View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

20-06-2018, 07:07 PM
I don't mind the Iranian fans making a racket. They're at the World Cup, enjoying themselves and they won their opener.

Their tactics aren't anything different from countless other teams across the world, facing opponents at a much higher level.

20-06-2018, 07:09 PM
great save...pity about the play acting afterwards

Im loving this goalie, top double save and he DID get a kick on the knee.

Unconvential goalkeeping to say the least but he kept it out. Good instincts fo flap at the loose ball.

Iran are everything what is bad about football

WTF are they doing there playing at a world cup

It totally defeats what should be a showpiece tournament

Hope Spain pump the cheats this half

20-06-2018, 07:11 PM
Crap game, Iran playing Levein tactics and cheating at every opportunity, Spain are a spent force and have no spark in the team.

:agree: Spain are technically brilliant but punchless and badly in need of a Ronaldo or Messi. Iran are disgracing themselves.

This keeper :faf:

Spain starting to find pockets of space. Goal by 60 minutes imo.

20-06-2018, 07:12 PM
I thought that was in

I thought that was in!!

Go on the cheats.

Iran are everything what is bad about football

WTF are they doing there playing at a world cup

It totally defeats what should be a showpiece tournament

Hope Spain pump the cheats this half

20-06-2018, 07:13 PM
woohooooooooooo :thumbsup:

Spain starting to find pockets of space. Goal by 60 minutes imo.

Ahem....

Own goal?

:faf: ooo youre on shaky ground there

You try playing 7s with a bunch of them every Sunday for 2 years. You’ll learn how to swear in Persian like a trooper, and your snarling/rolling around at the same time skills will multiply!

Excellent!!

Justice for fitba

I hate it when the good guys win.

Get in there!

Class tells

20-06-2018, 07:14 PM
Lol Costa gets it

Get in 😂

Oh dear that's really bad luck on the plucky Iranians :greengrin

Yes! Football wins .

Own goal?

Off the Iranian back onto his knee

Own goal?

Came off Costa's knee

20-06-2018, 07:15 PM
Own goal?

Costas.

Thank **** for that. Means Iranians must at least try and play

Justice for fitba

Brilliant irony, Diego Costa scores a goal and everyone celebrates that fair play has won the day:greengrin

C’mon Spain, get another two or three.

20-06-2018, 07:16 PM
I might have mentioned this a million or so times but I love Iniesta. Everything ai love to see in a player, drifts about and makes the game look effortless.

20-06-2018, 07:16 PM
Brilliant irony, Diego Costa scores a goal and everyone celebrates that fair play has won the day:greengrin

Irony is great, Ramos knows how to deal with these cheats too

20-06-2018, 07:17 PM
Iranians picked the wrong team to go 1-0 down to :greengrin

20-06-2018, 07:17 PM
I might have mentioned this a million or so times but I love Iniesta. Everything ai love to see in a player, drifts about and makes the game look effortless.

I agree however in the last 6 months or so I've seen more and more of Isco, he can take over the wee man's mantle for Spain, don't think I had appreciated just how good he is

20-06-2018, 07:18 PM
Irony is great, Ramos knows how to deal with these cheats too

Aye, Ramos, the biggest cheat in world football, went up and gave the Iranian keeper pelters for play acting in the first half. Absolutely priceless:tee hee:

20-06-2018, 07:19 PM
Aye, Ramos, the biggest cheat in world football, went up and gave the Iranian keeper pelters for play acting in the first half. Absolutely priceless:tee hee:

Pepe versus Iran will be a blockbuster

20-06-2018, 07:20 PM
I agree however in the last 6 months or so I've seen more and more of Isco, he can take over the wee man's mantle for Spain, don't think I had appreciated just how good he is

I'd always been a wee bit unconvinced about Isco and thought he flattered to deceive at times but he's kicked on big time this season and looks the real deal.

20-06-2018, 07:20 PM
more iranian diving...****s

20-06-2018, 07:21 PM
No it ain’t as a potential Uruguay vs Iran knockout game would be a painful watch.

Whoever Uruguay play is going to be a game as welcome as an involuntary enema regardless.

Iran equalise!

dirty cheating ******s

****ing hell.

VAR though

20-06-2018, 07:22 PM
it's the cheating dive for the foul that should be reviewed...disgusting tactics

Ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. Get it up you.

Netanyahu in the booth rules out the goal.

20-06-2018, 07:23 PM
Goal disallowed

Oooft that looked tight.

Thank F***!

Thank you VAR!

Up ye! Well done VAR 😂

I can't believe I'm happy at VAR

Unlucky Iran, deserving of so much more :greengrin

wakey wakey Espana

You're on fire!

20-06-2018, 07:24 PM
**** you VAR, cheating of this magnitude deserves a break haha

20-06-2018, 07:25 PM
Ya beauty

VAR Rules 😀

20-06-2018, 07:25 PM
Brilliant!

