View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24
PHeffernan
12-01-2024, 12:28 AM
We can call him Zico or Kaka ��
In 2012, he was included in the list of the 101 best players born after 1991 compiled by Don Balón.
In his homeland, Adryan is nicknamed herdeiro de Zico meaning 'heir of Zico' and il nuovo Zico (the new Zico)
Adryan's style of play has been compared to that of Brazilian compatriot Kaká, due to his skill and playmaker ability whilst playing in the 'number 10' role. Adryan can also play as a central midfielder and as a second striker. He is also renowned for being a free kick specialist
Remember when Steve Fulton was described as the new Baggio?
IMO this guy Adrian will be a loada Kaka. Style over substance and inconsistent will be the order of the day.
Has barely kicked a ball in 3 and a half years and is all out of options.
12-01-2024, 05:50 AM
Wait wait wait.
A Brazilian who goes by one name - ‘Adryan’ and looks like he plays just off the striker, some would say as a ‘10’
Sign me up
I look forward to Monty playing him at right midfield 🥴
166 games in a 12 years is not a lot of games for a 29 year old and very few over the past 2-3 years.
12-01-2024, 06:15 AM
He seems to have played very little football in recent years, less than 900 total minutes over the last 5 seasons since Summer 2019, averaging just 29 minutes per appearance during that time. Why has he hardly been playing during what should probably be his peak years (24-29)?
Remember when one of the appealing things about our manager was his ability to take talented players who weren’t fulfilling their potential and get more out of them?
That’s maybe what he’s seeing with this guy, or checking to see while we’re in Dubai.
Have we ever had a Brazilian play for us before?
12-01-2024, 06:30 AM
Remember when one of the appealing things about our manager was his ability to take talented players who weren’t fulfilling their potential and get more out of them?
That’s maybe what he’s seeing with this guy, or checking to see while we’re in Dubai.
Benny?
12-01-2024, 06:31 AM
Have we ever had a Brazilian play for us before?A Brazilian with one name who loves a dive?
Can't wait for us to get the dodgiest penalty against hearts
Bliss.
Plus he's known as a dead ball specialist; like Malaury Martin [emoji24] [emoji51]
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
12-01-2024, 06:48 AM
Benny?
Pretty Green
12-01-2024, 06:54 AM
Thats handy, he has 2 right arms 😳
More options for refs to give thee ugly sisters a dodgy penalty though 🤔
12-01-2024, 06:57 AM
A no 10, yes plz.
Pytheas
12-01-2024, 07:01 AM
This is why we're Scotland's RocknRoll football club.
Get him signed.
3 Year Deal - 2 goals - 1st in 2-1 home defeat to Motherwell - 2nd in 4-1 win against Kelty Hearts in cup. - 2 cruciate injuries.
12-01-2024, 07:22 AM
This has got the Gambian Roberto Carlos written all over it.
The Brazilian Zico? That's just confusing.
12-01-2024, 07:51 AM
I was just about to make the same point about the manager. He built his CCM team from waifs and strays if you read into it, and turned them into a winning team.
12-01-2024, 07:55 AM
Eh? Why would anyone want to kick their own a**e?
Very good point. John McGinn is good at kicking and has a massive arse. He’s probably not kicked his own arse over the past 5 years either, yet we’d all welcome him back to Hibs with open arms.
We probably need to change the “lowest bar” for a Hibs signing from having kicked their own arse within the past 5 years.
12-01-2024, 07:58 AM
Very good point. John McGinn is good at kicking and has a massive arse. He’s probably not kicked his own arse over the past 5 years either, yet we’d all welcome him back to Hibs with open arms.
We probably need to change the “lowest bar” for a Hibs signing from having kicked their own arse within the past ( years.Agreed, and wouldn't it be better all round if we had one universal standard/size for the sort of erse we want at Hibs?
Bridge hibs
12-01-2024, 08:18 AM
More options for refs to give thee ugly sisters a dodgy penalty though 🤔2 arms around the opponents shoulders and his spare arm around the opponents waist with his spare hand giving his opponent the dreaded Vinnie Jones ball grabbing treatment 😀
12-01-2024, 08:41 AM
https://x.com/johnwalker_1986/status/1745728292731109761?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
The Zambrano deal has apparently grown in complexity which could benefit us
WeAreHibs
12-01-2024, 08:56 AM
166 games in a 12 years is not a lot of games for a 29 year old and very few over the past 2-3 years.
Hoping the club have been doing some digging.
"However, club owner Constantin said about Adryan, who could not play in 26 matches due to injuries, "He does not have the appropriate lifestyle for an athlete."
https://www.magazinkolik.com/service/amp/adryan-oliveira-tavares-kayserisporun-aykiri-futbolcusu-70439h.htm
ElginHibbie
12-01-2024, 09:06 AM
"However, club owner Constantin said about Adryan, who could not play in 26 matches due to injuries, "He does not have the appropriate lifestyle for an athlete."
https://www.magazinkolik.com/service/amp/adryan-oliveira-tavares-kayserisporun-aykiri-futbolcusu-70439h.htm
If Montgomery can work his magic again could be calling him the Brazilian Jason Cummings
Up-the-slope
12-01-2024, 09:18 AM
Who do you remember fondly playing for Hibs who could have had this said about them...
Has to be Russell Latapy. :greengrin
12-01-2024, 09:20 AM
https://x.com/johnwalker_1986/status/1745728292731109761?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
The Zambrano deal has apparently grown in complexity which could benefit us
John is just a rangers fan who does some analysis work for teams. He has no inside track on any of this. He even used a player that was suggested on DTS the other day.
Bridge hibs
12-01-2024, 09:31 AM
https://www.magazinkolik.com/service/amp/adryan-oliveira-tavares-kayserisporun-aykiri-futbolcusu-70439h.htmSame could be said of George Best and he was class 😀
12-01-2024, 09:34 AM
I want him even more now.
12-01-2024, 09:35 AM
I don’t have an issue with that, maybe he’s got all the ability in the world but never had the right attitude and that’s held him back. He’s had a wee spell without a club and that could be a reality check or maybe he’s just growing up a bit now he’s a bit older.
badabing67
12-01-2024, 09:37 AM
Sorry this is of topic, does anyone know if the friendly today is on Hibs TV's Youtube channel and if so what time is KO
Paulie Walnuts
12-01-2024, 09:38 AM
Sorry this is of topic, does anyone know if the friendly today is on Hibs TV's Youtube channel and if so what time is KO
Not on anywhere. Kicks off 11am or 12pm depending on who you believe!
badabing67
12-01-2024, 09:42 AM
Thanks for info. I think that is poor from the club
12-01-2024, 09:45 AM
I generally don’t have a problem with us taking a look at players.
Neither of the two players with us in Dubai seem to be what you’d describe as being first team ready to go straight in to the team, which the manager has spoken about, though. Maybe the boy from Leeds just needs a chance, but it would seem like a bit of a gamble given our defensive issues.
Really hoping for something positive on the signing front in time for Rangers a week on Wednesday.
12-01-2024, 09:46 AM
Just got a notification from Livescore to say that it kicks off at 1100.
12-01-2024, 09:49 AM
Just got a notification from Livescore to say that it kicks off at 1100.
They've also got it down as a 12:00 kick off though!
12-01-2024, 09:51 AM
Why? It's a closed doors training game.
12-01-2024, 09:54 AM
I’m delighted it’s not being shown. You see it from pre-season games people don’t understand the purpose of these games and read too much into performances and results.
12-01-2024, 10:00 AM
Exactly. And Hibs said before they went it was completely closed doors so can’t understand why some folk are upset they can’t watch a training game
12-01-2024, 10:02 AM
I don’t have an issue with that, maybe he’s got all the ability in the world but never had the right attitude and that’s held him back. He’s had a wee spell without a club and that could be a reality check or maybe he’s just growing up a bit now he’s a bit older.
It might also suggest though that whilst he has obvious attributes, he might need to have a particular team set up so that his athletic shortcomings aren’t exposed… and I’m not sure the way that Monty sets his team up is easily capable of accommodating that.
We’re already struggling to figure out what to do with Boyle and Youan not really being the best defensive wide players, Levitt having similar issues and Vente doing far too much work too deep…
?
