View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

30-06-2018, 07:33 PM
they should have the world cup every 3 years :agree:

30-06-2018, 07:33 PM
CR7 and Messi out in the same day...?

30-06-2018, 07:43 PM
Godin is a better midfielder than most midfielders in this tournament. And he's a centre back. Best in the world imo.

30-06-2018, 07:45 PM
I don't think I've seen the tournament winners in either of today's games.

30-06-2018, 07:50 PM
Ronaldo fails to turn up in the knockout stages of the WC again.........

30-06-2018, 07:51 PM
That Uruguay LB looks a very good player. One of the best fullbacks in the World Cup

30-06-2018, 07:52 PM
Ronaldo fails to turn up in the knockout stages of the WC again.........

30-06-2018, 07:55 PM
That is exceptional goalkeeping. Comes through loads of bodies and takes all the pressure off, everything you want your goalie to do.

30-06-2018, 07:55 PM
Portugal didn't deserve it after that first half. Too slow in the build up

30-06-2018, 07:57 PM
Ronnie blows his last chance of a world cup..oh well.

30-06-2018, 07:57 PM
It's been a world cup of goals. Some absolute belters. That new Adidas ball seems to be flying all over the place. More of the same please.

30-06-2018, 07:58 PM
Good to see the back of the ego, but Suarez and Pepe are horrible too.

30-06-2018, 08:00 PM
Brilliant day of football.

ACLeith
30-06-2018, 08:00 PM
Listened to radio 5 live with TVs pictures. Main commentator so biased for Portugal but Dion Dublin totally honest, best I've heard so far. Cavani - no words for his performance but a great defence as well, Godin and the left back outstanding

yonder1875
30-06-2018, 08:02 PM
Didn't steal the headlines like Cavani but did anyone notice how solid Lucas Torreria was for Uruguay there? Won everything and distributed the ball well, was a very ****e-like performance.

Apparently he's joining Arsenal. The type of signing they've needed since Gilberto Silva left IMO.

30-06-2018, 08:03 PM
It's been a world cup of goals. Some absolute belters. That new Adidas ball seems to be flying all over the place. More of the same please.

132 goals scored in total so far. 40 goals away from setting a record.

Been a superb World Cup so far. Really enjoying it!

30-06-2018, 08:06 PM
Didn't steal the headlines like Cavani but did anyone notice how solid Lucas Torreria was for Uruguay there? Won everything and distributed the ball well, was a very ****e-like performance.

Apparently he's joining Arsenal. The type of signing they've needed since Gilberto Silva left IMO.

The LB - Diego Laxalt was absolutely tremendous as well. He’s been one of the best full backs in the World Cup this year.

30-06-2018, 08:11 PM
Glad to see the back of Messi and Ronaldo and all the nonsense argument they engender.

Move on up!

30-06-2018, 08:12 PM
I ****ing love the world cup.

30-06-2018, 08:29 PM

Spot on. Wenger had 10 years to sign that kinda player and failed miserably. Interesting to see how Arsenal shape up with a new direction

The young centre mid for Uruguay also looks top class, think he plays for Inter or Juve? Can’t remember the name but has a similar style to Carrick

renato
30-06-2018, 08:47 PM
Torreria’s been a standout for Sampdoria, Napoli amongst others were very keen but he’ll be a cracking signing for Arsenal, exactly what they need.

Laxalt’s also had a great season with Genoa, more of a left winger though but he’s very versatile. Lazio are heavily linked with him.

Bentacur is the other midfielder, very highly rated at Juve and I think they want to build the team around him in future. Classy player.

Setting aside the obvious ability of these guys, as well as the rest of the Uruguay team, it’s the work ethic and selflessness they all display that’s so admirable - coupled with brillliant tactical awareness and know how. One of the most street wise teams there. Everything Argentina aren’t, these days.

30-06-2018, 09:27 PM
I don't think I've seen the tournament winners in either of today's games.

Think you have and they’re called Uruguay.

30-06-2018, 10:15 PM
The LB - Diego Laxalt was absolutely tremendous as well. He’s been one of the best full backs in the World Cup this year.

State of his hair though.

30-06-2018, 11:01 PM
Anyone know when Gordon Brown was appointed as Portugal manager?

Lassht shheptember

30-06-2018, 11:03 PM

Very impressed by Torreira, the talk has been of him signing for Arsenal for a few weeks and I'm assuming it's agreed in principle and on hold until Uruguay's involvement in the WC ends.

Also thought the CH pairing was great - Godin gets a lot of the plaudits but Jimenez was really strong too.

30-06-2018, 11:14 PM
Anyone know when Gordon Brown was appointed as Portugal manager?

