View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26

Paul1642
29-01-2024, 08:26 PM
They’ve scored five goals in their last two games .He scored one of them.

Yes but they have scored 29 league goals all season and he has scored 14 of them, so 50% with a marginal round up. There can’t be many top division clubs with a top scorer on 50% of their clubs goals.

Haaland, Mo Salah and Jude Bellingham aren't even hitting 1/3rd of their clubs goals scored. Even Harry Kane who’s being tipped by some to break the Bundesliga records isn’t scoring 50% of Bayerns goals.

For comparison our top scorer has scored around 17% of our goals.

He is completely instrumental to their success and if they didn’t have Shankland they simply aren't sitting comfy in 3rd, or potentially not even in 3rd at all imo. Unfortunately they do have him for now and the sooner he goes the better.

29-01-2024, 08:28 PM
Agree … Hearts are pish. Only difference is Shankland who is the difference between us and the majority of the rest of the teams in the league bar the bumcheeks and Livi

Whats the only difference why Kilmarnock are above us and St Mirren?

29-01-2024, 08:33 PM
Whats the only difference why Kilmarnock are above us and St Mirren?

My point was the rest of the teams are all pretty pish including us but he is the difference for that mob that has them well clear in third

29-01-2024, 08:38 PM
My point was the rest of the teams are all pretty pish including us but he is the difference for that mob that has them well clear in third

The reason why they are so far above us is they are organised better and have better players, which he is one of them.

Dont kid yourself on that we are only one player worse than them.

Keyser Sauzee
29-01-2024, 08:50 PM
Marcondes is probably the best number 10 in the league. Charles cook's numbers were superb so he probably would start based on numbers as that's what the games about at the top end of the pitch, give me that than a show pony that you can't trust to do a job. That's the issue with us too many players we can't rely on.

Aye after playing, what, 100 mins or so, he’s definitely better than Atletico Madrid linked O’Riley right enough

JammyDoidger
29-01-2024, 09:02 PM
Aye after playing, what, 100 mins or so, he’s definitely better than Atletico Madrid linked O’Riley right enough

I get told off for being negative then I get it for being positive, can't win..nah but I'd say O'Reilly is a more rounded centre mid than Marcondes, Emi is more attack minded and more naturally a 10 I would say despite O'Reilly's numbers.

JammyDoidger
29-01-2024, 09:04 PM
Marcondes has a lot to prove before getting labelled the best no 10 in the league.

He will only get better, if he can stay fit you'll see, all going to plan and he plays to his best he's got the potential to be up there as one of these guys we speak about for years to come..not quite Sauzee Esque but he will be up there. Still can't believe he's ended up at us.

29-01-2024, 09:50 PM
Aberdeen want Jason Kerr.

29-01-2024, 10:03 PM
Aberdeen want Jason Kerr.

We should be all over it if he’s properly fit.

Loan with option to buy would make most sense but obviously depends on quite a lot

29-01-2024, 10:04 PM
Aberdeen want Jason Kerr.Hey, McCloud. Get off of my ewe!

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

badabing67
29-01-2024, 10:12 PM
Did Boyler hit the post with his head when he scored that goal for Australia

https://twitter.com/i/status/1751991542804316404

King Cosell
29-01-2024, 10:16 PM
We should be all over it if he’s properly fit.

Loan with option to buy would make most sense but obviously depends on quite a lot

Contract expires in the summer, loyalty to Wigan for getting him through his injuries could be an issue.

29-01-2024, 10:24 PM
Just my opinion

We should be all over Kerr

Solid defender, he’s been injured I get it.

However I think he could be one of those players who turns out really good.

Get it done hibs.

29-01-2024, 10:38 PM
Contract expires in the summer, loyalty to Wigan for getting him through his injuries could be an issue.

We could still offer Kerr a pre-contract since Fish's loan will finish and Hanlon is out of contract at the end of this season.

29-01-2024, 10:48 PM

Looks like he doesn't quite collide with the post, thankfully.
https://youtu.be/cGBEReMEEJc?si=bQhzkd386NZbs84m&t=60

Though something a bit odd does seem to have happened.
https://youtu.be/K6bpl4EYghs?si=i8bHMi_xqycjtLAD

JammyDoidger
29-01-2024, 10:51 PM

I thought he face planted the ground.

VoltaireHibs
29-01-2024, 11:13 PM
Just my opinion

We should be all over Kerr

Solid defender, he’s been injured I get it.

However I think he could be one of those players who turns out really good.

Get it done hibs.

I think we should be interested, but depends on the deal and his fitness. Bad injury for a big unit to have. But if he were fit and in budget then yes, I'd like up see him at Hibs. Decent quality and a Hibby.

badabing67
29-01-2024, 11:30 PM
Looks like he doesn't quite collide with the post, thankfully.
https://youtu.be/cGBEReMEEJc?si=bQhzkd386NZbs84m&t=60

Though something a bit odd does seem to have happened.
https://youtu.be/K6bpl4EYghs?si=i8bHMi_xqycjtLAD

Just hope he has not got a concussion

Thanks for sharing info :aok:

Gordy M
30-01-2024, 08:24 AM
I think we should be interested, but depends on the deal and his fitness. Bad injury for a big unit to have. But if he were fit and in budget then yes, I'd like up see him at Hibs. Decent quality and a Hibby.

This is a prime example of why getting recruitment right isnt quite as easy as some make out on here. Many posters on here (and social media) wanting Kerr to sign. If he signs for Aberdeen or another team folk will be complaining about it.....or we sign him and he gets a recurrance of his injury and is out for some time, then folk will be complaining about Hibs signing him knowing his history etc......be interesting to see what happens.

30-01-2024, 08:30 AM
A lot of fans replied to me last week saying doesn’t matter if he is a hibee

Whilst correct I think it’s important that in the squad there is a few hibs lads that get it

I’d defo be snapping him up.

Mcbizz1998
30-01-2024, 08:35 AM

Whilst correct I think it’s important that in the squad there is a few hibs lads that get it

Agree, it is important he is a Hibee. Someone in the centre of defence who gets it and will be up for the fight (especially in a derby) would be welcome.

30-01-2024, 08:53 AM
We could still offer Kerr a pre-contract since Fish's loan will finish and Hanlon is out of contract at the end of this season.

That's the path I would choose.

JammyDoidger
30-01-2024, 08:59 AM
That's Jason Kerr following the sheep on instagram. He's definitely not coming here. I didn't think so, same with Dhanda we don't do obvious signings, Next...

yerauldda
30-01-2024, 09:03 AM
That's Jason Kerr following the sheep on instagram. He's definitely not coming here. I didn't think so, same with Dhanda we don't do obvious signings, Next...

I agree on the Kerr front but to suggest we should've signed Dhanda is a strange one, would take Emiliano any day instead of him.

30-01-2024, 09:04 AM

Is Dhanda actually any good? He certainly hits a good set piece but that aside he’s not exactly been ripping it up for County since going there.

JammyDoidger
30-01-2024, 09:05 AM
Is Dhanda actually any good? He certainly hits a good set piece but that aside he’s not exactly been ripping it up for County since going there.

He's technically very good, not sure how good he is off the ball, would do a job in a 3 man midfield as the 10, or coming in off a side, on a free it's a no brainer we should have been all over it tbh.

Edinburgh Green
30-01-2024, 09:07 AM
So a 6 month loan to Aberdeen to gain match fitness and prove he's over his injury, then he's out of contract.

Then signs for Hibs on a free in the summer. Lovely :greengrin

JammyDoidger
30-01-2024, 09:07 AM
I agree on the Kerr front but to suggest we should've signed Dhanda is a strange one, would take Emiliano any day instead of him.

1 million percent would rather Emi, but he's not our player, be surprised if he stayed here permanent, Dhanda on a free is a steal.

30-01-2024, 09:08 AM

Agree, it is important he is a Hibee. Someone in the centre of defence who gets it and will be up for the fight (especially in a derby) would be welcome.

