View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread
24-06-2018, 02:01 PM
Well. Never saw that performance coming from Engerlund. Have to say it was impressive even against a rubbish team. And to make this comment a bit more Hibs-centric, the first half display and score was very reminiscent to a certain game on 1st January 1973. Certainly took my mind back to that fine day.
Memories!!:greengrin:greengrin
24-06-2018, 02:08 PM
I know how many people are in England but I still think 95% of the TV audience want them to win their games.
Have you ever heard South American commentators when their team scores? Do you reckon that they have a "wordly view"?
None do. Well, maybe the Belgians and just ask ODS about them. :wink:
Footballers are mostly numpties, and TV likes to reflect ‘the man in the street’. And he kens SFA. I was impressed by Kenny Dalglish’s daughter on 5 Live, there are some interesting commentators. Guess I also miss the likes of Bob Crampsie and some of the retired Sportsound team.
24-06-2018, 02:42 PM
Good performance from England and shut up a few vocal locals in Winstons when we let rip for the first goal.😁
Liam978
24-06-2018, 03:00 PM
Good performance from England and shut up a few vocal locals in Winstons when we let rip for the first goal.😁
:greengrin:agree::agree::greengrinhttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif
24-06-2018, 03:07 PM
Are you a regular in Winnies?
24-06-2018, 03:12 PM
"Dear Rangers,
There were 11 on the pitch.
GIRUY
Secretary General"
:thumbsup::top marks
24-06-2018, 03:13 PM
WTF was Kawashima doing there?
1-0 Senegal
24-06-2018, 03:15 PM
WTF was Kawashima doing there?
1-0 Senegal
He's no Iran keeper. Kawashima is the shakiest ive seen in this world cup.
My small interest in Senegal at 150/1 stays alive:greengrin
24-06-2018, 03:20 PM
Just saw a Japan player wearing a headband. When does their album come out?
whiskas
24-06-2018, 03:22 PM
Didn’t kawashima play for Dundee Utd? Thought he looked decent though a bit of a camera save merchant
24-06-2018, 03:23 PM
"Dear Rangers,
There were 11 on the pitch.
GIRUY
Secretary General"
nellio
24-06-2018, 03:28 PM
Didn’t kawashima play for Dundee Utd? Thought he looked decent though a bit of a camera save merchant
Sure he was in goal for the cup semi.
24-06-2018, 03:33 PM
Japan score, 1-1
24-06-2018, 03:34 PM
Are you a regular in Winnies?
Not exactly, was in there last night and again this afternoon but on average about once a month.It's the closest pub to me.
24-06-2018, 03:34 PM
Sure he was in goal for the cup semi.
Yes he was
24-06-2018, 03:37 PM
Great game this, two fast and athletic teams going at it. No diving to speak of either.
24-06-2018, 03:49 PM
Hoping that Poland v Colombia will turn out to be a cracker with both teams desperate for three points. Poland were like football mogadon in the first game. Top seeds my ar5e.
24-06-2018, 04:21 PM
Japan playing some nice stuff now.
24-06-2018, 04:24 PM
What would happen if this game finishes 1-1 then Poland vs Colombia ends 1-1 as well
Then last game
Colombia beat Senegal 2-1
And Poland beat Japan 2-1
Toss of a coin?
24-06-2018, 04:28 PM
2-1 Senegal
Japan playing some nice stuff now.
Goooooooool!!!!!!
Wague 2-1 Senegal. One of my favourite players at this world cup. Their full backs are lightning.
What would happen if this game finishes 1-1 then Poland vs Colombia ends 1-1 as well
Then last game
Toss of a coin?
I think fair play record comes into it, then a toss of a coin.
24-06-2018, 04:29 PM
Then last game
Toss of a coin?
Fair play (yellows and reds awarded against), then drawing lots.
24-06-2018, 04:30 PM
Fair play (yellows and reds awarded against), then drawing lots.
Hearts are good at drawing lots.
0-0 is their preference.
24-06-2018, 04:35 PM
2-2. Honda with the equaliser
24-06-2018, 04:36 PM
2-2. Whits the goalie doing Oumar??
whiskas
24-06-2018, 04:38 PM
I initially thought it was good positive goalkeeping to come and collect there- the only problem was there was no collecting. Well done Japan for keeping the ball in play and getting their reward
24-06-2018, 04:38 PM
Wague 2-1 Senegal. One of my favourite players at this world cup. Their full backs are lightning.
Just done a quick Google search on him. Did not realise he was only 19 years old!
24-06-2018, 04:41 PM
Just done a quick Google search on him. Did not realise he was only 19 years old!
I think he replaced someone who got injured and hes been a standout ever since.
Liam978
24-06-2018, 05:03 PM
I think he replaced someone who got injured and hes been a standout ever since.
