07-07-2018, 08:47 PM
Bottles crashing
07-07-2018, 08:47 PM
:shocked:
07-07-2018, 08:48 PM
Pet hate eh
Its just the fact they have both officials there like they are there to keep a check on it and do nothing
07-07-2018, 08:50 PM
Pressure kick now
07-07-2018, 08:50 PM
Aw naw
Modric deserves to grace a WC final
Agree & he will.
07-07-2018, 08:51 PM
I'm a bit gutted Russia are out.
07-07-2018, 08:52 PM
Great game. Credit to both teams.
I didn't see anything for England to worry about in that game.
Yes! Well done Croatia. Unlucky Russia.
A Croatia Belgium final
Wonder what odds you'd have got on that.
Gratz Croatia [emoji1082] hopefully you ram the English media [emoji117][emoji108][emoji97]
If the Croatians had class they'd form up and applaud the Russians off the pitch.
I'm a bit gutted Russia are out.
It was one of those games when you really didn't want either of them to loose.
07-07-2018, 08:54 PM
England have a great chance of beating Croatia.
Ps ...... but not the remotest chance of beating France or Belgium, especially France.
Not the best game but full of drama, well done Croatia and unlucky to Russia, did better than anyone expected, hold their heads up high after that.
07-07-2018, 08:55 PM
Modric?
It was one of those games when you really didn't want either of them to loose.
My wife just said the same thing and she knows nowt about football.
07-07-2018, 08:56 PM
Would've liked to have seen Russia in the SF for the atmosphere.
07-07-2018, 08:57 PM
This World Cup has been high in drama but has largely lacked in quality, good in one way, boring in another. Can't wait until the league season kicks off tbh.
07-07-2018, 08:57 PM
If they can change and we can change then maybe the whole world can change!!
If the Croatians had class they'd form up and applaud the Russians off the pitch.
Why? They won a game of football ffs [emoji23]
07-07-2018, 08:59 PM
You're saying Lago knows nothing about football? :greengrin
07-07-2018, 09:00 PM
Why? They won a game of football ffs [emoji23]
Because this is their last game in the tournament they are hosting and they have massively outperformed expectations. It would be classy and dignified. Sporting in fact.
07-07-2018, 09:01 PM
I'm getting seriously worried.... The pubs and town are a nightmare.
07-07-2018, 09:03 PM
Thank God France or Belgium stand in the way of England. There’s nothing to choose between these two mediocre sides. You would have thought that a semi final place might bring the best out of them but they’ve just cancelled each other out. England are now second favourites with Bet365 to win the tournament outright.
France/Belgium definitely superior sides to England.
But if they get past Croatia, which I think they are favourites to do, it’s one real top side they need to beat to win a World Cup. One top side all the way through. Unbelievable. Anything can happen in a one off game and England have good attacking players so they’d have a chance.
Hope for the semi final is that Croatia can be better.
07-07-2018, 09:06 PM
It's Coming Somewhere :agree:
I’d rather personally watch England win every match they ever played in for the next fifty years than see Russia winning another single game.
God awful team who deserve to be horsed out immediately. In fact, they deserved that a longtime ago.
I’ll retract this nonsense as I was drawn into thinking they'd play the same way as they did against Spain.
What heart and fight by a team who clearly know their limits but went for it anyway.
Croatia march on and I'd make them favourites to progress.
07-07-2018, 09:07 PM
Because this is their last game in the tournament they are hosting and they have massively outperformed expectations. It would be classy and dignified. Sporting in fact.
Outperformed based on who's expectations? You could say the same about Croatia, good players but population of 4-5million so they've outperformed to an extent. Never understood or liked the whole clapping teams on and off the pitch. Leave that for the fans, you are going on that field to win.
I don't even agree with shaking hands when going off the field, that's probably because I remember what the youths used to do when I played for my school's team...nothing classy or dignified about that I can assure you.
07-07-2018, 09:07 PM
I'm getting seriously worried.... The pubs and town are a nightmare.Same down here, but don't worry they'll all disappear from sight as soon as the regular league season starts and local teams are looking for a bit of support.
Could probably apply to many of us on here. :greengrin
07-07-2018, 09:08 PM
But if they get past Croatia, which I think they are favourites to do, it’s one real top side they need to beat to win a World Cup. One top side all the way through. Unbelievable. Anything can happen in a one off game and England have good attacking players so they’d have a chance.
I'd make Croatia favourites. An absolute belter of a start getting out of a problematic group at a canter, they slumped against Denmark and got through on pens but were very good tonight against the host nation in a hostile environment. There's not much between the teams, top players at top clubs but I'd rather have Croatias squad than England's. They've also been tested, England haven't faced a fired up quality full-strength side yet.
Slaven: The bronze medal is coming home.
07-07-2018, 09:09 PM
England have a great chance of beating Croatia.
Ps ...... but not the remotest chance of beating France or Belgium, especially France.
Every chance of beating any of them. England haven't reached top gear yet, they haven't needed to, it's all moving along quite nicely.
07-07-2018, 09:10 PM
Croatia are a couple of decent centre halves and a real quality striker away from being a top class side. Croatia with Kane or England with Modric and Rakitic would have a great chance of winning.
Semis are both wide open I think.
You're saying Lago knows nothing about football? :greengrin
Some on .net have accused me of just that. :greengrin
07-07-2018, 09:10 PM
It's Coming Somewhere :agree:
Jules Rimet still gleaming...
It's actually a stunning trophy and it still ticks me off the Brazilians got to keep it for winning three times.
07-07-2018, 09:11 PM
Every chance of beating any of them.
Every change of being beaten by any of them as well. Especially so in this World Cup.
07-07-2018, 09:12 PM
It's actually a stunning trophy and it still ticks me off the Brazilians got to keep it for winning three times.
... and then lost it. Wonder who has it now?
