View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24
Crunchie
22-01-2024, 08:05 PM
Genuinely can’t believe a player who was on the bench in the premier league last night is about to join us. It’s ****ing class being stinking rich
That made me spit out my tea :greengrin
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1749537420519887176?s=19
https://i.ibb.co/zPpMDh2/Screenshot-20240122-210321-X.jpg (https://ibb.co/6DzMLRt)
upload pic (https://imgbb.com/)
Is that Jackson Irvine
Don’t want to get carried away but we are winning the league.
In the champions league next season will we have to give the whole south stand to away fans?
Greenio
22-01-2024, 08:06 PM
Who is it?
22-01-2024, 08:06 PM
Is that Jackson Irvine
Peter Haring
Bridge hibs
22-01-2024, 08:07 PM
Think its that 33 yo Striker from the Spanish 4th Division
22-01-2024, 08:07 PM
Who is it?
It’s either Gareth Bale, Jackson Irvine or Emiliano Marcondes. I know where my money is.
aberhibsfc
22-01-2024, 08:08 PM
Is that Jackson Irvine
That's what I thought.
22-01-2024, 08:08 PM
In the champions league next season will we have to give the whole south stand to away fans?
Yes but charge them triple the price.
Peter Haring
[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]
Imagine the scenes!
Silky
22-01-2024, 08:10 PM
Who is it?
New signing for the women's team.
King Cosell
Peter Haring
Jesus, imagine it was.
Bridge hibs
Just one silhouette then, wonder if Amos will be tomorrow
22-01-2024, 08:11 PM
Is that Jackson Irvine
Barry McKay
22-01-2024, 08:11 PM
It’s either Gareth Bale, Jackson Irvine or Emiliano Marcondes. I know where my money is.
Bale? There are plenty of golf courses near east mains am sure!
22-01-2024, 08:12 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1749537420519887176?s=19
https://i.ibb.co/zPpMDh2/Screenshot-20240122-210321-X.jpg (https://ibb.co/6DzMLRt)
Scaramouch scaramouch will we do the fandango?
ibrahimovic out of retirement
Zava
Greenio
22-01-2024, 08:13 PM
Scotsman saying we are in for Marcondes
He does have a man bun
22-01-2024, 08:16 PM
Confirmed
Tell you who it isnae
Scott Fraser [emoji1787]
It’s Emiliiano. Official. 😁😁😁
Interesting announcement video
Well.
This is interesting.
22-01-2024, 08:17 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X7s2q8aic2M
Emiliano Marcondes: Welcome To Hibernian FC
The wiki page of Marcondes has his current club as Hibernian, I'll take that !
Greenio
Marcondes confirmed.
Nice
EGL2000
22-01-2024, 08:18 PM
Brilliant bit of business!
I'm sure someone will flag up that it's rubbish, but I like the video. Nice bit of self-awareness that they drive us mental at times.
ElginHibbie
Preferred the Superbad/Role Models ones personally :greengrin
22-01-2024, 08:20 PM
Never knew this player existed 24 hours ago
Now I can’t believe we signed him
Hibs how very dare you
Did I miss something? I really didn’t get it at all.
I'm sure someone will flag up that it's rubbish, but I like the video. Nice bit of self-awareness that they drive us mental at times.
Yep. I love it
Paulie Walnuts
Subject to international clearance. That likely to be through for Wednesday?
22-01-2024, 08:21 PM
Looking forward to seeing what standard of centre half we bring in this window based on the first 2 signings and potential signing of Amos
He was on the Bournemouth bench on Sunday v Liverpool so would assume it should be straight forward given he was already playing in the UK? No work permit issues or time delay which is good.
22-01-2024, 08:23 PM
Did I miss something? I really didn’t get it at all.
It’s a rip off of the Ajax announcement for Henderson.
https://x.com/afcajax/status/1748070311512219937?s=46&t=bdJsB3RQwSUdEBTbKsgiuQ
MagicSwirlingShip
Looking forward to seeing what standard of centre half we bring in this window based on the first 2 signings and potential signing of Amos
Kerr
He was on the Bournemouth bench on Sunday v Liverpool so would assume it should be straight forward given he was already playing in the UK? No work permit issues or time delay which is good.
International clearance is needed for transfers between England and Scotland.
22-01-2024, 08:25 PM
Kerr
You guessing or heard something?
I thought of him when they said a centre half who’s situation changed last minute. Kerr played for the first time in a while last week I think it was and by all accounts done well, could have changed Maloney’s mind
Hibees1973
22-01-2024, 08:25 PM
Maybe we are not signing a centre half.
From the players signed maybe Montgomery is changing to a 2-4-4 formation.
Only kidding. :cb
22-01-2024, 08:26 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X7s2q8aic2M
Emiliano Marcondes: Welcome To Hibernian FC
Sounds like Montgomery played a huge part in making this happen.
22-01-2024, 08:27 PM
That makes it very good actually, was cringing before I saw that 🤣
Why do we need "international clearance" for a player moving from England to Scotland?
Makes sense now 😁
ElginHibbie
22-01-2024, 08:29 PM
Why do we need "international clearance" for a player moving from England to Scotland?
All transfers do, just a formality
King Cosell
22-01-2024, 08:30 PM
That might shift a few tickets for Wednesday.
22-01-2024, 08:32 PM
Ok, never heard of the guy……should I be excited?
ElginHibbie
22-01-2024, 08:32 PM
He's wearing number 3 and good at set pieces? Definitely winning the cup
22-01-2024, 08:33 PM
Ahhhh I hadn’t seen that!
22-01-2024, 08:36 PM
Very excited about our two signings
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2024, 08:37 PM
I thought of him when they said a centre half who’s situation changed last minute. Kerr played for the first time in a while last week I think it was and by all accounts done well, could have changed Maloney’s mind
Think Wigan have signed another CH on loan maybe that changes Kerr's position with Maloney .
22-01-2024, 08:39 PM
Different football associations.
22-01-2024, 08:39 PM
They have been at it all night posting the pen or the hour glass or the 👀 or the 📝. If something happens they can pretend to be ITK, if it happens tomorrow then they claim a slight delay. Absolutely at it
There’s a poster on the pm board who is definitely ITK.
In fact there will be nobody who will beat him for knowledge
aberhibsfc
22-01-2024, 08:46 PM
How do folks think Monty will set the team out now? Youan up top with Vente? Tavares subs? How would we be when Boyler gets back? Possibility of Amos signing?
Still need some work on the defence, not heard anything further about a goalkeeper since Klinsman was touted earlier.
22-01-2024, 08:47 PM
How do folks think Monty will set the team out now? Youan up top with Vente?. Tavares subs? How would we be when Boyler gets back?
Think Youan and Boyle out with, Levitt and Newell in the middle with Vente and Marcondes up top with the latter dropping deep to get on it and make things happen
Hopefully a new centre half and Amos to come in still
King Cosell
22-01-2024, 08:48 PM
Hibs Twitter usually says Goodnight after a signing, was a 9:16 after Maolida signed. Could there possibly be another?
22-01-2024, 08:48 PM
I'm sure there is, and im sure it filters out to Twitter, but it's daily with some of these boys so eventually they will get something right 😁
I have absolutely no doubt there are a good few genuine ITK guys.
22-01-2024, 08:49 PM
Yip been spot on, Ben kensell now posting on here!!
Keepthefaith
So, for all the folks slagging the club off, no ambition, rotten to the core, no strategy etc etc...what are your thoughts?
This lad was looked at 6 months ago and knew we were interested then apparently. So we now have a pacy striker and box to box creative midfielder with potential for other signings based on Monty saying we had a defender lined up.
Maybe shows the club actually do know what they're doing or would you rather we'd bought Greg Stewart and McGeoch?!
Also interesting to hear him saying in detail how he's bought into the managers philosophy, possession based attacking football...
