View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

17-06-2018, 04:06 PM
Colonia the movie is no a bad watch about this.
Most importantly Emma Watson gets her kit off about an hour in:-)

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4005402/

It requires a naked Emma Watson to explain German settlement in Chile?

17-06-2018, 04:09 PM
All the Mexican side have looked pretty useful. Theres alotmof money in Mexican football so I can't see us having any chance of signing any of their internationalists.

Did Rangers not sign the best ones anyway?

Curried
17-06-2018, 04:09 PM

:agree: Can't be done without it.

17-06-2018, 04:10 PM
This game needs a Mexican commentator.

'Half back passes to centre, centre holds it, holds it, HOLDS IT.'

17-06-2018, 04:11 PM
Think I'll tempt fate by saying I find it hard to see Germany scoring here.

17-06-2018, 04:17 PM

Nae point in Pottering about.

17-06-2018, 04:17 PM
Think I'll tempt fate by saying I find it hard to see Germany scoring here.

Risky stuff ODS - we don't have a cliche about 'Teutonic efficiency' for nothing :greengrin

17-06-2018, 04:19 PM
Theres not been as many Germans entered Russia for about 70 odd years, we all know how that worked out.

17-06-2018, 04:23 PM
Risky stuff ODS - we don't have a cliche about 'Teutonic efficiency' for nothing :greengrin

Ach well you know me, say what I think. Mexican bandits to see off Germanic hordes.

17-06-2018, 04:26 PM
Germany could do with Sane , can't believe he never even made the squad.

17-06-2018, 04:27 PM
I have to say some of the on-field German haircuts are a wee bit too 'Tomorrow Belongs to Me' for my liking while some of the off-field crowd ones are equally too Summer of Love.

The German hair strategy may be what lets them down in this tournament.

17-06-2018, 04:27 PM
Why was that not a penalty?

Tobias Funke
17-06-2018, 04:28 PM

No idea, looked a pen to me.

17-06-2018, 04:28 PM
Can’t see Mexico holding out

Mr Grieves
17-06-2018, 04:30 PM

I thought it could've been a pen too.

17-06-2018, 04:31 PM
Is anyone else annoyed at the way Phil Neville is prounoucing Kimmich's name?

Lineker has just done it too 🙄

Standard English ignorance. The one that gets me is the pronunciation of Kroos as if it were Cruz. That should bring instant dismissal.

17-06-2018, 04:31 PM
I have to say some of the on-field German haircuts are a wee bit too 'Tomorrow Belongs to Me' for my liking while some of the off-field crowd ones are equally too Summer of Love.

The German hair strategy may be what lets them down in this tournament.

Noticed that when the camera cut to the stands - it's terribly stereotypical but the coiffures could have been from any and every World Cup in the last fifty years. It's only the replica top, hanging over the bleach denims that gives it away it's 2018.

Mr Grieves
17-06-2018, 04:32 PM
I don't think bringing on a 39 year old when your players look dead on their feet is the best idea

17-06-2018, 04:33 PM
Thanks for the Chile briefing lads, I'm more familiar with Peru. You only get this class of response on .net I'm sure.

Now, anyone got thoughts on the efficacy of the Schlieffen Plan or alternatively fully automated luxury Communism?
You will know of course that there was a large Japanese immigration into Peru, their head of government at one time was ethnically Japanese. Just saying:greengrin

17-06-2018, 04:33 PM
Noticed that when the camera cut to the stands - it's terribly stereotypical but the coiffures could have been from any and every World Cup in the last fifty years. It's only the replica top, hanging over the bleach denims that gives it away it's 2018.

:agree: The guy with the greying, straggly Paul Breitner look got my attention. Unless it WAS Paul Breitner in the crowd...

17-06-2018, 04:34 PM
There’s a German equaliser coming

17-06-2018, 04:35 PM
You will know of course that there was a large Japanese immigration into Peru, their head of government at one time was ethnically Japanese. Just saying:greengrin

Just don't go there. You'll get me started and then Crops will get upset.

17-06-2018, 04:35 PM
End-to-end stuff, it's like two heavyweights in the closing rounds trying to find a knockout punch.

17-06-2018, 04:36 PM
End-to-end stuff, it's like two heavyweights in the closing rounds trying to find a knockout punch.

I can see Mexico going 2 -0 on the break.

17-06-2018, 04:39 PM
I have to leave the house now to go and pick up the bl00dy wife who is returning from her weekend away with the rest of the family wummin a good hour earlier than she was supposed to. And she'll be hungover and hungry.

It's ******' Faither's day dammit. :slipper:

17-06-2018, 04:40 PM
Why does Neville do a whispery thing like he's David Attenborough narrating on the natural world?

:agree: The guy with the greying, straggly Paul Breitner look got my attention. Unless it WAS Paul Breitner in the crowd...

Yep, that's who I was thinking of.

As for the players, were Thomas Muller to go peroxide, he would be the double of the SS officer in 'Where Eagles Dare'

I can see Mexico going 2 -0 on the break.

Nah, unfortunately Mexico are squandering too many chances on the break.

17-06-2018, 04:41 PM
Why does Neville do a whispery thing like he's David Attenborough narrating on the natural world?

Was just about to post similar. It's actually doing my nut in.

17-06-2018, 04:42 PM
I don't think bringing on a 39 year old when your players look dead on their feet is the best idea

He's done very well since he went on.

Shored things up nicely, made a few good interceptions and kept possession when they had started to look a bit ragged.

'...The German lion is patient. Knowing his prey will tire soon, he waits for dusk, before striking'

Yep, that's who I was thinking of.

