View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread
11-08-2018, 01:37 PM
People are entitled to their opinions that why we love Football we all see it differently. Personally I like McLaren he’s a goal scorer but I don’t think he’s that great a player, happy he’s signed don’t get me wrong but Flo is a better player imo so can see why some are saying they aren’t blown away with him.
11-08-2018, 01:38 PM
Because we’re only allowed to think one way or because we’ve forgotten how often we were accusing him of having contributed nothing in many matchday threads last year?
no you are entitled to your opinion, just so happens that your opinion is rubbish
11-08-2018, 01:39 PM
Because we’re only allowed to think one way or because we’ve forgotten how often we were accusing him of having contributed nothing in many matchday threads last year?Did u think Cummings was gash too?? Just wondering as like Macca he could go missing in games when he wasn't scoring??
11-08-2018, 01:40 PM
no you are entitled to your opinion, just so happens that your opinion is rubbish
Good luck with the amnesia.
11-08-2018, 01:40 PM
Did u think Cummings was gash too?? Just wondering as like Macca he could go missing in games when he wasn't scoring??
Yes. Never a footballer.
11-08-2018, 01:45 PM
Yes. Never a footballer.Fair play at least your consistent...I agree in the fact Jamie Mac doesn't do much but what he does do is score goals and that is an important commodity for any team
11-08-2018, 01:49 PM
Yes. Never a footballer.
Geezo you're getting it tight - what have you done?
Jeebsys strike
11-08-2018, 01:50 PM
Mclaren is crap! Thats the comment of someone who clearly aint had there hole in a while
11-08-2018, 01:51 PM
Fair play at least your consistent...I agree in the fact Jamie Mac doesn't do much but what he does do is score goals and that is an important commodity for any team
That’s his job though like it is for any other striker and it’s why Lennon brought him in.
11-08-2018, 01:52 PM
You are a ****ing idiot and have been for years on here. Complete bobby.
How long did you spend in the service of the Diplomatic Corps? :greengrin
11-08-2018, 01:53 PM
How long did you spend in the service of the Diplomatic Corps? :greengrin
Not nearly long enough! :greengrin
11-08-2018, 01:53 PM
Mclaren is crap! Thats the comment of someone who clearly aint had there hole in a while
:slipper:
Maclaren is unorthodox but he is a goalscorer which is his job. Thankfully Speedway is in the minority here.
SloopJB
11-08-2018, 01:54 PM
Not trolling. He’s crap.
Didn’t require anyone to ask about the name.
My hope is that he does enough to make you change your opinion.
Would be a win win.
mayo hibee
11-08-2018, 01:57 PM
In fairness, given that we have a lot of wingers now, it's likely that Maclaren will spend a lot of time on the bench as we will only play one up in a lot of games and it won't be him. But he will start games where we play two forwards and he is a great option to have to come in off the bench when we need to switch to two strikers in the second half of games. He didn't get to the World Cup by being a poor player.
11-08-2018, 01:57 PM
That’s his job though like it is for any other striker and it’s why Lennon brought him in.Dunno what your having a go at me for mate I'm defending him...he's a striker and he scores goals...your having a go at the wrong poster...I suggest you read back
11-08-2018, 01:58 PM
Dunno what your having a go at me for mate I'm defending him...he's a striker and he scores goals...your having a go at the wind poster...I suggest you read back
Sorry wasn’t having a go at you mate.
11-08-2018, 01:59 PM
My hope is that he does enough to make you change your opinion.
Would be a win win.
11-08-2018, 02:00 PM
Geezo you're getting it tight - what have you done?
Disagreed with some posters, some morons, some groupthink and they don’t like it.
11-08-2018, 02:00 PM
you sound like an erse
Who cares?
Maclaren being called a poor player is so hard for brittle non-intellects to take (yet it’s ok to abuse other players) that they resort to abuse. So I reciprocate in kind.
11-08-2018, 02:01 PM
Sorry wasn’t having a go at you mate.No worries - let's hope Jamie Mac gets a goal or 2 2moro
11-08-2018, 02:01 PM
Who cares?
i think ill stick you on ignore now before i end up with a warning
11-08-2018, 02:03 PM
i think ill stick you on ignore now before i end up with a warning
A victory for diversity of opinion.
11-08-2018, 02:04 PM
Who cares?
Maclaren being called a poor player is so hard for brittle non-intellects to take (yet it’s ok to abuse other players) that they resort to abuse. So I reciprocate in kind.
Troll.
11-08-2018, 02:04 PM
Troll.
Yam.
11-08-2018, 02:05 PM
Maclaren is pretty humpty unless he's in the opposition box. But he's absolutely lethal when the ball gets to him anywhere near the goal.
There will be games where he doesn't start this season, put it that way, but he still has every chance of scoring 15 - 20 goals.
11-08-2018, 02:06 PM
Maclaren is pretty humpty unless he's in the opposition box. But he's absolutely lethal when the ball gets to him anywhere near the goal.
There will be games where he doesn't start this season, put it that way, but he still has every chance of scoring 15 - 20 goals.
Careful 500miles. I’m not sure if you’re opinion is allowed. Especially because it’s accurate.
Lemonade
11-08-2018, 02:06 PM
Bring back the puns FFS.
11-08-2018, 02:08 PM
Bring back the puns FFS.
I swear you’ve got a point there.
11-08-2018, 02:09 PM
I like McLaren, and think he does a lot more than score, i like the way he drags defenders all over the shop when we have the ball.
It leaves space for others, which we did exploit last season when he was here.
11-08-2018, 02:12 PM
Careful 500miles. I’m not sure if you’re opinion is allowed. Especially because it’s accurate.
Aye, but if he's scoring that many goals, he's not gash. Less opinions from you, more rumours please.
11-08-2018, 02:13 PM
I like McLaren, and think he does a lot more than score, i like the way he drags defenders all over the shop when we have the ball.
He’s definitely got that in his game but for me, he goes missing too much, , not a particularly strong shot, not particularly Quick, not strong in the air, and definitely overhyped.
But then there’s some on here who think Marv’s finished so, pinch of salt and all that.
11-08-2018, 02:14 PM
I would imagine he will be on the team sheet for every game, once he is fully fit.
A striker who is lethal is worth his weight in gold to Hibs. He has a very good partnership with Kamberi and I would argue that they will only get better this season.
When you say humpty, are you referring to his technique, his build up play, his overall contribution, his harrasing of the opposition when he doesn’t have the ball?
11-08-2018, 02:15 PM
Aye, but if he's scoring that many goals, he's not gash. Less opinions from you, more rumours please.
That’s fair.
This all cane from a post from me that pointed out how Good our summer recruitment had been btw.
11-08-2018, 02:16 PM
That’s fair.
This all cane from a post from me that pointed out how Good our summer recruitment had been btw.
Which is your opinion. I NEED RUMOURS.
11-08-2018, 02:16 PM
Wgtbbt?
11-08-2018, 02:17 PM
Wgtbbt?
Bless you.
11-08-2018, 02:19 PM
There’s another player coming in.
11-08-2018, 02:20 PM
There’s another player coming in.
Are they gash?
11-08-2018, 02:22 PM
He’s definitely got that in his game but for me, he goes missing too much, , not a particularly strong shot, not particularly Quick, not strong in the air, and definitely overhyped.
But then there’s some on here who think Marv’s finished so, pinch of salt and all that.
Maclaren has some hit on him. You remember the rocket off the bar v Hearts? Try watch him more next time we play and how he runs the channels. Honest he’s a good striker Speedway.
11-08-2018, 02:23 PM
Are they gash?
I hope not. We signed one who is already.
11-08-2018, 02:24 PM
I would imagine he will be on the team sheet for every game, once he is fully fit.