Hibiza
12-01-2024, 10:12 AM
We probably need to change the “lowest bar” for a Hibs signing from having kicked their own arse within the past 5 years.
12-01-2024, 10:28 AM
Exactly. And Hibs said before they went it was completely closed doors so can’t understand why some folk are upset they can’t watch a training game
Withdrawal symptoms from the 3 week break.
12-01-2024, 10:33 AM
The expectation at the club is that Zambrano will be joining us. Other players expected in as well that are viewed as starters.
12-01-2024, 10:36 AM
The expectation at the club is that Zambrano will be joining us. Other players expected in as well that are viewed as starters.
Ooh, great news.
12-01-2024, 10:37 AM
Yes please.
12-01-2024, 10:39 AM
:hyper
12-01-2024, 10:42 AM
Withdrawal symptoms from the 3 week break.
Maybe I’m just glad of the break 😂
TheGreenMan
12-01-2024, 10:43 AM
How do you know? Who said this? Hopefully correct :flag:
12-01-2024, 10:45 AM
The expectation at the club is that Zambrano will be joining us. Other players expected in as well that are viewed as starters.All I want is a load of south Americans with 1 name
Anything less and I'm booing louder from February onwards
12-01-2024, 10:46 AM
They've also got it down as a 12:00 kick off though!
Aye, just received a notification from them for it! 🤔
12-01-2024, 10:53 AM
All I want is a load of south Americans with 1 name
It will get quickly confusing if they all have the 1 name 😁
12-01-2024, 10:58 AM
I’m delighted it’s not being shown. You see it from pre-season games people don’t understand the purpose of these games and read too much into performances and results.
Agree completely
12-01-2024, 10:59 AM
Why? They aren't in Dubai for our entertainment. Come back and scud Forfar that's all that matters.
Ardenttwo
12-01-2024, 11:03 AM
Agree completely
Off subject again. Where can I find Trlller TV to see Asian cup ?
Stewboy
12-01-2024, 11:05 AM
All I want is a load of south Americans with 1 name
Yes, and must have O at end of the name, that’s the quality level
12-01-2024, 11:08 AM
How do you know? Who said this? Hopefully correct :flag:
Jeffers never claims to “know” stuff, just tells us what he’s heard and it has an uncanny knack of being true. I certainly see his comment here as cause for genuine optimism. He may not know stuff but pretty sure he knows people that likely do. 😉
12-01-2024, 11:11 AM
Jeffers never claims to “know” stuff, just tells us what he’s heard and it has an uncanny knack of being true. I certainly see his comment here as cause for genuine optimism. He may not know stuff but pretty sure he knows people that likely do. 😉
💯
He's a good egg.
12-01-2024, 11:13 AM
Genuinely no idea how to get that
andrew70
12-01-2024, 11:16 AM
Genuinely no idea how to get that
It’s an app/website formerly known as FITE search it in Apple Store etc
12-01-2024, 11:16 AM
We’re signing the Marx Brothers aren’t we?
12-01-2024, 11:17 AM
Triller tv can be downloaded on your firestick if you have one. Has an app.
We’re signing the Marx Brothers aren’t we?Brilliant. Get the Harpo on the strips again.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
bythecringe
12-01-2024, 11:22 AM
Willie Hamilton in that category too!
12-01-2024, 11:27 AM
Was with you up til this point :)
Showing my age but Eder (1982) Pele, Maradona & Socrates would walk into my 5 a side team:greengrin
12-01-2024, 11:29 AM
Cheers for you and Greencore’s comments.
I share what I can as like pretty much everyone on here I enjoy finding out what’s going on at the club.
TheGreenMan
12-01-2024, 11:35 AM
:aok::aok::aok:
Big90inOz
12-01-2024, 11:36 AM
Keep reading about Moore being on trial and now a Brazilian has been spotted. I might be wrong but wasn't there a report that 4 or 5 players from Bournemouth travelled to Dubai ?
12-01-2024, 11:47 AM
Keep reading about Moore being on trial and now a Brazilian has been spotted. I might be wrong but wasn't there a report that 4 or 5 players from Bournemouth travelled to Dubai ?
4 or 5 players, but we don't know their origins. Except the Brazilian & Moore now of course.
Cheers for you and Greencore’s comments.
I share what I can as like pretty much everyone on here I enjoy finding out what’s going on at the club.
It’s greatly appreciated mate :aok:
12-01-2024, 12:15 PM
He may be a Jeffers, but he's no a Franny.
12-01-2024, 12:22 PM
Don’t think we’d be able to have as many as that on loan anyway so I doubt it unless they were potentially signing permanently
12-01-2024, 12:32 PM
[QUOTE=bythecringe;7547015]Willie Hamilton in that category too![/QUOTEi
Alex"Micky" Edwards had his moments.
leith lynx
12-01-2024, 12:36 PM
We’re signing the Marx Brothers aren’t we?
Duck soup in hospitality as well?
12-01-2024, 12:45 PM
Firm agree
Houston7
12-01-2024, 12:52 PM
Exiting
Leaving already? :wink:
Pytheas
12-01-2024, 01:20 PM
A Brazilian playmaker that misses games for Poker tournaments and wants to quit football to become a drag queen.
I repeat, only Hibs could make a signing this f*****g rock n roll.
12-01-2024, 01:20 PM
Watched quite a few clips of Moore and he reminds me of Porto.
Ball playing centre back - makes a lot of his passes.
Plays on the right as a CB.
Clarence
12-01-2024, 01:46 PM
Wait wait wait.
A Brazilian who goes by one name - ‘Adryan’ and looks like he plays just off the striker, some would say as a ‘10’
Sign me up
Should form a good partnership with Rocky.
ElginHibbie
12-01-2024, 01:56 PM
Should form a good partnership with Rocky.
Can we find a Paulie and a Mickey to round out the squad?
JammyDoidger
12-01-2024, 02:18 PM
Just for once it would have been good if we could identify who we want before January and actually get the business done early. Seems pointless going away to Dubai without any new key signings to integrate with the squad. Desperately needing some quality in the door soon, the fans need a wee boost and something to look forward to on the return from the break, it's all very meh atm, Scraping the barrel for signings by the look of it.
12-01-2024, 02:27 PM
Just for once it would have been good if we could identify who we want before January and actually get the business done early. Seems pointless going away to Dubai without any new key signings to integrate with the squad. Desperately needing some quality in the door soon, the fans need a wee boost and something to look forward to on the return from the break, it's all very meh atm, Scraping the barrel for signings by the look of it.
It’s the 12th of January and we have taken players out to Dubai who may or may not sign for us. If they do then they have benefited from getting to know the players on this trip.
The scraping of barrels normally happens on the last day, which we are 18 days away from.
Relax.
12-01-2024, 02:38 PM
Its like you have no idea how the January transfer window works in Scotland. :greengrin
ElginHibbie
12-01-2024, 02:58 PM
Sky Sports just tweeted ": Marseille are in advanced talks with Hellas Verona to sign Scotsman Josh Doig"
12-01-2024, 03:02 PM
Sky Sports just tweeted ": Marseille are in advanced talks with Hellas Verona to sign Scotsman Josh Doig"
Hopefully a bit of extra cash for us to use in the next couple of weeks.
12-01-2024, 03:22 PM
DR claiming deal could go through for Doig to Marseille as soon as tonight.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-31828434
Italian journo says deal is very close - 4-5 million Euros.
https://gianlucadimarzio.com/it/doig-marsiglia-verona-calciomercato-news
12-01-2024, 03:23 PM
Hopefully a bit of extra cash for us to use in the next couple of weeks.
Hopefully have outbid the other teams. Sounds like a great move for Josh what a stadium that would be to play in.
12-01-2024, 03:27 PM
Hopefully have outbid the other teams. Sounds like a great move for Josh what a stadium that would be to play in.
Potentially £600k-£800k for us.
12-01-2024, 03:44 PM
Potentially £600k-£800k for us.
Scotsman claiming 1.4m. If Ben K has got us % of actual sale and not profit then I'm going to need someone to come on here again and tell me what a bad job he is doing as CEO.