M. Emmet Walsh on his coaching staff as well.

30-06-2018, 11:49 PM
Uruguay are a really good team and the 2 goals they scored today were brilliant. IMO they're the best all-round team in the tournament. Great strike force and excellent defence. But then you can't please some people.

The Baldmans Comb
01-07-2018, 05:50 AM
Really enjoyed listening to Danny Murphy doing the match analysis of France v Argentina today and found him both perceptive and droll which is no mean achievement given the enjoyable mayhem on the pitch.

Goes back to the studio and Lineker very professional as ever and Shearer measured and interesting.

England's hatred of Argentina goes deep but their was no gloating or getitrightupye just football people recognising that they had witnessed a fine football match.

01-07-2018, 06:42 AM
Brilliant day of football.

Totally agree two fantastic games hopefully more to follow.

01-07-2018, 08:00 AM
Really enjoyed listening to Danny Murphy doing the match analysis of France v Argentina today and found him both perceptive and droll which is no mean achievement given the enjoyable mayhem on the pitch.

Goes back to the studio and Lineker very professional as ever and Shearer measured and interesting.

England's hatred of Argentina goes deep but their was no gloating or getitrightupye just football people recognising that they had witnessed a fine football match.

I'm glad you said that, particularly about Murphy. It was noticeable that he was working hard to pronounce words correctly and get players'names right.

Most footballers fink they can get away with being a bit fick. You was saying...

01-07-2018, 08:34 AM
Liked this tweet from Irvine Welsh, summed up Argentina nicely :greengrin

Irvine Welsh‏
Verified account
@IrvineWelsh (https://twitter.com/IrvineWelsh) 17h17 hours ago (https://twitter.com/IrvineWelsh/status/1013080337025519617)
More

Argentina with their Barcelona forward line and Sunderland defence.

01-07-2018, 10:05 AM
Uruguay are a really good team and the 2 goals they scored today were brilliant. IMO they're the best all-round team in the tournament. Great strike force and excellent defence. But then you can't please some people.

I think so. They're not the same cynical hackers as in previous years. (although Suarez could decide to turn radge at any moment) Very decent underrated midfield, and the best centre back pairing and striker pairing in the world cup. Dark horses no longer.

01-07-2018, 10:52 AM
I thought Suarez was superb last night. If a striker isn't scoring then doing what he did last night is the next best thing. His assist was excellent but his movement, work rate and football brain had the usually solid Portugal defence looking very uncomfortable.

Gary Neville highlighted it post game and said Cavani and Suarez gave a near perfect performance as a partnership and gave 4 or 5 exanples and it was hard to disagree. It will take a very good team to be Uruguay this year.

01-07-2018, 11:14 AM
I thought Suarez was superb last night. If a striker isn't scoring then doing what he did last night is the next best thing. His assist was excellent but his movement, work rate and football brain had the usually solid Portugal defence looking very uncomfortable.

Gary Neville highlighted it post game and said Cavani and Suarez gave a near perfect performance as a partnership and gave 4 or 5 exanples and it was hard to disagree. It will take a very good team to be Uruguay this year.

Big blow for them if Cavani is injured.

I try to avoid giving Murdoch any money so haven’t seen much of Neville as a pundit before. He was very good last night.

01-07-2018, 01:42 PM
Iniesta on the bench today

01-07-2018, 01:51 PM
Hopefully Spain win today. A Spain Brazil final could be one of the best ever with the amount of attacking football they both play. Wonder who'd be favourites for that one? I'd probably go for Spain due to the experience they have at that level of football

01-07-2018, 01:56 PM
Hopefully Spain win today. A Spain Brazil final could be one of the best ever with the amount of attacking football they both play. Wonder who'd be favourites for that one? I'd probably go for Spain due to the experience they have at that level of football

I tipped Spain to win the tournament but I have a funny feeling they'll have trouble with that Hagrid sized guy up front for Russia. Could be a shock behind a Putin fuelled ref.

01-07-2018, 01:57 PM
Why do people get so excited when they see themselves on a big screen at a sporting event that they seem to lose all motor control? It can't be that thrilling surely.

01-07-2018, 02:02 PM
I love Russians kit. The wee flecks on the white shirt and that badge. Nice.

01-07-2018, 02:07 PM
David Silva playing a free role it looks like, almost a centre back there.

JimboHibs
01-07-2018, 02:10 PM
Why do people get so excited when they see themselves on a big screen at a sporting event that they seem to lose all motor control? It can't be that thrilling surely.

Dunno,but considering its a WC & with the global audience watching its prob a nice thing to happen !!

01-07-2018, 02:11 PM

They're just high as kites to be there!

01-07-2018, 02:12 PM
Total domination first twelve minutes. 1-0 and maybe 90% possession?

