View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread
19-06-2018, 04:02 PM
It wasn't a pun.
A pun needs a modicum of intelligence.
"Ha ha ha, that man's name has a lot of letters" doesn't.
Using the word "pundit" without somehow turning into a pun pun has to go do down as a missed opportunity.
Or a missed oppuntunity if you must.
19-06-2018, 04:05 PM
Using the word "pundit" without somehow turning into a pun pun has to go do down as a missed opportunity.
Or a missed oppuntunity if you must.
I accept the rebuke.
My annoyance caused me to lose puncentration.
19-06-2018, 04:09 PM
I really think Senegal could do something at this tournament. Gaun the...whats their nickname again? black stars? lions?
Black stars are Ghana
Indomitable Lions are Cameroon
Helpful, eh? :rolleyes:
Edit: Senegal are "Lions of Teranga" apparently.
19-06-2018, 04:16 PM
Glad I have seen a gol but would like more.
19-06-2018, 04:16 PM
Is McCoist being wide when he mispronounces Lewandowski's name?
Or does he just not listen?
19-06-2018, 04:21 PM
0-2 absolute howler in the Polish defence.
19-06-2018, 04:21 PM
Terrible defending.
19-06-2018, 04:22 PM
Is McCoist being wide when he mispronounces Lewandowski's name?
Or does he just not listen?
He's just ignorant.
19-06-2018, 04:22 PM
Senegal manager looks like Jimmy Boco.
19-06-2018, 04:26 PM
Poland are just choc-full of bland East European 5hiteness.
19-06-2018, 04:28 PM
When you look at some of their players they just have no right to be this bad.
19-06-2018, 04:28 PM
Poland-Colombia on Sunday will be a cracker as things stand.
19-06-2018, 04:30 PM
Erm, not if Poland are playing in it. They look worse than Nigeria in terms of underperforming nothingness.
19-06-2018, 04:35 PM
Erm, not if Poland are playing in it. They look worse than Nigeria in terms of underperforming nothingness.
Hard to believe they were top European goalscorers in the qualifying groups.
19-06-2018, 04:37 PM
Hard to believe they were top European goalscorers in the qualifying groups.
You're not kidding. I think Poland have decided to dig in for the 0-2 defeat.
19-06-2018, 04:44 PM
Poland are poor. They always seem to be decent in qualifying and then don't show up for the tournament.
19-06-2018, 04:45 PM
Colombia will blow Poland away with James on the pitch for 90 mins.
Could be some fancied teams heading home earlier than they expected.
19-06-2018, 04:47 PM
1-2.
19-06-2018, 04:53 PM
Is that Shibasaki? (I'm watching at work with the volume down).
Seemingly plays for Getafe?
He's been excellent. Lovely touch and moves the ball on beautifully, linking the whole team together.
Shibasaki plays for Getafe but there are 7 Japanese players who play for German Bundesliga clubs in the squad.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japan_national_football_team
19-06-2018, 04:54 PM
Full time. 1-2
19-06-2018, 04:57 PM
Good result. Poland made that into a single transferable crap Euro Finals game performance and got what they deserved. Colombia to win this group.
19-06-2018, 05:51 PM
What would happen if next game
Senegal vs Japan ended 0-0
Poland vs Colombia ended also 0-0
Then last game
Colombia beat Senegal 2-1
And Poland beat Japan 2-1
Toss of a coin?
19-06-2018, 05:52 PM
Mo Salah starts for Egypt
19-06-2018, 05:58 PM
I'm hoping Russia play France at some point so we can have a Battle of the Anthems - two barnstormers, the French with a bit more pace and movement, the Russian solid in the back third.
19-06-2018, 06:01 PM
C'mon Egypt.
19-06-2018, 06:06 PM
I'm hoping Russia play France at some point so we can have a Battle of the Anthems - two barnstormers, the French with a bit more pace and movement, the Russian solid in the back third.18-12 to Russia
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
19-06-2018, 06:07 PM
18-12 to Russia
That will lead to fireworks.
19-06-2018, 06:28 PM
18-12 to Russia
Can I come overture place to watch it?
alihibs1
19-06-2018, 06:28 PM
Russia to win this one. Egypt look poor even with Salah.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
Gamestarted well but has become a bit scrappy, need a goal.