Keepthefaith
12-01-2024, 03:46 PM
this must the 5th negative post I've read from you and I only logged in a few mins ago! did you not read what Monty said about transfers? he spoke clearly about wanting the players they had identified with them in Dubai, but he then listed an array of reasons which Hibs have no control over as to why that might not happen. he's also said he wants first team quality, not players who'll block the paths of our young players.
if the players we want won't commit to us until the end of the window, then what are we meant to do?
too many folk on here saying Hibs are responsible for not getting the players we want. if it was, we'd have them. you really think the club are trying not to sign what we need??
12-01-2024, 03:49 PM
Scotsman claiming 1.4m. If Ben K has got us % of actual sale and not profit then I'm going to need someone to come on here again and tell me what a bad job he is doing as CEO.
I mean, Shaun Maloney & Lee Johnson are two glaring examples of a bad job.
However that’s weighed up against us being very healthy commercially and financially.
Suppose it depends on what you consider success. Obvious pro’s and cons.
Id 100% be agreeing with you if we were better on the park.
12-01-2024, 03:52 PM
I think you’d be hard pushed to find anyone who wouldn’t recognise that there are VERY positive things happening for us financially and off the park for us at the moment. Kensall as much as anyone deserves credit for that.
Do you not think it’s still reasonable though to make the point that the Saturday afternoon stuff, over which he still carries an indirect influence, just hasn’t been good enough?
12-01-2024, 03:56 PM
I think you’d be hard pushed to find anyone who wouldn’t recognise that there are VERY positive things happening for us financially and off the park for us at the moment. Kensall as much as anyone deserves credit for that.
Do you not think it’s still reasonable though to make the point that the Saturday afternoon stuff, over which he still carries an indirect influence, just hasn’t been good enough?
Im hoping the director of football he appointed will bring about those changes. The art of good management is knowing when you need help.
12-01-2024, 03:56 PM
And what about Mathie etc who signed him for free😀
12-01-2024, 03:58 PM
I mean, Shaun Maloney & Lee Johnson are two glaring examples of a bad job.
However that’s weighed up against us being very healthy commercially and financially.
Suppose it depends on what you consider success. Obvious pro’s and cons.
Id 100% be agreeing with you if we were better on the park.
Kensell always wanted a director of football. He knows his strengths lie elsewhere. Commercial side he knows what he’s doing, hopefully we see the fruits of having a DoF Going forward
12-01-2024, 03:58 PM
Im hoping the director of football he appointed will bring about those changes. The art of good management is knowing when you need help.
In all fairness - at the current rate of improvement off the park it almost feels like there is an inevitability about improvement on it, which is why I'm not anywhere near as negative as some (whilst still not exactly loving the current football).
It's going to get better.
And I think the point you make here is a very good one.
12-01-2024, 03:59 PM
Kensell always wanted a director of football. He knows his strengths lie elsewhere. Commercial side he knows what he’s doing, hopefully we see the fruits of having a DoF Going forward
Yea I agree. But I’m not so sure BK can be considered a success just now which Brightside was implying.
And I suppose when Foley and his team take over the football side of things, it’ll let BK concentrate on his obvious strengths
DR claiming deal could go through for Doig to Marseille as soon as tonight.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-31828434
Italian journo says deal is very close - 4-5 million Euros.
https://gianlucadimarzio.com/it/doig-marsiglia-verona-calciomercato-news
https://x.com/skysportsnews/status/1745837335265054900?s=46&t=Q9xj1Of6Boq0Mkc1E67TtQ
Sky sports talking about it as well, great move for him that stadium is a thing of beauty
JammyDoidger
12-01-2024, 04:13 PM
this must the 5th negative post I've read from you and I only logged in a few mins ago! did you not read what Monty said about transfers? he spoke clearly about wanting the players they had identified with them in Dubai, but he then listed an array of reasons which Hibs have no control over as to why that might not happen. he's also said he wants first team quality, not players who'll block the paths of our young players.
if the players we want won't commit to us until the end of the window, then what are we meant to do?
too many folk on here saying Hibs are responsible for not getting the players we want. if it was, we'd have them. you really think the club are trying not to sign what we need??
Sorry mate, didn't realise the forum was for positive comments only, let's all just happy clap and pretend everything is going great then and have no desire to be any better or expect any better. Just keep paying our money and be happy with what we've got. I'll know for next time.
I suspect The Scotsman has it wrong or alternatively the original sale price was overstated.
12-01-2024, 04:15 PM
Yea I agree. But I’m not so sure BK can be considered a success just now which Brightside was implying.
And I suppose when Foley and his team take over the football side of things, it’ll let BK concentrate on his obvious strengths
Off the park absolutely. On the park absolutely not. As a business Hibs are doing very well but all the vast majority of fans want to see is Hibs playing good football and being competitive. As you say Foley might come in and make that happen. Fingers crossed.
12-01-2024, 04:15 PM
I'll know for next time.
Is that a promise?
Paulie Walnuts
12-01-2024, 04:16 PM
https://x.com/skysportsnews/status/1745837335265054900?s=46&t=Q9xj1Of6Boq0Mkc1E67TtQ
Sky sports talking about it as well, great move for him that stadium is a thing of beauty
Côte d'Azur or Govan? No brainer really.
12-01-2024, 04:17 PM
Côte d'Azur or Govan? No brainer really.
Agreed. Govan is full of no-brainers
Paulie Walnuts
12-01-2024, 04:18 PM
Agreed. Govan is full of no-brainers
MKHIBEE
12-01-2024, 04:21 PM
I have no doubt someone will do just that
12-01-2024, 04:22 PM
I suspect The Scotsman has it wrong or alternatively the original sale price was overstated.
I think they’re doing their calculations as 27.5% of the full fee. Sell ons are usually on the profit. In this case, I think we sold him for £3m so it’ll 27.5% of anything they receive above that.
12-01-2024, 04:28 PM
I think they’re doing their calculations as 27.5% of the full fee. Sell ons are usually on the profit. In this case, I think we sold him for £3m so it’ll 27.5% of anything they receive above that.
This comes up every time. Nobody knows.
12-01-2024, 04:28 PM
Nobody knows. It's guesswork on all sides.
babahibs
12-01-2024, 04:29 PM
We're on a downward spiral apparently
12-01-2024, 04:32 PM
Need to factor in the exchange rate for Euro to Pound too.
Paulie Walnuts
12-01-2024, 04:34 PM
Need to factor in the exchange rate for Euro to Pound too.
If it’s on the profit and the reported fee is in euros then well not be getting much at all.
12-01-2024, 04:37 PM
If it’s on the profit and the reported fee is in euros then well not be getting much at all.
I hope the figures are right. What if they’re all to pot? We might be due them money!!!!
12-01-2024, 04:37 PM
It’s why I think it’ll be between £600-800k for us (conservative fig), which is not a bad amount. Could buy a decent player for that and then get rid of a couple of players to cover their wage.
Nobody knows. It's guesswork on all sides.
One thing for sure Verona have been run terribly for a long time 27.5% (I actually thought I’d read it was 33) of the full fee wouldn’t surprise me one bit
12-01-2024, 04:42 PM
This comes up every time. Nobody knows.
Nobody knows what our position is, but Kieran Maguire from the price of Football podcast said sell-ones are almost always on the profit.
12-01-2024, 04:44 PM
Sorry mate, didn't realise the forum was for positive comments only, let's all just happy clap and pretend everything is going great then and have no desire to be any better or expect any better. Just keep paying our money and be happy with what we've got. I'll know for next time.
Nah, keep posting your own thoughts and ignore the trolls.
12-01-2024, 04:49 PM
It’s why I think it’ll be between £600-800k for us (conservative fig), which is not a bad amount. Could buy a decent player for that and then get rid of a couple of players to cover their wage.
Maybe get to Dubai for 3 weeks in the summer but let the players bring their families with them.
King Cosell
12-01-2024, 04:50 PM
We sold him £3m, they made £1.3m profit, so we'll only get around 350k.
Nobody knows what our position is, but Kieran Maguire from the price of Football podcast said sell-ones are almost always on the profit.
This debate comes up every window. Last time when I said it was invariably on the profit, one poster gave an example where it was on the full sale price. That person however had previously moved on a free transfer therefore it was also a percentage of the profit!
