View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26

01-02-2024, 09:09 PM
Deal of the window

https://twitter.com/KilmarnockFC/status/1753176620922228889?t=jchwxquYo5HZdCfWQd_gTg&s=19

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Marcondes may be that player.

AL-Qaholik
Not a chance! Failed in Dutch second division with the team that has biggest budget. Vente scored for fun in same league

He’ll finish this season with more goals than Vente.

If we sign Kukharevych it gives us the following options

Keepers

David Marshall
JoJo Wollacott
Murray Johnson

Right back

Lewis Miller
Chris Cadden
Kanayo Megwa
Rory Whittaker

Centre back

Will Fish
Rocky Bushiri
Paul Hanlon
Nectar Triantis
Owen Bevan

Left back

Jordan Obita
Lewis Stevenson

Centre mid

Newell
Levitt
JDH
Moriah Welsh
Luke Amos
Marcondes
Campbell

Wide midfielders

Martin Boyle
Jair
Youan
Cadden
Maolida

Strikers

Vente
Maolida
ALF
Marcondes
Boyle
Youan
Kuharevych

Obviously some in twice as they can play multiple positions

Stairway 2 7
All the boys I know in Groningen were happy to see him go, thought he was poor in the Dutch second division. Obviously fantastic last season but that's about the only good spell of his career, 33 in the summer so will have to do well this 6 months

01-02-2024, 09:10 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1753178031173075078?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Corstorphine Hibby
01-02-2024, 09:10 PM
Less of the mind games Tubs, just tell us what you know.

With that line of hard questioning, it won't be long until M15 come calling with a job offer for you.

01-02-2024, 09:11 PM
Rumor has it he's in a boozer with Leigh Griffiths in Leith.

Chuck in Deeks and that's a front line better than Salah, Mane and Firmino

01-02-2024, 09:12 PM
Useless? No

Complacent? Very possibly.

Useless absolutely. He repeated the same mistakes made in the semi in the Cup final. Unforgiveable.

Fuzzywuzzy
01-02-2024, 09:12 PM
Bevan reminds me of Jock from Young Offenders

Exuberance1875
01-02-2024, 09:13 PM
Is Mckirdy away?

Been a truly terrible signing that we panicked to get over the line for next to no reason at all when it wasn’t a position we were desperate for at the time.

Scored 0 goals, 0 assists, slatted hibs on social media.

When you compare him to the likes of Doidge that came in with little expectation and didn’t hit the ground running, he done it the right way - attitude goes a long way for me and we signed McKirdy knowing what we were in for.

Silky
01-02-2024, 09:15 PM

So will Will Fish!

Gordy M

What is the obsession on here with hyping up other teams signings whilst down playing our players? Is Van Veen better that Marcadones or Maolida?

Is Mckirdy away?

Been a truly terrible signing that we panicked to get over the line for next to no reason at all when it wasn’t a position we were desperate for at the time.

When you compare him to the likes of Doidge that came in with little expectation and didn’t hit the ground running, he done it the right way - attitude goes a long way for me and we signed McKirdy knowing what we were in for.

Actually feel for him.

Never had consecutive starts, think he started two games - Celtic and hearts and was hooked at half time on both occasions when the whole team were brutal

Is Mckirdy away?

Not away Rumour Swindon trying to get him back but nothing confirmed as yet

VoltaireHibs
With that line of hard questioning, it won't be long until M15 come calling with a job offer for you.

I imagined him saying it in an empty room, with 'Tubs' in a chair, gun to his head, and an open tin of biscuits just out of reach of his pudgy arms.

'Spill it Tubs and the Garibaldis are all yours...'

He'd crack like a nut.

01-02-2024, 09:16 PM

Derek's though 41, hasn't played since he was 33..so should be fresh...could he still do a job for us 👀😂

Could Neil Lennon do a job in midfield?

In all seriousness I’d love Derek to be employed by Hibs in a coaching capacity for the strikers and academy players - Silver is best placed to comment but we’re seriously missing a trick not getting him involved in the club at a coaching level.

Fire us to Euopean Glory, no doubt. Been saying this for years.

ElginHibbie
Actually feel for him.

Never had consecutive starts, think he started two games - Celtic and hearts and was hooked at half time on both occasions when the whole team were brutal

And then this season where he could have hoped to kick on had a terrible health scare, didn't work out but he leaves with no hard feelings from me and I just hope he stays healthy

01-02-2024, 09:17 PM

I’m to the point, there’s no time to **** about here 😂😂

01-02-2024, 09:19 PM
I’m to the point, there’s no time to **** about here 😂😂

😂😂

VoltaireHibs
Actually feel for him.

Sorry, but he just never looked like he was good enough. Headless chicken basically. No lack of effort, and I wish him well if he's away, but from his behaviour on socials and performances on the pitch I'd be happy to recoup some of the money we spent.

Exuberance1875

And then this season where he could have hoped to kick on had a terrible health scare, didn't work out but he leaves with no hard feelings from me and I just hope he stays healthy

I absolutely was not wishing ill health on him and I’d much rather he was playing football somewhere, was more around his performance and behaviour last year

By all accounts done a lot of work to get back fit which is to be commended, but not good enough for me

itslegaltender
01-02-2024, 09:20 PM
on the Beeb

Nick McPheat

NEWPosted at 17:1417:14

Post update
So where are we likely to see more business?
Celtic are still yet to confirm Adam Idah, will they look to add any more?
Motherwell must still be on the search for a new striker after failing to land Kevin van Veen, does the same apply to St Mirren?
And we understand Hibs are looking to add another body.

VoltaireHibs
01-02-2024, 09:20 PM
In all seriousness I’d love Derek to be employed by Hibs in a coaching capacity for the strikers and academy players - Silver is best placed to comment but we’re seriously missing a trick not getting him involved in the club at a coaching level.

What coaching experience does he have?

01-02-2024, 09:22 PM

The same as every other coach in history before they get their first job.

