View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

16-06-2018, 05:51 PM
Agreed, although they're partly to blame themselves for trying to carry the ball over the line.

They play some gorgeous football though. It's how I'd like to believe Scotland would play if we were a South American nation.

16-06-2018, 05:54 PM
Gutted.

16-06-2018, 05:55 PM
They play some gorgeous football though. It's how I'd like to believe Scotland would play if we were a South American nation.

Maybe we can become one after we've left the EU. :wink:

16-06-2018, 05:56 PM
Maybe we can become one after we've left the EU. :wink:

There are two problems with that and the first starts with a map...

16-06-2018, 05:56 PM
Loving that Peru number 15. Dragging players who had slumped to the ground to their feet.

I remember being in Dingwall the season we got relegated and, despite things still being in our hands, several players sat on the ground with heads in their hands. It was obvious then we were doomed. There wasn't a character big enough to take control of the situation but that doesn't look an issue for Peru.

Anyway I fancy Australia to beat Denmark.

16-06-2018, 05:58 PM
Gutted.

The might just hump the French yet.

16-06-2018, 05:59 PM
Loving that Peru number 15. Dragging players who had slumped to the ground to their feet.

I remember being in Dingwall the season we got relegated and, despite things still being in our hands, several players sat on the ground with heads in their hands. It was obvious then we were doomed. There wasn't a character big enough to take control of the situation but that doesn't look an issue for Peru.

Anyway I fancy Australia to beat Denmark.

I stick by my original analysis of Denmark but I'll post on that on a dafter thread. I thought Peru were a great side to watch there.

16-06-2018, 06:01 PM
The might just hump the French yet.

Yup, they're crepe. :agree:

16-06-2018, 06:03 PM
There are two problems with that and the first starts with a map...

Pfft! In a globalised world where Australia can take part in the Eurovision Song Contest then there's no reason why we can't exchange the bagpipes for panpipes.

16-06-2018, 06:03 PM
I’ve seen every game so far and Denmark are by far the worst and most boring team. I hope they don’t progress through luck.

16-06-2018, 06:05 PM
Pfft! In a globalised world where Australia can take part in the Eurovision Song Contest then there's no reason why we can't exchange the bagpipes for panpipes.

Exactly.

Australia play football in Asia, sing in Europe and inspire ***** theme bars everywhere in between. If Scotland want to play football in South America, where 5 guys from an Edinburgh team taught them all they know, then we should be allowed to do so.

16-06-2018, 06:12 PM
I missed all of that this afternoon. Not pleased at all at Perus demise, Michael ONeill on five live sounded close to tears, said Peru were the better side and the fans seem to have been taken to the hearts of every pundit in Moscow. Everyone loves Peru.

16-06-2018, 06:14 PM
Yup, they're crepe. :agree:

Alpaca wad on it.

16-06-2018, 06:14 PM

I approve of literally nothing you have written in that sentence. And if we were becoming part of South America my conditions would include that a) Bagpipes would replace panpipes and B) Uruguay leaving South America would be a condition of our joining it.

16-06-2018, 06:16 PM
I missed all of that this afternoon. Not pleased at all at Perus demise, Michael ONeill on five live sounded close to tears, said Peru were the better side and the fans seem to have been taken to the hearts of every pundit in Moscow. Everyone loves Peru.

Better by quite a margin I'd say. Denmark should just be banned from these competitions.

16-06-2018, 06:16 PM
Alpaca wad on it.

And that right there is my second ' Oo er missus' of the day.

16-06-2018, 06:17 PM
Three down, one to go.

Beers, check

Sausage rolls, check.

Crisps, check.

Square eyes, check.

16-06-2018, 06:18 PM
I approve of literally nothing you have written in that sentence. And if we were becoming part of South America my conditions would include that a) Bagpipes would replace panpipes and B) Uruguay leaving South America would be a condition of our joining it.

What about the Falklands? Surely they could claim Scotland as an overseas principality and get us access to the Copa América?

16-06-2018, 06:19 PM
Better by quite a margin I'd say. Denmark should just be banned from these competitions.

Denmark people are believed to be the happiest in Europe, why should they be banned ?

16-06-2018, 06:21 PM
Three down, one to go.

Beers, check

Sausage rolls, check.

Crisps, check.

Square eyes, check.

Wow. I'm suddenly feeling all TDD. I have a Domino's delivery on the way.

Mrs ODS is away for the weekend with the rest of the family's women (that's a large minibus full) and I am here alone 'entertaining' the small ODSs by making them watch the World Cup with me. We've quite a Peru fan club going here.

angus hibby
Peru were very impressive. The two lads on the right - Carrillo and the full back were the pick for me.
Lewis obviously kept them quiet against Scotland! 😃

Three down, one to go.

Beers, check

Sausage rolls, check.

Crisps, check.

Square eyes, check.

Ive seen one of the three today, I was going to watch every game in this tourney, poor effort on my part.

I do have prosecco nice and cold and apparently the rest of the Bollah clan will be returning shortly with a chicken madras.

Did Pavon play for Argentina? supposed to be something special.

16-06-2018, 06:22 PM
What about the Falklands? Surely they could claim Scotland as an overseas principality and get us access to the Copa América?

Only if there's no Uruguay. Cheating ****s.

16-06-2018, 06:23 PM
Denmark people are believed to be the happiest in Europe, why should they be banned ?

Due to how they play football. No reason why they can't come along and watch.

16-06-2018, 06:25 PM
Ive seen one of the three today, I was going to watch every game in this tourney, poor effort on my part.

I do have prosecco nice and cold and apparently the rest of the Bollah clan will be returning shortly with a chicken madras.

Prosecco?! Yer watching fitba man! Get some beers in!

16-06-2018, 06:32 PM
Pavon came on for the Argies, I think. Didn't make much of an impression.