Get what exactly?

Hearts seem to be doing ok this season without any Hearts lads who “get it” in their starting line up. We need players with better ability, nobody gives a s*** what team a player supports if they are a good player.

Earlydelivery
30-01-2024, 09:08 AM
Record now saying Kerr signing for Dons on loan .

chippy
30-01-2024, 09:09 AM
So a 6 month loan to Aberdeen to gain match fitness and prove he's over his injury, then he's out of contract.

I’d imagine some sort of agreement to sign perm if all ok , maybe even a pre contract now

JammyDoidger
30-01-2024, 09:10 AM
Record now saying Kerr signing for Dons on loan .

That's a shocker from our end but can't say I'm surprised, we will get the young laddie from Bournemouth and that will be us. Still won't get a left sided one either, not sure how many windows it's going to take till we sort the back line out.

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2024, 09:10 AM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/sources-hibernian-now-in-advanced-talks-to-sign-bournemouth-star-owen-bevan/

In advanced talks to bring Bevan in.

Meant to be really good on the ball

Looking at the Bournemouth forum to see if there was anything on Bevan . Came across this .
https://bournemouth-forum.vitalfootball.co.uk/threads/owen-bevan.16177/

Players back from injury/ international duty, Bevan signed ( hopefully good CH ) . This team doesn't look half bad .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/decisions-decisions-decisions-how-montys-revamped-hibs-could-line-up-4496838

Gordy M
30-01-2024, 09:15 AM
That's a shocker from our end but can't say I'm surprised, we will get the young laddie from Bournemouth and that will be us. Still won't get a left sided one either, not sure how many windows it's going to take till we sort the back line out.

How many loans can you have? Obv if he is going on loan, they are not fully confident about his fitness.

30-01-2024, 09:17 AM

We’ll sign another youngster on loan again.

30-01-2024, 09:20 AM
He's technically very good, not sure how good he is off the ball, would do a job in a 3 man midfield as the 10, or coming in off a side, on a free it's a no brainer we should have been all over it tbh.

But we don't play a 3 man midfield.

HFC93
30-01-2024, 09:24 AM
No worries regarding Ker as he isn’t that good according to some of the experts on here.

30-01-2024, 09:25 AM
No worries regarding Ker as he isn’t that good according to some of the experts on here.

Nobody knows how good he is anymore, he is just back from well over a year out of the game.

ElginHibbie
30-01-2024, 09:26 AM
Nobody knows how good he is anymore, he is just back from well over a year out of the game.

Doesn't matter how good he is, as long as he GETS IT

30-01-2024, 09:30 AM
Doesn't matter how good he is, as long as he GETS IT

I think it helps that a player knows the league and supports the club.

These types of players set standards. The expectations they have for their clubs mirror our expectations.

That’s not to say other players who don’t support the club or know the league can’t drive standards ofc.

I think it’s a really bad decision from Hibs to not get Kerr in. If he is only available on loan, take the loan option.

30-01-2024, 09:37 AM
We clearly need a centre back in the door.

Whether it's one who has started one game in about a year is another matter entirely.

Would be happier to get him in the summer but accept that might not be possible.

ElginHibbie
30-01-2024, 09:37 AM
I think it helps that a player knows the league and supports the club.

These types of players set standards. The expectations they have for their clubs mirror our expectations.

That’s not to say other players who don’t support the club or know the league can’t drive standards ofc.

I think it’s a really bad decision from Hibs to not get Kerr in. If he is only available on loan, take the loan option.

It helps, but our signing history with these sorts of players shows to me it isn't the no brainer that a lot of people seem to think it is

If Kerr wasn't apparently a Hibs fan and we were after him, the club would be getting slagged for signing someone untested after long term injuries to solve our problems imho

Stanton Spence
30-01-2024, 09:42 AM
Get what exactly?

Hearts seem to be doing ok this season without any Hearts lads who “get it” in their starting line up. We need players with better ability, nobody gives a s*** what team a player supports if they are a good player.

It’s one of those cringeworthy terms that’s come about like turgid and many others that make me cringe
As if a player can play better because he supported the club as a kid

JammyDoidger
30-01-2024, 09:43 AM
Kerr would also have brought much needed leadership, something in which we sorely lack just now.

30-01-2024, 09:45 AM
Hopefully Kerr is a cold pasta dish and comes to us in the summer when he’s been in the oven and is warm again.

30-01-2024, 09:49 AM
Kerr would also have brought much needed leadership, something in which we sorely lack just now.

Making a lot of assumptions he is going to stay fit

ElginHibbie
30-01-2024, 09:56 AM
Sky tweeting we are interested in Penrice along with Hearts.

This another Scott Burns classic of dropping in our name so can say Hearts/Aberdeen beat us to a signing?

Saint Hibee
30-01-2024, 09:57 AM
I'm confused - have we actually signed Bevan or not? And if so, is it a loan or permanent?

30-01-2024, 09:58 AM

This another Scott Burns classic of dropping in our name so can say Hearts/Aberdeen beat us to a signing?

Didn’t realise Penrice was at Hibs as a youngster. Probably be good backup for Obita with Stevenson unlikely to get a new deal at his age.

30-01-2024, 10:03 AM
Didn’t realise Penrice was at Hibs as a youngster. Probably be good backup for Obita with Stevenson unlikely to get a new deal at his age.

I'd be surprised if Penrice is moving to Hibs or Hearts as a backup. He's been doing well this season.

30-01-2024, 10:07 AM
One possible down side of the arrangement with Bournemouth could be that we feel obliged (or worse, have our arm twisted) to take a young central defender to help his development rather than pursuing someone like Kerr. I know that is a glass half empty thought, and that there will hopefully be more swings than roundabouts in the Bournemouth playground. Maybe even someone who can chute.

30-01-2024, 10:13 AM
One possible down side of the arrangement with Bournemouth could be that we feel obliged (or worse, have our arm twisted) to take a young central defender to help his development rather than pursuing someone like Kerr. I know that is a glass half empty thought, and that there will hopefully be more swings than roundabouts in the Bournemouth playground. Maybe even someone who can chute.

Bevan was playing regularly in League 1 in the first half of the season. Kerr is surplus to requirements in the same league. Whisper it, but perhaps Bevan is actually a better player?

chippy
30-01-2024, 10:13 AM

I’d imagine some sort of agreement to sign perm if all ok , maybe even a pre contract now

30-01-2024, 10:17 AM
Bevan was playing regularly in League 1 in the first half of the season. Kerr is surplus to requirements in the same league. Whisper it, but perhaps Bevan is actually a better player?

Might not even be better. Might just make better business sense with a likely bettet sell on value.

30-01-2024, 10:19 AM
Back 4;

Penrice Obita Fish Miller?

30-01-2024, 10:22 AM

Don’t think it’s fair to say Kerr is surplus to requirements. Basically played every game for Wigan in the Championship before his injury. Now wants back up the road and is out of contract in the summer. Also started their last game.

Wigan well above Cheltenham as well, think Wigan also had a points deduction?

30-01-2024, 10:23 AM
Back 4;

Think that would struggle

SickBoy32
Might not even be better. Might just make better business sense with a likely bettet sell on value.

This is exactly the mindset that we’ve been operating with for years, and why we find ourselves lagging way behind the jambos - despite our player sales being significantly higher than theirs.

Priorities all wrong at ER currently IMO

Back 4;

Perhaps or penrice lb and Obita up one.

Gordy M
30-01-2024, 10:25 AM
This is exactly the mindset that we’ve been operating with for years, and why we find ourselves lagging way behind the jambos - despite our player sales being significantly higher than theirs.

We have just signed 2 players who no one outwith the old firm can afford? What is the priorities?

If you look back far enough in here there's people linking him with us.

I heard from a 3rd hand source before the livi game we were in contact with him.