A striker who is lethal is worth his weight in gold to Hibs. He has a very good partnership with Kamberi and I would argue that they will only get better this season.
When you say humpty, are you referring to his technique, his build up play, his overall contribution, his harrasing of the opposition when he doesn’t have the ball?
He gives the ball away too easily and makes poor choices if he is given too much time to think. It's not a massive criticism, he's an instinctive goalscorer, but he's not one of those players that can do it all themselves.
He does work hard though, and his movement pulls defenses about, especially given that burst of pace he has.
11-08-2018, 02:25 PM
Maclaren has some hit on him. You remember the rocket off the bar v Hearts? Try watch him more next time we play and how he runs the channels. Honest he’s a good striker Speedway.
Fair comment TC.
I have been watching him, I don’t think he has a range of shooting and shots go straight at the keeper too often, which is also true of Boyle’s shooting despite me being a big fan of Boyle.
11-08-2018, 02:27 PM
Troll.
This seems to be the new terminology for someone that disagrees with your opinion. I thought it meant something else.
badabing67
11-08-2018, 02:28 PM
Just a thought at the end of the summer transfer window does any body else think we should try to extend Lenny's contact.
A managers stock also goes up and Lenny's is rising all the time here. When things settle down a bit I hope the board renegotiates his contract. Currently he is contracted to the end of 2020
I don't think now is to soon to try and get his contract extend to show our appreciation and commitment to him. I think he's probably worth double what he's getting at the Hibees.
We should also seek to increase the value of the compensation tied to his contract. We need to be realistic here the season has started and managers, will be going its only a matter of time before bigger clubs come sniffing around.
If we can upgrade Lenny's by the end of the summer I think that would be our best bit business
11-08-2018, 02:33 PM
This seems to be the new terminology for someone that disagrees with your opinion. I thought it meant something else.
It's the terminology for someone looking for a reaction.
Wakeyhibee
11-08-2018, 02:39 PM
Fair comment TC.
I have been watching him, I don’t think he has a range of shooting and shots go straight at the keeper too often, which is also true of Boyle’s shooting despite me being a big fan of Boyle.
I agree with this, however his goal record is good and against good opposition not early season LC humpings. The fact NL has wanted him here again suggests he's a player with more potential.
11-08-2018, 02:43 PM
He's clearly looking for a reaction, or to at least get other to agree with him, which is completely pointless. He then accuses other people of peddling propeganda, when he is clearly delighting in or doing his best to asdociate the word 'gash' with one of our players...who as it happens is, statistically at least, shig hot. What does he want to achieve? Does he want us to be all primed to turn against mclaren as soon as he goes through a dry spell?
At very best, he's being very weirdly persistant in an entirely unproductive way.
To me, it looks like trolling - he's delighting in the reactions of others.
11-08-2018, 02:44 PM
I agree with this, however his goal record is good and against good opposition not early season LC humpings. The fact NL has wanted him here again suggests he's a player with more potential.
If he’s scoring 15-20 this season, there will no complaints from me...so long as he shaves that silly tasche off.
11-08-2018, 02:46 PM
He's clearly looking for a reaction, or to at least get other to agree with him, which is completely pointless. He then accuses other people of peddling propeganda, when he is clearly delighting in or doing his best to asdociate the word 'gash' with one of our players...who as it happens is, statistically at least, shig hot. What does he want to achieve? Does he want us to be all primed to turn against mclaren as soon as he goes through a dry spell?
At very best, he's being very weirdly persistant in an entirely unproductive way.
To me, it looks like trolling - he's delighting in the reactions of others.
Delighting - no.
Despairing - yes.
Gerd Muller's goal ratio was pretty good. Didnae dae much else, mind! :greengrin
Wakeyhibee
If he’s scoring 15-20 this season, there will no complaints from me...so long as he shaves that silly tasche off.
That's why I think "gash" is harsh. I think he can do exactly that with a decent service. This season is shaping up to be another belter :)
11-08-2018, 02:48 PM
Who cares?
All abut opinions eh!? Haven't seen enough of him to form an opinion yet but when I do, it will be made whether liked or not. You've been awfy quiet on transfer rumours lately?
11-08-2018, 02:49 PM
What’s the rumour about our next signing? Seen suggestions another is quite close or at least in the pipeline.
11-08-2018, 02:50 PM
What’s the rumour about our next signing? Seen suggestions another is quite close or at least in the pipeline.
Kamara or Mulumbu seem to be names in the frames at the mo.
PS NITK - just based on speculation on twitter and elsewhere.
11-08-2018, 02:52 PM
According to Alan Nixon we should be reading about another name tomorrow but hasn’t said who or what position.
The BBC has us linked to Campbell of the Mothers today but Robinson has already denied that.
11-08-2018, 02:52 PM
It’s the only ‘hit’ I’ve seen from him tbh. That particular took a lovely bobble to sit up perfect for him
11-08-2018, 02:53 PM
According to Alan Nixon we should be reading about another name tomorrow but hasn’t said who or what position.
The BBC has us linked to Campbell of the Mothers today but Really Vinson has already denied that.
I thought Well had just warned Hibs off bidding for him - no suggestion that we are actually interested.
11-08-2018, 02:54 PM
Totally agree his movement is terrific and very good eye for a goal. Excellent signing.
11-08-2018, 02:55 PM
I thought Well had just warned Hibs off bidding for him - no suggestion that we are actually interested.
I don’t know but it would be odd to warn a team off if no interest had been expressed would it not?
11-08-2018, 02:58 PM
I don’t know but it would be odd to warn a team off if no interest had been expressed would it not?
Dunno - - maybe it's just a newspaper story. The BBC rumours page is just recycling what is in the papers, which are more than capable of writing any amount of keech to fill a few lines of newsprint.
11-08-2018, 02:58 PM
Gash with gash tash — wind up Shirley
11-08-2018, 03:01 PM
Dunno - - maybe it's just a newspaper story. The BBC rumours page is just recycling what is in the papers, which are more than capable of writing any amount of keech to fill a few lines of newsprint.
Very true.
We’ve brought in 2 very able players since SJM’s move was completed, we’ve been coping with a thin squad, NL wants at least another mid In and Nixon says there’s more Hibs transfer news tomorrow so I don’t think we’ll have to wait too long.
My general opinion of him as a footballer.
And what was you're opinion of Jason Cummings as a footballer ????
11-08-2018, 03:04 PM
And what was you're opinion of Jason Cummings as a footballer ????
See above.
11-08-2018, 03:05 PM
Very true.
We’ve brought in 2 very able players since SJM’s move was completed, we’ve been coping with a thin squad, NL wants at least another mid In and Nixon says there’s more Hibs transfer news tomorrow so I don’t think we’ll have to wait too long.
I'm hoping it is someone like Kamara or Mulumbu. Our recruitment team surprised us in January with Kamberi - maybe someone out of left field, who hasn't been mentioned in dispatches previously.
11-08-2018, 03:07 PM
I'm hoping it is someone like Kamara or Mulumbu. Our recruitment team surprised us in January with Kamberi - maybe someone out of left field, who hasn't been mentioned in dispatches previously.
And there’s still the mystery of who the player was that was pictured training with us last week.
I wonder how often you will get or even want yours at 83.
Wakeyhibee
11-08-2018, 03:31 PM
Gerd Muller's goal ratio was pretty good. Didnae dae much else, mind! :greengrin
just before my time but I get the analogy :)
SloopJB
11-08-2018, 04:58 PM
Is this the right room for an argument?