19-06-2018, 06:29 PM
Great strip from Egypt. The one the Germans should have been wearing as their first strip.
19-06-2018, 06:30 PM
Salah done hee haw so far.
19-06-2018, 06:31 PM
Can I come overture place to watch it?You can sample my latest drink concoction. I made it to celebrate the Russian hosting of the World Cup.
Chai Coffee-ski..
19-06-2018, 06:32 PM
He's wrong in the heid.
19-06-2018, 06:32 PM
I'm not surprised. He's injured, this is Egypt not Liverpool and the Russians have their tales up from the first win and with a mental sounding home support.
19-06-2018, 06:34 PM
Salah a passenger and clearly not fit
19-06-2018, 06:34 PM
He's wrong in the heid.
As some Hearts guys used to say about Kenny Black "He's got a really bad shoulder injury in his head".
19-06-2018, 06:37 PM
You can sample my latest drink concoction. I made it to celebrate the Russian hosting of the World Cup.
Chai Coffee-ski..
Need to go slowly on them if you want to avoid ending up Brahms and Liszt.
19-06-2018, 06:39 PM
Great strip from Egypt. The one the Germans should have been wearing as their first strip.
They got the manufacturer right (Germany should always wear Adidas, sorry Rudi) but simpler is better.
19-06-2018, 06:41 PM
This thread’s shaping up for some classic puns.
19-06-2018, 06:48 PM
This thread’s shaping up for some classic puns.
I keep chopin and changing my mind about puns.
19-06-2018, 06:52 PM
Is that Shearer or the old guy i breaking bad
19-06-2018, 06:52 PM
I’ll be Bach when the puns stop because I just can’t Handel it.
19-06-2018, 06:54 PM
I’ll be Bach when the puns stop because I just can’t Handel it.
That's a shame - just when it seems that Mozart starting to get the hang of them.
19-06-2018, 06:56 PM
I keep chopin and changing my mind about puns.
I've been too Bizet to even think about it.
19-06-2018, 06:57 PM
Britten supporters will be ripping the tap aff it if England go through
19-06-2018, 07:03 PM
Linneker and his pals are still bleating on about these bloody set piece shenanigans. Not a single reference to the fouling that the English forwards were committing at the same time. I was beginning to form a reasoned opinion about England doing well but I’m cheesed off with them now and I can’t wait for their first major disappointment. I wish they would shut their pusses and get on with it.
19-06-2018, 07:04 PM
That is almost unforgivable goalkeeping. Simple catch, elects to punch, makes a mess of it and from the resulting shot they are one down.
alihibs1
19-06-2018, 07:04 PM
That Right Back has been murder all night.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
19-06-2018, 07:05 PM
As before during the Poland game, I hate deflected goals.
19-06-2018, 07:06 PM
Stadium has loads of empty seats for a game involving host nation - mental.
19-06-2018, 07:07 PM
They're at the pie stands
19-06-2018, 07:09 PM
Whats the Russki equivalent of a pie at the game?
19-06-2018, 07:10 PM
Pieski?
19-06-2018, 07:11 PM
Must be some queue!
19-06-2018, 07:12 PM
Kulebyaka :agree:
19-06-2018, 07:12 PM
Must be some queue!
Maybe there's a calendar signing going on? :wink:
19-06-2018, 07:13 PM
Must be some queue!
Pies are that good
19-06-2018, 07:15 PM
Great goal.
19-06-2018, 07:16 PM
Cracking goal by Russia
19-06-2018, 07:16 PM
That's a really well worked goal.
That big guy up front playing the target man role brilliantly.
19-06-2018, 07:17 PM
Great goal. Russia number 6 has been fantastic so far in 1st two games.
Interesting. In the Czech Republic, the most similar thing is probably klubasnik (sp), which isn't too much of a derivation.
That's a really well worked goal.
That big guy up front playing the target man role brilliantly.
Just said that myself.
Sergio Ramos puts Russia into the next stage :agree:
19-06-2018, 07:18 PM
Incredible!
19-06-2018, 07:18 PM
3-0. Russia as good as through.
19-06-2018, 07:19 PM
It's his fault Egypt are humpty?
Egypt going home
Salah is nowhere near fit and shouldn’t be playing. Then again the rest of the players around him are s***. Especially that Eleneny from Arsenal. Bloody awful footballer!
