View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

14-07-2018, 01:56 PM
I’m sure that was always the plan. It’s clear Murray has no future here.

I felt a lot of moves broke down when he got involved when he came on as a Sub
Doesn't look comfortable with our passing game

14-07-2018, 01:58 PM
I hope Jamie Maclaren is one of them!

Having said that though, we must be closing in on a striker signing if we are allowing him to leave. Would only leave us with Kamberi & Shaw.

And Lewis Allan, I suppose.

14-07-2018, 02:17 PM
Could really be something in the Mulumbu rumour. I have a friend who's a big Killie fan but also has his ear to the ground and he's messaged me to say 'terms have been agreed today and hes absolutely gutted'.

Let's maybe wait and see on this one..

14-07-2018, 02:20 PM
Could really be something in the Mulumbu rumour. I have a friend who's a big Killie fan but also has his ear to the ground and he's messaged me to say 'terms have been agreed today and hes absolutely gutted'.

Fingers crossed. He’d be a huge signing. I’d be more confident going into the Greek games with an experienced guy like him in there.

14-07-2018, 02:21 PM

Wow

I’d be impressed if this one is true

Lewiehas2
14-07-2018, 02:22 PM
Has TheCat heard anything about Mulumbu?

Nevi_SOL
14-07-2018, 02:23 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44828170

5 hours ago

14-07-2018, 02:24 PM

Probably not. Because it's made up by a troll account.

14-07-2018, 02:24 PM

Couple of people on the Killie kickback messageboard saying the same.

Few on there dismissing it as well though.

14-07-2018, 02:28 PM

I haven’t heard anything but I’d hope Lennon is looking at him. Good player

14-07-2018, 02:28 PM
The Mulumbu story all started because of that Agent Kevin twitter page. If it actually happens I’ll be astonished.

14-07-2018, 02:30 PM
Couple of people on the Killie kickback messageboard saying the same.

Few on there dismissing it as well though.

I wasn’t dismissing it btw in case it came across like that. I’m saying the guy who tweeted is a plum and makes stuff up or trolls fans forums. Be great if Lennon has had a chat with him. If Hibs did get him be a bit of a coup considering the amount of clubs seemingly interested.

14-07-2018, 02:36 PM
I wasn’t dismissing it btw in case it came across like that. I’m saying the guy who tweeted is a plum and makes stuff up or trolls fans forums. Be great if Lennon has had a chat with him. If Hibs did get him be a bit of a coup considering the amount of clubs seemingly interested.

Maybe if we get him the wee laddie KevinAgentITK or whatever he calls himself will cut you a wee bit slack and unblock you, just to be nice?

14-07-2018, 02:38 PM
Maybe if we get him the wee laddie KevinAgentITK or whatever he calls himself will cut you a wee bit slack and unblock you, just to be nice?

Aye maybe he will, well I really hope so anyway! Because that wee daft laddie is just a bundle of fun. 👍🏼

14-07-2018, 02:41 PM
The Mulumbu story all started because of that Agent Kevin twitter page. If it actually happens I’ll be astonished.

The only thing that would give the rumour further credibility is that it would make so much sense for us to go for him.

With Mcgeouch and probably Mcginn away that leaves a big gaping hole in our midfield, Mulumbu would appear to be an obvious replacement, I’d be more surprised if we weren’t considering him.

14-07-2018, 02:42 PM
Aye maybe he will, well I really hope so anyway! Because that wee daft laddie is just a bundle of fun. 👍🏼

To use a well oiled .Net response. Oh dear.
Sounds like your claws are out pussycat.

14-07-2018, 02:44 PM
The only thing that would give the rumour further credibility is that it would make so much sense for us to go for him.

With Mcgeouch and probably Mcginn away that leaves a big gaping hole in our midfield, Mulumbu would appear to be an obvious replacement, I’d be more surprised if we weren’t considering him.

Oh aye, going for him makes perfect sense. He’s exactly what we need in midfield. Just don’t see it being a possibility, he’ll surely get a decent enough move back down south.

14-07-2018, 02:48 PM
To use a well oiled .Net response. Oh dear.
Sounds like your claws are out pussycat.

Just the one paw!

14-07-2018, 02:50 PM
Oh aye, going for him makes perfect sense. He’s exactly what we need in midfield. Just don’t see it being a possibility, he’ll surely get a decent enough move back down south.

Think he struggled to get a club down south before moving to Killie.

If he was to go down he’d probably be looking at league 1, if he’s enjoyed his spell up here he’d probably rather pick hibs than one of those clubs.

cloudy
14-07-2018, 02:50 PM
Can’t see anything on twitter, is that in the print edition?

Murray said his goodbyes to the players and backroom staff after the game on Thursday night stating he was to south Africa

14-07-2018, 02:51 PM
Murray said his goodbyes to the players and backroom staff after the game on Thursday night stating he was to south Africa

No reason to suspect you’re lion. Cat on the other hand...

14-07-2018, 02:53 PM

Interesting, cheers.

Good luck to him, met him with my son and he seemed a really nice guy that was obviously very proud to play for hibs.

As someone else has said we must be close to bringing someone else in if we’re accepting offers for Murray.

14-07-2018, 02:53 PM

His poor ginger nut. Get the factor-duffle coat out young man.

14-07-2018, 02:58 PM
His poor ginger nut. Get the factor-duffle coat out young man.

And the balaclava

The Leith Dutch
14-07-2018, 03:01 PM
I’m sure that was always the plan. It’s clear Murray has no future here.

I suspect you're right which is kind of a shame for Murray but suggests a lot about where we've come as a club that someone like Simon Murray isn't deemed good enough for one of the strikers on the bench. Presuming Kamberi is a starter and Shaw is earmarked for the bench we're presumably looking at a regular starter and a bench player the latter ideally pushing for starts.

BegbieHSC
14-07-2018, 03:03 PM
Continuing our policy on gingers then - last season Murray in, Fyvie oot - this season Bogdan in, Murray oot.

14-07-2018, 03:10 PM
Continuing our policy on gingers then - last season Murray in, Fyvie oot - this season Bogdan in, Murray oot.

I'm sure Horgan is ginger..

BegbieHSC
14-07-2018, 03:13 PM
I'm sure Horgan is ginger..

So that’s why it’s all gone quiet then 🤔🤔

Nevi_SOL
14-07-2018, 03:14 PM
So that’s why it’s all gone quiet then 🤔🤔

The suns been out 👍🏻

14-07-2018, 03:31 PM
I wasn’t dismissing it btw in case it came across like that. I’m saying the guy who tweeted is a plum and makes stuff up or trolls fans forums. Be great if Lennon has had a chat with him. If Hibs did get him be a bit of a coup considering the amount of clubs seemingly interested..

Like you I think Mulumbu is unlikely but if he did arrive I think we would have seen the last of Marv.

14-07-2018, 03:32 PM

Like you I think Mulumbu is unlikely but if he did arrive I think we would have seen the last of Marv.

I still have a feeling Marv will head to St. Mirren. No info or anything just think Stubbs may come in for him.

14-07-2018, 03:45 PM
I still have a feeling Marv will head to St. Mirren. No info or anything just think Stubbs may come in for him.
Good shout

14-07-2018, 03:57 PM

Spanner in the works of that one is their current captain plays the same role

14-07-2018, 04:08 PM
This guy is a complete fraud. He’s not an agent to start with he goes round the boards looks for rumours and he blocked me for calling him out.

Sounds like it's proper cutthroat in the ITK business.

14-07-2018, 04:20 PM
From what I seen of Mulumbu he's far more of a 'player' than Marv. Don't think he's the sitting destroyer type? 🤔

14-07-2018, 04:25 PM
From what I seen of Mulumbu he's far more of a 'player' than Marv. Don't think he's the sitting destroyer type? 🤔

Agreed. I think Marv could definitely play with him.

14-07-2018, 04:46 PM
Sounds like it's proper cutthroat in the ITK business.

14-07-2018, 04:50 PM

Mulumbu would be the McGinn replacement so no threat to Marv.

14-07-2018, 04:51 PM

More McGeouch, no?