ElginHibbie
Back 4;

According to Transfemkt both Penrice and Obita can both play left midfield... as think a lot of our problems at moment is wide midfield players not being great supporting the defence could be see Penrice left back and Obita further up?

Shanksaidno
30-01-2024, 10:31 AM

Like that ..... chuting boots on .... LOL

badabing67
30-01-2024, 10:32 AM
Perhaps or penrice lb and Obita up one.

Why not just say

Miller Fish Obita Penrice

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2024, 10:35 AM

Hibs won't just take players from Bournemouth for the sake of it and neither will Bournemouth just give us them for the same reason . It will have to be beneficial for the two clubs and the player wither he needs game time or to help in his development.

30-01-2024, 10:42 AM
Why not just say

Miller Fish Obita Penrice

I would have but why would I say that if that's not what I wanted to say ??
Penrice LB
Obita LM

Is that better ?

30-01-2024, 10:42 AM

A well run club is a mixture of both probably. We've done both in the past with varying results. Our recent experience of proven older players like McGeady and Le Fondre would make the vlub a tad wary of signing Kerr on the back of a long term injury.

Edit: Don't get me wrong though, I personally would like to see this transfer incoming.

30-01-2024, 10:44 AM
Looking forward to whatever <10 career appearances youngster we'll panic sign to single-handedly fix our terrible defence.

Kerr was a slam dunk and we seem to have ballsed it up.

30-01-2024, 10:49 AM
Looking forward to whatever <10 career appearances youngster we'll panic sign to single-handedly fix our terrible defence.

Has he ever played in a back 4?

30-01-2024, 10:52 AM
Back 4;

Obita was very impressive at CB against Sevco but I think it's a big leap to him taking on the role for the rest of the season. Nice to know we have him as an option but we absolutely need a proper CB in before the end of the window.

30-01-2024, 10:53 AM
I was initially sceptical of getting Kerr due to his injuries, however I'm at the stage where if we seen him with the scarf above his head this afternoon I'd be delighted. I'd also be happy to see Penrice come in, he's always looked half decent when I've seen him and could be a good longer term left back option with the ability to play wide midfield as others have said.

It actually wouldn't surprise me if come next season and Monty is still here we're playing Penrice and Cadden left and right midfield.

30-01-2024, 10:53 AM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/sources-hibernian-now-in-advanced-talks-to-sign-bournemouth-star-owen-bevan/

In advanced talks to bring Bevan in.

Meant to be really good on the ball

Is he a leftie or a rightie? Looks like he played in the middle of a back three in most games for Cheltenham.

30-01-2024, 10:54 AM

Kerr was a slam dunk and we seem to have ballsed it up.I'm not sure on Jason Kerr at all

Certainly my no where near a "slam dunk" for me

He will be on big money and the below is surely a massive concern?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240130/0d8dc7ac88f5908a64b105295d760f33.jpg

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

30-01-2024, 10:54 AM
Bevan has better form that Kerr in the last 12 months.

30-01-2024, 10:56 AM
We’ve obviously failed to get whatever player we wanted as a first choice at centre half. Couple of days before the window closes and nothing signed to improve our awful defence says it all. Hopefully Bevan is the answer but I’d be worried if he’s here to partner Fish.

Dmas
30-01-2024, 11:00 AM
Scott McKenna off to FC Copenhagen on loan

Gordy M
30-01-2024, 11:04 AM
We’ve obviously failed to get whatever player we wanted as a first choice at centre half. Couple of days before the window closes and nothing signed to improve our awful defence says it all. Hopefully Bevan is the answer but I’d be worried if he’s here to partner Fish.

Think NM said that they had basically signed a CH and then the other club pulled out the deal at the last minute.

yerauldda
30-01-2024, 11:10 AM

There were Hearts fans who thought he was off to Tynecastle, hilarious. Decent move for him. Great city.

30-01-2024, 11:16 AM
I was initially sceptical of getting Kerr due to his injuries, however I'm at the stage where if we seen him with the scarf above his head this afternoon I'd be delighted. I'd also be happy to see Penrice come in, he's always looked half decent when I've seen him and could be a good longer term left back option with the ability to play wide midfield as others have said.

It actually wouldn't surprise me if come next season and Monty is still here we're playing Penrice and Cadden left and right midfield.
Penrice seemingly in advanced talks with Hearts re a pre contract deal

badabing67
30-01-2024, 11:24 AM
I would have but why would I say that if that's not what I wanted to say ??
Penrice LB
Obita LM

Is that better ?

Yeah

30-01-2024, 11:27 AM
Penrice seemingly in advanced talks with Hearts re a pre contract deal

Did someone earlier on in the thread not mention Penrice is a big Hibs fan? Hopefully if we can match their offer he’d choose us.

That’s if we’re actually interested mind you, which I hope we are. Good player.

VoltaireHibs
30-01-2024, 11:28 AM

If he's that good why is it only Hearts that are in for him? English championship clubs scout this league constantly, no club in that division appears to want him.

I'm not saying he's not a useful player, but not sure he's better than the players we have and certainly not better than Marcondes etc. I think we, as a support, need to realise that with the Foley investment and access to Bournemouth etc, we will be looking for a higher calibre of player, which can only be a good thing. I suspect the days of us signing the Dhanda's and Penrice's are over.

30-01-2024, 11:33 AM
There were Hearts fans who thought he was off to Tynecastle, hilarious. Decent move for him. Great city.

I shall look forward to bumping into him!

30-01-2024, 11:34 AM

Why is this obvious?

30-01-2024, 11:35 AM
Why is this obvious?

Because the manager said so? Openly spoke about failing to get the deal they wanted to over the line for a centre half.

30-01-2024, 11:37 AM
Why is this obvious?

Did Montgomery not say we were close to singing a defender but it fell though. It's not obvious its crystal clear.

delbert
30-01-2024, 11:48 AM
Did Montgomery not say we were close to singing a defender but it fell though. It's not obvious its crystal clear.

What is crystal clear is that we are virtually through yet another transfer window and once again we have failed to address the most glaringly obvious deficiency in the side, a marshmallow soft central defence which gets bullied every week and which concedes goals juvenile sides would be embarrassed to give up.

30-01-2024, 11:51 AM
Think NM said that they had basically signed a CH and then the other club pulled out the deal at the last minute.
Apologies, I'm catching up here, has the Bevan deal fallen through?

Gordy M
30-01-2024, 11:52 AM
Apologies, I'm catching up here, has the Bevan deal fallen through?

No it was towards the start of the window. Prob 2/3 weeks ago, dont know who the CH was.

30-01-2024, 11:53 AM
I'm not sure on Jason Kerr at all

Those are worrying stats.

30-01-2024, 11:54 AM
No it was towards the start of the window. Prob 2/3 weeks ago, dont know who the CH was.
Ah fair enough :aok:

30-01-2024, 11:58 AM
What is crystal clear is that we are virtually through yet another transfer window and once again we have failed to address the most glaringly obvious deficiency in the side, a marshmallow soft central defence which gets bullied every week and which concedes goals juvenile sides would be embarrassed to give up.

and yet we know for a fact that Hibs have been trying hard to sign the right central Defender but the other club pulled out at the last minute. We haven't failed to do anything yet, because the window isn't closed. It's very obvious that the manager and the club agree that we need new bodies in defence and midfield. They have addressed the Midfield issue and are trying very hard to address the defence issues... getting much better players at a price we can afford, isn't a piece of cake. Maybe show some support instead of grandstanding. :rolleyes:

Leitherhibs
30-01-2024, 12:04 PM

In 3.5 seasons, he has had 1 ACL injury, which are very common and almost all players now make a full recovery & 1 foot injury that ruled him out for 60 days. Is that really that worrying?

30-01-2024, 12:08 PM

I'm highly critical of the club at the moment (on the football side) but they are trying to address it. I don't doubt that at all. I'd be very surprised if we don't bring in more that the young lad from Bournemouth, assuming he's coming. It would very much bring back memories of Jack Ross screaming for a defender and the club bringing in Nathan Wood.