01-07-2018, 02:14 PM

No so great if you’ve taken a sneaky wee sickie. And it could be worse, wait til they introduce that pishy Americanised ‘kisscam’ nonsense...

01-07-2018, 02:18 PM
No so great if you’ve taken a sneaky wee sickie. And it could be worse, wait til they introduce that pishy Americanised ‘kisscam’ nonsense...

Yes,it could be, there may be a warrant out for your arrest.
As is the case of the Mad Submariner,Vladimar Romanov. Remember him?
Interpol want to speak him.
He is in Moscow,so good chance he is in hospitality at todays game with his old KGB comrades.
If you see him,call Crimewatch !!

01-07-2018, 02:19 PM

Noooo not the kisscam:confused:

01-07-2018, 02:31 PM
Noooo not the kisscam:confused:

OK. I'll ask, what is the kisscam?

01-07-2018, 02:32 PM
Russia doing an excellent impression of Dumbarton at ER season 15/16.

01-07-2018, 02:35 PM
Russia doing an excellent impression of Dumbarton at ER season 15/16.

I was thinking hearts in the Collins 81% possession game. Spain doing everything.

01-07-2018, 02:36 PM
Ooo the Russian Jamie Walker(golovin) fluffs his lines.

01-07-2018, 02:36 PM
Spain really need a 2nd

01-07-2018, 02:40 PM
A pen! Correct decision imo.

01-07-2018, 02:40 PM
What is Pique thinking? His arms fully raised above his head, penalty every day of the week.

01-07-2018, 02:41 PM
Balls of steel, I thought he was going to miss it

01-07-2018, 02:41 PM
Great penalty. Self inflicted injury from Spain.

01-07-2018, 02:42 PM
I'm not convinced that was a penalty

renato
01-07-2018, 02:43 PM
What is Pique thinking? His arms fully raised above his head, penalty every day of the week.

Complete brain fart from Pique, mental.

01-07-2018, 02:43 PM

It was heading towards the net so even though its not deliberate I'm not sure the ref has any choice.

01-07-2018, 02:44 PM
that f@d pique better not cost me again, gave away the stupid free kick that ronaldo equalised with in the 2nd game...f*d that he is, he can only ever dream of being as good as Ramos

01-07-2018, 02:44 PM

If it had hit his hand from the action of jumping I’d agree but he makes a very deliberate second movement to keep his hand above his head. There’s no question it’s an unnatural position, the ball hits his arm so it’s a penalty imo.

01-07-2018, 02:46 PM
Jamie Walkerski with another shan pass.

01-07-2018, 02:47 PM
HT. Spain tearing Russia apart 1-1.

01-07-2018, 02:48 PM
Do not agree Pique booking.

K-Zazu
01-07-2018, 03:03 PM
Jamie Walkerski with another shan pass.

Jamie Walker?

01-07-2018, 03:18 PM
Christ, just back from the weekly shop and then mother related duties. What have I missed?

01-07-2018, 03:19 PM
Jamie Walker?

Golovin. Is it just me that sees the resemblance? :greengrin

01-07-2018, 03:20 PM
Canal is telling me it's 75% possession Spain, surely more than that?

01-07-2018, 03:22 PM
Dzyuba puts me in mind of Colin Nish. He's built like a wardrobe!

01-07-2018, 03:22 PM
I see the **** known as Ramos is still on the park.

01-07-2018, 03:27 PM
Quite fancy a bit ET and penalties, can see that happening here.

01-07-2018, 03:28 PM
Quite fancy a bit ET and penalties, can see that happening here.

Sooner the Russians are out the better, negative negative tactics

01-07-2018, 03:29 PM
that koke is p@sh

01-07-2018, 03:30 PM

I think they're ok. They should be more expansive and stop letting Spain dictate.

01-07-2018, 03:30 PM
Sooner the Russians are out the better, negative negative tactics9 goals in 4 games? I wish Hibs were that negative. Playing to their strengths. Been far more negative sides in this tournament.

01-07-2018, 03:31 PM
******g LVG style football from Spain. Zombie passing, so slow, no movement.

01-07-2018, 03:31 PM

I watched 'The Death of Stalin' last night. Very, very funny - and probably horribly grimly accurate. If I were playing in Putin's first eleven I might be tempted to go pretty defensively against a machine like Spain too...

01-07-2018, 03:33 PM
that koke is p@sh

I wouldn't go that far but he does slow them down a bit.

01-07-2018, 03:34 PM
**** me this is real bus parking stuff though.

01-07-2018, 03:36 PM
**** me this is real bus parking stuff though.

Yeah but Spain far from the team they were 2 years ago.

01-07-2018, 03:37 PM
I watched 'The Death of Stalin' last night. Very, very funny - and probably horribly grimly accurate. If I were playing in Putin's first eleven I might be tempted to go pretty defensively against a machine like Spain too...

