View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32

07-07-2018, 05:53 PM
Not watch Robbie Savage, Joey Barton and the likes when on British media outlets talking about Scottish football? I can absolutely back up English media personalities talking badly of Scottish football. Sutton seems to be the outlier on that front, he's English, I quite like him, I also quite like Shearer but he has his moments.

Savage is Welsh.

07-07-2018, 05:54 PM
Trophy made in Italy for tournament inaugurated in Uruguay by a Frenchman! Coming home?

The lyrics of the song about coming home were not referring to winning the trophy.

07-07-2018, 05:54 PM
Hibs.net

07-07-2018, 05:55 PM
If England win the World Cup we will see a huge upturn in English Nationalism. That’s a great thing. They might want independence. That’s fine by me. Mon England let’s bring it home.🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

my thoughts the last week has been the lack of union jacks, huge majority are now england flags, looks like nationalism is spreading in engerlund....i wonder if nationalism will then become ok for the anti-scottish nationalists in this country, although alex salmond did try set them on their way several years ago by encouraging it whilst on a visit down south, which i remember at the time thinking it was a great tactic :agree: i've said for years Scotland will finally get independence..when the english decide :greengrin

i feel repugnant saying this, but...mon england

then again, maybe naw

Not watch Robbie Savage, Joey Barton and the likes when on British media outlets talking about Scottish football? I can absolutely back up English media personalities talking badly of Scottish football. Sutton seems to be the outlier on that front, he's English, I quite like him, I also quite like Shearer but he has his moments.

Robbie Savage is Welsh :greengrin

Which leaves you with Joey Barton, as opposed to "the English"

Stop digging, please.

In today's society it doesn't surprise me there are Scottish people wanting England to win.

Why would it surprise you?

I want that commentary in Doric or I'll do time.
Nah, get Jackie Bird on.

07-07-2018, 05:56 PM
I'm certain that Scotland would get similar coverage. We enjoyed wall to wall Wales coverage in the Euros and I remember the 1978 hype very well.

Scotland were everywhere.

Anyway, no point going on with the discussion tonight. We've got Russia v Croatia in 10 minutes.

We can resume this "debate" on Wednesday. :greengrin

I wasn't around for the 1978 hype so I cannot comment on that. That kind of proves the point, we can debate this because we have different experiences. People talked of celebrating Southgate penalty miss - I was too young to celebrate or not - so again different experiences.

See you on here on Wednesday if I remember :aok:

07-07-2018, 05:56 PM
I want that commentary in Doric or I'll do time.

O’er tae the tennis aye noo, far plucky Kyle Edmund is eaksy peaksy wi thon loon Djokovic.

07-07-2018, 05:57 PM
They're openly talking about winning it now. It'll be so pleasing when they don't

This could have been lifted from JKB as Hibs progressed towards The Scottish Cup final in 2016.

07-07-2018, 05:59 PM
Robbie Savage is Welsh :greengrin

Which leaves you with Joey Barton, as opposed to "the English"

Stop digging, please.

I know Savage is Welsh, I didn't word it correctly. Pro-English football is how I should be putting it. Savage vs Sutton in the lead up to Celtic's European match vs Man City told you everything about the disrespect for Scottish teams, Sutton tried to stick up for Scottish football. Not digging, forgot my spade at Porty.

07-07-2018, 06:00 PM
Russian anthem, oh yes.

Aw naw, Ally McCoist...

Why would it surprise you?

Because I was brought up when football rivalry meant something. Obviously doesn't mean as much to certain people nowadays. It's a shame.

Johnny Clash
07-07-2018, 06:01 PM
Took me an hour to drive through Brixton after game tonight coz hundreds of tanked up fans going radge in middle of road with quite a few casualties getting carried away by their pals . Sure we did similar on Leith Walk but only AFTER the cup was in the bag! I don’t begrudge them their parties to be honest but if they get pumped on Wednesday then plenty trouble is guaranteed as a lot of these Engerland gadgies clearly don’t seem to be able to handle their bevy - especially in this fecken heat!

andy1875
07-07-2018, 06:01 PM
What channel is the game on? I cant find it for coverage of the tennis!

07-07-2018, 06:02 PM
Because I was brought up when football rivalry meant something. Obviously doesn't mean as much to certain people nowadays. It's a shame.

England aren't our rivals any more than Sweden.

In fact, they're less so.

But hey ho, let's watch the match.

07-07-2018, 06:02 PM
What an atmosphere.

