View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread
27-06-2018, 07:32 PM
Yup, their media's now pinning their hopes on England being the best by praying the other countries beat the best for them !
Isn't that what all teams' fans do in cup competitions?
27-06-2018, 07:38 PM
Out of all the teams that can be there around the later stages then only Croatia and Uraguay look solid at the back, Brazil, France, Spain and Portugal are all there to be got at
27-06-2018, 07:42 PM
What a day this has been.
South Korea out - fantastic, worth a sparkly libation all on its own. With any luck there will be post match drug test failures as well.
Germany out - simultaneously shocking and helping to further open that door for England...
Brazil looking a lot less than 1970, again raising the England spectre further.
A Maradona playground pagger on .net.
Mexico through which all right thinking folk must like.
Aside from the relatively pish football of the 'big' teams this has been a corking World Cup so far.
27-06-2018, 08:09 PM
Southgate conducts himself very well.
27-06-2018, 08:44 PM
Southgate conducts himself very well.
he seems a pretty decent human being/coach :agree: i can't remember ever having time for an ingerland manager before
i also liked him in they pizza adverts yonks ago
27-06-2018, 08:54 PM
he seems a pretty decent human being/coach :agree: i can't remember ever having time for an ingerland manager before
i also liked him in they pizza adverts yonks ago
That's because they never appointed Brian Clough. Stupid *******s.
27-06-2018, 09:10 PM
i also liked him in they pizza adverts yonks agoBobby Robson probably the last one.
27-06-2018, 09:14 PM
Anyone else see the giant Rangers / England flag on the news there on the report from English fanzone in Kaliningrad? WTF!? Lest we forget and some other weird print along with that RFC rugby club badge of theirs. God awful peepol.
27-06-2018, 09:18 PM
I would have to disagree. Lineker is an English icon broadcasting on English TV to a 90% English audience.
Him and Shearer carry so much England/German baggage and were creasing themselves that Germany were oot as were the the vast majority of their target audience.
I thought he said it with his usual twinkle knowing full well that's another threat gone.
It isn't English tv or isn't meant to be. Was a cheap shot by him imo.
27-06-2018, 09:28 PM
The last time Germany were knocked out at the group stage was 1938.
How did they take that?
Tonight was the first time ever that Germany were knocked out in the group stage.
27-06-2018, 09:29 PM
Tonight was the first time ever that Germany were knocked out in the group stage.
According to Wiki they only made it to the first round in 1938 but it was a joke mate - read the second line.......:wink:
27-06-2018, 09:31 PM
Group stage, yes.
First round, no.
The Baldmans Comb
27-06-2018, 09:53 PM
It isn't English tv or isn't meant to be. Was a cheap shot by him imo.
The BBC Headquarters is in England,the finance is 90% English. It is subject to English law.The main news programmes concentrate almost exclusively on English news and the vast majority of drama, soaps and comedy are English actors in English cities.
A lot of it is rather good as well including Lineker and Shearer who have waited all their lives to stick it up the Germans on behalf of their sporting nation.
There wasn't any malice in Linekers remarks just a getitrightupye.
Happy to agree to disagree and enjoy the rest of the tournament.
27-06-2018, 09:55 PM
Out of all the teams that can be there around the later stages then only Croatia and Uraguay look solid at the back, Brazil, France, Spain and Portugal are all there to be got at
Pretty sure England will have defensive difficulties.
27-06-2018, 09:56 PM
Admins!
Can we have some red white and blue username fonts or big wavy UJs for the English takers amongst us please? Or a wee subtext. Like we do for those irritating hertz ****s?
Ta.
Iggy.
27-06-2018, 10:08 PM
Admins!
Can we have some red white and blue username fonts or big wavy UJs for the English takers amongst us please? Or a wee subtext. Like we do for those irritating hertz ****s?
Ta.
Iggy.
Been on the pop tonight, chief? You seem a bit more agitated than usual, here and on the transfer thread. It's Underscore and all those cats I feel sorry for. 😁
This isn't a TA forum, by the way.
27-06-2018, 10:10 PM
Been on the pop tonight, chief? You seem a bit more agitated than usual, here and on the PM board. It's Underscore and all those cats I feel sorry for.
**** sake, we're having a go at the territorials now :grr:
27-06-2018, 10:14 PM
**** sake, we're having a go at the territorials now :grr:
I just want to know what you've got against birds...
27-06-2018, 10:25 PM
I just want to know what you've got against birds...
That's gone way over my head :faf: it's been a long day in the sunshine.
Santa Cruz
27-06-2018, 10:36 PM
So, do you think England will rest some of the first pick squad tomorrow, and gladly finish second in the group to avoid playing either Brazil or Mexico, or do you think they will go all out to win? Who'd you think they'd have a better chance of beating the Swiss/Swede's or the Mexico/Brazil teams?
Sorry, if this has already been discussed, I've not read all the thread.
shetlandhibee
27-06-2018, 11:24 PM
brasil have conceded 6 goals in there last 24 internationals, Portugal have a similar record i think they conceded the least out of all the qualifying teams in the run up to finals, IMO they look as solid at the back as Croatia and Uraguay,:agree:
27-06-2018, 11:26 PM
Klopp 3/1 fav for the Germany job.
28-06-2018, 05:56 AM
So if England lose tonight they get a more favourable draw than if they win. But they won't chuck the game. They don't cheat and hate cheaters!! They've never cheated and never will. A truly upstanding footballing country.
28-06-2018, 06:06 AM
So if England lose tonight they get a more favourable draw than if they win. But they won't chuck the game. They don't cheat and hate cheaters!! They've never cheated and never will. A truly upstanding footballing country.
Belgium might have the same idea and the two teams might cancel each other out with mediocrity. Imagine them both being disqualified for not trying and manipulating their mini league. Also, if England win, will they be criticised for failing to pull off their ‘devious plan?
28-06-2018, 06:10 AM
Gareth Southgate has said its more important to keep a winning momentum going than looking towards potential opponents given that they haven’t won a group match since 2006. Seems like a good attitude to me.
28-06-2018, 06:10 AM
What happens if England draw, who goes through ?
28-06-2018, 06:12 AM
What happens if England draw, who goes through ?
Top spot gets decided on Fair Play. England have one less yellow card at the moment.
28-06-2018, 06:15 AM
Gareth Southgate has said its more important to keep a winning momentum going than looking towards potential opponents given that they haven’t won a group match since 2006. Seems like a good attitude to me.
:agree: The losing theory seems to be concocted by the media and pundits.
28-06-2018, 06:19 AM
Top spot gets decided on Fair Play. England have one less yellow card at the moment.
Can see a draw and 15 bookings in this one.