Pass Jim but I would assume so, one is always wise after the event.Questions that I wish I had asked. Like why was Efe not there, "is he one of the 5" or has he went awol again like last season.
24-06-2018, 05:26 PM
Poland V Colombia now a must win so should hopefully be decent. If Poland play like they did last time out I hope they get absolutely pumped. Dire to watch.
24-06-2018, 05:48 PM
Poland V Colombia now a must win so should hopefully be decent. If Poland play like they did last time out I hope they get absolutely pumped. Dire to watch.
I love watching Colombia. Great fans, quality all over the pitch, superstar fantasista in James Rodrigues and a 'old guy desperate to roll back the years' story in Falcao.
Thought the Japan Senegal game was excellent!
Japan never say die attitude!
24-06-2018, 05:57 PM
Polands anthem, Jurassic World soundtrack.
Colombians anthem, 'youre going to get your ****in heids kicked in' with trumpets.
24-06-2018, 06:02 PM
I can see a goalkeeping error playing a part in this one. Two keepers who are always prone to a mistake or 2.
24-06-2018, 06:03 PM
Polands anthem, Jurassic World soundtrack.
Colombians anthem, 'youre going to get your ****in heids kicked in' with trumpets.
Thankfully Poland's wonderful anthem predates nonsense film sequels.
24-06-2018, 06:06 PM
Has Ospina injured himself diving there?
24-06-2018, 06:07 PM
Colombia player took a sore one there
Studs to his fingers
Looks that way. He stood on the polish boys foot and went down.
24-06-2018, 06:08 PM
Thought it was a dive at first but on second viewing think he slipped.
24-06-2018, 06:11 PM
I can see a goalkeeping error playing a part in this one. Two keepers who are always prone to a mistake or 2.
:agree: I dont know anything about Colombias reserve keeper but surely hes not much worse than Ospina.
24-06-2018, 06:14 PM
:agree: I dont know anything about Colombias reserve keeper but surely hes not much worse than Ospina.
Probably miles worse, Ospina is a good keeper and has been for years. Not spectacular but solid. Rarely makes mistakes from what I remember.
Szczesny one of the best in Italy
This game looks and sounds like it's being played in Bogota.
This is 100mph and no quality yet, like a Scottish game, great so far
24-06-2018, 06:15 PM
Probably miles worse, Ospina is a good keeper and has been for years. Not spectacular but solid. Rarely makes mistakes.
Seriously? watch some of his recent performances in qualifiers for Colombia. At least three clangers. Hes always had suspect positioning.
24-06-2018, 06:23 PM
Fair play (yellows and reds awarded against), then drawing lots.When do haircuts come into It?
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
24-06-2018, 06:25 PM
Colombia look delectable - the style of play and that strip are just gorgeous.
Saturday Boy
24-06-2018, 06:25 PM
When do haircuts come into It?
If haircuts win points, the South Korea goalie must win something. 😱
24-06-2018, 06:27 PM
Seriously? watch some of his recent performances in qualifiers for Colombia. At least three clangers. Hes always had suspect positioning.
Os-peeeeeeeeeena!!!!!
Boom!!!!!
24-06-2018, 06:29 PM
Poland: Square ball-tastic
24-06-2018, 06:37 PM
Thankfully Poland's wonderful anthem predates nonsense film sequels.
Definite meeting of two different cultures here. My money is firmly on Colombia.
24-06-2018, 06:38 PM
Poland seem to think you get points for being brutally dull.
24-06-2018, 06:38 PM
Definite meeting of two different cultures here. My money is firmly on Colombia.My money is on the commentator lamping McCoist if he mis-pronounces Lewandowski one more time.
24-06-2018, 06:39 PM
What a well worked goal and well deserved
24-06-2018, 06:39 PM
Thank God for that. **** off home Poland if you're not here to try and win.
24-06-2018, 06:42 PM
My money is on the commentator lamping McCoist if he mis-pronounces Lewandowski one more time.
If there was a god, dependent on your belief system, obviously it’s a Catholic god etc etc
24-06-2018, 06:43 PM
I’m enjoying this, Columbia a joy to watch
24-06-2018, 06:50 PM
Colombia probably edged the first half and deserve their lead.
24-06-2018, 06:52 PM
I’m absolutely bemused. How on earth are Poland the top seeds? They look the worst side in this group.
24-06-2018, 06:54 PM
I’m absolutely bemused. How on earth are Poland the top seeds? They look the worst side in this group.They played the system.
They rarely play any friendlies, which are weighted differently from competitive games. As a result, they had a remarkable "climb" up the rankings.
24-06-2018, 06:57 PM
I really really want Colombia to win the world cup.
24-06-2018, 07:03 PM
Poland have been poor, but I've really enjoyed watching the other 3 teams in this group.
Japan have played some good stuff, as have Senegal.
Colombia were held back by having to play for so long with 10 in the last game but have still managed to impress.