07-07-2018, 09:13 PM
07-07-2018, 09:14 PM
A pity they don't still have it, it was stolen and never recovered.
07-07-2018, 09:15 PM
... and then lost it. Wonder who has it now?
They ****ing WHAT?!?!?!?
07-07-2018, 09:16 PM
Every change of being beaten by any of them as well. Especially so in this World Cup.
Talk about stating the bleedin obvious
07-07-2018, 09:16 PM
They ****ing WHAT?!?!?!?
ragin ?
07-07-2018, 09:17 PM
Hope it’s Belgium v Croatia so someone new wins.
Then conflicted as I have Croatia in the work sweep but have been loving the Belge.
07-07-2018, 09:17 PM
They ****ing WHAT?!?!?!?
It was nicked in the 80s.
07-07-2018, 09:19 PM
Talk about stating the bleedin obvious
Ditto with your post!
I’d get it right up them [emoji9][emoji4] sorry but sentiment goes out the window when your a game away from the final. Keep focusing on the job to do and congratulations to the Russians once your out or have won the competition
Proper football to spraff about tomorrow. Wee bit of respite from the slavers eh? Cmon Hibs. Into these English *******s. :greengrin
07-07-2018, 09:20 PM
Both these semi finals look way too close to call for me.
I've been surprised by how well England defend, they seem to get bodies back in numbers to cover spaces very, very quickly. If they score first I think they'll win, if not I think they'll struggle.
I think Belgium should edge France if they turn up fully. They just have threats everywhere.
Belgium V England is the final I want.
Can't wait.
I'd make Croatia favourites. An absolute belter of a start getting out of a problematic group at a canter, they slumped against Denmark and got through on pens but were very good tonight against the host nation in a hostile environment. There's not much between the teams, top players at top clubs but I'd rather have Croatias squad than England's. They've also been tested, England haven't faced a fired up quality full-strength side yet.
Agree England haven’t played anybody yet.
Don’t agree about Croatia being very good tonight. Plenty drama in the game but thought it was low on quality most of the time. They have good players and are capable of better than what they showed tonight but that’s them been poor in both knockout games imo.
One thing for sure, I hope this World Cup is the sign of things to come for International Football Tournaments, the progression of the so called lesser teams has been like a breadth of fresh air.
07-07-2018, 09:22 PM
Could be a description of any day of the week in that Boot & Lace gaff.
07-07-2018, 09:22 PM
ragin ?
Yeah, torn between splenetic hatred for FIFA giving it to them and the Brazilians for being incompetent ****ers.
07-07-2018, 09:26 PM
Ditto with your post!
You just can't help yourself can you, you always have to think you're a smart erse.
Of course in any game people can say we have a great chance of winning it, only a smart erse comes on with a counter comment like you also have a great chance of losing it duh!
I thought you would have learnt after someone put you to bed earlier in the thread about your hypocrisy. Keep digging.
07-07-2018, 09:30 PM
How does a guy get to play for Russia after playing at full international level for Brazil?
07-07-2018, 09:32 PM
Enjoyed both games today.
Croatia will prove a tough test, but Southgate is the best man in charge IMO.
07-07-2018, 09:33 PM
How does a guy get to play for Russia after playing at full international level for Brazil?
Sounds a strange one, they mentioned residency so I imagine after so long in a country you can change :confused:
One thing for sure, I hope this World Cup is the sign of things to come for International Football Tournaments, the progression of the so called lesser teams has been like a breadth of fresh air.
Which lesser teams have progressed? If your talking competitive or playing style? I’d agree England have been a surprise, definitely a breath of fresh air [emoji40]
07-07-2018, 09:35 PM
Sounds a strange one, they mentioned residency so I imagine after so long in a country you can change :confused:
Presidential Decree was required. I'm Putin and i'll do what I want, here's your brown envelope Mr FIFA?
07-07-2018, 09:35 PM
Throwback experimental Nazi grandparents?
07-07-2018, 09:38 PM
Throwback experimental Nazi grandparents?Think the Dobermans got them.
07-07-2018, 09:39 PM
Which lesser teams have progressed? If your talking competitive or playing style? I’d agree England have been a surprise, definitely a breath of fresh air [emoji40]
England
Croatia
Belgium
France
Surely that wouldn't have been a last four prediction for many pre toutnament. The usual suspects of Germany, Spain, Brazil, Argentina would have been foremost in many folks minds to be around.
07-07-2018, 09:40 PM
Agree, there were even some smaller teams that were very good in the group stages and unlucky not to progress, like Senegal.
I think a problem for the likes of Brazil and Argentina these days is that their players are far too familiar. If you think back, say 20 years, the like of the Brazilians had players that you hardly ever saw or knew of. Then they rocked up at the World Cup and played football like you’d never seen it played before. For the four years in between you hardly ever saw them. Partly because tv wasn’t what it is but also because a lot of them played in their own countries as well.
I’ve picked the South Americans out but same probably applies to the likes of Germany. It’s got to be an advantage to teams coming up against them.
07-07-2018, 09:42 PM
Throwback experimental Nazi grandparents?
Dentist 😵
Tobias Funke
07-07-2018, 09:43 PM
England
Croatia
Belgium
France
Surely that wouldn't have been a last four prediction for many pre toutnament. The usual suspects of Germany, Spain, Brazil would have been foremost in many folks minds to be around.
Theres a definite gulf in class between the two sides of the draw but I’m done guessing with this WC, anyone from here can win it. This is Englands best chance to win a tournament in a generation.
07-07-2018, 09:44 PM
The commentator made reference to Putin being involved.
07-07-2018, 09:47 PM
Theres a definite gulf in class between the two sides of the draw but I’m done guessing with this WC, anyone from here can win it. This is Englands best chance to win a tournament in a generation.
