View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread
30-08-2018, 03:47 PM
Caulker? He'd only be used to fill in now and again.
He looked as slow as a week in jail trying to chase Tony Watt for ST J's goal against Dundee
What time does the window close?
Midnight tomorrow
30-08-2018, 03:59 PM
Has Lennon uttered the dreaded “I’m happy with what I have” line yet?
30-08-2018, 04:00 PM
Bloody hope not
30-08-2018, 04:08 PM
He’s be lying if he did.
scotiaf
30-08-2018, 04:17 PM
I think we were hopefull of mulumba, ah well
30-08-2018, 04:20 PM
He’s be lying if he did.
Please tell us more, I really hope we have somebody coming in
30-08-2018, 04:20 PM
He’s be lying if he did.
This is where I'm at but he said 2 or3 players after Aberdeen, then said 1 on the debate the other night, could well see him come out tomorrow saying he's happy
30-08-2018, 04:23 PM
I think we were hopefull of mulumba, ah well
Nae chance
We might have spoke to him but he was wanting £20k+ a week
Might have been a very quick chat
This is where I'm at but he said 2 or3 players after Aberdeen, then said 1 on the debate the other night, could well see him come out tomorrow saying he's happy
Maybe he said one because the other 2 are almost done deals.
30-08-2018, 04:25 PM
Maybe he said one because the other 2 are almost done deals.
Can you see 2 or 3 still coming in? I'd like it but I can't
30-08-2018, 04:27 PM
That’s a stock answer if we don’t get anybody in. He can hardly turn round and say, I’m disappointed we didn’t get him or him or him. Inside tho’, he’ll be bealing.
Togs91
30-08-2018, 04:31 PM
Can you see 2 or 3 still coming in? I'd like it but I can't
Think we are done for the season. Bit dissapointing as we do love last minute transfers amd excitement. But overall happy with the window and the players we brought in!
30-08-2018, 04:35 PM
Think we are done for the season. Bit dissapointing as we do love last minute transfers amd excitement. But overall happy with the window and the players we brought in!
REALLY hope we aren't done yet. Think we need Scott Allan, could do with Kamara as well but Scotty is essential.
Juniper Greens
30-08-2018, 04:36 PM
I think there will still be 2 more out, possibly a higher earner amongst them, with 2 quality first team level players coming in...
Togs91
30-08-2018, 04:38 PM
I do hope you are right! Just cant see celtic budging unfortunately.
30-08-2018, 04:46 PM
Has there actually been anyone linking us to Kamara?
Or just a lot of wishful thinking?
Im hearing Danny Swanson and Steven Whittaker to Celtic swap deal for Griffiths
Those voices in your head what are they like eh?😆
Has there actually been anyone linking us to Kamara?
Or just a lot of wishful thinking?
Probably the latter.
30-08-2018, 04:47 PM
Those voices in your head what are they like eh?😆
That and the glue...
30-08-2018, 04:49 PM
not convinced we'll pay anything for Kamara.we have Bartley (injured)Whittaker and Milligan for defensive midfielder
30-08-2018, 04:51 PM
I dont get the hype with Kamara
30-08-2018, 04:53 PM
Dbl post
30-08-2018, 04:54 PM
Hearts sign Wighton - 3 year deal
Youd think he wouldve removed the bra for the pic though eh
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180830/30c9c2483e84fad3ca44dd4f027d45db.jpg
30-08-2018, 04:58 PM
yip im the same, it always amazes me how lots of people know how good other teams players are, i only ever see other teams either playing against us or in the highlights programme, you dont really get a chance to see how good they are
30-08-2018, 05:00 PM
Looks like a jambo with that stupid grin
30-08-2018, 05:02 PM
I don't get that one at all.
BH Hibs
30-08-2018, 05:03 PM
Any chance of removing the photo of the Hearts prick from our forum please?
30-08-2018, 05:08 PM
I think if we are done it'll be because we couldn't get the right player for the right price
Long gone are the days of buying for the sake of buying - thank god! This tactic lead to a lot of dross players wearing the green and white
MacGruber
30-08-2018, 05:11 PM
Better not be.
Scott Allan, Kamara & Hooper or the season ticket gets handed back.
30-08-2018, 05:15 PM
Worried people will write off this transfer window as a failure because we don't bring Allan in. We've done good business considering the players we've lost
The players we have brought in are of decent quality, but I don't see much balance to the team. For me we need cover on the left side of defence, we need another bruiser of a centre half if we are playing 3, we need a big handful of a striker, and more quality and legs in the engine room. We hit good heights last season, we can't step back down..now is the time to kick on!
Scotty Leither
30-08-2018, 05:24 PM
I think 3rd/4th place represents the zenith of the BoD's ambition, unfortunately.
They knew McGinn was going, they did well to get the fee they got for him, but the corollary to that is a (justified) higher level of expectation among the fans as to how it's spent.
Time will tell I suppose, but we'll never know what the Board's level of expectation is, because accountants don't indulge in imponderables, do they?
30-08-2018, 05:25 PM
Surely with them signing another midfielder they can afford to let Allan go
Allan as a professional footballer is well and truly stuck in the doldrums and deteriorating by the hour. Unless common sense prevails on both sides, his career could slip away from him in the next few months. The only thing that can be keeping him sane is the money he pulls in every month. I don’t know what’s going through his head, but a financial sacrifice on his part could remove the nightmare. In the short term, he is laughing his way to the bank but in the longer term he could be up **** creek, sans paddle.
30-08-2018, 05:26 PM
Not a journalist I've heard of but i rarely read the EEN nowadays
Not sure how credible he is, or am I too dismissive because it's not the news I want to hear
:greengrinHe's pretty good when it comes to hibs stuff on Twitter
30-08-2018, 05:27 PM
https://youtu.be/ATxMBaKSGrk . Who do we have as good as this guy ?
30-08-2018, 05:29 PM
I think 3rd/4th place represents the zenith of the BoD's ambition, unfortunately.
They knew NcGinn was going, they did well to get the fee they got for him, but the corollary to that is a (justified) higher level of expectation among the fans as to how it's spent.
Time will tell I suppose, but we'll never know what the Board's level of expectation is, because accountants don't indulge in imponderables, do they?
I wasn’t aware tha our Chief Executiveness was an accountant?
Ambition is all relative and I supoose you forgot about the opportunity to win a cup when factoring in the zenith of the boardroom aspirations?
Any chance of removing this word while we're at it please
At the point now where I'll be glad when it is Sat & no more speculation.Don't worry if Allan doesn't sign 2moro it will all be about his January arrival
30-08-2018, 05:31 PM
Which one
Scotty Leither
30-08-2018, 05:32 PM
I wasn’t aware tha our Cheif Executive was an accountant?
Ambition is all relative and I supoose you forgot about the opportunity to win a cup when factoring in the zenith of the boardroom aspirations?
You're right, it is all "relative". Ask Petrie and his cohorts if he ever envisages Hibs challenging for the League.
I have, on numerous occasions, and I'm still waiting on a straight answer.
30-08-2018, 05:35 PM
Think we are done for the season. Bit dissapointing as we do love last minute transfers amd excitement. But overall happy with the window and the players we brought in!We better not be done...we need at least another 2 players in especially as Martin and Swanson are leaving....the board need to re-invest some of the SJM money in the squad. Season tickets are also at record levels...it's been a decent window so far but not enough imo
30-08-2018, 05:40 PM
You're right, it is all "relative". Ask Petrie and his cohorts if he ever envisages Hibs challenging for the League.
You obviously weren't at the AGM when he was asked whether Hibs should be challenging for second and he replied "why not for first?".
30-08-2018, 05:43 PM
I very much doubt that.
I am sure they very much envisage challenging for the league.
I think what you are alluding to (clumsily if I may say so) is what budget they will make available to the manager to do so.
Whether that makes such a challenge realistic or not time will tell.
I have to say though that I am happy that the board puts the long term future of the club first rather than having a dash a title challenge by throwing money at it in a **** or bust gamble which although exhilarating blows our budget and reserves and puts us in the ****ter and casts our long term future into doubt
The Huns and Diet Huns had a try at that and it didn't end well at all.
If folk cant see the progress we have made over the past 4 years then there is no reasoning with them.
