View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

Hibee Daft
02-01-2024, 03:46 PM
He did his usual hiding act today. We will never progress till we get shot of him.

Joe Newell aint the problem, hes one of the only players we have playing in their prime. The rest are on the verge of retiring or have potential

NC1875
02-01-2024, 03:50 PM
Joe Newell aint the problem, hes one of the only players we have playing in their prime. The rest are on the verge of retiring or have potential

No, he’s just the best of a ****ing awful bunch of players.

02-01-2024, 04:13 PM

He really does need to start showing it every game and not when he fancies it!

Super player but at times just doesn’t do enough when he should be leading by example!

02-01-2024, 04:26 PM
https://x.com/joedonnohue/status/1742185224019079493?s=46&t=Q9xj1Of6Boq0Mkc1E67TtQ

Kris Moore defender at Leeds on loan CB RB LB he can play

Sigh.

Look he could be brilliant, but I just want left sided centre half between 23-28, played a decent amount of games already and is quality.

What we’re getting is a young boy who has never played first team football coming into a back like that is already inexperienced and missing a leader.

Is he left footed?

What’s happening with Harbottle? He was highly rated and signed under this DoF. Is this lad better than him or any other centre half we’ve got? Unless it’s blatantly obvious he is then it’s a no from me.

The only way this makes sense to me is if fish is getting recalled.

02-01-2024, 04:28 PM
https://x.com/joedonnohue/status/1742185224019079493?s=46&t=Q9xj1Of6Boq0Mkc1E67TtQ

If true, he should have been signed at 1 minute past midnight on the 1st January so he could have covered today. I get why some signings are difficult to get over the line, young players like him should be straight forward as Leeds aren’t waiting on other deals to allow this to happen.

Being too slow in finding cover for Miller has cost us today imo.

Hibs4185
02-01-2024, 04:32 PM
Sorry to bash Newell after a poor performance but he’s now on his 4th or 5th manager. Every single time, the midfield has been the problem.

Even he performed 8/10 every single week, I’d still sell him if possible.

Hes been part of the problem for a few seasons now, we need to get fresh blood in if we want to push on.

We can’t go into this year and next with Hanlon, Stevenson, Newell and Doidge.

02-01-2024, 04:34 PM
Sigh.

Look he could be brilliant, but I just want left sided centre half between 23-28, played a decent amount of games already and is quality.

What we’re getting is a young boy who has never played first team football coming into a back like that is already inexperienced and missing a leader.

Is he left footed?

What’s happening with Harbottle? He was highly rated and signed under this DoF. Is this lad better than him or any other centre half we’ve got? Unless it’s blatantly obvious he is then it’s a no from me.

The only way this makes sense to me is if fish is getting recalled.

Pretty much where I am with it. We need proper first team players. A centre half pairing of Fish and this boy doesn’t inspire confidence.

02-01-2024, 04:38 PM
Sorry to bash Newell after a poor performance but he’s now on his 4th or 5th manager. Every single time, the midfield has been the problem.

Hes been part of the problem for a few seasons now, we need to get fresh blood in if we want to push on.

We can’t go into this year and next with Hanlon, Stevenson, Newell and Doidge.

If he was an 8/10 every week you would get rid of him if possible?

JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 04:40 PM

Get that in the bin. Last thing we need is more inexperience, we need players in their prime that can come in and do the business instantly. Harbottle, Rocky and Hanlon all shouldn't be starting, we don't need another to warm the bench.

Hibs4185
02-01-2024, 04:44 PM
If he was an 8/10 every week you would get rid of him if possible?

Purely culture at the club. He will never be 8/10 every week anyway but he’s been part of the culture at the club which has had so many managers sacked.

He seems a lovely guy and I’m sure he loves the club etc but it’s a performance and results based game and the culture at the club has been one of accepting mediocrity for too long and he’s probably the player that is the biggest example of that.

The fact that he’s now hailed as undroppable and our best player is probably testament to how far we have fallen rather than Newell smashing it every week.

02-01-2024, 04:46 PM
Get that in the bin. Last thing we need is more inexperience, we need players in their prime that can come in and do the business instantly. Harbottle, Rocky and Hanlon all shouldn't be starting, we don't need another to warm the bench.

Beck from Liverpool was an inexperienced defender 6 months ago yet everyone was desperate for us to sign him this morning after a terrific first half of the season for Dundee.

I want us to sign good players, they come in various shapes and sizes.

02-01-2024, 04:46 PM
He did his usual hiding act today. We will never progress till we get shot of him.

Terrible post. Prob still our best player today. Even when not at his best and marginalised in that dreadful deep position we now play him and Levitt in.

Blaming Newell is crazy and getting rid would be madness.

VoltaireHibs
02-01-2024, 04:50 PM
Beck from Liverpool was an inexperienced defender 6 months ago yet everyone was desperate for us to sign him this morning after a terrific first half of the season for Dundee.

Exactly, we'd all take CJ Riley back, he was a youth player, basically.

02-01-2024, 04:51 PM

Fish was also inexperienced yet there was a a good number or supporters wanting him signed again in the summer, the same with CJ-Riley, inexperienced when he came to Hibs but again a number of supporters would love him back at Easter Road. I'd hope we can get a mixture of experience and talented youngster this window.

Hibees1973
02-01-2024, 05:02 PM
There are so many underperforming players at Hibs, it's difficult to know where to start.

The last three or four years of recruitment have been lamentable. Hibs must have signed around 40 players in these 4 years, but I can only name around 5 (Marshall, Newell, Boyle, Vente and maybe Youan) who have nailed down a first place. Everyone else who is in the squad could leave tomorrow and we would never know they were here or would not be missed. The depth of squad we have is a disgrace. For the money spent it is no better than the likes of Motherwell, St Mirren or Kilmarnock. These teams have a budget less than a third of ours.

Can we trust the people we have in charge of things to eventually get it right. The Gordon's & Kensell have been around a while yet and I certainly don't trust either of these guys.

Can only hope that McDermott & Montgomery magic up 4 or 5 players in this window to turn our season around.

If not the summer is going to be another major rebuild. Yet again.

02-01-2024, 05:09 PM

How exciting. A 20 year old on loan from the championship in england, just what we need

Torto7
02-01-2024, 05:13 PM
I would very much doubt that any team would be willing to pay a million pounds for Newell. He's the best of our midfield but I'm still not hugely convinced by him. Tidy on the ball, rarely passes forward, competes well and retains possession, but often disappears from games.

1million is yesterdays 500k. It's peanuts nowadays. Look at Melkerson.

Torto7
02-01-2024, 05:13 PM
How exciting. A 20 year old on loan from the championship in england, just what we need

I didn't hate signing CJ lasts season he was outstanding.

02-01-2024, 05:16 PM
We need tried and tested players who are ready to come in and make an immediate impact.

Scotty Leither
02-01-2024, 05:18 PM
…and linked with another 19-year old at Gillingham. Looks like we’ll need to suck up Kensell and the recruitment team’s obsession with untried youngsters for a while yet.

Torto7
02-01-2024, 05:21 PM
…and linked with another 19-year old at Gillingham. Looks like we’ll need to suck up Kensell and the recruitment team’s obsession with untried youngsters for a while yet.

Name please? McDermott made some strange signings on paper when he was at Reading like Kevin Doyle but he knew what he was doing.

NC1875
02-01-2024, 05:24 PM
Purely culture at the club. He will never be 8/10 every week anyway but he’s been part of the culture at the club which has had so many managers sacked.

He seems a lovely guy and I’m sure he loves the club etc but it’s a performance and results based game and the culture at the club has been one of accepting mediocrity for too long and he’s probably the player that is the biggest example of that.

The fact that he’s now hailed as undroppable and our best player is probably testament to how far we have fallen rather than Newell smashing it every week.

Spot on. That and guys like Hanlon and Stevenson still getting a wage, other players know they’re in for an easy ride and can just plod along for as long as they like doing the same.

Percy Vere
02-01-2024, 05:24 PM
I would very much doubt that any team would be willing to pay a million pounds for Newell. He's the best of our midfield but I'm still not hugely convinced by him. Tidy on the ball, rarely passes forward, competes well and retains possession, but often disappears from games.

Really!
If you said this two seasons ago I would agree. But he has significantly upped his consistency levels. Great passer and tackler. He's passionate too.
If he goes Hibs will struggle. Unless there's an unlikely recruit!

02-01-2024, 05:25 PM
We need so much

02-01-2024, 05:29 PM
Name please? McDermott made some strange signings on paper when he was at Reading like Kevin Doyle but he knew what he was doing.

Dom Jeffries

https://halftimenews.co.uk/hibernians/exclusive-gillingham-player-wanted-by-hibernian-in-january-transfer-swoopexclusive-gillingham-player-wanted-hibernian-january-transfer-swoop/

Scotty Leither
02-01-2024, 05:29 PM

Edit: he’s 21, not 19 and his name is Dom Jefferies.

