View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24
27-01-2024, 12:44 PM
He has played 2 competitive first team games for Bournemouth.
https://bournemouth-forum.vitalfootball.co.uk/threads/moriah-welsh.16106/
Bournemouth fans seem to like and rate him. Within that thread there’s also a like to a screamer of a goal he’s scored.
27-01-2024, 12:45 PM
Not sure what Guyana are like but 14 caps as well as captaining your country at 21 shows something
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
27-01-2024, 12:49 PM
Not sure what Guyana are like but 14 caps as well as captaining your country at 21 shows something
157th in the world. Just above Afghanistan
27-01-2024, 12:56 PM
157th in the world. Just above Afghanistan
🎶 Just above Afghanistan, you’ll never sing that 🎶
SickBoy32
27-01-2024, 12:56 PM
He’s half Brazilian. But the point the poster is making is bizarre.
Jamie O’Hara
Danny Armstrong
Luke McCowan
We know these guys would improve us (well I think so personally)
Gambling on players without clubs, players from the German 4th tier, youth players from Bournemouth etc. That’s the ‘bizarre’ point that was being made. If you believe that will see us charge up the league then Barry for you
27-01-2024, 01:00 PM
Jamie O’Hara
Danny Armstrong
Luke McCowan
Gambling on players without clubs, players from the German 4th tier, youth players from Bournemouth etc. That’s the ‘bizarre’ point that was being made. If you believe that will see us charge up the league then Barry for you
Why would a rival sell their best player to us midway through the season? Would we sell our best player to another SPFL rival midway through the season?
27-01-2024, 01:03 PM
Jamie O’Hara
Danny Armstrong
Luke McCowan
How much would we need to pay Kilmarnock, St Mirren, and Dundee to sign their best players half way through the season? To a direct league rival? We need to think outside the box in January.
German fourth tier is disingenuous. We signed a multi-million pound international winger who plays for a recently relegated 2nd tier side.
27-01-2024, 01:06 PM
Don't think they'd go down well in this day and age, cause an uproar with PC brigade.
It’s a wig, be no different to wearing a ginger wig if we had loads of players with ginger hair!
27-01-2024, 01:07 PM
Why would a rival sell their best player to us midway through the season? Would we sell our best player to another SPFL rival midway through the season?
We’d also have to hope if they were willing to sell Hearts, Aberdeen or the old firm didn’t hear they were available.
Silky
27-01-2024, 01:09 PM
Just basing it off previous youth players we’ve signed from EPL clubs, most don’t cut it. Hopefully these guys do.
Most of the older more experienced guys don't cut it either! Age is just a number. You can be crap at 18 and 30!
27-01-2024, 01:23 PM
Somebody give Maidstone a ring and see what the situation is with their goalie?
27-01-2024, 01:26 PM
Jamie O’Hara
Danny Armstrong
Luke McCowan
We know? It’s just guess work.
27-01-2024, 01:28 PM
Jamie O’Hara
Danny Armstrong
Luke McCowan
I see O’Hara improving us, maybe.
I don’t get excited about the other two.
27-01-2024, 01:39 PM
Dylan Levitt would have been on that list a year ago as a safe signing who knows the league we should just go and get.
Paul1642
27-01-2024, 01:40 PM
Jamie O’Hara
Danny Armstrong
Luke McCowan
Do we know this? We have signed plenty of players who were standing out for other Premiership teams only for them to turn crap the moment the sign for Hibs (Liam Craig, Rowan Vine, Brian Kerr off the top of my head).
The players you have mentioned would be mo more likely to succeed at Hibs than the players we have signed.
Donegal Hibby
27-01-2024, 01:41 PM
Moriah Welsh interview.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/moriah-welshs-tunnel-vision-for-hibs
27-01-2024, 01:46 PM
Moriah Welsh interview.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/moriah-welshs-tunnel-vision-for-hibs
Seems a great lad. New fan favourite incoming.
K-Zazu
27-01-2024, 01:48 PM
Jamie O’Hara
Danny Armstrong
Luke McCowan
Maybe we should have signed Armstrong when he played for Raith Rovers instead of signing players like Mueller Jasper etc.
27-01-2024, 01:51 PM
Seems a great lad. New fan favourite incoming.
You can just tell when someone is going to be a player and you get those vibes off of him
It’s a wig, be no different to wearing a ginger wig if we had loads of players with ginger hair!
I get that and think it would be brill but you can just hear the uproar, calling us racists for wearing them, it's the woke world we live in.
Paul1642
27-01-2024, 01:59 PM
I get that and think it would be brill but you can just hear the uproar, calling us racists for wearing them, it's the woke world we live in.
Forget the wig. Is he a bombscare?
27-01-2024, 02:04 PM
Forget the wig. Is he a bombscare?
😂 I had a good laugh at that the other day. One of the more outrageous posts I’ve seen on here recently and that’s saying something
SickBoy32
27-01-2024, 04:02 PM
How much would we need to pay Kilmarnock, St Mirren, and Dundee to sign their best players half way through the season? To a direct league rival? We need to think outside the box in January.
German fourth tier is disingenuous. We signed a multi-million pound international winger who plays for a recently relegated 2nd tier side.
No sure, but if we never wasted £200/300k a skull on ***** like Bushiri, wollacot, harbottle, mckirdy etc we’d maybe have a chance eh.
Fair point about the German 4th tier being disingenuous. Although I’d say calling him an international winger is equally so!
Pleased he’s off the mark today though 👍
SickBoy32
27-01-2024, 04:05 PM
Clearly caveated in the brackets but bash on
27-01-2024, 04:34 PM
We need two CB’s in.
We need to go with 3 in midfield amos, newell/new boy, marcondes
badabing67
27-01-2024, 05:30 PM
There no PC brigade at Tynie, they can’t install Windows.
27-01-2024, 06:38 PM
We need two CB’s in.
This. Would love to see it but just can't see it happening.
27-01-2024, 06:40 PM
We need two CB’s in.
Hanlon was good today tho eh. Will be a huge shame if he’s pushed out.
27-01-2024, 06:41 PM
Jason Kerr started for Wigan today although subbed off
Tom McIntyre came off the bench for Reading
Both been touted for Hibs this window, can't see either of them at Hibs.
I wonder when we will get a CB in and wonder if it will be the Bournemouth boy.
27-01-2024, 06:48 PM
We get it man, you rate Hanlon. So do I, he was good today. Doesn't mean we don't need two CBs in.
27-01-2024, 07:23 PM
Not if its by a better player.
27-01-2024, 07:29 PM
Jason Kerr started for Wigan today although subbed off
Tom McIntyre came off the bench for Reading
Both been touted for Hibs this window, can't see either of them at Hibs.
I wonder when we will get a CB in and wonder if it will be the Bournemouth boy.
Thought McIntyre signed for Portsmouth
27-01-2024, 07:53 PM
Dylan Levitt would have been on that list a year ago as a safe signing who knows the league we should just go and get.
This was exactly the chat. And it’s not turned out so great so far.
27-01-2024, 07:54 PM
We get it man, you rate Hanlon. So do I, he was good today. Doesn't mean we don't need two CBs in.
I don’t disagree. If they are good enough I’m all for it. I just hope Paul isn’t forced out of the club he loves to his core. Very few of him left.
27-01-2024, 07:55 PM
This was exactly the chat. And it’s not turned out so great so far.
He was decent today. Still full of potential. Just needs someone to do the ahite stuff next to him.
27-01-2024, 07:57 PM
I don’t disagree. If they are good enough I’m all for it. I just hope Paul isn’t forced out of the club he loves to his core. Very few of him left.
Same to be honest, wouldn't be happy at him being forced out either. I'm sure plenty will disagree, but for me, he's absolutely shown he's worth another year. Would be a brilliant squad player. Add in it's looking like we'll be left with only Rocky and Harbottle as contracted CBs come the summer?
27-01-2024, 07:58 PM
He was decent today. Still full of potential. Just needs someone to do the ahite stuff next to him.
His pass for the equaliser was class
27-01-2024, 07:59 PM
His pass for the equaliser was class
Lovely pass! A Newell worldie and a Levitt assist. Crazy stuff.
27-01-2024, 08:02 PM
Genuine question but what does forced out mean here? He's 34 and his contract is up in the summer. I think it's completely reasonable for their to be a conversation on whether or not his time here is up.
He's been a great servant but I'm not sure we should be offering anyone a job for life.