Don't think I've seen a competition winner today.

It looks like there are going to be more and more penalties because of VAR but, why oh why is VAR not picking up all the manhandling of attackers at every corner kick and free kicked lifted into the box? Every,and I do mean every, team is guilty of it.

Rant over, back to the telly.

16-06-2018, 06:33 PM

Ive been given a case of it. It'd be rude not to:party:
Nigeria:flag: to tear apart the bloated, overpaid, past it, 'golden generation' Croatia. Modric's hair is also very poor.

16-06-2018, 06:34 PM
Nigeria:flag: to tear apart the bloated, overpaid, past it, 'golden generation' Croatia. Modric's hair is also very poor.

Free prosecco? Well that's a different story!

16-06-2018, 06:34 PM

Pah! It's not the 70s Grandad.

Nice Sauvignon Blanc for me. We're Hibs fans, we're cultured when it comes to football. Leave the lager lout or craft beer wannabe hipster image to the Hearts fans.

16-06-2018, 06:35 PM

Nice Sauvignon Blanc for me. We're Hibs fans, we're cultured when it comes to football. Leave the lager lout or craft beer wannabe hipster image to the Hearts fans.

I've got a sour beer flavoured with porcini mushrooms in the fridge. Some of us craft beer drinkers are not wannabe hipsters, we're fully fledged tweed wearing Hibsters I'll have you know.

Might also move to the red wine and cola later on.

16-06-2018, 06:37 PM

Cant beat a nice Marlborough New Zealand Sauv Blanc. Crushed nettle and gooseberry on the nose. Very choice choice:agree:

16-06-2018, 06:37 PM

No Efe no party, hope they get destroyed

16-06-2018, 06:38 PM
No Efe no party, hope they get destroyed

Theyre playing in green FFS:flag:what more do you want?:confused: :grr:

16-06-2018, 06:39 PM
I've got a sour beer flavoured with porcini mushrooms in the fridge. Some of us craft beer drinkers are not wannabe hipsters, we're fully fledged tweed wearing Hibsters I'll have you know.

Fully fledged Hibsters are fine.

It's the 'one Brewdog and I think I'm an authority on all alcohol' types that belong at Tynecastle. A porcini sour sounds superb.

16-06-2018, 06:40 PM
Theyre playing in green FFS:flag:what more do you want?:confused: :grr:

I want Efe running at Modric and doing his sideways shuffle when he always goes to the right, if I can't see that then I wash my hands of them :na na:

16-06-2018, 06:40 PM

I read that last sentence as red cola. Now thats sophistication. All back to yours:aok:

16-06-2018, 06:43 PM
Ffs i must be Jambo drinking beer and i canny see my telly for a big cop box

16-06-2018, 06:45 PM
I’ve seen every game so far and Denmark are by far the worst and most boring team. I hope they don’t progress through luck.

Saudi Arabia would be outraged at hearing you say they're better than Denmark. The Saudis would struggle in the Scottish Championship.

16-06-2018, 06:47 PM
I read that last sentence as red cola. Now thats sophistication. All back to yours:aok:

You need to try cheap red wine and coca cola - chilled to ice cold, equal quantities of both. It's the business and does the job :greengrin

:hyper

Saudi Arabia would be outraged at hearing you say they're better than Denmark. The Saudis would struggle in the Scottish Championship.

:agree:The worst performance ive ever seen at a world cup. I never saw El Salvador Hungary in 82 mind you

You need to try cheap red wine and coca cola - chilled to ice cold, equal quantities of both. It's the business and does the job :greengrin

:hyper

Liking your style:aok:

16-06-2018, 06:49 PM

Don't you just love Prosecco, nothing like it.:agree:

haagsehibby
16-06-2018, 06:51 PM

A rather nice Mas la Plana for me tonight.

16-06-2018, 06:51 PM

Particularly mixed with Chambord

16-06-2018, 06:54 PM
Particularly mixed with Chambord

Yup, that's the Kelty outlaws celebratory tipple of choice.

16-06-2018, 06:55 PM
Oh God, it's that grotesque Nigeria strip. Mind you the Croat one is a minger too.

16-06-2018, 06:56 PM
Looking forward to the Croatia v Nigeria match. Hopefully plenty of goals.

Only downside is that Sally McCoist is one of the commentators. Hate his attempts of trying to sound English.

16-06-2018, 06:56 PM
Yup, that's the Kelty outlaws celebratory tipple of choice.

My wife’s too, although she’s not from, and has never been to Kelty

16-06-2018, 06:57 PM
Oh God, it's that grotesque Nigeria strip. Mind you the Croat one is a minger too.

Croatia one is like a games board.

Only downside is that Sally McCoist is one of the commentators. Hate his attempts of trying to sound English.

Surprised he’s in Russia, peak time in the gardening industry just now

A team of tablecloths in a French bistro v 11 TVs on the blink.

16-06-2018, 06:58 PM
My wife’s too, although she’s not from, and has never been to Kelty

Eventually, we all go to Kelty.

16-06-2018, 06:58 PM

Pfft, nice cold Coors light on the go here.

16-06-2018, 07:00 PM
Liking the Nigeria change kit, better than their massively overrated psychedelic 1st kit.

16-06-2018, 07:00 PM

At the moment I very much am, thank you.
That Nigerian strip is fantastic.

16-06-2018, 07:01 PM
Pfft, nice cold Coors light on the go here.

I thought I knew you. I don't know what the opposite of the hyper emoticon is, but I'll go for this.

:dead:

16-06-2018, 07:02 PM
Liking the Nigeria change kit, better than their massively overrated psychedelic 1st kit.

It's a beauty.

I want them to win now.

16-06-2018, 07:02 PM
It's a beauty.

I want them to win now.