30-01-2024, 12:12 PM
Because the manager said so? Openly spoke about failing to get the deal they wanted to over the line for a centre half.

That was ages ago! Still time left.

ElginHibbie
30-01-2024, 12:12 PM
If the club just got confirmation from SFA this morning I wonder if that might have made a bit more money available last minute?

Obviously not official until AGM so not expecting anything major, but if it’s now just a formality might widen scope of what we can do?

30-01-2024, 12:13 PM

It's ok though, being a Hibby and Getting It will make up for a horrific injury record...

30-01-2024, 12:15 PM
We can definitely bring Griffiths home now!!!

30-01-2024, 12:16 PM
I'm highly critical of the club at the moment (on the football side) but they are trying to address it. I don't doubt that at all. I'd be very surprised if we don't bring in more that the young lad from Bournemouth, assuming he's coming. It would very much bring back memories of Jack Ross screaming for a defender and the club bringing in Nathan Wood.

That, to me, was the beginning of our decline from 3rd place the season below. It was clear to all that we needed an experience central defender, especially as we had to play an ageing Darren McGregor in a key European tie. We didn't recruit wisely and Nathan Wood was the wrong person, recruited at the wrong time. We should have got someone in before the competitive games started.

davhibby
30-01-2024, 12:35 PM

Kerr could take months to get up to speed and has done next to nothing since leaving St Johnstone. He’d be every bit as much of a risk as a young player. To be honest I wouldn’t be happy with either. Anyone that’s not left footed doesn’t solve the issue that we have right now so unless it was someone that was clearly going to be a big step up from what we have then getting another right sided player in is a waste

30-01-2024, 12:39 PM
In 3.5 seasons, he has had 1 ACL injury, which are very common and almost all players now make a full recovery & 1 foot injury that ruled him out for 60 days. Is that really that worrying?

Nope, don’t think it’s worrying either. Be gutted if he ends up at Aberdeen instead of here.

30-01-2024, 12:50 PM
As much as I’d love us to sign Kerr I do think it’s a difficult one for the club.

We need a centre half who is ready to start tomorrow and be a mainstay in our team, Kerr is just coming back from injury and if he breaks down tomorrow they’d be criticised. He’s also allegedly on 15k pw so covering his wages would cost a significant amount too.

Mcbizz1998
30-01-2024, 12:56 PM
Did someone earlier on in the thread not mention Penrice is a big Hibs fan? Hopefully if we can match their offer he’d choose us.

That’s if we’re actually interested mind you, which I hope we are. Good player.

https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/sport/19918480.livingstons-james-penrice-admits-hearts-thumping-hibs-2012-wet-appetite-scottish-cup-glory/

Seems to have some kind of Hibs leanings based on this article but not sure if it’s just because he was with Hibs youth set up at the time?

30-01-2024, 01:00 PM
Not transfer news but good news on players returning from injury

https://x.com/airdrieresacad/status/1752324102314971351?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

30-01-2024, 01:10 PM

Good move for him! Possibility of Champions League football too, with FC Copenhagen playing Manchester City in the round of 16.

30-01-2024, 01:11 PM
As much as I’d love us to sign Kerr I do think it’s a difficult one for the club.

We need a centre half who is ready to start tomorrow and be a mainstay in our team, Kerr is just coming back from injury and if he breaks down tomorrow they’d be criticised. He’s also allegedly on 15k pw so covering his wages would cost a significant amount too.

Difficult, yes, but we also need to be succession planning since it could well be the case that Fish, Hanlon and Bevan (if he joins on loan) will all depart in the summer.
Kerr is definitely a player we should be interested in for the long-term.

badabing67
30-01-2024, 01:13 PM

https://x.com/airdrieresacad/status/1752324102314971351?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Cadds, Alf and McKirdy all getting starts which is good to see, no JDH though hope its not to long for him.

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2024, 01:15 PM
Cadds, Alf and McKirdy all getting starts which is good to see, no JDH though hope its not to long for him.

It would be good to get JDH back as another option though he's going to have a hard time breaking into the team now .

30-01-2024, 01:17 PM

Delighted to have Cadden back playing again

30-01-2024, 01:18 PM
Beck gone back to Dundee from Liverpool,recalled to cover the injury crisis but now returned, makes sense.

30-01-2024, 01:23 PM
Surely bizarre hearts have placed a deadline of tomorrow night for the improved deal for Shankland? Makes it sound like if he doesn’t accept it that have bids they’ll accept.

Loads of chat of Celtic and Everton having made offers.

30-01-2024, 01:32 PM
Delighted to have Cadden back playing again

If he can makes improvements to his final ball he’ll be like a new signing

30-01-2024, 01:38 PM
Surely bizarre hearts have placed a deadline of tomorrow night for the improved deal for Shankland? Makes it sound like if he doesn’t accept it that have bids they’ll accept.

How long do they have left on his current one? Will be worried about losing him for nothing/reduced in the summer and it'll be hard to replace his goals on a smaller budget

badabing67
30-01-2024, 01:39 PM
If he can makes improvements to his final ball he’ll be like a new signing

Agreed but I'm concerned he might of lost a bit of pace, which would take a bit out of his game

30-01-2024, 01:39 PM
How long do they have left on his current one? Will be worried about losing him for nothing/reduced in the summer and it'll be hard to replace his goals on a smaller budget

Think his contract is to summer 2025.

30-01-2024, 01:45 PM

Currently winning 2-1 according to that twitter.

30-01-2024, 01:52 PM

I’m absolutely gobsmacked how many windows have come and gone and the defence issue still not dealt with!

VoltaireHibs
30-01-2024, 02:04 PM
Difficult, yes, but we also need to be succession planning since it could well be the case that Fish, Hanlon and Bevan (if he joins on loan) will all depart in the summer.
Kerr is definitely a player we should be interested in for the long-term.

I think the summer is going to see a massive turnaround in players. It will be a Stubbs first window on steroids. I just hope we get our business done reasonably early to allow them to gel.

VoltaireHibs
30-01-2024, 02:07 PM
I’m absolutely gobsmacked how many windows have come and gone and the defence issue still not dealt with!

I absolutely get what your saying. But the defenders aren't crap, they're struggling, and one of the reasons they're struggling is because we allow too many balls to be fired into the box. Our midfield reinforcements will hopefully help with that. The system requires willing runners, players who will track back every time. And hopefully this Amos is a solid, athletic DM, that in itself would help enormously.

Torto7
30-01-2024, 02:09 PM

There's no way a huddy like him can play in the EPL.

30-01-2024, 02:09 PM
Think his contract is to summer 2025.

Makes sense to cash in asap if he isn't signing on.

30-01-2024, 02:10 PM
There's no way a huddy like him can play in the EPL.

Everton might not be Prem next season!

Torto7
Bevan sounds like a far better player than Kerr and younger.

I think the summer is going to see a massive turnaround in players. It will be a Stubbs first window on steroids. I just hope we get our business done reasonably early to allow them to gel.

Pressure will be on Nick now to get a tune out of this improved Hibs squad or he might not get the summer transfer window imo.

Great opportunity for him though to prove his worth. How many previous Hibs managers would have loved to be in this position?

30-01-2024, 02:23 PM
Bevan sounds like a far better player than Kerr and younger.

What’re you basing that on?

Comparing a young guy who’s had a loan spell at Cheltenham to a double cup winning captain in our league who’s had a lot more senior appearances?

Fwiw I’ll still remain concerned about our defence should we only bring Bevan in

30-01-2024, 02:29 PM

Comparing a young guy who’s had a lon spell at Cheltenham to a double cup winning captain in our league who’s had a lot more senior appearances?

Fwiw I’ll still remain concerned about our defence should we only bring Bevan in

Couldn’t agree more. Not sure how anyone can think Bevan is better than Kerr, he’s had about 15 games at League One level. Kerr was starting in the Championship, two leagues higher until his injury.