07-07-2018, 06:03 PM
the opponents in the final v France/Belgium just kicked off, mon Croatia

07-07-2018, 06:03 PM
Unreasonable expectations? It's almost like English votes for English laws debate. BBC are supposed to give Britain coverage. If they cannot remain neutral then the BBC should either be rebranded English Broadcasting Corporation or there should be separate divisions where each distinct country gets their own coverage. I don't think that is unreasonable at all. The members of the EU don't all watch the same coverage with the same commentators, even those that speak the same language.

Stating I have a problem with England is almost the same as the exertion about percentages, based on nothing. I have a problem with the commentary, not with England.

Scottish commentators argument - Scottish media does not get broadcast throughout Britain, that's the argument. You don't see Sportscene in England.

I will celebrate when England lose, you are correct. No more updates from the England camp when they aren't even playing on that day, no more interviews with players during the half-time between 2 other teams, no more talking about each of their players as if they were world class. Got the hint yet, I have a problem with the media coverage...

By the end of this tournament Pickford will be one of the best goalkeepers in the world...

1: I'm baffled how you don't know how to switch the volume to mute!
2: Your "any-team-but-England" comes through loud and clear.

07-07-2018, 06:04 PM
Nice to hear Super Ally's dulcet tones on the ITV commentary.

07-07-2018, 06:05 PM
what channel is the game on? I cant find it for coverage of the tennis!

stv/itv

07-07-2018, 06:06 PM

Oh, gie’s peace. Did we play Sweden every year for a hundred+ years?

07-07-2018, 06:06 PM
Russian anthem, oh yes.
Hairs on the back of neck stuff. Superb:agree:

07-07-2018, 06:07 PM
What a load of soor plooms on here.If Scotland reached the semi-finals of the World Cup you'd never hear the end of it either.

Nice to hear Super Ally's dulcet tones on the ITV commentary.

Actually think he's a decent co-commentator. He's always been a good pundit.

Russia high press giving Croats trouble early doors. Lovrens fat erse saves the day.

07-07-2018, 06:08 PM
Russian anthem, oh yes.

Are you watching this? I thought you'd be watching a game between French goat herders :na na::faf:

07-07-2018, 06:08 PM
I'm amazed how worked up some folk get. So bl**dy what if England were to win the World Cup? Really, what difference would it make to our daily lives? I haven't seen much of this tournament but they had the game on today at my work so I saw most of it. England were deserved winners so fair play to them and if they go on to win the whole tournament they'll have deserved it. Good luck to them I say.

Well said.
The "wee-inferior-Scotland" and "any-team-but-England" mentality is something I too shake my head at.

07-07-2018, 06:09 PM
What a load of soor plooms on here.If Scotland reached the semi-finals of the World Cup you'd never hear the end of it either.

07-07-2018, 06:09 PM
The Scottish co-commentator is really getting on my nerves, why is he there, Scotland aren't even in the tournament, I swear if I hear one more comment from him I will kick the TV

07-07-2018, 06:10 PM
Well done England.

07-07-2018, 06:11 PM
good old England, anything that noises up Sturgeon is good enough for me.

Are you watching this? I thought you'd be watching a game between French goat herders :na na::faf:

It was postponed :boo hoo:

Croats looking good now, spraying it aboot like Gary Locke.

If Croatia get through they'll be fancying their chances against Ingerland. Rightfully so as I think Croatia have too much football for them.

On the other hand if the 3 pussycats meet Russia then they might just get to the final.

1: I'm baffled how you don't know how to switch the volume to mute!
2: Your "any-team-but-England" comes through loud and clear.

1. I do
2. Use the mute button then

In seriousness, I don't care too much about who wins the competition, the team(s) I supported are out. There are a few I will still support because I prefer the smaller nations - Croatia is who I'm supporting now for instance. Does that mean I'm "Any-team-but-England"? Probably does to those that are wanting England to win, again I don't particularly care.

Anyway, Croatia are playing now. Got some supporting to do!

07-07-2018, 06:12 PM
Actually think he's a decent co-commentator. He's always been a good pundit.
Totally agree.

07-07-2018, 06:13 PM
It was postponed :boo hoo:

Croats looking good now, spraying it aboot like Gary Locke.

Mandzukic needs to get his erky in gear

07-07-2018, 06:13 PM
Mandzukic needs to get his erky in gear

He's not had a great tournament has he? Quiet.

07-07-2018, 06:14 PM
Rebic looks quality. What's the script with mandzukic? Thought he'd been transformed into a wing back?

07-07-2018, 06:14 PM
The Scottish co-commentator is really getting on my nerves, why is he there, Scotland aren't even in the tournament, I swear if I hear one more comment from him I will kick the TV

Love it. :greengrin

07-07-2018, 06:15 PM

Love it. :greengrin

Any chance we moved on though,? All getting boring now

07-07-2018, 06:16 PM
O’er tae the tennis aye noo, far plucky Kyle Edmund is eaksy peaksy wi thon loon Djokovic.

