View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32

11-07-2018, 05:59 AM
And stop bloody saying that it’s coming home, you didn’t invent the game!!

It’s got nothing to do with who invented the game

renato
11-07-2018, 06:05 AM

So, what’s coming home then? :greengrin

11-07-2018, 06:59 AM

The refrain “it’s coming home”was actually a reference to the fact that when the song was released, England was hosting its first major football tournament since the 1966 World Cup.

11-07-2018, 07:06 AM

When the song was originally written in 1996 it was referring to England hosting the Euro '96 tournament.

Subsequently differing meanings have been projected on to it including winning the actual World Cup (as they've won it once before) and of course the disputed question of where football was invented.

Since we claim to have invented golf while others include the Dutch argue that it is recorded earlier in their history than ours, it's probably best not to get too worked up about the romanticised differing perspectives on who invented either game.

Your question actually made me watch the song and video again for the first time probably more or less since '96. It is a really great football song and video, I'd certainly put it easily in the top ten and probably top five. Helped by Baddiel and Skinner being in the video, being co-writers of it and just generally coming across as pretty decent ordinary guys.

Actually that's set me wondering, what are the top five/ten best football songs? Sunshine on Leith obviously...

11-07-2018, 07:06 AM
The refrain “it’s coming home”was actually a reference to the fact that when the song was released, England was hosting its first major football tournament since the 1966 World Cup.

Yes. But come
On - the song was never really about “we’ve got a tournament “. It was about we are going to win - the cup is coming back to it’s natural “home”. Was definitely a sentiment of “this is where it all began”...

And the chant today is certainly even more about “its coming home to where it “belongs “

A wonderfully annoyingly Catchy arrogant chant - just like all good football chants should be to your rivals...hope you get humped ! [emoji2][emoji106]

renato
11-07-2018, 08:18 AM
Appreciate the reference to the tourney coming home, in 1996. The tourney isn’t coming home in the next week again, though, so what could these millions of people be referring to, I wonder? :greengrin

11-07-2018, 08:18 AM
All The very best of luck to Croatia tonight 🇭🇷

renato
11-07-2018, 08:19 AM
When the song was originally written in 1996 it was referring to England hosting the Euro '96 tournament.

Subsequently differing meanings have been projected on to it including winning the actual World Cup (as they've won it once before) and of course the disputed question of where football was invented.

Since we claim to have invented golf while others include the Dutch argue that it is recorded earlier in their history than ours, it's probably best not to get too worked up about the romanticised differing perspectives on who invented either game.

Your question actually made me watch the song and video again for the first time probably more or less since '96. It is a really great football song and video, I'd certainly put it easily in the top ten and probably top five. Helped by Baddiel and Skinner being in the video, being co-writers of it and just generally coming across as pretty decent ordinary guys.

Actually that's set me wondering, what are the top five/ten best football songs? Sunshine on Leith obviously...

It is actually a decent song, if you’re English or that way inclined. SoL is of course the best out there, obviously.

11-07-2018, 08:45 AM
It is actually a decent song, if you’re English or that way inclined. SoL is of course the best out there, obviously.

Maybe that's why so many people sing it.

11-07-2018, 09:55 AM
Appreciate the reference to the tourney coming home, in 1996. The tourney isn’t coming home in the next week again, though, so what could these millions of people be referring to, I wonder? :greengrinTBF, they're always coming home, it's just a bit later than usual this time thanks to an incredibly helpful group stage and avoiding a game against the better teams until it becomes unavoidable[emoji6]

11-07-2018, 09:55 AM
"It won't be long before the Scottish Cup is in the bag

We're going to top the league next year and win the Scottish flag".

Football songs aren't supposed to be accurate and taken literally.

Oh, and don't forget, " We're by far the greatest team the world has ever seen".

11-07-2018, 09:59 AM

Hey Duggee is up there.

11-07-2018, 10:49 AM
Quite enjoyed the snippets of insight from Baddiel and Skinner here: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44728977

Any of our more hipster or Balkan enthusiast correspondents know if there's a Croat football song equivalent other than a national anthem?

renato
11-07-2018, 11:11 AM

Oh, and don't forget, " We're by far the greatest team the world has ever seen".

I agree. I just keep hearing people saying it’s coming home, I’m just (perhaps a little mischievously) wondering what “it’s” is

11-07-2018, 11:12 AM
Quite enjoyed the snippets of insight from Baddiel and Skinner here: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44728977

Any of our more hipster or Balkan enthusiast correspondents know if there's a Croat football song equivalent other than a national anthem?https://www.croatiaweek.com/best-croatian-fans-songs-of-all-time/

A few rivals to Kevin Keegan warbling about his England a good few tournaments ago☺

11-07-2018, 11:12 AM
I'm not sure if anyone watched BBC Breakfast this morning but one of the reporters who had attended the Croatia press conference yesterday was being interviewed. He said the take away message was 'we will win', 'this is this generations 1998 but let's go one better', 'Modric is the best player in either squad by a distance and one of the best in the world and if he plays well then we will win', 'we believe we can go all the way'.

