View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread
Leitherhibs
17-08-2018, 06:52 PM
Bartley won't be playing that role for months so.
We need two more midfielders I've said we have enquired about Kamara and I think that will be ramped up now.
I think this is going to be a tough spell Rodgers is nor happy NL if he does not get the players he wants and we need won't be happy.
You can see a merry go round forming Hibs need more backing and poor STF is not in a position to do so as his health is not good.
So a new mega rich owner would be good where do we find one .
I think we have reached a point where we can drive on or fall back its dangerous territory investment is needed now LD is going to have to work some magic.
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
Don’t know where to begin..
17-08-2018, 06:54 PM
Don’t know where to begin..
Begin by finding a new mega rich owner, pretty simple!
17-08-2018, 06:56 PM
We need two more midfielders I've said we have enquired about Kamara and I think that will be ramped up now.
I think this is going to be a tough spell Rodgers is nor happy NL if he does not get the players he wants and we need won't be happy.
You can see a merry go round forming Hibs need more backing and poor STF is not in a position to do so as his health is not good.
I think we have reached a point where we can drive on or fall back its dangerous territory investment is needed now LD is going to have to work some magic.
We're aw doomed....... doomed ah tell ye.........
Greenworld
17-08-2018, 07:15 PM
Don’t know where to begin..Well that excludes you from helping [emoji39][emoji39]
Greenworld
17-08-2018, 07:17 PM
Got you posting at least
Biggest load of crap I've read on here for a long time. I know, I know, all opinions count but jeezo.
Greenworld
17-08-2018, 07:18 PM
We're aw doomed....... doomed ah tell ye.........Great programme [emoji23][emoji23]
Greenworld
17-08-2018, 07:19 PM
Begin by finding a new mega rich owner, pretty simple!Yup I thought so
17-08-2018, 07:20 PM
Yup I thought so
This is where it comes out you are a secret billionaire....
17-08-2018, 07:21 PM
This is amazing! :hyper
Greenworld
17-08-2018, 07:22 PM
Ditto210 posts in 13 years and all you can say is ditto [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
madsen5
17-08-2018, 07:25 PM
210 posts in 13 years and all you can say is ditto [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
This place is turning into troll central.
K-Zazu
17-08-2018, 07:28 PM
Can’t wait for the end of August and the end of this thread, before that we need 2CMs and a striker. Think Swanson will go.
Greenworld
17-08-2018, 07:33 PM
This place is turning into troll central.95 posts in 4 years yup your right
Greenworld
17-08-2018, 07:38 PM
This is where it comes out you are a secret billionaire....
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIt's no secret [emoji23][emoji23] I just want what's best for Hibs we are so close to moving up a gear I don't want to drop back.
Cracker
17-08-2018, 07:49 PM
210 posts in 13 years and all you can say is ditto [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
I’m a Man of few words unlike the long winded drivel you post 😴
I see this threads going from strength to strength, still loads of bickering and zero rumours, keep it up lads, well worth 10 mins reading and time wasting.
But that is the problem JC, there are no rumours & so everyone is at each others throat.
Inconsequential
17-08-2018, 08:53 PM
DittoDitto... ditto.
17-08-2018, 09:50 PM
This thread is like a massive pile up on the M1.
17-08-2018, 09:56 PM
This thread is like a massive pile up on the M1.
Cool. What Hibs transfer rumours have you heard?
17-08-2018, 09:57 PM
Cool. What Hibs transfer rumours have you heard?
I'm not ITK.
18-08-2018, 09:13 AM
It's gone downhill since the puns stopped.
18-08-2018, 09:18 AM
It's gone downhill since the puns stopped.
Oh no it hasn't-it's always been a pantomime.
18-08-2018, 09:20 AM
When the puns stop, stop.
18-08-2018, 09:23 AM
When the puns stop, stop.
😂😂
madsen5
18-08-2018, 09:36 AM
This place is turning into troll central.
I wasn't having a dig at you just commenting on the general state of this thread.
I am not bothered about my post count I'd rather it was low than have 300 posts full of nonsense.:saltireflag
18-08-2018, 09:58 AM
Biggest load of crap I've read on here for a long time. I know, I know, all opinions count but jeezo.Absolutely and it takes some going on this thread
18-08-2018, 10:24 AM
Oh no it hasn't-it's always been a pantomime.
Oh Yes it has
one day maybe...
18-08-2018, 11:12 AM
No Christie or Allan in the Celtic team today.. Get it done Hibs playmaker & a grafter, makes sense :flag:
18-08-2018, 11:18 AM
#ignorethisthread
18-08-2018, 11:20 AM
Striker should be a high priority crazy if we go with what we have up there
18-08-2018, 02:03 PM
Hibs just tweeted another Saturday signing is coming
18-08-2018, 02:03 PM
Signing incoming...
18-08-2018, 02:04 PM
Australian international Mark Milligan
18-08-2018, 02:04 PM
This one could be a bit out the blue..
18-08-2018, 02:07 PM
Said he’s a mainly a central defender, he’s only at 5ft 11in
18-08-2018, 02:08 PM
Defencive midfielder....
This one could be a bit out the blue..
Andy Halliday, fill that midfield gap :duck:
Said he’s a mainly a central defender, he’s only at 5ft 11in
Central defensive midfielder according to wiki.
18-08-2018, 02:09 PM
Announce allan
18-08-2018, 02:10 PM
Andy Halliday, fill that midfield gap :duck:
:paranoid:
Presuming it is Milligan, I presume he'll need a work permit? Which isn't ideal, he sounds like he fits the bill but we could do with him now.
Signed for $1 million in Jan18
Please be Scott Allan
18-08-2018, 02:11 PM
Central defensive midfielder according to wiki.
But spent most of his career as a central defender. Looks like we may want him as a holding midfielder though
Announce allan
Please be this.
18-08-2018, 02:12 PM
Please be Scott Allan
I'm going straight to the pub if it's Scott Allan. :agree::party:
bigswissstriker
18-08-2018, 02:13 PM
Zach Clough ...
Too right!
Not in the Celtic squad today....
Where's the Milligan stuff coming from?
18-08-2018, 02:14 PM
Better wi Spike Milligan
Already queuing at the bar here :greengrin
So it's Allan, Milligan, Clough, Sidwell. Any other guesses before Hibs ruin it by announcing?
18-08-2018, 02:15 PM
Better wi Spike Milligan
Really? Played 3 times at WC signed for $1million in Jan18
Hannah_hfc
Mark Milligan 2 year deal, just announced
Milligan confirmed. 2 year deal.
Callum7
Confirmed as Mark Milligan.
18-08-2018, 02:16 PM
Milligan it is
:boo hoo::greengrin
Well that was fairly out of the blue!
18-08-2018, 02:17 PM
Wee Tommys work permit sorted as well. Tagged on to the end of the story
Big signing for Hibs to get someone of his calibre. Delighted with this. Edit just realised he’s 33, plenty of experience.
Ageypong also cleared to play.
Wee Tommys work permit sorted as well. Tagged on to the end of the story
Excellent. Glad his work permit is sorted as we won't see Milligan for another couple of months. :wink:
18-08-2018, 02:18 PM
Hibernian are delighted to announce the signing of Australian international Mark Milligan on a two-year deal, subject to securing a work permit.