27-01-2024, 08:04 PM
Genuine question but what does forced out mean here? He's 34 and his contract is up in the summer. I think it's completely reasonable for their to be a conversation on whether or not his time here is up.
He's been a great servant but I'm not sure we should be offering anyone a job for life.
I would say leaving with 6 months left.
27-01-2024, 08:06 PM
I would say leaving with 6 months left.
Correct
VoltaireHibs
27-01-2024, 08:31 PM
Correct
Also important to remember that Paul Hanlon, excellent servant that he has been, has been well renumerated by Hibs for his loyalty. He isn't doing charity work ever day.
27-01-2024, 08:37 PM
Also important to remember that Paul Hanlon, excellent servant that he has been, has been well renumerated by Hibs for his loyalty. He isn't doing charity work ever day.
Not sure that makes much sense. He's been paid so nothing else matters? I think the club should just ensure he is treated as you'd expect someone who has done everything and more that he possibly could. Just respect.
If they aren't going to extend him thats fine. But if they are potentially going to push him out now for me that would be a very poor show and more importantly a mistake for this squad.
27-01-2024, 08:38 PM
They aren’t good as a collective though and we need better
27-01-2024, 08:44 PM
Not sure that makes much sense. He's been paid so nothing else matters? I think the club should just ensure he is treated as you'd expect someone who has done everything and more that he possibly could. Just respect.
If they aren't going to extend him thats fine. But if they are potentially going to push him out now for me that would be a very poor show and more importantly a mistake for this squad.
Surely no ones pushing him out though? He has a contract until the summer and presumably if he wants to stay and fight for his place the club will honour that. He might not get much game time but unless he's sent to train with the reserves I'm struggling to understand what the concern is.
Hibs4185
27-01-2024, 08:44 PM
Lovely pass! A Newell worldie and a Levitt assist. Crazy stuff.
Amazing what some serious competition behind you can achieve
27-01-2024, 08:58 PM
Surely no ones pushing him out though? He has a contract until the summer and presumably if he wants to stay and fight for his place the club will honour that. He might not get much game time but unless he's sent to train with the reserves I'm struggling to understand what the concern is.
Same for me if he wants to stay and fight for his place fine
Agree with this, our transfer approach still reeks of those in charge trying to be too clever IMO.
Don’t see any of the new players (Brazilian aside, possibly Amos if he can stay fit) improving us in all honesty
So 2 out of 3 signings will improve us (at the time of your post), seems a decent ratio, no?
Also, trying to be too clever? By adding energy, creativity and mobility to a midfield that lacks in all of those? Aye ok
28-01-2024, 04:49 AM
I don’t think A-League clubs are even allowed to pay transfer fees for players
That applies to transfers within the A League.
But no, we’re not getting a transfer fee…….Monty has said we have agreed to let him go in recognition of the service he has given us.
Think Monty’s happy to free up his wages.
28-01-2024, 05:02 AM
Lots of aggressive replies to this, in line with the "everything is s***" theme, seeping accross here and social media. We really do need to calm down.
For what it's worth, maclaren is the all time top goalscorer in Oz and a proper finisher who doesn't need just a mcginn and Allan behind him to score goals. Just my opinion.
KTF
Just a wee bit of pedantism here….
Jamie MacLaren IS the all time A League top scorer, as you say.
But the title of ‘all time top goal scorer in Oz is Damian Mori.
The A League only kicked off in 2005.
The National Soccer League which commenced in 1977 and where Mori spent most of his time…..preceded it.
Mori did have a very short spell Munchengladbach incidentally, but it didn’t work out and he came home pretty quickly.
Don’t think MacLaren would ever catch Mori’s total.
28-01-2024, 07:37 AM
Just a wee bit of pedantism here….
Pedantry😉
28-01-2024, 08:18 AM
Where's the chat about Hanlon being forced out the club come from?
There was an article last year about him studying for a degree where it said the club were fully supportive of him.
I think he also talked about the next stage of his career and it didn't sound like he was looking to stay at Hibs, more that he wanted to explore another career but still within the game?
gorgie greens
28-01-2024, 08:56 AM
We need two CB’s in.
Don't get the Newell love that some fans have, fir me he is one of the problems, decent player but slips everything down for me ,442 works with quick players but he is too slow for me
28-01-2024, 09:18 AM
Totally agree about respectful treatment etc, Hanlon deserves that.
Curious as to how the club can potentially push him out the door though? If there is a club who want Hanlon now and he doesn’t want to leave now, then that will be his decision, they’re not going to banish him for it?
28-01-2024, 10:07 AM
Really hope we’re still looking for a decent left sided centre half and not just Bevan.
Games like yesterday we need real quality in the defence.
Chipper1875
28-01-2024, 10:41 AM
Really hope we’re still looking for a decent left sided centre half and not just Bevan.
Games like yesterday we need real quality in the defence.
Would that have won us the game yesterday? Once again we don’t stop crosss In to the box. . And second game on spin Megwa sleeping .
Yes , I want a new left centre half . Would t have changed yesterday game
Exuberance1875
28-01-2024, 10:45 AM
Where's the chat about Hanlon being forced out the club come from?
There was an article last year about him studying for a degree where it said the club were fully supportive of him.
I think he also talked about the next stage of his career and it didn't sound like he was looking to stay at Hibs, more that he wanted to explore another career but still within the game?
Agree with this, although we aren’t exactly great defensively at the moment, he’s been part of many good hibs sides.
Also played a great ball into Doidge for what should have been the winner.
28-01-2024, 10:58 AM
Yesterday was a good example of how people see goals conceded and attribute blame as a whole or to people who played no role in it.
Hanlon had zip to do with both goals conceded yesterday, i’m still more than fine with him playing between now and the end of the season.
21sMay
28-01-2024, 10:59 AM
I'd love to see us go and sign a proper leader , watched yesterday's game when and we are severely lacking in someone who will manage the game on the park for us
Bridge hibs
28-01-2024, 11:15 AM
I'd love to see us go and sign a proper leader , watched yesterday's game when and we are severely lacking in someone who will manage the game on the park for us
Give us a Rob Jones type any day
28-01-2024, 11:15 AM
Imagine the outrage if we signed someone from
Grimsby town 😂
28-01-2024, 11:17 AM
I’d love to see us play the same back 4 and GK for 4 games in a row.
The chopping and changing and lack of consistency is contributing to them looking like a poor unit much more than any player not being good enough and in need of immediate replacement imo.
28-01-2024, 11:22 AM
:hyper
28-01-2024, 12:02 PM
:hyper
what have you heard?
I think 99.9% of Haymaker’s posts are the hyper emoji [emoji3]
28-01-2024, 12:19 PM
I think 99.9% of Haymaker’s posts are the hyper emoji [emoji3]
I just get excited during the transfer window.
28-01-2024, 12:42 PM
Never thought Jones was such a great leader, went missing in amongst the whole pampered bunch of imposters and wasters go to Rod's House debacle.
Yesterday was a good example of how people see goals conceded and attribute blame as a whole or to people who played no role in it.
Hanlon had zip to do with both goals conceded yesterday, i’m still more than fine with him playing between now and the end of the season.
Couldn’t agree more.
Out of the 5 goals conceded this week how many of them were down to the centre halves, the left sided centre half or Hanlon himself.
We don’t stop crosses, we aren’t the best defence il accept that but unless you can get better in now Paul for me is still our best.
28-01-2024, 12:44 PM
Been lacking a leader on the pitch for years now.
28-01-2024, 12:45 PM
Would that have won us the game yesterday? Once again we don’t stop crosss In to the box. . And second game on spin Megwa sleeping .
Not yesterday no, but overall I think we need to recruit a solid one who will play week in week out and lead an inexperienced back line.
Megwa sleeping for the second goal however he’s still a young lad and will just be filling in untill Miller and Cadden are back.
Paul1642
28-01-2024, 12:50 PM
Never thought Jones was such a great leader, went missing in amongst the whole pampered bunch of imposters and wasters go to Rod's House debacle.
Couldn’t disagree more. Only David Gray rivals him for the best captain since Sauzee. That’s in part due to us lacking any real leaders for a very long time unfortunately.
An exact replica of Rob Jones in terms of both ability and leadership would do wonders for this team right now.
VoltaireHibs
28-01-2024, 01:03 PM
Jeezo, second game and only playing because we have zero other options except a 16 year old. And against an exceptionally streetwise team. Cut the kid some slack.
