11-07-2018, 08:31 PM
He came on for Walker did he not?
Oh right, sorry my mistake!
11-07-2018, 08:31 PM
come on ref blow the FT ******* whistle man
11-07-2018, 08:32 PM
The gloryhunters where I'm watching it are starting to revert to type now. One roaster absolutely slating Kane for "doing F all and not turning up"
bodhibs
How many ambulances are gonna get trashed tonight?
How greedy was that? 8 yard pass and that was it.
11-07-2018, 08:33 PM
4 mins injury time
Haha Trip Face is greeting. 😂😂😂
Nowt funny about that. He's been fantastic coming into the side and now he's injured.
Can't see this Croatia side beating France. They must be absolutely knackered now.
HibeesLA
4 mins injury time
i would say about right
beat it with those 4 mins added time
Don’t look like they have enough.
Young team, though. Looking good for the Euros.
The gloryhunters where I'm watching it are starting to revert to type now. One roaster absolutely slating Kane for "doing F all and not turning up"
Stop your s******ing.
Hope the press don't give it tight to Southgate. He has been a dignified manager who has exceeded expectation. Imagine if Sam had been in charge?
11-07-2018, 08:34 PM
That's a sending off. Dele has arms round the neck
send off a few ingland players ref
beat it with those 4 mins added time
I confess, I thought that before tonights game. They looked dead on their feet during their quarter final.
11-07-2018, 08:35 PM
Come on ref. Send this SHEITE home
Hope the press don't give it tight to Southgate. He has been a dignified manager who has exceeded expectation. Imagine if Sam had been in charge?
can't disagree with that, i can actually listen to him
Pretty exciting time for England with this young team to develop. Wish we could say the same.
11-07-2018, 08:36 PM
Stop your s******ing.I dare not express any emotion where I'm sitting☺
Roll on the cricket/polo season so football can get home to the football fans again
11-07-2018, 08:36 PM
If this free kick goes in I'm not sure what I'll do...
11-07-2018, 08:37 PM
Over the piece well deserved for Croatia.
England were good in the 1st half but have never really tested the keeper apart from Kanes miss.
Decent tournament from England, something to build on.
“They’re going home”
“They’re going”
“England’s going home”
😊😊
GIRFUY England!
YASSSSSSSSSSSSS HAW ******* HAW
:music: THEY'RE COMING HOME :thumbsup:
bodhibs
Haha, get out
Well it's not coming home then.
A fantastic effort from England with some amazing stand out performances not least from Pickford. Have thoroughly enjoyed the banter and the endless debates on here of how good England actually are and haven't played anyone etc,etc.
Until the next tournament when I can once again shout it's COMING HOME :greengrin
I hope Croatia go on to win it now.
GUTTED :boo hoo:
Yasssss
Happy ***** day!!! 😁 😋
Thoroughly deserved.
11-07-2018, 08:38 PM
and the very VERY best of luck to Belgium for 3rd place :agree:
Croatia deserve a huge amount of credit, their pressing and work rate in the 2nd half especially was very impressive.
Definitely swaying towards supporting them in the final.
Out out OUT!!
GO HOME YA SMELLIES
YAAAASSSSSSS ****ing get it right up you’s!!!
GET IT RIGHT UP YE. :top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks
Yaaaaaaasssss
It's not coming home lads.
bodhibs
And relax
Col_0762
They better get the tables and chairs bolted down before they start going through windows. Stay safe Emergency responders.
How many ambulances are gonna get trashed tonight?
Think the Scots bird has been nabed by the polis :greengrin
11-07-2018, 08:39 PM
Well done Croatia.
Hard lines England.
I'd love Croatia to win it now, but France look stick ons.
lets see the 'scenes' now studio man
Ian Wright should learn to keep his trap shut.
England knocked out by a not a good team.
You're going home
You're going
England's going home
Out out OUT!!
GO HOME YA SMELLIES
You have been as embrassing as the it's coming home gang throughout this thread.
England well beaten today and deserved to be out.
Dan Sarf
Hard luck England. Hard luck Gareth. Never mind the ***holes, you can be proud of how far you got.
They only played one decent team in the whole tournament, and lost that one. Coming home my erse. :giruy2:
Heckys Wheel
11-07-2018, 08:40 PM
First real test of the tournament and completely found out.
Got the luck of the draw to get them there and as usual, they bought into they’re own hype.
Get. It. Right. Up. Them.
andybev1
byzee bye engers.:greengrin
I reckon Croatia will win the cup. They are superbly well organised and have two cracking strikers if both fit.
CorrieHibs
Yasssss never in nowt.
Had the Croats e/w so extra bonus
A fantastic effort from England with some amazing stand out performances not least from Pickford. Have thoroughly enjoyed the banter and the endless debates on here of how good England actually are and haven't played anyone etc,etc.
Until the next tournament when I can once again shout it's COMING HOME :greengrin
Commiserations mate. I thought England conducted themselves extremely well - maybe four years and one more top player away from being the full threat.
I doubt we'll ever see a Scotland side getting the chance to 'bottle it' in the World Cup semi-final so I envy what you've been able to enjoy.
bodhibs
Think the Scots bird has been nabed by the polis :greengrin
Nae luck hen 😅
They only played one decent team in the whole tournament, and lost that one. Coming home my erse. :giruy2:
aint that a fact :agree:
Out out OUT!!
GO HOME YA SMELLIES
Yep, ‘go home to your ugly wives!’, as pretty much any nations’ fans can sing. Boo hoo.
11-07-2018, 08:41 PM
Great effort by England. Southgate has overachieved.
11-07-2018, 08:41 PM
Thank ****.
11-07-2018, 08:42 PM
Commiserations mate. I thought England conducted themselves extremely well - maybe four years and one more top player away from being the full threat.
I doubt we'll ever see a Scotland side getting the chance to 'bottle it' in the World Cup semi-final so I envy what you've been able to enjoy.
Cheers mate, has been a great few weeks as an England supporter.
Pretty exciting time for England with this young team to develop. Wish we could say the same.
They are quite young but not super young, especially when it comes to International competitions, most will be 27+ at next World Cup, Young will be retired and Walker will be 32-33. Lingard is funny one, still gets talked about as if he is a youngster but he is 25...
Best chance ingurlund will ever get to win it. Unlucky ladz. My thoughts are with you at this difficult time......hehe
Now we can turn to the real fitbaw tomorrow. C’mon the Hibs!
11-07-2018, 08:43 PM
Enjoyed that match. England deserve some plaudits, however they've only been tested this evening against a team out on their feet.
They never penetrated the bigger teams, and got most of their goals from set pieces.
Maybe we can get back to a bit of normality on the tv now, and won't have the weather lassies telling us, it's coming home.
Best team won tonight.
Well done the Croats.
Let's see if England can win the 3rd place play off.
A thoroughly likeable team - emphasis on team - and manager that have been a breath of fresh air. Fans, a good few mates amongst them, who have spent their life savings following their team and no doubt had the time of their lives. Genuinely feel sorry for them. Less so beer chuckers and Clive Tyldesley.
I do look forward to the day that Scotland are in a similar position, but o won’t hold my breath.
