View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread
28-06-2018, 07:48 PM
Yeah but your just stating what you want to happen where as I am looking at it realistically. England can beat Columbia and Japan or they could lose to both of them. Everyone always looks at a possible path to the final in any sport where the draw is set out and hopes they can get what looks like on paper the overall easiest route. That's all I'm saying.
You surely have to look at it on a game by game basis. The only round that, on paper, would be easier for England if they finish 2nd in the group is the quarter finals where they would play Sweden or Switzerland as opposed to Brazil or Mexico.
In the semi finals, England would probably face Spain, if they finish 2nd in the group and finishing top would probably give them France or Portugal in the semis.
Mon the Colombians.
Nah. Maurice Johnston will be the scorer you hate in that game.
I was there.
I hate them both.
Nah. Maurice Johnston will be the scorer you hate in that game.
Stuart McCall with full mullet. Which to be fair I think he still has.
28-06-2018, 07:49 PM
The Springbank distillery is brilliant if you’re ever down that way. Wee independent place, no corporate bull****, still has a floor malting. And the product’s not bad either.
It's miles and away my favourite. Would love the chance to visit it.
Can anyone tell me why I hate him? There was a reason but I can't remember it. Did he score against us in Italy?
He regularly parks in supermarket disabled or parent-and-child spaces even when it's just him himself nipping in for a king-size Toblerone :dunno:
The Springbank distillery is brilliant if you’re ever down that way. Wee independent place, no corporate bull****, still has a floor malting. And the product’s not bad either.
Laphroaig has a floor malting, I think.
28-06-2018, 07:50 PM
I was there.
I hate them both.
:rotflmao:
England won’t be too miffed at getting second place but I think that it could backfire on them. Weakened teams aside, the psychological advantage is with Belgium going through as group leaders and England being not good enough to do it. For me tho’, one thing is certain, neither will feature in the final.
You can imagine Nade just thinking '**** it, I'll eat him and then I've eaten him plus everything he's already eaten'.
It's a classic clash of styles. Nade has the height and the bulk. Brolin has the (very) low centre of gravity and nimble, if somewhat chubby fingers.
28-06-2018, 07:52 PM
Oh dear, not all going to plan now is it 😊
Looking forward to hearing Wright and Co now. GIRFUY
28-06-2018, 07:53 PM
Columbia my favourite Oasis song. It's written in the stars 😉
28-06-2018, 07:53 PM
You're getting confused, not for the first time.
No confusion and yes, it would be the first time big boy. There is only one immediately disagreeable goal scorer in that game you quoted, as far as I can see. Not wee Thomas either.
28-06-2018, 07:54 PM
England won’t be too miffed at getting second place but I think that it could backfire on them. Weakened teams aside, the psychological advantage is with Belgium going through as group leaders and England being not good enough to do it. For me tho’, one thing is certain, neither will feature in the final.
They'd rather have faced Japan than Columbia. Absolutely no doubt about it. Columbia are a real good side.
Well that is 2 hours of my life I will not get back. Think the only thing to come out of that game is confirmation that, without Kane, England are not very able.
It's miles and away my favourite. Would love the chance to visit it.
I think they do tours now. You used to just ring them and someone would show you round. Kintyre’s a beautiful part of the world.
Belgium are scared of no-one.
If you're going to win it, you've got to beat the best.
Hiding from the draw, although I understand it, reveals a fear.
TBF, England tried to score too. I'm really looking forward to the knock out stage.
It's been a cracking world cup so far. I hope it continues like this.
28-06-2018, 07:55 PM
Well that is 2 hours of my life I will not get back. Think the only thing to come out of that game is confirmation that, without Kane, England are not very able.
Nor are some of their other young "superstars" we keep hearing about.
28-06-2018, 07:56 PM
Tunisia hang on, 2-1 ft
I don’t think they’ve got a decent goalie either, looks too wee for international football
He regularly parks in supermarket disabled or parent-and-child spaces even when it's just him himself nipping in for a king-size Toblerone :dunno:
That's good. Mix up of Swiss and Swede perhaps but, hey, it's the World Cup.
28-06-2018, 07:57 PM
Love how the English media already playing this game down. Had they won, they'd have been in another orbit.
28-06-2018, 07:58 PM
I don’t think they’ve got a decent goalie either, looks too wee for international football
And he plays for a guff team.
Hibs1972
Decent bet on Belgium before game and bet them again at half time sky bet had England 13-8 and Belgium 100-30,get in!
All we know is Belgium reserves are better.
28-06-2018, 08:00 PM
He's not part Korean is he?
28-06-2018, 08:01 PM
Colombia will see off England with no problems. Then maybe we will get some unbiased tv coverage of the world cup
28-06-2018, 08:01 PM
imagine being so happy they lost :confused:
28-06-2018, 08:02 PM
They'd rather have faced Japan than Columbia. Absolutely no doubt about it. Columbia are a real good side.
Aye they looked fantastic.
28-06-2018, 08:03 PM
🤣
28-06-2018, 08:05 PM
No confusion and yes, it would be the first time big boy. There is only one immediately disagreeable goal scorer in that game you quoted, as far as I can see. Not wee Thomas either.
ach, he's just misunderstood
28-06-2018, 08:06 PM
Gary's just rattled through 20 - 30 years of **** ups in an effort to rally those back home. He was in a lot iof those too. I can see how it worked out at Valencia for the lad.
28-06-2018, 08:08 PM
Nor are some of their other young "superstars" we keep hearing about.
Easy trigger, you're gonna shoot your bolt before the main event.