If its not broke don't try and fix it.
The current Executive team have grossly outperformed by any standard, maybe we should let them get on with until they don't rather than mindlessly criticising the club when IMO its not warranted on this occasion.
houstonhibbee
30-08-2018, 05:47 PM
We better not be done...we need at least another 2 players in especially as Martin and Swanson are leaving....the board need to re-invest some of the SJM money in the squad. Season tickets are also at record levels...it's been a decent window so far but not enough imo
I they don't, it wont be for lack of trying.
30-08-2018, 05:52 PM
That's got to be the worst scarf above head photo ever.
Togs91
30-08-2018, 05:54 PM
I think if we are done it'll be because we couldn't get the right player for the right price
Long gone are the days of buying for the sake of buying - thank god! This tactic lead to a lot of dross players wearing the green and white
Couldn't agree more. However i have a feelimg with the money made from the mcginn signing, the whole saga with allan may be more to do with a bit of hardball by celtic being played. We could do with 2 more, but we cant write off this transfer window when we look at the talent we have brought in!
30-08-2018, 05:54 PM
According to the BBC that's 16 summer signings the yams have made, with the other striker still to come in January. An entire new squad essentially (tasked no doubt with finishing above Hibs at all costs to overcome the embarrassment of trailing in 18 points behind us last season).
My question is where is the cash coming from to fund all these wages? They've certainly not released 17 first-team squad players (have they?) and the Lafferty cash won't have been life-changing (plus Budge said much of it was being thrown into the money pit new stand).
30-08-2018, 05:56 PM
We better not be done...we need at least another 2 players in especially as Martin and Swanson are leaving....the board need to re-invest some of the SJM money in the squad. Season tickets are also at record levels...it's been a decent window so far but not enough imo
This, it’s a must we get at least two in
30-08-2018, 05:58 PM
That's got to be the worst scarf above head photo ever.
Ken that's behind his head
Macaroon
30-08-2018, 06:04 PM
We have paid fees for Kamberi and Mallan. We paid a fee for Horgan after SJM left and after we failed to sign him on loan earlier in the window, then signed Milligan who was previously quoted as saying the money wasn't right to come here. Lennon has also said we're actively trying to get more players in before the deadline. Does that not constitute a willingness to reinvest SJM money into the squad for you?
30-08-2018, 06:14 PM
I'm aware it will have been done to death on this thread, but just to bring me up to speed can anyone explain what the primary stumbling block is that's preventing us getting a deal tied up for Scott Allan (assuming Lennon is genuinely keen to bring him back - and most reports suggest he is). This is a player in the final year of his contract who is nowhere near the Celtic first team and who has said on several occasions he'd love to come back to ER (Rodgers also said Hibs is the club that seems to suit him best). I can't therefore see why he'd command an insurmountable fee or why we're taking this one right to the brink of the transfer window closing.
I find it hard to believe Celtic would really make it awkward for us to take an unwanted player off their hands solely because we didn't sell them John McGinn.
30-08-2018, 06:15 PM
I'm aware it will have been done to death on this thread, but just to bring me up to speed can anyone explain what the primary stumbling block is that's preventing us getting a deal tied up for Scott Allan (assuming Lennon is genuinely keen to bring him back - and most reports suggest he is). This is a player in the final year of his contract who is nowhere near the Celtic first team and who has said on several occasions he'd love to come back to ER (Rodgers also said Hibs is the club that seems to suit him best). I can't therefore see why he'd command an insurmountable fee or why we're taking this one right to the brink of the transfer window closing.
I find it hard to believe Celtic would really make it awkward for us to take an unwanted player off their hands solely because we didn't sell them John McGinn.
That's an easy one, lawell
30-08-2018, 06:18 PM
Financial I presume
Celtic will be trying for a fee, say £300k
Allan has a year left on his deal, reckon he earns nearly £200k more a year at Celtic than he’s get at Hibs
That’s a £500k investment for Hibs
houstonhibbee
30-08-2018, 06:19 PM
According to the BBC that's 16 summer signings the yams have made, with the other striker still to come in January. An entire new squad essentially (tasked no doubt with finishing above Hibs at all costs to overcome the embarrassment of trailing in 18 points behind us last season).
My question is where is the cash coming from to fund all these wages? They've certainly not released 17 first-team squad players (have they?) and the Lafferty cash won't have been life-changing (plus Budge said much of it was being thrown into the money pit new stand).
with another 12 in January when they get us in the cup...................
Flyman
30-08-2018, 06:21 PM
Maybe because Allan coming to us boosts us and challenges them.
houstonhibbee
30-08-2018, 06:22 PM
Financial I presume
Celtic will be trying for a fee, say £300k
Allan has a year left on his deal, reckon he earns nearly £200k more a year at Celtic than he’s get at Hibs
That’s a £500k investment for Hibs
seems reasonable for a 3 or 4 year deal................................considering we got about 5x that for SJM with the promise of more to come
30-08-2018, 06:22 PM
He’s on wages we can’t afford to get even close to matching.
He’d be mad to walk away from that.
30-08-2018, 06:25 PM
He's going to have to soon enough though as Celtic clearly aren't going to keep him. I guess it's a short career but is the additional cash for doing nothing for the next few months really more important than getting back on a football field?
scotiaf
30-08-2018, 06:25 PM
Nae chance
We might have spoke to him but he was wanting £20k+ a week
Might have been a very quick chat
Agreed. He could ask to be released but will lose a fair whack. Will not get that sort of money anywhere else bar Sevco (or maybe the Yams the way they’ve been splashing it about?)
JimboHibs
30-08-2018, 06:27 PM
Why you so concerned,honestly I couldn't give a toss where/who or how they raise the cash.
30-08-2018, 06:28 PM
He's going to have to soon enough though as Celtic clearly aren't going to keep him. I guess it's a short career but is the additional cash for doing nothing for the next few months really more important than getting back on a football field?
A years wages at that level are a huge deal.
He’ll be sitting it out hoping a loan deal gets organised so he doesn’t have to sacrifice his current salary.
Ferry green
30-08-2018, 06:30 PM
With 24 hours remaining any protracted negotiation games have to conclude very quickly now .... or not happen. So I can’t see us hearing anything real at all until any deals are fully signed , sealed and delivered : there is too much at stake this late in the day. Communications lock down.
So I think my focus tonight is on what selection of munchies and alcoholic accompaniments are in order for tomorrow’s deadline day enjoyment (and on a Friday night too)
30-08-2018, 06:30 PM
A years wages at that level are a huge deal.
He’ll be sitting it out hoping a loan deal gets organised so he doesn’t have to sacrifice his current salary.
On that, surely a loan deal suits everyone? Celtc get a couple of grand a week saved from his wage. Allan plays every week against their rivals and won’t play against them. We get him for a season before he signs for free. Win win.
30-08-2018, 06:32 PM
Agreed. He could ask to be released but will lose a fair whack. Will not get that sort of money anywhere else bar Sevco (or maybe the Yams the way they’ve been splashing it about?)
It’s easy in my head 😉
Let’s say remainder of his contract is worth £300k in wages
We can offer him £3k per week meaning he misses out on £150k
We pay Celtic £300k to sign him
They pay off the shortfall in his wages and still money left over
We get a good player on a 3yr deal
It’s simple 😂
30-08-2018, 06:33 PM
:hyper
30-08-2018, 06:33 PM
On that, surely a loan deal suits everyone? Celtc get a couple of grand a week saved from his wage. Allan plays every week against their rivals and won’t play against them. We get him for a season before he signs for free. Win win.
I agree and it’s what I think will happen.
It’ll go down to the last minute though as they’ll be hoping Hibs or Allan fold first. First one to blink gets the worst deal.
30-08-2018, 06:34 PM
In the short term yes he would loose lot of money But you would think he would want first Team Football and if he replicated the form he showed last Season he could get another decent move
If no one else comes in for him this window He will then have had another four months with no first team football If Dundee United are not interested in Swanson because of his lack of game time with us , Allan could find himself in the same position later on
So if it's not this window it needs to be January ,if he really wants to come back and Lennon still thinks he is needed then
30-08-2018, 06:38 PM
That's an easy one, lawell
Scott Allan’s middle name is ‘pawn’.