Woeful defending from Egypt. Poor attempt at a tackle
19-06-2018, 07:20 PM
Egypt might not be great, but credit to Russia. They’ve played some decent stuff.
19-06-2018, 07:20 PM
I'll take два please
19-06-2018, 07:21 PM
Do the young people say 'word'? You're spot on.
19-06-2018, 07:21 PM
Most folk back in their seats now
19-06-2018, 07:25 PM
I'll take два please
Good decision.
It's buy два get один free.
19-06-2018, 07:26 PM
It's such a pity Salah isn't fit. He's a superb player well worthy of being seen in the final stages. Up there with Messi and Ronaldo prior to his injury in my opinion.
19-06-2018, 07:28 PM
It's such a pity Salah isn't fit. He's a superb player well worthy of being seen in the final stages. Up there with Messi and Ronaldo prior to his injury in my opinion.
He’s nothing of the sort, had a great season, but these 2 have done it for years
19-06-2018, 07:28 PM
Good decision.
It's buy два get один free.
Got any чипсы to go with that?
19-06-2018, 07:30 PM
Am I the only one who thinks they got that wrong? Most of the contact was outside the box.
3-0. Russia as good as through.
Pharaohs ult.
Most folk back in their seats now
Ran out of pies.
Am I the only one who thinks they got that wrong? Most of the contact was outside the box.
I thought that too, but the commentators were very adamant.
19-06-2018, 07:31 PM
Penalty for me, and correct decision.
19-06-2018, 07:31 PM
I thought that too, but the commentators were very adamant.
Guess they asked Salah to stand and deliver.
19-06-2018, 07:32 PM
He’s nothing of the sort, had a great season, but these 2 have done it for years
I'm not talking about for years, I'm talking about this season. He's just getting started IMO. I think he has better awareness than either of the other two and his play is so economical it's ridiculous. There's things they do that he can't but he's pretty exceptional.
19-06-2018, 07:34 PM
Guess they asked Salah to stand and deliver.
19-06-2018, 07:34 PM
It would have been grossly unpharoahn the Egyptians if they hadn't got the penalty.
19-06-2018, 07:36 PM
I'm liking the numbers font on the Russian tops, very early-1980s computer-style, conjuring up memories of the Cold War, "War Games" etc. Probably a deliberate move on Putin's part.
The horizontal part of the ones and the sevens aren't much different from each other though, bit less elongation on the ones is required.
19-06-2018, 07:37 PM
Got any чипсы to go with that?
Sure. соль и соус?
Lets wait aand see how he does next season before we elevate him to that level.
19-06-2018, 07:38 PM
I think there's a strong argument for a separate pun board.
19-06-2018, 07:39 PM
I'm liking the numbers font on the Russian tops, very early-1980s computer-style, conjuring up memories of the Cold War, "War Games" etc. Probably a deliberate move on Putin's part.
The horizontal part of the ones and the sevens aren't much different from each other though, bit less elongation on the ones is required.
:agree: Definite Hunt for Red October vibe going on.
Now that the first round of matches is complete what would be your tournament forecast based on the jersey numbers?
19-06-2018, 07:40 PM
Sure. соль и соус?
и то и другое.
19-06-2018, 07:41 PM
Lets wait aand see how he does next season before we elevate him to that level.
If he does well he might get a move to a big club like PSG, Real or Barca. Then you would see how good he really is.
19-06-2018, 07:43 PM
Isn't it the same font as Egypt's?
19-06-2018, 07:44 PM
If he does well he might get a move to a big club like PSG, Real or Barca. Then you would see how good he really is.
Think he's already proven that this season with a weaker team like Liverpool.
19-06-2018, 07:44 PM
I’m a bit indifferent to the Salah overdosing. Yes he’s a great player but he is playing for a run of the mill international team and that’s tough. Egypt haven’t a right of passage just because of him.
19-06-2018, 07:46 PM
Isn't it the same font as Egypt's?
Indeed it is, as well as most of the other Adidas teams but the Soviet-era references wouldn't have worked so well.
19-06-2018, 07:47 PM
Indeed it is, as well as most of the other Adidas teams but the Soviet era references wouldn't have worked so well.
Think he's already proven that this season with a weaker team like Liverpool.
There are lots of players who are good at smaller clubs but can’m hack it when the pressure of being expected to win every game.