Marcondes from what I've seen of him will be a very good player for us.
Will he be the 10 ? That seems to be the role he usually plays or will he play deeper?
He's a big unit too - good age and experience. Seems well liked at other teams too so finally a player with some character and probably become a fans favourite.
Hibs Twitter usually says Goodnight after a signing, was a 9:16 after Maolida signed. Could there possibly be another?
Nah, no way. They’d save it til tomorrow to maximise engagement I reckon. Hope I’m wrong and we announce Amos.
1875M
Centre half and centre mid in this window would be brilliant. If we get that in, squad is shaping up nicely for the second half of the season.
MagicSwirlingShip
22-01-2024, 08:50 PM
Not heard anything. Guessing!
22-01-2024, 08:51 PM
Centre half and centre mid in this window would be brilliant. If we get that in, squad is shaping up nicely for the second half of the season.
Honestly think both are badly needed. If we manage it wow, what a window.
berwickhibee
22-01-2024, 08:52 PM
Even amateurs need international clearance, if you moved from coldstream to Alnwick you need to wait in IC. Nightmare for teams on the border especially.
Hibees1973
22-01-2024, 08:53 PM
Ok, never heard of the guy……should I be excited?
Maybes aye, maybes naw.
He must be getting a wage at Bournemouth that we couldn't even get near, so it is a break from the norm. This is the first piece of proof with regards to Foley being involved.
It could be the shape of things to come from Bournemouth. Players on the fringes who do not get decent game time or young players coming to Hibs to develop.
This is the start.
22-01-2024, 08:55 PM
Maybes aye, maybes naw.
He must be getting a wage at Bournemouth that we couldn't even get near, so it is a break from the norm. This is the first piece of proof with regards to Foley being involved.
It could be the shape of things to come from Bournemouth. Players on the fringes who do not get decent game time or young players coming to Hibs to develop.
This is the start.
I think Maolida would have been out of reach as well.
22-01-2024, 08:56 PM
Maybes aye, maybes naw.
This is the start.
The two loans are highly encouraging. They should be way out of reach.
22-01-2024, 09:00 PM
Nah, no way. They’d save it til tomorrow to maximise engagement I reckon. Hope I’m wrong and we announce Amos.
Do we think he will leave the woolpack?
HFC93
22-01-2024, 09:00 PM
Emiliano Marcondes and Myziane Maolida are a level above the type of signings we’ve been making for years. Interesting times.
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2024, 09:03 PM
With Maolida and Marcondes signed maybe Amos and a CH too hopefully , along with Cadden , Mckirdy and JDH coming back will be interesting to see how we line up now with a lot stronger bench to choose from too .
jakedance
22-01-2024, 09:03 PM
Looking decent. Quality rather than quantity needed so give me a defender and central midfielder and we’ll move up the leagues. Left and right backs needed too, obviously, but if we can be solid through the centre of the park we’ll be in good shape.
Hibees1973
22-01-2024, 09:05 PM
Dylan Tait sent out on loan and Emiliano Marcondes in on loan.
I think represents an upgrade.
Still to see Marcondes play, but it is intriguing.
Keepthefaith
22-01-2024, 09:11 PM
Looking decent. Quality rather than quantity needed so give me a defender and central midfielder and we’ll move up the leagues. Left and right backs needed too, obviously, but if we can be solid through the centre of the park we’ll be in good shape.
Marcondes is an attacking midfielder though, so playing 442 means he'll be centre mid with maolida upfront?
22-01-2024, 09:11 PM
Another thing I think is really important about Marcondes is his ability from set pieces.
Too many teams in our league just haul our forwards down when we’ve countered them or got in good positions knowing we don’t have much of a threat, especially direct.
They’ll think twice about that now which will open the game up and present more opportunities for us
22-01-2024, 09:14 PM
Hearts loan deal for Scott Fraser has hit a snag.
22-01-2024, 09:18 PM
:hyper
22-01-2024, 09:21 PM
he's realised they don't have a castle view after all
So, for all the folks slagging the club off, no ambition, rotten to the core, no strategy etc etc...what are your thoughts?
This lad was looked at 6 months ago and knew we were interested then apparently. So we now have a pacy striker and box to box creative midfielder with potential for other signings based on Monty saying we had a defender lined up.
Maybe shows the club actually do know what they're doing or would you rather we'd bought Greg Stewart and McGeoch?!
Also interesting to hear him saying in detail how he's bought into the managers philosophy, possession based attacking football...
Great post! It does my head in when people, with absolutely no knowledge, accuse the club of sitting on their hands doing nothing. Meanwhile folks are working for months to make deals like this happen. Well done Hibs!
22-01-2024, 09:25 PM
Are attacking options are wild - we just need players at the back so we leak less goals and I would still argue all day about another CM.
22-01-2024, 09:36 PM
Interested to see where our two new signings will play.
I think Marcondes will be the 2nd striker up top allowing Vente to stay high as a number 9. Then Maolida maybe off the wing, but he described his best position as a striker, so maybe he plays up top too....
Bring in a CM and a CH of similar quality and we are absolutely in business for the 2nd half of the season.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
22-01-2024, 09:50 PM
I think Marcondes will be the 2nd striker up top allowing Vente to stay high as a number 9. Then Maolida maybe off the wing, but he described his best position as a striker, so maybe he plays up top too....
Bring in a CM and a CH of similar quality and we are absolutely in business for the 2nd half of the season.
That’s what I see..
Maolida on left.
Vente higher
Marcondes 10
Boyle right
Hence why we need a CM and CH and we maybe onto something.
22-01-2024, 09:52 PM
If this is how Montys first window is looking then anyone wanting him out is operating on an empty head.
22-01-2024, 09:53 PM
The Rangers got their loan signing from Wolves through in time to play against Killie on January 2nd.
Would the SFA dare hold up clearance so he misses der *** ? Course they would . :grr:
21sMay
22-01-2024, 09:54 PM
Another one tomorrow guys 👍
22-01-2024, 09:55 PM
Another one tomorrow guys [emoji106]
Amos ?
21sMay
22-01-2024, 09:57 PM
Amos ?
Apparently so . Just passing on what I've heard, was also told he was a done deal today though so we shall see
22-01-2024, 10:00 PM
Amos ?
That’s the CM then…
Ok a CB next ?!
21sMay
22-01-2024, 10:02 PM
That’s the CM then…
Ok a CB next ?!
Definitely need both
Keepthefaith
22-01-2024, 10:04 PM
If this is how Montys first window is looking then anyone wanting him out is operating on an empty head.
but but Mcdermott and Monty and Kendall don't have a clue, they should be nowhere near our club, they've done nothing to find a player of any quality...mcinnes of course would be signing better than these guys...
I of course fully agree with you. just frustrates me so much when fans on here spout entitled, attention seeking melodrama to try and prove their own agenda against the club. thank christ there are some of us who are prepared to sit back and see the evidence unfold before reacting...
I do think we'll see a couple more leave btw - I know we want a bigger squad but this definite lift in quality might well see Doige away for one and if Amos coming in can't see us holding on to JDH and Jeggo too.
22-01-2024, 10:10 PM
Based on the comments I expect Maolida to play through the middle. Montgomery also described his best position as being central, would be strange to then use him differently.
Either way, I hope we can get them both on the pitch this week. We need some kind of spark.
22-01-2024, 10:13 PM
Amos ?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalkhttps://images.app.goo.gl/kQuTqspAdX2JhHNA8
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
22-01-2024, 10:22 PM
Emiliano Marcondes and Myziane Maolida are a level above the type of signings we’ve been making for years. Interesting times.
Very true. But there is a reason they are available and patience will be required since these guys are sure to be a bit rusty. Same would apply to Amos if he signs. Hopefully they can get up to speed quickly and get us up out of our seats with some moments of magic.
aberhibsfc
22-01-2024, 10:26 PM
Wonder if we'll have any options built in to take these players on if they do well and we had sufficient funds.