Plus Rangers game was youan’s man, why megwa gets the blame for youan not tracking his man is baffling
Jpdhfc
28-01-2024, 01:29 PM
Plus Rangers game was youan’s man, why megwa gets the blame for youan not tracking his man is baffling
absolutely
28-01-2024, 01:32 PM
And although he ended up staying he couldn’t wait to leave after we’d won the cup and Leeds were interested
Chipper1875
28-01-2024, 02:04 PM
Made same error away at Blackpool . Three games and three mistakes. Nothing about cutting him slack . He will only keep his place if he warrants it . He’s had a good run of games at airdrie. Not sure if it’s allowed but wouldn’t surprise if he goes back to airdrie in a few days . As his game time will be be restricted at us , which will hinder his development.
Chipper1875
28-01-2024, 02:05 PM
He’s got to be aware of the danger , he wasn’t
28-01-2024, 02:13 PM
He’s got to be aware of the danger , he wasn’t
He was perfectly positioned, Youan lost his runner. That goal is not Megwa’s fault.
28-01-2024, 02:14 PM
Pedantry😉
Very good.......:greengrin
28-01-2024, 02:21 PM
Made same error away at Blackpool . Three games and three mistakes. Nothing about cutting him slack . He will only keep his place if he warrants it . He’s had a good run of games at airdrie. Not sure if it’s allowed but wouldn’t surprise if he goes back to airdrie in a few days . As his game time will be be restricted at us , which will hinder his development.
Football manager of the year for sure..
28-01-2024, 02:31 PM
Football manager of the year for sure..
Is that you Jürgen?
Hibees1973
28-01-2024, 02:44 PM
Not yesterday no, but overall I think we need to recruit a solid one who will play week in week out and lead an inexperienced back line.
Megwa sleeping for the second goal however he’s still a young lad and will just be filling in untill Miller and Cadden are back.
Seems clear that Megwa was only recalled due to Miller playing at the Asian Cup.
From previous performances and what Megwa has produced in the last 2 games he is not ready for the first team. Rangers and Kilmarnock spotted his deficiencies, targeted him in both games and has been found out.
It's only because recruitment has been so poor that players like Megwa, Whittaker and Tavares have been thrown into the team and all have not added much.
Megwa gets no help from the selfish Youan which has not helped his cause.
Ship of Hope
28-01-2024, 02:50 PM
Whilst we obviously want to cut out crosses into our box it would be nice to actually get a hibs head onto them more often. That has never been one of Hanlons strengths imo. Other than the doidge chance pretty much every time we put a ball into killie box one of their players was on the end of it. The same just can’t be said for us. I am not sure if we let considerably more crosses into our box than them.. we just do not defend it as well. We need a commanding Ch imo
Greensunshine
28-01-2024, 02:50 PM
Seems clear that Megwa was only recalled due to Miller playing at the Asian Cup.
From previous performances and what Megwa has produced in the last 2 games he is not ready for the first team. Rangers and Kilmarnock spotted his deficiencies, targeted him in both games and has been found out.
It's only because recruitment has been so poor that players like Megwa, Whittaker and Tavares have been thrown into the team and all have not added much.
Regards Megwa, surely you need to give the lad more than a couple of games before you judge him.
Also to say Tavares hasn’t added anything to the team is just not true.
Bridge hibs
28-01-2024, 02:52 PM
Megwa gets no help from the selfish Youan which has not helped his cause.If Cadden hadn't been injured then he would most likely have played when Miller was away so its not all about poor recruitment
Ship of Hope
28-01-2024, 02:52 PM
Porteous rumoured to udinese.. hopefully we have a large sell on as it will mostly be profit
Bridge hibs
28-01-2024, 02:53 PM
Porteous rumoured to udinese.. hopefully we have a large sell on as it will mostly be profit
How much is he being sold for ?
calumb
28-01-2024, 02:53 PM
Regards Megwa, surely you need to give the lad more than a couple of games before you judge him.
Tavares is ok but ok pretty much sums him up. We looked better yesterday when he went off.
NGoloGrantie
28-01-2024, 03:01 PM
Was reported recently that he’s staying at Watford this January unfortunately.
28-01-2024, 03:06 PM
Pollock who put in a transfer request this week starting ahead of Porteous. Just an observation, don't know much about Watford or their form etc and
Hibees1973
28-01-2024, 03:06 PM
If Cadden hadn't been injured then he would most likely have played when Miller was away so its not all about poor recruitment
Know what you mean in some ways, but we should have a few players in the squad who are adaptable and clever enough to play competently in a couple of positions. That is down to poor recruitment.
Obita is probably the exception in the squad recently in that he looked comfortable at Centre Half against Rangers. Mind you he was part of a back 4 who conceded 3 goals. I can't think of many players in our squad who can slot easily into another position.
For players such as Megwa, Whittaker & Tavares they have not really played their way into the side. I wish we had good young players, who through merit oust a regular first team player. All these guys are only picked due to injuries, poor recruitment and Montgomery has no one else to select.
28-01-2024, 03:16 PM
20% I'm sure I read somewhere yesterday.
Exactly right. There's no doubt Megwa was caught out by the cross but so was our vastly experienced keeper. Before that however, Obita, who I rate highly, has to do better to stop the cross. Everyone knows Armstrong is going on to his left, Obita has to show him down the line.
28-01-2024, 03:30 PM
If he goes to Udinese we’ll get a pish sell in as those 2 are pretty much the same club.
JammyDoidger
28-01-2024, 03:32 PM
20% I'm sure I read somewhere yesterday.
Watford and Udinese have the same owners do they not?
Paulie Walnuts
28-01-2024, 03:37 PM
I said at the start of the season that none of the youngsters were ready to step up from what I’d seen and was met by a poster who claimed 5 or 6 of them could and should be starting.
Megwa hasn’t looked ready to be starting the last two games imo and he appears to have done the most developing of them all.
Fuzzywuzzy
28-01-2024, 03:42 PM
You have to kind of hope that the **** sign shankland. Goals for hearts would likely dry up
28-01-2024, 03:46 PM
100%. If you are going to play young laddies you need to be prepared for them to make mistakes, what you need to see is them learn from them however. Hopefully over the course of the season we see less of him getting caught out. I liked the look of him the little I seen him at Dev level and his Airdrie write ups are great so we need to have some faith and let him adjust before we come to definitive conclusions on him.
Whittaker is the same, he looked half decent early on and perhaps the momentum has worn off and he's started to struggle a little bit with the finer details, that will come with experience. He barely has any experience of playing Dev squad matches before he was starting for us so again patience is the keyword.
28-01-2024, 04:03 PM
Brexit and visa limitations in Serie A putting paid to transfer this window.
https://football-italia.net/brexit-stops-porteous-transfer-from-watford-to-udinese/
28-01-2024, 04:08 PM
Watford and Udinese have the same owners do they not?
I believe so, the article I read never mentioned Udinese though, just that he might be on the move.
28-01-2024, 04:13 PM
If he goes to Udinese we’ll get a pish sell in as those 2 are pretty much the same club.
Not necessarily as the Pozzo’s use this relationship to circumvent EFL FFP rules. They once signed a guy to Watford for about £3.5m in the January window only to then sell him to Udinese in the summer window for about £17m - he then he returned to Watford on loan for that season.
Hibiza
28-01-2024, 04:13 PM
Tavares couldn't add up a basic arithmetic sum.
MagicSwirlingShip
28-01-2024, 04:17 PM
Why would that affect anything?
Hibiza
28-01-2024, 04:19 PM
Tavares couldn't add up a basic arithmetic sum.
Sorry , that was inappropriate . Just don't rate the player.
Paul1642
28-01-2024, 04:30 PM
Not necessarily as the Pozzo’s use this relationship to circumvent EFL FFP rules. They once signed a guy to Watford for about £3.5m in the January window only to then sell him to Udinese in the summer window for about £17m - he then he returned to Watford on loan for that season.
They would be stupid to use a player with a sell on clause for this purpose.
NGoloGrantie
28-01-2024, 04:55 PM
Pollock who put in a transfer request this week starting ahead of Porteous. Just an observation, don't know much about Watford or their form etc and
Started today as it was a cup game and got a game midweek so had to rotate. Played well today though tbf to him
28-01-2024, 05:01 PM
They would be stupid to use a player with a sell on clause for this purpose.