I’m a bit indifferent to the Salah overdosing. Yes he’s a great player but he is playing for a run of the mill international team and that’s tough. Egypt haven’t a right of passage just because of him.
That's certainly true. Tbh I never thought they would progress.
19-06-2018, 07:49 PM
There are lots of players who are good at smaller clubs but can’m hack it when the pressure of being expected to win every game.
I think he's a lot better than good. Anyway, we'll see.
19-06-2018, 07:51 PM
Agree, say that after five seasons of 40+ goals in the premier league...
19-06-2018, 07:54 PM
Bloody hell. The Russian manager appears to be the guy who used to run the Central Chip Shop near Bristo Square.
19-06-2018, 08:20 PM
:agree: Definite Hunt for Red October vibe going on.
Now that the first round of matches is complete what would be your tournament forecast based on the jersey numbers?
I'm glad you asked.
Let's look at the contenders.
The aforementioned Adidas font, a clear tribute (in every sense of the word) to World Cup overlord and general badass, Vladimir Putin. Stare too long at the numbers and you will start having mental images of Reagan and Gorbachev, Cruise missiles at Greenham Common and nightmares after watching 'Threads', all to an accompanying mental soundtrack of 'Two Tribes' by FGTH. Definite home advantage here and got to be in contention for at least one of the Final spots.
And then we come to Puma. It's just barmy. The numbers look like they've been designed by a Goth biker on acid, using a child's alphabet stencil and a felt tip pen where the tip has got all fluffy. Idiosyncratic, too idiosyncratic because you need consistency when you're looking to play seven games in four weeks Jeff
Nike is a bit smoother, a bit more elongated. You look at the low horizontal on the four though and think, you're inviting trouble playing that deep. Should have enough to get out of the groups but how further is anyone's guess Clive.
New Balance and Uhlsport I'm afraid are on the first flight home. They're the numbering you get on the spaces in a small office car park on a small business park on the outskirts of a medium-sized town. Yes, just as soulless as that sounds.
Wildcards? Errea. Their font is clean and sharp-edged, befitting being on Iceland's shirts, a country where the entire population drinks vodka made out of glaciers before jumping naked into ice baths or steam baths or whatever it is they have up there.
That leaves two. Hummel has elements of Nike's shape and elements of Umbro's (yet to come) size, but manages to be neither and falls between two stools.
Progression? Certainly.
Ultimate success? Not a chance, Wrighty.
And so we come to the winner, the only winner there ever could be.
Umbro, proudly adorning the mighty Peruvian strip with its statement broad diagonal. You would think with the scale of that sash effect they couldn't go bigger. You would be wrong.
The numbering blows the diagonal out of the water. Solid and proud.
It's the kind of numbering that if you had it on your front door, the postie or Amazon courier would know you meant business. If they rang the bell and there was no answer they would wait there for you to come back, even if you had just gone off on a three-week holiday. None of this 'return to depot' or 'left it with a neigbour' disrespect.
Umbro - never in any doubt :agree:
19-06-2018, 09:07 PM
0-2 absolute howler in the Polish defence.
Just watched the replay. The Senegal player goes down, then goes off following an injury.
Gets called back on at a 'very opportune moment' to produce a sprint that would do Usain Bolt proud - and scores.
Reeks of time wasting by injury feigning. Horrendous pass back by Polish player, and bad call by ref allowing the player to come on at that point.
Not seen much of WC tbh, but what I have seen has been totally underwhelming (except for Spain v Renaldo).
20-06-2018, 11:55 AM
Here we go again
20-06-2018, 11:57 AM
Without doubt the most trumpety of all the anthems, is Portugal's.
Morocco sounds like a lot of dishes being dropped at once.
20-06-2018, 12:05 PM
Ronaldinho does it again, no defender anywhere near him, criminal defending
20-06-2018, 12:05 PM
Portugal 1-0
Ronaldo of course
20-06-2018, 12:06 PM
I couldn't care less what sex a commentator is but did they have to pick one with such an annoying voice?
Brave header.
What a header by Cristiano!
Portugal 1-0
Ronaldo of courseShock horror! Surely got to be odds on for golden boot with Iran to come?..
Morocco sounds like a lot of dishes being dropped at once.
20-06-2018, 12:08 PM
I couldn't care less what sex a commentator is but did they have to pick one with such an annoying voice?