12-01-2024, 04:51 PM
Maybe get to Dubai for 3 weeks in the summer but let the players bring their families with them.
Nae point in spoiling a good trip away with the lads. The additional funds will let them go first class next time.
12-01-2024, 04:53 PM
Ah I see, still a decent wedge though. Could pay for a decent players loan for the rest of the season.
12-01-2024, 04:53 PM
Think our sell on is a percentage of the fee received, not profit made.
King Cosell
12-01-2024, 04:57 PM
Think our sell on is a percentage of the fee received, not profit made.
The Evening News said profit, that's all I know.
12-01-2024, 05:01 PM
The Evening News said profit, that's all I know.
BK was telling people in hospitality at the time he’d secured a great sell on fee and it was 27.5%. Could have meant of the profit mind you, but he definitely didn’t say that.
12-01-2024, 05:10 PM
CONFIRMED: Hearts have signed Wolves right-back Dexter Lemibikisa on loan until the end of the season.
#HMFC #WWFC
12-01-2024, 05:13 PM
CONFIRMED: St Mirren have signed Celtic midfielder Hyeokkyu Kwon on loan until the end of the season
Paulie Walnuts
12-01-2024, 05:15 PM
CONFIRMED: Hearts have signed Wolves right-back Dexter Lemibikisa on loan until the end of the season.
#HMFC #WWFC
That’s a strange one. Been playing every week in the Championship for Rotherham on loan. Why would you take him away from that to play up here? :confused:
12-01-2024, 05:15 PM
Montgomery saying the Brazilian boy was training in Dubai anyway and we decided to take a look at him. I’ll be surprised if that one goes much further.
Also said we only have the one game whilst over there, was meant to be two, because of lack of players.
RMQ1967
12-01-2024, 05:16 PM
Be reasonable though - just because we aren't aware of what's going on doesn't mean we're scraping the bottom of the barrel or any of that nonsense.
There's no need to jump straight to panic mode after 10 days or whatever - have a bit of patience and see what materialises.
Absolutely no benefit in slagging the club day after day because things aren't happening as fast as we want them to.
There's plenty of time for the club to consider the options & make good signings.
whereswallace?
12-01-2024, 05:21 PM
That’s a strange one. Been playing every week in the Championship for Rotherham on loan. Why would you take him away from that to play up here? :confused:
Had a read earlier of the Rotherham fans thoughts on the tweet from a couple days ago saying he has been recalled, not too many are unhappy let’s just say.
Saint Hibee
12-01-2024, 05:22 PM
We’re currently 6th in the league, that’s how BK is doing.
12-01-2024, 05:27 PM
Has nobody told these Hearts and St Mirren schmucks that you need to wait until later in the window for quality to become available?
12-01-2024, 05:28 PM
He also said that there was no difference in work permit rules between Scotland and England, just because someone has a podcast it doesn’t mean they know everything.
RossScott1991
12-01-2024, 05:29 PM
My prediction for this window.
3 loan players. One will be on deadline day.
One U21 English player (Moore)
2 of the loans will have no impact. One will do well enough we will want to sign them in the summer. We will get them in the summer and they will be underwhelming for a full season
The Hibs way.
Hibees1973
12-01-2024, 05:39 PM
Just hope this time that whoever is in charge of signing the loans, they check the small print and we are not saddled with someone we don't want but are obliged to sign permanently because he played too many games for us.
Hibee Daft
12-01-2024, 05:47 PM
Have to laugh at all the in the know people on here speculating about Doig sell on clause.
Really none of us will know until he signs
Pete70
12-01-2024, 05:50 PM
Hopefully HV have negotiated a sell on % for Doig so we might get another wee windfall if he gets sold by Marseilles.
Hibiza
12-01-2024, 05:56 PM
Might pay for a visit to Dubai.
Fratelli
12-01-2024, 06:00 PM
Had a read earlier of the Rotherham fans thoughts on the tweet from a couple days ago saying he has been recalled, not too many are unhappy let’s just say.
Earlier today I messaged an ex-colleague and Rotherham fan down in Yorkshire and asked him for an honest appraisal of the guy the Jambos were after and his short response was ‘he’s sh*te’.
12-01-2024, 06:01 PM
Earlier today I messaged an ex-colleague and Rotherham fan down in Yorkshire and asked him for an honest appraisal of the guy the Jambos were after and his short response was ‘he’s sh*te’.
Concise and just what we want to hear.
Like it.
Scotty Leither
12-01-2024, 06:10 PM
The last signing I was enthused by was Nisbet, and I was pleased we re-signed Boyle. Beyond them I’m becoming inured to loan signings of young players to be honest, it smacks of desperation.
We’ve received a good fee for Melkerson and stand to gain a decent amount (you would imagine) for Doig.
There seems to be a reluctance to pay any incoming transfer fees back out of that money, which suggests to me the Gordons are done spending, pending the Foley money coming in.
“Frustrating” doesn’t cover it at the moment…
12-01-2024, 06:14 PM
One of the upsides of Doig moving is we get the remainder of the original fee in full, as well as the sell on.
You could argue we were due that in any case but when a club is being run badly - like Hellas Verona - a bird in the hand is a very good thing. Will be a high 6 fig/low 7 fig sum coming our way this month when you factor in the remaining instalment plus sell on fee
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2024, 06:15 PM
The last signing I was enthused by was Nisbet, and I was pleased we re-signed Boyle. Beyond them I’m becoming inured to loan signings of young players to be honest, it smacks of desperation.
We’ve received a good fee for Melkerson and stand to gain a decent amount (you would imagine) for Doig.
There seems to be a reluctance to pay any incoming transfer fees back out of that money, which suggests to me the Gordons are done spending, pending the Foley money coming in.
“Frustrating” doesn’t cover it at the moment…
Agree it’s frustrating.
Recruitment doesn’t seem to have a clear plan and hasn’t for a few years. Taking chances on players is fine if you have a good enough squad. We dont. Everything is last minute and getting loans up who haven’t played 1st team games is simply not good enough. How anyone could sign that off is beyond me
12-01-2024, 06:18 PM
Just hope this time that whoever is in charge of signing the loans, they check the small print and we are not saddled with someone we don't want but are obliged to sign permanently because he played too many games for us.
And said player is now a starter for us, turned out not too bad eh?
TrinityHFC
12-01-2024, 06:24 PM
That’s also not what happened.
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2024, 06:25 PM
Absolute Tory spin here
12-01-2024, 06:26 PM
Absolute Tory spin here
Well you can **** off wi that, Tory? Pfft.
Also, what did happen then?
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2024, 06:28 PM
Well you can **** off wi that.
Apologies. Was below the belt. Ridiculous comment though
12-01-2024, 06:29 PM
How?
12-01-2024, 06:29 PM
Apology accepted
Don't let the truth get in the way of a good moan:greengrin
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2024, 06:32 PM
How?
Rocky is there out of necessity and when he does play his performances leave a whole lot to be desired. I don’t even think he’s a footballer. To insinuate he’s played his way into being a first team starter isn’t true I’m afraid. Infact him still starting in games just highlights how our recruitment side is failing
Not even a footballer, now that's a real stretch
12-01-2024, 06:35 PM
You said that Jones posting the pretty unarguable fact that Rocky is now a starter for us was a ridiculous comment… and then posted that? Seriously to ****…
Some folk have started early this weekend!
12-01-2024, 06:36 PM
Think your post is pretty ridiculous to be fair. Rocky starts on ability and noticeable improvement in a relatively short space of time. He’s also a full international currently away at a major tournament for his country.
It’s fine not rating a player but at least have some balance.
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2024, 06:37 PM
You said that Jones posting the pretty unarguable fact that Rocky is now a starter for us was a ridiculous comment… and then posted that? Seriously to ****…
Some folk have started early this weekend!
Ah right so the fact he starts automatically means he’s good enough does it? Because that is what is being insinuated here.
12-01-2024, 06:37 PM
See, he literally is a footballer, so that's a bit of a ridiculous comment too.
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2024, 06:38 PM
Think your post is pretty ridiculous to be fair. Rocky starts on ability and noticeable improvement in a relatively short space of time. He’s also a full international currently away at a major tournament for his country.
