View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

21-01-2024, 12:51 PM
Fair enough.

Letting Youan leave would be mental imo.

He’s not nearly as good off the right, but on the left or up top I think he’s a really good player for us.

One of the only players I have any belief will score or create.

I think every other team in the league would be delighted to see us lose him

21-01-2024, 12:58 PM
Another winger? 19? On loan?

That’s a wind up surely

If he's better than we have?
If it means we can actually rotate.
The more good players we have the better.
I'm 100% positive we are looking at other positions as well.

21-01-2024, 01:02 PM
The Youan going rumour started when someone said he had come off social media. I’d be surprised if he left before the summer when we are down to the bare bones. It would need to be a really good offer.

21-01-2024, 01:34 PM
EXCLUSIVE!

Motherwell are closing in on the signing of Callan Elliot.

The New Zealand international is set for a move to Fir Park.

The right-back, who was born in Dumfries, is a free agent after leaving Wellington

VoltaireHibs
21-01-2024, 01:39 PM
Started yesterday though. Know there’s been rumours going around that he’s off. Would seem weird to me considering he started and we just signed his mate on loan.

Maybe NM is just sick of his inability to do as requested? Or sick of his attitude? I have no idea but there are various reasons a manager wants players moved on. If someone offered us 1 million for Youan I'd bite their hand off. I'd also consider any reasonable offer for Boyle. I think NM likes young players he can mould, ones that don't yet have bad habits, or a set idea of how they play. His previous experience would tend to suggest this.

VoltaireHibs
21-01-2024, 01:49 PM
Fair enough.

Letting Youan leave would be mental imo.

He’s not nearly as good off the right, but on the left or up top I think he’s a really good player for us.

One of the only players I have any belief will score or create.

I think every other team in the league would be delighted to see us lose him

I agree, but in a team that wants to play a precise system, for good or ill, he's a bit if an unreliable chaos machine. I can see why he might not be NM's type of player. In fact, I can see him struggling in the modern game, to unreconstructed, too selfish, often lazy (not always) and just generally not being a great team player. But those are the reasons he can also be a fun watch. Tricky one, but on balance I'd listen to offers.

21-01-2024, 01:51 PM
We did.

But in January we sold Porteous for what 1 million? And brought in Hoppe and CJ on loan and Jeggo on a permanent.

Summer we sold Nisbet for 2 million and then probably spent the main bulk of that on Vente, Youan, Levitt etc so I thought we had broke even.

I would have thought the Melkersen money would go towards this window and not be to cover the summer.

Tbf there will be loads of little things we don’t know about

I wonder if Boyle is costing us more than we might think?

He was on a hefty whack before he left and presumably a move to Saudi Arabia would be mainly motivated by finance. None of us know the terms of the deal for his return but I'd be surprised if he wasn't the highest paid player in our history by a country mile after coming back.

As you say - our outgoings would appear to be mitigated by various lumps of cash which have come back in.

Something doesn't really add up.

Potty78
21-01-2024, 01:54 PM
I let's sell the one player who is our main threat, frustrating as sometimes but no way should we be selling him

NGoloGrantie
21-01-2024, 01:58 PM
Don’t think youan is going anywhere. Don’t think we’re signing that bennette boy because someone is leaving, its simply because we have such a thin squad and not enough cover out wide. We only have 2 currently available. Rudi plays more through the middle CM/CAM/ST can’t see monty playing him on either wing. Mckirdy won’t be ready for a whole 90 mins until late Feb/March time. Boyle could be away for nearly over a month especially if Oz get to the final. Makes complete sense signing a winger for more cover imo. And that boy Bennette is a very good talent. Sunlun fans rate him v highly just cant get himself in the squad as Jack Clarke and Robert’s are untouchable just now. The more bodies we get in this month the better. I’m all for it

21-01-2024, 02:02 PM
Are you suggesting he’s off?

If he is this place could go into meltdown
Why?

21-01-2024, 02:15 PM
I have no problem with us bringing in another wide player, provided we still have enough resource to strengthen in other areas.

But in terms of priorities and the limited budget we're presumably working with, a CB and a CM would be much higher on my list.

21-01-2024, 02:17 PM
This Costa Rican boy appears to wear the number 9 strip for them and from looking at his YouTube reel, a lot of his goals were from central areas.

I’m not convinced him signing means Youann is away, I think it means Montgomery wants more attacking options to bring off the bench though. We’ve not been able to bring someone on who’s made a difference once since Monty arrived I don’t think.

Bad Habits
21-01-2024, 02:17 PM
Was speaking to a Sunderland supporting mate today, seems t be under the impression they are losing Jack Clarke this window. Wonder if they are looking to Youan as a replacement and we have sorted this chap into the deal?

bit of a long shot but maybe?

May21/05/216
21-01-2024, 02:21 PM
The comments on this forum are crazy and that's when we won
I dread t think what this forum if we lost

We are 5th in league with
The 5th playing budget and into the next round of the cup

So in my humble opinion
Stop panicking and support the club

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Hibs4185
21-01-2024, 02:21 PM
Another winger? Well soon be 4-1-5 with Newell the only midfielder

21-01-2024, 02:25 PM

So in my humble opinion

Sixth in the league behind two teams with significantly smaller budgets and not winning often enough. It’s possible to be pissed off with what we’re watching but still support the team.

21-01-2024, 02:26 PM

So in my humble opinion

3000 of us went to support the club yesterday and it was pish. In the hat for the next round is great of course however the performance, or lack of, was worrying

6th in the league behind Killie and St Mirren although we’ve got a couple of games in hand. Dundee and Aberdeen only 3 points behind us and they both have 2 games in hand

21-01-2024, 02:33 PM
A half fit Dylan McGeough strolls into the team

100% even a deal till end of season sure Carlisle would take some of our fringe players

21-01-2024, 02:36 PM
Are you suggesting he’s off?

If he is this place could go into meltdown

I dunno, it might get slightly warmer but meltdown it won't be.

21-01-2024, 02:36 PM
I wonder if Boyle is costing us more than we might think?

He was on a hefty whack before he left and presumably a move to Saudi Arabia would be mainly motivated by finance. None of us know the terms of the deal for his return but I'd be surprised if he wasn't the highest paid player in our history by a country mile after coming back.

As you say - our outgoings would appear to be mitigated by various lumps of cash which have come back in.

Something doesn't really add up.

Seemingly on around £7.5K, I think we had to compensate for bringing him back.

21-01-2024, 02:40 PM
Bournemouth are set to sign Catanzaro’s Panos Katseris for €3m with bonuses included.

It is said to be a five year deal with the midfielder to join Lorient, on loan, for the remainder of the season.

Bill Foley’s multi-club system in full swing. #AFCB

[@NicoSchira]

Bridge hibs
21-01-2024, 02:40 PM
100% even a deal till end of season sure Carlisle would take some of our fringe players

Folk on here moaning like **** because we are playing slow and pedestrian football yet two or three are wanting a 30 yo injury prone Carlisle midfielder back, this place is ****ing mental at times 🤣

VoltaireHibs
21-01-2024, 02:47 PM
Folk on here moaning like **** because we are playing slow and pedestrian football yet two or three are wanting a 30 yo injury prone Carlisle midfielder back, this place is ****ing mental at times 🤣

Yup. Not sure what the question is but McGeouch is not the answer. Think a few have rose tinted specs on. He was good when he was here, and fit, but he is in no way a solution to our lack of dynamism.