Harsh on England on that first half performance but they haven't got enough yet to beat the best sides in the world. Fell at the first serious test.
andybev1
Not lots of tears which is refreshing. unlucky England...
Amazing stuff. Bottle completely went as expected. England's best ever chance gone.
K-Zazu
11-07-2018, 08:44 PM
Didn’t see that coming from Croatia I thought they were excellent in the second half especially
Come on ref. Send this SHEITE home
I would guess from your series of posts that it's not the media you dislike, but actually 'tthe English'. Sad.
bodhibs
11-07-2018, 08:45 PM
Amazing stuff. Bottle completely went as expected. England's best ever chance gone.
My only suprise was how long it took to hit the floor, kinda makes it sweeter
Anyone expecting a backlash from the real fans is going to be disappointed I think. Really nice scenes of fans and players appreciating each other there.
AltheHibby
Just a thought for all the posters saying England never faced a decent team: they put Scotland out in the qualifiers.
I thought England had enough to go on and win the big one. They can hold their head high because they gave it a damned good go. On the bright side, non-Englanders will now be spared the ott BS from the commentators and media.
11-07-2018, 08:46 PM
I would guess from your series of posts that it's not the media you dislike, but actually 'tthe English'. Sad.
Don't bite. Trolling at it's most obvious.
11-07-2018, 08:46 PM
They better get the tables and chairs bolted down before they start going through windows. Stay safe Emergency responders.There's Hibbys on the thin blue line.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
Col_0762
11-07-2018, 08:47 PM
There's Hibbys on the thin blue line.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
Hibby’s here, there and everywhere!
Gordy M
Not really mate.....they also played Belgium.....oh yeh they lost thst as well.
Board yer windows up England. England fans about to face off with their own. As they always do.
Croatia, population 4 million, in a World Cup final.
Where do they find the players?
Thank God for that.
Nae luck England.
Less people live in Croatia than Scotland. Scotland is a football mad country. Makes you wonder what could be possible...and why we're not better.
11-07-2018, 08:48 PM
England have a good young exciting team and manager. We have Alex McLeish...I really hope he gives the young Scottish players a chance
Some summer you've had Scouse! Hard lines, man. Hopefully some good times to look forward to with the Cabbage this season.
Would love Croatia to win it too.
Only played two decent teams and lost both.
Glad they're out. Ian Wright getting a bit too over confident at half time and saying that England will go on and win 2-0. Some never learn.
I predict a fairly crap final.
AltheHibby
Board yer windows up England. England fans about to face off with their own. As they always do.
Be a good boy and hand the keyboard back to mummy. Then come back and post when you have grown up.
11-07-2018, 08:49 PM
Didn’t see that coming from Croatia I thought they were excellent in the second half especially
What a turn around from them. Exceptional fitness considering that's their third 120 mins in a row. And they have 4 genuinely world class attacking players and a great young goalie. They've been another great story from the best world cup ever by an absolute mile.
I still can't see past France.
11-07-2018, 08:49 PM
Some summer you've had Scouse! Hard lines, man. Hopefully some good times to look forward to with the Cabbage this season.
Would love Croatia to win it too.
Diddums
11-07-2018, 08:50 PM
Maybe Croatia. I could be wrong.
Less people live in Croatia than Scotland. Scotland is a football mad country. Makes you wonder what could be possible...and why we're not better.
Reality rears its head...
Don't bite. Trolling at it's most obvious.
But it really does grip my sh.t, there is absolutely no need for that kind of language.
Anyway best team won but for England they have the basis of a very good team & manager.
the SFA and bigot brothers will have something to do with it somewhere along the line
11-07-2018, 08:51 PM
Diddums
What's that you're trying to say Skippy?
11-07-2018, 08:51 PM
Glad they're out. They are an ok side, probably in the top 10 to 15 in the world, but when they got their first serious test they were found wanting. Some very good players on show as well. Kane was non existent but should have scored. Walker was excellent, some of the others flatter to deceive though. They are certainly not as dislikeable as teams and manager as they have had in the past. Still glad they are out though
Col_0762
11-07-2018, 08:52 PM
We’ve beat Croatia the last twice we’ve played them, home and away.
guthrie01
Away you go, just because England got found out doesn't mean Croatia and France won't put on a good final
Be a good boy and hand the keyboard back to mummy. Then come back and post when you have grown up.
:tee hee: To be fair he mostly manages to type the letters in the right order for most of the words.
Croatia were immense second half and in extra time Wasn't sure they could produce that performance All Credit to them
That was absolutely glorious. Thoroughly enjoyed that.
Folk are focussing on this from the English angle, but after a listless first half I thought Croatia were magnificent.
They showed great fitness, drive, guts, determination and ability to drag themselves back into the match.
Fascinating game, another really good one in what has been a superb competition.
11-07-2018, 08:53 PM
They play futsal in schools. They'll have tens of thousands of kids technically proficient by the time they are 10.
11-07-2018, 08:54 PM
But it really does grip my sh.t, there is absolutely no need for that kind of language.
Anyway best team won but for England they have the basis of a very good team & manager.
Just cover yourself with the comfort blanket that, it's coming home, sometime. ✌
11-07-2018, 08:55 PM
Folk are focussing on this from the English angle, but after a listless first half I thought Croatia were magnificent.
They showed great fitness, drive, guts, determination and ability to drag themselves back into the match.
Fascinating game, another really good one in what has been a superb competition.
Modric seemed to be playing three positions. Running across the pitch chasing everything down and trying the simple and outrageous with equal élan.
He's just fantastic.
Away you go, just because England got found out doesn't mean Croatia and France won't put on a good final
England going out has got absolutely nothing to do with it. :rolleyes:
End of the day first real test they failed simple as that. None of these two teams tonight will win the final. England overhyped themselves and rightly so, we’d be the very same.
But this is a team who can build for the future and may well be ready next time.
11-07-2018, 08:56 PM
Modric seemed to be playing three positions. Running across the pitch chasing everything down and trying the simple and outrageous with equal élan.
He's just fantastic.
He's good but he's no Vida :cb
11-07-2018, 08:56 PM
They only played one decent team in the whole tournament, and lost that one. Coming home my erse.
:giruy2:
You really disappoint me BH. Read a lot of your posts and agreed with your take on things but you lost it with your ABE. How many fouls and yellow cards did the Croats get away with just in the first half. The amount of body checks unpunished was astonishing. The Croatians played better the longer the game went on but it was pure bad reffing that stopped England going 2 up before half time. At least I can be proud of my team, there is no way you can be proud of the crap you just spouted. ABE is a blindfold to reality on this occasion. We got beat and I'm not happy with the officials but that's par for the course - I can take it and move on. This team will hopefully improve and without the overhyping I can look forward to that. All you can do is grasp at straws. If Scotland reached the semis of any competition would you complain of the quality of the opposition. If you were not a Hibs supporter I would write you out of my will.
11-07-2018, 08:57 PM
We’ve beat Croatia the last twice we’ve played them, home and away.
we have an excellent record v Croatia with only one game being a friendly
played five
won 2
drawn 3
not too sure we could have lived with them tonight though tbf
11-07-2018, 08:57 PM
Outstanding tweet from hibs
11-07-2018, 08:59 PM
Just a thought for all the posters saying England never faced a decent team: they put Scotland out in the qualifiers.