The female Rob MacLean for me.
20-06-2018, 12:09 PM
Nearly 2 for Ronaldo there
20-06-2018, 12:09 PM
Is Lawrenson on again??
20-06-2018, 12:11 PM
Good header. Good smart save.
20-06-2018, 12:11 PM
Is Lawrenson on again??
Vicki Sparks and Keown, I want James Richardson and Guillem Balague or if they can't do it Salma Hayek
20-06-2018, 12:23 PM
Morocco not out of the match. Portugal defence is boggin
20-06-2018, 12:24 PM
That Portugal defence is there to be got at, gave them the benefit of the doubt the other night as they were playing Spain but they don't look up to much here either
20-06-2018, 12:26 PM
Another good World Cup goal by the Greatest Of All Time :aok:
20-06-2018, 12:27 PM
What kind of bait are you using today?
20-06-2018, 12:28 PM
The Morocco manager looks like Jamie Lannister from Game Of Thrones
20-06-2018, 12:29 PM
Worst commentator ever.
How does Owain Tudor Jones qualify to play for Portugal?
Maybe one of his 5 Ballon d'Ors? :greengrin
20-06-2018, 12:30 PM
Maybe one of his 5 Ballon d'Ors? :greengrin
:greengrin:na na:
20-06-2018, 12:32 PM
Normal service resumed with Ronaldos free kicks.
Curried
20-06-2018, 12:36 PM
From what I've seen, Morocco don't deserve to be behind going into half time.
20-06-2018, 12:37 PM
Gone back to smashing them into the wall?
20-06-2018, 12:40 PM
Guedes has been absolutely terrible during this world cup. Looks like he won a competition to be involved.
20-06-2018, 12:41 PM
Messi would have done better 🤪
20-06-2018, 12:41 PM
I just fell asleep. What have I missed?
20-06-2018, 12:45 PM
I just fell asleep. What have I missed?
Ralph Malph ran onto the pitch and slapped Ronaldo
20-06-2018, 12:48 PM
Ralph Malph ran onto the pitch and slapped Ronaldo
I bet Quaresma didn't like that. Ralph would be dead meat. Belhanda should have done better there.
20-06-2018, 12:50 PM
All I’m hearing from that female commentator is this
https://s.aolcdn.com/hss/storage/midas/86c9a02e3f31f765f631007de87546a5/204289729/Screen+Shot+2016-09-06+at+9.31.26+AM.png
20-06-2018, 12:50 PM
All of it I think.
20-06-2018, 12:52 PM
Elected for the mute button and decided to watch it sans commentary.
I think some of in-studio female pundits have been a breath of fresh air, often being more insightful than some of the other pundits in the studio (seriously, get Phil Neville to **** already) - but this commentator is garbage.
20-06-2018, 12:52 PM
I think Portugal are the spawniest team in international football.
Oh boy am I glad you said that, was reluctant to say anything as I thought I would be accused of being non PC. Yip very irritating.
20-06-2018, 12:56 PM
Uruguay v Saudi Arabia.
Perennial under achievers v making up the numbers no-marks. Any thoughts on the outcome of this one? Penalty maybe? Lots of anxious Saudi defending and corners?
20-06-2018, 12:57 PM
Oh boy am I glad you said that, was reluctant to say anything as I thought I would be accused of being non PC. Yip very irritating.
Who is the commentator in question? It's poor planning I know but I'm actually working - or at work at least.
From what I've seen, Morocco don't deserve to be behind going into half time.
They don't, but they do have fouling down to a fine art.
Who is the commentator in question? It's poor planning I know but I'm actually working - or at work at least.
Vickie Sparkes, Moyes threatened to give her a slap when he was at Sunderland.
20-06-2018, 01:04 PM
Just made myself a fish finger sandwich and discovered we have no tomato sauce. Tragic.
20-06-2018, 01:05 PM
Just made myself a fish finger sandwich and discovered we have no tomato sauce. Tragic.
Be a man and use brown, tomato is only for a burger
Caversham Green
20-06-2018, 01:06 PM
I think some of in-studio female pundits have been a breath of fresh air, often being more insightful than some of the other pundits in the studio (seriously, get Phil Neville to **** already) - but this commentator is garbage.
I've actually given up watching. It's not the same with no crowd noise and I just can't listen to that commentator.
I think there's some more football on later anyway.