Should be a Hibs away kit

16-06-2018, 07:03 PM

Cava is the way forward. Cheaper, tastier and just not long back from a fortnight in Barca. Got hammered off the local wine and bought a Barcelona shirt with STEVENSON 16 on the back :greengrin

If you hear prosecco being ordered in a pub it's time to move pub before the shrieking and ****ing Queen on the jukebox starts.

16-06-2018, 07:04 PM
It's a beauty.

I want them to win now.

Yeah it is. Big contrast with the other one.

16-06-2018, 07:10 PM

That Nigeria strip looks good to me?

I’ve got Croatia in the work sweep so Idemo Hrvatska as they say in Dubrovnik.

16-06-2018, 07:12 PM
I predict this case of prosecco will not last long. Its going down like the titanic.
When the fun stops, stop though.

Good first ten minutes, enjoying the game.

16-06-2018, 07:14 PM
That Nigeria strip looks good to me?

I’ve got Croatia in the work sweep so Idemo Hrvatska as they say in Dubrovnik.

Yeah, I thought it was going to be the other one. :sick:

16-06-2018, 07:14 PM
:agree:The worst performance ive ever seen at a world cup. I never saw El Salvador Hungary in 82 mind you

1982 - brings back memories of running back from school to see the 4pm game. One of my favourite players was Arzu, the Honduras goalkeeper 🙂

16-06-2018, 07:15 PM

FFS another moan about a commentator, turn the sound down and watch the game without it.

How do the Croats manage to look so ****ing sinister?

I am loving this World Cup.

Even the less entertaining games have had moments of drama; not been a unenjoyable game so far imo.

16-06-2018, 07:17 PM
FFS another moan about a commentator, turn the sound down and watch the game without it.

Sadly I am listening to it on 5 Live and "the Butcher" is doing the commentary. Still thinking about turning the sound down though 😂

16-06-2018, 07:17 PM
I thought I knew you. I don't know what the opposite of the hyper emoticon is, but I'll go for this.

:dead:

The cheapest pint at $4.75 so I'm loving it.

16-06-2018, 07:18 PM
1982 - brings back memories of running back from school to see the 4pm game. One of my favourite players was Arzu, the Honduras goalkeeper 🙂

I have a memory that game wasnt televised? I was only 11 at the time so i could be mistaken. I do remember filling out the score on my wallchart with disbelief though.

16-06-2018, 07:18 PM
At an Old Firm game a few years ago Rangers (RIP) fans held up a banner stating ‘This city is ours’ below it they asked ‘where in Ireland is Glasgow?’

I think it’s time for a banner asking ‘Where in Glasgow is Ally McCoists TV voice from?’

16-06-2018, 07:19 PM

Even the less entertaining games have had moments of drama; not been a unenjoyable game so far imo.

Iran Morocco? I thought it was a shocker. Otherwise agree.

16-06-2018, 07:20 PM
Sadly I am listening to it on 5 Live and "the Butcher" is doing the commentary. Still thinking about turning the sound down though 😂

16-06-2018, 07:21 PM
The cheapest pint at $4.75 so I'm loving it.

I bet you've got a cocktail umbrella and a sparkler in the glass :dead:

16-06-2018, 07:21 PM

I’m not a fan of international football and football in general, except for games that impact Hibs, often bores me now. I’ve made a conscious effort to watch this WC with an open mind and have been pleasantly surprised so far. Really entertaining and a cracking start to the tournament.

16-06-2018, 07:22 PM
Are Senegal a stronger African side than Nigeria?

16-06-2018, 07:22 PM
Yeah, I thought it was going to be the other one. :sick:

Ah. It is boggin.

16-06-2018, 07:23 PM
Dreadful game so far

16-06-2018, 07:24 PM
I’m not a fan of international football and football in general, except for games that impact Hibs, often bores me now. I’ve made a conscious effort to watch this WC with an open mind and have been pleasantly surprised so far. Really entertaining and a cracking start to the tournament.

I’m exactly the same, usually struggle to watch the full 90 minutes of games on TV if Hibs aren’t impacted in any way but I’m enjoying this.

16-06-2018, 07:25 PM
Are Senegal a stronger African side than Nigeria?

No

Stadium built on a swamp and sinking.

Bloody hell. Limited shelf life.

Iran Morocco? I thought it was a shocker. Otherwise agree.

First 20 minutes were great; Morocco looked like they’d score a few & then Iran came back into it. 2nd half wasn’t great but a 95th own goal winner is definitely a moment of drama.

16-06-2018, 07:26 PM

Some tournaments can be pretty grim when the mentality is 'don't get beat'. This one hasn't shown much of that to be fair. I think its been cracking so far, but then I love a World Cup.

JoeT
16-06-2018, 07:26 PM

Good use of "over exuberance" by the stv commentator earlier

16-06-2018, 07:27 PM
No

Really? I quite fancy them to get through the group. Koulibaly at CB and Sadio Mane up front are top players.

16-06-2018, 07:28 PM
Stadium built on a swamp and sinking.

Bloody hell. Limited shelf life.

It only has to last 4 weeks.

First 20 minutes were great; Morocco looked like they’d score a few & then Iran came back into it. 2nd half wasn’t great but a 95th own goal winner is definitely a moment of drama.

Ahh, there you go, i missed the first half. the second half was an embarassment!

I like to hear the crowd. :wink:

16-06-2018, 07:29 PM
McCoist talking about Rangers finances when he was manager. Apparently without irony or embarrassment.

16-06-2018, 07:29 PM
No

You sure? Is there an obvious African nation that should be there but isn't?

JoeT
16-06-2018, 07:30 PM
At an Old Firm game a few years ago Rangers (RIP) fans held up a banner stating ‘This city is ours’ below it they asked ‘where in Ireland is Glasgow?’