Is that arrogance? Or just the kind of confident assessment you would expect from a team in the WC semi finals?

11-07-2018, 11:19 AM
I'm not sure if anyone watched BBC Breakfast this morning but one of the reporters who had attended the Croatia press conference yesterday was being interviewed. He said the take away message was 'we will win', 'this is this generations 1998 but let's go one better', 'Modric is the best player in either squad by a distance and one of the best in the world and if he plays well then we will win', 'we believe we can go all the way'.

Is that arrogance? Or just the kind of confident assessment you would expect from a team in the WC semi finals?Did he say it's coming home?[emoji6]

Maybe he knows what it means.

For me it's a pretty confident assessment of the chances of his team if they play at their best

11-07-2018, 11:55 AM
https://www.croatiaweek.com/best-croatian-fans-songs-of-all-time/

A few rivals to Kevin Keegan warbling about his England a good few tournaments ago☺

That's some freakin' good stuff there Boston. Get yourselves overt to that link guys, all worth a listen. Seven songs in total:

1 David Coverdale goes horse riding on the set of Game of Thrones for World Cup glory. Finds some pan pipes and a lute on the way and has a diversion (still on the horse) through what looks like a WWII cemetery. Euro ballad pop. Crazy, crazy video.

2 If the (Croatian) Kids Are United They Will Never Be Defeated. Some classic lyrical use of 'Hrvatskaya'.

3 Those Zapresic boys can pen and carry a tune. What sounds like a Roger Irrelevant church organ butting in at one point is a wee bit off putting - but not at all a bad song/chant.

4 Pretty sure they mention Slaven Bilic at one point in this. It's the Zapresic boys again. Think sub-rap theme with frequent upbeat choral chanting from the terraces. Not bad at all, but not their best.

5 Billy Joel's gone all Hrvatska with "We didn't start the Croat fire". Genuinely, its the same main tune and beat but with a different sounding chorus retrofitted. Weirdly catchy.

6 The Zapresic boys again - with 'Igraj Moja Hrvatska' - and this time we have a clear winner. In fact this one's the 2018 Croatia World Cup song. Positively anthemic, a genuinely good and incredibly catchy 'Hrvatska' chant chorus line and a well shot video to boot. The lyrics when run through google translate appear to be mental gibberish, but who cares?

7 This one is a surreal mixture of Every Breath You Take meets Coolio meets football echo chamber chant.

Tell you what, I'd struggle to pick a winner between Three Lions and Igraj Moja Hrvatska.

11-07-2018, 12:10 PM
That's some freakin' good stuff there Boston. Get yourselves overt to that link guys, all worth a listen. Seven songs in total:

1 David Coverdale goes horse riding on the set of Game of Thrones for World Cup glory. Finds some pan pipes and a lute on the way and has a diversion (still on the horse) through what looks like a WWII cemetery. Euro ballad pop. Crazy, crazy video.

2 If the (Croatian) Kids Are United They Will Never Be Defeated. Some classic lyrical use of 'Hrvatskaya'.

3 Those Zapresic boys can pen and carry a tune. What sounds like a Roger Irrelevant church organ butting in at one point is a wee bit off putting - but not at all a bad song/chant.

4 Pretty sure they mention Slaven Bilic at one point in this. It's the Zapresic boys again. Think sub-rap theme with frequent upbeat choral chanting from the terraces. Not bad at all, but not their best.

5 Billy Joel's gone all Hrvatska with "We didn't start the Croat fire". Genuinely, its the same main tune and beat but with a different sounding chorus retrofitted. Weirdly catchy.

6 The Zapresic boys again - with 'Igraj Moja Hrvatska' - and this time we have a clear winner. In fact this one's the 2018 Croatia World Cup song. Positively anthemic, a genuinely good and incredibly catchy 'Hrvatska' chant chorus line and a well shot video to boot. The lyrics when run through google translate appear to be mental gibberish, but who cares?

7 This one is a surreal mixture of Every Breath You Take meets Coolio meets football echo chamber chant.

Tell you what, I'd struggle to pick a winner between Three Lions and Igraj Moja Hrvatska.Number 6 for me.

They've got more songs than England and the little englander wannabes who follow sevco[emoji4]

11-07-2018, 01:07 PM

We did win the Scottish cup then the league the next year though :greengrin

11-07-2018, 01:16 PM
And stop bloody saying that it’s coming home, you didn’t invent the game!!

I think it's disputed with various similar versions of things that could be football - but I thought one of the main theories was that it was "invented" in London?

11-07-2018, 01:49 PM
I think it's disputed with various similar versions of things that could be football - but I thought one of the main theories was that it was "invented" in London?

Well whichever view you take the opportunity for either gloating over their demise or trotting out the next team that there's no way they will get past will emerge in a few hours time.

Three things that can't happen quickly enough for me:

World Cup Final to be played
Transfer window to close
New season to start

To be fair, the debates over being for or against England has helped pass the time a bit more quickly.