28-06-2018, 06:25 AM
Is there any evidence that 'momentum' from one game to another is actually a thing? I know it makes a story that winning becomes habitual so all wins are valuable, but if I was Southgate I'd plan on losing against Belgium. Everyone wants to avoid that half of the draw.
cocteautwin
28-06-2018, 06:27 AM
Top half of the draw has 10 world cup wins between them plus Portugal and Mexico.
Bottom half of the draw has 1 world cup win between them.
England would have to be nuts to go all out for the win. Hope they do though. Possibly the first time I've ever rooted for an England win. Come on England! :greengrin
28-06-2018, 06:28 AM
Belgium seem to have bought into it - rumours they’ll be making 10 changes for this game.
28-06-2018, 06:41 AM
I will let you into a secret, managers lie all the time to the outside world. 😄
28-06-2018, 06:44 AM
I wasn't having a go at Southgate and England. More the pundits and media who have just been slating maradona calling him cheat yet they are implying that England should do the same tonight and lose
28-06-2018, 06:44 AM
I will let you into a secret, managers lie all the time to the outside world. 😄
Noooooooo!!!!. Really? I’m shocked. :greengrin
28-06-2018, 06:45 AM
At least if neither team try to score then at least they'll be trying to get most bookings for some sort of entertainment.
28-06-2018, 06:54 AM
Been on the pop tonight, chief? You seem a bit more agitated than usual, here and on the transfer thread. It's Underscore and all those cats I feel sorry for. 😁
On the pop? Sorry if I sounded agitated to you. It was meant in jest. I don't really think you've gone all jingoistic on us. I actually enjoy having England in the WC as long as possible. Never been on a Tartan Army forum in my puff either, although I've attended many more Scotland games than England games I must admit.
As for the transfer thread, spare me, please. Even your strained puns are making better reading than some of the poop on there.
Maybe catch you in Greece and we can talk some real football.
28-06-2018, 07:05 AM
At least if neither team try to score then at least they'll be trying to get most bookings for some sort of entertainment.
A very likely scenario but they’ll have to tread carefully and watch that they don’t get important players sent off. I can just see Southgate ‘ Right, you, you and you are going for yellows. You and you are expendable, reds please. The rest of you, keep your noses clean.’
28-06-2018, 07:22 AM
The front pages of the English papers this morning, quite sad, ramming it home to the Germans. Small nation syndrome
Hope they get pumped out as soon as possible
28-06-2018, 07:33 AM
The front pages of the English papers this morning, quite sad, ramming it home to the Germans. Small nation syndrome
To be fair the German papers are too :greengrin
28-06-2018, 07:40 AM
Laughing at the misfortune of their traditionally superior rivals... Reminds me of another wee county :wink:
28-06-2018, 07:42 AM
As I’ve already said, my gripe is not with the English team and I’m indifferent to how they eventually fare. It’s the rest of the circus that gives me the boak and wants to see them horsed. Even on Ginger Evans’ show this morning, he and his sports reporter were literally guffawing uncontrollably in orgasmic pleasure. I know if we were in their position we would be the same but I’d like to think we would gloat with a wee bit more restraint. I feel a bit guilty that I want to see them beaten just to put one up the English media.
28-06-2018, 07:43 AM
And the Italians are at it. The Corriera della Sport headline? (in German) ;See You On the Beach.
28-06-2018, 07:45 AM
And the Italians are at it. The Corriera della Sport headline? (in German) ;See You On the Beach.
At least the Italians got a head start on the sunloungers
28-06-2018, 07:45 AM
There allowed too, it’s their country😄
28-06-2018, 08:37 AM
For the country who gave the world the word "schadenfreude" it's only fair they get a bit of stick today.
28-06-2018, 08:42 AM
There allowed too, it’s their country
To be fair, in the past these papers have gloated whenever England/France/Brazil etc. were knocked out earlyish. What goes around...........
28-06-2018, 08:44 AM
I've laughed at England's misfortunes many times over the years. Don't have a problem with them doing it with the Germans.
28-06-2018, 08:49 AM
When did everyone get so sensitive about piss-taking when nations do badly?
When Scotland or Hibs struggle I expect at least a gentle ribbing from certain people. I expect the media to want to sell papers by writing controversial and sometimes critical stories.
Germany were guff and were knocked out earlier than they have been for 70 years. They deserve everything they get today, should have no complaints and nobody should feel bad about criticising or taking the piss out of them. It's what football is all about.
28-06-2018, 08:50 AM
As I’ve already said, my gripe is not with the English team and I’m indifferent to how they eventually fare. It’s the rest of the circus that gives me the boak and wants to see them horsed. Even on Ginger Evans’ show this morning, he and his sports reporter were literally guffawing uncontrollably in orgasmic pleasure. I know if we were in their position we would be the same but I’d like to think we would gloat with a wee bit more restraint. I feel a bit guilty that I want to see them beaten just to put one up the English media.
Our gloating is different from everyone else's gloating...:rotflmao:
Of course everyone is gloating at Germany's misfortune, they have been one of the very top dogs for literally decades so this fall from grace is pretty exceptional - for them.
I'm not surprised there is amusement in Italy about it, Germany are regarded as the main European foe when it comes to football and given the state of the Italian national team recently this will be welcome light relief. Having said that there's a lot of belief that with Mancini as manager and the decent crop of younger talent now coming through things should turn around pretty quickly.
28-06-2018, 08:58 AM
I was fair looking forward to Eng-Bel tonight but apparently both teams are desperate to lose. :dunno:
28-06-2018, 09:05 AM
When did everyone get so sensitive about piss-taking when nations do badly?
When Scotland or Hibs struggle I expect at least a gentle ribbing from certain people. I expect the media to want to sell papers by writing controversial and sometimes critical stories.
Germany were guff and were knocked out earlier than they have been for 70 years. They deserve everything they get today, should have no complaints and nobody should feel bad about criticising or taking the piss out of them. It's what football is all about.
Only in Scotland. I think we've become so sensitive to accusations of being anti-English, jackboot polishing, racist nazis that it's generated this po-faced, holier than thou scramble to be the most pro-English. There's a large dose of wind-up merchantry on here as well.
28-06-2018, 09:09 AM
Our gloating is different from everyone else's gloating...:rotflmao:
Of course everyone is gloating at Germany's misfortune, they have been one of the very top dogs for literally decades so this fall from grace is pretty exceptional - for them.
I'm not surprised there is amusement in Italy about it, Germany are regarded as the main European foe when it comes to football and given the state of the Italian national team recently this will be welcome light relief. Having said that there's a lot of belief that with Mancini as manager and the decent crop of younger talent now coming through things should turn around pretty quickly.
:agree: Its odd that Italian football is arguably on a ten year high with lots of great young players and they're not in Russia because frankly they had a dafty in charge of the national team.