30-01-2024, 02:32 PM
Couldn’t agree more. Not sure how anyone can think Bevan is better than Kerr, he’s had about 15 games at League One level. Kerr was starting in the Championship, two leagues higher until his injury.

Kerr’s being played down by a lot of posters purely because it looks like he’s going to Aberdeen. Happens all the time. Can bet your bottom dollar if it was us he was coming to everyone would be raving.

Same thing happened with shankland when he was going to hearts. We were told he’d struggle because he hadn’t scored much at premiership level before.

30-01-2024, 02:38 PM
Kerr’s being played down by a lot of posters purely because it looks like he’s going to Aberdeen. Happens all the time. Can bet your bottom dollar if it was us he was coming to everyone would be raving.

Same thing happened with shankland when he was going to hearts. We were told he’d struggle because he hadn’t scored much at premiership level before.

People are playing him down as he has hardly kicked a ball in 15 months! Nothing to do with him maybe going to the sheepies.

30-01-2024, 02:42 PM

Ive played him down as I want someone to replace Paul Hanlon (in time) - and others have told me that Kerr has almost never played on the Left. Fish struggles there, and Rocky is just rocky. We need to get a player who is comfortable on the left hand side.

ElginHibbie
30-01-2024, 02:42 PM
People are playing him down as he has hardly kicked a ball in 15 months! Nothing to do with him maybe going to the sheepies.

Seems more to me people are playing him up just cause he's apparently a Hibs fan and would GET IT, remove that and don't think as many would be so desperate to get him

He's here!
30-01-2024, 02:43 PM

Yes, I'm assuming it means they're anticipating a deadline day move for him.

46 goals in 75 games. No wonder they want to try and keep him.

30-01-2024, 02:46 PM

Comparing a young guy who’s had a loan spell at Cheltenham to a double cup winning captain in our league who’s had a lot more senior appearances?

Nailed it. Kerr, on paper, is exactly the type of player we should be trying to sign. Not a project type who may be a Will Fish but most likely be a Nathan Wood.

30-01-2024, 02:49 PM
Nailed it. Kerr, on paper, is exactly the type of player we should be trying to sign. Not a project type who may be a Will Fish but most likely be a Nathan Wood.

And if he breaks down in his first game, you will be the first to be berating Monty for signing him.

GreenGray
30-01-2024, 02:49 PM
I wonder if Foley's investment will mean we steer clear of signing players from Scottish clubs. I hope not, some of our most successful signings have been from other Scottish teams or players who have experience in the league.

I often wonder if the reason Hearts, Aberdeen and ourselves have failed to pull away from the rest in Scotland despite spending significantly more is because we try to be a bit clever in signing players from abroad rather than signing the best players from the smaller clubs.

Aberdeen have had some success abroad with Miovski and to a lesser extent Duk so there is probably a balance to be struck rather than committing fully to one way or the other.

30-01-2024, 02:50 PM
And if he breaks down in his first game, you will be the first to be berating Monty for signing him.

Not really. I think Montgomery is tactically hopeless and a poor manager. Wouldn't blame him if a player got injured though.

30-01-2024, 02:52 PM
I absolutely get what your saying. But the defenders aren't crap, they're struggling, and one of the reasons they're struggling is because we allow too many balls to be fired into the box. Our midfield reinforcements will hopefully help with that. The system requires willing runners, players who will track back every time. And hopefully this Amos is a solid, athletic DM, that in itself would help enormously.

Agree re the midfield not stopping the balls coming in.

Youan and Jair over last two games especially have been especially bad at leaving the full backs exposed.

Levitt struggles to close down anyone if he has to chase them down or is involved in a race for the ball.

30-01-2024, 03:16 PM

Seems more to me people are playing him up just cause he's apparently a Hibs fan and would GET IT, remove that and don't think as many would be so desperate to get him

Or that he was solid when he was last playing here which earned him a move down south to the championship.

And as I’ve said, a double cup winning captain.

I want him more for that reason than him being a hibs fan

30-01-2024, 03:17 PM

Just like one of our other new signings, who’ve also had long term injuries, could have?

That’s not a reason not to sign him

ElginHibbie
30-01-2024, 03:27 PM
Or that he was solid when he was last playing here which earned him a move down south to the championship.

And plenty posters just don't want him cause he's being linked to Aberdeen as you implied

I wouldn't say no to him but the way he's being talked about as a "slam dunk" that would walk in and just solve all our problems after being out for 15 months is way over the top

30-01-2024, 03:27 PM
Not really. I think Montgomery is tactically hopeless and a poor manager. Wouldn't blame him if a player got injured though.

Tactically hopeless and a poor manager. Pathetic

VoltaireHibs
30-01-2024, 03:37 PM
Yes, I'm assuming it means they're anticipating a deadline day move for him.

46 goals in 75 games. No wonder they want to try and keep him.

When I see the see the money the Orcs are spending on utterly bang average players from far flung corners of the globe, you have to question why they don't just empty their pockets and give Hearts 4-5 million for Sniper Heid?

Guaranteed goals in that team. In fact I'd go as far as to say he'd probably win them the league. He's not a brilliant player, but he's streetwise and scores all sorts of goals.

Rumble de Thump
30-01-2024, 03:37 PM

He moved to League One.

30-01-2024, 03:39 PM
For me it might just be horses for courses with Shankland, he scores a lot of goals for Hearts but the only other club he's scored anything like that is Ayr United. He's been at 8 or 9 clubs. Wasn't exactly prolific at any other clubs, he obviously fits into the way Hearts play. It's kind of like saying Van Veen scored plenty of times for Motherwell but was he as prolific elsewhere? I dunno.

VoltaireHibs
30-01-2024, 03:42 PM
Agree re the midfield not stopping the balls coming in.

Youan and Jair over last two games especially have been especially bad at leaving the full backs exposed.

Levitt struggles to close down anyone if he has to chase them down or is involved in a race for the ball.

Exactly, if the side players don't track back then our left back/right backs end up dealing with an overload. It's pretty unfair to blame them for not being able to do a pretty impossible job. The lack of numbers in midfield drags them further up the pitch and then we get hit by counterattacks as Youan has decided to have a brainfart as usual.

30-01-2024, 03:42 PM
For me it might just be horses for courses with Shankland, he scores a lot of goals for Hearts but the only other club he's scored anything like that is Ayr United. He's been at 8 or 9 clubs. Wasn't exactly prolific at any other clubs, he obviously fits into the way Hearts play. It's kind of like saying Van Veen scored plenty of times for Motherwell but was he as prolific elsewhere? I dunno.

He scored 24 in 26 games in the championship for dundee utd.

He’s a goalscorer, it’s what he does. I’m surprised no-ones signed him up for his goals alone

I want him gone from hearts because he’s dragged them into 3rd place

30-01-2024, 03:45 PM

He was brilliant for Dundee United. Prolific too.

He’s a very good striker. Shame he plays for the wrong team albeit he won’t for much longer… shame it’ll probably be to go to a wronger team!

30-01-2024, 03:46 PM

He’s a very good striker. Shame he plays for the wrong team albeit he won’t for much longer… shame it’ll probably be to go to a wronger team!

Surely he’s at the wrong(est) team for us just now?

30-01-2024, 03:48 PM

He scored 32 goals in 3 seasons at Dundee Utd from 59 appearances, dunno if that's good or average. He's a much better player for Hearts imo

30-01-2024, 03:53 PM
Surely he’s at the wrong(est) team for us just now?

It depends on your opinion of wrongest.

The wrong one yes. I happen to be one of these people that hate the **** more than any other sports institution on the planet.

I’ll be happy enough not to see Shankland available for the next derby though.

30-01-2024, 03:55 PM

The wrong one yes. I happen to be one of these people that hate the **** more than any other sports institution on the planet.

I'm side by side with you there mate....

