View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread
31-07-2018, 09:16 PM
I don’t want to get excited....
Come fez up stu WTF happening
has he always had a private account or is that just recent?
His account says he joined in January 2014
hibee1875
31-07-2018, 09:19 PM
His account says he joined in January 2014
I mean you can only see his tweets if you follow him. I don't so can't see his tweets but i'm sure i've seen them in the past.
Just follow him then. it's not one you need to get added 1st.
hibee1875
31-07-2018, 09:23 PM
Just follow him then. it's not one you need to get added 1st.
No you can't. That's what I mean/why I'm asking. His account is now private and he has to accept your request.
31-07-2018, 09:25 PM
I don’t want to get excited....
Get excited.
Nevi_SOL
31-07-2018, 09:27 PM
**** it. I’m excited 😆
31-07-2018, 09:28 PM
https://media.tenor.com/images/38aeadabe608f318eb90e5522167fe57/tenor.gif
BegbieHSC
31-07-2018, 09:34 PM
:hyper:hyper
31-07-2018, 09:36 PM
Maclaren and Agyepong tomorrow then?
Clarence
31-07-2018, 09:39 PM
Could it be the return of Skippy and The Yodeller????
bodhibs
31-07-2018, 09:39 PM
Oh my, please let this happen 😁
31-07-2018, 09:42 PM
Maclaren and Agyepong tomorrow then?
With Allan, Hiwula, Barker & Mulumbu to follow 😁
Yeah probably being a little greedy and living in fantasy land! 😉
No you can't. That's what I mean/why I'm asking. His account is now private and he has to accept your request.
Must've recently changed it then as I just followed him no bother at all.
31-07-2018, 09:43 PM
🙏
guthrie01
31-07-2018, 09:47 PM
🍆
hibee1875
31-07-2018, 09:49 PM
Must've recently changed it then as I just followed him no bother at all.
Which suggests either his phone is blowing up with all his mentions and he can’t be arsed with it. Or someone has told him to keep things quiet/private for the time being.
31-07-2018, 09:55 PM
Which suggests either his phone is blowing up with all his mentions and he can’t be arsed with it. Or someone has told him to keep things quiet/private for the time being.
Hopefully the latter
bodhibs
31-07-2018, 09:59 PM
🍆
Lol, this
Bleed green
31-07-2018, 10:04 PM
More move on the McGinn to Everton deal, which is looking like why we are going ahead with Maclaren. Jamie always been a target for hibs however was only going to happen when McGinn went. Hibs frustrated with Celtic and looking like Allan deal is off as well! Only reporting what I have heard
Bleed green
31-07-2018, 10:05 PM
Apologies, Celtic frustrated with Hibs
Nevi_SOL
31-07-2018, 10:07 PM
Aww wee shame for Celtic eh. At least yous will be able to “just sign him on a free contract in January”
BegbieHSC
31-07-2018, 10:07 PM
More move on the McGinn to Everton deal, which is looking like why we are going ahead with Maclaren. Jamie always been a target for hibs however was only going to happen when McGinn went. Hibs frustrated with Celtic and looking like Allan deal is off as well! Only reporting what I have heard
Always suspected if we didn’t sell McGinn to them they’d take the hump, and **** Allan and us over.
Petty *******s.
31-07-2018, 10:10 PM
Always suspected if we didn’t sell McGinn to them they’d take the hump, and **** Allan and us over.
Petty *******s.If true is up to Allan now then...he can #handitin OR sit tight and join us on a pre-contract in Jan.
Ps I really hope SJM does go south - Everton would be a great move for him
bodhibs
31-07-2018, 10:18 PM
Apologies, Celtic frustrated with Hibs
*😥 Since 1888, dwiyc.
The Leith Dutch
31-07-2018, 10:37 PM
Petty *******s.
Don't like the ****ers but there's no evidence of this and I strongly suspect that's because it's not the emotional stuff fans get involved in.....it's just business.
We should sell McGinn for the best deal. They should sell Allan for the best deal.
Allan will still be available to us just like McGinn (as it stands) is available to them.
Just maybe not for the prices either club would like.
I would still think it's highly possible McGinn will wind up at Celtic with Allan coming the other way.
Main question is if it doesn't - what's Allan worth to us?
If McGinn does go to Everton then even if Celtic charge a rip off price I'd be tempted to buy Allan anyway.
Simple fact is he opens up defenses which is something we missed for years.
31-07-2018, 10:55 PM
Pre contract in Jan.
Same argument there making for Mcginn- altho Allan would be less in demand i imagine
If we get £3m+ for McGinn it will prove we were right to hold out for a fair price for him whereas Celtic over valuing Scotty would be done out of spite and holding back a player they have no intention of playing. Just like they did with Hendo for a year and a half.
01-08-2018, 01:05 AM
Everton would be a tremendous move for him, I’m surprised they’re interested in him tbh.
Is it still 3 million plus the loanee?
DetroitHibs
01-08-2018, 01:52 AM
Hibs specs off for a second. If McGinn is worth 3 million with 12 months left, then Allan is worth 1 million IMO. If we can get him for £500,000 then it's a steal.
01-08-2018, 04:26 AM
So what's the latest?
Agyepong - has this been confirmed yet?
Maclaren - how likely is it that he'll come to Hibs?
McGinn - where has the Everton chat come from?
Anyone else?
MagicSwirlingShip
01-08-2018, 05:19 AM
So what's the latest?
Agyepong - has this been confirmed yet?
Maclaren - how likely is it that he'll come to Hibs?
McGinn - where has the Everton chat come from?
Anyone else?
Agyepong - awaiting work permit, medical complete
Maclaren - another year loan seems likely going by chat on here
Mcginn - new ITK poster claims its a decent source, time will tell.
01-08-2018, 05:33 AM
Hibs specs off for a second. If McGinn is worth 3 million with 12 months left, then Allan is worth 1 million IMO. If we can get him for £500,000 then it's a steal.
Can't see why anyone would pay Celtic more for Allan than they paid us.
01-08-2018, 05:40 AM
Anyone know if the Jamie Mac rumour is loan or perm?
DetroitHibs
01-08-2018, 05:52 AM
Same reason Celtic aren't paying us what we paid St Mirren. Think he's a bargain at £500,000
Rumble de Thump
01-08-2018, 06:12 AM
McGinn is one of our best players who we would quite happily keep for another season. Celtic want Allan off their books as they don't want to be paying his wage.
01-08-2018, 06:12 AM
Agyepong - awaiting work permit, medical complete
Maclaren - another year loan seems likely going by chat on here
Mcginn - new ITK poster claims its a decent source, time will tell.
Thanks - I'm not going to get too excited about it until it's confirmed by Hibs. This transfer window has been full of twists and turns. Even with the Kamberi deal, the press were trying to convince us that he was off to Sunderland in the days before Hibs finally confirmed it.
01-08-2018, 06:30 AM
Same reason Celtic aren't paying us what we paid St Mirren. Think he's a bargain at £500,000
He's out of favour at Celtic. McGinn is our best player and a Scotland international.
hibbymark
01-08-2018, 06:35 AM
SJMs value has increased because he has improved greatly as player,won the Scottish Cup,has been capped regularly by Scotland and may still get a move to the English Premiership. Alan has started less games than jambos fans have toes and hasn’t done anything at Celtic to suggest that he is worth more now than what Celtic paid us .