28-06-2018, 09:18 AM
This is exactly the same as Scotland do when England get knocked out.
Doubt it'll be soon, England are good enough to go far in this tournament and are actually good to watch at the moment.
28-06-2018, 09:26 AM
I was fair looking forward to Eng-Bel tonight but apparently both teams are desperate to lose. :dunno:
I don't think you can tell Lukaku to lose at anything. It would be a bit like trying to recall the Terminator.
I'm fully expecting a weakened Belgian side with lots of changes, a largely first pick England eleven, a draw or England win and then England to fall into the harder side of the draw and to then go out sooner or later as a result.
After that the tabloids and commentators to start trying to put Southgate's head on a stick for his naivety (for which read integrity and decency) in not attempting to throw tonight's match. Although for what it's worth I absolutely think he'd be quite right to, let's say, not try too hard to win it.
Some people have a lot of difficulty with England winning generally or winning this competition - I don't. But I really ****ing hate both the nob, faux jingoistic self-satisfied grievance commentators (they're not all like that - I'm talking about the ones who used to be smug and are now post-smug, but absolutely gagging to get back to their air of superiority personas) and in particular also the reptilian red tops and other tabloids. Muck raking, vile, low-life, users of human beings that will trade on anybody or anything to make money - they just love stoking the English version of "We're on the march with Ally's army". After all they can't lose: if England win it it's trebles all round and 'It's the Sun wot won it' and if they go out - especially if it's in tragi-comic circumstances - well that's even better because then they can sell hate packaged as football by leading the lynch-mob for the manager, players, FA etc.
This England squad and manager - and the vast majority of their fans - seem a world away from the delusion of the past but some of the commentariat are like creatures from another era. I don't quite know why but Barry Davies in particular used to really get on my thrupennies and I'm sure he was nowhere near the worst.
28-06-2018, 10:15 AM
I don't think you can tell Lukaku to lose at anything. It would be a bit like trying to recall the Terminator.
I'm fully expecting a weakened Belgian side with lots of changes, a largely first pick England eleven, a draw or England win and then England to fall into the harder side of the draw and to then go out sooner or later as a result.
After that the tabloids and commentators to start trying to put Southgate's head on a stick for his naivety (for which read integrity and decency) in not attempting to throw tonight's match. Although for what it's worth I absolutely think he'd be quite right to, let's say, not try too hard to win it.
Some people have a lot of difficulty with England winning generally or winning this competition - I don't. But I really ****ing hate both the nob, faux jingoistic self-satisfied grievance commentators (they're not all like that - I'm talking about the ones who used to be smug and are now post-smug, but absolutely gagging to get back to their air of superiority personas) and in particular also the reptilian red tops and other tabloids. Muck raking, vile, low-life, users of human beings that will trade on anybody or anything to make money - they just love stoking the English version of "We're on the march with Ally's army". After all they can't lose: if England win it it's trebles all round and 'It's the Sun wot won it' and if they go out - especially if it's in tragi-comic circumstances - well that's even better because then they can sell hate packaged as football by leading the lynch-mob for the manager, players, FA etc.
This England squad and manager - and the vast majority of their fans - seem a world away from the delusion of the past but some of the commentariat are like creatures from another era. I don't quite know why but Barry Davies in particular used to really get on my thrupennies and I'm sure he was nowhere near the worst.
Rom likely to be rested. Agree with everything else you've written except Clive Tildesly is the worst. Imagine if Tildesly/Lawro were a team! :shocked:
I wonder if Southgate might be too nice? The best managers, your Fergies, Simeones etc aren't necessarily people you'd like to go for a pint with.
28-06-2018, 10:20 AM
That's gone way over my head :faf: it's been a long day in the sunshine.
I thought you were paraphrasing Life of Brian.
It's from the scene where Brian is hiding from the Roman soldiers pretending to be a prophet and preaching.
The misunderstandings and misinterpretations, deliberate are not, are hilarious.
It's hibs.net in 30 A.D. 😁
28-06-2018, 10:21 AM
BORING PROPHET: ...The nephew or the donkey.
[whap]
Wha! Woooah!
[fwump]
[clap clap clap]
FALSE PROPHET: ...And, a nine-bladed sword, which he shall strike...
BLOOD & THUNDER PROPHET: ...Time when we all come together, and go...
PROPHET IN WHITE: ...And holes for the...
PROPHET IN BLACK: ...Jumbo jets...
PROPHET IN WHITE: ...every bitch how you got germs from...
PROPHET IN BLACK: ...fly up near the...
BRIAN: Don't you, eh, pass judgment on other people, or you might get judged yourself.
COLIN: What?
BRIAN: I said, 'Don't pass judgment on other people, or else you might get judged, too.'
COLIN: Who, me?
BRIAN: Yes.
COLIN: Oh. Ooh. Thank you very much.
BRIAN: Well, not just you. All of you.
DENNIS: That's a nice gourd.
BRIAN: What?
DENNIS: How much do you want for the gourd?
BRIAN: I don't. You can have it.
DENNIS: Have it?
BRIAN: Yes. Consider the lilies...
DENNIS: Eh, d-- d-- don't you want to haggle?
BRIAN: No. ...in the field.
DENNIS: What's wrong with it, then?
BRIAN: Nothing. Take it.
ELSIE: Consider the lilies?
BRIAN: Uh, well, the birds, then.
EDDIE: What birds?
BRIAN: Any birds.
EDDIE: Why?
BRIAN: Well, have they got jobs?
ARTHUR: Who?
BRIAN: The birds.
EDDIE: Have the birds got jobs?!
FRANK: What's the matter with him?
ARTHUR: He says the birds are scrounging.
BRIAN: Oh, uhh, no, the point is the birds. They do all right. Don't they?
FRANK: Well, good luck to 'em.
EDDIE: Yeah. They're very pretty.
BRIAN: Okay, and you're much more important than they are, right? So, what are you worrying about? There you are. See?
EDDIE: I'm worrying about what you have got against birds.
BRIAN: I haven't got anything against the birds. Consider the lilies.
ARTHUR: He's having a go at the flowers now.
EDDIE: Oh, give the flowers a chance.
DENNIS: I'll give you one for it.
BRIAN: It's yours.
DENNIS: Two, then.
BRIAN: Ohh. Look. There was this man, and he had two servants.
ARTHUR: What were they called?
BRIAN: What?
ARTHUR: What were their names?
BRIAN: I don't know. And he gave them some talents.
EDDIE: You don't know?!
BRIAN: Well, it doesn't matter!
ARTHUR: He doesn't know what they were called!
BRIAN: Oh, they were called 'Simon' and 'Adrian'. Now--
ARTHUR: Oh! You said you didn't know!