I think it’s time for a banner asking ‘Where in Glasgow is Ally McCoists TV voice from?’
The Bellshill bellend

16-06-2018, 07:30 PM
It only has to last 4 weeks.

About the same as my Actimels in the fridge.

16-06-2018, 07:31 PM
That Rakitic haircut leaves a lot to be desired. A lot. It's like a Cummings but dafter.

16-06-2018, 07:31 PM
I bet you've got a cocktail umbrella and a sparkler in the glass :dead:

$2 extra mate. No chance!

16-06-2018, 07:33 PM
awfy glad i cashed out on Nigeria just 2 mins ago

16-06-2018, 07:34 PM
awfy glad i cashed out on Nigeria just 2 mins ago

I'm on corners.

16-06-2018, 07:35 PM
Didn’t realise Roger Federer was the manager of Croatia

16-06-2018, 07:36 PM
Some tournaments can be pretty grim when the mentality is 'don't get beat'. This one hasn't shown much of that to be fair. I think its been cracking so far, but then I love a World Cup.

I think the football narrative for a long time was set by the Greece and Porto 04 mentality and that impacted the standard of the big tournaments. Not losing and stifling the opposition was more important that expressing your own talents.

It seems that has changed for the better and expansive football is the order of the day again.

JoeT
Efe would have sorted that

Didn’t realise Roger Federer was the manager of Croatia

With Hans Fritzl in charge of Nigeria.

16-06-2018, 07:37 PM
I think the football narrative for a long time was set by the Greece and Porto 04 mentality and that impacted the standard of the big tournaments. Not losing and stifling the opposition was more important that expressing your own talents.

It seems that has changed for the better and expansive football is the order of the day again.

That Greece side were impossible to like.

16-06-2018, 07:39 PM
McCoist talking about Rangers finances when he was manager. Apparently without irony or embarrassment.

Thought he said Uncle Walter was the manager.

16-06-2018, 07:39 PM

Greece had a lot to answer for. It was a great pity they prospered from that gruesome defensive approach.

16-06-2018, 07:41 PM
Thought he said Uncle Walter was the manager.

He certainly mentioned him.

16-06-2018, 07:42 PM
Tin hats on, Slaven Bilic at half time.

16-06-2018, 07:49 PM
Nigeria just haven't showed enough here. The parochial Stoke City related commentary is fairly irritating.

The Pointer
16-06-2018, 07:50 PM
That's some racket(ic) the Croatian fans are making.

Remember being over there years ago when we played them and hearing what I thought at the time was the football song out, the Dynamo song. Very punky and aggressive but not a patch on SoL obviously.

Also think the Nigerians have been given a job lot of old Hibs strips with daglo lettering added.

The Pointer
16-06-2018, 07:51 PM
Was the best......

16-06-2018, 07:55 PM

Boak

16-06-2018, 07:57 PM
The start of this World Cup has been far better and more entertaining than what the whole of Euro 2016 served up with the obvious exception of Iceland beating England 😁

16-06-2018, 08:05 PM
Bilic has an annoying habit of touching his fellow pundits as he talks.

16-06-2018, 08:14 PM
Oh I could have scored.

16-06-2018, 08:14 PM
ffs flo would have burst the net there

16-06-2018, 08:15 PM
Bilic has an annoying habit of touching his fellow pundits as he talks.

Surprised Roy hasn't landed one on him.

16-06-2018, 08:15 PM
Moses should be off for incessant diving.

16-06-2018, 08:16 PM
Moses should be off for incessant diving.

Total basket case.

16-06-2018, 08:17 PM

Sorry lads, I think I might have jinxed it.

SideBurns
16-06-2018, 08:18 PM
In the latest example of McCoist's complete lack of self-awareness, he moans about Moses going down too easily.

"Unbelievable...". Aye, you said it Ally.

16-06-2018, 08:23 PM
Hibby Stuart Hogg captains Scotland against USA in the ruggerby @ 2am... just sayin likesey

16-06-2018, 08:23 PM
Total basket case.

Probably just needs a couple of tablets.

16-06-2018, 08:24 PM
Hibby Stuart Hogg captains Scotland against USA in the ruggerby @ 2am... just sayin likesey

I'm not allowed to stay up that late.

16-06-2018, 08:27 PM
I'm afraid Nigeria just seem a bit pish. Am I right in thinking they've had massive arguments and disagreements in their camp in the lead up to these finals?

16-06-2018, 08:27 PM
I'm not allowed to stay up that late.

get yourself one of those new fancy VCR recorders, DONT get one of the Beta versions

16-06-2018, 08:29 PM
hope messi aint taking this penalty

I believe that’s 6 penalties in a row now that’s been given!

Excellent refereeing. Wrestling in the box finally punished.

16-06-2018, 08:30 PM
Definite penalty. Cool as **** finish.

16-06-2018, 08:30 PM
croatia accept the nigerian gift

16-06-2018, 08:31 PM
If only tbey were given every game. It has become mostly acceptable for some unknown reason.

16-06-2018, 08:38 PM
Excellent refereeing. Wrestling in the box finally punished.

It's the arbitrary nature of the punishment I don't like. Youll never see that given against Sergio Ramos, for example.

16-06-2018, 08:44 PM
It's the arbitrary nature of the punishment I don't like. Youll never see that given against Sergio Ramos, for example.

Fair point.

One of those incidents that sees pundits take the 'if you give that then there's 7 penalties a game' view. So be it as far as I'm concerned. A foul is a foul and I'd like to see a more consistent stance taken on incidents like the one tonight.

Cat Stanton
16-06-2018, 08:46 PM
croatia accept the nigerian gift

It tells you how annoying the English commentators are that I have actually vaguely enjoyed (NB in comparison) listening to Ally McCoist... And, obviously he's an arse, and talks *****...