01-02-2024, 09:23 PM
Sorry, but he just never looked like he was good enough. Headless chicken basically. No lack of effort, and I wish him well if he's away, but from his behaviour on socials and performances on the pitch I'd be happy to recoup some of the money we spent.

Yeah I do agree he’s still done nowhere near enough when he’s got on.

Just think the hype around him when he signed to then hardly play him was a bit of an odd one and then a couple of injuries never helped.

01-02-2024, 09:25 PM
Is Mckirdy away?

slated hibs is an absolute stretch. he put up a piss take of the gareth bale picture when he was frustrated at not getting a game.

he also has an assist in the few minutes he has played since coming back from serious heart surgery

VoltaireHibs
The same as every other coach in history before they get their first job.

And having been out of football for around ten years, what coaching badges does he have? Honestly, you want to get a guy that coasted his career on natural talent and not much else, was a noted bampot, and has shown no inclination to coach, you want him to come to HTC and show our strikers and forward players how it's done? Seriously? Jeezo.

He should still be starting up front for Hibs.

AL-Qaholik
01-02-2024, 09:26 PM
What is the obsession on here with hyping up other teams signings whilst down playing our players? Is Van Veen better that Marcadones or Maolida?

They’re completely different players.
I think KVV is a better option than Vente.
Certainly based on the Vente we’ve seen so far.

01-02-2024, 09:27 PM
What time does the window shut in England?

Trinity Hibee
01-02-2024, 09:27 PM

11 I think. 11.30 here. Not 100% sure

01-02-2024, 09:28 PM

11 I think

VoltaireHibs
01-02-2024, 09:28 PM
He should still be starting up front for Hibs.

At this point you're just the mad uncle that everyone nods and smiles at in a patronising way.

01-02-2024, 09:29 PM
And having been out of football for around ten years, what coaching badges does he have? Honestly, you want to get a guy that coasted his career on natural talent and not much else, was a noted bampot, and has shown no inclination to coach, you want him to come to HTC and show out strikers and forward players how it's done? Seriously? Jeezo.

Coaching strikers is very much like making love to a beautiful woman…you’ve got to get into position, work out your angles and then hit the target and once you’ve done that, tell the other six guys beside you to try and do the same. Wait what.

Gordy M
01-02-2024, 09:29 PM
They’re completely different players.
I think KVV is a better option than Vente.
Certainly based on the Vente we’ve seen so far.

KVV had one good season with Motherwell and played well, he has roughly the same scoring record at Doidge give or take over his career.

Trinity Hibee
01-02-2024, 09:30 PM
Coaching strikers is very much like making love to a beautiful woman…you’ve got to get into position, work out your angles and then hit the target and once you’ve done that, tell the other six guys in the room to try and do the same. Wait what.

😂😂😂😂

leith lynx
Willie Carson, he'd be good for the Derbies.

Neigh chance... would just be another whipping boy.

Being a good transfer deadline day signing is like being a photographer. You have to search for the right moment and wait

Musselbound
01-02-2024, 09:31 PM
11 I think. 11.30 here. Not 100% sure

Pretty sure that's right

Coaching strikers is very much like making love to a beautiful woman…you’ve got to get into position, work out your angles and then hit the target and once you’ve done that, tell the other six guys beside you to try and do the same. Wait what.

Silver suit
Second hand car lot
That hair
Welcome to Leith, Swiss Tony

Exuberance1875
slated hibs is an absolute stretch. he put up a piss take of the gareth bale picture when he was frustrated at not getting a game.

he also has an assist in the few minutes he has played since coming back from serious heart surgery

What goal did he set up? None that I can remember?

No sure how that’s not slating Hibs either. Wouldn’t catch a proper professional do that in my eyes, but for Hands-Up-The-Sleeves McKirdy it’s okay?

And having been out of football for around ten years, what coaching badges does he have? Honestly, you want to get a guy that coasted his career on natural talent and not much else, was a noted bampot, and has shown no inclination to coach, you want him to come to HTC and show our strikers and forward players how it's done? Seriously? Jeezo.

Best striker of the ball with both feet Hibs have had in about 40 years(other than Jarkko Wiss), only Hibs player to score over a hundred goals for Hibs in 40 odd years and you think he did that purely on natural talent and didn't put in any hard work at all to achieve that?

He certainly could teach any striker currently at the club thing or two, none of them are in his league when it comes to finishing

NGoloGrantie
01-02-2024, 09:32 PM
Goncalo palencia VFL bochum striker. Followed us on Insta. Could be something in it [emoji1787]

01-02-2024, 09:32 PM
At this point you're just the mad uncle that everyone nods and smiles at in a patronising way.

Uncle? I'd go with mad/drunk cousin but uncle? I'm not that old!

01-02-2024, 09:33 PM

No dribbling in the box either......

01-02-2024, 09:34 PM

Coasted his career ? Noted “bampot” - you sure you’re a Hibs fan ? Derek devoted a third of his life to football, played top level, made mistakes as all players do, was a modern day Hibs legend, played abroad and for league champions and played for his country 😂and you wouldn’t want him to coach young players ?

At it 👍

AugustaHibs
01-02-2024, 09:34 PM
Goncalo palencia VFL bochum striker. Followed us on Insta. Could be something in it [emoji1787]

He’s on loan from Celta vigo.

01-02-2024, 09:36 PM

He isn't following us.

VoltaireHibs
01-02-2024, 09:36 PM
Best striker of the ball with both feet Hibs have had in about 40 years(other than Jarkko Wiss), only Hibs player to score over a hundred goals for Hibs in 40 odd years and you think he did that purely on natural talent and didn't put in any hard work at all to achieve that?

He certainly could teach any striker currently at the club thing or two, none of them are in his league when it comes to finishing

I loved Riordan as a player at Hibs, that's a totally different thing to being a coach. Riordan no doubt worked reasonably hard, but he was far from a model professional, and his natural talent made his career. When he had to step up at Celtic he failed miserably, they don't tolerate mavericks there, if you don't meet certain standards your on the bench at best. The game has moved on, and hopefully so have we.

itslegaltender
01-02-2024, 09:37 PM
Paddy McCourt and Adam Le Fondre

one for the old skool.

