09-08-2018, 09:59 PM
Enter Scott Allan! 🤞
Would be surprised if we are still after him
09-08-2018, 10:00 PM
Enter Scott Allan! 🤞
I want Allan back more than anyone but unless we're after two midfield players I can't see him being one of them. Surely has to be a player in the ilk of Kamara or Mulumbu.
09-08-2018, 10:02 PM
We desperately need more energy in the middle of the park and that should be our next target. Marv does his thing but it is only in defense and he looks wrecked after an hour as does Slivka. Mallan works away but again doesn't cover the ground and tends to run out of steam too. McGinn was badly missed tonight particularly when they were knocking it about and we weren't getting close to them. Not sure we need another winger when we don't really play with them
I think Lennons words were “wide player” rather than winger. We need another left sided player to give Lewis competition. If he were to get injured we are relying on Whittaker coming in. There are no left footers.
09-08-2018, 10:10 PM
I wouldn’t say no Scott Allan but don’t think he and Mallan could play in the same midfield
Mallan is great going forward but at this stage looks suspect defensively and allows players to run off him far too easily and doesn’t get about the park as well as I would like.
He may well improve as he gets fitter or with coaching but isn’t great at present IMO
Although Slivka has a better ability to get up and down the park, he always seems to arrive a fraction late to make the tackle but is again accomplished going forward
Another one struggling to last a full game
IMO this leaves us light pressing the ball
If our formation was 3-5-2 it was scary how much time they had on the ball in midfield although to be fair they didn’t hurt us that much
If we are looking for midfield replacements I would hope that amongst them would be a ball winning midfielder.
09-08-2018, 10:16 PM
I think Lennons words were “wide player” rather than winger. We need another left sided player to give Lewis competition. If he were to get injured we are relying on Whittaker coming in. There are no left footers.
If Lewy got injured I'd have no hesitation in putting in Mackie who seems to have really come on leaps and bounds last season and in pre-season.
Hanlon can step into the left back slot too if required. It's why I reckon Hayes is a potential target as I'm sure he was deployed as a wing back / full back at Aberdeen with some success for a period of games and also Rodgers mentioned that role when he signed for Celtic.
Liked your idea of Taylor from Killie :aok: mind, Jordan Jones would be an excellent addition if we had some SJM money to spend on a sizeable fee - think he's only got a year to run on his contact too.
09-08-2018, 11:03 PM
Whats changed that you are disappointed in £3m when you would have been happy with £2m plus Allan?
Because we don’t have Allan? Do you make notes of my posts and follow me around on this btw? My posts seem far too relevant to you if you remember me posting that. Probably got a wee notepad that you jot it all down on.
09-08-2018, 11:07 PM
Enter Scott Allan! 🤞
Sent from my SM-G950F using TapatalkIf we are only after 1 more midfielder I could almost guarantee it won't be Allan. We need someone with a bit of energy and physicality...think the Hyndman signing rules out Allan till at least Jan tbh
09-08-2018, 11:10 PM
If we are only after 1 more midfielder I could almost guarantee it won't be Allan. We need someone with a bit of energy and physicality...think the Hyndman signing rules out Allan till at least Jan tbh
I would think so if it’s only the one that we’re afte. Would need to be a more traditional centre midfielder.
09-08-2018, 11:15 PM
Because we don’t have Allan? Do you make notes of my posts and follow me around on this btw? My posts seem far too relevant to you if you remember me posting that. Probably got a wee notepad that you jot it all down on.
Hyndmann is Allan short term.
We are desperately needing a powerful all action midfielder to do the McGinn thing now.
09-08-2018, 11:17 PM
Hyndmann is Allan short term.
We are desperately needing a powerful all action midfielder to do the McGinn thing now.
Aye I would think he will be, at least until January. Priority now needs to be a powerhouse like you said. Still hoping for Mulumbu, no idea if it would be feasible.
09-08-2018, 11:27 PM
Aye I would think he will be, at least until January. Priority now needs to be a powerhouse like you said. Still hoping for Mulumbu, no idea if it would be feasible.
Not sure there is actually anything in the Mulumbu one feels
More of a fans more in hope than him being out top target. Would happily be wrong as I thought he was good at killi.
More I see of the lad Kamara at Dundee I feel he would be a great investment price depending
09-08-2018, 11:30 PM
Not sure there is actually anything in the Mulumbu one feels
More of a fans more in hope than him being out top target. Would happily be wrong as I thought he was good at killi.
More I see of the lad Kamara at Dundee I feel he would be a great investment price depending
Mulumbu is exactly the kind we're missing. Someone who hunts the ball down and wants to make tackles and win second balls. Him and Mcginn had a few good battles last season and he'd be an absolutely superb signing for us.
Can't see it either though. Think we'll go for the younger type that we can hopefully move on in a few years.
Greenworld
10-08-2018, 12:13 PM
Kamara ticks the boxes now the English window is closed his price will have dropped to something more affordable. 400k - 500k would maybe get him but I don't know if we would pay that.
Have heard we have spoken to Dundee not sure if there is much in it
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
10-08-2018, 12:22 PM
As much as I think Danny Swanson is a great option for us, I wonder if we might offer him as a part exchange for Kamara, plus money and sell on.
Macaroon
10-08-2018, 12:27 PM
As much as I think Danny Swanson is a great option for us, I wonder if we might offer him as a part exchange for Kamara, plus money and sell on.
Said the same at the game last night, I could see that being attractive to Dundee with a fee on top.
10-08-2018, 12:29 PM
If we are only after 1 more midfielder I could almost guarantee it won't be Allan. We need someone with a bit of energy and physicality...think the Hyndman signing rules out Allan till at least Jan tbh
Maybe Lawwell really has spat the dummy and is refusing to talk to us about SA.
Ah well, January it is...
10-08-2018, 12:31 PM
Think Mulumbu/Kamara would be massively appreciated in a Neil Lennon team - being asked to go do your part of the job, knowing that when you recycle the ball there are goals galore in front of you, and the reassurance of big Daz, Hanlon, Gray, Stevenson who've got your back as well
10-08-2018, 12:35 PM
What about Kyle Magennis from St Mirren? Haven't seen much of him myself but St Mirren colleague reckons he's their next big thing. Maybe they'd go for a repeat of the McGinn terms?
10-08-2018, 12:45 PM
Anyone heard a rumour about Lee Wallace coming to ER?
10-08-2018, 12:46 PM
Yep. I heard it.
147lothian
10-08-2018, 12:47 PM
Any news on when we expect Agyepong's registration to come through?
10-08-2018, 12:48 PM
Any news on when we expect Agyepong's registration to come through?
He's registered - but we are still waiting for a work permit.
hibsforeurope
10-08-2018, 12:52 PM
Would be a great player in the team, but as a person i'm not so sure.