As for the players, were Thomas Muller to go peroxide, he would be the double of the SS officer in 'Where Eagles Dare'

:tee hee: "Broadsword calling Danny Boy..."

17-06-2018, 04:43 PM
Wonderful game this. Go on the boys in green.

17-06-2018, 04:45 PM
Just don't go there. You'll get me started and then Crops will get upset.
We could discuss Welsh immigration to Patagonia if it was of any interest, I just love reading about these settlements:agree:

17-06-2018, 04:45 PM
I wish they'd stop banging on about Sane. It's like they're offended because he hasn't been picked because he plays in England.

17-06-2018, 04:46 PM
Wonderful game this. Go on the boys in green.
Yip, not going to happen for Germany me thinks.

17-06-2018, 04:47 PM
We could discuss Welsh immigration to Patagonia if it was of any interest, I just love reading about these settlements:agree:

Plenty of Scottish sheep farmers went down there too. I think there's still a form of Gaelic spoken in Patagonia?

Come on the anti-wallers.

Cyndi Lauper has had an exceptional game in goal for Mexico :agree:

17-06-2018, 04:49 PM
I feel this is going to be the correct result geopolitically.

17-06-2018, 04:50 PM
Yes!! Love it.

Mr Grieves
17-06-2018, 04:50 PM
He's done very well since he went on.

Shored things up nicely, made a few good interceptions and kept possession when they had started to look a bit ragged.

He has. I know **** all about football management

Mr Grieves
17-06-2018, 04:51 PM
Get in! Love this Mexico team and their fans are brilliant

That was sumptuous. Great result.

Superb game of football

I wish they'd stop banging on about Sane. It's like they're offended because he hasn't been picked because he plays in England.

Sane is a fantastic player and he would add something to that German team IMO.

When was the last time the huns never scored in a World Cup game? cannae be arsed checking.

17-06-2018, 04:53 PM
Meanwhile in the Oval Office ornaments are being thrown at walls...

17-06-2018, 04:53 PM
A right guid game, as they say.

Looking forward to Brazil this evening and then we have the psychodrama that is England in the WC tomorrow.

Shaping up as a decent tournament so far.

17-06-2018, 04:54 PM
A right guid game, as they say.

Looking forward to Brazil this evening and then we have the psychodrama that is England in the WC tomorrow.

Shaping up as a decent tournament so far.

Can't wait to see South Korea being horsed senseless in this group too. :agree:

17-06-2018, 04:58 PM
Great game, and that’s from a fan of the German national team, no complaints, Mexico high energy, high tempo, great enthusiasm and no little skill.
BBC panel, letting themselves down with the anti-German comments: “where was the German defence...and frankly who cares?” Piss off Lineker you plagiarising ringpiece!

RossScott1991
I think it’s been a good World Cup soo far. Doesn’t look or feel like it’s even in Russia if that makes sense

When was the last time the huns never scored in a World Cup game? cannae be arsed checking.

Wasn't last time, when they won it. Maybe the time before - Spain put them out in the semis. I remember that despite being clearly the best team in the world, Spain made very heavy weather of winning games to claim the trophy.

17-06-2018, 04:59 PM
Sane is a fantastic player and he would add something to that German team IMO.

I tend to agree but Low doesn't think he fits into the system. And Rios on about it now! Four times at least.

Werner is being talked up big style, obviously scored a lot in Germany but I've seen him twice now for Leipzig and today and I don't see it.

17-06-2018, 05:03 PM
Wasn't last time, when they won it. Maybe the time before - Spain put them out in the semis. I remember that despite being clearly the best team in the world, Spain made very heavy weather of winning games to claim the trophy.

Added a great deal to my wallet too, Spain win, Spain Holland final and Villa ew top scorer. A penalty miss away from a clean sweep.

17-06-2018, 05:05 PM
That was another really good game of football.

It's good to see so many teams playing an open, attacking style. Germany may have lost that game but they added a lot to it with some of their cavalier attacking that left themselves open at the back and vulnerable to counter attacks.

There hasn't been much anti-football so far.

Good stuff, long may it continue.

17-06-2018, 05:10 PM
I thought Germany were poor, re-inforced their pre tournament results.

17-06-2018, 05:10 PM
Think Germany have relied too much on the old guard.

Success in age group football, in my opinion, should have meant that they should have got young legs into the team.

Khedira, Muller, Ozil, Draxler not up to the pace at this level any more on what I saw today.

Have I seen the winners yet? Hard to say. There as not been an outstanding team yet but there is a long way to go.

I discount England so unless Brazil really shine later I can't see an outstanding team. The tournament is wide open.

Thoughts?

17-06-2018, 05:11 PM
Added a great deal to my wallet too, Spain win, Spain Holland final and Villa ew top scorer. A penalty miss away from a clean sweep.

Spain beat Holland in the Final and then in the next WC, Holland thump Spain in the group opener. Not sure how often, if ever, something like that's happened. I'll save checking that out for a rainy day :greengrin

17-06-2018, 05:14 PM
Plenty of Scottish sheep farmers went down there too. I think there's still a form of Gaelic spoken in Patagonia?
Welsh definately spoken, but slowly dying out.
Big historical British presence in Buenos Aires, english language newspaper, B.A. Herald, Caladonian Society & lots more.
Anyway back to football, bit of a shock this result.

17-06-2018, 05:15 PM

Success in age group football, in my opinion, should have meant that they should have got young legs into the team.

Khedira, Muller, Ozil, Draxler not up to the pace at this level any more on what I saw today.