01-02-2024, 09:38 PM
on the Beeb

Nick McPheat

NEWPosted at 17:1417:14

Post update
So where are we likely to see more business?
Celtic are still yet to confirm Adam Idah, will they look to add any more?
Motherwell must still be on the search for a new striker after failing to land Kevin van Veen, does the same apply to St Mirren?
And we understand Hibs are looking to add another body.

It says that was posted at 5.14pm so was before Bevan was announced.

https://i.ibb.co/1Z8Z8PS/Screenshot-20240201-223634-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/zsGsGBk)

Torto7
KVV had one good season with Motherwell and played well, he has roughly the same scoring record at Doidge give or take over his career.

Don't go bringing facts into things when there's a chance to give Hibs a kicking.

I loved Riordan as a player at Hibs, that's a totally different thing to being a coach. Riordan no doubt worked reasonably hard, but he was far from a model professional, and his natural talent made his career. When he had to step up at Celtic he failed miserably, they don't tolerate mavericks there, if you don't meet certain standards your on the bench at best. The game has moved on, and hopefully so have we.

There is always room in a team for a maverick otherwise there is no point watching football

Celtic splashing the champions league cash tonight with the loan signing of 22 year old forward Adam idah from Norwich

Can't see that he's following us? Are we sure he is

01-02-2024, 09:39 PM
21 minutes to go, you'd think surely we're done...

Trinity Hibee

Scotland closes 11.30

11:30 our window shuts.

Closes at 11.30

itslegaltender
01-02-2024, 09:40 PM
It says that was posted at 5.14pm so was before Bevan was announced.

https://i.ibb.co/1Z8Z8PS/Screenshot-20240201-223634-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/zsGsGBk)

nah, in the US mate.

Exuberance1875

But the time difference in Cali must mean we’ve hours left yet?

Shuts at 11:30

VoltaireHibs
01-02-2024, 09:41 PM
Coasted his career ? Noted “bampot” - you sure you’re a Hibs fan ? Derek devoted a third of his life to football, played top level, made mistakes as all players do, was a modern day Hibs legend, played abroad and for league champions and played for his country ��and you wouldn’t want him to coach young players ?

At it ��

I loved him as a player, who wouldn't? But as a coach around HTC, nah, no thanks. Tell you what, see when all you guys that want him coaching at HTC tell me what coaching badges he's got then I'll agree he may have something to offer. And as for 'devoted', well yes, when we were paying him good money to devote his time to us. If you offered me the chance to sign Riordan the player right now, I'd bite your hand off, but that's not what we're talking about. I wouldn't have thought this was a particularly tricky concept?

And no, not all players make the mistakes Riordan did. I must have imagined him being banned from every club in Edinburgh bar Hibs. It's okay to like a player on the pitch and find their behaviour off it less than exemplary, it doesn't make me less of a Hibs fan.

What goal did he set up? None that I can remember?

No sure how that’s not slating Hibs either. Wouldn’t catch a proper professional do that in my eyes, but for Hands-Up-The-Sleeves McKirdy it’s okay?

2-2 against Motherwell, assist went down to McKirdy I believe.

Gareth Bale literally done it to Real Madrid. Why does it matter how McKirdy wears his shirt?

Celtic splashing the champions league cash tonight with the loan signing of 22 year old forward Adam idah from Norwich

17 goals in 115 appearances - even The Tank was better, maybe

Torto7
01-02-2024, 09:43 PM

My Mrs is a from a massive Celtic family and they all hate Desmond with a passion. There does seem to be a reluctance to spend from them. F knows where the dosh is going.

Edinburgh Green
01-02-2024, 09:43 PM

How random 🤔

01-02-2024, 09:44 PM
McKirdy deal only got 15 minutes to go through then?

01-02-2024, 09:45 PM
Swindon Town just announce a striker on a permanent deal.

Swindon Town are delighted to announce the signing of Leyton Orient forward Aaron Drinan on a permanent deal, subject to EFL approval.

The 25-year-old began his career in Ireland and represented Cork City and Waterford,as he helped Waterford to win the League of Ireland First Division title during his first season in senior football, before making the move to Ipswich in 2018.

01-02-2024, 09:46 PM

Scott Burns tweeted six mins ago McKirdy close to Swindon return. So it's more than likely not happening

Exuberance1875
2-2 against Motherwell, assist went down to McKirdy I believe.

Gareth Bale literally done it to Real Madrid. Why does it matter how McKirdy wears his shirt?

I’m about as close to an assist for Hibs as that is 😂

Gareth Bale also had a terrible attitude at Madrid at that time, Gareth Bale did also have bags of ability and credibility to back it up, McKirdy came from League 2 and had done nothing at hibs to earn game time, in my opinion of course

Scott Burns tweeted six mins ago McKirdy close to Swindon return. So it's more than likely not happening

Probably means he's signed a new contract with us

ElginHibbie

As long as they tell the FA they intend on doing the deal think it can still be finalised after 11

01-02-2024, 09:47 PM
Call me crazy but part of me just really wants to see a Mckirdy goal in a Hibs top and I hope he stays so I can get rid of that itch!

01-02-2024, 09:48 PM
Probably means he's signed a new contract with us

😂 spot on.

Gaffer1875
01-02-2024, 09:48 PM
11:30 our window shuts.

Slams shut

badabing67
01-02-2024, 09:49 PM
22:47

BREAKINGWell sign Buyabu on loan from Sheffield Utd
Motherwell have signed Jili Bayabu on loan from Sheffield United for the remainder of the season.

A lot of sub appearances tbf. Goals to starts is 17 in 39.

Does seem a strange one, all the same.

nah, in the US mate.

👍 Okay. Guess we'll find out soon enough.

Gaffer1875
Call me crazy but part of me just really wants to see a Mckirdy goal in a Hibs top and I hope he stays so I can get rid of that itch!