Bridge hibs
02-01-2024, 05:31 PM

Who is playing most likely against more superior opposition and mostly at right back, yet some on here want Megwa recalled, funnily enough we currently have a 16 yo covering that position just now

badabing67
02-01-2024, 05:31 PM
how much did we pay for joe newell?

£350k

02-01-2024, 05:32 PM

In case anybody was putting 2 and 2 together and comparing him to Kenneh who played for Leeds as well, I think I’m right in saying that when Kenneh played for Leeds it was in the 2nd division of the English reserve league. This guy has been playing in the top reserve league, you’d imagine that’d be a difference in standard.

Scotty Leither
02-01-2024, 05:46 PM
I’d like McDermott/Kensell/Montgomery to justify Harbottle’s signing…he can’t nail down a start in a defensive set-up that leaks goals.

Another “what’s the point?” signing.

02-01-2024, 05:50 PM
I’d like McDermott/Kensell/Montgomery to justify Harbottle’s signing…he can’t nail down a start in a defensive set-up that leaks goals.

Does Monty need to justify the signing of a player that pre-dates when he joined?

Keepthefaith
02-01-2024, 05:54 PM

Hiding act? You're at it. Sure he made a couple of errors but he definitely put a shift in. Newell isn't the problem this season. I actually think he's being let down by Levitt who doesn't appear to have any kind of engine to play midfield and was shown up by Rudi when he came on

02-01-2024, 06:00 PM
Hiding act? You're at it. Sure he made a couple of errors but he definitely put a shift in. Newell isn't the problem this season. I actually think he's being let down by Levitt who doesn't appear to have any kind of engine to play midfield and was shown up by Rudi when he came on

None of our players are particularly mobile in midfield. Last one I can think of who moved about a bit was Jackson Irving and he was only there about 6 months. The midfield looked decent at that time though.

02-01-2024, 06:00 PM
I didn't hate signing CJ lasts season he was outstanding.

One good example (Fish is two to be fair) in about 40 though. I get January is a tough window. But surely you can understand fans not buzzing about the Leeds boy.

Scotty Leither
02-01-2024, 06:06 PM
Does Monty need to justify the signing of a player that pre-dates when he joined?

My bad…point stands re the other two, though.

02-01-2024, 06:10 PM
My bad…point stands re the other two, though.

It might be why we’ve not seen him. I’m sure NM would give him a chance if he had quality.

Not every signing will work out though. Let’s see what happens over the next few weeks :aok:

02-01-2024, 06:13 PM
One good example (Fish is two to be fair) in about 40 though. I get January is a tough window. But surely you can understand fans not buzzing about the Leeds boy.

But people were buzzing about the Levitt signing and that’s not panning out how we had hoped.

I think the point is you can’t judge a player based on where they’re coming from. Plenty experienced signings have been pish.

When signing a young player from a big club down south, we don’t know how it’ll go so why write them off as ‘not what we need’ before anybody as seen them kick a ball. Why not just be open minded, hope for the best and judge them once you’ve seen them?

(Not directed at just you)

02-01-2024, 06:15 PM
But people were buzzing about the Levitt signing and that’s not panning out how we had hoped.

I think the point is you can’t judge a player based on where they’re coming from. Plenty experienced signings have been pish.

When signing a young player from a big club down south, we don’t know how it’ll go so why write them off as ‘not what we need’ before anybody as seen them kick a ball. Why not just be open minded, hope for the best and judge them once you’ve seen them?

(Not directed at just you)

Aye, that’s a really good point to be fair.

I was one of the folk buzzing when we signed Levitt.

Kentao1985
02-01-2024, 06:20 PM

We can’t go into this year and next with Hanlon, Stevenson, Newell and Doidge.Joe Newell that played against Luzern with drive, fight and passion Is the midfielder we need. The one that turns up in the SPFL that offers very little offensively and just keeps possession with safe passes I would be desperate to cash in on.

Sent from my moto g22 using Tapatalk

Auckland Hibs
02-01-2024, 06:28 PM

Football agents must love us as the absolute horse **** that we have signed over the past 3 years is comical.

TrinityHFC
02-01-2024, 06:32 PM
Joe Newell that played against Luzern with drive, fight and passion Is the midfielder we need. The one that turns up in the SPFL that offers very little offensively and just keeps possession with safe passes I would be desperate to cash in on.

Sent from my moto g22 using Tapatalk

That’s due to how he and the team are being asked to play. It isn’t just the formation, it is the intent and tempo. We play slowly with little drive and if we do have a decent spell and score we want to play it safe again instead of driving on to score more goals.

That’s most of our better players recently that people would happily move on. I’d prefer to keep those players and get the best out of them.

02-01-2024, 06:49 PM
There should be 5 quick wins in the summer in not renewing any of the out of contract players.

Stevenson
Hanlon
ALF
Doidge
Jeggo

Maybe another year for Marshall but if he’s a top earner another I’d be comfortable not renewing.

02-01-2024, 07:00 PM
Just done a bit of research on Moore.

Extension signed in the summer with leeds with takes him until 2025. Wonder if any loan would include an option to buy?

From the clips I’ve seen he looks aggressive, fast, strong and comfortable stepping out from the back and definitely a right footed centre back. Elements of him looked pretty similar to Porteous.

Although those are obviously specially selected clips over a couple of years.

JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 07:04 PM

Extension signed in the summer with leeds with takes him until 2025. Wonder if any loan would include an option to buy?

From the clips I’ve seen he looks aggressive, fast, strong and comfortable stepping out from the back and definitely a right footed centre back. Elements of him looked pretty similar to Porteous.

We have enough right footed centre backs it's left footers we need. Unless we are getting shot of Rocky, Hanlon or Harbottle there's no need for this guy.

K-Zazu
02-01-2024, 07:07 PM
There should be 5 quick wins in the summer in not renewing any of the out of contract players.

Stevenson
Hanlon
ALF
Doidge
Jeggo

Maybe another year for Marshall but if he’s a top earner another I’d be comfortable not renewing.

Bit off topic but is ALF back in training does anybody know?

andrew70
02-01-2024, 07:08 PM

Said to someone on twitter that he’s back doing light running, so hopefully by beginning of next month.

Dmas
02-01-2024, 07:08 PM

I asked same on match thread and someone mentioned he was back training

PHeffernan
02-01-2024, 07:13 PM

Stevenson
Hanlon
ALF
Doidge
Jeggo

Young midfielder Robbie Hamilton is out of contract as well. He turns 20 in 5 months time. Was on loan at Stiring Albion for the second half of last season where he played a total of 335 minutes in Division 2. Heard nothing this season so will probably be canned at the end of May and start playing part time down the leagues. That is tough, the guys you listed have had their time and their departures will reduce the average age of the squad considerably.

Me, I reckon Hanlon might get another year as a back up as replacing Fish will be a difficult and expensive business.
Bushiri, Harbottle and McClelland are our only contracted centre halves for next season.

02-01-2024, 07:28 PM

Probably a bit like Rocky’s highlight reel.

02-01-2024, 07:52 PM
Not fussed if Newell leaves. I think he would be a good rotation/squad option but we need better than him IMO.

02-01-2024, 07:57 PM
Not fussed if Newell leaves. I think he would be a good rotation/squad option but we need better than him IMO.

He is easily our best player imo

02-01-2024, 07:58 PM

Says it all in that case.

02-01-2024, 07:59 PM

Doesn't say anything, newell is a good player

TrinityHFC
02-01-2024, 08:01 PM

What it says is that it would be an odd place to start.

RossScott1991
02-01-2024, 09:08 PM
I’d like to see us sign Egan-Riley again. He had abit of bite about him.

SON OF PADDY
02-01-2024, 09:38 PM

Egan-Riley would be a great signing, he made a good impression whilst on loan here!

PHeffernan
02-01-2024, 09:54 PM

I can see no stats for him this season so could still be recovering from the injury he sustained at Hibs

02-01-2024, 09:55 PM
No Delferrier in the squad today, he’s been in and around the team most weeks recently I think? Wonder if that means he will be one of the players getting moved out on loan.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
02-01-2024, 09:57 PM
Kris Moore Leeds? https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/kris-moore-hibs-transfer-link-28378670?utm_source=football_scotland_newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Edinburgh+Live+-+Hibs+Newsletter_newsletter&utm_content=&utm_term=&ruid=c0d7cfb3-ed5d-4386-b7ab-6eef16413313

02-01-2024, 10:00 PM
No Delferrier in the squad today, he’s been in and around the team most weeks recently I think? Wonder if that means he will be one of the players getting moved out on loan.

You’d have to think so, he’s not threatening the first team whatsoever. I’m still no sure why we gave him a new contract, seemed to come from nowhere.