14-07-2018, 05:04 PM

He looks more like a McGeouch type of player than McGinn

14-07-2018, 05:09 PM
He looks more like a McGeouch type of player than McGinn

Definitely more than SJM. I think however NL would be very tempted to use him in the holding role. You get strength & a good football brain that way.

14-07-2018, 05:22 PM
Whens his medical then? [emoji23]

14-07-2018, 05:28 PM
Whens his medical then? [emoji23]

Pending

14-07-2018, 06:46 PM

The transfer budget only has so much wiggle room for suncream to be fair so it’s a sensible policy.

14-07-2018, 06:47 PM
Definitely more than SJM. I think however NL would be very tempted to use him in the holding role. You get strength & a good football brain that way.

From what I've seen mulumbu is at his best when he has someone siting behind him

That's not to say he couldn't play in the holding role however

Anyway I highly doubt he's coming, will have far better offers than we can give him

Souter96Mac
14-07-2018, 06:51 PM
Would he not be cup tied?

14-07-2018, 07:01 PM
Would he not be cup tied?I think he's league tied cos he played for Killie but can play our Euro games.

14-07-2018, 07:03 PM
Would he not be cup tied?

Only for the Ayrshire Cup. He's fine for the East of Scotland Shield.

14-07-2018, 07:04 PM
These cup tied jokes have been great fun, they really have........

Surely to god they’ve got to stop soon though? Please let them finish soon!

14-07-2018, 07:11 PM

Surely to god they’ve got to stop soon though? Please let them finish soon!Heard they're going to extra time [emoji6]

14-07-2018, 08:18 PM

Surely to god they’ve got to stop soon though? Please let them finish soon!
Time to apply penalties.

The Pointer
14-07-2018, 09:12 PM
If Simon's off to South Africa, I hope it's short term contract given the country is on the slippery slope.

Silversand
14-07-2018, 09:34 PM

Surely to god they’ve got to stop soon though? Please let them finish soon!Sorry - you're cup-tied for the next few threads.

dirtydirk
15-07-2018, 02:44 AM
Anyone heard that we have offered Steve Sidwell a deal?

15-07-2018, 05:46 AM
Spanner in the works of that one is their current captain plays the same role

our captain cant even get a game, if a player will improve a team thats all managers that matters

15-07-2018, 07:25 AM

Hope not. He's old and been injured for a year. Will be past his best.

15-07-2018, 07:42 AM

I would hope not, he's 35! Only played 34 times in 2 years and never played last season at all.

Greenworld
15-07-2018, 07:53 AM
BR wants him in now..

The former Liverpool manager told The Glasgow Evening Times regarding McGinn: “Between Neil [Lennon] and I, it’s out of our hands It’s with the clubs. Hopefully for everyone’s sake it can be resolved, but it’s above me.

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

15-07-2018, 08:18 AM

I seriously hope not! He’s been injured for over a year and will certainly be past his best.

15-07-2018, 08:23 AM
our captain cant even get a game, if a player will improve a team thats all managers that matters

Our captain is Paul Hanlon. 😉

15-07-2018, 08:26 AM
Our captain is Paul Hanlon. 😉

Don’t know if I might have missed an announcement about this but I’m sure it’s still David Gray as captain with Paul Hanlon vice-captain?

15-07-2018, 08:30 AM
BR wants him in now..

The former Liverpool manager told The Glasgow Evening Times regarding McGinn: “Between Neil [Lennon] and I, it’s out of our hands It’s with the clubs. Hopefully for everyone’s sake it can be resolved, but it’s above me.

been Said before on this thread but as soon as Celtic have one bad résult in Europe their board Will buy at Hibs valuation

Sioux
15-07-2018, 08:34 AM
been Said before on this thread but as soon as Celtic have one bad résult in Europe their board Will buy at Hibs valuation

And if that bad result occurs in September, what next?

15-07-2018, 08:50 AM
And if that bad result occurs in September, what next?

Hibs win the league cup with John mcginn obvs

15-07-2018, 09:11 AM
I would hope not, he's 35! Only played 34 times in 2 years and never played last season at all.

I've seen a lot of Sidwell in recent seasons. He's a superb player, greatly appreciated both by fans & teammates. I'm not concerned about his age, he's really looked after himself, but as you say he missed all last season & so his health/fitness is a worry.. Must mean Horgan move is off though because even if Simon goes we've used up our ginge allowance!

15-07-2018, 10:07 AM
I've seen a lot of Sidwell in recent seasons. He's a superb player, greatly appreciated both by fans & teammates. I'm not concerned about his age, he's really looked after himself, but as you say he missed all last season & so his health/fitness is a worry.. Must mean Horgan move is off though because even if Simon goes we've used up our ginge allowance!

Unless Horgan dyes his hair, beard a different colour. That’s what probably must be holding deal up!

15-07-2018, 10:29 AM

Tbf Simon must be at least twice as ginger as the likes of fyvie or bogdan. If he goes that opens up a couple of positions for us

15-07-2018, 12:10 PM
Unless Horgan dyes his hair, beard a different colour. That’s what probably must be holding deal up!

So is Horgan now cup-dyed?

15-07-2018, 12:49 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2931667/aberdeen-scott-mckenna-swansea-city-2m/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

£2m for Scott McKenna and folk on here think we should accept the same for McGinn?

15-07-2018, 12:56 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2931667/aberdeen-scott-mckenna-swansea-city-2m/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

£2m for Scott McKenna and folk on here think we should accept the same for McGinn?

Both worth more than £2m. McKenna had a superb season last year, and I think was POTY for a team that finished above us in the league.

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2018, 01:07 PM
Hope Aberdeen tell them to bolt. Another example of English(welsh) teams thinking they can get good promising players in the cheap.

15-07-2018, 01:21 PM

The point people are making is that if £2m is the best offer we get by the end of the transfer window, we should accept it rather than have him sign a pre-contract in 4 months and then leave in May for nothing.

Certainly that's my point although I'm hoping we get bigger offers in.

I don't think Hibs are rich enough to turn down what is equivalent to about a quarter of our annual turnover and still have enough money to buy the likes of McLaren etc.

Edinburgh Green
15-07-2018, 01:21 PM
Am I the only one who thinks McKenna is bang average?

15-07-2018, 01:24 PM
The point people are making is that if £2m is the best offer we get by the end of the transfer window, we should accept it rather than have him sign a pre-contract in 4 months and then leave in May for nothing.

Certainly that's my point although I'm hoping we get bigger offers in.

I don't think Hibs are rich enough to turn down what is equivalent to about a quarter of our annual turnover and still have enough money to buy the likes of McLaren.

So if we get offered say £2m now but reject it as we are hoping for more, if no other offers are received do we then go back running saying “eh can we get that £2m you offered a couple of weeks ago?”

15-07-2018, 01:27 PM
So if we get offered say £2m now but reject it as we are hoping for more, if no other offers are received do we then go back running saying “eh can we get that £2m you offered a couple of weeks ago?”

Why is this so difficult? :dunno:

If the offer is still on the table, we take it. If there's no offer, he remains a Hibs player and our business plan- buy young, cheap players, develop them, and sell at a healthy profit - has failed.

15-07-2018, 01:30 PM
Why is this so difficult? :dunno:

If the offer is still on the table, we take it. If there's no offer, he remains a Hibs player and our business plan- buy young, cheap players, develop them, and sell at a healthy profit - has failed.

It’s not “difficult”. It just makes no sense. If Celtc come in tomorrow with a £2m bid, what do we tell them? That they need to wait to see if we get a higher bid or do we tell them to bolt and hope they come back with something bigger?
If they don’t and we receive no other bids from elsewhere then is it up to us to go back and ask for the £2m that they previously offered?

15-07-2018, 01:45 PM
It’s not “difficult”. It just makes no sense. If Celtc come in tomorrow with a £2m bid, what do we tell them? That they need to wait to see if we get a higher bid or do we tell them to bolt and hope they come back with something bigger?
If they don’t and we receive no other bids from elsewhere then is it up to us to go back and ask for the £2m that they previously offered?