28-06-2018, 08:10 PM
****! No games tomorrow. Kind of pishy schedule is that?
28-06-2018, 08:10 PM
That betting advert with Stuart Pearce is by a long way the worst of a very, very bad bunch.
28-06-2018, 08:11 PM
****! No games tomorrow. Kind of pishy schedule is that?
WTF? Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo o.
I'm kind of addicted now. When's the next fix?
28-06-2018, 08:11 PM
Got Columbia in the sweep so hope they win.:greengrin Penalties would be nice.
28-06-2018, 08:12 PM
Colombia will see off England with no problems. Then maybe we will get some unbiased tv coverage of the world cup
Are you at the lash? Columbia might not be mugs but they wont see off England with ease as you put, it will be a very different starting 11 for England on Tuesday. I expect a tight game perhaps another penalty shootout on the cards.
CorrieHibs
28-06-2018, 08:12 PM
Very good side.
Although, James is a big miss. If he doesn’t recover. Didn’t look too good for him.
28-06-2018, 08:13 PM
Neville and Wright between them are ruining casual shirts for me.
28-06-2018, 08:13 PM
WTF? Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo o.
I'm kind of addicted now. When's the next fix?
Argies - France. Saturday at 3
28-06-2018, 08:14 PM
So it was a friendly v Belgium now according to Lee Dixon. Arrogant prick.
28-06-2018, 08:14 PM
Argies - France. Saturday at 3
"France being French"/ WTF?
England Argentina would have been much, much saucier.
28-06-2018, 08:15 PM
Not so sure about arrogance, it was essentially their reserve teams playing. Snore-fest really.
City fan as well, born and bred.
"France being French"/ WTF?
England Argentina would have been much, much saucier.
The game where Becks got sent off is one of the all time classics.
28-06-2018, 08:16 PM
Crying shame Italy and Scotland didn't make it to this tournament. With everything we've seen so far who knows what might have been possible?
28-06-2018, 08:17 PM
Hope James Rodriguez is fully recovered and fit for Tuesday night otherwise, I think England could slightly edge it unfortunately. He makes Columbia tick and you could see how poor they looked when he went off injured today against Senegal.
28-06-2018, 08:17 PM
Dixon called it a friendly ??? What a complete bellend
28-06-2018, 08:18 PM
The game where Becks got sent off is one of the all time classics.
An absolute belter. Still don't understand how that generation of England team didn't do a lot better.
28-06-2018, 08:19 PM
Dixon called it a friendly ??? What a complete bellend
It pretty much was though.
28-06-2018, 08:21 PM
Crying shame Italy and Scotland didn't make it to this tournament. With everything we've seen so far who knows what might have been possible?
If we’d got the group England got, even Scotland would have qualified
28-06-2018, 08:22 PM
Aye, if we’d been in it Panama might have got a win
28-06-2018, 08:22 PM
It pretty much wasn't
28-06-2018, 08:25 PM
If we’d got the group England got, even Scotland would have qualified
When I was a lot younger I wanted to see three things in my lifetime. Labour winning a general election (this was under Thatcher), Hibs winning the Scottish Cup and Scotland getting past the group stages of a World Cup.
I'm 53 now and honestly I'd settle for just qualifying again. But there's a One Day Soon part of me that thinks maybe I will see qualification and progression past the group stage...
28-06-2018, 08:27 PM
It pretty much wasn't
Eight changes in each side but sure, it was their best teams going all out to win...
28-06-2018, 08:29 PM
Aye, if we’d been in it Panama might have got a win
We'd have lost to Panama, drawn with Tunisia and somehow ridiculously beaten England. And then gone out on yellow card difference. Leigh Griffiths would have been red carded in the final match for a series of effortless procreational offences.
28-06-2018, 08:31 PM
Eight changes in each side but sure, it was their best teams going all out to win...
No it wasn't , Harry Kane in the team would be them going all out to win.
The truth is Gareth Southgate was Relaxed about winning this game as they are now in different draw from Brazil.
28-06-2018, 08:33 PM
So you are saying England didn’t try. Surely that is not in the spirit of the game. So did they effectively throw the match by not trying hard ?
28-06-2018, 08:38 PM
Don’t confuse the issue with each team wanting to lose. England failed tonight. As mentioned earlier, fud-face Piers Morgan is on, pontificating about England trying their hardest to lose and that they should have been trying to win. They were trying to win ya tosser and they will get their come-uppence when their best team come up against decent teams. Mind you, I’m a bit of a tosser myself, watching and commenting on a programme hosted by a total nonentity. :greengrin
28-06-2018, 08:39 PM
So you are saying England didn’t try. Surely that is not in the spirit of the game. So did they effectively throw the match by not trying hard ?
Both countries put out what were effectively reserve teams in a game they would both be happy to lose but would live with winning. They were both through already, were thinking about yellow cards and injuries and did not treat this as a must-win game. That's why it was a boring game.
28-06-2018, 08:47 PM
Loving the differing options on the result of this game. Gotta love a World Cup when England is the main topic for the Scottish folk. 😂
Long may the analysis of England continue on .net
28-06-2018, 08:47 PM
Both countries put out what were effectively reserve teams in a game they would both be happy to lose but would live with winning. They were both through already, were thinking about yellow cards and injuries and did not treat this as a must-win game. That's why it was a boring game.
Thing is , Belgium will beat Japan..England to beat Colombia ? OOFTTT no sure like ...Hopefully the bigger picture England are looking at comes to bite them in the erse.....Columbia are more than capable of beating the English
28-06-2018, 08:48 PM
Who is this Columbia everyone keeps talking about?
