.I see that.Funny thing is its clubs like hearts who would be the most against this.I'm confident Hibs Aberdeen and Dundee utd will vote against it, and probably most of the championship clubs.
If there were to be a 14-10-10-10 structure, I'd rather it was temporary than permanent.
11-06-2020, 08:57 PM
I really hope they’ve thought about what happens if you’re not in the top 6 though. For us, I think it would be a disaster.
I am leaning towards this way of thinking regarding these clubs. Aberdeen, Dundee United and Motherwell could be where any potential No votes come from now.
11-06-2020, 08:58 PM
Brian Mclaughlin’s bewildering statements on the podcast were bad enough (“hardly any difference to each club’s’ payout”.
He is (conveniently) confused about these figures. The top 12 will subsidise club 13 and 14 and the two new entrants to the SPFL to the tune of hundreds of thousands. First place in the Premiership drops about £90000 based on this year's figures, probably more out of the new setup.
1st place goes from 13.4% of the prize pot to 13.04%.
ETA.....Prize pot this year is £30m, so difference is actually £108000 for first placed team.
If there were to be a 14-10-10-10 structure, I'd rather it was temporary than permanent.I'll be glad when Monday comes.I dont think i could take much longer of this.
My pishy knickers are all twisted and i'm gasping for oxygen here.
I'll be glad when Monday comes.I dont think i could take much longer of this.
My pishy knickers are all twisted and i'm gasping for oxygen here.
Just getting bored of it now. Whatever happens, it doesn't matter too much because not we're crap enough at football to be down there. Let the minnows get on with trying to save themselves.
Also, they will always be known as the team who bribed their way into the top league. Another moment of disgrace.
ionahibby
11-06-2020, 09:23 PM
If this goes through it would be a shambles. Would be interesting to see our pink chums thoughts if they were sitting 7th come February.
He is (conveniently) confused about these figures. The top 12 will subsidise club 13 and 14 and the two new entrants to the SPFL to the tune of hundreds of thousands. First place in the Premiership drops about £90000 based on this year's figures, probably more out of the new setup.
1st place goes from 13.4% of the prize pot to 13.04%.
ETA.....Prize pot this year is £30m, so difference is actually £108000 for first placed team.
When it comes to finance, don't trust a Jambo not to fudge the figures.
Have you got a link to those figures you've quoted?
11-06-2020, 09:38 PM
From The Sun.
SPFL CHIEFS are prepared to hold weekend talks with Aberdeen chairman Dave Cormack as he considers a shock U-turn on a 14-team Premiership.
11-06-2020, 09:38 PM
There is a flaw in your plan we tend to finish bottom six far more regularly than top six.
11-06-2020, 09:42 PM
From The Sun.
SPFL CHIEFS are prepared to hold weekend talks with Aberdeen chairman Dave Cormack as he considers a shock U-turn on a 14-team Premiership.
Aberdeen have been all over the place on reconstruction. I wouldn't count on them to block it.
11-06-2020, 09:43 PM
Dave Cormack likes the spotlight eh? Absolute fanny.
11-06-2020, 09:44 PM
From The Sun.
What is there to have talks about?, we've all seen the the proposal, you either want it or not, only discussion he should be having is with the Aberdeen fans
11-06-2020, 09:46 PM
Oh dear
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/spfl-reconstruction-bid-tatters-amid-22177972
mayo hibee
11-06-2020, 09:47 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/spfl-reconstruction-bid-tatters-amid-22177972.amp?__twitter_impression=true
The Sun and the Record saying the opposite to each other again.
If true, we would just need Ross County to formally confirm their position and then we could confirm our own rejection of the proposals, finally relegating Hearts in the process.
11-06-2020, 09:49 PM
Oh dear
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/spfl-reconstruction-bid-tatters-amid-22177972
That’s the spirit.
Oh dear
I love Ross County!! 😁
11-06-2020, 09:52 PM
From The Sun.
So this is the real danger As soon as some club indicates they are indicatively giving the plan consideration ,they are then courted and somehow a deal is done to defo vote yes
The Chiefs as they are called ( eg are they ) can then look to meet with other clubs and offer whatever it is they are offering
Then it’s only a small number of clubs seen as blocking it and they in turn come under more pressure
This indicates imo a desire by SPFL to actively pursue wavering teams with a view to taking it to a vote
Or am I reading this wrong ?
11-06-2020, 09:55 PM
I love Ross County!! 😁
All of the points made in the article are valid. Our walkups would be non existent if we found ourselves stuck in the bottom 8 post split. It’s a tough sell on the season ticket front too.
11-06-2020, 09:56 PM
Can anyone answer the following:
with the jumbos banging on about no detriment, we will be first to lose money due to placing, The The Rangers are already fuming about Celtic winning the league however, with reconstruction and no detriment in place, will this mean that the title will not be awarded to Celtic after all? Surely if no detriment then it simply cannot be awarded?