We're pish and we know it
11-07-2018, 09:00 PM
we have an excellent record v Croatia with only one game being a friendly
played five
won 2
drawn 3
not too sure we could have lived with them tonight though tbf
I'd be more interested in that stat if one of them was in a world cup semi-final, or even in the group stages. Part of my willing England on in this Finals was the hope that it might light a fire under the SFA if they won it. Oh well, years more of less than mediocre to look forward to for us.
11-07-2018, 09:00 PM
Commiserations to our resident English Hibees, your team did you proud.
Delighted for Croatia and really hope they win the cup. They showed skill and courage to get back into the game, with Modric in particular showing real class.
AltheHibby
11-07-2018, 09:01 PM
:tee hee: To be fair he mostly manages to type the letters in the right order for most of the words.
😂. Or maybe its his carer?
He's just fantastic.
He's world class, no doubt about that. Harry Kane disappointed tonight, and he's supposed to be England's World class player.
Whoosh.
bodhibs
Outstanding tweet from hibs
Link?
AltheHibby
Honesty. Thanks. 👍
Aritch
11-07-2018, 09:02 PM
And yet hilariously you called someone a snowflake just the other day. Not big on irony, right?
They play futsal in schools. They'll have tens of thousands of kids technically proficient by the time they are 10.
Meanwhile in Scotland, we take the goals down at places over the summer and lock the gates of the 3G pitches.
Media came into this match believing the position in the final was guaranteed. Should have kept the humble and less expectant “let’s wait and see” approach. “It’s coming home” stuff became incessant and unsurprisingly it isn’t...
I'd be more interested in that stat if one of them was in a world cup semi-final, or even in the group stages. Part of my willing England on in this Finals was the hope that it might light a fire under the SFA if they won it. Oh well, years more of less than mediocre to look forward to for us.
c'mon now, you're old enough to know better than that
11-07-2018, 09:03 PM
You really disappoint me BH. Read a lot of your posts and agreed with your take on things but you lost it with your ABE. How many body checks and yellow cards did the Croats get away with just in the first half. The amount of body checks unpunished was astonishing. The Croatians played better the longer the game went on but it was pure bad reffing that stopped England going 2 up before half time. At least I can be proud of my team, there is no way you can be proud of the crap you just spouted. ABE is a blindfold to reality on this occasion. We got beat and I'm not happy with the officials but that's par for the course - I can take it and move on. This team will hopefully improve and without the overhyping I can look forward to that. All you can do is grasp at straws. If Scotland reached the semis of any competition would you complain of the quality of the opposition. If you were not a Hibs supporter I would write you out of my will.
ABE every time. :greengrin Does that mean i'm still in your will? :wink:
Looks like that idiot in the advert will need to get the date removed on his world cup winners tattoo. :devil:
11-07-2018, 09:03 PM
Link?
11-07-2018, 09:05 PM
Felt a bit for the English players in the end, a bunch of young players getting as far as they did is an accomplishment though. I think if they manage to add one or two of real quality to that squad along with the additional experience they could do well at the euros in a couple of years.
A that being said Croatia were superb and basically suffocated the English attacking threat. Is there a better team at keeping the ball? I do however think France will destroy them.
bodhibs
11-07-2018, 09:06 PM
Quality 😁, thanks
I miss the big bear
11-07-2018, 09:06 PM
Well done Croatia. Not just because they beat England, but for a nation of 4m people to get to a World Cup Final is a superb achievement. It does show that we cannot make the excuse that we're a small nation and we should take inspiration from countries like Croatia.
Yet again though, we see huge disrespect by the English media towards their opposition and one of the main reasons why folk up here are happy for them to lose. Rio Ferdinand last night was saying England MUST beat Croatia, England WILL beat Croatia. I'm sure I heard that Modric has won more major honours than all the England team tonight put together, they were totally ignoring how good and experienced the Croatian team are and writing them off as 'football was coming home'.
11-07-2018, 09:07 PM
"The semi-back-post" - Glen Hoddle
he talks some crap, apparently trippiers cross was the cross of the tournament as well
Excellent
Hibs have really upped their PR game the last few months it seems
Commiserations to our resident English Hibees, your team did you proud.
Delighted for Croatia and really hope they win the cup. They showed skill and courage to get back into the game, with Modric in particular showing real class.
Completely agree with all that. However I think a much fresher, much better France will easily contain a completely knackered Croatia. A dull, one-sided final looks likely to me unless Croatia can somehow find superhuman reserves of energy which is unlikely given what they've been through to get there.
On the plus side we maybe get the England v Belgium game we should have had in the earlier round, though England will be knackered and deflated too.
He's world class, no doubt about that. Harry Kane disappointed tonight, and he's supposed to be England's World class player.
Yeah he didn’t look fit. One thing nobody has mentioned though....the Croat keeper did bloody well to get back and make the second save with his feet!
11-07-2018, 09:08 PM
https://www.facebook.com/TheIrishPostSport/videos/2252848688065542/?hc_ref=ARSc4lKJHCJjAVctAZxXbNIxB1LbLc6D8Api5I6wtx EUTx34NLpy_qmrB8u65MTNAfY
:faf::faf::faf:
11-07-2018, 09:08 PM
Meanwhile in Scotland, we take the goals down at places over the summer and lock the gates of the 3G pitches.
We also have the old firm and a national association and governing body that bends over backwards to facilitate two teams. And also generations of kids who believe playing for the old firm is the pinnacle of the sport
11-07-2018, 09:09 PM
Completely agree with all that. However I think a much fresher, much better France will easily contain a completely knackered Croatia. A dull, one-sided final looks likely to me unless Croatia can somehow find superhuman reserves of energy which is unlikely given what they've been through to get there.
On the plus side we maybe get the England v Belgium game we should have had in the earlier round, though England will be knackered and deflated too.
I've always thought the 3rd/4th place game is a bit of a waste of time.
Yip toss a coin.
11-07-2018, 09:13 PM
c'mon now, you're old enough to know better than that
It's my optimistic nature. I hate what we've become. It's a ****ing spineless embarrassment and when you see 4 million Croats perform at that level you know we're serially selling ourselves shot.
Southgate interview was decent and very honest.
11-07-2018, 09:14 PM
Only started watching from 2nd half and could not understand England tactics, no pressure on the ball, far too much space for Croatia. A completely different type of performance and approach to what go them to the semi. Croatia were outstanding in this drive, patience and pressure.
Well done to Croatia. Fully deserved.
Full marks to Southgate, the England players and fans for the way they’ve carried themselves during this WC. As for the English media, national broadcasters and hangers on... Get It right up yeh 👍
11-07-2018, 09:15 PM
Genuine commiserations to the English fans and squad: even now Southgate continues to conduct himself with dignity. Somehow (in response to an earlier comment) I doubt Sam Allardyce would have got anywhere near a WC semi-final in this tournament so a doff of the white and red cap to serendipity may be in order.
Hopefully in future we in the Celtic countries can opt out of English media coverage and appreciate all games equally.
And for my own part, would be delighted to see Croatia lift the trophy but I fear it may be a match too far for them.