The Pozzo’s have shown numerous times that they aren’t afraid of making stupid decisions.
LewysGot2
28-01-2024, 05:01 PM
Especially as the defensive cover in front of him on the right side of the midfield isn’t exactly great.
28-01-2024, 05:02 PM
100%. If you are going to play young laddies you need to be prepared for them to make mistakes, what you need to see is them learn from them however. Hopefully over the course of the season we see less of him getting caught out. I liked the look of him the little I seen him at Dev level and his Airdrie write ups are great so we need to have some faith and let him adjust before we come to definitive conclusions on him.
Whittaker is the same, he looked half decent early on and perhaps the momentum has worn off and he's started to struggle a little bit with the finer details, that will come with experience. He barely has any experience of playing Dev squad matches before he was starting for us so again patience is the keyword.
This is the development team and 1 mistake like Rocky against Hearts can be the difference between 0 points and 1 or 3 points.
Not expecting them to have a perfect game but if they aren’t ready it’s just poor planning or recruitment we are having to rely on youth.
Of course we want them to do well but I don’t think it’s as simple as yeah they are allowed a few mistakes every game.
badabing67
28-01-2024, 05:09 PM
Just noticed this, I hope Miller is not injured.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GE7B7nlaUAAKcEM?format=jpg&name=small
Richibee
28-01-2024, 05:15 PM
Just noticed this, I hope Miller is not injured.
Neither Miller or Rocky have been in the match day squads in last couple of games
28-01-2024, 05:16 PM
Neither Miller or Rocky have been in the match day squads in last couple of games
Miller is "unwell" I think.
28-01-2024, 06:00 PM
Has Cumdingo retired from Aus squad
Bridge hibs
28-01-2024, 06:03 PM
Hasn't been selected, think he was vindaloo and he missed the call
28-01-2024, 06:28 PM
Miller played in Australias 1-1 draw which was the game before today
28-01-2024, 06:49 PM
Hasn't been selected, think he was vindaloo and he missed the call
Korma can be a b***h sometimes.....
Bridge hibs
28-01-2024, 07:07 PM
Korma can be a b***h sometimes.....
Yeah but to be fair he phoned his Uncles Rogan/Josh and they said best phone naan for a chaat, he forgot as he was busy having a Nankham
VoltaireHibs
28-01-2024, 07:35 PM
Know what you mean in some ways, but we should have a few players in the squad who are adaptable and clever enough to play competently in a couple of positions. That is down to poor recruitment.
Obita is probably the exception in the squad recently in that he looked comfortable at Centre Half against Rangers. Mind you he was part of a back 4 who conceded 3 goals. I can't think of many players in our squad who can slot easily into another position.
For players such as Megwa, Whittaker & Tavares they have not really played their way into the side. I wish we had good young players, who through merit oust a regular first team player. All these guys are only picked due to injuries, poor recruitment and Montgomery has no one else to select.
That's pretty harsh imo. Megwa has been fine for a young lad thrown in. I'll always support young lads being thrown into the team for whatever reason. He's made, arguably, one mistake, against Killie. Miller had plenty mistakes in him and Cadden has his limitations. A youth player needs a couple of months to adapt, very few come in and are first team ready, especially not in his position where positional awarenesses is vital. Give the boy a break.
28-01-2024, 07:41 PM
Jamie MacLaren didn’t make the squad either
Willis1875
28-01-2024, 07:42 PM
Jamie MacLaren didn’t make the squad either
Was that not something to do with him pulling out of an important World Cup qualifier to get married or something…I might be making that up but I’m sure I read or heard that
Hibees1973
28-01-2024, 07:55 PM
What about Jamie MacLaren as well. Know it is a low level league, but would have expected him to be in the squad.
Thought he was one of the top goalscorers down under.
Maybe he is injured or retired from the national team?
28-01-2024, 07:57 PM
Lorient look like they are sending Romain Faivre back to Bournemouth. Do we have room in our squad for a €15m Bournemouth player 🤪
VoltaireHibs
28-01-2024, 08:01 PM
Lorient look like they are sending Romain Faivre back to Bournemouth. Do we have room in our squad for a €15m Bournemouth player 🤪
Is he a left footed centreback? If so, the answers yes.
Bridge hibs
28-01-2024, 08:03 PM
What about Jamie MacLaren as well. Know it is a low level league, but would have expected him to be in the squad.
Thought he was one of the top goalscorers down under.
Maybe he is injured or retired from the national team? Melbourne City star Jamie Maclaren has confirmed he is not part of the Socceroos’ Asian Cup squad.
Football Australia are expected to announce the final 26-man squad tomorrow, but Maclaren has confirmed ahead of the announcement that he won’t be going to Qatar next month.
The all-time leading A-Leagues goalscorer has been battling an ankle injury, admitting last Tuesday after their AFC Champions League clash with Zhejiang that it had been bothering him.
“Yeah I’m not going,” Maclaren said on Thursday ahead of the Melbourne Derby.
“I’m a realist. I understand. I’ve had some niggling things bothering me at the moment. They still are.
Hibees1973
28-01-2024, 08:12 PM
Melbourne City star Jamie Maclaren has confirmed he is not part of the Socceroos’ Asian Cup squad.
Football Australia are expected to announce the final 26-man squad tomorrow, but Maclaren has confirmed ahead of the announcement that he won’t be going to Qatar next month.
The all-time leading A-Leagues goalscorer has been battling an ankle injury, admitting last Tuesday after their AFC Champions League clash with Zhejiang that it had been bothering him.
“I’m a realist. I understand. I’ve had some niggling things bothering me at the moment. They still are.
Ahh, thanks for this Bridge.
I keep an eye on some of our former players who left a good impression when at Hibs. A memorable goal against the Yam and a few against Rangers come to mind from MacLaren.
He was fortunate to be in a good Hibs team, with it's best midfield in decades. Think we got the best out of him at this time, which was probably the peak of his career.
Mcbizz1998
28-01-2024, 08:13 PM
Why would that affect anything?
Presume he means the transfer fee will be low due to them being owned by the same people. Better he goes somewhere else and Watford try to get as much as possible, increasing our sell on fee.
28-01-2024, 08:19 PM
This is the development team and 1 mistake like Rocky against Hearts can be the difference between 0 points and 1 or 3 points.
Not expecting them to have a perfect game but if they aren’t ready it’s just poor planning or recruitment we are having to rely on youth.
Of course we want them to do well but I don’t think it’s as simple as yeah they are allowed a few mistakes every game.
If you think we’ll ever produce a young defender that won’t make a mistake you’re deluded. People want Murray Johnson in over Marshall, he drops one cross is his career over?
Obviously you can’t have a team full of them but if you truly believe someone has the ability to be a big player for Hibs for years to come you will have to develop them, they don’t come ready made. Even Josh Doig made mistakes and we’d all jump to have him back.
Bridge hibs
28-01-2024, 08:32 PM
Ahh, thanks for this Bridge.
I keep an eye on some of our former players who left a good impression when at Hibs. A memorable goal against the Yam and a few against Rangers come to mind from MacLaren.
He was fortunate to be in a good Hibs team, with it's best midfield in decades. Think we got the best out of him at this time, which was probably the peak of his career.No probs mate 👍
28-01-2024, 08:33 PM
Nope midfielder, but I'm sure there's room for another
28-01-2024, 08:40 PM
Nope midfielder, but I'm sure there's room for another
He’s an attacking mid. The other guy is a LB. Both very good but temperamental
cubehindthegoal
28-01-2024, 08:53 PM
If he’s no, the answers yes too lol
28-01-2024, 09:13 PM
Melbourne City star Jamie Maclaren has confirmed he is not part of the Socceroos’ Asian Cup squad.
Would selling Vente for McLaren to return be good
Plenty of our more experienced players make mistakes, including our ‘better’ ones, and regularly.
As for poor planning or recruitment - our first choice rb is injured, nearly back fit. His replacement is away at an international tournament having won his first cap in the last few months, after the previous transfer window closed. Are you really advocating that Hibs should have signed another right back to cover for a few weeks until Miller is back and/or Cadden is back ready to play? And what message does that send to our youth players about their chances of getting an opportunity? We can only find out if they’re ready, or let them learn from their mistakes by playing them.
Bridge hibs
28-01-2024, 09:18 PM
I liked McLaren at hibs but Ive seen him a few times this season for Melbourne and he just doesn't seem the same player, a lot of factors ie injuries as mentioned above possibly, but McLaren over Vente ? Nope not for me, Vente will start scoring again
28-01-2024, 09:21 PM
One defender will be signed going by reports
Sounds like bevan.