Colombia will give England a game but unless James is fit it's unlikely they score enough to win the match.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
28-06-2018, 08:51 PM
Loving the differing options on the result of this game. Gotta love a World Cup when England is the main topic for the Scottish folk. 😂
Long may the analysis of England continue on .net
Are you not seeing all the other analysis of the better teams? :greengrin
28-06-2018, 08:56 PM
Thing is , Belgium will beat Japan..England to beat Colombia ? OOFTTT no sure like ...Hopefully the bigger picture England are looking at comes to bite them in the erse.....Columbia are more than capable of beating the English
They are, but I have a feeling England will win that one. Anyway, back to games people want to/have to win in the knockout stages. Can't wait for Saturday.
28-06-2018, 09:08 PM
Haven't watched a single game from start to finish so that clearly qualifies me to talk with great authority about the knock out stage.Uruguay will win the Cup.Full of typical South American footballers prepared to give anyone who comes into their half a good kicking.A throwback to football played in the right spirit.
28-06-2018, 09:13 PM
Are you not seeing all the other analysis of the better teams? :greengrin
I haven't seen any better teams 😁
28-06-2018, 09:15 PM
An absolute belter. Still don't understand how that generation of England team didn't do a lot better.
Good side but I always felt Steve McManaman didn't get the caps he should have. I think his style of play was out of sync with what Hoddle and Eriksson were looking for, despite the fact he was good enough to play for Real at the height of the galacticos period and win two European Cups.
28-06-2018, 09:16 PM
I haven't seen any better teams 😁
Reckon 2-1 Colombia on Tuesday. :wink:
28-06-2018, 09:19 PM
Reckon 2-1 Colombia on Tuesday. :wink:
Good shout SDG, what does everyone predict for that game? I'll go 2-0 England.
28-06-2018, 09:26 PM
The media seem to have forgotten England were excellent for 20 minutes against Tunisia, they then scrapped an injury time winner. They got a good win against a very poor Side. They are not world beaters but a decent well organised team with a goal scorer who has managed 3 penalties in his 5 goals. In addition they are a threat at set pieces. Columbia had their star player sent off after 3 minutes of the game against Japan and then went on to win their other 2 games againstbetter opposition than England have faced. Not an easy game. Could go to penalties.
28-06-2018, 09:32 PM
England to take an early lead. Colombia to equalise early in the second half then take the lead in 85 minutes. England go all out for an equaliser but concede another in time added on. Piers Morgan to self-combust in front of the nation.
28-06-2018, 09:33 PM
England to take an early lead. Colombia to equalise early in the second half then take the lead in 85 minutes. England go all out for an equaliser but concede another in time added on. Piers Morgan to self- combust in front of the nation.
:hyper
29-06-2018, 01:46 AM
https://youtu.be/8U22V9FOaxo
cocteautwin
29-06-2018, 02:04 AM
If they get past Colombia they'll get a pumping from Sweden in the quarters.
29-06-2018, 02:17 AM
Come on Croatia. This world cup has a new winner I feel.
29-06-2018, 05:06 AM
If they get past Colombia they'll get a pumping from Sweden in the quarters.
😂 and then if....... oh the desperation.
29-06-2018, 05:53 AM
😂 and then if....... oh the desperation.
I agree it is a bit desperate.
Having said that are you as likely to write (world ranked 6th) Switzerland off as easily as those on this thread?
29-06-2018, 06:06 AM
I agree it is a bit desperate.
Having said that are you as likely to write (world ranked 6th) Switzerland off as easily as those on this thread?
I don't pay much notice to rankings as they are easily achieved dependant on games played, friendlies etc. I'm not ready to write anyone off as there really doesn't seem to be that much between a lot of the teams I have seen so far. Even the perceived easier side of the draw is really just that. England will no doubt lose as I can't see them winning it, I look forward to reading on here how they will get pumped in tbeir next game or the one after that or......
29-06-2018, 06:08 AM
Neville is right England have a huge opportunity to get to semi finals. Columbia and Sweden or Switzerland are very winnable for all the teams concerned.
29-06-2018, 06:34 AM
Neville is right England have a huge opportunity to get to semi finals. Columbia and Sweden or Switzerland are very winnable for all the teams concerned.
I think Colombia will be an interesting game. They've been my outside choice for the tournament since the start. A lot could depend on Rodriguez being fit though.
Mentality for both sides knowing England weren't that fussed about winning because they were happy to play Colombia next also adds an extra dimension to it.
Overall though, given its the world cup, it's about as good a potential route as you could want.
29-06-2018, 07:10 AM
Come on Croatia. This world cup has a new winner I feel.
It’s been a strange WC. Really enjoyed it but not one of the big teams has impressed me. Croatia have looked very good and I’d fancy their chances against any of the big teams. I only seen Colombia in their second game but again, they looked impressive. Would be good to see a new winner.
29-06-2018, 07:32 AM
Feeling quite pleased with myself.
I posted after the first Germany game that they had relied to much on their old guard and had no pace in the team. Some others posted much the same.
Along came the experts (haven't looked back to see who they were) to tell us that we would have egg on our faces as the German team were running out for the semi final because the Germans always reach the later stages.
Well, Germany are out and I am feeling quite justified in making my post.
Opinions, it what's make this such a good site to be a mamber of.