Scotty Leither
02-01-2024, 10:12 PM
So we’re interested in a young player from Leeds (Moore) on loan, who if he comes in will presumably be higher up the pecking order than another young player, Harbottle, who is a permanent signing but can’t break into the first team, and was considered a worse option off the bench today than Stevenson?

Is there any coherent structure to this recruitment strategy at all, at Easter Road??!

02-01-2024, 10:15 PM
So we’re interested in a young player from Leeds (Moore) on loan, who if he comes in will presumably be higher up the pecking order than another young player, Harbottle, who is a permanent signing but can’t break into the first team, and was considered a worse option off the bench today than Stevenson?

Is there any coherent structure to this recruitment strategy at all, at Easter Road??!

Maybe not all young players are the same (Moore and Harbottle).

Just because one young signing hasn’t worked out, shouldn’t rule out all young players.

Levitt is an experienced, high profile signing who knew this league which should have been a guaranteed success but been quite disappointing, does that mean we shouldn’t sign established players from this league either?

Scotty Leither
02-01-2024, 10:22 PM
Maybe not all young players are the same (Moore and Harbottle).

Just because one young signing hasn’t worked out, shouldn’t rule out all young players.

Levitt is an experienced, high profile signing who knew this league which should have been a guaranteed success but been quite disappointing, does that mean we shouldn’t sign established players from this league either?

There’s been about five “young signings” that haven’t worked out..,Tait, Mackay, Harbottle, Kenneh, Delfrerriere.

They’re all taking up a wage that could have went towards an experienced player like Shankland, but no, better to go down the route of untried youngsters, some of whom haven’t even played first-team football.

Shambolic doesn’t cover it, but what do we know?

Dmas
02-01-2024, 10:25 PM

one manager seeing potential in a player doesn't mean a new manager will see the same, cant expect coherent strategies whilst we constantly change manager, there is the chance Harbottle's had enough and wants to go back down the road as well

02-01-2024, 10:36 PM
No Delferrier in the squad today, he’s been in and around the team most weeks recently I think? Wonder if that means he will be one of the players getting moved out on loan.I've been surprised he's been anywhere near the first team squad at all tbh. Don't mean to sound overly harsh but the laddie is nowhere near first team quality and shouldn't have been given an extended contract.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Scotty Leither
02-01-2024, 10:37 PM
one manager seeing potential in a player doesn't mean a new manager will see the same, cant expect coherent strategies whilst we constantly change manager, there is the chance Harbottle's had enough and wants to go back down the road as well

I just want to see us sign a player or two with good pedigree who goes straight into the first team. For a club of our standing that should not be too much to ask.

Pissed off with this constant experimental whiff around recruitment of players that pervades the club and nobody seems to be held to account for it.

02-01-2024, 10:45 PM

Yes, it says hes our best player and the absolutely last of the 11 thats a concern.

02-01-2024, 10:54 PM
Yes, it says hes our best player and the absolutely last of the 11 thats a concern.

I don’t necessarily disagree with that, there are other areas that obviously need improvement but if the club has ambitions to be consistently 3rd best team in the country we need someone more consistent in that position.

I wouldn’t be replacing him until other positions are strengthened, but if he were to leave for a decent sum of money then I won’t lose any sleep.

jamie_1875
02-01-2024, 11:03 PM
I just want to see us sign a player or two with good pedigree who goes straight into the first team. For a club of our standing that should not be too much to ask.

Pissed off with this constant experimental whiff around recruitment of players that pervades the club and nobody seems to be held to account for it.

Agree with this, we need players who are better than what we have and go straight into the first team as starters. No more buying players that might turn out to be ok in a few years. The recruiting side has been awful for a while now, seems to be no coherent strategy.

02-01-2024, 11:03 PM
I don’t necessarily disagree with that, there are other areas that obviously need improvement but if the club has ambitions to be consistently 3rd best team in the country we need someone more consistent in that position.

I wouldn’t be replacing him until other positions are strengthened, but if he were to leave for a decent sum of money then I won’t lose any sleep.

I suppose it comes down to how the new investment pans out. Every player has his price. My view is that Newell has been carrying the midfield for a long time now and is worth more to the squad than any fee we could realistically expect. If we start attracting the kind of quality that makes Newell a squad player i will be over the proverbial moon :greengrin but im not holding my breath.

02-01-2024, 11:09 PM
Agree with this, we need players who are better than what we have and go straight into the first team as starters. No more buying players that might turn out to be ok in a few years. The recruiting side has been awful for a while now, seems to be no coherent strategy.

I don’t disagree with this at all but it’s pretty hard to think of players who fall into this category. They seem to either be too good / expensive, not good enough or young and unproven.

02-01-2024, 11:38 PM
I don’t disagree with this at all but it’s pretty hard to think of players who fall into this category. They seem to either be too good / expensive, not good enough or young and unproven.

That’s what a large scouting network is for though

We’re just your average Joe football fan. It’s literally their job to do this very thing

03-01-2024, 06:22 AM
That’s what a large scouting network is for though

We’re just your average Joe football fan. It’s literally their job to do this very thing

Yeah, but I guess my point is - are the immediate pre-Hibs credentials of Levitt, Obita and Vente not such that they should go straight into the team? Fish coming back and Youan joining permanently too? They’ve all come in and not really improved us.

At points there have been obvious signing targets - Scott Allan at various points, Nisbet and Shankland when they were banging them in in the Championship, Allan Forrest seemed an an obvious target for years.

I just find it easy to say we need players to come in and improve our team and harder to suggest who, especially all round midfielders who are capable of playing in a 442.

I’m as critical as anyone of our recent recruitment, doesn’t mean I think it’s an easy job.

It’s probably a 4 or 5 loans from big English clubs job this January.

03-01-2024, 06:58 AM

I keep hearing this that Newell is our best player. He probably is, but we need much better than Joe Newell. Yesterday was a prime example, far too many ineffective sideways / backwards passes and too slow to get the ball out wide / forward.

03-01-2024, 07:02 AM
I keep hearing this that Newell is our best player. He probably is, but we need much better than Joe Newell. Yesterday was a prime example, far too many ineffective sideways / backwards passes and too slow to get the ball out wide / forward.

I like Newell and agree that he’s our best player, I do find him frustrating when we get in the final third though. Needs to take far more responsibility to create and score goals imo. He’s got the ability to do it, as we saw in the game against Luzern, he just takes the safe/easy option too often imo. I would never criticise Jeggo for the same thing as he’s not got that in his locker, Newell does though which is why I find him frustrating at times.

Like I said though, I like Newell, I certainly don’t want us to sell him, if we did though, I’m not totally convinced he’s as irreplaceable as some are suggesting.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 07:07 AM
Yeah, but I guess my point is - are the immediate pre-Hibs credentials of Levitt, Obita and Vente not such that they should go straight into the team? Fish coming back and Youan joining permanently too? They’ve all come in and not really improved us.

At points there have been obvious signing targets - Scott Allan at various points, Nisbet and Shankland when they were banging them in in the Championship, Allan Forrest seemed an an obvious target for years.

I just find it easy to say we need players to come in and improve our team and harder to suggest who, especially all round midfielders who are capable of playing in a 442.

I’m as critical as anyone of our recent recruitment, doesn’t mean I think it’s an easy job.

It’s probably a 4 or 5 loans from big English clubs job this January.

Greg Docherty stands out as an obvious one for me. Hasn’t even started a game this season at Hull and he’d improve us massively, knows our league and the club. He’s in the Scott Allan, obvious type of signing camp imo.

03-01-2024, 07:27 AM
Greg Docherty stands out as an obvious one for me. Hasn’t even started a game this season at Hull and he’d improve us massively, knows our league and the club. He’s in the Scott Allan, obvious type of signing camp imo.

Yeah, I’d probably agree with that.

Based on what we saw from him before, he’s got a lot of what we currently lack. He actually addressed what we lacked in a big way the last time except for one game (which now appears to be defining him for some).

Leitherhibs
03-01-2024, 07:28 AM
Anyone heard any gossip on the below?

- Boruc away on loan to a Dutch Eerste Divisie side
- Wollacott been told he can go
- Megwa being recalled

Further to this. I was informed another couple of fringe players are expected to head out on loan to ‘the continent’ before Dubai training camp.

03-01-2024, 07:30 AM
I like Newell and agree that he’s our best player, I do find him frustrating when we get in the final third though. Needs to take far more responsibility to create and score goals imo. He’s got the ability to do it, as we saw in the game against Luzern, he just takes the safe/easy option too often imo. I would never criticise Jeggo for the same thing as he’s not got that in his locker, Newell does though which is why I find him frustrating at times.

Like I said though, I like Newell, I certainly don’t want us to sell him, if we did though, I’m not totally convinced he’s as irreplaceable as some are suggesting.

Fair summation of Newell for me, only thing I’d disagree with is him being our best player. That’s still Boyle imo.