You’re crazy, I too want him to do well but the fact is he’s up there with one of our worst ever signings. Best for all parties if he moves back to Swindon.

Mrimbetween
How many players do we have right now ?? I've lost track . Tough task to keep all happy Re. Just hope TF the new guys hit the ground running

7Hero
My Mrs is a from a massive Celtic family and they all hate Desmond with a passion. There does seem to be a reluctance to spend from them. F knows where the dosh is going.

Have you seen their bank account they have plenty dosh.

aberhibsfc
01-02-2024, 09:50 PM

Must be a cream for that.

Posh Swanny
As long as they tell the FA they intend on doing the deal think it can still be finalised after 11

They can request an extension but it’s something like 15 minutes, and that’s it. Johnson Clarke-Harris was due to go from Peterborough to Bristol Rovers in August but Rovers didn’t submit the forms in time and it fell through.

41 minutes until the window slams shut. Or if you’re staying in a hotel in Gorgie, 41 minutes until someone bangs on the wall.

cubehindthegoal
Id take Gary Cheesy Cheeseman in a heartbeat at this point.

and Billy ByTheWay to partner him

01-02-2024, 09:51 PM
41 minutes until the window slams shut. Or if you’re staying in a hotel in Gorgie, 41 minutes until someone bangs on the wall.

😂👏👏

01-02-2024, 09:51 PM
Shuts at 11:30

So long as preliminary paper work is in before hand you can sign after

01-02-2024, 09:52 PM
I’m about as close to an assist for Hibs as that is 😂

Gareth Bale also had a terrible attitude at Madrid at that time, Gareth Bale did also have bags of ability and credibility to back it up, McKirdy came from League 2 and had done nothing at hibs to earn game time, in my opinion of course

i’m not arguing that, it was a the most minimal assist you could get but it’s still an assist :greengrin

01-02-2024, 09:52 PM
Desperate for my kip. Please make it worthwhile staying up Hibs

Mrs says "just go to sleep, the players will still have left/signed in the morning"

01-02-2024, 09:53 PM
https://x.com/jamiekborthwick/status/1753189413113176074?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Donegal Hibby

Swindon have signed an Irish striker called Aaron Drinan according to there forum .

Stairway 2 7
Fwiw Mckirdy was very well liked in the dressing room even before his medical issues. His attitude in training is meant to be spot on he's just meant to have an eccentric attitude

stuart-farquhar
01-02-2024, 09:54 PM

There is definitely a tendency for them to be overweight. Massive sometimes I agree.

Silky
01-02-2024, 09:54 PM
Fwiw Mckirdy was very well liked in the dressing room even before his medical issues. His attitude in training is meant to be spot on he's just meant to have an eccentric attitude

Sounds like Boyle.

01-02-2024, 09:55 PM
McKirdy would've scored at Aberdeen had it not been for the handball, then the missed pen.

Jamie Borthwick

Hibs are still going. 39 minutes and counting til the deadline

VoltaireHibs

You're on it tonight. :not worth

That Aberdeen boy hand balling his shot on the line will annoy me till the day I die.

Desperate for my kip. Please make it worthwhile staying up Hibs

Mrs says "just go to sleep, the players will still have left/signed in the morning"

🙄

01-02-2024, 09:57 PM
Swindon teasing McKirdy. It’s happening

Swindon about to announce McKirdy

Swindon confirmed mckirdy

01-02-2024, 09:58 PM
Swindon confirmed mckirdy

Best for all concerned. Loan or buy?

Pytheas
01-02-2024, 09:58 PM
That Aberdeen boy hand balling his shot on the line will annoy me till the day I die.

First thing i thought of when Rowles handballed Ventes' shot in the derby. Same outcome. Both would have been 2 huge goals for the scorer and our season.

Rumble de Thump
01-02-2024, 09:59 PM
We're signing Jamie McGrath. Just sorting the paperwork out.

01-02-2024, 10:00 PM

Either way we won't see him again at Hibs, I'm sure of that.

Up-the-slope
01-02-2024, 10:01 PM
Swindon are skint so we aint getting any money out this any way I would think

ElginHibbie
01-02-2024, 10:02 PM
we're signing jamie mcgrath. Just sorting the paperwork out.

don't jinx it

Loan

VoltaireHibs
We're signing Jamie McGrath. Just sorting the paperwork out.

Loan

01-02-2024, 10:03 PM
Can we kick the guests out?

McKirdy out.

But who is coming in

I can't believe we are signing Jason Cummings and he's kept it quiet

Surely nae chance of that

01-02-2024, 10:04 PM
I can't believe we are signing Jason Cummings and he's kept it quiet

Surely nae chance of that

Aye, have to think it would have leaked if it was happening. Gutted.

Get on with it!

Up-the-slope
Can we kick the guests out?

Brilliant 😂

ElginHibbie
01-02-2024, 10:07 PM
Fully expecting us to sign someone none of us have ever heard of, but am enjoying the anticipation

01-02-2024, 10:08 PM
Fully expecting us to sign someone none of us have ever heard of, but am enjoying the anticipation
Better hurry up then, personally I think we're finished.

VoltaireHibs

This is possibly the most enjoyable bit of the window.

Imagine being a Dunfermline fan and your admin tweets this out a minute ago 😂😂

A #DeadlineDay signing 🐻

A new Sammy the Tammy double biscuit will be on sale this Saturday at KDM Group East End Park in the Norrie McCathie Stand 🏁

This transfer window won't be beat btw. One for the history books!

01-02-2024, 10:09 PM

Think that wins Hibs.net

cubehindthegoal
01-02-2024, 10:10 PM

Totally, can’t see why anyone would be negative about it 👍

Hibs Twitter now.

Stairway 2 7

Wait until the summer 🔥

scm70nyd1973
Think that wins Hibs.net

Priceless 😂

VoltaireHibs

Wait until the summer, I think you'll be in for a nice surprise.

ElginHibbie
Better hurry up then, personally I think we're finished.

