View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32]

15-07-2018, 04:25 PM
France are absolutely scintillating now. The pace they attack with is frightening.

15-07-2018, 04:26 PM
4-1

I know

15-07-2018, 04:26 PM
France are absolutely scintillating now. The pace they attack with is frightening.

Crazy thing is that they are all young. Mbappe is only 19!

15-07-2018, 04:27 PM
Game back on

game back on...go on croatia

bit of a silly keeper

Wow what a shocker game on.

Lloris is at it as well now. Howler.

What an idiot!

Howler

Oh ya ****er!! Cmon Croatia!!

15-07-2018, 04:28 PM
Keeper thinking about the medal around his neck?

Pretty boring final really.

Come on Croatia one more and it's game on!

Crazy thing is that they are all young. Mbappe is only 19!
Yeah, they’ll only get better.

oops, was out doing something and didn't realise the french had scored a 4th :) game still over again

McSwanky
15-07-2018, 04:29 PM
WHAT IS THE GOALIE DOIN TOM?!?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

At kick-off I said to my partner that I thought it would be a silly score, 5-4 or the like AET. Still twenty minutes to go.

Spurs DNA strikes again :greengrin

GRA
15-07-2018, 04:30 PM
Hmm looking like following the recent trend of dull World Cup finals....

(Hope that's jinxed it and we get a cracker)...

Sent from my SM-A520F using TapatalkGlad I jinxed it 🤣🤣🤣

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

15-07-2018, 04:32 PM
Was likely World Cup Winner Steven Nzonzi first game in a Blackburn Rovers shirt against Hibs in 2009? I have a feeling it was but can't find the stats.

15-07-2018, 04:33 PM

This game's got everything.

@AP
BREAKING: Pussy Riot claims responsibility for four people running onto field during World Cup final.
9:16 AM - 15 Jul 2018

****ing feminists again :rolleyes:
Getting pretty sick of the sisterhood, but I am of a certain generation. :confused:

Yes, France all the way. Can never, never support a team covered with Fascist symbols.

The French have a c0ck on theirs. Just saying likes.:wink:

15-07-2018, 04:36 PM
Was likely World Cup Winner Steven Nzonzi first game in a Blackburn Rovers shirt against Hibs in 2009? I have a feeling it was but can't find the stats.

http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/4531436.FULL-TIME__Blackburn_Rovers_0_Hibernian_0/

The majority of those who turned out on a balmy East Lancashire night were also given their first glimpses of fellow close-season signings Steven Nzonzi and Lars Jacobsen, while Elrio Van Heerden and David Hoilett were handed second half Ewood Park debuts.

McIntosh
15-07-2018, 04:36 PM
Seek help, seek help. I think that is what Croatia are needing. I will never support them or Real Madrid both in my mind completely contaminated sides.

15-07-2018, 04:37 PM
Glad I jinxed it 🤣🤣🤣

I predicted it. :smug:

15-07-2018, 04:40 PM
some fekir comes on

15-07-2018, 04:40 PM
The French have a c0ck on theirs. Just saying likes.:wink:

One story is that they have the rooster on their strips because the Latin for cockerel and for Gaul (what France was before it became France) are pretty much the same.

When the Romans invaded and ultimately conquered, they used it as a sort of insult and the name stuck. Roosters are seen as stubborn and proud and the French were happy to adopt it as a national symbol

GST1875
15-07-2018, 04:44 PM
Yes, France all the way. Can never, never support a team covered with Fascist symbols.

Are you referring to the Ustase here?

15-07-2018, 04:45 PM
http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/4531436.FULL-TIME__Blackburn_Rovers_0_Hibernian_0/

The majority of those who turned out on a balmy East Lancashire night were also given their first glimpses of fellow close-season signings Steven Nzonzi and Lars Jacobsen, while Elrio Van Heerden and David Hoilett were handed second half Ewood Park debuts.

Thanks, thought so.

Not many world cup winners played at Easter Road I am guessing, who would have thought that night we were watching a future world cup winner.

15-07-2018, 04:46 PM
One story is that they have the rooster on their strips because the Latin for cockerel and for Gaul (what France was before it became France) are pretty much the same.

When the Romans invaded and ultimately conquered, they used it as a sort of insult and the name stuck. Roosters are seen as stubborn and proud and the French were happy to adopt it as a national symbol

So they have the gaul to have a c0ck on their strips, but it's actually a rooster.

Well, c0ck a doodle doo.

This game is tweetering out.

15-07-2018, 04:48 PM
Ref will get away with the dodgy FK and pen decisions because of the size and importance of Croatia. Had he given those decisions against England, Germany, Italy etc he'd be hounded for eternity.