Have I seen the winners yet? Hard to say. There as not been an outstanding team yet but there is a long way to go.

I discount England so unless Brazil really shine later I can't see an outstanding team. The tournament is wide open.

Thoughts?

Spain looked an outstanding team to me. Otherwise, too early to tell. We havent seen Brazil, Belgium, Colombia yet, and teams will change and improve as the tournament goes on and squad depth becomes more important.

17-06-2018, 05:20 PM
Welsh definately spoken, but slowly dying out.
Big historical British presence in Buenos Aires, english language newspaper, B.A. Herald, Caladonian Society & lots more.
Anyway back to football, bit of a shock this result.

Argentina had a fullback in the 86 Final with the surname of Brown. The commentators touched upon his roots briefly IIRC.

17-06-2018, 05:30 PM

Thoughts?

So far, no clear leaders. And I wouldn't discount England yet given what we've seen so far. Make it through the group stages and anything is possible in knockout games, esp without any obviously dominant team showing.

I just wonder whether Mexico could go all the way...

17-06-2018, 05:30 PM
Will be some people looking very daft when Germany are in the semi finals AGAIN in my opinion.

Mexico played very well, Germany weren't bad and their players are definitely still up to it.

17-06-2018, 05:34 PM
Will be some people looking very daft when Germany are in the semi finals AGAIN in my opinion.

Mexico played very well, Germany weren't bad and their players are definitely still up to it.

:agree: Discount Germany at your peril. Although the Mexicans have shown everyone else that they can be beaten...

17-06-2018, 05:34 PM
MW, Opinions eh?

Germany looked a busted flush to me.

What do I know? I went to Hampden on 21.05.2016 hoping, but not expecting, to win.

I got it wrong that day so could easily do so again.

17-06-2018, 05:36 PM
Why does Ian Wright ‘discount’ Neymar with PSG?

17-06-2018, 05:47 PM
Why does Ian Wright ‘discount’ Neymar with PSG?

He thinks its a candyfloss league and he thinks he's not properly tested by opposition defences. He's probably half right.

17-06-2018, 05:55 PM
He thinks its a candyfloss league and he thinks he's not properly tested by opposition defences. He's probably half right.

Does the same apply to Messi and Ronaldo? After all they’re not playing in the best and hardest league in the world. Wright ...... tosser!:rolleyes:

17-06-2018, 05:57 PM
Switzerland has four official languages - does anyone know if the anthem lyrics are just in the one?

17-06-2018, 06:00 PM
I think it’s been a good World Cup soo far. Doesn’t look or feel like it’s even in Russia if that makes sense

Yea shaping up to be a cracker, despite the naysayers desperate for it to fail. No hint of bother either so far.

17-06-2018, 06:00 PM
Does the same apply to Messi and Ronaldo? After all they’re not playing in the best and hardest league in the world. Wrigh ...... tosser!:rolleyes:

It's nothing to do with that. La Liga is clearly several levels about the French league. He may be motivated by a biased belief that the English Premiership is the best league in the world but that doesn't make him wrong about the weakness of the French league.

17-06-2018, 06:01 PM
Switzerland has four official languages - does anyone know if the anthem lyrics are just in the one?

They won't tell you - it's a secret. And untraceable. :wink:

17-06-2018, 06:02 PM
Kamberi would have scored by now

17-06-2018, 06:04 PM
They won't tell you - it's a secret. And untraceable. :wink:

500 years of democracy and peace. And what did that produce?

17-06-2018, 06:05 PM
That Neymar hairstyle is something else. Not sure how much hairspray he's using by volume but if anyone goes near him with a naked flame you're looking at a human torch.

17-06-2018, 06:06 PM
Pantomime shirt-pull by Xhaka.

Good to see Brazil playing with a single-name RB, the natural order is restored.

500 years of democracy and peace. And what did that produce?

Toblerone. No higher achievement is possible.

Good refereeing? Erm nah it should have been a booking

17-06-2018, 06:07 PM
Pantomime shirt-pull by Xhaka.

Good to see Brazil playing with a single-name RB, the natural order is restored.

*intake of breath*

SideBurns
17-06-2018, 06:07 PM
Kamberi would have scored by now

In solidarity with Flo, supporting the Swiss. Our only connection with Brazil, as far as I know, is that we popped over in the 50s and taught them how to play ra gemme. Up to that point, they'd just lumped the ba' up the park. If it wasn't for us, they could possibly be wearing maroon.

17-06-2018, 06:08 PM
It's nothing to do with that. La Liga is clearly several levels about the French league. He may be motivated by a biased belief that the English Premiership is the best league in the world but that doesn't make him wrong about the weakness of the French league.

My comment about Messi and Ronaldo was a bit tongue in cheek but I still can’t help thinking that Wright is too dismissive and patronising.

17-06-2018, 06:09 PM
Swiss to win this anyone?

Toblerone. No higher achievement is possible.

Spoken for truth :agree:

Brazil don't look too clever at the back to me

17-06-2018, 06:10 PM
My comment about Messi and Ronaldo was a bit tongue in cheek but I still can’t help thinking that Wright is too dismissive and patronising.

:agree: I think a lot of them are like that - especially when it comes to rose tinted glasses about the league they played in.

17-06-2018, 06:12 PM
In solidarity with Flo, supporting the Swiss. Our only connection with Brazil, as far as I know, is that we popped over in the 50s and taught them how to play ra gemme. Up to that point, they'd just lumped the ba' up the park. If it wasn't for us, they could possibly be wearing maroon.