MacGruber
11-08-2018, 04:58 PM
Bit concerned only 1 more seems to be the vibe coming out - hopefully not, still short a centre mid, left back cover and an experienced big lump of a striker. Unless Lennon sees left back cover in the youth? Stirling? Mackie? Or the likes of Lee Wallace would cover left back and ledt centre back. Feel we are a bit exposed to a Kamberi injury though
11-08-2018, 05:37 PM
Bit concerned only 1 more seems to be the vibe coming out - hopefully not, still short a centre mid, left back cover and an experienced big lump of a striker. Unless Lennon sees left back cover in the youth? Stirling? Mackie? Or the likes of Lee Wallace would cover left back and ledt centre back. Feel we are a bit exposed to a Kamberi injury thoughLee Wallace was at Tiny 2day u can bet he will be heading back there as part of the laughatme to Sevco deal
11-08-2018, 05:51 PM
Lee Wallace was at Tiny 2day u can bet he will be heading back there as part of the laughatme to Sevco deal
Sounds likely, although that Garuccio they’ve got at left back seems to be half decent.
11-08-2018, 05:57 PM
I wouldn't take Lee Wallace in a lucky bag.
Just my opinion.
Don't know how I'd feel if we signed him. Just hope it doesn't happen.
11-08-2018, 06:05 PM
I think we could do with another striker
11-08-2018, 06:06 PM
I wouldn't take Lee Wallace in a lucky bag.
Just my opinion.
Don't know how I'd feel if we signed him. Just hope it doesn't happen.
Just a wee daft question but did anyone actually get lucky from a lucky bag
11-08-2018, 06:12 PM
Who runs @hibstransfernews on Twitter?
They’ve lifted one of my posts on here today word for word.
11-08-2018, 06:17 PM
Standard practice for whoever it is that runs that account. Everything they post is lifted from hibs.net
11-08-2018, 06:17 PM
Standard practice for whoever it is that runs that account. Everything they post is lifted from hibs.net
Quite sad really.
11-08-2018, 06:18 PM
Its really no different to people hearing stuff on the street and passing it on.
Apparently..
11-08-2018, 06:25 PM
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. :greengrin
11-08-2018, 06:27 PM
In other news on twitter, West Brom are credited with an interest in Mulumbu.
11-08-2018, 06:35 PM
They actually have as well! Unbelievable :wink:
http://galau.me/images/11-08-2018/30u7TG.png
mayo hibee
11-08-2018, 06:37 PM
Mulumbu may well find himself in demand in England now as clubs can only sign loans and free transfers. Hibs probably need to be looking at players down there that clubs want off their books now - could be a bargain or two to be had with reduced English competition.
11-08-2018, 06:45 PM
They actually have as well! Unbelievable :wink:
http://galau.me/images/11-08-2018/30u7TG.png
Sense at last!
11-08-2018, 06:48 PM
They must have been scrapping the bottom of the barrell to fill a page. :agree:
11-08-2018, 06:55 PM
Once it’s in the public domain it’s in the public domain.
Doesn’t really matter who runs it does it?
11-08-2018, 06:55 PM
[QUOTE=SaulGoodman;5510547]They actually have as well! Unbelievable :wink:
http://galau.me/images/11-08-2018/30u7TG.png[/QUO
😂😂😂
11-08-2018, 07:46 PM
Phew …. the last 5 pages or so should be kept away from Jamie MacLaren :greengrin
If you ask me the excitement surrounding his return was over the partnership he clearly formed with Kamberi more than his qualities as an individual. The two of them together worked well last season. Besides that for how long have we been moaning about the lack of a penalty box striker? ( which MacLaren clearly is ) and yet now we have one the rest of his game becomes a problem …. As it is his movement in the whole final 3rd is good and you cant fault his workrate, he makes room for other players.
Apart from that, he was clearly a success last season so FFS lets give him at least one full game in this one before we decide he needs upgrading :confused:
11-08-2018, 07:54 PM
Can't be sure but I think a well known poster on here was outed a while back as an Admin, might've been exposed on the PM board following some denial. Can't recall.
It's all Bollox though. A cry for help,I reckon. Well done on the Gash thing. I was away to Mrs Pope asking what the **** signing it was I'd missed.....
11-08-2018, 10:26 PM
Once it’s in the public domain it’s in the public domain.
Doesn’t really matter who runs it does it?
I doubt anyone would be bothered if he was honest that he's passing on information he's found on .net, the Bounce or wherever, rather than pretending he's got his own sources.
12-08-2018, 06:21 AM
Nobody picked up the sun yet today to see who Alan Nixon was talking about?
12-08-2018, 06:23 AM
Nobody picked up the sun yet today to see who Alan Nixon was talking about?
Was about to ask this
He’s such a tease
12-08-2018, 06:24 AM
Tease is one word for him.
12-08-2018, 06:25 AM
Cant see anything online yet or on twitter
12-08-2018, 06:47 AM
Don't shoot the messenger but have it on good authority Hibs have got an African box to box midfielder Kefa Wens on trial.
Recently broke though in America
12-08-2018, 06:52 AM
Don't shoot the messenger but have it on good authority Hibs have got an African box to box midfielder Kefa Wens.
Recently broke though in America
Trying to spot the pun....
Dazzjw1875
12-08-2018, 06:54 AM
Mmm there's a joke in there somewhere I'm sure. Lol
Rowan Vine was crap, Jamie is a decent striker with a very good scoring record, thank **** you're not our manager. They say you gain Knowledge with age, maybe not in your case eh!
Disagreed with some posters, some morons, some groupthink and they don’t like it.
Can't be sure but I think a well known poster on here was outed a while back as an Admin, might've been exposed on the PM board following some denial. Can't recall.
It's all Bollox though. A cry for help,I reckon. Well done on the Gash thing. I was away to Mrs Pope asking what the **** signing it was I'd missed.....
Trying to spot the pun....
It's an anagram, take Efe's out. At least he's not gash!
12-08-2018, 07:38 AM
Fake news lol
12-08-2018, 07:50 AM
Mmm there's a joke in there somewhere I'm sure. Lol
Spent all his money on drink, fast cars and women. Squandered the rest and now at trial.on Hibs. Old story.
12-08-2018, 08:30 AM
Fake news lol
3 points.
Just wondered what the turnaround time was if this broke to Hibs transfer news sources.
Sorry guys
alihibs1
12-08-2018, 08:33 AM
Zach Clough is the name being rumoured by Alan Nixon. Aberdeen also interested. Don't know much about him to be honest.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
12-08-2018, 08:37 AM
Zach Clough is the name being rumoured by Alan Nixon. Aberdeen also interested. Don't know much about him to be honest.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/zach-clough/profil/spieler/246351
For the allan role? Unsure if he looks like the player we need tbh, although additional quality would always be welcome. Would maybe a good attacking mid if we play 4-3-3.
12-08-2018, 08:38 AM
He is more of a striker ... If true then hopefully still a midfielder on top of that
He was a cracking midfielder at Bolton in League 1. Was then snapped up by Forest.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAYdHNzw7wA
sean04
12-08-2018, 08:40 AM
Yes please!!!!!
12-08-2018, 08:46 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAYdHNzw7wA
Signed for Forrest for £3m a few year ago.
Lots of comments from Lennon praising him as a real star of the future when Lennon was at BW.
Looks a decent player. Reminds me of Mallan a little. Would have to be a loan and would end hope of getting Allan in this window.
12-08-2018, 08:51 AM
Signed for Forrest for £3m a few year ago.
Lots of comments from Lennon praising him as a real star of the future when Lennon was at BW.
Looks a decent player. Reminds me of Mallan a little. Would have to be a loan and would end hope of getting Allan in this window.
I know the name, but don’t know anything about him. Looking at the video Stevie attached, looks more a no 10 type of player to me
12-08-2018, 08:53 AM
He is a forward rather than a midfielder
12-08-2018, 08:55 AM
He is more of a striker ... If true then hopefully still a midfielder on top of that
He’s not a striker
12-08-2018, 08:57 AM
He’s not a striker
Yeah , a forward though ??