Agreed, I know folk are saying this England team will be even better in years to come but i consider this a now or never situation to be honest. I never thought I would see Hibs win the Scottish Cup so I live in hope :greengrin
07-07-2018, 09:48 PM
It needs to be a competitive game you play to tie you to a country.
Tobias Funke
07-07-2018, 09:56 PM
Agreed, I know folk are saying this England team will be even better in years to come but i consider this a now or never situation to be honest. I never thought I would see Hibs win the Scottish Cup so I live in hope :greengrin
Its without doubt a perfect storm scenario, only worry for England is France and Belgium have truly world class players. That said, team spirit counts for a hell of a lot and England have that in spades.
Given the recent U17 and U20 success, the future looks bright for England.
07-07-2018, 10:02 PM
Hope it’s Belgium v Croatia so someone new wins.
Then conflicted as I have Croatia in the work sweep but have been loving the Belge.
I really hope that this is the case.
07-07-2018, 10:03 PM
Gi, you know what I mean lol!
07-07-2018, 10:03 PM
Hi you know what I mean lol!
07-07-2018, 10:07 PM
You just can't help yourself can you, you always have to think you're a smart erse.
Of course in any game people can say we have a great chance of winning it, only a smart erse comes on with a counter comment like you also have a great chance of losing it duh!
I thought you would have learnt after someone put you to bed earlier in the thread about your hypocrisy. Keep digging.
You need to relax. You suggested England have every chance of winning to someone that felt they didn’t, I suggested England have every chance of losing in response. Somehow I’m being a smart erse and stating the bleedin obvious. Then you quote me being put to bed for hypocrisy...
Surely stating you have every chance of winning when someone says you have every chance of losing is stating the bleedin obvious and surely then criticising someone for opposite is the very definition of hypocrisy?
Just saying, no smart erse intended but feel this is all a bit of an over reaction and unnecessary, people struggling to remain civil.
07-07-2018, 10:20 PM
Dentist 😵
Is it safe?
07-07-2018, 10:46 PM
You need to relax. You suggested England have every chance of winning to someone that felt they didn’t, I suggested England have every chance of losing in response. Somehow I’m being a smart erse and stating the bleedin obvious. Then you quote me being put to bed for hypocrisy...
Surely stating you have every chance of winning when someone says you have every chance of losing is stating the bleedin obvious and surely then criticising someone for opposite is the very definition of hypocrisy?
Just saying, no smart erse intended but feel this is all a bit of an over reaction and unnecessary, people struggling to remain civil.
Chill out mate.
England
Croatia
Belgium
France
Surely that wouldn't have been a last four prediction for many pre toutnament. The usual suspects of Germany, Spain, Brazil, Argentina would have been foremost in many folks minds to be around.
I wouldn’t class France as a lesser team but never mind. I picked them to win it [emoji851]
07-07-2018, 11:28 PM
England should reach the final but that's it. France and Belgium have far better players.
Galahibby
07-07-2018, 11:41 PM
Teams are allowed a 4th sub in extra time.
Yes, but if the keeper had gone off when he was injured, and replaced by an outfield player for the last 5 minutes, would they have been able to put the outfield player back into his position for extra time and bring on the subbie goalie for the injured one, or would they have had to have subbed the outfield player in goal for the other keeper and played out extra time with 10 men. Sorry, that's a long sentence 😳
07-07-2018, 11:56 PM
England should reach the final but that's it. France and Belgium have far better players.
Same applied Portugal euros. Final was France to lose. If get final then they can win it.
08-07-2018, 12:10 AM
Agree but Fifa wont like it
08-07-2018, 12:37 AM
Diego Costa too
08-07-2018, 12:54 AM
Aye, but only one will reach the final. I think Croatia will beat England, but you just never know.
Wilfried Zaha was the same, 2 friendlies for England and then switched to the Ivory Coast last year.
08-07-2018, 08:48 AM
Hi you know what I mean lol!
08-07-2018, 09:15 AM
They don't have make themselves hard to like.
https://www.balls.ie/football/watch-england-fans-trash-london-ikea-world-cup-victory-392380
08-07-2018, 09:20 AM
https://www.balls.ie/football/watch-england-fans-trash-london-ikea-world-cup-victory-392380
Tax payers money paying for that damage?
08-07-2018, 09:25 AM
Tax payers money paying for that damage?IKEA shareholders and insurance companies [emoji16]
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
Tobias Funke
08-07-2018, 09:48 AM
Tax payers money paying for that damage?
You don’t come across as the sharpest tool in the box mate.
08-07-2018, 09:53 AM
IKEA shareholders and insurance companies [emoji16]
Including for the Ambulance car?
08-07-2018, 09:53 AM
You don’t come across as the sharpest tool in the box mate.
Why's that?
08-07-2018, 09:57 AM
Including for the Ambulance car?Yep. The insurers will pay for most of that too. And, if the perps can be identified, they'll recover that, and any excess, from them.
08-07-2018, 09:59 AM
Yep. The insurers will pay for most of that too. And, if the perps can be identified, they'll recover that, and any excess, from them.
Tweet from MetTaskForce suggests a "cost to the public", I assumed that meant financially due to the damage. Possibly they were meaning as it was rendered "out of service" when people potentially needed the service.
08-07-2018, 10:02 AM
Tweet from MetTaskForce suggests a "cost to the public", I assumed that meant financially due to the damage. Possibly they were meaning as it was rendered "out of service" when people potentially needed the service.Do they have back-up cars to cover such an eventuality?
08-07-2018, 10:07 AM
Do they have back-up cars to cover such an eventuality?
No idea, just going by what they tweeted, they clearly stated "cost to the public". If that doesn't mean financially then I can only guess that meant the car being out of service resulted in it having an impact on the overall service supplied to the public. I also think due to no-one being hurt (I believe), they may just attribute the damage to the public fund - either that or they will waste hours seeking money from those responsible, I suppose that would equate to public money being used as well.