IAmLee
10-08-2018, 12:52 PM
I think we could do worse than approach Motherwell about Alan Campbell, he's a tenacious lad who already looks like he has a bit of quality about him. He has 3 years on his contract though so I don't know if they'd do any business, maybe if we offered them a player plus cash deal.
10-08-2018, 01:03 PM
I had heard he was part of the proposed deal for lafferty to go to rangers
renato
10-08-2018, 01:06 PM
The grass is always greener.
10-08-2018, 01:14 PM
Its called a memory, something you might like to invest in. If you are going to post something, dont get annoyed if someone replies to it.
I dont need a notepad to remember some of the absolute tosh you've spouted this pre season.
10-08-2018, 01:21 PM
Its called a memory, something you might like to invest in. If you are going to post something, dont get annoyed if someone replies to it.
I dont need a notepad to remember some of the absolute tosh you've spouted this pre season.
I might need to do that. Might be why I couldn’t tell you what you post other than when it’s directly to me/about me yet an innocuous general post from me sticks in your mind (or on your notepad) for weeks. Awfy strange but hey ho.
10-08-2018, 01:21 PM
I want Allan back more than anyone but unless we're after two midfield players I can't see him being one of them. Surely has to be a player in the ilk of Kamara or Mulumbu.
Agree 100%
10-08-2018, 01:22 PM
The grass is always greener.
He's a Hibby, no?
So we'll have a ready-made song for him.
All together now... "It's good to touch......
10-08-2018, 01:22 PM
I might need to do that. Might be why I couldn’t tell you what you post other than when it’s directly to me/about me yet an innocuous general post from me sticks in your mind (or on your notepad) for weeks. Awfy strange but hey ho.
I'm wounded.
10-08-2018, 01:24 PM
I had heard he was part of the proposed deal for lafferty to go to rangers
Rangers fans are of the belief that's the case. I doubt we'll see him here. He'd definitely be back up to Lewis and I can't see him being happy with that.
10-08-2018, 01:25 PM
I'm wounded.
Guys, can we keep this petty bickering for the PM board please?
That's why i pay my tenner a year and right now it's all bloody transfer rumours and the like.
10-08-2018, 01:26 PM
I'm wounded.
What a guy.
10-08-2018, 01:26 PM
That's why i pay my tenner a year and right now it's all bloody transfer rumours and the like.
10-08-2018, 01:29 PM
They make a couple of 7 year olds look mature.:confused:
Crazyhorse
10-08-2018, 02:16 PM
Made me think though. Can't remember the last time I bought a notepad.
10-08-2018, 02:17 PM
You’re right, he does.
You probably posted it about a dozen times, in that whiny font you use, making it much easier to remember.
10-08-2018, 02:23 PM
You probably posted it about a dozen times, in that whiny font you use, making it much easier to remember.
How did you know about the special font?!
mentalhibee
10-08-2018, 02:31 PM
Would be a good signing if we are going to be playing 3 at the back
10-08-2018, 02:34 PM
Would be a good signing if we are going to be playing 3 at the back
He would be to be fair. Would be good cover for centre half, left back and LWB.
mentalhibee
10-08-2018, 02:35 PM
He would be to be fair. Would be good cover for centre half, left back and LWB.
Exactly, plus he was a hibby when he was younger. I’d be happy if he signed up.
Greenworld
10-08-2018, 02:38 PM
Looks like there might be something in kamara moving to Hibs dundee fan I know says hibs have indeed made enquires.
10-08-2018, 02:39 PM
Exactly, plus he was a hibby when he was younger. I’d be happy if he signed up.
Since no-one got my earlier post, or perhaps just ignored it :greengrin, I'll be explicit this time.
We could sing the Green, Green, Grass of Home for him.
BegbieHSC
10-08-2018, 02:41 PM
Looks like there might be something in kamara moving to Hibs dundee fan I know says hibs have indeed made enquires.
Great news if true.
10-08-2018, 02:42 PM
Since no-one got my earlier post, or perhaps just ignored it :greengrin, I'll be explicit this time.
It's crap when you need to explain your own jokes when you yourself think they're funny as. 😀
BegbieHSC
10-08-2018, 02:42 PM
Just get Allan in after Kamara, and I’ll be very happy with the transfer window.
10-08-2018, 02:45 PM
Think we got it! 🙄
10-08-2018, 02:51 PM
It's crap when you need to explain your own jokes when you yourself think they're funny as. 😀
I think I need a break from the Fringe. My reviews have been *****, and folk keep taking money out of my bucket. :greengrin
10-08-2018, 02:51 PM
I hope this Lee Wallace talk is a wind up
http://i832.photobucket.com/albums/zz246/ardern0/wallace_zpsnukxghfu.jpeg (http://s832.photobucket.com/user/ardern0/media/wallace_zpsnukxghfu.jpeg.html)
10-08-2018, 02:56 PM
Lee Wallace is a poor man's Lewis Stevenson.
10-08-2018, 02:58 PM
The old home town looks the same as I step down from the train,
and there to meet me is Lennon and Leeann.
Down the road I look and there runs Boyler, all hair replacement, and faster than ever.
It's good to touch the green, green grass of home.
Yes, they'll all come to meet me, arms reaching, smiling sweetly.
It's good to touch the green, green, grass of home.
Oh Easter Road, it's still standing, and the team is going to fly,
and there's that old 3-5-2 that I used to play.
Down the lane I walk with Darren McGregor, Hibs As Fxxx, and tougher than ever.
[spoken:]
Then I awake and look around me, at the four grey[skull] walls that surround me
and I realize, yes, I was only dreaming.
For there's a guard and there's a sad old Stevie G -
arm in arm we'll walk at daybreak.
Again I touch the green, green grass of home.
Yes, they'll all come to see me in the shade of the Famous Five stand
as they lay me neath the green, green grass of home.
10-08-2018, 03:00 PM
I would have Lee Wallace do a lap of apologies at the next home game if he were to sign.
10-08-2018, 06:22 PM
The old home town looks the same as I step down from the train,
and there to meet me is Lennon and Leeann.
Down the road I look and there runs Boyler, all hair replacement, and faster than ever.
It's good to touch the green, green, grass of home.
Oh Easter Road, it's still standing, and the team is going to fly,
and there's that old 3-5-2 that I used to play.
Down the lane I walk with Darren McGregor, Hibs As Fxxx, and tougher than ever.
[spoken:]
Then I awake and look around me, at the four grey[skull] walls that surround me
and I realize, yes, I was only dreaming.
For there's a guard and there's a sad old Stevie G -
arm in arm we'll walk at daybreak.
Again I touch the green, green grass of home.
Yes, they'll all come to see me in the shade of the Famous Five stand
as they lay me neath the green, green grass of home.
Maybe they just blanked you because your song is utter dog *****
I was referring to tbe op but hey ho
10-08-2018, 06:51 PM
Sent from my SM-G903F using TapatalkInteresting...seems to be gathering a bit of pace...have a hunch it will be cash plus a player we offer...probably Swanson
10-08-2018, 07:24 PM
I think I need a break from the Fringe. My reviews have been *****, and folk keep taking money out of my bucket. :greengrin
I can't believe you got a five star review for a Tom Jones reference!