20-06-2018, 01:07 PM
Is this the plaice to mention off topic things?
:hyper
20-06-2018, 01:08 PM
Be a man and use brown, tomato is only for a burger
With fish fingers?? No way, that's what vicky sparks would do. Chipotle hot sauce works OK.
20-06-2018, 01:11 PM
With fish fingers?? No way, that's what vicky sparks would do. Chipotle hot sauce works OK.
Brown sauce goes with everything, it masks the taste, that's the point, you have a lot to learn about fine dining
20-06-2018, 01:13 PM
That Morocco number 7 is very good. I'd have him in the Alan o brien role for Hibs. Go on Neil and LeeAnn.
20-06-2018, 01:14 PM
Brown sauce goes with everything, it masks the taste, that's the point, you have a lot to learn about fine dining
I don't deny that. It's all about comfort, I have a hangover.
20-06-2018, 01:21 PM
Where's David Moyes when you need him, she is sooooo annoying.
20-06-2018, 01:22 PM
And fine dining is a very much like making love to a beautiful woman...
20-06-2018, 01:23 PM
Where's David Moyes when you need him, she is sooooo annoying.
I don't get the hate, she's bland enough. Liam McLeod is way more annoying.
20-06-2018, 01:25 PM
This last twenty minutes has been virtually all in Portugal's half.
20-06-2018, 01:26 PM
Portugal are really poor but will probably get through.
20-06-2018, 01:28 PM
And fine dining is a very much like making love to a beautiful woman...
:faf: I miss Swiss Tony and his wise words
20-06-2018, 01:29 PM
I don't get the hate, she's bland enough. Liam McLeod is way more annoying.
No hate, just her voice is like nails down a blackboard to me, same as Pearce
20-06-2018, 01:30 PM
No hate, just her voice is like nails down a blackboard to me, same as Pearce
Is she the aubergine of commentators for you? :faf:
20-06-2018, 01:31 PM
Is she the aubergine of commentators for you? :faf:
:faf: don't get me started on those evil bassas, I'm boycotting the second leg in Greece if we get there over their love of them
20-06-2018, 01:35 PM
:faf: I miss Swiss Tony and his wise words
Don't we all. I particularly liked the mental haircut and moustache.
20-06-2018, 01:36 PM
I'd be gutted if I was Moroccan, dominated both games and looking like they're losing both.
I've actually given up watching. It's not the same with no crowd noise and I just can't listen to that commentator.
I think there's some more football on later anyway.
Snap, she would make a the most beautiful butterfly in the world sound like a moth, I've muted her and got some rock tunes blasting from my laptop.
20-06-2018, 01:43 PM
Straight in to the wall
20-06-2018, 01:43 PM
That was some dive by Ron.
20-06-2018, 01:45 PM
That was some dive by Ron.
Turned out he was fouled
20-06-2018, 01:46 PM
Turned out he was fouled
Keown said that, didn't look like it to me??
It was from the reverse angle
20-06-2018, 01:46 PM
The guy caught his leg. He did make the most of it though
20-06-2018, 01:47 PM
I can’t wait on this game finishing. Her voice is ruining it for me.
20-06-2018, 01:49 PM
I can’t wait on this game finishing. Her voice is ruining it for me.
Her voice is fine :confused:
20-06-2018, 01:49 PM
Morocco so frustrating to watch, they pass it beautifully but never make runs from deep so don't get behind the defence.
20-06-2018, 01:50 PM
Female commentator is absolutely garbage.
20-06-2018, 01:50 PM
Her voice is fine :confused:
Horrible accent and screechy. Not for me.By the way feel the same about Liam McLeod
20-06-2018, 01:51 PM
Hit the target ffs
20-06-2018, 01:52 PM
Pepe is an embarrassment as a footballer.
20-06-2018, 01:53 PM
huge sigh of relief from the portuguese
and my bank account
20-06-2018, 01:53 PM
Booo
20-06-2018, 01:54 PM
Getting fed up of teams with Ronaldo in them lucking their way to wins.
20-06-2018, 01:54 PM
It was from the reverse angle
It cant be just me who likes see things from the reverse angle?
20-06-2018, 01:56 PM
The way Ronaldo keeps looking at the stadium screen is really annoying. Good player but narcisstic vanity detracts from his likeability in my opinion.