Leitherhibs
03-01-2024, 07:33 AM
Fair summation of Newell for me, only thing I’d disagree with is him being our best player. That’s still Boyle imo.

Boyle hasn’t been our best player since early last season, prior to the injury IMO.

03-01-2024, 07:41 AM
Further to this. I was informed another couple of fringe players are expected to head out on loan to ‘the continent’ before Dubai training camp.

Dunno about the players mentioned but Monty said in his after match interview that there were a couple of players going out on loan.

03-01-2024, 08:17 AM
Other than Harbottle and delf.

Do we have any fringe players? I mean our bench had 5 kids on it!

03-01-2024, 08:29 AM

Boruc and Wollacott will be away imo. Bring in one sub keeper to challenge Marshall and we’re saving a wage, keep Johnstone as 3rd choice.

03-01-2024, 08:38 AM
Boruc and Wollacott will be away imo. Bring in one sub keeper to challenge Marshall and we’re saving a wage, keep Johnstone as 3rd choice.

We’re not doing ourselves any favours by keeping Johnson at Hibs not playing.

He should be out on loan too. How’s he ever going to develop?

Chipper1875
03-01-2024, 08:41 AM

At the game chat was Delf and a keeper away on loan

03-01-2024, 08:41 AM

He was on loan but had to come back due to injuries to either Marshall or Wollacot, we needed 3 keepers registered for Europe I think.

03-01-2024, 08:42 AM

He’s still very young for a goalie, another 6 months acting as third choice learning from senior pros won’t do him any harm. I agree he’ll need to get playing first team football at some point but if we’re trying to make room in the squad then it’s not the end of the world for him to be in and around the team for 6 months.

03-01-2024, 08:43 AM
At the game chat was Delf and a keeper away on loan

Playing just 2 CM we have Newell, Levitt, Jeggo and Campbell, Deflferriere isn't getting any game time and we're expecting maybe another CM to come in.

03-01-2024, 08:46 AM
He’s still very young for a goalie, another 6 months acting as third choice learning from senior pros won’t do him any harm. I agree he’ll need to get playing first team football at some point but if we’re trying to make room in the squad then it’s not the end of the world for him to be in and around the team for 6 months.

Have him as back up and go with two keepers for the second half of the season. A small gamble only having two but seems a nonsense to be sending two keepers out on loan to then bring in a short term squad filler to keep Johnson as number 3.

JammyDoidger
03-01-2024, 08:55 AM
Danny Wilson just been released from Colorado rapids.
Just turned 32 year old Left sided centre half, former Rangers and Liverpool defender, from Livingston, would suit our style of play. Surely a no brainer on a free if your leaving the ex jambo part out..

Bobo
03-01-2024, 08:59 AM
There’s been about five “young signings” that haven’t worked out..,Tait, Mackay, Harbottle, Kenneh, Delfrerriere.

Add the likes of Mueller, Sylvester and Melkersen and the amount of time, money and resources wasted is quite incredible.

Granted we got money back on Melkersen but the disruption and instability suffered by an already threadbare squad has taken its affect on performances over the past couple of seasons.

We need to have a team/squad of players that are of a decent minimum level that can be built upon and enhanced without speculation and chopping and changing every six months, otherwise we'll remain the perpetual underachievers that we've been for the majority of the past 45 years.

03-01-2024, 09:00 AM

I don’t agree with that assessment at all. The Boyle we had pre-transfer would have been, the Boyle we got back from Saudi has been a shadow of his former self.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 09:01 AM
Just turned 32 year old Left sided centre half, former Rangers and Liverpool defender, from Livingston, would suit our style of play. Surely a no brainer on a free if your leaving the ex jambo part out..

Jesus, didn’t realise he was 32 now.

Not for me. If he’s not good enough for MLS then I don’t think he’ll be a step up on what we have.

JammyDoidger
03-01-2024, 09:03 AM
Jesus, didn’t realise he was 32 now.

Not for me. If he’s not good enough for MLS then I don’t think he’ll be a step up on what we have.

It's the type of steady signing we need that other teams make, left sided with experience is exactly what we should be looking at. He played pretty much every week last season in the MLS maybe feels it's time to move back home.

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 09:04 AM
I don’t agree with that assessment at all. The Boyle we had pre-transfer would have been, the Boyle we got back from Saudi has been a shadow of his former self.

I don’t think Boyle is the player he was and I don’t think he’s our best player anymore, but he’s still a hugely effective player in this league imo.

He had a goal involvement every 2 games last season and he’s got 10 goal involvements in 26 this season despite being played out of position. I’d imagine those figures would stack up quite favourably against the vast majority of attacking players.

03-01-2024, 09:05 AM
Who is the Chris xyz? The reporter asks Monty about us being linked with in his post match presser?

NGoloGrantie
03-01-2024, 09:07 AM
Who is the Chris xyz? The reporter asks Monty about us being linked with in his post match presser?

Kris Moore, 20yr old right back/centre back at Leeds

03-01-2024, 09:07 AM
Boyle hasn’t been our best player since early last season, prior to the injury IMO.

Prior to leaving for Saudi...

03-01-2024, 09:16 AM

If he's not good enough for the team that finished second bottom overall out of 29 teams in the MLS that doesn't fill me with confidence that he can come in and start for Hibs.

SickBoy32
03-01-2024, 09:18 AM

We're surely no signing Kenneh mk II are we?! :confused:

03-01-2024, 09:19 AM
We're surely no signing Kenneh mk II are we?! :confused:

Take a day off.

SickBoy32
03-01-2024, 09:23 AM
Take a day off.

Aye you're right, we should be going back to the Leeds youth team - good strategy especially when it worked so well last time :rolleyes:

Poor recruitment has already set us back years, time to get it sorted

Bridge hibs
03-01-2024, 09:23 AM
We're surely no signing Kenneh mk II are we?! :confused:Of course we are not going to sign a highly rated Leeds Utd U21 Captain who plays right back, we are obviously going to stick with a 16 yo right back with cover if needed from 36 yo left back Lewis Stevenson

03-01-2024, 09:25 AM

I think shadow of his former self is very harsh. He’s been inconsistent, he always was tbh, but he’s not a striker and playing him there isn’t doing him any favours.

In terms of someone who can come up with something special, I struggle to see past him in that respect. Maybe it’s a reflection of our current squad but the fact the hot and cold Joe Newell is being touted as our best player says a lot imo.

SickBoy32
03-01-2024, 09:26 AM
Of course we are not going to sign a highly rated Leeds Utd U21 Captain who plays right back, we are obviously going to stick with a 16 yo right back with cover if needed from 36 yo left back Lewis Stevenson

Daniel Boateng Arsenal 21s captain - enough said really

Will be absolute madness if we sign anyone else from the Leeds youth team following the success of Kenneh!

Bridge hibs
03-01-2024, 09:34 AM
Daniel Boateng Arsenal 21s captain - enough said really

Will be absolute madness if we sign anyone else from the Leeds youth team following the success of Kenneh!So every youth player is not worth signing then ? Options may be thin on the ground this window but if this lad is signed as a short term then so be it, we need cover as cant persist with a 16 yo

03-01-2024, 09:37 AM
I think out of all of them, Kenneh is the signing I was most disappointed with given the hype.

I was expecting someone with loads of energy, aggressive and decent on the ball. I think due to him being in and around the first team under Bielsa.

The first pre season game I was surprised how uncomfortable he looked on the ball but put it down to not being sharp etc. unfortunately his ability on the ball never improved

Paulie Walnuts
03-01-2024, 09:39 AM
I think out of all of them, Kenneh is the signing I was most disappointed with.

I was expecting someone with loads of energy, aggressive and decent on the ball. I think due to him being in and around the first team under Bielsa.

The first pre season game I was surprised how uncomfortable he looked on the ball but put it down to not being sharp etc. unfortunately his ability on the ball never improved

People on here claimed Kenneh was going to be a mega star. I find it hard to believe anyone on here had that much of an in depth knowledge of a Leeds youth player to claim that but it certainly didn’t help matters when we all seen him play expecting the next Patrick Vieira (his words, not mine) and then watched a desperately limited player.

SickBoy32
03-01-2024, 09:40 AM
So every youth player is not worth signing then ? Options may be thin on the ground this window but if this lad is signed as a short term then so be it, we need cover as cant persist with a 16 yo

I think we need to be signing players with first team experience tbh, can't think of any player we've signed from a youth team turning out well?

On that basis - Megwa is who I'd be replacing Whittaker with

03-01-2024, 09:41 AM
People on here claimed Kenneh was going to be a mega star. I find it hard to believe anyone on here had that much of an in depth knowledge of a Leeds youth player to claim that but it certainly didn’t help matters when we all seen him play expecting the next Patrick Vieira (his words, not mine) and then watched a desperately limited player.

He's doing well at Shrewsbury by all accounts. I wouldn't be averse to him coming back in this month if we have a recall option.

