View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24
02-02-2024, 12:05 AM
McKirdy would have been that anyway, and with his recent problem quite happy for him to try get football at somewhere he's comfortable
Not sure we'll see much of Mayenda
Monty seems to like the challenge of developing young players but like you I can’t see him getting much game time
CentreForward
02-02-2024, 12:07 AM
Probably not a bad shout tbf. Killie would have had no chance of landing him in the summer, so brilliant for them to get him now.
Never any guarantees in football obviously, but it looks like they’ve added goals to a pretty solid team. Plenty of experience in their forward line too.
Given the players that we have signed I was confident that we might now have enough to end up in 4th place. I think the signing of Van Veen at Killie might now have changed that.
Paul1642
02-02-2024, 12:12 AM
Killie signing Van Veen looks like great business.
Just like with our own signings I’ll wait and see how that one turns out. I’m not convinced at all that he will come close to replicating the form he was on at Motherwell. I’m also glad that he’s chosen Kilmarnock over St Mirren as I think the are less of a threat to us and he would have scored more in the more attacking set up at St Mirren compared to Killi.
02-02-2024, 12:28 AM
Three 20-year-old CBs on loan now - all right-sided. It sounds like Bevan could maybe step in at right-back and if he's a steady Eddie not getting beyond halfway that may allow Obita more freedom to bomb on down the left. Megwa might be thinking 'why did I come back?' when two guys much the same age arrive but hopefully he digs in and makes it difficult for someone to take his place.
Amos getting up to speed could be a big factor in how well we do between now and May. We need someone with more nous and bite protecting the defence and Moriah- Welsh may be a bit raw. Marcondes has already shown glimpses of being a star turn, so let's hope he can really entertain us in his brief spell at ER.
We look top heavy with Boyle and ALF to come back and there may be a few unhappy forwards for Monty to deal with, but that's a better problem than having no one to stick the ball in the net.
02-02-2024, 12:32 AM
Just like with our own signings I’ll wait and see how that one turns out. I’m not convinced at all that he will come close to replicating the form he was on at Motherwell. I’m also glad that he’s chosen Kilmarnock over St Mirren as I think the are less of a threat to us and he would have scored more in the more attacking set up at St Mirren compared to Killi.
Fair enough, but you’d said you didn’t think any of our rivals had strengthened in any meaningful way. How can you say that if you’re not passing judgement at this point?
Can’t agree with the rest. Killie are three points above St. Mirren, have already scored more goals than them, and conceded less. Lost three less games as well. St. Mirren were fast out of the traps but have tailed off a fair bit - Killie have just plugged away all season. I think Van Veen will suit them just fine.
No guarantees as I said before, but signing a guy who scored 29 goals here last season looks to be very good business. And he doesn’t have to score at quite the same rate to still be a good signing. Was a real handful for Well in his first season when he was less prolific.
Greenio
02-02-2024, 12:34 AM
Got to be able to give him a song based on the 90’s classic Ebenezer Good…
That could actually work - Ezer good, ezer good, he's Eliezer good
Simple, repetitive, catchy - based on classic track - it's got all the ingredients!
02-02-2024, 01:14 AM
It's really nice of us to spend the next few months helping to develop other teams players instead of our own.
VoltaireHibs
02-02-2024, 01:41 AM
It's really nice of us to spend the next few months helping to develop other teams players instead of our own.
Our young players will develop better when surrounded by better quality. I trust NM to play them if they're good enough.
02-02-2024, 04:54 AM
Three 20-year-old CBs on loan now - all right-sided. It sounds like Bevan could maybe step in at right-back and if he's a steady Eddie not getting beyond halfway that may allow Obita more freedom to bomb on down the left. Megwa might be thinking 'why did I come back?' when two guys much the same age arrive but hopefully he digs in and makes it difficult for someone to take his place.
Amos getting up to speed could be a big factor in how well we do between now and May. We need someone with more nous and bite protecting the defence and Moriah- Welsh may be a bit raw. Marcondes has already shown glimpses of being a star turn, so let's hope he can really entertain us in his brief spell at ER.