12-08-2018, 08:57 AM
He is a forward rather than a midfielder
Not sure if you’re getting him confused with someone but Clough is a similar style to Jack Grealish, a number 10 or play wide.
Not what we need IMO
12-08-2018, 08:59 AM
As an aside, of our summer signings:
Kamberi - U21 international
Bogdan - Full International
Mallan - U21 International
Gash - Full International
Ageypong - Full International
Hyndman - Full International
Horgan - Full International
When’s the last time our summer signings had that much cumulative pedigree?
Gash? Pathetic and no need what so ever.
12-08-2018, 09:00 AM
Not sure if you’re getting him confused with someone but Clough is a similar style to Jack Grealish, a number 10 or play wide.
Not what we need IMO
Must be , i thought i remember him from football league on channel 5 ... Always thought he was a forward.
12-08-2018, 09:00 AM
Yeah , a forward though ??
Not really, an attacking midfielder. He’s very small around 5.6” I think. He can play in hole too. Loves to run through midfield attacking players, can create too. Chips in with a few goals too. Only criticism I would have is I thought he was a bit lightweight but good player.
12-08-2018, 09:02 AM
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/zach-clough/profil/spieler/246351
For the allan role? Unsure if he looks like the player we need tbh, although additional quality would always be welcome. Would maybe a good attacking mid if we play 4-3-3.
His position on that link states that he is second striker which is pretty much a CF role. It’s the role Antoine Griezmann plays at Atletico Madrid & France.
If there is any truth in this rumour then I wonder who the midfielder is that NL is after? Definitely need a deep lying playmaker/ball winning midfielder type. Personally can’t see us going for Allan until January. Hyndman is a similar is a creative attacking midfielder like Scotty.
12-08-2018, 09:02 AM
Not really, an attacking midfielder. He’s very small around 5.6” I think. He can play in hole too. Loves to run through midfield attacking players, can create too. Chips in with a few goals too. Only criticism I would have is I thought he was a bit lightweight but good player.
If and obviously its a big if that this is true, then where is lennon going to play them all? Mallan , Hyndman, Clough ..
12-08-2018, 09:06 AM
Again this rumour from Nixon might be a load of rubbish. Did he not state on Twitter a few weeeks ago, that we we’re closing on a PL striker that was out on loan last season? Not heard anything since unless I missed something?
12-08-2018, 09:06 AM
As an aside, of our summer signings:
Kamberi - U21 international
Bogdan - Full International
Mallan - U21 International
Gash - Full International
Ageypong - Full International
Hyndman - Full International
Horgan - Full International
When’s the last time our summer signings had that much cumulative pedigree?
Was that the same Gash that scored a hatrick against the Huns? Pathetic post should hang your head in shame!
12-08-2018, 09:07 AM
If and obviously its a big if that this is true, then where is lennon going to play them all? Mallan , Hyndman, Clough ..
Maybe we're going to have a 2-5-3 formation and sweep teams off their feet! :greengrin
12-08-2018, 09:08 AM
Trust me it’s true, I never lie [emoji23]
mayo hibee
12-08-2018, 09:09 AM
Another attacking midfielder? I'm all for signing quality at the right price but, given the options we already have, I wouldn't be bothering about this one if it was only a loan signing.
Either way I think Neil might be trying to tell Danny Swanson something.
12-08-2018, 09:12 AM
Another attacking midfielder? I'm all for signing quality at the right price but, given the options we already have, I wouldn't be bothering about this one if it was only a loan signing.
Either way I think Neil might be trying to tell Danny Swanson something.
I think DS time at Hibs is over
12-08-2018, 09:12 AM
Again this rumour from Nixon might be a load of rubbish. Did he not state on Twitter a few weeeks ago, that we we’re closing on a PL striker that was out on loan last season? Not heard anything since unless I missed something?
You didn’t miss anything. He said yesterday we had 3 or 4 in on trial or we were still looking at 3 or 4
MacGruber
12-08-2018, 09:16 AM
Based on no knowledge whatsoever and a youtube clip you can never take anything from I'm saying no thanks
Just want a powerful, all action, box to box deep playing, strong running lynch pin that links defence and attack is strong as an Ox that runs all day and has a steely determination, never say die attitude and is a leader of men & who's name lends to a catchy litte ditty.
& Scott Allan too
12-08-2018, 09:19 AM
Based on no knowledge whatsoever and a youtube clip you can never take anything from I'm saying no thanks
Just want a powerful, all action, box to box deep playing, strong running lynch pin that links defence and attack is strong as an Ox that runs all day and has a steely determination, never say die attitude and is a leader of men & who's name lends to a catchy litte ditty.
& Scott Allan too
Clough needs time and space on the ball, if he has that he’s a real asset. Otherwise he cant really cut it physically that’s always been his issue. When he was at Bolton he was a revelation when he burst in to the scene, but then after a few months teams had him sussed and knew how to play him, he was ineffectual after that imo.
12-08-2018, 09:20 AM
His position on that link states that he is second striker which is pretty much a CF role. It’s the role Antoine Griezmann plays at Atletico Madrid & France.
If there is any truth in this rumour then I wonder who the midfielder is that NL is after? Definitely need a deep lying playmaker/ball winning midfielder type. Personally can’t see us going for Allan until January. Hyndman is a similar is a creative attacking midfielder like Scotty.
Hyndman is only on Loan till January so you could be right
12-08-2018, 09:20 AM
Trust me it’s true, I never lie [emoji23]
Lol , meant the rumour 🤓
12-08-2018, 09:22 AM
[emoji23]
bigswissstriker
12-08-2018, 09:25 AM
How anyone can call Maclaren gash is beyond me. Twice the player Cummings was and ever will be. Exactly what is needed for us at the moment. His conversion rate was the best in the league last year.
The guys who think he is gash would probs be happy with Simon Murray upfront. Now he is GASH
12-08-2018, 09:25 AM
so basically a sort of danny swanson type :greengrin
Austinho
12-08-2018, 09:32 AM
Isn’t the squad in danger of being unbalanced? Seem to be in for a lot of small lightweight attacking players.
andy1875
12-08-2018, 09:32 AM
Am I missing something with the nickname for McLaren now being Gash?
Brutal patter if its intended the way I suspect.
Added to the fact he was in fact a big part of the team that all so nearly got us 2nd last season, its bad patter. Maybe some of the “gash” posters on here should be emptied for trolling.
12-08-2018, 09:37 AM
It's been a few years now since we had a player that could be referred to as anything like gash.
12-08-2018, 09:46 AM
Am I missing something with the nickname for McLaren now being Gash?
Brutal patter if its intended the way I suspect.
Added to the fact he was in fact a big part of the team that all so nearly got us 2nd last season, its bad patter. Maybe some of the “gash” posters on here should be emptied for trolling.
As far as i can make out it's just speedway, though he's clearly persisting in hope that it catches on
. Utterly toxic attitude that goes waaaaay beyond just 'expressing an opinion'. I'd launch him if it were up to me.
JimboHibs
12-08-2018, 09:49 AM
How anyone can call Maclaren gash is beyond me. Twice the player Cummings was and ever will be. Exactly what is needed for us at the moment. His conversion rate was the best in the league last year.
The guys who think he is gash would probs be happy with Simon Murray upfront. Now he is GASH
U were doing aright until you called out Simon Murray.
Have a word nothing wrong with Murray's scoring record at us.
12-08-2018, 09:58 AM
Its just Speedy’s opinion. There is no need for anyone to get bent out of shape about it. I remember some of the opinions re Liam Miller (RIP) they were not very flattering! And I personally thought Liam was one of the best footballers I had seen. But opinions eh?!
bigswissstriker
12-08-2018, 10:00 AM
U were doing aright until you called out Simon Murray.
Have a word nothing wrong with Murray's scoring record at us.