01-08-2018, 06:43 AM
SJMs value has increased because he has improved greatly as player,won the Scottish Cup,has been capped regularly by Scotland and may still get a move to the English Premiership. Alan has started less games that jambos fans have toes and hasn’t done anything at Celtic to suggest that he is worth more now than what Celtic paid us .
Allan is a round peg in the square holes of Celtic and other teams. It just so happens that Hibs have a perfectl fit in a round hole waiting for him and Celtic are cashing in on that fact.
DetroitHibs
01-08-2018, 06:43 AM
SJMs value has increased because he has improved greatly as player,won the Scottish Cup,has been capped regularly by Scotland and may still get a move to the English Premiership. Alan has started less games that jambos fans have toes and hasn’t done anything at Celtic to suggest that he is worth more now than what Celtic paid us .
Lets not kid ourselves. We all know the quality that Allan brings to the team and the huge impact he had when coming on loan last season. Put it this way. If we owned him and he had 12 months left on his contract, we'd be wanting 1 million minimum based on his performances. If the smellies want £500,000 pay it and get him here on a 3 year deal. Even if he leaves us for nothing, it's a great bit of business for a quality player.
The Leith Dutch
01-08-2018, 06:46 AM
Scott Allan's worth on the open market versus his worth for us is pretty different.
On the open market he's a player who hasn't played much, is nearing the end of his contract and is a big risk as his form everywhere other than Hibs isn't stellar.
To Hibs he was probably our key player last year and addresses the single biggest issue that has plagued us for years - dominating games without putting the opposition away. Previous experience suggests that it's a minimal risk signing as the Scott Allan we've always had has been an absolutely excellent attacking midfielder.
Not that I want to pay that much but I'd argue that to Hibs he's a million pound player purely on the grounds that if we spent a million on an attacking midfielder and he played the way Scott Allan does for us I'd be ****ing delighted.
01-08-2018, 06:57 AM
Surely nobody believes that Everton are in for McGinn? And they’ll give us Dowell on loan - a player who’s probably already worth £5m+.
Not gonna happen
Tha Cabbage Kid
01-08-2018, 06:59 AM
like i said before Scotty Allan doesnt have international recognition so cant be valued at a stupid high price. but if we had to pay 500,000 we absolutely should pay this.
Tha Cabbage Kid
01-08-2018, 07:04 AM
Surely nobody believes that Everton are in for McGinn? And they’ll give us Dowell on loan - a player who’s probably already worth £5m+.
Not gonna happen
in all fairness i dont want John to go to everton. i want him to go somewhere where he will get a lot of game time! At Everton he will struggle to get a game. he would be better getting into the championship where he will take the league by the balls and there earn his 'respected' move to the EPL
dont want him to end up like Scotty Allan is just now. great player sitting waisting away on the bench.
01-08-2018, 07:22 AM
Like a few others have said, for me also Scott Allan is absolutely the key number 1 signing ive been holding out for. The boy proved again what a brilliant talent he is and his eye for finding the killer pass is priceless.
01-08-2018, 07:24 AM
in all fairness i dont want John to go to everton. i want him to go somewhere where he will get a lot of game time! At Everton he will struggle to get a game. he would be better getting into the championship where he will take the league by the balls and there earn his 'respected' move to the EPL
dont want him to end up like Scotty Allan is just now. great player sitting waisting away on the bench.
He may start on the bench however I reckon he’d make Everton’s first team within a couple of months.
01-08-2018, 07:44 AM
Not gonna happen
Plus Some on here and in the Media keep telling us McGinn only wants to play for Celtic and he will be patient and wait and sign a Pre Contract in January before walking on Hot Coals along the M 8 to play for the Team he was born to play for
RobR27
01-08-2018, 07:44 AM
An Everton move is actually a much better one for us in terms of potential fees. If it works out well he could end up being sold for 30 Million one day and we’d double our income if there was a 10% sell on. Plus there’s always a slim chance he becomes very good and goes for 50+.
Sure there’s talk about 25m for Tierney, but a move to Celtic is far more likely to be either him there for his career (Scott Brown) or the circa 10m move to a Southampton and then on to a big one after that (Wanyama, Van Dijk, Armstrong?).
Not saying he will become a 50m player at Everton, but Celtic is a platform to go to a club like Everton these days, if we can skip that step we have a chance of benefitting from the sell on fees that Celtic have had.
So 3m plus a 10% sell-on is worth a lot more from Everton than Celtic.
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 07:46 AM
He may start on the bench however I reckon he’d make Everton’s first team within a couple of months.Nixon is consistent in saying John won't be going down south.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180801/a515e7d0cb55d1be644d8406146810a4.jpg
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
01-08-2018, 07:57 AM
Lets not kid ourselves. We all know the quality that Allan brings to the team and the huge impact he had when coming on loan last season. Put it this way. If we owned him and he had 12 months left on his contract, we'd be wanting 1 million minimum based on his performances. If the smellies want £500,000 pay it and get him here on a 3 year deal. Even if he leaves us for nothing, it's a great bit of business for a quality player.
It's not really. There is no other interest in Allan. He's flopped WBA and in the Championship, flopped at Celtic and was bang average at Dundee. He'd be lucky to play 20 mins in the league for Celtic.
Celtic will be desperate to get shot of him and get his salary off the wage bill.
01-08-2018, 07:59 AM
He's no going to Everton
01-08-2018, 08:04 AM
He's no going to Everton
Correct , i heard from a reliable source that Pep see's him as the natural successor to De Bruyne so Everton have given up the chase .
01-08-2018, 08:07 AM
Correct , i heard from a reliable source that Pep see's him as the natural successor to De Bruyne so Everton have given up the chase .
Aye but that was scuppered as he told Pep he only wants to play for Celtic
01-08-2018, 08:09 AM
Agree. If we owned Scott Allan and he had a year left on his deal I'd be looking for way more than £1m. He's a £2-3m player in a Hibs strip and every bit as good as McGinn IMO. While we obviously want to get him for as little as possible, if Celtic want £500k then I'd give them it/shave £500k off McGinns value if he ends up going there. I'd be more than confident he'd repay that and then some.
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 08:21 AM
That's the point though they won't pay John's valuation.
3million and allan or beat it taking the piss
lochhibs
01-08-2018, 08:23 AM
I think we need to take into account how much Allan is reportedly paid by Celtic compared to what we could pay. Imo our best chance of getting him would be another loan but not convinced they’d play ball seeing as we’ve not rolled over and took the pittance they’ve offered for McGinn.
01-08-2018, 08:31 AM
I think we need to take into account how much Allan is reportedly paid by Celtic compared to what we could pay. Imo our best chance of getting him would be another loan but not convinced they’d play ball seeing as we’ve not rolled over and took the pittance they’ve offered for McGinn.
Or he may get paid off from Celtic and then may sign for us? Then wages wouldn’t be as big an issue.
Keyser Sauzee
01-08-2018, 08:35 AM
Does any1 else think that if true and we do get offers of what we’re looking for from down south that Celtic will come back in for him making the Allan deal more of a possibility? Can’t see Celtic not coming back in for him if I’m honest.
01-08-2018, 08:37 AM
Absolutely. If we could pay him what he's on at Celtic, he'd already be here.