It’s easy in my head [emoji6]
It’s simple [emoji23]
Like you say it’s simple... in your head.
But (and yes there’s a but) we are talking bout Lawell and he will cut his nose off to spit his face.
But yeah should be simple! [emoji41]
Meant to add you think we would pay £300 k for him??
We don’t just get a good player but a great player on his day!
I very much doubt that.
I think what you are alluding to (clumsily if I may say so) is what budget they will make available to the manager to do so.
I have to say though that I am happy that the board puts the long term future of the club first rather than having a dash a title challenge by throwing money at it in a **** or bust gamble which although exhilarating blows our budget and reserves and puts us in the ****ter and casts our long term future into doubt
If folk cant see the progress we have made over the past 4 years then there is no reasoning with them.
The current Executive team have grossly outperformed by any standard, maybe we should let them get on with until they don't rather than mindlessly criticising the club when IMO its not warranted on this occasion.
Well said
30-08-2018, 06:46 PM
It's easy to blame Lawwell here.
Hibs will be holding out for the best deal possible, as will Allan, as you would expect.
Any one of the three bargaining positions could scupper any deal.
thegaffer12
30-08-2018, 06:57 PM
Is there any weight to these Ryan Gauld rumours?!
alihibs1
30-08-2018, 07:02 PM
Is there any weight to these Ryan Gauld rumours?!Thought Aberdeen were in for him
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
30-08-2018, 07:03 PM
Is there any weight to these Ryan Gauld rumours?!
The rumour is worth its weight in Gauld.
30-08-2018, 07:09 PM
We have paid fees for Kamberi and Mallan. We paid a fee for Horgan after SJM left and after we failed to sign him on loan earlier in the window, then signed Milligan who was previously quoted as saying the money wasn't right to come here. Lennon has also said we're actively trying to get more players in before the deadline. Does that not constitute a willingness to reinvest SJM money into the squad for you?The majority were signed pre SJM leaving so no I believe further investment is still required...as the first few weeks of season have shown 3 or 4 injuries to key 1st team players and we are looking pretty threadbare especially on bench...add to that the departures of Swanson and Martin and I believe we still need at least another 2 quality signings otherwise we are moving backwards from the end of last season. Just my opinion...
30-08-2018, 07:10 PM
Oh dear, bad thread to introduce the old puns. I’d keep my head down if I were you. :greengrin
30-08-2018, 07:22 PM
Is there not usually a pre match press conf on a Thursday?? Don't see anything on YouTube or Hibs tv??
30-08-2018, 07:28 PM
Oh dear, bad thread to introduce the old puns. I’d keep my head down if I were you. :greengrin
Puns have been like gauldust recently.
30-08-2018, 07:29 PM
Is there not usually a pre match press conf on a Thursday?? Don't see anything on YouTube or Hibs tv??
I was expecting one today as well, wanted a transfer update from Lennon!
30-08-2018, 07:31 PM
Pish atmosphere and crowd at Burnley game
I was expecting one today as well, wanted a transfer update from Lennon!
Maybe he’s too busy chasing transfers up to do a press conference??
Tug Wilson
30-08-2018, 07:38 PM
So far the transfer window has been fantastic.
Rocky's injury meant we had to bring in a 1st team keeper. Done.
Impressed that we brought in Mallan but reckon Horgan could be the best signing of the summer. He is not a direct replacement for either Dylan or Super but he looks strong on the ball, skillful and quick with an eye for goal. Also he can play left, right or centre attacking midfield.
Really looking forward to seeing Milligan in a Hibs strip. Something tells me that he could be a great player for us. The guy who commands the middle of the park and lets our other midfielders flourish.
Yes I would love to see Scott Allan back because it would make a potentilly amazing midfield. However we already have the makings of a brilliant one.
A back up striker would be good as we are a little short of options.
Personally I don't think that we need to add defenders.
Obviously more quality is always welcome but just signing players for the sake of it is not worth it.
30-08-2018, 07:41 PM
Looks like his head has been photoshopped onto that :greengrin
30-08-2018, 07:45 PM
Impressed that we brought in Mallan but reckon Horgan could be the best signing of the summer. He is not a direct replacement for either Dylan or Super but he looks strong on the ball, skillful and quick with an eye for goal. Also he can play left, right or centre attacking midfield.
Really looking forward to seeing Milligan in a Hibs strip. Something tells me that he could be a great player for us. The guy who commands the middle of the park and lets our other midfielders flourish.
Yes I would love to see Scott Allan back because it would make a potentilly amazing midfield. However we already have the makings of a brilliant one.
Obviously more quality is always welcome but just signing players for the sake of it is not worth it.
Have to disagree, I think we are short at the back, we are short in midfield and we are one short for upfront. If we don’t add to this squad we will struggle to finish top 4 because if we get injuries or suspension we are in real bother.
We’ve done well getting Mallan, Maclaren, Kamberi etc, but that shouldn’t mean we finished. I’ll be very disappointed if only one more comes in.
30-08-2018, 07:47 PM
What are you doing on here? Far too optimistic 😂😂
30-08-2018, 07:51 PM
Sssshh.
Hibs will sign 2 don’t worry 😉
I'll look the pitchfork out just in case :devil:
30-08-2018, 07:57 PM
I'd have thought that the carat of first team football might entice him our way.
No harm in Lennon giving him a ring, to see if he's interested.
30-08-2018, 07:59 PM
Have to disagree, I think we are short at the back, we are short in midfield and we are one short for upfront. If we don’t add to this squad we will struggle to finish top 4 because if we get injuries or suspension we are in real bother.
We’ve done well getting Mallan, Maclaren, Kamberi etc, but that shouldn’t mean we finished. I’ll be very disappointed if only one more comes in.
Are any players leaving?
30-08-2018, 08:01 PM
We’ve done well getting Mallan, Maclaren, Kamberi etc, but that shouldn’t mean we finished. I’ll be very disappointed if only one more comes in.Couldn't agree more TC been a good window so far but it's not enough for Top 4
30-08-2018, 08:04 PM
Are any players leaving?
Scott Martin to Accies. I would imagine Swanson would be released too. Wouldn't be surprised to see him at St Johnstone
30-08-2018, 08:06 PM
Scott Martin to Accies. I would imagine Swanson would be released too. Wouldn't be surprised to see him at St Johnstone
Maybe Swanson doesn’t want to leave?
30-08-2018, 08:09 PM
Maybe he doesn't but I'd imagine that he'd prefer to be playing first team football rather than in the reserve league
30-08-2018, 08:13 PM
Maybe he doesn't but I'd imagine that he'd prefer to be playing first team football rather than in the reserve league
I’m only putting it out there because he turned down a loan move in January.
30-08-2018, 08:14 PM
...maybe he wont like Mondays
30-08-2018, 08:14 PM
It’s easy in my head 😉
It’s simple 😂
Using those numbers, we only offer Celtc £150k to cover the cost of the pay off. That is a win-win-win as we get Allan, they save £300k and Allan gets to play football.
30-08-2018, 08:15 PM
Agree we’re still a couple short although my main concern is that I feel we’re lightweight in midfield. Milligan should help with that but I still feel another more powerful CM would really help and of course Scotty Allan. Hearts will be there or thereabouts this season so we can’t just take it for granted that the top 4 will be the same again.
Scotty Leither
30-08-2018, 08:18 PM
I very much doubt that.
...and breathe...What I'm alluding to, clumsy or otherwise is that the budget this year more than any in recent seasons should be flexed enough so that we're not relying on deals being done in the last day of the window, because if they fall through then it leaves little or no time to bring in alternatives.
We went into the Cup tie against them in January with Shaw on his own up front - he was bullied round the park by Berra and Hughes and we were utterly punchless up front and lost the game.
Fast forward 8 months and we're still in the same boat - asking a laddie who's not equipped for the role to go and mix it, all the while we're shipping points, yet we've to be overjoyed we're no pursuing a "s**t or bust" policy?
As for our current Board have "grossly outperformed" , I think that shows that some on here are easy pleased to be honest.