BRIAN: It really doesn't matter. The point is there were these two servants--
ARTHUR: He's making it up as he goes along.
BRIAN: No, I'm not! ...And he gave them some ta-- Wait a minute. Were there three?
ARTHUR: Ohh.
EDDIE: Oh, he's terrible!
ARTHUR: He's terrible.
BRIAN: There were three.
ARTHUR: Thpppt!
BRIAN: They were-- they were st-- stewards, really.
ELSIE: Aww, get off!
BRIAN: Ooh! Eh, uh, b-- b-- now-- now hear this! Blessed are they...
DENNIS: Three.
BRIAN: ...who convert their neighbour's ox, for they shall inhibit their girth,...
MAN: Rubbish!
BRIAN: ...and to them only shall be given-- to them only... shall... be... given...
ELSIE: What?
BRIAN: Hmm?
ELSIE: Shall be given what?
BRIAN: Oh, nothing.
ELSIE: Hey! What were you going to say?
BRIAN: Nothing.
ARTHUR and FRANK: Yes, you were.
ELSIE: Yes. You were going to say something.
BRIAN: No, I wasn't. I'd finished.
ELSIE: Oh, no you weren't.
ARTHUR: Oh, come on. Tell us before you go.
BRIAN: I wasn't going to say anything. I'd finished.
ELSIE: No, you hadn't.
BLIND MAN: What won't he tell?
EDDIE: He won't say.
BLIND MAN: Is it a secret?
BRIAN: No.
BLIND MAN: Is it?
EDDIE: Must be. Otherwise, he'd tell us.
ARTHUR: Oh, tell us the secret.
BRIAN: Leave me alone.
YOUTH: What is this secret?
GIRL: Is it the secret of eternal life?
EDDIE: He won't say!
ARTHUR: Well, of course not. If I knew the secret of eternal life, I wouldn't say.
YOUTH: No.
BRIAN: Leave me alone.
GIRL: Just tell me, please.
ARTHUR: No. Tell us, Master. We were here first.
DENNIS: Five.
BRIAN: Ah!
GIRL: Just tell--
BRIAN: Go away!
GIRL: Tell us, Master.
28-06-2018, 10:24 AM
The bitterness is hurting my screen.
28-06-2018, 10:32 AM
I’d like to think we would gloat with a wee bit more restraint. I
Really?
Have you read this thread and we're not even in the competition.
Football fans are exactly the same everywhere when it comes to their rivals.
Look at Maradona's antic's after Argentina's late winner, and Nigeria aren't even close to being their main rivals.
There are plenty Scottish folk on social media gloating about Germany getting knocked out, by the way.
28-06-2018, 10:33 AM
I wasn't having a go at Southgate and England. More the pundits and media who have just been slating maradona calling him cheat yet they are implying that England should do the same tonight and lose
I think they just stated the possible outcomes - so it is you doing the implying.
28-06-2018, 10:42 AM
I was speaking to a guy in York golf club yesterday.
Understandably, he wants England to do as well as possible, but he pointed out that even if they lose their next 2 games, the fans will be happy with their team's performance in the tournament.
2 wins, 8 goals and Harry Kane leading the Golden Boot.
Southgate is secure in his role and they'll look forward to Euro 2020.
England may rest players, but they won't deliberately set out to lose tonight.
The players who come in, will be trying like bears to stay in the team and Harry Kane will be desperate to add to his tally.
It'll be interesting. I hope I don't have to turn the volume off, but I suspect I might have to.
I'm certainly not going to the pub.
28-06-2018, 10:47 AM
Rom likely to be rested. Agree with everything else you've written except Clive Tildesly is the worst. Imagine if Tildesly/Lawro were a team! :shocked:
I wonder if Southgate might be too nice? The best managers, your Fergies, Simeones etc aren't necessarily people you'd like to go for a pint with.
Jesus that pairing would be one grim dentist's chair of an experience. I think I'm going to have to ask for Martin Tyler to be taken into consideration too though.
You could well be right about Southgate but on the other hand I give you Claudio Ranieri...it can happen occasionally.
28-06-2018, 10:55 AM
Jesus that pairing would be one grim dentist's chair of an experience. I think I'm going to have to ask for Martin Tyler to be taken into consideration too though.
You could well be right about Southgate but on the other hand I give you Claudio Ranieri...it can happen occasionally.
Yeah, there's a right place/right time thing that can work for a nice guy and a group of players that maybe don't need such a ******* approach and are better with the pressure taken off. Ranieri at Leicester or Stubbsy at Hibs. Southgate just now might fit that category.
28-06-2018, 11:17 AM
So England are in a win-win situation tonight. If they win, they win and if they lose, they win, except in reality, if they win, the more likely they are to lose.:whistle:
28-06-2018, 11:33 AM
Its all about Senegal-Colombia today. Two exciting teams, winner goes through, all to play for:aok:
28-06-2018, 11:37 AM
Understandably, he wants England to do as well as possible, but he pointed out that even if they lose their next 2 games, the fans will be happy with their team's performance in the tournament.
Southgate is secure in his role and they'll look forward to Euro 2000.
The players who come in, will be trying like bears to stay in the team and Harry Kane will be desperate to add to his tally.
It'll be interesting. I hope I don't have to turn the volume off, but I suspect I might have to.
I think he would be very much in the minority IMO. England's self regard is based on more than being able to beat Tunisia and Panama.
28-06-2018, 11:38 AM
Its all about Senegal-Colombia today. Two exciting teams, winner goes through, all to play for:aok:
Hopefully both go through though not sure if that can happen unless Poland beat Japan. Would be better for the tournament if both went through.
28-06-2018, 11:47 AM
Hopefully both go through though not sure if that can happen unless Poland beat Japan. Would be better for the tournament if both went through.
agree, it'd be a shame not to have an African team in the knockout stage, and Colombia are just great to watch, front four of Cuadrado, Quintero, James Rodriguez and Falcao just :partyhibb. Either would be worthy pappers-out of England in the next round. (plus i have a very small wager on both of them to win the world cup at ridiculous odds)
28-06-2018, 11:51 AM
Yep, if Poland win and Colombia don't lose, then Colombia and Senegal go through. I think it'll be Colombia and Japan though.
28-06-2018, 12:40 PM
I think they just stated the possible outcomes - so it is you doing the implying.
No they are implying that England should cheat and lose, mate.
28-06-2018, 12:50 PM
No they are implying that England should cheat and lose, mate.
Do you think the Belgian media aren't speculating about that too?
The media aren't in the team.
28-06-2018, 01:58 PM
Colombian anthem one to go to war to.