10-08-2018, 07:38 PM
I can't believe you got a five star review for a Tom Jones reference!Why why why?
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
10-08-2018, 07:51 PM
:hyper
10-08-2018, 07:53 PM
Why why why?
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
Exactly, I mean It's Not Unusual.....
scuttle
10-08-2018, 08:04 PM
Exactly, I mean It's Not Unusual.....
You just couldn't Help Yourself
10-08-2018, 08:10 PM
Aww naw, mair puns...gonna no dae that. Please, just gonna no ?
BlackSheep
10-08-2018, 08:11 PM
It’s a sign
10-08-2018, 08:16 PM
Don’t Cry, Pussycat.
10-08-2018, 08:26 PM
Now don't get mad and go Burnin Down The House.....
10-08-2018, 08:29 PM
I can't believe you got a five star review for a Tom Jones reference!
following Haymakers post are we re-signing Sex Bomb LG?
Kavinho
10-08-2018, 08:34 PM
This is the transfer thread, yes?
Souter96Mac
10-08-2018, 08:43 PM
Someone asked Alan Nixon on twitter if there was any news on Hibs. He replied saying "Sunday paper". Maybe hear something over the weekend.
Preview of the St Johnstone game.
10-08-2018, 08:47 PM
Maybe doesn't realise we are not playing on Saturday and therefore there will be no match reports in the Sunday papers. :greengrin
following Haymakers post are we re-signing Sex Bomb LG?
How do you work that out as he only ever post
hyper!!
[emoji23]
10-08-2018, 09:14 PM
How do you work that out as he only ever post
hyper!!
[emoji23]
10-08-2018, 09:15 PM
sex bomb!
Dude laugh out loud moment there from me!!
badabing67
10-08-2018, 10:29 PM
I’m sure Dundee want £1M for Kamara. I’d definitely take him but can’t see us paying that sort of fee for anyone.
Maybe could negotiate the fee with them and probably throw in Swanson as part of the deal?
I'm beginning to think Swanny isnt in Lenny's plans. I thought he would have made an appearance in the Motherwell game. If he's not involved in the St Johnstone game I think he will be away by the end of the window.
10-08-2018, 10:33 PM
I'm beginning to think Swanny isnt in Lenny's plans. I thought he would have made an appearance in the Motherwell game. If he's not involved in the St Johnstone game I think he will be away by the end of the window.
I would expect him to start against on Sunday same with shaw and Emerson I think we need to get other players game time and protect key players for Thursday and if that means we lose Sunday I’m cool with that personally
11-08-2018, 06:37 AM
I wouldn’t say no Scott Allan but don’t think he and Mallan could play in the same midfield
Mallan is great going forward but at this stage looks suspect defensively and allows players to run off him far too easily and doesn’t get about the park as well as I would like.
He may well improve as he gets fitter or with coaching but isn’t great at present IMO
Although Slivka has a better ability to get up and down the park, he always seems to arrive a fraction late to make the tackle but is again accomplished going forward
Another one struggling to last a full game
IMO this leaves us light pressing the ball
If our formation was 3-5-2 it was scary how much time they had on the ball in midfield although to be fair they didn’t hurt us that much
If we are looking for midfield replacements I would hope that amongst them would be a ball winning midfielder.
They had so much space cos Bartley sits far too deep on top of our back 3 and doesn't push out and play alongsidehis midfield colleagues ..hence making us mishapen and giving them a chance to play in the gaps, he always plays that way, which must make it harder work for others trying to close things down in front of him ...does a job but we need and can get much better ....I hope !!
Willis1875
11-08-2018, 06:44 AM
I wouldn’t be surprised if Lennon was interested in Ross Wallace,Free agent after his release from Sheff Wed and provides options at Left wing and Left wing back
Good shout - he would be a decent signing for a year or so. Only problem might be wages but at 33 he might fancy coming back up the road
Souter96Mac
11-08-2018, 06:50 AM
I'd take him.
DetroitHibs
11-08-2018, 06:54 AM
I think we should seriously try and get Steve Caulker from Dundee. Think that would be a very good signing.
Greenworld
11-08-2018, 07:15 AM
I think we should seriously try and get Steve Caulker from Dundee. Think that would be a very good signing.They want mega bucks for him
11-08-2018, 07:22 AM
They want mega bucks for him
Has he been good for them? Did he not have a really bad start?
11-08-2018, 07:24 AM
They want mega bucks for him
They knocked back over a million for him in January
DetroitHibs
11-08-2018, 07:26 AM
Think he's only got 12 months left. At 26 he'd be a good investment.
He's a good player & would be a good short term option. We definitely need a left sided player, we have no left sided attacking options right now.
hibsquaker
11-08-2018, 07:28 AM
Good shout - he would be a decent signing for a year or so. Only problem might be wages but at 33 he might fancy coming back up the road
2 words: Stephen Whitaker
Greenworld
11-08-2018, 07:28 AM
Think he's only got 12 months left. At 26 he'd be a good investment.Signed a 18 month deal in February so yes about a year
11-08-2018, 07:29 AM
Think he's only got 12 months left. At 26 he'd be a good investment.
He's suffered a lot with mental health in the past. Lennon would be good for him I think. Hard-line approach but also compassionate.
That said, I find it hard enough to turn our current four into a three so five into three would be a nightmare.
Greenworld
11-08-2018, 07:29 AM
He's a good player & would be a good short term option. We definitely need a left sided player, we have no left sided attacking options right now.Is the winger we signed awaiting clearance not left sided
Dancehibs
11-08-2018, 07:33 AM
They had so much space cos Bartley sits far too deep on top of our back 3 and doesn't push out and play alongsidehis midfield colleagues ..hence making us mishapen and giving them a chance to play in the gaps, he always plays that way, which must make it harder work for others trying to close things down in front of him ...does a job but we need and can get much better ....I hope !!
Great assessment. Marv lacks mobility and fitness hence why he sits so deep. Always blowing at 60 mins. He’s far too muscle bound for a footballer
Greenworld
11-08-2018, 07:35 AM
Think he's only got 12 months left. At 26 he'd be a good investment.I'm told we have enquired about Kamara some dundee boys i know said hibs had been in touch.
They don't want to loose him but again he is in final year of contract .
Tug Wilson
11-08-2018, 07:53 AM
I think that the priority has to be a strong central midfielder. I felt that the Bartley, Slivka and Mallan trio was a bit imbalanced. Seemed stretched at times but that might have been the quality of the opposition. Be interesting to see them against SPL teams. Think it works well against teams like Motherwell but would struggle against the better sides.
I felt that the Slivka, Mallan and Hyndman trio was more dynamic. Emerson does look like a player. Skillful and quick. However, that midfield 3 does seem a bit lightweight.