It would be nice to see Hibs becoming a real thorn in the league.
22-01-2024, 10:28 PM
he's realised they don't have a castle view after all
The put him up in the hotel. He realised what a shower of ***** he was signing for and said **** that.
McGruber
22-01-2024, 10:30 PM
With Maolida and Marcondes signed maybe Amos and a CH too hopefully , along with Cadden , Mckirdy and JDH coming back will be interesting to see how we line up now with a lot stronger bench to choose from too .
Starting to look a lot healthier, and don't forget ALF who I think we have really missed.
Maolida, Marcondes, Vente, Youan, Boyle, Tavares, Le Fondre. Plenty options - not forgetting Doidge and McKirdy of course.
King Cosell
22-01-2024, 10:36 PM
It's seems like almost every season 'transformational season' but this time, I think, we're all happy to accept it and look forward to major activity in the summer. Not giving up on 3rd, not until it's mathematically impossible, but would be quite happy with a top 5 finish.
Did I see on here, or it might have been Twitter, that we're not even paying any of Marcondes's wages?
22-01-2024, 10:57 PM
Did I see on here, or it might have been Twitter, that we're not even paying any of Marcondes's wages?
It’s what big teams do apparently.
22-01-2024, 10:57 PM
As with all new signings, we need to see how they get on but this looks seriously impressive on paper.
If we can bring in Amos as suggested and a CB it'll be a very exciting end to the season.
Hopefully we can push up the table and then summer should give us even more room for maneuver.
Exciting times ahead.
MKHIBEE
23-01-2024, 06:27 AM
Do we think he will leave the woolpack?
Ask Mr Wilkes
23-01-2024, 06:28 AM
I think you are on stage 4 of the 7 emotional stages of being Hibs supporter.
Hahaha too true.
23-01-2024, 06:31 AM
That’s what I see..
Maolida on left.
Vente higher
Marcondes 10
Boyle right
Hence why we need a CM and CH and we maybe onto something.
If we're that attacking, we'll need the reincarnation of Gerrard with a sprinkle of Makelele to hold the fort in the middle of the park
23-01-2024, 06:32 AM
I think you are on stage 4 of the 7 emotional stages of being Hibs supporter.
I’m expecting a complete rebuild in summer.
New number 1 GK will be needed
Back line will be different - no Hanlon and Stevenson probably
Central midfield needs more
Still no left footed winger
Front line will keep some but will lose Doidge and probably Alf
Plus all the other deadwood we seem to have.
23-01-2024, 06:45 AM
A CM and CB then who knows what the team will produce, a few tough games coming up so hopefully the new boys can settle in early.
McGruber
23-01-2024, 06:56 AM
but but Mcdermott and Monty and Kendall don't have a clue, they should be nowhere near our club, they've done nothing to find a player of any quality...mcinnes of course would be signing better than these guys...
I of course fully agree with you. just frustrates me so much when fans on here spout entitled, attention seeking melodrama to try and prove their own agenda against the club. thank christ there are some of us who are prepared to sit back and see the evidence unfold before reacting...
I do think we'll see a couple more leave btw - I know we want a bigger squad but this definite lift in quality might well see Doige away for one and if Amos coming in can't see us holding on to JDH and Jeggo too.
These are very exciting signings and players with real pedigree and proven quality.
As for Hibs fans - hibs fans spout nonesense all the time. The thoughts of the Hibs fans in terms of how the club is run and the signings made, the recruitment team/process etc is full of ill informed, made up, contradictory and revisionary rubbish. Not all Hibs fans but vast majority which goes for vast majority of football fans of all clubs, and I'm no exception.
Everyone to a man in a state of delirium at the club having the ambition and money to go out and sign Vente. Everyone suprised and delighted we got Youan permanently and he'd make us millions. Hundreds of baths being filled with beans at the prospect of signing Levitt, a mid season long fan campaign to get Fish signed. Fast forward and the squad is hopeless as is everyone involved in recruitment.
Here we are again, excitement and optimism - we hope it goes well, it could be fast forward and fans demanding heads roll for not strengthening in Jan, that we should have known Maiolda was lazy, Marcondes injury prone, Amos not fit enough etc.
Not so long ago there was the opinion on here people should lose jobs and walk away from club at the prospect of NOT signing Harry McKirdy when it seemed like it fell through on deadline day.
Every signing is a gamble, some work some don't and sometimes the success or otherwise is due to factors that have nothing to do with the player or their ability. We are all blessed with hindsight.
So we don't know what goes on and we spout nonesense - but in the main.. so we should. We are football fans, we have the right to be fickle, to get carried away, live in hope, celebrate our wins and wallow in despair (which is more often than we'd like). It's an emotive game and we all love Hibs so as long as it doesn't get personal or abusive it's all fair game.
These signings are quality and are going to propel us to third and into Europe, well done Hibs and all involved. I'll be back in a few months to slag these players and the team in a few months if it doesn't work
Hibs4185
23-01-2024, 07:26 AM
They’re having to ask JA for another £4 million so they can try and keep up with the hibees!
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 07:28 AM
These are very exciting signings and players with real pedigree and proven quality.
As for Hibs fans - hibs fans spout nonesense all the time. The thoughts of the Hibs fans in terms of how the club is run and the signings made, the recruitment team/process etc is full of ill informed, made up, contradictory and revisionary rubbish. Not all Hibs fans but vast majority which goes for vast majority of football fans of all clubs, and I'm no exception.
Everyone to a man in a state of delirium at the club having the ambition and money to go out and sign Vente. Everyone suprised and delighted we got Youan permanently and he'd make us millions. Hundreds of baths being filled with beans at the prospect of signing Levitt, a mid season long fan campaign to get Fish signed. Fast forward and the squad is hopeless as is everyone involved in recruitment.
Here we are again, excitement and optimism - we hope it goes well, it could be fast forward and fans demanding heads roll for not strengthening in Jan, that we should have known Maiolda was lazy, Marcondes injury prone, Amos not fit enough etc.
Not so long ago there was the opinion on here people should lose jobs and walk away from club at the prospect of NOT signing Harry McKirdy when it seemed like it fell through on deadline day.
Every signing is a gamble, some work some don't and sometimes the success or otherwise is due to factors that have nothing to do with the player or their ability. We are all blessed with hindsight.
So we don't know what goes on and we spout nonesense - but in the main.. so we should. We are football fans, we have the right to be fickle, to get carried away, live in hope, celebrate our wins and wallow in despair (which is more often than we'd like). It's an emotive game and we all love Hibs so as long as it doesn't get personal or abusive it's all fair game.
These signings are quality and are going to propel us to third and into Europe, well done Hibs and all involved. I'll be back in a few months to slag these players and the team in a few months if it doesn't work
Good post :agree:
Mark05
23-01-2024, 07:31 AM
It says on the bbc gossip page that Harbottle and delferriere are away this window. Does anyone know if it's permanent or out on loan.It doesn't seem they have a future at the club so probably best if it was permanent to try and kick-start their career's
23-01-2024, 07:35 AM
Calm down, signing these two players doesn't exonerate the club's signing history over the past few years, does it?
Maybe there are some of of us who feel they have sat back and let the evidence unfold already and that's why there is discontent. You can clap your self happy all you want, I'll wait and see how these guys perform before getting over stimulated by them. Great signings on paper but there are provisos, including either not having played any/much football in recent times.
You should probably also learn to try and reconcile yourself to the fact that you can be unhappy with the state of the football team without having an agenda against the club.
MikeyS
23-01-2024, 07:42 AM
Calm down, signing these two players doesn't exonerate the club's signing history over the past few years, does it?