29-06-2018, 07:54 AM
I don't pay much notice to rankings as they are easily achieved dependant on games played, friendlies etc. I'm not ready to write anyone off as there really doesn't seem to be that much between a lot of the teams I have seen so far. Even the perceived easier side of the draw is really just that. England will no doubt lose as I can't see them winning it, I look forward to reading on here how they will get pumped in tbeir next game or the one after that or......
As an England fan you are obviously entitled to see the positives and hope for the best.
But don’t confuse ABE with a more impartial look at things.
England have a decent first 11 but the squad looks weak, with few genuine options on the bench, just inferior alternatives to the first team.
Will be a fascinating game v Colombia.
29-06-2018, 08:03 AM
As an England fan you are obviously entitled to see the positives and hope for the best.
England have a decent first 11 but the squad looks weak, with few genuine options on the bench, just inferior alternatives to the first team.
I'm not confusing anything, I have long since sussed the posters who are commenting on the actual merits of the teams as opposed to those who are just ABE merchants. There's a decent balance of both on here.
29-06-2018, 08:44 AM
I think Colombia will be an interesting game. They've been my outside choice for the tournament since the start. A lot could depend on Rodriguez being fit though.
Mentality for both sides knowing England weren't that fussed about winning because they were happy to play Colombia next also adds an extra dimension to it.
Overall though, given its the world cup, it's about as good a potential route as you could want.
Columbia looked poor yesterday though to be fair Senegal could consider themselves unlucky and would be a test for any team in the tournament. Will be tight but would think England would edge it given better firepower. Sweden or Switzerland is a toss of a coin as would a quarter final against either Columbia or England. It has opened up for England however it has for all the teams on that side of the draw including Spain and Croatia.
Here is a good link for the knockout stages.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/world-cup/schedule/knockout-stage
29-06-2018, 08:53 AM
From what I saw of the game yesterday that is pretty much spot on, maybe they made too many changes and expected it to work?
There are a few options good at coming off the bench but relying on Delph, Dier, Rashford and Vardy from the start of a game is a problem, though Rashford seems to work well as an impact player later into the game. They looked very disjointed middle to front and lacked someone to join it all up.
Goalkeeper still seems to be an issue...
29-06-2018, 08:55 AM
From what I saw of the game yesterday that is pretty much spot on, maybe they made too many changes and expected it to work?
There are a few options good at coming off the bench but relying on Delph, Dier, Rashford and Vardy from the start of a game is a problem, though Rashford seems to work well as an impact player later into the game. They looked very disjointed middle to front and lacked someone to join it all up.
Goalkeeper still seems to be an issue...
Goalkeeper has been okay so far. The Belgium goal was just a good goal.
29-06-2018, 08:59 AM
Goalkeeper has been okay so far. The Belgium goal was just a good goal.
He has the tendency to put the ball back into the danger area following a save rather than getting it away, not a great deal between any of the English keepers but certainly not as strong as I would like.
29-06-2018, 09:04 AM
He has the tendency to put the ball back into the danger area following a save rather than getting it away, not a great deal between any of the English keepers but certainly not as strong as I would like.
Agree Hoddle seemed to be quite critical of him. He is good but a wee bit up and down however his distribution can be amazing from foot. Butland possibly a more safer option however not overly convinced by him either since he came back from injury.
29-06-2018, 10:45 AM
Agree Hoddle seemed to be quite critical of him. He is good but a wee bit up and down however his distribution can be amazing from foot. Butland possibly a more safer option however not overly convinced by him either since he came back from injury.
I listen to Glenn Hoddle about nothing, but definitely not about goalkeepers. I wish they'd get someone who played the position to be a pundit, David James was OK.
England just dont have a standout at the position. Statistically the best is Nick Pope, but obviously he has no significant big game experience. But then again, neither do Butland or Pickford. Pickfords best attribute is he's emotionally bombproof, you never see his head go down.
29-06-2018, 10:49 AM
I'm not confusing anything, I have long since sussed the posters who are commenting on the actual merits of the teams as opposed to those who are just ABE merchants. There's a decent balance of both on here.
29-06-2018, 10:50 AM
Pickford is great. He boots it miles down the park.
I reckon it makes no difference what side of the draw England are in. There's not much between any of the teams at this tournament. They can make the semis but no further IMO.
29-06-2018, 10:51 AM
I would have picked Butland myself, I've never been convinced by Pickford, and stated on the thread when he signed for Everton that I thought that £30M was a ridiculous fee, even in today's market.
Nick Pope had the best season of them all, but I can understand why he wasn't thrown in.
29-06-2018, 11:10 AM
I reckon it makes no difference what side of the draw England are in. There's not much between any of the teams at this tournament. They can make the semis but no further IMO.
His longer kicking is amazing which probably helped when Allardyce was the Everton manager. :greengrin
It is some of his more basic goalkeeping tasks I am not hugely convinced by.
29-06-2018, 11:11 AM
I listen to Glenn Hoddle about nothing, but definitely not about goalkeepers. I wish they'd get someone who played the position to be a pundit, David James was OK.
England just dont have a standout at the position. Statistically the best is Nick Pope, but obviously he has no significant big game experience. But then again, neither do Butland or Pickford. Pickfords best attribute is he's emotionally bombproof, you never see his head go down.
Agree seems to have huge self confidence.