And it tells you how **** this game is that I am posting this nonsense...

16-06-2018, 08:48 PM
It tells you how annoying the English commentators are that I have actually vaguely enjoyed (NB in comparison) listening to Ally McCoist... And, obviously he's an arse, and talks *****...

And it tells you how **** this game is that I am posting this nonsense...

Nailed it.

16-06-2018, 08:49 PM
Fair point.

One of those incidents that sees pundits take the 'if you give that then there's 7 penalties a game' view. So be it as far as I'm concerned. A foul is a foul and I'd like to see a more consistent stance taken on incidents like the one tonight.

I read somewhere that only 4% of corners lead to a goal directly (which makes you wonder why we always get so animated as fans when we get one :greengrin). I think a big reason for that is your average striker is getting his shirt pulled off his back the whole time yet if he bumps a defender slightly its a free kick the other way.

16-06-2018, 08:50 PM
Really enjoyed that Iceland performance today. What a great team spirit with organisation and a keeper having a blinder.

16-06-2018, 08:51 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/world-latin-america-44509124/world-cup-uruguay-schoolchildren-react-to-last-minute-goal

schoolkids in uruguay celebrate last minute goal against egypt :greengrin imagine if they came back in and saw it had been chalked off :devil:

16-06-2018, 08:56 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/world-latin-america-44509124/world-cup-uruguay-schoolchildren-react-to-last-minute-goal

schoolkids in uruguay celebrate last minute goal against egypt :greengrin imagine if they came back in and saw it had been chalked off :devil:

If only...

16-06-2018, 08:57 PM
Worst game so far. I’ve never gone along with the term ‘wage thieves’ but the Nigerians almost convinced me.

16-06-2018, 08:58 PM
'It's always good to win the first game in the world cup because your confidence is high. If you lose its horrible'

Surgical insightfulness from our esteemed ex manager and massive bellender, Terrance Butcher.

16-06-2018, 09:05 PM
'It's always good to win the first game in the world cup because your confidence is high. If you lose its horrible'

Surgical insightfulness from our esteemed ex manager and massive bellender, Terrance Butcher.

But surely losing the 1st game takes away the fear of losing the 1st game?

Every cloud and all that.

16-06-2018, 09:57 PM
I would agree with the pevious points about corners and fouls. I guess in this case the Nigerian defender had both arms clamped around the chest of the Croatian player whilst they both were on the ground and then in the air - and it was directly in the ref's line of sight. A lot clearer than a subtle shirt pull or a wee knudge in the back of the knee.

16-06-2018, 10:05 PM
I read somewhere that only 4% of corners lead to a goal directly (which makes you wonder why we always get so animated as fans when we get one :greengrin). I think a big reason for that is your average striker is getting his shirt pulled off his back the whole time yet if he bumps a defender slightly its a free kick the other way.

They don't have the big head 'em in striker now. Targets are harder to find.

16-06-2018, 10:09 PM
Nigeria are fighting it out with Saudi Arabia as the worst team of the tournament so far.

16-06-2018, 10:11 PM
Really enjoyed that Iceland performance today. What a great team spirit with organisation and a keeper having a blinder.

Sounds like Stranraer when they played us 1st game in the 1st division [emoji19]

16-06-2018, 10:11 PM
Nigeria are fighting it out with Saudi Arabia as the worst team of the tournament so far.

Saudi edging it so far, they were rotten on Thursday.

16-06-2018, 10:17 PM
Saudi edging it so far, they were rotten on Thursday.

I would say they are in the lead but there's not much in it. At least they could say they were up against the hosts in their opening match and so they were pumped up for it.

Nigeria produced nothing at all tonight, absolutely hopeless.

17-06-2018, 01:12 AM
I would say they are in the lead but there's not much in it. At least they could say they were up against the hosts in their opening match and so they were pumped up for it.

Nigeria produced nothing at all tonight, absolutely hopeless.

Yeah fair point about the Saudis.

Nigeria and in particular Moses done hee haw

17-06-2018, 07:06 AM
I had a rant yesterday about the fouls by defenders in the box at corners, free kicks etc.

Glad to see the World Cup refs log into Hibs.net!!

17-06-2018, 07:53 AM
Efe Ambrose would have vastly improved that Nigeria team last night, in both ability & entertainment.

Green_one
17-06-2018, 08:08 AM

Too early to say but there are many indications that Europe rules in the WC So far all results involving European teams have been positive. I recall many WCs ago them saying there would soon be an African winner. That still looks far off. Some areas look weak. Australia get a relatively easy qualification. Saudi are poor qualifiers. Even the South Americans look less than impressive. No doubt Brazil will add some normality.

Lots to go yet but there is an early pattern.

17-06-2018, 08:14 AM
Fair point.

One of those incidents that sees pundits take the 'if you give that then there's 7 penalties a game' view. So be it as far as I'm concerned. A foul is a foul and I'd like to see a more consistent stance taken on incidents like the one tonight.They only do it because they get away with it. If penalties are given every time it stops.

17-06-2018, 08:17 AM

A smaller nation than Scotland and with no football history. how can they do it and not us?

17-06-2018, 08:21 AM
A smaller nation than Scotland and with no football history. how can they do it and not us?

Public funding. But in this country we don't use tax payers money to do things like investing in coaching, education and infrastructure.

17-06-2018, 08:31 AM
Did anyone see this? https://i.redd.it/oybuws2lsf411.jpg

Hopefully we'll win our next two games and qualify.

17-06-2018, 09:05 AM
Public funding. But in this country we don't use tax payers money to do things like investing in coaching, education and infrastructure.

I think we do considerable investment in sport in Scotland, but football infrastructure is very different here.You have to ask how much our governng body invests in the game and what do we expect from our professional clubs too?