Now you're talking! At least I think you're talking...

Big Ivan Drago guy up front for the russkies has been a revelation.

If Lennon's lip could learn how to multi quote rather than spam the thread with replies that would be great.

07-07-2018, 06:17 PM
Big Ivan Drago guy up front for the russkies has been a revelation.

Although I want Croatia to win I'm rooting for the big guy

That made me chuckle

Always like watching Modric and Rakitic playing football, both wonderful players! Almost as good as McGinn and McGeouch.

07-07-2018, 06:18 PM
If Lennon's lip could learn how to multi quote rather than spam the thread with replies that would be great.

Multi quote isn't available on hibs.netlite.

07-07-2018, 06:18 PM
Now you're talking! At least I think you're talking...

Mrs JMS is from Inverurie. It’s a different world ...

07-07-2018, 06:20 PM
Oh, gie’s peace. Did we play Sweden every year for a hundred+ years?

Fair point.

What about playing Wales or Ireland?

07-07-2018, 06:22 PM

Quality :greengrin

07-07-2018, 06:22 PM
Hoping the Croatian's get through, fancy it will be a cracker against them in the semi final.

07-07-2018, 06:23 PM

I've been that soldier...

07-07-2018, 06:24 PM
I'm half English but still don't them to win it. I like to see all the UK nations and Ireland do well, but this is going too far :greengrin. I still associate England with the Conservative Party, therefore I can't accept any kinship. Anything which upsets the Thatcherites and Brexit types can only be a good thing. :agree:

07-07-2018, 06:25 PM
Mrs JMS is from Inverurie. It’s a different world ...

I feel that. Mrs One Day Soon is from Kelty. It's a different planet.

07-07-2018, 06:26 PM
Fair point.

What about playing Wales or Ireland?

As in why is the rivalry not so big? Look at the stats for who won the 100 odd home international championships. Mostly England and us.

07-07-2018, 06:27 PM
I feel that. Mrs One Day Soon is from Kelty. It's a different planet.

Mrs SH is Scottish, you can feel the seethe in our house.

07-07-2018, 06:28 PM
Think Croatia miss having Nikola Kalinic as an option up top. Imagine how annoyed he'd be if they go on to win the World Cup having been sent home!

07-07-2018, 06:28 PM
Think Croatia miss having Nikola Kalinic as an option up top. Imagine how annoyed he'd be if they go on to win the World Cup having been sent home!

Only has himself to blame

07-07-2018, 06:29 PM
I'm half English but still don't them to win it. I like to see all the UK nations and Ireland do well, but this is going too far :greengrin. I still associate England with the Conservative Party, therefore I can't accept any kinship. Anything which upsets the Thatcherites and Brexit types can only be a good thing. :agree:

I accept your point but I don't think Jesse Lingard, Dele Alli, or Ruben Loftus-Cheek give or know a **** about politics that took place before they were born. They just want to play football.

Mrs SH is Scottish, you can feel the seethe in our house.

She's packing her bags and rightly so. :greengrin

Only has himself to blame

Totally agree, let Croatia down.

I accept your point but I don't think Jesse Lingard, Dele Alli, or Ruben Loftus-Cheek give or know a **** about politics that took place before they were born. They just want to play football.

True

07-07-2018, 06:30 PM
Need a goal.

07-07-2018, 06:32 PM
What a goal, Russian scolari didn't even celebrate

Peach!

Need a goal.

Like that

Superb

Wow, indeed.

Need a goal.
That one will do. Cracker.

07-07-2018, 06:33 PM
Best goal of the WC so far

Brilliant goal ! Mon the Russians :flag:

The dip on that!

AltheHibby
07-07-2018, 06:34 PM
🤣

07-07-2018, 06:34 PM
Just noticed the prize money that England will get
4th place earns $22m and 3rd place earns $24m
Final runners up get $28m and winners get $38m

Wonder what Scottish football could do with even a fraction of this

07-07-2018, 06:35 PM
Seems to be a tournament of teams not turning up on the day. Croatia are honking and Russia are just as bad. Good goal tho’.

Great goal but Croatia's shape is almost arrogant, far too open in the middle there and almost invited them to go straight through the middle. Croatia may struggle here, Mandzukic doesn't appear to be the answer up top...so far.

Cyanide pills anyone????:eek:

AltheHibby

Waste it? I wouldn't trust the SFA with that much money.

07-07-2018, 06:37 PM

Probably waste it, they would have some of the prize money if they could do their jobs.