Nah, think there is something happening with McKirdy being allowed to go... whether or not we get it done in time is another question

Eliezer Mayenda confirmed
Who?

Musselbound
01-02-2024, 10:11 PM
Imagine being a Dunfermline fan and your admin tweets this out a minute ago 😂😂

A #DeadlineDay signing 🐻

A new Sammy the Tammy double biscuit will be on sale this Saturday at KDM Group East End Park in the Norrie McCathie Stand 🏁

Priceless. Pars fans must be wetting themselves.

Who?!

Great name

I can't believe we've signed Ebeneezer Goode

Eliezer Mayenda another signing with a great name :greengrin

Argylehibby
New guy in We are delighted to confirm the loan signing of Spanish youngster Eliezer Mayenda, subject to international clearance.

NM says that’s the business closed for this window.

01-02-2024, 10:12 PM
Who?

Rapid and strong but weaknesses are finishing and consistency. Great

ElginHibbie
Who?

It's another good name so I am on board

1875Sean
Eliezer Mayenda Isn’t Jason Cummings!

Is there anyone left at Bournemouth and Sunderland?

Up-the-slope
sunderland young forward

Cat Stanton

You were spectacularly correct!

Keepthefaith
wiki says he plays for Sunderland?

badabing67
01-02-2024, 10:13 PM
Eliezer Mayenda another signing with a great name :greengrin

Does his contract EndaMay

01-02-2024, 10:13 PM
18 year old striker on loan.

Seems an odd one on paper. Is he much better than Rudi etc?

Up-the-slope
01-02-2024, 10:14 PM
:cb Hibs are now totally bossing the player name anagram competition

Bridge hibs
Is there anyone left at Bournemouth and Sunderland?

Welcome to Hiberniloan fc 😁

cubehindthegoal

In the know 😂

https://i.ibb.co/D866Wzy/Screenshot-20240201-231352-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/hZnn9Lj)

Edinburgh Green
01-02-2024, 10:15 PM
How many is that we’ve brought in this window?

The workers in the Hibs shop must be dreading putting the new signings name on the back of a shirt

VoltaireHibs
18 year old striker on loan.

Seems an odd one on paper. Is he much better than Rudi etc?

Maybe one for the development team, before everyone starts shouting the odds.

https://i.ibb.co/D866Wzy/Screenshot-20240201-231352-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/hZnn9Lj)18 in the same.way Larry Kingston was 28

[emoji50][emoji1787]

snedzuk

Announce Yalod Ehits

justlikebrazil
01-02-2024, 10:16 PM
https://i.ibb.co/D866Wzy/Screenshot-20240201-231352-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/hZnn9Lj)

Won't win anything with kids 😁

ElginHibbie
Luke Amos
Owen Bevan
Myziane Maolida
Emiliano Marcondes
Nathan Moriah-Welsh
Nectarios Triantis
Eliezer Mayenda

If we ignore any actual football skill, that is amazing list of names so I am gonna count this window as a success and just presume this is the standard of signings from now on

No more boring names like Lewis Miller now, only signing people with good names regardless of ability

Sergio sledge
This seems an odd one on the surface, would we not be better giving our youth players a chance than signing one on loan from Sunderland? Can’t see there being an option to buy with him having signed a 5 year deal with them in the summer.

Cat Stanton
Maolida, Marcondes, Moriah-Welsh, Mayenda.

Mmmm.

01-02-2024, 10:17 PM
Reading the stats this is very much a backup guy. Not that I'm complaining, the window has been good.

cubehindthegoal
I’d guess it was waiting on McKirdy loan deal happening ..

hibby rae
Maybe one for the development team, before everyone starts shouting the odds.

Why would we get a loaner for the dev squad?

Hope they've all got nicknames.. I can just about handle the English speaking names!

That'll be us?

Up-the-slope
“At 18, he’s already played Championship football and is highly regarded at Sunderland with a big future ahead of him. He will complete our recruitment for January and add more depth to the squad.”

Thats us done then... i can goto bed

NC1875
01-02-2024, 10:18 PM
Hope we have no Dave Smiths in the youth teams. They’ve no chance

Mind what we were panicking about getting "1 or 2 in". [emoji1787]

Cat Stanton
That'll be us?

Yes, this Mayenda the window.

01-02-2024, 10:19 PM
Does his contract EndaMay

Yeah, that's when Eleavzere.

The workers in the Hibs shop must be dreading putting the new signings name on the back of a shirt

The move in club policy to charge a flat rate by name rather than individual letter is one they could regret.

Luke Amos
Owen Bevan
Myziane Maolida
Emiliano Marcondes
Nathan Moriah-Welsh
Nectarios Triantis
Eliezer Mayenda

If we ignore any actual football skill, that is amazing list of names so I am gonna count this window as a success and just presume this is the standard of signings from now on

No more boring names like Lewis Miller now, only signing people with good names regardless of ability

I think they've been brought in to make lots of cash in names on jerseys, good business from Foley.

Got to be able to give him a song based on the 90’s classic Ebenezer Good…

Maolida, Marcondes, Moriah-Welsh, Mayenda.

Mmmm.

I genuinely feel sorry for Cliff Pike.

ElginHibbie
Reading the stats this is very much a backup guy. Not that I'm complaining, the window has been good.

McKirdy would have been that anyway, and with his recent problem quite happy for him to try get football at somewhere he's comfortable

Not sure we'll see much of Mayenda

01-02-2024, 10:20 PM
Got to be able to give him a song based on the 90’s classic Ebenezer Good…

Said much the same on the previous page. Make it happen.

01-02-2024, 10:21 PM
That'll be us?

Still time for at least 1 more. 😀

McKirdy would have been that anyway, and with his recent problem quite happy for him to try get football at somewhere he's comfortable

Not sure we'll see much of Mayenda

Possibly but does it not block Landers? Which goes against NM’s mantra of encouraging youth.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

VoltaireHibs
Why would we get a loaner for the dev squad?