We look top heavy with Boyle and ALF to come back and there may be a few unhappy forwards for Monty to deal with, but that's a better problem than having no one to stick the ball in the net.
I'm really happy with this window but as you point out in the first paragraph, the one gripe I have is the age of players we've brought in defensively.
We have a defence almost entirely made up of players who are very young and inexperienced or at the very end of their career. It's only Obita and Cadden that are in their prime.
That's not necessarily an issue if the guys we've brought in are good enough but there can't be many teams in all of Europe that plan on lining up with two 20 year olds at centre back. A 26/27 year old CB who's been around the block would have been useful I think.
Have we signed any leaders? Are these guys that will thrive in the derby and fight and scrap when the going gets tough? I guess we'll see but it's hard to see on paper at least.
02-02-2024, 05:00 AM
Apparently the deal of the window according to some
It comes down to this
To get group stage European football means someone outside the OF needs to win the Scottish Cup
Realistically that's Hibs, Killie & Aberdeen looking to win it
Maolida/Marcondes & our much-needed new midfield should help us to have a better chance, than pre window
Van Veen could be a match winner all on his own (especially in a resilient McInness team)
All good signings but it'll be who shows up in the cup games
02-02-2024, 05:13 AM
I watched these highlights of Mayenda .
https://youtu.be/nUtyf9uZGbA?si=_pXK4ndgVbenxu83
That is the most basic highlight package I’ve ever seen of a player, run cut, touch the ball cut, pass cut, run on the pitch cut
Thank goodness there's not one step over in the highlights. He's not going to score the goals that Youan scores, but maybe he'll contribute more in keeping the ball moving and giving it to those who will score. I can't see him as a starter, but looks a decent option from the bench.
02-02-2024, 05:29 AM
Interesting transfer window. Huge amount of loans which concerns me a bit, struggling to keep up. Let's hope they have the right attitude and can transform our season. A win against St Mirren is important so they start off the right way.
Filling the squad with loan players is no way for long term planning, so I’d rather we just played our own youngsters. 3rd and group stage football is long gone and we aren’t going down, so would have been a good chance to.
The summer window has to be one where we look to build and put a proper squad together. A loan signing or two if they are going to make a difference, but don’t want to see multiple loans in the summer.
High turnover of players all the time will never lead to success.
Bertie Wooster
Think available left sided CB are like hens teeth just now. Agree with Amos and hopefully he and Moriah-Welsh offer the dig and energy missing from the midfield.
I do see this window as a clear changing of the guard not just with some fringe players moving on but getting players in who are more akin to NM way of playing. Think some of these loan players might also be getting considered for permanent deals (just an opinion) but its also as likely that the number of loan deals are to see us through to the summer when there will be a bigger clearout.
02-02-2024, 05:35 AM
This is kinda my thoughts too. If he had found the magic touch surely it wouldn’t have deserted him in the Dutch second division?
02-02-2024, 05:35 AM
Yeah brilliant. Going and signing a player who was great in our league. Strange strategy... We'd have been buzzing with that. Bit disappointing he's gone to Killie. Might just put them out of reach if he replicates Motherwell form. Glad he's not gone to St Mirren at least.
02-02-2024, 05:39 AM
Boyle, Rocky and Miller will come back after being away to a completely different group of players !
The way I see it with the new players - still feel we need to improve GK and CM but surely we can’t do much worse than where we are.
Summer is going to be very interesting.
Marcondes I think will be the player that does the best.
02-02-2024, 05:44 AM
On our way back from The Rangers game, our group were all saying that we needed a clear-out. So many poorly performing players and/or players who needed replaced years ago!
I think Monty knows this too. So he's done what was probably his only option in clearing out some of the guys who will not be in his plans next season and bringing in some new players, some permanent and some on loan. I'm encouraged by what I've seen in this transfer window, but I also expect that we'll see a better quality of player coming in in the summer transfer window. Bring it on, I say!
I understand the view about developing our own youngsters and you can't criticise Monty for not doing this in the past. If the new signings are not up to it, then bringing in the youngsters is still an option, provided they haven't been sent out on loan. However, to have ditched the experienced poorly performing players and/or players who needed replaced years ago with youngsters would have been a high-risk strategy.