Scoring record was fine but lacked ability. Was more trying to get at the fact people bigged up Simon when in all honesty he wasn’t great and Mac is twice the player. Could’ve worded it better
Chip shop Joe
12-08-2018, 10:07 AM
Its just Speedy’s opinion. There is no need for anyone to get bent out of shape about it. I remember some of the opinions re Liam Miller (RIP) they were not very flattering! And I personally thought Liam was one of the best footballers I had seen. But opinions eh?!
To be fair he also thought that Ikpeazu was dreadful for Hearts yesterday which to anyone watching the game was patently untrue, so not quite sure if it is an opinion or attention seeking. If it is the later it seems to be working :-)
12-08-2018, 10:08 AM
To be fair he also thought that Ikpeazu was dreadful for Hearts yesterday which to anyone watching the game was patently untrue, so not quite sure if it is an opinion or attention seeking. If it is the later it seems to be working :-)
I could be wrong I guess but never known Speedway to be an attention seeker.
12-08-2018, 10:12 AM
As far as i can make out it's just speedway, though he's clearly persisting in hope that it catches on
. Utterly toxic attitude that goes waaaaay beyond just 'expressing an opinion'. I'd launch him if it were up to me.
I’d launch you for sitting in the black lodge doing nothing for a quarter of a century while your doppelgänger is out in the midwestern United States on killing sprees.
WTF did you let that happen.
12-08-2018, 10:21 AM
I could be wrong I guess but never known Speedway to be an attention seeker.
Mr. Smith, when an opinion is unpopular on .net, there are two options for the group thinkers to respond with:
1. Yam
2. Attention Seeker
I started and wrote the first Yamasaurus thread nearly 10 years ago on here. That was attention seeking because it was very funny and mocked yams everywhere when they were telling us that they were leaving us behind.
The knee jerkers cannot debate a difference in opinion, they can only attack. If Maclaren (since folk don’t like my nickname for him but had no problem with me called Sparky - Spanky) has a few bad games, my critique will look like faint praise compared to the stick he’ll receive on here as their (the group thinkers) opinions change with the wind. Groupthink you see.
The Boy at Hearts is just big, not good, big. He’ll get found out when someone puts a decent challenge in on him and will go into hiding for the rest of that match.
I don’t rate Maclaren, I didn’t rate McPake when everyone was fawning over him, nor Swanson, nor Shinnie but think Slivka is a player.
None of these opinions have been very popular but who cares it’s a football forum and why doesn’t anyone attacking those opinions have more going on in their life, is the real question.
12-08-2018, 10:25 AM
Mr. Smith, when an opinion is unpopular on .net, there are two options for the group thinkers to respond with:
1. Yam
2. Attention Seeker
I started and wrote the first Yamasaurus thread nearly 10 years ago on here. That was attention seeking because it was very funny and mocked yams everywhere when they were telling us that they were leaving us behind.
The knee jerkers cannot debate a difference in opinion, they can only attack. If Maclaren (since folk don’t like my nickname for him but had no problem with me called Sparky - Spanky) has a few bad games, my critique will look like faint praise compared to the stick he’ll receive on here as their (the group thinkers) opinions change with the wind. Groupthink you see.
The Boy at Hearts is just big, not good, big. He’ll get found out when someone puts a decent challenge in on him and will go into hiding for the rest of that match.
I don’t rate Maclaren, I didn’t rate McPake when everyone was fawning over him, nor Swanson, nor Shinnie but think Slivka is a player.
None of these opinions have been very popular but who cares it’s a football forum and why doesn’t anyone attacking those opinions have more going on in their life, is the real question.
FWIW I actually agree with you a little bit. Maclarens all round game is inconsistent. There's games like at Ibrox where him and Kamberi had some lovely link up play together, nd then there's other games when he doesn't really do much.
But between the posts he is anything but gash. And sometimes that's all it takes to turn an ok team into a good one, as proven last season.
I actually think he offers us something on the shoulder of defenders and is always a nuisance with his work rate.
K-Zazu
12-08-2018, 10:27 AM
Zach Clough?
12-08-2018, 10:29 AM
I'd rather we didn't sign another AM unless his name is Scott Allan. The midfield is going to get saturated.
andy1875
12-08-2018, 10:30 AM
1. Yam
2. Attention Seeker
The knee jerkers cannot debate a difference in opinion, they can only attack. If Maclaren (since folk don’t like my nickname for him but had no problem with me called Sparky - Spanky) has a few bad games, my critique will look like faint praise compared to the stick he’ll receive on here as there opinions change with the wind. Groupthink you see.
I am all for people have opinions and you’re right, its a football forum and there are more important things in life than football.
My post a short while ago was wondering if i had missed a whoosh moment in relation to McLaren now being nicknamed “Gash”. I’ve gathered that it is just down to your chat on here though and that in your opinion, he’s not very good.
My opinion is different and I think he will be a quality addition, just like he was last year when the team blossomed with him and Flo in it post Christmas.
Anyone who scores a hat trick against Rangers will never be called Gash in my eyes. Oh and importantly, Neil Lennon doesnt think hes gash either.
12-08-2018, 10:33 AM
Its only one person (speedway) who's calling him gash, thats not his nickname. :greengrin
12-08-2018, 10:34 AM
Its only one person (speedway) who's calling him gash, thats not his nickname. :greengrin
I've yet to read an explanation of why a striker who scores so many goals for us is "gash".
andy1875
12-08-2018, 10:35 AM
Yip I got that now....
When i seen the signings summary, i couldnt work out who Gash was.
It’s all clear now... :greengrin
12-08-2018, 10:35 AM
If McLaren is the worst player that we have then we have come a long way.
12-08-2018, 10:36 AM
Can we have a separate Maclaren thread or just stick to transfers only please?
12-08-2018, 10:37 AM
I'd rather we didn't sign another AM unless his name is Scott Allan. The midfield is going to get saturated.
Wee bit concerned about that myself tbh.
Not so much the Scott Allan thing as it appears we’re just not getting him this summer. I wonder where the grit and steel in midfield is going to come from though, the players who make it really difficult for the likes of Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen to play. All very well having exciting attacking players but against the better teams we need to have a couple of battlers in there too. As it stands we only really have Bartley and I’m not sure that’s enough.
Saying that, Lennon will know that better than me and I’m sure he’s on it, just hope we don’t end up with a situation of trying to squeeze players into a system that doesn’t really suit them.
I've yet to read an explanation of why a striker who scores so many goals for us is "gash".
Speedway explains why 4 or 5 posts down, i dont agree but he does explain his reason. :greengrin
because the guy who said it is an attention seeker looking for a reaction, which i will hold my hands up to doing yesterday
12-08-2018, 10:39 AM
Even if I thought he was gash I'd still refer to him as Maclaren.
mcfly
12-08-2018, 10:39 AM
Didn’t Maclaren not say part of him coming to hibs was the fans comments
to him in social media ?
If he reads this rubbish he may change his mind.
Him and Kamberi were lethal together - how anyone can say he is rubbish is a fool or a jambo causing trouble.
I don’t know what some hibs fans are expecting.
bigswissstriker
12-08-2018, 10:42 AM
Speedway explains why 4 or 5 posts down, i dont agree but he does explain his reason. :greengrin
He doesn’t explain anything he just reiterates he doesn’t rate him.
Some hibs fans wouldn’t know a good player if they slapped them in the face.
Chip shop Joe
12-08-2018, 10:43 AM
1. Yam
2. Attention Seeker
I would be delighted if he was just big and not very good but unfortunately, certainly on yesterday’s performance he seems pretty good to me. The fact that he was man of the match also tells a story but I suppose we will have to wait and see.
12-08-2018, 10:49 AM
Rather have Allan back tbh.