Torto7
21-01-2024, 02:53 PM

Ang brinb back Cummings ye ken and that big Swedish gadgie that played RB, Brin back Stokesie and Doherty , Dylan iz praticully Zidane levul, Gorduns git the finger oot.

21-01-2024, 03:00 PM
Ang brinb back Cummings ye ken and that big Swedish gadgie that played RB, Brin back Stokesie and Doherty , Dylan iz praticully Zidane levul, Gorduns git the finger oot.

What's Zambernardi up to, he could do a job for us with this long booming diagonal balls, and would give Joe some competition in the best hair compo.

Torto7
21-01-2024, 03:06 PM
What's Zambernardi up to, he could do a job for us with this long booming diagonal balls, and would give Joe some competition in the best hair compo.

Barrie shout. Get bug Holt back anaw he kin wear his wrestlin cape ye ken/

badabing67
21-01-2024, 03:25 PM
This Costa Rican boy appears to wear the number 9 strip for them and from looking at his YouTube reel, a lot of his goals were from central areas.

I’m not convinced him signing means Youann is away, I think it means Montgomery wants more attacking options to bring off the bench though. We’ve not been able to bring someone on who’s made a difference once since Monty arrived I don’t think.

Do you think NM might be thinking about change of shape, maybe a 4-3-3 which i think would be better for the players we have got

21-01-2024, 03:39 PM
Do you think NM might be thinking about change of shape, maybe a 4-3-3 which i think would be better for the players we have got

Wash your mouth out 😂

Nah, I just think he wants better options from the bench. I also think the emphasis on a 442 is OTT as more often than not there’s an attacker dropping deep and the two wingers aren’t doing much defensive work. IMO it’s closer to a 4231 in reality most weeks. If the Costa Rican boy and the guy we signed the other day can play central, I think he’ll be looking at the 3 behind the front man being inter changeable with having options from the bench.

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2024, 04:02 PM
Apologies if already mentioned though was reading that Joel Nouble was left out of the Livvy team due to two English teams and one Scottish premier team after him with one apparently not a million miles away from an agreement.

Wonder who the Scottish club is ? .

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/joel-nouble-out-livingston-team-28483954

Bridge hibs
21-01-2024, 04:06 PM
Apologies if already mentioned though was reading that Joel Nouble was left out of the Livvy team due to two English teams and one Scottish premier team after him with one apparently not a million miles away from an agreement.

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/joel-nouble-out-livingston-team-28483954Hope its not us, he isnt very good

21-01-2024, 04:06 PM
Hope its not us, he isnt very good

Think i saw earlier that he’s going to Exeter City.

21-01-2024, 04:10 PM

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/joel-nouble-out-livingston-team-28483954

Motherwell. Read it in an article earlier saying Exeter was likely but Motherwell were the Scottish Club interested.

21-01-2024, 04:10 PM
Anything more on Musa Toure ?

Bridge hibs
21-01-2024, 04:11 PM
Think i saw earlier that he’s going to Exeter City.

Phew 🫣

1875Sean
21-01-2024, 04:15 PM
Anything more on Musa Toure ?

By the sounds of it he would be coming to us in the summer if it does happen

badabing67
21-01-2024, 04:17 PM

I don't think we need him, wouldn't surprise me if STJ or Killie were in for him.

21-01-2024, 04:22 PM
I don't think we need him, wouldn't surprise me if STJ or Killie were in for him.

It’s Exeter, £125k plus add ons

Broxburn Greens
21-01-2024, 04:28 PM

Thank **** for that as I don’t see how he’d improve us, that said he might do well in that league being such a big lad and physical.

21-01-2024, 04:37 PM
Wash your mouth out 😂

Nah, I just think he wants better options from the bench. I also think the emphasis on a 442 is OTT as more often than not there’s an attacker dropping deep and the two wingers aren’t doing much defensive work. IMO it’s closer to a 4231 in reality most weeks. If the Costa Rican boy and the guy we signed the other day can play central, I think he’ll be looking at the 3 behind the front man being inter changeable with having options from the bench.

21-01-2024, 04:42 PM
Hope its not us, he isnt very good
I think he’s better than he gets credit for. Very good feet for a big lump.

Bridge hibs
21-01-2024, 04:47 PM

You could have just said those last two words, big lump 😀

If we need goals then Nouble certainly is not the answer, wonder if he can play centre half

21-01-2024, 04:50 PM

There’s a lot of the same people who are comparing about the rigid 442 also complaining about Vente dropping too deep and not being in the box enough.

FWIW I think the complaint about Vente is correct, which by default, makes the complaint about the formation incorrect.

cameronw-hfc
21-01-2024, 04:59 PM

The sort of player I wouldn't hate as a free signing to come off the bench and mix it up, but isn't he more of a winger anyway? Not really our type of wide man, and I don't see us paying any money/high wages, and neither we should.

Even then, we've got Doidge as a big man to mix it up.

21-01-2024, 05:11 PM
Owen beck just come on for Liverpool so he won’t be joining Celtic now.

Paulie Walnuts
21-01-2024, 05:12 PM
There’s a lot of the same people who are comparing about the rigid 442 also complaining about Vente dropping too deep and not being in the box enough.

FWIW I think the complaint about Vente is correct, which by default, makes the complaint about the formation incorrect.

What formation would you say Arsenal played under Wenger around the invincibles time?

Owen beck just come on for Liverpool so he won’t be joining Celtic now.

Has to stay at Liverpool or go back to Dundee?

Celtic in for Liverpool’s Owen Beck

The Daily Ranger

He just came on as a sub for Liverpool

21-01-2024, 05:13 PM
What formation would you say Arsenal played under Wenger around the invincibles time?
Dunno but here’s pretty much how Man Utd won their treble. Pretty much 4 4 2 in the main.27613

21-01-2024, 05:20 PM

Absolutely no idea, I don’t watch much foreign football.

Paulie Walnuts
21-01-2024, 05:21 PM
Absolutely no idea, I don’t watch much foreign football.

They played a 4-4-2. Nobody would ever have argued that fact.

Despite that, Bergkamp would drop a bit deeper and link with the midfield, Henry would drift out to the left, Pires would drift inside from the left and Cole would provide width by overlapping him.

It was absolutely a 4-4-2 though. Much like ours is a 4-4-2. The argument that players aren’t standing in a specific 4m2 area that you’d see them placed on a tactics board at all times so it’s not a 4-4-2 is ridiculous really. Theres literally never been a game of football where not one player hasn’t wandered out of their defined position, that doesn’t mean they weren’t playing whatever formation they were set out in though.

PHeffernan
21-01-2024, 05:25 PM
We should go for Dylan Mcgeouch 30 better than any midfielder we have he’s at Carlisle worth a punt imo

What's impressing you?
2nd bottom of the league Carlisle have played 28 league games this season and too date Dylan has played a paltry 423 minutes including 5 minutes in their last 5 league games.
Fair to say he's not exactly ripping it up.

VoltaireHibs

Despite that, Bergkamp would drop a bit deeper and link with the midfield, Henry would drift out to the left, Pires would drift inside from the left and Cole would provide width by overlapping him.

It was absolutely a 4-4-2 though. Much like ours is a 4-4-2. The argument that players aren’t standing in a specific 4m2 area that you’d see them placed on a tactics board at all times so it’s not a 4-4-2 is ridiculous really. Theres literally never been a game of football where not one player hasn’t wandered out of their defined position, that doesn’t mean they weren’t playing whatever formation they were set out in though.