01-08-2018, 08:41 AM
Can't see other teams taking a punt on Allan. He fits with us. Quite happy to see Celtc pay him and Christie big wages and the only potential injury is erse skelfs. I would rather keep SJM for the season and let him walk. His input could end up being worth more than a token gesture payment from Celtc. I would just ask him not to sign a pre in January.
lochhibs
01-08-2018, 08:53 AM
Or he may get paid off from Celtic and then may sign for us? Then wages wouldn’t be as big an issue.
Totally possible but I personally don’t see it. He’s reportedly on £8k a week. I don’t see us offering more than £4k a week. So Celtic pay up the final year and he signs a 3 year deal on half of what he’s on now? More likely we get a year loan, we pay half his wages and he sees what he can get next year as a free agent.
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 09:01 AM
Does any1 else think that if true and we do get offers of what we’re looking for from down south that Celtic will come back in for him making the Allan deal more of a possibility? Can’t see Celtic not coming back in for him if I’m honest.No because the agent has spread the word that he will be going to celtic . So no bids have followed .
01-08-2018, 09:04 AM
Totally possible but I personally don’t see it. He’s reportedly on £8k a week. I don’t see us offering more than £4k a week. So Celtic pay up the final year and he signs a 3 year deal on half of what he’s on now? More likely we get a year loan, we pay half his wages and he sees what he can get next year as a free agent.
I totally agree but the problem with the year long loan is essentially Hibs are putting him in the shopping window for a season
If he plays like we all know he can, we wouldn't be able to offer him what other clubs can in wages
I'd like to think he's learned his lesson after moving from club to club, hibs and Allan are the perfect fit.
He's worth giving Celtic the money they want and getting him for 3-4 years
Juniper Greens
01-08-2018, 09:10 AM
A problem with a year loan is that rules out getting Christie, Hayes, Johnson etc, as only one player is allowed to come on loan.
01-08-2018, 09:14 AM
Does any1 else think that if true and we do get offers of what we’re looking for from down south that Celtic will come back in for him making the Allan deal more of a possibility? Can’t see Celtic not coming back in for him if I’m honest.
McGinn won't go for any more than Celtic could afford, so if someone like Everton, Villa or similar came in at 3 or 4 million they'd match the offer, then the ball is in John's court. Suites from down south will only increase his value to Celtic as they'll know they've a player they can potentially sell on at a profit to Southampton (or maybe someone else) in a few years time.
01-08-2018, 09:14 AM
Much prefer the first rumour I heard about 4 weeks ago from a very good source 2.5m plus Scott Allan plus Leigh Griffiths 12 month loan :thumbsup:
Rumble de Thump
01-08-2018, 09:15 AM
No because the agent has spread the word that he will be going to celtic . So no bids have followed .
Football agents are notorious for trying to get the least amount of money possible for themselves and their clients :greengrin
01-08-2018, 09:16 AM
A problem with a year loan is that rules out getting Christie, Hayes, Johnson etc, as only one player is allowed to come on loan.
We had Henderson and Stokes on loan at the same time? Unless it's a new rule I don't think it's a simple as that.
I know there was the whole Bain/Allan/Murray saga but I don't think that was anything to do with 2 players being loaned from one club to another?
Could be wrong though!
01-08-2018, 09:20 AM
We had Henderson and Stokes on loan at the same time? Unless it's a new rule I don't think it's a simple as that.
I know there was the whole Bain/Allan/Murray saga but I don't think that was anything to do with 2 players being loaned from one club to another?
Could be wrong though!
The above rule applies when the clubs are in the same division I think.
lochhibs
01-08-2018, 09:23 AM
I totally agree but the problem with the year long loan is essentially Hibs are putting him in the shopping window for a season
If he plays like we all know he can, we wouldn't be able to offer him what other clubs can in wages
I'd like to think he's learned his lesson after moving from club to club, hibs and Allan are the perfect fit.
He's worth giving Celtic the money they want and getting him for 3-4 years
I’d like nothing more than to have him on a permanent deal but would be surprised if it happened. Let’s not kid ourselves on, cash is king for Allan as he’s shown in the past and us getting him on about half of what he’s on just now doesn’t seem likely to me.
01-08-2018, 09:24 AM
Much prefer the first rumour I heard about 4 weeks ago from a very good source 2.5m plus Scott Allan plus Leigh Griffiths 12 month loan :thumbsup:
Now that would be stunning!
Could be wrong though!
SPFL Clubs are only allowed to have one player on loan from another club within the same division.
We had Stokes & Henderson and Efe and Commons when we were in the championship so it was allowed.
01-08-2018, 09:46 AM
I’d like nothing more than to have him on a permanent deal but would be surprised if it happened. Let’s not kid ourselves on, cash is king for Allan as he’s shown in the past and us getting him on about half of what he’s on just now doesn’t seem likely to me.
I'm pretty sure money is not driving his desire to come back to hibs.
I have rarely seen a player throw himself into a loan spell and everything about the club the way Scott Allan did.
Juniper Greens
01-08-2018, 10:17 AM
SPFL Clubs are only allowed to have one player on loan from another club within the same division.
We had Stokes & Henderson and Efe and Commons when we were in the championship so it was allowed.
This is my understanding too...only from football manager though
Bleed green
01-08-2018, 10:18 AM
Hiwula and Agyepong- Announced Friday
Mginn to Everton on Monday/Tues with Defensive midfielder Alexander Denny coming on loan. Tried to get Dowell but loaning back out to championship side.
Maclaren looking to be announced on Mon/Tues aswell really depending on Mcginn deal as may want to announce after or before he goes.
Take of that what you will, im logging off and will come back on when announced, some people calling me a liar etc...
01-08-2018, 10:21 AM
Mginn to Everton on Monday/Tues with Defensive midfielder Alexander Denny coming on loan. Tried to get Dowell but loaning back out to championship side.
Maclaren looking to be announced on Mon/Tues aswell really depending on Mcginn deal as may want to announce after or before he goes.
Take of that what you will, im logging off and will come back on when announced, some people calling me a liar etc...
You believe Hibs are going to loan a defensive midfielder who just turned 18 a couple of months back?
01-08-2018, 10:22 AM
seems strange that not one journalist has mentioned mcginn going to everton if true
Gordy M
01-08-2018, 10:24 AM
You believe Hibs are going to loan a defensive midfielder who just turned 18 a couple of months back?
Rangers tried to sign him a month ago but he wanted to stay at Everton.
BegbieHSC
01-08-2018, 10:28 AM
Alexander Denny? From what I can tell, he has played exactly 2 minutes of first team football...
01-08-2018, 10:31 AM
We'll award you marks out of 10, based on the player signing and accuracy of the announcement date. If you get a passing mark you can start posting again. :wink:
alihibs1
01-08-2018, 10:35 AM
Take of that what you will, im logging off and will come back on when announced, some people calling me a liar etc...I'll believe you just because you are being so bold.
Denny obviously a talent but lack of first team football concerns me.
Would still need another midfielder to replace Mcginn. Hiwula and Agyepong will be dangerous off the bench.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
01-08-2018, 10:44 AM
I believe that's what you've been told, but they are bold statements. If they don't come through then don't let it put you off posting, (though maybe just question your source a little harder :wink:)
If you're right it's a good deal for Hibs, yes the boy Denny is inexperienced but he could be a future star so if the coaching team liked what they saw I doubt age would put them off. Might even be a two year deal as opposed to one year to properly allow us to benefit from his development.