Oh dear
*SPFL reconstruction bid in tatters amid Championship opposition that dooms Hearts to relegation*
The last gasp push to find a consensus for change appears to have failed for a final time.
The late push for 14-team*Premiership*is on the verge of finally being killed off for good.
Record Sport*understands*Ross County*and a plethora of Championship clubs are refusing to shift in their opposition to an enlarged top flight – and are firmly against bringing in a new set up with the fixture list for next term due out in just 10 days.
The SPFL delivered their latest proposal this week and have asked clubs to give an indicative vote by Monday before going towards an official ballot.
But the proposal is unlikely to even survive the weekend – leaving Hearts to face up to the reality they will start next season in the Championship.
The plan needs 11 out of 12 Premierships to be on board and 75 percent of the top two divisions and 32 of the 42 clubs overall to go through.
It is understood there is sympathy for the Jambos’ plight after*Ann Budge’s club were left marooned to the foot of the Premiership after the season was brought to an early conclusion.
But there is strong feeling the 14-10-10-10 structure is not the answer – and Ross County chairman Roy MacGregor is among those set to kibosh the move in the next 48 hours.
The Staggies chief believes the bigger top flight would cause more damage to the game than good – as it would create a two tier Premiership.
The proposal seen by*Record Sport suggests the league would split after two rounds of fixtures – 26 games – and then the top half and bottom half would play each other home and away again.
This would create a 36 game season for the top six and give the bottom eight 38 matches.
But MacGregor believes it would be impossible for most clubs to sell season tickets on the back of the proposal as teams in the lower section would be effectively be facing a large portion of the campaign in an inferior division.
There are also fears this would result in numerous meaningless fixtures for sides at the top end of the bottom eight beyond the split.
Several clubs are concerned with season ticket sales and the earlier split would create uncertainty, while the pay at the gate punters – who could be crucial once stadiums re-open to supporters – could be turned off by matches lacking in significance.
A source told*Record Sport: “It is unlikely to get much support beyond the club who would avoid relegation or who would go up as part of the proposal.
“The fixture list is due to be released in 10 days and it would be nonsensical to rip up the entire structure at this stage, particularly when a 14 team set up has so many problems.
“The general consensus is the 12-team division is not perfect, but it has worked well for a number of years as it provides a competitive league with meaningful games.
“A 14 team structure would not provide that.”
There is also widespread opposition in the Championship and sources indicate there is little chance of hitting the 75 percent support mark to nudge the plans through.
One Championship club told*Record Sport: “There’s no real incentive for clubs at our level to support any 14-10-10-10 proposal. That’s not reconstruction for our division – it’s status quo. And that is the way most of the clubs are thinking.
“There was a consensus that a 14 team Championship would be something we could get behind as it was something new. But this is just more of the same.
“We wouldn’t be voting for something fresh or reinvigorating. We’d be voting to keep Hearts in the Premiership. Hearts will back it as will Inverness Caley Thistle and possibly Dundee but there’s absolutely nothing in it for the rest of us.”
SPFL sides have already voted down a temporary move to a bigger top flight and the Rangers proposal for a 14-10-18 set up including Old Firm colt was also dismissed by several lower league clubs due to opposition.
The SPFL board have admitted this is the final throw of the dice after a series of conference calls with clubs.
Chief executive*Neil Doncaster*said: “We’ve been consulting with our clubs regarding possible reconstruction in recent weeks and asked all 42 clubs to give their views.
“Now that 41 out of 42 clubs have responded, it is clear that there is enough support for a permanent 14-10-10-10 structure to merit a second consultation stage.
“We have written to clubs asking for an indicative ‘vote’ on whether that is something they would vote in favour of if it was included in a detailed formal resolution.
“It’s important to underline that this is not a binding vote and is intended only to steer the board on whether to put forward a formal resolution for voting on, or not.
“Understandably, the consultation exercise confirmed there is sympathy for those clubs relegated at the end of Season 2019/20, but also that there is no reasonable prospect of clubs approving a temporary reconstruction solution.
“However, the board has judged there is sufficient support for a permanent change to merit this second stage of consultation.
“As ever, it will be up to the clubs to decide whether or not to support this proposal and we will be guided by the democratic outcome of the process.
“We are understandably keen to get clarity one way or another at the start of next week, as the timescales are extremely tight and we are faced with the additional complexities of resuming the season, caused by Covid-19.”
11-06-2020, 09:57 PM
Clubs could kill the entire thing tomorrow if they wanted. But while theres still time until Mondays deadline there is still time for dodgy dealings behind the scenes.
007 Mickey Weir
11-06-2020, 09:58 PM
Why not start a 12 team premier league. Then have a 12 league championship? It fixes everything except hearts. Perfect really
11-06-2020, 09:58 PM
When it comes to finance, don't trust a Jambo not to fudge the figures.
Have you got a link to those figures you've quoted?