11-07-2018, 09:16 PM
Well done Croatia. Not just because they beat England, but for a nation of 4m people to get to a World Cup Final is a superb achievement. It does show that we cannot make the excuse that we're a small nation and we should take inspiration from countries like Croatia.
Yet again though, we see huge disrespect by the English media towards their opposition and one of the main reasons why folk up here are happy for them to lose. Rio Ferdinand last night was saying England MUST beat Croatia, England WILL beat Croatia. I'm sure I heard that Modric has won more major honours than all the England team tonight put together, they were totally ignoring how good and experienced the Croatian team are and writing them off as 'football was coming home'.
Uruguay have a population of 3.5 million and they've won it twice but i know what you mean and agree with it.
11-07-2018, 09:16 PM
https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_2018_07/d7f51d72-14d6-42b6-bf42-0949d66544ea.thumb.jpg.8b6b4d13458e47ad0b5f9126bf8 aaa73.jpg
11-07-2018, 09:18 PM
It's quite hillarious.
Sone folk just need to accept England are actually quite good and aren't being 'tested' because they are good at controlling the game.
Well ‘controlled’ game vs the team ranked 20th in the World.
11-07-2018, 09:22 PM
Spurs boys found wanting again when it really mattered. Kane and Alli were anonymous.
Well done Croatia. And Luka Modric. What a incredible footballer.
11-07-2018, 09:22 PM
Resident quislings, get it wrapped right ****ing roond ye's:thumbsup::thumbsup:
In hindsight, that couldn't have been scripted better.
It's coming home after the easiest of easy run ins, they just needed to turn up against Croatia, it was a formality, of course it would be with the best ever young talented team that humanity has ever seen.
And then SIKE!!!!!! Croatia, who're out on their arse after two rounds of ET and penalties, break 50 million hearts from Carlisle to Torquay
If they can't win it with a draw like that (with the BEST EVER YOUNG TALENTED TEAM IN HISTORY) they are never ****ing winning it.
England, quislings, get it WRAPPED 360 DEGRESS ****ING ROOOOOOOOOOND YEEEEEE.
11-07-2018, 09:23 PM
Uruguay have a population of 3.5 million and they've won it twice but i know what you mean and agree with it.
To be fair Uruguay won it more than 80 years ago, at a time when the Home internationals were the worlds biggest football tournament.
11-07-2018, 09:24 PM
Modric is up there with the very best midfielders to ever play the game.
11-07-2018, 09:25 PM
To be fair Uruguay won it more than 80 years ago, at a time when the Home internationals were the worlds biggest football tournament.
Still regularly go deep into the tournament though.
11-07-2018, 09:27 PM
Southgate interview was decent and very honest.
The man is a credit to his entire nation.
Really impressed with him over the past few weeks.
11-07-2018, 09:27 PM
It's coming home after the easiest of easy run ins, they just needed to turn up against Croatia, it was a formality, of course it would be with the best ever young talented team that humanity has ever seen.
And then SIKE!!!!!! Croatia, who're out on their arse after two rounds of ET and penalties, break 50 million hearts from Carlisle to Torquay
If they can't win it with a draw like that (with the BEST EVER YOUNG TALENTED TEAM IN HISTORY) they are never ****ing winning it.
You ok hun?
timewilltell
11-07-2018, 09:28 PM
goodness me..... Sad
11-07-2018, 09:28 PM
Modric is up there with the very best midfielders to ever play the game.
Yep.
That was a masterclass tonight.
Some stage to put in a performance like that - dragged his side back into it in that second half.
11-07-2018, 09:29 PM
Comisserations to English Hibees, you must be gutted. Reaching the Semi Final is a great achievement and one Scotland fans can only dream of.
Delighted for Croatia. I'm heading to Dubrovnik on Tuesday and would love to join in the celebrations if they were to win the World Cup. Luca Modric is up there with Messi and Ronaldo IMO. A brilliant wee player who appears modest and doesn't dive all over the place like many.
As for England, they have some great young players but I can't help but feel they are not playing the game in the right way - 9 out of 12 goals in the tournament from set pieces tells it's own story. It's route 1 football which will never succeed at that level, albeit they came mighty close with a favourable draw. Croatia passed them off the pitch in the end.
11-07-2018, 09:30 PM
Still regularly go deep into the tournament though.
That is true, they have an impressive football pedigree, especially given how small their population is.
Southgate comes across well. He’s articulate and has shown a lot of class. His reputation is enhanced and so is that of his team.
11-07-2018, 09:30 PM
It's my optimistic nature. I hate what we've become. It's a ****ing spineless embarrassment and when you see 4 million Croats perform at that level you know we're serially selling ourselves shot.
Optimistic doesn’t normally mean you are very negative about something :confused:
We need to lift our game but let’s be honest, being direct neighbours to England does not help our game. You see it to an extent in Europe as well. Poland and Germany. German League much stronger than Poland etc. Croatia don’t have a direct neighbour whose domestic league is much stronger financially than theirs.
McGinn is worth 2-3m but a English youngster who has played less first team games is worth 20m. that doesn’t affect your game nationally at all levels. Hibs have HSL to try to help get us better players at the senior level. English clubs in the 3rd-4th level of their league structure probably get similar funding as Hibs via TV etc.
HSL and initiatives like that could be used to help clubs get involved in community schemes to assist local teams etc. We don’t have funding at the top level to justify this spending though. Imagine Hibs got relegated while we were forking out raised money to youth football, many people would absolutely lose it...
Starts with funding, then with coaching. Some coaches/people involved at kids levels here shouldn’t be coaches tbh, they try to recreate what they see on the TV with kids that should just be getting taught how to pass, move and control the ball. Some are excellent coaches, some are shocking.
11-07-2018, 09:31 PM
You need to calm yourself doon :greengrin
11-07-2018, 09:33 PM
Comisserations to English Hibees, you must be gutted. Reaching the Semi Final is a great achievement and one Scotland fans can only dream of.
Delighted for Croatia. I'm heading to Dubrovnik on Tuesday and would love to join in the celebrations if they were to win the World Cup. Luca Modric is up there with Messi and Ronaldo IMO. A brilliant wee player who appears modest and doesn't dive all over the place like many.
As for England, they have some great young players but I can't help but feel they are not playing the game in the right way - 9 out of 12 goals in the tournament from set pieces tells it's own story. It's route 1 football which will never succeed at that level, albeit they came mighty close with a favourable draw. Croatia passed them off the pitch in the end.
Best, most balanced post on this subject so far.
bodhibs
11-07-2018, 09:38 PM
If the rest of his nation held themselves half as respectably half of this nation would not despise them as much, fair play
Tobias Funke
11-07-2018, 09:41 PM
You are such an amazing troll...
11-07-2018, 09:42 PM
:tee hee: Brilliant :banana:
11-07-2018, 09:49 PM
Watching the game in my local in Kent tonight summed up the typical English football fan
Rollercoaster of emotions and a lack of rational analysis or a football brain
What did annoy or amuse me was the RAF song
Think 10 green bottles / 10 men couldn’t carry Nade
They sang “And the RAF from England shot them down” I’m sorry, did we not have a ceremony this week to acknowledge the RAF EDINBURGH squandern for being the most affective force in the air during the war? Uncle Albert quote aside - the lack of acknowledgment of the other parts of the nation annoys me, as grandfathers and uncles served
But what was funny was the lack of understanding of the pattern of the song - some moved up to 11 German bombers, some stayed at 10 and some moved down to 9
Daft but still irritating
Drunken rant over
11-07-2018, 09:50 PM
Phew. I'm glad that it's over.