30-08-2018, 08:19 PM
I would settle for one more signing if that signing is Scott Allan
K-Zazu
30-08-2018, 08:21 PM
If Maclaren or Kamberi gets injured we are toiling up front
30-08-2018, 08:23 PM
I would settle for one more signing if that signing is Scott Allan
Absolutely. I do think we could do with someone aswell as him but he’d make a huge difference.
30-08-2018, 08:26 PM
I’m only putting it out there because he turned down a loan move in January.
Maybes aye, maybes naw, it seems some players might prefer minimal football, a decent wage and a nice city to live in, in preference to guaranteed football, a lower wage and possibly a not so interesting place to live.
Scotty Leither
30-08-2018, 08:27 PM
That's my point - Kamberi is currently injured and we're playing another team on Saturday that will try and kick us off the park, a la St Johnstone and Aberdeen, and we're not equipped to deal with that.
The squad's light, and we've got 24 hours left to augment it despite the monies we've taken in with the McGinn and Murray transfers, season ticket sales, and 3 games at home in the Europa League.
If we don't spend a bit of cash this season, when do we?
Baw187
30-08-2018, 08:29 PM
That's my point - Kamberi is currently injured and we're playing another team on Saturday that will try and kick us off the park, a la St Johnstone and Aberdeen, and we're not equipped to deal with that.
The squad's light, and we've got 24 hours left to augment it despite the monies we've taken in with the McGinn and Murray transfers, season ticket sales, and 3 games at home in the Europa League.
Clearly we have spent cash this season on the boys we have brought in. Maybe we do need a couple more but the board can’t be accused of not spending the cash when we’ve signed permanent deals for 3 full internationalists and 2 u21 internationalists.
30-08-2018, 08:32 PM
Swanson already has a club lined up, he’s just awaiting his pay off from. Hibs.
30-08-2018, 08:34 PM
Like many others I have heard that Celtic are not willing to deal with us. Scott Allan is not coming.
We are after a left back as cover, Lee Wallace? And another centre half.
Anyone else heard any rumours?
30-08-2018, 08:36 PM
Like many others I have heard that Celtic are not willing to deal with us. Scott Allan is not coming.
We are not signing Lee Wallace.
30-08-2018, 08:36 PM
I’m a bit pee’d off we are searching for rumours with 24 hours to go until the window closes, not even a strong rumour to get excited about
BegbieHSC
30-08-2018, 08:38 PM
I’m a bit pee’d off we are searching for rumours with 24 hours to go until the window closes, not even a strong rumour to get excited about
Feel exactly the same. Quite concerned tbh.
majorhibs
30-08-2018, 08:41 PM
Said it before but St Mirren were relegated with a midfield of John McGinn, Kenny McLean and Stevie Mallan.
Naebody kens exactly, well apart mebbes if ye were watchin Messi at 12abouts. That place the UK looked stable once, then they gave halfwits an ultimatum fi liars, & halfwits jumped gleefully off the cliff.
30-08-2018, 08:46 PM
Haha you're pee'd off purely because there's no rumours? Horgan signing came from nowhere after it seemed a deal for him was dead. Likewise with milligan.
Just because there's no rumours doesn't mean nothing's happening
30-08-2018, 08:52 PM
Well what do you know, a Cold War with Celtic, dummies oot the pram ......... how mature and professional. Still, chances are that, in future, they might want players from us as opposed to vice versa. Stuff them.
Time For Heroes
30-08-2018, 08:53 PM
Lee Wallace is a grass
majorhibs
30-08-2018, 08:58 PM
Well said
...and breathe...What I'm alluding to, clumsy or otherwise is that the budget this year more than any in recent seasons should be flexed enough so that we're not relying on deals being done in the last day of the window, because if they fall through then it leaves little or no time to bring in alternatives.
We went into the Cup tie against them in January with Shaw on his own up front - he was bullied round the park by Berra and Hughes and we were utterly punchless up front and lost the game.
Fast forward 8 months and we're still in the same boat - asking a laddie who's not equipped for the role to go and mix it, all the while we're shipping points, yet we've to be overjoyed we're no pursuing a "s**t or bust" policy?
As for our current Board have "grossly outperformed" , I think that shows that some on here are easy pleased to be honest.
Never again do I want to be met with the most condescending pish ever - & breathe- even if it is to someone else! Hate that fi anyone. The rest, I agree mainly.
xyz23jc
30-08-2018, 08:59 PM
Well what do you know, a Cold War with Celtic, dummies oot the pram ......... how mature and professional. Still, chances are that, in future, they might want players from us as opposed to vice versa. Stuff them.
Get them and Lawell telt…….Celtc FC PLC....It's jist business pal, nothing personal! :greengrin
BegbieHSC
30-08-2018, 09:00 PM
Lee Wallace is a grass
I’ve passed it on.
Lee Wallace is a grass...pass it on
30-08-2018, 09:00 PM
We really nead another striker, we could probably get by with the midfielders we have and are vulnerable at left back but would probably cope. Our strike force is thread bare as is proving at the moment. Boyle playing up front is a loss on the right wing and a loss up front. We have no cover for injuries as Oli is a development reserve choice IMO. Huge disappointed if we go forward with this line up as I thought maybe this time we would kick on with the resources in ST sales and biggest budget. Fans are fickle!!
timewilltell
30-08-2018, 09:08 PM
Naebody kens exactly, well apart mebbes if ye were watchin Messi at 12abouts. That place the UK looked stable once, then they gave halfwits an ultimatum fi liars, & halfwits jumped gleefully off the cliff.
The above post has been sent to Bletchley for decoding.....
Scotty Leither
30-08-2018, 09:09 PM
We really nead another striker, we could probably get by with the midfielders we have and are vulnerable at left back but would probably cope. Our strike force is thread bare as is proving at the moment. Boyle playing up front is a loss on the right wing and a loss up front. We have no cover for injuries as Oli is a development reserve choice IMO. Huge disappointed if we go forward with this line up as I thought maybe this time we would kick on with the resources in ST sales and biggest budget. Fans are fickle!!
If the season ticket "price" averages out around £275(ranging from full price to concessions) that by my
abacus totals around £3.5 - 4m in revenue. Add in the transfer monies and there is absolutely no reason for the parsimony excuses to be trotted out again.
Daresay the Board acolytes will disagree of course.
30-08-2018, 09:09 PM
majorhibs is my favourite poster on here
timewilltell
30-08-2018, 09:10 PM
30-08-2018, 09:11 PM
Where’s Eric Cantona when you need him? :greengrin
30-08-2018, 09:16 PM
If the season ticket "price" averages out around £275(ranging from full price to concessions) that by my
abacus totals around £3.5 - 4m in revenue. Add in the transfer monies and there is absolutely no reason for the parsimony excuses to be trotted out again.
Daresay the Board acolytes will disagree of course.
How do we pay the staff wages, upkeep of the stadium and East Mains, do the signings we have already not count?
timewilltell
30-08-2018, 09:22 PM
Where’s Eric Cantona when you need him? :greengrin
:greengrin:hibees
Scotty Leither
30-08-2018, 09:26 PM
How do we pay the staff wages, upkeep of the stadium and East Mains, do the signings we have already not count?
And that was the line trotted out when we were "skint" - playing to crowds of 8,000 in the Championship.
A line that the Board try and spin to their advantage whenever they're challenged - and if we have an indifferent season this year it'll be offered up as an excuse not to overstep ourselves next year, and so it goes on.
Heard the song too many times in afraid - caution rules OK at Easter Road.
30-08-2018, 09:28 PM
At the moment we have injuries in goal,central defence,midfield and upfront.Does that mean you think we are in real bother now?
30-08-2018, 09:31 PM
We need Scott Allan imo. Hibs and Scott Allan are a terrific pair, they go together like lamb and tuna fish
30-08-2018, 09:34 PM
At the moment we have injuries in goal,central defence,midfield and upfront.Does that mean you think we are in real bother now?
I don’t think we are that great no, We are doing alright but need to improve!
30-08-2018, 09:36 PM
I’ve read this so many times and I honestly have no idea what it means?
majorhibs
30-08-2018, 09:36 PM
Stamina of 1000 needed to keep up, no sure if Bletchleys much cop, take too long! Messi was a player as a kid, not all are, I’d imagine Maradona was similar, we actual had one similar, went by the name ae McGinn, what a player he wis, hopefully we’re trying to get close to that level again, but that’s a BIG ask, but that’s gotta be the aspiration, we just had a **** fantastic player like that & some fantastic results, now, cos the boy rightfully is ambitious & knows HE has more inside, we need the new him, or as near as, & keep this club on these lines, along wi this mgr.
