View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

SJNB Hibby
15-06-2018, 06:22 PM
Anyone saying that wasn't a penalty for Portugal are just clearly dismissing the laws of the game and allowing their dislike of Ronaldo to rule.

Well excuuuuuse me:rolleyes:

15-06-2018, 06:23 PM
uno-uno

SJNB Hibby
Ronaldo could've got to that if he wasnt so dismissive of his team-mates

Great goal from Costa

Fanny or not, when you’re running at speed, the slightest touch can knock you right off balance.

I agree but don't think that's what happened there, he 100% played for it, it's part of the game and wouldn't bother me if a Hibs player did it, but I'm a football fan and I'm very fickle

15-06-2018, 06:24 PM
Diego Costa brilliant!

That is Fantastic by Diego Costa.
What a game this is.

nawty boy pepe

Portugal may well rue these spurned chances on the counter...could/should conceivably be 3-0 up instead of 1-1.

guthrie01
Yaaaaaas Costa

Portugal were deserved winners of the Euros but they bored me to tears at times in that tournament and they are following the same tactics here. Sit in and hope to hit on the break. It’s effective, they can look good on the break but when Spain have the ball it’s 10 men behind the ball with Ronaldo hovering.

Yesss get in Costa. Great finish.:flag:

15-06-2018, 06:25 PM
The Brazilian Spaniard scores a great goal

What a goal. Brilliant centre forward play from Costa.

Mon the Spaniards. [emoji633]

Pepe getting done in the build up as well. Glorious.

15-06-2018, 06:27 PM
What a strike that was from Isco, really unlucky it didn’t bounce over the line.

15-06-2018, 06:27 PM
What a strike. Linesman was spot on though.

15-06-2018, 06:29 PM
Brilliant goal

15-06-2018, 06:34 PM
Unlucky there great play again

15-06-2018, 06:36 PM
Great move, should have been 2-1.

Spain look vulnerable when it breaks down but they are so good to watch going forward.

15-06-2018, 06:38 PM
Great move, should have been 2-1.

Spain look vulnerable when it breaks down but they are so good to watch going forward.

That's the beauty of it, can see them scoring the best goal ever or equally losing one on the break, great game to watch

It must be so tiring chasing after the Spanish players

15-06-2018, 06:42 PM
Pepe is a cheating bassa plain and simple and that should have been red for a naughty challenge

15-06-2018, 06:43 PM
Pepe is a cheating bassa plain and simple and that should have been red for a naughty challenge

Good save, I did that earlier with Mo Salad!!:greengrin

15-06-2018, 06:43 PM
David Silva makes a pass on his erchie that most players wouldn't even try standing up :aok:

15-06-2018, 06:44 PM
oops keeper 2-1 portugal

Oh poor De Gea

Ooooooooooooops

Ronaldo good grief ! :greengrin

15-06-2018, 06:45 PM
¿Qué está haciendo el portero, Tom?

15-06-2018, 06:45 PM
Oooft De Gea.

Every amateur goalkeeper in the world takes solace from the fact it can happen to the very best.

ClewsHibs
15-06-2018, 06:46 PM

Good save, I did that earlier with Mo Salad!!:greengrin

Thank you!

Dear o dear David!

Imagine that was Ricky, we’d have the usual ones telling us he’s not good enough for Hibs. This proves it happens to the best of them.

Ronaldooooooooooooo! Wahey!

hope the two teams meet again in the final

15-06-2018, 06:47 PM
Imagine that was Ricky, we’d have the usual ones telling us he’s not good enough for Hibs. This proves it happens to the best of them.

Whose Ricky??

:faf::faf::top marks

Is that you Bianca?

15-06-2018, 06:49 PM
Oooft De Gea.

Every amateur goalkeeper in the world takes solace from the fact it can happen to the very best.

He isn't the best though the number of soft goals he has given away recently is horrific.

15-06-2018, 06:49 PM
Whose Ricky??

He plays in a team with Salad and Pekoe, we can create a World Cup team from all our autocorrects :faf:

15-06-2018, 06:50 PM
This game has been great so far.