03-01-2024, 09:45 AM
I suppose it comes down to how the new investment pans out. Every player has his price. My view is that Newell has been carrying the midfield for a long time now and is worth more to the squad than any fee we could realistically expect. If we start attracting the kind of quality that makes Newell a squad player i will be over the proverbial moon :greengrin but im not holding my breath.

Absolutely agree with this. Of all the problems this team has Joe Newell is the least of them, the best player we have by a mile, both in ability and attitude.

Someone further back criticised him as simply a neat and tidy player who picks up the ball and then passes it on. Some of the best teams in history have revolved around a player who does just that. If you could put some decent players around Joe Newell it would transform this team, letting him go would be beyond stupid at this point.

03-01-2024, 10:11 AM
He's doing well at Shrewsbury by all accounts. I wouldn't be averse to him coming back in this month if we have a recall option.If there is one style of football you could choose which would never suit Kenneh in a million years, it would be the possession based style of play we have under Montgomery!

I don't see Kenneh kicking a ball for Hibs again now tbh.

03-01-2024, 10:17 AM
If there is one style of football you could choose which would never suit Kenneh in a million years, it would be the possession based style of play we have under Montgomery!

I don't see Kenneh kicking a ball for Hibs again now tbh.

We don't have much pressure on our central midfielders, they pretty much have free reign inside our own half. That would suit Kenneh IMO.

03-01-2024, 10:45 AM
Rhys Williams heads back to Liverpool from Aberdeen. Though he was going to be a great loan signing for Aberdeen. Not sure if he was injured, guff or just not fancied for some reason.

03-01-2024, 10:54 AM
Rhys Williams heads back to Liverpool from Aberdeen. Though he was going to be a great loan signing for Aberdeen. Not sure if he was injured, guff or just not fancied for some reason.

I'd imagine that Aberdeen would have recruited players because they had the burden of eight European games to contend. Now they are out, maybe the reason Williams has gone back to Liverpool.

Chorley Hibee
03-01-2024, 11:02 AM
Rhys Williams recalled by Liverpool as he wasn't getting a game at Aberdeen.

One we should be looking at, although Liverpool might be reluctant after lack of playing time up here previously.

03-01-2024, 11:05 AM
The YEP understands Hibs are keen to add at least one defender this month, while a handful of potential transfer targets were spotted at the Scottish club's training ground last week.

What's The YEP?

03-01-2024, 11:06 AM

He didn't hide at all. :bitchy:

He just wasn't as effective as he usually is,

03-01-2024, 11:10 AM
Rhys Williams recalled by Liverpool as he wasn't getting a game at Aberdeen.

One we should be looking at, although Liverpool might be reluctant after lack of playing time up here previously.

Why should we be looking at a player that couldn’t get in the Aberdeen side?

Stokesy's on fire
03-01-2024, 11:14 AM

Exactly

jagsfan
03-01-2024, 11:17 AM
What's The YEP?

Yorkshire Evening Post?

03-01-2024, 11:20 AM

Someone like Gary Smith was good enough, and he was deemed not good enough to get in the Aberdeen team.

03-01-2024, 11:27 AM

Weird that he never even got a game for them?

I wouldn’t be against Williams signing, I’d be more concerned if he played and was terrible so got dropped.

I’ve honestly no idea if the guy is good enough or not but I’m not sure his spell at Aberdeen is a fair reflection of his abilities.

03-01-2024, 11:27 AM
Someone like Gary Smith was good enough, and he was deemed not good enough to get in the Aberdeen team.

Going quite a bit back there.

For a recent example, players like Mikey Devlin deemed not good enough/injury prone at Aberdeen and let go then a complete waste of a signing for ourselves

03-01-2024, 11:28 AM
Weird that he never even got a game for them?

I wouldn’t be against Williams signing, I’d be more concerned if he played and was terrible so got dropped.

I’ve honestly no idea if the guy is good enough or not but I’m not sure his spell at Aberdeen is a fair reflection of his abilities.

If he was good enough he’d surely have been featuring more for Aberdeen no? I’d imagine Robson got a good look at him and didn’t fancy him. Surely the fact he wasn’t getting a game for what’s been a pretty poor Aberdeen team so far is a reflection of his ability?

If he was **** hot & good enough I doubt they’d be letting him go back to Liverpool.

Don’t think we should be signing any players unable to get their games at other clubs who’re not far away from ourselves

03-01-2024, 11:29 AM
https://news.stv.tv/sport/nick-montgomery-only-looking-for-first-teamers-in-transfer-window

I hope he understands the precariousness of his position. If the board don’t back him properly he would be better walking first than have an inevitable sacking on his CV.

03-01-2024, 11:30 AM
Yorkshire Evening Post?

I should have known that given that I read it! :hilarious

03-01-2024, 11:36 AM
Going quite a bit back there.

For a recent example, players like Mikey Devlin deemed not good enough/injury prone at Aberdeen and let go then a complete waste of a signing for ourselves

Not sure of how many players we've signed from Aberdeen, just pointing out one who did really well.

I know he's not an Aberdeen player.

03-01-2024, 11:41 AM

Ta!

03-01-2024, 11:41 AM
Not sure of how many players we've signed from Aberdeen, just pointing out one who did really well.

I know he's not an Aberdeen player.

Suppose it could go either way.

Just can’t make sense of us not looking at players like Stuart Findlay when he was available and us not taking a chance on him, someone who’s already proven he could do it in our league. Signs for killie again and more or less picks up where he left off.

03-01-2024, 11:44 AM
Brodie Spencer who was on loan at Motherwell has been recalled by Huddersfield.

19 year old right back who is out of contract next summer.

Could it be another Harry Clarke type signing?

Edit - just seen Huddersfield comments about it, they seem to genuinely want him back for second half of season

03-01-2024, 11:45 AM

Just can’t make sense of us not looking at players like Stuart Findlay when he was available and us not taking a chance on him, someone who’s already proven he could do it in our league. Signs for killie again and more or less picks up where he left off.

He couldn’t get a game for Oxford when he left them.

Chorley Hibee
03-01-2024, 11:58 AM

Because I believe that he's good enough to play for Aberdeen, and good enough to play for us too.

Managers and coaches make mistakes, football history is littered with them, and I think Robson has made a mistake on this one.

We need look no further than Easter Road for a manager that didn't think Jair was good enough to play for us.

03-01-2024, 12:25 PM
https://news.stv.tv/sport/nick-montgomery-only-looking-for-first-teamers-in-transfer-window

I hope he understands the precariousness of his position. If the board don’t back him properly he would be better walking first than have an inevitable sacking on his CV.

What makes you think he won't be backed?

03-01-2024, 12:38 PM

They’re all taking up a wage that could have went towards an experienced player like Shankland, but no, better to go down the route of untried youngsters, some of whom haven’t even played first-team football.

Shambolic doesn’t cover it, but what do we know?

That's because our club's board only look to potential resale values.

We're not signing players on their ability these days, we sign them because we think we can sell them and make money further down the line.

03-01-2024, 12:39 PM

I’m concerned that the only names we are hearing are teenagers who haven’t played first team football before. I’m also concerned we go yet another window without fixing that midfield and we have to get a new manager in the next couple of months.
I’m just concerned.

03-01-2024, 12:40 PM

The fact he only wants to sign first team ready players is a positive start.

Hopefully he has only been playing half our squad out of necessity and not because the thinks they're any good.

03-01-2024, 12:43 PM
We're not signing players on their ability these days, we sign them because we think we can sell them and make money further down the line.

As Renton would say "It's a s***e state of affairs to be in" 😆

03-01-2024, 12:44 PM
That's because our club's board only look to potential resale values.

Only? Come on, whilst it’s clearly a focus of the recruitment strategy, it’s hyperbole to say that we ‘only’ look at resale value.

Unless Marshall, obita and lefondre are expected to pull in some huge fees :confused:

03-01-2024, 12:44 PM

He mentioned "if the budget allows" when talking about bringing in 1 or 2 players. If he can't even bring 2 decent players in, then he's hardly being backed.

Our recruitment has been crap the last few years, I can totally see why folk are concerned that we do the same again. Signing players for the development squad isn't backing him in the slightest.

03-01-2024, 12:49 PM
Only? Come on, whilst it’s clearly a focus of the recruitment strategy, it’s hyperbole to say that we ‘only’ look at resale value.

Unless Marshall, obita and lefondre are expected to pull in some huge fees :confused:

Look at the bench from yesterday and read NMs quote about having 4 development players on the pitch. You don't think that's our priority???

03-01-2024, 12:55 PM
I'd like to see us spending some of the Melkersen money on the defence. According to Transfermarkt the last time we paid a fee for a defender was €90k on Sol Bamba in 2008.

03-01-2024, 12:56 PM
Look at the bench from yesterday and read NMs quote about having 4 development players on the pitch. You don't think that's our priority???