Maybe there are some of of us who feel they have sat back and let the evidence unfold already and that's why there is discontent. You can clap your self happy all you want, I'll wait and see how these guys perform before getting over stimulated by them. Great signings on paper but there are provisos, including either not having played any/much football in recent times.
You should probably also learn to try and reconcile yourself to the fact that you can be unhappy with the state of the football team without having an agenda against the club.
Top post and exactly my feelings on the situation.
Never heard of either of the new signings but on paper they appear to be a level above our usual signings so I obviously hope we have won a watch with them.
Still think we are desperately needing a new CM, possibly 2, and a new CH to go in beside Fish.
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 07:56 AM
Also a good post. The idea that our previous transfer business/performance on the pitch now becomes acceptable because we’ve just made what on paper looks like a couple of good signings is nonsense.
23-01-2024, 08:01 AM
All fair points.
23-01-2024, 08:03 AM
Also a good post. The idea that our previous transfer business/performance on the pitch now becomes acceptable because we’ve just made what on paper looks like a couple of good signings is nonsense.
It's the irony of the self-congratulatory triumphalism whilst at the same time calling others entitled attention seekers with an agenda, you've got to admire the irony of it.
Still, if we manage a CH and a CM in the next couple of days I'll be giving it.........seldom is heard a discouraging word.
cubehindthegoal
23-01-2024, 08:04 AM
Totally agree. It’s his first opportunity to bring in players of his choice. I’ll keep saying it until hopefully people negative on him constantly will realise .. hopefully also this window will be enough for the Monty doomsayers to give him the proper summer window he deserves … probably won’t be enough for some though 🙄
23-01-2024, 08:06 AM
Yeah i agree. On paper very good signings but they need to have the right attitude, have the match sharpness to hit the ground running and the manager needs to play them in their best positions and get the best out of them. I am excited by them though and it's been great to feel a bit of positivity about Hibs again after weeks of dross.
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 08:07 AM
Totally agree. It’s his first opportunity to bring in players of his choice. I’ll keep saying it until hopefully people negative on him constantly will realise .. hopefully also this window will be enough for the Monty doomsayers to give him the proper summer window he deserves … probably won’t be enough for some though 🙄
You don’t just ‘deserve’ things in football. You have to work for them and show that you’re good enough to ‘deserve’ them. If he deserves the summer window, he’ll get it. If he doesn’t deserve it, for example if we finish bottom 6, then he likely won’t get it, and that’ll absolutely be deserved.
23-01-2024, 08:16 AM
Is it though? Or is he getting the players given to us by Foley or BMc? I doubt Montgomery is signing the players in the same way i doubt LJ signed Youan or Vente. He's there to coach them and get the best out of them. Huge question marks over whether he can do that yet.
Clap yourself happy all you want, really? I think you miss the OP's main point, in what I thought was an excellent post. There is no signing which is guaranteed to be a success. What IMO is wrong is the constant vilification of our recruitment team, owners and staff at our club. There's a repeated implication that they've been content to let things drift and are not making the necessary efforts on behalf of our club. As in OP post, the McKirdy transfer was a perfect example of this behavior. I would hope that you and others would be gracious enough to agree those perceptions may be wrong.
Keepthefaith
23-01-2024, 08:23 AM
It's the irony of the self-congratulatory triumphalism whilst at the same time calling others entitled attention seekers with an agenda, you've got to admire the irony of it.
Still, if we manage a CH and a CM in the next couple of days I'll be giving it.........seldom is heard a discouraging word.
You're just not getting my point. I'm not saying that everything at the club is perfect at all. What I am calling out is the over the top criticism and negativity folk on her come out with based on guess work. I've previously accepted that the club have made mistakes in recruitment in the not too distant past. What I'm challenging is those that state generalisations that the club aren't planning to recruit the right players in the right position. I'm challenging those that state we have no strategy, that McDermott is useless and that McInnes would automatically do a better job , based on some hypothesis that he's Scottish?
So no, there's no irony or self congratulations here. I'm just trying to encourage fans to try and be more measured in their opinions...we should all have a healthy debate and share different views but as another poster said we veer from high to low far too quickly and my worry is that as a fan base we connect all too readily with the negative narrative more than any positive.
I have no idea if we'll kick on from here. What I do know is I trusted the new strategy of the club and intent to learn from past mistakes to move us in the right direction. I think these signings show that
aberhibsfc
23-01-2024, 08:23 AM
Hibs linked with another attacking midfielder.
https://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/football/sunderland-afc/sunderland-attacker-linked-with-hibernian-switch-during-january-transfer-window-4488644
Keepthefaith
23-01-2024, 08:25 AM
Clap yourself happy all you want, really? I think you miss the OP's main point, in what I thought was an excellent post. There is no signing which is guaranteed to be a success. What IMO is wrong is the constant vilification of our recruitment team, owners and staff at our club. There's a repeated implication that they've been content to let things drift and are not making the necessary efforts on behalf of our club. As in OP post, the McKirdy transfer was a perfect example of this behavior. I would hope that you and others would be gracious enough to agree those perceptions may be wrong.
Thank you! Someone understands at least!🤣
23-01-2024, 08:26 AM
https://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/football/sunderland-afc/sunderland-attacker-linked-with-hibernian-switch-during-january-transfer-window-4488644
Only 19 but has played at a World Cup. Not sure we need another wide player though.
23-01-2024, 08:26 AM
Can we find the Mixu era meme about us playing with eight attackers?
Chipper1875
23-01-2024, 08:28 AM
Wow slagging hibs fans for sharing their disappointment and how bad our transfers have been . People behind bad management appointments and player signings has cost the club millions. That’s before blowing third spot and the millions that brought.
Vente totally over the top comment. Probably most haven’t seen him play.
Levitt totally over the top..
We signed two players on paper that sound excellent. Let’s hope they deliver on the pitch .
cubehindthegoal
23-01-2024, 08:29 AM
Is it though? Or is he getting the players given to us by Foley or BMc? I doubt Montgomery is signing the players in the same way i doubt LJ signed Youan or Vente. He's there to coach them and get the best out of them. Huge question marks over whether he can do that yet.
Need to agree to disagree … I don’t see the huge question marks that there were for the last few managers. Your point will stand if no-one here blames him for the players coming in being not good enough if they turned out that way … no credit then also no blame for choosing poor players. However, he has already looked at one or two (and possibly more we are unaware of) and turned them down.
I believe he can coach them also. Time will tell.
23-01-2024, 08:31 AM
This guy was mentioned previously and I think one of the EEN or Hibs Observer journos said we weren't pursuing it. Can't find it now, but IIRC the implication was that we might have enquired previously but were no longer interested (after signing Maolida perhaps).
jakeshibs
23-01-2024, 08:32 AM
Well said Sir
cubehindthegoal
23-01-2024, 08:32 AM
You don’t just ‘deserve’ things in football. You have to work for them and show that you’re good enough to ‘deserve’ them. If he deserves the summer window, he’ll get it. If he doesn’t deserve it, for example if we finish bottom 6, then he likely won’t get it, and that’ll absolutely be deserved.
So we just get rid after one window … keep doing that twice a year … until someone deserves to stay by having a wee good run … we have had that happen all to often. I and a few others see a different potential here in our manager … some don’t, and want to see more .. fair enough. But I stick with my views too.
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 08:34 AM
You're just not getting my point. I'm not saying that everything at the club is perfect at all. What I am calling out is the over the top criticism and negativity folk on her come out with based on guess work. I've previously accepted that the club have made mistakes in recruitment in the not too distant past. What I'm challenging is those that state generalisations that the club aren't planning to recruit the right players in the right position. I'm challenging those that state we have no strategy, that McDermott is useless and that McInnes would automatically do a better job , based on some hypothesis that he's Scottish?
So no, there's no irony or self congratulations here. I'm just trying to encourage fans to try and be more measured in their opinions...we should all have a healthy debate and share different views but as another poster said we veer from high to low far too quickly and my worry is that as a fan base we connect all too readily with the negative narrative more than any positive.