A player like Glen Kamara or Youssouf Mulumbu would fit the bill. Doesn't necessarily have to be one of them but they are known packages who have SPL experience. I am sure that the Recruitment Department have a list of decent suggestions for Lennon to consider and that we have made some progress with at least a couple of these.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-08-2018, 08:02 AM
I would expect him to start against on Sunday same with shaw and Emerson I think we need to get other players game time and protect key players for Thursday and if that means we lose Sunday I’m cool with that personally
Agree! We are in a great position to give it a good shot on Thursday- might not come around again for a long time.
11-08-2018, 08:15 AM
Some ***** being spouted on here about Marv
Souter96Mac
11-08-2018, 08:16 AM
Again Alan Nixon tweets there will be transfer news about Hibs tomorrow. I don't think he's always right, but interesting to find out tomorrow what the chat is.
11-08-2018, 08:16 AM
Agree! We are in a great position to give it a good shot on Thursday- might not come around again for a long time.
It certainly wont come around for a long time if we are willing to sacrifice league points.
We have only played a handful of games so I'm at a loss as to how fatigue kicks in. Injuries can happen anytime so also shouldn't be used as an excuse to rest players.
Important we get off to a strong start this season. Strongest team should play for me.
11-08-2018, 08:18 AM
Has been for weeks. You sometimes wonder if peoples eyes are painted on.
Ralphy C
11-08-2018, 08:26 AM
McLeish thought similar with Lovell.
11-08-2018, 08:27 AM
Certainly has. Ye’d think he was some decrepit donkey the way people are talking. He’s rammed it down their throat the way he’s started the season
11-08-2018, 08:29 AM
He only signed in february and the bid was rejected in April. The only reason the bid was rejected, and so high in the first place, is because it was outside the transfer window so they wouldn’t have been able to replace him.
If he goes during the sunmer it wont be for anything near what was previously offered.
11-08-2018, 08:30 AM
It certainly wont come around for a long time if we are willing to sacrifice league points.
We have only played a handful of games so I'm at a loss as to how fatigue kicks in. Injuries can happen anytime so also shouldn't be used as an excuse to rest players.
Important we get off to a strong start this season. Strongest team should play for me.
Agree with this. If anyone is carrying a knock/injured then obviously rest them, other than that we should be playing our strongest team.
11-08-2018, 08:32 AM
Saturday morning signing according to the twitter 😍
11-08-2018, 08:32 AM
Agree with this. If anyone is carrying a knock/injured then obviously rest them, other than that we should be playing our strongest team.
Need to win, League is our bread and butter
11-08-2018, 08:34 AM
Signing incoming.....
FifeHibs
11-08-2018, 08:35 AM
Pete O'Rourke
@SportsPeteO
Hibernian are poised to sign long-term target Daryl Horgan from Preston. #Hibs #pnefc
Souter96Mac
11-08-2018, 08:37 AM
Seems like the signings are rolling in following McGinn's departure.
11-08-2018, 08:37 AM
Need to win, League is our bread and butter
Yeah but surly your objective in the league is to realistically qualify for Europe, so ultimately to get to the stage we are at on Thursday so would be crazy not to priorities that? We have a good opportunity this season in Europe we must grasp it. Plenty league games left to gain the required points, all or nothing Thursday tho
11-08-2018, 08:39 AM
This one is rolling in since Preston got Brandon Barker :wink:
bigswissstriker
11-08-2018, 08:40 AM
Hibs just posted on twitter who’s up for a Sunday signing....
Nevi_SOL
3 year deal for Horgan
Scotty boy next please.
Yeah but surly your objective in the league is to realistically qualify for Europe, so ultimately to get to the stage we are at on Thursday so would be crazy not to priorities that? We have a good opportunity this season in Europe we must grasp it. Plenty league games left to gain the required points, all or nothing Thursday tho
Agree with that to an extent, I just think the players are capable of playing twice a week at this stage. If it was the middle of December and we were 20 games in then maybe a different story, but not yet surely.
11-08-2018, 08:41 AM
I’m not waiting till tomorrow
11-08-2018, 08:41 AM
Totally agree he has been excellent in the last 2 games and no coincidence that we have had 2 clean sheets. Can see him being rested tomorrow however will imo definitely be needed for return leg when we need to be very strong defensively.
11-08-2018, 08:43 AM
Totally agree he has been excellent in the last 2 games and no coincidence that we have had 2 clean sheets. Can see him being rested tomorrow however will imo definitely be needed for return leg when we need to be very strong defensively.
I wonder if the people that reckon Marv is immobile actually watch the games :confused:
11-08-2018, 08:44 AM
Great assessment. Marv lacks mobility and fitness hence why he sits so deep. Always blowing at 60 mins. He’s far too muscle bound for a footballer
What a crock that is.
11-08-2018, 08:44 AM
Same here, great guy to have available and rarely lets us down, there's some of our rivals and clubs who are just having trouble competing with us who are sick of the sight of him though and would be happy to see him go.
11-08-2018, 08:45 AM
what a load of crap
11-08-2018, 08:46 AM
Agree with that to an extent, I just think the players are capable of playing twice a week at this stage. If it was the middle of December and we were 20 games in then maybe a different story, but not yet surely.
It’s not the stage of the season that is the problem. Even the fittest players in the world need three rest days between games or performance dips. There are tons of studies on it.
The more we can rest players before Thursday the better.
11-08-2018, 08:48 AM
what a load of crap
While I agree that we need a better ball player than Marv in midfield, you are 100% correct that that is a load of crap. Too muscle bound to play football?[emoji23]
11-08-2018, 08:50 AM
A signing today and a signing tomorrow 😊
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-08-2018, 08:51 AM
Yeah, fair points mate! It's a bit chicken and egg I suppose.
11-08-2018, 08:53 AM
He only signed in february and the bid was rejected in April. The only reason the bid was rejected, and so high in the first place, is because it was outside the transfer window so they wouldn’t have been able to replace him.
If he goes during the sunmer it wont be for anything near what was previously offered.
Didn't realise that, cheers 👍
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-08-2018, 08:54 AM
While I agree that we need a better ball player than Marv in midfield, you are 100% correct that that is a load of crap. Too muscle bound to play football?[emoji23]
I think romelu lukaku may be a useful counterpoint!
Jeebsys strike
11-08-2018, 08:55 AM
First post. Just wandered if anyone knows if johnny hayes stays in the leith area? Just seen him leaving easter rd about 9:15 this morning in a 17 reg audi 4X4
11-08-2018, 08:57 AM
First post. Just wandered if anyone knows if johnny hayes stays in the leith area? Just seen him leaving easter rd about 9:15 this morning in a 17 reg audi 4X4
He has a season ticket for scorpios.