02-02-2024, 05:53 AM
Maybes aye, maybe naw. Yes he scored a lot of goals for Motherwell but he's hardly set the heather alight elsewhere and has been punted out on loan from a 2nd tier Dutch team after half a season. It might well be that he benefited from being in a Motherwell team that was built around him as a target. That definitely wouldn't be the case if we signed him given our style of play under Monty. I'd be confident that we have better quality strikers in our squad.
02-02-2024, 05:55 AM
It does feel like 2012 all over again, too many loan signings.
We have a very high churn of players now.
Worth remembering that in 2012 those players came in and transformed a diabolical side that was in serious danger of getting relegated.
02-02-2024, 06:01 AM
I can't say I've ever seen the two new CBs play but I'm happy we have added strength in numbers, will they be a success? Only time will tell.
Monty and Hibs have shown they do mean business and now it's time for the players to step up.
02-02-2024, 06:06 AM
Filling the squad with loan players is no way for long term planning, so I’d rather we just played our own youngsters. 3rd and group stage football is long gone and we aren’t going down, so would have been a good chance to.
The summer window has to be one where we look to build and put a proper squad together. A loan signing or two if they are going to make a difference, but don’t want to see multiple loans in the summer.
The Scottish Cup and 4th are very much still to play for.
I think this window is geared to giving the manager what he needs to finish the season strongly. If he can't do that, we'll probably be looking for someone else as summer is going to be a huge rebuild, and I'm sure that will see us bring in a much larger number of permanent deals.
It might not work this window but I don't think the club are wrong for looking short term and doing the bigger rebuild in summer when we have lots of contacts ending and have had time to plan for life with Foley and all the benefits he'll hopefully bring.
It's also been a remarkably quiet window all over Europe, with very little permanent moves - even for clubs that spend hundreds of millions.
In terms of our own players it's a tough one but we've seen bits and pieces of guys like Landers, McAllister, Rudi etc and I don't think anyone has set the heather on fire.
Whittaker has done well given his age but I thought he struggled a bit in his last few appearances. I think these guys would benefit from their own loan spell before they are ready for first team football week in, week out in the SPL. It's certainly done Megwa a lot of good.
02-02-2024, 06:15 AM
Imagine being a Dunfermline fan and your admin tweets this out a minute ago 😂😂
A #DeadlineDay signing 🐻
A new Sammy the Tammy double biscuit will be on sale this Saturday at KDM Group East End Park in the Norrie McCathie Stand 🏁
Bet that went down welll
coldingham hibs
02-02-2024, 06:20 AM
4 inexperienced players, 2 getting up to speed after injuries and 1 needing to recover form.
Hard to say what any of them will be like really but I suppose we can only hope for the best.
Still think Hearts have done better in this window (especially retaining Shankland) and others have also improved.
02-02-2024, 06:21 AM
There's no danger he's here for the development team. He'll be a good option as an impact sub, plenty pace against tired legs.
As you say basically an impact sub. If he is rapid and strong and has payed English championship then he is a step up from what we currently have. Sensible signing
02-02-2024, 06:23 AM
4 inexperienced players, 2 getting up to speed after injuries and 1 needing to recover form.
Hard to say what any of them will be like really but I suppose we can only hope for the best.
Still think Hearts have done better in this window (especially retaining Shankland) and others have also improved.
Eh?
Marcondes will be player of the season material.
02-02-2024, 06:26 AM
18 year old striker on loan.
Seems an odd one on paper. Is he much better than Rudi etc?
If he’s better than Mckirdy (let’s be honest who has done zero). Who he replaced. Then it’s job done.
Keeping Shankland yes but Fraser league 1 Charlton whose hardly kicked a ball for months.
Are you conveniently forgetting the first two attacking options we signed?
02-02-2024, 06:28 AM
Probably not a bad shout tbf. Killie would have had no chance of landing him in the summer, so brilliant for them to get him now.
Never any guarantees in football obviously, but it looks like they’ve added goals to a pretty solid team. Plenty of experience in their forward line too.