I have no idea if we'll kick on from here. What I do know is I trusted the new strategy of the club and intent to learn from past mistakes to move us in the right direction. I think these signings show that
It’s not based on guess work. It’s based on what we’re all watching with our own eyes. We’ve watched us sell our best players the last two transfer windows. We watched us appoint a rookie manager in Maloney to take over a struggling team and back him with a load of project signings after getting rid of the guy who was carrying our team. We still watch Stevenson and Hanlon regularly play significant amount of games throughout the season, does that scream coherent strategy?
As for the idea folk think McInnes would do a good job simply ‘because he’s Scottish’… it’s not even something worth replying to it’s that ridiculous a statement. Why aren’t we pining for every Scottish manager around in that case?
On paper the two boys we’ve signed this window look like they have the potential to be very good signings. That doesn’t mean we now have to pretend that the previous windows/seasons didn’t happen though.
cubehindthegoal
23-01-2024, 08:34 AM
Agree
NGoloGrantie
23-01-2024, 08:35 AM
https://x.com/jonnythegreek/status/1749725704118305239?s=46&t=teWgCfrX60lbBmqMtdAt4g
jakeshibs
23-01-2024, 08:39 AM
totally agree
jakeshibs
23-01-2024, 08:45 AM
Fantastic post and my feelings exactly, great to hear we were talking to him in the summer
23-01-2024, 08:48 AM
Emmanuel Johnson has left Hibernian FC by mutual consent.
Best of luck for the future, EJ 💚
23-01-2024, 08:50 AM
It’s possible the recruitment is still rubbish, only time will tell. What is clear is that these players are more expensive and have a higher pedigree than what we were signing previously. That has to be a good thing.
We haven’t been able to sign players like this for a long time.
23-01-2024, 08:51 AM
We are not interested in him.
Emmanuel Johnson away, no great surprise
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 08:51 AM
Emmanuel Johnson away, no great surprise
Has he ever even made the bench?
23-01-2024, 08:52 AM
Best of luck for the future, EJ [emoji172]
Had you wrote that we had just signed him I would have been none the wiser.[emoji23]
23-01-2024, 08:55 AM
I had to Google who he was. Had no idea he was still here. Hope we manage to move on some more established players as well.
23-01-2024, 08:57 AM
Genuinely thought we had got rid of him at the last window.
NGoloGrantie
23-01-2024, 09:02 AM
Harbottle away to Colchester
23-01-2024, 09:02 AM
We can confirm that Riley Harbottle has joined Colchester on loan until the end of the season.
Best of luck, Riley!
23-01-2024, 09:04 AM
This must mean a centre half is incoming.
Basildon Hibs
23-01-2024, 09:05 AM
Top post and exactly my feelings on the situation.
Never heard of either of the new signings but on paper they appear to be a level above our usual signings so I obviously hope we have won a watch with them.
Still think we are desperately needing a new CM, possibly 2, and a new CH to go in beside Fish.
👍👊
USA_Hibee
23-01-2024, 09:05 AM
It's all happening the last two days. Good luck to those who have joined and those who have left.
Hopefully we get a CB in soon now the Harbottle has left.
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 09:12 AM
This must mean a centre half is incoming.
You’d have to think so. That leaves us with 2 at this point in time with Rocky away?
MagicSwirlingShip
23-01-2024, 09:13 AM
You’d have to think so. That leaves us with 2 at this point in time with Rocky away?
Blaney back in amongst it so 3
23-01-2024, 09:24 AM
Do people really argue McInnes would do a better job because he is Scottish, I've yet to see that one myself?
Equally, haven't seen too much criticism of McDermott, my sense is that most folk accept he is constrained by the strategy of the club, which has been pretty much acknowledged universally as being abysmal these past few years?
Being measured cuts both ways. There are a few who are clearly "at it", I think we recognise them. There are plenty more who are just calling it as they see it and they have legitimate concerns, surely that is also undeniable?
Healthy debate is good.
The guys we've signed, I'm pleased to have them but I'll reserve judgement and keep my hopes realistic. One hasn't played for a long time, the other has been injured. Both are likely to only be here for the next five months. I would also like to see a centre half and another midfielder.
The Foley investment will mark a new chapter in the club's history, this is an interim measure, hopefully it helps us have a decent last part of the season.
Yorkshire HFC
23-01-2024, 09:25 AM
Hopefully the new signings work out and help Hibs get up the league and a good run in the cup - and a couple of much needed wins against Hearts and the old firm. But I don't really like loan signings - it always feels like a panic and that there isn't a proper long term strategy in place - it's not how you build a team / a club.
But hopefully these players are better than any we could have signed permanently or brought through the system - they certainly seem to have created a bit of interest. Let's see how it starts on Wednesday!
23-01-2024, 09:25 AM
We can confirm that Riley Harbottle has joined Colchester on loan until the end of the season.
Best of luck, Riley!
Harbottle sums up the recruitment over a long while. We needed a centre back, arguably a first team centre back, but as a minimum a backup. We sign Harbottle and he barely makes the bench and is then loaned out the next window. Same with Kenneh. We badly needed a midfielder, signed him and next window he’s loaned out.
Thankfully there looks to be a real shift for the better this window. Proof will be in the pudding but early signs are credit should go to Montgomery, McDermot & Foley’s involvement.
23-01-2024, 09:29 AM
Honestly thought EJ left permanently in the summer.
Good luck to Harbottle, struggle to believe he’s that bad to get as little game time as he’s had but hopefully comes back improved!
23-01-2024, 09:31 AM
Hopefully the new signings work out and help Hibs get up the league and a good run in the cup - and a couple of much needed wins against Hearts and the old firm. But I don't really like loan signings - it always feels like a panic and that there isn't a proper long term strategy in place - it's not how you build a team / a club.
But hopefully these players are better than any we could have signed permanently or brought through the system - they certainly seem to have created a bit of interest. Let's see how it starts on Wednesday!
I don’t think loans as the spine of the team is sustainable, which we arguably still have with Fish, Marcondes & Maolida (though still to see how they actually fit in). At our level, any successful teams are broken up after a good season. Loans are crucial though if you can sign real quality to supplement a settled squad with a good spine though.
GreenPJ
23-01-2024, 09:36 AM
Honestly thought EJ left permanently in the summer.
Good luck to Harbottle, struggle to believe he’s that bad to get as little game time as he’s had but hopefully comes back improved!
He won't be back
McGruber
23-01-2024, 09:39 AM
Wow slagging hibs fans for sharing their disappointment and how bad our transfers have been . People behind bad management appointments and player signings has cost the club millions. That’s before blowing third spot and the millions that brought.
Vente totally over the top comment. Probably most haven’t seen him play.
Levitt totally over the top..
We signed two players on paper that sound excellent. Let’s hope they deliver on the pitch .
Just for the record, I wasn't slagging Hibs fans... it was all fans - and it really wasn't a slagging either.... just saying most talk nonesense (a bit paradoxical I know) and included myself in that. I'm also all for the sharing of disappointment - and excitement.. and everything inbetween.
Yes, let's hope these lads are superb for us. I'll say good job Hibs and recruitment team..... for now anyway... mwa ha ha
badabing67
23-01-2024, 09:39 AM
Hibs got a WhatsApp channel now
23-01-2024, 09:42 AM
Amos, new CB and ideally a left back and we have had a pretty class window.
23-01-2024, 09:43 AM
Only 19 but has played at a World Cup. Not sure we need another wide player though.
Why,Jair and Ellie ain't good enough 😁
23-01-2024, 09:44 AM
Amos, new CM and ideally a left back and we have had a pretty class window.
You don't think we need a CB?
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 09:49 AM
Wonder if McKirdy will go out on loan?