20-06-2018, 07:26 PM
Thank **** , and breathe 😁

Pity it wasn't an unjust VAR decision. Ramos double red sending off now please.

Belter 🤣

20-06-2018, 07:27 PM

Sergio is the anti hero the world needs right now :cb

20-06-2018, 07:28 PM
Thank **** , and breathe [emoji16]

Honestly couldn’t make it up! My winnings are not a lot but god Spain better win

20-06-2018, 07:28 PM
Sergio is the anti hero the world needs right now :cb

He's in the Farage, Trump, Putin caste. Horrible.

20-06-2018, 07:29 PM
Sundayleague scramble

20-06-2018, 07:30 PM
That goalline scramble was class. Going against the grain but i think this game has been brilliant :faf:

20-06-2018, 07:31 PM
Spain are a bit powderpuff up front, no?

ooo class feint and dummy from the Iranian keeper.

That goalline scramble was class. Going against the grain but i think this game has been brilliant :faf:

It’s been a more entertaining watch than the other two games today

20-06-2018, 07:32 PM
If Ramos was playing for Hibs he would be a cult hero.

20-06-2018, 07:32 PM

It's thoroughly enjoyable.

The football has been missing but it's entertaining, probably with the help of this thread 😁

20-06-2018, 07:33 PM
It’s been a more entertaining watch than the other two games today

This is actually a giant game of human fooseball.

20-06-2018, 07:33 PM

Apparently he was homeless a few years ago, even when he was a pro footballer.

20-06-2018, 07:34 PM
He's in the Farage, Trump, Putin caste. Horrible.

It's thoroughly enjoyable.

The football has been missing but it's entertaining, probably with the help of this thread 😁

Its strange how many of the iranian team have exactly the same beards.

Sauzee esq

No input of jersey number fonts that I've seen for today's games. :confused:

20-06-2018, 07:35 PM

Nearly. Redundant second word and change one consonant in the first.

20-06-2018, 07:36 PM
Apparently he was homeless a few years ago, even when he was a pro footballer.

Really? good knowledge. Hes unconventional but he looks a fine keeper.

20-06-2018, 07:38 PM

Ramos is a superb player. His cheating is an impressive skill in its own right.

20-06-2018, 07:38 PM
Iranian-standard play acting from the Spaniard there.

20-06-2018, 07:39 PM
Really? good knowledge. Hes unconventional but he looks a fine keeper.

He's also a beard stylist on the side

20-06-2018, 07:40 PM

argggggghhhhh

Nearly. Redundant second word and change one consonant in the first.
Now your being too clever by half.:greengrin

nellio
Iran just brought on the top scorer in the Dutch league. What's he doing on the bench??? Shows they had no ambition to win the game in the first place.

20-06-2018, 07:41 PM
He's also a beard stylist on the side

Different stylists for different parts of the beard!

Impressive attention to detail.

20-06-2018, 07:41 PM
Choo choo, that would have been some goal

20-06-2018, 07:42 PM
Why couldn't these minnows have played like this all game? idiots.

20-06-2018, 07:44 PM
For once i agree with the Tyldesley creature. Morocco have been really unlucky in this group, i think they can get something against Spain in the final game which means the plucky Iranians arent out of it yet.

20-06-2018, 07:52 PM
No input of jersey number fonts that I've seen for today's games. :confused:

Think I overdid it last night.

As for tonight, two Adidas fonts cancelling each other out to an extent.

I'll reassert my contention that the ones and sevens are too similar. This however has meant that the Iranian number nineteen, Hosseini, looks like he might be wearing a 79 from a distance. Especially if you're viewing on SD or have had a couple of libations.

I like to think it's deliberate and if there's one thing the modern game is crying out for, it's more symbolic tributes to the overthrow of American-appointed despots through fundamentalist revolution Glenn.

20-06-2018, 07:53 PM
Hahaha wtf was that?

bit of a sweat waiting on all games today just having 1-0 wins :eyes:

WTF was that from the thrower 😂

What the hell was that all about?

20-06-2018, 07:55 PM
Good result for football.

20-06-2018, 07:56 PM
Good result for football.

... Said Sergio Ramos with a sly yet jaunty wink.

20-06-2018, 07:58 PM
Spain are great going forward but a bit rocky at the back. Still, no team is perfect in this World Cup.

20-06-2018, 07:58 PM
**** me. Why did they decide to screen three 90 minute episodes of the Gilmore Girls exactly when the footy was on today. Hopefully they'll be showing the actual games tomorrow.

20-06-2018, 08:02 PM
A lot of posts slating Iran on here tonight but there wasn't anything like it when we had the Swiss, taking turn about to kick and up-end Neymar. As I posted at the time, I don't think there was an outfield player, including their subs, who wasn't penalised for a foul on him

That's far more cynical football in my book.