I'll be able to eat my dinner at a proper time again!
The hype was already getting to me, but if England had won tonight, it would have risen to hysteria.
My stomach actually sank when England scored, but I didn't cheer either Croatian goal.
The tournament has been more interesting because of England's involvement. Apart from my Hibs.net prediction (other= Croatia) I've no emotional investment at all in the final.
It would have been amazing if England had got there, even though I'd rather they lost.
Croatia v France?
Anyone bothered?
11-07-2018, 09:51 PM
You're going home
You're going
England's going home
11-07-2018, 09:52 PM
The hype was already getting to me, but if England had won tonight, it would have risen to hysteria.
My stomach actually sank when England scored, but I didn't cheer either Croatian goal.
The tournament has been more interesting because of England's involvement. Apart from my Hibs.net prediction (other= Croatia) I've no emotional investment at all in the final.
It would have been amazing if England had got there, even though I'd rather they lost.
Croatia v France?
Anyone bothered?
Me!!!! I'm in France and looking forward to the final.
11-07-2018, 09:54 PM
Croatia v France?
Anyone bothered?
I have to say that watching the news tonight showing big screen crowd scenes from their various games it does look like they've had a great ride even though they're out. Quite jealous of that. Wish it had been us.
11-07-2018, 09:58 PM
Me!!!! I'm in France and looking forward to the final.
Snap, and glad I now won't get confused for being English on Sunday 😁
11-07-2018, 10:02 PM
I have to say that watching the news tonight showing big screen crowd scenes from their various games it does look like they've had a great ride even though they're out. Quite jealous of that. Wish it had been us.
Yeah, me too.
Folk here have been getting hopeful, but they've been as nervous as excited.
Just like we would be.
I'd love for Scotland to lose a WC semi-final.
11-07-2018, 10:02 PM
Croatia v France?
Anyone bothered?
Massively, massive bothered.
It's the World Cup final!!
:sauzee:
yonder1875
11-07-2018, 10:03 PM
It looked good fun being an England fan over the past few weeks and the team brought the country together, something only football could have really done. And I must say how impressed I've been with Southgate, I honestly would have been happy for him had England won tonight.
However, for Glenn Hoddle to call them all national treasures is laughable. They beat Tunisia, Panama and Sweden. Once the dust setlles and the emotions calm, people will see it for what it was. A fortunate route to the semis and ultimately beaten by a better side for the second time.
11-07-2018, 10:04 PM
Massively, massive bothered.
It's the World Cup final!!
:sauzee:
France will win.
11-07-2018, 10:07 PM
France will win.
I've thought so too, since the Argentina display, but Croatia second half performance tonight has me wondering. Modric plays at a level like that and I'm not sure Pogba can cope with him.
But I still think France have too much quality.
11-07-2018, 10:10 PM
England badly need a creative player in midfield and someone to take the weight off Kane upfront.I wonder if he’s carrying an injury,Spurs will be sweating.
11-07-2018, 10:13 PM
I've thought so too, since the Argentina display, but Croatia second half performance tonight has me wondering. Modric plays at a level like that and I'm not sure Pogba can cope with him.
But I still think France have too much quality.
I thought Croatia had too much in midfield for England. Modric is world class, Rakitic not far behind. ****e has been the player who has impressed me most for France so it should be an interesting battle.
England could have been out of sight at half time though, and like England I think France are stronger in defence and attack than Croatia (although Mandzukic was good tonight).
It's a fascinating prospect, hopefully the final is as good as the rest of the tournament has been.
11-07-2018, 10:25 PM
Any one notice the green white & black UJ flag behind the goal, partly covered by a Russian flag? It wasn’t was it??
11-07-2018, 10:30 PM
It looked good fun being an England fan over the past few weeks and the team brought the country together, something only football could have really done. And I must say how impressed I've been with Southgate, I honestly would have been happy for him had England won tonight.
However, for Glenn Hoddle to call them all national treasures is laughable. They beat Tunisia, Panama and Sweden. Once the dust setlles and the emotions calm, people will see it for what it was. A fortunate route to the semis and ultimately beaten by a better side for the second time.
Anything Hoddle says is generally laughable, when it's not extremely offensive. I wonder how Malky Mackay is these days.
bodhibs
11-07-2018, 10:32 PM
Anything Hoddle says is generally laughable, when it's not extremely offensive. I wonder how Malky Mackay is these days.
Repulsive?
11-07-2018, 10:35 PM
I have to say it's usually the BBC commentary I find ridiculous and Bias but itv and hoddle with the other guy have took it to new levels this tournament
11-07-2018, 10:36 PM
I thought Croatia had too much in midfield for England. Modric is world class, Rakitic not far behind. ****e has been the player who has impressed me most for France so it should be an interesting battle.
England could have been out of sight at half time though, and like England I think France are stronger in defence and attack than Croatia (although Mandzukic was good tonight).
It's a fascinating prospect, hopefully the final is as good as the rest of the tournament has been.
I think it might not be the best. A knackered Croatia controlled and stifled by a more complete and fresher French team. Croatia good enough to starve France of too much possession but struggling to puncture the French. Hope I'm wrong. If Croatia still have enough juice it could be a cracker. Big if though.
11-07-2018, 10:42 PM
I think it might not be the best. A knackered Croatia controlled and stifled by a more complete and fresher French team. Croatia good enough to starve France of too much possession but struggling to puncture the French. Hope I'm wrong. If Croatia still have enough juice it could be a cracker. Big if though.
Most folk thought they'd be knackered tonight.
France can be a bit hot and cold. I wasn't at all impressed by them in the first game but they have played well at times since then.
It's fairly open, there will be lots of top players on show and I'm looking forward to it.
Tonight's game wasn't a classic game, but it was intriguing from first minute to last.
11-07-2018, 10:52 PM
England are a decent side at international level but they were never going to win the World Cup. If you were naive enough to buy into the media and their whole it's coming home patter then it just shows a lack of understanding of the game.
The Pointer
11-07-2018, 10:53 PM
Any one notice the green white & black UJ flag behind the goal, partly covered by a Russian flag? It wasn’t was it??
I saw that but wasn't sure about the colours.
11-07-2018, 10:53 PM
England are a decent side at international level but they were never going to win the World Cup. If you were naive enough to buy into the media and their whole it's coming home patter then it just shows a lack of understanding of the game.
This post would have been a bit better if you'd posted it last night.
Hindsight is a wonderful thing.
11-07-2018, 10:59 PM
This post would have been a bit better if you'd posted it last night.
Hindsight is a wonderful thing.
Said a few times on here over the last few days England don't have the overall quality to win it. No hindsight , just understanding of the game.
Feel free to quote me and show otherwise.