Nah. We are their masters. We pumped the Nazis and half of them fled to Argentine, Brazil etc. :greengrin

17-06-2018, 06:13 PM
Brazil don't look too clever at the back to me

Brazil should never look to clever at the back. Unwritten rule of football.

The fullbacks should be way out of position up the pitch, in order to hit outrageously swerving banana shots into the top corners.

The centrebacks should have their socks at their ankles and stroll into the opposition box in an insouciant manner to thrash home a goal after exceptional trickery by their atttacking teammates on the flanks.

17-06-2018, 06:14 PM
Brazil should never look to clever at the back. Unwritten rule of football.

The fullbacks should be way out of position up the pitch, in order to hit outrageously swerving banana shots into the top corners.

The centrebacks should have their socks at their ankles and stroll into the opposition box in an insouciant manner to thrash home a goal after exceptional trickery by their atttacking teammates on the flanks.

I agree, Neymar looks up for it anyway

17-06-2018, 06:17 PM
Nah. We are their masters. We pumped the Nazis and half of them fled to Argentine, Brazil etc. :greengrin

Those last couple of posts put me in mind of the brilliant Marty Feldman parody of English football commentators

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lpA8Og-MsPE

17-06-2018, 06:17 PM
I agree, Neymar looks up for it anyway

:agree: he'd **** a warm loaf that boy.
This is walking pace compared to the Mexico game.

17-06-2018, 06:19 PM
Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

17-06-2018, 06:19 PM
Oof !

17-06-2018, 06:20 PM
What a goal

Wow

Stunning goal, scores them all the time.

Forever_Green93
OOFT!!!!! What a beauty!!!!

that was lucky, put a wee bet on the Brazilians after 15 mins...Brazil score after 19 mins :) another goal should finish the Swiss off

17-06-2018, 06:21 PM
:agree: he'd **** a warm loaf that boy.
This is walking pace compared to the Mexico game.

He's another one that I'm sure I said on here when he still played in Brazil that he wasn't as good people make out as he hadn't proved himself in a European league yet :faf:

Does that dude ever score bad goals? Booooom

JoeT
17-06-2018, 06:21 PM
Stand out team so far after 20 mins. Look like Barca. Or Barca look like Brazil.....

17-06-2018, 06:22 PM
Wow! Quality!

As we taught them how to play football Is say that's Hibs 1 - 0 Switzerland

Am I completely making it up that Brazil have played with green shorts in the past?

The curve he's put on that. Fantastic.

17-06-2018, 06:26 PM
He's another one that I'm sure I said on here when he still played in Brazil that he wasn't as good people make out as he hadn't proved himself in a European league yet :faf:

Does that dude ever score bad goals? Booooom

See, I do the opposite. I only rate a player when he plays in an obscure league so I can be a proper fitba hipster.

17-06-2018, 06:29 PM
Am I completely making it up that Brazil have played with green shorts in the past?

Anorak alert.
Brazil played in white until they failed to win their home World Cup in 1950.
Changed to their current iconic yellow, blue and white for 1954 (based on the national flag) and never looked back.

17-06-2018, 06:29 PM
Who do we petition to get Alan Partridge to commentate on games like on the day today? He'd make it infinitely more enjoyable

17-06-2018, 06:30 PM
Anorak alert.
Brazil played in white until they failed to win their home World Cup in 1950.
Changed to their current iconic yellow, blue and white for 1954 (based on the national flag) and never looked back.

Sweet, ta. I'll be dealing with fantasy green shorts for the next ten minutes.

17-06-2018, 06:33 PM
I've just realised that, further to earlier chat about Scotland massively under performing, mass singing of "we're so 5hite its unbelievable" at ourselves in internationals would be literallly true. :grr:

17-06-2018, 06:35 PM

La liga clearly has the strongest top teams in it. The English league has the biggest budget and probably the most depth in terms of team quality. The Italian league has the best tacticians. The French league has the most top young players breaking through, who regularly move on to the richer leagues (psg the obvious exception). The German league seems to have the best match day experience.

All the leagues have different strengths and weaknesses. But it's rubbish to say ligue 1 is 'several levels' below la liga.

17-06-2018, 06:36 PM

Thoughts?

Disagree, it was the old guard that helped push them on and were the driving force behind them winning it last time. The new old guard are just lacking that x factor.

Well deserved win for Mexico, their counter attacking football was thrilling. Germany could potentially be packing their bags after the next game if they can't find a leader or dare I say "Mannschaftsführer".

17-06-2018, 06:43 PM
The Brazilian lady boy (copyright Joey Barton) gets one right in the coupon there.

17-06-2018, 06:46 PM
La liga clearly has the strongest top teams in it. The English league has the biggest budget and probably the most depth in terms of team quality. The Italian league has the best tacticians. The French league has the most top young players breaking through, who regularly move on to the richer leagues (psg the obvious exception). The German league seems to have the best match day experience.

All the leagues have different strengths and weaknesses. But it's rubbish to say ligue 1 is 'several levels' below la liga.

I'd agree with all of that apart from the last sentence. French league is pretty much PSG and then everyone else. La Liga, for me anyway, has teams below the top three of a consistently decent standard in a way that is much, much more hit and miss in France. I'm sure you're right about the bleed off of young players from France to other leagues and part of the consequence of that is a bigger gap between PSG and everyone else. For whatever reason when I watch say Seville against Valencia I feel I'm watching a much higher standard than Guingamp against Monaco.

If Wright's position is that Neymar would be getting a much tougher test every week playing in La Liga than in France then I think he's right. I'd be interested to see some relative measurement of the performance of La Liga and Ligue 1 teams in Europe below the top team levels.