Uncle Joe would not have messed about.
He would have had Ignashevich shipped off to the Gulag for the crime of stupidity that ended in the own goal.

01-07-2018, 03:37 PM

You could argue Spain are even more negative. Not been watching much of this World Cup but watched a wee bit of this game and their tippy tappy sideways and backwards football made me turn off after about 10 minutes.

01-07-2018, 03:39 PM
You could argue Spain are even more negative. Not been watching much of this World Cup but watched a wee bit of this game and their tippy tappy sideways and backwards football made me turn off after about 10 minutes.

Not sure what you expect them to do, Russia 11 men defending

01-07-2018, 03:39 PM

:agree: Detest them wholeheartedly. Dulltastic.

01-07-2018, 03:40 PM

:dunno: I think their passing is great to watch today. But bossing the game is no good if you can't feed the striker, which is their problem. 711-162 passes, amazing contrast of styles.

01-07-2018, 03:41 PM
What is the Russian thought process here? Are they playing to get to penalties?

01-07-2018, 03:43 PM
I think Spain have lost their spark. Even at their best they played like this for long spells and let the other team run themselves into the ground. They lack the killer ball now and Costa, whilst a fine player, isn't as good as Villa or Torres in their prime.

01-07-2018, 03:46 PM
I think Spain have lost their spark. Even at their best they played like this for long spells and let the other team run themselves into the ground. They lack the killer ball now and Costa, whilst a fine player, isn't as good as Villa or Torres in their prime.

Most normal teams would tire from all this game chasing in the heat, but Russia seem to be abnormally fit, almost as if they had some supplementary help...

01-07-2018, 03:48 PM

It's actually pretty brutal to watch. Square ball after square ball. Given that Russia are showing next to no ambition you'd think they'd try mixing it up a little to go a mixture of long, high and wide too.

01-07-2018, 03:51 PM
****'s sake, Russian attack breaks down with four or five Russians stranded forward inadvertently and the Spaniards choose to go square ball again instead of breaking directly and quickly.

01-07-2018, 03:52 PM
****'s sake, Russian attack breaks down with four or five Russians stranded forward inadvertently and the Spaniards choose to go square ball again instead of breaking directly and quickly.

They settled for a draw after their run of 3 corners near the end the Russia broke on them.

01-07-2018, 03:54 PM
Is this tournament ABBA penalties or the usual way?

01-07-2018, 03:54 PM
There are always games like this in the WC. It's almost traditional. We've been a bit spoilt so far.

I fancy Russia on pens.

01-07-2018, 03:55 PM
Spain played as if they were 4-0 up and already through.

01-07-2018, 03:55 PM
I’m going for a Russian win on penalties.

01-07-2018, 03:56 PM
There are always games like this in the WC. It's almost traditional. We've been a bit spoilt so far.

I fancy Russia on pens.

I've enjoyed it, chess match but good quality.

01-07-2018, 03:57 PM
Russian anti-football has been pathetic and they've simply denied more attractive, expansive teams from the final 16 to everyone's detriment. Spain look like a bunch of old pros playing walking football on a Sunday morn.

01-07-2018, 04:01 PM
Russian anti-football has been pathetic and they've simply denied more attractive, expansive teams from the final 16 to everyone's detriment. Spain look like a bunch of old pros playing walking football on a Sunday morn.

The Sagrada Familia will be finished before Spain win another World Cup playing like this.

01-07-2018, 04:03 PM
They've tipped me over the edge. I actually want the Russians to win now. It's just better all round if they do.

01-07-2018, 04:04 PM
If Russia get any deeper they'll make the Mirny mine look like a pothole.

01-07-2018, 04:10 PM
Iniesta looks the most likely to open the door since he came on. No change of pace though.

01-07-2018, 04:14 PM
Attempt by cameraman to film Russian milf in crowd spoiled by her starting to pick her nose in full view of global millions :aok:

01-07-2018, 04:15 PM
Russia have contributed absolute zero to this game , By god i hope they get knocked out !

01-07-2018, 04:16 PM
Attempt by cameraman to film Russian milf in crowd spoiled by her starting to pick her nose in full view of global millions :aok:

Highlight of the first period of extra time for me.

01-07-2018, 04:17 PM
Highlight of the first period of extra time for me.

She didnt eat it afterwards I suppose, credit where its due :greengrin

01-07-2018, 04:19 PM
Great run by Rodrigo. Maybe should hace squared it but entitled to have a go.

01-07-2018, 04:20 PM
Terrible game. You sense that neither team is bothered about going out on pens - can sell it to the media as a hard luck story.

01-07-2018, 04:20 PM
This is just Ali Foreman rope a dope bout. Hope Foreman wins this one.