Inconsequential
30-08-2018, 09:43 PM
If Maclaren or Kamberi gets injured we are toiling up front Kamberi is injured and McLaren is not match fit but after the game against Livingston comes a break. Another experienced striker is required without a doubt as young Shaw cannnot be expected to shoulder the responsibility by himself.
30-08-2018, 09:45 PM
Hearts trying to sign Gareth McAuley.
30-08-2018, 09:47 PM
Who?
30-08-2018, 09:49 PM
Been linked with a few teams, Rangers , Hearts, Aberdeen & Ipswich
30-08-2018, 09:51 PM
Stamina of 1000 needed to keep up, no sure if Bletchleys much cop, take too long! Messi was a player as a kid, not all are, I’d imagine Maradona was similar, we actual had one similar, went by the name ae McGinn, what a player he wis, hopefully we’re trying to get close to that level again, but that’s a BIG ask, but that’s gotta be the aspiration, we just had a **** fantastic player like that & some fantastic results, now, cos the boy rightfully is ambitious & knows HE has more inside, we need the new him, or as near as, & keep this club on these lines, along wi this mgr.
Talisker Storm?
GGTTH07
30-08-2018, 09:52 PM
Was told from a very good source on Monday ‘it will happen’ in regards to SA. Beginning to worry a little however I still think we’ll get our man.
30-08-2018, 09:53 PM
Who?
Played in the EPL last year for West Brom
30-08-2018, 09:54 PM
Here goes...
If we sign Scott Allan I’ll give everyone who replies to this... A fiver 😎
30-08-2018, 09:59 PM
Here goes...
If we sign Scott Allan I’ll give everyone who replies to this... A fiver
Accepted.
PS - I note the lack of an expiry date on that promise :greengrin
30-08-2018, 09:59 PM
And that was the line trotted out when we were "skint" - playing to crowds of 8,000 in the Championship.
A line that the Board try and spin to their advantage whenever they're challenged - and if we have an indifferent season this year it'll be offered up as an excuse not to overstep ourselves next year, and so it goes on.
Heard the song too many times in afraid - caution rules OK at Easter Road.
What a load of pish, we spend what we can. Do transfer fees for Kamberi , Horgan and Mallan not count, does signing Milligan not count, does getting players like Bogdan, McLaren, Agyepong and Hyndman on loan not count? I want better players signed but do not want us to overspend.
30-08-2018, 10:00 PM
Here goes...
Deal! Notice there is no time limit on this offer though 😁
scooby
30-08-2018, 10:01 PM
Here goes...
I'm in.
one day maybe...
30-08-2018, 10:02 PM
Hearts & Rangers signing players on Wonga loans...
We know the outcome deja vu
30-08-2018, 10:02 PM
Here goes...
20 quid down so far
Clarence
30-08-2018, 10:03 PM
I got the GCHQ puzzle book for Christmas so let’s have a bash.
“ Naebody kens exactly, well apart mebbes if ye were watchin Messi at 12abouts. “ = It’s difficult to tell how a young player’s career is going to pan out, unless the player is an obvious star in the making like Messi was by the age of 12.
“That place the UK looked stable once, then they gave halfwits an ultimatum fi liars, & halfwits jumped gleefully off the cliff.” = Britain had relatively stable economy (a metaphor for st Mirren’s strong midfield) however still somehow contrived to **** things up through the Brexit vote(a metaphor for st. mirren’s relegation).
In short: what’s the point? **** happens.
Juice-Terry
30-08-2018, 10:09 PM
Here goes...
'Mon the Hertz!
tonyrougier123
30-08-2018, 10:10 PM
I know we have attack minded midfield already but id take wes hoolahan for a year,free agent.great wee player.this isny a rumour tho.
30-08-2018, 10:15 PM
Here goes...
I'm in. Put it to a charity of your choice
30-08-2018, 10:17 PM
I know we have attack minded midfield already but id take wes hoolahan for a year,free agent.great wee player.this isny a rumour tho.
Would take him for a year if we're not getting Scotty.
30-08-2018, 10:26 PM
Here goes...
I'll take mine in Euros, should save you about 50p.
30-08-2018, 10:31 PM
Here goes...
Quality, I'm in
BegbieHSC
30-08-2018, 10:37 PM
Would definitely take him for a year. Great wee player on his day.
It would also allow us to wait and get Scott Allan on a pre-contract ;).
30-08-2018, 10:38 PM
Here goes...
Kerching.
BegbieHSC
30-08-2018, 10:42 PM
Here goes...
Count me in!!!
HibeeMackenzie
30-08-2018, 10:44 PM
Free the Easter Road one
30-08-2018, 10:51 PM
Here goes...
Me anaw, I'll donate my fiver to FranckSuzys group....
30-08-2018, 10:52 PM
Here goes...
You’re a generous fella. Put it to a good cause.
30-08-2018, 10:58 PM
Here goes...
What an offer! 😊
30-08-2018, 10:59 PM
Here goes...
Yes. Give mines to..
Me. That pint would go down far too nicely.
30-08-2018, 10:59 PM
Here goes...
Hee hee, here we go again!!! 😁👍🏼
30-08-2018, 11:01 PM
Here goes...
If we sign Scott Allan I’ll give everyone who replies to this... A fiver [emoji41]
This will buy my pie and bovril at Livi on Saturday
30-08-2018, 11:03 PM
Put me down too BMD, it can pay for my parking on Saturday.
30-08-2018, 11:05 PM
Wes is 36 now. We're no Hearts.
Here goes...
No thank you.
30-08-2018, 11:09 PM
Here goes...
💰💰💰💰💰
Donate my fiver to a charity of your choice.
IvanSproule
30-08-2018, 11:41 PM
Scott Allan deal not happening.
Quality defender coming in.
Source - A hibs board member.
AugustaHibs
30-08-2018, 11:43 PM
Kamberi nearly back from injury.
If true, pretty gutted as i feel midfield and attack is still a bit weak
31-08-2018, 12:13 AM
Source - A hibs board mem
Who ?
BegbieHSC
31-08-2018, 12:14 AM
Nope. Wouldn’t be impressed with that.
Austinho
31-08-2018, 12:18 AM
Nope. Wouldn’t be impressed with that.I wouldn’t either, although the post doesn’t necessarily suggest that’s the only deal we will be doing. Could just be the only one more or less confirmed.
Massive day for us, which could make or break our season. Squad seems too thin to me - we already look lightweight after a couple of early season injuries.
31-08-2018, 12:35 AM
[QUOTE=BOB MARLEYS DUG;5535582]Here goes...
If we sign Scott Allan I’ll give everyone who replies to this... A fiver 😎[/QUOTE
I accept.
31-08-2018, 01:37 AM
Who?
Here goes...
You choose the charity.
31-08-2018, 04:51 AM
Okay then
I take it Kamberi & Maclaren have slipped your mind?
What exactly do you think the Dempster led board should have achieved that they haven't?
As to your further post about the board hoarding cash, lets wait and see what the annual accounts show shall we?
I severely doubt that they will show a significant rise on money held on deposit, other than possibly that required to pay for the new indoor pitch.
The squad has been improved year on year and that comes at a significant cost.
The idea that there is truckloads of cash sloshing round ER just waiting to be spent or retained for no good reason is an utter fallacy perpetrated by those who have no understanding of the actual financial position of the club.
The Annual Accounts don't lie, lets wait and see shall we.
31-08-2018, 04:53 AM
If Harry Kane gets injured so are Spurs
If Aguerro gets injured so are Man City
If Lukaku gets injured Man U are toiling further
Dazzjw1875
31-08-2018, 05:17 AM
I can't see us getting another 2/3 in the door left it quite late unless things are in motion behind the scenes 're kamara and Allan. But I think we are done unless we get a last min loan.