Would be nice if we could get McIntyre or Kerr also.
I think sorting that defence out gives us half a chance at least. We can sort a new goalie in the summer.
Hibees1973
28-01-2024, 10:00 PM
Nope, no chance.
Ability wise, Vente is miles better than MacLaren.
This sums up perfectly the importance of having good players around the centre forward. MacLaren had a midfield, wide players and a clever effective partner up front to provide chances for him.
Vente has not had an effective partner up front with him consistently, since he arrived. Most of our midfield and wide players are ineffective as well.
Shows how much our team has regressed in the last couple of years, no matter how many players have been signed and how much money has been spent.
Keepthefaith
28-01-2024, 10:36 PM
Are we really judging megwa against rangers and Killie away? Two of the toughest games in the season (see killies home record). Do folk think miller or cadden would automatically have done any better? Both have had pelters on here. Noticed noone is pointing out it was megwas pass down the line that set youan free for maolida to nearly score on wed night.
When we compare young players it's important that we don't hold them to higher standards than we currently have!
28-01-2024, 10:40 PM
Are we really judging megwa against rangers and Killie away? Two of the toughest games in the season (see killies home record). Do folk think miller or cadden would automatically have done any better? Both have had pelters on here. Noticed noone is pointing out it was megwas pass down the line that set youan free for maolida to nearly score on wed night.
When we compare young players it's important that we don't hold them to higher standards than we currently have!
Think Megwa has had a few mistakes that have probably led to a goal in his two games. Also think that's to be expected when a laddie is making their breakthrough. Unfortunately for him he's come into a team on a bad run of form with fans already pissed off at the team.
For what it's worth I think he looks a player and think we should persist with him even when Miller is back and available.
28-01-2024, 11:07 PM
The most impressive performance I’ve seen from Megwa was as a centre half. Granted it was only a friendly, down at Blackpool, but he was head and shoulders our best player that day.
Young defenders coming in to an already abysmal defence is tough. I’m not the biggest fan of Miller but the quicker Australia are knocked out and we have him back, the better, as I’m not convinced a about relying on the two young lads at right back.
VoltaireHibs
29-01-2024, 01:43 AM
He’s an attacking mid. The other guy is a LB. Both very good but temperamental
Tbh this Hibs team could do with a bit more temper and a bit more mental. Get them signed!
29-01-2024, 03:28 AM
Just to be clear though……
Jamie MacLaren didn’t go to the Asia Cup because quite simply, he wasn’t selected.
He said the above in an interview after Arnie had phoned him and told him he wasn’t in the squad.
Yes, he HAD been injured and had been struggling since he returned, but he didn’t chose to stay home, Arnie didn’t select him, opting for the in form Bruno Fornalori instead.
FWIW MacLaren has reportedly been offered a reduced contract extension at Melbourne City and has so far not accepted it.
Bridge hibs
29-01-2024, 04:33 AM
Jamie MacLaren didn’t go to the Asia Cup because quite simply, he wasn’t selected.
He said the above in an interview after Arnie had phoned him and told him he wasn’t in the squad.
Yes, he HAD been injured and had been struggling since he returned, but he didn’t chose to stay home, Arnie didn’t select him, opting for the in form Bruno Fornalori instead.
FWIW MacLaren has reportedly been offered a reduced contract extension at Melbourne City and has so far not accepted it.Cheers for that Fred 👍
29-01-2024, 07:41 AM
FWIW MacLaren has reportedly been offered a reduced contract extension at Melbourne City and has so far not accepted it.I personally would 100% take him back at Hibs as an option, and NM will know all about him. Wonder if the opportunity ever arose for him he’d fancy it
29-01-2024, 07:56 AM
I personally would 100% take him back at Hibs as an option, and NM will know all about him. Wonder if the opportunity ever arose for him he’d fancy it
Despite his posturing just now that he’s not ruling out an overseas move, I can’t see him leaving Oz.
He’s 30 now, just had a daughter and is settled.
He was rumoured to be on A$1 million a year the past three years, but his extension apparently is offering substantially less.
He’s not scoring as freely as he was….for a couple of reasons, and has now lost his place in the national team, and is probably unlikely to get it back.
I think he’s reached the point that happens to ALL players…he’s peaked and it’s downhill from here.
Lovely bloke though.
29-01-2024, 08:25 AM
He’s Danish. Born there and has always lived there. His mother was Brazilian. She left them when he was 4 and she died in 2012. Ask him what he is and he won’t say Half Danish.
Brazilian then. :agree:
29-01-2024, 08:27 AM
He's not the type of player we need now, who's place would he take?
We have enough forwards now, lets hope our new signings will start to create more chances now for the players we have, and we get a couple of better defenders in too that make us more difficult to score against.
29-01-2024, 09:18 AM
So two signings this week or if Foley deal announced does anyone think it might be more
29-01-2024, 09:36 AM
So two signings this week or if Foley deal announced does anyone think it might be more
Two signings, hopefully both defenders, then clear out in the summer and rebuild with new investment. I think getting more than two in would need a couple more to go out first, so will be difficult in last few days of the window,
29-01-2024, 09:36 AM
HEARTS have secured Ross County star Yan Dhanda on a pre-contact agreement for next season.
And now the Jambos could try and push a permanent deal though before the transfer window closes on Thursday.
29-01-2024, 09:44 AM
HEARTS have secured Ross County star Yan Dhanda on a pre-contact agreement for next season.
And now the Jambos could try and push a permanent deal though before the transfer window closes on Thursday.
Good luck to them. He’s no more than ok.
29-01-2024, 09:46 AM
Good luck to them. He’s no more than ok.
Not sure who's place he takes in the team tbh?
NGoloGrantie
29-01-2024, 10:13 AM
Few hibs ‘itk’ folk on twitter looking very silly this morning
29-01-2024, 10:15 AM
Few hibs ‘itk’ folk on twitter looking very silly this morning
As with every other morning.
Souter96Mac
29-01-2024, 10:16 AM
Suspect it'd be highly unlikely, but I notice Scott McKenna hasn't really featured much this season for Forest. Left sided CB, would be a real statement of intent if we got him on loan. Ironically, I never really rated him too much when he was at Aberdeen, but he'd improve us immensely.
I'd imagine he might be looking for a loan move to get some games ahead of the Euros, as they even played a young CB instead of him for their FA cup game on the weekend.
Like I said, highly unlikely, I suspect there would be a host of championship teams that would be ahead of us.
29-01-2024, 10:19 AM
Hearts in talks to sign Penrice.
Good signing imo.
HendoDelivered
29-01-2024, 10:20 AM
Fraser must he a no go then, and I think he’s the better player.
Donegal Hibby
29-01-2024, 10:23 AM
Suspect it'd be highly unlikely, but I notice Scott McKenna hasn't really featured much this season for Forest. Left sided CB, would be a real statement of intent if we got him on loan. Ironically, I never really rated him too much when he was at Aberdeen, but he'd improve us immensely.
I'd imagine he might be looking for a loan move to get some games ahead of the Euros, as they even played a young CB instead of him for their FA cup game on the weekend.
Like I said, highly unlikely, I suspect there would be a host of championship teams that would be ahead of us.
Celtic have been rumoured to be after him , Attila's mentioned too .
29-01-2024, 10:31 AM
The laddie is an experienced PL defender on about £35k a week. Not a chance we'll be even looking at him.
29-01-2024, 10:31 AM
Hearts in talks to sign Penrice.
Good signing imo.
Wonder if Cochran is likely to leave
29-01-2024, 10:54 AM
I just noticed that Josh Doig moved to Sassuolo for 6 million Euros. Completely passed me by. Any idea how much we're due for the sell on?
29-01-2024, 10:56 AM
I just noticed that Josh Doig moved to Sassuolo for 6 million Euros. Completely passed me by. Any idea how much we're due for the sell on?
Think 27.5 per cent of profit.
29-01-2024, 10:57 AM
Think 27.5 per cent of profit.
That will come in handy!
badabing67
29-01-2024, 10:59 AM
Off topic when will the tickets for Hearts away go on sale to season ticket holders
Pytheas
29-01-2024, 10:59 AM
Kieffer Moore likely leaving Bournemouth on loan.
Probs still Championship level but maybe big Bill could have a word.