They’d spend it all on Hampden, erseholes.

Never.

That honour is between Nacho for Spain vs Portugal & Benjamin Pavard for France vs Argentina.

Surely Nacho's goal is up there as well? For a player that normally plays CB to hit that volley the way he did was something else!

07-07-2018, 06:38 PM
I'm loving everything about that goal. Like me at fives.

07-07-2018, 06:39 PM
Still think Pavard half volley for France was the best goal. The way he cut across the ball when hitting it was superb

07-07-2018, 06:40 PM
Surely Nacho's goal is up there as well? For a player that normally plays CB to hit that volley the way he did was something else!

The French one was better.

That's a good goal too

I'd take Mandzukic off and play Kramaric up top, maybe he'll improve but Mandzukic has been awful, almost invisible.

07-07-2018, 06:41 PM
The French one was better.

Both were better than the Russian goal there.

Not great defending though.

I'd take Mandzukic off and play Kramaric up top, maybe he'll improve but Mandzukic has been awful, almost invisible.

Pleasing

Or not, get them to swap places instead!

Great game again.

07-07-2018, 06:42 PM
This is a good end to end game

07-07-2018, 06:43 PM
This is a good end to end game

Aye, good to watch. It's been a great World Cup.

07-07-2018, 06:43 PM
Shocking defending is leading to a good game here. Croatia especially look very weak at the back - playing very open.

07-07-2018, 06:44 PM
Great game again.

Agree. Wee bit better than the game earlier and I could watch the Russian coach all day. From a distance mind.

07-07-2018, 06:45 PM

Think of how many blazers that would buy. Drooling.

07-07-2018, 06:46 PM
Rakitic needs to sort out his passing here, not been up to standard so far

07-07-2018, 06:48 PM

Tucked away by the blazers in own back pockets.

07-07-2018, 06:49 PM

:top marksMcCoist has actually done very well in this tournament. Brings decent insight

07-07-2018, 06:50 PM
:top marksMcCoist has actually done very well in this tournament. Brings decent insightJust for me, though, he has just had another go at mispronouncing Lewandowski 🤣

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

07-07-2018, 06:53 PM
:top marksMcCoist has actually done very well in this tournament. Brings decent insight

The Anti-Lawrenson.

He actually enjoys what he’s doing & embraces the cities he’s visited while doing the games.

07-07-2018, 06:55 PM

THE SFA CHIEF EXECUTIVE today announced that the organisation will be splashing Scotland's World Cup cash on clubs in the SPFL, following the national team's 4th placed finish.

Under the new proposals, half of the $22m prize money will be awarded over the next five years to the two highest finishers in the Scottish Premiership*, whilst the remainder will go towards fact-finding missions in the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia and the Bahamas.

*Two highest finishers based in Glasgow only, stadium capacity higher than 50,000 and not named Queen's Park

07-07-2018, 06:55 PM
The Anti-Lawrenson.

He actually enjoys what he’s doing & embraces the cities he’s visited while doing the games.

In his kilt and with a pint of Tennents? Showing us up :greengrin

07-07-2018, 06:57 PM

Probably waste it, they would have some of the prize money if they could do their jobs.

In fairness, the SFA has spread a lot of money to communities and especially and rightly to girls' football.

I'm sure both of you will come back with detailed expositions and evidence-backed critiques about how the SFA fund youth and child football.

Look forward to your posts.

07-07-2018, 06:57 PM
In his kilt and with a pint of Tennents? Showing us up :greengrin

I hope he gets the England semi-final.

He would at least provide some balance & please/annoy the majority of this thread which would make it worthwhile.

[emoji1]

07-07-2018, 07:03 PM
I hope he gets the England semi-final.

He would at least provide some balance & please/annoy the majority of this thread which would make it worthwhile.

[emoji1]

He said he was watching it earlier and cheering England on - 'unashamedly' as he put it.

AltheHibby
07-07-2018, 07:03 PM
In fairness, the SFA has spread a lot of money to communities and especially and rightly to girls' football.

I'm sure both of you will come back with detailed expositions and evidence-backed critiques about how the SFA fund youth and child football.

This is hibs.net. Evidence is not required. 😋

07-07-2018, 07:04 PM
Come on the Putinistas.

07-07-2018, 07:04 PM
He said he was watching it earlier and cheering England on - 'unashamedly' as he put it.

Point being?

07-07-2018, 07:06 PM
Point being?

The point being that he said he had been watching it earlier and had been cheering England on unashamedly. Wasn't that clear the first time? :confused:

07-07-2018, 07:07 PM

Ach you can’t expect him to have lost all of his Hunnish behaviour since being on ‘gardening leave’

[emoji6]

07-07-2018, 07:07 PM

Yes he was just patronising us apparently.