01-08-2018, 10:51 AM
Alex Denny is some size of lad for being 18!
Him coming to us on loan makes sense unlike like Dowell rumour. Doesn’t mean that he would be starting but sounds like he would be a good option to have plus we would have 3m to spend on others..
sean04
01-08-2018, 10:57 AM
Fair play to you mate, bold statement. We will know if mcginn is dropped for the Motherwell game. Imagine he would play tomoz night but won't be risked on Sunday in case an injury scuppers the deal
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 11:08 AM
Take of that what you will, im logging off and will come back on when announced, some people calling me a liar etc...I'm going to be equally bold and say none of the above will happen
Only for balance I've no idea but I would have thought Hibs would let it be known a team had met hibs valuation and they were allowing the player to speak to them .
01-08-2018, 11:09 AM
Do you have a source - not names of course but journo, club empmoyee, HITP etc
WestStandWillie
01-08-2018, 11:11 AM
That's some game of Fifa pal.
MacGruber
01-08-2018, 11:13 AM
Happy to be proven wrong but i think this is a wond up.
Agyepong and Hiwula in the MSM and a story about Everton to get Hibbies worked up.
If Everton were in it would be out there. We would want it out to see if Celtic/others come to the table.
Not falling for it.
01-08-2018, 11:18 AM
This guys taking you all for a ride. Dont get in the car.
Haven't seen anybody call you a liar yet B.G. I think with the general lack of movement by the club on the transfer front, everyone is just a bit sceptical these days. I think we all want to believe the ITKers but with so many rumours coming to nothing, we are at the stage of, believe it when it happens.
I wouldn't stop posting just because .netters are not jumping on a 100% true bandwagon, we've all been Hibbies too long to be doing that.
Desperate for rumours, then don't believe them :greengrin
01-08-2018, 11:22 AM
I'm going to be equally bold and say none of the above will happen
Only for balance I've no idea but I would have thought Hibs would let it be known a team had met hibs valuation and they were allowing the player to speak to them .
Maybe Hibs are doing their business quietly and keeping things quiet until after tomorrow’s match?
Bleed green
01-08-2018, 11:23 AM
Maybe Hibs are doing their business quietly and keeping things quiet until after tomorrow’s match?
;)
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 11:25 AM
Maybe Hibs are doing their business quietly and keeping things quiet until after tomorrow’s match?I hear you but I don't think so
01-08-2018, 11:29 AM
I hear you but I don't think so
Yep, nothing's happening behind the scenes. This is us for the season. We're scraping top 6...🙄
01-08-2018, 11:32 AM
It wouldn't be unknown for us to announce signings like this
sean04
01-08-2018, 11:38 AM
It wouldn't be unknown for us to announce signings like this
There has been hardly any news come out of Easter road this summer. All very hush hush. Think the luke berry deal went south because it was leaked
01-08-2018, 11:39 AM
This is my understanding too...only from football manager though
Ahhhh the whole championship thing.. that makes sense now :aok:
Apologies for the doubt.
ForeverHibs93
01-08-2018, 11:40 AM
Good on you for posting, pretty bold claims including the days it’ll happen. I’d be interested to hear thecat’s take on these.
I certainly believe the same as others do it’s what you’ve been told but at the end of the day if they don’t all come off I wouldn’t let it put you off posting. However, if none of them come off, then I’d probably hide for a while haha
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 11:50 AM
Yep, nothing's happening behind the scenes. This is us for the season. We're scraping top 6...[emoji849]Only commenting on the list nothing else ..I'm sure we are frantically trying to do lots of deals ...
Jamie mclaren and barker for instance..think TC mentioned them
If John does leaves we will need another 2 midfielders if he dosnt another 1
01-08-2018, 11:53 AM
Only commenting on the list nothing else ..I'm sure we are frantically trying to do lots of deals ...
Jamie mclaren and barker for instance..think TC mentioned them
If John does leaves we will need another 2 midfielders if he dosnt another 1
Would we go for both Barker and Agyepong?
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 12:03 PM
Would we go for both Barker and Agyepong?One or the other you would think. Seems to be taking a while to tie up paperwork for Aygepong maybe city have decided it would be better for barker to head back to hibs instead.
01-08-2018, 12:07 PM
One or the other you would think. Seems to be taking a while to tie up paperwork for Aygepong maybe city have decided it would be better for barker to head back to hibs instead.
Saw it mentioned elsewhere but Agyepong will need a work permit which could explain the hold up.
01-08-2018, 12:16 PM
Very bold statements you’ve made particularly even sharing the days when the respective deals should be completed. It just looks too good to be true but I hope your source is spot on with this info.
01-08-2018, 12:40 PM
If all those boxes get ticked next week, you'll soar up the ITK league.
If no boxes get ticked you'll need this ----> :tin hat:
Nothing against anyone posting what they've heard or been told, it's a rumours thread after all, take it as such, some come off and some don't.
Hibeewilly
01-08-2018, 12:44 PM
If all those boxes get ticked next week, you'll sore up the ITK league.
If no boxes get ticked you'll need this ----> :tin hat:
A big pal o mine has just texted to say McLaren has signed on a perm.......enjoy yourself over there big man!!😀
IncredibleHibee
01-08-2018, 12:46 PM
Even if none of the above turns out to be true I do love a hibs rumour!
01-08-2018, 12:49 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-face-competition-from-other-european-clubs-for-jamie-maclaren-1-4776813
01-08-2018, 12:52 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-face-competition-from-other-european-clubs-for-jamie-maclaren-1-4776813
The Dutch league is comparable to ours now - a few big names (Ajax/PSV/Feyenoord/AZ) and clubs our size or smaller. If we're competing with the latter then I suspect he'll come to us.
01-08-2018, 12:53 PM
The Dutch league is comparable to ours now - a few big names (Ajax/PSV/Feyenoord/AZ) and clubs our size or smaller. If we're competing with the latter then I suspect he'll come to us.
I agree. He's had a lucrative European team and hasn't enjoyed it. I think we'll get him.
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 12:55 PM
A big pal o mine has just texted to say McLaren has signed on a perm.......enjoy yourself over there big man!![emoji3]Signed where
I agree. He's had a lucrative European team and hasn't enjoyed it. I think we'll get him.
He's gone from an Aussie team straight to a German team and probably hasn't settled into the European style culture over there, Holland will be similar to Germany. Remember he spent 4 years at Blackburn as a youth also, he likes Edinburgh and has taken to the club and supporters, fingers crossed on this one.
Just spoke to a big Everton mate of mine and he's heard nothing down his way, didn't even know who McGinn was.
Hibeewilly
01-08-2018, 01:11 PM
Signed where
For the Hibees
CorrieHibs
01-08-2018, 01:12 PM
McGinn isn’t going to Everton. Someone is having you on.
Hibeewilly
01-08-2018, 01:13 PM
Even if none of the above turns out to be true I do love a hibs rumour!
Correct mate.....that's what this forum in all aboutó
01-08-2018, 01:13 PM
I thought it was nailed on he signed for Melbourne?
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 01:16 PM
For the Hibees[emoji122][emoji122]🖒🖒
Bleed green
01-08-2018, 01:17 PM
McGinn isn’t going to Everton. Someone is having you on.