Pretty sure someone will be doing the calculations to workout which option is cheaper.
08-07-2018, 10:17 AM
No idea, just going by what they tweeted, they clearly stated "cost to the public". If that doesn't mean financially then I can only guess that meant the car being out of service resulted in it having an impact on the overall service supplied to the public. I also think due to no-one being hurt (I believe), they may just attribute the damage to the public fund - either that or they will waste hours seeking money from those responsible, I suppose that would equate to public money being used as well.
Pretty sure someone will be doing the calculations to workout which option is cheaper.
Pay the excess. Move on.
Public property gets damaged every weekend. It's a ****, but **** happens.
Unless you want to ban exuberance? [emoji16]
08-07-2018, 10:47 AM
As an Englishman I have to express extreme disappointment at seeing these clips. Report says this was meant to happen as payback if Sweden had won the match and that after England had won they still stormed in. Whatever the result this was childish, stupid, costly in ££s and in lost goodwill. Would be good if the individuals identified in the clips could be prosecuted. The staff in Ikea must have been terrified and the vehicle damage just beyond understanding.
Hard to like? Hard to comprehend.
08-07-2018, 10:49 AM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;5457345]Pay the excess. Move on.
What should be banned is describing what happened as exuberance.
08-07-2018, 11:19 AM
Pay the excess. Move on.
My tax is paying that excess. The Ambulance is out of circulation. I want those idiots caught.
Just celebrate and behave like humans.
K-Zazu
08-07-2018, 11:52 AM
I think England will beat Croatia. Croatia just done 2 extra times and penalties. That’s got to take it’s toll.
norhfc
08-07-2018, 12:11 PM
I think Belgium are the strongest team left, actually recognize more of their players than the English team. Two good semis to look forward to.
08-07-2018, 12:32 PM
I see a Belgium vs England final, Croatia don't look special unfortunately and I think Belgium have more across the park than France.
Martinez got roasted for his performance at Everton but he has done well changing tactics/personnel when required with Belgium.
08-07-2018, 12:50 PM
My tax is paying that excess. The Ambulance is out of circulation. I want those idiots caught.
Just celebrate and behave like humans.
JJust bellends, they're everywhere.
I had one that I normally nod to in passing say to me in the pub last night that I must be ******** it because it's coming home.
He'd had a few so I said I have no problem with England doing well, even winning it . that's my position even though I want France to win. I was then embraced and he insisted I must be a rangers supporter.
Told him I wasn't then got a bit of a rant about celtc and left the bar to sit in the garden where he eventually appeared. It went downhill when he started mouthing about Bobby Sands in my general direction so a very direct up close one to one chat about Hibs was the way forward I felt. His mate who I also know took this as a way out as he'd seen us beat sevco on TV and was genuinely complimentary about it.
Bellend half apologised but frankly can't hold his drink or work his mouth.
One regular said to me who are all these people? You never see them in the regular season or when it's raining☺
09-07-2018, 10:35 AM
It's all gone too far. The mania is now getting unbearable in the media. It must be stamped out and I'm relying on France to do just that in the final.
09-07-2018, 12:30 PM
Really hope Croatia find a way to beat them, but England have looked pretty comfortable thus far.
Win vs Croatia and France/Belgium to win the World Cup? Quite sure they'd have ripped your hand off for that offer before the tournament got underway.
They're more than capable of beating all 3 teams remaining.
Here's hoping they don't!
10-07-2018, 03:53 PM
:sauzee:
10-07-2018, 05:44 PM
What strikes me about both these teams tonight is how broadly likeable they are. No Pépé or Diego Costas. The closest you get to a bad guy is probably Pogba for his ego but he plays the game in the right way. Similarly, the defenders are mostly ball playing types, team players.
It really could be a great game.
10-07-2018, 05:49 PM
THIS should be the Final, Fifa, along with the huge majority of football fans across the world would want this as the Final, in fact...Fifa should have compensated the dross in the other semi-final to **** off so they could make this the final, the footballing world is being denied two great footballing teams taking part in the final :agree:
get it sorted Fifa
10-07-2018, 05:57 PM
Spanish Manager leading Belgium to semi-final.
French Assistant Manager working for Belgium in a semi-final against France.
A Scottish coach working with England who get to a semi-final.
Quite a strange World Cup. Henry coming up against France must be a little weird for him.
Edit - forgot to mention Croatia sacking their coach for pro-Ukraine video on social media.
10-07-2018, 05:59 PM
Anthem tastic.
Allez Les Bleus [emoji632] I hope France win 🤞
10-07-2018, 06:05 PM
Anthem tastic.
One of my big regrets following football was that when I was in Paris for the Scotland game a few years ago I didn't get into the ground in time to hear the French national anthem.
It is a magnificent piece of music.
10-07-2018, 06:07 PM
This match is the real final. Hope Belgium do it.
10-07-2018, 06:08 PM
Deschamps/Clusoe looks like he's got his defensive head on tonight.
10-07-2018, 06:16 PM
THIS should be the Final, Fifa, along with the huge majority of football fans across the world would want this as the Final, in fact...Fifa should have compensated the dross in the other semi-final to **** off so they could make this the final, the footballing world is being denied two great footballing teams taking part in the final :agree:
get it sorted Fifa
:rotflmao:
10-07-2018, 06:17 PM
Did anyone else hear the bbc link announcer before the start of the programme?
“Now the first semi final to find out who we’ll play on Sunday”
excuse me love?! Did I miss the other semi final? And yet they wonder why none of the other home nations back them!
10-07-2018, 06:17 PM
'Mon the neighbours of the cheese eating surrender monkeys.
10-07-2018, 06:19 PM
That was brilliant from Lloris.
10-07-2018, 06:21 PM
And again. That's a great save.
10-07-2018, 06:22 PM
That was brilliant from Lloris.
He's had a great tournament, really put his critics to bed.