20-06-2018, 01:59 PM
Portugal becoming my most disliked team - mainly due to Pepe and Ronaldo plus the Man Utd - Jose boring football style they play.
Morocco were the better team but couldn’t score.
Morocco better than several other teams who will go through.
20-06-2018, 02:03 PM
The way Ronaldo keeps looking at the stadium screen is really annoying. Good player but narcisstic vanity detracts from his likeability in my opinion.
He doesn't have any 'likeability' to start with.
20-06-2018, 02:11 PM
Well maybe ‘admiration’ is a more appropriate term in his case. :greengrin
20-06-2018, 02:26 PM
He’s a great player but an unbearable human being.
20-06-2018, 02:59 PM
South Americans get the most fired up by anthems. I'm thinking 5-0 Uruguay.
20-06-2018, 03:09 PM
The commentator’s at the wrong game. He just said “First corner of the game to Egypt.” :greengrin
20-06-2018, 03:13 PM
Said the very same thing. It’s all about him. Not taking away he’s world class and great to watch, the constant looking up to see if he’s the one in shot bugs me.
20-06-2018, 03:23 PM
Chomp chomp chomp 1-0
20-06-2018, 03:25 PM
That'll be more Saudi's facing a penalty when they go home.
20-06-2018, 03:33 PM
That's a tad harsh :greengrin
Maybe have a wee read about the unbelievable charitable stuff he does for dying kids, starving children etc, narcistic maybe but not unbearable as a human.
20-06-2018, 03:39 PM
Maybe have a wee read about the unbelievable charitable stuff he does for dying kids, starving children etc, narcistic maybe but not unbearable as a human.
You’re quite correct about all the unseen humanitarian stuff he does and good on him. We’re talking here about an unimportant superficial trait he has that really gets on your nerves and earns him the reputation he has and voiced by lots of people.
20-06-2018, 03:42 PM
Neville is doing his narrating again, GTF :grr:
BH Hibs
20-06-2018, 03:52 PM
Really frustrating watching Uruguay they’ve got the players and talent to go out and hammer Saudi Arabia but it seems one nil will do.
Just watched the highlights of Portugal game. Pepe is just a cheat plain and simple. Despicable human being!
20-06-2018, 04:16 PM
Despicable human being!
😂😂😂
20-06-2018, 04:34 PM
Just watched the highlights of Portugal game. Pepe is just a cheat plain and simple. Despicable human being!
Compared with murderers, rapists and Sevco supporters, maybe an overreaction, but I’ve got a lot of empathy with Aldo’s opinion. :greengrin
[emoji41]
20-06-2018, 04:41 PM
There’s literally nothing likeable about these odious Uruguayan histrionic dullards.
20-06-2018, 04:43 PM
This commentator ‘fancies’ Uruguay in the competition. ****ing idiot.
20-06-2018, 04:46 PM
You’re quite correct about all the unseen humanitarian stuff he does and good on him. We’re talking here about an unimportant superficial trait he has that really gets on your nerves and earns him the reputation he has and voiced by lots of people.
I'd heard it was actually Brian Kerr.
I suppose we'll never know......
20-06-2018, 04:48 PM
I think there's been very few teams outwith Europe who have won the WC when it has been played there. Likewise the opposite. With that in mind, I think a European country will win the WC this time around. That said, it would be great for the game if a 'Foinavon' won it.
20-06-2018, 04:48 PM
Is one of the Saudis called Farage? :faf::faf:
20-06-2018, 04:51 PM
If you won games by passing the ball to death 45 yards from the opponents goal the Saudis would be nigh on unbeatable.
Close to the worst game of the tournament so far. Uruguay seem to be all about just doing enough at this stage.
20-06-2018, 04:55 PM
I lost interest in the first half.
Worst game yet, imo.
20-06-2018, 04:55 PM
Christ that was like passing a kidney stone very, very slowly.
20-06-2018, 04:58 PM
Easily that was the worst game in the tournament. Was like watching Hearts.
20-06-2018, 05:01 PM
Christ that was like passing a kidney stone very, very slowly.
Wow!
I've never had a kidney stone, but by friick, I don't want one if that's the case.
20-06-2018, 05:56 PM
Was the Iranian anthem being played on an old 78?