12-08-2018, 10:49 AM
Which is why he's calling him gash, personally i disagree, i like him for his goals and his workrate and space he creates. Cant for the life of me understand the gash comment. :greengrin
West lower
12-08-2018, 10:51 AM
Hopefully the players coming in are of a higher quality, and if so, I would imagine one or two will move on.
12-08-2018, 10:55 AM
He does. Says he doesn’t rate McLaren and gives further examples of players he didn’t rate. It’s fine as is his opinion. However and this is not directed at you, callin a long time poster a troll, yam, attention seeker and whatever else was said, is a bit daft given it’s a football forum about opinions. I wish Jamie all the best but haven’t seen enough of him to say either way as yet.
12-08-2018, 10:56 AM
It's been a few years now since we had a player that could be referred to as anything like gash.Absolutely now the likes of Vine, James Collins, Heffernan, McGivern, Nelson etc...they were GASH
stevie-bee
12-08-2018, 10:59 AM
Rather have Allan back tbh.
Maybe Celtic won’t deal with hibs over Allan ,that’s why we are looking for alternatives
12-08-2018, 10:59 AM
He does. Says he doesn’t rate McLaren and gives further examples of players he didn’t rate. It’s fine as is his opinion. However and this is not directed at you, callin a long time poster a troll, yam, attention seeker and whatever else was said, is a bit daft given it’s a football forum about opinions. I wish Jamie all the best but have t seen enough of him to say either way.
doesnt matter how long someone has been posting, there is a difference of opinion and there is posting rubbish, then posting things like asking who cares if someone lives or not as well as all the other comments, and im pretty sure his conversion rate for the second half of the season proves he is not "gash"
12-08-2018, 11:01 AM
Speedway is entitled to his opinion.
Jamie Mac once returned to full match fitness will be worth his weight in gold. That is why the top clubs pay top dollar for top strikers. He is constantly running into goal scoring positions links up well with Flo is an old fashioned penalty box poacher and his games played to goals scored is second to none.We have already seen that Martin Boyle cannot play the striker role as he lacks the required composure and is more useful to the team as a wide man utilising his speed.
Slivka? I agree there is a player in there somewhere but we are yet to see it consistently over ninety minutes he floats in and out of games. I do not think even he knows his best position. The centre midfield berth was there for him to take but he has failed to exert his authority and grab the opportunity to make the position his own.
To call Jamie Maclaren gash is disrespectful in the extreme bearing in mind what he has brought to the team.
Sllivka on the other hand has an excellent pedigree as you do not get picked up by Juve if you are gash and has excellent technique but he is in danger of being remembered as being so if he does not grasp the opportunities presented to him this season by Lenny with both hands.
Speedways post is the daftest on here since another poster suggested we punt Porteous out on loan.:wink:
Just MY opinion :wink:
12-08-2018, 11:04 AM
doesnt matter how long someone has been posting, there is a difference of opinion and there is posting rubbish, then posting things like asking who cares if someone lives or not as well as all the other comments, and im pretty sure his conversion rate for the second half of the season proves he is not "gash"
The rubbish is in your opinion mate. You see the hypocrisy there? I’m saying there is no need for any of us to get bent out of shape over another’s opinion well, unless its completely mental and really needs challenged. Opinions on football players are like erseholes, everybody has one.
Intolerance breeds intolerance with even the most tolerant becoming intolerant.
12-08-2018, 11:05 AM
Speedway is entitled to his opinion.
Jamie Mac once returned to full match fitness will be worth his weight in gold. That is why the top clubs pay top dollar for top strikers. He is constantly running into goal scoring positions links up well with Flo is an old fashioned penalty box poacher and his games played to goals scored is second to none.We have already seen that Martin Boyle cannot play the striker role as he lacks the required composure and is more useful to the team as a wide man utilising his speed.
Slivka? I agree there is a player in there somewhere but we are yet to see it consistently over ninety minutes he floats in and out of games. I do not think even he knows his best position. The centre midfield berth was there for him to take but he has failed to exert his authority and grab the opportunity to make the position his own.
To call Jamie Maclaren gash is disrespectful in the extreme bearing in mind what he has brought to the team.
Sllivka on the other hand has an excellent pedigree as you do not get picked up by Juve if you are gash and has excellent technique but he is in danger of being remembered as being so if he does not grasp the opportunities presented to him this season by Lenny with both hands.
Speedways post is the daftest on here since another poster suggested we punt Porteous out on loan.:wink:
Just MY opinion :wink:
1 league game into the season :shocked:
Togs91
12-08-2018, 11:07 AM
If McLaren is the worst player that we have then we have come a long way.
This, hes no even gash, once hes up to fitness hes a nightmare in the box for the opposition
12-08-2018, 11:09 AM
1 league game into the season :shocked:
I know mate! Just responding to Speedways opinion that Jamie Mac is gash! Does not matter if it is one game or forty four he is definately not gash that is all I am saying.:wink:
l hope Slivka does get that midfield berth there is no doubt he is a good player definately not gash!
Fritz
12-08-2018, 11:13 AM
The rubbish is in your opinion mate. You see the hypocrisy there? I’m saying there is no need for any of us to get bent out of shape over another’s opinion well, unless its completely mental and really needs challenged. Opinions on football players are like erseholes, everybody has one.
Hardly. He calls one of our players Gash. Fair enough, he's entitled to his opinion, but that description isn't exactly well thought out and balanced, nor is it backed up the stats. But worse than that, in my opinion, is the abusive and dismissive tone he's taken with other posters who DARE to have a different opinion to him. "Morons" "brittle non intellects" "who cares if you live"..? You really think that's reasonable and part of a healthy discussion?! Without a doubt he's getting away with it because of his post count. Others, myself included, would get reported for less.
12-08-2018, 11:13 AM
And now all of a sudden, a half decent debate has broken out.
Some posters are saying that my characterisation is far too harsh, unfounded and disrespectful. All noted.
However, this brutal characterisation has now allowed to come out and point out that they too, aren’t complete fans of the player but can’t ignore his contribution.
24 hours ago, you were only allowed to praise the boy.
That’s the difference.
If Maclaren scores goals for us and contributes this season, fantastic and I’ll be pleased to review my opinion.
I acknowledge his goals, as I did with Cummings, but I don’t rate him as a player.
And yes, McGivern was indeed gash, but we all loved him during his initial loan period.
Draw any parallels as appropriate.
12-08-2018, 11:16 AM
And now all of a sudden, a half decent debate has broken out.
Some posters are saying that my characterisation is far too harsh, unfounded and disrespectful. All noted.
However, this brutal characterisation has now allowed to come out and point out that they too, aren’t complete fans of the player but can’t ignore his contribution.
24 hours ago, you were only allowed to praise the boy.
That’s the difference.
If Maclaren scores goals for us and contributes this season, fantastic and I’ll be pleased to review my opinion.
I acknowledge his goals, as I did with Cummings, but I don’t rate him as a player.
And yes, McGivern was indeed gash, but we all loved him during his initial loan period.
Draw any parallels as appropriate.
Yes, very well done. You are the true saviour of sensible debate and we are forever in your debt..
12-08-2018, 11:17 AM
Hardly. He calls one of our players Gash. Fair enough, he's entitled to his opinion, but that description isn't exactly well thought out and balanced, nor is it backed up the stats. But worse than that, in my opinion, is the abusive and dismissive tone he's taken with other posters who DARE to have a different opinion to him. "Morons" "brittle non intellects" "who cares if you live"..? You really think that's reasonable and part of a healthy discussion?! Without a doubt he's getting away with it because of his post count. Others, myself included, would get reported for less.
Fritz, are you able to read nuance, flippancy and facetiousness into posts without the aid of emojis?
If so, you will have already discerned that my use of those terms was in response to being called a ‘f******g idiot’ for daring to have a contrarian position.