AltheHibby
01-07-2018, 04:21 PM

Funny. But I question your taste. 🤔

01-07-2018, 04:23 PM
Funny. But I question your taste. 🤔

I've had a few :cheers:

01-07-2018, 04:23 PM
Penalty. Has to be.

01-07-2018, 04:24 PM
These two are so Godawful that the only factors that matter at this stage are:

1. If Russia go through the atmosphere will be better in their next game than if it was Spain.
2. The Russian national anthem is splendid.
3. Spain are up themselves with their ticky tacky and it needs kicked out of them.
4. Ramos is an utter turd.

Russia through please.

01-07-2018, 04:24 PM
Here we go. VAR!

01-07-2018, 04:25 PM
It seems like Spain have just realised they are not winning this game and are now trying to win it when they could have been playing with this same intensity much earlier on. Rather than all that zombie passing in midfield.

Both sides have been very boring to watch. I hope Croatia do the business tonight and dispose of either of these two whoever wins.

Terrible game. You sense that neither team is bothered about going out on pens - can sell it to the media as a hard luck story.

It's a great atmosphere though. Incredible for the Russians if they can hold out.

That’s a huge call. Pen for me!

I thought there was at least one penalty there? :confused:

Scandalous not to give that. If this was anywhere but Russia that's a penalty. Refs have bottled it big time.

There was supposed to be automatic booking for any player asking for VAR by drawing the TV in the air.

absolutely scandalous vladimir putin is operating the VAR today

AltheHibby
I've had a few :cheers:

Ah. She's a beer babe! 😂

Penalty. Has to be.

Don't think so. Ramos was holding too, plus good money will have been paid for what Russia want here...

01-07-2018, 04:27 PM
No penalty! Come on! It's a man's game etc etc.

Please, please, please - Russia through after Ramos penalty denied. That would be ecstasy territory.

Don't think so. Ramos was holding too, plus good money will have been paid for what Russia want here...

Agreed. The one on Pique, maybe, but Ramos and the Russian boy were having a mutual tussle more than anything.

There was supposed to be automatic booking for any player asking for VAR by drawing the TV in the air.He was playing charades

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

01-07-2018, 04:29 PM
He was playing charades

Film, three words, first word...

01-07-2018, 04:31 PM
Can you do the AC Milan pass thing in a penalty shoot out? Spain will be tempted.

01-07-2018, 04:32 PM
Can you do the AC Milan pass thing in a penalty shoot out? Spain will be tempted.

01-07-2018, 04:32 PM
I fancy Russia now. Their goalie is better.

01-07-2018, 04:33 PM
I fancy Russia now. Their goalie is better.

Akinfeev? No way.

01-07-2018, 04:33 PM
Sadly I suspect the adrenalised nature of a penalty shoot out in front of that huge partisan home crowd probably makes it more likely that over-hyped Russian players will miss penalties. Wide or high. Bl00dy hope not though.

01-07-2018, 04:34 PM
Drama. Scenes. Love a shootout.

01-07-2018, 04:35 PM
Iniesta out for a Sunday stroll there.

01-07-2018, 04:36 PM
De Gea will be disappointed there.

01-07-2018, 04:36 PM
Players taking short run ups at penalties should be horse whipped.

01-07-2018, 04:37 PM
Akinfeev has been on the ground before both Spain penalties have even been hit.

01-07-2018, 04:38 PM
again, koke is utter p@sh

If anyone waa going to miss it was him. He's been murder all game and that penalty was pitiful.

Woops

Ya ****ing beauty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

01-07-2018, 04:40 PM
Spain are going to get what they deserve here.

has the spanish keeper ever saved a penalty...in his career

Ramos is a s*****g.

01-07-2018, 04:41 PM
:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol: :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

the games ******

De gea beaten down the middle twice! Scenes.

God bless Putin.

Scenes

01-07-2018, 04:42 PM
Sergio Ramos: Get. It. Right. ****ing. Up. You.

The games a bogey

Scenes. Akinfeev about 3 yards off his line but when the ref isn't doing his job he's right to take advantage.

the spanish accepted the Russian Rouble :agree:

Aw naw...

Spain deserved that. They have no one else to blame other than themselves. Absolutely pathetic.

Now come on Croatia! 🇭🇷

01-07-2018, 04:43 PM
Just making it easier for England. :rolleyes:

Aw naw...

:faf::faf::faf::faf:

Hats off to the Russians

What a **** game. Pity both of them couldn’t go out.

01-07-2018, 04:44 PM
Wow...

01-07-2018, 04:44 PM
Relatives of Russian players are breathing huge sighs of relief all over the nation.

01-07-2018, 04:45 PM
Spain got what they deserved. Russia didn't.