Who’s job is it to put money into facilities in a country of our size and with our games resources?

I live in Edinburgh and find that we have an abundance of sports resources, municipal golf courses, swimming pools, gyms, indoor and outdoor tennis. When I lived in Spain it was the opposite, everything was privately funded and much less accessible.

17-06-2018, 09:20 AM

No idea but Scotland should be at World Cups.

17-06-2018, 09:33 AM
I think we do considerable investment in sport in Scotland, but football infrastructure is very different here.You have to ask how much our governng body invests in the game and what do we expect from our professional clubs too?

Who’s job is it to put money into facilities in a country of our size and with our games resources?

I live in Edinburgh and find that we have an abundance of sports resources, municipal golf courses, swimming pools, gyms, indoor and outdoor tennis. When I lived in Spain it was the opposite, everything was privately funded and much less accessible.

It's not even comparable I'm afraid. (and in terms of access to all, I'd disagree with you anyway about Edinburgh facilities, £6 for a swimming session at the commie?)

Barney Ronay article here about the Iceland model. Most u10 kids teams coaches have the uefa b licence, one step away from what you need to be a competitive coach! The place is literally crawling with ridiculously well educated coaches. And even small settlements have heated indoor training facilities for the whole community to use.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2016/jun/08/iceland-stunning-rise-euro-2016-gylfi-sigurdsson-lars-lagerback

Even if you leave sporting achievement aside, the health and wellbeing benefits Iceland will get from all this in ten years or so (and all the associated costs) will pay for itself.

Shocking thread hijack.

Who's playing today, anyway? Brazil.

17-06-2018, 09:53 AM
It's not even just Iceland that we should be looking to. We have a similar population size to Croatia and Denmark who are both in Russia this year so how can these nations do it and we can't?

Since we last qualified for a major tournament in 1998, Croatia have qualified for 4 out of the last 5 World Cups and 4 out of the last 5 European Championships. Denmark have qualified for 3 out of the last 5 World Cups and 3 out of the last 5 European Championships.

Even going back to Euro 2016, both Wales and Northern Ireland were there and they both have smaller populations than us.

What are they doing differently to us? Where is our Mario Mandzukic, Christian Eriksen or Gareth Bale?

17-06-2018, 11:10 AM
It's not even comparable I'm afraid. (and in terms of access to all, I'd disagree with you anyway about Edinburgh facilities, £6 for a swimming session at the commie?)

Barney Ronay article here about the Iceland model. Most u10 kids teams coaches have the uefa b licence, one step away from what you need to be a competitive coach! The place is literally crawling with ridiculously well educated coaches. And even small settlements have heated indoor training facilities for the whole community to use.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2016/jun/08/iceland-stunning-rise-euro-2016-gylfi-sigurdsson-lars-lagerback

Even if you leave sporting achievement aside, the health and wellbeing benefits Iceland will get from all this in ten years or so (and all the associated costs) will pay for itself.

Shocking thread hijack.

Who's playing today, anyway? Brazil.

Who should fund the type of investment in resources you highlight? Comparing football Iceland and Scotland, is it not reasonable to highlight the massive difference in the resources found in our professional game? That surely has some bearing on whether the state should invest more? Does our ruling body have no responsibility for how the game is managed and resourced?

JimboHibs
17-06-2018, 11:11 AM
No idea but Scotland should be at World Cups.

On what basis ?

17-06-2018, 11:19 AM
Really looking forward to Germany v Mexico today. I'm not totally sold on the German team this time around, last time out they could have given them the trophy at the start and saved the other teams 4 weeks of their time. Will be a decent test for them 1st time out albeit one they should deal with.

17-06-2018, 11:31 AM
Its actually insane how much smarter and better run other nations are. Scotland are years behind.

17-06-2018, 11:36 AM
Its actually insane how much smarter and better run other nations are. Scotland are years behind.

The only nations I've seen so far that I would give us a chance of beating are Saudi Arabia and Nigeria.

17-06-2018, 11:41 AM
The only nations I've seen so far that I would give us a chance of beating are Saudi Arabia and Nigeria.

Even then we'd play 451 and have a thousand rubbish overhit crosses, aimless hoofs and hopeless shots.

17-06-2018, 12:19 PM

Correct.

17-06-2018, 12:26 PM
Really looking forward to Germany v Mexico today. I'm not totally sold on the German team this time around, last time out they could have given them the trophy at the start and saved the other teams 4 weeks of their time. Will be a decent test for them 1st time out albeit one they should deal with.

Thing is with Germany they always seem to come good at the world cup

17-06-2018, 12:28 PM
Serbia, Germany, Brazil on a treble today.

We all groaned when we didn't lay a glove on Costa Rica recently and although they're no on top here, the way they break and pass the ball is way ahead of what Scotland have been capable of lately. Why do I have a feeling that we're going to be heading backwards under McLeish

17-06-2018, 12:28 PM

Looking forward to watching that game on VR.

17-06-2018, 12:56 PM
Is Evra drunk?

17-06-2018, 12:57 PM
Is Evra drunk?

I was wondering that as well. All 3 of them are hopeless but Evra is really slavering.

17-06-2018, 01:12 PM
Looking forward to watching that game on VR.

Aye but Vladimir would enjoy the game more without you on him.

17-06-2018, 01:13 PM
What a goal.

1-0 serbia

Absolute belter of a goal

17-06-2018, 01:20 PM
Serbia and Costa Rica have both looked decent in spells. This could be a tough group to get out off if Brazil win it as most expect.

17-06-2018, 01:35 PM
Serbia and Costa Rica have both looked decent in spells. This could be a tough group to get out off if Brazil win it as most expect.

Has milinkovic savic been good? I was looking forward to seeing him.