Greenworld
11-08-2018, 08:58 AM
Player signing announced this morning
11-08-2018, 08:58 AM
Player signing announced this morning
No **** Sherlock
Greenworld
11-08-2018, 09:00 AM
No **** SherlockDarryl horgan
11-08-2018, 09:01 AM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIf someone feels too muscle bound to play football they needn't despair. There's always a place for them with doctor football at the gorgie megadome.
Nade was rather "muscular" and they seem to have taken that to another level with their latest wonder striker.
11-08-2018, 09:01 AM
Horgan 3 year deal
11-08-2018, 09:02 AM
Hopefully registered and able to play tomorrow
Think he’s been involved with PNE, so should be match fit too
11-08-2018, 09:02 AM
Yaaas. Thought this one was dead in the water.
A permanent deal too! :wink:
Hibernian32
11-08-2018, 09:04 AM
Not a chance lawell will do business with us & it would be Allan not Hayes tbh especially hearing the hogan news
Official now
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/9071
Welcome Horgan
Wonder how much the fee was?
11-08-2018, 09:06 AM
Wonder how much the fee was?
Could try and find out from your “sources” 🙄
Souter96Mac
11-08-2018, 09:06 AM
I wonder if this was the deal Alan Nixon was referring to. Or will there be more tomorrow?
11-08-2018, 09:08 AM
Hopefully registered and able to play tomorrow
Think he’s been involved with PNE, so should be match fit too
Played for them last week.
11-08-2018, 09:09 AM
First Jamie, now Daryl, do u need a Rod 'tache to get a game at ER ?
Gordy M
11-08-2018, 09:11 AM
Lennon did say he was after a wide man and a midfielder. Thats the wide man in.....expect a midfielder soon as well:aok:
Greenworld
11-08-2018, 09:11 AM
What's your problem
Could try and find out from your “sources” [emoji849]
11-08-2018, 09:12 AM
Lennon did say he was after a wide man and a midfielder. Thats the wide man in.....expect a midfielder soon as well:aok:
Fingers crossed
We need another forward too imo
Ralphy C
11-08-2018, 09:13 AM
Official now
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/9071
Welcome Horgan
Ha ha, i thought we'd signed that guy from celebrity juice for a minute.:greengrin
Greenworld
11-08-2018, 09:15 AM
Lennon did say he was after a wide man and a midfielder. Thats the wide man in.....expect a midfielder soon as well:aok:Agree were getting a stronger looking team now.
Souter96Mac
11-08-2018, 09:16 AM
Played for them last week.
Started majority of their preseason games as well. Should be fairly fit.
Looks like the McGinn money's immediately being put to good use if this jumped from a loan to a three year deal.
What's your problem
Was I replying to you?
11-08-2018, 09:18 AM
Anyone seen him play? Looks decent in his YouTube videos but then again everyone does. Looks to be more tricky rather than fast?
11-08-2018, 09:19 AM
Alan Nixon got a rumour in his column tomorrow for us. Player incoming and it isn’t Horgan.
11-08-2018, 09:19 AM
Looks like the McGinn money's immediately being put to good use if this jumped from a loan to a three year deal.
Also with them signing Brandon Barker then it pretty much paved the way for him to come here.
11-08-2018, 09:21 AM
Also with them signing Brandon Barker then it pretty much paved the way for him to come here.
Or vice versa
Greenworld
11-08-2018, 09:23 AM
Alan Nixon got a rumour in his column tomorrow for us. Player incoming and it isn’t Horgan.Exciting times
11-08-2018, 09:23 AM
Anyone seen him play? Looks decent in his YouTube videos but then again everyone does. Looks to be more tricky rather than fast?
My cousin from Preston who is a ST holder at Deepdale says he’s a very fast, direct player who runs at defenders. Likes to take his full back on and swing in a cross or hit an attempt at target. He was quite gutted to see him go as believes there is a real good player in there and he just needs a good run of games and confidence from the management and fans. With the way we play, he should do well.
Alan Nixon got a rumour in his column tomorrow for us. Player incoming and it isn’t Horgan.
Kamara or Mulumbu hopefully.
11-08-2018, 09:24 AM
Ooooooo
11-08-2018, 09:28 AM
Kamara or Mulumbu hopefully.
That’s what I’m hoping but I’m gonna be greedy and say both 😁
I see we have been linked with Allan Campbell from Motherwell this morning in the BBC gossip column
11-08-2018, 09:29 AM
Please god dont let it be Lee Wallace
Mulumbu or Leigh Griffiths please
11-08-2018, 09:29 AM
Quality over quantity 👌
11-08-2018, 09:31 AM
There’s a rumour of Kamara being that player for cash plus Scott Martin.
11-08-2018, 09:32 AM
That would be excellent!
11-08-2018, 09:36 AM
Scott Martin isn’t going to make it at Hibs so would make sense. I’d throw in Swanson aswell to try bring the price down further and potentially free up room for SA. Would maybe even just go nuts and see if they want Fraser Murray on loan aswell :greengrin
11-08-2018, 09:37 AM
He said at least.
Think we'll see another 2 or 3 coming in but might depend on outs. Midfielders x2 and a defender.
11-08-2018, 09:47 AM
Scott Martin isn’t going to make it at Hibs so would make sense. I’d throw in Swanson aswell to try bring the price down further and potentially free up room for SA. Would maybe even just go nuts and see if they want Fraser Murray on loan aswell :greengrin
Good point , his chances of getting in the midfield this season will be slim . Would do him good to go out on loan , defo a player in there
Souter96Mac
11-08-2018, 09:51 AM
That'd be some deal if we pulled that off. Martin has looked alright when he's played, a tenacious young midfielder, but as each season passes, he seemingly doesn't have the ability to step into the first team as a regular. Kamara would fit the bill.
badabing67
11-08-2018, 09:51 AM
That would be excellent!
Don't like that idea I think we should keep Martin I think he could be a prospect. He is still young y hough with the players coming it's looking much harder for the development guys to break through. If that happened I think in a couple of years we'll end up buying him back
11-08-2018, 09:52 AM
Was I replying to you?
Oh someone's woke up on the wrong side of the bed.
11-08-2018, 09:52 AM
I wonder if Neil Lennon tipped Alex Neil the wink - "why don't you look at Brandon Barker as a replacement for Horgan?". :wink:
BTW - Horgan at 25 should be coming into his peak years as a footballer - good job, Hibs!
11-08-2018, 09:54 AM
Don't like that idea I think we should keep Martin I think he could be a prospect. He is still young y hough with the players coming it's looking much harder for the development guys to break through. If that happened I think in a couple of years we'll end up buying him back
Martin is 21 and not really close to the first team. Don’t think he can really be seen as a prospect any more.
Scott Martin isnt going to make it at Hibs so would make sense. Id throw in Swanson aswell to try bring the price down further and potentially free up room for SA. Would maybe even just go nuts and see if they want Fraser Murray on loan aswell :greengrin
Agreed! I think Swanson could be on his way out tbh and like you say would make room for SA.