29-06-2018, 06:00 PM
African teams have suffered their worst world cup for 36 years, i remember myself declaring 20 years ago that an African country would win the world cup within the next 20 years....that ain't gonna be happening for at least another 20 years now :hmmm: imo
29-06-2018, 06:07 PM
It's been interesting to hear the joy coming from south of the border re the South Korean result showing there must have been a strong undertone of ABG there. :greengrin
But that's okay. It's because of the war and all that - oops sorry, don't mention the war. :shhhsh!:
29-06-2018, 07:40 PM
It's been interesting to hear the joy coming from south of the border re the South Korean result showing there must have been a strong undertone of ABG there. :greengrin
But that's okay. It's because of the war and all that - oops sorry, don't mention the war. :shhhsh!:
We consider them one of our biggest rivals at WC's. We needed to have a rival that regularly qualified.
29-06-2018, 07:53 PM
African teams have suffered their worst world cup for 36 years, i remember myself declaring 20 years ago that an African country would win the world cup within the next 20 years....that ain't gonna be happening for at least another 20 years now :hmmm: imo
It’s great to look back at predictions.I remember coming out of Hampden in 1966 after we’d lost to England in a match that could have gone either way and telling anyone that would listen that “they’ll never win the World Cup,be lucky to win a game”.
29-06-2018, 11:16 PM
Gary Neville the england player was outspoken at press criticism yet he now does same. In a tournament I've never got why press single players team system out. Should be all for 1.
30-06-2018, 05:52 AM
No idea why but a sneaky feeling Messi will drag Argentina into the quarter finals. Their defence is utterly woeful though so will need to out score France. Also fancy Uruguay. Can see Portugal struggling to break them down and ronaldo's bottle crashing
30-06-2018, 07:34 AM
We consider them one of our biggest rivals at WC's. We needed to have a rival that regularly qualified.
Germany at the World Cup;
Tournaments - 19 (out of 21)
Winners - 4 times
Runners up - 4 times
Third place - 4 times
Fourth place - Once
13 out of 19 times Germany have reached at least the semi finals. The last time they did it was 4 years ago when they won it.
England at the World Cup;
Tournaments - 15 (out of 21)
Winners - Once
Runners up - Never
Third place - Never
Fourth place - Once
Twice out of the previous 14 times England have reached at least the semi finals. The last time they did it was nearly 30 years ago.
It's not much of a rivalry now, is it? :wink:
CorrieHibs
30-06-2018, 07:46 AM
Winners - 4 times
Runners up - 4 times
Third place - 4 times
Fourth place - Once
13 out of 19 times Germany have reached at least the semi finals. The last time they did it was 4 years ago when they won it.
Winners - Once
Runners up - Never
Third place - Never
Fourth place - Once
Twice out of the previous 14 times England have reached at least the semi finals. The last time they did it was nearly 30 years ago.
It’s a bit like when hearts claimed that Hibs were no longer their rivals and it was now Celtic lol
30-06-2018, 07:53 AM
It’s a bit like when hearts claimed that Hibs were no longer their rivals and it was now Celtic lol
I'm thinking more along the lines of Queen's Park/Celtic, Tranmere/Liverpool, Brentford/Chelsea or Espanyol/Barcelona. :greengrin
30-06-2018, 08:45 AM
Yeah it's a bit embarrassing that England claim Germany / Argentina / France are their rivals, they are very much 2nd / 3rd tier, QF at best material.
30-06-2018, 09:05 AM
His longer kicking is amazing which probably helped when Allardyce was the Everton manager. :greengrin
It is some of his more basic goalkeeping tasks I am not hugely convinced by.
Well, I think we've seen in recent weeks that no goalie is perfect!
30-06-2018, 09:51 AM
If England reach the semis then all bets are off.
They’ve not been there since 1990.
30-06-2018, 01:10 PM
Winners - 4 times
Runners up - 4 times
Third place - 4 times
Fourth place - Once
Winners - Once
Runners up - Never
Third place - Never
Fourth place - Once
Christ, on that basis who are our rivals then? :confused:
30-06-2018, 01:14 PM
El Salvador
30-06-2018, 01:19 PM
Probably Northern Ireland or Wales would be a decent comparison despite their recent success at Euro 2016.
30-06-2018, 01:38 PM
Think both France & Uruguay will win. Will be close, probably a one goal winning margin will do it
30-06-2018, 01:58 PM
Two of the heavyweights meeting in the national anthem competition today. A narrow win for the Argentinians imo, if their team was as good as the fans they'd be in better shape.
30-06-2018, 02:01 PM
Can we have a sweep on the time of the first shot of Maradona?
30-06-2018, 02:11 PM
That is idiotic defending.
30-06-2018, 02:11 PM
Absolute definite penalty that.
30-06-2018, 02:12 PM
That is idiotic defending.
:agree: Could've just run him to the line. Daft.
30-06-2018, 02:14 PM
:agree: Could've just run him to the line. Daft.
Just said exactly the same to the Mrs. Stupid foul.
30-06-2018, 02:19 PM
And again. What a shambles.
30-06-2018, 02:21 PM
Just said exactly the same to the Mrs. Stupid foul.
She lets you call her Mrs. Stupid foul?
30-06-2018, 02:22 PM
A back 4 of Edge - O'Hanlon - Nelson - McGivern would give me more confidence than the Argentine defence at this point.
30-06-2018, 02:24 PM
Don't forget the definite article.
The Mrs Stupid Foul.
30-06-2018, 02:27 PM
Don't forget the definite article.
The Mrs Stupid Foul.
He's got a Newco wife?
30-06-2018, 02:28 PM
How bad is that refereeing? It has to be either a penalty or a corner and between about 9 of them they award a goal kick.
30-06-2018, 02:29 PM
Argies desperately need to change their shape here. Surrender monkeys looking good but a lot of that is how the Buenos Aires boys have set up.