The midfielder, who can also operate in the centre of defence, has 71 caps for the Australian national squad and played in all three games at the recent FIFA World Cup in Russia.
He was most recently at Saudi Arabian side Al-Ahli, who he joined from Australian side Melbourne Victory.
Milligan said: “I am delighted to have joined Hibernian.
“I know it’s a big club with an exciting young squad, and I hope to be able to add to that with my experience.
“Jamie (Maclaren) obviously did well here last year and gave Hibs a bit of a profile back home – everyone there is pretty familiar with the Scottish game and I’m excited to now be a part of that.
“The team have had a good start to the season with the run in Europe and I’m looking forward to joining up with the squad and getting going.”
Meanwhile, the club have now secured a work permit for Thomas Agyepong, who will be available for selection this weekend.
Another full international (and World Cup Star dear Yams)
Hibernian are delighted to announce the signing of Australian international Mark Milligan on a two year deal.
Fair enough. Need to sure up that areas and can play midfield or defence
And gives Maclaren a friend that speaks his language....
Welcome Mark
TelaStella
18-08-2018, 02:20 PM
Sorry if posted elsewhere but the Daily Ranger is saying Greg Stewart’s been told to find a new club. Would certainly do a decent job as back up for us at least?
18-08-2018, 02:20 PM
:boo hoo::greengrin
I've left the bar and I am no away home in a strop :greengrin
yerauldda
18-08-2018, 02:21 PM
Our biggest signing in years. Scratching my head as to how we have managed to pull this one off. What a statement of intent.
villahibs
18-08-2018, 02:21 PM
Definitely looks to be a McGeouch type player...
18-08-2018, 02:22 PM
On paper that's a great signing.
Same age as Whittaker.
Exactly the type of midfielder we need. Great signing
18-08-2018, 02:23 PM
Played every game for Australia at the WC this summer.
yonder1875
18-08-2018, 02:24 PM
Surely there is some Oz based Hibees able to tell us how he is?
https://youtu.be/uDS2Nb-E8nw
Certainly on paper seems a very good signing
I’m 33 aswell
I wish people would stop calling that old
Silky
18-08-2018, 02:32 PM
Same age as Whittaker.
And Scott Brown!
mayo hibee
18-08-2018, 02:33 PM
Bogdan/Marciano
Whittaker Ambrose - - - - - - - - Stevenson
Milligan
Agyepong Slivka Hyndman Horgan
Maclaren
When were Hibs last able to field a full international eleven? Just an international centre back needed...or a midfielder with Milligan dropping back to centre back.
18-08-2018, 02:34 PM
Hibernian are delighted to announce the signing of Australian international Mark Milligan on a two year deal.
Fair enough. Need to sure up that areas and can play midfield or defence
And gives Maclaren a friend that speaks his language....
Welcome Mark
Should that not be "Fair dinkum, mate!"?
18-08-2018, 02:35 PM
So Milligan replaces McGeough
Mallan replaces Allan
Tommy replaces Barker
Kamberi replaces Kamberi
MacLaren replaces Maclaren
Horgan replaces SJM?
18-08-2018, 02:36 PM
Luka Modric is 33 in 3 weeks...
18-08-2018, 02:37 PM
Luka Modric is 33 in 3 weeks...
But he’s Luka Modric :greengrin
18-08-2018, 02:40 PM
But he’s Luka Modric :greengrin
and we are Hibs
18-08-2018, 02:42 PM
looks like a good signing to me. And I would cut me left ball off to be 33 again!!!!
18-08-2018, 02:43 PM
And Scott Brown!
And Berra . 5 years younger than Hughes and good enough to play in Russia
Inconsequential
18-08-2018, 03:16 PM
I’m 33 aswell
I wish people would stop calling that old I wish I was 33! 33 Is not old! :rolleyes:
18-08-2018, 03:17 PM
More recent footage.
https://youtu.be/l5wUFkzrCFo
https://youtu.be/WyrvIDW5J64
H18S NX
18-08-2018, 03:19 PM
I’m 33 aswell
I wish people would stop calling that old...i'm twice that age and i am as young as ****
18-08-2018, 03:23 PM
Bogdan/Marciano
Whittaker Ambrose - - - - - - - - Stevenson
Milligan
Agyepong Slivka Hyndman Horgan
Maclaren
When were Hibs last able to field a full international eleven? Just an international centre back needed...or a midfielder with Milligan dropping back to centre back.
Really good point actually. Got to have a fair few caps between them that lot. The experience in the team will be valuable as the season goes on.
18-08-2018, 03:24 PM
More recent footage.
https://youtu.be/l5wUFkzrCFo
https://youtu.be/WyrvIDW5J64
Got a lot of time for centre backs going up to take penalties.
18-08-2018, 03:24 PM
Definitely looks to be a McGeouch type player...
He does.
18-08-2018, 03:43 PM
[QUOTE=Speedway;5520552]
Milligan & Mallan replace McGeough & McGinn
Hyndmann replaces Allan
Angepong replaces Barker
Horgan replaces Murray
Kamberi replaces Kamberi
MacLaren replaces MacLaren
Fixed that for you.
Doesn't quite work like for like but we are getting there and the signing of Milligan is a great relief
18-08-2018, 03:44 PM
Shankland. Sign him up.
18-08-2018, 03:45 PM
Shankland. Sign him up.
18-08-2018, 03:47 PM
Shankland. Sign him up.
Not seen him but he has a habit of scoring goals. Could be worth a punt
18-08-2018, 03:48 PM
Our biggest signing in years. Scratching my head as to how we have managed to pull this one off. What a statement of intent.Some signing indeed played all 3 games at World Cup...a cracking bit of business
18-08-2018, 03:50 PM
So Milligan replaces McGeough
Mallan replaces Allan
Tommy replaces Barker
Kamberi replaces Kamberi
MacLaren replaces Maclaren
Horgan replaces SJM?I reckon 1 more midfielder to come..Lennon said he wanted 2 more....
18-08-2018, 03:51 PM
Glen Kamara on the bench for Dundee today so no longer injured.
18-08-2018, 04:02 PM
Shankland. Sign him up.
Yip. Has to be worth taking a chance on. Be gutted if the yams get him.
Inconsequential
18-08-2018, 04:10 PM
Hibernian have secured the signing of Milligan and are also interested in his former teammates Bentine and Sellers. 3 more goons in the Hibs midfield. :greengrin
FifeHibs
18-08-2018, 04:13 PM
Yip. Has to be worth taking a chance on. Be gutted if the yams get him.
Aye looking for around £250k turned down an offer from England off £175 before the English window closed
18-08-2018, 04:14 PM
Hibernian have secured the signing of Milligan and are also interested in his former teammates Bentine and Sellers. 3 more goons in the Hibs midfield. :greengrin
You have just lost aw the kids
18-08-2018, 04:15 PM
I wonder if we have more business to do in the transfer window
18-08-2018, 04:16 PM
Only those of a certain vintage are going to get that one.
18-08-2018, 04:17 PM
Same age as Whittaker.