07-07-2018, 07:08 PM
Point being?

:rolleyes::confused:

07-07-2018, 07:09 PM
The point being that he said he had been watching it earlier and had been cheering England on unashamedly. Wasn't that clear the first time? :confused:

What's the point in stating that though? It's like me posting I shouted "Yes" when Croatia scored...

He used to be on Question of Sport too if we are looking for a trivia competition.

07-07-2018, 07:10 PM
Yes he was just patronising us apparently.

He's a Hun, bursting his lungs as he sang God Save the Queen. Staunch, with a tear in the eye.

07-07-2018, 07:10 PM
ally McCoist in shock admittance he cheered on england....his paymasters and millions of inglish tuning in were well chuffed with this and in no way swayed him cheering on the queens other eleven

:)

07-07-2018, 07:11 PM
What's the point in stating that though? It's like me posting I shouted "Yes" when Croatia scored...

He used to be on Question of Sport too if we are looking for a trivia competition.

In the context of this thread and the previous comments it was a relevant post.

07-07-2018, 07:13 PM
In the context of this thread and the previous comments it was a relevant post.

Previous posts? Was that all not put to bed when Russia and Croatia kicked off?

07-07-2018, 07:14 PM
Previous posts? Was that all not put to bed when Russia and Croatia kicked off?

I took it as a bit of light hearted banter after I posted about him commentating, you can take it however you like

07-07-2018, 07:15 PM

You at 6.46 on this thread:

"People need to lighten up a bit, why can't I just make a few comments on media coverage without people losing it and taking everything so serious"

You at 8.09 on this thread:

"What's the point in stating that though?"

Hypocrisy much?

07-07-2018, 07:16 PM
I want Dzyuba upfront with Kamberi, make it happen Neil

07-07-2018, 07:17 PM

"People need to lighten up a bit, why can't I just make a few comments on media coverage without people losing it and taking everything so serious"

Hypocrisy much?

I must have missed that :top marks

07-07-2018, 07:19 PM
How in the hell did that stay out

Hypocrisy much?

Wow, haha you've just proven my point! You've taken it serious enough to search and quote me, written text, meaning and purpose can be read wrongly very easily on a football forum...Just watch Russia vs Croatia, and enjoy the dulcet tones of Coisty.

Pretty dull second half now. Again, I'm not seeing an insurmountable hurdle for England here. The winner of France v Belgium really should win the tournament.

07-07-2018, 07:20 PM
What the hell. Russians must have tampered with the post.

07-07-2018, 07:20 PM
How in the hell did that stay out

There is definitely something strange with these footballs...

07-07-2018, 07:22 PM
Wow, haha you've just proven my point! You've taken it serious enough to search and quote me, written text, meaning and purpose can be read wrongly very easily on a football forum...Just watch Russia vs Croatia, and enjoy the dulcet tones of Coisty.

Yeah, I've totally just proven your point. That's definitely it. :rolleyes:

07-07-2018, 07:23 PM
The referees always seem very close to the ball this world cup.

07-07-2018, 07:23 PM
There is definitely something strange with these footballs...

We got one. They fly in a radge way, assuming the replicas move in the same way as the match balls.

nellio
07-07-2018, 07:25 PM
I want Dzyuba upfront with Kamberi, make it happen Neil

Apparently Cardiff looking at him. Would be a perfect fit for city and Warnock.

Yeah, I've totally just proven your point. That's definitely it. :rolleyes:

Either way, just enjoy the game :aok:

Impressive that Sweden were able to recover so quickly, change strips and turn up as Russia for this match.

Pretty dull second half now. Again, I'm not seeing an insurmountable hurdle for England here. The winner of France v Belgium really should win the tournament.

I'm quite enjoying it.

Croatia look like they're starting to get on top, but Russia still offer a threat on the break and from set-pieces.

07-07-2018, 07:26 PM
Why take off Cherysev???

07-07-2018, 07:27 PM
I'm quite enjoying it.

Croatia look like they're starting to get on top, but Russia still offer a threat on the break and from set-pieces.

:agree: Its a proper contest.

07-07-2018, 07:27 PM
We got one. They fly in a radge way, assuming the replicas move in the same way as the match balls.

Think they might, pretty sure De Gea and Ter Stegen both said the ball was strange and moved a lot. Seems to be a trend lately, make footballs that move a lot in the air to make the goalkeepers job very difficult. Some goals scored nowadays won't have happened in the past.

07-07-2018, 07:28 PM
The off-the-post chance took me back to Stokesy just after Miller scored. God, we could have had that won by half time. What a day.