If they say take it now or leave it, there'll be a decision to make. Until then, we tell them that we value the player higher than their offer. Hibs will know if there is interest from elsewhere, as will McGinn's agent, and they're very experienced in transfer system negotiation.

In my opinion, gambling a potential £2m on the possibility that SJM will somehow, in 9 months, bring us enough success that will make up for that amount is not a good idea.

If he was a Celtc player and they offered him to us till May next year for £2m, we'd laugh in their faces. He wouldn't be worth that much to us, so he's not worth losing it either.

That's my opinion. Hibs may disagree.

15-07-2018, 01:50 PM
the boy only wants to go west
they have us over a barrel

take the dosh now or accept the £20 quid in january :agree:

15-07-2018, 01:53 PM

take the dosh :agree:

What makes you say that?

If it's true, there's even less of an argument for keeping an unhappy player.

15-07-2018, 01:57 PM
Hope Aberdeen tell them to bolt. Another example of English(welsh) teams thinking they can get good promising players in the cheap.

If the roles were reversed we would do the same. It's called business and some you win and some you lose.

15-07-2018, 01:58 PM
What makes you say that?

If it's true, there's even less of an argument for keeping an unhappy player.

several on here and just as importantly brendan rodgers quite assured in the press, those 'bids' from down south don't seem to be materialising...if there was interest in the first place that is

15-07-2018, 02:16 PM
several on here and just as importantly brendan rodgers quite assured in the press, those 'bids' from down south don't seem to be materialising...if there was interest in the first place that is

So basically like everyone else on here you're just speculating. Probably need D (Hibby radge) to come on & explain his thinking because I think I missed his post on the subject. :wink:

15-07-2018, 02:23 PM

take the dosh now or accept the £20 quid in january :agree:

Not sure why that is true? If they want to wait until next season to get him for nothing, it will cost them the price of Allan's wages plus the bleating from their own fans when they see their club not willing to dig not even deep to buy the best midfielder in Scotland. Small change from the Armsrtrong profit. I can see in years time Rodgers saying that he knew he was keen to come but they needed to wait until the January window to show how keen that they were to have him.

15-07-2018, 02:31 PM
So basically like everyone else on here you're just speculating. Probably need D (Hibby radge) to come on & explain his thinking because I think I missed his post on the subject. :wink:

1875STEVE
15-07-2018, 02:38 PM
Ive had two texts today, from a mate and a workmate, who don't know each other, who are both saying they've heard £2m and Allan and Christie permanent.

id take that.

15-07-2018, 02:40 PM
Ive had two texts today, from a mate and a workmate, who don't know each other, who are both saying they've heard £2m and Allan and Christie permanent.

id take that.

Would take that deal.

hibeemikey21
15-07-2018, 02:47 PM

id take that.

I’d take Allan and Christie and no fee. As would Hibs I reckon. Therefore, I think this is not true.

15-07-2018, 02:48 PM

id take that.

Would happily take that.

15-07-2018, 02:50 PM

id take that.

Will definitely take that.

15-07-2018, 02:53 PM

id take that.

If true then I think Hibs will accept that. I assume that celtic will have to pay these guys off as they will have to drop a fair chunk in salary to come to us. Would probably be the best deal we could get. Still going to be horrible seeing SJM wear that imitation Hibs strip though

15-07-2018, 02:54 PM

id take that.

Perfect deal. But that's a big jump from 1.75m on it's own.

That's why I don't think this will be true.

15-07-2018, 02:55 PM
I’d take Allan and Christie and no fee. As would Hibs I reckon. Therefore, I think this is not true.

Need a change of formation if that’s the case !!! Where are all these attacking midfielders fitting in ?

15-07-2018, 03:07 PM
is ryan christie really that good :confused:

15-07-2018, 03:10 PM
Imo yes. Would love to have him and Allan here

15-07-2018, 03:10 PM

Nope. I don’t rate him anyway!

seanoheimhin
15-07-2018, 03:15 PM
Nope. I don’t rate him anyway!

Hated Christie as a player against us. Dives, moans, kicks out but can’t take it back. Loves a yellow card and goes missing for large chunks of games.

Stinking attitude from what I can see. No doubt he has talent though.

15-07-2018, 03:16 PM
Hated Christie as a player against us. Dives, moans, kicks out but can’t take it back. Loves a yellow card and goes missing for large chunks of games.

Stinking attitude from what I can see. No doubt he has talent though.

Indeed but the wrong sort of talent for me!

15-07-2018, 03:17 PM

Was a regular for the team that just finished 2nd and a Scottish international so I assume he’s got something to offer

15-07-2018, 03:19 PM

I think we would be a good addition to the squad. Him, Allan, Mallan, Slivka, Boyle, Swanson, Bartley, couple of the youngsters, Mulumbu maybe and that would probably give us the strongest midfield in the league after celtic

15-07-2018, 03:21 PM
Mallan, Allan & Christie all play a similar position? No need for us to get Allan & Christie, much rather we got a winger if anything

15-07-2018, 03:25 PM
I think we would be a good addition to the squad. Him, Allan, Mallan, Slivka, Boyle, Swanson, Bartley, couple of the youngsters, Mulumbu maybe and that would probably give us the strongest midfield in the league after celtic

That's a hell of a lot of midfielders to fit into the 3 positions we have there, add to that list Martin, F Murray and possibly Horgan if he comes.

15-07-2018, 03:26 PM
Imo yes. Would love to have him and Allan here

And Mallan as well? Feels like 3 players playing for 2 positions or 1?

15-07-2018, 03:30 PM
That's a hell of a lot of midfielders to fit into the 3 positions we have there, add to that list Martin, F Murray and possibly Horgan if he comes.

But the season is potentially about 50+ games long if you have cup runs and Europe. Injuries, suspensions, loss of form. Large squad needed for successful sides

15-07-2018, 03:36 PM
But the season is potentially about 50+ games long if you have cup runs and Europe. Injuries, suspensions, loss of form. Large squad needed for successful sides

As long as the players signed realise that there is a rotation in place then there's no problems with that, if not trying to keep 1st team players happy isn't going to be easy, there's been rumours that Bartley hasn't been happy with the lack of game time recently.

mayo hibee
15-07-2018, 03:37 PM
Definitely one too many attacking midfielders. At least one defensive midfielder to replace McGeough and probably McGinn is what's needed. Bartley and Whittaker not near enough in that role.

15-07-2018, 03:42 PM
Definitely one too many attacking midfielders. At least one defensive midfielder to replace McGeough and probably McGinn is what's needed. Bartley and Whittaker not near enough in that role.

With those players I'd be tempted to play 4-2-3-1, having 3 of those attacking players behind big Flo would be mouthwatering to say the least.

gaz1875
15-07-2018, 03:45 PM

I think he is, puts himself about scores goals and plenty drive.

15-07-2018, 03:45 PM

Good chance Swanson will be offered out on loan.

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2018, 03:48 PM
Deal would make sense. Ryan Christie could have a big future which would mean a profit if we are going by the talked about buy young, develop and sell big

15-07-2018, 03:48 PM

You would, seriously? I'm pretty sure Hibs would laugh at that. Celtc want Christie & Allan off the payroll and Hibs are their best opportunity to do that but their current market value is a long way short of £1m never mind, 2, 3 or even 4.

15-07-2018, 03:49 PM

That’s what I think as well. Potentially could be this:-

Ins:

Allan
Christie
Mulumbu
Maclaren
Horgan or Barker

Outs:

McGinn
Bartley
Swanson

15-07-2018, 03:49 PM

id take that.

Zero chance of that being the deal.

15-07-2018, 03:52 PM

You still of the opinion we'll be lucky to get £1m for McGinn :rolleyes:

15-07-2018, 03:54 PM

We still trying to get them down to £1m?

15-07-2018, 03:57 PM
You still of the opinion we'll be lucky to get £1m for McGinn :rolleyes:

We still trying to get them down to £1m?

Shhh he’s in the know.

15-07-2018, 04:04 PM

Tell Celtic they have to take him as part of the deal :greengrin

15-07-2018, 04:10 PM
Shhh he’s in the know.