31-08-2018, 05:34 AM
If Harry Kane gets injured so are Spurs
If Aguerro gets injured so are Man City
No quite true. Spurs record without Kane is fantastic over the last 3 years. Man City will just bring in Jesus. Man U are 💩
31-08-2018, 05:45 AM
Knowing that we are at least short up front and left side of defence / midfield, and it seems in NL's thinking at centre half ...I would think that we will have failed to get ourselves into a good position going into the full season ahead. Whatever has been happening or not recruitment wise, for us to be scrambling about at the last minute to fill real gaps, is not the best and seems like a risky strategy, pointing at purse strings being held very tight and not necessarily having a squad that will provide a consistent challenge throughout the season, which is what we pay our money for.
The stay calm brigade over the past 3 months who have mocked the bedwetters, are they all so cool about where we are and confident we have the squad to have a go ?
I know where I am I think we are short and not as strong as last year and other teams around us have strengthened ...regardless of who we have brought in ....imho
Greenworld
31-08-2018, 05:52 AM
Knowing that we are at least short up front and left side of defence / midfield, and it seems in NL's thinking at centre half ...I would think that we will have failed to get ourselves into a good position going into the full season ahead. Whatever has been happening or not recruitment wise, for us to be scrambling about at the last minute to fill real gaps, is not the best and seems like a risky strategy, pointing at purse strings being held very tight and not necessarily having a squad that will provide a consistent challenge throughout the season, which is what we pay our money for.
The stay calm brigade over the past 3 months who have mocked the bedwetters, are they all so cool about where we are and confident we have the squad to have a go ?
I know where I am I think we are short and not as strong as last year and other teams around us have strengthened ...regardless of who we have brought in ....imhoIt's a fair post and can't disagree we are light in numbers .
I'm assuming Darren mc is the reason we are looking at centre defence cover.
Midfield is still in need of one player here's hoping we get a couple in today
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
Jpdhfc
31-08-2018, 05:53 AM
No quite true. Spurs record without Kane is fantastic over the last 3 years. Man City will just bring in Jesus. Man U are 💩
Looking back as far as the start of the 2014-15 Premier League season, Spurs have played 131 times with the 24-year-old in their ranks, averaging a return of two goals per game and a win rate of 59%.
Without him, though, and rather worryingly for Tottenham fans, that drops to 1.2 and 38% respectively from the 13 games that he has been forced to sit out.
Ryan69
31-08-2018, 05:54 AM
If Lukaku gets injured Man U are toiling further[/QUOTE]
Not when you have excellent back up like Rashford,Lingard,Sanchez and Marcial
We have a development player.
31-08-2018, 05:58 AM
And so it begins.
31-08-2018, 06:01 AM
We have a development player.[/QUOTE]
At what point does Shaw stop being a development player and become a first team squad member? For me he’s made that jump this season.
FWIW I’m not completely convinced by Shaw but I think his goal scoring record to date has earned him the right to get a decent chance in the first team covering for injuries and suspensions.
Nevi_SOL
31-08-2018, 06:02 AM
So was rashford 😁
31-08-2018, 06:03 AM
What time does the window slam shut today?
31-08-2018, 06:04 AM
I'll have a bite at that. Not sure if you are kidding but Rashford is the most over rated player I've ever seen, he's a real bugbear of mine how! Lingard wouldnt get a game for spurs, Liverpool, man city, Chelsea, Sanchez hasn't kicked a ball for them yet and Marcial can't even get a game for man utd!
Ryan69
31-08-2018, 06:08 AM
We have a development player.
I'll have a bite at that. Not sure if you are kidding but Rashford is the most over rated player I've ever seen, he's a real bugbear of mine how! Lingard wouldnt get a game for spurs, Liverpool, man city, Chelsea, Sanchez hasn't kicked a ball for them yet and Marcial can't even get a game for man utd![/QUOTE]
They are all very capable players...especially Sanchez.
Problem at United is Mourinho.
31-08-2018, 06:14 AM
I'll have a bite at that. Not sure if you are kidding but Rashford is the most over rated player I've ever seen, he's a real bugbear of mine how! Lingard wouldnt get a game for spurs, Liverpool, man city, Chelsea, Sanchez hasn't kicked a ball for them yet and Marcial can't even get a game for man utd!
They are all very capable players...especially Sanchez.
Problem at United is Mourinho.[/QUOTE]
Not doubting that Mourinho is a problem but other than Sanchez pre utd, I just don't see it with the others. Average at best but hyped to the max as they play for Man Utd in the EPL. Unfortunately it's the way of the football world at the moment
Should really add that I have no transfer info as it's the transfer thread😀
31-08-2018, 06:16 AM
At what point does Shaw stop being a development player and become a first team squad member? For me he’s made that jump this season.
FWIW I’m not completely convinced by Shaw but I think his goal scoring record to date has earned him the right to get a decent chance in the first team covering for injuries and suspensions.
Our development team won their double last season.
Of course it’s a big step up to the first team... but why are we even bothering with a youth set up if the kids don’t get chances?
31-08-2018, 06:22 AM
No significant last minute signings expected unless an opportunity presents itself.
Manager Neil Lennon stated earlier this week that he would be keen to add another new face, and that remains a possibility. However, the Easter Road club are generally content with their summer activity and the current make-up of their squad and will not be indulging in any significant last-minute recruitment unless an opportunity arises where they feel they can add genuine quality.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-ready-to-react-on-transfer-deadline-day-1-4792581
31-08-2018, 06:27 AM
31-08-2018, 06:29 AM
No significant last minute signings expected unless an opportunity presents itself.
Manager Neil Lennon stated earlier this week that he would be keen to add another new face, and that remains a possibility. However, the Easter Road club are generally content with their summer activity and the current make-up of their squad and will not be indulging in any significant last-minute recruitment unless an opportunity arises where they feel they can add genuine quality.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-ready-to-react-on-transfer-deadline-day-1-4792581
Going to be disappointing if we don’t get one or two more in. We’ve signed well this summer but still need a bit of depth in a couple of positions.
Chorley Hibee
31-08-2018, 06:36 AM
Very depressing, and I wouldn't be best pleased IF that turns out to be the case.
31-08-2018, 06:38 AM
Yaya Toure still a free agent...?
31-08-2018, 06:41 AM
Donate my fiver to charity .Thanks:agree:
31-08-2018, 06:41 AM
Yaya Toure still a free agent...?
Signed for Olympiacos
31-08-2018, 06:48 AM
That's Bleed Green patter.
31-08-2018, 06:51 AM
Very depressing, and I wouldn't be best pleased IF that turns out to be the case.
Lets see sounds like a negotiating position.
31-08-2018, 06:53 AM
Brinksmanship 🤓
31-08-2018, 06:54 AM
That's Bleed Green patter.
No its not - we’ve went from 2 in to 1 in to likely 0 in the space on 5 days
Mind, reading the EEN link doesn’t actually tell us anything new
Will see what today brings.....really hoping for a couple in
Id be quite disappointed with none- even though we have signed quite well this window
31-08-2018, 06:58 AM
In other words, EEN know naff all and we're going about our business quietly as per.
31-08-2018, 07:01 AM
Brinksmanship 🤓
That’s what I think too.
I predict a last minute scramble to get a deal over the line. Right now we’re still trying to convince Celtic we’re not bothered either way.
I’m not really that bothered either, I love a new signing as much as the next person but I think we’re pretty well covered all over the park.
31-08-2018, 07:02 AM
If true, pretty gutted as i feel midfield and attack is still a bit weak
This is going to be a huge anti climax
31-08-2018, 07:03 AM
What time does the window slam shut today?
Arghhhhhh
31-08-2018, 07:04 AM
He is bluffing
31-08-2018, 07:04 AM
I'm sure once the dust has settled we will be very pleased with the window. We have a cracking front two and young Allan as back up and Boyle if necessary. Milligan could well turn out to be the best signing of all IMHO as I think he reminds lenny of him but looks a tremendous passer. Horgan looks like a cracking buy so much so that Rob McLean on the BBC thinks he's will be one of the stars of the season. My only worry is at the back to be honest where with daz out we are short at the back. I think now the Europa league is out the way we will start to motor and we will be there or thereabouts. It shows how much the club has come forward that we would be disappointed not to be near second. I think as long as we aren't unlucky with injuries we will be top four and remember sevco are now in the Europa league so will be stretched. A couple of wins in a row and we will all be happier. Ggtth.