World Cup? Meh. :-)

07-07-2018, 07:29 PM
Why take off Cherysev???

Not helping their cause in the slightest, don't understand it either.

07-07-2018, 07:29 PM
Apparently Cardiff looking at him. Would be a perfect fit for city and Warnock.

Aye I think he'd do well over here, seems like a hard working honest big guy with a bit skill thrown in for good measure

07-07-2018, 07:30 PM
Russia getting the little decisions now.

07-07-2018, 07:32 PM
Expecting a Putin Premium to kick in/be awarded anytime soon.

07-07-2018, 07:32 PM
Quite a bit snowflakeyness here because of commentators and newspapers supporting their team. Why would the BBC be neutral toward England in a world cup? Don't get that argument at all. If all the energy mumping about this went toward lobbying the SFA to improve the game here maybe Scotland wouldn't be so overwhelmingly average/rotten/talentless.

07-07-2018, 07:33 PM
That Fernandes at RB is quite decent, really good engine.

Expecting a Putin Premium to kick in/be awarded anytime soon.

I want him to come on as a sub

Quite a bit snowflakeyness here because of commentators and newspapers supporting their team. Why would the BBC be neutral toward England in a world cup? Don't get that argument at all. If all the energy mumping about this went toward lobbying the SFA to improve the game here maybe Scotland wouldn't be so overwhelmingly average/rotten/talentless.

Uh oh...

07-07-2018, 07:34 PM

:agree: Topless. On a horse.

07-07-2018, 07:34 PM

Let's not. Got boring ages ago.

07-07-2018, 07:35 PM
That Fernandes at RB is quite decent, really good engine.

One of the stars of the tourney imo.

07-07-2018, 07:36 PM

Jet pack. With his cock out.

07-07-2018, 07:36 PM
England will be beginning to fancy their chances against either of these teams.

07-07-2018, 07:37 PM
Seems like we have the talent to do some homo erotic Putin fan fiction on here haha

07-07-2018, 07:38 PM

Is that allowed before 9pm, and if so a normal sub or a nuclear one, maybe why the players on the bench look uncomfortable.

07-07-2018, 07:38 PM
The Russian bear goes off.

07-07-2018, 07:39 PM
Seems like we have the talent to do some homo erotic Putin fan fiction on here haha

Why not just straight up ask for a Novichok hit?

This has penalties written all over it.

crash

Not in my experience of 10 years involvement with youth football we have received SFA from the SFA.
On the contrary all coaches must attend and pay for their coaching courses which they run at a healthy profit. You also must attend and pay for their 'approved' First Aid Courses. In addition you have to pay them an annual membership fee of £85 in addition to your local league fees.
Also if you register new players during the season you are charged an administration fee for this.
So I really dont see where the money is going, certainly doesn't go to boys youth football, maybe you could expand on your ' money to communities and girls football'

07-07-2018, 07:41 PM

That would be a great name for a shot in a pub

07-07-2018, 07:41 PM
Croat skater boy breaks Russkys ribs.

07-07-2018, 07:42 PM
But will start again at SFs. Guaranteed.

07-07-2018, 07:49 PM
That Croatian strip's not my favourite.

Galahibby
07-07-2018, 07:55 PM
Looks like he's staying on but, if the keeper had gone off, Croatia having used all their subs, would they have been allowed to essentially substitute him for the keeper on the bench at full time and have 11 players for extra time, or would they have had to have substituted whoever replaced him in goal and play extra time with 10 men?

07-07-2018, 07:55 PM

We moan about Mark Lawrenson but that stuff REALLY gets on your nerves.

07-07-2018, 07:57 PM

Aye, but you don't even have to ingest Lawrenson for it to be fatally annoying.

07-07-2018, 07:58 PM

Now there's a man who needs a wee dose, surely we all can agree on that.

07-07-2018, 07:59 PM
Looks like he's staying on but, if the keeper had gone off, Croatia having used all their subs, would they have been allowed to essentially substitute him for the keeper on the bench at full time and have 11 players for extra time, or would they have had to have substituted whoever replaced him in goal and play extra time with 10 men?
The commentator said they could sub him at extra time . I’ve never heard of that happening before :confused:Still think Croatia have more chance of beating England than Russia .

07-07-2018, 08:00 PM
The commentator said they could sub him at extra time . I’ve never heard of that happening before :confused:Still think Croatia have more chance of beating England than Russia .

Teams are allowed a 4th sub in extra time.

07-07-2018, 08:01 PM
The commentator said they could sub him at extra time . I’ve never heard of that happening before :confused:Still think Croatia have more chance of beating England than Russia .New rule. Can use another sub in ET

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

07-07-2018, 08:01 PM
Just out of curiosity, how many pages did the last World Cup's thread run to?