24-06-2018, 07:11 PM
Falcao trying too hard. Should be 2-0.
24-06-2018, 07:14 PM
Colombia play great football but the players also put in some shift
24-06-2018, 07:15 PM
Another disappointing World Cup for Poland. Oh well.
24-06-2018, 07:19 PM
Quality time wasting from Ospina
24-06-2018, 07:19 PM
McCoist has an unerring abilty to ruin the enjoyment of watching football. He offers less than nothing as a co-commentator - no insight other than a reminder that he hasnt yet completely disappeared into the oblivion that he earned as the sevco bigoted manager and still wholly deserves.
24-06-2018, 07:20 PM
McCoist has an unerring abilty to ruin the enjoyment of watching football. He offers less than nothing as a co-commentator - no insight other than a reminder that he hasnt yet completely disappeared into the oblivion that he earned as the sevco bigoted manager and still wholly deserves.
Also refuses to actually pronounce players' names right. Heard "Falco" and "Levandowskee" so far.
24-06-2018, 07:23 PM
Poland are 5hite
24-06-2018, 07:29 PM
That’s an excellent Colombia goal
2-0 game over, Poland heading home.
that'll be that then :rolleyes: ranked 8th in the world rankings...my erky
Vamos, he deserves that after all his injury woes
Silky wee finish from Falcao. What a player he is.
24-06-2018, 07:30 PM
Goooooooooooooooool!!!
24-06-2018, 07:31 PM
Are these ****ers really going to continue to square ball it even at 2-0 down?
24-06-2018, 07:31 PM
Good riddance. Poland have been utter s****
24-06-2018, 07:33 PM
Silky wee finish from Falcao. What a player he is.
So is Quintero, just a shame who he plays for :na na:
24-06-2018, 07:34 PM
3-Zilch
24-06-2018, 07:34 PM
3-0 Colombia
24-06-2018, 07:35 PM
What a pass by James Rodriguez! Great finish by Cuadrado.
3-0
Good riddance. Poland have been utter s****
Yup
****ing boom, Inspector Rebus left for dead there
Great football from Colombia.
Cross Poland with Panama and you have Craig Leveins wet dream. Negative tactics and thuggery.
3-0. Good, bye bye Poland.
Imagine what Colombia would do to an average side like England on this form
24-06-2018, 07:36 PM
Colombia really good today. Think them Vs England would be a great game. Poland absolutely awful
It's fabulous. What a performance.
Really hope Colombia get England in the Last 16!
24-06-2018, 07:37 PM
Genuinely makes me smile to see Valderrama and Higuita :cb
HibeeBigFly
24-06-2018, 07:38 PM
I have enjoyed him tonight, actually think he is good at this. Same can't be said about his management tho :)
24-06-2018, 07:38 PM
24-06-2018, 07:41 PM
Probably miles worse, Ospina is a good keeper and has been for years. Not spectacular but solid. Rarely makes mistakes from what I remember.
Ospina has been very good tonight, I've always rated him, honest :greengrin
24-06-2018, 07:42 PM
I showed the boys the scorpion on YouTube from back in the day, they couldn't believe it :faf:
Benny Brazil
24-06-2018, 07:44 PM
What a pass by James Rodriguez! Great finish by Cuadrado.
3-0
Pass of the world cup so far- stunningly good
24-06-2018, 07:45 PM
I showed the boys the scorpion on YouTube from back in the day, they couldn't believe it :faf:
It's almost as good as his perm, he must use Soul Glo :not worth
24-06-2018, 07:48 PM
So is Quintero, just a shame who he plays for :na na:
:na na: I never even knew he played for los millionairos, to be honest. I need to listen to more of that Tim vickery to be a proper football hipster
24-06-2018, 07:49 PM
Colombia really good today. Think them Vs England would be a great game. Poland absolutely awful
I think Senegal might spoil that party.
24-06-2018, 07:49 PM
:na na: I never even knew he played for los millionairos, to be honest. I need to listen to more of that Tim vickery to be a proper football hipster
You are too busy faffing around with French football and drinking out of old jam jars :na na:
24-06-2018, 07:50 PM
Ospina has been very good tonight, I've always rated him, honest :greengrin
I'll let you off this time :greengrin
Tomsk
24-06-2018, 07:50 PM
Great stuff from Colombia. Viewing only spoiled by McCoist's utterly dismal co-commentary. How in the name of sweet Jesus does he keep getting jobs?
24-06-2018, 07:51 PM
Great stuff from Colombia. Viewing only spoiled by McCoist's utterly dismal co-commentary. How in the name of sweet Jesus does he keep getting jobs?
I’m actually enjoying his commentary
24-06-2018, 07:52 PM
You are too busy faffing around with French football and drinking out of old jam jars :na na:
:faf: youre actually spot on.
24-06-2018, 07:54 PM
That was classic piss taking there.