15-06-2018, 06:50 PM
He plays in a team with Salad and Pekoe, we can create a World Cup team from all our autocorrects :faf:

[emoji23][emoji23] quality

15-06-2018, 06:52 PM
He isn't the best though the number of soft goals he has given away recently is horrific.

He's one of the top three keepers in the world, without any question.

15-06-2018, 06:52 PM
Premier league goalies😎

15-06-2018, 06:53 PM

Fantastic :faf:

15-06-2018, 06:54 PM
Whose Ricky??

He’s our new No.1 you no seen him?? 😁

15-06-2018, 06:55 PM
Is that you Bianca?

Don’t you start PB!!! 😁

15-06-2018, 06:56 PM
He’s our new No.1 you no seen him?? dde01

Is he. Thought he was in Eastenders wait not that's wicky!

15-06-2018, 06:56 PM

I think by the time the WC finishes we will be.

15-06-2018, 06:58 PM
When did De Gea pick up his concussion? :wink:

Another goalkeeper error wins me a load of cash. Had Ronaldo as first goal scorer on double delight, hat trick heaven and Ronaldo to score 2+ goals. £130 profit.

15-06-2018, 06:58 PM
He's one of the top three keepers in the world, without any question.

Not based on that he isn't and one of a number of mistakes recently.

15-06-2018, 06:59 PM
When did De Gea pick up his concussion? :wink:

Last night at the bar !

15-06-2018, 06:59 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-44499138

Footballer Cristiano Ronaldo has reportedly agreed to accept a £16.4m (18.8m euro) fine and suspended jail term to settle tax evasion charges
The Real Madrid and Portugal footballer, 33, was accused last year of defrauding tax authorities of €14.8m (£12.9m), charges he denies.

Ronaldo offered to pay £12.9m in June 2017 but the government rejected the offer, the El Mundo newspaper reported.

15-06-2018, 07:04 PM
Is that you Bianca?

Bianca from eastenders?

15-06-2018, 07:06 PM
Not based on that he isn't and one of a number of mistakes recently.

Look at the opta goalkeeping stats for this season. He's probably saved man u 12 points all by himself.

15-06-2018, 07:10 PM
Good to hear Efe fans in the stadium

15-06-2018, 07:11 PM
costa double 2-2

15-06-2018, 07:11 PM
2-2

Great game.

15-06-2018, 07:12 PM
2-2

Get in.

Spain scoring 2 of the most un-Spanish goals you’re likely to see.

15-06-2018, 07:13 PM
Straight from the training ground goal. Clinical.

15-06-2018, 07:15 PM
what a cracker 3-2

Outstanding.

What a strike

YES!

What a strike!

SJNB Hibby
Brilliant!!!!!! What a goal

Cracker

This is fast becoming a classic.

15-06-2018, 07:16 PM
What a goal! What a game

The technique on that strike was absolutely phenomenal. What a goal.

What a goal that is. Can see Spain winning this by 2 or 3 now.

Mr Grieves
15-06-2018, 07:17 PM
Loving this game!

Keeper takes 2 or 3 big steps and gets nowhere near it. Technique and precision is unbelievable.

This is simply brilliant.

15-06-2018, 07:18 PM
I think the paella & San Miguels will be on De Gea tonight!

15-06-2018, 07:21 PM
keeper takes 2 or 3 big steps and gets nowhere near it.

whits the goalie daein pretty boy? Whits the goalie doing?!

guthrie01
15-06-2018, 07:22 PM
Just need Ramos to get carded now :pray:

15-06-2018, 07:23 PM
Wonder if Portugal will open up a bit now

Brunswickbill
15-06-2018, 07:26 PM
Iniesta’s been watching how McGeouch plays. All he needs is a Batman mask.

15-06-2018, 07:29 PM
Iniesta’s been watching how McGeouch plays. All he needs is a Batman mask.

Just said the same minus the mask thing

15-06-2018, 07:31 PM
If Spain can cut out the silly lapses at the back then they must really fancy their chances this year, unbeaten in 20+ games and looking good for the win here. Plenty options in the squad as well.

15-06-2018, 07:34 PM
Thiago Alcantara is absolute caviar.

Isco best player on the park though. What a player.