Nope, just worked them out myself.
Basically, the current top 12 will subsidise the (near) £1m difference in the prize pot. Of course there is the parachute payment to Hearts to throw in as well, but basically everyone else is paying to keep these schmucks in the top league.
Good to see that Daily Record story though, it is simply saying what a lot of us have been for weeks.
11-06-2020, 09:59 PM
There's a reason we've never had a 14 team league before. Rediculous idea.
11-06-2020, 10:03 PM
Oh dear
Good.
Here’s hoping that more clubs share the same thoughts. Roy McGregor is the only one I’ve heard talking about how crap the split would be.
Would be good if we came out saying similar tomorrow.
11-06-2020, 10:03 PM
Why not start a 12 team premier league. Then have a 12 league championship? It fixes everything except hearts. Perfect really
Ha.
Yup - Utd in the top 12.
Hearts in 2nd 12
Then 10 and 10 and Highland and Lowland get in.
Avoids the 14 nonsense.
11-06-2020, 10:04 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/spfl-reconstruction-bid-tatters-amid-22177972.amp?__twitter_impression=true
If true, we would just need Ross County to formally confirm their position and then we could confirm our own rejection of the proposals, finally relegating Hearts in the process.
Feels like a 5th relegation for Hearts in only a few weeks ! Haha!
Were they both not the opposite way around last night. The Record sounded like they thought it would go ahead and the Sun made it sound like it wouldn't? They're both probably at it just trying to get clicks by making up twists and turns every day.
11-06-2020, 10:09 PM
Were they both not the opposite way around last night. The Record sounded like they thought it would go ahead and the Sun made it sound like it wouldn't? They're both probably at it just trying to get clicks by making up twists and turns every day.
Yeah both are as bad as each other but to be fair the RC guy did say before he wasn’t keen on 14 top flight
11-06-2020, 10:11 PM
Oh dear
Exactly the same points that have repeatedly been made on here for weeks. I'm surprised it's got as much support as it seems to have.
Meanwhile...........
:cheerio:
11-06-2020, 10:12 PM
Oh dear
I can’t stand the Record but that’s the first time I’ve seen any of the MSM mention what we’ve been talking about on here for weeks - the meaningless games for the teams at the top end of the bottom eight. Good on them for that.
11-06-2020, 10:12 PM
Kickback is a hoot. They're foaming at the mouth about court cases now. Funny watching them going through the ringer.
Saves a lot of teams. Like I said Killie Motherwell St Johnstone hold the key to not supporting this. Why the old firm want this too is baffling.
Especially Rangers, I thought they'd be desperate to see Hearts take the legal route in case they got a shock victory and the judge said as reconstruction is clearly out of the question, it has to be null and void. I don't think that's likely but I'm surprised Rangers are not clinging on to that hope.
11-06-2020, 10:15 PM
2 minutes ago, LarrysRightFoot said:
The meaningless games the in the bottom 8 is nonsense - there’s a very real chance 7th will be a European place - making the bottom 8 possibly very interesting.
The only thing I would say is it should be 2 down plus a playoff spot. However, @rseholes like the County chairman dint want to make it that meaningful do they! Folk like him want no relegation.
Oh the irony :greengrin
11-06-2020, 10:15 PM
So this is the real danger As soon as some club indicates they are indicatively giving the plan consideration ,they are then courted and somehow a deal is done to defo vote yes
The Chiefs as they are called ( eg are they ) can then look to meet with other clubs and offer whatever it is they are offering
Then it’s only a small number of clubs seen as blocking it and they in turn come under more pressure
This indicates imo a desire by SPFL to actively pursue wavering teams with a view to taking it to a vote
Or am I reading this wrong ?
You’re reading the wrong paper Ronnie!
McSwanky
11-06-2020, 10:19 PM
The meaningless games the in the bottom 8 is nonsense - there’s a very real chance 7th will be a European place - making the bottom 8 possibly very interesting.
The only thing I would say is it should be 2 down plus a playoff spot. However, @rseholes like the County chairman dint want to make it that meaningful do they! Folk like him want no relegation.
Oh the irony :greengrinThese guys are great entertainment value!
Sent from my HRY-LX1 using Tapatalk
11-06-2020, 10:22 PM
Is the champagne still on ice ?! We could have champers slush puppies by now ?
11-06-2020, 10:22 PM
Oh the irony :greengrin
Am I missing something? How could seventh be a euro place?
11-06-2020, 10:23 PM
I see that.Funny thing is its clubs like hearts who would be the most against this.I'm confident Hibs Aberdeen and Dundee utd will vote against it, and probably most of the championship clubs.
100%.
I can’t stand the Record but that’s the first time I’ve seen any of the MSM mention what we’ve been talking about on here for weeks - the meaningless games for the teams at the top end of the bottom eight. Good on them for that.