I think the names of the players you have in your post give a clue as to why this system will be nigh on impossible to play here. Absolutely world class players that can basically do anything with a ball. Our players, slightly less so...

Was Wenger intransigent in playing it? Did he get drummed out of Arsenal once the game moved on? Exactly how many decades ago was this formation fashionable?

sauzeelegod
21-01-2024, 05:56 PM
Dunno but here’s pretty much how Man Utd won their treble. Pretty much 4 4 2 in the main.27613

Almost every other team played a 442 at this time as well though.

21-01-2024, 06:04 PM

One of my biggest problems with the way we are playing is players aren't moving enough. If Vente drops does he take a centre half and does Boyle use that space. we simply don't move players or the ball quickly enough to be an attacking threat. There was a few time Whittaker played 1=2s with Youan yesterday and I would like to see far more of that first touch and running on to a ball played in front of you type play. For the most part we play against markers so every forward pass received is in traffic and the easiest thing to do is knock it back or sideways. The formation doesn't bother me too much it is the lack of movement, intensity and bravery on the ball that rips ma knitting and I am not sure 433 would make much of a difference.

Rumble de Thump
21-01-2024, 06:07 PM
It seems we might be interested in signing Fofo, a Spanish striker from La Nucia. Is anyone else hearing a lot of chat about Fofo too?

21-01-2024, 06:12 PM
One of my biggest problems with the way we are playing is players aren't moving enough. If Vente drops does he take a centre half and does Boyle use that space. we simply don't move players or the ball quickly enough to be an attacking threat. There was a few time Whittaker played 1=2s with Youan yesterday and I would like to see far more of that first touch and running on to a ball played in front of you type play. For the most part we play against markers so every forward pass received is in traffic and the easiest thing to do is knock it back or sideways. The formation doesn't bother me too much it is the lack of movement, intensity and bravery on the ball that rips ma knitting and I am not sure 433 would make much of a difference.
It’s not how we play it’s the speed and intensity we do it at.

21-01-2024, 06:16 PM
It seems we might be interested in signing Fofo, a Spanish striker from La Nucia. Is anyone else hearing a lot of chat about Fofo too?

I'm sure you have people googling that right now 😅

21-01-2024, 06:17 PM
I'm sure you have people googling that right now 😅

Guilty as charged.

Turns out the player does exist, just a question of whether the rumour is real or if it’s just a rumour based on the boy having an amazing name.

21-01-2024, 06:19 PM
What's impressing you?
2nd bottom of the league Carlisle have played 28 league games this season and too date Dylan has played a paltry 423 minutes including 5 minutes in their last 5 league games.
Fair to say he's not exactly ripping it up.

Nostalgic perhaps lol and sick of watching same crap midfield

gorgie greens
21-01-2024, 06:33 PM

Hope not as he doesn't seem to great going by his stats ,might not be an improvement on what we have

21-01-2024, 06:35 PM
It’s not how we play it’s the speed and intensity we do it at. Yep, I could have saved nearly a paragraph of writing if I had stuck to that. I'd loved to hear the dialogue between Monty and the players. To me it looks like they are playing to instructions but don't have the confidence to do it at full tilt and play well within themselves

21-01-2024, 06:50 PM
Yep, I could have saved nearly a paragraph of writing if I had stuck to that. I'd loved to hear the dialogue between Monty and the players. To me it looks like they are playing to instructions but don't have the confidence to do it at full tilt and play well within themselves

It has definitely regressed from when he first came in. If you think back to his first game at Kilmarnock, I thought it was promising in terms of how we looked on the ball. We were playing out from the back, it looked risky, but we were trying to do it quickly and get out at pace.

It’s progressively just become slower and slower and the performance levels since the start of December have been dreadful.

21-01-2024, 06:54 PM

Hence the argument we need better players.

21-01-2024, 06:58 PM
It has definitely regressed from when he first came in. If you think back to his first game at Kilmarnock, I thought it was promising in terms of how we looked on the ball. We were playing out from the back, it looked risky, but we were trying to do it quickly and get out at pace.

It’s progressively just become slower and slower and the performance levels since the start of December have been dreadful.

Exactly the opposite of what you would think would and should happen. It will partly be explained by teams working us out and just sitting off us for the most part and pressing now and again to catch us out. Playing it out has cost us a couple of goals too so teh players might now be worried they make a mistake rather than making something happen. Monty really needs to give the players the belief they will not get slaughtered by him if they make a mistake doing something positive. I hope the messaging to the players is very different to the public message as his recent comments would make you believe we were playing fairly well. Dreadful, as you say, is more accurate

21-01-2024, 07:03 PM
Hence the argument we need better players.
Absolutely no arguement here. I’d keep about 3 of the current squad.

21-01-2024, 07:07 PM

That’s a great bit of business by Livi. He’s humpty. 2 goals in 26 games this season. They came against Brechin and Ayr.

He’s not got a league goal since April.

21-01-2024, 07:12 PM
Arguing over whether 4-4-2 works or not is pointless. We all know it can work but that doesn’t mean it’s the only way. There are plenty other systems that can work as well. What really matters is the quality of players you have.
Montgomery will be judged on his results in the end. So far they are not good enough and he will need to turn it round soon. Nothing so far in the window looks like it will be enough but he has another week and a bit to go.
Whatever system he plays, the team had better improve soon or we’ll be looking for a new manager. Again.

MikeyS
21-01-2024, 07:33 PM

Thats great patter, top notch comedy.

Why do you and a few others on here need to resort to this play on an accent that presumably to you means some one is less intelligent than you on a football level?

TrinityHFC
21-01-2024, 07:40 PM
Arguing over whether 4-4-2 works or not is pointless. We all know it can work but that doesn’t mean it’s the only way. There are plenty other systems that can work as well. What really matters is the quality of players you have.
Montgomery will be judged on his results in the end. So far they are not good enough and he will need to turn it round soon. Nothing so far in the window looks like it will be enough but he has another week and a bit to go.
Whatever system he plays, the team had better improve soon or we’ll be looking for a new manager. Again.

The actual formation is only part of it. It’s then how you actually play within that. I think that’s what most people are commenting on rather than if a 442 can work or not. Any formation can work well under certain circumstances.

As you say though it comes down to improving or we look for another new manager. What Hibs can’t afford is people being bored. That’s when you quickly start to see the impact on crowds and income.

PHeffernan
21-01-2024, 08:48 PM
Nostalgic perhaps lol and sick of watching same crap midfield

Tough times right enough. The midfield needs an engine.

21-01-2024, 09:00 PM
Thats great patter, top notch comedy.

Why do you and a few others on here need to resort to this play on an accent that presumably to you means some one is less intelligent than you on a football level?

Got to agree.

21-01-2024, 09:34 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-star-addresses-contract-situation-and-makes-blunt-admission-on-future-4486611

Doidge gives update re contract and future plans

21-01-2024, 09:41 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-star-addresses-contract-situation-and-makes-blunt-admission-on-future-4486611

Just read his comments on the Hibs observer. Love the guy but I think even he has a realisation that his time at Hibs is coming to an end.

gegs70
21-01-2024, 09:47 PM

Yep, seems to have been a long time since we had a decent midfield.

CentreForward
21-01-2024, 10:03 PM

60 odd goals in 300 odd games at a low level in Spain, no thanks!

21-01-2024, 10:21 PM

Really like Doidge. But there’s no way we should be offering him another contract.