No. Whittaker is almost 14 months older than Milligan
18-08-2018, 04:18 PM
No. Whittaker is almost 14 months older than Milligan
At time of signing I meant.
18-08-2018, 04:22 PM
At time of signing I meant.
Okay. Almost 2 months younger :greengrin
18-08-2018, 04:23 PM
The age stuff is lazy criticism IMO.
There are plenty players the wrong side of 30 who have done well in the past and who do well currently in this league.
There are plenty players who are 23 who have been pish in the past and who are currently pish in this league.
Last year Boyd was top scorer and Brown won all the awards going. As long as they are good players, age is irrelevant.
18-08-2018, 04:24 PM
Okay. Almost 2 months younger :greengrin
😄
Inconsequential
18-08-2018, 04:27 PM
You have just lost aw the kids They can google Mr. Murdoch!
18-08-2018, 04:27 PM
There are plenty players the wrong side of 30 who have done well in the past and who do well currently in this league.
There are plenty players who are 23 who have been pish in the past and who are currently pish in this league.
Last year Boyd was top scorer and Brown won all the awards going. As long as they are good players, age is irrelevant.
Well put.
Regarding the comparisons with Whittaker, surely those comparisons are only valid if they had the exact some bodies, fitness levels, history with injuries, careers and played in the same position.
The fact that he and Whittaker were born in the same year really means nothing as they’ve had completely different life’s the last 33 years.
18-08-2018, 04:28 PM
Only those of a certain vintage are going to get that one.
Sadly I did!
18-08-2018, 04:29 PM
From looking at him on YouTube (I know I know) he probably looks like a replacement for Dylan I’d say?
Oh, and he can absolutely launch a throw in :greengrin
18-08-2018, 04:41 PM
Last year Boyd was top scorer and Brown won all the awards going. As long as they are good players, age is irrelevant.Our own Legend Daz is 33 now so like u say a lazy and pointless argument
18-08-2018, 04:49 PM
Well put.
Regarding the comparisons with Whittaker, surely those comparisons are only valid if they had the exact some bodies, fitness levels, history with injuries, careers and played in the same position.
The fact that he and Whittaker were born in the same year really means nothing as they’ve had completely different life’s the last 33 years.
Sol Bamba is over 33 and only today, people were saying they'd love him back at ER.
Fernandinho, who is a starter for Man City and is still valued at over £15m, is over 33, and Phil Jagielka is 36 this month.
Age is irrelevant unless you're only buying to develop and sell.
18-08-2018, 04:52 PM
Longevity and physical condition would be a consideration, no?
Few players play past 35. Daz’s knees are knackered, Whittaker’s legs have gone and Holt had lost his mobility allaround Milligan’s age.
Let’s see what Milligan brings but older players on big money is not the strategy that is most obvious as being in Hibs best interests.
18-08-2018, 04:53 PM
Some 33 year olds have plenty in the tank ,Modric would run rings round most 23 year olds
Some players are done by 33 like Whittaker .
The rest of our midfield are pretty young so maybe not a bad idea having a more experienced head in there
18-08-2018, 05:00 PM
Sadly I did!
Ying tong song (oh by the way never found them funny)
18-08-2018, 05:10 PM
Some 33 year olds have plenty in the tank ,Modric would run rings round most 23 year olds
The rest of our midfield are pretty young so maybe not a bad idea having a more experienced head in there
So what you’re saying is that not all people born in the same year throughout the world are in exactly the same physical condition?
Crazy.
18-08-2018, 05:16 PM
Longevity and physical condition would be a consideration, no?
Few players play past 35. Daz’s knees are knackered, Whittaker’s legs have gone and Holt had lost his mobility allaround Milligan’s age.
Let’s see what Milligan brings but older players on big money is not the strategy that is most obvious as being in Hibs best interests.
And I don’t think it is our strategy generally speaking.
Things go in cycles and the likes of McGregor will leave in time, probably at the end of his current deal. The same can probably be said for the likes of Bartley.
The players we have paid money for and signed on permenant, long term deals this summer are generally much younger. Kamberi is 23. Mallan is 22. Horgan has just turned 26.
18-08-2018, 05:23 PM
SA will be a Hibs player by next Saturday.
18-08-2018, 05:25 PM
Oh no he'll not. 😁
18-08-2018, 05:25 PM
That’s Bleed Green’s line.
18-08-2018, 05:26 PM
SA and striker and we’re sound IMO.
18-08-2018, 05:32 PM
SA and striker and we’re sound IMO.
Throw in Mulumbu as well.
Wouldn’t mind us having a look at that Lawrence Shankland from Ayr Utd. Scored 2 today. That’s him now got 11 goals in 8 games. Continues this sort of form, he’s going to have 30 goals before December which is absolutely brilliant!
18-08-2018, 05:45 PM
Based on what?
18-08-2018, 05:50 PM
Based on what?
Based on high quality wishful thinking, I suspect.
18-08-2018, 05:54 PM
ITK or just your opinion ?
18-08-2018, 06:11 PM
ITK or just your opinion ?
Someone at club. Won't be for lack of trying if we don't get him.
Keyser Sauzee
18-08-2018, 06:31 PM
So it’s went from he will be a Hibs player next Sunday to we’re trying really really hard to get him 🤔
18-08-2018, 06:40 PM
So it’s went from he will be a Hibs player next Sunday to we’re trying really really hard to get him 🤔
Actively trying to get him and confident of doing so by the Aberdeen game. That's what I've been told.
18-08-2018, 07:10 PM
Actively trying to get him and confident of doing so by the Aberdeen game. That's what I've been told.
If wonder if its the same person at the club that told the other poster that Steve Sidwell is signing? :hmmm:
alan1875
18-08-2018, 07:32 PM
Like Cristiano Ronaldo... just the 100m at the ripe old age of 33.
Baw187
18-08-2018, 07:43 PM
I wish I was 33! 33 Is not old! [emoji57]
It can be when you’re trying to keep up with 21 year olds running rings round you.
Not saying no that’ll be the case with ol Sparky boy but it sure is for some 33 year olds!
Greenworld
19-08-2018, 06:13 AM
Throw in Mulumbu as well.
Wouldn’t mind us having a look at that Lawrence Shankland from Ayr Utd. Scored 2 today. That’s him now got 11 goals in 8 games. Continues this sort of form, he’s going to have 30 goals before December which is absolutely brilliant!I'm with you on the Lawrence Shankland bit would be a great addition
Souter96Mac
19-08-2018, 07:59 AM
I'm with you on the Lawrence Shankland bit would be a great addition
Interest in him will be high. But at least it'll only be Scottish clubs that can look to bring him in. Don't think he'd be good enough for either of the two smellies, aberdeen let him go so I'm guessing he wouldn't be going back there in a hurry, so I'd say we're in the mix. Maybe hearts will be looking at him in case Lavatory leaves
19-08-2018, 08:12 AM
I would be keen to get Shankland but not sure we can afford to spend £250k on a squad player. I guess the question is, is he better thank Kamberi, McLaren or even Shaw/Boyle? I'm not sure enough to want the club throw down what would be a big transfer fee.
I want to see us spend more money but would prefer that to be players that are proven at this or an equivalent level.