30-06-2018, 02:30 PM
Anyone else think the penalty started way outside the box? :confused:
30-06-2018, 02:35 PM
Is the rule not if it continues inside the box a penalty is awarded?
30-06-2018, 02:36 PM
Yes, except he fouled him a second time in the box.
30-06-2018, 02:38 PM
She lets me call her a lot worse in certain situations. :wink:
Argentina seeing plenty of the ball but need bodies in the box.
Pavon is dreadful
30-06-2018, 02:39 PM
30-06-2018, 02:40 PM
Argentina are actually brutal. Messi forced to come really deep because literally no one else can play.
30-06-2018, 02:41 PM
1-1
Pick that out.
Di Maria drags them back level with a rocket of a shot.
guthrie01
Some strike that
30-06-2018, 02:42 PM
Spoke too soon.
What an, ahem, Exocet.
Best strike of the WC.
And there's Diego.
30-06-2018, 02:43 PM
As good a strike as it is how lazy is the defending? 4 players and not one of them even attempts to close Di Maria down.
Goal of the tournament contender.
Di Maria does nothing at all throughout the game and produces a moment of magic. What a finish!
Messi needs to step his game up. ****e has marked him out the game so far.
30-06-2018, 02:44 PM
Danny Murphy talks some amount of *****.
"****e has saved him from a red there" erm, nowhere near a red you slaver
30-06-2018, 02:46 PM
Why are there so few France fans? Almost all Argentina.
30-06-2018, 02:46 PM
Loving this.
30-06-2018, 02:48 PM
Why are there so few France fans? Almost all Argentina.
The French know that, like the Germans, their Russian campaigns end badly. Napoleonic folk ken whit's gaun oan. :wink:
30-06-2018, 02:53 PM
:hyper
30-06-2018, 02:54 PM
Winners - 4 times
Runners up - 4 times
Third place - 4 times
Fourth place - Once
Winners - Once
Runners up - Never
Third place - Never
Fourth place - Once
Ah! be fair now. List the Germany / England Euro championship stats to let him support his argument...
oh wait... :greengrin
30-06-2018, 02:58 PM
Ah! be fair now. List the Germany / England Euro championship stats to let him support his argument...
oh wait... :greengrin
They can't even claim one of the wars because Hearts single handedly sorted that out.
30-06-2018, 03:06 PM
2-1 Argentina.
30-06-2018, 03:08 PM
France are a bit like Spain in the 90s and early 00s. They should be good but they just aren't.
30-06-2018, 03:08 PM
A collapse that could put the 6 weeks of 1940 to shame if it continues.
30-06-2018, 03:12 PM
With the black shorts that Argentina kit is a thing of beauty.
30-06-2018, 03:14 PM
I'd take him off for that. Absolutely pathetic defending
30-06-2018, 03:15 PM
2-2
Get in!
Wow! That's even better than the last one!
This game is so good.
Ooooft!!!
Allez les blu
30-06-2018, 03:16 PM
Another cracking game.
Great strike but woeful defending again
Doh Rae Me
Stunning
What a dream come true for Pavard. His first goal for his country and an absolute beauty!
30-06-2018, 03:19 PM
Great strike but woeful defending again
I'm not sure what the defence could have done to stop that.
30-06-2018, 03:20 PM
I'm not sure what the defence could have done to stop that.
The boy sliced the clearance
30-06-2018, 03:21 PM
3-2
30-06-2018, 03:22 PM
3-2
France had 6 players in the box for the third goal
30-06-2018, 03:22 PM
The Argies have huns'd it.
30-06-2018, 03:27 PM
Mbappe in beast mode.
You can keep the group stages, the world cup has come alive this afternoon.
Awful goalkeeping. How much of the goals did he show him.there
Mbappe is running that Argentina defence ragged the same way Stokes ran the Sevco defence ragged on May 2016
30-06-2018, 03:29 PM
Game of the tournament for me. Mbappe in irresistible mode. Sadly Messi looks deid done!
30-06-2018, 03:29 PM
These boys are not eating cheese, they're not surrendering and they aren't simian.
yonder1875
30-06-2018, 03:31 PM
France's new Thierry Henry.
30-06-2018, 03:32 PM
I've got to say this world cup has been superb
bodhibs
30-06-2018, 03:34 PM
Couldn't agree more, I've watched more of this than any since 98 I reckon, been some great football played
30-06-2018, 03:37 PM
Both ****e and Pogba have ran the show in the middle of the park. ****e has marked Messi out of the game and Pogba’s dribbling and passing has been superb. Mascherano, Perez & Banega can’t cope with them.
30-06-2018, 03:38 PM
The commentator wants a huge slap.
30-06-2018, 03:41 PM
Both ****e and Pogba have ran the show in the middle of the park. ****e has marked Messi out of the game and Pogba’s dribbling and passing has been superb. Mascherano, Perez & Banega can’t cope with them.
Who is ****e?
****e?
Why is that blocked ?????
30-06-2018, 03:43 PM
Who is ****e?
****e?
If a cockney takes a disliking to you he might call you a ****.
30-06-2018, 03:44 PM
Messi just fails to deliver for Argentina in world cup. Ronaldo carries his Portugal team. Thats the difference for me
30-06-2018, 03:45 PM
Football in general seems to have been really exciting his year. Both the Champions League and World Cup have had some insane games.
30-06-2018, 03:46 PM
Messi just fails to deliver for Argentina in world cup. Ronaldo carries his Portugal team. Thats the difference for me
Just don't, it's like watching a flag debate itching to ignite.
30-06-2018, 03:47 PM
If a cockney takes a disliking to you he might call you a ****.