It’s fine not rating a player but at least have some balance.
Absolutely not good enough for Hibs and that is undeniable
12-01-2024, 06:39 PM
Watching us/him trying to defend, I’d not say it turned out to be great to be honest.
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2024, 06:40 PM
See, he literally is a footballer, so that's a bit of a ridiculous comment too.
Is that genuinely the best defence you have of him? 😂
12-01-2024, 06:40 PM
Ah right so the fact he starts automatically means he’s good enough does it? Because that is what is being insinuated here.
I think the fact our manager picks him as a starter means it maybe didn’t turn out too bad that we signed Rocky, regardless of differing views on his ability.
I think that’s what was being insinuated. But maybe I’m just (god forbid) being a Tory.
12-01-2024, 06:43 PM
Is that genuinely the best defence you have of him? 😂
No, but it does serve to highlight your pretty ***** comments about him. Stupid throwaway remarks aren't a good argument either.
Has all the hallmark of past rentagobs who blurt out 'so and so is NEVER a left back', despite the fact they've played about 200 times in that position across three different clubs.
My defence of him would be that he's improved a fair bit to now look pretty competent on the ball when he looked awkward before. He's generally fine as a footballer, but will always be held back by the fact he is too prone to rash errors. He's not the worst player we've ever had, but I'd still rather we signed someone better.
There, bit of balance for you.
12-01-2024, 06:54 PM
I think Rocky looks improved and better than what he was last season BUT I seen a stat not too long ago that showed we’re worse off points wise/losing wise with him in the team than we are when he isn’t in the team.
Agree it’s frustrating.
Recruitment doesn’t seem to have a clear plan and hasn’t for a few years. Taking chances on players is fine if you have a good enough squad. We dont. Everything is last minute and getting loans up who haven’t played 1st team games is simply not good enough. How anyone could sign that off is beyond me
How many teams make big moves in January? It’s wildly seen as a bad time to do any good business isn’t it, so at our level in the ladder loans and short term deals is pretty much it every single Jan window.
Your expectation to sign experienced players for fee’s would mean other teams selling their better players half way through a season, put yourself in their shoes and think would u sell a wide player who can beat a man and create chance for strikers for example half way through a season for something like 200-300k or keep him till end of the season and make that in prize money, your expectations of what we can achieve in this window are way too high imo and Ian gordon or Brian McDermott aren’t to blame for that
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2024, 07:02 PM
How many teams make big moves in January? It’s wildly seen as a bad time to do any good business isn’t it, so at our level in the ladder loans and short term deals is pretty much it every single Jan window.
Your expectation to sign experienced players for fee’s would mean other teams selling their better players half way through a season, put yourself in their shoes and think would u sell a wide player who can beat a man and create chance for strikers for example half way through a season for something like 200-300k or keep him till end of the season and make that in prize money, your expectations of what we can achieve in this window are way too high imo and Ian gordon or Brian McDermott aren’t to blame for that
Hold on, let’s not isolate this to January windows. This goes on in the summer too. This has been highlighted repeatedly throughout the past few years. Bit odd you seem to have an opposite view. Guess some are too used to just rolling along writing seasons off year after year. It’s wearing thin
AL-Qaholik
12-01-2024, 07:08 PM
Aberdeen last year.
That sort of overhaul is what we needed.
It’s not what we’re getting, though.
12-01-2024, 07:14 PM
Can’t we just have a January 2018 window again.
12-01-2024, 07:15 PM
Aberdeen last year.
That sort of overhaul is what we needed.
It’s not what we’re getting, though.
I don’t think we need a complete overhaul. I do think we need 2 or 3 proper first team players in key positions though and that would help get a lot more out of others.
I’m not convinced we’ll get that that either though.
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2024, 07:16 PM
I don’t think we need a complete overhaul. I do think we need 2 or 3 proper first team players in key positions though and that would help get a lot more out of others.
The same thing many of us have been saying for the past 5 or 6 windows
12-01-2024, 07:16 PM
Can’t we just have a January 2018 window again.
Was that when we signed Kamberi, McLaren and Scott Allan maybe?
Were they signed towards the end of the window?
Scotty Leither
12-01-2024, 07:18 PM
We managed to sell a player for a big fee, though. I’d love us to try and spend £2/300k on a decent midfielder and centre back but I suspect we’ll need to pin our hopes on another 20-year old with zero senior appearances because that’s just what we do.
Rinse and repeat, and same outcomes, it’s getting boring.
12-01-2024, 07:18 PM
McLaren was early. I’m sure Kamberi was late after a trial. And Allan was right at the end.
Hold on, let’s not isolate this to January windows. This goes on in the summer too. This has been highlighted repeatedly throughout the past few years. Bit odd you seem to have an opposite view. Guess some are too used to just rolling along writing seasons off year after year. It’s wearing thin
Untested young players on loan in summer window? Must have missed them we have fish on loan from summer window, we spent money on youan, vente and levitt who everyone to a man was delighted with all 3 at the time.
We have appointed a DoF who has had one window at the club so far he’s been appointed because of past failings but posters like yourself stamping their feet 2 weeks in because there lofty expectations haven’t been met yet, nobody is happy writing seasons off year after year but some of us can take a step back and look at what’s going on, the manager already said there isn’t a big pot for this window and players would need to leave they’ve not hidden the fact it won’t be easy
We managed to sell a player for a big fee, though. I’d love us to try and spend £2/300k on a decent midfielder and centre back but I suspect we’ll need to pin our hopes on another 20-year old with zero senior appearances because that’s just what we do.
But you’d probably be delighted if we re-signed CJ or if we replace Stevenson with the lad Beck Dundee had on loan from liverpool or if we got the boy who ragdolled fish from motherwell who’s no kicked a ball for arsenal
12-01-2024, 07:26 PM
Unsure but I want it.
I remember sitting in the roseburn before the hearts game, and canny mind if it was kamberi signed or on trial…sitting thinking “who the **** is this”.
He turned out decent in his loan spell. We turned out decent.
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2024, 07:27 PM
Untested young players on loan in summer window? Must have missed them we have fish on loan from summer window, we spent money on youan, vente and levitt who everyone to a man was delighted with all 3 at the time.
We have appointed a DoF who has had one window at the club so far he’s been appointed because of past failings but posters like yourself stamping their feet 2 weeks in because there lofty expectations haven’t been met yet, nobody is happy writing seasons off year after year but some of us can take a step back and look at what’s going on, the manager already said there isn’t a big pot for this window and players would need to leave they’ve not hidden the fact it won’t be easy
My expectations haven’t been met for the last 5 or 6 windows. This isn’t just based on these last 2 weeks. As others have said it’s wearing very thin and the excuses that it’s hard to sign in January are just masking failures in the recruitment dept.
McDermott is still relatively new but I would have hoped his contacts would have sourced us some players who come in an improve the starting 11 from the off.
I think we will mate. I guess the point for debate is what are the key positions. I’d say cb, midfield and a partner for Vente.
Scotty Leither
We once signed three players all at once who went straight into the team as first picks: Mitchell, Macintyre, and Bell. It can be done, but the purse strings seem to be tied in a double knot for some reason just now.
12-01-2024, 07:30 PM
I think we will mate. I guess the point for debate is what are the key positions. I’d say cb, midfield and a partner for Vente.
I think we’ll get the numbers but I’m not sure if it’ll be the first pick types that we’re desperate for.
That’s the three I’d want. A centre back partner for Fish helps him. A midfielder helps get more from Newell/Levitt. A partner gets more from Vente.
12-01-2024, 07:35 PM
We once signed three players all at once who went straight into the team as first picks: Mitchell, Macintyre, and Bell. It can be done, but the purse strings seem to be tied in a double knot for some reason just now.
Did they all make their debut at Brockville? Threre was no Jan window back then but I'm sure I remember an almost frozen pitch and thought it was their debuts.
Absolutely not good enough for Hibs and that is undeniable
And that's a different argument altogether, so he is footballer?
My expectations haven’t been met for the last 5 or 6 windows. This isn’t just based on these last 2 weeks. As others have said it’s wearing very thin and the excuses that it’s hard to sign in January are just masking failures in the recruitment dept.