CentreForward
29-01-2024, 11:02 AM
Where are you hearing about two signings? Supposed to be Bevan but haven’t heard about the possibility of another one.
29-01-2024, 11:03 AM
Should be coming here or Bill should sack him. Get with the script Kieffer :greengrin
McGruber
29-01-2024, 11:14 AM
Where are you hearing about two signings? Supposed to be Bevan but haven’t heard about the possibility of another one.
Montgomery said we were srill after more players in post match interview and mentioned 1 or 2 - sounds like 2 expected at this stage not withstanding the deadline day madness where perhaps some more in and out
CentreForward
29-01-2024, 11:23 AM
Montgomery said we were srill after more players in post match interview and mentioned 1 or 2 - sounds like 2 expected at this stage not withstanding the deadline day madness where perhaps some more in and out
Ok thanks hadn’t heard that. On of those will surely be Bevan and if there is another hope would be in a defensive position. Of course he could actually mean late bids for Dhanda and Penrice 😂
29-01-2024, 11:25 AM
Ok thanks hadn’t heard that. On of those will surely be Bevan and if there is another hope would be in a defensive position. Of course he could actually mean late bids for Dhanda and Penrice [emoji23]I wouldn't want either particularly tbh
Donegal Hibby
29-01-2024, 11:25 AM
Attack , midfield well covered now if we bring in two , CH will be one , can't see us signing two with us having Hanlon and Rocky . Maybe a LB or keeper?.
29-01-2024, 11:27 AM
It's probably not as much as an urgency as it was pre-Foley, but I'm still quietly hoping to see some exits as well. Realistically I think we could still see leave -
JDH
Doidge
Jeggo (all but finalised)
There's more in the squad the ultimately aren't up to much but can't imagine we'd get rid until the summer at this rate.
29-01-2024, 11:28 AM
Cardiff, Sunderland and Ipswich are the teams mentioned.
29-01-2024, 11:59 AM
It's probably not as much as an urgency as it was pre-Foley, but I'm still quietly hoping to see some exits as well. Realistically I think we could still see leave -
JDH
Doidge
Jeggo (all but finalised)
There's more in the squad the ultimately aren't up to much but can't imagine we'd get rid until the summer at this rate.
JDH is injured so wont be going this window.
29-01-2024, 12:07 PM
Very true, had hoped he'd maybe be a lot closer and at least left on loan with a view to moving but in hindsight think he's a summer leaver at this rate.
29-01-2024, 12:10 PM
JDH must be moving towards matching Kyle Magennis’s unavailability record for Hibs?
Over the last few seasons we have got next to nothing out of players like those 2 and McGeady & ALF
The strange thing is these guys seem to go out with minor sounding injuries and never seem to get any closer to fitness before miraculously reappearing out the blue to get injured again very quickly
I hope our experiences with McGeady and ALF stop us going down that route again
29-01-2024, 12:27 PM
JDH must be moving towards matching Kyle Magennis’s unavailability record for Hibs?
Over the last few seasons we have got next to nothing out of players like those 2 and McGeady & ALF
The strange thing is these guys seem to go out with minor sounding injuries and never seem to get any closer to fitness before miraculously reappearing out the blue to get injured again very quickly
I really liked what I seen of ALF, and I actually thought when he was fit and playing McGeady offered us something as well. But you're right, when these guys (especially at their ages) pick up injuries it does seem to be a lot longer to return than you'd like.
For all the good work he did prior to his injury it's probably worth not renewing anything with him in the summer.
29-01-2024, 12:30 PM
Maybe Killmarnock will take another of our perma injured midfielders 🤞
29-01-2024, 12:30 PM
Agreed
There’s nothing up with them as players but we can’t run the risk of paying guys who aren’t available for long periods and sadly as we age we break down easier and take far longer to recovet
29-01-2024, 12:32 PM
Hearts hoping to nick James Penrice Livvy on a free transfer in the summer
Daily Ranger
29-01-2024, 12:56 PM
I’m fine with us signing the young centre back that’s been speculated but we need a first team centre back to come straight into the team. It’s criminal how many goals we are gifting to teams with such a piss poor defence.
29-01-2024, 01:07 PM
I’m fine with us signing the young centre back that’s been speculated but we need a first team centre back to come straight into the team. It’s criminal how many goals we are gifting to teams with such a piss poor defence.
Someone I've always thought would do well with us, especially now going into his prime years, was Stuart Findlay. Would be phoning up Oxford asking how much it would take to bring him in on a permanent.
29-01-2024, 01:18 PM
Someone I've always thought would do well with us, especially now going into his prime years, was Stuart Findlay. Would be phoning up Oxford asking how much it would take to bring him in on a permanent.
So we let in 2 against them and out defence is brutal..... we score 2 against them and we want to sign them. We need better. Its got to be players that are way better than we currently have.
BlackSheep
29-01-2024, 01:19 PM
Not sure Kilmarnock would want to release him from his loan.
29-01-2024, 01:20 PM
Not sure Kilmarnock would want to release him from his loan.
We need to be looking a level above Stuart Findlay if we're serious about turning the tables on our neighbours.
29-01-2024, 01:22 PM
Is Amos not in that boat as well? Don't get my wrong, I'm happy we signed him but it sounds like he's had serious injury problems as well.
But if he hadn't, he'd be out of our league. It's a tough one for the club as totally agree we can't have half a squad of players we're not getting anything from, but sometimes there are players worth a gamble.
Pytheas
29-01-2024, 01:24 PM
Agree 100%. Should have been a Hibs player years ago. He's like if Darren McGregor could pass the ball a bit.
29-01-2024, 01:27 PM
Is Amos not in that boat as well? Don't get my wrong, I'm happy we signed him but it sounds like he's had serious injury problems as well.
But if he hadn't, he'd be out of our league. It's a tough one for the club as totally agree we can't have half a squad of players we're not getting anything from, but sometimes there are players worth a gamble.
Amos has an awful injury record
Pytheas
29-01-2024, 01:29 PM
So we let in 2 against them and out defence is brutal..... we score 2 against them and we want to sign them. We need better. Its got to be players that are way better than we currently have.
I think Findlay is better than what we have, and as we've seen this season, it takes more that 2 good Centre halves to be strong in that position.
If he's available hibs should be all over it.
29-01-2024, 01:31 PM
I think Findlay is better than what we have, and as we've seen this season, it takes more that 2 good Centre halves to be strong in that position.
If he's available hibs should be all over it.
Agree with this, think he'd be a cheap option and strengthen us til end of the season.
29-01-2024, 01:35 PM
I think that's a bit of a simplistic way of looking at it. Another way you can cut it is he's part of a defence that has conceded 10 less goals than us this season. Getting someone like him in strengthens us and weakens a rival for 4th/5th.
He's always impressed me when I've seen him play and think he'd be a good addition to the starting XI, especially if Fish/Hanlon likely leave in the summer. Right now he's an improvement on both of them anyway.
29-01-2024, 01:37 PM
Agree with this, think he'd be a cheap option and strengthen us til end of the season.
He's got 2 years left at Oxford so not sure how much they would want for him, also think he's really enjoying being back at Kilmarnock.
29-01-2024, 01:49 PM
Seems to have been out forever
29-01-2024, 01:58 PM
Seems to have been out forever
Totally, anyone know if is this all from the LJ tackle in training?
badabing67
29-01-2024, 02:01 PM
Totally, anyone know if is this all from the LJ tackle in training?
I think so, left a piece of bone floating around in his ankle.
29-01-2024, 02:08 PM
We need to be looking a level above Stuart Findlay if we're serious about turning the tables on our neighbours.
No offence and I don’t mean specifically about you but I think this sort of signing is one we turn our nose up at regularly but would come in and improve us
There, at times, seems a bit of a snobbery about who we sign. We’ve stayed away from SPFL signings for the last couple of years to no great effect.
I remember before hearts signed Forrest a large portion said they never wanted him, not a brilliant player but an effective squad option. Same was said about Halkett. Now it will be similar about Yan Dhanda and Penrice.
I’ve we set our bar higher I’ve no problem, the issue I have is when we just fail to improve a position (centre half) or we sign guys like Kyle McLellend, Riley Harbottle etc that make no impact and don’t improve us whatsoever.
Charles Cook was another one, Jamie McGrath another. Players quite a lot of fans think nah we can do better - but we rarely do.
I think of Stuart Findlay signed for us tomorrow he’s start every game next to Fish until the end of the season.