15-06-2018, 07:37 PM
I almost blew my load at the almost identical "whits the goalie daein tom" moment we almost had there.

SJNB Hibby
15-06-2018, 07:38 PM
If Spain can cut out the silly lapses at the back then they must really fancy their chances this year, unbeaten in 20+ games and looking good for the win here. Plenty options in the squad as well.

Agreed, and i'm beginning to think I should change my Argentina pick, but how many times have we seen a team come storming out of the blocks and then fade away? but theyve done the hard part, guaranteed a last 16 spot, then Russia probably? Uruguay might push them

15-06-2018, 07:41 PM
Spain are different class here. The speed of passing is awesome...and this against the European champs

15-06-2018, 07:43 PM
Spain are different class here. The speed of passing is awesome...and this against the European champs

Their midfield are playing a game of one touch during a World Cup game. Unbelievable.

15-06-2018, 07:45 PM
What a sensational goal

WOW, ****ing WOW!!!!

SJNB Hibby
Omg!!!!!

Ronaldo 😲

Good enough to turn you gay.

Mr Grieves
15-06-2018, 07:46 PM
What A ****ing match

3-3 super game. Woud like to see Spain go and get a winner now.

What a game!!

We’ll be lucky to see a better game than this in the whole tournament.

Best player in the world, no question

Oooosh

That's some goal, see I can give him credit

You really can’t hate Ronaldo. What a strike that is, movement on that ball is stunning.

15-06-2018, 07:47 PM
what a ******* erse pique was giving away a free kick in front of goals..utter tw@t, great FK though

That was sheer class

Probably the best goalscorer, best player is more subjective, I think Messi pisses all over him and prefer to watch him

Talk about a one-man team.
Maradona 1986
Messi 2014
Ronaldo 2018

Long way to go and he’s no everyone’s cup o tea but fair play to the boy.

15-06-2018, 07:48 PM
Not bad for a tosser.:greengrin

SJNB Hibby
You really can’t hate Ronaldo. What a strike that is, movement on that ball is stunning.

Well you can, but you'd have to try really hard

Better than John McGinn?

guthrie01
15-06-2018, 07:49 PM
Probably the best goalscorer, best player is more subjective, I think Messi pisses all over him and prefer to watch him

Messi is the better skilled but If I’m playing a game and need to win Ronaldo is the first name on my team sheet. Man is a born winner

15-06-2018, 07:49 PM
just make this the final, cancel all the other games

Benny Brazil
15-06-2018, 07:50 PM

I can't stand the guy- but just as a footballer? Absolute genius

15-06-2018, 07:50 PM

Pisses all over him.....aye ok. Both are phenonemal players.

therealgavmac
15-06-2018, 07:52 PM
I’d like to see the foul again...... didn’t think Ronaldo was touched...... but there have been no replays of the foul......

What a strike from the free kick though..,,,,, and what a game this has been!!

Messi is the better skilled but If I’m playing a game and need to win Ronaldo is the first name on my team sheet. Man is a born winner

As I said it's subjective, depends on what you like to see, I used to like the flashy showboat Ronaldo but he's reinvented himself into an out and out goalscorer, I like to see a player go past people so prefer Messi, it's apples and oranges

Pure theatre, that Ronaldo..

Footballs a mental game.

Just after it went to 3-2 Spain looked like they could have won by a few, comfortable, in control and ahead. Suddenly they are hanging on and look like they will be delighted to escape with a point. The subs seems to have killed their momentum a bit.

15-06-2018, 07:53 PM
damn you pique, damn you

15-06-2018, 07:54 PM
Pisses all over him.....aye ok. Both are phenonemal players.

Yes they are but people are allowed an opinion and mine is that Messi eclipses him, you clearly don't, that's ok though you are allowed an opinion too

15-06-2018, 07:55 PM
No matter what you think of Ronaldo, he really is world class and has proved it so many times. What a pro he is, the guy is on another level.

Like I said above - best player. Messi has great skill, but no way Argentina get a draw out of that match.

Some hate him, for me he's amazing

Baw187
Footballs a mental game.