17-06-2018, 01:45 PM
I've missed this game completely. Either of them been any good?

bookert
17-06-2018, 01:49 PM
Has milinkovic savic been good? I was looking forward to seeing him.

Been the best player on park, second half, looks a super footballer

17-06-2018, 01:50 PM
Been the best player on park, second half, looks a super footballer

Lazio boy, really really skilful.

17-06-2018, 02:05 PM
I see Henrik Larsson is improbably orange these days.

17-06-2018, 02:13 PM
I see Henrik Larsson is improbably orange these days.
Weird colour.

17-06-2018, 02:25 PM
Thought neither Costa Rica or Serbia looked that great. Brazil will most likely beat them both fairly easily, Switzerland will look at it and fancy their chances of a place in the knockouts. Only thing that impressed me somewhat was that Serbia looked fairly organised defensively but then again I don't think Costa Rica showed much threat.

17-06-2018, 02:32 PM
Spain have been the standouts so far, now to see what Germany and Brazil have to offer

17-06-2018, 02:37 PM
Spain have been the standouts so far, now to see what Germany and Brazil have to offer

Very much looking forward to Germany Mexico. Problem is I can't find my specs so I'm sitting here watching it in my prescription sunglasses. I've been told I look like a blind man.

17-06-2018, 02:38 PM
Very much looking forward to Germany Mexico. Problem is I can't find my specs so I'm sitting here watching it in my prescription sunglasses. I've been told I look like a blind man.

Sunglasses indoors is pure rock n roll

17-06-2018, 02:41 PM
Sunglasses indoors is pure rock n roll

Groovy. If I bump into furniture and injure myself I know who to blame:aok: new Adidas Russia 2018 world cup ball arrived in the post, inflated and now being booted around the house.

17-06-2018, 02:49 PM

Agreed so far, Ronaldo carried Portugal to a point and that will only send them so far in a World Cup.

17-06-2018, 02:53 PM
Agreed so far, Ronaldo carried Portugal to a point and that will only send them so far in a World Cup.

That's my take on it as well, mon ze Germans

17-06-2018, 02:56 PM
That Mexican anthem is a Farce. Nice headdress on that boy though.

17-06-2018, 02:58 PM
I miss Philipp Lahm already

17-06-2018, 02:58 PM
I'm intrigued about Neuer. Is he going to be rusty after a season out?

17-06-2018, 02:59 PM
Mexico were fantastic in 2014.great to watch.

17-06-2018, 03:03 PM
Given the ball to Draxler, love watching him play, pretty open after 3 mins

17-06-2018, 03:04 PM
Given the ball to Draxler, love watching him play, pretty open after 3 mins

Both teams passing it well.

17-06-2018, 03:09 PM
Good start to the game and chances for both teams already!

17-06-2018, 03:09 PM
The Mexican number 16s shorts wtf

17-06-2018, 03:10 PM

:agree: Germany-Mexico for me feels like one of those classic WC combos, perhaps more of a last 16 fixture, though I've no idea how often they've met. I may research it! Lively start so far

17-06-2018, 03:13 PM
:agree: Germany-Mexico for me feels like one of those classic WC combos, perhaps more of a last 16 fixture, though I've no idea how often they've met. I may research it! Lively start so far

I have a memory of a 1-0 Germany win in 2002? Probably wrong.

17-06-2018, 03:14 PM
Don't think this ref is liking Germany very much

17-06-2018, 03:14 PM
Good start for Mexico, good game so far.

17-06-2018, 03:17 PM
Good start for Mexico, good game so far.

They’re having a good go. Good on them.

17-06-2018, 03:18 PM
Tell you what, Germany win the best strip award.

That is a thing of beauty!!!

17-06-2018, 03:18 PM
Shoot ffs

17-06-2018, 03:22 PM
Tell you what, Germany win the best strip award.

That is a thing of beauty!!!

Their change kit is even better for me anyway.

17-06-2018, 03:25 PM
They’re having a good go. Good on them.

As is not uncommon in football, when Germany play a really open team, it often makes them play more attractive football, making it a much more entertaining game.

In Clive Pundit style, the Mexicans are giving it a right good go :agree:

17-06-2018, 03:32 PM
Mexico doing fantastic till they get into shooting positions. that #22 on the left is doing my head in, wasting chance after chance.

what a goal by the boy!!! proved me wrong big style.

17-06-2018, 03:34 PM
Mexico are the better side after 35 mins, seem to want it more

Then they score oooft

17-06-2018, 03:35 PM
Well deserved lead for Mexico.

The Mexicans have been excellent.

Superb goal and superb finish!

#22 nearly making an arse of it again

Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool!!!!!!!!!

Gol! Gol! Gol! Gol!

Mr Grieves
Well deserved! They're playing some lovely football.

mexico are cutting the germans open , what a goal

17-06-2018, 03:36 PM
Mexico doing fantastic till they get into shooting positions. that #22 on the left is doing my head in, wasting chance after chance.

what a goal by the boy!!! proved me wrong big style.

Hahahahahha

17-06-2018, 03:36 PM
The South/Central American travelling supports are really putting the Europeans to shame as well.

17-06-2018, 03:37 PM
Brilliant from Mexico

Well deserved! They're playing some lovely football.

Yep.....been an excellent game

Tomsk
Germany have had enough warnings about the left winger getting to much space. Too late now.

Man, this is what I call a World Cup game. Classic fare.

For some strange reason I always think of the Mexicans as being a bit like the Germany of South America.

17-06-2018, 03:39 PM
Superb save from keeper there.

17-06-2018, 03:40 PM
Hahahahahha

Shut it you:greengrin

Mr Grieves
17-06-2018, 03:41 PM

For some strange reason I always think of the Mexicans as being a bit like the Germany of South America.

If Mexico was in South America you'd maybe have a point :)

17-06-2018, 03:42 PM
If Mexico was in South America you'd maybe have a point :)

To me they are.