It's the fact that it's permanent too. It could just take 1 season of 14 meaningless games for a club to cause their season ticket sales to fall off a cliff. Plus the split will happen right around the time most clubs are about to put them on sale. I'd say it's a near certainty at least 1 club each season will have meaningless games. Maybe not 14 but it potentially pretty soon after the split they'll be obviously not going to be battling relegation.
11-06-2020, 10:24 PM
Why would the mid-lower table sides like livi, killie, st mirren, st Johnstone etc vote for a real possibility of losing a guaranteed game at home to the old firm? Yeah they might get an extra home game, but these clubs barely get enough walk ups to make a dent in the travelling support they would normally get from the west, plus probably one travelling support from hibs/Aberdeen.
Couple that, with the loss of prize money, and suddenly year on year it becomes a fairly expensive episode, at the worst possible time for finances.
Hahahaha. Across on Brokeback they're discounting the DR piece because the journalist once wrote something vaguely anti hearts.
Budgie floated the possibility that there could be a Euro place playoff for 5th/6th7th as part of her plan but it was only an option and not a cast iron part of the proposal. No mention of it in the SPFL one I don’t think.
I think one of the previous 14 team top tier proposals had some nonsense about the 7th team playing the 5th and 6th team in a euro play off type thing. Nonsense.
11-06-2020, 10:25 PM
Oh dear
Once again Ann Budge spoils my cheese on toast with the state of her crusty coupon.
11-06-2020, 10:26 PM
You’re reading the wrong paper Ronnie!
Don’t read papers lol just Hibs.Net lol
11-06-2020, 10:26 PM
Especially Rangers, I thought they'd be desperate to see Hearts take the legal route in case they got a shock victory and the judge said as reconstruction is clearly out of the question, it has to be null and void. I don't think that's likely but I'm surprised Rangers are clinging on to that hope.
Yep. It’s all weird as anything.
11-06-2020, 10:27 PM
Budgie floated the possibility that there could be a Euro place playoff for 5th/6th7th as part of her plan but it was only an option and not a cast iron part of the proposal. No mention of it in the SPFL one I don’t think.
There wasn’t anything cast iron about her proposal. It was a terribly worded document. Banderson labelled it as Budge’s “Master Plan” though 😂
Because of the ridiculous playoff suggestion by Ann Budge where a team that plays 70% (28 of 40) of its matches against the bottom teams could still get into Europe.
"It has been suggested that this could be addressed by introducing a Play-off."
Even she knows how bad a structure it is, she's not even prepared to put her own name to it and say she's suggesting it.
11-06-2020, 10:38 PM
Oh dear
"Ann Budge`s team were left marooned at the bottle of the table" - I see what he did there lol
11-06-2020, 10:44 PM
Ross County won’t want Inverness getting promoted so they will be against it.
But it’s more than that - he realises it’s a rubbish idea and too many flaws.
Squeaky bum time on kickback.
Hopefully Doncaster will actually stick to his precious words when the huns nonsense was over - basically saying clubs can get back to planning for the future.
No more daft proposals please Chucky Budge.
11-06-2020, 10:45 PM
It was about time. Also seems to confirm that Hearts’ temporary reconstruction plan is dead... nae bother to two faced Budge of course, who now happily backs a permanent reconstruction, despite saying she was against it.
I’m pretty confident this is just death by 1,000 cuts, and Hearts have been boxed into an unwinnable situation.
Surely the end is in sight?
Clubs could kill the entire thing tomorrow if they wanted. But while theres still time until Mondays deadline there is still time for dodgy dealings behind the scenes.
Superjambo flys in with more philharmonic
Gestures and runs around Alloa and Arbroath chucking 50s onto the streets whilst wearing a maroon santa outfit.
11-06-2020, 10:54 PM
It was about time. Also seems to confirm that Hearts’ temporary reconstruction plan is dead... nae bother to two faced Budge of course, who now happily backs a permanent reconstruction, despite saying she was against it.
I’m pretty confident this is just death by 1,000 cuts, and Hearts have been boxed into an unwinnable situation.
Surely the end is in sight?
The way Doncaster worded his latest statement you’d hope that would be the case. If this latest proposal fails, that should be that. Over and out.
11-06-2020, 10:56 PM
Ross County won’t want Inverness getting promoted so they will be against it.
But it’s more than that - he realises it’s a rubbish idea and too many flaws.
Squeaky bum time on kickback.
Hopefully Doncaster will actually stick to his precious words when the huns nonsense was over - basically saying clubs can get back to planning for the future.
No more daft proposals please Chucky Budge.
Why would Ross county not want Inverness up? It would be their biggest game apart from the plastic old firm fans? Ross county owner seems to care about the highlands more than anything so they would want Ict up.
11-06-2020, 10:57 PM
The way Doncaster worded his latest statement you’d hope that would be the case. If this latest proposal fails, that should be that. Over and out.
It must be. All angels covered for their legal action too. **** sake get them doon.