Should be a good signing for them but wonder if they’ll need to change the way they play to accommodate him. They play really direct to Vassell and they ain’t dropping him. Wonder if they might need to look at going to the dreaded 442 to get him in, given they also play with two wide players.
02-02-2024, 06:29 AM
Open Your eyes and stop fixating on our rivals.
hibbie02
02-02-2024, 06:31 AM
Thank goodness there's not one step over in the highlights. He's not going to score the goals that Youan scores, but maybe he'll contribute more in keeping the ball moving and giving it to those who will score. I can't see him as a starter, but looks a decent option from the bench.
Judging by his "Highlights" reel, he seems to be very good at coming off the bench. In fact that seemed to be the bulk of his highlights.
02-02-2024, 06:35 AM
A lot of activity this window but people will view it differently.
Maolida - Apparent quality due to CV OR came from 4th division. 2 mixed appearances to date.
Marcondes - Very impressive CV and out of our league OR not kicked a ball in 7 months and not match fit.
Luke Amos - Good CV and exactly what we need OR injury prone midfielder
Moriah Welsh - Sounds exactly like what we need with energy and well rated OR only played division 2 and hasn’t played men’s football this season
Triantis- Ball playing centre half suited to Monty’s style OR young CB who’s only played one full season in A-League and not played much this season
Bevan - highly rated ball playing centre half OR another 20 year old right sided centre half on loan
Mayenda - Highly rated young attacker or 18 year old on loan.
If you’re all one sided one way or the other it’s probably too much, the balance will as ever be somewhere in the middle.
What the board deserve credit for is recruiting players in positions we actually need and got players out who don’t impact the team whatsoever. Our squad looks much better balanced now, however the question will be are they good enough and can they stay fit.
Also the question of is it too many loans, we now have 6 I think?
The only thing for me is Van Veen, to me a no brainer. I know people will say we have Vente and Maolida - yes however im not sure Maolida is an out and out striker and Vente has struggled for goals. Van Veen imo would score a variety of goals for us, especially with Marcondes behind him.
02-02-2024, 06:36 AM
Not concerned by the loans, window was all about trying to get players in who can make an impact and get us through to the summer.
We already know Marcondes and Maolida look like good players who are going to improve us from what we had. They are both going to play every week. The two midfielders have signed for longer than just the next few months. The centre halves do concern me slightly but it’s pretty clear Montgomery wanted Triantis. If we’d got him earlier in the window I wonder if we’d still have went for Bevan or if we still just took him with it being that far down the line when the Triantis situation changed. Mayenda I think you’ll be lucky to see and seems a bit of a strange one.
hibby rae
02-02-2024, 06:38 AM
See, I'm the opposite. I find it hard to get excited when the windows are full of "experienced" journeymen who inevitably get labeled as "wage theives" after a few below par performances. I'd much rather have the young, hungry players who are looking to get to gather as far as they can in the game.
It's not an either/or though
Andymac85
02-02-2024, 06:39 AM
I suspect a couple of these guys will make big impacts and feature regularly and the others will be bit parts. That’s fine by me as long as results improve.
02-02-2024, 06:54 AM
Worth remembering that in 2012 those players came in and transformed a diabolical side that was in serious danger of getting relegated.
Yup, people forget this due to the cup final result. But when window closed we had only amassed 18 points from 25 games (0.64ppg), the same amount as last placed Dunfermline, after the window closed we went on to get 15 points from our final 13 games (1.15ppg) to finish 8 points ahead of them and reached the cup final.
cubehindthegoal
02-02-2024, 06:56 AM
Also forgot to factor in the return of those on international duty plus Cadden and to a lesser degree and a later date JDH. So much stronger all over the pitch.
A positive post in amongst the moans and groans … 😀 We are … and if this is an indicator of the type of player we are trying to get in the summer, then bodes well.
Monty has shown he knows what we need in, and he will not just take players for the sake of it (eg previous managers would likely have taken those players we had on trial on our trip at the beginning of the window and hoped for the best, he didn’t, he looked at them and said no).
So many here are desperate to moan and detract from what Hibs and Monty have done both before and during this window. Aside from wondering what motive one or two of these folk actually have, it’s also a bit tiring to hear negative after negative while watching Hibs and Monty do mid to longer term (and some shorter term hopefully, we shall see) positive stuff since he came in and during this window.