28-06-2018, 02:07 PM
England are all excited at the moment because their nemesis germany are out. They've started well but they forget they've only played 2 games, the first they won with a late goal against Tunisia and the second Panama which is really the equivalent of Celtic beating Cove Rangers. Fair enough you can only play and beat whats put in front of you which they have done but the hype around them now is a bit over the top. You can only judge how good a team really is once they've come up against teams of similar quality and then of course better quality.
As for the idea that they will go easy tonight, I very much doubt it. They will be desperate to keep the buzz going and prove that they are capable of beating big teams. Harry Kane in particular will be desperate to add to his tally - getting a Golden Boot at the World Cup when your up against the likes of Ronaldo, Messi etc. is the stuff of dreams for any player.
28-06-2018, 02:07 PM
Someone needs to take bongos to Easter Road, this is class
28-06-2018, 02:19 PM
VAR decides it wasnt a penalty for Senegal
28-06-2018, 02:20 PM
I don't watch much of Spurs but I can't believe how dodgy Davison Sanchez is. Colombias weak link imo.
28-06-2018, 02:23 PM
Is the Columbia manager Davy Moyes older brother
28-06-2018, 02:33 PM
Aw naw - James off.
28-06-2018, 02:36 PM
Aw naw - James off.
Oh sit down
28-06-2018, 02:43 PM
Oh sit down
Oi - have some sympathy! :grr:
JimboHibs
28-06-2018, 02:58 PM
I don't watch much of Spurs but I can't believe how dodgy Davison Sanchez is. Colombias weak link imo.
Weak link who's tackle possibly saved a goal,if he's a weak link I'll take that everyday.
28-06-2018, 03:02 PM
Colombian anthem one to go to war to.
Along with the marching powder?
28-06-2018, 03:06 PM
John Stones saying they’ll be going all out for a win. Course they will, it’s a natural thing for footballers to do. The team they put out will be their possible passport to a serendipitous defeat.
28-06-2018, 03:06 PM
Southgate is secure in his role and they'll look forward to Euro 2000.
You better get back and tell him to start really looking forward though. They didn't do much at Euro 2000 as I recall.
28-06-2018, 03:07 PM
Late to this one but has the Senegal v Colombia game been as sleep inducing as it appears? Where has the swift, impressive powerful Colombia gone?
28-06-2018, 03:25 PM
You better get back and tell him to start really looking forward though. They didn't do much at Euro 2000 as I recall.
If you actually read what this guy thought it is pretty obvious that he is looking ahead and hoping for steady improvement. He doesn't seem to be expecting too much just now so I don't understand your comment.
28-06-2018, 03:28 PM
This chess game approach is going to come back to bite Colombia if Japan equalise.
28-06-2018, 03:28 PM
Good spot, Stevie.
JimboHibs
28-06-2018, 03:29 PM
If you actually read what this guy thought it is pretty obvious that he is looking ahead and hoping for steady improvement. He doesn't seem to be expecting too much just now so I don't understand your comment.
Go back and read the guys post again ? Iggys comment is tounge n cheek.
28-06-2018, 03:30 PM
You've lost it, Stevie.
Heat stroke?
You quoted Euro 2000 old pal and that's twice now you've questioned my sensibilities you pseudo-English golfer.
28-06-2018, 03:31 PM
Youre wasting your time. The boy could start an argument in an empty phone box.
28-06-2018, 03:32 PM
Stop it man. Life is too short.
28-06-2018, 03:32 PM
Wague on for Senegal. this boy is lightning.
28-06-2018, 03:33 PM
Late to this one but has the Senegal v Colombia game been as sleep inducing as it appears? Where has the swift, impressive powerful Colombia gone?
Comfortably into the next round without risking throwing too many men forward and inviting disaster?
28-06-2018, 03:34 PM
Great header but the keeper was behind the goalline! awful positioning.
28-06-2018, 03:35 PM
Comfortably into the next round without risking throwing too many men forward and inviting disaster?
Bogotastic!!!
The Senegal full back looked like he was leaning against the goal post having a fag,when Colombia scored.
Good spot, Stevie.
Colombia score.... English mob play out a draw tonight and I'll get down to my Cypriot bookie and buy you a Mythos off the proceeds. Promise. Love ya.
28-06-2018, 03:36 PM
I want Senegal to score now.
28-06-2018, 03:37 PM
Colombian keeper - cheat.
28-06-2018, 03:38 PM
What do we need here to get Senegal and Colombia through?
Colombian keeper - cheat.
Made a bit of a fanny of himself there.
Japan and Senegal separated by bookings now. Japan have 2 less.
28-06-2018, 03:40 PM
What do we need here to get Senegal and Colombia through?
An equaliser for Senegal or another goal for Poland or 2 more yellow cards or a red for Japan.
28-06-2018, 03:40 PM
You quoted Euro 2000 old pal and that's twice now you've questioned my sensibilities you pseudo-English golfer.
I got there... eventually.
28-06-2018, 03:41 PM
An equaliser for Senegal or another goal for Poland or 2 more yellow cards or a red for Japan.
FFS, come on any one of those options then!
28-06-2018, 03:42 PM
Youre wasting your time. The boy could start an argument in an empty phone box.
That might be true, although I'd dispute that :wink:, but on this occasion, I spotted my mistake before being corrected.
28-06-2018, 03:44 PM
Japan clearly know what's going on, according to my Bet 365 graphics they have had possession for ages and have just been passing about in their own half. ****s.
28-06-2018, 03:51 PM
Its just not the same without an African team in the playoffs:rolleyes:
Delighted for Colombia, hope they **** England or Belgium and J Rod isnt too badly hurt.
28-06-2018, 03:54 PM
Dammit. Japan, ****ing Japan. What a total travesty. This tournament need serious revision.
Its just not the same without an African team in the playoffs:rolleyes:
Delighted for Colombia, hope they **** England or Belgium and J Rod isnt too badly hurt.
Commentator reckons that’s England or Belgium through to the last eight. He’s written off Colombia.
Is that the real Higuita in the crowd?
Colombia easing through as some people predicted :whistle:
28-06-2018, 03:55 PM
Japan clearly know what's going on, according to my Bet 365 graphics they have had possession for ages and have just been passing about in their own half. ****s.
Exactly what happened both teams happy with the scoreline. Got to be said to go out on bookings is an absolute joke. Would have been better drawing lots IMO.
28-06-2018, 03:56 PM
Colombia easing through as some people predicted :whistle:
Worthy comeback given what happened to them in game 1.
Pity about Senegal though. :no way:
28-06-2018, 03:56 PM
Commentator reckons that’s England or Belgium through to the last eight. He’s written off Colombia.
Yep Murphy nothing to fear apparently.
28-06-2018, 04:03 PM
Exactly what happened both teams happy with the scoreline. Got to be said to go out on bookings is an absolute joke. Would have been better drawing lots IMO.