McDermott is still relatively new but I would have hoped his contacts would have sourced us some players who come in an improve the starting 11 from the off.
And because one could be from Leeds u23 means he can’t improve us from the off? CJ came in from Burnley reserves last year improved us, fish came in from same level Man Utd improved us, we’d all be happy with the LB Dundee had off liverpool he also played that level
Your wanting experienced players and I get the reason why but we spend a fortune in our terms in the summer and unlike Real Madrid we need to balance that off which make an already difficult window harder
Chipper1875
12-01-2024, 07:37 PM
Some statement every man was delighted with youhan, vente and levitt. Nobody seen vente play, his team had
Finished bottom end of Dutch second tier . Levitt l didn’t want him and l
Suspect he’s getting moved on in summer.
12-01-2024, 07:40 PM
I think we’ll get the numbers but I’m not sure if it’ll be the first pick types that we’re desperate for.
That’s the three I’d want. A centre back partner for Fish helps him. A midfielder helps get more from Newell/Levitt. A partner gets more from Vente.
It’s sort of what I’m expecting.
Chipper1875
And because one could be from Leeds u23 means he can’t improve us from the off? CJ came in from Burnley reserves last year improved us, fish came in from same level Man Utd improved us, we’d all be happy with the LB Dundee had off liverpool he also played that level
Your wanting experienced players and I get the reason why but we spend a fortune in our terms in the summer and unlike Real Madrid we need to balance that off which make an already difficult window harder
Manager wanted players signed for Dubai and players that were starters and ready to make an impact . Rookies from England that we signed over the years haven’t delivered taht . cJ wasn’t foir and struggled
After 60 mins as wasn’t use to first team fitba
Did the Nisbet and Melkersen fees not balance the summer expenditure?
Scotty Leither
12-01-2024, 07:43 PM
Did they all make their debut at Brockville? Threre was no Jan window back then but I'm sure I remember an almost frozen pitch and thought it was their debuts.
Yes, won 3-1 and Bell scored IIRC.
Manager wanted players signed for Dubai and players that were starters and ready to make an impact . Rookies from England that we signed over the years haven’t delivered taht . cJ wasn’t foir and struggled
After 60 mins as wasn’t use to first team fitba
“We can only stretch the budget available so far, so that’s why we have to be clinical in our recruitment.
“We have got a couple of targets but it’s not easy to get quality players in, and to have clubs willing to let them come in for the budget we have.
“We’re working really hard, and maybe one or two will go out to help that fund.
“It’s an ongoing situation, but it’s the same for every club at this time of year.
“Depending on if any players move on, there can be a knock-on effect in freeing up budget to bring another player in. It’s really hard to say.”
Yip chipper that sounds like a man who expected 4 new players to be signed and in the building for the trip to Dubai 1 week into the window
12-01-2024, 07:50 PM
I’m finding it hard to think what I’d be prioritising if we’re to persist with the 442. Probably 2 central midfielders, then maybe wide midfielders. RB is a mess but that’s mainly injury and international leave related.
I know I’m in a minority of one but I don’t have a problem with our personnel at CH, I have a problem with how much trouble is brought onto the centre halves by our central midfielders and fullbacks.
We should be able to cobble something fairly effective out of our existing forwards and wide players.
Our number one problem is that we’ve appointed a manager who wants to play a totally different way to what our past 5 or 6 transfer windows have been geared towards, windows that were largely crap even not being geared towards playing 442. This means what we can realistically expect and what we need are miles apart.
Still, plenty of cash rolling in from transfers, eh?
Chipper1875
12-01-2024, 07:51 PM
Yes, won 3-1 and Bell scored IIRC.
They did. Beastie and Super Joe also scored. They were ment to make debut in new year derby but game was off and we end up
Playing hertz on 6 January. I’m sure ER was waterlogged and game got called off around 2pm. Heard news walking down London Road
Chipper1875
12-01-2024, 07:53 PM
“We can only stretch the budget available so far, so that’s why we have to be clinical in our recruitment.
“We have got a couple of targets but it’s not easy to get quality players in, and to have clubs willing to let them come in for the budget we have.
“We’re working really hard, and maybe one or two will go out to help that fund.
“It’s an ongoing situation, but it’s the same for every club at this time of year.
“Depending on if any players move on, there can be a knock-on effect in freeing up budget to bring another player in. It’s really hard to say.”
Yip chipper that sounds like a man who expected 4 new players to be signed and in the building for the trip to Dubai 1 week into the window
He was expecting players in . You ain’t coming out in press saying we are minted
12-01-2024, 07:53 PM
Surprised we’ve not seen moves for any of the players from A-League/CCM
I get this feeling from the club at the moment (based on what Monty says) that we’re completely skint🤣
Scotty Leither
12-01-2024, 07:54 PM
But you’d probably be delighted if we re-signed CJ or if we replace Stevenson with the lad Beck Dundee had on loan from liverpool or if we got the boy who ragdolled fish from motherwell who’s no kicked a ball for arsenal
Beck had played 5 games for Bolton and came from one of the best academies there is. Riley I thought was alright, nothing more, and I wouldn’t be clamouring to sign the Motherwell boy.
I’d like the recruitment team to justify the continued lack of a creative, dynamic midfield player and centre half signed on permanent deals, but all we get is Kenneh, Jeggo and the like and how long it’ll continue like this, along with the churn of managers.
Something isn’t right with the recruitment and giving the tin ear to the fans won’t make it go away, that’s for sure.
12-01-2024, 07:56 PM
I’m finding it hard to think what I’d be prioritising if we’re to persist with the 442. Probably 2 central midfielders, then maybe wide midfielders. RB is a mess but that’s mainly injury and international leave related.
I know I’m in a minority of one but I don’t have a problem with our personnel at CH, I have a problem with how much trouble is brought onto the centre halves by our central midfielders and fullbacks.
We should be able to cobble something fairly effective out of our existing forwards and wide players.
Our number one problem is that we’ve appointed a manager who wants to play a totally different way to what our past 5 or 6 transfer windows have been geared towards, windows that were largely crap even not being geared towards playing 442. This means what we can realistically expect and what we needs are miles apart.
Still, plenty of cash rolling in from transfers, eh?
I think centre half is the weakest part of our team. Disorganised, lack of leadership, lack of quality. Just thought the Hearts goal a couple of weeks ago summed it up perfectly. You look at the goals in the Motherwell game as well, nothing to do with us being exposed or anything. We’ll never stop conceding goals so readily without a change in that area of the pitch.
12-01-2024, 07:57 PM
Adam Montgomery recalled by Celtic from his loan at Fleetwood and reportedly had options in Scotland.
Thought he was impressive last year for St Johnstone once he got a run of games.
Not really played for Fleetwood this year due to injuries but you wonder if he’s one we’d go for as young competition for Obita or if there was anything in the Farrell/Penrice rumours.
12-01-2024, 07:57 PM
I get this feeling from the club at the moment (based on what Monty says) that we’re completely skint🤣
I get that feeling too tbh.
I reckon the Gordons are feeling the impact of badly frittered cash over the past few years and are having their first “whoah, it’s quite easy to lose a lot of money at this game” moment.
12-01-2024, 08:00 PM
Going to be a long 2nd half of the season if we’re skint.
Beck had played 5 games for Bolton and came from one of the best academies there is. Riley I thought was alright, nothing more, and I wouldn’t be clamouring to sign the Motherwell boy.
I’d like the recruitment team to justify the continued lack of a creative, dynamic midfield player and centre half signed on permanent deals, but all we get is Kenneh, Jeggo and the like and how long it’ll continue like this, along with the churn of managers.
Something isn’t right with the recruitment and giving the tin ear to the fans won’t make it go away, that’s for sure.
They’ve held their hands up to that and appointed McDermott have they not? Has he just to sort all the woes in 5mins, does nothing actually take time? This isn’t footy manager it’s real life
hibby rae
12-01-2024, 08:02 PM
Some statement every man was delighted with youhan, vente and levitt. Nobody seen vente play, his team had
If anything it's more impressive when a player scores 21 goals in a season and their team is 15/20 in the league
12-01-2024, 08:07 PM
I’m still glad we signed all 3 of them. Have seen the quality Vente and Youan have, and I still believe Levitt can come very good.