15-07-2018, 04:12 PM
For hibs sake hope it's soon as now. It's inevitable he's going. Want it done asap now to allow the squad to gel and ultimately let Lennon know what we're needing incoming.

15-07-2018, 04:18 PM
Shhh he’s in the know.
He is ITK, how else would he have known we were getting Assambalonga as part of the Cummings deal a week before he signed for Middlesbrough for £15million? Or that we are signing Samaras?

15-07-2018, 04:20 PM
when Cellic bought Allan and Christie what was their price???,
Hibs will never accept these 2 and no cash, :aok::aok::aok:

15-07-2018, 04:24 PM
when Cellic bought Allan and Christie what was their price???,
Hibs will never accept these 2 and no cash, :aok::aok::aok:

Correct.

Hibeewilly
15-07-2018, 04:36 PM
That’s what I think as well. Potentially could be this:-

Ins:

Allan
Christie
Mulumbu
Maclaren
Horgan or Barker

Outs:

McGinn
Bartley
Swanson

I think Scott Martin and Fraser Murray will be away as well...…….. Murray probably out on loan

15-07-2018, 04:40 PM
Martin currently behind Whittaker and Bartley for a holding mid spot so will def be gone.

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2018, 04:59 PM
BRENDAN RODGERS insists Scott Allan and Ryan Christie ARE good enough to play for Celtic.

The only issue is if he can give them the game-time they want.

Scott Allan has looked sharp since returning to Celtic from Hibs
Fringe men Allan, 26, and Christie, 23, are back at Parkhead after successful loan spells at Hibs and Aberdeen respectively.

The Hoops take a 3-0 lead into the second leg of their Champions League qualifier with Armenians FC Alashkert on Wednesday and the pair could be handed chances.

But boss Rodgers says he will hold talks with both players in the coming weeks over their long-term futures at the club.

He said: “Both boys have come in and done very well in pre-season.

Ryan Christie spent 18 months at Pittodrie and made a huge impression
“They are players who have been playing regularly elsewhere and both can come in and be part of a Celtic squad.

“Ryan and Scott both have big talents. But can I give them the game time they want?

“That’s the only question mark and that’s a conversation we’ll have.”

From the Sun on Sunday

15-07-2018, 05:03 PM
BRENDAN RODGERS insists Scott Allan and Ryan Christie ARE good enough to play for Celtic.

Fringe men Allan, 26, and Christie, 23, are back at Parkhead after successful loan spells at Hibs and Aberdeen respectively.

The Hoops take a 3-0 lead into the second leg of their Champions League qualifier with Armenians FC Alashkert on Wednesday and the pair could be handed chances.

But boss Rodgers says he will hold talks with both players in the coming weeks over their long-term futures at the club.

“They are players who have been playing regularly elsewhere and both can come in and be part of a Celtic squad.

“Ryan and Scott both have big talents. But can I give them the game time they want?

From the Sun on Sunday

He’s basically saying they are leaving in the nicest way possible.

supermcginn
15-07-2018, 05:14 PM
Shhh he’s in the know.

😅😅😅

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2018, 05:16 PM
He’s basically saying they are leaving in the nicest way possible.

That’s what I took from that aswell

15-07-2018, 05:32 PM

From the Sun on Sunday

And does he think he can give McGinn game time?

15-07-2018, 05:35 PM

id take that.
If it seems too good to be true then it's unlikely to be true.

15-07-2018, 05:39 PM

From the Sun on Sunday

Good enough for Celtic but can’t guarantee them the game time

15-07-2018, 05:47 PM
And does he think he can give McGinn game time?

Exactly, can’t see him starting each week, unless someone important gets injured

1875STEVE
15-07-2018, 06:21 PM

Neither do I sadly.

1875STEVE
15-07-2018, 06:21 PM
If it seems too good to be true then it's unlikely to be true.

Exactly.

15-07-2018, 06:38 PM
Deal would make sense. Ryan Christie could have a big future which would mean a profit if we are going by the talked about buy young, develop and sell big

As long as Celtic don’t try to put in some sort of buy back clause, I’m all for this

badabing67
15-07-2018, 09:45 PM
Am I the only one who thinks McKenna is bang average?

No, he will be their new Considine

15-07-2018, 10:28 PM
Getting both Allan and Christie permanently would cost Hibs money, because their value would be added to the actual cash element when calculating the transfer fee which St Mirren get a share of eg £2m cash, plus those two at £350k each = £2.7m, of which St Mirren get £900k and we're left with £1.1m in cash. Covers the indoor pitch but leaves nothing towards wages or transfer fees.

Given that Christie plays a similar position to Allan and Mallan, I'd rather just have Allan and cash. And I'd value Allan based on Celtc not wanting him and no interest from other clubs, so £100-200k. Get Celtc to pay £2.5m in cash for McGinn and we'd have £1.8m left in the bank after paying St Mirren.

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2018, 10:30 PM
Is this a Hibs.net myth that players valuation get added on to a sell on fee?

Tobias Funke
15-07-2018, 10:37 PM

If you mean the “myth” is Hibs will have to pay St Mirren their dues even if we receive no cash as part of the deal then no, it’s not a myth. There is absolutely no chance in hell Hibs will be allowed to evade any sell on clause because no actual money changed hands, it’s ludicrous to think otherwise.

15-07-2018, 10:47 PM
If you mean the “myth” is Hibs will have to pay St Mirren their dues even if we receive no cash as part of the deal then no, it’s not a myth. There is absolutely no chance in hell Hibs will be allowed to evade any sell on clause because no actual money changed hands, it’s ludicrous to think otherwise.

It’s more ludicrous to speculate on the terms of contractual agreement when you don’t know what the agreement says.

It might say that St Mirren are entitled to ‘x’ amount of any monies received only. Players involved in a swap might not come in to it. Who knows?

15-07-2018, 10:48 PM

If players are part of the McGinn deal then of course their value is taken into account. How would St Mirren get what they’re due otherwise? Think about it.

15-07-2018, 10:50 PM

It isn't ludicrous at all since not one person on here has a clue what is in the contract. Could be all kinds of clauses. Hibs could have a clause to buy out St mirrens sell on. The sell on could've increased or decreased over time. It could be a % of profit. It could be a % of money over a certain amount. It could be set so it doesn't include players that are involved in any transfer. These are just some of the possibilities. People on here need to stop pretending they know what and how this supposed clause works because it's all likely to be rubbish.

15-07-2018, 10:50 PM
It’s more ludicrous to speculate on the terms of contractual agreement when you don’t know what the agreement says.

It might say that St Mirren are entitled to ‘x’ amount of any monies received only. Players involved in a swap might not come in to it. Who knows?
I think you’re maybe doing the folk who draw up the contracts a dis-service with an assertion like that. St Mirren will get their cash.

15-07-2018, 10:57 PM
No one here has seen the contract, but I think we can all agree that it is incredibly unlikely that player values would not be considered. If that was the case then the lawyer who wrote the contract wouldn't find much more work.

15-07-2018, 11:01 PM
I think you’re maybe doing the folk who draw up the contracts a dis-service with an assertion like that. St Mirren will get their cash.

I haven’t made any assertions as I don’t know the terms of the deal. It seems to me that others with the opposite viewpoint possibly have

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2018, 11:06 PM
If players are part of the McGinn deal then of course their value is taken into account. How would St Mirren get what they’re due otherwise? Think about it.

St Mirren would get their money from a cash deal. If players are exchanged as part of a deal that obviously means they are surplus to requirements in which the value would be zero. I know it’s not much to go off but they’re more in the loop than us, but Football Manager doesn’t take these into account

15-07-2018, 11:10 PM
St Mirren would get their money from a cash deal. If players are exchanged as part of a deal that obviously means they are surplus to requirements in which the value would be zero. I know it’s not much to go off but they’re more in the loop than us, but Football Manager doesn’t take these into account

I'm not sure if I've been persuaded by this logic.

16-07-2018, 05:51 AM
If they say take it now or leave it, there'll be a decision to make. Until then, we tell them that we value the player higher than their offer. Hibs will know if there is interest from elsewhere, as will McGinn's agent, and they're very experienced in transfer system negotiation.