20-06-2018, 08:04 PM
A lot of posts slating Iran on here tonight but there wasn't anything like it when we had the Swiss, taking turn about to kick and up-end Neymar. As I posted at the time, I don't think there was an outfield player, including their subs, who wasn't penalised for a foul on him

I'll see whatever you want to say about that plus anything else football related and then raise you Ramos. Game over.

20-06-2018, 08:29 PM
... Said Sergio Ramos with a sly yet jaunty wink.
I love Ramos, reminds me of John McNamee, probably before your time:wink:

20-06-2018, 08:30 PM

I said at the time they were involved in rotational fouling.

20-06-2018, 08:33 PM
I love Ramos, reminds me of John McNamee, probably before your time:wink:

:greengrin Even Big John never got sent off 22 times in his club career :greengrin

As an aside, it's clear to me that Ramos is actually a very good footballer. Can't understand his need to resort to thuggery :greengrin

20-06-2018, 08:36 PM
A wee bit disappointed with the tournament so far. I'm sure it'll light up soon. I hope!

20-06-2018, 08:41 PM
WTF was that from the thrower 😂

Class!!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44555025

Imagine if one of our players tried that.

20-06-2018, 08:45 PM
:greengrin Even Big John never got sent off 22 times in his club career :greengrin

As an aside, it's clear to me that Ramos is actually a very good footballer. Can't understand his need to resort to thuggery :greengrin
Yes he is, his long range passing is pretty skillful.

20-06-2018, 09:01 PM

I think it would be great if Managers just fronted up completely in pre and post match interviews.

Interviewer: So Vladimir, how do you feel about the result against Brazil? Were you pleased to get the point or were you hoping for a win?

Swiss Manager: Well we decided to opt for a 4-5-1 to pack the midfield and deny Brazil as much possession as possible. We knew Neymar would be a problem so we adopted a rotational fouling system to contain him. I think it worked pretty well. I thought about going for a more direct literal man marking approach but our usual 'leveller' wasn't available for selection because he's injured, plus he's doing a little time. Anyway we settled the wee ****er pretty good so there was no need to execute our planned tunnel attack at half time. Think's he's hard but we're the gangsters, know what I mean?

*Later*

Interviewer: So Tite, good game tonight and the Swiss did well to run you so close don't you think?

Brazilian Manager: ****s

20-06-2018, 09:06 PM
I think it would be great if Managers just fronted up completely in pre and post match interviews.

Interviewer: So Vladimir, how do you feel about the result against Brazil? Were you pleased to get the point or were you hoping for a win?

Swiss Manager: Well we decided to opt for a 4-5-1 to pack the midfield and deny Brazil as much possession as possible. We knew Neymar would be a problem so we adopted a rotational fouling system to contain him. I think it worked pretty well. I thought about going for a more direct literal man marking approach but our usual 'leveller' wasn't available for selection because he's injured, plus he's doing a little time. Anyway we settled the wee ****er pretty good so there was no need to execute our planned tunnel attack at half time. Think's he's hard but we're the gangsters, know what I mean?

*Later*

Interviewer: So Tite, good game tonight and the Swiss did well to run you so close don't you think?

Brazilian Manager: ****s
Love it :greengrin

20-06-2018, 09:30 PM
Sky saying Portugal are ahead of Spain on goal difference?
How is this, same points, both scored and lost same amount of goals?

20-06-2018, 09:32 PM

Must be alphabetically

20-06-2018, 09:33 PM
Pepe = Cheat

End of................

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44553190

20-06-2018, 09:34 PM
Iran played to there strengths 1st half and why wouldn’t they? If they had set out from the onset and gone all “next goal wins” they would have been buried before halftime, it wasn’t great to watch but they had a game plan to keep it tight and nick a goal, almost worked out for them. Saying they should have attacked from the off is folly

20-06-2018, 09:35 PM

Seemingly less bookings =fair play

20-06-2018, 09:39 PM
Iran played to there strengths 1st half and why wouldn’t they? If they had set out from the onset and gone all “next goal wins” they would have been buried before halftime, it wasn’t great to watch but they had a game plan to keep it tight and nick a goal, almost worked out for them. Saying they should have attacked from the off is folly
Sorry I know I'm being pedantic but, it's 'their not there'

20-06-2018, 09:49 PM
Sorry I know I'm being pedantic but, it's 'their not there'

Aye your being pedantic [emoji122] I won’t loose any sleep over it [emoji848][emoji847]

20-06-2018, 09:55 PM
Aye your being pedantic [emoji122] I won’t loose any sleep over it [emoji848][emoji847]

You shouldn't of said that.

20-06-2018, 10:00 PM

Big John didn't have the Two Yellows to cope with! I reckon players got away with more in those days. Men were men.