Just after it went to 3-2 Spain looked like they could have won by a few, comfortable, in control and ahead. Suddenly they are hanging on and look like they will be delighted to escape with a point. The subs seems to have killed their momentum a bit.

Just said to my missus (who to be fair couldn’t have given 2 ***) that Spain only had themselves to blame. They started just holding the ball and seeing out the 3-2 with 20mins to go. They could have pushed for the 2 goal cushion that would have ended it.

15-06-2018, 07:57 PM
Yes they are but people are allowed an opinion and mine is that Messi eclipses him, you clearly don't, that's ok though you are allowed an opinion too

No bother.....i think you are prob right that Messi eclipses him as a player, just that what you said previously sounded like he was miles better. Anyway as you say all about opinions....both great players and what a game that was.

15-06-2018, 07:58 PM
What a game that was. Unreal from Ronaldo.

15-06-2018, 07:59 PM
No bother.....i think you are prob right that Messi eclipses him as a player, just that what you said previously sounded like he was miles better. Anyway as you say all about opinions....both great players and what a game that was.

Wasn't as good as the last game of the season but was enjoyable ;)

15-06-2018, 08:02 PM
Think that's 641 career goals for Ronaldo now.

GRA
15-06-2018, 08:05 PM
Sensational game. Will well be worth seeing Ronaldo in the flesh in October at Hampden.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

15-06-2018, 08:06 PM
Think that's 641 career goals for Ronaldo now.

Might be a bit higher, this is at 30th May, all I know is that it's scary from both of them

Ronaldo: 654 goals and 207 assists in 910 appearances
Messi: 616 goals and 250 assists in 761 appearances
Hat-tricks: Ronaldo 50; Messi 46
Career goal ratio: Ronaldo 0.72; Messi 0.81

15-06-2018, 08:08 PM
Might be a bit higher, this is at 30th May, all I know is that it's scary from both of them

Scary stats....i think they said on commentary Ronaldo was only 16 short of 100 goals for Portugal.

15-06-2018, 08:14 PM
Just orgasmic. One of the best games I've ever seen, without doubt.

15-06-2018, 08:14 PM

51 hattricks for Ronaldo now after tonight. It was the 51st hattrick scored in World Cup history & Ronaldo's 51st career hattrick.

15-06-2018, 08:15 PM
Ronaldo is better than Messi cannae believe folk still debate this

15-06-2018, 08:16 PM

Messi is better than Ronaldo, cannae believe folk still debate this

15-06-2018, 08:16 PM

He's not even the best player in the Portugal team

:stirrer:

Tomsk
15-06-2018, 08:17 PM
Cheeky wee winner for Spain in injury time and that game would have been perfect. Maybe with a Pepe OG -- nah, I'm being greedy now. :greengrin

15-06-2018, 08:18 PM
51 hattricks for Ronaldo now after tonight. It was the 51st hattrick scored in World Cup history & Ronaldo's 51st career hattrick.

Hate you using 5 1 son felling a bit sick

beensaidbefore
15-06-2018, 08:19 PM
Just orgasmic. One of the best games I've ever seen, without doubt.

Was going to post the same. Spain on the ball were so impressive. Their quick passing at times was so precise. For Portugal to keep up with them showed what a good team they are, and made for some game.

15-06-2018, 08:20 PM

He's played around 150 games more than Messi and has scored around 40 goals more, he's also a couple of years older, give Messi those 150 games at his current goals to game ratio and he will have scored more than Ronaldo, he also has more assists, so there is plenty of time debate it, as I said earlier it's personal preference when there is probably nothing between them

15-06-2018, 08:27 PM
Messi is better than Ronaldo, cannae believe folk still debate this

Agree both amazing players with phenomenal record however Messi bit more of a team player with less hysterionics.

crash
15-06-2018, 08:31 PM
A Fantastic football match , the like of which will have inspired millions of kids to follow this beautiful game.

15-06-2018, 08:33 PM
Like I said above - best player. Messi has great skill, but no way Argentina get a draw out of that match.

Some hate him, for me he's amazing

Don't hate him but like suarez can't stand the play acting. Maradona was a better footballer when you consider the brutal tackling he put up with which makes the modern day histrionics even more annoying. Salah is in the same league and a much better human being. IMHO of course.