Gestures and runs around Alloa and Arbroath chucking 50s onto the streets whilst wearing a maroon santa outfit.
😀 Seemingly Aberdeen need to be persuaded too so he'll need to take his wallet for a walk down Union St. He'll do the Bs the next day.
11-06-2020, 11:03 PM
The second funniest thing out of all this os the championship clubs saying a big get it up ye to Scott Gardiner, if they vote against it you can bet your bottom dollar it will be (partly) because they don’t want ICT promoted because of his previous behaviour.
11-06-2020, 11:09 PM
Why would Ross county not want Inverness up? It would be their biggest game apart from the plastic old firm fans? Ross county owner seems to care about the highlands more than anything so they would want Ict up.
I don’t think Roy McGregor would give the odious Gardiner the time of day.
11-06-2020, 11:19 PM
Hearts are our biggest pay day outside the old firm and we (most of us anyway) want Hearts down. So I can understand the suggestion of County not wanting ICT up.
11-06-2020, 11:34 PM
Hearts are our biggest pay day full stop. Send them down.
11-06-2020, 11:37 PM
Fair point. He must hate the rent a gub.
The second funniest thing out of all this os the championship clubs saying a big get it up ye to Scott Gardiner, if they vote against it you can bet your bottom dollar it will be (partly) because they don’t want ICT promoted because of his previous behaviour.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/dave-mackinnon-astounding-inverness-behaviour-22017229
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/secret-inverness-plan-null-void-22011151
You mean the ex-Hearts COO that was conspiring with Hearts and Rangers to thwart the proposal to end the leagues (which time has proven to be the correct decision) so they could put forward a resolution for null & void? (No self interest there then). The guy who then went on to accuse other Championship clubs of bullying and coercion when it was in fact his behaviour that was out of order? Who then told lies to the press about it and in doing so he managed too pee off 6 Championship clubs?
Most likely it was because that plot failed that this cabal tried another approach and all the dossier nonsense was concocted.
It was even him that cast doubt over the Dundee vote situation when he went on Sportsound making accusations and inferring something dodgy went on, reading out the WhatsApp conversation but leaving out the perfectly reasonable explanation.
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18375829.glaring-omission-scot-gardiners-radio-revelations-will-disappoint-spfl-conspiracy-theorists/
All of that was so long ago that pundits have chosen to forget it but we'll find out soon enough whether or not the Championship clubs have.
If Hearts lose out because they don't get enough votes in the Championship then they've only got themselves to blame for having this guy do their bidding.
Will be interesting to see if all the above games playing comes out in a court case. Particularly the Dundee vote situation that Jambos seem to think is some kind of trump card.
11-06-2020, 11:44 PM
Exactly the same points that have repeatedly been made on here for weeks. I'm surprised it's got as much support as it seems to have.
Meanwhile...........
:cheerio:
They have the split total games wrong, should be 36 and 40, not 36 and 38.
11-06-2020, 11:57 PM
They have the split total games wrong, should be 36 and 40, not 36 and 38.
Yip it's
26+10
And
26+14
We always go out with the intention of doing as well as we can.
Sorry i just dont get you.
Not hard to work out m8.
I always put Hibs interest first especially
Our long term future and finances.
All this stuff about worrying about happens to that mob just doesn't interest me.
They are a 90 minute irrelevance now and again.
12-06-2020, 04:00 AM
Although encouraged by the Daily Ranger article, this saga has had more twists than a jambos tail
It ain’t over til it’s over - even then it’ll probably not be over
12-06-2020, 04:08 AM
Not hard to work out m8.
All this stuff about worrying about happens to that mob just doesn't interest me.
Fair enough, but everyone has an interest in the rules and integrity of the game, the behaviour of the governing body and other clubs. This episode has gone well beyond what happens to Hearts. Accusations of bribery, threats of legal action, coercion and bullying, threats of boycotts, claims of doing the right thing for football when it's plainly self-interest, etc. Clubs involved in that need to be dealt with properly. There is no place for them in fair sport.
Not hard to work out m8.
Its just my opinion we have to worry about what other clubs are doing.
It has a detrimental effect on us if they get away with cheating and bribery.
Went to have a look at the Ross County forum and see what they are saying and there is not a lot but I noticed someone saying -
One major stumbling block with going to a 14 team league is that there's a UEFA directive that top tiers shouldn't play more than 38 regular season games- there's no way of getting round that (and if you think that a 7-7 split is a viable option, go and watch the entirety of West Germany v Austria from the 1982 World Cup and get back to me)
Dont think its a major point as the SPFL would just bend it and say the top 'half' are only playing 36 but I had never heard of this UEFA directive?
