View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread
20-07-2018, 07:16 PM
On four appearances?
Played at ER the day we “murdered” then 2-0. Thought he was really poor
Did he pick up an injury, as he only played 4 times for Dons
JimboHibs
Mate I am not in the habit of posting any rumours let alone fake ones, this information was given to me today, due to my 100% faith in the origin of the info I have absolutely no reason to doubt it, hence I decided to post it. I have no interest in posting bull****, and doubted whether I should disclose this for that reason alone of being accused. It is 100% posted in good faith by myself, if I am wrong then so is my contact which I very much doubt.
If it's 100% no problems in naming the player then 😎
Looking at players that follow a similar path to Barker I think it could be Thierry Ambrose.
Forward on loan at NAC Breda last season. Checked and he isn’t away on tour with Man City just now either.
Is from your PM Bingo😄
Lmc2105
Looking at players that follow a similar path to Barker I think it could be Thierry Ambrose.
Forward on loan at NAC Breda last season. Checked and he isn’t away on tour with Man City just now either.
Quite highly rated, City seem to send a few youngsters to the Dutch league and has bags of pace so could be right Bingo 👍🏻
hibee1875
20-07-2018, 07:17 PM
Mate I am not in the habit of posting any rumours let alone fake ones, this information was given to me today, due to my 100% faith in the origin of the info I have absolutely no reason to doubt it, hence I decided to post it. I have no interest in posting bull****, and doubted whether I should disclose this for that reason alone of being accused. It is 100% posted in good faith by myself, if I am wrong then so is my contact which I very much doubt.
Can you not tell us who then?
What’s the point of saying someone from Man City will sign today and then not say who?
Surely there isn’t that big a buzz off patting yourself on the back n saying “told ye!” when it happens?
20-07-2018, 07:18 PM
Quite highly rated, City seem to send a few youngsters to the Dutch league and has bags of pace so could be right Bingo 👍🏻
Collins Tanor or Thomas Agyepong would be my other guesses.
20-07-2018, 07:19 PM
Where have you watched him, I have Liverpool TV and watch a lot of games even different ages but don't recall him? Just checked and as far as can see he hasn't kicked a ball for Liverpool since the academy in 2014/15
Seen him play a few youth matches and caught a couple of Freiburg games when he was there. And 1 or 2 Bristol City matches where he looked good.
20-07-2018, 07:20 PM
What’s the point of saying someone from Man City will sign today and then not say who?
Surely there isn’t that big a buzz off patting yourself on the back n saying “told ye!” when it happens?
Tbf the PM I got from Scouse was just reiterating that he didn’t know who the player was.
hibee1875
20-07-2018, 07:23 PM
Tbf the PM I got from Scouse was just reiterating that he didn’t know who the player was.
What’s the point then?
I 100% know we have a player coming in before next Sunday.... 🌚
20-07-2018, 07:25 PM
What’s the point then?
I 100% know we have a player coming in before next Sunday.... 🌚
Getting to know a Man City player is up signing for hibs today is a decent scoop to be shared, don’t see the problem?
hibee1875
20-07-2018, 07:27 PM
Getting to know a Man City player is up signing for hibs today is a decent scoop to be shared, don’t see the problem?
I just don’t see what info is being shared. We’ve 100% signed a player but I can’t tell you who. Pointless.
20-07-2018, 07:27 PM
What’s the point then?
I 100% know we have a player coming in before next Sunday....
exactly, waste of a PM :greengrin copy and paste a post on the MB and PM it...bizarre, bet a name was mentioned/guessed :agree:
the suspenders are killing me...oops i mean suspense
20-07-2018, 07:28 PM
:confused: I have already said I don't know the name of the player, as for your patting yourself on the back bollox, get a grip man that's not my style. :aok:
20-07-2018, 07:31 PM
Happy enough with the info given whether it comes off or not. Don’t see why your so wound up by it. Plenty of crap to be moaning about on this board rather than a dude passing on a snippet in good faith.
If he had just said someone is certainly signing by next Sunday then I’d taken it as look at me but he has the team we are getting the player from....hopefully 😎
20-07-2018, 07:31 PM
:confused: I have already said I don't know the name of the player, as for your patting yourself on the back bollox, get a grip man that's not my style. :aok:
SH, maybe one of the reasons why it’s sometimes not worth putting info on here
I’ve long given up, not worth the hassle
Good on you though
20-07-2018, 07:33 PM
Seen him play a few youth matches and caught a couple of Freiburg games when he was there. And 1 or 2 Bristol City matches where he looked good.
:greengrin Yet your first post referred to you being a Liverpool supporter which implied you had seen him play for Liverpool. I think your info is as reliable as your other venture :wink:
20-07-2018, 07:34 PM
I just don’t see what info is being shared. We’ve 100% signed a player but I can’t tell you who. Pointless.
If we have signed a player, the club would have announced him by now. SH only said that he has been informed by a good reliable source that we are going to be signing a Man City player on loan. He wasn’t told who that player was. What part of that can you not understand?
20-07-2018, 07:34 PM
Good on you though
You are probably right :agree:
20-07-2018, 07:35 PM
Welcome to my world mate. 😂
For what it’s worth cheers for posting the info you get I appreciate it 👍🏼
20-07-2018, 07:37 PM
:greengrin Yet your first post referred to you being a Liverpool supporter which implied you had seen him play for Liverpool. I think your info is as reliable as your other venture :wink:
🤣🤣🤣🤣[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
20-07-2018, 07:48 PM
I’ll take a pm :hyper
20-07-2018, 07:49 PM
This place is mental.
20-07-2018, 07:49 PM
About as reliable as yours then. When’s this “Man City” player signing??
20-07-2018, 07:52 PM
Why is Man City in commas?
Man City definitely exist.....I’m bloody sure of it!
20-07-2018, 07:53 PM
Wait and see pal, it's an original rumour though, not a copied one :wink:
woodythehibee
20-07-2018, 07:55 PM
Wait and see pal, it's an original rumour though, not a copied one :wink:Can't believe it's not been posted on @HFCTransferNews yet. Cannae be long now...[emoji6]
Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
20-07-2018, 07:56 PM
Looks like it’s Brandon Barker 😊
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/hibs-land-manchester-city-winger-11006088.amp
20-07-2018, 07:57 PM
Can't believe it's not been posted on @HFCTransferNews yet. Cannae be long now...[emoji6]
Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
20-07-2018, 07:57 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/hibs-land-manchester-city-winger-11006088.amp
You are a dreadful person!
20-07-2018, 07:59 PM
You know that’s from Aug 17th 2017, right?
20-07-2018, 07:59 PM
You are a dreadful person!
😜
Oh well... let’s just be patient and wait for the unveil
20-07-2018, 08:01 PM
In a transfer thread that has about a million non transfer related posts, we finally get something about a bloody transfer and folk want to moan about it.