30-01-2024, 03:58 PM
I'm side by side with you there mate....

👍 with heart and hand.. or something like that 😁

30-01-2024, 04:04 PM

Yep I’m with you there.

From a rivalry pov though I’d say he’s at the wrongest of clubs just now.

But he doesn’t get any better if he joins the ****

30-01-2024, 04:05 PM
Yep I’m with you there.

From a rivalry pov though I’d say he’s at the wrongest of clubs just now.

But he doesn’t get any better if he joins the ****

You are indeed with me in that case 👍

30-01-2024, 04:34 PM
Tactically hopeless and a poor manager. Pathetic

This poster is still gutted lee johnson got punted, best ignored

McGruber
30-01-2024, 04:51 PM
I get the reservations about Kerr with his injury record and hitting the ground running but with a longer term view think it's still worth throwing Wigan a token 3 million of the Foley pound to add him to the pile 😏

cheltenhamhibee
30-01-2024, 05:05 PM
Have heard on the local bush telegraph (usually a good source down here) that Doidge could be on the way to Cheltenham Town, not sure if permanent or on loan

30-01-2024, 05:09 PM
Have heard on the local bush telegraph (usually a good source down here) that Doidge could be on the way to Cheltenham Town, not sure if permanent or on loan

Good luck to the big guy, always tried 100% scored some, missed some but always 100%

30-01-2024, 06:01 PM
The OF don’t seem to fancy Shankland-or more likely want him on the cheap.Steve Clarke doesn’t seem to rate him for Scotland even when he immediately scores a goal. Scotland managers have often hesitated to pick a player when “all he does is score goals”which may explain our low goal count over the last few decades.

30-01-2024, 06:28 PM
My theory with this supposed deadline for Shankland to sign narrative is that he has already agreed an extension and this is purely theatre from Hearts to build up suspense to a big announcement tomorrow night.

30-01-2024, 06:29 PM
This poster is still gutted lee johnson got punted, best ignored
You've got to give him credit for sticking to his script :greengrin

30-01-2024, 06:32 PM
My theory with this supposed deadline for Shankland to sign narrative is that he has already agreed an extension and this is purely theatre from Hearts to build up suspense to a big announcement tomorrow night.

What offer to him are on they now, 7th with no bids launched.

Hibs4185
30-01-2024, 06:37 PM

I heard today from a family Jambo that he had signed an extension. He said £20k a week but I didn’t believe him

GreenPJ
30-01-2024, 06:41 PM
I heard today from a family Jambo that he had signed an extension. He said £20k a week but I didn’t believe him

It wouldn't surprise me if that is the offer. They probably know he will be sold in the summer so not a long period of time to pay a ridiculous salary and will likely get it back in the transfer fee. Now if he gets injured or the bids don't come in as expected then they are in a bit of bother.

30-01-2024, 06:43 PM

There is no way they would pay him £1m+ per year

Hibs4185
30-01-2024, 06:51 PM

That’s what I said but he said if he helps them get European football and sell him in the summer, then it’s only cost them x amount up to summer.

If you look at it like that then it’s a no brainer unfortunately

30-01-2024, 06:53 PM

Yeah but would you pay a third of that to get goals between now & may (pay packet for Feb, Mar, Apr, may only) then sell, with no ticking clock on the transfer?

That's the real situation here

30-01-2024, 06:55 PM
That’s what I said but he said if he helps them get European football and sell him in the summer, then it’s only cost them x amount up to summer.

If you look at it like that then it’s a no brainer unfortunately

The great spanner in the works being what if he gets injured etc you get no goals but £1m leeching out the door onto the Plaza

30-01-2024, 06:59 PM
Yeah but would you pay a third of that to get goals between now & may (pay packet for Feb, Mar, Apr, may only) then sell, with no ticking clock on the transfer?

That's the real situation here

The problem with that scenario is you need someone willing to play a lot of money for him and then give him a better contract than Hearts will have given him. On a 4 year contract you’re looking at £4-5m in wages on top of whatever transfer fee is paid - is that realistic for a 29 year old striker who has only ever scored goals in Scotland?

30-01-2024, 07:04 PM
Hearts would have to spend a significant amount of money to replace Shankland. Probably looking at a million plus and then you'd have wages on top of that. And let's be honest that player wouldn't be guaranteed to be a success, Shankland is about as close as you can get to a guaranteed 20 league goals minimum as you can get in the league. Of course it's not certain, but I'd suggest if he stays fit he'll hit 20 goals minimum for the next couple of seasons. He's a very good player at our level, let's not kid ourselves on.

They could be looking at it from the perspective of paying him £20k a wee for 3 seasons is £3 million with no outlay on a transfer fee.

Not saying I believe it but I can see the logic behind the suggestion.

Of course he could get injured, but any player at anytime can get injured. Boyle could have got injured at anytime but we apparently waived a substantial fee due from Saudi plus had to pay him very good wages to come back.

30-01-2024, 07:05 PM
Kerr supposedly staying at Wigan for the rest of the season.

Pollock staying at Watford and fighting for his place, wonder if that means Porteous May be off after all

30-01-2024, 07:08 PM
Shankland will likely be in the big shop window of the Euros. He definitely should be. They'll have that in mind too.

JammyDoidger
30-01-2024, 07:08 PM

I heard St Johnstone were interested, think he could be on the move like, rather keep him though tbh.

Torto7
30-01-2024, 07:33 PM
The OF don’t seem to fancy Shankland-or more likely want him on the cheap.Steve Clarke doesn’t seem to rate him for Scotland even when he immediately scores a goal. Scotland managers have often hesitated to pick a player when “all he does is score goals”which may explain our low goal count over the last few decades.

He's average that's why and a poor athlete. The SPL is a clown show and has been for years, scoring goals here doesn't mean a whole lot. Nobody with any sense would pick him over Adams or Dykes.

Paulie Walnuts
30-01-2024, 07:36 PM
Hearts would have to spend a significant amount of money to replace Shankland. Probably looking at a million plus and then you'd have wages on top of that. And let's be honest that player wouldn't be guaranteed to be a success, Shankland is about as close as you can get to a guaranteed 20 league goals minimum as you can get in the league. Of course it's not certain, but I'd suggest if he stays fit he'll hit 20 goals minimum for the next couple of seasons. He's a very good player at our level, let's not kid ourselves on.

They could be looking at it from the perspective of paying him £20k a wee for 3 seasons is £3 million with no outlay on a transfer fee.

Not saying I believe it but I can see the logic behind the suggestion.

Of course he could get injured, but any player at anytime can get injured. Boyle could have got injured at anytime but we apparently waived a substantial fee due from Saudi plus had to pay him very good wages to come back.

£20k is maybe stretching it slightly, but I genuinely think he’d be worth not far off that. Someone who scores so many goals makes you almost a cert to get Europe each season which pretty much covers it. He’s also never injured.

Got to remember Hearts already likely have guys on £7k or so, it’s not like it’s jumping from £2k to £20k.

30-01-2024, 07:38 PM
He scored 24 in 26 games in the championship for dundee utd.

He’s a goalscorer, it’s what he does. I’m surprised no-ones signed him up for his goals alone

I want him gone from hearts because he’s dragged them into 3rd place

We should’ve been all over and tried to sign him he is top Quality

Hibs4185
30-01-2024, 07:39 PM
We should’ve been all over and tried to sign him he is top Quality

A lot of people, Steve Clarke included, has Nisbet ahead of Shankland last year

30-01-2024, 07:42 PM

I don't believe £20k per week (£1m per year) but Shankland, or a goal scorer like him, should pretty much secure 3rd and Europa League group stages for a non OF club...and that's worth about £5m per annum.

jakeshibs
30-01-2024, 07:42 PM
well said

30-01-2024, 07:43 PM
I don't believe £20k per week (£1m per year) but Shankland, or a goal scorer like him, should pretty much secure 3rd and Europa League group stages for a non OF club...and that's worth about £5m per annum.