11-07-2018, 02:00 PM
Before the "they done us proud" comments after Croatia knock them out.. beating Panama, tunisia, Colombia and Sweden surely should be the slightest of expectation. Nothing to be proud of unless the win it giving their route.

11-07-2018, 02:03 PM
Before the "they done us proud" comments after Croatia knock them out.. beating Panama, tunisia, Colombia and Sweden surely should be the slightest of expectation. Nothing to be proud of unless the win it giving their route.

Nonsense. World cup semi final with a young team and new manager? Brilliant achievement.

11-07-2018, 02:03 PM

Would make more sense for Brazil , Germany or italy to sing it then giving the fact they have won it more than twice.

11-07-2018, 02:05 PM
Nonsense. World cup semi final with a young team and new manager? Brilliant achievement.

What actually is there to be proud of in making a semi final? The teams they have played have been bang average if not worse.

Dan Sarf
11-07-2018, 02:18 PM
BBC Sport main headline...

"World Cup: England aim to join France in final"

In depth reporting at its finest.

11-07-2018, 02:27 PM
Colombia are a good team. Otherwise, they've got the better of the teams they've had to play.

11-07-2018, 02:28 PM
Well whichever view you take the opportunity for either gloating over their demise or trotting out the next team that there's no way they will get past will emerge in a few hours time.

Three things that can't happen quickly enough for me:

World Cup Final to be played
Transfer window to close
New season to start

To be fair, the debates over being for or against England has helped pass the time a bit more quickly.

Can't argue with any of that. :aok:

11-07-2018, 02:30 PM

That is the aim though is it not?

McSwanky
11-07-2018, 02:33 PM

It's a headline... Not sure it's the place for a full analysis of the strengths and weaknesses of the England and Croatia squads? :greengrin

11-07-2018, 02:41 PM
appreciate the reference to the tourney coming home, in 1996. The tourney isn’t coming home in the next week again, though, so what could these millions of people be referring to, i wonder? :greengrin

it’s coming home 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿⚽️👍

11-07-2018, 03:08 PM
Lovren last minute header please :hyper

11-07-2018, 03:09 PM
Lovren last minute header please :hyper

With VAR controversy as he heads it home with his hand.

11-07-2018, 03:10 PM
it’s coming home [emoji1022]󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿[emoji460]️[emoji106]Am guessing this is the guy you're on about?☺

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180711/21d08a944a9e5aed4ab502700572e118.jpg

11-07-2018, 03:11 PM
With VAR controversy as he heads it home with his hand.

That would be beautiful scenes. :hyper

11-07-2018, 03:30 PM
Harry Maguire last minute OG for 1-0 Croatia.

11-07-2018, 03:58 PM
BBC radio can seriously stick the Footballs Coming Home deep into where the sun doesn't shine. Sick to death of it....

11-07-2018, 04:55 PM
I can’t really see England beating Croatia tonight. 2-0 to Croatia in normal time.

11-07-2018, 05:04 PM
I can’t really see England beating Croatia tonight. 2-0 to Croatia in normal time.

They’re a bit toothless up front, Croatia. But their midfield should get more space tonight and Modric, Rakitic, Perisic all have goals in them. Fancy England to sneak this as Croatia have had 2 hard 120 min games + pens back to back.

11-07-2018, 05:05 PM
BBC radio can seriously stick the Footballs Coming Home deep into where the sun doesn't shine. Sick to death of it....

Hopefully it’ll be over in 3 hours time mate.

11-07-2018, 05:10 PM
Looking forward to seeing Modric play again, great player. Come on Luka! Come on Croatia!

Slavers
11-07-2018, 05:14 PM
C'mon England intae thum get to the final!!

11-07-2018, 05:16 PM
Close game but there will be chances. 2-1, 3-2, 2-2; something along those lines wouldn't surprise me.

11-07-2018, 05:17 PM
For the love of humanity Croatia....just do it.

11-07-2018, 05:18 PM
For the love of humanity Croatia....just do it.:agree:

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

11-07-2018, 05:25 PM
What actually is there to be proud of in making a semi final? The teams they have played have been bang average if not worse.Doesn't matter, 2 years ago they went out to Iceland, 4 years ago they didn't get out the groups. They have mad significant progress and can rightfully be proud of that.

Don't be bitter.

11-07-2018, 05:28 PM
Doesn't matter, 2 years ago they went out to Iceland, 4 years ago they didn't get out the groups. They have mad significant progress and can rightfully be proud of that.

Don't be bitter.

And the nation has fallen in love with the national team again.

But ffs pray to god the pain ends tonight. Come on Croatia.

11-07-2018, 05:29 PM
Doesn't matter, 2 years ago they went out to Iceland, 4 years ago they didn't get out the groups. They have mad significant progress and can rightfully be proud of that.

Don't be bitter.
So if they get beat of croatia tonight it's been a successful WC? No chance they've been average and had a particularly easy route to the semis.

11-07-2018, 05:36 PM
So if they get beat of croatia tonight it's been a successful WC? No chance they've been average and had a particularly easy route to the semis.