2 good goals by France but that apart they've been pretty crap. Are they worst team ever to win a World Cup ? Probably.

15-07-2018, 04:51 PM
So they have the gaul to have a c0ck on their strips, but it's actually a rooster.

Well, c0ck a doodle doo.

This game is tweetering out.

Very good :greengrin

15-07-2018, 04:52 PM
:sauzee: Heroes.

15-07-2018, 04:53 PM
well done to both teams for a pretty decent final, feel sorry for the croatians getting cheated for the 2nd goal, dirty diving little cheat griezball

still, £120 in to my bank account :)

15-07-2018, 04:54 PM
Gutted for Croatia. Well done referee for an idiotic decision

15-07-2018, 04:55 PM
Well that’s that then. Cracking World Cup, Great final.

15-07-2018, 04:55 PM
Félicitations la France!

15-07-2018, 04:56 PM
Had Pogba to score from outside the box at 13-1

Thanks Paul 👍

Forever_Green93
15-07-2018, 04:57 PM
That was a good final

congrats to France, very good team.

feel sorry for Croatia because they got shafted by the officials for France's first and second goals.

15-07-2018, 04:57 PM
Allez Les Bleu 🇫🇷

Also special mention to Croatia, they have done their nation proud. Scotland should take a page out of their book.

15-07-2018, 04:58 PM
:sauzee: Heroes.

Well done mate.

France are a very well balanced side. Although Loris blundered with one today, he's been great, but the back 4 have been magnificent all throughout the competition with Umtiti, and Varane absolutely dominant in the centre of defence.

Throw in ****e, Pogba, and Greisman in midfield, and Mbappe up front.

They deserved it.

15-07-2018, 04:59 PM
Well done France, well deserved, took their goals very well but feel sorry for Croatia, good final though and like the whole tournament, thoroughly enjoyable.

15-07-2018, 05:00 PM
well done to both teams for a pretty decent final, feel sorry for the croatians getting cheated for the 2nd goal, dirty diving little cheat griezball

still, £120 in to my bank account :)

Just pocketed £70 from a £4 stake

Hibernian v NSI Runavik - 90 Minutes
Hibernian @ 1/10 Won
Belgium v England - 90 Minutes
Belgium @ 23/20 Won
France v Croatia - 90 Minutes
France @ 10/11 Won
Kilmarnock v St Mirren - 90 Minutes
Draw @ 13/5 Won

15-07-2018, 05:02 PM
Great as the WC has been I am quite glad that ‘football is coming home’ to the usual routine. I love the carnival around the WC and seeing loads of folk out enjoying the game today was great but I do quite like the thought that we are only a few weeks away from the pre match pint, wrapping up warm and sitting with a few hundred die hards watching a good old fashioned, hard fought 1-0 away win.

15-07-2018, 05:04 PM
Good final. Can't ask for much more, 6 goals, dodgy controversial decisions, pitch invasion, good football. A decent world cup, one of the better ones. Feel a bit for Croatia but France were the best team throughout the competition

15-07-2018, 05:06 PM
Ref will get away with the dodgy FK and pen decisions because of the size and importance of Croatia. Had he given those decisions against England, Germany, Italy etc he'd be hounded for eternity.

2 good goals by France but that apart they've been pretty crap. Are they worst team ever to win a World Cup ? Probably.

That's pretty sour grapes.

France's attacking line is as good as it gets in world football. Their midfield are at elite clubs, as are their defence, except for Pavard who is one of the breakout stars of this tournament and will be at an elite club soon enough.

In that respect they are as good as any side who have won World Cups. This game itself was certainly more entertaining than most of the World Cup Finals in my lifetime and certainly the last few.

15-07-2018, 05:09 PM
Have there been any other WC finals to finish 4-2?

:devil:

15-07-2018, 05:11 PM
Pogba was best player on the park. Griezeman got MOM. How does that work?

McIntosh
15-07-2018, 05:12 PM
Are you referring to the Ustase here?

https://www.timesofisrael.com/croatia-jews-to-snub-wwii-death-commemoration-again/

https://www.timesofisrael.com/croatian-president-poses-with-pro-nazi-regime-symbol/

please read. Well done France, the best team one. No doubt there.

15-07-2018, 05:14 PM
Well done mate.

They deserved it.

Im not actually French (although I admit you'd be forgiven for thinking so sometimes) :greengrin But I'll accept the congratulations anyway :cheers:

15-07-2018, 05:15 PM
https://www.timesofisrael.com/croatia-jews-to-snub-wwii-death-commemoration-again/

https://www.timesofisrael.com/croatian-president-poses-with-pro-nazi-regime-symbol/

It's also on Youtube. Utterly horrific what they did, fully backed up by the catholic church.