Now I won’t get to hear New Order - World in motion for at least 4 years [emoji24] α top tune
11-07-2018, 11:13 PM
Realistically if you weren’t English or weren’t panicking like a schoolchild sitting a finals exam England were never winning it. They aren’t good enough. Could really only score from set pieces.
I said from the start they won’t win and to be fair they’d prob got roasted from France in the final. These young lads can hold there heads high though and be proud they got that far. They had an easy run done well to not slip up but failed when it mattered simple as that. The Euros could be interesting as they will have learned a lot and may do very well in that.
France have followed the old itialian method, start slow, get through the group stages without too much efficiency then peak for the final
11-07-2018, 11:15 PM
Seems as if the English media's comments gave the Croatian players a bit of extra motivation.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6Vnk-Z3toY
1875godsgift
11-07-2018, 11:16 PM
I saw that, near the end of the second half I think?
Couldnae be arsed rewinding it though!
11-07-2018, 11:34 PM
Maybe now, after what's been quite an odd/strange/great World Cup, even before it began it was bereft of 2 of the traditionally bigger footballing nations of Holland/Italy, the early exit of Germany, quickly followed by the likes of Brazil & Argentina, the fact that England still couldn't be 'Best of the rest' - just maybe we'll see a more realistic English Football-media emerge from it .......................
But then again I always hope that 'World Peace' is just around the corner ..........................
11-07-2018, 11:41 PM
Don't quite know what to make of this World Cup. For me as a competition it still stands head and shoulders above other football competitions purely designed to make wealthy football clubs even wealthier. The clash of different cultures is still fascinating to me, and how people who are almost legends in club football cope with a different pressure while playing at national level. But so many notable names were missing from this tournament. No Italy, Netherlands, Chile, USA, and Germany and Argentina were really poor. It's hard to see past France in the final, although it would be brilliant if there's a new name on the trophy. Whatever the result, it's still a great tournament, and still at the very top IMO.
guthrie01
11-07-2018, 11:52 PM
The English players tried to score when the Croatians where still celebrating their goal 😂
https://mobile.twitter.com/VJesenicnik/status/1017142515265429506/video/1
11-07-2018, 11:59 PM
Fan reaction at the equaliser, haven't found one for the winner yet. Enjoy.
https://youtu.be/lAbG9Pcz1CM
12-07-2018, 12:04 AM
Both Croatian and English fans. :greengrin
https://youtu.be/PJT9CbS4c34
12-07-2018, 12:20 AM
Brilliant early birthday present. Thanks Croatia!
12-07-2018, 12:30 AM
Somebody with the appropriate video editing skills has to make a video of the Croatia goals editing in the Zach Galifianakis laugh from Dinner for Schmucks.
Please? :greengrin
https://youtu.be/70yqithPgcY
12-07-2018, 07:37 AM
Croatia changed things at half time and England were then found out They were on the back foot and had not answer
In the first half the Commentators were doing their usual England are Superior pish
I felt for the young players though they gave their all but ultimately they weren't good enough
Stones caught napping for the second
and it was all over
12-07-2018, 07:48 AM
Was hoping Belgium and Croatia would have got to the final and guaranteed a first time winner of the world cup. Would like to see Croatia win now but looking forward to final.
12-07-2018, 08:04 AM
It's supporting 11 men booting a ball about, why does there have to be a middle ground? The whole concept of supporting football is irrational.
Lighten up and enjoy the game. The world isn't going to end whatever happens
Because England are neither a national disgrace or world beaters, their just... Average. They'll never have a better chance but the fact is when they come up against decent opposition they were found out.
12-07-2018, 08:14 AM
England have now become Scotland, glorious failures. :tee hee:
12-07-2018, 08:25 AM
France will win.
France would have won no matter who they were playing in the final. I agree with pretty much what you said about it being interesting with England still in it. It’s kept the banter going between Scots and English.
But have to say I am bothered about the final as this is the World Cup final and I think it will be a cracking game of football.
12-07-2018, 08:29 AM
France would have won no matter who they were playing in the final. I agree with pretty much what you said about it being interesting with England still in it. It’s kept the banter going between Scots and English.
But have to say I am bothered about the final as this is the World Cup final and I think it will be a cracking game of football.
'Mon the Croats. They have some decent footie songs. Do the French have any?
12-07-2018, 10:07 AM
It’s not in my nature to praise England and I usually adopt the stereotypical Sotsman’s GIRUY towards them but this time I didn’t begrudge them their couple of weeks of glory. Their players don’t get up my nose and I kind of warmed to Gareth Southgate. I had a feeling they might go all the way but , well, tough luck. I must say I have am enjoying a warm satisfying smugness towards Shearer, Wright, Ferdinand et al plus of course the English media. Personally, I didn’t see any of the match or aftermath as I was having a better time at a Paul Simon gig in Glasgow.
12-07-2018, 10:15 AM
'Mon the Croats. They have some decent footie songs. Do the French have any?
If they don't already, they should sing ****e, ****e to the Stubbsy song.
And "Oui are France, oui are good, oui had Belgium on the run".
12-07-2018, 10:39 AM
Enjoy. :greengrin
https://youtu.be/aYTTNI1_Kac
12-07-2018, 10:41 AM
If they don't already, they should sing ****e, ****e to the Stubbsy song.
And "Oui are France, oui are good, oui had Belgium on the run".
The second one's a killer. No way Croatia could cope with that. Why haven't we adopted it before now?
The Baldmans Comb
12-07-2018, 11:09 AM
Once England and English TV get over their understandable disappointment they should reflect that the real feel good story of this World Cup is how a tiny country like Croatia of 4m people have turned history on its head by deservedly reaching a World Cup Final.
Its never been done in the modern era and only Uroguay 1930 and 1954 are comparable.
The second thing the English should reflect on is how they allowed politicians and the BBC to inflict all their pre tournament propaganda and lies about hooliganism, homophobia and empty stadiums.
On the field it was good to see an England team at least try to embrace the modern game and their professionalism in preparation was exemplary.
12-07-2018, 11:24 AM
Wings over Scotland had a good article actually, if Armstrong had blootered the ball away vs England and we had held on for 3 points we would've finished qualifying with the exact same points, wins, draws etc as Croatia.
We'd have then had a play off of course, but the margins are smaller than what some say.
12-07-2018, 11:37 AM
Wings over Scotland had a good article actually, if Armstrong had blootered the ball away vs England and we had held on for 3 points we would've finished qualifying with the exact same points, wins, draws etc as Croatia.
We'd have then had a play off of course, but the margins are smaller than what some say.
we're forgetting another player who had a major impact in us conceding those two late goals, a keeper that was too scared to come out a few yards to collect the cross
12-07-2018, 11:45 AM
I long for the day when Scotland reach the WC semi finals so I can call them failures. :whistle: :greengrin
12-07-2018, 11:54 AM
I long for the day when Scotland reach the WC semi finals so I can call them failures. :whistle: :greengrin
You're not ****ing kidding. I just long for the day when we might qualify.