Germany had an easy group to get out of. How did they do?
Only the most churlish would claim it hasn’t been a successful tournament for England. They’ve performed better than anybody really expected.

11-07-2018, 05:40 PM
So if they get beat of croatia tonight it's been a successful WC? No chance they've been average and had a particularly easy route to the semis.in nearly 100 years they've reached the semi finals 3 times, of course this has been a success. Its pretty much a fact that this has been a success. Ask any English person on here and they'll tell you the same.

11-07-2018, 05:42 PM
Only the most churlish would claim it hasn’t been a successful tournament for England. They’ve performed better than anybody really expected.

There's no middle ground with england? Their either a national disgrace if they get put out the group or by Colombia .. Or heroes for getting to the semis for doing the opposite?

11-07-2018, 05:44 PM
There's no middle ground with england? Their either a national disgrace if they get put out the group or by Colombia .. Or heroes for getting to the semis for doing the opposite?
No middle ground for Hibs on .net when it comes to games either. All great when we are winning but there's a whole load of negative crap when we are losing......

11-07-2018, 05:46 PM

That tends to the case with any fitba team in the world doesn’t it. Look at the way we react to defeat and victory on here. :greengrin

11-07-2018, 05:51 PM

If you isolated each game, bar the Belgium friendly, they'd have expected to win every one of them. Even allowing for the now long gone humility of a month ago.

11-07-2018, 05:52 PM
Mon Croatia! Please put us all out of our misery 😭

11-07-2018, 05:53 PM
Nauseating stuff. Get them pumped Croatia 🇭🇷

11-07-2018, 05:54 PM
Obviously want Croatia to win but most of all, just want a good entertaining game of football

11-07-2018, 05:55 PM
Nauseating stuff. Get them pumped Croatia 🇭🇷

Nauseating ? I almost hope they win now just to wind you up more. :faf::faf::faf:

11-07-2018, 05:56 PM
Ooft that's not a bad anthem from Croatia.

It's supporting 11 men booting a ball about, why does there have to be a middle ground? The whole concept of supporting football is irrational.

Lighten up and enjoy the game. The world isn't going to end whatever happens

How come the English national anthem always gets second play?

It's s dirty tune and a half.

11-07-2018, 05:57 PM
Ooft that's not a bad anthem from Croatia.

Starts off a bit hail hail the hibs are here then goes off on one

11-07-2018, 05:57 PM
Everyone muted the audio now?

Dan Sarf
11-07-2018, 05:58 PM
Everyone muted the audio now?

Haha

Dan Sarf
11-07-2018, 05:59 PM
England goalie looks like he’s going to explode

11-07-2018, 06:00 PM
Come on England, let's see you get to the final.

11-07-2018, 06:00 PM
Come on Croatia! 🇭🇷

11-07-2018, 06:01 PM
If you isolated each game, bar the Belgium friendly, they'd have expected to win every one of them. Even allowing for the now long gone humility of a month ago.

So if Scotland had followed the same route to a World Cup semi final you would be saying we had a mediocre tournament? I’d be doing ****ing cartwheels for a week. :greengrin

11-07-2018, 06:03 PM
Big chance here. Almost a perfect position.

11-07-2018, 06:03 PM
So if Scotland had followed the same route to a World Cup semi final you would be saying we had a mediocre tournament? I’d be doing ****ing cartwheels for a week. :greengrin

Not sure about cartwheels but there's a fair few folk doing all sorts of gymnastic contortions to try and play down England's performance in getting this far.

11-07-2018, 06:04 PM
To be fair England fans seem to love Darren McGregor

11-07-2018, 06:05 PM
What a goal.

That is brilliant.

Get in, it's coming home.

We could be given Panama, Saudi Arabia and surprise qualifiers Vanuatu and still make a meal of it.

Point is more that IF they fall short, there's the potential for them to switch from brave heroes to slight failures pretty quickly.

Dan Sarf
Bleedin ell

Kepeer has asked for that, silly ****

Get in, great free kick!

11-07-2018, 06:06 PM
If I had a panic button I'd be slamming it into next week.

Get in, get in, get in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cannae stand that prick Tripping face! Get a decent haircut too son.

I have a bad feeling England are winning this , starting to get a bit nervous

I know the wall was protecting that side but the goalie was hopeless.

What the hell is the goalkeeper doing there? That is an awful wall and place to stand...

11-07-2018, 06:07 PM
Allez France 🇫🇷

11-07-2018, 06:08 PM
It's ok. England will bottle it as usual

Tbf to the keeper the ball was still a yard above the bar well inside the 6 yard box, the dip was ridiculously late.

He can't set up a wall and himself dead centre as that leaces either side unportected so he's picked a side. He's left a lot of room but the execution is still different class from Trippier.

FFS, will some team TEST this lot!!!
Still not been tested properly at all.

Dan Sarf
11-07-2018, 06:09 PM
England playing hoofball up to Sterling

11-07-2018, 06:09 PM
It's ok. England will bottle it as usual

I hope you are right!