Oh I agree it’s been a priority/major focus of recruitment for a while, I just think the word ‘only’ isn’t completely accurate.

Even accounting for internationals, I think it’s poor that we had 5 (I think) youth/development players in the bench, and we should absolutely be focussed on first team level players to come in this window.

Any young players should be ‘can’t miss’ types and broadly in additional to those first team players

03-01-2024, 12:59 PM
Which players have we signed since the Gordons took over that we could say have been a roaring success? Or even just a success, let's lower the bar a little!

I'm sure there must be a couple but I'm struggling to think who they are right now.

03-01-2024, 01:01 PM
I'd like to see us spending some of the Melkersen money on the defence. According to Transfermarkt the last time we paid a fee for a defender was €90k on Sol Bamba in 2008.

Miller and Harbottle?

03-01-2024, 01:23 PM
I suspect with the money and players available in January, we should probably set our expectations that most signings will a) be temporary and b) papering over the cracks.

With Foley’s money on the horizon, but not in time got this window, we’re not going to want to tie up the budget on 2-3 year deals for players that were scrambling to sign in this window on a limited spend.

That’s certainly the way I’d be approaching it - do the best we can to get a good end to the season and be in a position to go big in the summer and have a proper tilt at it in the new season.

03-01-2024, 01:26 PM

We paid a fee for Michael Nelson for sure. Tom James, Adam Jackson are also two I think we paid money for.

sean
03-01-2024, 01:27 PM
I suspect with the money and players available in January, we should probably set our expectations that most signings will a) be temporary and b) papering over the cracks.

With Foley’s money on the horizon, but not in time got this window, we’re not going to want to tie up the budget on 2-3 year deals for players that were scrambling to sign in this window on a limited spend.

That’s certainly the way I’d be approaching it - do the best we can to get a good end to the season and be in a position to go big in the summer and have a proper tilt at it in the new season.

I don’t actually know what we need matty?

Maybe numbers in general but we have loads out on loan and or injured.

I don’t really know what starting positions I’d be looking to fill bar a centre half.

03-01-2024, 01:36 PM

The next few months won't be much fun in that case.

cammy1969
03-01-2024, 01:36 PM

Was speaking to Stuart’s dad when I was in Spain in November, he was saying hibs hearts Aberdeen were all looking at him but couldn’t match what he got down south. He’s On a big bonus if oxford get promoted to championship so can’t see him moving before summer. They were top at the time dropped if a bit now tho.

03-01-2024, 01:42 PM

I don’t really know what starting positions I’d be looking to fill bar a centre half.

If we're going to stick with the 442 then I'd say we need better or different in all 11 outfield positions.

The question is - where do you start?

03-01-2024, 01:45 PM
If we're going to stick with the 442 then I'd say we need better or different in all 11 outfield positions.

The question is - where do you start?

Glad we are playing 12 a side now,this must be the master plan under NM 😁

03-01-2024, 01:46 PM
Glad we are playing 12 a side now,this must be the master plan under NM 😁

Knew that was coming, didn't think that it would be so rapid though. 😀

03-01-2024, 01:52 PM

I’m totally fine with that. All I want from this window is some players in key positions who come in and make us better for the remainder of the season. It’s a minimum of 19 games but hopefully 23 and then the proper, required, overhaul of the squad can happen in the summer starting with all those out of contract being moved on.

03-01-2024, 02:03 PM
Miller and Harbottle?

It's got Miller down as a free and a ? for Harbottle but I see reports at the time do mention we paid fees for them.

We paid a fee for Michael Nelson for sure. Tom James, Adam Jackson are also two I think we paid money for.

Similar for those, has James and Jackson as frees and ? for Nelson though you are right, reports at the time are of a nominal fee. Appreciate Transfermarkt isn't wholly reliable.

We certainly don't seem to spend much on the defence though.

TrinityHibby
03-01-2024, 02:03 PM

That’s exactly how I see things do however my only caveat being that there is money available however the Hibs Board would probably prefer to keep any ‘war chest’ until the summer when better value / quality options are likely to be available. The problem NM has, is the existing squad look incapable of playing in his preferred (and only system) and a bottom six finish will not go down well with our long suffering support.

03-01-2024, 02:06 PM
Malik Zaid on loan to Edinburgh City:

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/malik-zaid-joins-edinburgh-city-on-loan

03-01-2024, 02:15 PM
Apparently both of the OF are after Owen Beck following his recall by Liverpool from his loan spell at Dundee.

But Liverpool see him as part of the first team due to injuries.

03-01-2024, 02:21 PM
I get that we need players all over the park, but it's blatantly obvious that a centre back has to be the priority IMO.

We're the top scorers in the league outside the OF but we regularly concede 2 goals a game. Both Rocky and Hanlon making shocking errors in the past week and Fish has struggled all season.

It's not going to happen but I'd be looking to spend as much as possible on a centre back. Then look for loans maybe for a left back and a CM (Egan Riley maybe).

03-01-2024, 02:30 PM
I get that we need players all over the park, but it's blatantly obvious that a centre back has to be the priority IMO.

We're the top scorers in the league outside the OF but we regularly concede 2 goals a game. Both Rocky and Hanlon making shocking errors in the past week and Fish has struggled all season.

It's not going to happen but I'd be looking to spend as much as possible on a centre back. Then look for loans maybe for a left back and a CM (Egan Riley maybe).

Agree with everything you say other than a left back.

Obita playing well and getting better every week. Links well with Jair.

Unless you are after LB cover. Think that may come in the summer when Lewis deal ends

03-01-2024, 02:32 PM

We should loan them 3 or 4 youth prospects, they're almost guaranteed game time if they can avoid injury.

Albeit, not a great level, but better than youth team stuff surely.

03-01-2024, 02:38 PM
The next few months won't be much fun in that case.

I guess this is where the manager and the DoF earn their money!

03-01-2024, 02:39 PM

I’m the same, you could really go right through the team at the moment and say there’s upgrades needed.

03-01-2024, 02:42 PM

If we don’t sign a proper, first team ready centre back to come in and play straight away then it would raise serious, serious questions for me.

03-01-2024, 03:16 PM
EEN

“English defender Riley Harbottle has attracted interest from a number of clubs down south. The former Nottingham Forest prospect is under contract with Hibs until 2026 but has failed to get game time under Montgomery – and the Edinburgh side would be willing to let him move on in pursuit of game time.”

03-01-2024, 03:19 PM
Whilst I’m fan of McDerrmot and liked the business we’ve done in the summer that’s potentially 3 of his signings (Boruc, Wollacott and Harbottle) leaving in some capacity after 6 months.

Rumours of Delf leaving too despite getting an extension a couple of months ago.

Not great, albeit he recruited them for another manager.

03-01-2024, 03:19 PM
EEN

“English defender Riley Harbottle has attracted interest from a number of clubs down south. The former Nottingham Forest prospect is under contract with Hibs until 2026 but has failed to get game time under Montgomery – and the Edinburgh side would be willing to let him move on in pursuit of game time.”

Would be sensible to cut our losses there if we can. He’s clearly not fancied whatsoever. If you can’t get a single minute of playing time in this defence then there’s no much hope for you here.

Was strange going out, paying a fee and giving a three year contract to a player that we weren’t seeing as a first team starter.

03-01-2024, 03:23 PM
Whilst I’m fan of McDerrmot and liked the business we’ve done in the summer that’s potentially 3 of his signings (Boruc, Wollacott and Harbottle) leaving in some capacity after 6 months.

Rumours of Delf leaving too despite getting an extension a couple of months ago.

Boruc was brought in as 3rd choice for Europe to be fair. He's done well when called upon so time to go out on loan.

The other two I'll give you though. That said, not every signing is going to work and even the best clubs sign players that don't make their grade.

03-01-2024, 03:24 PM
Mattie Pollock currently in Edinburgh…

Watford centre half that was on loan at Aberdeen last year.

Aberdeen fans love him.

Probably just a random visit

03-01-2024, 03:25 PM
Would be sensible to cut our losses there if we can. He’s clearly not fancied whatsoever. If you can’t get a single minute of playing time in this defence then there’s no much hope for you here.

Was strange going out, paying a fee and giving a three year contract to a player that we weren’t seeing as a first team starter.

He'd had a good season on loan last season and was probably seen as a decent option to develop, sometimes young players from down south don't work out, away from friends and family.

03-01-2024, 03:26 PM

Boruc was never signed to play just now though, pretty sure they said at the time Harbottle was one for the future as well so not really that bad of they go out on loan

03-01-2024, 03:31 PM
Mattie Pollock currently in Edinburgh…

Watford centre half that was on loan at Aberdeen last year.

Aberdeen fans love him.

Probably just a random visit

Is his Girlfriend not from Edinburgh?

03-01-2024, 03:31 PM
Kenneh was sticking out for Leeds 21 at centre back seemingly

03-01-2024, 03:45 PM

He’s just back from a short term loan with CCS
Good move for him though

LewysGot2
03-01-2024, 03:48 PM
Apparently both of the OF are after Owen Beck following his recall by Liverpool from his loan spell at Dundee.