12-06-2020, 06:56 AM
Went to have a look at the Ross County forum and see what they are saying and there is not a lot but I noticed someone saying -
One major stumbling block with going to a 14 team league is that there's a UEFA directive that top tiers shouldn't play more than 38 regular season games- there's no way of getting round that (and if you think that a 7-7 split is a viable option, go and watch the entirety of West Germany v Austria from the 1982 World Cup and get back to me)
Dont think its a major point as the SPFL would just bend it and say the top 'half' are only playing 36 but I had never heard of this UEFA directive?
I think that is why we have the current split in the 12 team league - ensures 38 games to meet UEFA rules
Never realised that - as I say guaranteed the SPFL would just say 'well the top half only play 36!' to get around it
12-06-2020, 06:59 AM
Applying that logic to Hibs, why wouldn’t we want Hearts in the SPFL next season?
The Count
12-06-2020, 07:00 AM
You watch when Hearts are saved the first thing they will do is sign Craig Gordon on money no club outside the old firm could afford.They will never learn and that is why thus time they should have to take there medicine.
12-06-2020, 07:14 AM
Just like the previous nonsense, id ignore everything in the DR. Nothing has changed. Let’s get Monday out of the way.
12-06-2020, 07:15 AM
Applying that logic to Hibs, why wouldn’t we want Hearts in the SPFL next season?
Plus the fact the away ends aren't even full when they play each other.
I'd say RC v Aberdeen and ICT v Aberdeen would be bigger games than RC v ICT and vice versa.
Lee Marvin
12-06-2020, 07:17 AM
Finally some proper reporting on the mechanics of a 14 team league and the effect that would have in reality.
Whilst I have learned now not to get me hopes up in this saga, the overnight red tops make good reading. The Sun article looks made up (although wouldn't be surprised with Cormack being open to manipulation/bribery) and the Daily Record has a decent (recent) track record of where we are at with this situation.
Thinking logically, why would your Raith's, Morton's, Arbroath's vote for this proposal? They probably are not going to get promoted anyway and they will definitely have much more chance of being in a relegation scrap with Partick and Falkirk in the league. What exactly would they be voting for?
12-06-2020, 07:22 AM
Finally some proper reporting on the mechanics of a 14 team league and the effect that would have in reality.
Whilst I have learned now not to get me hopes up in this saga, the overnight red tops make good reading. The Sun article looks made up (although wouldn't be surprised with Cormack being open to manipulation/bribery) and the Daily Record has a decent (recent) track record of where we are at with this situation.
Thinking logically, why would your Raith's, Morton's, Arbroath's vote for this proposal? They probably are not going to get promoted anyway and they will definitely have much more chance of being in a relegation scrap with Partick and Falkirk in the league. What exactly would they be voting for?
The status quo would also mean their having 2 home games against Hearts.
12-06-2020, 07:28 AM
Never realised that - as I say guaranteed the SPFL would just say 'well the top half only play 36!' to get around it
As far as I can see none of the European leagues that currently have a 14 team league have their teams playing more than 38 games.
Some of the ways that the leagues avoid their bottom 8 playing that many are;
- Stopping altogether after the full league has played 26 games.
- Splitting the bottom 8 into two groups of 4, each group of 4 plays each other twice which is 6 games and therefore 32 games in total.
- The bottom 8 teams play each other once which is 7 games and therefore 33 games in total.
- There is one league (Romania) that technically does have its bottom 8 teams playing 40 games but after the 26 games in the regular season, each team's points total gets halved (and rounded up) in preparation for the final 14 games as they play each other twice so I'm assuming that's enough to get round UEFA's 38 game limit.
I'm not saying I would be in favour of any of these formats but there are ways of implementing a 14 team league.
12-06-2020, 07:30 AM
...... with not a single Hearts fan in the ground? :rolleyes:
12-06-2020, 07:30 AM
You watch when Hearts are saved the first thing they will do is sign Craig Gordon on money no club outside the old firm could afford.They will never learn and that is why thus time they should have to take there medicine.
But they aren’t breaking any rules as the powers that be baulked at bringing any Financial Fair Play regulations after the Sporting Integrity debate
They knew The Rangers couldn’t abide by it and be able to buy their way back into the top league
They have now done that but still continue to spend well above their means
Hence all the juggling they need to do every year to get by
Hearts we knew were paying more wages than most other teams and now we know how they were able to do this
But also the New Dundee United Chairman has made no bones he has invested lots of his own money and over spent to ensure they got back up
The Rangers and Hearts would happily have denied United that opportunity with Thier Null and Void Plan
Which makes them Hypocrite s
We shall see how this all plays out but Ron Gordon has been Transparent about the way he intends to try and grow our Club
Others just do it and cook the Books
Unless they incurr penalties for doing that that actually work ,then Financial mismanagement will continue as Clubs also know when push comes to shove Fans will tally round and put money in to save Thier Club
12-06-2020, 07:32 AM
I hate the DR. The worst of the red tops in my opinion, however they've directly quoted the Ross County chairman. It's not a "in Keith Jackson's opinion" story. I fully expect Doncaster and co to be round McGregor's gaff this weekend to help overcome his reservations...