10-07-2018, 06:23 PM
He's had a great tournament, really put his critics to bed.
I've always struggled to understand the stick he gets. He's been consistently good for years.
10-07-2018, 06:25 PM
Lloris has easily been in the top 5 world keepers for a number of years now
10-07-2018, 06:28 PM
So far, France are a good bit better than I thought.
10-07-2018, 06:30 PM
😂 You can’t help it can you.
10-07-2018, 06:31 PM
I really like the look of Pavard. Think.he has had a great tournament?
10-07-2018, 06:32 PM
And that's why players dive. Fouled at least twice, stayed on his feet so ref just neglected to make a decision. If he went down that was a free kick in a dangerous area.
10-07-2018, 06:32 PM
I've always struggled to understand the stick he gets. He's been consistently good for years.
Opta had him in the bottom half of Premier league keepers last season after being near the top continuously for years and years.
10-07-2018, 06:34 PM
Giroud has to do better there
10-07-2018, 06:35 PM
This is really high quality all over the pitch.
10-07-2018, 06:36 PM
Is it just me who's getting tired of the commentators OTT praise of some of these players? The commentary is the one thing thats let this world cup down for me.
10-07-2018, 06:37 PM
I really like the look of Pavard. Think.he has had a great tournament?
He was getting pelters from the commentators during their first game, to be fair he wasn't great.
Since then he's looked good every time I've seen him.
Screamer in the last round.
Have to say Hazard when he's in this mood is as good as Messi and Ronaldo, sublime skills.
10-07-2018, 06:39 PM
Some save by Courtois.
Well actually it's not.:rolleyes:
10-07-2018, 06:41 PM
Really hope England win their semi now, would really like to see them in a final against either of these two. The quality is sumptuous. I think it would make a great final of contrasting styles.
10-07-2018, 06:42 PM
Final ball from both teams has been pretty honking so far though
10-07-2018, 06:46 PM
He was getting pelters from the commentators during their first game, to be fair he wasn't great.
Since then he's looked good every time I've seen him.
Screamer in the last round.
I agree he’s been really good, especially since full back isn’t his natural position because he’s a centre back for his club.
10-07-2018, 06:48 PM
oops HT, time to nip out whilst the studio goes direst to the inglish training camp no doubt
10-07-2018, 06:48 PM
Nothing I saw in that 45 has me worried at all. England should go all the way and win it.
guthrie01
10-07-2018, 06:50 PM
Nothing I saw in that 45 has me worried at all. England should go all the way and win it.
Can’t wait to watch Mbappe tear the English defence apart :greengrin
10-07-2018, 06:51 PM
😂 You can’t help it can you.
FWIW I actually support England in this. Realistically though, France and Belgium are definitely the two best sides in the world.
10-07-2018, 06:53 PM
I think England play at a pace that, to me, gives them a great chance against any of the remaining teams who appear to be a bit pedestrian in comparison.
10-07-2018, 06:53 PM
Can’t wait to watch Mbappe tear the English defence apart :greengrin
He won’t.
10-07-2018, 06:55 PM
FWIW I actually support England in this. Realistically though, France and Belgium are definitely the two best sides in the world.
Well if I’ve just watched the two best sides in the world, I am extremely underwhelmed
10-07-2018, 06:55 PM
For me Griezmann's been the biggest disappointment so far. Doesn't mean he won't score though.
Said that to you right at beginning of competition when you were a little ambivalent about England's chances.:agree:
10-07-2018, 06:57 PM
For me Griezmann's been the biggest disappointment so far. Doesn't mean he won't score though.
I think that just about every time I see him. And just about every time I see him he still ends up scoring.
10-07-2018, 07:02 PM
Said that to you right at beginning of competition when you were a little ambivalent about England's chances.:agree:
England have grown on me, not having all the nonsense about them not playing anyone decent either. It’s a cup competition and you play who you draw. If you win a cup with a seemingly easier draw it does not devalue your win in any way.
10-07-2018, 07:08 PM
England have grown on me, not having all the nonsense about them not playing anyone decent either. It’s a cup competition and you play who you draw. If you win a cup with a seemingly easier draw it does not devalue your win in any way.
Enough of the big guns have failed to beat what's in front of them for people to be serious when they belittle what England have done.
They've done enough to get to the semi-final and it doesn't matter if you're lucky or good in doing so.
If they can step it up now (as they will need to do against the next 2 teams they will/ might play) then they would be worthy winners whichever way you look at it.
Benny Brazil
10-07-2018, 07:08 PM
Goal Les BLues
10-07-2018, 07:09 PM
Game on now, Belgium have to go for it big time and Mbappes pace on the break the other way
10-07-2018, 07:10 PM
Good header even though it got a deflection. Attacked it well.
10-07-2018, 07:11 PM
I've been slagging umtiti a fair bit but that's a good header. :sauzee:
10-07-2018, 07:12 PM
Honestly think Matuidi is better than Pogba. Wonderful player.
Absolutely correct, lot of jealously involved from those that continually talk about the easier side of the draw.
10-07-2018, 07:13 PM
Is Efe Ambrose French?
10-07-2018, 07:13 PM
What a goal that would have been
K-Zazu
10-07-2018, 07:14 PM
Mbappe is elite level
What a shame, that would’ve been a wonderful goal.
The Italian commentator just described Mbappe as 'spectaculosa' there and I have to agree.
10-07-2018, 07:15 PM
Is Efe Ambrose French?Nigerian.
10-07-2018, 07:16 PM
Lovely ball in for the goal too.
It was begging to be attacked.
guthrie01
10-07-2018, 07:16 PM
Game is really coming to life now
10-07-2018, 07:17 PM
If Giroud had been on his toes and had his shooting boots on then Mbappe would have 2 outstanding assists tonight.
10-07-2018, 07:19 PM
If Giroud had been on his toes and had his shooting boots on then Mbappe would have 2 outstanding assists tonight.