CentreForward
21-01-2024, 10:34 PM
Really like Doidge. But there’s no way we should be offering him another contract.

Yes he’s certainly a great guy but you are sadly probably right about another contract.

badabing67
21-01-2024, 11:05 PM

Don't think anything will happen contracts wise until we know if Foley can invest in the club.

PHeffernan
21-01-2024, 11:48 PM
Don't think anything will happen contracts wise until we know if Foley can invest in the club.

Good point.

7Hero
22-01-2024, 06:38 AM
“ They've brought in a new laddie up front (Myziane Maolida) who looks really good, so we'll see what happens. I'm not really sure, to be honest"

LADDIE - LOL .Can't imagine Doidge saying that, but like his honesty always striked me as someone who knew his own capabilities and modest too.

No issues with Doidge, he tried his best but we need better now. Good luck to him.

Good to see he mentioned the "new laddie" is playing up front

Thank goodness for that

TrinityHibby
22-01-2024, 06:51 AM

I totally agree….contract management has been an issue for years …..Hibs can’t continue to grant contracts to average players or squad fillers if we have genuine ambition to improve

22-01-2024, 07:08 AM

IMO we need a completely new central midfield. I like Super Joe Newell, but he's too slow to move the ball forward. He's our best midfielder, but we've never been able to find the right person to play with him as a central two. Then in the wide positions, we've flair players who don't contribute enough, but in their defence rarely get the ball to run onto to beat the player. I think with the right central midfielders, the flair players would be more of a threat than they are now.

The midfield mix is just not good enough. We're far too slow at getting the ball forward, which invariably leads to the sideways / backwards passing.

Totally agree!

Scotty Leither
22-01-2024, 07:25 AM
As for the midfield, we get one “killer” pass from Newell about every 3 games or so, and Jeggo’s passing range is limited to 5-10 yards either side of him.

I’m not having the “January’s a hard window to bring in players” chat either. We’ve had two big transfer bounties and the coefficient money from UEFA.

We have had a kind draw in the Cup so there’s more revenue to come once we’re in the last eight. There will be midfield players out there that would immediately improve us, the club just will not pay the money required, it’s as simple as that.

Chipper1875
22-01-2024, 07:28 AM
IMO we need a completely new central midfield. I like Super Joe Newell, but he's too slow to move the ball forward. He's our best midfielder, but we've never been able to find the right person to play with him as a central two. Then in the wide positions, we've flair players who don't contribute enough, but in their defence rarely get the ball to run onto to beat the player. I think with the right central midfielders, the flair players would be more of a threat than they are now.

The midfield mix is just not good enough. We're far too slow at getting the ball forward, which invariably leads to the sideways / backwards passing.

Totally agree!

We play inverted wingers , so won’t get ball in space to attack fullbacks

22-01-2024, 07:47 AM
We play inverted wingers , so won’t get ball in space to attack fullbacks

That’s not set in stone tho. Wingers have freedom in the final 3rd. They just aren’t using it right now.

Chipper1875
22-01-2024, 07:52 AM
That’s not set in stone tho. Wingers have freedom in the final 3rd. They just aren’t using it right now.

He’s played that way from first game and fullbacks push on

22-01-2024, 08:04 AM
As for the midfield, we get one “killer” pass from Newell about every 3 games or so, and Jeggo’s passing range is limited to 5-10 yards either side of him.

I’m not having the “January’s a hard window to bring in players” chat either. We’ve had two big transfer bounties and the coefficient money from UEFA.

We have had a kind draw in the Cup so there’s more revenue to come once we’re in the last eight. There will be midfield players out there that would immediately improve us, the club just will not pay the money required, it’s as simple as that.Literally every manager I've seen interviewed says January is a difficult window to recruit the calibre of player you want

Are they all lying?

Note - that's difficult not impossible

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

22-01-2024, 08:11 AM
Literally every manager I've seen interviewed says January is a difficult window to recruit the calibre of player you want

Are they all lying?

Note - that's difficult not impossible

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Agree difficult, but not impossible.

There must be loads of teams in the top leagues that have good players who are just not ready for 'big' team action and would benefit from a run of 10-20 games in a competitive league. We've done it before with Allan, Irvine and Omeonga, plus many others I can't recall.

22-01-2024, 08:17 AM
We expecting a signing today?

Have to think if we’re signing Amos it’ll be announced soon. Had him in for a few days now. Hope we sign him.

22-01-2024, 08:20 AM
Writing on the wall for doidge by the sounds of it.

If this is the case I’d be all for getting him of the wage bill this window and replacing if he’s not part of the managers longer term plans.

Seems ironic when he’s exactly the type of player that thrives on the ugly games like Saturday. However think Doidge has went back the way again injuries haven’t helped him.

But I’d rather we moved him on pronto and invested in something different for short to medium term at least.

22-01-2024, 08:21 AM
He’s played that way from first game and fullbacks push on

I’m not disagreeing that it’s the standard but there is licence to change when you are in attacking areas. They just aren’t doing it enough.

22-01-2024, 08:38 AM
Writing on the wall for doidge by the sounds of it.

If this is the case I’d be all for getting him of the wage bill this window and replacing if he’s not part of the managers longer term plans.

Seems ironic when he’s exactly the type of player that thrives on the ugly games like Saturday. However think Doidge has went back the way again injuries haven’t helped him.

But I’d rather we moved him on pronto and invested in something different for short to medium term at least.

Whilst I don’t think Doidge should be given a new contract, I think it’s important we replace him with someone capable of doing a similar job.

All our forwards are quite similar and nice, Doidge is the one that will ruffle some feathers, be physical and have the ability to win an aerial duel, hold the ball up etc.

Some games/times suit players like that so it’s imperative we recruit another imo.

Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2024, 08:42 AM
Whilst I don’t think Doidge should be given a new contract, I think it’s important we replace him with someone capable of doing a similar job.

All our forwards are quite similar and nice, Doidge is the one that will ruffle some feathers, be physical and have the ability to win an aerial duel, hold the ball up etc.

Some games/times suit players like that so it’s imperative we recruit another imo.

Agree.

I don’t think Doidge is good enough anymore but he’s still better at what he does than anyone else in our squad.

badabing67
22-01-2024, 08:52 AM
Agree.

I don’t think Doidge is good enough anymore but he’s still better at what he does than anyone else in our squad.

I'd like to see him and McKirdy get some game time together I think they could form a decent partnership if given the chance.

jakeshibs
22-01-2024, 08:56 AM

We have had a kind draw in the Cup so there’s more revenue to come once we’re in the last eight. There will be midfield players out there that would immediately improve us, the club just will not pay the money required, it’s as simple as that.

who?

Dmas
22-01-2024, 08:57 AM
I'd like to see him and McKirdy get some game time together I think they could form a decent partnership if given the chance.

Holy smokes I’d rather not see that if that’s ok

Chipper1875
22-01-2024, 09:04 AM
I’m not disagreeing that it’s the standard but there is licence to change when you are in attacking areas. They just aren’t doing it enough.

It’s not happening, so players are ignoring the managers tactics or it isn’t a tactic. Whatever the issue is , needs fixed

22-01-2024, 09:07 AM
😂😂😂😂😂 Let’s bring back O’Connor and Riordan while we’re at it

Chipper1875
22-01-2024, 09:10 AM

It’s not happening, so players are ignoring the managers tactics or it isn’t a tactic. Whatever the issue is , needs fixed

sauzee1989
22-01-2024, 09:12 AM

I get everyone wishing him doing well especially after recent issues with heart but he’s shown no signs whatsoever that he’s a good footballer.