I’d quite like to know who the rumoured signing is, but it’s no that bloody difficult to understand that the poster has been told it’s a Man City player and that’s it!
Anyway, gonna tell us who the f*** it is eh?
20-07-2018, 08:05 PM
Good on you though
absolutely
have friend who is full time with the development side staff and I was asking him on Tuesdayabout possible signings
His reply
"At East Mains we are led to believe that Hibs are signing everyone from Messie to the left back of Auchenshoogle Rovers . Every day has new stories ! "
Says it all
20-07-2018, 08:09 PM
Looking at the names mentioned earlier, I assume Barker is out of the question.
20-07-2018, 08:11 PM
You know that’s from Aug 17th 2017, right?
Really 🤣🤣🤣🤣 whoosh
20-07-2018, 08:18 PM
Really 🤣🤣🤣🤣 whoosh
It’s not a whoosh, really. I just know there’s a lot of people on here who would probably post that link unironically, thinking it’s real.
20-07-2018, 08:18 PM
Aberdeen out: 12
Aberdeen in: 4
Celtic out: 10
Celtic in: 2
Dundee out: 18
Dundee in: 6
Hamilton out: 11
Hamilton in: 9
Hearts out: 11
Hearts in: 13 :greengrin
Hibs out: 8
Hibs in: 3
Killie out: 11
Killie in: 3
Couldn't be arsed counting the rest, but just for some comparison...
BH Hibs
20-07-2018, 08:23 PM
What’s Patrick Roberts doing nowadays?
20-07-2018, 08:24 PM
Aberdeen out: 12
Aberdeen in: 4
Celtic out: 10
Celtic in: 2
Dundee out: 18
Dundee in: 6
Hamilton out: 11
Hamilton in: 9
Hearts out: 11
Hearts in: 13 :greengrin
Hibs out: 8
Hibs in: 3
Killie out: 11
Killie in: 3
Couldn't be arsed counting the rest, but just for some comparison...
Interesting stuff
20-07-2018, 08:24 PM
What’s Patrick Roberts doing nowadays?
Lol
20-07-2018, 08:25 PM
We'll find out eventually. Really we will.
Relax.
20-07-2018, 08:29 PM
Interesting stuff
20-07-2018, 08:34 PM
It’s all about quantity over quality. Any football person knows that
However some more quality would be nice
20-07-2018, 08:42 PM
Welcome to my world mate. 😂
For what it’s worth cheers for posting the info you get I appreciate it 👍🏼
I’m just waiting on you regurgitating this one as your own in a day or 2.
20-07-2018, 08:47 PM
Yaaass she’s back. How’s your Friday going?
20-07-2018, 08:48 PM
We'll find out eventually. Really we will.
Relax.
Don’t know if Agent Hibs on Twitter is any good/reliable but he just tweeted this
Winger from Man City will be announced soon, very close. Not Brandon Barker. Also very very fast!
20-07-2018, 08:49 PM
Don’t know if Agent Hibs on Twitter is any good/reliable but he just tweeted this
Winger from Man City will be announced soon, very close. Not Brandon Barker. Also very very fast!
It’s probably Scouse Hibby 😜
20-07-2018, 08:49 PM
Probably read SH's post on here
20-07-2018, 08:52 PM
Tbf Scouse didn’t know if it was a winger or not.....or if he did he certainly never posted it on here.
I wonder where he lifted that from, though I never knew it was a winger :greengrin
ivan03
He’s also said that Barker will be singing for Hull, don’t think that’s been mentioned on here. So we will see
20-07-2018, 08:55 PM
He’s also said that Barker will be singing for Hull, don’t think that’s been mentioned on here. So we will see
..... he can still come and play for us once he’s finished his concert.:greengrin
20-07-2018, 08:58 PM
Whats his handle? One i found tweets are ages ago
20-07-2018, 09:03 PM
Whoever it is, I’m sure we got a high recommendation from Barker.
20-07-2018, 09:14 PM
Heard he's got a tattoo of an ak47 on his leg
20-07-2018, 09:18 PM
Been told its thomas agyepong.
20-07-2018, 09:22 PM
Brighton signed a striker south African going to loan him out wonder if we in for him
alihibs1
20-07-2018, 09:26 PM
Just watched a wee highlight reel. Looks very similar to Barker.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
mayo hibee
20-07-2018, 09:27 PM
Would make sense - a fast and tricky winger who doesn't score many goals. So Brandon Barker 2.0 (with an international cap).
20-07-2018, 09:29 PM
https://youtu.be/YQ0Suhcmu7M
Doenst look “very very fast” [emoji23]
20-07-2018, 09:29 PM
City seem to have a bit of policy of loaning their young and up and coming to Dutch and Scottish Clubs.
With the relative success for all parties of Brandon Barker here last season its a relationship we could do well out of. That Sterling lad needs to toughen and find his shooting boots :wink:
20-07-2018, 09:42 PM
Just watched a wee highlight reel. Looks very similar to Barker.
If it’s the same as I looked at, he looked sharp and skillful. One wee criticism ......... he took a dive that would put Neymar to shame. :greengrin
supermcginn
20-07-2018, 09:43 PM
Hope so. Seem him play once in holland he was outstanding.
20-07-2018, 09:44 PM
Doesn’t even look that great in all honesty. These highlight videos are meant to make them look really good he looks pretty average. Not saying he won’t be a good signing but I’m not exactly excited if it is him.
20-07-2018, 09:45 PM
That’s more reassuring, someone who’s actually seen him rather than what’s on YouTube.
20-07-2018, 09:45 PM
He went through fitness tests today so def him. Not sure what to make of his "highlights" but if he plays as well as brandon then he will have done well.
20-07-2018, 09:48 PM
That’s more reassuring, someone who’s actually seen him rather than what’s on YouTube.
Are you sure you’re watching the right video? He looked class in that clip.....although the ones at the start weren’t great.
If you’re looking for a shanner of a you tube promotional video it is worth watching Kamberi’s before he signed for us, I thought he looked absolutely dreadful. Can only assume Petrie had a hand in the final edit.
20-07-2018, 09:48 PM
Doesn’t even look that great in all honesty. These highlight videos are meant to make them look really good he looks pretty average. Not saying he won’t be a good signing but I’m not exactly excited if it is him.
Really he looks a class above players like simon Murray .
Time people gave Simon a break.
20-07-2018, 09:54 PM
Time people gave Simon a break.
We have
20-07-2018, 09:55 PM
I wonder when this guy does/doesn’t sign whether we should be glad/annoyed because he’s brilliant/useless.
20-07-2018, 09:57 PM
Boooo.
His goal at 3.10 aint bad to be fair [emoji1303]
20-07-2018, 10:04 PM
Are you sure you’re watching the right video? He looked class in that clip.....although the ones at the start weren’t great.