3rd doesn't guarantee group stages.

30-01-2024, 07:49 PM
3rd doesn't guarantee group stages.

Think this season is the last year where it guarantees group stage football for the conference league.

Paulie Walnuts
30-01-2024, 07:52 PM
Think this season is the last year where it guarantees group stage football for the conference league.

It doesn’t guarantee it as the Scottish Cup winner is first in line for it. It then goes to third place if either 1st or 2nd win the Scottish Cup. That being said, the original post did say it ‘pretty much’ secures it. These days in Scottish football that’s unfortunately correct as the Old Firm almost always win the cup.

Hibs4185
30-01-2024, 07:58 PM
So we could finish fifth and win the scottish cup and get group stages??

30-01-2024, 07:59 PM
So we could finish fifth and win the scottish cup and get group stages??

Yep

30-01-2024, 08:01 PM
It doesn’t guarantee it as the Scottish Cup winner is first in line for it. It then goes to third place if either 1st or 2nd win the Scottish Cup. That being said, the original post did say it ‘pretty much’ secures it. These days in Scottish football that’s unfortunately correct as the Old Firm almost always win the cup.

Yeah apologies you’re right

30-01-2024, 08:02 PM
Jeggo away confirmed

30-01-2024, 08:03 PM
Jimmy Jeggone.

All the best, Jim. Gave his all and comes across as a great pro.

Garymcl
30-01-2024, 08:04 PM
Hopefully mean another signing soon :flag:

30-01-2024, 08:05 PM
Good luck to the big guy, always tried 100% scored some, missed some but always 100%

Yip. Heid like a threepenny bit (or 50p piece for the younger generations) but if all our players bust a gut like Doidge we would be 3rd or 4th no problem.

30-01-2024, 08:06 PM
Hopefully mean another signing soon :flag:

Think Moriah-Welsh is Jimmy’s replacement mate

ElginHibbie
30-01-2024, 08:07 PM
Jeggo away confirmed

All the best to the lad, came in and gave us something we were lacking last year and seems a good guy

USA_Hibee
30-01-2024, 08:11 PM
All the best to the lad, came in and gave us something we were lacking last year and seems a good guy

100% agree. Wishing him the best with the rest of his career!

Exuberance1875
30-01-2024, 08:15 PM
Glad to see Jeggo move on, we absolutely must set standards higher than him, regardless of giving 100% - that is the bare minimum. Perhaps I’m wrong?

30-01-2024, 08:17 PM
Glad to see Jeggo move on, we absolutely must set standards higher than him, regardless of giving 100% - that is the bare minimum. Perhaps I’m wrong?

Pretty needless post.

30-01-2024, 08:27 PM
Jeggo away confirmed

Steady player, never let Hibs down

Exuberance1875
30-01-2024, 08:41 PM
Pretty needless post.

Not any more or less needless than anything else on here. Not having a go at personally him at all, it’s just my opinion that we need to have players of better ability than him

Donegal Hibby
When we signed Jeggo he came in and done the job we needed him to do at the time . Always gave 100%. Wish him all the best .

Stairway 2 7
Done a good job and worked his hardest you asked for more than that from him. Hopefully we've improved in who we've brought in. Good luck to him

30-01-2024, 08:44 PM
Not any more or less needless than anything else on here. Not having a go at personally him at all, it’s just my opinion that we need to have players of better ability than him
Just wish him well and stop being churlish, it's not like he left us under a cloud.

pepe
30-01-2024, 08:45 PM
Wish Jimmy all the best, he really steadied the ship last season when he came in and always put in a shift.

Exuberance1875
30-01-2024, 08:48 PM
Just wish him well and stop being churlish, it's not like he left us under a cloud.

He didn’t leave us under a cloud but he played like his heed was in them

30-01-2024, 08:50 PM
:doh:

30-01-2024, 08:52 PM

Dear oh dear :blah::faf:

ElginHibbie
30-01-2024, 08:54 PM

Thought you weren't having a go at him personally?

30-01-2024, 08:54 PM
I liked Jeggo. It was easy to pick on his imperfections but we seemed to be a better team when he was in it - and we've got a few players at the moment who seem to add up less than the sum of the parts, not more.

Best of luck to him.

30-01-2024, 08:55 PM
I'm not sure on Jason Kerr at all

Agreed

30-01-2024, 09:00 PM
All the best to Jeggo. Solid performer for us and I thought he was under utilised recently.

K-Zazu
30-01-2024, 09:03 PM
Does the transfer window close on Thursday? I thought it would be tomorrow night?

30-01-2024, 09:05 PM
Does the transfer window close on Thursday? I thought it would be tomorrow night?

Thursday at 11:30.

11pm in England.

30-01-2024, 09:05 PM

I assumed it was tomorrow as well but saw someone post a link before that said it was Thursday. No idea why that would be the case?

30-01-2024, 09:09 PM

Another crock, just like JDH and Mcgennis.

30-01-2024, 09:09 PM
I liked Jeggo. It was easy to pick on his imperfections but we seemed to be a better team when he was in it - and we've got a few players at the moment who seem to add up less than the sum of the parts, not more.

Best of luck to him.

Totally agree. Definitely shored us up and helped us into Europe last season.

It seems that every time we get a defensive midfielder who covers the back four well, but doesn’t offer much else, we have loads of posters who’ll say “we need better” - it rarely happens though.

Hopefully be different this time round with the new investment, but JJ was a very worthwhile transfer in any case.

HendoDelivered
30-01-2024, 09:12 PM
Aw the best JJ 👍🏼

30-01-2024, 09:12 PM

Sometimes it's best just to say nothing at all, 2-3 poor posts from you.

30-01-2024, 09:14 PM
I assumed it was tomorrow as well but saw someone post a link before that said it was Thursday. No idea why that would be the case?

Maybe because theres games on tomorrow?

VoltaireHibs
30-01-2024, 09:17 PM

The problem for Hearts is that they've been shouting to all and sundry that he's worth 5 million minimum. So they sit down with Shankland's agent and he's going to ask for wages for a player in that bracket. It's an issue for every club with a wantaway player who's value is on a high but that they want to sign a new deal. Bit like trying to square a circle.

I would have thought they'd go to maybe about 12k a week for him, signing on bonus, maybe other bits and bobs too if required. The unfortunate thing about Shankland is that he has very little pace, so his goals return probably won't decline that much as he gets older as he'll just loiter around the box and bang them in. I just hope it's elsewhere. And it's worth bearing in mind that absolutely no one has put a bid in for him, nobody.

VoltaireHibs
30-01-2024, 09:20 PM
Totally agree. Definitely shored us up and helped us into Europe last season.

It seems that every time we get a defensive midfielder who covers the back four well, but doesn’t offer much else, we have loads of posters who’ll say “we need better” - it rarely happens though.

Hopefully be different this time round with the new investment, but JJ was a very worthwhile transfer in any case.

A defensive midfielder that can stroke the ball around is probably a bit out of our reach.

Anyhow, best of luck to Jeggo, a good, honest player who seemed to be a good guy too. You can't ask for more than that.

30-01-2024, 09:21 PM
Derek Adams just said on the radio Hearts haven't made a bid to take Dhanda now and have said they don't have the money to.

Surely Budge hasn't frittered away all the spare cash on the Bal(im)moral. Or of course there's also the possibilty they were lying. 🤔

Bridge hibs
30-01-2024, 09:22 PM
Derek Adams just said on the radio Hearts haven't made a bid to take Dhanda now and have said they don't have the money to.

Surely Budge hasn't frittered away all the spare cash on the Bal(im)moral. Or of course there's also the possibilty they were lying. 🤔

Wouldnt surprise me, they are only big in their own heads

ElginHibbie
30-01-2024, 09:23 PM

All going towards Shankland's £20k a week

30-01-2024, 09:26 PM
Best of luck to Jimmy Jeggo. Came in and steadied the ship last season. I see he’s been going through some personal issues and it didn’t really affect his performances and seems to be the reason he has asked to move on.