11-07-2018, 06:10 PM
Tbf to the keeper the ball was still a yard above the bar well inside the 6 yard box, the dip was ridiculously late.

He can't set up a wall and himself dead centre as that leaces either side unportected so he's picked a side. He's left a lot of room but the execution is still different class from Trippier.

Was nowhere near even being in the top corner, he should have done much better imo

11-07-2018, 06:10 PM
FFS, will some team TEST this lot!!!
Still not been tested properly at all.

:hilarious Desperate, desperate stuff.

11-07-2018, 06:12 PM
Was nowhere near even being in the top corner, he should have done much better imo

It wasn't in the top corner when it hit the net but it dipped very late.

11-07-2018, 06:13 PM

I don't think anyone can reasonably argue that they've not done well.

:hilarious Desperate, desperate stuff.

It's quite hillarious.

Sone folk just need to accept England are actually quite good and aren't being 'tested' because they are good at controlling the game.

11-07-2018, 06:14 PM
England could run away with this.:agree:

Another England goal from a set piece, must be about 65-70% of their goals have been from set pieces.

It wasn't in the top corner when it hit the net but it dipped very late.

I'm being bitter, I also think Alli was on his way over before he was touched

11-07-2018, 06:15 PM
It's all right.

England are pish.

They will bottle it in the final, err, as usual.

They've played no-one yet.

France will rip them a new one.

Did I miss any wishful thinking?

He is a diving wee scrote.

I don't think anyone can reasonably argue that they've not done well.

Really? This is their biggest test!

11-07-2018, 06:16 PM
It's quite hillarious.

Sone folk just need to accept England are actually quite good and aren't being 'tested' because they are good at controlling the game.

Correct they have improved really well under Southgate, they are young & I fully expect them to continue to improve.

Wouldn't at all mind watching an England v France Final in a Tenerife bar at the beginning of my holiday next weekend.

Nonsense

11-07-2018, 06:17 PM
Nonsense

In our opinion, watch it again, was well on his way

England are a good team with an impressive manager. They’ve had a great World Cup and are in control of this semi-final.

10 men behind the ball with a hoof up to Sterling for 70 minutes now.

11-07-2018, 06:18 PM
It's all right.

England are pish.

They will bottle it in the final, error, as usual.

England winning the World Cup if we are talking about wishful thinking...not in final yet.

11-07-2018, 06:18 PM

What would you do?

11-07-2018, 06:19 PM
Correct they have improved really well under Southgate, they are young & I fully expect them to continue to improve.

I think expectations will be through the roof for the 2020 Euros, not helped by the fact the semis and the final are being played at Wembley.

The team as a whole are probably a couple of years short of hitting their peak, with young talent like Loftus-Cheek and Maitland-Niles needing a couple more seasons under their belts.

11-07-2018, 06:20 PM
It's all right.

England are pish.

Who do England face after the final if they get there and beat France? To, you know, 'test them'.

11-07-2018, 06:21 PM
What would you do?

Flair football as I'm not Craig Levein.

11-07-2018, 06:22 PM
It's all right.

England are pish.

'Wait until they play the Martians in the Solar System challenge.'

What the **** are Croatia playing at here. They look ****ed!

You watching a different game?

11-07-2018, 06:23 PM
It's quite hillarious.

I don't think they HAVE been properly tested yet. There's nothing wrong with being lucky, of course, but they undeniably have been.

Ach England only had 7 players in the Croatian half there. Negative pish.

They're going to win, it's written in the stars. Underdogs going in, building a young team with a young manager etc.

The sooner you accept it the easier it is to deal with.

11-07-2018, 06:24 PM

Just looking to noise up the quislings 👍

Stirling doesn't convince he should be a starter, just lacks composure.

Flair football as I'm not Craig Levein.

You must be enjoying England's performance then.

Heckys Wheel

Not turned up. Hoping they find their feet before England get another but it’s not looking great.

11-07-2018, 06:25 PM

Their last two games have gone to ET

How good is Pickford with his feet? Left or right foot he rarely misses his target.

11-07-2018, 06:26 PM

You seem to be the one who's noised up, does that make you a Quisling? :faf:

11-07-2018, 06:28 PM
Sorry this is all my fault. I said I'd rather England won the world cup than Hearts winning the 2013 league cup final. If i could go back I'd say exactly the same thing 😉

11-07-2018, 06:28 PM
How good is Pickford with his feet? Left or right foot he rarely misses his target.

Definitely one of the strongest elements of his game :agree:

11-07-2018, 06:29 PM
Croatia are too nervous to win this.Poor use of the ball,giving each other poor passes and stupid fouls all over the park.

11-07-2018, 06:29 PM
Should be 2. Sitter from Kane

11-07-2018, 06:31 PM

Pickford has been immense for them when called upon.

It's not really fair to say they haven't been tested. Belgium beat them, Colombia took them to penalties and Pickford's made some great saves.

That oompa band are really getting on my tits

Really good now. Stones doing well with the block.