15-06-2018, 08:35 PM
I think Ronaldo is the better player. Just my opinion. Some folk will say Messi is better. Fair enough, that’s there opinion.

Having said that I’ve seen both these guys playing live up close and can say as a football fan, it’s a privilege to have them both playing during my lifetime. Two of the worlds greatest footballers that will be remembered for many a generation

15-06-2018, 08:37 PM
He's played around 150 games more than Messi and has scored around 40 goals more, he's also a couple of years older, give Messi those 150 games at his current goals to game ratio and he will have scored more than Ronaldo, he also has more assists, so there is plenty of time debate it, as I said earlier it's personal preference when there is probably nothing between them

There's next to nothing between them but I'd say Messi just edges it, he's such a pure footballer compared to Ronaldos more powerful style. Both styles have their place and they're IMO without a doubt the two best ever. But I reckon Messi edges it and I also prefer watching him.

15-06-2018, 08:40 PM
I had 10 quid on Spain after opening a William Hill account in order to get a free bet promotion, that I somehow messed up, whilst also not having the balls to cash out seconds before Ronaldo took that free kick.

Great game, but hoping my acount balance is looking better after the games tomorrow!

15-06-2018, 08:41 PM

Could well be right, I don't think Soccerbase added Spanish cup goals.

15-06-2018, 08:44 PM
Think Messi just edges it but WC win for Portugal would tip it in Ronaldo's favour for me.

WC win for Argentina ends the debate I think.

15-06-2018, 08:52 PM
Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon D'Or 4 years out of the past 5 when Messi is in his prime years age wise.

Ronaldo is the greatest player on the planet and his consistent ability to pull it off effortlessly on the world's biggest stage tells its own story. Top all-time goal scorer at the most prestigious club in the world and also the most prestigious club competition in the world. Oh, and he pretty much dragged Portugal to a major international trophy. Oh and he has walked the walk at both Manchester United and Real Madrid.

Love Messi, but Ronaldo is King.

15-06-2018, 08:58 PM
I decide to avoid most of the world cup openers as I thought they would be pish. As mymate has confirmed i missed FA. This game i caught at the airport and atlast a decent world cup game seemingly. Anyhoos Ronaldo great player. Good game. Thought Port7gal had lost at 3-2 but no.some great goals tae boot. Wee bit bevvied here in Orlando waitin oan a delayed flight.

15-06-2018, 08:58 PM
They're both ****ing awesome. End of debate.

15-06-2018, 09:03 PM
Messi for me, though I actually think Iniesta suffers because of this debate - he's produced the goods in both a WC final and an EC final, won man of the match for both, performed consistently well in both tournaments and has a glittering medal haul at club level. Iniesta's highlight reel won't be as glamorous as Messi and Ronaldo, but I would have taken him over either of the other two if I was wanting to build a team.

I've always struggled to warm to Ronaldo. I also think that earlier in his career he struggled to show up in big games. He always used to struggle, for example, against Ashley Cole, whether at club level or international - though in fairness Cole was a world-class full-back.

He developed beyond that and started to show he could dominate in club games domestically and in the Champions' League, though that was in an ever-increasingly strong team. Although they won Euro 2016 they made heavy weather of it IIRC and he obviously had little impact on the Final itself.

Perhaps more so, he never really stood out at World Cups - three goals in thirteen games, all against weak opponents coming into this tournament. He certainly showed up this evening though. A draw tonight makes it look like a chase in Spain and Portugal's remaining two games to win the group on goal difference. Winning the group offers a likely easier route to the semis - if my calculations are right and going by form, they would probably prefer Argentina over France in the QFs.

15-06-2018, 09:10 PM
They're both ****ing awesome. End of debate.

Hear Hear. You can't compare them. They're different types - like Jimmy Johnstone and Denis Law or whatever.

15-06-2018, 09:11 PM
No offence but you aren't very intelligent if you think Ronaldo is better than Messi. It isn't even close.

15-06-2018, 09:11 PM
Boring dick measuring again. Can't we just watch and enjoy them both?