15-07-2018, 05:16 PM
Well done mate.

France are a very well balanced side. Although Loris blundered with one today, he's been great, but the back 4 have been magnificent all throughout the competition with Umtiti, and Varane absolutely dominant in the centre of defence.

Throw in ****e, Pogba, and Greisman in midfield, and Mbappe up front.

They deserved it.

Really enjoyed watching Varane in this tournament. I remember him being linked with the likes of Arsenal and Man U when he was still a teenager and a young teenager at that. Didn't know at the time just how exceptional he was, suspect others didn't too, which is why Real Madrid came in and steamrollered any competition.

I think they got him for around £10m. He's in his mid-twenties now, still approaching the peak of his career and has four Champions' League medals and now a World Cup under his belt.

Outstanding defender and a delight to watch. You can see him taking on the leadership role after Sergio Ramos retires.

15-07-2018, 05:22 PM
Good final, I thought the ref did ruin it with a couple of bad decisions, and France played the countattacking game they usually do. Croatia did a lot better than I thought they would and dominated large parts of the game too. Just as well Mbappe scored, he'd been pretty well anonymous up till then. Great talent though. I actually thought France were more impressive in the semi-final where they really worked hard as a team in all areas of the pitch. In this game, in the first half particularly, their defence looked shakey and they were getting caught in possession. In this World Cup there wasn't any team for me that was consistently good throughout the competition, but France were good when it mattered. The media gradually cottoned on to it as well, all the stuff about Mbappe being a wonderkid really kicked in after the game against Argentina.

15-07-2018, 05:24 PM
Macron looks like he’s getting fired into the Croatian president. Maybe a bit on the young side for him.

15-07-2018, 05:25 PM
Was wondering why the big delays and no reporting from the stadium for a wee bit.... was there exuberance do you think? :-)

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

15-07-2018, 05:25 PM

Without wishing to start a flag debate that appears to be the equivalent of flying the Union Flag upside down. And the source isn't exactly even handed when pointing out human rights abuses closer to their home.

15-07-2018, 05:27 PM
Love how Putin gets a brolly and no one else haha

15-07-2018, 05:28 PM
Putin trolling the other Presidents. He’s bone dry, leaves the other 2 in the rain.

You have to laugh at the ****.

15-07-2018, 05:28 PM
Best team won, best team throughout the competition. Referee in my opinion didn't in anyway spoil the final, many Refs would have given a penalty & had it been at ER for a Hibs claim I & the majority would have claimed for it.

15-07-2018, 05:29 PM
shame for all those getting a drenching, i can only recall one game where it was light rain

15-07-2018, 05:30 PM
Knowing some of my French friends they'll be having a fit at how much Macron is involved just now :greengrin

15-07-2018, 05:30 PM
Love how Putin gets a brolly and no one else haha
Borrowed from his mate Trump.

15-07-2018, 05:33 PM
bet you anything putin has a switchblade doon his sock

15-07-2018, 05:33 PM
I hate the big group presentations. Passing it along the line is so much better.

15-07-2018, 05:34 PM
Scenes in the rain.
It's all gone a bit crystal maze.

I hate the big group presentations. Passing it along the line is so much better.

Yes, they are a shambles these days. Bring back the old way of presenting the trophy and then pass it back along the line.

Scenes in the rain.
It's all gone a bit crystal maze.

:-)

15-07-2018, 05:35 PM
No outstanding team this year.Suspect that the 2018 World Cup will be remembered in future years for the first use of VAR.

15-07-2018, 05:37 PM
On a personal note, I’m absolutely delighted for Pogba. He deserves this moment after all the p*** unfair stick he gets by the so-called experts in this country. Particularly that bellend Souness. Once again may I say - Get it right up you Souness, you bitter old man!

15-07-2018, 05:40 PM
On a personal note, I’m absolutely delighted for Pogba. He deserves this moment after all the p*** unfair stick he gets by the so-called experts in this country. Particularly that bellend Souness. Once again may I say - Get it right up you Souness, you bitter old man!

Hopefully Jose has seen how to play Pogba and get him a decent midfield .partner that allows him the freedom to do what he does best

15-07-2018, 05:41 PM
sad it's all over :boo hoo:

15-07-2018, 05:42 PM
In a way kind of glad its done, too many countries in it now who are no more than cannon fodder there to bulk out the 4 weeks of competition.
4 weeks is too long.