Martin is 21 and not really close to the first team. Don’t think he can really be seen as a pretty spect any more.
That's only a year younger than Mallan and Hyndman for comparison.
I think if he was going to force himself into the first team he would have needed to be doing that by the time he was 19/20 like Porteous and Shaw are doing just now.
11-08-2018, 09:59 AM
Kamara never really stood out for me in the games I’ve seen but I’ve now seen his YouTube compilation and there is no other player in world football than I want more.
Maybe Scott Allan
11-08-2018, 10:04 AM
Kamara never really stood out for me in the games I’ve seen but I’ve now seen his YouTube compilation and there is no other player in world football than I want more.
Maybe Scott Allan
Well, if possible, I'd take Pogba, Hazard, Ronaldo, Mbappe or Messi instead if any of them were available! :greengrin
11-08-2018, 10:06 AM
Article today says Sunderland tried to sign Kamara , He's also injured so dont think it will be him
McCann confirmed: “There was interest from Sunderland in Glen.“I am delighted that he is still here because we didn’t want to lose him.
“There were admiring glances coming our way but I am so happy that he is here, although I’d prefer him to be on the pitch instead of injured!
“We may have to fend off some more interest in future but I have always been clear that I want to keep my best players if possible.”
Kamara has been to see a specialist regarding his ankle problem and McCann was happy with the outcome.
He said: “Glen will be missing again (against Aberdeen) because he got a wee bit of a setback in training.
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/dundee-fc/704228/dundee-fought-off-sunderland-interest-in-star-midfielder-glen-kamara/
11-08-2018, 10:08 AM
Well, if possible, I'd take Pogba, Hazard, Ronaldo, Mbappe or Messi instead if any of them were available! :greengrin
Have you seen Kamaras YouTube compilation though?
11-08-2018, 10:08 AM
Article today says Sunderland tried to sign Kamara , He's also injured so dont think it will be him
McCann confirmed: “There was interest from Sunderland in Glen.“I am delighted that he is still here because we didn’t want to lose him.
“There were admiring glances coming our way but I am so happy that he is here, although I’d prefer him to be on the pitch instead of injured!
“We may have to fend off some more interest in future but I have always been clear that I want to keep my best players if possible.”
Kamara has been to see a specialist regarding his ankle problem and McCann was happy with the outcome.
He said: “Glen will be missing again (against Aberdeen) because he got a wee bit of a setback in training.
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/dundee-fc/704228/dundee-fought-off-sunderland-interest-in-star-midfielder-glen-kamara/
English transfer window is now closed though , so kind of puts us in pole position if we want him
11-08-2018, 10:10 AM
It’s not a bad injury
11-08-2018, 10:12 AM
Have you seen Kamaras YouTube compilation though?
He's just what we need in our midfield :agree:
11-08-2018, 10:13 AM
It’s not a bad injury
Reading between the lines , could kamara be out because he is on his way out? 🤔
11-08-2018, 10:17 AM
Have said it for a while It's clear he isn't in Lennons plans so best for both parties that he moves on He can reserve t his career and we can bring in another midfielder who will be fighting for first team place
11-08-2018, 10:21 AM
Scott Allan is class but with the more forward minded midfielders we have, I don’t think we’ll sign him. We need a defensive midfielder who can link the defence and midfield. Get a player like this in and the squad is complete.
11-08-2018, 10:28 AM
If Kamara signs then that'll be us for the window surely? Unless we try and get Allan at the end of the month.
11-08-2018, 10:29 AM
So if we do bring in kamara , then we would have bartley , slivka , murray , mallan , hyndman , kamara as our central midfielders ... assuming martin and swanson do leave .. Thats a good squad of midfielders. We then have Boyle Agyepong and Horgan out wide. Its up front I still think we are one short with McLaren Kamberi and Shaw
Ralphy C
11-08-2018, 10:34 AM
Starts today for Celtc
11-08-2018, 10:34 AM
Scott Allan is class but with the more forward minded midfielders we have, I don’t think we’ll sign him. We need a defensive midfielder who can link the defence and midfield. Get a player like this in and the squad is complete.
I have been thinking this too for a while, we've more than enough forward thinking midfielders at the club, and priority must be a more defensive one first.
Dont get me wrong, i'd love him back, but i think this may not be until January, but this club keep surprising me these days, and we could get him plus a more defensive midfielder, a defender and another centre forward. :greengrin
madhibee_again
11-08-2018, 10:37 AM
Robbie Keane? Free agent and Lennon managed him at Celtic.
We can dream.
So if we do bring in kamara , then we would have bartley , slivka , murray , mallan , hyndman , kamara as our central midfielders ... assuming martin and swanson do leave .. Thats a good squad of midfielders. We then have Boyle Agyepong and Horgan out wide. Its up front I still think we are one short with McLaren Kamberi and Shaw
Any striker we sign is only going to be a back-up to replace Murray. Lewis Allan is in the squad while Boyle has already shown he can be an effective striker alongside Kamberi when needed
11-08-2018, 10:41 AM
I wonder if the people that reckon Marv is immobile actually watch the games :confused:The fact we've kept 2 clean sheets is no.coincidence since Marv returned...but it does affect us going forward ...it's a bit of a conundrum but there are games like Thurs where he will be vital
11-08-2018, 10:41 AM
Were certainly putting a good team together :thumbsup:
The fans are turning up in numbers, its great to see.
11-08-2018, 10:43 AM
There’s a rumour of Kamara being that player for cash plus Scott Martin.Would be a good deal for both clubs imo
The fact we've kept 2 clean sheets is no.coincidence since Marv returned...but it does affect us going forward ...it's a bit of a conundrum but there are games like Thurs where he will be vital
He is actively making more of an effort to push up in the last couple of games I've seen.
At one point on Thursday he was carrying the bacll up the left wing ahead of Lewis and seemed to stop and think "WTF am I doing here" before trying to pass it :hilarious
11-08-2018, 10:47 AM
He is actively making more of an effort to push up in the last couple of games I've seen.
At one point on Thursday he was carrying the bacll up the left wing ahead of Lewis and seemed to stop and think "WTF am I doing here" before trying to pass it :hilariousIt is funny watching him move forward..he looks like a rabbit caught in the headlights when he nears the opposition 18 yard line [emoji85][emoji23]
Hopefully the reserve league will help the young players with making the step up to the first team.
Dancehibs
11-08-2018, 10:48 AM
what a load of crap
In your opinion. My opinion he can’t move. And his stats back that up. Very limited footballer. Doesn’t want to take ball of defenders or take it in tight areas
11-08-2018, 10:50 AM
In your opinion. My opinion he can’t move. And his stats back that up. Very limited footballer. Doesn’t want to take ball of defenders or take it in tight areas
Back it up with some stats then ?
11-08-2018, 10:57 AM
Absolute pish.