15-06-2018, 09:14 PM
No offence but you aren't very intelligent if you think Ronaldo is better than Messi. It isn't even close.

How are you working that one out?

By all means say you think Messi is better but to say it isn't even close makes you look a bit silly.

15-06-2018, 09:15 PM
Both completely different types of players, both on another level and both just brilliant to watch. We don’t need to argue over who’s the best enjoy having two world class players that you won’t prob get again for a long time.

guthrie01
15-06-2018, 09:16 PM

“You aren’t very intelligent”

Deary me, what a thing to see when having a fun debate :hilarious

15-06-2018, 09:20 PM

This x 100

15-06-2018, 09:29 PM
Ronaldo dodged about 3 times the amount of tax Messi did.

End of debate.

15-06-2018, 09:32 PM
An amazing player.

Wasn't too long ago folk on this board questioned his greatness and his ability in big games.

He proves you wrong time and time again.

Wow.

15-06-2018, 09:33 PM
How are you working that one out?

By all means say you think Messi is better but to say it isn't even close makes you look a bit silly.

When it comes to denying Ronaldo's greatness its not down to ability but a personality problem that many have with him.

An amazing player. As is Messi

15-06-2018, 09:37 PM
Boring dick measuring again. Can't we just watch and enjoy them both?

Indeed. On a night when we've just watched an unbelievable 90 mins of genius from both teams (mostly Spain to be fair) i dont get why we're stuck on the Messi Ron thing.

supermcginn
15-06-2018, 09:44 PM

Correct. Not even close.

15-06-2018, 09:45 PM
Exciting stuff watching Ronaldo and Messi play out who can be slightly worse than D10S.

15-06-2018, 10:10 PM
Whatever your thoughts on Messi v Ronaldo, I’m sure most of us would love to see them in the same team!

15-06-2018, 10:16 PM
Correct. Not even close.

Wit

15-06-2018, 10:16 PM
Brilliant game, I thoroughly enjoyed it and at the end of the days thats what its all about.

As for the Ronaldo Messi debate if you cant see they are both quite brilliant and both quite different I'd take up bowls or something. As a football fan both a sheer joy to watch.

15-06-2018, 10:26 PM
why can't we all just learn to get along?

15-06-2018, 10:27 PM
why can't we all just learn to get along?Like Putin and the Soddy Arabian guy yesterday? That was great telly.

15-06-2018, 10:40 PM
Like Putin and the Soddy Arabian guy yesterday? That was great telly.

I swear you could see the Saudi sitting there thinking "your ****ing oil prices are getting totally jacked you baldy mother****er".

15-06-2018, 10:48 PM
I swear you could see the Saudi sitting there thinking "your ****ing oil prices are getting totally jacked you baldy mother****er".I'm no lip reader. And I can't speak Russian.

But Pooty clearly said "you're only camel ****ging *******s."

wpj
16-06-2018, 12:17 AM
Portugal v Spain was a fantastic game. Really enjoyable. More of the same I hope

16-06-2018, 09:31 AM
Jamie Mac on the bench for Australia.

16-06-2018, 09:35 AM
Watched the game last night. Can't see any other game beating it for excitement this whole world cup. Great game.

16-06-2018, 09:49 AM
not often(if ever) a country has both Football and Rugby national teams playing at the same time, i'l be flicking back and forward between France v Australia and Australia v Ireland :)

16-06-2018, 09:54 AM
Watched the game last night. Can't see any other game beating it for excitement this whole world cup. Great game.

:agree: I’ve got to agree but I think that as the tournament progresses, and the importance of the matches increases, we’ll see matches of similar or even better excitement and quality. Great game for such an early one in the tournament.

16-06-2018, 09:55 AM
Talking of hair, is that Drogba on the panel?

Did Bilic steal his hair?

16-06-2018, 09:56 AM
:sauzee:

16-06-2018, 09:56 AM
McLaren on bench

16-06-2018, 09:57 AM
As much as I'd love Australia to do something for McLaren, Vive la France

16-06-2018, 09:58 AM

No offence but you are talking pish by questioning the intelligence of people who have a different opinion to you.

16-06-2018, 10:00 AM
Griezmann will score.