15-07-2018, 05:43 PM
Hopefully Jose has seen how to play Pogba and get him a decent midfield .partner that allows him the freedom to do what he does best

I think the signing of Fred will help him J-C

Pogba showed in this World Cup he has the ability and potential to become one of the best CM in the world.

15-07-2018, 05:45 PM
Modric won 'golden ball' and quite right, imagine a midfield of Mallan/Allan/Modric/McGinn

15-07-2018, 05:48 PM
Macron looks like he’s getting fired into the Croatian president. Maybe a bit on the young side for him.

He keen on older women like? She's 9 years older than him.

15-07-2018, 05:49 PM
I think the signing of Fred will help him J-C

Pogba showed in this World Cup he has the ability and potential to become one of the best CM in the world.

Ah yes I forgot he was signed right enough, with the world cup being on some signings have been forgotten about.

15-07-2018, 05:52 PM
Thanks, thought so.

Not many world cup winners played at Easter Road I am guessing, who would have thought that night we were watching a future world cup winner.

It was at Ewood park

GST1875
15-07-2018, 07:01 PM
Without wishing to start a flag debate that appears to be the equivalent of flying the Union Flag upside down. And the source isn't exactly even handed when pointing out human rights abuses closer to their home.

Yeah this is my interpretation, as in one form or the other it's been the coat of arms of Croatia since the middle ages. And there's certainly nothing in those articles that I see links a flag faux pa's to this likeable and inoffensive team. There's also something a bit telling about someone who immediately dislikes Real because of Franco liking them

15-07-2018, 07:09 PM
In a way kind of glad its done, too many countries in it now who are no more than cannon fodder there to bulk out the 4 weeks of competition.
4 weeks is too long.

It is way too long. All about the money.

I can see the day when big clubs decide they don’t want their players taking part in international football.

15-07-2018, 07:12 PM
He keen on older women like? She's 9 years older than him.

Much older. His wife is 25 years older than him. They met when he was 15 and she was his teacher!

15-07-2018, 07:24 PM
Much older. His wife is 25 years older than him. They met when he was 15 and she was his teacher!

Missed that one, wow!

15-07-2018, 07:25 PM
Croatian PM is FAF, norks are ace.

15-07-2018, 07:34 PM

She is a tad more attractive than Theresa May .....................................

15-07-2018, 07:39 PM

Norks :faf:

15-07-2018, 08:05 PM
[superfurryhibby;5466267]It is way too long. All about the money.

I can see the day when big clubs decide they don’t want their players taking part in international football.[/QUOTE]

Wouldnt surprise me if it happens in 2022

15-07-2018, 08:15 PM

She is a tad more attractive than Theresa May .....................................

...... but not as pretty as Angela Merkel. :cb

15-07-2018, 08:52 PM
[superfurryhibby;5466267]It is way too long. All about the money.

I can see the day when big clubs decide they don’t want their players taking part in international football.

Wouldnt surprise me if it happens in 2022[/QUOTE]

Yes, FIFA may well have made a serious misjudgement with that. Massive clubs don’t need international football.

15-07-2018, 08:56 PM
It's all a bit mental in Marseille right now!!

15-07-2018, 10:53 PM
...... but not as pretty as Angela Merkel. :cb

:sick:

15-07-2018, 10:58 PM
FIFA have rules in place that clubs must release players so they can object all they like. Players themselves would have to refuse to play for international team.

beensaidbefore
15-07-2018, 11:51 PM

Imagine it was a male teacher... Hung drawn & quartered.

16-07-2018, 01:23 AM
Best team won/they deserved it my erse. A lucky flick from a free kick that should never have been and a ropey penalty is all they did in the first half.

Croatia were the better team by far for a good 2/3 of that match and it’s tragic that their golden generation leave that tournament empty handed.

When teams like Leicester play like that over a period of time and win things you can appreciate it but France? One of the biggest footballing nations? Maybe Eden Hazard has a point.

16-07-2018, 01:42 AM

The one on the right isn’t the President. Apparently she keeps getting confused for two other people in bikini shots: a porn star (she’s the one in your photo) and Ice T’s wife. Not that I’ve been googling her or anything :wink:

16-07-2018, 08:21 AM
the one on the right isn’t the president. Apparently she keeps getting confused for two other people in bikini shots: A porn star (she’s the one in your photo) and ice t’s wife. Not that i’ve been oggling her or anything :wink:

ftfy

16-07-2018, 08:34 AM

Young Macron, his future wife and her (at that time) husband.

16-07-2018, 08:38 AM

He'd have been drawn and quartered wether he was hung or not.

16-07-2018, 10:30 AM
Best team won/they deserved it my erse. A lucky flick from a free kick that should never have been and a ropey penalty is all they did in the first half.