19-08-2018, 08:16 AM
I would be keen to get Shankland but not sure we can afford to spend £250k on a squad player. I guess the question is, is he better thank Kamberi, McLaren or even Shaw/Boyle? I'm not sure enough to want the club throw down what would be a big transfer fee.
I want to see us spend more money but would prefer that to be players that are proven at this or an equivalent level.
Pretty sure a deal could be done for less. He only has a year left on his deal. Give Ayr a sell on clause and I’m sure they will talk.
Tug Wilson
19-08-2018, 08:25 AM
Pretty sure a deal could be done for less. He only has a year left on his deal. Give Ayr a sell on clause and I’m sure they will talk.
I see this as a potentially good financial model for Hibs to follow.
Look to sign good young prospects in the Scottish game who are near the end of their contract. Offer their current club a small fee now with a decent sell on clause. Develop the player and look to sell on to a club down South with a further sell on clause.
We have to be a selling club and maximise return but if we are seen as fair and beneficial to the original Scottish club then more likely to do business.
The Leith Dutch
19-08-2018, 08:27 AM
Interesting that this is probably not a million miles off what Villa fans would have said about McGinn ;)
19-08-2018, 08:31 AM
Interesting that this is probably not a million miles off what Villa fans would have said about McGinn ;)
Maybe they would have but McGinn has shown he can play at international level and that is definitely a step above the championship so they would have been misguided?
Hibs don’t need another striker, so I very much doubt Shankland will be coming. The jigsaw will be complete once we sign Allan.
The Leith Dutch
19-08-2018, 08:34 AM
Maybe they would have but McGinn has shown he can play at international level and that is definitely a step above the championship so they would have been misguided?
Hibs don’t need another striker, so I very much doubt Shankland will be coming. The jigsaw will be complete once we sign Allan.
I suspect you're right.
Wasn't meaning to suggest we signed Shankland btw - more interested in the comparison particularly around money received and the perceived valuation based on club and league.
19-08-2018, 08:34 AM
Shankland has certainly done well recently...yet I recall on here the demands to sign the guy Bahktaoui...who flopped at Dundee .
I’m sure a Hibs will have watched him and have a well rounded view - if we sign him then great - if not, won’t be a big deal..Shaw has as much potential in my view
Hibeewilly
19-08-2018, 08:37 AM
I think we do need another striker. One who can hold the ball is good in the air and can also hit the back of the net. Im still not convinced about McLaren but hope Im wrong and time will tell
19-08-2018, 08:38 AM
Shankland has certainly done well recently...yet I recall on here the demands to sign the guy Bahktaoui...who flopped at Dundee .
I’m sure a Hibs will have watched him and have a well rounded view - if we sign him then great - if not, won’t be a big deal..Shaw has as much potential in my view
Exactly. Theres loads of good players out there and we'll have had him watched but if the manager doesn't think he'll fit our system or style then so be it. He knows better than us fans.
So we have signed 8 players now.
6 of them are full internationalists
Horgan
Maclaren
Hyndman
Milligan
Agyepong
Bogdan
Plus
Kamberi (much sought after and tried and tested) and U21 internationalist
Mallen (very talented and sought after) -and U21 internationalist
Give us Scott Allan Hibs please and we should be in good shape.
19-08-2018, 08:52 AM
I think we do need another striker. One who can hold the ball is good in the air and can also hot the back of the net. Im still not convinced about McLaren but hope Im wrong and time will tell
It's the balance between giving shaw ( our current top League scorer) more game time ,versus having another option up front, that then might restrict Ollies game time .Can't see us wanting him to go on Loan
Mclaren needs game time to get match fit We saw what he could do last season and the Aberdeen game away showed he will miss chances but The Rangers game showed what he can do with good service and for me the jury is out on whether we still need Scott Allan in that midfield to help create and also score
But the next two games at home will give us a better idea how new players in midfield and out wide fit in
I think we do need another striker. One who can hold the ball is good in the air and can also hot the back of the net. Im still not convinced about McLaren but hope Im wrong and time will tell
Another striker would give us 4, where in this team are we playing Mallan, Hyndman, Horgan, Agyepong, Boyle, Milligan, Swanson, Martin and possibly Allan if he comes ? Having 4 strikers means we'll be playing 2 up top, this leaves 9 players vying for 3 places in midfield.
19-08-2018, 09:16 AM
Another striker would give us 4, where in this team are we playing Mallan, Hyndman, Horgan, Agyepong, Boyle, Milligan, Swanson, Martin and possibly Allan if he comes ? Having 4 strikers means we'll be playing 2 up top, this leaves 9 players vying for 3 places in midfield.
I think Swanson and Martin can be ruled out. Wouldn’t be surprised to see one of them, maybe the 2, gone by the end of the month
mayo hibee
19-08-2018, 09:22 AM
I'd be surprised if we signed another striker. With the players we have we look like we'll be playing 4-5-1 a lot of the time, sometimes changing to 3-5-2 when the situation demands it.
It's pretty much going to be Shaw v Kamberi to be the 1 with Maclaren coming in as needed to be the second striker. If we brought in another he'd be kicking his heels on the bench most of the time like big Dave or else he'd be keeping Shaw from getting the game time he needs.
I'm not sure we absolutely need another signing now, but if we do go in again I'd hope it was for a quality midfielder with Swanson making way to allow him to go and be a starter somewhere else.
I wouldn't be signing someone just to fill a squad space now like we did with Rherras, whoever it is would need to be a starter or else there's no point.
19-08-2018, 09:41 AM
I'd say Boyle is our fourth striker, as we've got Gray for RWB and two other wingers in Horgan and Agyepong.
The Leith Dutch
19-08-2018, 09:41 AM
I'd be surprised if we signed another striker. With the players we have we look like we'll be playing 4-5-1 a lot of the time, sometimes changing to 3-5-2 when the situation demands it.
It's pretty much going to be Shaw v Kamberi to be the 1 with Maclaren coming in as needed to be the second striker. If we brought in another he'd be kicking his heels on the bench most of the time like big Dave or else he'd be keeping Shaw from getting the game time he needs.
I'm not sure we absolutely need another signing now, but if we do go in again I'd hope it was for a quality midfielder with Swanson making way to allow him to go and be a starter somewhere else.
I wouldn't be signing someone just to fill a squad space now like we did with Rherras, whoever it is would need to be a starter or else there's no point.
Re the bit in bold I'd still very much like Scott Allan. I think we look like a different team with him on the park.
I also suspect you're right about the striker side and the formation. If we're playing one out and out striker then we probably are covered with the players we've got (injury notwithstanding). We may get one if we spotted someone we think could be brought in knowing they're a bench player but who we think might force his way into the team.
I'm very interested to see how a formation or formations develop from here.....still feels that we don't 100% know our best line up.
19-08-2018, 09:53 AM
Mc Laren isn’t coming here to sit on the bench.
19-08-2018, 09:54 AM
Mc Laren isn’t coming here to sit on the bench.
He will be if he plays like he did last Sunday and on Thursday
19-08-2018, 09:57 AM
Lots saying "teams almost complete" - I think we need more defensive cover.
Daz looks like hes struggling a bit and we are not as solid as I would like.