17-06-2018, 06:48 PM
Disagree, it was the old guard that helped push them on and were the driving force behind them winning it last time. The new old guard are just lacking that x factor.

Well deserved win for Mexico, their counter attacking football was thrilling. Germany could potentially be packing their bags after the next game if they can't find a leader or dare I say "Mannschaftsführer".

:agree: Someone to bang in a hat-trick in the next game and it would then be a revitalised Germany with a talisman. But have they got one?

17-06-2018, 06:51 PM

The original is German, about 75% of Swiss speak German. There are translations but I don’t know if the football team mix them or not.

TelaStella
17-06-2018, 06:54 PM
Brazil best I’ve seen so far I think. Now watch a 2nd half upset...

17-06-2018, 07:08 PM
Well, well, well.

17-06-2018, 07:08 PM
I still think Spain have been the most impressive team I've seen followed by Mexico

17-06-2018, 07:09 PM
Thumping header for the equaliser

17-06-2018, 07:09 PM
Gee great marking brazil

17-06-2018, 07:10 PM
The Brazil defence at the corner was honking. 1-1.

17-06-2018, 07:10 PM
The Brazil defence at the corner was honking. 1-1.

It was a foul he pushed him in the back

Hulk1875
17-06-2018, 07:12 PM
I still think Spain have been the most impressive team I've seen followed by Mexico

Yeah I would say the same about Spain being best so far. Very good for me as I have them to win tournament

Bad goal to lose

Nah nothing in that at all.

A 'foul' like Stokes on Tavernier !

Shades of Stokesy on Tavernier there

50/50 whether refs view it as a foul

Newry Hibs
Almost a stokesy type nudge.

17-06-2018, 07:13 PM

Stokes like for our 2nd, that famous day

:agree: agree with that. Portugal and Brazil also decent.

referee right in front of the push tae :confused:

17-06-2018, 07:14 PM
Stokes like for our 2nd, that famous day

That wasn’t a push in the back , stokes had his hand on tavenier shoulder.

Brazil don’t like it up ‘em

The Pointer
Are the Guardian doing the captions? 'Fouls suffered'?

Was always 'Fouls committed'.

17-06-2018, 07:16 PM
It’s incredible, Neymar’s hair is practically rigid.

17-06-2018, 07:18 PM

Victim mentality

17-06-2018, 07:19 PM
Brazil best I’ve seen so far I think. Now watch a 2nd half upset...

What made you think they'd been best at that point?

17-06-2018, 07:19 PM
I’ve just started very belatedly looking at podcasts, to go with getting back to running again. I don’t know a lot about them and I’d be grateful for any recommendations on footie related ones. Are there any decent ones running on the World Cup?

17-06-2018, 07:20 PM
Krisakes. I've been kicked off and the Bollah girls are watching ****ing casualty.

17-06-2018, 07:21 PM
I'm liking the font Brazil are using for their shirt numbers. It conjures up late seventies/early eighties dystopian sci-fi.

I'm thinking 'Logan's Run' or 'Tron'.

On a more positive note, it's not far off the happier sci-fi from that period - 'Buck Rogers' or original 'Battlestar Galactica'.

The 7 is particularly fine.

Credit where it’s due, Switzerland have done really well considering no one really gave them a chance before a ball was even kicked. They are having a real go at Brazil here and not just sitting back and playing all that boring, negative crap that was seen throughout Euro 2016.

krisakes. I've been kicked off and the bollah girls are watching ****ing casualty.

its father’s day.

17-06-2018, 07:24 PM
Credit where it’s due, Switzerland have done really well considering no one really gave them a chance before a ball was even kicked. They are having a real go at Brazil here and not just sitting back and playing all that boring, negative crap that was seen throughout Euro 2016.

Swiss are playing well but Neymar has been singled out for rotational fouling throughout.

Can't argue, that's what most sides would do.

17-06-2018, 07:26 PM
I'd agree with all of that apart from the last sentence. French league is pretty much PSG and then everyone else. La Liga, for me anyway, has teams below the top three of a consistently decent standard in a way that is much, much more hit and miss in France. I'm sure you're right about the bleed off of young players from France to other leagues and part of the consequence of that is a bigger gap between PSG and everyone else. For whatever reason when I watch say Seville against Valencia I feel I'm watching a much higher standard than Guingamp against Monaco.

If Wright's position is that Neymar would be getting a much tougher test every week playing in La Liga than in France then I think he's right. I'd be interested to see some relative measurement of the performance of La Liga and Ligue 1 teams in Europe below the top team levels.

La liga is broadly better than ligue un, but the difference isn't that pronounced. The top four in France did well in European competitions and Lyon OM Monaco and of course PSG would be competitive in any of the top leagues in Europe.

17-06-2018, 07:28 PM
its father’s day.

I've been roundly spoilt already to be fair. Cue Neymar 30 yard rabona into the postage stamp while I'm loading the dishwasher.

17-06-2018, 07:34 PM
Perhaps just my perception then. I watch a lot more Spanish than French for preference so probably a shedload of confirmation bias in there too.

17-06-2018, 07:36 PM
I've been roundly spoilt already to be fair. Cue Neymar 30 yard rabona into the postage stamp while I'm loading the dishwasher.

I’ll admit it’s a card I’ve been playing ruthlessly all day. All pay for it later though...

17-06-2018, 07:43 PM
I'd never really paid much attention before to Shakiri, for the Swiss.

With that physique he looks like he's been lifted from a Pathe newsreel of the 1956 FA Cup.

I take it his pre-match meal is a hearty plate of liver and bacon, washed down with two pints of stout?