17-06-2018, 03:43 PM
Shut it you:greengrin

I've done it before, at the 2002 World Cup I explained to anyone that would listen that Oliver Khan was the most over rated goalie I'd ever seen, queue him getting Germany to the final on his own :faf:

17-06-2018, 03:44 PM
To me they are.
Geography not your strong point.

17-06-2018, 03:45 PM

Chile has a lot of Germanic influence, culturally.

Mexico are very consistent at WCs - they got to the QFs in 1986, were banned in 1990 and have reached the last 16 in each of the six World Cups since.

17-06-2018, 03:46 PM
I've done it before, at the 2002 World Cup I explained to anyone that would listen that Oliver Khan was the most over rated goalie I'd ever seen, queue him getting Germany to the final on his own :faf:

You're lucky you didn't incur his wrath with that statement.

Curried
Can't see Kimmich staying on for the second half, as he's simply not tracking back and he's been caught out of position in the right back since kick off.

Great contrast of goalies in this game in fact; Ochoa stuck on his line but saving everything, Neuer the modern sweeper keeper. This game is as good as Spain Portugal IMO, albeit different.

Apart from the almost maroon socks, Mexico have been awesome!

17-06-2018, 03:47 PM
Geography not your strong point.

They're in a class way above anything North American or Central American. I just think of them as being the not-quite-delivered-it-yet cousins of Brazil and Argentina with a style and class of that type. In my head they're South American (which clearly they're actually not).

17-06-2018, 03:47 PM
Can't see Kimmich staying on for the second half, as he's simply not tracking back and he's been caught out of position in the right back since kick off.

Hes no Phillipe Lahm.

17-06-2018, 03:48 PM
Apart from the almost maroon socks, Mexico have been awesome!

Yup. I'm thinking that if they can maintain consistency they might just go close.

17-06-2018, 03:49 PM
Ozil is a strange one. He looked great running with the ball first twenty minutes, but then disappeared. Where is he when you need him tracking back?

Tomsk

:agree: Or they change their system. At the moment they are getting opened up down that side every time Mexico go forward. Got to do something.

Chile has a lot of Germanic influence, culturally.

Mexico are very consistent at WCs - they got to the QFs in 1986, were banned in 1990 and have reached the last 16 in each of the six World Cups since.

Didn't know about the Chile/Germany cultural connection. Why is that?

They're in a class way above anything North American or Central American. I just think of them as being the not-quite-delivered-it-yet cousins of Brazil and Argentina with a style and class of that type. In my head they're South American (which clearly they're actually not).
Certainly a class act:aok:

17-06-2018, 03:50 PM

Lots of Germans and Nazis fled to South America after the war

17-06-2018, 03:51 PM
Ozil is a strange one. He looked great running with the ball first twenty minutes, but then disappeared. Where is he when you need him tracking back?

He was back in the box and beat for the goal. No sign of the rb. Good going forward but so slow to get back

17-06-2018, 03:52 PM
Mexico have been brilliant and Germany have played some nice stuff at times too. This has been the best game for me so far despite it only being 1-0. I hope Mexico don't start thinking 1-0 will be enough and sit in because the pace they have could rip Germany apart still.

17-06-2018, 03:52 PM
Lineker & co not finding much impartiality here. :rolleyes:

17-06-2018, 03:54 PM
Lots of Germans and Nazis fled to South America after the war

Goes back further...

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chile–Germany_relations

17-06-2018, 03:57 PM

Germany, like most of Europe, underwent a wave of revolutions in 1848. Germany wasn't a proper state then, it was really a collective of German-speaking states and cities. The revolt was by liberals in the middle-class and the working classes in general, who were pushing for a unified Germany and better conditions essentially.

Ultimately they were defeated by conservative interests and the aristocracy (although this was only a temporary delay, as it turned out) and many of the revolutionaries had to flee, with many moving to the Americas and a significant number settling in central Chile, which is probably not too dissimilar in climate and geographical features to central Europe.

17-06-2018, 03:59 PM
Germany, like most of Europe, underwent a wave of revolutions in 1848. Germany wasn't a proper state then, it was really a collective of German-speaking states and cities. The revolt was by liberals in the middle-class and the working classes in general, who were pushing for a unified Germany and better conditions essentially.

Ultimately they were defeated by conservative interests and the aristocracy (although this was only a temporary delay, as it turned out) and many of the revolutionaries had to flee, with many moving to the Americas and a significant number settling in central Chile, which is probably not too dissimilar in climate and geographical features to central Europe.

Aye that too :faf: :not worth

17-06-2018, 04:00 PM
Is anyone else annoyed at the way Phil Neville is prounoucing Kimmich's name?

Lineker has just done it too 🙄

17-06-2018, 04:00 PM
Goes back further...

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chile–Germany_relations

That's why I love this place, come on for a chat about the World Cup and learn about completely different things :top marks :greengrin

17-06-2018, 04:02 PM
Thanks for the Chile briefing lads, I'm more familiar with Peru. You only get this class of response on .net I'm sure.

Now, anyone got thoughts on the efficacy of the Schlieffen Plan or alternatively fully automated luxury Communism?

17-06-2018, 04:04 PM
I’m just in. What’s the Mexico left back been like? We were linked with him a few weeks ago (albeit as a winger). I’d imagine if he’s first choice left back for Mexico at a World Cup our chances of getting him are slim to none.

Curried
17-06-2018, 04:05 PM

Colonia the movie is no a bad watch about this.
Most importantly Emma Watson gets her kit off about an hour in:-)

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4005402/

This game needs a Mexican commentator.

'Half back passes to centre, centre holds it, holds it, HOLDS IT.'

Not wild about the Germany strip with the weird echo of the old London Weekend Television logo on the front.