I don't know, but I doubt he'll be going straight into the first team. Maybe just here to give us the numbers. Bit of an odd signing all round tbh. Good luck to the lad though!

Logie
01-02-2024, 10:22 PM
Delighted to get bodies in only concern is could be Pat Fenlon situation bunch of loans that don’t give a toss about the club, 1 actually signed and not on loan (Amos) that correct? Appreciate Maolida, Marcondes likely a level above so loans make sense but the rest seem like a bit of a gamble to me, I really hope it pays off we deserve a bit of joy on the pitch until end of season.

01-02-2024, 10:22 PM
https://youtu.be/7b2T8K2D-ps?feature=shared

01-02-2024, 10:23 PM
Jeezo went off to get some scran and missed a signing

Wee Effen Bee
01-02-2024, 10:23 PM
Hibernian FC are delighted to confirm the loan signing of Spanish youngster Eliezer Mayenda, subject to international clearance 🇪🇸

Welcome to Hibs, Eliezer! 🙌

snedzuk
01-02-2024, 10:24 PM
Delighted to get bodies in only concern is could be Pat Fenlon situation bunch of loans that don’t give a toss about the club, 1 actually signed and not on loan (Amos) that correct? Appreciate Maolida, Marcondes likely a level above so loans make sense but the rest seem like a bit of a gamble to me, I really hope it pays off we deserve a bit of joy on the pitch until end of season.

Maolida is an option to buy I think as well.

hibby rae
01-02-2024, 10:25 PM
I'm finding it hard to get excited about signing a load of youngsters on loan today. Feels like McDermott has borrowed Ian Gordon's copy of FM

ElginHibbie
Think loans can still happen to Scottish lower leagues for a while yet so may still seem outgoings from us?

Maolida is an option to buy I think as well.

Not seen that confirmed anywhere? Would be surprised too the amount he’s reportedly on

1875Sean
I don't know, but I doubt he'll be going straight into the first team. Maybe just here to give us the numbers. Bit of an odd signing all round tbh. Good luck to the lad though!

He will be back up for the first team, but doubt he would be for our dev squad, he would just stay at Sunderland if that was the case

01-02-2024, 10:26 PM
I think they've been brought in to make lots of cash in names on jerseys, good business from Foley.

Revenue is revenue. Maximize all revenue streams!

RossScott1991
01-02-2024, 10:26 PM
This is probably me just being grumpy and cynical. But I hate January window for the reason alone of filling your team with loans. That’s 5 loans in this window + Fish.

I’m sure it’s probably just trauma from the last (fenlon days) but I’d fear if we got a big cup semi or final in SC and our options are flooded with too many that just don’t ’get it’ as they are on big money elsewhere.

Anyways. We shall see how our temporary team shapes up the rest of the season before we need to make longer term investments in the summer.

01-02-2024, 10:27 PM

Moriah-Welsh is a permanent signing too

supermcginn
01-02-2024, 10:27 PM

There's no danger he's here for the development team. He'll be a good option as an impact sub, plenty pace against tired legs.

01-02-2024, 10:29 PM
With the turnover in players this month there’s no hiding place for Monty now.

He’s had his window. It’s time to start winning

01-02-2024, 10:29 PM
This is probably me just being grumpy and cynical. But I hate January window for the reason alone of filling your team with loans. That’s 5 loans in this window + Fish.

I’m sure it’s probably just trauma from the last (fenlon days) but I’d fear if we got a big cup semi or final in SC and our options are flooded with too many that just don’t ’get it’ as they are on big money elsewhere.

Anyways. We shall see how our temporary team shapes up the rest of the season before we need to make longer term investments in the summer.

Also my concern, especially as none have the option to buy

pepe
01-02-2024, 10:30 PM
Mickirdy announced he’s back to Swindon on his insta. Good luck to him, pity we never seen the celebration in a hibs top

Silky
01-02-2024, 10:30 PM
I'm finding it hard to get excited about signing a load of youngsters on loan today. Feels like McDermott has borrowed Ian Gordon's copy of FM

See, I'm the opposite. I find it hard to get excited when the windows are full of "experienced" journeymen who inevitably get labeled as "wage theives" after a few below par performances. I'd much rather have the young, hungry players who are looking to get to gather as far as they can in the game.

01-02-2024, 10:31 PM
it's an old one but the song Volare would do for Mayenda

can't remember which clubs fans had similar years ago for another player :hmmm: but then again he will possibly be away again in four months

anyway, hope our .net songwriters can rustle up some inventiveness for songs, keeping it clean and aw that

Stairway 2 7
01-02-2024, 10:31 PM
Well be releasing a good number in the summer and signing a big number, loans were the obvious choice to get us through until then.

cubehindthegoal
01-02-2024, 10:32 PM
Also my concern, especially as none have the option to buy

The previous loan players back then didn’t have the calibre (I know, on paper at this point in time, but still) some of these guys do.

I’m not moaning in the slightest about too many loans this window.

It will sort itself out soon enough and as long as we get more nuggets than dross all the better….if no good they p.o.q.in six months…when we go looking for permanent signings.

Much better than moaning we hardly got anyone in at all.

snedzuk
Not seen that confirmed anywhere? Would be surprised too the amount he’s reportedly on

Think you're right - was sure I'd seen that but cant find it.

Well be releasing a good number in the summer and signing a big number, loans were the obvious choice to get us through until then.

My thoughts too

To be fair, I’d say Triantis is more likely to be down to Montgomery having worked with him.

Was really happy with the earlier work in the window. Today feels like it might be a bit more quantity over quality but time will tell.

Of all the signings I think Marcondes and Maolida will play every week. One of the midfield two will surely force their way in. Triantis will get the opportunity first to partner Fish I think. Not sure how much we’ll see of the other couple.

cubehindthegoal
01-02-2024, 10:33 PM

Totally correct strategy … summer will be the time to find some permanent players, and lose some too.