07-07-2018, 08:04 PM
Russians doing ATHAG. I'm wavering towards the Croats again.

07-07-2018, 08:04 PM
Just out of curiosity, how many pages did the last World Cup's thread run to?

142, we might double it this year, can't think why

07-07-2018, 08:05 PM

They speak Gaelic?

07-07-2018, 08:08 PM

Me too. What's ATHAG?

07-07-2018, 08:10 PM
He deserves that goal for his haircut alone

07-07-2018, 08:11 PM
Not in my experience of 10 years involvement with youth football we have received SFA from the SFA.
On the contrary all coaches must attend and pay for their coaching courses which they run at a healthy profit. You also must attend and pay for their 'approved' First Aid Courses. In addition you have to pay them an annual membership fee of £85 in addition to your local league fees.
Also if you register new players during the season you are charged an administration fee for this.
So I really dont see where the money is going, certainly doesn't go to boys youth football, maybe you could expand on your ' money to communities and girls football'

I've been involved in boys/girls/youth football for about ten years too. As part of a community club.

We got all our coaching badges paid for, health and safety and child protection and PVG, where necessary too and children's first aid.

In my experience the SFA have done loads, but they're an easy target to blame.

07-07-2018, 08:12 PM
All this talk of fatigue in football during extra time, surely tennis is more difficult in terms of physical exertion. So many sports are more onerous than football but yet fatigue is always mentioned.

07-07-2018, 08:12 PM
He deserves that goal for his haircut alone

There's a haircut that trashes hotel rooms.

07-07-2018, 08:13 PM
I just said, to myself , sad I know , all the Croatian players are dead on their feet they will be lucky to get to penalties.😁

07-07-2018, 08:15 PM
Come on Russia. Want that England/Russia show down.

07-07-2018, 08:16 PM
All this talk of fatigue in football during extra time, surely tennis is more difficult in terms of physical exertion. So many sports are more onerous than football but yet fatigue is always mentioned.

Horses for courses I think, the average footballer runs about 7 miles a game and for tennis it's 3 and you get rests every wee while

07-07-2018, 08:16 PM
I want Russia to score and take this to pens now. Another fascinating game.

07-07-2018, 08:19 PM
There's a haircut that trashes hotel rooms.

He lives a Vida loca

07-07-2018, 08:19 PM
Come on the sons of Stalin, take these Balkan fannies out FFS.

07-07-2018, 08:20 PM
Russia need to go on the offensive like the battle of Kursk to turn this one round

07-07-2018, 08:20 PM
Russia need to go on the offensive like the battle of Kursk to turn this one round

Stalingrad sniper needed to fire the motherland to glory :agree:

07-07-2018, 08:21 PM
Horses for courses I think, the average footballer runs about 7 miles a game and for tennis it's 3 and you get rests every wee while

Can't jog too much in tennis though. I see what you mean though, just think footballers get it easy - there is always talk of fatigue during long matches, or fatigue because playing 2-3 games per week. Tennis is surely more difficult because more often than not you are sprinting, doing sharp turns and twisting your body all over the place and during Wimbledon or similar you are playing matches in quick succession. You are also playing solo, no chance to get a teammate to cover for you should you actually fatigue or make a mistake due to mental fatigue.

07-07-2018, 08:22 PM
Stalingrad sniper needed to fire the motherland to glory :agree:

Vasily Zaitsev style, I like it

07-07-2018, 08:25 PM
Can't jog too much in tennis though. I see what you mean though, just think footballers get it easy - there is always talk of fatigue during long matches, or fatigue because playing 2-3 games per week. Tennis is surely more difficult because more often than not you are sprinting, doing sharp turns and twisting your body all over the place and during Wimbledon or similar you are playing matches in quick succession. You are also playing solo, no chance to get a teammate to cover for you should you actually fatigue or make a mistake due to mental fatigue.

Footballers are constantly on the move, they can go from a very light jog to an all out sprint and they need to recover almost instantly and be ready to jog/sprint again and again and again, footballers are be some of the fittest athletes in the world.

07-07-2018, 08:27 PM
Vasily Zaitsev style, I like it

If it weren't for these boys we'd all be speaking German FFS :grr:

07-07-2018, 08:28 PM

What did?

07-07-2018, 08:28 PM
If it weren't for these boys we'd all be speaking German FFS :grr:

Sexist, the sniper with the highest amount of kills in Stalingrad was a woman

07-07-2018, 08:29 PM
Oh they're cranking it up now. Pressure on the Croat safe havens.