17-06-2018, 07:47 PM
Header matches haircut. Not good enough.

17-06-2018, 07:47 PM
“Money spinner replay” Robbie on as sub

17-06-2018, 07:48 PM
Cracking dinner but I see my posts from my phone at the table are all over the place. :rolleyes:

17-06-2018, 07:48 PM
Lost count, but it must be close to Neymar having been fouled by every Swiss outfield player, including the subs?

17-06-2018, 07:52 PM
Lost count, but it must be close to Neymar having been fouled by every Swiss outfield player, including the subs?

Not too persuaded by Brazil tonight. They just haven't looked that ... Brazilian. Maybe the Neymar foul count is why, but they should have more than that in their locker.

17-06-2018, 07:54 PM
dirty hackers

17-06-2018, 07:55 PM
I still reckon Brazil are overrated they get too much love from being great in previous world cups but for me they come up short is the South American qualifying that strong

17-06-2018, 07:56 PM
I still reckon Brazil are overrated they get too much love from being great in previous world cups but for me they come up short is the South American qualifying that strong

Sure it is. Look at Mexico. :greengrin

17-06-2018, 07:56 PM
Not too persuaded by Brazil tonight. They just haven't looked that ... Brazilian. Maybe the Neymar foul count is why, but they should have more than that in their locker.

They should.

Football cliche alert - their job on Neymar was like the working of their timepieces - efficient and effective.

TelaStella
17-06-2018, 07:57 PM
What made you think they'd been best at that point?

Best football I’ve seen played so far. Do you disagree?

17-06-2018, 07:58 PM
They should.

Football cliche alert - their job on Neymar was like the working of their timepieces - efficient and effective.

Or like Toblerone - solid, tasty and really very satisfying.

17-06-2018, 08:00 PM
Tonight's game also illustrates the rankings aren't wrong - Switzerland have been high up for a good while now and their squad almost all play in the top leagues.

17-06-2018, 08:02 PM
Superb from Bilic there.

K-Zazu
17-06-2018, 08:02 PM
Slaven Bilic what a guy!

17-06-2018, 08:03 PM
First time I've heard Clattz speak.

After the WC he could team up with Dec as Ant's replacement.

17-06-2018, 08:04 PM
Wonder if the TV 'experts' will count the number of fouls committed on Neymar.

There should have been at least two off.

Hackers charter, this world cup, by the look of it.

Croatia and Switzerland will go far judging by what I've seen of the refereeing.

Anto football, or what?

Gibby the Hibby
17-06-2018, 08:04 PM
Spain , Germany , brazil and argentina. all fail to win,Uruguay and france "Just" get a win.

Bookies must be making a fortune.

I have backed france.and croatia for some fun. Just hope belgium are on form....oh and tunisia! 0-0 im on it!:wink:

17-06-2018, 08:05 PM
Sure it is. Look at Mexico. :greengrin

They don’t play in Brazil group 🧐

17-06-2018, 08:05 PM

At this rate. BBC/ITV would be fools not to have us onboard for Euro 2020. Remarkable, Jeff.

17-06-2018, 08:07 PM
At this rate. BBC/ITV would be fools not to have us onboard for Euro 2020. Remarkable, Jeff.

You're not wrong Kammy, you're not wrong.

17-06-2018, 08:08 PM

Smart *****. Why form it into triangular pieces when flat would be easier and just as tasty? :greengrin

17-06-2018, 08:18 PM
Smart *****. Why form it into triangular pieces when flat would be easier and just as tasty? :greengrin

It's meant to symbolise the Matterhorn.

There's an etching of it on the packaging.

17-06-2018, 08:25 PM

....and was the catalyst for yodeling

17-06-2018, 08:35 PM

I understand they have been making them smaller over the years with bigger gaps between each triangle.

Very soon they will represent a hillock.

17-06-2018, 08:39 PM
I understand they have been making them smaller over the years with bigger gaps between each triangle.

The Matters-less Horn

17-06-2018, 08:46 PM

Matterhorn? Well it certainly gives me the ... oh never mind.

17-06-2018, 08:47 PM
The Matters-less Horn

Aye that's probably it.

17-06-2018, 08:52 PM

See that only applies if you go in for the namby pamby standard confectionery counter bar. If on the other hand you’ve got the commitment to take on the supermarket standard baby’s-arm-holding-an-apple sized bar you’re in a completely different chocolate ball game altogether. No shrinkage, full on, diabetes threatening gorging. It sorts the Saudi Arabias from the Mexicos.

17-06-2018, 09:03 PM
See that only applies if you go in for the namby pamby standard confectionery counter bar. If on the other hand you’ve got the commitment to take on the supermarket standard baby’s-arm-holding-an-apple sized bar you’re in a completely different chocolate ball game altogether. No shrinkage, full on, diabetes threatening gorging. It sorts the Saudi Arabias from the Mexicos.

Or one of those airport jobs that's like the leg of a dining table :agree:

17-06-2018, 09:58 PM
Best football I’ve seen played so far. Do you disagree?

Aye.

17-06-2018, 10:02 PM

Unbelievable!

TelaStella
17-06-2018, 10:10 PM
Aye.

Care to expand? Who? Can leave the bluntness out as well mate, bit sad.

17-06-2018, 10:18 PM
Care to expand? Who? Can leave the bluntness out as well mate, bit sad.

Sad, why? The two teams on Friday night. I backed France who were pish in their first game, got 3 pts though, thats what its all about.

TelaStella
17-06-2018, 10:36 PM
Sad, why? The two teams on Friday night. I backed France who were pish in their first game, got 3 pts though, thats what its all about.