If you’re looking for a shanner of a you tube promotional video it is worth watching Kamberi’s before he signed for us, I thought he looked absolutely dreadful. Can only assume Petrie had a hand in the final edit.
Speaking of promo videos, remember Abdellah Zoubir? He’s just signed for Qarabag and his highlight video is brilliant - https://youtu.be/hFE8n1_56jw
alihibs1
20-07-2018, 10:10 PM
Speaking of promo videos, remember Abdellah Zoubir? He’s just signed for Qarabag and his highlight video is brilliant - https://youtu.be/hFE8n1_56jwLooks a cracking player now tbh
20-07-2018, 10:25 PM
Speaking of promo videos, remember Abdellah Zoubir? He’s just signed for Qarabag and his highlight video is brilliant - https://youtu.be/hFE8n1_56jw
Thought he got a hard time with us and had potential. Looks to have filled out a bit.
20-07-2018, 10:27 PM
Yeah defo same video. He’s not that great and I rate it along with Kamberi. So hopefully we get the same outcome 😁
20-07-2018, 10:32 PM
No comment.
20-07-2018, 10:46 PM
You'll look stupid dressed up like a tiger every weekend Brandon.
You know where the main action is, ***** pay, but great party.
20-07-2018, 10:56 PM
Thought he got a hard time with us and had potential. Looks to have filled out a bit.
Yeah I really liked him. If I remember correctly he had been playing Futsal not long before he came to us. Had plenty skill was just lacking the physical side at that time.
BegbieHSC
20-07-2018, 11:20 PM
Apparently Aberdeen are chasing Moult according to the Sun. Would have liked to have seen our name in the running for him too...
20-07-2018, 11:23 PM
Apparently Aberdeen are chasing Moult according to the Sun. Would have liked to have seen our name in the running for him too...
Maybe we are 👀
BegbieHSC
20-07-2018, 11:24 PM
Maybe we are 👀
Mate...you’re awesome!
20-07-2018, 11:32 PM
Mibbies aye ? or mibbies no?
20-07-2018, 11:51 PM
See when you watch all these player “highlight” reels it really shows how good a player Boyle is for us. If I had the time or inclination you could cut together a very impressive reel for him.
Souter96Mac
21-07-2018, 12:12 AM
Maybe we are 👀
Think I'd wet myself if we signed him, Kamberi and Mallan in a single window
BegbieHSC
21-07-2018, 12:24 AM
Think I'd wet myself if we signed him, Kamberi and Mallan in a single window
Add Allan to that and I don’t even know what I’ll do.
Austinho
21-07-2018, 12:59 AM
Looks like he’d cause SPFL defenders a few problems - standard is higher in the Eredivisie, so could potentially be a decent signing.
21-07-2018, 01:18 AM
Strange one but I just noticed that Simon Murray had changed his Instagram name to Footballer at Hibernian F.C. bit weird considering he is meant to have signed for another club. It’s not even his bio it’s his display name
Souter96Mac
21-07-2018, 05:34 AM
Not sure if this has been mentioned as well, but Ive seen on twitter we are linked with a full back, Alexander Mcqueen. Tbh i think the source is from the daily record, and it says there's several other clubs interested in him as well.
21-07-2018, 05:35 AM
Not sure if this has been mentioned as well, but Ive seen on twitter we are linked with a full back, Alexander Mcqueen. Tbh i think the source is from the daily record, and it says there's several other clubs interested in him as well.
Pretty sure he’s dead
21-07-2018, 05:35 AM
He can take a good dive too by the looks of one of the clips :greengrin
He's a model professional.
21-07-2018, 06:14 AM
He's a model professional.
21-07-2018, 07:06 AM
Looks good to me.
21-07-2018, 07:11 AM
Any reason why he hardly played for them last season?
Recalled to City/injured
K-Zazu
21-07-2018, 07:30 AM
Aberdeen would pay Moult more money
Stokesy's on fire
21-07-2018, 07:37 AM
Aberdeen would pay Moult more money
Aberdeen are about to build a new ground and the budget will start to dry up. They will struggle this season. They just took dominic ball back a player their fans really didnt rate and their original target was Dylan. They lost Rooney to Salford city his wages increased to 4k per week. Aberdeen arent paying as much as some would suggest.
TheGreenMan
21-07-2018, 07:41 AM
Has Moult been playing since he left Motherwell?
Would be a great signing
mayo hibee
21-07-2018, 07:53 AM
Looks like he’d cause SPFL defenders a few problems - standard is higher in the Eredivisie, so could potentially be a decent signing.
Most of his appearances have been in the Eerste Divisie (second division), reserve and under 21 leagues though, he got a lot less game time for NAC last year after they were promoted.
21-07-2018, 08:13 AM
I knew about this a few days ago, but I forgot to post about it.
Souter96Mac
21-07-2018, 08:19 AM
So by the sounds of it, with this weekend being the official deadline we can register for the Greek tie, potentially a signing or two today? I suppose we then have the 2 "wildcard" players we can register the night before Thursday.
21-07-2018, 08:23 AM
So by the sounds of it, with this weekend being the official deadline we can register for the Greek tie, potentially a signing or two today? I suppose we then have the 2 "wildcard" players we can register the night before Thursday.
The deadline was last night was it not?
21-07-2018, 08:24 AM
He's only 5'6. I have children that are taller than that. Not impressed.
Dempster? :grr:
21-07-2018, 08:44 AM
The deadline is Monday.
21-07-2018, 08:58 AM
He's only 5'6. I have children that are taller than that. Not impressed.
Dempster? :grr:
Still bigger than Messi and Maradona.
21-07-2018, 08:59 AM
The deadline is Monday.
Good. I thought it was last night as well. Hopefully we get a few signings made and registered for this Thursday.
21-07-2018, 09:07 AM
Still bigger than Messi and Maradona.
messi is 5'7"
mcfly
21-07-2018, 09:14 AM
Just reading these pages.
Could we be in for Louis moult. Please be true
21-07-2018, 09:22 AM
Just reading these pages.
Could we be in for Louis moult. Please be true
If we are in for Moult as The Cat gave a small suggestion that we possibly are, does that potentially mean Jamie Maclaren might potentially not be happening now?
Moult is a great player but would he say he is similar to Flo?
ADF and Mclaren to me are penalty box strikers.
K-Zazu
21-07-2018, 09:32 AM
Moult is a great player but would he say he is similar to Flo?
ADF and Mclaren to me are penalty box strikers.
What if Flo gets injured?
Ted?
Sioux
21-07-2018, 09:41 AM
What if Flo gets injured?
We wouldn't be signing Moult to sit on the bench. Flo getting injured will not be in the equation.
mcfly
21-07-2018, 09:45 AM
I think we need more than 1 striker - we only have 2 at the moment
Reminds me of Tony Rougier. Lots of tricky stuff which Hibs fans love to watch but very few of the moves actually coming to anything.