07-07-2018, 08:30 PM
Yes!!!!!
Best WC ever

Yaaas

2-2 cracking goal, pens coming up

Scenes!!!!

Might get penalties yet. :greengrin

Shoulder goal, immense

Aw bollocks with this *****. Next you'll be telling us rugby is a mans game.

07-07-2018, 08:31 PM
Given that St Andrew is the Patron Saint of Scotland and Russia I'm a bit surprised there's not been more fervour for Russia on this thread.

Set piece again

Lame

Some game, score by Brazilian Russian 😊

Croatia should have had enough in the locker to see this out... ****s

Been some game this!

07-07-2018, 08:32 PM
Footballers are constantly on the move, they can go from a very light jog to an all out sprint and they need to recover almost instantly and be ready to jog/sprint again and again and again, footballers are be some of the fittest athletes in the world.

This player epitomises that :wink: :

07-07-2018, 08:32 PM
Croatia should have had enough in the locker to see this out... ****s

Money on them?

07-07-2018, 08:33 PM

Absolute unit

Stupid free kick to give away.

This is epic.

Money on them?

was it the asterisks that gave it away :greengrin

Give England the World Cup now Gzus [emoji23]

England are going to play the winner of a penalty shootout between two winners of a penalty shootout. Mental.

07-07-2018, 08:34 PM
England will beat either of these teams IMO.

Expected more from Croatia.

Sexist, the sniper with the highest amount of kills in Stalingrad was a woman

I forgot about your obsessive attention to Russian military detail Sparky :greengrin

seriously, get that off yer PC ffs man

07-07-2018, 08:36 PM
England are going to play the winner of a penalty shootout between two winners of a penalty shootout. Mental.

This whole thing is insane. One of the most excitingI can remember, not necessarily for the quality of the football overall, but absolutely thrilling.

07-07-2018, 08:37 PM
Every penalty is going to be a two stepper. With zimmers.

What a game.

Been some game this!
Both teams knackered

07-07-2018, 08:38 PM
The spirit of Stalingrad required now.

This is epic.

Rocky IV but nuanced.

I know it's a 50/50 from the penalty spot but some part of me thinks this has now swung in favour of Russia. Still rooting for Croatia though!

The spirit of Stalingrad required now.

You want them to start cannibalism? :dunno:

Penalties are brilliant when your team isn't involved, if Russia win then it will erupt if one of them misses then it's the gulag, that's pressure

07-07-2018, 08:39 PM
Rocky IV but nuanced.

If they can change and we can change then maybe the whole world can change!!

07-07-2018, 08:40 PM
You want them to start cannibalism? :dunno:

Whatever it takes for an England Russia semi final decided by an extremely dodgy decision that sends England into a frenzy regarding involvement of Putin :greengrin.

I can't remember a better world cup.

Just a question, is the World Cup too big with 32 teams in it. Top players knackered all over the pitch.
Do the European and domestic league programmes get reduced in World Cup year
What’s everyone’s opinion

07-07-2018, 08:41 PM
Modric deserves to grace a WC final

Both teams knackered

That must help England. Croatia would give them a better game of football but be knackered. Russia wouldn't be as good but the home crowd and adrenaline of the occasion should counter any tiredness.

On balance I think Russia would actually be tougher to beat. I tell you what, these guys do not give up.

Russia for the scenes.

07-07-2018, 08:42 PM
Just a question, is the World Cup too big with 32 teams in it. Top players knackered all over the pitch.

No. Make it bigger in fact.

England will beat either of these teams IMO.

Expected more from Croatia.

Thank God France or Belgium stand in the way of England. There’s nothing to choose between these two mediocre sides. You would have thought that a semi final place might bring the best out of them but they’ve just cancelled each other out. England are now second favourites with Bet365 to win the tournament outright.

It won't because of money but yes it should, players in certain countries will have been playing for about a year solid with not much break

I can't remember a better world cup.

1982 was better, but this is a very close second for the excitemnt if not the football.

Subasic is better than Akinfeev. But it depends on the steeliness of the balls.

07-07-2018, 08:43 PM

Plenty players who are not quite professional though, try playing 120 mins like these guys tonight at the pace they're playing at.

William "fridge" Perry a blocking fullback for the Chicago Bears ran 100yds in around 12 seconds, go figure.

07-07-2018, 08:44 PM
He looked like he was going to miss from the beginning of his walk up.

Crap pen

That is the way to take a penalty.

07-07-2018, 08:45 PM
Croatian goalie is taking coming off his line to a whole new level here

07-07-2018, 08:46 PM
Russkies know how to work a crowd - excellent.

Yes Akinfeev!!!!

Good save