I trust my source with this one, Alan Stubbs was a massive factor in this
As said upto anyone to believe this
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
01-08-2018, 01:17 PM
Nothing against anyone posting what they've heard or been told, it's a rumours thread after all, take it as such, some come off and some don't.
Exactly! People get far too worked-up about these things
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 01:18 PM
I thought it was nailed on he signed for Melbourne?No he hates it snakes and big hairy spiders and crocs and sharks much safer here .[emoji23][emoji23]
AugustaHibs
01-08-2018, 01:20 PM
Long shot but I could maybe see this happening. Along with being his ex manager he also has invested interest as his club will be looking for one to get the most cash
Greenworld
01-08-2018, 01:21 PM
As said upto anyone to believe thisIf it happens you will get full credit don't worry.
Thought you were signing out until it was done [emoji38][emoji38]
01-08-2018, 01:23 PM
Exactly! People get far too worked-up about these things
Exactly we are like a bunch of expectant parents or trying to conceive.
01-08-2018, 01:23 PM
Milkinho and I in Malaga just now, awaiting our next connecting flight to Athens. Buzzin.
01-08-2018, 01:28 PM
Milkinho and I in Malaga just now, awaiting our next connecting flight to Athens. Buzzin.
What's that got to do with transfers ?
01-08-2018, 01:29 PM
He's gone from an Aussie team straight to a German team and probably hasn't settled into the European style culture over there, Holland will be similar to Germany. Remember he spent 4 years at Blackburn as a youth also, he likes Edinburgh and has taken to the club and supporters, fingers crossed on this one.
Just spoke to a big Everton mate of mine and he's heard nothing down his way, didn't even know who McGinn was.
Weirdo.
01-08-2018, 01:30 PM
They're waiting for their transfer to Athens.
01-08-2018, 01:30 PM
Woosh????
01-08-2018, 01:31 PM
Weirdo.
I just don't think he understands
01-08-2018, 01:31 PM
They're waiting for their transfer to Athens.
Woosh????
Damn it was me trying to be the clever one thinking no one would cotton on to it :greengrin
01-08-2018, 01:32 PM
As said upto anyone to believe thisAppreciate your info mate thanks for sharing...regardless of whether it comes true or not
01-08-2018, 01:34 PM
Damn it was me trying to be the clever one thinking no one would cotton on to it :greengrin
So did you woosh or did I woosh? :greengrin
01-08-2018, 01:36 PM
So did you woosh or did I woosh? :greengrin
call it a draw :thumbsup::thumbsup:
Weirdo.
Woosh????
Haha :faf:
You may be surprised how little they know of Scottish football down there, I sent him a Youtube compilation of McGinn's best moments to enlighten him. 1st time he was up here we went to that the forgettable 5-1 loss at Hampden but he knows how much better we are now, just oblivious to the players up here.
01-08-2018, 02:11 PM
was talk earlier in thé summer of birmingham being the most cash-high bidders for sjm.
what many seem to overlook is some clubs in England (brum being one) had a transfer embargo placed on them til 1 aug (as punishment for previous misdemeanours).
for those clubs, the Window only opens tonight... (pending talks with the EPL )
Good on you mate, even if it doesn't happen it's much more fun than reading everyone else's guesses. You've brightened up the board, keep posting.
01-08-2018, 03:05 PM
Keep the fairytales coming:greengrin
01-08-2018, 03:07 PM
What a guy. Signing players for Hibs while managing St. Mirren.
londonhibby
01-08-2018, 03:08 PM
So now, according to a certain right-wing rag, ex-Jambo Pressley wants Maclaren for Pafos in Cyprus. Too many people's fingers getting in this pie. Wonder if that means we're getting somewhere with the transfer? :wink:
Austinho
01-08-2018, 03:12 PM
As said upto anyone to believe thisAgent Stubbs trying to make sure Hibs and St Mirren get their cut?
My old man
01-08-2018, 03:14 PM
What a guy. Signing players for Hibs while managing St. Mirren.
Now I’m not getting involved in the do/don’t believe the poster
But the St Mirren connection may be true
Everton buy Mcginn for more than Celtc are willing to pay
St Mirren make more money and stubbsy gets more transfer
kitty
So some logic there ????
01-08-2018, 03:15 PM
Seeing the amount of flak folk get for posting stuff they've heard, I'm quite glad I have f all to share.
01-08-2018, 03:17 PM
Seeing the amount of flak folk get for posting stuff they've heard, I'm quite glad I have f all to share.
Me as well mate.... :agree: That said, I think it's fair to say that some of the stuff posted stretches credulity at times.....
01-08-2018, 03:18 PM
Im not convinced, after 6700 posts you must have something???? Tell us!! :wink:
01-08-2018, 03:19 PM
So now, according to a certain right-wing rag, ex-Jambo Pressley wants Maclaren for Pafos in Cyprus. Too many people's fingers getting in this pie. Wonder if that means we're getting somewhere with the transfer? :wink:
You think he would rather go there?? Wouldn’t imagine so
01-08-2018, 03:26 PM
Imagine playing for a Steven Pressley team 😂
londonhibby
01-08-2018, 03:26 PM
You think he would rather go there?? Wouldn’t imagine so
No, I think The Sun are getting too involved in mischief-making on this.
01-08-2018, 03:27 PM
Im not convinced, after 6700 posts you must have something???? Tell us!! :wink:
My ITK highlight was breaking the news that Brandon Barker is related to the guy in 808 State (I got that from my brother who has links to the music industry and is mates with a well-known City fan).
I retire with my 100% record and leave others to deal with the useful stuff.
01-08-2018, 03:29 PM
My ITK highlight was breaking the news that Brandon Barker is related to the guy in 808 State (I got that from my brother who has links to the music industry and is mates with a well-known City fan).
I'm so not ITK that I had to google what 808 State was.......
Eaststand
01-08-2018, 03:34 PM
I'm so not ITK that I had to google what 808 State was.......
What's this google ?
01-08-2018, 03:45 PM
What's this google ?
I think they are things you wear to protect your eyes.
01-08-2018, 03:46 PM
What's this google ?
When I saw 808 I thought he was talking about the plastic explosive lol........ damn I'm getting old.....
Eaststand
01-08-2018, 03:57 PM
I think they are things you wear to protect your eyes.
Aha, i actually thought they were the wee funny looking stone mini-dragons that you see on ancient buildings ( i.e. on buildings that are even older than the original stand at Tiny )
01-08-2018, 03:57 PM
Oh yeah I remember that one..........very impressive..Enjoy retirement, youve deserved it :wink:
Eaststand
01-08-2018, 04:01 PM
When I saw 808 I thought he was talking about the plastic explosive lol........ damn I'm getting old.....
Ha :-)
I'm sure a pal of mine had an Austin 808 car......but he wasn't Greek :-0
01-08-2018, 04:16 PM
Now I’m not getting involved in the do/don’t believe the poster
But the St Mirren connection may be true
Everton buy Mcginn for more than Celtc are willing to pay
St Mirren make more money and stubbsy gets more transfer
kitty
So some logic there ????
Genius by Stubbs to give him more to spend at Saints.
01-08-2018, 04:17 PM
They were formed 4 years ago, finished in the bottom half of a 14 team division in Cyprus and have average attendances of 1-2k. Nice try Pressley, but you're dreaming if you think you can compete with Hibs.