Croatia were the better team by far for a good 2/3 of that match and it’s tragic that their golden generation leave that tournament empty handed.

When teams like Leicester play like that over a period of time and win things you can appreciate it but France? One of the biggest footballing nations? Maybe Eden Hazard has a point.
They were 4-1 up in a world cup final after one of the hardest paths to a final ever, Argentina, Uruguay and Belgium. Definitely deserved it.

McIntosh
16-07-2018, 12:10 PM
Yeah this is my interpretation, as in one form or the other it's been the coat of arms of Croatia since the middle ages. And there's certainly nothing in those articles that I see links a flag faux pa's to this likeable and inoffensive team. There's also something a bit telling about someone who immediately dislikes Real because of Franco liking them it amazes me that you read the articles and could not or would not see that minorities who had been victims recognised the symbolism and objected to it. As for it being a bit telling about me, well it probably is .......I would never support a team which is strongly associated with sectarianism, racism, xenophobia and extreme right wing politics. Maybe I am just a more principled human being than you. By your logic you will be better supporting Rangers as they are surely a “likeable and inoffensive team”. :wink:

16-07-2018, 12:17 PM
it amazes me that you read the articles and could not or would not see that minorities who had been victims recognised the symbolism and objected to it. As for it being a bit telling about me, well it probably is .......I would never support a team which is strongly associated with sectarianism, racism, xenophobia and extreme right wing politics. Maybe I am just a more principled human being than you. By your logic you will be better supporting Rangers as they are surely a “likeable and inoffensive team”. :wink:

You probably aren't old enough..but did you support Scotland during the Thatcher years ?

16-07-2018, 12:41 PM
it amazes me that you read the articles and could not or would not see that minorities who had been victims recognised the symbolism and objected to it. As for it being a bit telling about me, well it probably is .......I would never support a team which is strongly associated with sectarianism, racism, xenophobia and extreme right wing politics. Maybe I am just a more principled human being than you. By your logic you will be better supporting Rangers as they are surely a “likeable and inoffensive team”. :wink:Did you consider the colonial and collaborative past of France when deciding who to support?

McIntosh
16-07-2018, 05:42 PM
You probably aren't old enough..but did you support Scotland during the Thatcher years ? You are very kind to me considering I am in my sixth decade but at no time during that period can I remember living in a fascist state, though the people in Northern Ireland who suffered internment without trial may disagree with that.

McIntosh
16-07-2018, 05:53 PM
Did you consider the colonial and collaborative past of France when deciding who to support?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk I considered liberty, equality and fraternity rather than the fascists symbols emblazoned on Croatia’s top. I am quite amazed by some of our fellow Hibs supporters who would quite rightly go nuts if Rangers decided to put 1690 on their top or brought out a Boyne special but yet turn a blind eye to the symbols of sectarian fascism.

16-07-2018, 05:56 PM
Thank God that’s all over. A decent French side beat a decent Croatia - they were no better than that.

A strange World Cup where overall the top teams under performed and the second and third tier sides, while improved, didn’t get to the levels ceded by the top teams. Exciting certainly, but a good bit below the standards of a number of previous World Cups in footballing terms.

Can’t remember many previous tournaments where there wasn’t at least one clear stand-out team but this one managed it. Curious considering how enjoyable the whole thing was overall.

16-07-2018, 05:57 PM
I considered liberty, equality and fraternity rather than the fascists symbols emblazoned on Croatia’s top. I am quite amazed by some of our fellow Hibs supporters who would quite rightly go nuts if Rangers decided to put 1690 on their top or brought out a Boyne special but yet turn a blind eye to the symbols of sectarian fascism.

Ya f***er, I just found a Jaffa Cake in the cupboard 😎

16-07-2018, 05:59 PM

Oh I don’t know

16-07-2018, 05:59 PM
Every country in the world will have something shameful in their bloody, gory, brutal past.

As long as there is blue in the Union flag, we Scots need to be mindful of what has been done in the past in the name of that flag.

Sometimes you need to forgive and move on. As far as I am aware there isn't much in present day Croatia that the current people of that country need to be ashamed of.

This is a crazy argument.

FWIW I have more than enough going on in my life to get bothered by the colour of the Sevco away strip.

16-07-2018, 06:01 PM

16-07-2018, 06:02 PM

That's down to personal taste.

And, of course, which Teresa May we happen to be talking about.

16-07-2018, 06:11 PM
Paul Pogba has nabbed a microphone and is currently leading a sing-song on the lawn of the French presidential residence. Pretty funny.

16-07-2018, 06:15 PM

She was married to Alistair Darling!?