In my opinion, gambling a potential £2m on the possibility that SJM will somehow, in 9 months, bring us enough success that will make up for that amount is not a good idea.

If he was a Celtc player and they offered him to us till May next year for £2m, we'd laugh in their faces. He wouldn't be worth that much to us, so he's not worth losing it either.

That's my opinion. Hibs may disagree.

But if the sell on’s are correct then the bid would need to be £3m+ for us to get £2m in our sky rocket.

If Celtic offer us £2m then in reality all things deducted is more £1m to our budget.

16-07-2018, 05:57 AM

And why would St Mirren have signed up to a deal like that when we acquired their prize asset? I don’t know why but it seems like people are looking at possible scenarios where we wouldn’t have to give any cash to St Mirren for John McGinn. That would only happen if he saw out his contract and walked for nothing.

16-07-2018, 06:01 AM
And why would St Mirren have signed up to a deal like that when we acquired their prize asset? I don’t know why but it seems like people are looking at possible scenarios where we wouldn’t have to give any cash to St Mirren for John McGinn. That would only happen if he saw out his contract and walked for nothing.

He wasn’t their ‘prized asset’, he was out of contract and we had to pay a development fee.

16-07-2018, 06:12 AM
He wasn’t their ‘prized asset’, he was out of contract and we had to pay a development fee.

He was on the verge of signing for a team in the US which would have meant St Mirren would have received no money at all.

16-07-2018, 06:22 AM

Easy to say in hindsight obviously but given that we may have to pass up to a seven figure sum to St Mirren will this change Hibs approach to these deals in the future? Perhaps letting it go to tribunal for any development fees or paying more up front. It would seem that there is a sell on agreement in the Mallan deal as well. 33% does seem unusually high though, but 33% of what....nobody knows!

16-07-2018, 06:31 AM
He was on the verge of signing for a team in the US which would have meant St Mirren would have received no money at all.

They didn’t have any say in it, however. It was down to the player who he signed for.

Greenworld
16-07-2018, 06:31 AM
I’d take Allan and Christie and no fee. As would Hibs I reckon. Therefore, I think this is not true.Glad your not our negotiater [emoji38][emoji38]

16-07-2018, 06:34 AM
Easy to say in hindsight obviously but given that we may have to pass up to a seven figure sum to St Mirren will this change Hibs approach to these deals in the future? Perhaps letting it go to tribunal for any development fees or paying more up front. It would seem that there is a sell on agreement in the Mallan deal as well. 33% does seem unusually high though, but 33% of what....nobody knows!

I would certainly like to hope so. No matter the situation, we shouldn’t be losing a third of a fee where we have taken a player to a level making him worth millions. If we feel we really want to get someone, and it may cost £200/300k extra by going to the tribunal then we should be down that route. If we want someone we pay for them, and then do our job properly (like with McGinn) and develop them enough that we make tenfold on our investment.

16-07-2018, 06:40 AM
I would certainly like to hope so. No matter the situation, we shouldn’t be losing a third of a fee where we have taken a player to a level making him worth millions. If we feel we really want to get someone, and it may cost £200/300k extra by going to the tribunal then we should be down that route. If we want someone we pay for them, and then do our job properly (like with McGinn) and develop them enough that we make tenfold on our investment.

When we signed Mcginn, if someone said you’ll win the Scottish cup, be back in Europe and have 13k + season ticket holders before he leaves we would have laughed at them

Irrespective of the final fee, cuts to St Mirren etc, Mcginn has contributed massively to our current financial position

16-07-2018, 06:45 AM
The speculation on what is in the contract between Hibs & St Mirren is wild, some folk seem to very clued up on this subject drawing their expertise from thin air and playing computer games😂. Gotta love a .net debate!!

16-07-2018, 06:53 AM

Remember, St Mirren weren’t in a position to to hold us to ransom. McGinn was out of contract and they couldn’t do anything to prevent him signing for us. We could have taken our chances at tribunal.

They’ve already had a six figure fee which Hibs have incentivised further. They’ll get their money. But I’ve not seen a single person argue that well not have to pay them anything. It’s more the case that some are arguing that we’ll need to give them more of a cut.

16-07-2018, 07:06 AM
Remember, St Mirren weren’t in a position to to hold us to ransom. McGinn was out of contract and they couldn’t do anything to prevent him signing for us. We could have taken our chances at tribunal.

They’ve already had a six figure fee which Hibs have incentivised further. They’ll get their money. But I’ve not seen a single person argue that well not have to pay them anything. It’s more the case that some are arguing that we’ll need to give them more of a cut.
Some people are speculating that make-weights may not form part of any total value which will be used to calculate what we need to pay. That indicates to me that they’re implying if it was a pure player swap that no money would be due to St Mirren.

16-07-2018, 07:16 AM
Some people are speculating that make-weights may not form part of any total value which will be used to calculate what we need to pay. That indicates to me that they’re implying if it was a pure player swap that no money would be due to St Mirren.

You asked why St Mirren would sign up to such a deal. Why on earth would Hibs? Imagine being in a scenario where you could swap a player and have to pay another club for it? Say both players in the swap were valued at £3m. Do we then need to shell out 1m to St Mirren? In any case, if it’s a straight swap with no financial transaction, who assigns the value to a player?

16-07-2018, 07:20 AM

I've asked this before and not got an answer - can anyone give an example of this kind of thing actually happening anywhere else in world football? Everyone seems to be just making educated guesses but I think it's strange, especially given the number of sell on clauses nowadays, that no precedent can be found.

Also, what mechanism is in place to value Allan? And why couldn't we just sell McGinn for a set fee and then sign Allan a week later in a separate deal?

FWIW I don't know what but there are seem to be fair few posters on here who are experts in the football contract law!

16-07-2018, 07:26 AM
You asked why St Mirren would sign up to such a deal. Why on earth would Hibs? Imagine being in a scenario where you could swap a player and have to pay another club for it? Say both players in the swap were valued at £3m. Do we then need to shell out 1m to St Mirren? In any case, if it’s a straight swap with no financial transaction, who assigns the value to a player?
Hibs agreed to the sell-on clause to avoid having to pay a higher upfront development fee. I’m also certain the deal will relate to profit only.

Edit - thinking about that further, if the value of the player or players being swapped was £3m then yes, we would have to hand over £1m if a third is whats in the agreement.

16-07-2018, 07:35 AM
Hibs agreed to the sell-on clause to avoid having to pay a higher upfront development fee. I’m also certain the deal will relate to profit only.

They did, yes. But we’re in a position where people are arguing that we’ll need to pay money over and above anything we receive when in reality nobody knows the terms of the deal.

I don’t believe for a minute that Hibs would have agreed to anything that could disadvantage them in a future deal. Going by the scenario you gave, do you really think if there was a straight swap we’d need to pay money to St Mirren? Imagine paying to lose your best player. No that that scenario is likely to occur of course.

16-07-2018, 07:47 AM
Argh is it just me or is this one third of McGinn's fee going to St Mirren the new 'we could've got Sparky if only Petrie had stuck his hand in his pocket for £150,000'?

16-07-2018, 07:47 AM

Sell on Clause in the Mallan deal would explain why we got him at a very reasonable price imo So We develop him and sell him on and Barnsley make money from it as well as us
If that's what we have to do to get Quality players in I can live with that

sean04
16-07-2018, 07:49 AM
I'm sure were due st.mirren 33% of any transfer fee. Can't imagine the deal would be as complex as adding value of any player we swap etc. Can't see Scott Allan walking away from Celtic without a payoff so he will be free to join hibs

16-07-2018, 07:50 AM
Argh is it just me or is this one third of McGinn's fee going to St Mirren the new 'we could've got Sparky if only Petrie had stuck his hand in his pocket for £150,000'?Yup and frankly am sick to the back teeth of reading posts about this sell on clause on here...it's been done to death all summer and frankly I'm bored. None of us know the ins and outs and I don't see the point in all this discussion. The quicker Celtic make their move and offer us a decent offer we can accept the better...this is dragging on a bit now and we really.need to step up.our own recruitment before the Asteras match in a week and a half...