21-07-2018, 09:50 AM
messi is 5'7"
Only when wearing his sisters' stack heeled 'court' shoes. Our new diminutive winger always gets measured while wearing pumps.
21-07-2018, 10:02 AM
messi is 5'7"
Forgot that Barcelona had stretched him.
21-07-2018, 10:06 AM
Reminds me of Tony Rougier. Lots of tricky stuff which Hibs fans love to watch but very few of the moves actually coming to anything.
Tony Rougier. Now there's a blast from the past. A world beater one minute, then looked like he'd never seen a football before the next. Fond memories.
21-07-2018, 10:18 AM
Moult and McLaren would be a sign of serious intent. Come on Hibs get it done.
21-07-2018, 10:24 AM
Moult and McLaren would be a sign of serious intent. Come on Hibs get it done.
You're in dreamland if you think we'd get both. Can't surely think we'd be capable of bringing both of them in?
portyfelly
21-07-2018, 10:26 AM
A wee bit Kevin Harper
21-07-2018, 10:29 AM
Most of the ones I seen drew fouls. He's basically Boyle with tricks.
Still not sure it'll be him though. Purely as I think it's more likely to be a British player. If indeed it's not pish.
21-07-2018, 10:31 AM
I think it’s a case of Lennon has a list of strikers and he is trying to get one maybe two now in but it’s taken a while as this is the quality he’s going for. Whether or not he gets his first choice is another matter as Jamie is still his No.1 target btw. But having Moult in there isn’t a bad replacement. Hooper is also one Lennon put to the board. He’s certainly aiming for high standards and shows where he wants to take us.
mayo hibee
21-07-2018, 10:35 AM
You're in dreamland if you think we'd get both. Can't surely think we'd be capable of bringing both of them in?
While it seems unlikely it's not beyond possibility if and when McGinn is sold. Four forwards/strikers are needed in total, so two more required with Murray gone. There's little point wasting a squad space on someone like Big Dave so we should be aiming for two more quality strikers before the window closes, ideally with one in before the next European game.
Souter96Mac
21-07-2018, 10:38 AM
I think it’s a case of Lennon has a list of strikers and he is trying to get one maybe two now in but it’s taken a while as this is the quality he’s going for. Whether or not he gets his first choice is another matter as Jamie is still his No.1 target btw. But having Moult in there isn’t a bad replacement. Hooper is also one Lennon put to the board. He’s certainly aiming for high standards and shows where he wants to take us.
Any of these three you've mentioned, even if we got one of them in, I'd be delighted. If I was greedy, I would love Moult and Maclaren. We'd be frightening.
21-07-2018, 10:40 AM
Any of these three you've mentioned, even if we got one of them in, I'd be delighted. If I was greedy, I would love Moult and Maclaren. We'd be frightening.
Same I’d be delighted with any of them.
21-07-2018, 10:40 AM
Same I’d be delighted with any of them.
What about ALF?
21-07-2018, 10:43 AM
Heard from someone whose spoken to ALFs side that they’re very interested in a move to Hibs. Not sure if its the same level of interest on Hibs side or not or if it’s affordable but it’s definitely seems their is truth to the reports.
mayo hibee
21-07-2018, 10:47 AM
Have to say ALF would be lower down my list than a lot of the other names mentioned. If he's willing to take a big pay cut he might be worth a shot but someone like Hooper, Moult or Maclaren, even if only on loan, would be better.
21-07-2018, 10:53 AM
We aren’t in for Moult.
21-07-2018, 11:11 AM
What about ALF?
Great show, loved watching that crazy alien on a sat afternoon 😉
Nah joking aside not heard anything other than what’s been posted on here bud.
21-07-2018, 11:13 AM
We aren’t in for Moult.
He’s a player Lennon is keeping an eye on trust me. Technically no offer has been made but no offer has been made for Maclaren but we still want him.
21-07-2018, 11:14 AM
Have to say ALF would be lower down my list than a lot of the other names mentioned. If he's willing to take a big pay cut he might be worth a shot but someone like Hooper, Moult or Maclaren, even if only on loan, would be better.
A couple of seasons ago, I’d have been very excited about the prospect of signing Adam Le Fondre but now he’d be my 4th choice out of the strikers you have mentioned above.
1 - Jamie Maclaren
2 - Louis Moult
3 - Gary Hooper
4 - Adam Le Fondre
davemcbain
21-07-2018, 11:25 AM
Dumb question for anyone in the know: How much are any signings dependent on selling McGinn?
If Hibs get say £3m for him, then some decent players could be bought in, who might be unaffordable if he isn't sold. There might be some plan B players who would come in if he isn't, but why take on an extra wage now for someone who is not as good as someone you really want to spend the McGinn cash on?
Could there be 2 lists of players who are lined up for signature either right at the end of the window (the not so good, but cheap ones), or the day McGinn goes (the decent ones)?
21-07-2018, 11:28 AM
A couple of seasons ago, I’d have been very excited about the prospect of signing Adam Le Fondre but now he’d be my 4th choice out of the strikers you have mentioned above.
1 - Jamie Maclaren
2 - Louis Moult
3 - Gary Hooper
4 - Adam Le Fondre
Moult and Hooper ahead of MacLaren for me
21-07-2018, 11:30 AM
Dumb question for anyone in the know: How much are any signings dependent on selling McGinn?
If Hibs get say £3m for him, then some decent players could be bought in, who might be unaffordable if he isn't sold. There might be some plan B players who would come in if he isn't, but why take on an extra wage now for someone who is not as good as someone you really want to spend the McGinn cash on?
Could there be 2 lists of players who are lined up for signature either right at the end of the window (the not so good, but cheap ones), or the day McGinn goes (the decent ones)?
Not a dumb question, I'd wager that you are spot on.
We can do one of three things...
1) Do a Hearts and sign up anybody and everybody as soon as possible because they're free and nobody else wants them. Caveat this with the fact they are sh**e, hence why they're readily available and grabbing the pen out your hand.
2) Go for decent players who are affordable, can do a job, play for clubs that are accomodating and happy to offload without much fuss.
3) Go for players that are probably and certainly potentially a level or two above us and haggle with clubs who are slightly reluctant to offload as well as barter with these players and persuade them to take a pay cut for long term gain.
I think and I'm sure that we have taken option 3. Kamberi and Mallan lend credence to that.
scotiaf
21-07-2018, 11:41 AM
Not a dumb question, I'd wager that you are spot on.
We can do one of three things...
1) Do a Hearts and sign up anybody and everybody as soon as possible because they're free and nobody else wants them. Caveat this with the fact they are sh**e, hence why they're readily available and grabbing the pen out your hand.
2) Go for decent players who are affordable, can do a job, play for clubs that are accomodating and happy to offload without much fuss.