16-07-2018, 06:31 PM
The Crest on Croatia's Flag is NOT a Fascist symbol, just a symbol adopted by fascists, as the Croatian crest, during WWII. It had already been in use simply as the symbol of Croatia for a long time before that.

This is really not like somebody using something like a Swastika on their Flag.

16-07-2018, 06:38 PM
FIFA have rules in place that clubs must release players so they can object all they like. Players themselves would have to refuse to play for international team.

I wonder if the big European clubs really need Fifa (Uefa)? There comes a tipping point and Qatar 2022 may just be the catalyst for that. What do the owners of Madrid, Man City, PSG, etc care about international football, not a lot I say. Players enjoy it, but when it comes to the crunch money talks and clubs pay the wages.

16-07-2018, 07:07 PM
The Crest on Croatia's Flag is NOT a Fascist symbol, just a symbol adopted by fascists, as the Croatian crest, during WWII. It had already been in use simply as the symbol of Croatia for a long time before that.

This is really not like somebody using something like a Swastika on their Flag.The swastika itself was not originally a Nazi symbol either. Rather a Hindu one which was appropriated in the same way as you're saying ( rightly) the Croatian one was.

16-07-2018, 07:09 PM

The swastika is now a tainted symbol due to the Nazis but was in fact a symbol of peace and divinity. It was used in Eurasian religious symbolism and Hitler used it as he believed that was where the true Arians originated from
Edit can't believe the world cup thread has taken this turn

houstonhibbee
16-07-2018, 07:16 PM
I wonder if the big European clubs really need Fifa (Uefa)? There comes a tipping point and Qatar 2022 may just be the catalyst for that. What do the owners of Madrid, Man City, PSG, etc care about international football, not a lot I say. Players enjoy it, but when it comes to the crunch money talks and clubs pay the wages.

When did "The World Cup" suddenly become the property of FIFA and become the pompously named "FIFA World Cup TM"???

16-07-2018, 07:21 PM
I considered liberty, equality and fraternity rather than the fascists symbols emblazoned on Croatia’s top. I am quite amazed by some of our fellow Hibs supporters who would quite rightly go nuts if Rangers decided to put 1690 on their top or brought out a Boyne special but yet turn a blind eye to the symbols of sectarian fascism.The Jews in France in the 40's, the Vietnamese in the 50's and the Algerians in the 60's might have a different view.

As has been said, scratch a little bit of every country's past and you will find something to be critical of.

beensaidbefore
16-07-2018, 09:25 PM

Wow. Little bit creepy.

beensaidbefore
16-07-2018, 09:25 PM
He'd have been drawn and quartered wether he was hung or not.

😂😂

16-07-2018, 09:35 PM
Ya f***er, I just found a Jaffa Cake in the cupboard [emoji41][emoji23]

Any good?

16-07-2018, 10:05 PM
I watched the final in a campsite in France. They had public viewing but the picture was so ***** I went back to the caravan to watch it. I watched it on german TV via satellite that was about 45 seconds ahead of the French transmission. Every time a goal was scored my wee boy would run out and start celebrating and the French were wondering wtf was going on. After they cottoned on to what was happening most of them came over to my gaff and brought their tipple with them. Great day and one for the wee man's memory bank.

17-07-2018, 10:08 PM
I just watched a superb 2 1/2 hour documentary of France's World Cup campaign from their last warm-up friendlies to the final itself. The camera followed them everywhere - hotels, training, pre match team talks, post match debriefings and the changing room itself.

A few things stood out.

Unbelievable team spirit. No prima donnas or bigheadedness - everything was about looking out for the guy next to you.

Deschamps is a class act. Immediately after their first match (Australia) he congratulated the players without going over the top then ripped them a new one at the debriefing the following day, but without raising his voice once. He also included himself in criticism where appropriate.

Paul Pogba - what a guy to have in the changing room. Lloris might be captain but it was Pogba who did all the motivational speeches, some of which will no doubt be quoted for years to come.

In the changing room after the final, Deschamps gathered the squad round him and said - "In the days, months and years to come you'll all go your own ways, but there's one thing that will always tie you together - this (the trophy in his hand). But one thing's certain, you'll be changed men when you wake up tomorrow, because you're WORLD CHAMPIONS (the only time he raised his voice).

I was nearly greeting.

17-07-2018, 10:18 PM
I just watched a superb 2 1/2 hour documentary of France's World Cup campaign from their last warm-up friendlies to the final itself. The camera followed them everywhere - hotels, training, pre match team talks, post match debriefings and the changing room itself.

A few things stood out.

Unbelievable team spirit. No prima donnas or bigheadedness - everything was about looking out for the guy next to you.