01-02-2024, 10:34 PM
**** it I’m still shouting come on doidge on Saturday

01-02-2024, 10:34 PM
See, I'm the opposite. I find it hard to get excited when the windows are full of "experienced" journeymen who inevitably get labeled as "wage theives" after a few below par performances. I'd much rather have the young, hungry players who are looking to get to gather as far as they can in the game.

Well said, agree 100%

AltheHibby
01-02-2024, 10:35 PM
I genuinely feel sorry for Cliff Pike.

🤣

Corstorphine Hibby
01-02-2024, 10:35 PM

We've had plenty of cup semi finals and finals with Hibs teams full of permanent signings or mostly permanent signings in the past and it's fair to say we've punched below our weight.

VoltaireHibs
01-02-2024, 10:36 PM
With the turnover in players this month there’s no hiding place for Monty now.

He’s had his window. It’s time to start winning

Whilst I agree with you in the main, it will take a few games to get all these players bedded into the team, whether we like it or not. I think Marcondes and Maolida will be fine, as seen, but the defenders will need to gel and Amos will need to get up to speed, so maybe hold off on the criticism for two or three weeks.

However, it does look like a cracking window overall, so hopefully it's onward and upward. :scarf:

Donegal Hibby
01-02-2024, 10:37 PM
I watched these highlights of Mayenda .
https://youtu.be/nUtyf9uZGbA?si=_pXK4ndgVbenxu83

RossScott1991
01-02-2024, 10:38 PM
We've had plenty of cup semi finals and finals with Hibs teams full of permanent signings or mostly permanent signings in the past and it's fair to say we've punched below our weight.

Personally Myzi and Emiliano aside. As they have pedigree and likely instant impact of quality. I’d have at a push did 1 more. But I’d have rather we went all out for Kerr as our CB signing.

Just to get a guy in the building that has a a love for Hibs and could help all these new guys understand the club abit more.

Personally I don’t see the benefit of having Fish + 2 other young defenders on loan. When we could just bring a more experienced guy in / blend likes or Blaney into team. But that’s just me

01-02-2024, 10:39 PM
I might just wander down to East Mains tomorrow in my Hibs clobber i'll just say Im a new signing no one will know any difference well till they see me play. Prolific transfer window.. Hopefully we'll see an improvement.

01-02-2024, 10:41 PM
I might just wander down to East Mains tomorrow in my Hibs clobber i'll just say Im a new signing no one will know any difference well till they see me play. Prolific transfer window.. Hopefully we'll see an improvement.

Your name doesn't start with M and have 13 constanants so you won't get in the door.

01-02-2024, 10:42 PM
I think what this window does say is that NM did not rate the squad he inherited.

1875Sean
01-02-2024, 10:42 PM

That is the most basic highlight package I’ve ever seen of a player, run cut, touch the ball cut, pass cut, run on the pitch cut

01-02-2024, 10:43 PM
I think what this window does say is that NM did not rate the squad he inherited.

ElginHibbie
01-02-2024, 10:44 PM

Worrying loan players aren't going to "get it" is just setting up blame for a failure that hasn't happened yet.

If a footballer is a professional they'll want to win a final regardless of if they get it or not, it has a lot more to do with their actual ability

The 2012 team may have failed in their final, but they "got it" in the league and kept us up. even if they weren't great.

Compare that to the 2016 team, they failed in one final and then the play offs but won the Scottish Cup, does that mean those loan players "got it" even with the other failures?

I think this group seem very talented, and my concern is much more if they can stay fit rather than if they "get it"

Hibs4185
01-02-2024, 10:44 PM

Or the squad didn’t rate NM 🤣

Donegal Hibby
01-02-2024, 10:47 PM
That is the most basic highlight package I’ve ever seen of a player, run cut, touch the ball cut, pass cut, run on the pitch cut

Yeah agree, couldn't find much on him other than that though . Looked like he was playing wide quite a bit I thought.

Personally Myzi and Emiliano aside. As they have pedigree and likely instant impact of quality. I’d have at a push did 1 more. But I’d have rather we went all out for Kerr as our CB signing.

Just to get a guy in the building that has a a love for Hibs and could help all these new guys understand the club abit more.

Personally I don’t see the benefit of having Fish + 2 other young defenders on loan. When we could just bring a more experienced guy in / blend likes or Blaney into team. But that’s just me

Hibs didn’t have any interest in Jason and he’s got the option of an extended Wigan contract and offers down south if he doesn’t agree terms.

oopsie

Benrahma to Lyon... off?

According to French website L'Equipe, (https://www.lequipe.fr/Football/Actualites/Le-transfert-de-said-benrahma-a-l-ol-annule/1446214)
(https://www.lequipe.fr/Football/Actualites/Le-transfert-de-said-benrahma-a-l-ol-annule/1446214) Said Benrahma's loan move from West Ham to Lyon has collapsed.They say everything had been agreed but West Ham forgot to enter information in Fifa's transfer software.

VoltaireHibs
01-02-2024, 10:49 PM

Yip, agree with that entirely. In fairness, the squad was looking a bit tired. Hopefully the new guys come in and make a difference or, at the very least, push our older players to a new level. Happy days either way.

01-02-2024, 10:50 PM

That's pretty much how I see it. Notoriously difficult to do business in January so short term measures to (hopefully) solve our issues until we can strengthen in the summer. Fingers crossed a couple of the loans will become permanent on the back of doing well.

01-02-2024, 10:51 PM
oopsie

Benrahma to Lyon... off?

According to French website L'Equipe, (https://www.lequipe.fr/Football/Actualites/Le-transfert-de-said-benrahma-a-l-ol-annule/1446214)
(https://www.lequipe.fr/Football/Actualites/Le-transfert-de-said-benrahma-a-l-ol-annule/1446214) Said Benrahma's loan move from West Ham to Lyon has collapsed.They say everything had been agreed but West Ham forgot to enter information in Fifa's transfer software.

Oh boy, the players going to be thrilled....

VoltaireHibs
01-02-2024, 10:55 PM

They're third bottom of Ligue 1, so between that and looking at David Moyes's face every day, it's a bit of a rock and a hard place.