20-06-2018, 10:07 PM

ITV had Spain ahead on the “fair play ruling”.

20-06-2018, 10:34 PM

You did, I remember :agree:

20-06-2018, 10:41 PM
Anyone seen this yet?

https://twitter.com/nozza_/status/1009132400188841984?s=21

21-06-2018, 05:17 AM
Anyone seen this yet?

:faf: yep, neville feels threatened.

21-06-2018, 06:06 AM
Anyone seen this yet?

21-06-2018, 10:22 AM
Some interesting games today.

Denmark v Australia

13:00
ITV

France v Peru

16:00
ITV

Argentina v Croatia

19:00
BBC One

21-06-2018, 11:11 AM
Maclaren on the bench again, for today’s game

21-06-2018, 11:14 AM
I fancy more surprises today. Draw in the first game, Peru and Croatia to win.

21-06-2018, 11:25 AM
Some interesting games today.

Denmark v Australia

13:00
ITV

France v Peru

16:00
ITV

Argentina v Croatia

19:00
BBC One

The first one looks like the runt of the litter. Dull v Duller. Lurpak v Vegemite. Alphabeat v Men at Work. Faroe Islands v Tasmania. Hans Christian Andersen v Germaine Greer. Former seafaring power v former penal colony. Hamlet v Picnic at Hanging Rock. Borgen v Neighbours. To me this is basically an English Division 2 fixture, with all the appeal that would hold.

After that though it should be a lot better. Really hoping the national team of the Peruvian Football Federation can take three points to revitalise their chances. Love their strip, their attitude, their supporters and their style of play.

Due to the position the team of the Argentine Football Association find themselves in with one point after the first game they really need to go hunting for the win. I'm hoping that this means the game turns into a proper ill tempered bloodbath cardfest and with the team of the Croatian Football Federation as their opponents they have a battle ready enemy.

I started this World Cup a bit ambivalent about it in the post-season Hibernian glow that I had going but now I'm absolutely loving it. I also think we should all be showing the proper Ron Manager discipline as evidenced in the Portuguese thread by naming every team with their full, correct and official title. You know it makes sense.

21-06-2018, 12:05 PM
Sweepstake on which name McCoist will insist on mis-pronouncing today?

Lewandowski is pure raging after the other day, I have to say, by the way, at this moment in time.

21-06-2018, 12:07 PM
Great finish.

21-06-2018, 12:08 PM
What a goal by Eriksen! He’s a brilliant little player.

21-06-2018, 12:08 PM
GK has to do better for me, went in-between his hands....

21-06-2018, 12:29 PM
The first one looks like the runt of the litter. Dull v Duller. Lurpak v Vegemite. Alphabeat v Men at Work. Faroe Islands v Tasmania. Hans Christian Andersen v Germaine Greer. Former seafaring power v former penal colony. Hamlet v Picnic at Hanging Rock. Borgen v Neighbours. To me this is basically an English Division 2 fixture, with all the appeal that would hold.

Good league that English Division 2. :wink:

It's an entertaining game.

blaikie
21-06-2018, 12:30 PM
Hope McClaren gets his chance!

On a side note ... definitely the weirdest place I’ve watched a game though, I’m currently 37000ft above Iraq on the way home!

21-06-2018, 12:36 PM
The lack of free kicks (so far) is helping the game.

Oh oh, controversial VAR moment coming up...

21-06-2018, 12:36 PM
Penalty for Australia.

21-06-2018, 12:37 PM
VAR gives a pen for Australia

21-06-2018, 12:38 PM
Didn't think there was much the guy could have done to avoid that, pretty hard to jump with your arms down

1-1

what has the defender to do, jump for a high ball with his hands tied to his sides for the luv of ****, ridiculous

21-06-2018, 12:40 PM
Denmark did gain an advantage from the ball hitting the defenders arm, intentional or not, as the header was on target.

I'd want that if it was Hibs. I'm supporting Australia as well so it's a stonewaller 😉

21-06-2018, 12:41 PM
what has the defender to do, jump for a high ball with his hands tied to his sides for the luv of ****, ridiculous

I know what you mean, but no-one jumps with their arms aloft like that.

The ball was goalbound and the defender's arm, in an unusual position, deflected it.

It's a penalty for sure.

21-06-2018, 12:42 PM
Sweet dreams :greengrin

21-06-2018, 12:43 PM

The ball was goalbound and the defender's arm, in an unusual position, deflected it.

It's a penalty for sure.
Thats spot on.

21-06-2018, 12:56 PM
Absolute, definite handball.

Can we have another one please😂

21-06-2018, 12:58 PM
I’ve lost count on the number of pens that have been given at this World Cup. Surely it’s got to be a record?