19-08-2018, 10:08 AM
I think there's a formation change coming I just don't know to what. We now have 3 out and out wingers so can't really play with 3 at the back plus wing backs and accommodate 2 wingers. I think we are going to go 4 at the back with 2 centre halfs. That would mean out of Hanlon Efe daz and Ryan 2 would have to sit out and you now have Milligan, Whitaker who can play CH if needed. Hanlon and play left back as can Whitaker and at right back you have grey Efe, Whitaker and even Boyle.
Dancehibs
19-08-2018, 10:19 AM
For me Oli is ahead of him to start.
19-08-2018, 10:23 AM
For me Oli is ahead of him to start.
Agreed
Scott Allan would probably have been the difference between 1 point and 3 at St Johnstone last week, we missed his ability to unlock a defence with a killer pass. Maclaren will be the one who benefits the most if we get Scotty back as he will spot his runs and lay it on a plate for him.
19-08-2018, 11:09 AM
Scott Allan would probably have been the difference between 1 point and 3 at St Johnstone last week, we missed his ability to unlock a defence with a killer pass. Maclaren will be the one who benefits the most if we get Scotty back as he will spot his runs and lay it on a plate for him.
Agreed. I don’t understand people questioning whether we need Scott Allan or not. He is top quality and we have no other player capable of doing what he can do.
19-08-2018, 11:16 AM
Agreed. I don’t understand people questioning whether we need Scott Allan or not. He is top quality and we have no other player capable of doing what he can do.
More than happy if we can lure Scott back but we seem to have bought quite a few attacking midfielders and they all can't play. I think some of the concern is that there are areas that need strengthened before looking at buying another forward thinking midfielder who offers little when we don't have the ball. It wasn't lack of chances that dropped us points last week but poor defending from Mallan and some poor finishing from the advanced players.
19-08-2018, 11:21 AM
More than happy if we can lure Scott back but we seem to have bought quite a few attacking midfielders and they all can't play. I think some of the concern is that there are areas that need strengthened before looking at buying another forward thinking midfielder who offers little when we don't have the ball. It wasn't lack of chances that dropped us points last week but poor defending from Mallan and some poor finishing from the advanced players.
I thought Scott Allan looked like he’d added a lot more to his game when he was on loan last season. I was surprised by his work rate and his willingness to track back. He would be my main man in the middle and it would be down to the management to come up with the right balance across the rest of the midfield. I don’t have a clue what our best formation would be if we do sign Allan. There will be a few decent players on the bench for sure.
mayo hibee
19-08-2018, 11:36 AM
Obviously hard to know as we haven't seen much of Horgan or any of Milligan or Agyepong but I'm thinking based on our squad so far that our best 11 might end up being something like this:
-----------Marciano------------
Gray--Ambrose--Hanlon-Stevenson
------Milligan----Slivka-------
Boyle-------Mallan-------Horgan
------------Kamberi------------
None of the loan signings in that 11.
Obviously hard to know as we haven't seen much of Horgan or any of Milligan or Agyepong but I'm thinking based on our squad so far that our best 11 might end up being something like this:
This is what this squad looks like playing, Hyndman, Agyepong, and maybe Allan if he comes can slip into that system with ease, it also means we can drop back into a 4-5-1 shape when needed. Problem I see is where does McLaren and Shaw fit in, can McLaren play out wide like an inside forward?
19-08-2018, 11:42 AM
I'm yet to be convinved by Slivka, so would change that to a 4-1-3-2 with Maclaren replacing him, at least for games where we are expected to have most of the ball.
19-08-2018, 12:29 PM
My first choice XI would be that, only with McGregor or Porteous in for Ambrose and Hyndman (who I think will prove to be an excellent player with the right players in front of him) in for Slivka.
Ambrose can only play in a back 3 imo, with someone always in position to make up for his defensive weakness.
19-08-2018, 12:56 PM
My first choice XI would be that, only with McGregor or Porteous in for Ambrose and Hyndman (who I think will prove to be an excellent player with the right players in front of him) in for Slivka.
Ambrose can only play in a back 3 imo, with someone always in position to make up for his defensive weakness.
Ambrose could play as a defensive midfielder.
19-08-2018, 01:11 PM
Ambrose could play as a defensive midfielder.Ahhh the .net myth continues...no he couldn't he's not a midfielder
19-08-2018, 01:26 PM
Ahhh the .net myth continues...no he couldn't he's not a midfielder
Pretty sure he's played there a few times for Nigeria no? So I think he could if asked to. Wouldn't want him too though mind you haha!
hibs#1
19-08-2018, 04:25 PM
Pretty sure he's played there a few times for Nigeria no? So I think he could if asked to. Wouldn't want him too though mind you haha!
Think Celtic also used him there on occasion. Not sure I would play him there right enough.
19-08-2018, 04:29 PM
Come on then, people ITK and those who have heard a match day rumour, lets hear the gossip and gospel according to Hibs Transfers
jax67
19-08-2018, 04:36 PM
Yep, we need Scott Allan. Kamberi and Mclaren need his eye.
19-08-2018, 04:55 PM
I really haven’t a clue what people see in him.
Scored a few tidy goals goals for us last season but his performances in nearly every were hopeless. He rarely touches the ball, he can’t hold the ball up, doesn’t look particularly quick, doesn’t look like he can be a man either. He was on for nearly half an hour today and he had 2 touches of the ball. A flick on which went through to the keeper and the was the ball bouncing off he’s knee when he tried to control it.
19-08-2018, 05:00 PM
Scored a few tidy goals goals for us last season but his performances in nearly every were hopeless. He rarely touches the ball, he can’t hold the ball up, doesn’t look particularly quick, doesn’t look like he can be a man either. He was on for nearly half an hour today and he had 2 touches of the ball. A flick on which went through to the keeper and the was the ball bouncing off he’s knee when he tried to control it.
His goal scoring record.
His hat trick on the last day of the season sort of skewed his stats a bit but I also get the point that you can’t discount his goals as they all count.
I’m not sure about him, and I mean that in a completely genuine way, I’m not sure if he’s a brilliant poacher that is never likely to do much out the box or if he’s a bit **** but got lucky last season with the players that he had around him all playing superb.
Time will tell I suppose, I think for us to get the best of him though we really need to get Kamberi back up to speed.
19-08-2018, 05:03 PM
Last season I saw 8 goals in 15 games. Good enough for me.
19-08-2018, 05:16 PM
I’ve had my say about him and taken the heat accordingly.
He’ll score goals with decent service but who on earth wouldn’t in our strikers?
19-08-2018, 05:18 PM
I’ve had my say about him and taken the heat accordingly.
He’ll score goals with decent service but who on earth wouldn’t in our strikers?
Tbf the heat you got was for the shan nickname you gave him, not for your opinion.
Dancehibs
19-08-2018, 05:21 PM
I’m more in this camp. He started slowly last time . Hopefully he improves quickly
19-08-2018, 05:22 PM
Tbf the heat you got was for the shan nickname you gave him, not for your opinion.
No it was for both. Up until the last two results or so, none of last tear’s Galcticos were allowed to be scrutinised on here.
As for the nickname, there’s far far worse at ER every week.
19-08-2018, 05:25 PM
I posted this before the match..................