22-01-2024, 09:13 AM

Or again the majority of our players are just not very good.

22-01-2024, 09:42 AM

Yup. Bit like when Bartley left we never fully replaced him - was Milligan just after and big mistake not keeping him for another season?

Doidge is the Holt type we need for games like Saturday.

Quite a few players on Saturday (7 I think who started could easily not be starting come start of next season).

22-01-2024, 09:54 AM
Yup. Bit like when Bartley left we never fully replaced him - was Milligan just after and big mistake not keeping him for another season?

Quite a few players on Saturday (7 I think who started could easily not be starting come start of next season).

Big Doidge was tailor made for games like Saturday. He's a good weapon to have in our arsenal. I'd be gutted if he left but i'd be surprised if he wasn't moved on.

gorgie greens
22-01-2024, 09:55 AM

Something will be far wrong if those players are still with us come July ,would imagine 3 or 4 not including the younger ones out of that line up

22-01-2024, 10:02 AM
Tait away to Falkirk on loan. Confirmed

Scotty Leither
22-01-2024, 10:13 AM
who?

It's not my job to find out "who?".

I'll give you one name that would add an immediate dynamism to our team though, and that's Armstrong of Kilmarnock.

Fast and direct player that we're crying out for, chips in with the odd goal, and consistent too.

Fee wouldn't be that big either, but the club appear to have pulled the drawbridge up on spending any money at all this window, despite being the only team in the league that's received two big fees for players (Melkerson and Doig).

22-01-2024, 10:17 AM
😂😂😂😂😂 Let’s bring back O’Connor and Riordan while we’re at it

Firmly behind this suggestion.

Rumble de Thump
22-01-2024, 10:19 AM

I'll give you one name that would add an immediate dynamism to our team though, and that's Armstrong of Kilmarnock.

Fast and direct player that we're crying out for, chips in with the odd goal, and consistent too.

Fee wouldn't be that big either, but the club appear to have pulled the drawbridge up on spending any money at all this window, despite being the only team in the league that's received two big fees for players (Melkerson and Doig).

Clubs don't always fancy losing their best players in January.

Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2024, 10:20 AM

Yet we’ve arguably lost our best player in the last 2 Januarys.

We always get the same excuses from posters when it comes to Hibs not doing enough.

“We’re getting the money for player X in instalments so we can’t just go out and spend it” - well go out and buy a player in instalments, the same as other clubs do to us

“Nobody wants to lose their best player in January” - we sell our best player the last two Januarys but nobody will apparently sell their best player to us.

22-01-2024, 10:29 AM

I'm not saying we shouldn't be able to get him but the fee would easily be upwards of £500k.

22-01-2024, 10:33 AM

To direct rivals

22-01-2024, 10:34 AM
EEN reporter saying we aren’t after the Sunderland winger.

https://x.com/jonnythegreek/status/1749394022106362127?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ

Dmas
22-01-2024, 11:04 AM

Doig fee can’t be considered there was no way of budgeting for that

SickBoy32
22-01-2024, 11:06 AM
Doig fee can’t be considered there was no way of budgeting for that

Dont really see why the Doig payment being unexpected means that it can’t be spent?

22-01-2024, 11:16 AM
EEN reporter saying we aren’t after the Sunderland winger.

https://x.com/jonnythegreek/status/1749394022106362127?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ

Yes as said likely possible interest prior to Maolida signing

jakeshibs
22-01-2024, 11:55 AM

But you made it sound so easy, yet every manager has always expressed how difficult the January window is to get quality players, does Armstrong want to leave ? is he interested in hibs , how much did the club actually make compared to money spent on getting players in, how much is available to invest in new players after money spent on compensation for manager's and their assistant's

22-01-2024, 12:06 PM
I love Doidge the person he seems to love it here and conducts himself well at everything he's asked to do and gives us no headaches whatsoever. However I'm indifferent on the player.

If he wanted to stay it would need to be at a cheap enough rate to really justify doing it, because between his injuries and outright lack of returns (in the league at least) it's not worth it at all if he's picking up a decent wage compared to the rest of some of his teammates.

Crunchie
22-01-2024, 12:14 PM
But you made it sound so easy, yet every manager has always expressed how difficult the January window is to get quality players, does Armstrong want to leave ? is he interested in hibs , how much did the club actually make compared to money spent on getting players in, how much is available to invest in new players after money spent on compensation for manager's and their assistant's
:agree: If only it was as easy as some make out.

22-01-2024, 12:28 PM
I'm not saying we shouldn't be able to get him but the fee would easily be upwards of £500k.

Nouble just moved from Livi to Carlisle for £125k, Killie wouldn't be entertaining any low ball bids for their best player. At £500k they'd be letting him go for too little!

22-01-2024, 12:34 PM

Nouble just moved from Livi to Carlisle for £125k, Killie wouldn't be entertaining any low ball bids for their best player. At £500k they'd be letting him go for too little!

Just shows you that even huddies like that can cost a penny to get.

Scotty Leither
22-01-2024, 12:38 PM
:agree: If only it was as easy as some make out.

It’s easy to get panic signings on the last day of the window though. If that’s going to play out I’d rather we didn’t bother and concentrate all our energy on sealing the Foley deal.

21/05/2016
22-01-2024, 12:49 PM
https://x.com/F_Abolhosseini/status/1749422941350109349?s=20

22-01-2024, 12:51 PM

Barely played any football the past few seasons but obviously a very talented player going by the level he's played at. Marcondes and Vente up top. Could be class.

USA_Hibee
22-01-2024, 12:51 PM

Papa Foley providing the goods?

22-01-2024, 12:57 PM
BREAKING! Emiliano Marcondes to Hibs transfer ‘very close’ as Bournemouth connection sees Danish striker head to Easter Road

dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football

22-01-2024, 12:59 PM
He's got the team wrong.

So he’s going to a different Scottish team?

22-01-2024, 01:00 PM
Yogi had the goalkeeping school, we now seem to have one for forwards, i've lost count of how many we have? :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
BREAKING! Emiliano Marcondes to Hibs transfer ‘very close’ as Bournemouth connection sees Danish striker head to Easter Road

dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football

Been out all season injured. Been on the bench for Bournemouths last 2 games but not came on. At least you’d have to presume he was ready to go.

Had an exceptional last season in Denmark scoring a goal a game, not quite as exciting since he came over to Britain but he also appears to have become a midfielder rather than a striker since coming here.

He's got the team wrong.

Huh?

22-01-2024, 01:01 PM
Big Doidge was tailor made for games like Saturday. He's a good weapon to have in our arsenal. I'd be gutted if he left but i'd be surprised if he wasn't moved on.

Other than score the goal and make the clearance off the line I thought he was very poor on Saturday

USA_Hibee
22-01-2024, 01:02 PM
Huh?

I think the original tweet had Brighton instead of Bournemouth.

NGoloGrantie
22-01-2024, 01:03 PM
What a signing he’d be. Think it’s a loan initially with a permanent move in the summer when his contract runs out. Great signing imo

Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2024, 01:04 PM
What a signing he’d be. Think it’s a loan initially with a permanent move in the summer when his contract runs out. Great signing imo

You’ve heard that? Or you’re just presuming?

On paper he looks like he could be a really good signing.