SickBoy32
29-01-2024, 02:08 PM
No sure why folk are turning their noses up at Findlay. He’d improve our back line, and we’d win more games of football as a result. Solid, experienced player in this league. Jason Kerr is the same.
Talk of getting players ‘way better’ than our existing players is exactly what got us into the mess (and miles behind Hearts) when we started trying to be too fancy and being more concerned with sell on value - let’s go for gradual improvement and low risk signings for a change.
SickBoy32
29-01-2024, 02:10 PM
No offence and I don’t mean specifically about you but I think this sort of signing is one we turn our nose up at regularly but would come in and improve us
There, at times, seems a bit of a snobbery about who we sign. We’ve stayed away from SPFL signings for the last couple of years to no great effect.
I remember before hearts signed Forrest a large portion said they never wanted him, not a brilliant player but an effective squad option. Same was said about Halkett. Now it will be similar about Yan Dhanda and Penrice.
I’ve we set our bar higher I’ve no problem, the issue I have is when we just fail to improve a position (centre half) or we sign guys like Kyle McLellend, Riley Harbottle etc that make no impact and don’t improve us whatsoever.
Charles Cook was another one, Jamie McGrath another. Players quite a lot of fans think nah we can do better - but we rarely do.
Spot on - Forrest is a far more effective player for them than Tavares has been for us for example.
Halkett vs Bushiri - the list could be quite lengthy
Gordy M
29-01-2024, 02:18 PM
Spot on - Forrest is a far more effective player for them than Tavares has been for us for example.
Halkett vs Bushiri - the list could be quite lengthy
Was it Findlay who was marking Maolida when he scored, because if that was at the other end, folk would have been going mental he wasnt closed down......
29-01-2024, 02:26 PM
He's got 2 years left at Oxford so not sure how much they would want for him, also think he's really enjoying being back at Kilmarnock.
Always been impressed by Findlay and provides a left sided balance. Not sure if the most comfortable on the ball but is good in the air and quick. Get the impression probably comfortable at Killie.
SickBoy32
29-01-2024, 02:31 PM
Was it Findlay who was marking Maolida when he scored, because if that was at the other end, folk would have been going mental he wasnt closed down......
No sure to be honest, but he’d be the best centre half we’ve signed since Ambrose (same applies to Kerr)
Disappointing to see Hearts getting a head start on summer recruitment too with some solid SPL signings - we should be all over players with that experience IMO.
29-01-2024, 02:42 PM
No sure to be honest, but he’d be the best centre half we’ve signed since Ambrose (same applies to Kerr)
Disappointing to see Hearts getting a head start on summer recruitment too with some solid SPL signings - we should be all over players with that experience IMO.
Maybe we want better now? I really have no interest in Dhanda at all. Wasn’t excited when he was linked with us.
29-01-2024, 02:45 PM
Maybe we want better now? I really have no interest in Dhanda at all. Wasn’t excited when he was linked with us.
I’ve never been sure about Findlay since he couldn’t get his game at Oxford.
The Kilmarnock defending for our second goal in particular was horrible, you can throw in Doidges header too. I’d be disappointed if we signed Findlay.
29-01-2024, 02:48 PM
I know this will likely cone back to bite me in the arse but I'm not bothered about Danda going to the tarts
SickBoy32
29-01-2024, 02:52 PM
Aye I’ve no doubt that the dreamers in the boardroom will want ‘better’
Be interesting to see who we get in at centre half in the next couple days !
29-01-2024, 02:58 PM
I know this will likely cone back to bite me in the arse but I'm not bothered about Danda going to the tarts
Hat trick next derby assured.:rolleyes:
King Cosell
29-01-2024, 02:59 PM
Isn't the fact that Findlay is completely out of the picture at Oxford Utd a bit of a red flag? Also, Derek McInnes is defensively-minded, if he was working with our defenders they'd concede fewer goals. If McInnes was our manager, the games would be dull, but our back four (same players) would be pretty solid.
Torto7
29-01-2024, 03:03 PM
Isn't the fact that Findlay is completely out of the picture at Oxford Utd a bit of a red flag? Also, Derek McInnes is defensively-minded, if he was working with our defenders they'd concede fewer goals. If McInnes was our manager, the games would be dull, but our back four (same players) would be pretty solid.
He's too slow to play in a high line. He's slower than Hanlon. Hes a solid defender set up to play SPL anti football but that wouldn't look very solid in our system.
29-01-2024, 03:07 PM
I wish this site had a setting that i could set to automatically delete any post that mentions Derek McInnes.
Torto7
29-01-2024, 03:07 PM
I think of Stuart Findlay signed for us tomorrow he’s start every game next to Fish until the end of the season.
All of the players you mentioned are average or pish. Findlay is too slow to play a high line. He'd look terrible playing for us. Folk already moan about Hanlons lack of mobility and hes a far better athlete than SF.
Prof. Shaggy
29-01-2024, 03:11 PM
Like this?
29-01-2024, 03:12 PM
All of the players you mentioned are average or pish. Findlay is too slow to play a high line. He'd look terrible playing for us. Folk already moan about Hanlons lack of mobility and hes a far better athlete than SF.
Some of the players mentioned are currently wiping us out of a race for top 4 over the course of the season as it stands though compared to the equivalents that we've signed instead.
Donegal Hibby
29-01-2024, 03:13 PM
Wasn't bothered about signing Yan Dhanda , seen him a few times and he was ok in some games and didn't notice him in others . Even after only two appearances I'm far happier we have Emiliano who looks a quality player. Big fan of his already :greengrin
Saint Hibee
29-01-2024, 03:14 PM
Whatever happened to McLelland? I thought he was meant to be very highly thought of, and playing a position we desperately need cover for.
29-01-2024, 03:15 PM
Disagree about his lack of mobility. He showed in the game at ER he’s no slouch by getting back when we thought Boyle would have been through and then again on Saturday with Jair.
You might think Halkett, Forrest, McGrath, Charles Cook etc are pish but I guarantee all of them would have contributed more than the majority of our signings since just before Ross left.
Even as back up/squad player and would stop people complaining about poor squad depth
29-01-2024, 03:16 PM
Whatever happened to McLelland? I thought he was meant to be very highly thought of, and playing a position we desperately need cover for.
On loan at QOTS and plays most weeks.
22 in a couple of weeks
gorgie greens
29-01-2024, 03:17 PM
Would be a statement by Hibs if they secured him,bit of a unit which is what we need .
Saint Hibee
29-01-2024, 03:21 PM
Wasn't bothered about signing Yan Dhanda , seen him a few times and he was ok in some games and didn't notice him in others . Even after only two appearances I'm far happier we have Emiliano who looks a quality player. Big fan of his already :greengrin
Emiliano is clearly the higher calibre of the two, but I've got to admit that Dhanda has always looked a very useful player whenever I've seen him.
29-01-2024, 03:23 PM
Same here, I didn't get the clamour for him in the same way I'm not really getting the excitement about potentially signing Jason Kerr. He's alright, similar to someone like Forrest at Hearts in terms of level. He'll do a job and some weeks he'll look a world beater and the others he'll look like he's never played the game.
Pytheas
29-01-2024, 03:24 PM
He's too slow to play in a high line. He's slower than Hanlon. Hes a solid defender set up to play SPL anti football but that wouldn't look very solid in our system.
Funny you should say that cos i was just about to post that he's absolutely rapid, in a straight line at least, his recovery speed to get back and chase someone down is one of his real strengths.
29-01-2024, 03:25 PM
No chance is he slower than Hanlon
29-01-2024, 03:27 PM
Agree did score a raker of a free kick against just before Xmas.
29-01-2024, 03:51 PM
Disagree about his lack of mobility. He showed in the game at ER he’s no slouch by getting back when we thought Boyle would have been through and then again on Saturday with Jair.
You might think Halkett, Forrest, McGrath, Charles Cook etc are pish but I guarantee all of them would have contributed more than the majority of our signings since just before Ross left.
Even as back up/squad player and would stop people complaining about poor squad depth
Yes, Findlay showed an excellent turn of pace v Boyle in that match. He's not slow and neither is Findlay.
Same here, I didn't get the clamour for him in the same way I'm not really getting the excitement about potentially signing Jason Kerr. He's alright, similar to someone like Forrest at Hearts in terms of level. He'll do a job and some weeks he'll look a world beater and the others he'll look like he's never played the game.