3) Go for players that are probably and certainly potentially a level or two above us and haggle with clubs who are slightly reluctant to offload as well as barter with these players and persuade them to take a pay cut for long term gain.
I think and I'm sure that we have taken option 3. Kamberi and Mallan lend credence to that.
I think we always try option 3 and normally have failed and signed a lot of dross as panic near the end
K-Zazu
21-07-2018, 11:42 AM
Hibs aren’t signing Moult or Hooper. We can’t afford that type of player and we won’t break our wage structure for one player
Gordy M
21-07-2018, 11:50 AM
Hibs aren’t signing Moult or Hooper. We can’t afford that type of player and we won’t break our wage structure for one player
Do you think they are on more than Naismith was on at Norwich?
Anthony Stokes???????????????
21-07-2018, 11:51 AM
Is this your opinion or something you have been told. I tend to agree with you if it is just your opinion but wondered if you may have insider info
jonny
I agree that we won't break the wage structure but how do you know what that is? Someone like Hooper who has already made a small fortune from the game might be happy enough getting regular football at a decent wage.
Also other incentives could be added in such as higher signing on fee's etc. I don't think it's beyond us.
LD said we have the biggest budget in our history this year.
I bet you told your kids before they'd even left the maternity ward that Santa wasn't real.
21-07-2018, 11:52 AM
Do you think they are on more than Naismith was on at Norwich?
They won’t be, but don’t think we’re willing to pay up to £10k per week, that Hearts allegedly did for Naismith, although it was only from jan to May
21-07-2018, 11:54 AM
Is this your opinion or something you have been told.
Daily Record is saying Aberdeen are after Moult , they will no doubt offer him more than we can if it comes to it
Gordy M
21-07-2018, 11:55 AM
They won’t be, but don’t think we’re willing to pay up to £10k per week, that Hearts allegedly did for Naismith, although it was only from jan to May
Yeh, my point was kinda that maybe we would get them on loan paying a percentage. Hearts i cant imsgine are paying Naismith 10k a week for the next year......though you never know with that mob!
21-07-2018, 11:59 AM
Daily Record is saying Aberdeen are after Moult , they will no doubt offer him more than we can if it comes to it
Probably, but we can offer a fantastic city, better stadium, training facilities, better fans, no sheep and possibly a better song about him :greengrin
21-07-2018, 12:03 PM
Probably, but we can offer a fantastic city, better stadium, training facilities, better fans, no sheep and possibly a better song about him :greengrin
True he'd also get big Flo 2 Hat Tricks for a strike partner instead of Stevie 5 goals May
Would imagine Lennon holds bigger sway than McInnes too.
See we're allegedly tracking Alexander McQueen. Bro had him in our FM game in league 2 England. Left wing back.
21-07-2018, 12:10 PM
Then how did we afford Stevie Mallan?
21-07-2018, 12:12 PM
Then how did we afford Stevie Mallan?
Because he was cheaper?
Hooper will be on at least 30k a week. Moult reportedly on 10k a week. Don’t think Mallan would have been on anything like that at Barnsley when he was signed from the Scottish Championship.
21-07-2018, 12:20 PM
Anthony Stokes???????????????
Good shout. Wage structure was defo broken for him.
21-07-2018, 12:20 PM
Moult and Hooper ahead of MacLaren for me
Not for me but it's encouraging that these are the calibre of players we're after, all would be quality signings.
21-07-2018, 12:36 PM
I can't find anything anywhere connecting us with Moult.
21-07-2018, 12:42 PM
Alex Neil gave Moult the No.9 jersey at Preston for this season and appeared to be willing to give him a proper shot at the championship. Would be surprised to see him sign for Aberdeen.
SideBurns
21-07-2018, 12:44 PM
Has the plan to sign Horgan been kicked intae touch? No seen him mentioned furra while.
BegbieHSC
21-07-2018, 12:44 PM
#AnnounceSomeone
21-07-2018, 12:47 PM
#AnnounceSomeone
Would be an upgrade on lennon but think he's content in Madrid tbf
21-07-2018, 12:53 PM
Has the plan to sign Horgan been kicked intae touch? No seen him mentioned furra while.
Yep. Was all but done but a better option came up for us. Would be very surprised if it's followed up now.
mayo hibee
21-07-2018, 01:06 PM
better option
Interesting. Don't think the suggested Man City winger would be a better option so are we in for two wide players then?
SideBurns
21-07-2018, 01:08 PM
Interesting. Don't think the suggested Man City winger would be a better option so are we in for two wide players then?
Just what I was thinking - is the young City player regarded as a better option than Horgan or is there another iron in the fire?
21-07-2018, 01:11 PM
We are finding out the same thing as we find out every window.
Being Hibs fans who would give an arm to play for the club, we think Hibs is an attractive option.
Footballers above our level who like to be paid money for a living, don’t see Hibs as an attractive option.
This is why few of any of the names mentioned will sign for the club.
As the Motherwell manager said, half the teams in the national league can now pay more than the SPL.
Hibs will sign mostly loan players from here.
We are finding out the same thing as we find out every window.
Being Hibs fans who would give an arm to play for the club, we think Hibs is an attractive option.
Footballers above our level who like to be paid money for a living, don’t see Hibs as an attractive option.
This is why few of any of the names mentioned will sign for the club.
As the Motherwell manager said, half the teams in the national league can now pay more than the SPL.
Hibs will sign mostly loan players from here.
True unfortunately, the days of a degree of equality between Scottish & English leaques long gone.
21-07-2018, 02:09 PM
We just signed Kamberi and Mallan on long term deals and Bogdan on a loan.
Nothing at all to suggest it will only be loans from now on.
21-07-2018, 02:25 PM
We just signed Kamberi and Mallan on long term deals and Bogdan on a loan.
Nothing at all to suggest it will only be loans from now on.
That’s good because no one said it would only be loans.
mcfly
21-07-2018, 02:29 PM
Anyone think we will sign players before Thursday??
21-07-2018, 02:34 PM
Yes. I do.
21-07-2018, 04:06 PM
Seriously hope so.
mayo hibee
21-07-2018, 04:27 PM
A bit more on the possible Agyepong signing.
https://www.mcfcwatch.com/2018/07/21/exclusive-hibernian-in-talks-with-manchester-city-over-deal-for-ghana-winger-thomas-agyepong/
tamsonsbairn
21-07-2018, 04:36 PM
That looks like a deal that may happen, we should be in City's good books after having barker on loan last season, he done ok with us but it looks likely he will go on loan to Hull City. :nlgwa :thumbsup: Sorry that should readAgyepong.