Good to hear a positive and accurate take on what we are doing. I’m enjoying the ride, I see between the lines as things are changing and improving …
… alternatively though if anyone’s thing is to not enjoy it and moan and negatively critique constantly at every development, then I guess rock on … but occasionally, hopefully, they can actually see the positives perhaps ? And tell us here lol
Probably won’t, doesn’t fit their agenda … and I still wonder what happens if we do progress, do they then say nothing … probably not, probably grudged and qualified compliments at best is what they’ll give 🙄
Have a happy day folks lol
cubehindthegoal
02-02-2024, 06:58 AM
… and what we brought in this window wasn’t either or, it was pretty balanced and strong overall, in fact for a January window was outstanding.
02-02-2024, 06:58 AM
Yes, this Mayenda the window.
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
cubehindthegoal
02-02-2024, 07:01 AM
I suspect a couple of these guys will make big impacts and feature regularly and the others will be bit parts. That’s fine by me as long as results improve.
If a couple of players we bring in, each of this and the coming windows, make big impacts, I can’t wait to see our team line up a couple of seasons down the line from now 🙂
PhilipHill
02-02-2024, 07:01 AM
Exactly where I am at with the club. Would far rather youth be given a chance than a constant turnover of loan signings.
Marcondes looks like he could be the best player outside the OF and he’s only 1.5 games in to his hibs career and it’s hard to say what he would be like? Too many people like yourself willing to write everything hibs do off, your favourites hearts signed a guy who can’t get a game for Charlton Athletic held on to a player nobody was willing to pay a price for and he’s still not signed a new contract, and been ridiculed for being strapped for cash trying to get a player in before the summer, don’t know how that can be considered a good window.
Did all these other teams who have improved sign players permanently?
PhilipHill
02-02-2024, 07:02 AM
It's not because the club rarely gives youth a chance these days.
Exactly where I am at with the club. Would far rather youth be given a chance than a constant turnover of loan signings.
They’ve been given a chance and looked out their depth, there’s a cup and 4th spot still to play for and the manager would never have been given time to the summer window playing the young guys
02-02-2024, 07:05 AM
Marcondes looks like he could be the best player outside the OF and he’s only 1.5 games in to his hibs career and it’s hard to say what he would be like? Too many people like yourself willing to write everything hibs do off, your favourites hearts signed a guy who can’t get a game for Charlton Athletic held on to a player nobody was willing to pay a price for and he’s still not signed a new contract, and been ridiculed for being strapped for cash trying to get a player in before the summer, don’t know how that can be considered a good window.
Did all these other teams who have improved sign players permanently?And you can bet your bottom dollar that if we did just flood the first team with young players then these very.same posters would be the first with the endless crapulent whining when we inevitably got pumped most weeks.
02-02-2024, 07:08 AM
With the turnover in players this month there’s no hiding place for Monty now.
He’s had his window. It’s time to start winning
Got to give them some time to gel.
Hopefully can get them going quickly and target 4th position to guarantee Europe
cubehindthegoal
02-02-2024, 07:08 AM
A lot of activity this window but people will view it differently.
Maolida - Apparent quality due to CV OR came from 4th division. 2 mixed appearances to date.
Marcondes - Very impressive CV and out of our league OR not kicked a ball in 7 months and not match fit.
Luke Amos - Good CV and exactly what we need OR injury prone midfielder
Moriah Welsh - Sounds exactly like what we need with energy and well rated OR only played division 2 and hasn’t played men’s football this season
Triantis- Ball playing centre half suited to Monty’s style OR young CB who’s only played one full season in A-League and not played much this season
Bevan - highly rated ball playing centre half OR another 20 year old right sided centre half on loan
Mayenda - Highly rated young attacker or 18 year old on loan.
If you’re all one sided one way or the other it’s probably too much, the balance will as ever be somewhere in the middle.
What the board deserve credit for is recruiting players in positions we actually need and got players out who don’t impact the team whatsoever. Our squad looks much better balanced now, however the question will be are they good enough and can they stay fit.