Deschamps is a class act. Immediately after their first match (Australia) he congratulated the players without going over the top then ripped them a new one at the debriefing the following day, but without raising his voice once. He also included himself in criticism where appropriate.

Paul Pogba - what a guy to have in the changing room. Lloris might be captain but it was Pogba who did all the motivational speeches, some of which will no doubt be quoted for years to come.

In the changing room after the final, Deschamps gathered the squad round him and said - "In the days, months and years to come you'll all go your own ways, but there's one thing that will always tie you together - this (the trophy in his hand). But one thing's certain, you'll be changed men when you wake up tomorrow, because you're WORLD CHAMPIONS (the only time he raised his voice).

I was nearly greeting.

That sounds amazing.

I wish I could watch that in English.

17-07-2018, 11:12 PM
Pogba's pre final speech.

"Guys... I don't want to say too much. We all know where we are, we all know what we want. We all know what we've been through to get here.

We know. In our hearts, in our eyes, we're focused.

Guys, don't forget, I'm maybe going to repeat myself, we're 90 minutes from possibly making history. 90 minutes! One match!

We've played I don't know how many matches in our lives, but this is a match that changes everything, it changes history.

There are two teams, there's one cup. They're the same. They want it. We already lost a final, we know, it still hurts. Today we're not going to let another team take what's ours.

I want that tonight we'll be in the memory of all French people who watch. Their children, their grandchildren and even their great-grandchildren. Today we're 90 minutes from entering history forever. Forever guys!

Looking at you now I'm not going to shout. I want us to enter the pitch as leaders, as warriors. And after, I want to see tears, not tears of sadness but tears of joy while hugging/kissing each other on the pitch.

(I reckon he pinched from SDG)

17-07-2018, 11:21 PM

A few things stood out.

I was nearly greeting.

What was the title of the documentary and do you know if there was subtitles - I'd absolutely love to watch it ??

17-07-2018, 11:52 PM
What was the title of the documentary and do you know if there was subtitles - I'd absolutely love to watch it ??It's called "Les Bleus 2018 - au cœur de l'épopée russe"

It's in 2 parts that they showed one after the other tonight on TF1, the French equivalent of ITV.

I'd be very surprised if it doesn't appear on the web as it's a great watch for any football fan.

18-07-2018, 12:08 AM
It's called "Les Bleus 2018 - au cœur de l'épopée russe"

It's in 2 parts that they showed one after the other tonight on TF1, the French equivalent of ITV.

I'd be very surprised if it doesn't appear on the web as it's a great watch for any football fan.

Cheers mate - haven't found anything yet but did find this piece of info -

'Amazon has acquired second-window rights in France from July 20 and first-window rights in the rest of the world. The show will be available to stream on Amazon internationally from October 1, except in Brazil where it will be released on January 1'

I'll look out for it !

18-07-2018, 12:34 AM
Cheers mate - haven't found anything yet but did find this piece of info -

'Amazon has acquired second-window rights in France from July 20 and first-window rights in the rest of the world. The show will be available to stream on Amazon internationally from October 1, except in Brazil where it will be released on January 1'

I'll look out for it !

Looking forward to watching this.

18-07-2018, 06:41 AM
Looking forward to watching this.

I'll only be interested if Lawrenson is doing the English language version.

Brunswickbill
18-07-2018, 06:53 AM
Does it show Griezmann practising his dive? And does if interview the ref and congratulate him on handing Les Bleus a two goal start? I was scunnered by the by the dive and the penalty award.

18-07-2018, 06:54 AM
I'll only be interested if Lawrenson is doing the English language version.

I’d have to sadly give it a miss if that were the case!

18-07-2018, 12:35 PM

A few things stood out.

I was nearly greeting.

I'm gripped just from reading your post about it. Hope I can get my hands (or rather my eyes) on this :aok:

18-07-2018, 12:49 PM

There is a subtlety I think being missed about the Croat flag. The current Croatian flag is this:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/1b/Flag_of_Croatia.svg/2000px-Flag_of_Croatia.svg.png

The nazi-era one looked like this:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c7/Flag_of_Independent_State_of_Croatia.svg

Note the pattern of the red and white checks has been inverted.

So apparently you can show support for historical facism by using a flag with a white check at the top left.

18-07-2018, 01:03 PM
There is a subtlety I think being missed about the Croat flag.

Note the pattern of the red and white checks has been inverted.

So apparently you can show support for historical facism by using a flag with a white check at the top left.

Only in some people's minds.

The elephant in the room of course that the one true fascist dictator involved in the final was in the stands and called Putin.