16-06-2018, 10:03 AM

Me too, but hope Australia get pumped

16-06-2018, 10:04 AM

If he gets any match time, I would be happy if he has a quiet game, to keep alive any hopes we have of seeing him back at ER.

16-06-2018, 10:05 AM
Come on the Aussies, ABF

16-06-2018, 10:11 AM
Looks like Mbappe is well up for this

16-06-2018, 10:12 AM
Is dragging your opponent back by the jersey not a yellow card?

16-06-2018, 10:14 AM
I still can't help but associate Australia with that knob who was with Hearts.

16-06-2018, 10:16 AM
When the BBC commentators get given their co commentator they must absolutely dread seeing Lawrensons name being allocated to them. Dull, boring, most negative clown on the box. Why they've persisted with him I've no idea!!

16-06-2018, 10:17 AM
No offence but you are talking pish by questioning the intelligence of people who have a different opinion to you.

Hear hear! It's pathetic really.

16-06-2018, 10:17 AM
Great save there, he's some goalie

16-06-2018, 10:18 AM
Pavard will be getting a yellow soon.

16-06-2018, 10:18 AM
When the BBC commentators get given their co commentator they must absolutely dread seeing Lawrensons name being allocated to them. Dull, boring, most negative clown on the box. Why they've persisted with him I've no idea!!

Once I heard his voice I put the cricket on.

16-06-2018, 10:19 AM
Australia are getting more confident now and coming into this

andybev1
16-06-2018, 10:22 AM
Ozzys giving a good account of themselves so far - go ozzy!

Edit: referee could be less french biased though.

16-06-2018, 10:25 AM

Dont think he is any better or worse than all the other overpaid clowns that commentate on the game.

Scottish football commentators anyone?

16-06-2018, 10:31 AM
Once I heard his voice I put the cricket on.

You can use the red button and get the five live team usually. Connor McNamaras doing it now, he's not particularly annoying

16-06-2018, 10:34 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180616/74dfc470d95eeca20a5f522d60b10a25.png

From Twitter, improvements required 🤪

16-06-2018, 10:41 AM
Just got 10 packs of paninis and settling down now to watch this now. J'aime le mundial :sauzee:

16-06-2018, 10:42 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180616/74dfc470d95eeca20a5f522d60b10a25.png

From Twitter, improvements required 🤪

If we get Allan signed before the next game Uraguay won't know what's hit them

16-06-2018, 10:44 AM

He ruins games at every world cup. He's an absolute moron

16-06-2018, 10:44 AM
Remember, the minute he gets on the field, rate MacLaren 10 everyone else 1.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44440323

16-06-2018, 10:45 AM
Matty Ryan has the best goalie gloves. A bond villain would wear those black Nikes.

16-06-2018, 10:47 AM
Oz will win this.

Hulk1875
16-06-2018, 10:47 AM

😂😂😂 this has to happen hahaha

PPZPOL
16-06-2018, 10:50 AM
If he gets any match time, I would be happy if he has a quiet game, to keep alive any hopes we have of seeing him back at ER.

I’ve been saying the same. Any game time and a goal we can kiss goodbye to him (or have to pay way more!!!). Either way, not good.

Obviously for his sake I hope he does well but I’m being selfish :-)

16-06-2018, 10:50 AM
Drogba is cool.

16-06-2018, 10:51 AM
not often(if ever) a country has both Football and Rugby national teams playing at the same time, i'l be flicking back and forward between France v Australia and Australia v Ireland :)

And cricket!!!

16-06-2018, 10:52 AM

16-06-2018, 10:55 AM
And cricket!!!

not acceptable as a sport i'm afraid, glorified rounders :greengrin

*except when Scotland beat England

16-06-2018, 10:55 AM
not acceptable as a sport i'm afraid, glorified rounders :greengrin

Hear hear

16-06-2018, 10:56 AM
Alex Scott 😍

16-06-2018, 11:01 AM

Shame we can't rate the commentators. There's a particular one who moans more than the wife did. More annoying as well. Twat of the highest order.