Still valid, I hesitate to use the term "leaking goals" but we rarely look like keeping a clean sheet.
Its entertaining for the likes of Billy Dodds in BBC commentary etc, but there comes a point where our swashbuckling style up front / midfield wont win us matches because the defensive formation / lapses are just too radge.
19-08-2018, 05:31 PM
His goal scoring record.
His hat trick on the last day of the season sort of skewed his stats a bit but I also get the point that you can’t discount his goals as they all count.
I’m not sure about him, and I mean that in a completely genuine way, I’m not sure if he’s a brilliant poacher that is never likely to do much out the box or if he’s a bit **** but got lucky last season with the players that he had around him all playing superb.
Time will tell I suppose, I think for us to get the best of him though we really need to get Kamberi back up to speed.
He’s a poacher no doubt but the rest of his game is awful.
There were loads of players like him in 80’s. Players like Mick Quinn who were honkin outside the box but would walk away with 20 goals a season.
Those 1 in 2 type poachers faded out the game because in every game they didn’t score, it was like playing with a man short. 20 games a season with almost a man short
19-08-2018, 06:04 PM
Still think Kamara should be our no1 priority. Not sure if signing Milligan rules that out though. It’s the are of the pitch where we are weakest.
19-08-2018, 06:21 PM
Still think Kamara should be our no1 priority. Not sure if signing Milligan rules that out though. It’s the are of the pitch where we are weakest.
I hope so too. Wonder if Milligan has taken a big chunk out of the budget and is in essence our marquee signing. Sure I read he wasn’t interested with what we could offer previously, if that’s true we might only have been able to afford him with the McGinn money in terms of a signing on fee and his wage etc.
Hope Milligan is what we need as without him I feel we are a bit like a Arsenal under Wenger for the last 10 years. Good technical players in the middle of the park but a real soft centre.
19-08-2018, 06:24 PM
I hope so too. Wonder if Milligan has taken a big chunk out of the budget and is in essence our marquee signing. Sure I read he wasn’t interested with what we could offer previously, if that’s true we might only have been able to afford him with the McGinn money in terms of a signing on fee and his wage etc.
Hope Milligan is what we need as without him I feel we are a bit like a Arsenal under Wenger for the last 10 years. Good technical players in the middle of the park but a real soft centre.
Agreed but the other side of the coin is can the more attacking players (Mallan, Hyndman etc) be coached better at ER than they have been previously on tracking your man, closing down space, getting a foot in?
If not, then Argentina proved in the summer that you can have a smashing defensive mid (Mascherano in their case) but your defence will still be swamped and concede all over the place as it's a team effort required
19-08-2018, 08:23 PM
If Milligan is the muscle who can spray passes about then i'd say we're just short of a bit of energy in there. So maybe we have options now and don't necessarily need a Kamara type as such.
Someone more energetic/box to box could be better.
19-08-2018, 08:33 PM
I love Scott Allan as a player, but I really don't think he's what we need right now.
He's a bit of a luxury player (albeit a very effective one) and you need to build a team to accommodate him.
Mallan and Hyndman are similar and I don't know how we'll fit all of these players into a cohesive unit.
Assuming that at 33 Milligan isn't exactly a box to box type, I still think we're short of a mobile central midfielder.
Other than that, I think we're pretty good.
19-08-2018, 08:53 PM
I love Scott Allan as a player, but I really don't think he's what we need right now.
He's a bit of a luxury player (albeit a very effective one) and you need to build a team to accommodate him.
Mallan and Hyndman are similar and I don't know how we'll fit all of these players into a cohesive unit.
Assuming that at 33 Milligan isn't exactly a box to box type, I still think we're short of a mobile central midfielder.
Tend to agree with that. Important we get the balance right in midfield.
Ryan69
19-08-2018, 08:55 PM
Ahhh the .net myth continues...no he couldn't he's not a midfielder
He played many internationals as DM
19-08-2018, 08:57 PM
There were loads of players like him in 80’s. Players like Mick Quinn who were honkin outside the box but would walk away with 20 goals a season.
Those 1 in 2 type poachers faded out the game because in every game they didn’t score, it was like playing with a man short. 20 games a season with almost a man short
His runs off the ball are usually very good and also links well with Flo. Not sure I get the criticism. Matter of time when he gets match sharpness back he will start scoring and contributing more.
19-08-2018, 09:16 PM
His runs off the ball are usually very good and also links well with Flo. Not sure I get the criticism. Matter of time when he gets match sharpness back he will start scoring and contributing more.
His movement is good.
As for getting his match sharpness back, I don’t really notice any difference tomhis performances last season. V Aberdeen away, he had 8 touches and that included a missed pen and a kick off. V Celtic at home he had 7.
19-08-2018, 09:27 PM
I thought this about Allan before he joined on loan last season but he totally changed my mind. We have to remember that our much vaunted midfield was getting stick on here with everyone saying we needed urgently to add goals and a creative influence. It was only once Allan had joined that we were really started clicking as a team. I also think he was huge in the getting the best out of Kamberi and McLaren.
I know we have Mallan but he seems more like a goalscorer than a creator. I don't see him playing the same kind of incisive, defense splitting passes that Allan does.
The Hyndman signing worries me as I take that as meaning we won't be getting Scotty back but he's still number 1 on my list. Allan, Mallan and Milligan sounds like a good blend in the middle, especially if the coaching staff can work on the defensive side of Mallan's game.
So I sort of agree that we don't need a another attacking midfielder but we need a Scott Allan. He's that important for us and we should be looking to build the midfield around him.
19-08-2018, 09:31 PM
I thought this about Allan before he joined on loan last season but he totally changed my mind. We have to remember that our much vaunted midfield was getting stick on here with everyone saying we needed urgently to add goals and a creative influence. It was only once Allan had joined that we were really started clicking as a team. I also think he was huge in the getting the best out of Kamberi and McLaren.
I know we have Mallan but he seems more like a goalscorer than a creator. I don't see him playing the same kind of incisive, defense splitting passes that Allan does.
The Hyndman signing worries me as I take that as meaning we won't be getting Scotty back but he's still number 1 on my list. Allan, Mallan and Milligan sounds like a good blend in the middle, especially if the coaching staff can work on the defensive side of Mallan's game.
So I sort of agree that we don't need a another attacking midfielder but we need a Scott Allan. He's that important for us and we should be looking to build the midfield around him.
Good post, and I actually think Allan and Kamberi had an almost telepathic relationship on the pitch. Not many players see the passes SA makes but Flo is one of them, he is very good off the ball and has great game awareness.
Allan should have been the summer priority but I think Celtic will dig heels in and perhaps sabotage any hopes Hibs have of getting him. SA and Hibs fit :aok:
19-08-2018, 09:32 PM
We played 442 today, as I predicted. McLaren and Kamberi are our first choice strike pairing, no doubt about it. Shaw will be given chances too over the course of the season. Equally, we didn't sign Horgan for him to sit on the bench and Boyle is a formidable winger at our level.
Can’t wait to see Millican when he comes into the team. Change of formation to suit our different personnel.
I still expect to see a few out the door too.
Signed: the oracle.