FifeHibs
11-08-2018, 10:57 AM
It is funny watching him move forward..he looks like a rabbit caught in the headlights when he nears the opposition 18 yard line [emoji85][emoji23]
Imagine the initial shock then epic scenes if Marv put one in the top corner from 30 yards.
Sioux
11-08-2018, 11:00 AM
Show the stats that prove he can't move.
I've watched him a lot, and he can move.
PS
If I'm watching a player, I don't need to look at apps on my phone to decide if a player is good, bad or indifferent. I'll form an opinion based on what he can do, or not do. Stats are for the hard of thinking. Or, in football terms, a tool used by people pretending they know things, and been places.
11-08-2018, 11:00 AM
what stats? you are talking rubbish
Hibeewilly
11-08-2018, 11:06 AM
Mulumba or Kamara plus Allan and we'd be in pretty good order. A dominant centre half and a good target man would be icing on the cake. Two or three will be leaving though.
11-08-2018, 11:13 AM
I understand what you are trying to say here, i don't like him receiving the ball with his back to goal deep in our half.
I think he's quickly shut down, and does not move the ball on quickly enough AT TIMES.
Facing the ball and closing down, tackling and winning us the ball, he very good at, he does a great job protecting the defence.
He's a good member of the squad, would i like someone better, of course i would, just as i'd like that for every player we have.
11-08-2018, 11:14 AM
Mulumba or Kamara plus Allan and we'd be in pretty good order. A dominant centre half and a good target man would be icing on the cake. Two or three will be leaving though.
I’d like to see us get an absolute giant of a striker to allow us to mix it up a bit.
11-08-2018, 11:17 AM
Imagine the initial shock then epic scenes if Marv put one in the top corner from 30 yards.
I would absolutely love that.
Unfortunately he seems allergic to taking a shot.
He’s also not much cop at CB.
But if you need a midfield destroyer, Marv is your man. Molde and Motherwell both struggled to get past him.
11-08-2018, 11:21 AM
I would absolutely love that.
Unfortunately he seems allergic to taking a shot.
He’s also not much cop at CB.
But if you need a midfield destroyer, Marv is your man. Molde and Motherwell both struggled to get past him.
Has he ever played at CB?
11-08-2018, 11:22 AM
If that were to happen, hand the league over NOW :greengrin
Dancehibs
I understand what you are trying to say here, i don't like him receiving the ball with his back to goal deep in our half.
I think he's quickly shut down, and does not move the ball on quickly enough AT TIMES.
Facing the ball and closing down, tackling and winning us the ball, he very good at, he does a great job protecting the defence.
He's a good member of the squad, would i like someone better, of course i would, just as i'd like that for every player we have.
A fair assessment. Now we are pushing at top end of league. We need a better player. I’m confident Lenny will deliver that. Even if takes until end of window
Think he did a couple seasons back agains Ayr or something after one of our CB's went off injured.
I still have nightmares about it.
Keyser Sauzee
11-08-2018, 11:23 AM
Filled in there against Dunfermline at ER towards the end of the championship winning season and tbf he looked lost there, not a dig as it’s not his position but I wouldn’t want him there again.
11-08-2018, 11:23 AM
Think he did a couple seasons back agains Ayr or something after one of our CB's went off injured.
I still have nightmares about it.
Lol. I must have erased that from my memory (prob for good reason)
11-08-2018, 11:24 AM
Has he ever played at CB?Yup against Dunfermline a few years back in championship was a disaster
11-08-2018, 11:26 AM
Yep it was Dunfermline, not Ayr.
Match report: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/39012388
11-08-2018, 11:31 AM
Bartley is our best ball winning midfielder by a mile. He puts in a lot of running so saying he can’t move around much is a bit unfair. However, I do agree he is a player that struggles to see out 90mins, he tires badly in the last 20mins especially. I remember more than once we’ve attempted to counter attack, lost the ball and Bartley was our deepest player as he was clearly hoping to catch his breath.
Bartley is still a good shout in most games where we need a bit of muscle. Great player to have around the club.
I’d imagine Swanson, Martin will be heading out the door permanently. Murray will likely head out on loan as well. Only way I’d let Bartley leave is if we get both Mulumbu and Kamara. Otherwise he stays!
joe_hfc
11-08-2018, 11:33 AM
So our midfielders are Horgan, Hyndman, Mallan, Swanson, Boyle, Slivka and Bartley. Either Bartley will play a big part this season, we’ll sign another DM, or we’re doing the Kevan Keegan tactic of attack is the best form of defence. Bartley’s cover, Whittaker, is cover for this role and all the back 4 too so I think we’re light anyway... hopefully another
DM to come in as cover or 1st choice. Mulumbu would be perfect imo. Don’t think there’s space for Allan anymore - maybe in Jan once Hyndman goes back down south
11-08-2018, 11:38 AM
As an aside, of our summer signings:
Kamberi - U21 international
Bogdan - Full International
Mallan - U21 International
Gash - Full International
Ageypong - Full International
Hyndman - Full International
Horgan - Full International
When’s the last time our summer signings had that much cumulative pedigree?
11-08-2018, 11:48 AM
When’s the last time our summer signings had that much cumulative pedigree?That's very very impressive tbh...and we ain't done yet
11-08-2018, 11:51 AM
Took me a worryingly long time to figure out Gash was Jamie Maclaren
Where does that nick name come from?
11-08-2018, 11:52 AM
Took me a worryingly long time to figure out Gash was Jamie Maclaren
Where does that nick name come from?
My general opinion of him as a footballer.
11-08-2018, 11:52 AM
Shots fired
Tug Wilson
11-08-2018, 11:58 AM
Kamara is a full Finnish international so fits the bill
11-08-2018, 11:59 AM
Would expect to read this pish about one of our players on Kickback.
Bartley is our best ball winning midfielder by a mile. He puts in a lot of running so saying he can’t move around much is a bit unfair. However, I do agree he is a player that struggles to see out 90mins, he tires badly in the last 20mins especially. I remember more than once we’ve attempted to counter attack, lost the ball and Bartley was our deepest player as he was clearly hoping to catch his breath.
Bartley is still a good shout in most games where we need a bit of muscle. Great player to have around the club.
I’d imagine Swanson, Martin will be heading out the door permanently. Murray will likely head out on loan as well. Only way I’d let Bartley leave is if we get both Mulumbu and Kamara. Otherwise he stays!
Big Marv does the dirty work in the team, he's not built for stamina but for power, not the most skilful player ever to grace Easter Rd but he does the enforcer job better than anyone else here. There was a moment on thursday when he went down the wing on the left and you could literally see his brain explode trying to figure out what to do next, he then managed to stumble over the ball and ended up on his erse. :greengrin Do we need better? Yes but we also look for better in every position, it's what you do when the team improves and you look to challenge for trophies and leagues.
Jim Herriot
11-08-2018, 12:08 PM
Hibs.net can confirm that Bleed Green has returned to hmfckickback.co.uk upon the expiration of his loan period.