21-06-2018, 01:04 PM
McCoist one of the best commentators so far. Engaging, enthusiastic, interesting, good points and analysis. Far better than Lawro, Phil Neville etc.

21-06-2018, 01:08 PM
McCoist one of the best commentators so far. Engaging, enthusiastic, interesting, good points and analysis. Far better than Lawro, Phil Neville etc.

And also that Vicki Sparks. Had to watch the Portugal - Morocco game on mute yesterday as she was doing my nut in!

RoslinInstHibby
21-06-2018, 01:37 PM
would like to have seen Maclaren come on there:agree:

21-06-2018, 01:41 PM
I am sure McLaren would have got on the end of a few of these crosses into the box.

21-06-2018, 01:49 PM
would like to have seen Maclaren come on there:agree:

I am sure McLaren would have got on the end of a few of these crosses into the box.

Don't think he'll get his chance, the manager didn't really rate him when he 1st picked his squad, he was added almost at the last minute.

21-06-2018, 01:50 PM
Impressed by Qz performance.

21-06-2018, 01:52 PM
Impressed by Qz performance.

I think they were unfortunate not to get the win in the end. That Jackson Irvine used to play in Scotland, and for Scotland u20’s or something

21-06-2018, 01:54 PM
I think they were unfortunate not to get the win in the end. That Jackson Irvine used to play in Scotland, and for Scotland u20’s or something

He scored the winner for Ross County against us in the League Cup Final I think.

His auld man lives near Melbourne.

21-06-2018, 01:56 PM
He scored the winner for Ross County against us in the League Cup Final I think.

He played but didn’t score

21-06-2018, 01:59 PM
Come on the french 🐸

21-06-2018, 02:00 PM

It's a penalty for sure.

everyone jumps with their arms up.... ramos wouldn't leave the ground other wise.

21-06-2018, 02:00 PM
never EVER a penalty :bitchy: if sevco got a penalty for that touching Paul Hanlon's hand i swear i would do time :agree:

21-06-2018, 02:01 PM
Just saw it, never a pen in your puff

21-06-2018, 02:25 PM

It was Alex Schalk that scored the winner in the final. Irvine was the man of the match in that final. Played really well unfortunately against us that day.

21-06-2018, 02:33 PM
Just saw it, never a pen in your puff
Defo penalty.:agree:

21-06-2018, 02:36 PM
Defo penalty.:agree:

Nut, I’m not having it. 😂

21-06-2018, 03:12 PM
Peru are winning this, I feel it in my water. Hoping both these teams qualify.

21-06-2018, 03:16 PM
France look better now they have Giroud to hold it up

21-06-2018, 03:18 PM
France look better now they have Giroud to hold it up

He should play every game.

21-06-2018, 03:19 PM
He should play every game.

He really should, still can't believe Arsenal were silly enough to let him go

21-06-2018, 03:21 PM
Guerrero is a scary looking dude. He'd tear your heart out and eat it in front of you :agree:

21-06-2018, 03:22 PM
Umtiti is a big Jessie.

21-06-2018, 03:24 PM
Guerrero is a scary looking dude. He'd tear your heart out and eat it in front of you :agree:

He looks like the kinda guy that would put coke in his tea haha

21-06-2018, 03:25 PM
Commentator: "Peru are in the top three for iconic kits. Apart from the numbers."

Fanny.

21-06-2018, 03:26 PM
He looks like the kinda guy that would put coke in his tea haha

He also said 'cocaine is part of our culture' :agree:

21-06-2018, 03:27 PM
He really should, still can't believe Arsenal were silly enough to let him goHad to happen to bring in Aubameyang, a far better player.

21-06-2018, 03:28 PM

Flores is the complete opposite, he looks really happy and cheeky, I like him

21-06-2018, 03:29 PM
Is there any ****er still at home in Peru? There must be a shedload of Bolivians or Ecuadorians minding the shop for them while they're all in Russia.

21-06-2018, 03:29 PM
Had to happen to bring in Aubameyang, a far better player.

He really isn't.

Just so as you all know, I bought Yosimar Yotun for Hibs in fifa. He formed a good combo with McGinn.

21-06-2018, 03:30 PM
Flores is the complete opposite, he looks really happy and cheeky, I like him

Sort of a Peruvian chuckle brother :agree:

He really isn't.

Just so as you all know, I bought Yosimar Yotun for Hibs in fifa. He formed a good combo with McGinn.

He really is. His record speaks for itself. He is a genuine world class striker who will compete for top scorer this season.

Giroud is a brilliant player but he was inconsistent and not the striker Arsenal need.

Had to happen to bring in Aubameyang, a far better player.

They have £137m cash reserves in the bank do they not?

21-06-2018, 03:31 PM
The coke heid unlucky there. Umtiti just isn't that good imo.