16-07-2018, 07:51 AM
Scott Allan will be seen as a separate deal, Hibs will get whatever we get from Celtic and then we'll negotiate a deal for Allan and maybe Christie, St Mirren will only get a share of the money we are given, same thing happened when we sold Allan to Celtic and we negotiated a deal for McGeouch separately.

sean04
16-07-2018, 07:59 AM
Scott Allan will be seen as a separate deal, Hibs will get whatever we get from Celtic and then we'll negotiate a deal for Allan and maybe Christie, St Mirren will only get a share of the money we are given, same thing happened when we sold Allan to Celtic and we negotiated a deal for McGeouch separately.

Gentleman's agreement. We will take 2.5 for mcginn if we get Allan and player in a separate deal

Greenworld
16-07-2018, 08:06 AM
You asked why St Mirren would sign up to such a deal. Why on earth would Hibs? Imagine being in a scenario where you could swap a player and have to pay another club for it? Say both players in the swap were valued at £3m. Do we then need to shell out 1m to St Mirren? In any case, if it’s a straight swap with no financial transaction, who assigns the value to a player?Hibs have deliberately not mentioned any other players as part of this deal.
That keeps it clean they are aware of their obligation to St mirren hence the drive to get the best price they can.
St mirren will be treated in the correct manner if the price does drop down to say 3 million Hibs can be quite happy that they have tried everything to achieve the best deal.
Any deal for Allan or any other player will be completely seperate deliberately so as not to muddy the waters on the St mirren part of the deal.

16-07-2018, 08:32 AM
Hibs have deliberately not mentioned any other players as part of this deal.
That keeps it clean they are aware of their obligation to St mirren hence the drive to get the best price they can.
St mirren will be treated in the correct manner if the price does drop down to say 3 million Hibs can be quite happy that they have tried everything to achieve the best deal.
Any deal for Allan or any other player will be completely seperate deliberately so as not to muddy the waters on the St mirren part of the deal.

Completely agree. Separate deals have always seemed the most likely scenario to me.

16-07-2018, 08:53 AM
Not sure what's going on with Horgan, Hibs thought everything was tied up but they're not sure if that will go ahead at all now from the message I got last night. No change with Maclaren, still expecting him to sign, Simon Murray will go - probably to the SA team but he has yet to formally agree terms with them as things stand, there is interest from two Scottish Premiership teams so would think he's got a bit of thinking to do.

Have asked about McGinn but the guy I know said he's not heard anything concrete on that other than what's been in the press.

16-07-2018, 08:55 AM
Not sure what's going on with Horgan, Hibs thought everything was tied up but they're not sure if that will go ahead at all now from the message I got last night. No change with Maclaren, still expecting him to sign, Simon Murray will go - probably to the SA team but he has yet to formally agree terms with them as things stand, there is interest from two Scottish Premiership teams so would think he's got a bit of thinking to do.

Have asked about McGinn but the guy I know said he's not heard anything concrete on that other than what's been in the press.

Things seem to be slowing up a bit, really need a few more signings in before the game against the greeks if we want to give ourselves the best chance.

JimboHibs
16-07-2018, 08:57 AM

You seen the contract or having a guess ?

16-07-2018, 09:05 AM

Have asked about McGinn but the guy I know said he's not heard anything concrete on that other than what's been in the press.Thanks Matty any idea when we can get Jamie Mac over the line??

16-07-2018, 09:09 AM
You seen the contract or having a guess ?

Don't know what contract you're talking about, McGeouch was done as a separate deal to Allan when he moved, we paid a fee for him. I would assume this would be the case again and stops any confusion re St Mirren's cut.

16-07-2018, 09:11 AM
Thanks Matty any idea when we can get Jamie Mac over the line??

Just speculating but I can't see it happening until nearer the end of the window.

mayo hibee
16-07-2018, 09:21 AM
Another week or so still available to make some progress but it does now look like we'll be playing the Greek team with a significantly weaker squad than either the one that finished last season or will likely be in place by September, which is a shame after the great effort to get into Europe.

MacGruber
16-07-2018, 09:23 AM
Papers now running with Jamie McLaren blow for Hibs and German side saying he wont be sold. Hopefully there is more positivity behind the scenes and possibly a loan.

We are well short just now so hopefully movement soon.
Short 2 strikers if Murray goes. A winger, 2 CMs and left back for competition - 6 players in my book. Would love Scott Allan, Jamie Mac, Barker and Malumbu to be 4 of those 6 but can't see it now

sean04
16-07-2018, 09:58 AM

Do you know the fee for Murray?

16-07-2018, 10:12 AM
Do you know the fee for Murray?

No, sorry.

JimboHibs
16-07-2018, 10:19 AM
Don't know what contract you're talking about, McGeouch was done as a separate deal to Allan when he moved, we paid a fee for him. I would assume this would be the case again and stops any confusion re St Mirren's cut.

So there was no contract with the deal ?

16-07-2018, 10:24 AM

Allan and McGeough were separate deals.

sean04
16-07-2018, 11:06 AM
No, sorry.

Think we turned down 50k earlier in the transfer window. Hopefully a 100k+

16-07-2018, 11:19 AM

Haven't got a clue what you're on about, what contract and what deal??

16-07-2018, 11:21 AM
Big Marv on Twitter having a wee dig to Calvin Charlton about maybe not enough game time.

16-07-2018, 11:28 AM
St Mirren in talks with Celtc to take Michael Johnston on loan. Was rumoured to be part of any deal for John McGinn by a couple on here.

16-07-2018, 11:35 AM
St Mirren in talks with Celtc to take Michael Johnston on loan. Was rumoured to be part of any deal for John McGinn by a couple on here.

And Some said Celtic weren't prepared to loan him to us Would be decent loan for St Mirren

Stranraer
16-07-2018, 12:47 PM
Papers now running with Jamie McLaren blow for Hibs and German side saying he wont be sold. Hopefully there is more positivity behind the scenes and possibly a loan.

We are well short just now so hopefully movement soon.
Short 2 strikers if Murray goes. A winger, 2 CMs and left back for competition - 6 players in my book. Would love Scott Allan, Jamie Mac, Barker and Malumbu to be 4 of those 6 but can't see it now

would love to see Mulumbu at ER. He's top class.

16-07-2018, 12:56 PM
It’s about time we got our act together now. 1st leg against the Greeks is a week on Thursday and we are looking a bit short in key areas.

16-07-2018, 12:57 PM
Another week or so still available to make some progress but it does now look like we'll be playing the Greek team with a significantly weaker squad than either the one that finished last season or will likely be in place by September, which is a shame after the great effort to get into Europe.

A week is a long time in the transfer window, I wouldn’t get overly stressed about it.

16-07-2018, 01:49 PM
It’s about time we got our act together now. 1st leg against the Greeks is a week on Thursday and we are looking a bit short in key areas.

I think all plans hinge on the mcginn situation. When he is sold it will set off our plans.
For that reason, it's in everyone's interests to get that sorted ASAP.

16-07-2018, 01:59 PM

What do you reckon Hibs should be doing that we're not currently doing exactly?

16-07-2018, 02:06 PM
What do you reckon Hibs should be doing that we're not currently doing exactly?

Signing players.

K-Zazu
16-07-2018, 02:11 PM
I think all plans hinge on the mcginn situation. When he is sold it will set off our plans.

But this is our highest budget in history don’t ya know?

GreenPJ
16-07-2018, 02:14 PM

I think you are right but this is a bit worrying. We have made 3 signings (albeit at least two of them are very good prospects). If the McGinn deal is pivotal to future signings are we really suggesting the largest transfer budget the club has had (Leann's words) has all been spent on those 3 players?

16-07-2018, 02:14 PM
Signing players.

Just any players, for the sake of it?

16-07-2018, 02:16 PM
I think you are right but this is a bit worrying. We have made 3 signings (albeit at least two of them are very good prospects). If the McGinn deal is pivotal to future signings are we really suggesting the largest transfer budget the club has had (Leann's words) has all been spent on those 3 players?

Player budget, not transfer budget. That's not the same thing at all.