12-07-2018, 11:56 AM
Too right. No way is reaching a World Cup semi final a failure in my book
12-07-2018, 11:59 AM
we're forgetting another player who had a major impact in us conceding those two late goals, a keeper that was too scared to come out a few yards to collect the cross
Those ifs apply to a whole bunch of qualification games, not just the England one. They also apply to the last 20 years. I'm less interested in 'if my aunty had baws she'd be my uncle' and more interested in what, if anything, the SFA are doing/are going to do to give us all the chance to get behind our national team at the next finals. Being anti or pro England's chances has been entertaining but it's a poor, poor substitute for seeing a Scotland team in it.
12-07-2018, 12:08 PM
Croatia changed things at half time and England were then found out They were on the back foot and had not answer
In the first half the Commentators were doing their usual England are Superior pish
I felt for the young players though they gave their all but ultimately they weren't good enough
Stones caught napping for the second
and it was all over
That sums it up pretty well. A decent effort from a young England team but Croatia were miles ahead of them from the moment the second half kicked off.
12-07-2018, 12:24 PM
You're not ****ing kidding. I just long for the day when we might qualify.
Too right. No way is reaching a World Cup semi final a failure in my book
They are creaming their pants because they beat Tunisia with a last minute goal, Panama who are absolute dog sheite, and Sweden. All teams a super power like England should be wiping the floor with, they lost to Croatia and Belgium and won a penalty shoot out against Croatia.
All the while getting the luck of the draw, while all the decent sides knocked each other out. Its all relative, but they are coming home heroes for losing the only game where they played anyone decent.
Glorious failure, the very same thing we have been guilty of in the past.
12-07-2018, 12:27 PM
Those ifs apply to a whole bunch of qualification games, not just the England one. They also apply to the last 20 years. I'm less interested in 'if my aunty had baws she'd be my uncle' and more interested in what, if anything, the SFA are doing/are going to do to give us all the chance to get behind our national team at the next finals. Being anti or pro England's chances has been entertaining but it's a poor, poor substitute for seeing a Scotland team in it.
can't disagree with any of that
Now your really scraping the bottom of the barrel :rolleyes:
12-07-2018, 01:23 PM
Lovren is making himself out to be an unpleasant individual
We showed that we deserved to be in the final and people should respect us. Sometimes, the criticism is unfair and people should respect me also. Without being arrogant I think I have [been proved to be one of the best defenders in the world]. Definitely.
But this criticism is what gets me more motivated to work harder and prove everyone wrong. Everyone. From today, everyone in Croatia and around the world saw we managed to make history. In 20 years’ time, people will remember us, and not just the team from 1998. That is why I am proud, and now we have one game to make people remember us forever.
12-07-2018, 01:31 PM
Now your really scraping the bottom of the barrel :rolleyes:
Why is that, they beat the teams they should beat, lose to teams much smaller than them, then congratulate themselves on a fantastic tournament? :confused:
Glorious failure, we have specialised in it since i first went to watch Scotland play, although we've not had so much of it recently. :boo hoo:
Why is that, they beat the teams they should beat, lose to teams much smaller than them, then congratulate themselves on a fantastic tournament? :confused:
Glorious failure, we have specialised in it since i first went to watch Scotland play, although we've not had so much of it recently. :boo hoo:
Scotland has fallen a long way short & behind England in football achievement. I am guessing I am some what older than you but I have actually stood at Hampden park in a crowd of over 100k to see Scotland defeat England & many other top class teams for some years on, those days have declined & I don't think it's unconnected to a corresponding declining in Scottish club football, how I wish it were not so.:agree:
TO finish I really don't think glorious failure is anything to be proud of, as it's said a glorious looser is just a looser, the period when the Tartan Army laughed at themselves made me cringe.
Thats me over & out
12-07-2018, 02:41 PM
Scotland has fallen a long way short & behind England in football achievement. I am guessing I am some what older than you but I have actually stood at Hampden park in a crowd of over 100k to see Scotland defeat England & many other top class teams for some years on, those days have declined & I don't think it's unconnected to a corresponding declining in Scottish club football, how I wish it were not so.:agree:
TO finish I really don't think glorious failure is anything to be proud of, as it's said a glorious looser is just a looser, the period when the Tartan Army laughed at themselves made me cringe.
Thats me over & out
I'm 58, and stood on the same terraces watching us play to huge crowds, 100k plus. We are a long way behind them in achievements, but its all relative. They are now celebrating wins against Tunisia Panama and Sweden. They are celebrating how well they have done in this tournament, when in reality they lost to a team we've beaten twice home and away in recent seasons.
I dont like the glorious failure either, but i had to smile watching the pundits and fans interviewed on tv saying the same things we've said over the years in our own glorious failures. :greengrin
Losers are losers, some better than others, but they are still losers. :wink:
12-07-2018, 02:51 PM
Haven't heard the phrase 'Emporer's New Clothes' to describe this latest English foray into a major competition.
Bitter and twisted I may be but my opinion was that the first half decent team they came up against would see them off. This is what happened.
If they had met a Belgium (in a serious match), France, Uruguay, Brazil, West Germany, Argentina, Spain or Portugal earlier on they would have been home before the postcards.
My view, same old, same old.
Deluded media hyped them up, but, while they are well in front of us, they are miles off being a serious contender for major honours.
12-07-2018, 03:07 PM
Haven't heard the phrase 'Emporer's New Clothes' to describe this latest English foray into a major competition.
Bitter and twisted I may be but my opinion was that the first half decent team they came up against would see them off. This is what happened.
If they had met a Belgium (in a serious match), France, Uruguay, Brazil, West Germany, Argentina, Spain or Portugal earlier on they would have been home before the postcards.
My view, same old, same old.
Deluded media hyped them up, but, while they are well in front of us, they are miles off being a serious contender for major honours.
Correct, bitter and twisted is about right. One of the best things about this World Cup has been how the extended stay of England threw practically the whole of Scotland into a bed wetting panic of epic proportions. Every excuse has been dug up to use just in case England went all the way. I remember the Jambo comfort blanket of 5-1 being used regularly. There has been a massive new “they had an easy draw” comfort blanket in use since it started with the majority of your poor jealous Scots huddled together under it. An absolutely hilarious response which has more than made up for my disappointment.
12-07-2018, 03:14 PM
At the end of the day England are a team that will beat lesser teams 9 times out of 10 and very very rarely lay a glove on teams equal or superior to them.
Perennial quarter finalists who got a SF due to a draw they couldn't dream up.
Corstorphine Hibby
12-07-2018, 03:27 PM
Correct, bitter and twisted is about right. One of the best things about this World Cup has been how the extended stay of England threw practically the whole of Scotland into a bed wetting panic of epic proportions. Every excuse has been dug up to use just in case England went all the way. I remember the Jambo comfort blanket of 5-1 being used regularly. There has been a massive new “they had an easy draw” comfort blanket in use since it started with the majority of your poor jealous Scots huddled together under it. An absolutely hilarious response which has more than made up for my disappointment.
'Practically the whole of Scotland' is a disappointing assumption from you SH. I know quite a few Scots ( myself included ) who enjoyed the England WC journey.
12-07-2018, 03:33 PM
'Practically the whole of Scotland' is a disappointing assumption from you SH. I know quite a few Scots ( myself included ) who enjoyed the England WC journey.