, :agree: I like Giroud a lot but he's been dominated by Kompany tonight.
10-07-2018, 07:20 PM
If Giroud had been on his toes and had his shooting boots on then Mbappe would have 2 outstanding assists tonight.Apparently Giroud hasn't had an attempt on target since the finals started.
10-07-2018, 07:20 PM
That lay-off to him in the first half was exquisite.
10-07-2018, 07:21 PM
I think England play at a pace that, to me, gives them a great chance against any of the remaining teams who appear to be a bit pedestrian in comparison.
I agree. That's their potential edge.
10-07-2018, 07:23 PM
Mehrtens has been very good since he came on. Three good crosses already.
10-07-2018, 07:25 PM
Mbappe is at Messi level just now. Wow.
10-07-2018, 07:26 PM
I agree. That's their potential edge.
France have pace throughout their team. Mbappe and Griezeman upfront , ****e and Matuidi in the middle are very mobile and defensively Varanne is exceptionally quick for a centre half and both full backs can shift. I'd argue they have more pace in their team than England , they just play a more patient style of football.
10-07-2018, 07:27 PM
If Giroud could step it up from Rowan Vine to Amadou Konte level then France might find themselves out of sight.
10-07-2018, 07:30 PM
France have pace throughout their team. Mbappe and Griezeman upfront , ****e and Matuidi in the middle are very mobile and defensively Varanne is exceptionally quick for a centre half and both full backs can shift. I'd argue they have more pace in their team than England , they just play a more patient style of football.
Varane is one of those funny players, always think he looks very slow and then he does this :offski:
10-07-2018, 07:31 PM
Mehrtens has been very good since he came on. Three good crosses already.
Puzzling as to why they didn't start him, definitely improved them.
10-07-2018, 07:33 PM
This co-commentator is boiling my pish big time.
10-07-2018, 07:37 PM
Giroud lucky there, stupid tackle. He's been poor.
Unbelievable that wasn't a free kick against Giroud
10-07-2018, 07:39 PM
Lloris again!
10-07-2018, 07:40 PM
Another VAR mystery. How 5 qualified refs can conclude that wasn't a foul after seeing replays is beyond me.
10-07-2018, 07:40 PM
This co-commentator is boiling my pish big time.
Each and everyone of them do it for me !
10-07-2018, 07:41 PM
Murphy is another dick, having a go at the Belgium player because of the league he plays in, what a dick.
10-07-2018, 07:42 PM
Another VAR mystery. How 5 qualified refs can conclude that wasn't a foul after seeing replays is beyond me.
Can they use VAR to give a free-kick?
I thought that if the ref didn't see it/ give it then a decision like that couldn't be changed?
10-07-2018, 07:43 PM
Impressive how difficult the French are making it for Belgium to play.
Lukaku, De Bruyne and Mehrtens are not easier players to subdue.
10-07-2018, 07:44 PM
Each and everyone of them do it for me !
Dull, condescending and an ability to state the obvious repeatedly is clearly the BBC benchmark. Who needs entertainment or insight?
10-07-2018, 07:45 PM
I thought that if the ref didn't see it/ give it then a decision like that couldn't be changed?
Nope. Only goals, penalties, straight red cards & mistaken identity is when VAR is called upon
10-07-2018, 07:45 PM
Murphy is another dick, having a go at the Belgium player because of the league he plays in, what a dick.
We will be seeing a lot more of him this season at Ipox as Stevie G is his best mate apparently :rolleyes: Bellend of the highest order.
Think VAR is for penalty box decisions, wrong players being sent off etc
10-07-2018, 07:46 PM
Murphy comments that Giroud had a good game as he went off.
Not how I saw it.
Funny how when France won the World Cup in 1998 they managed to do it without really having a form striker.
10-07-2018, 07:47 PM
We will be seeing a lot more of him this season at Ipox as Stevie G is his best mate apparently :rolleyes: Bellend of the highest order.
He manages to sound as though he's on a five year journey to becoming as negative as Lawrenson.
10-07-2018, 07:48 PM
He gets plenty stick but Pogba has been immense in the middle of the park tonight.
Murphy comments that Giroud had a good game as he went off.
Not how I saw it.
Funny how when France won the World Cup in 1998 they managed to do it without really having a form striker.In 98 they didn't really impress until the final.
Despite some of their players and some of their play, I don't really like watching France. It's bizarre but I don't like the controlled pace they play at.
10-07-2018, 07:50 PM
Griezmann again. Pffff...
10-07-2018, 07:51 PM
Belgium have just been run out of road by France.
10-07-2018, 07:51 PM
What a stupid, stupid, stupid foul. If that was your teammate you would feel like knocking him out.
10-07-2018, 07:52 PM
Kompany has had a very good game.
10-07-2018, 07:54 PM
Mbappe wasted a great opportunity there with a poor pass. Should have hit a shot after that as well but tried to dribble past Kompany. Did Murphy not say he can’t see any weaknesses in his game and he always makes the right decision? Step aside Murphy, found a couple already :wink:
10-07-2018, 07:56 PM
Good. No chance England are beating France if they can get there on Sunday
Despite some of their players and some of their play, I don't really like watching France. It's bizarre but I don't like the controlled pace they play at.As I said from the start, Deschamps has made them mega efficient. OK they had a bit of luck tonight (which works both ways), but they have to be one of the most disciplined teams there is.
well done France on winning the 2018 world cup, congrats
:sauzee::sauzee::sauzee:
:)
I think anyone who doesn't want England to win it better hope Croatia do England, because I think England can do France.
10-07-2018, 07:57 PM
Come on France 🇫🇷
Hope they now win it on Sunday. I think they will too 😁
10-07-2018, 07:57 PM
I think anyone who doesn't want England to win it better hope Croatia do England, because I think England can do France.
Not so sure about that.