You cant be serious
Why was that NOT blocked then?
30-06-2018, 03:48 PM
Who is ****e?
****e?
Ngolo - Chelsea midfielder
Don’t know why it’s blocked, ask the admins
30-06-2018, 03:49 PM
More cretinious commentary from the BBC. Can't help but have a dig at maradona. Can't wait till they get pumped from Colombia
30-06-2018, 03:51 PM
No world cup for Ronaldo either. Uruguay will beat them
yonder1875
30-06-2018, 03:52 PM
Great goal by Argentina but just too late, sublime pass from Messi and good header from Aguero.
If only Aguero had started things could have been different...
30-06-2018, 03:53 PM
Best game of the world cup by far.
30-06-2018, 03:54 PM
Magnificent game.
The Pointer
30-06-2018, 03:54 PM
Argie fans have been tremendous throughout, Frog fans create nothing.
30-06-2018, 03:55 PM
This what it's all about. I'm smiling from ear to ear and just ecstatic about the game, the spectacle and the sheer fun of it.
bodhibs
30-06-2018, 03:55 PM
Excellent stuff, France will be there abouts a good team
30-06-2018, 03:56 PM
this should have been a semi-final pairing, along with brazil v croatia in the other
The Pointer
30-06-2018, 03:57 PM
More cretinious commentary from the BBC. Can't help but have a dig at maradona. Can't wait till they get pumped from Colombia
He did cheat them out of a World Cup and he's let himself go somewhat with his wee bags of powder (allegedly).
30-06-2018, 03:57 PM
Couldn’t make it to Linlithgow today but that was a decent second place. Best team won but Argentina should have played Aguero from the start. Fantastic game and France have a real chance of winning the cup on that display.
30-06-2018, 04:35 PM
Depressing reading from the BBC page....
""Kylian Mbappe wasn't even born when France won the 1998 World Cup. He arrived on the scene in December that year""
What have I done with those years.. 😣
He did cheat them out of a World Cup and he's let himself go somewhat with his wee bags of powder (allegedly).
How did he cheat them out of a World Cup?
30-06-2018, 05:33 PM
Argie fans have been tremendous throughout, Frog fans create nothing.
I’m gutted (and not just because I had a wee bet on Argentina)
I genuinely believe Messi is one of the most incredible players ever and to see his international career fizzle out like this is a shame.
30-06-2018, 05:36 PM
This has been as good a world cup as I can remember.
Great games, fantastic fans and absolutely no trouble.
I'm really looking forward to tonight's game. It promises to be enthralling.
30-06-2018, 05:47 PM
This has been as good a world cup as I can remember.
Great games, fantastic fans and absolutely no trouble.
I'm really looking forward to tonight's game. It promises to be enthralling.
It will need a strong referee. I was curious so I looked it up and it's a very young Mexican ref, whose been FIFA-ranked for a few years but doesn't appear to have that much experience.
I found a link to his performances domestically in Mexico this year though. In his last five games he issued three reds and 26 yellows!
Doesn't sound like he's a laddy who is shy of reaching to the pocket :greengrin
30-06-2018, 05:49 PM
Interesting take on VAR.
https://www.joe.co.uk/amp/sport/world-cup-16-var-187040?__twitter_impression=true
30-06-2018, 05:54 PM
Interesting take on VAR.
https://www.joe.co.uk/amp/sport/world-cup-16-var-187040?__twitter_impression=true
Interesting.
It'll be even more significant in the knockout stage.
30-06-2018, 06:07 PM
uno-zilch the south americans
chested goal
30-06-2018, 06:07 PM
Get in.
30-06-2018, 06:20 PM
Piss off Suarez.
Cheat.
30-06-2018, 06:22 PM
Pepe: Cock of a man with a cock of a haircut.
30-06-2018, 06:25 PM
Pepe vs Suarez
That's a cockfight if ever there was one.
30-06-2018, 06:26 PM
I seem to want Uruguay to win this, that's not a good feeling.
Have they changed the colour of the ball? I noticed the Telstar panels were red in the earlier match too. Don't recall that in the group stage games.
30-06-2018, 06:27 PM
i hate that cringy dafty clapping thing....bet hertz fans start doing it :agree:
30-06-2018, 06:29 PM
i hate that cringy dafty clapping thing....bet hertz fans start doing it :agree:
Can't be spontaneous surely. Is it orchestrated in the grounds by paid people or is that standard Uruguayan or Portuguese fare?
30-06-2018, 06:30 PM
Show someone a card FFS.
30-06-2018, 06:31 PM
Have they changed the colour of the ball? I noticed the Telstar panels were red in the earlier match too. Don't recall that in the group stage games.
Yep...changed after group stage
30-06-2018, 06:33 PM
What's the deal with Ronaldo and his shorts at free kicks? There can't be any actual reason for it surely.
Anyway another standard Ronaldo free kick blasted into the wall.
30-06-2018, 06:33 PM
Can't be spontaneous surely. Is it orchestrated in the grounds by paid people or is that standard Uruguayan or Portuguese fare?
not standard for these two no, quite sure it was the icelanders that started it, the powerclap i believe it's nicknamed, as for that freakin mexican wave thing as well :grr: gies a break
30-06-2018, 06:34 PM
WTF are you doing with your shorts, Ronaldo?
It's impossible to like that man.
30-06-2018, 06:34 PM
not standard for these two no, quite sure it was the icelanders that started it, as for that freakin mexican wave thing as well :grr: gies a break
Any football match not played in Mexico in the 70s or 80s shouldn't have a Mexican wave. They are for bairns who have been givem free tickets to basketball or ice hockey or something.