24-06-2018, 07:54 PM
HAAAAMESSSS:not worth:not worth
24-06-2018, 08:01 PM
Would like to see a new name on the winners list this year. Colombia or Mexico would be worthy winners on their showing hitherto...
24-06-2018, 08:09 PM
Haven't read any of the comments on the Poland v Columbia game and so am not sure whether anyone has yet offered the view that the referee was top notch tonight. Let the play flow, calmed down a few hotheads and looked a bit like Bobby Madden with hair :greengrin
24-06-2018, 08:14 PM
Haven't read any of the comments on the Poland v Columbia game and so am not sure whether anyone has yet offered the view that the referee was top notch tonight. Let the play flow, calmed down a few hotheads and looked a bit like Bobby Madden with hair :greengrin
He did really well and let the game flow as you say, really refreshing
Tomsk
24-06-2018, 08:15 PM
The standard of refereeing has been good -- one or two exceptions, but generally the refs have let the games flow.
24-06-2018, 08:17 PM
England pundits think they've bagged the WC. When will they learn! Silly boys.
24-06-2018, 08:19 PM
They are one of the last four candidates IMO. Once you get to that stage anything can happen.
24-06-2018, 08:31 PM
Great stuff from Colombia. Viewing only spoiled by McCoist's utterly dismal co-commentary. How in the name of sweet Jesus does he keep getting jobs?He has been good so far. One of the better ones without doubt. Dixon, Lawro, Kilbane all far worse.
24-06-2018, 08:36 PM
great comments on this thread. :greengrin
England hibs half and half scarves still available, drop me a line :greengrin
#bitter
I'll tell you the way it's going they are in with a chance, long odds but a chance.
He has been good so far. One of the better ones without doubt. Dixon, Lawro, Kilbane all far worse.
Like Kilbane.
24-06-2018, 08:40 PM
Awwww still not got over England yet.
24-06-2018, 08:43 PM
Awwww still not got over England yet.
Aye Colombia were world beaters in their first match.
Credit where credit is due they played very well today.
24-06-2018, 08:59 PM
They are one of the last four candidates IMO. Once you get to that stage anything can happen.
Based on beating Tunisia and Panama?
I’m not in the ABE camp but they’ve got a lot to prove. If they don’t sort out their defensive lapses of concentration a half decent team will punish them.
24-06-2018, 09:02 PM
You dont win the World Cup in the first round (group stage) but you can certainly lose it. Lots of football to be played yet.
Sit back and enjoy.
HibeeBigFly
24-06-2018, 09:24 PM
Really enjoying this World Cup, the knock outs will be great. Hope Argentina can sort out the mess they are in. I had this down as one of the most predictable world cups yet with Spain cruising to another title but sacking the unbeaten manager (at international and under 21 level) should level the field out a bit.
24-06-2018, 09:29 PM
Love showing that clip to the kids I coach. I remember trying it in the playground... Learnt that the ground was hard and painful :faf:
24-06-2018, 09:49 PM
You dont win the World Cup in the first round (group stage) but you can certainly lose it. Lots of football to be played yet.
Sit back and enjoy.
Wise words.
24-06-2018, 10:23 PM
I just wish they could get rid of these bloody wimmin commentating and on the panels :grr:
25-06-2018, 02:02 AM
I just wish they could get rid of these bloody wimmin commentating and on the panels :grr:
It's a bit "token" innit?
Still, that's politics.
25-06-2018, 06:44 AM
The Beeb love his cheeky chappy nature and would like to think he represents the views of all Scots. His acceptance of the English Shilling and his dancing for them like a clown is cringeworthy and gees me the boak :greengrin
25-06-2018, 08:14 AM
Why:dunno:
Kelly Cates, for one, knows as much about football as any of the men and is impeccably researched. She is also likeable and funny and can do the presenter thing or the analysis thing equally well.
25-06-2018, 08:51 AM
Yup - still to play a team of any substance yet the 'Low key' approach has been firmly booted into touch !. Just means that when 'that' game comes (as it does and always will for England), it's gonna be great !!
25-06-2018, 08:55 AM
But at least he doesn't Mention England during commentary
25-06-2018, 08:59 AM
Agreed, I don't think women would appreciate men barging in on their "girly days out" at a shopping outlet with their husband's credit cards therefore why they need to gate crash the manly arena of football I do not know.
25-06-2018, 09:00 AM
To be fair they did play well and achieved a new high score record. I still can't shake the feeling that it was a bit like beating Stevie Wonder at darts.
25-06-2018, 09:13 AM
The English media seem to be wanting England to cheat and throw the Belgium game so they get an "easier" tie in the last 16. They'd be livid if someone like Brazil deliberately chucked a game to finish second so they faced England rather than Germany.