1875Sean
19-08-2018, 09:33 PM
Is it just me or is Kamara overrated? Every second page someone is on here saying we should buy him, fair enough looks good in a poor Dundee team just as any half decent player would stand out
19-08-2018, 09:37 PM
Pretty much every day of the week I'd say that we'd need a Scott Allan, and at times today I thought we looked like we were crying out for him.
It's the fact that Mallan and Hyndman are already here that makes me wonder how we can fit them all in (before we even consider Swanson).
We played 442 today, as I predicted. McLaren and Kamberi are our first choice strike pairing, no doubt about it. Shaw will be given chances too over the course of the season. Equally, we didn't sign Horgan for him to sit on the bench and Boyle is a formidable winger at our level.
Can’t wait to see Millican when he comes into the team. Change of formation to suit our different personnel.
Sarah Millican?
ITV's Teletext?
19-08-2018, 10:05 PM
It's high time we bought a Milligan.
We've been Sellars for far too long.
19-08-2018, 10:44 PM
Mallan got 11 goals and 22 assists in his last season at St. Mirren which is more assists than Allan managed in a much better Hibs team.
19-08-2018, 10:53 PM
Kenny Miller as our ‘big’ 4th striker?
19-08-2018, 11:27 PM
Mallan got 11 goals and 22 assists in his last season at St. Mirren which is more assists than Allan managed in a much better Hibs team.
Fair enough, I'm basing my thoughts on the games I've seen him with us. I'm sure he'll get some assists but I don't think his passing in the final third is at Allan's level yet. Of course that may well change as he becomes better embedded in the team but he seems a different type of player to me and I definitely think Allan is the player to link with our forwards.
20-08-2018, 05:35 AM
We played 442 from the 65th minute when Maclaren came on. We played 4231 before that
Robbo6-2
20-08-2018, 05:51 AM
We played 442 from the 65th minute when Maclaren came on. We played 4231 before that
Went back to 3 5 2 at 65th mimute, Horgan moved into middle playing off Mclaren and Shaw
20-08-2018, 06:36 AM
I wasn't having a dig at you just commenting on the general state of this thread.
I am not bothered about my post count I'd rather it was low than have 300 posts full of nonsense.:saltireflag
This threads that bad people are trolling themselves now!
20-08-2018, 08:40 AM
I’d expect to see swanson leave before the end of the window
Cummings couldn't play but scored goals
20-08-2018, 08:55 AM
Went back to 3 5 2 at 65th mimute, Horgan moved into middle playing off Mclaren and Shaw
I thought we did initially but we're sat in the top tier of the south side of the west so are bang in line with the defence. It was a strange formation but it remained a back 4. Lewis got forward a bit more as Horgan moved in behind the striker but Gray definately remained at RB with Boyle in front of him.
20-08-2018, 09:10 AM
Is it just me or is Kamara overrated? Every second page someone is on here saying we should buy him, fair enough looks good in a poor Dundee team just as any half decent player would stand out
I said this earlier in the thread. He was okay at the start of last season but he has become some mythical figure on here for doing very little. He couldn't lace Scott Allans boots IMO.
20-08-2018, 10:12 AM
Cummings couldn't play but scored goals
I'd disagree slightly. I think he could but he wasn't brilliant. He could put in a great cross and could beat a man on his left side but other than that you're right and i think that was proved last season. Strikers that can only play in a 2 end up dropping down the levels as the higher up you go, the less likely you'll see a player like Cummings or Maclaren.
Forest played with 1 up top and as Cummings couldn't do it, he was binned. Sevco play with 1 up top so he was binned from there. He's now at League 1 level.
GreenPJ
20-08-2018, 10:33 AM
:agree: His body language was all wrong yesterday when the subs were doing their routine at half time. I can't say I blame him as in the Celtic game at the end of last season he was very good and since then hasn't had any opportunity. Would have liked to have seen him get more of a run but think his days are numbered. Would expect Martin to also go out on loan or potentially be released.
20-08-2018, 10:35 AM
I said this earlier in the thread. He was okay at the start of last season but he has become some mythical figure on here for doing very little. He couldn't lace Scott Allans boots IMO.
He is a different kind of player to Allan, more defensively minded and probably more similar to McGeough. From what I've seen of him he'd be a quality signing.
20-08-2018, 10:38 AM
i really dont get the Swanson love in - hes played a handful of good games and an occasional impact as a sub
20-08-2018, 10:43 AM
That’s like saying De Gea couldn’t lace Messi’s boots.
i really dont get the Swanson love in - hes played a handful of good games and an occasional impact as a sub
Correct
mayo hibee
20-08-2018, 10:53 AM
Being from Leith and a lifelong Hibs fan will always give you a bit more leeway with the support. He's had off the field problems as well which leave you thinking that he might have more to give than we have seen up to now.
However I think the reality is that while he's a very decent player he's just not quite up to the standard we've been at for the last couple of years. Also Lennon clearly doesn't see any future for him here.
20-08-2018, 10:55 AM
I get why people really want him to succeed. Hibs fan, local lad, had a torrid time of it recently. However, he’s just not good enough IMO.
Green_one
20-08-2018, 10:56 AM
I agree. Obvious choice given the intake. I would still like to see Allen back, as he is different from the rest and has the killer pass in his locker. I think we need to vary the midfield and have options . This is especially true if we are changing between the 3 and 4 at the back . Whatever happens we will miss McGinn but I am happy with the replacements so far. Too early to be sure though. Mallan goals have been the bright point. McGeoch basically carried no goal threat.
percy veer
20-08-2018, 10:57 AM
aye, don't understand the love for him looks average in a poor team, would much prefer Campbell from motherwell.
20-08-2018, 11:00 AM
From the pre-season games I took in two players stood out for me. David Gray and Danny Swanson. Shame Danny can’t get any game time, do think he deserves more of a chance but pretty clear NL has made up his mind
20-08-2018, 11:11 AM
CorrectIf he wasn't a Hibee he wouldn't get the leeway he does...he had enough opportunities early doors last season and then was given time off for personal reasons and thanked the manager by misbehaving in Portugal...he wrote his own misfortune I'm afraid
If he wasn't a Hibee he wouldn't get the leeway he does...he had enough opportunities early doors last season and then was given time off for personal reasons and thanked the manager by misbehaving in Portugal...he wrote his own misfortune I'm afraid
He blew it in Portugal and Lennon tried to shift him on in January, he had one excellent season at St Johnstone and Hibs fan or not he just hasn't been good enough. We all want to see one of our own doing well but maybe better to move on and free up a wage.
If he wasn't a Hibee he wouldn't get the leeway he does...he had enough opportunities early doors last season and then was given time off for personal reasons and thanked the manager by misbehaving in Portugal...he wrote his own misfortune I'm afraid
Correct again
gogsy23
20-08-2018, 01:39 PM
Fwiw imo is that danny hasn't helped himself with what happened but he has never had a run in the team and has had a lot of personal stuff to deal with which must have been extremely difficult for him. I hope he gets a chance as hes a great player who has an eye for that final pass which we seem to be slightly missing
20-08-2018, 01:41 PM
Fwiw imo is that danny hasn't helped himself with what happened but he has never had a run in the team and has had a lot of personal stuff to deal with which must have been extremely difficult for him. I hope he gets a chance as hes a great player who has an eye for that final pass which we seem to be slightly missing
Do we?