12-06-2020, 07:32 AM
Did someone mention Status Quo and Hearts?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1gYJDQXPOk
As far as I can see none of the European leagues that currently have a 14 team league have their teams playing more than 38 games.
Some of the ways that the leagues avoid their bottom 8 playing that many are;
- Stopping altogether after the full league has played 26 games.
- Splitting the bottom 8 into two groups of 4, each group of 4 plays each other twice which is 6 games and therefore 32 games in total.
- The bottom 8 teams play each other once which is 7 games and therefore 33 games in total.
- There is one league (Romania) that technically does have its bottom 8 teams playing 40 games but after the 26 games in the regular season, each team's points total gets halved (and rounded up) in preparation for the final 14 games as they play each other twice so I'm assuming that's enough to get round UEFA's 38 game limit.
I'm not saying I would be in favour of any of these formats but there are ways of implementing a 14 team league.
The league that splits the bottom 8 into 2 groups of 4 sounds mental?
Do they finish after playing each other twice or do they have playoffs or something?
Lee Marvin
12-06-2020, 07:38 AM
In a normal year this would be a huge benefit, in this year it may be of no/little benefit at all.
12-06-2020, 07:43 AM
Yup.
The guy who forgot to order the seats !
Add in ICT with all the Jambo connections and ex players / manager.
A highland derby or being the best team in the Highlands. It’s a no brainer.
Tick tock Jambos.
12-06-2020, 07:44 AM
Hahahaha. Across on Brokeback they're discounting the DR piece because the journalist once wrote something vaguely anti hearts.
Is the one thing I'm enjoying about this, they are SEETHING
EI255
12-06-2020, 07:46 AM
Everyone should calm. They simply won't get the required votes.
Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
12-06-2020, 07:46 AM
I hope that's a mistake and you actually meant philanthropic gestures.
The poor citizens of Alloa and Arbroath don't deserve a bunch of Jambos driving round the streets on the back of a lorry playing crappy orchestra music to them.
12-06-2020, 07:49 AM
*SPFL reconstruction bid in tatters amid Championship opposition that dooms Hearts to relegation*
The last gasp push to find a consensus for change appears to have failed for a final time.
The late push for 14-team*Premiership*is on the verge of finally being killed off for good.
Record Sport*understands*Ross County*and a plethora of Championship clubs are refusing to shift in their opposition to an enlarged top flight – and are firmly against bringing in a new set up with the fixture list for next term due out in just 10 days.
The SPFL delivered their latest proposal this week and have asked clubs to give an indicative vote by Monday before going towards an official ballot.
But the proposal is unlikely to even survive the weekend – leaving Hearts to face up to the reality they will start next season in the Championship.
The plan needs 11 out of 12 Premierships to be on board and 75 percent of the top two divisions and 32 of the 42 clubs overall to go through.
It is understood there is sympathy for the Jambos’ plight after*Ann Budge’s club were left marooned to the foot of the Premiership after the season was brought to an early conclusion.
But there is strong feeling the 14-10-10-10 structure is not the answer – and Ross County chairman Roy MacGregor is among those set to kibosh the move in the next 48 hours.
The Staggies chief believes the bigger top flight would cause more damage to the game than good – as it would create a two tier Premiership.
The proposal seen by*Record Sport suggests the league would split after two rounds of fixtures – 26 games – and then the top half and bottom half would play each other home and away again.
This would create a 36 game season for the top six and give the bottom eight 38 matches.
But MacGregor believes it would be impossible for most clubs to sell season tickets on the back of the proposal as teams in the lower section would be effectively be facing a large portion of the campaign in an inferior division.
There are also fears this would result in numerous meaningless fixtures for sides at the top end of the bottom eight beyond the split.
Several clubs are concerned with season ticket sales and the earlier split would create uncertainty, while the pay at the gate punters – who could be crucial once stadiums re-open to supporters – could be turned off by matches lacking in significance.
A source told*Record Sport: “It is unlikely to get much support beyond the club who would avoid relegation or who would go up as part of the proposal.
“The fixture list is due to be released in 10 days and it would be nonsensical to rip up the entire structure at this stage, particularly when a 14 team set up has so many problems.
“The general consensus is the 12-team division is not perfect, but it has worked well for a number of years as it provides a competitive league with meaningful games.
“A 14 team structure would not provide that.”
There is also widespread opposition in the Championship and sources indicate there is little chance of hitting the 75 percent support mark to nudge the plans through.
One Championship club told*Record Sport: “There’s no real incentive for clubs at our level to support any 14-10-10-10 proposal. That’s not reconstruction for our division – it’s status quo. And that is the way most of the clubs are thinking.
“There was a consensus that a 14 team Championship would be something we could get behind as it was something new. But this is just more of the same.