25-06-2018, 09:23 AM
The English media seem to be wanting England to cheat and throw the Belgium game so they get an "easier" tie in the last 16. They'd be livid if someone like Brazil deliberately chucked a game to finish second so they faced England rather than Germany.
Is that "observation" any worse than urging a player to get a deliberate yellow card so they miss an earlier, less crucial game? Seen that a lot on here concerning Hibs players and gets many a thumbs up.
25-06-2018, 09:24 AM
I can’t believe that they are being serious. Tournaments are all about momentum and anyway there are no “easy” games at the stage really. Southgate strikes me as a pretty decent bloke so hope he ignores the media on this
25-06-2018, 09:30 AM
To be fair they did play well and achieved a new high score record. I still can't shake the feeling that it was a bit like beating Stevie Wonder at darts.
Peaked too soon, showed their best game to the opposition giving them plenty of time to counter the big lumps at set pieces.
25-06-2018, 09:53 AM
Yup - still to play a team of any substance yet the 'Low key' approach has been firmly booted into touch !. Just means that when 'that' game comes (as it does and always will for England), it's gonna be great !!
To be fair (not that I expect that from your good self) you could substitute the name of almost any national team in here.
25-06-2018, 10:01 AM
2 games in for everyone now, who's been your favourite team/player so far?
I think Uruguay are going about their business quietly. Belgium and England doing well but played amateur teams so far. Been very impressed with Croatia and might be in with a decent shout. Not sure of their path though?
A few let downs. Argentina, a better side than what is being made out imo. Poland - really expected them to win their group but going home. Peru came with a big support and high hopes but similar to Poland.
How does everyone's pre tournament predictions and bets look?
25-06-2018, 10:09 AM
To be fair (not that I expect that from your good self) you could substitute the name of almost any national team in here.
Perhaps, however any other national team doesn't talk itself up to be World Cup winners (at every tournament) as England do !
25-06-2018, 10:17 AM
Perhaps, however any other national team doesn't talk itself up to be World Cup winners (at every tournament) as England do !
How do you know that?
25-06-2018, 10:20 AM
I think Uruguay are going about their business quietly. Belgium and England doing well but played amateur teams so far. Been very impressed with Croatia and might be in with a decent shout. Not sure of their path though?
A few let downs. Argentina, a better side than what is being made out imo. Poland - really expected them to win their group but going home. Peru came with a big support and high hopes but similar to Poland.
Far too much has been made of the 'big teams' slow start, all four of Brazil Germany Argentina Spain have all got a good chance of qualifying and can tweak their teams and tactics to still win the whole thing. France will also get stronger.
Mexico Colombia and England have been the best teams to watch so far, Ronaldo up front and Godin in defence have been the stand out performers. There's been some quality cheating, Switzerland, Iran and Panama get a special mention, I'm looking forward to Pepe against Iran tonight, with both teams capable of going through, will be a darks arts masterclass :greengrin
Im sticking with my original prédiction Spain to win it.
CorrieHibs
25-06-2018, 10:21 AM
I have Belgium, Uruguay and Croatia all E/W and Lukaku E/W as top scorer.
Like the look of Croatia. Modric is on fire.
Cannae judge Belgium the now as they haven’t played anyone yet. They look very strong going forward, but ropey at the back at the moment. Same as England.
I still think it’s so tight to call. Depends on teams passage to the final. England and Belgium might be better finishing second as it stands just now.’
25-06-2018, 10:30 AM
I have Croatia each way at 40s. If they can keep their first choice players fit and not suspended they could do well . The depth of their squad may prove a problem.
25-06-2018, 11:20 AM
Is that "observation" any worse than urging a player to get a deliberate yellow card so they miss an earlier, less crucial game? Seen that a lot on here concerning Hibs players and gets many a thumbs up.
There's a difference between a player getting a booking and throwing a game. It's basically match fixing
Ryan69
25-06-2018, 11:32 AM
How exactly is it a record?
Theres been many bigger scores before.
25-06-2018, 11:41 AM
How exactly is it a record?
Theres been many bigger scores before.
It's England's record score in a WC game
Ryan69
25-06-2018, 11:43 AM
It's England's record score in a WC game
Aah ok.
Not exactly hard right enough
25-06-2018, 11:48 AM
Aah ok.
Not exactly hard right enough
6 goals at international level is a huge achievement.
And, given that according to so many people on here, England are actually pish, it's even more impressive.
25-06-2018, 12:07 PM
Haven't seen a lot of the World Cup so I may have missed it, but I'm not aware of anyone in the England camp claiming they'll win it. They seem a level-headed bunch and I actually quite like Southgate. Good luck to them. The tired old 'Anyone but England' mantra feels very jaded these days and carries little clout from Scotland fans whose team's absence from major tournaments is fast approaching quarter of a century. Let's be honest, Scottish pundits would be getting just as worked up if we ever won a game 6-1 at a World Cup finals. Can you imagine some of the bampots on Sportsound's Open all mikes roster commentating in such circumstances. They'd be unbearable!