21-07-2018, 04:50 PM
Agyepong is exactly the type of player we should be going for
Him, 2 strikers, and Allan and I’d be happy enough
21-07-2018, 04:52 PM
A bit more on the possible Agyepong signing.
https://www.mcfcwatch.com/2018/07/21/exclusive-hibernian-in-talks-with-manchester-city-over-deal-for-ghana-winger-thomas-agyepong/
Never seen him play. If he’s anything as good as Barker & Boyle, I’d be very happy
Dazzjw1875
21-07-2018, 05:21 PM
Doesn't say it's a defo loan? Could be a permanent deal.
21-07-2018, 05:21 PM
https://www.vi.nl/video/agyepong-winnaar-doelpunt-van-de-week-met-beauty
21-07-2018, 05:23 PM
Sorry who’s saying?
21-07-2018, 05:26 PM
Hibs are now in advanced talks to sign Agyepong, most likely on a loan deal although the full details are not yet known.
Article states it is most likely a loan but as you said, let’s wait and see
Soundd promising and clips of him show him as very very fast, tricky, takes players on and plays on the left mostly.
Agyepong is exactly the type of player we should be going for
Him, 2 strikers, and Allan and I’d be happy enough
Him
1 main starting striker (McLaren, ADF)
1 loan striker or go with Shaw as 3rd striker and use Boyle is we need to
Allan
And
We need someone to replace McGinn as we would still be light especially with Dylan gone. Docherty from the Huns dare I say....
21-07-2018, 05:30 PM
Let me get the knife in first ......
"Sproule in a bath chair" :wink: :whistle: :greengrin
21-07-2018, 05:32 PM
Him
1 main starting striker (McLaren, ADF)
1 loan striker or go with Shaw as 3rd striker and use Boyle is we need to
Allan
And
We need someone to replace McGinn as we would still be light especially with Dylan gone. Docherty from the Huns dare I say....
Docherty is going to Sunderland I believe. Then again, don’t think the Huns would do any deal with us.
21-07-2018, 05:33 PM
Docherty is going to Sunderland I believe. Then again, don’t think the Huns would do any deal with us.
If he’s not good enough for them, certainly not good enough for us
21-07-2018, 05:34 PM
Docherty is going to Sunderland I believe. Then again, don’t think the Huns would do any deal with us.Can see us signing a defensive mid as well as I think Marv might be moved on...no inside info just a hunch. Love the big guy but been poor of late and not sure he's the level required for us going forward...
21-07-2018, 05:38 PM
Same as big Daz wasnt
MagicSwirlingShip
21-07-2018, 05:48 PM
Same as big Daz wasnt
McGregor was Rangers POTY the season prior to joining us.
21-07-2018, 05:52 PM
McGregor was Rangers POTY the season prior to joining us.
I know. Just pointing out that players they deem not good enough shouldn't neccessarily be discounted.
badabing67
21-07-2018, 05:55 PM
We might need another defender to replace Efe I hope he stays, does anyone know if he is happy at the club. I would hate to see him leave. I don't think we'll get the money he is worth. I think he is worth a lot more than £300K buy out clause. But if he is offered better money in Turkey he could be away unless he uses it to leverage a better contract from us. Any thoughts
21-07-2018, 06:06 PM
Can see us signing a defensive mid as well as I think Marv might be moved on...no inside info just a hunch. Love the big guy but been poor of late and not sure he's the level required for us going forward...
Big Marv has been used by Lennon to suit his tactics or the opponents, he has excelled in games and never let us down when called upon, not sure what level you think he is at but in my opinion he’s more than good enough in his role.
21-07-2018, 06:19 PM
Big Marv has been used by Lennon to suit his tactics or the opponents, he has excelled in games and never let us down when called upon, not sure what level you think he is at but in my opinion he’s more than good enough in his role.
Agree with this Scouse
21-07-2018, 06:19 PM
This is the team that think Morelos is a £9m player. I wouldn't take their judgement too seriously.
21-07-2018, 06:20 PM
Sorry who’s saying?
Man City’s news page
21-07-2018, 06:58 PM
I would take Docherty if we could get him permanent for free. I wouldn’t pay them any money or do a loan deal with them.
malcolm
21-07-2018, 07:12 PM
A Man City’s FANS news page
21-07-2018, 07:12 PM
Barker I believe is better/more consistent than Agyepong but we shall see.
He’s a lightning quick wide player - like Barker needs to work on an end product and also chipping in with more goals to take him to the next level.
21-07-2018, 08:19 PM
Going in to Thurs, for me its important we now don't lose any more players. From the team that started most of the games in the 2nd half of the season we're already down Marciano, Dylan, Allan and Jamie Mac.
If we can get a couple of signings in great but don't at this stage sell Mcginn.
Let's try and gain a lead heading in to a very tough away tie and Mcginn gives us energy with his bursting runs
21-07-2018, 08:25 PM
Going in to Thurs, for me its important we now don't lose any more players. From the team that started most of the games in the 2nd half of the season we're already down Marciano, Dylan, Allan and Jamie Mac.
If we can get a couple of signings in great but don't at this stage sell Mcginn.
Let's try and gain a lead heading in to a very tough away tie and Mcginn gives us energy with his bursting runs
Agree. I would keep McGinn now for this tie.
21-07-2018, 08:28 PM
Let's try and gain a lead heading in to a very tough away tie and Mcginn gives us energy with his bursting runsI agree we need to keep SJM now for the 2 Greek ties at the very least
21-07-2018, 08:30 PM
Big Marv has been used by Lennon to suit his tactics or the opponents, he has excelled in games and never let us down when called upon, not sure what level you think he is at but in my opinion he’s more than good enough in his role.Sorry I don't agree...if we are gonna play a 3 5 2 which seems to be Lennys favoured formation there is no place for Marv in the team...we need a defensive mid who can contribute a lot more going forward than Marv can. Be delighted to keep him as a squad player but I get the feeling that's not what Marv wants and he knows himself now that starts will be limited
21-07-2018, 08:52 PM
Sorry I don't agree...if we are gonna play a 3 5 2 which seems to be Lennys favoured formation there is no place for Marv in the team...we need a defensive mid who can contribute a lot more going forward than Marv can. Be delighted to keep him as a squad player but I get the feeling that's not what Marv wants and he knows himself now that starts will be limited
Think you missed the op's point.
Tug Wilson
21-07-2018, 09:46 PM
Sorry I don't agree...if we are gonna play a 3 5 2 which seems to be Lennys favoured formation there is no place for Marv in the team...we need a defensive mid who can contribute a lot more going forward than Marv can. Be delighted to keep him as a squad player but I get the feeling that's not what Marv wants and he knows himself now that starts will be limited
If we play 3-5-2 then where does the tricky Man City left wing fit in?
I think Lennon wants a small tight squad that can play a variety of formations and even adjust during a game.
If we play 3-5-2 then where does the tricky Man City left wing fit in?
I think Lennon wants a small tight squad that can play a variety of formations and even adjust during a game.