22-01-2024, 01:05 PM

Surely it'll just be a loan until the summer then his contract expires and he'll probably head back to Denmark or something. Having him til the summer will do me though!

22-01-2024, 01:05 PM
Been out all season injured. Been on the bench for Bournemouths last 2 games but not came on. At least you’d have to presume he was ready to go.

Had an exceptional last season in Denmark scoring a goal a game, not quite as exciting since he came over to Britain but he also appears to have become a midfielder rather than a striker since coming here.

Seems he’d be perfect for the role Vente has been playing in recently going by that move in position.

Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2024, 01:09 PM
Seems he’d be perfect for the role Vente has been playing in recently going by that move in position.

Yeah I’d agree. Hopefully meaning Vente moves up top to play on the last man.

He’d presumably be ready to play straight away from a work permit POV since he’s already in the UK.

22-01-2024, 01:12 PM
On paper you’d have to say Marcondes, Maolida and if we sign Amos are three of the best signings we’ve made in recent years

A quality centre half on top of those 3 and you’d have to think we’ll start moving forward, surely

Heedersnvolleys
22-01-2024, 01:12 PM
It’s easy to get panic signings on the last day of the window though. If that’s going to play out I’d rather we didn’t bother and concentrate all our energy on sealing the Foley deal.

I don’t see how one affects the other????

delaCalz
22-01-2024, 01:13 PM

Yeah think he will be perfect for that role which will hopefully let Vente get the goals

andrew70
22-01-2024, 01:14 PM
On paper you’d have to say Marcondes, Maolida and if we sign Amos are three of the best signings we’ve made in recent years

A quality centre half on top of those 3 and you’d have to think we’ll start moving forward, surely

Correct mate. Patience is a virtue I guess.

22-01-2024, 01:15 PM

I don’t know them from Adam to be honest but as you say on osier and from reels looking positive. If they have the character the team needs and can drive them forward as well as the obvious skill it can only be a good thing.

22-01-2024, 01:20 PM
If he's fit and ready to pla and we can land the pair of him and Amos on half decent deals then I'd be extremely happy with that. Just add a CB as others say and I'd say the club have done well on the surface this window, can maybe move a few on if possible as well.

Just need to tie it all together on the park for the last half of the season.

TheHibernator
22-01-2024, 01:20 PM
All good and well, but our defence is made of paper mache. A couple defenders a must before the window closes. A single centre half at the very least.

22-01-2024, 01:21 PM
All good and well, but our defence is made of paper mache. A couple defenders a must before the window closes. A single centre half at the very least.

**** wasting money on defenders.

Willis1875
22-01-2024, 01:22 PM

We need better all over the pitch.NM said he wanted 4 this window,this would be our 2nd signing so still scope to get another 2 in hopefully

22-01-2024, 01:24 PM

Is the Foley deal getting held up because of our transfer dealings?

JammyDoidger
22-01-2024, 01:27 PM
A boy that can score a free kick, please make it happen Hibs.

22-01-2024, 01:31 PM
https://youtu.be/93-F31QGDbk?si=UpL6s_h0EgULmTID

The fact he can hit free kicks

Sign him

👍🏻

22-01-2024, 01:35 PM
**** wasting money on defenders.

Couldn’t agree more Flash, well said.

If we are really struggling for numbers at the back I’ll step in and play for free (as long as I can still go for a pint first). Let’s concentrate on scoring goals and loads of big sexy goals at that.

If they score 7, we’ll score 8, **** em

NGoloGrantie
22-01-2024, 01:56 PM
You’ve heard that? Or you’re just presuming?

On paper he looks like he could be a really good signing.

From daily record article.

‘It's likely that would be an initial loan with Hibs then open to sign him permanently in the summer when his Bournemouth contract expires.’

22-01-2024, 01:58 PM
Him, the other new felly, Amos, a CB and Griffiths and we will be flying!

Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2024, 01:58 PM
From daily record article.

‘It's likely that would be an initial loan with Hibs then open to sign him permanently in the summer when his Bournemouth contract expires.’

Ah nice one, cheers.

22-01-2024, 02:02 PM

Agree.

Shanksaidno
22-01-2024, 02:16 PM

Starting to feel a bit more optimistic again after the down of Saturday ... please let it all happen

22-01-2024, 02:40 PM
Scored in the Play off final at Wembley for Brentford that got them promoted to the PL 2 years ago https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wlD4QqrALM

22-01-2024, 02:41 PM
Just remember what we are doing will be cheating and not within the integrity of the sport….. well that’s from a Jambo chum! [emoji1787]

22-01-2024, 02:47 PM
Max Boruc off to Arbroath on loan.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-31935212

badabing67
22-01-2024, 02:49 PM
Surely it'll just be a loan until the summer then his contract expires and he'll probably head back to Denmark or something. Having him til the summer will do me though!

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/emiliano-marcondes-hibs-transfer-very-31939003

expresso
22-01-2024, 02:49 PM
Fitness will be the key factor though

22-01-2024, 02:50 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/emiliano-marcondes-hibs-transfer-very-31939003

Every team would be open to sign him in the summer though, he'd be out of contract.

22-01-2024, 02:51 PM
Max Boruc off to Arbroath on loan.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-31935212

Hope he gets game time, he'll certainly see a lot of action for the team bottom of the Championship.

Think he's looked a good keeper whenever called upon so I'm sure he'll do well.

PHeffernan
22-01-2024, 02:51 PM

Yeah it's easy saying go and get him.
Armstrong is contracted to Killie for another 16 months. My guess is that in this window he would cost 750k.
It ain't happening is it.

22-01-2024, 03:06 PM
Scored in the Play off final at Wembley for Brentford that got them promoted to the PL 2 years ago https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wlD4QqrALM

He was also MOM.

This little montage is making me pray we get him.

https://x.com/skybet/status/1429473438746349568?s=46&t=KQxCdT4HU58YyVv_hqKvFA

22-01-2024, 03:15 PM
Any new players available for Wed night?

King Cosell
22-01-2024, 03:20 PM
Fitness will be the key factor though

Fit enough to be on the bench and ready to face Liverpool yesterday.

22-01-2024, 03:21 PM
Any new players available for Wed night?

Hoping Maolida will have clearance.

22-01-2024, 03:23 PM
https://twitter.com/kristemple/status/1749465485433790694?t=k2BZT9zziUoXNPxWaf0qfw&s=19

This guy seems to be pretty clued up on Bournemouth stuff......

22-01-2024, 03:36 PM
Is it time for everyone to shamelessly get on board for a bit of excitement now??

Dreariness is getting a bit boring. Roll on some hope.

Donegal Hibby
22-01-2024, 03:38 PM
Maolida, Vente, Boyle, Youan and Marcondes if it happens really gives us some incredible options in attack . Probably as good as options I can remember us having . Certainly can't fault the club/ Owners for lack of ambition in there efforts imo.

22-01-2024, 03:39 PM
No danger these guys would be linked to us with out the Foley connection. Let the good times roll.

Torto7
22-01-2024, 03:42 PM
Marcondes looks really good. Very exciting signing.

I would like to see some defensive quality if possible like others(I think NM said we were close to one then it fell apart so they are clearly looking). Rob Jones?

Torto7
22-01-2024, 03:43 PM
No danger these guys would be linked to us with out the Foley connection. Let the good times roll.

:agree: Once he has his stake confirmed I suspect Hibs are going to look very different in the summer.