Part of me thinks we probably have a duty of care to have him under a watchful eye but he could probably do with game time and he’s unlikely to get much here with the new signings. We’ve got about 8 strikers/wingers in the squad.
I’d be tempted to offer him out to a Dundee United or Raith or something and let him try grab some goals and get his confidence up.
Donegal Hibby
23-01-2024, 09:52 AM
Think if we sign Amos and get a CB there won't be many more signing other than maybe a keeper ? Which would be a pretty good window for us .
badabing67
23-01-2024, 09:53 AM
Maybe McKirdy will do what he came here to do and score goals, looks like we have brought in more creative players hopefully he takes his chances.
23-01-2024, 09:54 AM
Maybe McKirdy will do what he came here to do and score goals, looks like we have brought in more creative players hopefully he takes his chances.
I can’t see him getting near starting for us with the other attackers we have
badabing67
23-01-2024, 10:00 AM
You don't have to start to make an impact, you have to earn a start. I'm hoping he can turn it around anyway, if he gets the chance which I think he will.
23-01-2024, 10:00 AM
Way down the pecking order, you could argue he’s now 8th choice
ruthven_raiders
23-01-2024, 10:01 AM
He's probably going to get last 20mins of games, so he's going to struggle to get a foothold on first team opportunities, so maybe a championship club where he can get a run of games and goals, then preseason with us and see where he is at the beginning of the season...
badabing67
23-01-2024, 10:11 AM
He is better staying here so we can monitor his recovery with the people he knows and works with.
ruthven_raiders
23-01-2024, 10:13 AM
He is better staying here so we can monitor his recovery with the people he knows and works with.
I get that, could he not be reporting into east mains a couple of times a week to monitor his fitness etc, fine balancing act...
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 10:22 AM
I get that, could he not be reporting into east mains a couple of times a week to monitor his fitness etc, fine balancing act...
That’s about where I am. I do think there has to be an element of care taken with him but he also needs to be playing football as part of his recovery, something he’s highly unlikely to do a lot of here I’d suspect.
Nothing to stop him going out on loan to someone like Dundee United with an understanding that things will be a little different from a normal loan and the Hibs medical staff get to have him in fairly frequently and have access to his data from the bras that they wear. I wouldn’t imagine we’d need to have him in more often than once every couple of weeks for an hour or two.
CentreForward
23-01-2024, 10:22 AM
Perhaps there’s something we don’t know but feel sorry for Harbottle as he never got a chance. As for Johnson had forgotten about him. Why do we bother even signing guys like him as none of them ever make it.
23-01-2024, 10:26 AM
You don't think we need a CB?
That CM was meant to be CB :greengrin edited now.
We 100% need a new experienced left sided CB.
23-01-2024, 10:26 AM
I think Harbottle has had fitness issues this season which has held him back
23-01-2024, 10:30 AM
Perhaps there’s something we don’t know but feel sorry for Harbottle as he never got a chance. As for Johnson had forgotten about him. Why do we bother even signing guys like him as none of them ever make it.
Josh Doig
Jason Cummings
Kanayo Megwa maybe making it soon
badabing67
23-01-2024, 10:44 AM
That would make sense.
23-01-2024, 10:47 AM
Him being so much out of the picture makes me wonder if he either can’t or won’t play the cb role the way Montgomery sees it.
Hibee Daft
23-01-2024, 10:50 AM
With Harbottle away out on loan, could be that we now have another cb really close to signed.
badabing67
23-01-2024, 10:50 AM
Josh Doig
Jason Cummings
And who knows Kenneh might make a fist of it too, once NM can get a look at him in the summer.
23-01-2024, 10:52 AM
And who knows Kenneh might make a fist of it too, once NM can get a look at him in the summer.
I’d have liked to see Kenneh return this window to see if he can play a part the rest of the season; seems he has had a successful loan spell so far.
GreenPJ
23-01-2024, 10:53 AM
Him being so much out of the picture makes me wonder if he either can’t or won’t play the cb role the way Montgomery sees it.
He is a 23 year old trying to make a career for himself but to date has pretty much been Wealdstone and Mansfield Town. Don't think he is in a position to saying I won't play the way you want me to, far more likely that he may not be able to play NM wants the position played.
23-01-2024, 11:01 AM
That could be the case. He also might not be good enough, we don’t know yet. Hopefully he stays fit, plays lots of games on loan and have a slightly better idea in the summer
Saint Hibee
23-01-2024, 11:06 AM
I’d have liked to see Kenneh return this window to see if he can play a part the rest of the season; seems he has had a successful loan spell so far.
Agreed. I think Kenneh may well have the potential to make it. In addition to some bad game for us, he also had some pretty good ones. If he can find consistency, he'll be a real asset.
Pytheas
23-01-2024, 11:19 AM
With Harbottle away out on loan, could be that we now have another cb really close to signed.
You'd think so.
2 of Hanlon and Fish and New CB as starters.
Rocky and Blaney as back up.
CentreForward
23-01-2024, 11:21 AM
Josh Doig
Jason Cummings
Ok, fair enough. About time we signed another of those Hearts rejects as we’ve done pretty well out of them!
Crunchie
23-01-2024, 11:22 AM
You'd think so.
2 of Hanlon and Fish and New CB as starters.
Rocky and Blaney as back up.
:fishin:
23-01-2024, 11:43 AM
Is there Anyone we recognise from Emilianos IG post when he was in Dubai (at same time as Hibs)?
https://www.instagram.com/p/C2AF4kOMltc/?igsh=MXZ6d3hkZG8xdWJpOQ==
badabing67
23-01-2024, 11:55 AM
Hibs boss Nick Montgomery hopeful of more January additions | Video | Watch TV Show | Sky Sports (https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13054547/hibs-boss-nick-montgomery-hopeful-of-more-january-additions)
Did the Sky reporter say "We'll find out maybe later in the week with regards to Hibs and Bournemouth and any potential investment".
23-01-2024, 12:04 PM
Commentator in the sky interview seems to think we will hear later on this week about the Bournmouth link up.
23-01-2024, 12:07 PM
Boruc confirmed away on loan to Arbroath.
HendoDelivered
23-01-2024, 12:10 PM
3 outs confirmed today. Surely an incoming today as well you’d think. Ideally, centre back or centre mid.
23-01-2024, 12:11 PM
I would like to see the guy get a second chance as well, but I'd maybe let him stay out on loan for the rest of the season and start games until the summer where we've maybe moved on JDH and Jeggo and he can step into their place on the depth chart.
badabing67
23-01-2024, 12:15 PM
3 outs confirmed today. Surely an incoming today as well you’d think. Ideally, centre back or centre mid.
Or both
badabing67
23-01-2024, 12:18 PM
I think the Dundee - Burnley link up could be interesting but I seriously hope they don't get CJER
Mcbizz1998
23-01-2024, 12:19 PM
I think the Dundee - Burnley link up could be interesting but I seriously hope they don't get CJER
If he is fit again then we should be after him!
badabing67
23-01-2024, 12:21 PM
Defo a player that fits the profile
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 12:25 PM
Is it just me that thought he was pretty decent but not that good? :dunno:
He’s certainly not someone I’d be looking at Dundee in envy if they signed him. I think he could come back here and do a job. No more, no less imo.
Chipper1875
23-01-2024, 12:29 PM
He’s certainly not someone I’d be looking at Dundee in envy if they signed him. I think he could come back here and do a job. No more, no less imo.
My thoughts also. Was blowing after 60 mins and didn’t look physically in good condition.
yerauldda
23-01-2024, 12:33 PM
I liked him but absence is definitely making the heart grow fonder in his case.
That said, I think his ability to cover CB/RB/CM has been greatly missed this season.