Don’t know but some of the Iranian women in the crowd are [emoji91][emoji7]
20-06-2018, 06:13 PM
Some racket the crowd are making
20-06-2018, 06:15 PM
Some racket the crowd are making
Nippy - I wondered what had happened to all the vuvuzelas.
20-06-2018, 06:18 PM
gareth southgate dislocated his shoulder whilst out running today, shame, he's a decent bloke
20-06-2018, 06:19 PM
the horns are utterly farcical. it ruins the game. I'm close to turning it off because of it.
20-06-2018, 06:20 PM
Iran are playing a dangerous game playing that deep, they will tire eventually
20-06-2018, 06:21 PM
Either I'm overdosing on football or today has been a rubbish day. Snooze fest.
Need Spain to put this game to bed. Last game in a treble I have on.
20-06-2018, 06:25 PM
Need Spain to put this game to bed. Last game in a treble I have on.
Same, and the teams have made bloody hard work of it.
Indeed. Not a massive return but enough to keep my account ticking over until the next bet
20-06-2018, 06:30 PM
i need spain for the completion of a nice wee 4-fold, go spain
20-06-2018, 06:32 PM
please lord above make sure iran get emptied out A.S.A.P. thus putting an end to they dafty wee kids hooters
20-06-2018, 06:33 PM
Either I'm overdosing on football or today has been a rubbish day. Snooze fest.
It’s been a crap day of football. That Uruguay - Saudi Arabia game in particular was a terrible watch
20-06-2018, 06:43 PM
Some of the Iranian theatrics have been quite entertaining. The swan dives, screams and pained expressions put some Oscar winners to shame.
20-06-2018, 06:46 PM
Iran - Ramos - Uruguay. Please all GTF.
20-06-2018, 06:47 PM
Just got in. Am I right in thinking Iran are playing eleven men in defence?
20-06-2018, 06:47 PM
This Iran team is ridiculous.
20-06-2018, 06:48 PM
Some of the Iranian theatrics have been quite entertaining. The swan dives, screams and pained expressions put some Oscar winners to shame.
Personally i love it. Its panto.
20-06-2018, 06:50 PM
Roy Keane talking about Queiroz before the game has been the most entertaining thing about the football today. Dire stuff.
Typical Iranians. Cheating, angry *******s.
Spain need a bit of magic to score here. The whole of Iran is in the box.
Just got in. Am I right in thinking Iran are playing eleven men in defence?
Anti football!
20-06-2018, 06:51 PM
Typical Iranians?
20-06-2018, 06:52 PM
I'm torn here.
Iran are anti-football horror. Real 666 stuff.
On the other hand if they get a draw here - or even win - Spain could go out. Which is good. Very, very good.
20-06-2018, 06:55 PM
Why exactly is Ian Wright dressed in birthday wrapping paper from the 1980s?
20-06-2018, 06:56 PM
:faf: ooo youre on shaky ground there
20-06-2018, 06:57 PM
I'm torn here.
Iran are anti-football horror. Real 666 stuff.
On the other hand if they get a draw here - or even win - Spain could go out. Which is good. Very, very good.
No it ain’t as a potential Uruguay vs Iran knockout game would be a painful watch.
20-06-2018, 06:59 PM
Bollah, is the wall of noise at this game what you wanted your Kazoo division to be like at the bus shelter? :faf:
20-06-2018, 06:59 PM
I love how permanently raging Roy Keane is. It's like a proper psychopath is in employment as a TV presenter. He looked like he was all set to murder someone during that few seconds talking about Southgate hurting his shoulder.
20-06-2018, 07:02 PM
24 hours in Keans custody . Scary thought
Crap game, Iran playing Levein tactics and cheating at every opportunity, Spain are a spent force and have no spark in the team.
Roy Keane talking about Queiroz before the game has been the most entertaining thing about the football today. Dire stuff.
Aye....he didn't exactly hold back.
Bollah, is the wall of noise at this game what you wanted your Kazoo division to be like at the bus shelter? :faf:
Those were more innocent times mate, id never get away with that on kickback nowadays:greengrin
20-06-2018, 07:06 PM
Oh no, Tyledsleys talking about the 'Iran nuclear threat':confused: Where has this need to chuck uninformed political analysis come from? **** all to do with nuclear weapons, its about Nike bending over and taking it hard from Donald Trump.
Meanwhile, Iran continue with the expansive attacking stuff.