Certainly going to be small the way things are going:confused:
21-07-2018, 10:00 PM
Certainly going to be small the way things are going:confused:
2 in next week and folk will be a bit more positive
22-07-2018, 07:07 AM
Apologies if posted before but heard during spying on the jambos game that Teemu Puuki ex Brondby has signed for Norwich City. I have always liked this guy as a player scores a lot of goals experienced striker Finnish international I remember he took it all as good banter when we gave him stick for being an ex smellie when he came on at ER.
22-07-2018, 07:10 AM
Apologies if posted before but heard during spying on the jambos game that Teemu Puuki ex Brondby has signed for Norwich City. I have always liked this guy as a player scores a lot of goals experienced striker Finnish international I remember he took it all as good banter when we gave him stick for being an ex smellie when he came on at ER.
Was absolute mince at Celtic
Mark Milligan turns down a chance to join us - looks like Bolton his preferred destination
22-07-2018, 07:17 AM
Was absolute mince at Celtic
Agree! Always had him to score anytime at Brondby used to take t pens lost count of the amount of times he got me out of jail like free money similar to when Sparky is firing on all cylinders. I wish him all the best at Norwich but reckon it might be one final pay day :wink:
2 in next week and folk will be a bit more positive
Any ideas who? Man City winger and ?
22-07-2018, 07:36 AM
Mark Milligan turns down a chance to join us - looks like Bolton his preferred destination
His Loss Never heard of him Looks like we may have had a few knock backs hence the delay in getting more signings over the line
But shows the backroom staff are working hard behind the scenes identifying players
What position does he play
22-07-2018, 08:06 AM
He prefers to go to a club where the players are currently on strike over unpaid wages?
If true, it shows we've got our work cut out attracting players up here.
He prefers to go to a club where the players are currently on strike over unpaid wages?
If true, it shows we've got our work cut out attracting players up here.
He’s 32 and ‘always’ wanted to play in England. But he’s never been able too due to never having an EU passport until now. Bolton were in for him last year but he couldn’t get out Australia Don’t think this is a Hibs/Scotland issue, think he genuinely has waited his career to play in England and that’s the only team that are in for him
Maybe doesn’t know how close both are. No idea but he’s kindly said no to us to play in England
Greenworld
22-07-2018, 08:23 AM
I am starting to wonder exactly what worth our back room recruitment team are worth? They sit on computers analysing all sorts of info to what effect though is it worth the money it is costing for these guys ?
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
22-07-2018, 08:32 AM
Think you missed the op's point.
He certainly has.
22-07-2018, 08:33 AM
Any ideas who? Man City winger and ?
Allan?
ALF?
Moult?
22-07-2018, 09:10 AM
I am starting to wonder exactly what worth our back room recruitment team are worth? They sit on computers analysing all sorts of info to what effect though is it worth the money it is costing for these guys ?
Yip, let’s go back to just getting in whoever agents send to us.
Even when we get it wrong with the new system it’s nowhere near as bad as some of the dross that landed here under Calderwood and Fenlon.
22-07-2018, 09:12 AM
Who was the boy whose entire car journey up to Edinburgh to sign for us was followed on social media?
He signed and then never played a game.
I think he had a Blackpool connection.
FastEddieFelson
22-07-2018, 09:23 AM
Who was the boy whose entire car journey up to Edinburgh to sign for us was followed on social media?
He signed and then never played a game.
I think he had a Blackpool connection.
Adam Mitter?
Ryan69
22-07-2018, 09:27 AM
Did he not just sign a big money deal in Asia somewhere...which would completely rule us out.
Its the Aussie international defendet you mean right?
22-07-2018, 09:42 AM
Did he not just sign a big money deal in Asia somewhere...which would completely rule us out.
contracted ended with them i think
22-07-2018, 09:52 AM
He’s 32 and ‘always’ wanted to play in England. But he’s never been able too due to never having an EU passport until now. Bolton were in for him last year but he couldn’t get out Australia Don’t think this is a Hibs/Scotland issue, think he genuinely has waited his career to play in England and that’s the only team that are in for him
Maybe doesn’t know how close both are. No idea but he’s kindly said no to us to play in England
On the other hand you could take into account what he actually said which is that he would have "loved to have come" but couldn't agree terms.
Coming up for 33 so he's more than entitled to get the best deal possible while he has plenty options.
https://theworldgame.sbs.com.au/milligan-turns-down-five-european-offers-to-keep-options-open
Have you had your eyes shut for the last four years?
Our standard of recruitment since Dempster took over and put this recruitment team in place has been light years ahead of what we were subjected to during the previous decade.
Ryan69
22-07-2018, 09:55 AM
contracted ended with them i think
He only signed in January from Melbourne Victory.
22-07-2018, 09:57 AM
Our standard of recruitment since Dempster took over and put this recruitment team in place has been light years ahead of what we were subjected to during the previous decade.
This is an understatement. Recruitment under Calderwood, Fenlon and Butcher was the stuff of nightmares. Griffiths and Claros are the only 2 good signings out of about 50.
22-07-2018, 09:57 AM
Couldn’t agree more. It’s been one of the big successes since Dempster arrived.
22-07-2018, 09:58 AM
He is, but down here many of us are treating the Oz generated report...quoting his agent, with a pinch of salt.
He is 33 next month, and although he has been in 4 World Cup Final squads, he has arguably never played in a league even of the standard of the SPL.
10 years or so ago when he had a good deal of improvement left in him I could see why Hibs would take a punt on him, but not as he winds down his career.
He was playing in the Middle East last season but had his contract terminated by his club.
I think if the story IS true, which I doubt, that we need to do better.
w pilton hibby
He only signed in January from Melbourne Victory.
Terminated early. New manager doesn't fancy him.
Brummie_Hibs
I think I'd prefer us to use all our available budget on our defense. It might not be as sexy to sign defenders. We have proved we can score goals with this team, but unfortunately also easily leak them too.
Nevi_SOL
22-07-2018, 09:59 AM
😂🎣
22-07-2018, 10:37 AM
I think I'd prefer us to use all our available budget on our defense. It might not be as sexy to sign defenders. We have proved we can score goals with this team, but unfortunately also easily leak them too.
Def need a defensive midfielder and a right back. Other than that I think we are ok in defence.
22-07-2018, 10:41 AM
I'd like to see us go for Demetri Mitchell. Looked a stand out at the flumps last season.
BegbieHSC
22-07-2018, 10:44 AM
I actually think ability wise, our defense is very strong. Can’t think of more than 1/2 defenders in this league that i’d take over Efe, Daz and Paul.
Which is what makes it all the more frustrating that we concede so many.
I don’t want to have a dig at the coaching staff or Lenny, but something must be going wrong in training or tactically. That said, providing we keep scoring I don’t mind too much, given how entertaining our games have been, and the attacking prowess we display.
We have the foundations of a very solid defence - I’m not convinced we can get better, so no. I think other areas should be prioritized.