21-06-2018, 03:35 PM
We've had a goal at least in every game so far, can't remember that ever happening after so many games in the world cup

21-06-2018, 03:35 PM
They have £137m cash reserves in the bank do they not?Chelsea wouldn't let Batshuayi go unless they got Giroud and Dortmund wouldn't let Aubameyang go unless they gotBatshuayi

21-06-2018, 03:37 PM
He really is. His record speaks for itself. He is a genuine world class striker who will compete for top scorer this season.

Giroud is a brilliant player but he was inconsistent and not the striker Arsenal need.

1-0 Mbappe.

Giroud scored more goals per minute on the pitch than any other striker in the top league in England. Just because Arsène Wenger didn't play him and can't find his own erse with both hands and a power torch doesn't mean anything :greengrin

21-06-2018, 03:37 PM
Chelsea wouldn't let Batshuayi go unless they got Giroud and Dortmund wouldn't let Aubameyang go unless they gotBatshuayi

Ah I remember now, the old Allan, Bain, Murray playbook

21-06-2018, 03:43 PM
1-0 Mbappe.

Giroud scored more goals per minute on the pitch than any other striker in the top league in England. Just because Arsène Wenger didn't play him and can't find his own erse with both hands and a power torch doesn't mean anything :greengrin

Did he? He played 29 premier league games and scored 7 goals, Aubameyang played 13 and scored 10 goals. Find it hard to believe Auba played more minutes. And he was adjusting to a new league.

Wenger made Giroud a far better player over their time together, he'll wont do better at Chelsea than Arsenal.

21-06-2018, 03:43 PM
Commentator: "Peru are in the top three for iconic kits. Apart from the numbers."

Fanny.

Just tuned in. That's bang out of order.

I'm hoping Peru get the chance to roll out their change top in the last game. It's a thing of beauty.

21-06-2018, 03:47 PM
Did he? He played 29 premier league games and scored 7 goals, Aubameyang played 13 and scored 10 goals. Find it hard to believe Auba played more minutes. And he was adjusting to a new league.

Wenger made Giroud a far better player over their time together, he'll wont do better at Chelsea than Arsenal.

My source is the express, but apparently is correct by minutes on the pitch. He's just a player I'd always have in my team, he can do everything.

yonder1875
21-06-2018, 03:48 PM
Griezmann is total class.

My source is the express, but apparently is correct by minutes on the pitch. He's just a player I'd always have in my team, he can do everything.

Can he scratch his left elbow with his left hand?

That Peru support deserves a bit more from this world cup. Unfortunately France just look a level above offensively and defensively.

My source is the express, but apparently is correct by minutes on the pitch. He's just a player I'd always have in my team, he can do everything.He can't score 25 goals a season, something Arsenal have needed for years.

Arsenal fans love the guy but you wont find one who'd trade him for Auba.

21-06-2018, 03:50 PM
France look much better today. Peru started off well and should have taken the lead but looks as if they have tired.

21-06-2018, 03:53 PM
Just tuned in. That's bang out of order.

I'm hoping Peru get the chance to roll out their change top in the last game. It's a thing of beauty.

It really is. It's like Aberdeen found some style.

These commentators have been fairly cheese-tastic.

21-06-2018, 03:56 PM
What did YOU do in the Sunshine on Leith Twitter war daddy?

21-06-2018, 03:59 PM
He can't score 25 goals a season, something Arsenal have needed for years.

Arsenal fans love the guy but you wont find one who'd trade him for Auba.

I know one fan who would have kept Giroud and invested in the defence instead. But that would have made too much sense.

21-06-2018, 04:01 PM

It really is. Coca de Mate has been used in the Andes for a very long time and the effects are mild and nothing like the refined powder high sought by users in 'developed' nations. It helps travelers with altitude sickness and they sell little sweeties as well as tea bags. Don't take any home though as it is illegal to bring any into most countries.

21-06-2018, 04:04 PM
I know one fan who would have kept Giroud and invested in the defence instead. But that would have made too much sense.They've signed 2 defenders and a goalie already this summer. Players like Aubameyang don't come along often. Easy decision.

21-06-2018, 04:06 PM
It really is. Coca de Mate has been used in the Andes for a very long time and the effects are mild and nothing like the refined powder high sought by users in 'developed' nations. It helps travelers with altitude sickness and they sell little sweeties as well as tea bags. Don't take any home though as it is illegal to bring any into most countries.

:agree: My extremely upright and respectable Free Church of Scotland grandparents lived in South America in the 30s and 40s - my dad was born in Peru. They brought back weird looking Mate related implements from that time and consumed it regularly while there.

21-06-2018, 04:08 PM
That is some ****in size of numbering on the back of the Peruvian tops.

You could unstitch that and use it to cover your car in the winter. Maybe not the zero though (unless you folded it the right way)

As for the French,my eye is drawn to the lettering font for their names.