Scotty Leither
31-08-2018, 07:10 AM
Okay then
I take it Kamberi & Maclaren have slipped your mind?
What exactly do you think the Dempster led board should have achieved that they haven't?
As to your further post about the board hoarding cash, lets wait and see what the annual accounts show shall we?
I severely doubt that they will show a significant rise on money held on deposit, other than possibly that required to pay for the new indoor pitch.
The squad has been improved year on year and that comes at a significant cost.
The idea that there is truckloads of cash sloshing round ER just waiting to be spent or retained for no good reason is an utter fallacy perpetrated by those who have no understanding of the actual financial position of the club.
The Annual Accounts don't lie, lets wait and see shall we.
I know how many beans make five, thanks very much. Our signings have been OK, nothing more than that.
What's undeniable is that whether we're suffering from bad luck with injuries/red tape holding up deals or whatever, we're in the same spot as we were in January where we have a laddie being asked to do a man's job up front and it's frustrating to watch.
Other teams have brought players in and done it in a less protracted fashion than our Board seem to have done - who seem to be beyond criticism in your mind.
Souter96Mac
31-08-2018, 07:10 AM
Still think we'll bring one in today. Not overly fussed if we don't. Think it's been a good transfer period so far, of course there's still the whole season to go but feeling confident with the squad we have.
31-08-2018, 07:13 AM
Said it before.. This thread is going to be a laugh today. Its started already
I'm not too fussed if we sign anyone today, Im in the small minority that's happy with the squad
31-08-2018, 07:16 AM
Prepare to be underwhelmed...
31-08-2018, 07:16 AM
Said it before.. This thread is going to be a laugh today. Its started already
I'm not too fussed if we sign anyone today, Im in the small minority that's happy with the squad
Deadline day signings should be mandatory for all clubs. It’s always a damp squib when there isn’t one :greengrin
31-08-2018, 07:18 AM
Arghhhhhh
Gives me the same reaction
31-08-2018, 07:26 AM
Deadline day signings should be mandatory for all clubs. It’s always a damp squib when there isn’t one :greengrin
Absolutely this. Even though they were mostly all dreadful that deadline day where Fenlon signed half of Britain on loan was magnificent :greengrin
The Leith Dutch
31-08-2018, 07:26 AM
I suspect he's bluffing on that and has some hopes of getting another player in.
That said, I don't think we're in too bad nick.
Problem areas are that we lack cover for Gray and Stevenson.
I'd think he looks at Whittaker and Efe as possibilities on the right but more likely he's probably looking at going attacking with three at the back and two wingers if there are injuries in the fullback department. A serious injury to Stevenson would be a major concern though.
You could argue we're a striker light but I suspect that the addition of three wingers implies that those three strikers may sometimes be playing for one place in a front thee with two wide men.
Midfield it's difficult to tell what shape he's going to play but Mallan, Horgan, Milligan, Bartley, Slivka, Hyndeland, Swanson and Murray are all options.
But this is where it's interesting to me - I think Lennon is trying something that is pretty bold for Hibs.
He's trying to assemble a squad that can play in lots of different formations the way a much bigger club would do.
Look at the popular formations 5-3-2, 3-5-2, 4-3-3, 3-4-3, one up front, two sitting mids, a diamond.
I can see the potential for the squad we currently have to play any of those.
Do we have the players to play them well and who can adapt to us not having a single style of play?
That's another question entirely but I think he's actually tried to put together a squad that can potentially do a lot.
I can't say it doesn't scare me a bit but if he can pull it off it would potentially change the entire future of our club and it would be quite a time to be a Hibee.
RossScott1991
31-08-2018, 07:29 AM
I wouldn't say id be disappointed at the window if we don't sign anyone.
But.... I don't agree with folk who think the squad is perfect. I think the middle of the park needs work.
Mallan - great signing
Bartley - does a job, all our best wins last season came when he wasn't playing
Whittaker - he's past it and I'm petrified at the thought of him in middle of the park in a fast paced ding dong game vs celtic / hearts etc.
Slivka - I rate him, but not enough that he's an out and out starter.
Hyndman - only here til January see what he has to offer
me personally that doesn't fill me with confidence for the big games, I know Horgan also played in there vs Aberdeen but that means we are asking a winger to not play in his natural position.
We have lost 3 of our best midfielders last season and going into this season with the understudies being the main replacements. We need abit of guile in there IMO.
31-08-2018, 07:35 AM
Just wish we had everyone fit and/or avaliable. If we did I'd be somewhat content.
Milligan
McGregor
Bartley
Kamberi
Marciano
All to come in. With those five fit and ready we'd be looking decent. Im guessing Milligan isn't even training with us at the moment?
31-08-2018, 07:35 AM
That’s what I think too.
I predict a last minute scramble to get a deal over the line. Right now we’re still trying to convince Celtic we’re not bothered either way.
I’m not really that bothered either, I love a new signing as much as the next person but I think we’re pretty well covered all over the park.
:agree: always the same with Celtic. We’ll be sitting here at 1130 tonight wondering if it’s done.
31-08-2018, 07:36 AM
IN LENNY WE TRUST! :wink:
31-08-2018, 07:37 AM
Sky going on about Selick and the the all morning, speaking to Luke Shanley, he then says ‘of course it’s not all about those two, there are lots of other things happening’ I waited, but that was the end of the report
johncrobertson@
31-08-2018, 07:38 AM
I wouldn't say id be disappointed at the window if we don't sign anyone.
But.... I don't agree with folk who think the squad is perfect. I think the middle of the park needs work.
Mallan - great signing
Bartley - does a job, all our best wins last season came when he wasn't playing
Whittaker - he's past it and I'm petrified at the thought of him in middle of the park in a fast paced ding dong game vs celtic / hearts etc.
Slivka - I rate him, but not enough that he's an out and out starter.
Hyndman - only here til January see what he has to offer
me personally that doesn't fill me with confidence for the big games, I know Horgan also played in there vs Aberdeen but that means we are asking a winger to not play in his natural position.
We have lost 3 of our best midfielders last season and going into this season with the understudies being the main replacements. We need abit of guile in there IMO.
Add Milligan
31-08-2018, 07:39 AM
Sky going on about Selick and the the all morning, speaking to Luke Shanley, he then says ‘of course it’s not all about those two, there are lots of other things happening’ I waited, but that was the end of the report
Then straight to their experts for the OF game - Souness and Nicholas. Maybe they were experts in the 80s and 90s but probably time for a refresh from Sky?
Tug Wilson
31-08-2018, 07:39 AM
I suspect he's bluffing on that and has some hopes of getting another player in.
That said, I don't think we're in too bad nick.
Problem areas are that we lack cover for Gray and Stevenson.
I'd think he looks at Whittaker and Efe as possibilities on the right but more likely he's probably looking at going attacking with three at the back and two wingers if there are injuries in the fullback department. A serious injury to Stevenson would be a major concern though.
You could argue we're a striker light but I suspect that the addition of three wingers implies that those three strikers may sometimes be playing for one place in a front thee with two wide men.
Midfield it's difficult to tell what shape he's going to play but Mallan, Horgan, Milligan, Bartley, Slivka, Hyndeland, Swanson and Murray are all options.
But this is where it's interesting to me - I think Lennon is trying something that is pretty bold for Hibs.
He's trying to assemble a squad that can play in lots of different formations the way a much bigger club would do.
Look at the popular formations 5-3-2, 3-5-2, 4-3-3, 3-4-3, one up front, two sitting mids, a diamond.
I can see the potential for the squad we currently have to play any of those.
Do we have the players to play them well and who can adapt to us not having a single style of play?
That's another question entirely but I think he's actually tried to put together a squad that can potentially do a lot.
I can't say it doesn't scare me a bit but if he can pull it off it would potentially change the entire future of our club and it would be quite a time to be a Hibee.
Pretty much my thoughts.
Are we a bit short up front? Probably. Maybe we blew a large chunk of the budget on bringing back Flo and Jamie.
The defence hasn't changed since last season and it was good enough then.
Wholesale change in midfield but all the additions look quality. Hard task to replace the ones we had but done pretty well.