Just the way you came across, as if another opinion isn’t worthy of mention. Anyway France are one of my favourites as well but I agree, will need to show up better than yesterday. Thought Friday’s game was certainly the best there’s been so far just felt Brazil as a team produced the best fitbaw tonight.

17-06-2018, 11:00 PM

That's two different stats surely?

The first describes fouls against you, the second describes fouls you've made.

17-06-2018, 11:03 PM
That's two different stats surely?

The first describes fouls against you, the second describes fouls you've made.

Or change fouls suffered to "opportunity's to roll about the pitch"

18-06-2018, 01:22 AM
I'd never really paid much attention before to Shakiri, for the Swiss.

With that physique he looks like he's been lifted from a Pathe newsreel of the 1956 FA Cup.

I take it his pre-match meal is a hearty plate of liver and bacon, washed down with two pints of stout?

He's one of my favourite players of the last few years and deserved to be somewhere better than Stoke last season.

He should be playing champions league football or for a top six team at least.

18-06-2018, 05:58 AM
Fans in Mexico city set off two quake sensors with their celebrations.
Now that really is over exuberance 😁

18-06-2018, 06:54 AM
He's one of my favourite players of the last few years and deserved to be somewhere better than Stoke last season.

He should be playing champions league football or for a top six team at least.

Shakiri was one of the most feted players of his generation. But he’s just a bit lazy. There’s a reason he ended up at Stoke... and he was hardly brilliant last season.

18-06-2018, 07:26 AM
Shakiri was one of the most feted players of his generation. But he’s just a bit lazy. There’s a reason he ended up at Stoke... and he was hardly brilliant last season.

Never been the same since performing the official World Cup song in 2010.

18-06-2018, 08:24 AM

I think he isn't that good tbh. Reminds me of Poborsky good at a tournament bang average at best most of the time.

18-06-2018, 12:03 PM
Apparently South Korea required by FIFA to wear white as opposed to their normal red as Sweden’s yellow is considered the ‘dark’ kit.
How come Switzerland were ok to wear red against Brazil?

18-06-2018, 12:11 PM
South Korea.

Are you watching, One Day Soon?

Commentator just mentioned something that happened in 2002. What was that again?

18-06-2018, 12:21 PM
South Korea.

Are you watching, One Day Soon?

Commentator just mentioned something that happened in 2002. What was that again?

You’bringing this up again Crops🤣

18-06-2018, 12:21 PM
What a save!

18-06-2018, 12:23 PM
You’bringing this up again Crops🤣

ODS needs closure.

Bringing it all out here allows him to be frank and open with his pain.

18-06-2018, 12:31 PM
Sweden are on top here but won’t be suprised if Korea nick a goal on the break.

18-06-2018, 12:34 PM
All the fouls are spoiling this.

The ref should have booked the Swedish player for a professional foul.

18-06-2018, 12:45 PM
It's not just the fouls. It's been garbage.

18-06-2018, 01:06 PM
Will we have the first game without a goal here?

18-06-2018, 01:19 PM
These Korean boys like a bit of the "deck and roll", do they not?

18-06-2018, 01:20 PM
VAR being used again

Penalty Sweden

18-06-2018, 01:21 PM
Looked a no doubt penalty to me!

18-06-2018, 01:21 PM
Clear penalty

Successfully taken. 1-0 Sweden.

Come on Sweden!

18-06-2018, 01:22 PM
Will we have the first game without a goal here?

Nope :greengrin

18-06-2018, 01:25 PM

:greengrin knew I'd curse it, glad I did

18-06-2018, 01:25 PM
It was definitely a penalty and didn’t really need the help of the VAR. But why did the ref allow the Koreans to almost reach the Swedes’ box before blowing to look at the VAR? If it had turned out to be no penalty, it would have been a bit hard on the Koreans.

18-06-2018, 01:26 PM

Thankfully - I've got a goal to be scored in every game @ 100/1 :)

18-06-2018, 01:27 PM
Before the World Cup started, I was totally against VAR due to all the dubious decisions being made in the FA Cup. Having said that, it’s been a very good successful addition to this World Cup.

18-06-2018, 01:27 PM
It was definitely a penalty and didn’t really need the help of the VAR. But why did the ref allow the Koreans to almost reach the Swedes’ box before blowing to look at the VAR? If it had turned out to be no penalty, it would have been a bit hard on the Koreans.

I dare say that was the length of time it took for the team in Moscow to look at it a couple of times to be sure enough to say to the ref "you need to stop the game and look at it again"?

18-06-2018, 01:30 PM

That's how long it took the VAR team to review the incident.

It's not perfect, but it's much better than just accepting blatantly wrong decisions.

18-06-2018, 02:07 PM
Poor game, Fat Ally is a poor co commentator.

18-06-2018, 02:16 PM

"I have to say" :agree:

18-06-2018, 02:19 PM

The referee didn't see that it was a penalty so he played on.

This was the kind of situation that VAR was invented for - a clearly wrong decision was able to be corrected. Some calls are difficult for referees and linesmen to make at the time - that one, Shaw's goal at Tynecastle etc but with the benefit of a replay the correct decision can be made.

I like VAR and think it is a huge asset. The problem is when you get a situation like the one in the France game, when in spite of watching it 50 times from different angles, it still seems to be down to interpretation exactly what happened.

18-06-2018, 03:03 PM
That's Belgium top looks like it's been made by Pringle

18-06-2018, 03:06 PM
I'd absolutely oblige Kevin de Bruyne there, and get a card out of my pocket. I'd be showing it to him though!