Definite touch of Art Deco, conveying a sense of panache, elan and erm...other French words.

21-06-2018, 04:09 PM
They've signed 2 defenders and a goalie already this summer. Players like Aubameyang don't come along often. Easy decision.

Lacazette is a very similar style to Aubameyang. They broke the bank for one, then broke it again for the other, and got rid of the guy who could offer a plan b in Giroud. In the meanwhile, they still haven't addressed the defence, 34yearold lichtsteiner notwithstanding.

Well have to agree to disagree.

21-06-2018, 04:11 PM
Trivia Corner:

Peru is the only World Cup competitor whose capital city's name is also part of the NATO phonetic alphabet.

21-06-2018, 04:12 PM
Trivia Corner:

Peru is the only World Cup competitor whose capital city's name is also part of the NATO phonetic alphabet.

.. and whose main export is also part of the same alphabet.

21-06-2018, 04:14 PM
Lacazette is a very similar style to Aubameyang. They broke the bank for one, then broke it again for the other, and got rid of the guy who could offer a plan b in Giroud. In the meanwhile, they still haven't addressed the defence, 34yearold lichtsteiner notwithstanding.

Well have to agree to disagree.Lacazette wasn't quite working and has looked much better since Auba came in. A proper strike partnership. He is 6ft 2, hardly a bad plan B.

They have also signed Sokratis from Dortmund and Leno from Leverkusen. Rumours of another defender and a defensive midfielder as well. They aren't stupid. Giroud has plenty of time and didn't showed enough, time to move on.

21-06-2018, 04:15 PM
I'm watching this match and Sunshine on Leith in the semi-final of the Football Anthems World Cup on twitter at the same time. Pretty exciting - with 8 minutes to go it looks like SoL is going to make the final. That's a sweet Hibee moment - Yams will ****** HATE it.

21-06-2018, 04:18 PM
https://twitter.com/BBClamacqshow

If you missed this, it's extra time.

1 minute left. Please vote

We won! 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

21-06-2018, 04:19 PM
Love, love, love watching Peru.

21-06-2018, 04:21 PM
.. and whose main export is also part of the same alphabet.

It's where they smelt the Oscars.

21-06-2018, 04:22 PM
Love, love, love watching Peru.

It would be fantastic if they could get a goal.

21-06-2018, 04:23 PM

It really would. The supporters would go Banzai. Does a draw still leave them a chance of qualifying?

21-06-2018, 04:36 PM
Really not sure how a French side supposedly containing world class players can conspire to be so disjointed and miserable in style.

21-06-2018, 04:41 PM
Fekir diving nicely there.

Ralphy C
21-06-2018, 04:48 PM

commentator just said 17% of WC goals is scored in last 15 mins, mind you 15 mins is 17% of a game!!!:rolleyes:

Ralphy C
21-06-2018, 04:49 PM
Fekir diving nicely there.
Mrs Browns fav player:wink:

21-06-2018, 04:54 PM
I'll be sad to see the back of Peru and Morocco. Played great stuff and hard to believe they've lost all their games.

21-06-2018, 04:55 PM
I'll be sad to see the back of Peru and Morocco. Played great stuff and hard to believe they've lost all their games.Agreed but sadly both couldn't score in a brothel...both very unlucky to be out though

21-06-2018, 04:55 PM
Gutted. Plucky Peru full of style and colour go out to a drab, miserable, entirely predictably under performing French side.

Cheese eating square ball monkeys.

21-06-2018, 04:58 PM
Gutted. Plucky Peru full of style and colour go out to a drab, miserable, entirely predictably under performing French side.

Cheese eating square ball monkeys.

Only got themselves to blame for the Denmark result, I'm afraid.

21-06-2018, 04:59 PM
I'll be sad to see the back of Peru and Morocco. Played great stuff and hard to believe they've lost all their games.Couldn't agree more with you on this one, how neither has scored a goal is mental. Won't be the last we see of them at world cups.

21-06-2018, 05:24 PM
Hope McClaren gets his chance!

On a side note ... definitely the weirdest place I’ve watched a game though, I’m currently 37000ft above Iraq on the way home!

He'll get the last ten minutes against Peru, as his team mates are packing for home.

21-06-2018, 05:34 PM
Nut, I’m not having it. 😂
Have to agree to disagree :agree:

21-06-2018, 05:41 PM
Agreed but sadly both couldn't score in a brothel...both very unlucky to be out though

Your right not enough scoring ability, made chances but no takers.