No panic from me.
31-08-2018, 07:45 AM
He's a Hibby, if theres anything happening with us he will be on it.
31-08-2018, 07:46 AM
Are Sky Sports doing 24 hour super mega amazing interactive-screens cameras-outside-training-grounds up to the minute coverage with Jim White keeping us up to date with literally everything going on ever ever, given it's transfer deadline day in part of the United Kingdom (just not England)?
31-08-2018, 07:48 AM
Are Sky Sports doing 24 hour super mega amazing interactive-screens cameras-outside-training-grounds up to the minute coverage with Jim White keeping us up to date with literally everything going on ever ever, given it's transfer deadline day in part of the United Kingdom (just not England)?
They maybe would, if their only interest wasn’t the bigot twins
RossScott1991
31-08-2018, 07:48 AM
Add Milligan
forgot about Milligan, good defensive cover aswell hopefully turns out to be a good signing. My point though I just feel we need that little bit of magic dust sprinkled in middle park. Milligan, Bartley and Whittaker all defensive minded.
I wont kick up a fuss if we sign no one though. Midfield is nowhere strong as it was last year but that was always going to be the case anyway.
31-08-2018, 07:49 AM
Pretty much my thoughts.
Are we a bit short up front? Probably. Maybe we blew a large chunk of the budget on bringing back Flo and Jamie.
The defence hasn't changed since last season and it was good enough then.
Wholesale change in midfield but all the additions look quality. Hard task to replace the ones we had but done pretty well.
No panic from me.
i think mallan Will be ok in games v the bottom 7 where we have the Ball a lot
if he can develop the tackling side of the game he Will be fine v top 5 rivals in second half of the season
but the risk is he settles for being the set pièce spécialist when top teams need all rounders
thats where kamara might yet be shrewd as an addition, so lennon can go horses for courses over the season.
31-08-2018, 07:49 AM
Was just saying the exact same to my mate
Its not just our deadline today - its pretty much the rest of Europes too
Im just raging Natalie wont be on
MacGruber
31-08-2018, 07:50 AM
Pretty much my thoughts.
The defence hasn't changed since last season and it was good enough
No panic from me.
We are short upfront and exposed to Kamberi getting injured.
Given we do have quality wingers a back up target man would be ideal.
31-08-2018, 07:54 AM
Are the folk who will be disappointed, underwhelmed etc just saying that because we may not sign anyone on the last day? Is it because they think that, Kamberi, MacLaren, Mallan, Milligan, Horgan, Bogdan, Hyndlan,Agyepong are pish? Or is it that they think we should have signed a ready made SJM replacement? Or should we pay out more money than we can actually afford? I think the window has been fine for us. We have lost a player who we could never replace in SJM but have had a good stab at it. We have resigned the best stikeforce we have had in years. Signed a Scotland U21 international on a long contract, signed a full Irish international, a full Australian international who played all three games at WC, I could go on with the other internationals etc but some will still be underwhelmed because we haven't signed Sparky and Messi
I still have no transfer rumours!!
31-08-2018, 07:57 AM
I know how many beans make five, thanks very much. Our signings have been OK, nothing more than that.
What's undeniable is that whether we're suffering from bad luck with injuries/red tape holding up deals or whatever, we're in the same spot as we were in January where we have a laddie being asked to do a man's job up front and it's frustrating to watch.
Other teams have brought players in and done it in a less protracted fashion than our Board seem to have done - who seem to be beyond criticism in your mind.
It sometimes pays not to worry about what other teams do. Makes life a little more enjoyable.
I assume you know the inner dealings of our transfer strategy then? Keen to hear where it went wrong in your view, and why the board should be criticised.
31-08-2018, 07:57 AM
We're not going to get an adequate backup to Kamberi, who can do more than Shaw, for a bit part players wage. In fact, I'd argue a Matelvicius type would fare no better than Lewis Allan.
31-08-2018, 07:58 AM
Never read so much tosh on one thread in all my life.
31-08-2018, 08:00 AM
Lennon is a winner He will want to add more Quality to the Squad
But could well be we can't get those players to come for reason discussed to death on this Thread
Am now hoping for One signing If The Cat is right and it's Two then great
But I am not interested in a back up player being signed to cover Full Back position for e.g. that is not good enough to hold down first Team place
Like the guy we got in last Season who used to be with Hearts . We brought him in as cover and he played a couple of games and was poor
Think that's the difference this window Every player brought in looks more than capable of making a contribution to the first Team
Cat Stanton
31-08-2018, 08:01 AM
I think that's a very fair executive summary.
Tobias Funke
31-08-2018, 08:02 AM
:agree: Full of it.
31-08-2018, 08:06 AM
We've had a great transfer window and Lennon will have a real selection headache when everyone is fit and up to pace
That said I'm greedy and I want Scott Allan and another striker :wink:
Transfer deadline day is my Christmas Eve :greengrin
Ryan69
31-08-2018, 08:07 AM
Then straight to their experts for the OF game - Souness and Nicholas. Maybe they were experts in the 80s and 90s but probably time for a refresh from Sky?
You should try listening to Talksport..Ally McCoist is on it.
31-08-2018, 08:08 AM
We're not going to get an adequate backup to Kamberi, who can do more than Shaw, for a bit part players wage. In fact, I'd argue a Matelvicius type would fare no better than Lewis Allan.
But we’re having to use one of our most potent attackers (Boyle) as a strike partner to a developing kid which is not working. We would have been better placed keeping Simon Murray than being in this situation. We are short up front and that’s not good if we’re trying to challenge at the top of the league. If everyone in our squad is fit then there’s no problem. Injuries and suspensions leave us vulnerable and we could have addressed some of this whilst having the biggest budget, ST sales and the sale of SJM. The manager also said he wanted to strengthen all areas only last Saturday and expected 3 players this week, so he can’t be that happy either.
31-08-2018, 08:08 AM
Anymore coming in? :pray:
Dancehibs
31-08-2018, 08:10 AM
The target man needs to be as good as Kamberi. So there is a fight for the jersey
31-08-2018, 08:11 AM
Not sure about that, we've had some crap threads over the years...
Souter96Mac
31-08-2018, 08:12 AM
Alan Nixon just tweeted that we're e looking at bringing in Cian Bolger in on loan. Irish centre half from Fleetwood.
31-08-2018, 08:12 AM
You should try listening to Talksport..Ally McCoist is on it.
Gave up on talksport a few years ago now, although I would say at least McCoist was active in Scottish football until fairly recently. Nicholas and Souness have been giving it the big one about the EPL for years now - they’re miles removed from what’s going on up here.
31-08-2018, 08:13 AM
Anymore coming in? :pray:
Paul Tosh, he just said - read between the lines HC. I have the same birthday as him, so I'd know. :agree:
Ferry green
31-08-2018, 08:15 AM
Wow it’s depressing in here today.
personally I feel a tinge of anticipation
Alan Nixon just tweeted that we're e looking at bringing in Cian Bolger in on loan. Irish centre half from Fleetwood.
He must be getting punted around the league
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180831/bd59828992175db772c085914302321b.png
Are the folk who will be disappointed, underwhelmed etc just saying that because we may not sign anyone on the last day? Is it because they think that, Kamberi, MacLaren, Mallan, Milligan, Horgan, Bogdan, Hyndlan,Agyepong are pish? Or is it that they think we should have signed a ready made SJM replacement? Or should we pay out more money than we can actually afford? I think the window has been fine for us. We have lost a player who we could never replace in SJM but have had a good stab at it. We have resigned the best stikeforce we have had in years. Signed a Scotland U21 international on a long contract, signed a full Irish international, a full Australian international who played all three games at WC, I could go on with the other internationals etc but some will still be underwhelmed because we haven't signed Sparky and Messi
I still have no transfer rumours!!
For me, and I think many others, it will feel disappointing if we don't manage to bring Scott Allan back. There's just something about him that brings an element of glamour and flair to the team and I sense we're missing that. I think he's worth stretching the budget for. Otherwise, yes I agree we've brought in some good quality signings.
JimboHibs
31-08-2018, 08:16 AM
Not sure about that, we've had some crap threads over the years...
Over the weeks... desperate reading on here now.