Or just deciding that Japan are actually a bit 5hit and shouldn't be preferred over Senegal? That they are there at all is a triumph for the corporate development greed of FIFA and its quest for ever expanding revenues and audience at the cost of football quality.
28-06-2018, 04:08 PM
Eight changes for England!!! Southgate is clearly ruthless as F beneath his nice exterior. Fair enough, but it could easily come back to bite them.
28-06-2018, 04:12 PM
Eight changes for England!!! Southgate is clearly ruthless as F beneath his nice exterior. Fair enough, but it could easily come back to bite them.
Belgium doing something similar, seemingly, and I think it's the right thing.
They need to have their first picks as fit as possible for the next round, regardless of who they get.
Unless you were one of the folk who played 2 games a day every Saturday and Sunday and twice during the week without any signs of fatigue, then resting players is judicious.
28-06-2018, 04:19 PM
Risky strategy as Senegal had it in their own hands. A single goal and Japan were out.
Senegal hardly had a meaningful shot on goal though. Only have themselves to blame.
28-06-2018, 04:20 PM
Belgium doing something similar, seemingly, and I think it's the right thing.
They need to have their first picks as fit as possible for the next round, regardless of who they get.
Unless you were one of the folk who played 2 games a day every Saturday and Sunday and twice during the week without any signs of fatigue, then resting players is judicious.
Plus 2nd bookings tonight mean missing the next match but players on 1 booking get them wiped.
JimboHibs
28-06-2018, 04:23 PM
Or just deciding that Japan are actually a bit 5hit and shouldn't be preferred over Senegal? That they are there at all is a triumph for the corporate development greed of FIFA and its quest for ever expanding revenues and audience at the cost of football quality.
Where would your theory leave Scotland 😂
28-06-2018, 04:25 PM
Plus 2nd bookings tonight mean missing the next match but players on 1 booking get them wiped.
Good point.
28-06-2018, 04:39 PM
Was really looking forward to Belgium v England pre tournament. Shame that it’s resorted to both camps (not the players playing) not really caring if they win or not
28-06-2018, 04:42 PM
Was really looking forward to Belgium v England pre tournament. Shame that it’s resorted to both camps (not the players playing) not really caring if they win or not
It might yet be both teams actively trying to lose or have the worst disciplinary record, and be the most entertaining match ever.
28-06-2018, 04:43 PM
Yep shameful bringing the tournament into disrepute as much as Poland or Japan did today especially England the self proclaimed moral guardians of the sport.
28-06-2018, 04:44 PM
It might yet be both teams actively trying to lose or have the worst disciplinary record, and be the most entertaining match ever.
Surely they want to win the group and play Japan?
28-06-2018, 04:53 PM
Yep shameful bringing the tournament into disrepute as much as Poland or Japan did today especially England the self proclaimed moral guardians of the sport.
The game hasn't been played yet.
Oh sorry, I get it. You're just hoping.
28-06-2018, 04:54 PM
Don't see it myself as the comment makes no sense. Guy looking to the future and told to look further into the future because of past failures. No hype or over the top predictions yet gets flak. Not Tongue in cheek just pointless.
28-06-2018, 04:55 PM
Don't see it myself as the comment makes no sense. Guy looking to the future and told to look further into the future because of past failures. No hype or over the top predictions yet gets flak. Not Tongue in cheek just pointless.
I initially typed 2000 instead of 2020.
Iggy was pulling me up for that, nothing else.
I've amended the date, but Iggy quoted me just as I was doing so and you can see the original in his post.
JimboHibs
28-06-2018, 05:04 PM
🙄🙄
28-06-2018, 05:05 PM
Surely they want to win the group and play Japan?
I suppose so.
I hadn't really thought through the significance of today's results yet. I suppose that half of the draw doesn't look quite as bad now.
28-06-2018, 05:08 PM
The players on the pitch will absolutely want to win. It makes sense for both managers to rest players and rotate - why risk your best players getting injured for a fairly meaningless game?
28-06-2018, 05:43 PM
Problems in team selection for both managers as well as a couple of minor knocks.
1. You should always play your strongest team regardless - or
2. Make a few changes to rest those players with the more physical roles so they are fresh for the knockout games - or
3. Make a lot of changes to give the squad game time in case of injuries/suspensions later.
Both managers appear to have gone for the long game and chosen route 3, giving them more options over the course of the tournament. This is obviously made easier by both teams having qualified already.
Everyone will have their own opinion but there are merits in all of the choices and for what it's worth I think both managers will want to win this game.
Not long to go now anyway, just hope it's a good game as it has fallen away a bit lately.
28-06-2018, 05:47 PM
My middle son is in Brussels tonight so c’mon the Belgae, ram it right up them.
Otherwise I don’t care who wins.
28-06-2018, 05:49 PM
The game hasn't been played yet.
Oh sorry, I get it. You're just hoping.
28-06-2018, 05:50 PM
Where would your theory leave Scotland 😂
Qualifying probably.
28-06-2018, 05:56 PM
Come on the Belgians! 🇧🇪
And in a few days time.... come on the Colombians 🇨🇴 or Japanese! 🇯🇵
28-06-2018, 05:57 PM
Belgian anthem sounds like it's being played with kazoos.
28-06-2018, 06:07 PM
Belgian anthem sounds like it's being played with kazoos.
Sounds like something from a CBBC show
Both teams playing for hee haw. Desperate stuff.
28-06-2018, 06:18 PM
Both teams playing for hee haw. Desperate stuff.
Nil nil a good bet?!
28-06-2018, 06:20 PM
Equal now on fair play stats. I think.
28-06-2018, 06:22 PM
Nil nil a good bet?!
It doesn't look like it.
So how is it resolved if it stays that way till end of play?
28-06-2018, 06:23 PM
So how is it resolved if it stays that way till end of play?Lots.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
Hope Belgium score an own goal.
28-06-2018, 06:25 PM
Hope Belgium score an own goal.
Why?
Why?
As England are Scotland’s natural rivals, I hope they get a harder draw and therefore exit the competition. Hope this helps.
28-06-2018, 06:27 PM
What a disappointment. A minging game so far that isn't properly competitive and tells us nothing about their relative strengths and weaknesses.
As England are Scotland’s natural rivals, I hope they get a harder draw and therefore exit the competition. Hope this helps.
They're already top are they not?
So how is it resolved if it stays that way till end of play?
Belgium have two more yellows than England and that is used as a tiebreaker if level on points, goal difference and goals scored. So if it’s a draw, as things stand, England get the group win and go into the tougher half of the draw.
28-06-2018, 06:28 PM
How I wish that were true.
They're already top are they not?