21-06-2018, 05:43 PM
commentator just said 17% of WC goals is scored in last 15 mins, mind you 15 mins is 17% of a game!!!:rolleyes:

I heard him and did an almost cartoon-style double-take :greengrin

21-06-2018, 05:56 PM
The argentine fans were immense at the anthem there

21-06-2018, 05:58 PM
I thought Messi looked a wee bit anxious at his National anthem. He’ll probably go and score two or three now.:greengrin

21-06-2018, 06:01 PM
I thought Messi looked a wee bit anxious at his National anthem. He’ll probably go and score two or three now.:greengrin

I hope he does, don’t want to see players of his quality going out of the tournament early

21-06-2018, 06:08 PM
Early signs suggest this is going to be a tasty game
Would be surprised if it ends 11 v 11

21-06-2018, 06:12 PM
Argentinian players must have been watching some of the Iranians last nite.

Slightest touch. Throw self to ground and scream like you’ve been smacked with a baseball bat!

This part of the game grips my ****

21-06-2018, 06:19 PM
Why don't Argentina wear black shorts anymore? Their kit looks so much better with them.

21-06-2018, 06:20 PM
Well played the ref there. Perez throws himself down far too easily and then mascherano commits a foul and they both go shouting at the ref - he should have just booked the both of them.

21-06-2018, 06:22 PM
This is shaping up to be a belter

21-06-2018, 06:22 PM
Why don't Argentina wear black shorts anymore? Their kit looks so much better with them.

Stand to be corrected but I think there might be a rule whereby the kits have to contrast with each other, so that if one team has dark shorts the other has to have white or light shorts.

I seem to recall it coming in for the Brazil 2014 tournament but it may have been earlier.

EDIT - agree about the black shorts. It's a classic strip, best done simply.

21-06-2018, 06:26 PM
If Argentina score first the Croats will go completely Balkan and before you can say Gavrilo Princip there will be cards, hysterics, fake injuries and snotters. Excellent.

21-06-2018, 06:28 PM
Every Argentina home top seems to be an iconic thing of beauty.

I would prefer black shorts though.

21-06-2018, 06:29 PM
Sitter

21-06-2018, 06:29 PM
Is a cunning plan to fool, or a bad mistake

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/12016/11412104/raheem-sterling-set-to-be-dropped-for-england-v-panama-leaked-photo-suggests

David_D
21-06-2018, 06:33 PM
That’s 1-1 on sitters missed.

21-06-2018, 06:37 PM
How are we for goals scored so far compared to other World Cups? Is it just me that feels a bit short-changed?

21-06-2018, 06:39 PM
Nasty, nasty play by Rebic there.

21-06-2018, 06:41 PM
Is Messi actually on the pitch?

21-06-2018, 06:43 PM
Nasty, nasty play by Rebic there.

Leg breaker. Lucky to stay on.

21-06-2018, 06:45 PM
How are we for goals scored so far compared to other World Cups? Is it just me that feels a bit short-changed?

I don't know but it would have to go some to beat 1990!

I think the fact that yesterday and today have been low-scoring probably makes it feel worse than it maybe is?

21-06-2018, 06:46 PM
Is Messi actually on the pitch?

He's the wee guy in the number ten shirt for Argentina.

21-06-2018, 06:57 PM

He's the wee guy in the number ten shirt for Argentina.

Well he better start playing then as he has done absolutely nothing in any world cup games he has ever played in , Where as Ronaldo...

21-06-2018, 06:59 PM

48 in total so far. 2014 had something like 60 at this stage. The record is joint 171 which was set in 1998 & 2014

21-06-2018, 07:07 PM

It feels like it’s been going on for a lot longer than a week. A bit of a slog up there with South Africa 2010 and miles off the quality of 2014.
Here’s hoping for a bit of improvement...

21-06-2018, 07:10 PM
Is Messi playing or has he accepted that Ronaldo is the best in the game ? Also, WTF has happened to Aguero ? Used to be a quality striker who's now no better than Kamberi.

What a total fanny, great finish though

What a howler!

21-06-2018, 07:11 PM
Messi and the Arggies going out.

21-06-2018, 07:11 PM
what an absolute dumb-dumb of a keeper, embarrassing

21-06-2018, 07:12 PM
That was still some finish though

Howler there from the Argentinian keeper! Cracking finish from the guy though!

Argentina are pish has to be said. Feel sorry for Messi he can’t do it on his own

21-06-2018, 07:13 PM
Is Messi playing or has he accepted that Ronaldo is the best in the game ? Also, WTF has happened to Aguero ? Used to be a quality striker who's now no better than Kamberi.

Nothing has happened to Aguero, he is still one of the best strikers in the world, helps if you give him chances or the ball though

21-06-2018, 07:14 PM
What’s the goalie daein Tom

21-06-2018, 07:14 PM
Argentina are pish has to be said. Feel sorry for Messi he can’t do it on his own

Ronaldo manages and Portugal are a weaker squad than Argentina imo.

21-06-2018, 07:15 PM
Said on the betting thread weeks ago there was money to be made betting against this Argentina team. Really poor side and they are horrific at the back.