Being last game, England have the luxury of watching all these teams implode - Germany, Portugal, Argentina, Spain all out.

01-07-2018, 04:45 PM
I think Croatia will take this Russian team apart. Denmark, not so sure.

01-07-2018, 04:48 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180701/535af9e8c1596b0e05b5305029b9c0f2.png

The stats that don’t matter.

01-07-2018, 04:48 PM
GIRUY Sergio Ramos. Prick

01-07-2018, 04:49 PM
Man, this is funny as ****. Going out is bad but going out to that Russian team is hilarious.

telford hibbee
01-07-2018, 04:50 PM
Yet another game lost by the team with most possession. It’s what you do when you have the ball not how often you have it.

01-07-2018, 04:50 PM
Just marvellous seeing Johnny Russki going radge in the streets there.

K-Zazu
01-07-2018, 04:53 PM
Spain should have had a penalty near the end

bodhibs
01-07-2018, 04:54 PM
Ramos girfuy, hideous creature. It's all falling into place for engurland 😥

01-07-2018, 04:56 PM
Am I the only one that is happy to see the Russians win?

Good scalp for them. They had a game plan, executed it well, then held their nerve in the shoot out.

Russia often strikes me as a bit of a joyless nation, nice to see them having a bit of fun at their own party, when very little was expected of them.

01-07-2018, 04:58 PM
So one of Russia, Croatia, Sweden, Switzerland, Colombia or England will be in the final. Makes for a very interesting world cup.

Edit: forgot Denmark

01-07-2018, 04:59 PM
So one of Russia, Croatia, Sweden, Switzerland, Colombia or England will be in the final. Makes for a very interesting world cup.

Colombia.

01-07-2018, 04:59 PM

Good scalp for them. They had a game plan, executed it well, then held their nerve in the shoot out.

Russia often strikes me as a bit of a joyless nation, nice to see them having a bit of fun at their own party, when very little was expected of them.

I think they're a pretty negative grim watch, but they've shoved it up Spain which is excellent. Great for your ordinary Russki and the street parties should be pretty mental.

01-07-2018, 05:01 PM

No. The Russians have also been brilliant hosts.

bodhibs
01-07-2018, 05:02 PM
Colombia.

Please let it be this

01-07-2018, 05:02 PM

That's frightening. From what we've seen, whichever team wins this will arguably be the worst world champions ... since 1966.

01-07-2018, 05:08 PM
It's great for the home nation. That makes for a better World Cup.
They won't win it but it's about atmosphere apart from anything else.

pontius pilate

Is this a whoosh moment what about France or Uruguay?

Lol apart from the coach who was still a miserable *******. It's so artificial, as if it's coached into people of authority there. He was a bit more emotional when Uruguay beat them comfortably. Very little sympathy for Spain on this occasion, they were far too one-dimensional.

01-07-2018, 05:10 PM
England will never have a better chance to reach the final. History tells us their bottle will go at some stage but they have a chance now, unfortunately.

All aboard the Colombian express 🇨🇴🇨🇴

Hibster
01-07-2018, 05:10 PM
Is this a whoosh moment what about France or Uruguay?

Other side of the draw.

England's half of the draw just got even more straightforward. I fancy Croatia to go all the way though

01-07-2018, 05:11 PM
So one of Russia, Croatia, Sweden, Switzerland, Colombia or England will be in the final. Makes for a very interesting world cup.You've just done the Denmark team talk [emoji16]

01-07-2018, 05:11 PM
England route to trophy:

Last 16: Colombia
QF: Sweden or Switzerland
SF: Russia or Denmark
Final: Mexico or Japan

Not out of reach.

01-07-2018, 05:17 PM
England route to trophy:

Last 16: Colombia
QF: Sweden or Switzerland
SF: Russia or Denmark
Final: Mexico or Japan

Not out of reach.

That's your route though ?..What if Belgium beat Japan and Croatia beat Denmark ?..

01-07-2018, 05:18 PM
That's your route though ?..What if Belgium beat Japan and Croatia beat Denmark ?..Whoosh? [emoji16]

01-07-2018, 05:19 PM
You've just done the Denmark team talk [emoji16]

I'll take full credit if they win!

01-07-2018, 05:21 PM
Whoosh? [emoji16]

Apologies i never read the whole thread

Going by Lineker though just give them the World cup now

01-07-2018, 05:29 PM
Germany at the World Cup;

Tournaments - 19 (out of 21)
Winners - 4 times
Runners up - 4 times
Third place - 4 times
Fourth place - Once

13 out of 19 times Germany have reached at least the semi finals. The last time they did it was 4 years ago when they won it.

England at the World Cup;

Tournaments - 15 (out of 21)
Winners - Once
Runners up - Never
Third place - Never
Fourth place - Once

Twice out of the previous 14 times England have reached at least the semi finals. The last time they did it was nearly 30 years ago.