TheGreenMan
22-01-2024, 03:43 PM
Can he play centre half?

22-01-2024, 03:45 PM
Can he play centre half?

We won't need centre halves.

22-01-2024, 03:45 PM
Maolida, Vente, Boyle, Youan and Marcondes if it happens really gives us some incredible options in attack . Probably as good as options I can remember us having . Certainly can't fault the club/ Owners for lack of ambition in there efforts imo.
The new famous 5.:agree:

jakeshibs
22-01-2024, 03:52 PM
Is it time for everyone to shamelessly get on board for a bit of excitement now??

mon the cabbage

22-01-2024, 03:53 PM
I’ve never seen the lad play but from a quick search of his career this looks an outrageous signing, far too good for us - one you’d expect Rangers or Celtic to make.

Looks like the enjoy him whilst we can type, I imagine if he performs anything like he’s capable he’ll have far better offers than us in the summer.

Fair play to the board.

…………………..…Marshall/Wollacott…………..

Miller/Megwa…..Rocky/Fish…..Hanlon/New CB…..Obita/Stevenson…

Youan/Boyle…….Amos/Levitt…..Newell/Jeggo….Jair/Maolida

…………………..Marcondes/ALF…..Vente/Doidge……

If all signed, looks significantly stronger. That’s not including JDH, Cadden, Campbell, McKirdy etc

New centre half a must in addition to those we look like signing and you don’t know where we could finish

jakeshibs
22-01-2024, 03:53 PM
Can he play centre half?

we need a midfield first

Gordy M
22-01-2024, 03:54 PM
we need a midfield first

He is a midfielder is he not?

HendoDelivered
22-01-2024, 03:55 PM
Can he play centre half?

No but Monty will play him there instead of Vente now :greengrin

22-01-2024, 03:58 PM
:agree: Once he has his stake confirmed I suspect Hibs are going to look very different in the summer.

Yep. Roll on the Foley era!

22-01-2024, 03:58 PM
I'm about to have a Son and I'd love it if he didn't have to go through the amount of utter ***** we've all done for the past 30 years of my existence. Mon Foley.

22-01-2024, 04:05 PM
Boruc, Harbottle and Delferriere all likely to be away in next 24/48 hours.

Boruc already confirmed as away to Arbroath on loan.

https://twitter.com/ScotsmanSport/status/1749475907784314888

expresso
22-01-2024, 04:10 PM
Fit enough to be on the bench and ready to face Liverpool yesterday.

Great stuff

22-01-2024, 04:15 PM
I'm about to have a Son and I'd love it if he didn't have to go through the amount of utter ***** we've all done for the past 30 years of my existence. Mon Foley.

Name him Foley

CentreForward
22-01-2024, 04:16 PM
He’s definitely not a striker but an attacking midfielder. Hasn’t scored a great deal of goals anywhere, only 10 in the last 6 years and 5 in 99 games for Brentford and Bournemouth.

Hibs4185
22-01-2024, 04:17 PM
Name him Foley

Foley Verse is a cracking name

HIBS NUTS
22-01-2024, 04:17 PM
Boruc, Harbottle and Delferriere all likely to be away in next 24/48 hours.

Boruc already confirmed as away to Arbroath on loan.

https://twitter.com/ScotsmanSport/status/1749475907784314888
Why was Alan delferriere given a new 3 year contract, when he has hardly played any first team games.
On the rare occasion he has played, he’s looked poor. ��

22-01-2024, 04:18 PM
Why was Alan delferriere given a new 3 year contract, when he has hardly played any first team.
On the rare occasion he has played, he’s looked poor. 😔

Loan for first team experience?

22-01-2024, 04:19 PM
We won't need centre halves.

Providing someone from the back is willing to play the ball forwards every now and again. 😂

Hibs4185
22-01-2024, 04:20 PM
Why was Alan delferriere given a new 3 year contract, when he has hardly played any first team games.

He helps towards the number of home grown players you need for the champions league next year

coldingham hibs
22-01-2024, 04:20 PM
We always build our hopes up about new signings and how great we will be, unfortunately it has very, very rarely transpired in my near 50 years of watching Hibs. Hopefully this may be one of those rare occasions but let’s not overreact before we have witnessed anything.

I suppose it’s the hope that kills you though 😂.

HIBS NUTS
22-01-2024, 04:24 PM
Loan for first team experience?
He played in the Dutch second division, with MVV for a season, he’s been 2 years with us , and he’s 21, 22 in march, and he’s now been loaned out.
I think it was a strange decision to offer him a 3 year contract, if he can’t get into our threadbare, squad, we’re kids 17 year old are getting on in front of him.

22-01-2024, 04:24 PM
:hyper

Chipper1875
22-01-2024, 04:31 PM
He played in the Dutch second division, with MVV for a season, he’s been 2 years with us , and he’s 21, 22 in march, and he’s now been loaned out.
I think it was a strange decision to offer him a 3 year contract, if he can’t get into our threadbare, squad, we’re kids 17 year old kids are getting on in front of him.

Very strange, especially when our midfield is average

HIBS NUTS
22-01-2024, 04:36 PM
Very strange, especially when our midfield is average
What makes it worse is he played right back, and 16 year old rory Whittaker, is in front of him .

22-01-2024, 04:45 PM

To be fair, in your last 30 years we have won the Scottish Cup, and a couple of Mickey Mouse cups to boot. Others have seen much, much leaner periods!

22-01-2024, 04:56 PM
What makes it worse is he played right back, and 16 year old rory Whittaker, is in front of him .

He had a couple of stinkers at RB at the start of the season but when he played CM I thought he looked much better.

When he was at RB he seemed to have a decent touch and weight of pass but his awareness looked all over the place - the pace of play catching him out and he was all over the shop defensively.

He looked every bit the kind of player who needed to go on loan, play games, and learn the game. Oh, and being played in his best position would probably help.

22-01-2024, 04:57 PM

I was up at Forfar Will take any excitement going

Torto7
22-01-2024, 04:59 PM

A cheap punt on a young player who's shown signs of versatility?

VoltaireHibs
22-01-2024, 05:10 PM
Foley Verse is a cracking name

Hmm...into the FoleyVerse!

Let's hope it's more Marvel than DC.

22-01-2024, 05:31 PM
Hmm...into the FoleyVerse!

Let's hope it's more Marvel than DC.

Is this now the office name for the financial stratosphere we’re moving up into?

22-01-2024, 05:31 PM

Or another recruitment misfire extending the contract of a guy who had done nothing to merit one in the previous year. It was a baffling decision to extend.

22-01-2024, 05:35 PM
It’s fair to say that this lad and Amos are a level above what we have been able to sign recently. Both proven championship players in England. We haven’t been able to get players from there for a while now.
Hope they can stay fit.[emoji1696]

VoltaireHibs
22-01-2024, 05:46 PM
Is this now the office name for the financial stratosphere we’re moving up into?

I think so. Hibees...assemble!!!

22-01-2024, 05:47 PM
James Scott could be on the move with Motherwell,Dundee, St Mirren and Ross County showing an interest.

Chipper1875
22-01-2024, 05:48 PM

Versatility bad in many positions

Paulie Walnuts
22-01-2024, 05:55 PM
James Scott could be on the move with Motherwell,Dundee, St Mirren and Ross County showing an interest.

You just know he’ll score against us.

HIBS NUTS
22-01-2024, 06:09 PM
You just know he’ll score against us.
He has to score eventually, he was terrible for us.