16-07-2018, 02:16 PM
:hyper

16-07-2018, 02:18 PM
Signing players.

Ozy you know better than that. Your comment is simplistic at best, Stevie Mallan has signed for us but the majority of the higher level players we are trying to get will be keeping their powder dry for now. Why would they want to commit at this point in the window when a better offer could come in from England later? You think that their agents are telling them to take the first offer available?

16-07-2018, 02:25 PM
Just any players, for the sake of it?

Nobody has ever suggested that.

Gordy M
16-07-2018, 02:34 PM

No they arent but what if the players we are targetting arent available until 2 weeks from now? Sign other 'lesser'players or wait for who we want?

16-07-2018, 02:37 PM
No they arent but what if the players we are targetting arent available until 2 weeks from now? Sign other 'lesser'players or wait for who we want?

and thats going to be the argument throughout time

It could be we are waiting on better players, similarly, it could mean we are missing our targets

I dont think its unfair to have expected a bit more movement though (lack of rumours probably isnt helping the folk who expect more signings)

16-07-2018, 02:39 PM
Signing players.

Celtic and Aberdeen are very much like ourselves and been relatively ‘inactive’ on the face of things, but with lots going on in the background - including the McGinn transfer.

I’m happy that we’re looking at quality and that our targets have at least a pre-season under their belts with current clubs, or indeed training at the World Cup to keep them fit.

16-07-2018, 02:39 PM
Signing players.

So you reckon there are suitable players available to be signed right now but we're just not doing it? What do you want done about this? Everyone just to work a bit faster?

Gordy M
16-07-2018, 02:41 PM
and thats going to be the argument throughout time

It could be we are waiting on better players, similarly, it could mean we are missing our targets

I dont think its unfair to have expected a bit more movement though (lack of rumours probably isnt helping the folk who expect more signings)

I think we have done really well in the transfer market over the last few windows. We had the exact same discussions last year about lack of signings and went onto to have our best league season in years? Do folk think that we wont sign anyone else.? I think that NL and LD have targets in mind and we will go after the right players that they want.

16-07-2018, 02:43 PM
So you reckon there are suitable players available to be signed right now but we're just not doing it? What do you want done about this? Everyone just to work a bit faster?
Not faster, just more efficiently. We should bring our targets to a darkened room at East Mains and waterboard them until they agree to sign.......

16-07-2018, 02:49 PM
I heard from a good source Petrie brought back 20 Cuban cigars from his holidays and they've gone missing, says we're not signing Scott Allan until the culprit owns up to it. They need to get the finger out

16-07-2018, 02:53 PM

Ozy going by his last post seems to think its easy just to go out and get players, implying Hibs weren't bothering.

I don't believe that's the case but I guess you knew that anyway.

16-07-2018, 02:53 PM
Quality over quantity. If it takes us longer to get the right player(s) in then so be it. It worked last season. I trust our recruitment team.

16-07-2018, 02:59 PM
Ozy going by his last post seems to think its easy just to go out and get players, implying Hibs weren't bothering.

I don't believe that's the case but I guess you knew that anyway.Container loads of no marks that cost nothing is the future.

There's agents who deliver them to your door and before you know where you are you have a squad of 40 plus malaury Martin the free kick specialist hanging around like a bad smell☺

16-07-2018, 03:06 PM
Connor Sammon has gone to Motherwell on loan for the season.

16-07-2018, 03:13 PM
Container loads of no marks that cost nothing is the future.

There's agents who deliver them to your door and before you know where you are you have a squad of 40 plus malaury Martin the free kick specialist hanging around like a bad smell☺

Don't forget that they all get paid in Lithuanian Litas as well........

16-07-2018, 03:15 PM
Don't forget that they all get paid in Lithuanian Litas as well........I'm starting to prefer litres to pints myself like[emoji6]

16-07-2018, 03:17 PM
I'll wait until the end of the transfer window before I judge how (I think) our signings have went this summer. Until then, I am happy to trust that the more than competent team at Easter Road have everything under control and know what they are doing.

It's often nearer the end of the window that rabbits are pulled from hats in any case :greengrin

16-07-2018, 03:31 PM

Yup.

Otherwise we value Christie at a fiver and give St Mirren a couple of quid.

16-07-2018, 03:40 PM

We have our Biggest Budget for Players and Back room staff That doesn't include anticipated money from Mcginn sale I assume .
So while I am sure that will assist us when he does go ,we can't of been relying on that
So with the Greek Tie in mind . couple with our aim of progressing to the Group Stages of the Euro Competition , there was an expectation that we would need to strengthen before that one Unless of course Lennon has had them watched and thinks we can progress without any further additions
I would think the fact we are prepared to let Murray go has to indicate we are close to brining img in a Striker and Think Lennon behind the scenes will be pushing for a few deals to be completed if he thinks they are needed for Europe

16-07-2018, 03:43 PM
Yup.

Surely it would make sense for celtic to give us for example 300k more than the agreed price between the 2 teams for mcginn then we buy Allan for 300k. Kind of a loophole so we don't need to pay st mirren part of what Allan is worth

16-07-2018, 03:43 PM
Yup.

You're no a businessman. Celtic can give us a fiver for taking him off their hands and St Mirren can kiss oor erchies...... :greengrin

16-07-2018, 03:47 PM
Connor Sammon has gone to Motherwell on loan for the season.

Motherwell understand the importance of getting business done early. [emoji6]

16-07-2018, 03:51 PM
Surely it would make sense for celtic to give us for example 300k more than the agreed price between the 2 teams for mcginn then we buy Allan for 300k. Kind of a loophole so we don't need to pay st mirren part of what Allan is worth

Stitching St Mirren up isn't the way Hibs should operate and I'm sure they won't.

In any case, if Celtc gave us extra for McGinn, we'd have to pay 30% of it to St Mirren.

16-07-2018, 03:57 PM

Hopefully in used fivers so there's no trail

shetlandhibee
16-07-2018, 04:00 PM
Surely it would make sense for celtic to give us for example 300k more than the agreed price between the 2 teams for mcginn then we buy Allan for 300k. Kind of a loophole so we don't need to pay st mirren part of what Allan is worth:wink: aye saint mirren would agree to that......NOT lol

16-07-2018, 04:08 PM
Celtic and Aberdeen are very much like ourselves and been relatively ‘inactive’ on the face of things, but with lots going on in the background - including the McGinn transfer.

I’m happy that we’re looking at quality and that our targets have at least a pre-season under their belts with current clubs, or indeed training at the World Cup to keep them fit.

You’re right what you say about Celtic and Aberdeen in terms of incoming players. But they haven’t lost the same level of player as we have.

We’re weaker at this point in time and that’s maybe not the case for them though. I know Aberdeen have lost McLean but they seem to have replaced him with a decent level of player. Whereas we are down Allan, MacLaren, McGeough and Barker and have only replaced one of them.

I’ve been pretty impressed by what we have done, we’ve pushed the boat out in terms off fees etc. But I’d like to see something further happen this week ahead of the next round in Europe.

16-07-2018, 04:08 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;5466784]We have our Biggest Budget for Players and Back room staff That doesn't include anticipated money from Mcginn sale I assume .
So while I am sure that will assist us when he does go ,we can't of been relying on that
So with the Greek Tie in mind . couple with our aim of progressing to the Group Stages of the Euro Competition , there was an expectation that we would need to strengthen before that one Unless of course Lennon has had them watched and thinks we can progress without any further additions
I would think the fact we are prepared to let Murray go has to indicate we are close to brining img in a Striker and Think Lennon behind the scenes will be pushing for a few deals to be completed if he thinks they are needed for Europe

Given that we were to have our biggest budget for players excluding the McGinn money and given that it would be best for Hibs to complete a separate purchase for SA, what is stopping the club going ahead just now and completing that deal before before we meet the Greeks in the next round of European competition.

16-07-2018, 04:11 PM
I'm not the brightest guy, but I swear this thread has an average IQ of about 7.

16-07-2018, 04:16 PM
I'm not the brightest guy, but I swear this thread has an average IQ of about 7.
It's pretty boring now because nobody has any real info.