It's not much of a rivalry now, is it? :wink:

Rivalry has nothing to do with success pal, nice stats but you wasted your time. Just because we consider Germany to be a rival it doesn’t necessarily mean we claim to be as good as them. I give you our auld rivals Scotland

01-07-2018, 05:33 PM
That's frightening. From what we've seen, whichever team wins this will arguably be the worst world champions ... since 1966.

Colombia Croatia and... Whisper it England have been mostly impressive so far and would be worthy finalists if they continue to play the way they have been. 'Worst' finalist is a bit harsh.

01-07-2018, 05:35 PM
Delighted to see the Spanish out, was hoping it would be Ramos that missed though

01-07-2018, 05:35 PM
I really hope that Croatia go all the way now.

01-07-2018, 05:37 PM
Delighted to see the Spanish out, was hoping it would be Ramos that missed though

Hopefully it's you guys next on Tuesday

01-07-2018, 05:38 PM

Hopefully not

01-07-2018, 06:00 PM
I thought Spain were utter rank. Most of their passes are either sideways or back.

FWIW I’m all for passing football but they just over passed the ball this afternoon with no end product

01-07-2018, 06:01 PM
What a start.

Utterly awful goal but they all count.

01-07-2018, 06:03 PM
I thought Spain were utter rank. Most of their passes are either sideways or back.

FWIW I’m all for passing football but they just over passed the ball this afternoon with no end product

Correct, anyone can move it across the park if you don’t score though you won’t win games. They needed to be more direct at times but stubbornly never mixed it up.

01-07-2018, 06:04 PM
What a game and we are 4 mins in

1-1 what a start.

We have a cracker here.

This could be good. Both defences have started like bad Sunday league teams.

01-07-2018, 06:05 PM
What a game.

It's like our 5-5 with The Rangers.

Defences definitely not on top!

01-07-2018, 06:05 PM
I thought the last world cup was one of the best I had seen but this might be beating it after a slow start

01-07-2018, 06:06 PM
Go away for a beer and you miss 2 goals. 🤦🏻*♂️

01-07-2018, 06:09 PM
Opening 10 mins has been far better than the 120 minutes that were served up in that Spain - Russia match.

01-07-2018, 06:09 PM
Go away for a beer and you miss 2 goals. 🤦🏻*♂️

I know Aldo, but at least we’ve got 2 teams wanting to win this game, unlike the debacle of this afternoon

01-07-2018, 06:11 PM
I know Aldo, but at least we’ve got 2 teams wanting to win this game, unlike the debacle of this afternoon

Agreed Billy. Both seem very positive this evening.

01-07-2018, 06:12 PM
Germany out, Portugal out, Spain out & Argentina out.
England must now be starting to think we can do this.

01-07-2018, 06:15 PM
Germany out, Portugal out, Spain out & Argentina out.
England must now be starting to think we can do this.

Every nation must be thinking that.

01-07-2018, 06:20 PM
Every team in the 'easy' half of the draw has every right to think they have a chance of making the final. I'm not convinced any of them have really stood out as being vastly superior to the others.

01-07-2018, 06:29 PM
Stramash!

01-07-2018, 06:36 PM
Every nation must be thinking that.

True, beginning to think we might have a winner from the so called 2nd tier nations.

01-07-2018, 06:37 PM
One of the following will be in a World Cup Final:

Russia
Denmark
Croatia
Sweden
Switzerland
Colombia
England

01-07-2018, 07:02 PM
I there has been some superb football played in this World Cup - even a few of the teams already knocked out played some good stuff.

Whoever wins it will surely win it entirely on merit, whether it is a traditional big gun or a lesser team.

It will be easy to dismiss the achievement once the dust has settled if they are an unfashionable side, but you can only beat what's in front of you.

01-07-2018, 07:06 PM
Is it just me but i can't take to Casper Scmeichel ? He deliberately slows down the game !! Hopefully Croatia win this game

01-07-2018, 07:21 PM
I think this game peaked too early. It's been ok but it seemed like it was going to be better.

01-07-2018, 07:24 PM
One of the following will be in a World Cup Final:

Russia
Denmark
Croatia
Sweden
Switzerland
Colombia
England

Winner of Colombia v England on Tuesday will be in the final.

It's in desperate need of another goal.

I think this game peaked too early. It's been ok but it seemed like it was going to be better.
Think its poor to be honest as was the Russia v Spain game. Both games more like group rather than knock out matches.

01-07-2018, 07:28 PM
Think its poor to be honest as was the Russia v Spain game. Both games more like group rather than knock out matches.