11-07-2018, 06:32 PM
Should be 2. Sitter from Kane

I would have bet quite a bit of money on him scoring from there.

11-07-2018, 06:33 PM
What a tackle by young. Certain 1-1 there.

11-07-2018, 06:33 PM
That oompa band are really getting on my tits

Are they English, Croatian or an unwanted Russian mandatory form of entertainment?

11-07-2018, 06:35 PM
Craotia look knackered already!! Those extra time matches taking their toll.

Pickford has been immense for them when called upon.

It's not really fair to say they haven't been tested. Belgium beat them, Colombia took them to penalties and Pickford's made some great saves.

Colombia were missing their star man, Belgium was a dead rubber and Sweden put in the worst display I've seen in a quarter final. Not been tested by a top team at full power yet, don't see how that's disputab le really.

They've played well tonight so far tonight back to front.

England should be out of sight here!

England look so threatening on the counter. Another chance goes begging.

Ref can't see the shirt holding at the half way line there

11-07-2018, 06:36 PM
Their last two games have gone to ET

Surely that would show more second 45 than first 20 mins. Croatia really look done in.

England are the best team I've seen at the tournament.

It's coming home

England look so threatening on the counter. Another chance goes begging.

Suits them being a goal up. Very quick going forward!

11-07-2018, 06:37 PM
They're going to win it, aren't they?

11-07-2018, 06:38 PM
This is actually a really good game and England at the moment are passing the latest test pretty well as with most of the previous ones. No-on wins a World Cup without being tested and they have been, dealing with whatever has been put in front of them. It would just be churlish to suggest otherwise.

11-07-2018, 06:38 PM
They're going to win it, aren't they?

Dont think they will beat France to be honest.

11-07-2018, 06:39 PM
My Italian commentator is banging on about Brian Clough and 'long ball'.

Dan Sarf
11-07-2018, 06:40 PM
Man with broken ankle makes miracle recovery

11-07-2018, 06:41 PM
My Italian commentator is banging on about Brian Clough and 'long ball'.

Those two don't go together.

Every 50/50 is going England's way, ref isn't giving Croatia too much so far

Suits them being a goal up. Very quick going forward!
Sense a wee change of tune from you TC :greengrin

11-07-2018, 06:42 PM
Surely that would show more second 45 than first 20 mins. Croatia really look done in.

You would think mate, but it's an extra hour of competitive games in a short space of time - maybe it does show when they're in such quick succession?

Dan Sarf
11-07-2018, 06:42 PM
What’s all the ooooing by the crowd about?

11-07-2018, 06:43 PM
That was daft.

Colombia were missing their star man, Belgium was a dead rubber and Sweden put in the worst display I've seen in a quarter final. Not been tested by a top team at full power yet, don't see how that's disputab le really.

They've played well tonight so far tonight back to front.

And France beat the worst Argentina team in 2 decades, a Uruguay team missing it's talismanic striker and a Belgian side that looked dead on it's feet for 35 minutes v Brazil.

Ultimately England have beaten what has been put in front of them and have looked comfortable for about 85% of the time in doing so in the KO stages. They haven't been really tested because, like France, they are a better side than anyone they have faced. Both England and France will make deserving finalists and if it is the final it has all the ingredients for a very good game.

Going well

Are they English, Croatian or an unwanted Russian mandatory form of entertainment?

They could be any of above, they'd still do my head in 😂

11-07-2018, 06:44 PM
Dont think they will beat France to be honest.

A cup final is a one off game. Anything can happen, it’s on the day. Euro 2016 - France vs Portugal. UCL final 2012 - Bayern Munich vs Chelsea

11-07-2018, 06:44 PM
Those two don't go together.

Im assuming he's telling some sort of narrative about English football development over the years. I prefer it to stuff I can understand properly to be honest :greengrin

11-07-2018, 06:45 PM

I'll make sure to return the favour when (if?) Scotland qualify for a world cup again :aok:

11-07-2018, 06:45 PM
Well it could easily all go teats-up but I can't believe how composed England have looked in most of their games so far.

11-07-2018, 06:46 PM
Rakitic should have tried a shot there...

11-07-2018, 06:47 PM
Very good first half from England. Croatia just haven’t turned up all though.

Rakitic should have tried a shot there...

I thought he was going to score a Gazza there.

We've still not found a team to really test us yet though I suppose that's testament to us being one of the best teams in the tournament.

I'm fancying a bet on yellow cards here if Croatia don't equalise in the next twenty minutes.

Only positive is Croatia are just about still in the game.

Croatia are poor.

11-07-2018, 06:48 PM
I thought he was going to score a Gazza there.

He should have hit it as soon as he lifted it over the defenders head.

Dan Sarf
11-07-2018, 06:48 PM
I'm fancying a bet on yellow cards here if Croatia don't equalise in the next twenty minutes.

Lovren to lose the plot

11-07-2018, 06:49 PM
Croatia are poor.

Not really it's just that England were far superior.

AltheHibby
What’s all the ooooing by the crowd about?