TBH, I tend not to pay too much attention to the opposition but Kerr is experienced, a proven winner and is not quite 27. He's approaching the prime years as a CH and is known to be a leader on the pitch with his attitude and drive. He's also a Hibee (I don't care who he supports really, but I suppose it's good to have some guys that are Hibbies in the side). Clearly he's had a serious injury and he's on the road to full fitness.
I don't know how he plays, if can he pass the ball effectively in our style of football?
29-01-2024, 03:55 PM
Yup. I haven't been paying too much attention to Killie of late but Findlay's speed was one of his best assets during his first spell at Rugby Park. Stevie Clarke rated him, even gave him a cap for Scotland - only one mind, although he did score... I think he'd improve us.
hibstag
29-01-2024, 03:56 PM
A potential Fabian yantorno type move
JammyDoidger
29-01-2024, 04:05 PM
Yannick Bolasie free agent after leaving Swansea, 34 year old, great player.
29-01-2024, 04:09 PM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/sources-hibernian-now-in-advanced-talks-to-sign-bournemouth-star-owen-bevan/
In advanced talks to bring Bevan in.
Meant to be really good on the ball
King Cosell
29-01-2024, 04:15 PM
Yannick Bolasie free agent after leaving Swansea, 34 year old, great player.
We've got more wingers than you can shake a stick at, and he's 35 in May.
29-01-2024, 04:21 PM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/sources-hibernian-now-in-advanced-talks-to-sign-bournemouth-star-owen-bevan/
Another youngster, no matter how promising, and coming back from injury too, is NOT what we need. WE need someone to take control of the back 4 and dominate with confidence.
King Cosell
29-01-2024, 04:21 PM
Hope it's a permanent, even if it means Bournemouth have a buy-back option.
29-01-2024, 04:22 PM
Another youngster, no matter how promising, and coming back from injury too, is NOT what we need. WE need someone to take control of the back 4 and dominate with confidence.
Aye, hope he's not the only CB we sign. Saying that, would be daft to loan him and then sign a starter, can't see Bournemouth agreeing to that.
29-01-2024, 04:26 PM
We've got more wingers than you can shake a stick at, and he's 35 in May.
Do we? Right now we don't appear to have anyone to swap out Jair and Youan? I wouldn't mind another winger tbh - id rather Jair was a very occasional player.
29-01-2024, 04:27 PM
He was out for a few weeks, it’s not as if he’s coming back for a serious injury.
29-01-2024, 04:34 PM
He was out for a few weeks, it’s not as if he’s coming back for a serious injury.
But people are clamouring after Jason Kerr who was out for ages with a brutal injury.
29-01-2024, 04:46 PM
Do we? Right now we don't appear to have anyone to swap out Jair and Youan? I wouldn't mind another winger tbh - id rather Jair was a very occasional player.
Maolida and Boyle?
29-01-2024, 04:46 PM
There’s not one of them would enhance the current first 11. Not even sure they would enhance the squad much either. Maybe Halkett but that’s only because we are light at CB.
Of all the names mentioned in the latter part of this thread only Penrice at full back might add something but to be honest we should be targeting better.
29-01-2024, 05:27 PM
We need good players and the best ones we can get.
I’m not really arsed what age they are.
ShetlandHibby
29-01-2024, 05:34 PM
There’s not one of them would enhance the current first 11. Not even sure they would enhance the squad much either. Maybe Halkett but that’s only because we are light at CB.
Of all the names mentioned in the latter part of this thread only Penrice at full back might add something but to be honest we should be targeting better.
What a load of nonsense. Everyone of them would walk into our team.
29-01-2024, 05:36 PM
In a few weeks time we'll have Jair, Elie, Boyle, Maolida, McKirdy and then potentially Cadden at some point this season as well. I we're light just now due to international/injuries but not a position to go sign someone in for 3 weeks of cover.
29-01-2024, 05:41 PM
Genuinely don't think any of the players mentioned would be in our best XI.
Andy Bee
29-01-2024, 05:52 PM
We did have Penrice Lex and personally I don't know why he was ever let go around 16-17 years old. He's also Hibs daft. :agree:
29-01-2024, 06:37 PM
Owen Bevan update
Paul1642
29-01-2024, 06:53 PM
Walk into our team is ridiculous terminology. It suggests that they are a clear cut better than what we have now when in reality most are of a similar level at best if your being kind.
They all fit the category of steady squad filler. Sign a team full to players like that and you will be have a very average team. There is place for 1 or 2 players at most like this in a squad aiming for 3rd place. Our signings might not have all worked out better than these guys but I certainly won’t fault the club for trying to sign a higher calibre of player.
Forrest - Maybe would have had a frequent place in our starting 11 pre January but not now.
Halkett - Would definitely not start over Fish. He would maybe get in over Hanlon and probably 50/50 with Rocky but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be aiming for better which we will hopefully achieve this window.
Yan Dhanda - We already have better. Not in the slightest disappointed at missing out on him.
Penrice - Not better than Obita.
Charles Cook - The only one on your list that I would have liked to sign. Would still have been a risk though just like any other signing.
Jamie McGrath - No thank you.
Stuart Findlay - See comments about Halkett.
29-01-2024, 06:54 PM
Owen Beck back at Dundee.
29-01-2024, 07:01 PM
Halkett starts but there's no chance Charles cook or forrest start over youan or Boyle, or McGrath starts over Marcondes
Paul1642
29-01-2024, 07:03 PM
Owen Beck back at Dundee.
Great move for them. Think it was the only option for him since he played a game for Liverpool.
JammyDoidger
29-01-2024, 07:25 PM
Halkett starts but there's no chance Charles cook or forrest start over youan or Boyle, or McGrath starts over Marcondes
Marcondes is probably the best number 10 in the league. Charles cook's numbers were superb so he probably would start based on numbers as that's what the games about at the top end of the pitch, give me that than a show pony that you can't trust to do a job. That's the issue with us too many players we can't rely on.
29-01-2024, 07:26 PM
Walk into our team is ridiculous terminology. It suggests that they are a clear cut better than what we have now when in reality most are of a similar level at best if your being kind.
They all fit the category of steady squad filler. Sign a team full to players like that and you will be have a very average team. There is place for 1 or 2 players at most like this in a squad aiming for 3rd place. Our signings might not have all worked out better than these guys but I certainly won’t fault the club for trying to sign a higher calibre of player.
Forrest - Maybe would have had a frequent place in our starting 11 pre January but not now.
Halkett - Would definitely not start over Fish. He would maybe get in over Hanlon and probably 50/50 with Rocky but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be aiming for better which we will hopefully achieve this window.
Yan Dhanda - We already have better. Not in the slightest disappointed at missing out on him.
Penrice - Not better than Obita.
Charles Cook - The only one on your list that I would have liked to sign. Would still have been a risk though just like any other signing.
Jamie McGrath - No thank you.
Stuart Findlay - See comments about Halkett.
Agree … Hearts are pish. Only difference is Shankland who is the difference between us and the majority of the rest of the teams in the league bar the bumcheeks and Livi
29-01-2024, 07:35 PM
Agree … Hearts are pish. Only difference is Shankland who is the difference between us and the majority of the rest of the teams in the league bar the bumcheeks and Livi
No trying to talk Hearts up here but the fact they can also defend is massively helpful to them. They’ve only scored one more goal than us, having played one more game, but they make sure Shankland’s goals actually count for something. Think it’s 8 times we’ve scored 2 in a game and no won the game. Folk speak about Shankland being the only difference but I think there’s a wee bit more to it than that. They’d be ****ed without him right enough.
MagicSwirlingShip
29-01-2024, 08:12 PM
Marcondes is probably the best number 10 in the league. Charles cook's numbers were superb so he probably would start based on numbers as that's what the games about at the top end of the pitch, give me that than a show pony that you can't trust to do a job. That's the issue with us too many players we can't rely on.
Marcondes has a lot to prove before getting labelled the best no 10 in the league.
29-01-2024, 08:14 PM
No trying to talk Hearts up here but the fact they can also defend is massively helpful to them. They’ve only scored one more goal than us, having played one more game, but they make sure Shankland’s goals actually count for something. Think it’s 8 times we’ve scored 2 in a game and no won the game. Folk speak about Shankland being the only difference but I think there’s a wee bit more to it than that. They’d be ****ed without him right enough.
They’ve scored five goals in their last two games .He scored one of them.