The team in second gets the easier draw. It’s not difficult to comprehend.
28-06-2018, 06:29 PM
The team in second gets the easier draw. It’s not difficult to comprehend.
Do they?
Yes, they do.
I understand now. I thought the winners got the easiest team in the next round.
Do they?
Christ you are tedious.
28-06-2018, 06:31 PM
Christ you are tedious.
I was mistaken.
28-06-2018, 06:33 PM
Hiya.
Just stick me on ignore, it will save time, you having to readi things through and all that.
28-06-2018, 06:34 PM
They should get Rod Stewart doing a post group stage draw at the next World Cup to avoid pish like this.
28-06-2018, 06:37 PM
They should get Rod Stewart doing a post group stage draw at the next World Cup to avoid pish like this.
Not the worst idea.
28-06-2018, 06:40 PM
He does spraff some, but I can assure you he's not an idiot. He's a bum though, he'd tell you that himself.
Reported. 😎
28-06-2018, 06:40 PM
He does spraff some, but I can assure you he's not an idiot. He's a bum though, he'd tell you that himself.
Some need.
28-06-2018, 06:42 PM
:agree: :greengrin
Unfortunately Scotland are no where near England's rivals it's been a long long time since that scenario was fact.
28-06-2018, 06:44 PM
Reported. 😎
I will quote my source, W. Wallace Snr, circa 1977, if this becomes a matter of legislation, I have witnesses, some less reliable than others I admit.
28-06-2018, 06:45 PM
Got that wrong I think. Belgium have three yellows more than England so England lead the group.
The only positive thing I can say about this is that my corners bet is nearly up already.
England top on fair play
28-06-2018, 06:46 PM
I will quote my source, W. Wallace Snr, circa 1977, if this becomes a matter of legislation, I have witnesses, some less reliable than others I admit.
I couldn't remember his surname. Well done.
Does half time count as an official stop?
28-06-2018, 06:47 PM
C'mon Engeeeeeerland
28-06-2018, 06:47 PM
Close to the most boring game I've seen so far. Has there been a nil - nil yet?
28-06-2018, 06:48 PM
Good of FIFA to put on a reserve game to fill in tonight. :rolleyes:
28-06-2018, 06:49 PM
Some need.
Nane.
28-06-2018, 06:49 PM
I couldn't remember his surname. Well done.
Does half time count as an official stop?
Scarves off!
AltheHibby
28-06-2018, 06:50 PM
England top on fair play
So, how many bookings do England need to get to go second? 🤔
It's like the adult version of two corners a penalty! 😂
28-06-2018, 06:53 PM
Good of FIFA to put on a reserve game to fill in tonight. :rolleyes:
I know. It's not horrific to watch, but given that little is at stake, it's hard to get excited.
I initially thought that winning was the better outcome so that would maybe have given us a better game, but it's pleasing that neither team is deliberately trying to lose.
28-06-2018, 06:59 PM
Wouldn't be surprised to see someone come on with minutes to go to only go right through someone to ensure 2nd.
28-06-2018, 07:06 PM
Wouldn't be surprised to see someone come on with minutes to go to only go right through someone to ensure 2nd.
Belgium wouldn't do that.
28-06-2018, 07:06 PM
Close to the most boring game I've seen so far. Has there been a nil - nil yet?
Denmark-France on Tuesday has been the only 0-0 so far.
28-06-2018, 07:07 PM
1-0 Belgium Januzaj
Pick that one out.
Get in there!!!!
28-06-2018, 07:08 PM
They even put on Stoke's on Fire to celebrate.
Lovely finish.
TV panel saying Belgium getting it all their own way in terms of letting England win the group. There’s no way they will try to win this match. Goal. That makes a mockery of the panel’s twisted opinions.
So much for Belgium not wanting to win. Cracking goal.
Cracking goal.
So perfectly struck.
28-06-2018, 07:09 PM
Great goal happy with that
28-06-2018, 07:09 PM
another 3 or 4 would be delighful
28-06-2018, 07:10 PM
That's like one gigantic wall
guthrie01
It’s not coming home
Great goal happy with that
Would you rather play Colombia over Japan?
Is it just me, or does the English goalie not look a bit like Jimmy Krankie
😂 anyone see the Belgian striker boot the ball of post and get it back in the face after goal
28-06-2018, 07:11 PM
TV panel saying Belgium getting it all their own way in terms of letting England win the group. There’s no way they will try to win this match. Goal. That makes a mockery of the panel’s twisted opinions.
The panel said that Belgium had been the better team and had had the better chances. I was surprised to hear them say that at the end.
Some of the folk on this thread are struggling with the reality just now, too. :wink:
28-06-2018, 07:12 PM
Popular opinion is that finishing second is best.
28-06-2018, 07:12 PM
Not bothered either way, it's the draw after that if they manage to get through, Sweden or Switzerland.
28-06-2018, 07:13 PM
https://img.saveur-biere.com/img/p/1859-3402-v4_product_img.jpg
28-06-2018, 07:14 PM
https://img.saveur-biere.com/img/p/1859-3402-v4_product_img.jpg
That picture is all ****ed up.
28-06-2018, 07:15 PM
😂 anyone see the Belgian striker boot the ball of post and get it back in the face after goal
Ha ha they just showed it. 😂
28-06-2018, 07:16 PM
ok, have some more for your troubles
https://i.pinimg.com/originals/c9/f9/52/c9f952b22b82e6c26cbfaaf7d9993d3c.jpg
28-06-2018, 07:16 PM
End of 1st bottle. 2nd one at the ready.
28-06-2018, 07:17 PM
ok, have some more for your troubles
https://i.pinimg.com/originals/c9/f9/52/c9f952b22b82e6c26cbfaaf7d9993d3c.jpg
That's better.
This is great, the England fan club and the abes all happy at once!
I’ve switched over where Tunisia have equalised and it’s not a bad game. And Dowie so much better than Hoddle.
End of 1st bottle. 2nd one at the ready.
Glad someone is on the ball.
28-06-2018, 07:19 PM
This is great, the England fan club and the abes all happy at once!
Happy and unhappy all at once.
It's weird.
28-06-2018, 07:20 PM
If this England squad was four years further on but playing in this same tournament I think they'd be pretty serious contenders.
28-06-2018, 07:21 PM
If this England squad was four years further on but playing in this same tournament I think they'd be pretty serious contenders.
Belgium look good too.
Have they got any longevity?
28-06-2018, 07:22 PM
Not bothered either way, it's the draw after that if they manage to get through, Sweden or Switzerland.
I can't see England beating Colombia but I think they would beat Japan.
Not much point in looking forward to playing Sweden or Switzerland if you get knocked out in the previous round.