22-01-2024, 06:10 PM
I’m sure he scored a hat trick in his final game. Quota done and dusted for a good while yet.

22-01-2024, 06:10 PM

Until that last game of course.

PHeffernan
22-01-2024, 06:15 PM

Delferrier is 22 in 6 weeks time so next season is **** or bust for him.
In the meantime he is better getting lots of gametime and that won't be at Hibs this season.
Will probably move out on loan the day after we sign a midfielder which should happen this week.

HIBS NUTS
22-01-2024, 06:34 PM
Until that last game of course.
Since he left hibs , he’s played 16 times for the mighty Exeter city , and scored 2 goals.
Hopefully no one comes on here, and says he can do a job for us.

Donegal Hibby
22-01-2024, 06:37 PM
I was reading what Bournemouth had to say about Marcondes and in a early post a Brentford fan said he didn't play as well as a striker for them though was good as a number 10 .

https://bournemouth-forum.vitalfootball.co.uk/threads/emiliano-marcondes.14149/

Didn't know we tried for him in the summer too ! .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/bournemouth-attacker-on-way-to-hibs-but-its-not-a-foley-buy-in-benefit-4488387

22-01-2024, 06:38 PM
Or another recruitment misfire extending the contract of a guy who had done nothing to merit one in the previous year. It was a baffling decision to extend.

I was a bit surprised to see it myself. My only real thought process was that he perhaps had a clause trigger an extension. Otherwise it didn’t make too much sense to do a 3 year deal for him.

22-01-2024, 06:43 PM
Has he signed yet

Ive been refreshing this thread since I got in from work 😂

22-01-2024, 06:44 PM
Has he signed yet

Ive been refreshing this thread since I got in from work 😂

I’ve seen a few people on Twitter suggesting there’ll be an announcement at 8pm tonight, suspect it’s just guesswork though.

Cheshire Hibee
22-01-2024, 06:48 PM
He’s definitely not a striker but an attacking midfielder. Hasn’t scored a great deal of goals anywhere, only 10 in the last 6 years and 5 in 99 games for Brentford and Bournemouth.

Apparently when at Brentford he was played as an 8 but he sees himself as a number 10

22-01-2024, 06:50 PM
Wonder if Amos will be signed in time for Wednesday

22-01-2024, 06:51 PM
I’ve seen a few people on Twitter suggesting there’ll be an announcement at 8pm tonight, suspect it’s just guesswork though.
:I'm waiti

They have been at it all night posting the pen or the hour glass or the 👀 or the 📝. If something happens they can pretend to be ITK, if it happens tomorrow then they claim a slight delay. Absolutely at it

Wonder if Amos will be signed in time for Wednesday

What would the deadline be for that? 1945 tomorrow?

22-01-2024, 06:53 PM
Looking at any footage of Amos, you have to think if he can be anywhere as good as he was a few seasons back and we can get him on a longer than 6 month deal then Amos and someone like Josh Nisbet could be a very good midfield 2?

22-01-2024, 06:55 PM
They have been at it all night posting the pen or the hour glass or the 👀 or the 📝. If something happens they can pretend to be ITK, if it happens tomorrow then they claim a slight delay. Absolutely at it

Yeah, lot of the same people were talking about Dhanda signing for us and also that the Foley deal was done and set to be announced.

Some are at it on the wind up but there’s others absolutely desperate to be seen to be in the know.

22-01-2024, 06:58 PM
Don’t think we can underestimate the effect Amos, Maolida and Marcondes will have on the fans and the current players.

All the players will raise their game massively knowing theirs genuine quality and competition for places and not a couple of 16/17 year olds lads awaiting their debut - nothing against the young boys who are all good players

Greenwich_Hibby
22-01-2024, 06:58 PM
In reality, naebody outwith the club has a clue..

King Cosell
22-01-2024, 06:59 PM

8pm if they go for him frying up some bacon video, 9:30pm for a Hans Christian Andersen extravaganza.

NGoloGrantie
22-01-2024, 07:05 PM
Surely no ffs [emoji2357]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240122/0899e79844d6d9a221fc6aacc75e9d19.jpg

22-01-2024, 07:06 PM
Surely no ffs [emoji2357]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240122/0899e79844d6d9a221fc6aacc75e9d19.jpg

There was defo a story on the Hibs insta earlier with the pen and 8pm next to it. It’s not on there now.

gorgie greens
22-01-2024, 07:24 PM

Guy on a Hibs Facebook page saying he crashed in to his agent at Gogar tonight ,player wasn't in the car ,unsure if it was on the way back to the airport or coming from it

7Hero
22-01-2024, 07:26 PM
Guy on a Hibs Facebook page saying he crashed in to his agent at Gogar tonight ,player wasn't in the car ,unsure if it was on the way back to the airport or coming from it

It got posted here earlier, in this thread..

cameronw-hfc
22-01-2024, 07:30 PM

I know the boy saying he was in the rtc. He's not the type to make it up tbf.

22-01-2024, 07:35 PM
I know the boy saying he was in the rtc. He's not the type to make it up tbf.

There's every chance he's genuine, but I wonder how he knew he was a football agent on a business trip.

I've always just asked for name, registration number and insurance company. Unless the police were involved and were asking questions. :hmmm:

22-01-2024, 07:38 PM
I was involved in an accident going to a game a few years ago. One of the witnesses that gave me his name was called Max Steele. Turns out he was a newsreader on the radiogram.

22-01-2024, 07:40 PM
There's every chance he's genuine, but I wonder how he knew he was a football agent on a business trip.

I've always just asked for name, registration number and insurance company. Unless the police were involved and were asking questions. :hmmm:

Some people are friendly and conversational.

22-01-2024, 07:49 PM
Aberdeen fan who does a bit of analysis on Aberdeen players/targets and sometimes other clubs signings has put this together on Emiliano Marcondes

@AberIytics

https://x.com/AberIytics/status/1749532289938141583?t=lUsOyMCrmE_TgLLaEDZgmg&s=09

22-01-2024, 07:49 PM
Don’t think we can underestimate the effect Amos, Maolida and Marcondes will have on the fans and the current players.

All the players will raise their game massively knowing theirs genuine quality and competition for places and not a couple of 16/17 year olds lads awaiting their debut - nothing against the young boys who are all good players

It's beginning to feel like signing Suazee and Latapy again.

22-01-2024, 08:00 PM
Twitter now everyone :hyper

Yasssss!! It’s actually happening 💚

Announcement imminent

It'd happening! Twitter teaser

22-01-2024, 08:01 PM
Manbun.!!!!Here we go. 👏👏👏👏👏

22-01-2024, 08:02 PM
Huge

cameronw-hfc
I wonder if it was genuinely delayed an hour due to the crash 😂.

Top stuff from hibs though. Window looking not too bad so far now.

Genuinely can’t believe a player who was on the bench in the premier league last night is about to join us. It’s ****ing class being stinking rich

22-01-2024, 08:04 PM
Genuinely can’t believe a player who was on the bench in the premier league last night is about to join us. It’s ****ing class being stinking rich

Don’t want to get carried away but we are winning the league.

Paulie Walnuts
Gareth Bale it is then.

Won’t be match fit. Always injured.

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1749537420519887176?s=19

https://i.ibb.co/zPpMDh2/Screenshot-20240122-210321-X.jpg (https://ibb.co/6DzMLRt)

22-01-2024, 08:05 PM

It might be James Scott...