My first ever transfer scoop as well after snooping on his ex’s insta and putting two and two together :faf:

He's here!
30-01-2024, 09:32 PM
The problem for Hearts is that they've been shouting to all and sundry that he's worth 5 million minimum. So they sit down with Shankland's agent and he's going to ask for wages for a player in that bracket. It's an issue for every club with a wantaway player who's value is on a high but that they want to sign a new deal. Bit like trying to square a circle.

I would have thought they'd go to maybe about 12k a week for him, signing on bonus, maybe other bits and bobs too if required. The unfortunate thing about Shankland is that he has very little pace, so his goals return probably won't decline that much as he gets older as he'll just loiter around the box and bang them in. I just hope it's elsewhere. And it's worth bearing in mind that absolutely no one has put a bid in for him, nobody.

This stage of his career is probably the time for him to move if he's looking to cash in.

VoltaireHibs
30-01-2024, 09:32 PM
Best of luck to Jimmy Jeggo. Came in and steadied the ship last season. I see he’s been going through some personal issues and it didn’t really affect his performances and seems to be the reason he has asked to move on.

My first ever transfer scoop as well after snooping on his ex’s insta and putting two and two together :faf:

I can't work out if that's creepy or clever. But well done anyway!

King Cosell
30-01-2024, 09:33 PM

If we're honest, Shankland is better for Hearts than Nisbet was for us, but would he be better in the English Championship? No guarantee he'd be a regular starter for teams like Birmingham, Blackburn or Stoke, and they're all below Millwall.

30-01-2024, 09:34 PM

'Unless Hearts were able to pay money and the club thought it was acceptable I wouldn’t want to lose him before the end of the season. If a club comes up with the money you can’t do anything about that but It looks like it’s highly unlikely as Hearts have said they have no money'

https://twitter.com/PLZSoccer/status/1752458043357266004?t=7UhpcfzIy1ARxTeijdPH9Q&s=19

VoltaireHibs
30-01-2024, 09:37 PM
If we're honest, Shankland is better for Hearts than Nisbet was for us, but would he be better in the English Championship? No guarantee he'd be a regular starter for teams like Birmingham, Blackburn or Stoke, and they're all below Millwall.

I think now he's better, but it was very much eeksy peeksy when they were both playing the same league. Nisbet is a far better all round footballer, but slapheid does know where the net is, sadly. Although I'd be perfectly happy if he was down south banging them in. It says a lot about his limitations that there hasn't even been a whiff of a rumour from down south about him.

VoltaireHibs
30-01-2024, 09:39 PM
'Unless Hearts were able to pay money and the club thought it was acceptable I wouldn’t want to lose him before the end of the season. If a club comes up with the money you can’t do anything about that but It looks like it’s highly unlikely as Hearts have said they have no money'

https://twitter.com/PLZSoccer/status/1752458043357266004?t=7UhpcfzIy1ARxTeijdPH9Q&s=19

Which is fairly mind-boggling if true.

badabing67
30-01-2024, 10:03 PM

How have they not got any money I thought there was a UEFA pay out recently

30-01-2024, 10:23 PM
I think now he's better, but it was very much eeksy peeksy when they were both playing the same league. Nisbet is a far better all round footballer, but slapheid does know where the net is, sadly. Although I'd be perfectly happy if he was down south banging them in. It says a lot about his limitations that there hasn't even been a whiff of a rumour from down south about him.

The stats show Shankland scores more over his career and more for Hearts than Nisbet did for Hibs.

Basically Shankland getting nearly 4 or 5 a season more goals than Nisbet on average - which is a pretty big difference for “main striker.”

30-01-2024, 10:24 PM
The stats show Shankland scores more over his career and more for Hearts than Nisbet did for Hibs.

Basically Shankland getting nearly 4 or 5 a season more goals than Nisbet on average - which is a pretty big difference for “main striker.”

What do the assist stats look like?

30-01-2024, 10:28 PM

A big part of that is his lack of injury proneness, although admittedly being available to play isn't exactly an attribute to look down upon

30-01-2024, 10:30 PM
Which is fairly mind-boggling if true.

Windowless hotel vanity projects don’t come cheap.

31-01-2024, 05:40 AM

And now the Hearts side of the story by Joel Sked

Contrary to claims made by Derek Adams about Hearts not having money, Hearts enquired about signing Yan Dhanda this month and how much he would cost.

Ross County refused to name a price, telling Hearts he wasn’t for sale and they wanted to keep him for the rest of the season

USA_Hibee
31-01-2024, 05:47 AM

Contrary to claims made by Derek Adams about Hearts not having money, Hearts enquired about signing Yan Dhanda this month and how much he would cost.

Ross County refused to name a price, telling Hearts he wasn’t for sale and they wanted to keep him for the rest of the season

I prefer Derek Adams version 😁.

31-01-2024, 05:56 AM

Why should the seller name a price up to the gimps to put an offer in? Get the impression he will likely move last thing.

31-01-2024, 06:02 AM
I think we can agree anything that comes out of Derek Adams mouth is more than likely nonsense. Or in this case I assume taken out of context.

31-01-2024, 06:24 AM
With so much chat about Hertz, I thought I was on Kickback?

With one day to go, what's the latest with the Hibees? Do we think it will be a busy day for the Hibees?

31-01-2024, 06:35 AM
I think we can agree anything that comes out of Derek Adams mouth is more than likely nonsense. Or in this case I assume taken out of context.

Nah I believe him.

31-01-2024, 06:36 AM
I think we can agree anything that comes out of Derek Adams mouth is more than likely nonsense. Or in this case I assume taken out of context.Evidence being that everything Hearts say is always balanced and measured...[emoji849]

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

31-01-2024, 06:41 AM
With so much chat about Hertz, I thought I was on Kickback?

With one day to go, what's the latest with the Hibees? Do we think it will be a busy day for the Hibees?

I think today we will sign a quarterback and a wide receiver thanks to Foley and the Gordons, and it's about time!

31-01-2024, 06:44 AM

That screams Savage calling Sked to quickly refute what Adams has said.

Pleasing.

McGruber
31-01-2024, 06:45 AM
I think today we will sign a quarterback and a wide receiver thanks to Foley and the Gordons, and it's about time!

Could also do with a goal tender

31-01-2024, 06:57 AM
Maybe we could let them borrow money from us

31-01-2024, 07:00 AM
All the best to Jimmy on his future, and I'm sure he will think of us for the rest of his life.

A busy day today hopefully or two late announcements after everyone has ate their snacks 😉

Paulie Walnuts
31-01-2024, 07:20 AM
All the best to Jimmy on his future, and I'm sure he will think of us for the rest of his life.

A busy day today hopefully or two late announcements after everyone has ate their snacks 😉

Deadline is tomorrow at 11.30pm. Don’t eat your snacks too early!

31-01-2024, 07:24 AM
Oops sorry, I'm on the wrong thread, I thought this was the transfer thread.

31-01-2024, 07:34 AM

No, it was needless.

Wish him well and move on or say nothing.

31-01-2024, 07:35 AM
Oops sorry, I'm on the wrong thread, I thought this was the transfer thread.

This is the right thread.

You feeling alright this morning J-C? 😂

31-01-2024, 07:41 AM
I assumed Bevan would be in the door by now, can’t imagine it would be a particularly difficult deal to sort out given where he’s signing from.

Cuikyhibs
31-01-2024, 07:52 AM
appreciate that a midfielder isnt not a priority but if celtic are willing to let Turnbull go, then we should be all over this
Cardiff City interested in Celtic midfielder David Turnbull - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/articles/cx7l895ey38o)

31-01-2024, 08:03 AM
Maybe we could let them borrow money from us

Denied!! Have you seen their credit history? Would only lend to them at Wonga rates of interest!! Too big a risk otherwise.