Retaliation rather than attack.
So if it’s ok for me to me (or any poster) to be labelled a f******g idiot but not ok to respond with a moron, I can only imagine that would class someone unable to see the contradiction as a moron (flippancy applied)
sean04
12-08-2018, 11:20 AM
Macleren will score goals. Works hard and is a constant thorn in defenders side. 1 of my fav Macleren goals was Patrick at home. Boyle hit the byline and macleren movement from behind the defender to in front for a tap in. Top striker play
This has turned into one weird ****ed up thread all because an auld ****er called a top scorer for us Gash, this place is ****ing mental at times, I truly despair. :confused:
12-08-2018, 11:21 AM
I can easily see why people think he’s gash. His contribution outside the box is virtually non-existent. As a result, you have to play a striker beside him meaning that you have to play a front 2. I’m struggling to think of one decent side in world football that plays with a front 2 these days.
He’s got brilliant movement and is an excellent finisher and averages about 1 in 2. The problem with a player like him is if he is not scoring, he offers very little meaning every second game it’s almost like your playing with a man short.
He’s got some brilliant qualities but he also has some massive deficiencies in his game.
12-08-2018, 11:22 AM
Any chance of getting back on topic?
This has turned into one weird ****ed up thread all because an auld ****er called a top scorer for us Gash, this place is ****ing mental at times, I truly despair. :confused:
This is us when Hibs are doing quite well too. It's going to be carnage when we start losing.
completely agree.
12-08-2018, 11:23 AM
Certainly. Anyone else concerned that we’re not being linked to a powerful centre mid or do we think that Hibs are just doing their business quietly as usual ?
Fritz
12-08-2018, 11:24 AM
Fritz, are you able to read nuance, flippancy and facetiousness into posts without the aid of emojis?
If so, you will have already discerned that my use of those terms was in response to being called a ‘f******g idiot’ for daring to have a contrarian position.
Retaliation rather than attack.
So if it’s ok for me to me (or any poster) to be labelled a f******g idiot but not ok to respond with a moron, I can only imagine that would class someone unable to see the contradiction as a moron (flippancy applied)
My but you're a patronising old soul aren't you?
Seen it all now.
That’s like a clown asking people to be serious for a minute.
Pages and pages of drivel with folk spending hours a day on here.
Maybe donate some of your time to charity work.
FifeHibs
Anyone got any decent rumours, the past few pages have ended up going a bit far
12-08-2018, 11:25 AM
I'm sorry but this post is just downright abusive and I feel you're having a break down of some sort, I have reported this post to the admin, shocking!!
So retaliation with flippancy explanation is unacceptable but the original attack on is ok?
I trust you’ve reported both posts.
12-08-2018, 11:25 AM
My but you're a patronising old soul aren't you?
So you can’t debate the point either then?
12-08-2018, 11:26 AM
Going to be fun on here if we lose today :greengrin
12-08-2018, 11:26 AM
did you see the abuse he took from at least two posters with differing opinions to his ? personally they would have got it straight back from me...he's been quite tame in his replies
maybe some posters should learn how to use the ignore function on here, it's really simple to use :)
12-08-2018, 11:28 AM
did you see the abuse he took from at least two posters with differing opinions to his ? personally they would have got it straight back from me...he's been quite tame in his replies
maybe some posters should learn how to use the ignore function on here, it's really simple to use :)
It is indeed as should be debating a players merits but it seems not.
12-08-2018, 11:30 AM
This thread has gone really weird...
12-08-2018, 11:31 AM
to say he is gash is rubbish and his goals last season proved that
It is indeed as should be debating a players merits but it seems not.
We can debate players merits without having to go out your way in giving them poor names, how would you like if everyone stopped calling you Speedway and started calling you Grumpy Sourfaced Moaning Auld ****.
12-08-2018, 11:32 AM
This thread has gone really weird...
Agreed. This nonsense was meant to stop when the new season kicked off.
12-08-2018, 11:33 AM
We can debate players merits without having to go out your way in giving them poor names, how would you like if everyone stopped calling you Speedway and started calling you Grumpy Sourfaced Moaning Auld ****.
I’d ask how the wife started learning to use the computer.
Because of course I meant that with all my heart so there was no need for an explanatory parentheses next to it.
And being called a f*****g idiot. Did you report that one?
No because occasionally most people on this website will actually be a ****ing idiot, it's what we as humans do now and again but to actually wish someone to die in a house fire is just plain wrong for so many reasons.
12-08-2018, 11:36 AM
A few people need to take a step back now or I'll do what I've wanted to do for weeks, if not months, and close this car crash of a thread.
Everyone isn't always going to agree. Deal with it. Having a different opinion doesn't make someone an idiot, or a fancy variation of that word. Wishing ill on someone, in jocular fashion or otherwise, isn't particularly amusing either. We're all adults with the mental capability to operate a computer or phone, that suggests at least a basic intillect, so act like it.
12-08-2018, 11:37 AM
I think our group admins need to step in here.
A few people need to take a step back now or I'll do what I've wanted to do for weeks if not months and close this car crash of a thread.
Everyone isn't always going to agree. Deal with it. Having a differenr opinion doesn't make someone an idiot, or a fancy variation in that word. Wishing ill on someone, in jocular fashion or otherwise, isn't particularly amusing either. We're all adults with the mental capability to operate a computer or phone so act like it.
:agree::top marks
I'm done over Gashgate.
Fritz
12-08-2018, 11:40 AM
No I haven't read back through them all but I believe someone called him a ****ing idiot which of course is out of order. But if his "contrarian position" was simply to call Maclaren "gash" then he's brought some of it on himself.
12-08-2018, 11:43 AM
No I haven't read back through them all but I believe someone called him a ****ing idiot which of course is out of order. But if his "contrarian position" was simply to call Maclaren "gash" then he's brought some of it on himself.
Don’t disagree with that although don’t have this issue on the PM board which is actually referred to on .net as a ‘refuge’ from the main board.
Wonder why?
12-08-2018, 11:43 AM
Despair JC, not for me, posts like we see on this thread is part of the reason i love this place. :greengrin
12-08-2018, 11:44 AM
No because occasionally most people on this website will actually be a ****ing idiot, it's what we as humans do now and again but to actually wish someone to die in a house fire is just plain wrong for so many reasons.
Then the next time you call a ref out for inconsistencies, I’ll hand you a mirror.
12-08-2018, 11:44 AM
A few people need to take a step back now or I'll do what I've wanted to do for weeks, if not months, and close this car crash of a thread.
As the OP I've had similar thoughts myself. :wink:
12-08-2018, 11:45 AM
Could we get back on track and get Scottie Allan back pretty please preferably before this window closes and then we can say we are done! :wink:
Praising with faint damns, eh? :greengrin
Despair JC, not for me, posts like we see on this thread is part of the reason i love this place. :greengrin
Since whatever happened to Andy74, we’ve been short of a good Rammy on here.
We’re still ok to attack Underscore for posting rumour on a rumour thread though.
Are we able to get this thread back on topic?
12-08-2018, 11:47 AM
So retaliation with flippancy explanation is unacceptable but the original attack on is ok?
I trust you’ve reported both posts.
If you think that's an attack, you've lived a seriously sheltered life.
I'm not in the least bit offended by your post though, despite having a friend who did indeed die in the circumstances in which you posted.
Fritz
12-08-2018, 11:48 AM
So you can’t debate the point either then?
Ok, fair enough. If you don't rate Maclaren then that's fine, you're entitled to that opinion. For what it's worth, I can see obvious deficiencies in his game too. He doesn't link play particularly well nor does he seem to have great close control. And he missed a few sitters last season. But he also scored 8 goals. I hate the phrase but he's what I'd call a fox in the box. If someone calls me a ****ing idiot for taking that view then I'd be more than a bit miffed. If, however, all I'd done was refer Maclaren as "gash" then I'd probably deserve all I get for being deliberately provocative.