During his week of posting, Bleed came out with a few random guesses, some of which turned out to have a very slight correlation with the truth. His keen interest in the affairs of Hibernian FC was a talking point.
Everyone at hibs.net would like to thank Bleed for his contributions and wish him all the best in his future yamfuddery.
11-08-2018, 12:09 PM
Hibs.net can confirm that Bleed Green has returned to hmfckickback.co.uk upon the expiration of his loan period.
During his week of posting, Bleed came out with a few random guesses, some of which turned out to have a very slight correlation with the truth. His keen interest in the affairs of Hibernian FC was a talking point.
Everyone at hibs.net would like to thank Bleed for his contributions and wish him all the best in his future yamfuddery.
Until his return in January....
Opinions eh! :rolleyes::confused:
11-08-2018, 12:12 PM
Does it make you feel good when someone bites and asks?
The only thing gash about McLaren is your attention seeking drivel.
11-08-2018, 12:14 PM
Until his return in January....
I didn't mind him at all and look forward to his return however, I'll won't be so tempted by his fly next time. :greengrin
11-08-2018, 12:15 PM
Would expect to read this pish about one of our players on Kickback.
Go have a look then.
11-08-2018, 12:17 PM
The only thing gash about McLaren is your attention seeking drivel.
Is it allowed on your rules for opinions about players to be other than positive? Or is it propaganda only?
11-08-2018, 12:21 PM
Is it allowed on your rules for opinions about players to be other than positive? Or is it propaganda only?
I think being critical of our players is fine, if you must. Using pejorative terms about a Hibs player in an attempt to troll is honking patter imho.
11-08-2018, 12:22 PM
Not trolling. He’s crap.
Didn’t require anyone to ask about the name.
11-08-2018, 12:24 PM
Not trolling. He’s crap.
It’s trivial to deduce when you’re listing our summer signings. And it’s not the first time there has been a discussion around your use of the term for MacLaren.
Not trolling. He’s crap.
Ltyf
The only thing gash about McLaren is your attention seeking drivel.100% [emoji122][emoji122]
11-08-2018, 12:25 PM
It’s trivial to deduce when you’re listing our summer signings. And it’s not the first time there has been a discussion around your use of the term for MacLaren.
Nor will it be the last.
Meanwhile, Hyndman’s a player.
Tug Wilson
11-08-2018, 12:25 PM
Big Marv does the dirty work in the team, he's not built for stamina but for power, not the most skilful player ever to grace Easter Rd but he does the enforcer job better than anyone else here. There was a moment on thursday when he went down the wing on the left and you could literally see his brain explode trying to figure out what to do next, he then managed to stumble over the ball and ended up on his erse. :greengrin Do we need better? Yes but we also look for better in every position, it's what you do when the team improves and you look to challenge for trophies and leagues.
Edit. I agree with you. Just in case my post came over as a criticism. Of some but not you.
I remember watching Marv's first game. I was immediately struck by his work rate, ability to win the ball and good pace over the ground. Really good defensive midfielder.
Many on here said that he was not always needed against a lot of the Championship teams but would be invaluable in the Premier.
Now we have many saying that we need better than Marv to get to the next level.
Whilst I probably agree with that to an extent, Marv hasn't changed, the club's requirements have. Marv has always been a hard working committed player who has given everything he has whilst playing for Hibs. The fact that his efforts have helped Hibs to get amongst the top teams in Scotland should never be forgotten.
For people on here to have a go at him for being a limited footballer is completely out of order and, as mentioned previously, too much like the Yams who are so ready to take their players from hero to zero at the drop of a hat (see when Lafferty was potentially off to the Huns). Marv does not make out that he is Messi or Ronaldo but he has and continues to be a great servant to Hibernian Football Club.
11-08-2018, 12:27 PM
I remember watching Marv's first game. I was immediately struck by his work rate, ability to win the ball and good pace over the ground. Really good defensive midfielder.
Many on here said that he was not always needed against a lot of the Championship teams but would be invaluable in the Premier.
Now we have many saying that we need better than Marv to get to the next level.
Whilst I probably agree with that to an extent, Marv hasn't changed, the club's requirements have. Marv has always been a hard working committed player who has given everything he has whilst playing for Hibs. The fact that his efforts have helped Hibs to get amongst the top teams in Scotland should never be forgotten.
For people on here to have a go at him for being a limited footballer is completely out of order and, as mentioned previously, too much like the Yams who are so ready to take their players from hero to zero at the drop of a hat (see when Lafferty was potentially off to the Huns). Marv does not make out that he is Messi or Ronaldo but he has and continues to be a great servant to Hibernian Football Club.
2 games back in the team and 2 clean sheets. Marv has his limitations, but when you want to keep a game tight and limit the number of chances against good opposition he's fantastic.
Not trolling. He’s crap.
Rowan Vine was crap, Jamie is a decent striker with a very good scoring record, thank **** you're not our manager. They say you gain Knowledge with age, maybe not in your case eh!
11-08-2018, 12:30 PM
Rowan Vine was crap, Jamie is a decent striker with a very good scoring record, thank **** you're not our manager. They say you gain Knowledge with age, maybe not in your case eh!
No Vine was an imposter.
11-08-2018, 12:34 PM
Not trolling. He’s crap.
8 goals in 16 appearances for Hibs is far from being “crap”.
11-08-2018, 12:35 PM
2 games back in the team and 2 clean sheets. Marv has his limitations, but when you want to keep a game tight and limit the number of chances against good opposition he's fantastic.Think you're forgetting Motherwell could've had 3 last week. Not that it was anything to do with Bartley but the game wasn't tight just because the post kept them out twice and they got a goal chalked off (wrongly) for handball.
11-08-2018, 12:36 PM
8 goals in 16 appearances for Hibs is far from being “crap”.
Exactly. We’ve had some crap players in our time. Jamie MacLaren isn’t one of them.
11-08-2018, 01:02 PM
If we ignore everything Maclaren can do and only focus on what he can't do, then he is clearly gash.
If we pay attention to what he can do, then he's in our starting eleven most weeks and there are other players doing what he doesn't.
11-08-2018, 01:18 PM
I wonder if the people that reckon Marv is immobile actually watch the games :confused:
Does Immobile not play in Serie A?
Lemonade
11-08-2018, 01:28 PM
Not trolling. He’s crap.
I'm sure you'll get the attention you so clearly desire .
11-08-2018, 01:29 PM
I'm sure you'll get the attention you so clearly desire .
Not sure you’ll shut up but there’s always hope eh?
11-08-2018, 01:32 PM
Not sure you’ll shut up but there’s always hope eh?
if you think maclaren is not a decent signing then you are clearly at it
11-08-2018, 01:34 PM
if you think maclaren is not a decent signing then you are clearly at it
Because we’re only allowed to think one way or because we’ve forgotten how often we were accusing him of having contributed nothing in many matchday threads last year?