Chipper1875
12-01-2024, 08:08 PM
If anything it's more impressive when a player scores 21 goals in a season and their team is 15/20 in the league
Not really. Lots players score goals n the lower leagues and can’t step up. I remember we signed the second willie Irvine . Terrible in the top
League
12-01-2024, 08:16 PM
Daily Record reporting that Hibs will get just shy of £1.2m for the Doig deal. They are reporting it's on the total fee not profit. They off course could be regurgitating the Scotsman story. That's a tidy sum if that's the case though.
12-01-2024, 08:21 PM
Daily Record reporting that Hibs will get just shy of £1.2m for the Doig deal. They are reporting it's on the total fee not profit. They off course could be regurgitating the Scotsman story. That's a tidy sum if that's the case though.
So Kensell…good?
Scotty Leither
12-01-2024, 08:22 PM
They’ve held their hands up to that and appointed McDermott have they not? Has he just to sort all the woes in 5mins, does nothing actually take time? This isn’t footy manager it’s real life
Who’s McDermott brought in? He’s already had the summer window with little or no impact. Still, we put 500 passes together against Motherwell and that seemed to please the manager.
Hibees1973
12-01-2024, 08:24 PM
I'm not expecting much from this transfer window.
Even with the Melkersen money, other clubs do not want to sell their better players at this time of year. I reckon Newell is the best player we have and we wouldn't want to sell him now.
At best it's likely to be new players who will not cost a fee (loans) and who have had little game time or injury issues at an English Championship/Old Firm club. Not really the kind of players who will turn our season around. We could strike lucky as we did in 2018 with MacLaren, Kamberi and Allan but this was an exception to the rule.
The timing of sacking Johnson was lamentable (27 August). It was towards the end of the summer transfer window, but too late to get our new manager in and plan with McDermott the players he wanted. Montgomery did get the new manager bounce, but the football we played in November & December was turgid, slow and predictable. It's clear some players' form improved when Montgomery initially came in, but reverted to type towards the end of the year. This is why we are now mid table and closer to the relegation play-off spot than 3rd.
The root of our problems has been the constant change in managers and a baffling recruitment strategy. Anyone expecting a dramatic change in our fortunes and consistency after this transfer window is expecting too much. Any significant improvement is unlikely to happen until next season.
Who’s McDermott brought in? He’s already had the summer window with little or no impact. Still, we put 500 passes together against Motherwell and that seemed to please the manager.
Jesus man, maybe you should give them up Scotty
May21/05/216
12-01-2024, 08:45 PM
Even with the Melkersen money, other clubs do not want to sell their better players at this time of year. I reckon Newell is the best player we have and we wouldn't want to sell him now.
At best it's likely to be new players who will not cost a fee (loans) and who have had little game time or injury issues at an English Championship/Old Firm club. Not really the kind of players who will turn our season around. We could strike lucky as we did in 2018 with MacLaren, Kamberi and Allan but this was an exception to the rule.
The timing of sacking Johnson was lamentable (27 August). It was towards the end of the summer transfer window, but too late to get our new manager in and plan with McDermott the players he wanted. Montgomery did get the new manager bounce, but the football we played in November & December was turgid, slow and predictable. It's clear some players' form improved when Montgomery initially came in, but reverted to type towards the end of the year. This is why we are now mid table and closer to the relegation play-off spot than 3rd.
The root of our problems has been the constant change in managers and a baffling recruitment strategy. Anyone expecting a dramatic change in our fortunes and consistency after this transfer window is expecting too much. Any significant improvement is unlikely to happen until next season.Jambo
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
12-01-2024, 08:59 PM
The root of our problems has been the constant change in managers and a baffling recruitment strategy. Anyone expecting a dramatic change in our fortunes and consistency after this transfer window is expecting too much. Any significant improvement is unlikely to happen until next season.
Wah 😩
Hibees1973
12-01-2024, 09:00 PM
Jambo
Supported Hibs for over 50 years.
This is just how I see it just now.
12-01-2024, 09:00 PM
Chris gaunt has tweeted tonight “profit. Not gross”
12-01-2024, 09:03 PM
Who he?
12-01-2024, 09:03 PM
Who he?
Our finance director.
12-01-2024, 09:05 PM
Could the amount of over a million be profit plus outstanding money owned from initial sale?
12-01-2024, 09:06 PM
Our finance director.
Thanks Callum, you would have to think he would know:greengrin
12-01-2024, 09:08 PM
It's great to get some clarification 👍
12-01-2024, 09:08 PM
Could the amount of over a million be profit plus outstanding money owned from initial sale?
Yeah that’s what the evening news are reporting.
12-01-2024, 09:22 PM
Jambo
He’s definitely on my list of dubious posters
12-01-2024, 09:33 PM
FWIW I think this is a perfectly reasonable post.
Not sure about the “clubs selling their better players” part though, a player who comes in and improves is doesn’t need to be someone else’s better player. All of the players we’ve signed in our history (even the good ones) have been deemed available for a price by someone at some point. It’s about finding those players.
We’ll need a coach and DoF to be somewhat aligned for that to happen though.
Hibees1973
12-01-2024, 09:38 PM
He’s definitely on my list of dubious posters
What do you want me to do to show you I've been a Hibs supporter for over 50 years.
Bring out the Hibs shares certificate I have from 1988, the grass from the Hampden turf I have in an envelope from 21/5/2016, the scarf I have with the League Cup winning side from 1972.
Yes, I am one of the more critical posters on here, but I will praise when it is merited, as I have on numerous occasions. But I will also criticise when I feel it is legitimate.
12-01-2024, 09:52 PM
I don't think Levitt was far off that.
hibby rae
12-01-2024, 09:52 PM
Not really. Lots players score goals n the lower leagues and can’t step up. I remember we signed the second willie Irvine . Terrible in the top
League
If you make the point that his previous team was poor then it's impressive he performed really well.
Also, writing him off here as not being able to make the step up is ludicrious. Especially when you consider the midfield problems we currently have, he has rarely had a run of playing alongside the same player up top, and he's not really being given the opportunity to play as number 9. He constantly has to come deep, in large part to the previous mentioned issues
uwxm07
12-01-2024, 10:59 PM
We could be positive ,back the management , get behind the team and realise we have a way to go before we can catch Real Madrid. But then again it’s Hibs.Net
12-01-2024, 11:06 PM
We could be positive ,back the management , get behind the team and realise we have a way to go before we can catch Real Madrid. But then again it’s Hibs.Net
Can we start by catching hearts first please
MagicSwirlingShip
12-01-2024, 11:08 PM
Keep the faith! #GGTTH
Keepthefaith
12-01-2024, 11:18 PM
Keep the faith! #GGTTH
you called?!
I really wish more would...folk banging on trying to sling anything that will stick to make the club look like we don't know what we're doing. we're not working in a vacuum, we don't have control over players minds, agents persuasions or clubs wanting to hold onto, or over price their players.
can the angry keyboard warriors just chill a bit eh?
TheGreenMan
12-01-2024, 11:22 PM
Turnbull is out of contract in the summer at Celtic, any chance? Not playing there at all so will likely be moving on
12-01-2024, 11:29 PM
Turnbull is out of contract in the summer at Celtic, any chance? Not playing there at all so will likely be moving on
Interesting.
We may have the finances then to sign a player like him
However. Would he get in the bournmouth team if he did well at hibs.
MagicSwirlingShip
13-01-2024, 12:01 AM
you called?!
I really wish more would...folk banging on trying to sling anything that will stick to make the club look like we don't know what we're doing. we're not working in a vacuum, we don't have control over players minds, agents persuasions or clubs wanting to hold onto, or over price their players.
Right on time!
I’ve came to expect very little from the January window. Doesn’t mean we can’t perform better the second half of the season.
Mon the Hibs
PHeffernan
13-01-2024, 12:36 AM
Think we will see him in the upper echelons of the English Championship now or in the summer unless he signs a new deal at Cellik.
13-01-2024, 05:42 AM
Interesting.
We may have the finances then to sign a player like him
However. Would he get in the bournmouth team if he did well at hibs.
If he came to us and done well enough to be getting a game in the English Premier I'd be delighted. He'd have been a massive success on the park and we'd be receiving a multi million pound transfer.