28-06-2018, 07:23 PM
Great save.
kamberi would have burst the net with that chance, fact
Being Belgian and a mug is some life ain't it?
David_D
28-06-2018, 07:24 PM
2-1 Tunisia. Been a pretty good end to end match.
28-06-2018, 07:26 PM
A Hodgson-esque performance from England this.
28-06-2018, 07:27 PM
Why is Gareth Bale's hairstyle playing for Belgium?
28-06-2018, 07:28 PM
kamberi would have burst the net with that chance, fact
Aye, he's improved a hell of a lot at Sunderland.
England been having problems with their final balls all night, maybe too much in the way of gentle lofts.
Not much point in looking forward to playing Sweden or Switzerland if you get knocked out in the previous round.
Yeah but your just stating what you want to happen where as I am looking at it realistically. England can beat Columbia and Japan or they could lose to both of them. Everyone always looks at a possible path to the final in any sport where the draw is set out and hopes they can get what looks like on paper the overall easiest route. That's all I'm saying.
Did you watch Colombia today? Very lucky to beat Senegal. Can’t see England losing to them.
Sweden might be a different beast though
28-06-2018, 07:29 PM
England could make the semis - easily.
28-06-2018, 07:30 PM
It's a shame that this game gives us no indication of the relative strengths and weaknesses of either side.
28-06-2018, 07:30 PM
Did you watch Colombia today? Very lucky to beat Senegal. Can’t see England losing to them.
Ah. Thomas Brolin. That was a game.
28-06-2018, 07:31 PM
It's a shame that this game gives us no indication of the relative strengths and weaknesses of either side.
It's a real pisser. Been looking forward to it all week.
England could make the semis - easily.
Or not - easily.
Did you watch their first two games? Best team in the tournament so far. Today wasn't great but they lost their star player early on to an early injury, were under tactical instruction to keep it tight early and were up against a very very good side.
I'd be wanting to avoid Colombia.
28-06-2018, 07:32 PM
Ah. Thomas Brolin. That was a game.
I always felt he looked like he'd have been more at home fronting some US spandex-clad rock band.
28-06-2018, 07:33 PM
Or not - easily.
For sure, to go all Souness for a moment.
28-06-2018, 07:33 PM
It is.
The good thing is that both teams are trying to score.
Japan's tactics, whilst understandable, make a farce of entertainment.
28-06-2018, 07:34 PM
Gutted. Pan Tun quite good if meaningless.
28-06-2018, 07:34 PM
It is.
The good thing is that both teams are trying to score.
Japan's tactics, whilst understandable, make a farce of entertainment.
Japan are *****. Dull, shouldn't-even-be-there *****.
28-06-2018, 07:35 PM
I always felt he looked like he'd have been more at home fronting some US spandex-clad rock band.
If he was clothed in spandex during his Leeds period there would have to be a parental guidance warning. Mr Creosote and wafer thin mint spring to mind.
28-06-2018, 07:35 PM
Me too. Whilst chubbily scoring raspers against second rate white disco boys. Some life.
28-06-2018, 07:36 PM
Why are England insisting on Alexander Arnold taking their set pieces? He's hit the 1st man about 6 times, shanked 2 along the ground, floated most of the rest a yard too high for the deep man and the other one was ok.
28-06-2018, 07:36 PM
Gutted. Pan Tun quite good if meaningless.
If that finishes 2-1 I get three points in my malt whisky challenge that me and my mate do every World Cup and Euros.
28-06-2018, 07:37 PM
Why are England insisting on Alexander Arnold taking their set pieces? He's hit the 1st man about 6 times, shanked 2 along the ground, floated most of the rest a yard too high for the deep man and the other one was ok.
Just lulling everyone else into a false sense of security for later games? :confused:
28-06-2018, 07:37 PM
I can't help calling him Terence Trent Darby now.
28-06-2018, 07:38 PM
Or a playboy but one who had inherited the wealth.
28-06-2018, 07:39 PM
Me too. Whilst chubbily scoring raspers against second rate white disco boys. Some life.
Can anyone tell me why I hate him? There was a reason but I can't remember it. Did he score against us in Italy?
28-06-2018, 07:40 PM
If that finishes 2-1 I get three points in my malt whisky challenge that me and my mate do every World Cup and Euros.
Panama well in this, they’ve had one disallowed for a soft foul in the run up.
28-06-2018, 07:41 PM
Or a playboy but one who had inherited the wealth.
Unnatural eyelashes. Plus he looked like he'd consumed another squad member. Him and Nade in the same supermarket would have been carnage.
28-06-2018, 07:43 PM
Did you watch their first two games? Best team in the tournament so far. Today wasn't great but they lost their star player early on to an early injury, were under tactical instruction to keep it tight early and were up against a very very good side.
I'd be wanting to avoid Colombia.
They lost to Japan, not really the mark of best team in the tournament is it?
James’ lack of fitness is a massive problem for them. Quintero has real quality but they looked short of ideas today and relying heavily on Sanchez at the back. Falcao isn’t gonna score out of nothing any more.
Just can’t see it but England will give teams chances
28-06-2018, 07:43 PM
Panama well in this, they’ve had one disallowed for a soft foul in the run up.
Eek. I'm one behind at this stage so three points would be good. I don't want to have to buy the ****** another bottle of Laphroaig. Much prefer to see Springbank coming my way.
28-06-2018, 07:44 PM
Unnatural eyelashes. Plus he looked like he'd consumed another squad member. Him and Nade in the same supermarket would have been carnage.
Interesting battle though. Real clash of the Titans.
Far more interesting than the Ronaldo-Messi debate.
Brolin vs Nade in a peanut butter and jelly sandwich-eating contest. Heady stuff.
28-06-2018, 07:45 PM
Can anyone tell me why I hate him? There was a reason but I can't remember it. Did he score against us in Italy?
Nah. Maurice Johnston will be the scorer you hate in that game.
28-06-2018, 07:46 PM
Interesting battle though. Real clash of the Titans.
Far more interesting than the Ronaldo-Messi debate.
Brolin vs Nade in a peanut butter and jelly sandwich-eating contest. Heady stuff.
You can imagine Nade just thinking '**** it, I'll eat him and then I've eaten him plus everything he's already eaten'.
28-06-2018, 07:47 PM
What was the last team to win the WC after winning every game?
I'm hot for Belgium to do it this year.
Eek. I'm one behind at this stage so three points would be good. I don't want to have to buy the ****** another bottle of Laphroaig. Much prefer to see Springbank coming my way.
The Springbank distillery is brilliant if you’re ever down that way. Wee independent place, no corporate bull****, still has a floor malting. And the product’s not bad either.
Nah. Maurice Johnston will be the scorer you hate in that game.
You're getting confused, not for the first time.