01-08-2018, 04:32 PM
They were formed 4 years ago, finished in the bottom half of a 14 team division in Cyprus and have average attendances of 1-2k. Nice try Pressley, but you're dreaming if you think you can compete with Hibs.
Paphos FC will become a home for retired Jambos before the years out! Has recruited Neil MacFarlane as his assistant
BH Hibs
01-08-2018, 04:36 PM
How many influential connections would Stubbs have at Everton now though?
01-08-2018, 04:37 PM
Paphos FC will become a home for retired Jambos before the years out! Has recruited Neil MacFarlane as his assistant
The longer SP stays out in Cyprus the better. A bellend of the highest order, even his ex Jambo worshippers can’t stand him
hibbie02
01-08-2018, 04:37 PM
I saw their ground a couple of weeks ago and it is a sh&thole. We have better grounds in the Highland League.... Didn't realise Pressley was there. Must be desperate!
IncredibleHibee
01-08-2018, 04:41 PM
I know half the replies are tongue in cheek but what is meant by ‘Stubbs being instrumental in any SJM deal to Everton’ will be that Everton will have asked Stubbs about SJM having managed him and Stubbsy will have a glowing review, but I’m sure most will not need this said
01-08-2018, 04:42 PM
I'm getting to the stage where this thread doesn't mean anything anymore - can anyone do a quick summary, minus all the rubbish:
who is coming
who is going
when
I'm old now and can't keep up with things so please be gentle, will you?
Thank you and God bless you.
01-08-2018, 04:47 PM
I know half the replies are tongue in cheek but what is meant by ‘Stubbs being instrumental in any SJM deal to Everton’ will be that Everton will have asked Stubbs about SJM having managed him and Stubbsy will have a glowing review, but I’m sure most will not need this said
SJM may have asked Stubbsy for advice as well. Seemingly when Nottingham Forest were in for SJM last season, Stubbs told him he should stay at Hibs for the time being and wait for a better move.
https://www.nottinghampost.com/sport/football/football-news/former-reds-target-john-mcginn-650749
The Pointer
01-08-2018, 04:48 PM
Shouldn't you be getting pilloried on the 'Army Recruitment' thread?
01-08-2018, 04:58 PM
Would anyone ask Stubbs who has made a mess of the last couple of years of his career for advice on where to go?
01-08-2018, 05:03 PM
Would anyone ask Stubbs who has made a mess of the last couple of years of his career for advice on where to go?
McGinn? I think he'd value the advice of a man who has taken his career up a level, and who may be able to offer a bit of wisdom now about the dangers of leaving Hibs too soon.
Everton - whilst crazy inflation exists within the English game, they might value the judgment and integrity of a man who played for and worked for them for years, with a view to unearthing cheap(ish) gems who might play at a similar level to the likes of Tom Cairney and James Maddison - both now worth (!?!?!?!) £20m plus.
It's not as mad as it sounds. Stubbsy is on BT Sport regularly and seems to know his stuff.
01-08-2018, 05:18 PM
Nah, the last couple of years nullify absolutely everything he has achieved in life. :aok:
01-08-2018, 05:21 PM
Stubbs wasn't always a manager, he was a very good player as well who played in both Scotland and England. If rumours to be believed he played for 2 of the clubs interested in McGinn. Probably no one in the world better to get advice from in this situation.
What a pointless post taking a shot at a Hibs legend.
heidtheba
01-08-2018, 05:31 PM
McGinn? I think he'd value the advice of a man who has taken his career up a level, and who may be able to offer a bit of wisdom now about the dangers of leaving Hibs too soon.
Everton - whilst crazy inflation exists within the English game, they might value the judgment and integrity of a man who played for and worked for them for years, with a view to unearthing cheap(ish) gems who might play at a similar level to the likes of Tom Cairney and James Maddison - both now worth (!?!?!?!) £20m plus.
It's not as mad as it sounds. Stubbsy is on BT Sport regularly and seems to know his stuff.
And who was a massive fan before and after his time with them. Stubbs has a big emotional and career background with Everton. He'd only want the best for them and I imagine they know it.
ShadesLongThrow
01-08-2018, 05:51 PM
Scott Allan not on the bench tonight. (Clutching at straws smiley)
01-08-2018, 05:59 PM
Stubbs wasn't always a manager, he was a very good player as well who played in both Scotland and England. If rumours to be believed he played for 2 of the clubs interested in McGinn. Probably no one in the world better to get advice from in this situation.
What a pointless post taking a shot at a Hibs legend.
I’m not a Hibs legend.
01-08-2018, 06:01 PM
He did travel with the squad as well. He’s also been on the bench for every game so far. I will join you in the clutching at straws camp!
01-08-2018, 06:02 PM
I’m not a Hibs legend.You are, IMO, a Hibs.net legend. [emoji6]
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
01-08-2018, 06:02 PM
He did travel with the squad as well. He’s also been on the bench for every game so far. I will join you in the clutching at straws camp!
Lustig back in the squad tonight
01-08-2018, 06:08 PM
Bring him home Hibs !!! Please !!
01-08-2018, 06:09 PM
I’m not a Hibs legend.
If I had worked with him and won a cup with him, yes, totally would.
01-08-2018, 06:35 PM
Brendan Rogers radio interview he said Scott Allen very unlucky not to make bench as he’s been doing well in pre season.
coldingham hibs
01-08-2018, 07:36 PM
Brendan Rogers radio interview he said Scott Allen very unlucky not to make bench as he’s been doing well in pre season.
Is there not something like 7 players on the bench?, doesn’t look good for him if that’s the case. Celtic don’t have a huge squad.
#persevered
01-08-2018, 07:39 PM
Is there not something like 7 players on the bench?, doesn’t look good for him if that’s the case. Celtic don’t have a huge squad.
Yeah, kouassi, christie, hayes, Johnston all on the bench ahead of him.
01-08-2018, 07:43 PM
Lustig back in the squad tonight
One of the reasons Celtic won't progress in Europe unless they strengthen, he is mince.
coldingham hibs
01-08-2018, 07:43 PM
If Hayes & Christie are on the bench ahead of him then he would be as well putting in a transfer request now.
Silversand
01-08-2018, 07:49 PM
Scott Allan not on the bench tonight. (Clutching at straws smiley)Does this un-cup tie him now?
🤪
ShadesLongThrow
01-08-2018, 07:57 PM
Does this un-cup tie him now?
🤪
I believe it does but only if SJM doesn’t play tomorrow. :greengrin
01-08-2018, 07:57 PM
The longer SP stays out in Cyprus the better. A bellend of the highest order, even his ex Jambo worshippers can’t stand himFound his level by the sounds of it.
01-08-2018, 09:48 PM
Neil Lennon has tonight confirmed that Thomas Agyepong will be joining Hibs on a 1 year loan from Manchester City! “Thomas will be with us on a year’s loan. He’s very similar to Brandon Barker, good with both feet, quick and with a good end product.
He’s also 21 years old, so he fits the profile and we are just waiting on the paperwork as he’s had his medical.”- Neil Lennon
01-08-2018, 09:49 PM
Neil Lennon has tonight confirmed that Thomas Agyepong will be joining Hibs on a 1 year loan from Manchester City! “Thomas will be with us on a year’s loan. He’s very similar to Brandon Barker, good with both feet, quick and with a good end product.