But Liverpool see him as part of the first team due to injuries.

:greengrin Nae chance. He’s going back because they’re currently playing without a recognised LB due to long term injuries to both Robertson and Tsimikas :agree:

03-01-2024, 04:01 PM
He’s just back from a short term loan with CCS
Good move for him though
Yup. A wee step up to see how he progresses.

03-01-2024, 04:11 PM
He mentioned "if the budget allows" when talking about bringing in 1 or 2 players. If he can't even bring 2 decent players in, then he's hardly being backed.

Our recruitment has been crap the last few years, I can totally see why folk are concerned that we do the same again. Signing players for the development squad isn't backing him in the slightest.
Well let's wait and see what happens, no club is going to explain in detail their transfer plans just now and every statement will be frothy, we hope, we expect we believe etc etc etc.

03-01-2024, 04:18 PM
Is his Girlfriend not from Edinburgh?

Tranent

So would make sense they were in Edinburgh

03-01-2024, 04:58 PM
:greengrin Nae chance. He’s going back because they’re currently playing without a recognised LB due to long term injuries to both Robertson and Tsimikas :agree:

And yet he wasn't even on the bench against Newcastle!!!!!

Robertson is due back next month so I'm not so sure.

03-01-2024, 05:28 PM
Tranent

Well at least we can't question his bravery 🤣

03-01-2024, 05:38 PM
Mattie Pollocks old man was a decent player Jamie Pollock for Boro

03-01-2024, 05:39 PM
It's got Miller down as a free and a ? for Harbottle but I see reports at the time do mention we paid fees for them.

Similar for those, has James and Jackson as frees and ? for Nelson though you are right, reports at the time are of a nominal fee. Appreciate Transfermarkt isn't wholly reliable.

We certainly don't seem to spend much on the defence though.Rocky?27559

rileygrieve1
03-01-2024, 05:58 PM
Anyone heard much about Ben Wilson? Striker from Irish league articles over there saying we’re interested in him

03-01-2024, 06:05 PM
Anyone heard much about Ben Wilson? Striker from Irish league articles over there saying we’re interested in him

Read something a few weeks ago about 'Scottish titans' after him.

03-01-2024, 06:52 PM
We definitely need to raise the quality of the team. I'm sure the recruitmemt team are analysing the stats of potential targets. That's fine but I think we also need players with personality and leadership qualities. Under McLeish and to an extent Stubbs we had teams that were full of character and that were leaders.

03-01-2024, 07:25 PM
We definitely need to raise the quality of the team. I'm sure the recruitmemt team are analysing the stats of potential targets. That's fine but I think we also need players with personality and leadership qualities. Under McLeish and to an extent Stubbs we had teams that were full of character and that were leaders.

PB alluded to that yesterday, it's easy to be blinded by the science when there are so many stats available, sometimes your eyes don't let you down.

03-01-2024, 08:52 PM
And yet he wasn't even on the bench against Newcastle!!!!!

Robertson is due back next month so I'm not so sure.

And Liverpool will likely drop £20m plus on a reserve left back this month. They’ve been linked with Robinson from Fulham.

03-01-2024, 09:00 PM
Wonder if we will still get any loans from Bournemouth even if the Foley deal isn’t formally completed this month.

03-01-2024, 09:05 PM
Wonder if we will still get any loans from Bournemouth even if the Foley deal isn’t formally completed this month.

James Hill apparently being recalled from his loan at Blackburn 👀.

Blackburn fans thinking it’s because he’s needed for the Bournemouth squad though as apparently been very good for them.

03-01-2024, 09:16 PM
James Hill apparently being recalled from his loan at Blackburn 👀.

Blackburn fans thinking it’s because he’s needed for the Bournemouth squad though as apparently been very good for them.
Was he any good for Hearts? Didn't they they rated him or maybe that was at first then he came good?

Heedersnvolleys
03-01-2024, 09:18 PM
Tranent

He was up for a wedding in between Christmas and New Year

03-01-2024, 09:20 PM

100% character and leaders.

No rookies or inexperience.

Fontaine / Holt / McGregor / Bartley etc

It’s not hard Hibs - not all about sell on fees and youth prospects.

04-01-2024, 03:38 AM

It would be a nice show of faith eh?

I mean, if they are serious about investing in Hibs and wanting us to succeed, that is.

04-01-2024, 07:32 AM
It would be a nice show of faith eh?

I mean, if they are serious about investing in Hibs and wanting us to succeed, that is.

If ever there was a window to do it it's this one too

Group stage Euro football as the carrot

Am I right in thinking all we need to do is win the Cup (ie third only gets group stage if one of the OF wins the Scottish Cup?) so if we win the cup we get the Euro qualification?

Chorley Hibee
04-01-2024, 07:37 AM

Am I right in thinking all we need to do is win the Cup (ie third only gets group stage if one of the OF wins the Scottish Cup?) so if we win the cup we get the Euro qualification?

That's correct.

Bridge hibs
04-01-2024, 08:13 AM
When is Will Fish due to go back to Man U, is it end of January ?

04-01-2024, 08:18 AM
When is Will Fish due to go back to Man U, is it end of January ?

End of the season as it stands but they can recall in January

Bridge hibs
04-01-2024, 09:19 AM
End of the season as it stands but they can recall in January

Ah cheers mate 👍

04-01-2024, 10:56 AM
If Monty wants 4 ready first team players in January I assume it would be a CB CM and ST, which would leave one more position, two CMs would be great.

That still leaves us a bit short in wide positions, I'm sure I seen on here that Monty was looking for a LW?

04-01-2024, 11:32 AM

There is no chance we are either finishing third or winning the cup this season. If we were serious about either of those then the time to make the signings to do it was during the last window. Our problem is with two people, the man supposed to be running the club and the other one who is de facto running it. Everything else flows from that.

Halmyre Hibee
04-01-2024, 11:54 AM
If Monty wants 4 ready first team players in January I assume it would be a CB CM and ST, which would leave one more position, two CMs would be great.

That still leaves us a bit short in wide positions, I'm sure I seen on here that Monty was looking for a LW?

Chris Cadden’s brother Nicky out of contract in June. Can play anywhere on the left. Reasonable player and probably within our price range. Just a thought as we’ve not had brothers playing for Hibs for a while.

04-01-2024, 11:54 AM
There is no chance we are either finishing third or winning the cup this season. If we were serious about either of those then the time to make the signings to do it was during the last window. Our problem is with two people, the man supposed to be running the club and the other one who is de facto running it. Everything else flows from that.

I think the cup is realistic, depending on the draw

We've got Forfar first up, a decent start

I've a feeling we'll be back at Tynecastle in the following round, we need a better centre midfield if so

Whatever happens we are 5 games away from group stage European football, with the right signings, and game 1 of 5 is Forfar

04-01-2024, 11:57 AM

I think the positions are likely CB, LB, CM and ST.

For me, that is minimum needed for the rest of the season. Any others would depend on players leaving.

04-01-2024, 12:01 PM

Aren't they both Ben Kensall?

04-01-2024, 01:21 PM
I think the positions are likely CB, LB, CM and ST.

For me, that is minimum needed for the rest of the season. Any others would depend on players leaving.

Those are exactly the 4 I'd be wanting.

To be honest, we could clear 10+ players off the books but that's obviously unrealistic in terms of getting replacements in January.

04-01-2024, 01:39 PM
Outs that I wouldn’t mind if it helped ins

Doidge
Walicott
Doyle-Hayes
Henderson
Harbottle
Boruc
Campbell
Delfierre
Jeggo
McKirdy

04-01-2024, 01:41 PM
Nothing new but the Hibs Observer reporting Hibs are happy to let Boruc, Delferriere and Harbottle leave on loan.

04-01-2024, 01:44 PM
Transfer news LIVE✍️

English League 1 and several Scottish clubs ‘interested’ in Hull midfielder Greg Docherty

⬇️⬇️⬇️

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-31781164

Surely we’re one of them

04-01-2024, 01:52 PM
Transfer news LIVE✍️

English League 1 and several Scottish clubs ‘interested’ in Hull midfielder Greg Docherty

⬇️⬇️⬇️

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/transfer-news-live-celtic-rangers-31781164

Surely we’re one of them

Be gutted if we weren’t.

04-01-2024, 02:09 PM
Transfer news LIVE✍️

⬇️⬇️⬇️

Surely we’re one of them

Just seen this

We should do our upmost to bring him to ER. Everything our midfield needs

Bridge hibs
04-01-2024, 02:09 PM
Transfer news LIVE✍️

⬇️⬇️⬇️

Surely we’re one of themA jambo pet said to me he thinks they will go for him as Naebadges wants to offload Devlin and Haring

04-01-2024, 02:10 PM
Be gutted if we weren’t.