16-06-2018, 11:02 AM
Alex Scott 😍

The one who played for Hibs in the 60's. You just coming out. :greengrin:greengrin

SJNB Hibby
16-06-2018, 11:05 AM
Shame we can't rate the commentators. There's a particular one who moans more than the wife did. More annoying as well. Twat of the highest order.

We've got John Helm on the International feed----non-stop banalities and stupid not-funny jokes:rolleyes:

16-06-2018, 11:11 AM
We've got John Helm on the International feed----non-stop banalities and stupid not-funny jokes:rolleyes:

Never heard of him but it sounds like you need to steer a different course away from him.

16-06-2018, 11:13 AM
Penalty to France awarded by VAR

16-06-2018, 11:13 AM
Wonder what lawrenson will be saying when England play *****!

16-06-2018, 11:14 AM
Not for me.

Although I've little emotional attachment to this game and don't like VAR so I'm happy to see it give controversial calls.

That’s bloody harsh on Australia. Not a clear cut award for me.

I don't like this, makes football too clinical, I want talking points and dodgy decisions it's part of what makes the game what it is

defender just touched the ball, harsh on australia

16-06-2018, 11:15 AM
That’s bloody harsh on Australia. Not a clear cut award for me.

Seems harsh to me too.

I think that was the right decision. Can't agree with Lawrenson's interpretation of the laws at all.

Softest penalty ever.

Shocking decision.

There we go, it only took a few games and already VAR is the big talking point of the world cup.

This nonsense will ruin football!

16-06-2018, 11:16 AM
That pen was a joke. VAR is a joke. It'll ruin the tournament at this rate.

What would've happened if Australia had ran up the park and scored?

Would he check VAR and then rule out the goal and give the penalty?

I don't like this, makes football too clinical, I want talking points and dodgy decisions it's part of what makes the game what it is

:agree: VAR is wrong.

Would that also include all the dodgy decisions and non goals for Hibs that have cost us loads in points and cash?.

No danger that was a penalty !

I think that was the right decision. Can't agree with Lawrenson's interpretation of the laws at all.

I agree. If the defender does touch it he makes no difference to the movement of the ball. You can't make the slightest of touches then trip the player up as he is one on one with the goalie surely?

Cracking point

nellio
16-06-2018, 11:17 AM
I think he touched the ball first then clips him.

What's the rule?

Penalty to Australia now

Lawrenson is a total slaver....he was nowhere near the ball!

Agreed. Regardless of whether the defender got a slight touch to the ball, Griezman was still running on to the ball when he was tripped by the follow through.

Haha what a clown.

nellio
Handball!!!

16-06-2018, 11:18 AM
Lawrenson is a total slaver....he was nowhere near the ball!

yes he was, the ball clearly moved

Umtiti. Definitely.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

Yaaas. Mon the Aussies.

Wahey!

16-06-2018, 11:19 AM
That pen was a joke. VAR is a joke. It'll ruin the tournament at this rate.

The tournament was already ruined with no Scotland, Holland or Italy there, not to mention that the group stage draw is almost fixed to favour a few selected teams to almost guarantee the max viewing figures for T.V.

yes he was, the ball clearly moved

watch it again he doesnt touch it

Would that also include all the dodgy decisions and non goals for Hibs that have cost us loads in points and cash?.

Yes it would, I don't mind goal line technology but VAR is a whole different matter

16-06-2018, 11:20 AM
Has that boy no even been booked for that handball?

nellio

I thought there was one angle where you can see he touches it.

No the goal would stand.

16-06-2018, 11:21 AM
Yes it would, I don't mind goal lime technology but VAR is a whole different matter

Agree. At a push it should be used for offsides. Not for fouls though when one person might think it’s a foul and another doesn’t.

nellio
16-06-2018, 11:22 AM
Does anyone else think Laurenson is annoying.

You can understand why Robin Friday took a s##t in his kit bag!!

16-06-2018, 11:23 AM
Does anyone else think Laurenson is annoying.

You can understand why Robin Friday took a s##t in his kit bag!!

He was trending as no 1 on twitter when I was on there 10 mins ago so a nation agrees with you

16-06-2018, 11:24 AM

yes he does, one replay clearly showed the ball moving angle so unless there was a huge gust of wind the defender had to have touched it