I don't think Denmark are a team particularly conductive to a good game. This is the 2nd poor one they have been in. Croatia haven't really got going which is disappointing as I picked them as the best team in this side of the draw in the group stages.

01-07-2018, 07:33 PM
I don't think Denmark are a team particularly conductive to a good game. This is the 2nd poor one they have been in. Croatia haven't really got going which is disappointing as I picked them as the team in this side of the draw in the group stages.
Agree.

01-07-2018, 07:34 PM
This is the first time I've seen Croatia.

I'm not all that impressed tbh, but Denmark do look like a tough side to break down.

I don't think we're looking at World Cup winners here.

01-07-2018, 07:39 PM
I fancy Denmark to win this in time added on.

01-07-2018, 07:42 PM
France or Belgium are going to win it IMO. England have a good chance of making the final but I don't think they have enough quality to win the tournament.

AltheHibby
01-07-2018, 07:43 PM
Did that idiot commentator really ask if the forward was onside from a throw?

01-07-2018, 07:46 PM
This is the first time I've seen Croatia.

I'm not all that impressed tbh, but Denmark do look like a tough side to break down.

I don't think we're looking at World Cup winners here.
No but penalties possibly, again.

01-07-2018, 07:49 PM
"It wasn't too far away".

Actually, it was.

01-07-2018, 07:57 PM
Modric has been anonymous. Bit surprising.

01-07-2018, 07:57 PM
Colombia Croatia and... Whisper it England have been mostly impressive so far and would be worthy finalists if they continue to play the way they have been. 'Worst' finalist is a bit harsh.

With England especially, it reminds me of the chat on here from a few sometimes about which Scottish clubs we should be beating or which aren't 'big' enough to be in the SPL.

Football's fluid. At the moment England have a shedload of young talent. They could go all the way, regardless of that I think they will be better in two years time at the Euros.

Spain have an array of great footballers but there is something missing now, in the style they play. The possession and movement is still there but the cutting edge has dissipated. That's natural, the star players of their star era have aged or are no longer available.

The winners will win because they got through the seven games necessary. At some point they will have faced a couple of reasonable tests, probably several more. In England's case, every game from Belgium onwards would almost certainly be against a team who would be thinking they could win.

01-07-2018, 07:58 PM
Croatia have struggled since half time. Denmark look fitter and more likely to score.

nellio
01-07-2018, 08:05 PM
Croatia have struggled since half time. Denmark look fitter and more likely to score.

Formation seems wrong. No one in the midfield.

01-07-2018, 08:11 PM
Would like both of these teams to lose this match and Peru to be re-instated instead.

01-07-2018, 08:13 PM

TBH this game is boring the pants off me.

Anyone know if that's a hybrid pitch? It looks a bit peculiar.

Would like both of these teams to lose this match and Peru to be re-instated instead.

Peru had chances to beat Denmark in the group stages. Schmeichel was outstanding in that game.

01-07-2018, 08:14 PM

Isn't it just?

01-07-2018, 08:14 PM
Peru had chances to beat Denmark in the group stages. Schmeichel was outstanding in that game.

A 'wrong' result if you know what I mean.

01-07-2018, 08:24 PM
What a great foul. Gives his team a chance.

01-07-2018, 08:25 PM
If I never see Denmark play another international again it will be way too soon.

01-07-2018, 08:26 PM
Hope they score, will be funny watching Denmark having to start playing for an equaliser.

whiskas
Saved by the double jeopardy rule too?

How was that not a red card? If the penalty is given then it must have been a goalscoring opp?

01-07-2018, 08:27 PM
Booooooooooooooooooooooo!

Decent save though.

Shocking penalty by Modric.

whiskas
Wow! Saved! That’s got to give Denmark a psychological edge too?

Saved.

Poor penalty but Schmeichel did him with the wee fake half step. He thought he just had to roll it in and Schmeichel changed his weight. Great goalkeeping.

01-07-2018, 08:28 PM
How was that not a red card? If the penalty is given then it must have been a goalscoring opp?

I would have thought so.

Ref must have decided it was a legitimate attempt to play the ball which is only a yellow now. I'm sceptical.

Rule changes a few years back. You can't get a red and a penalty.

It's the curse of the tax dodgers.

Ronaldo, Messi and now Modric.

01-07-2018, 08:29 PM

Both the games today have been truly awful.

Boy clean through, past the keeper, about to put the ball into the empty net, gets hacked down. Denmark keeper get another chance to save and does. Boy who hacked the Croatian player down get a yellow ??? How the hell is that fair ??

01-07-2018, 08:29 PM
Saved.

Poor penalty but Schmeichel did him with the wee fake half step. He thought he just had to roll it in and Schmeichel changed his weight. Great goalkeeping.

Penalty taker should pick his spot and stick with it. Never react to the keeper.