Yep, he’s about as box to box as you get.

I know it won’t happen, but could you imagine a midfield of Newell, Levitt and Docherty?

Him and a centre half would quickly transform the team imo;

……………….Marshall…….

Miller….Fish…..New CB….Obita….

…….Docherty..Levitt…Newell….

Boyle…………………………….Youan..

…………………….Vente…..

Is at least, on paper, a good starting eleven.

04-01-2024, 02:10 PM
A jambo pet said to me he thinks they will go for him as Naebadges wants to offload Devlin and Haring

Heard likewise

Torto7
04-01-2024, 02:19 PM
Transfer news LIVE✍️

⬇️⬇️⬇️

Surely we’re one of them

Hopefully we aren't interested. I was never impressed with him just like the other favourite on here Jason Kerr.

04-01-2024, 02:24 PM
Just seen this

We should do our upmost to bring him to ER. Everything our midfield needs
I must’ve been at the vast majority of games he played for us and I’m honestly struggling to remember what kind of impact he made

04-01-2024, 02:32 PM
I must’ve been at the vast majority of games he played for us and I’m honestly struggling to remember what kind of impact he made

Very highly rated….among Hibs fans mainly.
He’d bring energy. Hardly any goals based on three and a half year at Hull abs he’s not the best on the ball. Most will have seen that here.

Slight upgrade on Campbell if Hibs were looking to fill a position we don’t currently use - the attacking mid.

04-01-2024, 02:39 PM
He’d bring energy. Hardly any goals based on three and a half year at Hull abs he’s not the best on the ball. Most will have seen that here.

Slight upgrade on Campbell if Hibs were looking to fill a position we don’t currently use - the attacking mid.

He’s significantly better than Josh Campbell 😂

04-01-2024, 02:39 PM

I remember him being really good for us. Hard working and good on the ball.

Liked to get the ball forward

04-01-2024, 02:40 PM

Slight upgrade on Campbell, Jeez.

Genuinely sometimes wonder what Josh Campbell fans watch

04-01-2024, 02:42 PM

Had a number of goals and assists in his opening games (one great goal away to Killie).

Unfortunately his last few games were an awful 1-3 home defeat to Hearts (everyone was terrible) and a similar score away to Aberdeen.

He'd be a huge improvement on what we have but I think he's better suited to a 3 man midfield. Most midfielders are tbf.

JammyDoidger
04-01-2024, 02:59 PM
Transfer news LIVE✍️

⬇️⬇️⬇️

Surely we’re one of them

Be delighted with that, him and newell would be sheer graft.

VoltaireHibs
04-01-2024, 03:03 PM
Transfer news LIVE✍️

⬇️⬇️⬇️

Surely we’re one of them

If Hearts are in for him he'll join them, what with all the ex ...(what term can we use now?? Sticky Buns?) that permeate that club.

VoltaireHibs
04-01-2024, 03:06 PM
Yep, he’s about as box to box as you get.

I know it won’t happen, but could you imagine a midfield of Newell, Levitt and Docherty?

Him and a centre half would quickly transform the team imo;

……………….Marshall…….

Miller….Fish…..New CB….Obita….

…….Docherty..Levitt…Newell….

Boyle…………………………….Youan..

…………………….Vente…..

Is at least, on paper, a good starting eleven.

And on paper is where it will stay with NM.:wink:

04-01-2024, 03:38 PM
Have we signed anyone yet?

VoltaireHibs
04-01-2024, 03:43 PM
Have we signed anyone yet?

Nopety, nope, no.

Bridge hibs
04-01-2024, 03:45 PM
In other news Livingston make a move for hearts versatile and Scottish cup 2016 winning ex the rangers player Andy Halliday

04-01-2024, 03:46 PM
If Hearts are in for him he'll join them, what with all the ex ...(what term can we use now?? Sticky Buns?) that permeate that club.
Jambhuns.

04-01-2024, 03:51 PM
In other news Livingston make a move for hearts versatile and Scottish cup 2016 winning ex the rangers player Andy Halliday

I’d heard Bruce Anderson was leaving Livingston for Killie.

04-01-2024, 03:57 PM
I’d heard Bruce Anderson was leaving Livingston for Killie.

McInnes is after another forward, and they probably worked together at the Dons
Good wee player who chases down everything, will suit Killie

VoltaireHibs
04-01-2024, 04:04 PM
McInnes is after another forward, and they probably worked together at the Dons
Good wee player who chases down everything, will suit Killie

Wonder if they might come in for Doidge? I think he might attract a bit of loan interest from a couple of SPL clubs. St Johnstone could use him, as could one or two others.

04-01-2024, 05:42 PM
Positive review on Kenneh

https://www.shrewsburytown.com/news/2024/january/in-depth--nohan-kenneh/

VoltaireHibs
04-01-2024, 05:54 PM
Positive review on Kenneh

https://www.shrewsburytown.com/news/2024/january/in-depth--nohan-kenneh/

Nice article, very respectful of his time up here. Good lad.

04-01-2024, 06:03 PM
Nice article, very respectful of his time up here. Good lad.

Despite not being respectful whilst he was here

04-01-2024, 06:14 PM

From memory he made one mistake, did he like something he shouldn't have? I would like him back and given another chance

04-01-2024, 06:16 PM
From memory he made one mistake, did he like something he shouldn't have? I would like him back and given another chance

Liked a hearts post after a derby game then claimed he was hacked. Apparently also spoke back to Johnson and was almost immediately sent out on loan.

He’s a young laddie though so I’m over it. If he’s improved on the ball he might have a future here. If not, can’t see it.

04-01-2024, 06:19 PM
Never made any mistakes in life?

04-01-2024, 06:21 PM

There was also rumours of a wee bust up with Johnson (hence why he was loaned to Ross C) which may have been the reason for liking the tweet, funnily enough he was then quickly loaned out again to Shrewsbury at the start of this season , he could've been a good option to have in midfield right now.

04-01-2024, 06:23 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1742988218235273425?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

Reuben McAllister going on loan to Kelty Hearts by the looks of it.

04-01-2024, 06:24 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1742988218235273425?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

Can only be a good thing if he gets regular game time

04-01-2024, 06:28 PM

Not enough regular football for these guys, they need football to learn and grow and loans to lower league teams are perfect, hope he does well.

04-01-2024, 07:09 PM
Also, wanting kenneh back and reckoning he’d improve us is revisionism.

He was really poor on the ball & was lazy. He’d be terrible as part of a 2 in midfield.

04-01-2024, 07:15 PM
Never made any mistakes in life?

A mistakes one thing, to like a post from hearts about beating us in a derby then not even admitting to doing it isn’t a mistake.

“I was hacked” haha. Don’t care where he ends up, as long as it isn’t back in a hibs jersey

04-01-2024, 07:16 PM
Also, wanting kenneh back and reckoning he’d improve us is revisionism.

He was really poor on the ball & was lazy. He’d be terrible as part of a 2 in midfield.

I’m not against the idea of him coming back in the summer and showing how much he’s progressed after a couple of loan spells, if he can do that then great, he’s certainly not what we need now though.

I’ve only skim read the thread but I don’t think many are suggesting he should come back now?

04-01-2024, 07:23 PM
See Bournemouth are trying to buy an Ecuador under 20 international for £5m.

19 years old and meant to be a real talent with a few other big clubs interested.

I wonder if this is the kind of signing that we could get sent on loan, either to get a work permit or to get used to the British style of football?

04-01-2024, 07:29 PM
I’m not against the idea of him coming back in the summer and showing how much he’s progressed after a couple of loan spells, if he can do that then great, he’s certainly not what we need now though.

I’ve only skim read the thread but I don’t think many are suggesting he should come back now?

I know. I never said about him coming back now.

But I’m not so sure loan spells at Ross county and Shrewsbury will have seen him improved to the level we’re requiring.

By all means he didn’t really set the heather alight at RC either.

04-01-2024, 07:48 PM
Good luck to Kenneh 👍 hope he kicks on and does well.

A mistakes one thing, to like a post from hearts about beating us in a derby then not even admitting to doing it isn’t a mistake.

“I was hacked” haha. Don’t care where he ends up, as long as it isn’t back in a hibs jersey
With your criteria for Hibs players I'm glad your not in charge of transfer activity :agree:

And people were happy to have Kevin Thomson back.[emoji23]

04-01-2024, 07:49 PM
🚨 Excl. 🇨🇭🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🇨🇻
#Duk from #AberdeenFC could soon be playing for #BSCYB, but clubs have not yet reached an agreement. Bern offered €2.5m, Aberdeen are insisting on a transfer fee of €3m. #Championship club is now preparing a bid to outbid #YoungBoys.
#SuperLeague #Premiership

04-01-2024, 07:50 PM
And people were happy to have Kevin Thomson back.[emoji23]

Ah but that will no doubt be different.