25-06-2018, 01:01 PM
Salah benched for Egypt, but it’s a dead rubber anyway.
25-06-2018, 01:02 PM
Also, Egypt changed their keeper and playing a 45-year old, who becomes the oldest player to feature in the World Cup.
25-06-2018, 01:03 PM
Haven't seen a lot of the World Cup so I may have missed it, but I'm not aware of anyone in the England camp claiming they'll win it. They seem a level-headed bunch and I actually quite like Southgate. Good luck to them. The tired old 'Anyone but England' mantra feels very jaded these days and carries little clout from Scotland fans whose team's absence from major tournaments is fast approaching quarter of a century. Let's be honest, Scottish pundits would be getting just as worked up if we ever won a game 6-1 at a World Cup finals. Can you imagine some of the bampots on Sportsound's Open all mikes roster commentating in such circumstances. They'd be unbearable!
How would we know the difference? :confused:
25-06-2018, 01:12 PM
I agree with all of this. I've tried to want England to win, not very hard maybe, but I can't quite go that far.
Some of the ABE stuff is as hard to listen to as the excesses from the English pundits. There's a bit of me that thinks it might be fun if they did win it though just for the reaction on here. 😀
If Scotland were to qualify for the WC, never mind from the group stage, there would be people speculating whether or not we could go far/ win it.
I remember 1978 very well.
25-06-2018, 01:24 PM
I agree with all of this. I've tried to want England to win, not very hard maybe, but I can't quite go that far.
Some of the ABE stuff is as hard to listen to as the excesses from the English pundits. There's a bit of me that thinks it might be fun if they did win it though just for the reaction on here. 😀
If Scotland were to qualify for the WC, never mind from the group stage, there would be people speculating whether or not we could go far/ win it.
I remember 1978 very well.
78 we should have gone far. We did beat the beaten finalists after all. We knocked out the reigning Euro champs in qualifying as well. Anyway, since then we qualified in 82, 86, 90 and 98 as well as Euros in 92 and 96 with absolutely zero expectation (justified!) in all. Should we ever qualify again there will be zero expectation, of that I have absolutely no doubt.
Dare I say it, England are a bit like Hibs with the Scottish Cup. We're never going to be one of the real favourites and would always be punching above our weight to win it. But now and again, results will go our way and we should be in the mix. I think they've got a similar psychological burden now as we had and, as nobody knows better than us, such burdens are damn hard to shift.
25-06-2018, 02:10 PM
Good free kick for Saurez, fooled them all there
25-06-2018, 02:11 PM
Goooooooooooool!!!!!!
25-06-2018, 02:14 PM
Russian defender sold it by pushing Cavani out the way!! :rolleyes:
25-06-2018, 02:17 PM
Futileness of zonal marking summed up by commentator there. 4 Uruguayans marking space. Whit??
I may be wrong but don’t recall ‘space’ EVER scoring a goal. Zonal?- Waste of time imo.
25-06-2018, 02:20 PM
Good to see the classic Uruguayan strip today, sky blue top and black shorts is trademark Montevideo.
The only downside with them taking the lead is it reduces the chance of one of them committing an entertaining but ridiculously violent foul for no good reason.
25-06-2018, 02:22 PM
Good to see the classic Uruguayan strip today, sky blue top and black shorts is trademark Montevideo.
The only downside with them taking the lead is it reduces the chance of one of them committing an entertaining but ridiculously violent foul for no good reason.
Your trying to wake ODS up, aren't you? With Korea out, Uruguay might just be his main focus in this tourney. :greengrin
25-06-2018, 02:23 PM
2-0 this will start to get messy now
25-06-2018, 02:25 PM
Gooooil!!!!!!!
25-06-2018, 02:26 PM
Ah - the voice of reason. You're a long way from home.
25-06-2018, 02:27 PM
Your trying to wake ODS up, aren't you? With Korea out, Uruguay might just be his main focus in this tourney. :greengrin
Here’s hoping so! I’m travelling back up from the cricket and able to enjoy the game via the miracle technology of live streaming. He’s probably at work or that.
25-06-2018, 02:34 PM
26 degrees outside in the nations capital, no way I'm watching a dead rubber (why do they call it that anyway? Something vaguely disgusting about it) Uruguays defence and that front two might get them further than I thought this time. Semi finalists?
25-06-2018, 02:38 PM
Ten men now. Deserved the second yellow.
25-06-2018, 02:41 PM
26 degrees outside in the nations capital, no way I'm watching a dead rubber (why do they call it that anyway? Something vaguely disgusting about it) Uruguays defence and that front two might get them further than I thought this time. Semi finalists?
Think it derives from the card game, bridge.
25-06-2018, 03:00 PM
Also, Egypt changed their keeper and playing a 45-year old, who becomes the oldest player to feature in the World Cup.
Tutankhamun on the bench?
25-06-2018, 03:02 PM
Tutankhamun on the bench?His Mummy.
25-06-2018, 03:03 PM
Where did they dig him up from?
25-06-2018, 03:04 PM
Niall Quinn
25-06-2018, 03:11 PM
Niall QuinnAin't seen nothing like it since.
25-06-2018, 03:16 PM
Futileness of zonal marking summed up by commentator there. 4 Uruguayans marking space. Whit??
I may be wrong but don’t recall ‘space’ EVER scoring a goal. Zonal?- Waste of time imo.
Poor defending is poor defending. Man 2 man from rangers won us the Scottish Cup
25-06-2018, 03:26 PM
Ain't seen nothing like it since.
One of those few players to combine playing at the highest level with a profession -doctor and a medicine woman.
25-06-2018, 03:30 PM
Do Hibs not use zonal marking under Lennon?
It seems to be cast up every time we lose a goal from a set piece then forgotten about for the next few months.
Done properly it's as valid as any other system. Defending done badly though, however it is done, leads to the loss of goals.
25-06-2018, 03:36 PM
Do Hibs not use zonal marking under Lennon?
It seems to be cast up every time we lose a goal from a set piece then forgotten about for the next few months.
Done properly it's as valid as any other system. Defending done badly though, however it is done, leads to the loss of goals.
Yeah pretty sure we were zonal marking when naismith scored that header.
25-06-2018, 03:42 PM
Did someone say Uruguay? Yippee Ki Yay mother****ers
25-06-2018, 03:48 PM
Cavigooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
25-06-2018, 03:49 PM
That's a big goal for Cavani. Really would not like to be facing those 2 in the next round. 2 class strikers on form.
25-06-2018, 03:50 PM
I'll tell you one thing I do admire about Uruguay though
25-06-2018, 04:02 PM
I'll tell you one thing I do admire about Uruguay thoughThey're not Korean?
25-06-2018, 04:18 PM
That's a big goal for Cavani. Really would not like to be facing those 2 in the next round. 2 class strikers on form.
They're as good as it gets. Epitome of international class.
25-06-2018, 04:19 PM
They hosted the Battle of the River Plate?
25-06-2018, 04:22 PM
They hosted the Battle of the River Plate?Wiz that when the Cellic were cheated ooty the World Cup?
25-06-2018, 04:26 PM
Got to be dulce de leche? :drool:
25-06-2018, 04:34 PM
Fray Bentos?
25-06-2018, 04:36 PM
Got to be dulce de leche? :drool:
I like that anaw - nae wonder I'm a fat git.........
Edit - I misread - I meant Tres Leches but overindulgence still makes a guy fat
25-06-2018, 04:37 PM
Fray Bentos?
That not Argentinian?
25-06-2018, 04:39 PM
Fray Bentos?
Haw you - I cannae get them here and whatever healthy s***e my wife knocks up for lunch is going to be pretty poor compared to them.......
25-06-2018, 04:40 PM
That not Argentinian?It's in Uruguay.
The product might be Argentine though.
25-06-2018, 05:38 PM
M'non Iran and m'non Iniesta :agree:
25-06-2018, 05:39 PM
M'non Iran and m'non Iniesta :agree:
Do the Group runners up play Uruguay
25-06-2018, 05:39 PM
25-06-2018, 05:40 PM
Mon Ronaldo and mon 2/1 to score and Portugal to win
25-06-2018, 05:48 PM
25-06-2018, 06:04 PM
Is Spain v Morocco the first match not to be broadcast live?
Its on BBC4
It’s on BBC 4
25-06-2018, 06:05 PM
It’s on BBC 4
You’d have thought they’d have started the programme 10/15 mins early . Missed the National anthems, and straight to KO
25-06-2018, 06:06 PM
I have both games on and have the delights of lawro and keown combined, my heid is about to explode like scanners
25-06-2018, 06:08 PM
It’s on BBC 4
25-06-2018, 06:10 PM
Watching the Spain game. Can't stand those ****ing vuvuzuela things so can't watch Iran. Anyone who thinks that adds anything to a football match should be hit with an immediate banning order.
25-06-2018, 06:15 PM
Iniesta of all people just had a total mare, 1-0 to the Benjis
25-06-2018, 06:20 PM
1-1 with a great team goal
ACLeith
25-06-2018, 06:20 PM
Stunning response. 1-1
25-06-2018, 06:29 PM
I have both games on and have the delights of lawro and keown combined, my heid is about to explode like scanners
Think Keown is the lesser of two pains in the erchy
25-06-2018, 06:32 PM
Morocco won't finish this with 11 on the pitch
25-06-2018, 06:37 PM
And we join you live once again from another Edinburgh car park...
25-06-2018, 06:38 PM
Started to watch the Portugal game, but the noise from those bloody horns have made me change to the Spain match.
25-06-2018, 06:45 PM
What a strike by Queresma, immense
25-06-2018, 06:46 PM
What a strike by Queresma, immense
Beautiful.
25-06-2018, 06:47 PM
****in boooo.
25-06-2018, 07:08 PM
Clear penalty for Morocco for handball not given. Ref was a few yards from it with a clear view. Unbelievable.
25-06-2018, 07:12 PM
Well done the Iran keeper. Awful penalty by Ronaldo.
Lawrence.... he wasn’t even in control of the ball. WTF is he in about. You don’t need to be in control of the ball for a penalty to be awarded!
What a fud
25-06-2018, 07:13 PM
red card all the iranians
whiskas
25-06-2018, 07:14 PM
Lawrence.... he wasn’t even in control of the ball. WTF is he in about. You don’t need to be in control of the ball for a penalty to be awarded!
What a fud
Seems to be his go -to phrase tonight. The worst pundit on the BBC by a country mile
Mark Lawrenson claiming that Portugal shouldn't have had the penalty because Ronaldo wasn't in control of the ball when he was tripped. It's a novel interpretation of the laws of the game.
Lawrenson is an absolute joke. How this clown still has a job at the BBC is beyond me.
25-06-2018, 07:15 PM
Lawrenson is a dick. Definite penalty for Portugal.
ClewsHibs
Seems to be his go -to phrase tonight. The worst pundit on the BBC by a country mile
he's ruining the game. Some iran players lucky not to be sent off there
What a fud
Exactly what I thought. What is he prattling on about ? Since when did you have to be in control of the ball ? Player hacks another player down = foul.
25-06-2018, 07:16 PM
Morocco unlucky with a belter of a strike off the bar
25-06-2018, 07:16 PM
Exactly what I thought. What is he prattling on about ? Since when did you have to be in control of the ball ? Player hacks another player down = foul.
He's just trying to come up for some justification, as opposed to admitting he was wrong.
He is awful to listen to, offers nothing. Other than withering put downs of foreigners.
25-06-2018, 07:19 PM
red card all the iranians
Bit harsh, but not very.
25-06-2018, 07:21 PM
And yet he probably gets paid more by the BBC (our kin' license fee) than Aberdeen got for finishing 2nd in the SPL last year 🙄
David_D
25-06-2018, 07:24 PM
I will be shocked if Portugal match finishes without a red card.
25-06-2018, 07:24 PM
Lawrenson seems angry at life
He’s not that good!!
Bizarre commentary from an ex pro footballer
25-06-2018, 07:27 PM
Lawrenson is a embarrassment
25-06-2018, 07:28 PM
Lawrenson seems angry at life
He's the most miserable person on the telly. He'd actually make a fantastic totally grumpy jannie or parkie.
25-06-2018, 07:37 PM
Why are any of you watching Portugal v Iran when Spain are playing the Med straits derby?
I am watching it & what a goal!!
25-06-2018, 07:40 PM
Morocco score again!!
25-06-2018, 07:40 PM
What an farce VAR is
25-06-2018, 07:41 PM
book the iranian for the love o the wee man
whiskas
25-06-2018, 07:42 PM
Lawro would argue black is white even if VAR proved otherwise
25-06-2018, 07:42 PM
Just seen the Quaresma goal :rockin:
25-06-2018, 07:43 PM
oh ffs spain getting beat again, think of the gamblers will yi :grr:
Portugal match has descended into farce. Players, ref, commentators all had better nights.
Quality heider from the Moroccans.
They've played well every time I've seen them, shame they're out.
Anyone else under VAR review and that's a red not a yellow.
25-06-2018, 07:44 PM
What an farce VAR is
It has been farcical at times, but it has worked well on other occasions. But games like this show it up as pretty shambolic.
That's a red.
whiskas
Other than the goal this match has been dire
25-06-2018, 07:45 PM
Not so sure. Referee didn't help him out when he denied him a stonewall penalty earlier.
Yellow was right IMO.
25-06-2018, 07:46 PM
Quality heider from the Moroccans.
They've played well every time I've seen them, shame they're out.
They were the best team against Iran, the best team against Portugal and now are beating Spain but they're going to finish bottom of the group. Harsh.
25-06-2018, 07:47 PM
I don't think it was even a card. Arm swings and hits his chest? Nothing in it for me.
25-06-2018, 07:47 PM
Not so sure. Referee didn't help him out when he denied him a stonewall penalty earlier.
Yellow was right IMO.
If he thinks that's a deliberately thrown elbow to the face I can't see how it can be anything other than a red. If he doesn't think it was deliberate I don't see how it can even be a yellow.
25-06-2018, 07:48 PM
I don't think it was even a card. Arm swings and hits his chest? Nothing in it for me.
Catches his face