He’s also 21 years old, so he fits the profile and we are just waiting on the paperwork as he’s had his medical.”- Neil Lennon
So it means we’re not getting Barker back
01-08-2018, 09:50 PM
Good!
01-08-2018, 10:06 PM
Like how the same article claims he's gonna be our 3rd signing after Bodgan, Kamberi and Mallan. :hilarious
01-08-2018, 10:11 PM
The first of Bleed Greens prophecy’s come true:big grin:
01-08-2018, 10:21 PM
Lennon confirmed he’s signing. Officially going to be announced this Friday along with Hiwula according to Bleed Green. Let’s see what happens....
😉
01-08-2018, 10:22 PM
I can't tell you how much I want him to get all of these predictions bang on.
The grief he took for posting perfectly plausible rumours was unreal.
01-08-2018, 10:25 PM
The Everton one is the big one. No one in the media has reported nor even mentioned a word that they are going to be making a move for McGinn. If that one happens.... WOW 😮
01-08-2018, 10:25 PM
I know. Some pretty poor responses to his posts. Wonder if any will be back with an apology.
01-08-2018, 10:29 PM
Must be a Club Plant to appease the disaffected on here lol
01-08-2018, 10:40 PM
lochhibs
01-08-2018, 11:49 PM
Sky sources: Everton in talks with stoke for midfielder Badou N’Diaye.
02-08-2018, 04:24 AM
Sky sources: Everton in talks with stoke for midfielder Badou N’Diaye.
Thats an anagram of “McGinn, bro” :hyper
02-08-2018, 04:49 AM
I know. Some pretty poor responses to his posts. Wonder if any will be back with an apology.
We ars Hibs on facebook saying Mclaren has signed. Dont shoot the messenger.....
People still use Facebook?
02-08-2018, 05:12 AM
The over 50s do😀
ano hibby
02-08-2018, 05:43 AM
As a genuine Q..if people no longer use Facebook, what do they use?
02-08-2018, 05:57 AM
I told him i didn't believe him. I still don't. If he is right i look stupid and he looks great. Either way life goes on.
killie-hibby
02-08-2018, 06:10 AM
Fountain pens and Basildon Bond.
Greenworld
02-08-2018, 06:10 AM
I think after the slaughtering the celtic fans are giving there team after last night another bid will be emailed over today PL getting it tight too pleasing ..[emoji23][emoji23]
MacGruber
02-08-2018, 06:27 AM
I never gave the boy grief, just politely said I think it is a wind up. Would be delighted to be proved wrong but just has the classic wind up feel. Start with a safe bet that's already out there with Agyepong having been confirmed as having had a medical to build up a bit credibility then into Everton, Denny McGinn etc.
It he is right I'll be straight back on with tail between legs though dont worry :wink:
02-08-2018, 07:11 AM
McKenna will be away to Swansea in the next couple of days. Just working out final price. Aberdeen have asked for silly money. Weakens them big style unless they can spend the cash quickly.
I never gave the boy grief, just politely said I think it is a wind up. Would be delighted to be proved wrong but just has the classic wind up feel. Start with a safe bet that's already out there with Agyepong having been confirmed as having had a medical to build up a bit credibility then into Everton, Denny McGinn etc.
It he is right I'll be straight back on with tail between legs though dont worry :wink:
So telling someone he's at the windup isn't giving him grief :faf:
I've never commented on his post as with all rumours some come off some don't, the poster has been a member for 5 years and had almost zero posts prior to his main post on this thread, he's not just joined to post this so maybe cut him some slack.
Baw187
02-08-2018, 07:17 AM
Absolutely. Mon Bleed Green!!!!
02-08-2018, 07:31 AM
I don’t believe any rumours until they are confirmed on the official website. Best way to be.
02-08-2018, 07:36 AM
McKenna will be away to Swansea in the next couple of days. Just working out final price. Aberdeen have asked for silly money. Weakens them big style unless they can spend the cash quickly.
Quite right from Aberdeen, and in the grand scheme of things it won’t be silly money at all from Premiership/championship teams. If anything it would be a stealt.
Under a long term contract, excellent first season and is now an international. If he was English he would be well over 10 million.
MacGruber
02-08-2018, 07:38 AM
So telling someone he's at the windup isn't giving him grief :faf:
I've never commented on his post as with all rumours some come off some don't, the poster has been a member for 5 years and had almost zero posts prior to his main post on this thread, he's not just joined to post this so maybe cut him some slack.
This is getting a bit sensitive for a football forum. I never made any personal remarks or used derogatory language.
Boy posts. I think that is a wind up. I hope I'm wrong because the deal would be excellent. Hardly think it's giving him grief. However, humble apologies to you Bleed Green if that caused offence. I'm sure on posting a bold claim you would have expected a bit of sceptisism aswell as people hoping it is right.
I'm away to give myself 10 lashes and think about what I've done.
02-08-2018, 07:40 AM
Quite right from Aberdeen, and in the grand scheme of things it won’t be silly money at all from Premiership/championship teams. If anything it would be a stealt.
Under a long term contract, excellent first season and is now an international. If he was English he would be well over 10 million.
I'm really interested to hear what he goes for money wise. It will really set the mark for Scottish players going down south.
02-08-2018, 07:42 AM
They are sticking it to the man by using Instagram and WhatsApp instead.
Take that Zuckerberg!
02-08-2018, 07:43 AM
I don’t believe any rumours until they are confirmed on the official website. Best way to be.
You've changed your tune!
02-08-2018, 07:49 AM
You've changed your tune!
If only!
:not worth
That was was why I stopped getting sucked in. 4 weeks later still nothing. Hopefully will all end soon.Just read somewhere Jamie Mac over in Greece with the team ???
Will just wait till officially announced.
02-08-2018, 07:51 AM
The grief he took for posting perfectly plausible rumours was unreal.Agreed it was out of order from some he's only sharing info which makes a boring thread interesting
This is getting a bit sensitive for a football forum. I never made any personal remarks or used derogatory language.
Boy posts. I think that is a wind up. I hope I'm wrong because the deal would be excellent. Hardly think it's giving him grief. However, humble apologies to you Bleed Green if that caused offence. I'm sure on posting a bold claim you would have expected a bit of sceptisism aswell as people hoping it is right.
I'm away to give myself 10 lashes and think about what I've done.
:slipper::greengrin
02-08-2018, 07:56 AM
Agreed it was out of order from some he's only sharing info which makes a boring thread interesting
How is it out of order to be sceptical about this? If it turns out to be true then us sceptics were wrong. If not then nobody gets any benefit out of it.
02-08-2018, 07:57 AM
I'm really interested to hear what he goes for money wise. It will really set the mark for Scottish players going down south.
But not West!
JackHibs
02-08-2018, 08:00 AM
This thread has more bickering in it than transfer talk!!
Lennon has just confirmed a signing will be coming in and there's been more focus on having a go at each other rather than talking about the new signing!
And the boy looks like he could be a good signing, if what Lennon says is correct he will be barker with a better end product!!
02-08-2018, 08:00 AM
How is it out of order to be sceptical about this? If it turns out to be true then us sceptics were wrong. If not then nobody gets any benefit out of it.Sceptical is one thing but some calling the guy out as a liar when he is only coming onto a transfer thread with some rumours is unnecessary
BlackSheep
02-08-2018, 08:04 AM
Bleed Green is Lenny 😂
Juniper Greens
02-08-2018, 08:06 AM
Every time this thread shoots to the top of the page, I am hoping for rumours or confirmation, now it seems that it's mainly bickering amoungst the usual people. I think we have private messages for that.