Also the question of is it too many loans, we now have 6 I think?
The only thing for me is Van Veen, to me a no brainer. I know people will say we have Vente and Maolida - yes however im not sure Maolida is an out and out striker and Vente has struggled for goals. Van Veen imo would score a variety of goals for us, especially with Marcondes behind him.
I see what you’re saying about two ways to view … and many here will choose to view negatively, seems to be their default position I’m learning … but I think actually you could apply that theory to all the signings that clubs outwith two in our league make. Take any player, eg Shankland prior to his move to tinycastle, and you could list potential positives and negatives .. until we actually see if they fit in and perform.
It’s been a good window. And the loans by their nature give us the access to some players we would not get a sniff at otherwise. The summer these ones end, and we resume improvements…
Stairway 2 7
02-02-2024, 07:10 AM
Judging by his "Highlights" reel, he seems to be very good at coming off the bench. In fact that seemed to be the bulk of his highlights.
He was 16 and 17 in the video, he played 15 games in the second league in France as Sochaux's youngests ever player. Just turned 18 in the summer. Vente, Alf, Boyle, Youan and Maolida will be ahead of him but if the management think he can have an impact I'll wait and see
cubehindthegoal
02-02-2024, 07:12 AM
So you haven’t seen Monty give our young players opportunities so far in his short time with us ?
02-02-2024, 07:15 AM
What youth players are not getting enough minutes in your opinion?
02-02-2024, 07:16 AM
There's no guarantee van veen would be a better goalscorer for us than vente.
He's had one good goalscoring season his entire career and is now in his 30s. Vente has a far battered scoring rate in the league that van veen has been struggling in this season.
I'd back vente to get more goals than him in the next 6 months
cubehindthegoal
02-02-2024, 07:16 AM
They’ve been given a chance and looked out their depth, there’s a cup and 4th spot still to play for and the manager would never have been given time to the summer window playing the young guys
Definitely wouldn’t have been given time by a few folk here 🙄 … he has recognised we don’t have any younger players that can slot in and fly from the off, that are a step above most … if one was, he’s be playing most matches. They need their development managed, and he’s doing that … remember also the vast majority of players who come through youth system will drop down levels. It’s the nature of it .
02-02-2024, 07:20 AM
Dearie me.
02-02-2024, 07:24 AM
Unfortunately the reality is that quite a lot of Scottish youth aren’t up to the required level. Look at other Scottish squads.
I get the part about loan signings that don’t care but a lot of our loans are up and coming players trying to impress and make a serious career. The feedback from other clubs fans seems positive too with attitude.
Of course we need a strong permanent core but think over time we will see that.
We had too many average players training and not pushing others on.
One thing is for certain Monty now has his own players so folk can’t say he needs time or his own players.
cubehindthegoal
02-02-2024, 07:27 AM
😂 yip that’s our strategy 😂 🙄😂😂 … is this comment the doomsayer trophy winner of this window … a few running him close mind 😂
02-02-2024, 07:28 AM
In sure this board was full of folk greetin due to the amount of 16/17 years olds we had in our squad that had no depth etc etc
Sign about 7 players and folk are still greeting as these very same youngsters will be stifled (for 6 months)
What a load of absolute garbage
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
02-02-2024, 07:35 AM
We had absolutely no depth in the squad and now we’re looking much stronger, can’t complain at all. Need the management team to prove they’ve got what it takes now.
02-02-2024, 07:36 AM
😂 yip that’s our strategy 😂 🙄😂😂 … is this comment the doomsayer trophy winner of this window … a few running him close mind 😂
Where is the doomsayer in my comment :dunno:
Just a bit unimpressed we're prioritising other folks youth ahead of ours.
02-02-2024, 07:36 AM
Mon the Hibees 🙂
hibby rae
02-02-2024, 07:37 AM
… and what we brought in this window wasn’t either or, it was pretty balanced and strong overall, in fact for a January window was outstanding.
We need players to hit the ground running, especially at the back, and I'm not sure young boys who are only here a few months with little first team experience will do that.