18-07-2018, 01:18 PM
I'm gripped just from reading your post about it. Hope I can get my hands (or rather my eyes) on this :aok:

there is a man utd page on twitter showing it, manutdupdate i think its called

GST1875
18-07-2018, 01:36 PM
it amazes me that you read the articles and could not or would not see that minorities who had been victims recognised the symbolism and objected to it. As for it being a bit telling about me, well it probably is .......I would never support a team which is strongly associated with sectarianism, racism, xenophobia and extreme right wing politics. Maybe I am just a more principled human being than you. By your logic you will be better supporting Rangers as they are surely a “likeable and inoffensive team”. :wink:

So I read this this morning and honestly, it´s laughable pal. The two articles you linked to are:

1. There is a serious problem with the correct rememberance of the holocaust, and Croatia´s place in it, in the Croatian state. This is lamentable, and must be tackled by people there. However, the development of commemoration there cannot be compared to other, more noted countries with similar legacies, as Croatia became an independent nation state in 1991. Germany did too, I suppose, but her constant occupation by the Allies post-war somewhat skews this.

2. The Croatian President posed with a version of the Croatian flag including a version of the Croatian crest (with a change in the order of the chequers) which was adopted by the Fascist puppet state of Croatia under Nazi Germany. This puppet state committed various awful atrocities, in the opinion of some surpassing the ferocity and savagery of the Nazis themselves.

The president shrugged off the event, saying there was nothing controversial about it. By your aggressive tone I assume you think this is nonsense, but what proof do you have otherwise? Is it not just as likely that she posed for the photograph without checking the exact version of the crest used and misjudged her response when it was brought up to her? Well we can look at her record. Yes, there is an issue with Croatian nationalist identity, and the associations with the WWII puppet state. But equally, when a petition was raised to include elements of this previous regime in the military, she dismissed it out of hand as ´frivolous, unacceptable and provocative´. She makes a clear distinction that Croatia has it´s foundations in the War of Independence in the 90s, and that the Ustase was a criminal regime. Equally, while her government´s reaction to the migrant crisis was mixed, it was noted as being extremely humane, and much must be considered in the context of the actions of many neighbours, most notably the entrance to the EU in Slovenia. She is also in favour of abortion and a legal status equivalent to marriage for LGBT couples, despite being a Roman Catholic. She should certainly have reacted differently, of course. I don´t know enough about her to judge her fully, but on the balance of what you´ve presented as evidence and what reading I´ve managed to do in 20 minutes, I´m honestly inclined to disagree with you that this is part of a sinister plot to create a fascist state in modern Croatia. This would be backed up by the time, albeit limited, that I have spent there.

Your choice of source (never good form to exclusively use 1, by the way) is valid and of quality, but likely to have a (correctly and understandably) sensitive view of these issues.

Others have gone into the problem of judging sports teams by the connotations raised by the flag of their nation or their colours, especially if those flags have been previously co-opted by fascist or nationalist regimes. So would we condemn the French if their colours represented the tricolor? It is, after all, a small adaptation away from the flag of Vichy France. So would we condemn the Italians if their jersey was red white and green? It is, after all, a small adaptation away from the flag of Mussolini´s Italy. So would we condemn the Spanish if their colours represented the Spanish flag? It is, after all, a small adaptation away from the flag of Franco´s Spain.

The answer is of course we wouldn´t/don´t. And before you point out it is about the current government policy, you´ve not succesfully linked that the Croatian government or society is proactively fascist or nostalgic for fascism in a way that couldn´t be easily suggested by two selective articles covering France, Italy or Spain. The difference between all of these cases and the swastika is so basic it doesn´t need to be covered.

So, "I would never support a team which is strongly associated with sectarianism, racism, xenophobia and extreme right wing politics." Good for you, well done! But you´ve not shown that the Croatian Government, let alone the FOOTBALL team, is strongly associated to this in any way. Maybe, unless sports people or teams explicitly express a political opinion, we shouldn´t apply those to them.

Finally, you´ve said previously that your in your 6th decade so here´s a wee tip for you. If you make a point and someone asks you to elaborate, and then disagrees with you, not always best to assume that they´re bad and wrong. Maybe they have a different perspective, or you have knowledge that they don´t that you could share, maybe you could change their mind. But if you say that you´re more principled than someone, it doesn´t make you seem so. It makes you look pompous, arrogant and frankly a bit silly. Especially when you´ve never spoken to someone before and all you know about them or their beliefs is that they disagree with you on a single issue. Just to bear in mind for the future.

Happy to carry on if you have some other info to send as a PM, I'm happy to be openminded. But don´t think we should hijack the WC thread for it anymore.