10-07-2018, 07:58 PM
Engerland has nothing to fear if they win tomorrow night. They have nothing to lose. I hope to **** I'm wrong mind
I’m not so sure they can. An excellent team all over the park, France really are the best team in the world right now.
Griezmann again. Pffff...
He's such a quality player! 😁
On paper, France would win. Much better team. But in a cup final, anything can happen. It’s on the day that matters. Look at Euro 2016 France vs Portugal or the CL final in 2012 between Bayern Munich vs Chelsea
guthrie01
10-07-2018, 07:59 PM
Serious ?
Because France where immense tonight, shut down Belgiums attack and broke through when it mattered. Think the trophy has the French teams name on it this year.
10-07-2018, 07:59 PM
We've been guranteed by the same people that England definitely won't beat 2 teams already and yet here we are.
I'm just going to watch football the old fashioned way before clairvoyants told us what would happen beforehand and enjoy it as it plays out
10-07-2018, 08:00 PM
Engerland has nothing to fear if they win tomorrow night. They have nothing to lose. I hope to **** I'm wrong mind
Really? France have probably two of the best strikers in the world and what about their defence? It's solid. England on the other hand.....
Who's tested England yet?
10-07-2018, 08:01 PM
Really? France have probably two of the best strikers in the world and what about their defence? It's solid. England on the other hand.....
Who's tested England yet?Belgium?
10-07-2018, 08:01 PM
A very impressive team performance, with some outstanding individual displays from Lloris, varane and umtiti on lukaku, Mbappe, and Pogba and ****e in the middle.
They look like WC winners to me. Can't see Croatia or England stopping them.
10-07-2018, 08:02 PM
France's trophy now
renato
Varane is outstanding, best defender at the tourney. The French midfield is outrageous too, whilst every other country would love Griezmann and Mbappe.
Giroud is the weakest player in their starting 11, stick Kane in there (or Benzema) and they’d be stick ons.
Belgium?
What Belgium second string vs English second string?
10-07-2018, 08:03 PM
I reckon the French will be fairly confident of beating either side to be honest.
10-07-2018, 08:04 PM
Who's tested England yet?
England have possibly the best striker in the world and a solid defence.
I don't think there's much between the 2.
France have a better midfield.
I think Croatia have a better midfield than England but a poorer defence.
Tobias Funke
10-07-2018, 08:08 PM
If France are totally on their game on Sunday, they win regardless of the opposition.
10-07-2018, 08:08 PM
winners : Le Francais
runners-up : Croatia
3rd place : Belgique
10-07-2018, 08:09 PM
No idea who will win the tournament, France have the best players collectively though. Not necessarily the best individually but in almost every position you’d say that player is top 20 in the world. Giroud is possibly their worst player and he should’ve had 2 goals minimum tonight.
Solid performances so far. A little weak against Australia but still grinded out result.
Go on France :sauzee:
10-07-2018, 08:11 PM
Roi getting a bit ahead of himself
shetlandhibee
10-07-2018, 08:11 PM
Mbappe wasted a great opportunity there with a poor pass. Should have hit a shot after that as well but tried to dribble past Kompany. Did Murphy not say he can’t see any weaknesses in his game and he always makes the right decision? Step aside Murphy, found a couple already :wink:
hes favourite for player of the tournament, so i think his good play is overiding his weaknesses:greengrin:agree:
10-07-2018, 08:14 PM
Really wanted Belgium to win tonight as, for me, they play a more entertaining game but at least the up-side is that France will win the World Cup !
10-07-2018, 08:17 PM
If France are totally on their game on Sunday, they win regardless of the opposition.
Quality wise they are a step above Croatia or England.
But of course many things can happen to prevent a team playing at their best.
10-07-2018, 08:18 PM
IF England can get past Croatia - big, big IF, then...
Belgium had the chances to go in front and if they had done it would have been a completely different game. If England get those chances and take one of them first they can win it.
Of the two generals I think Southgate is better. Waterloo on the horizon...
10-07-2018, 08:22 PM
It's gut wrenching to see Paul Gascoigne in that condition on the Bobby Robson documentary.
10-07-2018, 08:27 PM
hes favourite for player of the tournament, so i think his good play is overiding his weaknesses:greengrin:agree:
He even tackles well. And what is he, 19? Ridiculous talent.
10-07-2018, 08:27 PM
It's gut wrenching to see Paul Gascoigne in that condition on the Bobby Robson documentary.
I saw the full documentary a few weeks back. Well worth a watch. Bobby was a great man.
Gazza actually comes across as doing ok, certainly better than he looked a couple of years back.
10-07-2018, 08:28 PM
IF England can get past Croatia - big, big IF, then...
Belgium had the chances to go in front and if they had done it would have been a completely different game. If England get those chances and take one of them first they can win it.
Of the two generals I think Southgate is better. Waterloo on the horizon...
Generals? Waterloo? This is football...
The debate on who can win it now is a bit like “if your aunt had a...”. I’m hoping Croatia do well because they are a small nation. France are looking very solid though. England are there. Who knows...
10-07-2018, 08:32 PM
Croatia could win tomorrow. Or England could and then beat France in the final... I'd expect France to win it now but anything is possible if you have Harry Kane in your team.
10-07-2018, 08:32 PM
I saw the full documentary a few weeks back. Well worth a watch. Bobby was a great man.
Gazza actually comes across as doing ok, certainly better than he looked a couple of years back.
It's just quite hard to reconcile the guy you see on the screen with the irrepressible dancing bampot I remember from the pitch. Even when he played for the now defunct Rangers I found it hard to dislike him, he was just so exceptional.
Bobby Robson comes across as an impressive character all round. The biggest indictment of the EFA IMO is their failure to make Clough England manager.
nellio
10-07-2018, 08:35 PM
We've been guranteed by the same people that England definitely won't beat 2 teams already and yet here we are.