16-07-2018, 04:21 PM
[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;5466784]We have our Biggest Budget for Players and Back room staff That doesn't include anticipated money from Mcginn sale I assume .

Given that we were to have our biggest budget for players excluding the McGinn money and given that it would be best for Hibs to complete a separate purchase for SA, what is stopping the club going ahead just now and completing that deal before before we meet the Greeks in the next round of European competition.

I assume Celtic

16-07-2018, 04:31 PM

[QUOTE=1620;5466813]

I assume Celtic

How are Celtic stopping us? There’s nothing to stop us testing the water I would have thought.

16-07-2018, 04:35 PM
Signing players.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk:faf:

I remember post upon post, thread upon thread in 2016/17 where you said our signings were all rubbish and Lennon couldn't sign a player. Now you're wanting us to rush into signings without due diligence.

The club know what they're doing. We have signed so many quality players over the last 4 years. How many more before you trust them?

16-07-2018, 04:37 PM
You're no a businessman. Celtic can give us a fiver for taking him off their hands and St Mirren can kiss oor erchies...... :greengrin

That’s a damn fine point! Dunno why I said we’d give St Mirren a few quid if we signed Christie!

Maybe if it was Allan.....

16-07-2018, 04:44 PM
[QUOTE=1620;5466813]

[QUOTE=Ronniekirk;5466824]

How are Celtic stopping us? There’s nothing to stop us testing the water I would have thought.

I am assuming there must have been discussions at least by now It's an open secret we want him and Rodgers has said he will sit down with him and Christie this week to talk about there long term future as he can't guarantee them regular first team football Up till now Allan has been in Celtics Squad and on the Bench so perhaps they weren't prepared to let him go earlier and made that clear to Hibs when discussing McGinn
Anyway I think Allan knows Hibs are best Club for his Development so I could well be he is the next player we bring in
But most of us are guessing at the current situation
I think if Allan was available at right price and he was happy with Pay off from Celtic He would be here by now But that's just my opinion

16-07-2018, 04:50 PM

I remember post upon post, thread upon thread in 2016/17 where you said our signings were all rubbish and Lennon couldn't sign a player. Now you're wanting us to rush into signings without due diligence.

The club know what they're doing. We have signed so many quality players over the last 4 years. How many more before you trust them?

Again, nobody has ever said they want us to sign players without due diligence. We supposedly have our targets in place well before the season ends along with backup plans for the targets etc. Due diligence has already been done if thats the case. People want deals done for the guys we’ve identified. Nobody has said that we’ve just to start picking random guys from a list and bring them in.

16-07-2018, 05:45 PM
Again, nobody has ever said they want us to sign players without due diligence. We supposedly have our targets in place well before the season ends along with backup plans for the targets etc. Due diligence has already been done if thats the case. People want deals done for the guys we’ve identified. Nobody has said that we’ve just to start picking random guys from a list and bring them in.

What do you think hibs are doing wrong here?

16-07-2018, 06:10 PM

Signings weren’t great that year and were late for the Brondby game.
My gripe is lack of preparedness for Europe and that applies to all Scottish teams. We seem to think them just pre season warm up games. Considering the rewards available they are likely to be the most important of the season.
We’ll see what happens. A couple of arrivals in the next two weeks and we could be in a good place.

16-07-2018, 06:40 PM
What do you think hibs are doing wrong here?

I have no idea what Hibs are doing right or wrong, I'm not ITK.

One thing I will say though is that we always get told that players don't become available until late in the window which may be true in some cases but it certainly isn't always the case.

16-07-2018, 06:43 PM
Signings weren’t great that year and were late for the Brondby game.
My gripe is lack of preparedness for Europe and that applies to all Scottish teams. We seem to think them just pre season warm up games. Considering the rewards available they are likely to be the most important of the season.
We’ll see what happens. A couple of arrivals in the next two weeks and we could be in a good place.

That's exactly where my issue is here. If we weren't in Europe then fine, I wouldn't be nearly as bothered. But we play all season to get there and we're looking like we could go into what's going to be a very difficult tie with a squad that's quite a bit short. Far from ideal.

16-07-2018, 06:44 PM

One thing I will say though is that we always get told that players don't become available until late in the window which may be true in some cases but it certainly isn't always the case.

This is true.

So far, 3 of our targets were available early, the others aren't.

16-07-2018, 06:46 PM
Hibs can’t afford the players they’re targeting.

So negotiations drag on forever with clauses and sell on fees and loan requests and wage percentages etc.

These players aren’t desperate to sign for us.

So we get treated to the sound of silence indefinitely.

How difficult is that to understand?

JimboHibs
16-07-2018, 06:48 PM

So negotiations drag on forever with clauses and sell on fees and loan requests and wage percentages etc.

That's too much sense for this thread.

16-07-2018, 06:50 PM

There could be many reasons why things take time. Could be to do with negotiating a final pay off from current club, agents commission, clubs happy to let a player go but want to wait until they get a replacement in.

I'm guessing that Maclaren, for example, and his agent will be well aware of what Hibs are offering, but they need to negotiate with Darmstadt to get them to agree to let him move on. Meanwhile, all we can do is wait until that negotiation reaches a conclusion.

16-07-2018, 06:50 PM

Aim for players we can't afford, wait till they become attainable (which there's no guarantee they will) and then see what's left if they don't become attainable. Also presumably gambling our European chances and our league start by waiting on these guys and starting the season short. Seems a risky signing policy for guys who aren't that bothered to come here in the first place.

16-07-2018, 06:52 PM

So do you think we should be doing more, if so what?

16-07-2018, 06:54 PM
Aim for players we can't afford, wait till they become attainable (which there's no guarantee they will) and then see what's left if they don't become attainable. Also presumably gambling our European chances and our league start by waiting on these guys and starting the season short. Seems a risky signing policy for guys who aren't that bothered to come here in the first place.

Jesus wept...

European chances?

So do you think we should be doing more, if so what?

Like I said, I don't know what's going on at Hibs, so how would I know if we should be doing more?

That's exactly where my issue is here. If we weren't in Europe then fine, I wouldn't be nearly as bothered. But we play all season to get there and we're looking like we could go into what's going to be a very difficult tie with a squad that's quite a bit short. Far from ideal.

Except we will most likely sign players in the next 10 days and then we won’t be a bit short at all.

Yes, ideally etc, etc.... ad infinitum.

Personally I think we will sign a fantastic array of talent this window. We already have an international class goalkeeper with a very good pedigree, one of the best young strikers I’ve seen in decades of watching Hibs and one of the brightest midfield prospects in the Scottish game. A couple more of that calibre and we will be on course for a great season.

I understand people feeling impatient, what I don’t get is the posters on here who repeatedly posting the same stuff on a daily basis, often accompanied by factual inaccuracy ( not referring to you Calum on the specific point of those who waffle, but don’t care enough to get basic information correct). Don’5 they tire of writing the same old?

16-07-2018, 06:55 PM
Jesus wept...

European chances?

As in progressing in Europe. Was it difficult to understand for you?

JimboHibs
16-07-2018, 06:56 PM
Except we will most likely sign players in the next 10 days and then we won’t be a bit short at all.

Personally I think we will sign a fantastic array of talent this window. We already have an international class goalkeeper with a very good pedigree, one of the best young strikers I’ve seen in decades of watching Hibs and one of the brightest midfield prospects in the Scottish game. A couple more of that calibre and we will be on course for a great season.

I understand people feeling impatient, what I don’t get is the posters on here who repeatedly posting the same stuff on a daily basis, often accompanied by factual inaccuracy ( not referring to you Calum on the specific point of those who waffle, but don’t care enough to get basic information correct). Don’5 they tire of writing the same old?

I'm tired of reading the same old.

16-07-2018, 06:56 PM

Fingers crossed.

16-07-2018, 06:57 PM
Like I said, I don't know what's going on at Hibs, so how would I know if we should be doing more?

Ah right, so you have no idea whats going on in the background?

16-07-2018, 06:58 PM
Ah right, so you have no idea whats going on in the background?

Nope, like pretty much everybody else on here.