01-02-2024, 10:58 PM

Even if he’s a rubbish coach or never done any coaching? I’ve no idea if he’s done any coaching at any level.

pepe
01-02-2024, 10:58 PM
These are not highlights. They may not even be "lights"

01-02-2024, 10:59 PM

You might get away with Lancsantionio Harpeggista but you've no chance with Lancs Hibs.

01-02-2024, 11:04 PM
One thing is obvious we have added some much needed athleticism

01-02-2024, 11:06 PM
You might get away with Lancsantionio Harpeggista but you've no chance with Lancs Hibs.

Sorted http://www.nickcrabb.com/stuff/Brazilname/BrazilName%20-%20Generate%20your%20own%20Brazil%20football%20shi rt!.htm

Hibs4185
01-02-2024, 11:06 PM
One thing is obvious we have added some much needed athleticism

That’s half the battle in Scotland.

Donegal Hibby
01-02-2024, 11:09 PM
These are not highlights. They may not even be "lights"

There doesn't seem to be much on him that I can find other than that and this goal too 👍
https://youtu.be/FMotmdmJQv4?si=0A-1QA6k4IOfGghG

cubehindthegoal
01-02-2024, 11:12 PM
There doesn't seem to be much on him that I can find other than that and this goal too 👍
https://youtu.be/FMotmdmJQv4?si=0A-1QA6k4IOfGghG

He’s perfected that right foot strike … crackin hat trick 👍

01-02-2024, 11:14 PM

Lyon certainly won't be, 3rd bottom

just 3 points better off than our new teamsters/Clubsters/Groupsters Lorient

Paul1642
01-02-2024, 11:34 PM
Some people are comparing this to the 2012 January window but it feels more like the Jan 2018 window to me.

Everyone we have signed seems to have some genuine pedigree to me. I just hope we do have some potential to sign some of the loan players if they do impress.

Round up:

In:

Eliezer Mayenda - ST - Loan
Nectarios Triantis - Defender - Loan
Owen Bevan - Defender - Loan
Myziane Maolida - Winger - Loan
Nathan Moriah-Welsh - Midfielder- Permanent
Luke Amos - Mid - Permanent
Emiliano Marcondes - AM - Loan
Kanayo Megwa - CB - Recall from Loan

Out

Christian Doidge - ST - Permanent
Jimmy Jeggo - DM - Permanent
Harry McKirdy - ST - Loan
Robbie Hamilton - Mid - Loan
Allan Delferrière - Mid - Loan
Max Boruc - GK - Loan
Riley Harbottle - CB - Loan
Emmanuel Johnson - Permanent
Reuben McAllister - Mid - Loan
Malik Zaid - winger - Loan

The only outbound players who regularly featured in the first team were Doidge and Jeggo. Both good pros but unfortunately not good enough for a where we want to be.

Replaced with some very exiting players and we are undoubtedly a lot stronger now than we were at the start of the month. It only takes half of those brought in to really click and we will fly up the league. A couple already really impressed in the last game.

01-02-2024, 11:36 PM
Shops gonna run out if the letter M

Paul1642
01-02-2024, 11:39 PM
Some people are comparing this to the 2012 January window but it feels more like the Jan 2018 window to me.

Everyone we have signed seems to have some genuine pedigree to me. I just hope we do have some potential to sign some of the loan players if they do impress.

Round up:

In:

Out

Max Boruc - GK - Loan

The only outbound players who regularly featured in the first team were Doidge and Jeggo. Both good pros but unfortunately not good enough for a where we want to be.

Replaced with some very exiting players and we are undoubtedly a lot stronger now than we were at the start of the month. It only takes half of those brought in to really click and we will fly up the league. A couple already really impressed in the last game.

Also forgot to factor in the return of those on international duty plus Cadden and to a lesser degree and a later date JDH. So much stronger all over the pitch.

01-02-2024, 11:46 PM
Really good window imo.

We needed bodies in, we got bodies in. We shifted fringe players who weren’t making enough impact. We haven’t tied ourselves down to crazy long deals whilst we figure out what the Foley deal means for us.

I think we’ve done well.

PhilipHill
01-02-2024, 11:46 PM
It does feel like 2012 all over again, too many loan signings.

We have a very high churn of players now.

01-02-2024, 11:49 PM

Round up:

In:

Out

Max Boruc - GK - Loan

I’m pretty chuffed with the business we’ve done, and on paper the squad is looking healthier. But the time to judge transfer windows is at the end of the season.

We’ll only know if we’re stronger if our results improve and we really kick on for the rest of the season.

Paul1642
01-02-2024, 11:51 PM

I just don’t think the quality of player we brought in on loan in 2012 feels remotely comparable to the quality of player we have brought in on loan this time around. Time will tell but I’m very exited to the second half of the season, and Saturday for that matter.

VoltaireHibs
01-02-2024, 11:53 PM

Marcondes and Maolida I think will take care of themselves. So no worries there for me. Bevan looks like a good sort and NM knows Triantis, obviously, so again, no concerns. Walsh and Amos on permanent deals, so really only the late signing of Ebeneezer Good to give any thought to and he's not someone we'll be relying on so think you can relax a wee bit.

Paul1642
01-02-2024, 11:54 PM
Also worth nothing that out competitors have not strengthened in any meaningful way.

01-02-2024, 11:57 PM
Also worth nothing that out competitors have not strengthened in any meaningful way.

Killie signing Van Veen looks like great business.

badabing67
01-02-2024, 11:59 PM
Killie signing Van Veen looks like great business.

Apparently the deal of the window according to some

02-02-2024, 12:00 AM
Apparently the deal of the window according to someSigning of 2024. No question. [emoji848][emoji1787]

02-02-2024, 12:02 AM
Apparently the deal of the window according to some

Probably not a bad shout tbf. Killie would have had no chance of landing him in the summer, so brilliant for them to get him now.

Never any guarantees in football obviously, but it looks like they’ve added goals to a pretty solid team. Plenty of experience in their forward line too.