Oh I enjoyed the journey alright :greengrin
I'm 58, and stood on the same terraces watching us play to huge crowds, 100k plus. We are a long way behind them in achievements, but its all relative. They are now celebrating wins against Tunisia Panama and Sweden. They are celebrating how well they have done in this tournament, when in reality they lost to a team we've beaten twice home and away in recent seasons.
I dont like the glorious failure either, but i had to smile watching the pundits and fans interviewed on tv saying the same things we've said over the years in our own glorious failures. :greengrin
Losers are losers, some better than others, but they are still losers. :wink:
Wish I was still 58, oh happy days.:agree:
12-07-2018, 03:53 PM
Really? :wink:
I will not lie and say I wanted England to win, but I was not going to lose any sleep if they did. They played well to get to the semi. Came close in the first half to booking a place in the final as I don't think Croatia would have come back from 2 goals down. If they had beaten Croatia and then a decent French team then it would have been deserved.
Only thing I would say SH, is I get the feeling that some in the England camp and I include supporters and pundits in that, think this is the start of a 'Golden Generation' just because they have some young players. What I saw of them would not indicate that they have the midfield players to dominate in the latter stages of major tournaments. But only time will tell.
A few National teams will have to rebuild, including Germany, Holland and Spain so there is a chance that a young England might get the jump on them.
Scotland? Taxi !!!
12-07-2018, 03:59 PM
I think he’s hurting. :wink:
12-07-2018, 04:18 PM
Yes I know there were plenty mate, maybe I should have said the majority instead.
12-07-2018, 04:23 PM
[QUOTE=SanFranHibs;5462334]Really? :wink:
I will not lie and say I wanted England to win, but I was not going to lose any sleep if they did. They played well to get to the semi. Came close in the first half to booking a place in the final as I don't think Croatia would have come back from 2 goals down. If they had beaten Croatia and then a decent French team then it would have been deserved.
Only thing I would say SH, is I get the feeling that some in the England camp and I include supporters and pundits in that, think this is the start of a 'Golden Generation' just because they have some young players. What I saw of them would not indicate that they have the midfield players to dominate in the latter stages of major tournaments. But only time will tell.
A few National teams will have to rebuild, including Germany, Holland and Spain so there is a chance that a young England might get the jump on them.
Scotland? Taxi !!![/QUOTE
Agreed, not really having the golden generation thing either, potentiallly a decent team but other nations will also be rebuilding and looking at their own disappointments especially the so called big boys that did not quality.
Golden opportunity rather than Golden generation in my opinion.
12-07-2018, 04:25 PM
[QUOTE=SanFranHibs;5462334]Really? :wink:
Scotland? Taxi !!![/QUOTE
Agreed, not really having the golden generation thing either, potentiallly a decent team but other nations will also be rebuilding and looking at their own disappointments especially the so called big boys that did not quality.
Golden opportunity rather than Golden generation in my opinion.
Very well put. Wish I had put it that way. :greengrin
12-07-2018, 04:29 PM
Let’s be honest here and look at the facts. Even the most die hard England fan will tell you they got an easy route when you look at the teams they could have got had they beat Belgium.
Anyway not all folk in Scotland were wetting themselves, not one bit of me thought England would win it. You beat Panama, needed a last min winner against Tunisia, you lost against Belgium and beat one of the worst Swedish sides I’ve ever seen. But in your defence can only beat what’s in front of you so for that the boys done very well as they are still young and handled these games the right way.
When proper tested last night the cracks showed big time, and if you did go through the French would have taken more than a couple off this English side. It’s been a good World Cup I’ve enjoyed it and the banter between English and Scots fans.
But when the dust settles England were just an average side who beat the teams they should be beating and lost to the only ones who tested them.
12-07-2018, 04:45 PM
Let’s be honest here and look at the facts. Even the most die hard England fan will tell you they got an easy route when you look at the teams they could have got had they beat Belgium.
Anyway not all folk in Scotland were wetting themselves, not one bit of me thought England would win it. You beat Panama, needed a last min winner against Tunisia, you lost against Belgium and beat one of the worst Swedish sides I’ve ever seen. But in your defence can only beat what’s in front of you so for that the boys done very well as they are still young and handled these games the right way.
When proper tested last night the cracks showed big time, and if you did go through the French would have taken more than a couple off this English side. It’s been a good World Cup I’ve enjoyed it and the banter between English and Scots fans.
But when the dust settles England were just an average side who beat the teams they should be beating and lost to the only ones who tested them.
12-07-2018, 04:51 PM
This easy route thing is a myth. Does it make 21-05-2016 any less valid because we beat a (at the time) fellow Championship team? Because we didn’t beat Celtic on the way?
12-07-2018, 04:55 PM
This easy route thing is a myth. Does it make 21-05-2016 any less valid because we beat a (at the time) fellow Championship team? Because we didn’t beat Celtic on the way?
It’s a myth? What? Lol.
If you conflate getting to the semi-final with “England are top 4 in the world” then it’s definitely not a myth. People aren’t saying getting to the semis isn’t an amazing achievement, they’re saying it doesn’t make England world beaters. They’re still a very average side (relative to the top teams).
12-07-2018, 05:38 PM
The difference is we actually won the cup.
14-07-2018, 02:04 PM
Bump. 1-0 Belgium. Internationalista **** doesn't half go quiet when we have proper football again.
14-07-2018, 02:05 PM
Begium 1 v Hoddle 0 :aok:
Curried
14-07-2018, 02:06 PM
Bump. 1-0 Belgium.
Natural order :-)
14-07-2018, 02:08 PM
If Belgium really hump them here it will definitely take the shine off England’s majestic, against-all-odds run.
14-07-2018, 02:18 PM
England's 3 lion defence are already home by the looks of it.
14-07-2018, 02:22 PM
just tuned in, c'mon Belgium, far more deserved of 3rd spot than that shower of thoroughly embarrassingly over-rated p@sh
back to the tennis noo :)
14-07-2018, 02:28 PM
England look poor here. If Belgium can be bothered they could give then abit of a doing.
14-07-2018, 02:31 PM
Come on England get into this shower of over rated p@sh
14-07-2018, 02:33 PM
Sounds like England are being outclassed again
14-07-2018, 02:34 PM
Come on England get into this shower of over rated p@sh
14-07-2018, 02:34 PM
oooooh so very nearly 2 :(
14-07-2018, 02:35 PM
It's clear England are on holiday now. They will never win anything wearing that red shirt.
14-07-2018, 02:35 PM
England can barely get a touch of the ball here. Playing against decent sides has certainly shown them up for what they are.
14-07-2018, 02:37 PM
It's clear England are on holiday now. They will never win anything wearing that red shirt.
or playing sterling
14-07-2018, 02:39 PM
just tuned in, c'mon Belgium, far more deserved of 3rd spot than that shower of thoroughly embarrassingly over-rated p@sh
back to the tennis noo :)
How's the tennis going? Has Tim kept his serve yet?
14-07-2018, 02:40 PM
How's the tennis going? Has Tim kept his serve yet?
yes he has and plays Fred Perry in the final
14-07-2018, 02:41 PM
England's 3 lion defence are already home by the looks of it.
Each lion representing a match defeat in this World Cup.
Overrated. Just like Greggs cheese and onion pasties.