12-08-2018, 11:49 AM
Speedway transferred to kickback, undisclosed fee. :wink:
Ok, fair enough. If you don't rate Maclaren then that's fine, you're entitled to that opinion. For what it's worth, I can see obvious deficiencies in his game too. He doesn't link play particularly well nor does he seem to have great close control. And he missed a few sitters last season. But he also scored 8 goals. I hate the phrase but he's what I'd call a fox in the box. If someone calls me a ****ing idiot for taking that view then I'd be more than a bit miffed. If, however, all I'd done was refer Maclaren as "gash" then I'd probably deserve all I get for being deliberately provocative.
Which is fair.
12-08-2018, 11:50 AM
Yeah, but have we got any sell-ons? :greengrin
I think our group admins need to step in here.
No bloody half … its supposed to be a transfer rumours thread, instead folk are using it to discuss the merits of players we already have and worse slagging a player who was good for us last season. Perhaps there should be a separate thread for folk to rip the guys who aren't good enough for the new Barcelonaesque Hibernian FC.
If you think that's an attack, you've lived a seriously sheltered life.
If you think what I’ve responded with is an attack, you must have lived similarly.
Edinburgh Green
Yeah this car crash of a thread needs binned.
MacGruber
Dont mind Clough coming in provided we have exhausted the Allan route.
Why havent we gone public with a bid or are we scared to deal with them now? If they are going to be spiteful about it would rather that was played out for all to see
12-08-2018, 11:51 AM
As the OP I've had similar thoughts myself. :wink:
The problem when a thread turns into a car crash is it attracts a lot of rubbernecking.
We still have 2.5 weeks of the window to go, will this thread make it?
12-08-2018, 11:51 AM
Since whatever happened to Andy74, we’ve been short of a good Rammy on here.
We’re still ok to attack Underscore for posting rumour on a rumour thread though.
and the one and only legendary filled rolls :(
Then the next time you call a ref out for inconsistencies, I’ll hand you a mirror.
Eh?
huggie1875
12-08-2018, 11:54 AM
Was there not a journalist putting a rumour about a target for hibs today or are we just concentrating on galloots moaning at each other
12-08-2018, 11:55 AM
and the one and only legendary filled rolls :(
Oh yeah, I’d forgotten about FR.
Also what happened to Gramo?
Anyway, centre mids. If neither Mulumbu nor Kamara cane iff, who would fit the bill?
12-08-2018, 11:55 AM
Eh?
The defense rests.
12-08-2018, 11:56 AM
Was there not a journalist putting a rumour about a target for hibs today or are we just concentrating on galloots moaning at each other
Zach Clough for Forest on loan is the name mentioned.
Does anyone think we are not after Scott Allan now, especially with Hyndman in, Mallan in and rumours of others like Clough?
Its not what i would call a priority, but would still love him back.
Looks like his rumour was going to be Horgan but Hibs beat him to the punch, Zach Clough was also mentioned on the Sun twitter feed.
bigswissstriker
Dont mind Clough coming in provided we have exhausted the Allan route.
Why havent we gone public with a bid or are we scared to deal with them now? If they are going to be spiteful about it would rather that was played out for all to see
I really can’t see us signing Allan, at least not till next season.
I hope we do but also now think do we necessarily need him at this point in time?
12-08-2018, 11:57 AM
Does anyone think we are not after Scott Allan now, especially with Hyndman in, Mallan in and rumours of others like Clough?
i cant see allan coming in this window, to many similar players already here, he is the better player i think but have my doubts now
12-08-2018, 11:57 AM
Oh yeah, I’d forgotten about FR.
Also what happened to Gramo?
Anyway, centre mids. If neither Mulumbu nor Kamara cane iff, who would fit the bill?
did he survive the tub of beans :dunno:
anyway, what's Modric doing nowadays, i'm a long-term admirer of his
12-08-2018, 11:58 AM
12-08-2018, 12:00 PM
Can’t see Allan coming back this window. January more likely.
I think Celtic are in the huff and are playing hard ball, we've seemingly moved quickly to fill the position we expected Allan to get. Watched the George Craig bit on telly recently and they spoke about being organised a year in advance re identifying players, I think we can see this happening now when players we can't get, others come in instead.
Ok guys. As Pretty boy has said this nonsense continues then there will only be one outcome.
I've tidied the thread up a bit but please feel free to use the report post function if required.
I'm not wasting my Sunday afternoon cleaning up 400 pages :greengrin :greengrin :greengrin :greengrin :greengrin
12-08-2018, 12:10 PM
If you think what I’ve responded with is an attack, you must have lived similarly.
I didn't :hilarious
12-08-2018, 12:14 PM
I'm not wasting my Sunday afternoon cleaning up 400 pages :greengrin :greengrin :greengrin :greengrin :greengrin
Why not? Gash admin.
:duck:
Lemonade
12-08-2018, 12:18 PM
What a great feeling it is knowing we are looking at quality players.
I think we will sign another 2.
Hey dave, where is this ignore button ??. Is that why ur no replying to my pms.
B
12-08-2018, 12:40 PM
The Allan Campbell rumour isn’t receiving much attention.
What kind of player is he?
madsen5
12-08-2018, 12:41 PM
Just like bleed green.
Liam978
12-08-2018, 12:43 PM
I think Celtic are in the huff and are playing hard ball, we've seemingly moved quickly to fill the position we expected Allan to get. Watched the George Craig bit on telly recently and they spoke about being organised a year in advance re identifying players, I think we can see this happening now when players we can't get, others come in instead.
Singing from the same hymn sheet Gary, cant stand the thought of him signing for one of our rivals.
12-08-2018, 12:45 PM
A Motherwell player. :greengrin
12-08-2018, 12:45 PM
Nicknamed the Lanarkshire N’Golo ****e
So must be a tenacious defensive midfielder that’s very good at winning the ball back & protecting the defence
12-08-2018, 12:48 PM
Just like bleed green.
Aye! No news on any signings though! I remember John Madsen well 😁👍🏾
12-08-2018, 12:49 PM
Hey dave, where is this ignore button ??. Is that why ur no replying to my pms.
B
1. left click the posters username
2. view profile
3. 3rd option down, 'Add to ignore list'
i've just tried it on you bri....what were you saying again ? :na na::greengrin
12-08-2018, 12:56 PM
a player the motherwell fans were hoping would have been up against SJM last week, unfortunately for them..he was suspended, their young player of the year
12-08-2018, 12:59 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/3055851/celtic-scott-allan-fill-john-mcginns-shoes-hibs-michael-stewart/amp/?__twitter_impression=true
Michael Sterwart is bang on here.
Surely we are trying to bring in Scotty Allan.
Tug Wilson
12-08-2018, 01:02 PM
We had a fairly settled midfield last season, especially once Scott Allan joined.
Unfortunately we now no longer have McGinn, McGeouch and Allan.
Therefore I think that we are slightly overloading on the number of central midfielders in the squad to give us options until the best team develops.
I really felt that Scott would be back at the end of August but if we bring in Clough then suspect that we have enough players who can play that 10 role.
We desperately need a strong and more defensive midfielder to complete the squad.
Next after that would be another striker. Was going to say back up to Flo and Jamie but why not a quality player who puts real pressure on our current forwards to perform.
I think that that will be it. Provide cover from the youth team thereafter.
It is going to be interesting to see if we can mould and winning team from the squad but I am confident that Hibs will be there or thereabouts all season.
We will just have to be patient with the players and management as the team develops. Bound to be a few hiccups along the way but we must keep the faith.
Lennon is definitely going down an attack minded route. Going to be exciting.
I’m still reeling from someone using the term “non-intellectual”