The commentators, in a rare moment of saying something useful, said its the Russians in the crowd because the Croatian player made a pro-Ukraine comment.

Croatia sure pick the right time to play crap

11-07-2018, 06:50 PM
England should be more than a goal up. Croatia look like their best football is behind them for this tournament.

Only positive is Croatia are just about still in the game.

That’s the only positive I can think of as well. England should and easily be 2-3 goals up.

Lovren to lose the plot

He's had two pretty serious rants at the ref already. Looks a certainty for a yellow.

11-07-2018, 06:51 PM
I've not watched any of Engerlund's games but started watching this one. Croatia have been pretty woeful, reckon England should be 3-0 up. Apart from England, the team that's surely been overhyped is Croatia. One good result against a piss-poor Argentina, they struggled against Denmark and Russia. Unless they prove me wrong in the 2nd half, there's not going to be a new winner of the World Cup, potentially anyway.

I actually think it has been pretty even beyond a few chances for each, of which England have scored one from a freekick. Far superior is pushing it a wee bit.

And France beat the worst Argentina team in 2 decades, a Uruguay team missing it's talismanic striker and a Belgian side that looked dead on it's feet for 35 minutes v Brazil.

Ultimately England have beaten what has been put in front of them and have looked comfortable for about 85% of the time in doing so in the KO stages. They haven't been really tested because, like France, they are a better side than anyone they have faced. Both England and France will make deserving finalists and if it is the final it has all the ingredients for a very good game.

The three teams France have beaten would wipe the floor with the teams England have nine times out of ten, I'm surprised you think differently.

I think there's a bit of kneejerk 'ABE' vs 'antiABE' going on. It's possible to say they've been lucky bassas with the draw and also say theyve coped admirably with what's in front of them.

Dan Sarf
11-07-2018, 06:52 PM
The commentators, in a rare moment of saying something useful, said its the Russians in the crowd because the Croatian player made a pro-Ukraine comment.

Thanks!

11-07-2018, 06:53 PM
I actually think it has been pretty even beyond a few chances for each, of which England have scored one from a freekick. Far superior is pushing it a wee bit.

I think we've been far the better team.

11-07-2018, 06:54 PM
Croatia look jaded, England look bang up for it, fit and ready.

They might regret not being further ahead though and Croatia are lucky to still be in it. Croatia will throw everything at them if they're still in it with 20 or so to go.

You'll see England tested then.

11-07-2018, 06:54 PM

If that was the case they’d be further ahead. Be surprised if Croatia play as bad second half. England though had a good half without having much to do.

Dan Sarf
11-07-2018, 06:55 PM
Roy pitching for the Tango man role

11-07-2018, 06:55 PM
An interesting second half ahead, the next goal if there is one could set the tone.

11-07-2018, 06:56 PM
If that was the case they’d be further ahead. Be surprised if Croatia play as bad second half. England though had a good half without having much to do.

Not really, you can be far the better team without taking your chances.

geohibby
11-07-2018, 06:56 PM

Being English, you would think that

Dr Jimmy
11-07-2018, 06:57 PM
We've still not found a team to really test us yet though I suppose that's testament to us being one of the best teams in the tournament.

I don’t understand why people go on about who England have played. Who cares, it means nothing!!
Germany won the last World Cup and I can only name Brazil & Argentina as their opponents!
Apart from France in the Final I can’t remember who Portugal played in the Euros!!
You beat who you play and you progress. England are doing that!

11-07-2018, 06:58 PM

Easily.

11-07-2018, 06:59 PM
Being English, you would think that

There are plenty of none English folk that think it too! :aok:

11-07-2018, 07:00 PM
I don’t understand why people go on about who England have played. Who cares, it means nothing!!
Germany won the last World Cup and I can only name Brazil & Argentina as their opponents!
Apart from France in the Final I can’t remember who Portugal played in the Euros!!

I can't remember either, probably because it was four years ago.

Debating how good a team is based on who they've faced already is fairly standard chat, I don't know why the red tory/quisling element is getting irritable :greengrin

The three teams France have beaten would wipe the floor with the teams England have nine times out of ten, I'm surprised you think differently.

I think there's a bit of kneejerk 'ABE' vs 'antiABE' going on. It's possible to say they've been lucky bassas with the draw and also say theyve coped admirably with what's in front of them.

I’m just being silly really.

Very few teams win a tournament without a bit of luck, I think it’s fair to say France got there’s against Uruguay with Cavanis injury. England have also had the rub off the green with the draw but for a game and a half now they have beaten or are beating teams many assured us would sort them out with ease.

Only Brazil and Argentina!!!!!

By far the better team, Croatia should be out of this by now.

11-07-2018, 07:01 PM
I'll be back at FT win or lose. :thumbsup:

11-07-2018, 07:01 PM
Bobby Moore just got a mention now :faf:

11-07-2018, 07:02 PM
I think England have been the better team throughout the first half.

Croatia seem to be unable to penetrate England's defence at all.

They need to change their approach if they're going to get anything out of the game.