Just scored 3 goals yesterday.
20-08-2018, 01:48 PM
Do we?
Just scored 3 goals yesterday.
None from strikers though.
Early days & last season frustrated by the lack of goals from midfield.
20-08-2018, 01:58 PM
And?? Why does that matter who scored them??
20-08-2018, 02:26 PM
He's had enough chances to impress be honest. Obviously isn't cutting the mustard in training or he'd be in the team especially with Dylan and SJM away. Wasn't too pleased when we signed him and i've seen nothing to change my opinion.
20-08-2018, 02:27 PM
Danny isnt a striker either.
gogsy23
20-08-2018, 02:32 PM
I feel danny s he gives us a bit of bite and offers a bit of a different option than mallan. I do think without bartley we are a bit small and soft in the middle.
20-08-2018, 02:51 PM
I feel danny s he gives us a bit of bite and offers a bit of a different option than mallan. I do think without bartley we are a bit small and soft in the middle.
Danny is tiny , probably the smallest player in the entire squad. I wouldn't say adding bite is something he is known for.
20-08-2018, 02:51 PM
Early days & last season frustrated by the lack of goals from midfield.
And?? Why does that matter who scored them??
Danny isnt a striker either.
I was referring to the point that we need someone with the ability to play that final ball to set up the strikers. I wasn't moaning about our midfield scoring goals. 🙄🙄🙄
20-08-2018, 04:06 PM
Which is why we signed Milligan?
20-08-2018, 04:14 PM
From the pre-season games I took in two players stood out for me. David Gray and Danny Swanson. Shame Danny can’t get any game time, do think he deserves more of a chance but pretty clear NL has made up his mind
Genuine question, where would he fit in the current midfield, I'm just not sure who drops out? I'd have said Swanson, Slivka, Mallan but now we have Milligan you're looking at Mallan, Slivka, Milligan if it's a three. I know some don't rate Slivka but he's a totally different player to Danny, so swapping them out creates a bit of an imbalance. Most like for like is Mallan but I wouldn't be dropping him.
Hard part of Danny's situation is that he's come to Hibs when we've consistently had good midfielders in the same position as him. It's a bit like Fonts, in years gone by he'd have been one of the first names on the team sheet but no way was he displacing Ambrose, McGregor or Hanlon.
20-08-2018, 04:25 PM
Shaw has 2 goals in 2 league games. Boyle has 1 goal in 2 games playing up front in the league..
gogsy23
20-08-2018, 04:38 PM
Which is why we signed Milligan?
Not seen him yet. Will see soon i guess
It's amazing just how many people on this board know just what Danny S got up to at Penina in Portugal. Does that count as being ITK? Given that Martin Boyle was also part of The Alvor 3 & he starts every week, I find it hard to believe that this is a factor in NL's non selection of Danny. With Neil's chequered career, off & on the pitch I would imagine he is also likely to be more sympathetic to a one-off example of misbehaviour. IMO, he just doesn't rate Danny. I'm not necessarily in agreement with that view but NL is the manager & he'll be judged on those decisions.
20-08-2018, 05:09 PM
It's amazing just how many people on this board know just what Danny S got up to at Penina in Portugal. Does that count as being ITK? Given that Martin Boyle was also part of The Alvor 3 & he starts every week, I find it hard to believe that this is a factor in NL's non selection of Danny. With Neil's chequered career, off & on the pitch I would imagine he is also likely to be more sympathetic to a one-off example of misbehaviour. IMO, he just doesn't rate Danny. I'm not necessarily in agreement with that view but NL is the manager & he'll be judged on those decisions.
With Portugal and the drink driving incident, Boyle is probably only behind Stokes in terms of the off-field headaches he's given Lennon during his time as Hibs manager - yet he's probably the player who has improved the most, has responded best to Lennon's coaching and who has been been publicly praised most often by his manager.
It's a football thing between Lennon and Swanson. It's funny, because it was Lennon who signed him. I'd have thought he'd have wanted to have given one of his own signings more of an opportunity.
He clearly just doesn't rate him.
20-08-2018, 05:59 PM
It's amazing just how many people on this board know just what Danny S got up to at Penina in Portugal. Does that count as being ITK? Given that Martin Boyle was also part of The Alvor 3 & he starts every week, I find it hard to believe that this is a factor in NL's non selection of Danny. With Neil's chequered career, off & on the pitch I would imagine he is also likely to be more sympathetic to a one-off example of misbehaviour. IMO, he just doesn't rate Danny. I'm not necessarily in agreement with that view but NL is the manager & he'll be judged on those decisions.Boyle has consistently achieved for us on the pitch...Danny hasn't. I think that's the main reason why Lennon bares no grudge towards Boyle...he might not bare any grudge towards Danny S - but if I was Lennon and had given my employee extra time off due personal difficulties....as he had the 1st half of last season - id be mightily pi#### off if said employee repaid my generosity by misbehaving on a winter training camp.
20-08-2018, 06:02 PM
If he doesn’t rate DS, why did he sign him? It’s a strange one.
20-08-2018, 06:04 PM
I wonder if St Johnstone fans are moaning about us taking their best players and letting them rot on the bench.
20-08-2018, 06:18 PM
He did rate him but he was involved in the incident that saw Stokes emptied apparently. He’s hardly had a look in since.
20-08-2018, 06:30 PM
He did rate him but he was involved in the incident that saw Stokes emptied apparently. He’s hardly had a look in since.
Lennon isn't petty like that. If that was the reason he would have been emptied along with Stokes. Lennon will have drawn a line under it and Swanson won't be playing for footballing reasons.
20-08-2018, 06:33 PM
Lennon isn't petty like that. If that was the reason he would have been emptied along with Stokes. Lennon will have drawn a line under it and Swanson won't be playing for footballing reasons.
have to agree, boyle would have been gone also, swanson is obviously not doing it in training and probably best for him if he left this window, unless he is happy at sitting on the bench each week getting a half decent wage
20-08-2018, 06:38 PM
If Danny was standing out in training and making a case for a start, he'd be in the team.
Football managers will generally play their best players, the tenure of a manager generally isn't that long, so most won't cut off their nose to spite their face.
There are countless footballers signed by managers who then subsequently think they've made a mistake. You could also ask why NL signed Simon Murray.
20-08-2018, 07:46 PM
For as long as I've been involved in football I have seen many a poor trainer who turns it on on the Saturday and vice versa. Some players look great at training then can't tie their laces on match day.
I am sure NL will have seen the same and Danny, when he gets a chance, as he surely will, has got to take it.
stantonsboots
20-08-2018, 07:51 PM
It's amazing just how many people on this board know just what Danny S got up to at Penina in Portugal. Does that count as being ITK? Given that Martin Boyle was also part of The Alvor 3 & he starts every week, I find it hard to believe that this is a factor in NL's non selection of Danny. With Neil's chequered career, off & on the pitch I would imagine he is also likely to be more sympathetic to a one-off example of misbehaviour. IMO, he just doesn't rate Danny. I'm not necessarily in agreement with that view but NL is the manager & he'll be judged on those decisions.spot on