We'd be much better off if he was in next to Newell the last 6 months.
badabing67
23-01-2024, 12:34 PM
Really, PSV wanted to sign him last summer. Burnley were late with the paperwork so the deal fell through. I thought he was the biz
23-01-2024, 12:39 PM
Agreed. I think Kenneh may well have the potential to make it. In addition to some bad game for us, he also had some pretty good ones. If he can find consistency, he'll be a real asset.
I would like to see the guy get a second chance as well, but I'd maybe let him stay out on loan for the rest of the season and start games until the summer where we've maybe moved on JDH and Jeggo and he can step into their place on the depth chart.
I hope Kenneh never wears a Hibs first team jersey again, and I'd be amazed if he does. Not good enough at this level, I think he will move away to a lower league English side in the summer.
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 12:42 PM
Really, PSV wanted to sign him last summer. Burnley were late with the paperwork so the deal fell through. I thought he was the biz
Didn’t know that. Having saw a bit of PSV this season he would be absolutely nowhere near their team from what we saw of him here.
King Cosell
23-01-2024, 12:44 PM
He was fit, and on the bench, for Burnley's game against Luton 11 days ago.
23-01-2024, 12:59 PM
I hope Kenneh never wears a Hibs first team jersey again, and I'd be amazed if he does. Not good enough at this level, I think he will move away to a lower league English side in the summer.
Again though, we’ve thought that about a few players under Johnson who have turned it around.
Kenneh deserves a fresh start with the new management IMO.
Pytheas
23-01-2024, 01:00 PM
He's 20 years old, playing every week at a decent level.
Way too soon to decide he's not good enough.
EGL2000
23-01-2024, 01:02 PM
I thought he looked streets ahead of most of our squad ability and decision making wise. However did lack any real pace, which will probably let him down for getting to the very top level.
yerauldda
23-01-2024, 01:11 PM
Kenneh | blue-and-amber (proboards.com) (https://blueandamber.proboards.com/thread/106781/kenneh)
Not sure I'd be in a rush to have Kenneh back, might not be having the season Hibs loan round up would have you believe!
Pretty familiar appraisal of how he is as a player in this thread.
23-01-2024, 01:15 PM
Kenneh | blue-and-amber (proboards.com) (https://blueandamber.proboards.com/thread/106781/kenneh)
Not sure I'd be in a rush to have Kenneh back, might not be having the season Hibs loan round up would have you believe!
It’s the good old thing of the longer he’s away the better he gets in the eyes of some.
I remember him being decent at winning possession but lazy when tracking back. He was terrible on the ball & his passing was laughable.
He’s nowhere near the standard required for us
Paulie Walnuts
23-01-2024, 01:18 PM
It’s the good old thing of the longer he’s away the better he gets in the eyes of some.
I remember him being decent at winning possession but lazy when tracking back. He was terrible on the ball & his passing was laughable.
Lazy tracking back. Watch the goal when Nouble scored against us at Almondvale. Hibs put up a pitch side style video with the goal in it and I’ve never seen someone look to be putting in such little effort.
Edit: Apologies, Livi put the video up - https://youtu.be/OBxireWPRBk?si=rUyAzzaC6eBK3ket
23-01-2024, 01:22 PM
Not surprised to read those assessments of him.
Again though, we’ve thought that about a few players under Johnson who have turned it around.
Kenneh deserves a fresh start with the new management IMO.
Theres only one really who has turned it around and that's Jair. Dont think that's justification for giving Kenneh another shot given how poor he was for us. Kenneh had a fair run of games under LJ, Jair never got that.
He's 20 years old, playing every week at a decent level.
Way too soon to decide he's not good enough.
He is playing for a team languishing at 19th in League 1 with a goal difference of minus 21. The bottom half of league 1 is way below the standard required for a succesful Hibs team. And we have Shrewsbury fans saying he has been a major disappointment who can barely find a team mate with a pass.
I would say with some conviction he isn't good enough for Hibs. If he ever plays for us again I'll hold my hands up and apologise.
VoltaireHibs
23-01-2024, 01:22 PM
Agree with a fair amount of that, but you're judging a player that had only begun to play first team football. No way he has done all the things in youth football (England Under 16/17/18) if he was total mince, that's a very competitive scene down there. Also offered a new contract by Leeds etc. He may not make it with us, but for me he might be worth a quick recall and see where he's at now he's had a season of proper football under his belt, and where he seems to be excelling. If the management think he's still gash then he can go back down to Shrewsbury, no harm done. I suspect we'll sell for a nominal fee with a hefty sell on as he's young enough to have a wee burst in value.
23-01-2024, 01:25 PM
Lazy tracking back. Watch the goal when Nouble scored against us at Almondvale. Hibs put up a pitch side style video with the goal in it and I’ve never seen someone look to be putting in such little effort.
Edit: Apologies, Livi put the video up - https://youtu.be/OBxireWPRBk?si=rUyAzzaC6eBK3ket
:agree::agree:
Genuinely can't believe people think he should be given another chance. A 3 year deal for a completely unproven player was very risky.
Chipper1875
23-01-2024, 01:26 PM
Did same against Celtic at ER , came on as a sun and didn’t try a leg. Featured in the next game away at Ross County as a 3 minute sun appearance . Never played again and be astonished if he does. Probably worse than jeggo At passing. Which is some feat.
23-01-2024, 01:27 PM
Did same against Celtic at ER , came on as a sun and didn’t try a leg. Featured in the next game away at Ross County as a 3 minute sun appearance . Never played again and be astonished if he does. Probably worse than jeggo At passing. Which is some feat.
Spot on. He was shocking in the disastourous League Cup group games v lower league teams too. It was clear then he wasn't good enough.
Rumble de Thump
23-01-2024, 01:31 PM
Young players are not at the peak of their careers and typically develop and get better, especially with game time. If this wasn't the case we wouldn't have any young players at the club at all. It's bizarre that there are people who don't understand this.
23-01-2024, 01:32 PM
Agree with a fair amount of that, but you're judging a player that had only begun to play first team football. No way he has done all the things in youth football (England Under 16/17/18) if he was total mince, that's a very competitive scene down there. Also offered a new contract by Leeds etc. He may not make it with us, but for me he might be worth a quick recall and see where he's at now he's had a season of proper football under his belt, and where he seems to be excelling. If the management think he's still gash then he can go back down to Shrewsbury, no harm done. I suspect we'll sell for a nominal fee with a hefty sell on as he's young enough to have a wee burst in value.
You could be right however if hibs are looking to take over and consolidate 3rd next season we need a lot better than Kenneh and need a lot better than “what ifs”.
We can’t afford anymore might turn out decent’s in our squad.
The two guys we’ve signed should be the benchmark on paper for what we’re looking for.
23-01-2024, 01:38 PM
Young players are not at the peak of their careers and typically develop and get better, especially with game time. If this wasn't the case we wouldn't have any young players at the club at all. It's bizarre that there are people who don't understand this.
I think its bizaare that you haven't noticed the huge amount of players who get a chance with a big club at a young age then fade into obscurity because they werent good enough to fulfill their potential.
If what you are saying is true then guys like Damon Gray, Ross Caldwell and Ross Chisholm wouldn't have plumetted down the leagues following their intro at Hibs first team as youngsters - instead they would have went to have long distingushed careers at Hibs or better.
So in a nutshell the last sentence of your post is ridiculous.
Torto7
23-01-2024, 01:45 PM
Are Burnley buying a stake in Dundee? If not it would be similar to all of the other strategic partnerships that have gone before and completely different to what seems to be happening with us. I think we'll get another nice surprise from Mr Foley towards the end of the window.
23-01-2024, 01:47 PM
I played my football ‘career’ at mainly junior level and some games highland/lowland league.
I would consider myself and alot of my teammates to be better than Kenneh on the ball.
His technique, touch and passing is so poor for a player that came through from leeds imo. He gets off with it at times because he’s a big strong lad and can hold people off.