I'd like to be proven wrong but feels like I've seen this story before
Murdoch
02-02-2024, 07:39 AM
He was 16 and 17 in the video, he played 15 games in the second league in France as Sochaux's youngests ever player. Just turned 18 in the summer. Vente, Alf, Boyle, Youan and Maolida will be ahead of him but if the management think he can have an impact I'll wait and see
Got a mate who is a ST holder at Sunderland and he describes him as “quick with a wicked shot on him. But very raw and half his shots might end up in the forth.” He didn’t say the other half would hit the net but we can hope!
cubehindthegoal
02-02-2024, 07:41 AM
We’re not
babahibs
02-02-2024, 07:50 AM
And you can bet your bottom dollar that if we did just flood the first team with young players then these very.same posters would be the first with the endless crapulent whining when we inevitably got pumped most weeks.
Endless crapulent whining :faf:
I'm going to use that phrase when I next see a particular pal of mine who can be a bit of a moaner.
02-02-2024, 07:51 AM
Have you watched Hibs this season?
02-02-2024, 07:54 AM
Have you watched Hibs this season?
Twice, in the two derbies I'm willing to bet.
02-02-2024, 07:56 AM
In sure this board was full of folk greetin due to the amount of 16/17 years olds we had in our squad that had no depth etc etc
Sign about 7 players and folk are still greeting as these very same youngsters will be stifled (for 6 months)
What a load of absolute garbage
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Our young guys should be out on loan playing at a suitable level. I've seen nothing to suggest anyone on the bench in recent weeks is good enough to play week in, week out in the SPL.
Game time at a lower league in Scotland will be much better for our young players than sitting on the bench for us and getting the odd minute.
Megwa's loan is a great example - he's gone away, got rave reviews and now genuinely back in contention for a starting spot.
Rudi, Landers, MaCalister, Whittaker etc haven't shown enough imo to suggest they are ready at our level.
02-02-2024, 07:59 AM
Our young guys should be out on loan playing at a suitable level. I've seen nothing to suggest anyone on the bench in recent weeks is good enough to play week in, week out in the SPL.
Game time at a lower league in Scotland will be much better for our young players than sitting on the bench for us and getting the odd minute.
Megwa's loan is a great example - he's gone away, got rave reviews and now genuinely back in contention for a starting spot.
Rudi, Landers, MaCalister, Whittaker etc haven't shown enough imo to suggest they are ready at our level.
Megwa looks a better bet than Whittaker currently but I wouldn’t even be surprised if he is back out on loan.
Hopefully Australia are knocked out today and we have Miller back next week. Cadden on the way back. And Bevan noted as being comfortable at right back as well.
The young players have played out of necessity, think a few will go out on loan over the next few weeks.
02-02-2024, 08:04 AM
I don't think any of our young players are ready or good enough for the Hibs first team, yet. Just being honest. I've no issue with bringing in youngsters on loan if their attitude is good, they're better than what we have and can impact the first team and get us results. That obviously remains to be seen. People at the club clearly believe that to be the case.
Not sure if it's a good window yet. The lad from Bournemouth does look quality though.
They need to hit the ground running and get us in to the top six. Some hard fixtures coming up.
Hibee Daft
02-02-2024, 08:10 AM
Jeggo, Doidge, Van Veen (people think we shouldve signed)
All lack pace, players were bringing in are quick and more suited to montys 442
02-02-2024, 08:17 AM
It's chance to have a look at players we might want to buy in the future.
02-02-2024, 08:21 AM
I don't think any of our young players are ready or good enough for the Hibs first team, yet. Just being honest. I've no issue with bringing in youngsters on loan if their attitude is good, they're better than what we have and can impact the first team and get us results. That obviously remains to be seen. People at the club clearly believe that to be the case.
Not sure if it's a good window yet. The lad from Bournemouth does look quality though.
They need to hit the ground running and get us in to the top six. Some hard fixtures coming up.
If nothing else the loans have helped us start the clear out. Doidge, Jeggo, Mckirdy, Melkerson so far with a few others to go in the summer. Whitaker, Rud, Landers have all had a wee go and given them hope going forward.
Hopefully the new boys kick us on
02-02-2024, 08:28 AM
I think I'll end this now.