I'm just going to watch football the old fashioned way before clairvoyants told us what would happen beforehand and enjoy it as it plays out
It's impossible to have a sensible conversation with some folk because of bias and its almost as if some are blinded by hate. I know one boy who put 20 quid on Sweden because "England are phish."
10-07-2018, 08:36 PM
Croatia could win tomorrow. Or England could and then beat France in the final... I'd expect France to win it now but anything is possible if you have Harry Kane in your team.
There's no doubt in my mind that France are, pound for pound, the far better team and should win it. But there's something about England - both their luck and their style of play - that makes me think if they get to the final then its got their name on it. I also think that France suit England as opponents. But maybe Croatia will render all that speculation void.
10-07-2018, 08:49 PM
It's impossible to have a sensible conversation with some folk because of bias and its almost as if some are blinded by hate. I know one boy who put 20 quid on Sweden because "England are phish."
That’s just football fans though, it doesn’t have to be hate for people to act stupid. Football can bring out the worst in people. How many Hibs fans bet against Hearts for similar reasons? Does that mean we hate Hearts fans? No. Hate the club? Maybe. Drunk? Maybe.
Bias also works both ways. Some are biased towards England, some are biased against. Trying to have a sensible argument with either will be difficult, football fans are fickle but blinkered. Rivalry is good, not everything is led by hate.
Support who you want and enjoy it. World Cup will be over shortly!
10-07-2018, 09:09 PM
They have a World Cup to lose. He pressure would be immense.
That said, I fancy Croatia to do the biz.
10-07-2018, 09:24 PM
It's England's to lose. I've been really impressed with their style of play.
Croatia havent really come past much, beating an abysmal Argentina at their lowest ebb, scraping past Denmark and throwing away a lead against Russia.
France have upper their performance since getting our the groups, but choked in the 2016 euros final so no guarantee they'll get a result in this final.
I hope Croatia do the damage, but I think there's a big chance of "football coming home".
10-07-2018, 09:34 PM
Croatia havent really come past much, beating an abysmal Argentina at their lowest ebb, scraping past Denmark and throwing away a lead against Russia.
France have upper their performance since getting our the groups, but choked in the 2016 euros final so no guarantee they'll get a result in this final.
I hope Croatia do the damage, but I think there's a big chance of "football coming home".Not a bad summary but you've just got to hope that if whatever it is does "come home" nigel and Trevor haven't moved onto the proms or got their cricket jumpers on before the soccer boys bring it back to blighty.
10-07-2018, 09:55 PM
I hope Croatia do the damage, but I think there's a big chance of "football coming home".Funny you should mention that final. The consensus here is that that defeat changed Deschamps and his management style. Everything is about "the group" and team spirit, with no place for anyone who doesn't buy into his methods 100%. He's also apparently distanced himself from the players. There's friendship and total respect (both ways), but he's less pally with the players than before and nobody is treated as a special case.
As for the players, even tonight after the match, those interviewed who were involved in 2016 were totally grounded. There seems to be an intense determination to make amends.
We'll find out soon enough.
10-07-2018, 10:30 PM
Funny you should mention that final. The consensus here is that that defeat changed Deschamps and his management style. Everything is about "the group" and team spirit, with no place for anyone who doesn't buy into his methods 100%. He's also apparently distanced himself from the players. There's friendship and total respect (both ways), but he's less pally with the players than before and nobody is treated as a special case.
As for the players, even tonight after the match, those interviewed who were involved in 2016 were totally grounded. There seems to be an intense determination to make amends.
We'll find out soon enough.
I love the sound of that because it seems to mirror what Southgate has going in his camp. France v England would make for the better, more compelling final.
All in all these World Cup finals have gripped me far more than I thought they would. Pretty good way to pass the time waiting for Hibernian again.
10-07-2018, 10:50 PM
Absolutely anyone could win this now id say. I’d put England as ever so slight favourites tomorrow and then I’d put France as ever so slight favourites in the final.
England will always have a chance with Kane in the team, the guy is a goal scoring machine of all types of goals. If they win it then fair play to them, I don’t think anyone could debate that they deserve to be here.
11-07-2018, 01:20 AM
Saw him in the shop a wee while back buying a bevvy.
11-07-2018, 01:42 AM
Generals? Waterloo? This is football...
The debate on who can win it now is a bit like “if your aunt had a...”. I’m hoping Croatia do well because they are a small nation. France are looking very solid though. England are there. Who knows...
Many top footballers in Oz were the descendants of Croatians....eg Mark Viduks...and my experience of. Croatians in Footballing sense was that they were immensely skilful, even more passionate than Scots, but prone to explosion when things turned out badly for them!
Hope they win, and think they have the skills to do so, but can see a red card or two in the later stages of the game if they are not still in the reckoning
11-07-2018, 05:13 AM
I live in Kent and the arrogance (note I didn’t say confidence) that the semi final is merely a formality
They see Croatia as a very poor team and don’t stand a chance
11-07-2018, 05:44 AM
I live in Kent and the arrogance (note I didn’t say confidence) that the semi final is merely a formality
They see Croatia as a very poor team and don’t stand a chance
Based on what I have seen of both teams so far I think there is every reason for England to be confident especially if the Occassion and pressure doesn't get to them
Can't see Southgate letting them get complacent Think he has been a Breath of Fresh Air and very humble and grounded
Would now like to see them reach the Final and get Pumped
renato
11-07-2018, 05:46 AM
That was the most nauseating 10 mins of Sport I think I’ve ever watched, on BBC news. Not sure we’d be much different if it was us but the sense of arrogance, entitlement and the “feature” on Croatia’s star players, like they’re playing some diddy team that we all need educated on, was just cringe.
Come on, be excited but also show some class and a bit of humility.
renato
11-07-2018, 05:47 AM
And stop bloody saying that it’s coming home, you didn’t invent the game!!