“We wouldn’t be voting for something fresh or reinvigorating. We’d be voting to keep Hearts in the Premiership. Hearts will back it as will Inverness Caley Thistle and possibly Dundee but there’s absolutely nothing in it for the rest of us.”
SPFL sides have already voted down a temporary move to a bigger top flight and the Rangers proposal for a 14-10-18 set up including Old Firm colt was also dismissed by several lower league clubs due to opposition.
The SPFL board have admitted this is the final throw of the dice after a series of conference calls with clubs.
Chief executive*Neil Doncaster*said: “We’ve been consulting with our clubs regarding possible reconstruction in recent weeks and asked all 42 clubs to give their views.
“Now that 41 out of 42 clubs have responded, it is clear that there is enough support for a permanent 14-10-10-10 structure to merit a second consultation stage.
“We have written to clubs asking for an indicative ‘vote’ on whether that is something they would vote in favour of if it was included in a detailed formal resolution.
“It’s important to underline that this is not a binding vote and is intended only to steer the board on whether to put forward a formal resolution for voting on, or not.
“Understandably, the consultation exercise confirmed there is sympathy for those clubs relegated at the end of Season 2019/20, but also that there is no reasonable prospect of clubs approving a temporary reconstruction solution.
“However, the board has judged there is sufficient support for a permanent change to merit this second stage of consultation.
“As ever, it will be up to the clubs to decide whether or not to support this proposal and we will be guided by the democratic outcome of the process.
“We are understandably keen to get clarity one way or another at the start of next week, as the timescales are extremely tight and we are faced with the additional complexities of resuming the season, caused by Covid-19.”
Bottom 8 would be 40 games not 38 as the record says most of them totally meaningless imo. Crowds would fall off a cliff if say 7th and safe from relegation. The decision not to vote for this is absolutely nothing to do with Hearts it is simply a terrible proposal with much less money for the bottom 8 teams. The fact there seems to be no clarity around relegation is also a joke. Get this punted forever. See no benefit in this for teams like Livi Killie Ross county Hamilton us Motherwell United both saints imo.
Clarence
12-06-2020, 07:50 AM
Keep Calm
and
Stop All This Restructuring Carry On
12-06-2020, 07:52 AM
I don’t really see what has changed, the SPFL are asking the clubs to agree reconstruction, if they don’t there are only two options.
The SPFL make an executive decision to force reconstruction or we go to court.
Posted by "Jambo in Yorkshire" who has less than 400 posts, but it's basically where they're all coming from.
They're forgetting the 3rd and most likely option - ie. Hearts stay relegated, shut their gobs and start getting quotes for coaches to Arbroath, Alloa & the likes.
12-06-2020, 08:00 AM
Relegation for Hearts would see them dissspaer off the radar for a season unless they're playing a big team like Ross County in one of the cups and SKY show the goals. Fantastic.
12-06-2020, 08:22 AM
Surely the incompetence of Doncaster has been highlighted for all to see in this shambles , he must go.
12-06-2020, 08:23 AM
I think also when you think about it the teams including ourselves have the opportunity of a competitive advantage over one of our main rivals for a season especially given the additional funding they have had recently and continue to have and imo it would be pretty negligent not to take advantage. In the main because you would know that they wouldn't turn it down if roles were reversed.
12-06-2020, 08:24 AM
This proposal will be rejected, but there’ll be another one that comes along straight after.
I assume there’s no limit to the number of different (but really just the same) proposals that can be put forward?
12-06-2020, 08:26 AM
This proposal will be rejected, but there’ll be another one that comes along straight after.
I assume there’s no limit to the number of different (but really just the same) proposals that can be put forward?
Either way, this will be the last for the time being. The fixtures for next season are due to be announced.
12-06-2020, 08:27 AM
Not according to Doncaster. This is it, sink or swim for the Jambos.
12-06-2020, 08:28 AM
Not according to Doncaster. This is it, sink or swim for the Jambos.
I don’t believe him.
I’ve absolutely no doubt there will be another proposal next week.
12-06-2020, 08:28 AM
I think also when you think about it the teams including ourselves have the opportunity of a competitive advantage over one of our main rivals for a season especially given the additional funding they have had recently and continue to have and imo it would be pretty negligent not to take advantage. In the main because you would know that they wouldn't turn it down if roles were reversed.
Exactly - if Hearts were promoted under reconstruction, then effectively Hibs will have been penalised more than them by how the season was ended.
12-06-2020, 08:32 AM
I assume there’s no limit to the number of different (but really just the same) proposals that can be put forward?As long as the members allow it to drag on there is no end to the number of Save Hearts In Trouble schemes that can be presented.
Ranging from those that are apparently in every clubs interest but have to have Hearts in the top league, right down to those that see Hearts abandon their previous allies but still manage to fit Hearts in the top league.
If it's to drag on we need to see proposals for similar models but where the teams to make it into any new top league do it the season after next based on their sporting success in the coming season if we are going to change at all.