30-06-2018, 06:36 PM
Any football match not played in Mexico in the 70s or 80s shouldn't have a Mexican wave. They are for bairns who have been givem free tickets to basketball or ice hockey or something.
should be a law about it :agree:
:)
30-06-2018, 06:36 PM
I'm in awe of this world cup. :sauzee: on fire.
Im on my holidays and watching on Italian TV, which is certainly a change from Lineker and Lawro. There are two sofas, with three people on each. One sofa has Italian people pretending to be Uruguay fans, the other pretend Portugal fans. The central person on each sofa is a beautiful model in a bikini with the legend 'Babe' on the front, on either side, two old fellas being lascivious all over her. I'm sure when Uruguay scored one of the benny hill boys had an erection.
Happy holidays everyone :cheers:
30-06-2018, 06:37 PM
Mexican waves aren't even Mexican.
They started in North America.
30-06-2018, 06:39 PM
1st I’ve seen Uruguay this competition, heard a lot about them. Can’t say I’m overly impressed with them, although they are leading
30-06-2018, 06:40 PM
I'm in awe of this world cup. :sauzee: on fire.
Im on my holidays and watching on Italian TV, which is certainly a change from Lineker and Lawro. There are two sofas, with three people on each. One sofa has Italian people pretending to be Uruguay fans, the other pretend French fans. The central person on each sofa is a beautiful model in a bikini with the legend 'Babe' on the front, on either side, two old fellas being lascivious all over her. I'm sure when Uruguay scored one of the benny hill boys had an erection.
Happy holidays everyone :cheers:
I remember when Channel 5 had a short spell of showing highlights of Italian football. It was presented by an Italian lady who barely spoke any English but she was very attractive. Carlo Cudicini was meant to be the pundit but he generally just sat ogling her with the odd whispered comment in Italian. It was all a bit bizarre.
1st I’ve seen Uruguay this competition, heard a lot about them. Can’t say I’m overly impressed with them, although they are leading
Defensively they are solid with two world class strikers. I reckon they will be a tough team to beat.
I'm sure when Uruguay scored one of the benny hill boys had an erection.
30-06-2018, 06:42 PM
Anyone know when Gordon Brown was appointed as Portugal manager?
30-06-2018, 06:43 PM
That's pretty much how they've been throughout.
In a World Cup that has provided loads of entertainment, it would be just typical if Uruguay ground their way to victory with a series of scrappy, niggly wins by the odd goal.
The thing is, they have what it takes. A tight defence and a strike force that can get goals against anyone.
It's not pretty though.
30-06-2018, 06:44 PM
**** off Suarez you play acting, cheating, posing twat.
30-06-2018, 06:44 PM
Suarez. Cheat. Actor.
30-06-2018, 06:46 PM
In a World Cup that has provided loads of entertainment, it would be just typical if Uruguay ground their way to victory with a series of scrappy, niggly wins by the odd goal.
The thing is, they have what it takes. A tight defence and a strike force that can get goals against anyone.
It's not pretty though.
There are no circumstances in which it is acceptable for their anti-football to succeed. Odious thugs.
30-06-2018, 06:46 PM
I remember when Channel 5 had a short spell of showing highlights of Italian football. It was presented by an Italian lady who barely spoke any English but she was very attractive. Carlo Cudicini was meant to be the pundit but he generally just sat ogling her with the odd whispered comment in Italian. It was all a bit bizarre.
If Germaine Greer was here she'd be going all Islamic state on their asses. Like feminism never happened in Italia :faf:
30-06-2018, 06:53 PM
If Germaine Greer was here she'd be going all Islamic state on their asses. Like feminism never happened in Italia :faf:GG is getting a bit mellow in her old age.
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/books/2018/may/30/germaine-greer-calls-for-punishment-for-to-be-reduced
30-06-2018, 06:54 PM
GG is getting a bit mellow in her old age...
Wrong link?
30-06-2018, 06:55 PM
Wrong link?Shhh... I'm empathising with her in my old age. [emoji23]
I've changed it now....
30-06-2018, 07:00 PM
It's not pretty though.Operating the Simeone tactic of you can control the ball because we are going to control the space. One moment of quality and we'll do you.
It's rotten to watch.
30-06-2018, 07:03 PM
GG is getting a bit mellow in her old age.
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/books/2018/may/30/germaine-greer-calls-for-punishment-for-to-be-reduced
I hate à sell out :greengrin
30-06-2018, 07:10 PM
Is there a Harder working team in international football than Uruguay? They are the international version of atletico Madrid. No coincidence when they have two world class centre halves. Argentina could learn a thing or two from them
30-06-2018, 07:14 PM
Pepe. Urgh.
30-06-2018, 07:15 PM
great header from pepe uno-uno
30-06-2018, 07:21 PM
Another great goal. Finish was outstanding on the stride.
30-06-2018, 07:21 PM
two-wan the south americanos
crackin goal
30-06-2018, 07:24 PM
I shouted Goal as soon as he hit it.
Fantastic goal.
30-06-2018, 07:24 PM
Quaresma on. Cometh the hour.
30-06-2018, 07:29 PM
Keepers like a drunk trying to catch a balloon.
30-06-2018, 07:30 PM
Shame for Cavani.
30-06-2018, 07:31 PM
Great sportsmanship there from Ronaldo. Shame for Cavani. Hope it’s nothing serious
K-Zazu
30-06-2018, 07:32 PM
Cavani looks like he will be out for a while