11-07-2018, 07:02 PM
I’m just being silly really.

Very few teams win a tournament without a bit of luck, I think it’s fair to say France got there’s against Uruguay with Cavanis injury. England have also had the rub off the green with the draw but for a game and a half now they have beaten or are beating teams many assured us would sort them out with ease.

There's not nearly enough silliness on here, I approve wholeheartedly :agree:

11-07-2018, 07:03 PM
We've still not found a team to really test us yet though I suppose that's testament to us being one of the best teams in the tournament.Stop It!

Yet just prodding the hornets nest deliberately!! Lol :greengrin

But for what it's worth you ain't too far wrong... you guys have a good young team

Away to drown ma sorrows now lol :-)

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

11-07-2018, 07:04 PM
I’m getting it in early. If England lose a goal Ashley Young will play a part. Maybe it’s because he knows it’s his last chance in a WC but he’s looked more nervous than most of the young guys albeit he did have one super challenge.

11-07-2018, 07:05 PM
Was that really a yellow?

11-07-2018, 07:06 PM
Was that really a yellow?

Nah but according to Glen even with his back turned he knew walker was coming in, he knows these things

Tobias Funke
11-07-2018, 07:06 PM

England have definitely been the better side so far.

11-07-2018, 07:07 PM
Croatia started better

11-07-2018, 07:08 PM
Nah but according to Glen even with his back turned he knew walker was coming in, he knows these things
He's terrible

11-07-2018, 07:09 PM
England have been by far the superior team.

They should be 3-0 up already.

They've got the cup in the bag

11-07-2018, 07:11 PM
Croatian deliveries from wide positions have been Alan O'brien esque. Pickfords passing by comparison has been perfect.

11-07-2018, 07:12 PM
Ref not being as generous with the decisions this half and the commentators don't like it!

11-07-2018, 07:13 PM
Croatia giving away a lot of needless fouls.
Also not getting enough men in the box when attacking.

11-07-2018, 07:13 PM
Croatian deliveries from wide positions have been Alan O'brien esque. Pickfords passing by comparison has been perfect.
Yeh.England will let them have the ball wide all night the way they’re using it.

11-07-2018, 07:15 PM
Croatia's final ball has been shocking

11-07-2018, 07:15 PM
Cross of the tournament?? :faf:, right then Hoddle.

11-07-2018, 07:16 PM
Cahill on for Walker has to be the sub soon. His head looks gone since the booking and you can see him doing something daft.

11-07-2018, 07:16 PM
Croatia better team this half.

11-07-2018, 07:17 PM
Come on England

Lovren is making himself out to be an unpleasant individual

Cahill on for Walker has to be the sub soon. His head looks gone since the booking and you can see him doing something daft.

Hope so 😂

Croatia's final ball has been shocking

Tbf England's defenders always look to be in the right place when Croatia do get into a decent position.

11-07-2018, 07:18 PM

Yeah hopefully.

Lovren is making himself out to be an unpleasant individual

He was justified there, dunno what dell was greeting about.

Tbf England's defenders always look to be in the right place when Croatia do get into a decent position.

Yep, Croatia playing the better of the two now but England doing well at the back.

Doesn't excuse piss poor crossing

11-07-2018, 07:19 PM
Wish that brass band would shut up. Same boring *****n tunes every ***** time. More than annoying!

geohibby
11-07-2018, 07:20 PM
I don't

11-07-2018, 07:20 PM
England look the stronger, taller, fitter, faster and more competent team.

I can't even see Croatia getting a shot on target.

11-07-2018, 07:21 PM
But that's Walkers strength right there, like Ivan on a turbo.

11-07-2018, 07:21 PM
This feels like 1 game to many for Croatia.

So many good players not turning up.

11-07-2018, 07:22 PM
He was justified there, dunno what dell was greeting about.

He could easily have been booked for that

Thought VAR was to draw attention to stonewallers.

oh look, ingland player lying shot in the box then recovers quickly to clear with a header...cheat

11-07-2018, 07:23 PM
Pretty brave from Walker. Full in the baws then up for the header.

11-07-2018, 07:23 PM
First decent cross all night, vrdasljko who's ****ed up 58 in a row gives it to Modric who gets in a good one. Great block by stones I think it was.

11-07-2018, 07:24 PM
oh look, ingland player lying shot in the box then recovers quickly to clear with a header...cheat

11-07-2018, 07:24 PM

If a Hibs player did that he'd be called a hero for playing through the pain

11-07-2018, 07:25 PM
come on Croatia, lets do this

Great goal.

**** yes

1-1 👍🏾

Game on.

1-1

get in

Oh dear... Now we have a game!!

That was coming. Pickford was just about having a seizure trying to push the defence up but they sat deeper and deeper.

Mistake by Walker, called it.

Oh matron :thumbsup:

Yassssss

This feels like 1 game to many for Croatia.

So many good players not turning up.

Maybe not!!

11-07-2018, 07:26 PM
I don't believe vrdasljko who I e just been slagging gets in a perfect cross :faf: