View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

01-07-2018, 08:30 PM
Penalty taker should pick his spot and stick with it. Never react to the keeper.

So many takers do that now. Wait for the keeper to move before hitting it. I'm surprised more keepers don't try whay Schmeichel did.

I'm with you I like the Harry Kane approach. Top corner and blast it.

01-07-2018, 08:31 PM
What's the point of having officials on the line if they never pull goalies up for being well off their line before the kick is taken?

01-07-2018, 08:33 PM
So many takers do that now. Wait for the keeper to move before hitting it. I'm surprised more keepers don't try whay Schmeichel did.

It's just weird logic they're using. If you pick your spot and hit it right the keeper can't save it no matter what happens. If you react to the keeper you're increasing the percentage chances that you miss it or get bluffed.

01-07-2018, 08:34 PM
What's the point of having officials on the line if they never pull goalies up for being well off their line before the kick is taken?

Is it only here they're called goalies?

01-07-2018, 08:35 PM
Rule changes a few years back. You can't get a red and a penalty.

Cheers, commentators have clarified that now too :aok:

01-07-2018, 08:37 PM

Easiest decision for VAR, should have been retaken

01-07-2018, 08:39 PM
There's gonna be a few cardiac arrests in that stadium if this continues.

01-07-2018, 08:40 PM
Butcher: It's as much a mental thing as it is a physical thing when you prepare to take a penalty. You have to blank everything out and concentrate on the ball.

nellio
01-07-2018, 08:41 PM
Anyone else notice the Croatia keeper isn't standing on the line. He's just in front of it. You can see it on the camera behind the keeper.

01-07-2018, 08:43 PM
Luka Modric to be the new Jason Cummings?

01-07-2018, 08:43 PM
What is it with the short run ups? The percentages on pens missed with short run ups must be off the scale.

01-07-2018, 08:45 PM
What's with all the daft run ups?

01-07-2018, 08:46 PM
Incredible stuff

Luka Modric is the new Jason Cummings.

Well I guess you can say the less 5hit team won.

01-07-2018, 08:47 PM
Well that was some penalty shoot out. Best part of the game!!

Thank God for that. Croatia will offer more to the tournament going forward.

Goalkeeping masterclass from both keepers though, some of those saves were excellent and the mind games worked a treat.

After the injustice of the foul that prevented a certain goal, delighted Croatia get rid of the Danes.

The Schmeichels are the only ones I feel a bit sorry for there.

01-07-2018, 08:48 PM
After the injustice of the foul that prevented a certain goal, delighted Croatia get rid of the Danes.

Agree with this

whiskas
01-07-2018, 08:49 PM
2 great goalkeeping displays in that shoot- out but someone has to win it

01-07-2018, 08:51 PM
Well I guess you can say the less 5hit team won.

01-07-2018, 08:54 PM

Football could do with adopting the rugby rule that when a certain score is prevented by a foul it gets awarded anyway. There was talk of introducing that for handball on the line, but I can't recall whether the law change went ahead.

01-07-2018, 08:58 PM
Football could do with adopting the rugby rule that when a certain score is prevented by a foul it gets awarded anyway. There was talk of introducing that for handball on the line, but I can't recall whether the law change went ahead.

With that rule in place, I would hate to play any of the OF especially with the kind the of refs we have always had in Scotland.

01-07-2018, 09:00 PM
Commentators are wrong then.It’s a red card if a tackle is not an attempt to get the ball.

01-07-2018, 09:01 PM
Commentators are wrong then.It’s a red card if a tackle is not an attempt to get the ball.

Correct.

angus hibby
01-07-2018, 09:06 PM

The referee always warns the keeper about it too! Keeper does what he wants and ref lets him away with it!

liked the Iran keeper tactic when he saved Ronaldo penalty - he started behind the line, almost at the net and ran forward as Ronaldo was running towards ball.

01-07-2018, 09:10 PM
The referee always warns the keeper about it too! Keeper does what he wants and ref lets him away with it!

liked the Iran keeper tactic when he saved Ronaldo penalty - he started behind the line, almost at the net and ran forward as Ronaldo was running towards ball.

They should do away with keepers at penalties and replace them with the moving/popping up targets you get in fairgrounds. :greengrin

01-07-2018, 09:16 PM
What's with all the daft run ups?

Daft run up = ***** penalty.

01-07-2018, 09:17 PM
Unlike others on here I didn't think Croatia deserved to go through, but they're through now anyway. Their defence is really poor, Denmark bossed the game from the middle of the 1st half onwards. There's far better attacking teams than Denmark and they'll murder that defence. Neither Modric or Rakitic performed well tonight but I agree that they are a better team over all than Denmark. Can't see them winning the World Cup though.

01-07-2018, 09:18 PM

Darren Jackson could hit a penalty!

01-07-2018, 09:20 PM
They should do away with keepers at penalties and replace them with the moving/popping up targets you get in fairgrounds. :greengrin

I'd also like to see penalties without a keeper, but the players are blindfolded and spun around 12 times before they kick it.

01-07-2018, 09:30 PM

Both the goalkeeper and the penalty taker have to wear binocular glasses.

01-07-2018, 09:31 PM
How was that not a red card? If the penalty is given then it must have been a goalscoring opp?

Rule changes a few years back. You can't get a red and a penalty.

That's wrong.

You absolutely can give away a penalty and also get a red card.

It's all a question of whether the player who's committed the foul has been deemed to make a genuine attempt to win the ball or not.

If he has then a yellow card must be given. If he hasn't then he'll be sent off.

01-07-2018, 09:42 PM
That's wrong.

It's all a question of whether the player who's committed the foul has been deemed to make a genuine attempt to win the ball or not.

If he has then a yellow card must be given. If he hasn't then he'll be sent off.

See posts 4525 and 4526 for a more concise explanation.:greengrin

01-07-2018, 10:39 PM
See posts 4525 and 4526 for a more concise explanation.:greengrin

So it becomes a question of whether he was trying to play the ball. I've not seen it since, but I thought he wasn't trying to play the ball at the time.

01-07-2018, 11:05 PM
That's wrong.

Right, but I was explaining why he got a yellow.

02-07-2018, 01:30 AM

I was having this argument with my mates. Does my nut in.

02-07-2018, 07:27 AM
I was having this argument with my mates. Does my nut in.

Incredible how far both goalies were able to come off their lines Subasic was waiting for the ball at one of the pens. Huge advantage to the goalies if that isn't pulled up. Akinfeev was at it also but De Gea didn't bother trying to save any of the shots. :greengrin For the supposed best goalie in the world he isn't very good is he.

02-07-2018, 07:57 AM
You could ask what's the point In linesman now when they're bring told to keep their flag down and let VAR decide. Not needed for the ball crossing the line, not needed for offside calls.

02-07-2018, 09:28 AM

If that rule was rigidly enforced nine out of ten pens would be goals and the process would be a lot less fun. The keeper needs to get a power jump to make a normal save so making him wait on his line till the last minute is unnaturally hampering him at pens as it is.

I think it's about right as it is.

02-07-2018, 09:30 AM
You could ask what's the point In linesman now when they're bring told to keep their flag down and let VAR decide. Not needed for the ball crossing the line, not needed for offside calls.

They've not been told to let VAR decide.

They've been told to delay flagging to see what develops, in case they were mistaken.

For example, the attacking team might score a goal if the flag is delayed, but the game would be stopped if the flag went up immediately.

02-07-2018, 09:42 AM
Incredible how far both goalies were able to come off their lines Subasic was waiting for the ball at one of the pens. Huge advantage to the goalies if that isn't pulled up. Akinfeev was at it also but De Gea didn't bother trying to save any of the shots. :greengrin For the supposed best goalie in the world he isn't very good is he.

See the Hun goalie for our penalty shootout in the 2004 League Cup semi final.

Soooo far off his line.

02-07-2018, 09:43 AM
If that rule was rigidly enforced nine out of ten pens would be goals and the process would be a lot less fun. The keeper needs to get a power jump to make a normal save so making him wait on his line till the last minute is unnaturally hampering him at pens as it is.

That was what my mate was saying. But if that’s the case, change Law 14 of the game. Do not even mention the distance between ball and goalie.

02-07-2018, 09:45 AM

Is there a reason the keeper couldn't start behind his line and step up to it then? Rather than shortening the distance to the ball?

The Croatia laddie was about 2 yards off his line for a few of the Danes' penalties last night.

02-07-2018, 10:39 AM
Brazil v Mexico at 3.00pm.

Could another favourite go out?

02-07-2018, 01:34 PM
Is there a reason the keeper couldn't start behind his line and step up to it then? Rather than shortening the distance to the ball?

The Croatia laddie was about 2 yards off his line for a few of the Danes' penalties last night.

That's not a bad idea.

SJNB Hibby
02-07-2018, 02:08 PM
Brazil v Mexico at 3.00pm.

Could another favourite go out?

I would be shocked if Brazil lose, but its all about Mexican confidence
If Brazil score first its all over, an early goal for Mexico would likely be a mistake(see Scotland 1982)

02-07-2018, 02:10 PM
Come on you greens!

02-07-2018, 02:12 PM
I would be shocked if Brazil lose, but its all about Mexican confidence
If Brazil score first its all over, an early goal for Mexico would likely be a mistake(see Scotland 1982)

So you think Mexico's best chance is not to score at all :hmmm:

02-07-2018, 02:18 PM
I am loving this game!

SJNB Hibby
02-07-2018, 02:25 PM
So you think Mexico's best chance is not to score at all :hmmm:

EARLY I said, but pens after 0-0 may be their best hope---had a couple of minor chances though

02-07-2018, 02:26 PM
I am loving this game!
Mexico playing really well, you have to wonder how the rangers managed to pick up so many duds:greengrin

02-07-2018, 02:37 PM
I'm probably in a minority of one but I have never taken to Brazil. Is it a nostalgia thing for a lot of people remembering the 70s and early 80s? Of the WCs I can really remember (98-present) Brazil have been pretty dull at 3 of them and only really lived up to their flair reputation in 2002. 98 they were good but functional rather than sparkling.

I don't like their strip either.

02-07-2018, 02:42 PM
Am not really enjoying this game so far and the previous two that went to penalties weren't much better
Maybe that last game of the Season at Easter Rd had me expecting too much
Can't wait for half time to sit out in the Sunshine

AugustaHibs
02-07-2018, 02:45 PM
Fagner is honking. Dives in at every tackle and atleast a yard too slow every time

I'm probably in a minority of one but I have never taken to Brazil. Is it a nostalgia thing for a lot of people remembering the 70s and early 80s? Of the WCs I can really remember (98-present) Brazil have been pretty dull at 3 of them and only really lived up to their flair reputation in 2002. 98 they were good but functional rather than sparkling.

I am not quite old enough to remember 74, 78 I only really remember the Scotland games and the final but Brazil in 82 are seared on my memory. Probably the same for anyone that watched that WC: Socrates, Zico, Eder, Falcao etc. But I think the fact that they didn't win playing that way caused them to go much more pragmatic since then. The 94 win (0-0 final won on pens about summed it up) was dull stuff indeed.

Why are some posts for e.g. Mine and pretty boys posts coming up twice Seen this a lot recently

See the Hun goalie for our penalty shootout in the 2004 League Cup semi final.

Soooo far off his line.

See Conrad in the Dundee Utd semi.
Best left up to the ref!

02-07-2018, 02:46 PM

They had some great teams and players in the 90s but last decade they've been surprisingly meh.

Can't agree with you on the strip though, always one of my favourites.

02-07-2018, 02:50 PM
I am not quite old enough to remember 74, 78 I only really remember the Scotland games and the final but Brazil in 82 are seared on my memory. Probably the same for anyone that watched that WC: Socrates, Zico, Eder, Falcao etc. But I think the fact that they didn't win playing that way caused them to go much more pragmatic since then. The 94 win (0-0 final won on pens about summed it up) was dull stuff indeed.

I'll never forget '82. Beating Brazil on the way to winning the whole tournament was almost a bigger high point than the final. My favourite World Cup that one.

02-07-2018, 02:52 PM
They had some great teams and players in the 90s but last decade they've been surprisingly meh.

Can't agree with you on the strip though, always one of my favourites.

Love the strip.

Brasil put away the samba drums a long time ago and now play the same physical game as everyone else. They're at the play-acting too.

02-07-2018, 02:56 PM
Am not really enjoying this game so far and the previous two that went to penalties weren't much better
Maybe that last game of the Season at Easter Rd had me expecting too much
Can't wait for half time to sit out in the Sunshine

Sharing your dismay.

It’s up to the more talented side to score and force their opponents out of their containing gamecomfort zone. With the talent at their disposal the Brazilians need to create more.

I can see a team like the Russians winning this tournament. Well drilled and very defensive, bit like the Greeks when they won the Euros. Not pretty viewing though.

02-07-2018, 03:02 PM
Sharing your dismay.

It’s up to the more talented side to score and force their opponents out of their containing gamecomfort zone. With the talent at their disposal the Brazilians need to create more.

I can see a team like the Russians winning this tournament. Well drilled and very defensive, bit like the Greeks when they won the Euros. Not pretty viewing though.

That was my thought too after the Spain game, but at least Croatia squeeked through against the Danes.

02-07-2018, 03:02 PM
OK. I'll ask, what is the kisscam?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lI-PxnsNh1w

02-07-2018, 03:06 PM
Offside?

02-07-2018, 03:06 PM
I really hope Mexico can find a way to get a win in this second half, but I can't see past a Brazil win.

I'm like PB - I just can't take to Brazil - especially Neymar. He's a great player, but he's a nasty little cheat too.

02-07-2018, 03:07 PM

1-0 Brazil. Neymar :rolleyes:

Definitely inside.

Good goal.

If the Mexico LB doesn't see his name in the headlines and makes the correct decision how differently does the last 3 minutes play out? Small margins.

02-07-2018, 03:08 PM
Shame that, really want Mexico to go through

Excellent goal.

If the Mexico LB doesn't see his name in the headlines and makes the correct decision how differently does the last 3 minutes play out? Small margins.

Was just thinking the same.

02-07-2018, 03:10 PM
Great play by Willian for the goal.

02-07-2018, 03:10 PM
Great run from William

02-07-2018, 03:11 PM
Great run from William

It was really nothing.

02-07-2018, 03:15 PM
It was really nothing.

He ran past 2 players and covered about 60 yards before getting fouled.

02-07-2018, 03:16 PM

Whoosh :)

You're such a charming man.

EH54
02-07-2018, 03:16 PM
Not a great lover of Brazil but Coutinho has been one of the standouts in this tournament so far.

02-07-2018, 03:17 PM

For a music loving pun-master you are surprisingly slow on the uptake.
And it's Willian.

02-07-2018, 03:17 PM
Whoosh :)

You're such a charming man.

I'm still none the wiser. :faf:

Morrissey reference? :dunno:

02-07-2018, 03:19 PM
For a music loving pun-master you are surprisingly slow on the uptake.
And it's Willian.

Not a Smiths or Morrisey fan.

And it's autocorrect.

Mexican keeper has been superb. 4 or 5 saves you'd expect him to make but he's made them well.

I'm still none the wiser. :faf:

Morrissey reference? :dunno:

Every day is like Pun-day :greengrin

02-07-2018, 03:21 PM
Sharing your dismay.

Livened up second half

02-07-2018, 03:22 PM
Not a Smiths or Morrisey fan.

And it's autocorrect.

Me neither but you've got Morrissey wrong too. You're such a wag!

02-07-2018, 03:22 PM
I'd prefer this game to oscillate wildly.

02-07-2018, 03:23 PM
Every day is like Pun-day :greengrin

Ok I've googled it, but I still can't join in.

You're obviously the first of the gang to be wry.

02-07-2018, 03:24 PM
Me neither but you've got Morrissey wrong too. You're such a wag!

I'm actually rather pleased about that!

02-07-2018, 03:25 PM
I'm actually rather pleased about that!

Try my best.

02-07-2018, 03:25 PM
Ok I've googled it, but I still can't join in.

You're obviously the first of the gang to be wry.

Marvellous. Only for the completists.

02-07-2018, 03:26 PM
Try my best.

You better keep your spell check enabled for eternity now :hilarious

02-07-2018, 03:27 PM
Neymar is a laughing stock.

Neymar is ridiculous. He gets touched no doubt but he looked like he was having a fit ffs.

That's absolutely risible.

Dig the boy a hole and force him into it.

An absolute disgrace of a professional athlete.

02-07-2018, 03:28 PM
Neymar: Complete and utter fud. Of the highest order of total fuddery. Ouanquere extraordinaire.

02-07-2018, 03:28 PM
Outrageous. Hardly touched him!

EH54
02-07-2018, 03:29 PM
That's just embarrassing to watch really is

02-07-2018, 03:30 PM
Neymar takes it too far, but it's strange that he gets all the criticism and nothing is said about the guy who deliberately stood on his ankle.

02-07-2018, 03:30 PM
Clattenberg is a tool.

02-07-2018, 03:31 PM
A strong referee books him for his conduct and he's out the next game right?

nellio
02-07-2018, 03:31 PM
The Mexican did stand on him but that reaction was ludicrous.

VAR should be used to stamp out cheating like play acting and diving.

02-07-2018, 03:32 PM
Neymar takes it too far, but it's strange that he gets all the criticism and nothing is said about the guy who deliberately stood on his ankle.

Because his ludicrous play acting becomes the focus of attention rather than any possible foul. I see he managed a double pirouette on that foul too.

02-07-2018, 03:34 PM
"Stood on" suggests he pressed down on Neymar's ankle. Clearly he doesn't in the replays.

Deserves every severe booting he's going to get in his career if that's how he's going to behave to try and get his fellow professionals sent off. A disrespectful, cheating little ****.

The Mexican did stand on him but that reaction was ludicrous.

VAR should be used to stamp out cheating like play acting and diving.

I can't stand the play acting but unless it's an obvious dive, you can't book a player for saying something hurts a lot.

It'll never stop unfortunately.

Neymar is an absolute embarrasment , Isn't he aware the whole world is watching his pathetic antics ?! Cringeworthy

02-07-2018, 03:35 PM
Lozano has chosen the wrong option too often in this game. In fact the Mexicans have been one final pass short of cutting Brazil open on a number of occasions.

02-07-2018, 03:38 PM
Get this ****er off the pitch. These Brazilians are a joke.

02-07-2018, 03:44 PM
Neymar is an absolute embarrasment , Isn't he aware the whole world is watching his pathetic antics ?! Cringeworthy

It is indeed cringeworthy, but sadly these antics have become the norm in top level football. Win at all costs mentality, no respect for your opponent or your self, use every advantage possible. It seems such a pity when you have blessed skills like Neymar.

To be fair to the twat, he’s no worse than the likes of Suarez and many others too shameful to be bothered to name.

02-07-2018, 03:48 PM
This Italian referee has given the Mexicans very little in the niggly fouls category where I thought there were a good few that should have been awarded.

02-07-2018, 03:50 PM
If Neymar carries on like that there will come a time that someone goes right through him and he gets nothing.

02-07-2018, 03:51 PM
glad the right back Silva has fully recovered from that life-endangering little foul 5 mins ago, phew

02-07-2018, 03:52 PM
If Neymar carries on like that there will come a time that someone goes right through him and he gets nothing.

I do sincerely hope so.

02-07-2018, 03:53 PM
glad the right back Silva has fully recovered from that life-endangering little foul 5 mins ago, phew

I'm just writing a letter of condolence to his wife.

02-07-2018, 04:01 PM
Can't see past Brazil lifting the trophy now.

02-07-2018, 04:02 PM
Can't see past Brazil lifting the trophy now.

The game against Belgium should be special.

02-07-2018, 04:03 PM
The game against Belgium should be special.

What was the Belgium v Japan score ?

02-07-2018, 04:04 PM

He gives good old fashioned honest cheats a bad name.

02-07-2018, 04:04 PM

Oops.

02-07-2018, 04:15 PM
I can't stand the play acting but unless it's an obvious dive, you can't book a player for saying something hurts a lot.

It'll never stop unfortunately.

https://twitter.com/diondublinsdube/status/1013465661035700225?s=21

02-07-2018, 04:24 PM
Neymar tells manager he will be fit after todays horror tackle:

02-07-2018, 04:32 PM
There's that sense of humour again!!

02-07-2018, 04:34 PM
There's that sense of humour again!!

What one ? Where the fixture between Belgium v Japan hasn't even began yet ?

02-07-2018, 04:35 PM

Magic! :faf:

02-07-2018, 04:37 PM
Magic! :faf:

:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious

02-07-2018, 04:38 PM
What one ? Where the fixture between Belgium v Japan hasn't even began yet ?

Yes, it was a fair cop.

I completely forgot about tonight's game and thought they were next up for Brazil.

02-07-2018, 04:41 PM
Yes, it was a fair cop.

I completely forgot about tonight's game and thought they were next up for Brazil.

They will be i'd imagine though , IMO i'd have the belgians favourites IF they get through tonight , Brazil are nae great shakes

02-07-2018, 04:45 PM

Brilliant :-)

02-07-2018, 05:19 PM
They will be i'd imagine though , IMO i'd have the belgians favourites IF they get through tonight , Brazil are nae great shakes

That's a phenomenal statistic about Brazil's defensive record. Only lost 5 goals in the last 22 games!.

Mind you, I wonder what the previous game was.

02-07-2018, 05:26 PM
That's a phenomenal statistic about Brazil's defensive record. Only lost 5 goals in the last 22 games!.

Mind you, I wonder what the previous game was.

They lost 5 to Germany on there own soil in about 20 minutes :greengrin

02-07-2018, 05:39 PM
They lost 5 to Germany on there own soil in about 20 minutes :greengrin

Is that the game? I did think about that, but I'd have thought they'd have played more than 22 games in 4 years.

02-07-2018, 05:43 PM
Is that the game? I did think about that, but I'd have thought they'd have played more than 22 games in 4 years.

Really no sure mate , Still remember watching that game thinking WOW this could be about 15-1 !

02-07-2018, 05:50 PM
Neymar: Complete and utter fud. Of the highest order of total fuddery. Ouanquere extraordinaire.

Can't agree more, cheating c"*' of the highest order

He's an embarrassment to himself and the whole Brazilian team

02-07-2018, 06:28 PM
One way traffic at the moment.

Japan to score next 😂

02-07-2018, 06:31 PM
Belgians did terrible things in the Congo, but I can't get the Burma railway out of my mind either. I'm going with the Belgians.

02-07-2018, 06:32 PM
Nuh changed my mind. C'mon the Japanese

02-07-2018, 06:38 PM
Nuh changed my mind. C'mon the Japanese

Once again, we disagree.

The Japanese have a lot more to be ashamed of than the Belgians imo.

Mon Belgium.

02-07-2018, 06:39 PM
Once again, we disagree.

Mon Belgium.

Japanese cars are so good though. Impossible not to support them tonight.

02-07-2018, 06:40 PM
Belgium should be skooshing this game.

02-07-2018, 06:42 PM
Decent enough game so far but needs a goal. Credit to the Japanese for trying to create something and to both teams for their sporting approach so far. De Bruyne needs impose himself more. For a decent llayer he seems content to just shift the ball on without taking responsibility.

02-07-2018, 06:46 PM
Once again, we disagree.

Mon Belgium.

From a wartime perspective, yes perhaps, but I really hate Poirot.

Courtois was really really lucky there. Kids stuff.

02-07-2018, 06:48 PM

Funny.

02-07-2018, 06:52 PM
I can't see Belgium going much further. They are a bit like England 02-08ish. Loads of good individuals but not a particularly brilliant team. They have been talked up for years but QFs seems about their level in recent years and I reckon that will continue here. They look a bit lost against a Japan team that are little more than well organised and pressing them.

02-07-2018, 06:52 PM

Courtois was really really lucky there. Kids stuff.

David Suchet is the man, he's Poirot and the bad guy in Iron Eagle, that wee prick Tin Tin on the other hand

02-07-2018, 06:59 PM
Been to Belgium twice to se the Hibs they miserable people
Nae fun but we did

02-07-2018, 07:00 PM

Funny.

Im grateful that despite disagreeing with me regularly I seem to make you chuckle from time to time :greengrin

02-07-2018, 07:01 PM
David Suchet is the man, he's Poirot and the bad guy in Iron Eagle, that wee prick Tin Tin on the other hand

Tintins great.

02-07-2018, 07:01 PM
Jurgen Klinsmann making excuses for a diver. Who'd huv thunk it?

02-07-2018, 07:02 PM
Tintins great.

Thought you'd be more a Captain Haddock kinda guy :greengrin

02-07-2018, 07:03 PM
Been to Belgium twice to se the Hibs they miserable people
Nae fun but we did

I had a great time in Brussels once and I enjoy the whole chips and mayo concept. I'm wavering again.

02-07-2018, 07:04 PM
Thought you'd be more a Captain Haddock kinda guy :greengrin

I liked Rastapopolous, the baddy with the big nose, he was hilarious. I thought herge was being a bit anti semitic with that character.

02-07-2018, 07:04 PM
I had a great time in Brussels once and I enjoy the whole chips and mayo concept. I'm wavering again.

As I kid I got lost/went walkabout in a lace market in Brugge which instigated a police led manhunt to find me :faf:

02-07-2018, 07:05 PM
What a pass! Ball of the tourney

02-07-2018, 07:05 PM
1-0 Japan.

Stick that on your frites.

02-07-2018, 07:06 PM
Decent pass but shan defending

02-07-2018, 07:08 PM
Well well well.

02-07-2018, 07:09 PM
Decent pass but shan defending

Was it meunier that slipped?

Japan, the football version of having a ***** time in a rainy Bournemouth on a summer holiday.

What a goal.

It's a belxit.

pick it out :greengrin

02-07-2018, 07:10 PM
Wow

This World Cup is mental

Was it meunier that slipped?

Who cares now hahaha belter a of a goal

Games up the pole now, this world cup is anyone's now

Oh boy, well well well.

This is incredible!

The shocks keep on coming, 2 cracking goals.

Mon the Japanese. Unbelievable!

02-07-2018, 07:11 PM
Glad England avoided Japan 😁

02-07-2018, 07:11 PM
Im grateful that despite disagreeing with me regularly I seem to make you chuckle from time to time :greengrin

You do. 👍

02-07-2018, 07:12 PM
3-2 Belgium...:pray:

02-07-2018, 07:12 PM
Mon the sprouts

02-07-2018, 07:13 PM
I wonder if Putin has got anything to do with the craziness of this World Cup? :greengrin

02-07-2018, 07:13 PM
LD went to Yo Sushi - the next day we signed Kamberi.

Did anything good ever happen the day after LD went to Yo Waffle?

02-07-2018, 07:14 PM
How long until they get Fellaini on and start pumping it long? Probably a better tactic than they have come up with so far. For the creativity in the side Belgium look really short on ideas.

I wonder if Putin has got anything to do with the craziness of this World Cup? :greengrin

Never thought of that until now. :hmmm:

Glad England avoided Japan 😁

You've not played Colombia yet. :wink:

LD went to Yo Sushi - the next day we signed Kamberi.

Did anything good ever happen the day after LD went to Yo Waffle?People just carried on waffling on here...

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

I have Lukaku anytime scorer so he better get the finger out.

They better not bloody sub him either as I have a double with him and Kane. I want him on to the death.

02-07-2018, 07:15 PM
A dull team is going to win this World Cup, very dully.

Blame Putin, its the law :agree:

You've not played Colombia yet. :wink:

Yes I know and the way the underdogs are pulling off surprise results there’s hope for us to beat them

02-07-2018, 07:16 PM
Blame Putin, its the law :agree:

Im waiting for him to announce himself as the winner of the world cup, he's mental enough to do it

02-07-2018, 07:17 PM
As Belgium pass and overplay themselves into oblivion Japan show what Uruguay showed a few days ago-a couple of decent passes at pace is what you need at this level When Hazard hit the post it was the first bit of uncomplicated football they’ve played.

02-07-2018, 07:18 PM
A dull team is going to win this World Cup, very dully.

Just because the latter stages will be missing some of the usual suspects it doesn't make the competition any less exciting. Very few dull games and even less dull teams.

02-07-2018, 07:20 PM
Sitter there

02-07-2018, 07:20 PM
I don't think Japan have been dull. Defended well, pressed high and broke quickly. Decent counter atatcking football imo.

02-07-2018, 07:22 PM
Time for some yam tactics now from Belgium

02-07-2018, 07:24 PM
What a load of pish, just because the latter stages will be missing some of the usual suspects it doesn't make the competition any less exciting. Very few dull games and even less dull teams.

The last three ties have been dull as ditchwater. Tonight’s game is a bit livlier. Credit to the Japanese for a very good second half. My boredom threshold has probably shifted a bit, but the knockout stage have been dire so far, regardless of who’s won the ties.

02-07-2018, 07:25 PM
The last three ties have been dull as ditchwater. Tonight’s game is a bit livlier. Credit to the Japanese for a very good second half. My boredom threshold has probably shifted a bit, but the knockout stage have been dire so far, regardless of who’s won the ties.

That’s nonsense, in my opinion of course.

02-07-2018, 07:27 PM
Lucky but game on!

That's a great heider

Keeper at fault

HibeesLA
Lucky but game on!

that was never a shot, but I think they deserve a bit of luck. Japan still to go through :)

02-07-2018, 07:28 PM
That keeper is honking.

That’s nonsense, in my opinion of course.

Pish.... nonsense...... the voice of reasoned debate, yawn.

What a load of pish, just because the latter stages will be missing some of the usual suspects it dowsn’t make the competition any less exciting. Very few dull games and even less dull teams.

Uruguay - dour, violent and dull
France - mostly dull with outbreaks of sunny spells
Brazil - duller than expected, histrionically dull
Japan - efficiently dull
Russia - bus parkingly dull
Croatia - spontaneously dull, might get less dull maybe
Sweden - born dull
Switzerland - an un-dull side always in an existential fight to break out of their dull straight jacket
Colombia - not dull
England - not dull

I'm not hopeful, the well organised plodders are generally coming out on top.

Keeper at fault

Ex-Dundee Utd guy?

02-07-2018, 07:29 PM
Ex-Dundee Utd guy?

Aye

02-07-2018, 07:31 PM
Time for some yam tactics now from Belgium

:tee hee: If Japan were a Scottish team they'd be Falkirk.

02-07-2018, 07:31 PM
Pish.... nonsense...... the voice of reasoned debate, yawn.

Bye then.

02-07-2018, 07:32 PM
What a second half.

02-07-2018, 07:32 PM
Japan haven't got the beef to defend that.

02-07-2018, 07:33 PM
2 all loving this game.

Belgium have finally noticed that they have a bit of a height advantage.Football is an easy game until you get to World Cups and think you have t produce your Sunday best instead of doing the obvious.

Looks like a good shout then.

No wait, if Japan were a Scottish team they'd be The Rangers against us in the Cup Final.

Romalu LukaGrayku to win it 3-2 in time added on...

02-07-2018, 07:35 PM
I took Belgium at 20/1 at 0-2 in-play. In with a shout.

02-07-2018, 07:35 PM
No wait, if Japan were a Scottish team they'd be The Rangers against us in the Cup Final.

Dull.

02-07-2018, 07:36 PM
I cant be the only one who thinks Company is a bit of a carthorse?

Nope, has been for a few seasons now injuries have caught up with him

Get Strachan in for the post match analysis.

He might actually have a point with his genetics stuff here

02-07-2018, 07:37 PM

You and about 30K Man City fans.

Looks like a good shout then.

Maybe. Japan play like their stuff; efficiently, thoroughly, carefully, minimally.

Belgium play like their chocolates, you never know what you're going to get and there's usually too much choice.

Keeper at fault

Apologies probably mentioned before but that was the moment I realised (and confirmed) that dude was the United Keeper in our penalty shoot out

02-07-2018, 07:38 PM
I took Belgium at 20/1 at 0-2 in-play. In with a shout.

To win or to qualify?

02-07-2018, 07:38 PM
Nope, has been for a few seasons now injuries have caught up with him

Yip, watched him for City and have thought for a while now that he's clumsy.

02-07-2018, 07:40 PM
What sort of diddy team would be 2-0 up in the last 16 of a cup competition and then throw it away?

02-07-2018, 07:43 PM
This goalie is away with it

I really do want Lukaku to win the World Cup.

Keeper making amends there. 2 good saves albeit with added leg kicking.

02-07-2018, 07:44 PM
This goalie is away with it

Why did he push it away when he had both hands on it?

Second half of this game has been fantastic entertainment. Best World Cup since 1982 so far. To be revised if Ingurlund stay in it.

Woah I just went outside to eat pasta and its 2-2.

This world cup is the bomb.

02-07-2018, 07:45 PM
Best game of the knockout stages by a mile, Belgium to snatch it before full time.

02-07-2018, 07:45 PM
Why did he push it away when he had both hands on it?

I don't think even he knows

02-07-2018, 07:46 PM
The Japanese really do need to rethink their hairstyles if they're going to be more serious contenders in future. They should all go Viking berserker look like the big Croatian fullback.

02-07-2018, 07:47 PM
Best game of the knockout stages by a mile, Belgium to snatch it before full time.

France 4 v Argentina 3 surely?

02-07-2018, 07:48 PM
Woah I just went outside to eat pasta and its 2-2.

This world cup is the bomb.Is this a new take on having to go outside for a fag?

02-07-2018, 07:49 PM
Kagawa and Shibisaki have been 2 of my favourite players at this tournament.

I love the touch, the speed of thought and movement.

Wonderful players.

02-07-2018, 07:50 PM
Haven't quite seen the whole match, has VAR been used at all?

02-07-2018, 07:50 PM
Haven't quite seen the whole match, has VAR been used at all?

Only to check a corner

02-07-2018, 07:51 PM
Is this a new take on having to go outside for a fag?

I was enjoying a quiet pint with the Mrs earlier on, and some fud came up and started munching pasta at OUR picnic table.

Wtf is all that about?

02-07-2018, 07:51 PM
Ooooooft

02-07-2018, 07:52 PM
Utter scenes.

Superb football. Fantastic move.

Fabulous goal

What a half of football that was.

Only to check a corner

Thanks, must be about the least it has been used in a match.

I was enjoying a quiet pint with the Mrs earlier on, and some fud came up and started munching pasta at OUR picnic table.

Wtf is all that about?Fusilli or linguine?

02-07-2018, 07:53 PM
What a dummy by Lukaku.

Pretty nearly spot on.😁

Sore one for Japan but what a counter.

Why would you commit so many forward at a set piece that late in the game. Great break but crazy from Japan.

I was nearly right...

Well played.

Fusilli or linguine?

Tab-liatelli.

blaikie
02-07-2018, 07:54 PM
Kamikaze defending by Japan!

Belgium v Brazil will be an amazing tie!

Poor corner to give the ball away.

Wtf is all that about?
Just being friendly 😂

02-07-2018, 07:55 PM
Three passes,goal.They must be reading my posts.

02-07-2018, 07:55 PM

Wtf is all that about?

:tee hee: Bet he was hipster too...