Given the recent rumours and sort of confirmation from NL, can we keep this to transfer movement (not of the aviation sort) today?
02-08-2018, 08:06 AM
Lennon has just confirmed a signing will be coming in and there's been more focus on having a go at each other rather than talking about the new signing!
And the boy looks like he could be a good signing, if what Lennon says is correct he will be barker with a better end product!!
No pressure on the boy then. Think we all need to remember how hit and miss Barker was for the first couple months. Often playing left of a front 3 he took several months to actually convert one of his many chances and score his first goal. Maybe this boy will be the same and get better as the season goes on, much like Barker did.
MacGruber
02-08-2018, 08:20 AM
:slipper::greengrin
:greengrin :nlgwa
02-08-2018, 08:23 AM
Fountain pens and Basildon Bond.
Inkwells
02-08-2018, 08:31 AM
"Better end product"??? Surely that statement is the last mail in the coffin re. the rumour that Brandon may be back.
02-08-2018, 08:37 AM
"Better end product"??? Surely that statement is the last mail in the coffin re. the rumour that Brandon may be back.
Barker was never coming back , City want to punt him out to the English championship
02-08-2018, 08:38 AM
Any idea for how much? Milne and McInnes have said they'd want megamoney
JackHibs
02-08-2018, 08:38 AM
No pressure on the boy then. Think we all need to remember how hit and miss Barker was for the first couple months. Often playing left of a front 3 he took several months to actually convert one of his many chances and score his first goal. Maybe this boy will be the same and get better as the season goes on, much like Barker did.
He most likely will be similar in those sorts, he's young and will be a rough diamond (hopefully). Could be a frustrating player at times who people will probably love or hate, I loved barker and accepted that sometimes his tricks never came off but he was exciting and you always knew he could come out with something from no where!
If players like barker were as good at shooting and crossing as they were dribbling they would be playing for City, fingers crossed for this new boy - like you say, no pressure
Bleed green
02-08-2018, 08:42 AM
stop bickering, no hard feelings. I expected this response as I said I will just watch it unfold. Not in media as this deal works best for both John, Hibs and Everton. Media only ever find out (mostly) when clubs want competition.
02-08-2018, 08:46 AM
stop bickering, no hard feelings. I expected this response as I said I will just watch it unfold. Not in media as this deal works best for both John, Hibs and Everton. Media only ever find out (mostly) when clubs want competition.
Tbf to you, your first bit of info about Agyepong is about to be proved correct.
ano hibby
02-08-2018, 08:49 AM
They are sticking it to the man by using Instagram and WhatsApp instead.
Take that Zuckerberg!
Ok ta.
Except that Facebook own both Instagram & WhatsApp. 😁 anyway that’s for another thread!
02-08-2018, 09:24 AM
Hopefully the rumours by bleed green all come to fruitition.
Won’t get too excited by predicting the Agyepong one as that was rumoured for quite a while and seemed iminent.
Would love to see McGinn to Everton, would be a fantastic move and see us get good money for him plus a player back.
Hiwula I don’t know much about but again doesn’t seem too much in the media about him so would be impressed should that prediction be right.
MacLaren back would be tremendous too.
Those 4 players - Agyepong, MacLaren, Debby and Hiwula plus 3 million would put us in a very good position, providing the 3 unknown players are any good 😅
02-08-2018, 09:24 AM
Any idea for how much? Milne and McInnes have said they'd want megamoney
They want 10.... i can't see it being anywhere near that. I was told last night that the offer was £3m
02-08-2018, 09:25 AM
Ok ta.
Except that Facebook own both Instagram & WhatsApp. 😁 anyway that’s for another thread!
Whooooooosh
02-08-2018, 09:27 AM
Can see Aberdeen getting about 6 for McKenna
02-08-2018, 09:28 AM
Can see Aberdeen getting about 6 for McKenna
I'd be amazed if that were the case. Maybe something potentially adding up to that over time. A long time.
02-08-2018, 09:29 AM
They want 10.... i can't see it being anywhere near that. I was told last night that the offer was £3m
That would be pretty good money for him, I reckon.
02-08-2018, 09:30 AM
Brian Graham signs for Ross County
02-08-2018, 09:30 AM
Whooooooosh
What have I missed here?
EDIT: Oh I didn't see the post you quoted. Oops!
02-08-2018, 09:31 AM
I'd be amazed if that were the case. Maybe something potentially adding up to that over time. A long time.
Excellent first season, Scotland International and has just performed very well against Burnley in Europe.
Sold their own centre half Mawson for 20 million.
If McKenna was English he would be worth a fortune, i think 6 million would be a good deal for an English team, won’t find many better centre backs for that price.
02-08-2018, 09:36 AM
Excellent first season, Scotland International and has just performed very well against Burnley in Europe.
Sold their own centre half Mawson for 20 million.
If McKenna was English he would be worth a fortune, i think 6 million would be a good deal for an English team, won’t find many better centre backs for that price.
Mawson cost Swansea £5M, and has played four times as many games as McKenna, 65 of them in the EPL. Of course his value is inflated, but that is the market down there.
McKenna has a lot of potential, but it's early days. Good luck to Aberdeen, though I'd rather they didn't get too big a fee for him anyway.
02-08-2018, 09:42 AM
Mawson cost Swansea £5M, and has played four times as many games as McKenna, 65 of them in the EPL. Of course his value is inflated, but that is the market down there.
McKenna has a lot of potential, but it's early days. Good luck to Aberdeen, though I'd rather they didn't get too big a fee for him anyway.
Yup cost them 5 million from Barnsley after one full season essentially. Chuck McKenna being younger, experience in Europe and a Scotland international into the frame and I think the 5-6 million is right.
Would be hard to argue that McKenna isn’t worth the same if not more than Mawson was when he was at Barnsley imo.
02-08-2018, 09:44 AM
If Aberdeen get £3m for McKenna, it really shows up how undervalued SJM is. Buyer's market, I suppose and English clubs always seem to value huge tall defenders.
I'm unconvinced - after such a short period - that McKenna is actually as good as the sheep think.
02-08-2018, 09:46 AM
Yup cost them 5 million from Barnsley after one full season essentially. Chuck McKenna being younger, experience in Europe and a Scotland international into the frame and I think the 5-6 million is right.
Would be hard to argue that McKenna isn’t worth the same if not more than Mawson was when he was at Barnsley imo.
Fair enough, it's a futile argument anyway as these players are from different markets, and therefore the rules are different - good on Aberdeen for the approach they're taking though.
Just a bit fed up with 'if so and so went for that much, that must make [Scottish player] worth this much'. It just doesn't work like that.
02-08-2018, 09:48 AM
If Aberdeen get £3m for McKenna, it really shows up how undervalued SJM is. Buyer's market, I suppose and English clubs always seem to value huge tall defenders.
I'm unconvinced - after such a short period - that McKenna is actually as good as the sheep think.
McKenna has a contract until 2021 so not really a fair comparison value wise.
But you’re right, a centre half like McKenna is right up a championship clubs street and I think he would do very well there. He is also good on the ball which is an added bonus.