22-07-2018, 10:44 AM
I'd like to see us go for Demetri Mitchell. Looked a stand out at the flumps last season.
Derby signing him for £500k apparently.
22-07-2018, 10:46 AM
Agree thought he looked decent too good for Potter and his band of Neanderthals and no mark jobbing so called professional impostering wage thief’s :wink:
22-07-2018, 10:53 AM
Agree thought he looked decent too good for Potter and his band of Neanderthals and no mark jobbing so called professional impostering wage thief’s :wink:
The yams on kickback are coming round to your assessment of their new signings. [emoji23]
Watch the video in the following article and find out.
https://www-dailyrecord-co-uk.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/hibs-transfer-strategy-uncovered-club-11758466.amp?amp_js_v=0.1&usqp=mq331AQECAEoAQ%3D%3D
Slivka stood up and applauded after watching the history of Hibs video. Love him for that.
22-07-2018, 11:12 AM
https://www-dailyrecord-co-uk.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/hibs-transfer-strategy-uncovered-club-11758466.amp?amp_js_v=0.1&usqp=mq331AQECAEoAQ%3D%3D
Paying millions to some geeks on computers when we should be doon the public parks finding the next Pat Stanton 😡
22-07-2018, 11:22 AM
He’s highly rated by Utd and I was very suprised when they let him join Hearts on loan as he was far too good for them. He’s predominantly a left winger as used to watch him in the under 18’s & reserves. But he has a lot of good defensive attributes hence why he’s been deployed at LB a few times. Currently with the 1st team over in the States. Utd have got a few good young players coming through. Angel Gomes & Tahith Chong in particular look like they are going to be quality players in the future.
22-07-2018, 11:28 AM
Paying millions to some geeks on computers when we should be doon the public parks finding the next Pat Stanton [emoji35]Haven't the thieves got that area sewn up already though?
Not much down the parks these days except the odd wandering mutt, and they've got to have got their now legendary Dug Scheidt from there.
22-07-2018, 12:12 PM
Watch the video in the following article and find out.
Slivka stood up and applauded after watching the history of Hibs video. Love him for that.
I liked that video when it was released. However, the last few transfer windows haven’t really shown the “we don’t just start thinking about the transfer window when it opens, we think about it 6-18months in advance”. Surely we’d have more than Kamberi and Mallan if that was the case? Bogdan is just cover for Marciano (I hope!) so I don’t think that was planned.
I know it takes time to find the players and I know it takes time for player recruitment. What I don’t get is why we seem to be in a reactive position, surely we already have lists of realistic players we could sign. Surely those lists are based on probability - how likely is it that the club will deal with us, how likely is it that the player will want to come to Hibs etc. I don’t get that impression. I like the idea of making arrangements with Juventus and Man City but I don’t like the idea of waiting to see what they’ll give us...surely if we had an arrangement with clubs we would know what players we could get on loan by now, unless they are waiting to see who they can sell before giving us the leftovers on loan.
I’m guessing they’ll get some financial benefits or player benefits out of these arrangements as well - first choice on Hibs talent or 50% sell on clauses (should it be permanent deal)?
22-07-2018, 12:25 PM
I liked that video when it was released. However, the last few transfer windows haven’t really shown the “we don’t just start thinking about the transfer window when it opens, we think about it 6-18months in advance”. Surely we’d have more than Kamberi and Mallan if that was the case? Bogdan is just cover for Marciano (I hope!) so I don’t think that was planned.
I know it takes time to find the players and I know it takes time for player recruitment. What I don’t get is why we seem to be in a reactive position, surely we already have lists of realistic players we could sign. Surely those lists are based on probability - how likely is it that the club will deal with us, how likely is it that the player will want to come to Hibs etc. I don’t get that impression. I like the idea of making arrangements with Juventus and Man City but I don’t like the idea of waiting to see what they’ll give us...surely if we had an arrangement with clubs we would know what players we could get on loan by now, unless they are waiting to see who they can sell before giving us the leftovers on loan.
I’m guessing they’ll get some financial benefits or player benefits out of these arrangements as well - first choice on Hibs talent or 50% sell on clauses (should it be permanent deal)?
I don’t believe Hibs have any special agreements with Juventus and Man City. It was simply a case that Barker was a success last season so we’ve gone back to the well for more.
22-07-2018, 12:34 PM
I don’t believe Hibs have any special agreements with Juventus and Man City. It was simply a case that Barker was a success last season so we’ve gone back to the well for more.
Surely that would’ve been seen as an option 6 months ago and players scouted and discussions had well before now? If Man City were happy with Barkers time at Hibs and we’ve identified players they have that would help us, why is it taking so long to get them? I’d understand if it was other clubs (Darmstadt etc.) but if is Man City we’re talking about, they’ve got tons of players and don’t need the money...
22-07-2018, 12:35 PM
This must be a wind up.
22-07-2018, 12:37 PM
The recruitment dept are likely to be waiting until August 13th to make at least a couple of signings as that’s when the English window shuts and there are likely to be some deals that would not have normally been available to us at that point.
22-07-2018, 12:44 PM
As we need a defensive midfielder, anyone rate the walking yellow card Adoa that played for the yams last season? Just been released by his club.
22-07-2018, 12:46 PM
As we need a defensive midfielder, anyone rate the walking yellow card Adoa that played for the yams last season? Just been released by his club.
No chance. He was a dreadful footballer. Ran about kicking the opposition and that was about it.
We don't need a DM that's just physical and strong in the tackle, Bartley does that, we need a play making DM, similar to Dylan but maybe a wee bit stronger in that position, our style of play has changed where Bartley has been left behind.
22-07-2018, 01:03 PM
We don't need a DM that's just physical and strong in the tackle, Bartley does that, we need a play making DM, similar to Dylan but maybe a wee bit stronger in that position, our style of play has changed where Bartley has been left behind.
Yip couldnt put it any better myself. :agree:
Marv is still a good player to have around though, but he's not going to get the game time he will want, but he's still a decent player who we can bring on to shut games down when winning late on.
22-07-2018, 01:16 PM
The recruitment dept are likely to be waiting until August 13th to make at least a couple of signings as that’s when the English window shuts and there are likely to be some deals that would not have normally been available to us at that point.
Can’t you still sign players from the English leagues after the window there shuts? I just don’t think English teams can buy players after window shuts
sean04
22-07-2018, 01:17 PM
One of the worst footballers in a terrible hearts team. Zero quality, just ran around fouling
22-07-2018, 01:18 PM
Can’t you still sign players from the English leagues after the window there shuts? I just don’t think English teams can buy players after window shuts
I'd imagine so - the same way that the Russian team bought O'Connor from us when their window was open but ours was closed.
22-07-2018, 01:19 PM
Nice try. :fishin:
22-07-2018, 02:08 PM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkPlease tell me your joking?? Not for me