Precious little *******.

18-06-2018, 03:08 PM
the boys complaining he didn't get the penalty...he should actually get booked for diving

18-06-2018, 03:09 PM
*awaits first moaner about the commentary

18-06-2018, 03:10 PM
the boys complaining he didn't get the penalty...he should actually get booked for diving

If that's being reviewed at VAR HQ, surely they should be telling the referee to get him carded?

18-06-2018, 03:10 PM

He’ll be fine when his new dentures are ready.:greengrin

18-06-2018, 03:14 PM

If that's being reviewed at VAR HQ, surely they should be telling the referee to get him carded?

i've already voted VAR as a failure on the VAR thread :greengrin

18-06-2018, 03:17 PM
Why is Lawrenson asking where the referee's from? Am I the only one that finds that downright sinister?

18-06-2018, 03:18 PM
Why is Lawrenson asking where the referee's from? Am I the only one that finds that downright sinister?

He's just playing up to his 1970's stereotype.

18-06-2018, 03:22 PM

You would think as a commentator and the team sheet in front of him he would know.

Don’t forgot no refs from British leagues.

I wonder if the ref was white if Lawrenson would have made his comment ?!

18-06-2018, 03:26 PM
I think mccoist is a good commentator certainly better than he is a manager. In the other hand mark lawrenson is atrocious

18-06-2018, 03:32 PM
How can a team with Hazard and De Bruyne be so boring to watch?

18-06-2018, 03:35 PM

VAR can't be used to punish diving.

18-06-2018, 03:36 PM
VAR can't be used to punish diving.

Why not?

18-06-2018, 03:37 PM
ffs referee lakaku didn't even touch the gadgy

18-06-2018, 03:42 PM

What are Belgium’s tactics? I see no plan here at all. No linking up, no movement without the ball, no runs in behind.

18-06-2018, 03:42 PM
Before the World Cup started, I was totally against VAR due to all the dubious decisions being made in the FA Cup. Having said that, it’s been a very good successful addition to this World Cup.

:agree: Like the ref, didn't think the Swede pen was a pen, until I saw it on review from behind the goal. Was 100% a pen, so VAR helped get the right result and avoid the ref getting it in the neck for the next few days.

18-06-2018, 03:45 PM
Wish I was in the Panama [emoji1194] section it’s bouncing [emoji119][emoji122]

Ermmm. because the ref didn't think it was a pen. He made that clear with his signal at the time. Then he was told over his radio that it was a pen so rightly stopped the game, took a look, and gave the pen. VAR working as it should.

can't see engerlund having any problems against belgium, or panama

or tunisia

aljo7-0
18-06-2018, 03:47 PM
Lawrence has just commented on how well Panama are doing given they only have a population of £4 million (1/3 of the size of London don't ya know). has he ever asked how many people live in Belgium. Because we all know that a country's population has a direct correlation to its footballing ability. Just ask the Icelanders

18-06-2018, 03:48 PM

... because everything in Russia is just a bit dull :greengrin

RoslinInstHibby
18-06-2018, 03:54 PM
Belgium are so disappointing, should be edge of the seat stuff with the players they have.....

18-06-2018, 03:56 PM
Why not?

It's just not in the rules.

It can only be used in 4 scenarios deemed to be match changing;

Penalties
Red cards
Goals
Mistaken identity

18-06-2018, 03:57 PM
First games in the world cup are often tense and nervy for teams, particularly favoured teams.

Panama have nothing to lose so they're playing with no fear.

I think once Belgium score, we'll see a more accomplished performance.

18-06-2018, 03:59 PM
It's just not in the rules.

It can only be used in 4 scenarios deemed to be match changing;

Penalties
Red cards
Goals
Mistaken identity

I'd say it's interchangeable with penalties, no? Something goes to review, it's clear a player has tried to cheat to gain an advantage - doesn't that enable the referee to act accordingly?

The rules for use, are the rules - I'm not arguing with you. I just don't see the logic in being able to look at a decision and not act when you (well, the VAR panel) see something so blatant.

18-06-2018, 03:59 PM
Belgium are so disappointing, should be edge of the seat stuff with the players they have.....

Maybe players riches invested in Panama :)

Jim Herriot
18-06-2018, 04:03 PM
Got the flag sorted...

18-06-2018, 04:03 PM
I'd say it's interchangeable with penalties, no? Something goes to review, it's clear a player has tried to cheat to gain an advantage - doesn't that enable the referee to act accordingly?

The rules for use, are the rules - I'm not arguing with you. I just don't see the logic in being able to look at a decision and not act when you (well, the VAR panel) see something so blatant.

I would agree it's daft.

I suppose the argument would be that they can't book someone for diving in the box if they're not going to book someone for diving in the middle of the park.

18-06-2018, 04:06 PM
good goal belgium

18-06-2018, 04:07 PM
Great strike, let's be less boring now

18-06-2018, 04:08 PM
Ooft.

Pick that one out.

I suppose that's what Belgium have - a bit of quality when you need it most to break down a stuffy team that you've been toiling against.

Benny Brazil
18-06-2018, 04:08 PM
Boom - what a strike

18-06-2018, 04:15 PM
If Panama can get something from this game I’ll take my hat off to them.

18-06-2018, 04:21 PM

Is Fulani on the bench?

18-06-2018, 04:24 PM

They'll get close, but no cigar.

18-06-2018, 04:27 PM
They'll get close, but no cigar.

Yeah, here’s a bit of a gulf between them

18-06-2018, 04:28 PM
2-0 belgium