Chipper1875
13-01-2024, 07:01 AM
If you make the point that his previous team was poor then it's impressive he performed really well.
Also, writing him off here as not being able to make the step up is ludicrious. Especially when you consider the midfield problems we currently have, he has rarely had a run of playing alongside the same player up top, and he's not really being given the opportunity to play as number 9. He constantly has to come deep, in large part to the previous mentioned issues
Didn’t write him off. Keep up
Please
Chipper1875
13-01-2024, 07:04 AM
Chris is leaving hibs
13-01-2024, 07:10 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240113/bc7e91e644dcf2361b2d185b3e90f446.png
18Craig75
13-01-2024, 07:11 AM
Would fill a big hole in our midfield. I suspect Celtic will want to keep him around as a squad player. He’s too good for that IMO so it’ll come down to what ambitions the lad has himself. There probably will be championship suitors as well as us, Hearts and Aberdeen.
Needs to be playing games that’s for sure. Wonder if Celtic would come to the table if they had a buy back option. He’s probably an unrealistic target to be honest.
13-01-2024, 07:18 AM
Turnbull was linked with AC Milan last week. Literally zero chance of him joining any other club in scotlsnd
13-01-2024, 07:25 AM
Ah I see, still a decent wedge though. Could pay for a decent players loan for the rest of the season.
It’s not to be sniffed at but it’s pretty disappointing
13-01-2024, 07:28 AM
Turnbull was linked with AC Milan last week. Literally zero chance of him joining any other club in scotlsnd
Yep, absolutely no chance.
He’s better than us and can get far more money elsewhere.
It’s suggestions like Turnbull that then make our transfer business look even worse as it’s at times suggested we missed out.
13-01-2024, 07:30 AM
League
Yes, he was but he was signed from the lower leagues in Scotland. I'm pretty sure the current level of the Dutch second tier isn't that comparable. Willie Irvine mk2 barely kicked a ball for us, Vente has already shown he can score goals for us. The problem is that he's not getting a great deal of service and spends much of the game chasing around after the ball defensively.
Bridge hibs
13-01-2024, 07:32 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240113/bc7e91e644dcf2361b2d185b3e90f446.png
Agent trying to pull more clubs into a bidding war ?
To be honest Im not too fussed and certainly not going to be disappointed, he doesn't belong to us and chances of seeing him in a hibs top seem to be miles off
13-01-2024, 07:58 AM
you called?!
Well said
13-01-2024, 07:59 AM
Sassuola offer 6 million Euros for Doig, but apparently his heart is set on Marseille! Be good for us if a bidding war can raise his fee.
https://www.alfredopedulla.com/esclusiva-doig-il-sassuolo-alza-offerta-a-6-milioni-ma-lui-aspetta-ancora-lom/
Translation:
Josh Doig is likely to start tomorrow in Verona v Empoli, further confirming that there are no closures planned in the evening against Olympique Marseille. But we can confirm what was anticipated in the exclusive of three days ago, namely that the French are pressing and that the Scottish full-back has given priority to OM and therefore wants to wait. All this despite last night's surprise raid by Sassuolo that we anticipated. The Emilian club today presented a higher offer than Marseille's, €6 million plus bonuses. But Doig's intention is to wait for OM, while for now there is no trace of Torino.
Gordy M
13-01-2024, 08:20 AM
What i dont understand is why Marseille are taking so long? Surely they idetified their targers before the transfer window and just went out and signed them at the start of January? I mean its easy to sign players in January right? And dont get me started on Sasuollo.
Its almost like it is possible that signing players in January isnt that easy??
Mcbizz1998
13-01-2024, 08:24 AM
Hmmm….
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/11786217/hibs-trialist-hibs-adryan-draq-queen-poker/amp/
bringbackbenny
13-01-2024, 08:38 AM
Hmmm….
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/11786217/hibs-trialist-hibs-adryan-draq-queen-poker/amp/
Definite legend potential. Get him signed.
13-01-2024, 08:51 AM
Hmmm….
Don't bother looking at this link, it's just regurgitated scheidt about the Brazilian trialist's lifestyle etc.
13-01-2024, 08:55 AM
Was Steven Fletcher not linked with Real Madrid? Not a chance in hell Milan would be looking at Turnbull in my opinion. Just the usual January window paper *****.
Rumble de Thump
13-01-2024, 09:13 AM
Don't bother looking at this link, it's just regurgitated scheidt about the Brazilian trialist's lifestyle etc.
It certainly seems to be rather old, unsubstantiated comments presented as fact. Iterestingly, the guy who made the comments, Christian Constantine, is one of the most bonkers guys in football.
According to Wikipedia: During his ownership of FC Sion, Constantine has made 50 managerial changes, appointed himself as manager in 2008 and 2021, fired a former head coach because of his smell, allegedly kicked a referee in 2007 forcing the referee to retire three months later, before then kicking and taking down a Swiss pundit live on TV. More recently, he fired a manager at the half time break before forcing that head coach to stand on the sidelines, even though he didn’t have a job, and confronted Mario Balotelli when he found out he wasn’t pleased with the decision, signed six players under a transfer ban.
13-01-2024, 09:17 AM
It’s all a wee bit boring and worrying this window eh?
We’re clearly not going to be signing anyone until we’re back from Dubai, even then it’ll be a 20 year old defender without a single first team game or a 29 year old who hasn’t played since May last year by the looks of things. Though, going by the latest video and the use of ‘had on trial’ don’t think we’ll be signing Adryan.
We’ve brought in good money for Melkersen and looks like we’ll be getting more money for Doig moving. Hopefully majority of that money is used to bring players in.
JammyDoidger
13-01-2024, 09:29 AM
Hmmm….
Jambo's will be having a field day with this, we make it far too easy for them at times. The window can only get better, can't get any worse surely.
13-01-2024, 09:29 AM
In light of our pretty desperate looking transfer strategy this window, does that not call in to question the wisdom of ******g off to Dubai? The whole jaunt must have cost the club a lot of money. For perspective, I would estimate that, ahem, 100 season tickets roughly equals £40,000. I read that we took nearly 40 staff and players over. A pretty wild stab at it but the whole jolly must have cost more than £100,000?
JammyDoidger
13-01-2024, 09:30 AM
In light of our pretty desperate looking transfer strategy this window, does that not call in to question the wisdom of ******g off to Dubai? The whole jaunt must have cost the club a lot of money. For perspective, I would estimate that 1000 season tickets roughly equals £40,000. I read that we took nearly 40 staff and players over. A pretty wild stab at it but the whole jolly must have cost more than £100,000?
Exactly. They better hope they bring in the quality we need or this is going to be cast up at the end of the month again.
13-01-2024, 09:31 AM
Jambo's will be having a field day with this, we make it far too easy for them at times. The window can only get better, can't get any worse surely.
Grow a set ffs. Who cares what they think?
Bridge hibs
13-01-2024, 09:32 AM
Who cares what jambos say or think, he isnt our player
13-01-2024, 09:32 AM
It’s all a wee bit boring and worrying this window eh?
We’re clearly not going to be signing anyone until we’re back from Dubai, even then it’ll be a 20 year old defender without a single first team game or a 29 year old who hasn’t played since May last year by the looks of things. Though, going by the latest video and the use of ‘had on trial’ don’t think we’ll be signing Adryan.
We’ve brought in good money for Melkersen and looks like we’ll be getting more money for Doig moving. Hopefully majority of that money is used to bring players in.
I’d be more worried if we just rushed into signing players that didn’t have chance of playing with the team first just to appease fans.
January windows are never easy and i’d rather we properly assessed a player before deciding on them rather than sign them for the sake of it.
13-01-2024, 09:33 AM
The Sun have certainly waded in with what looks like an assassination job on a potential signing and our club. Acceptable “journalism”?
13-01-2024, 09:36 AM
I’d be more worried if we just rushed into signing players that didn’t have chance of playing with the team first just to appease fans.
January windows are never easy and i’d rather we properly assessed a player before deciding on them rather than sign them for the sake of it.
Why would signing someone early means it’s been rushed? We’ll be looking into recruitment all season. We don’t just start looking for players on New Year’s Day.