Defensively, in terms of winning the ball back and making tackles I think he’s very good, especially for his age.
But as a CM for Hibs? Nowhere near good enough imo. Gogic and Bartley were criticised for this and they’re better in possession thank Kenneh.
VoltaireHibs
23-01-2024, 01:50 PM
Cheers for that, an interesting read. What was really surprising was the England under 17's posted on that thread. Kenneh, Musiala and Jude effing Bellingham in the same midfield.
23-01-2024, 01:52 PM
I’d still say players I’d be more than comfortable to go either now at end of season would be
Doidge
Henderson
Delferierre
Marshall
Bushiri
Harbottle
Kenneh
Le Fondre
Doyle-Hayes
Potentially Stevenson hanging up the boots.
Torto7
23-01-2024, 01:52 PM
I played my football ‘career’ at mainly junior level and some games highland/lowland league.
I would consider myself and alot of my teammates to be better than Kenneh on the ball.
His technique, touch and passing is so poor for a player that came through from leeds imo. He gets off with it at times because he’s a big strong lad and can hold people off.
Defensively, in terms of winning the ball back and making tackles I think he’s very good, especially for his age.
But as a CM for Hibs? Nowhere near good enough imo. Gogic and Bartley were criticised for this and they’re better in possession thank Kenneh.
I agree. His technique was awful. It's not something you fix at his age either. He'll have a career in the bottom levels of England due to his athleticism imo but no higher.
VoltaireHibs
23-01-2024, 01:54 PM
You could be right however if hibs are looking to take over and consolidate 3rd next season we need a lot better than Kenneh and need a lot better than “what ifs”.
We can’t afford anymore might turn out decent’s in our squad.
The two guys we’ve signed should be the benchmark on paper for what we’re looking for.
Yeah, I'd agree with that. I think as we enter the Foley-Verse (I'm making it a thing...:wink:) fully then players like Kenneh will no longer be on our radar. The whole squad standard will rise and we will be champions of 3rd place, at least!
yerauldda
23-01-2024, 01:57 PM
I'd be far more inclined to give Murray Aiken an opportunity next season than Kenneh. Another one who did really well at Airdrie prior to his injury.
With the way they play you have to be technically proficient with the ball at your feet, too.
23-01-2024, 02:00 PM
I'd be far more inclined to give Murray Aiken an opportunity next season than Kenneh. Another one who did really well at Airdrie prior to his injury.
With the way they play you have to be technically proficient with the ball at your feet, too.
Aiken really impressed me a couple of times I saw him for Airdrie, reminded me a bit of O’Hara at st Mirren with his energy and willing to stretch the games from a central area with runs in behind.
VoltaireHibs
23-01-2024, 02:00 PM
I’d still say players I’d be more than comfortable to go either now at end of season would be
Doidge
Henderson
Delferierre
Marshall
Bushiri
Harbottle
Kenneh
Le Fondre
Doyle-Hayes
Potentially Stevenson hanging up the boots.
I wouldn't be letting Marshall, Doidge, Bushiri or Le Fondre go this window! The rest, yes, and with the exception of JDH I think they will be gone.
ElginHibbie
23-01-2024, 02:02 PM
Sima out "long term"... maybe Rangers will make a move for Shankland now?
Torto7
23-01-2024, 02:03 PM
The one guy I'd keep who's on the fringes is JDH. I still think he has the potential to be a top player.
VoltaireHibs
23-01-2024, 02:08 PM
If there is a god...
23-01-2024, 02:11 PM
The one guy I'd keep who's on the fringes is JDH. I still think he has the potential to be a top player.
I can’t help but think his career will continue the way it has done, injury after injury.
He’s on par with magennis
23-01-2024, 02:13 PM
I have no idea if you are wrong or right but my fear is that absence makes the heart grow fonder.
I think JDH gets a lot of Rose Tinted Love because he hasn't really featured a lot in our poor midfield performances over the past 3 years.
They all have moments of quality but over the piece all are IMO found wanting, JDH maybe gets a bye because his poor games are forgotten in the hope he may be the answer.
23-01-2024, 02:15 PM
If there is a god...
Hopefully after tomorrow night and not before
MKHIBEE
23-01-2024, 02:15 PM
I think JDH has gone past the time when we keep him because of his “potential”. When match fit he needs to start imposing himself on games.
GreenPJ
23-01-2024, 02:17 PM
He played in the England U17 set up with some stellar names and that was only circa 3 years ago. Gogic and Bartley were 10 years older than he is when they were with us. He had 15 games with us when that was really his first experience of first team football. He has had 40 games since he left us on loan over 2 seasons and seems to be a regular currently at Shrewsbury. It is still very early in his career and he clearly had something to get into that England set-up even at U17 level.
I suspect he won't be back at us but I would suggest he may go on to do better things that lots of people are suggesting.
Torto7
23-01-2024, 02:17 PM
I know he's been injured a lot but I just think if he can get over that his technical ability is really good. I understand the Magennis comparisons though.
Hibees1973
23-01-2024, 02:18 PM
If there is a god...
If it is and knowing them, the initial bid will be £1m paid in 50 easy instalments.
Torto7
23-01-2024, 02:19 PM
I have no idea if you are wrong or right but my fear is that absence makes the heart grow fonder.
I think JDH gets a lot of Rose Tinted Love because he hasn't really featured a lot in our poor midfield performances over the past 3 years.
They all have moments of quality but over the piece all are IMO found wanting, JDH maybe gets a bye because his poor games are forgotten in the hope he may be the answer.
Aye, you're probably right and I'm guilty of that tbf.
badabing67
23-01-2024, 02:22 PM
Good chance, and if it happens Naismith will be in big trouble. The rug pulled from under his feet and all that.
23-01-2024, 02:33 PM
Good chance, and if it happens Naismith will be in big trouble. The rug pulled from under his feet and all that.
To be fair, their other striker ‘Own Goals’ is doing pretty well. I’m sure they’ll survive.
Perhaps the money from Shankland can get poured into the Hotel. No doubt will make a return on that investment, 10 fold by the end of the year.
23-01-2024, 02:33 PM
As long as the current buns make the move after the Hibs game.
23-01-2024, 02:38 PM
Sima plays on the left wing
23-01-2024, 02:46 PM
He played in the England U17 set up with some stellar names and that was only circa 3 years ago. Gogic and Bartley were 10 years older than he is when they were with us. He had 15 games with us when that was really his first experience of first team football. He has had 40 games since he left us on loan over 2 seasons and seems to be a regular currently at Shrewsbury. It is still very early in his career and he clearly had something to get into that England set-up even at U17 level.
I suspect he won't be back at us but I would suggest he may go on to do better things that lots of people are suggesting.
I agree he’s still very early in his career, I actually think he’ll have a decent career as a defensive midfielder.
I just don’t see him improving that much technically to be a regular starter for us. I think as a fan base we always demand someone good on the ball in that position, even the guys of Bartley and Fyvie were called out or wanted out of the team in certain games.
It was the first game I saw him pre season I was genuinely surprised by how uncomfortable he looked on the ball, then there was the fresh air swipe against Celtic where he looked terrified
23-01-2024, 02:58 PM
Playing for a national u17 team doesnt tell you too much about how a players career will go though. The England u17 team of 2017 won the World Cup. They had players who have went to the top - Foden, Sancho, Hudson -Odoi. They also have guys from the team now playing league 2 and National League.....
ElginHibbie
23-01-2024, 03:00 PM
Delferrière away on loan to Czech Republic
23-01-2024, 03:02 PM
Feels like deadline day with all this activity
CB and CM in the door and we're good to go
23-01-2024, 03:09 PM
Mfk Vyskov
23-01-2024, 03:10 PM
Mfk Vyskov
Bless you.
23-01-2024, 03:12 PM
They have an option to buy for a six figure fee as well.