View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread 2023/24

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

30-12-2023, 12:19 PM
How would Megwa be on the ball/going forward?

From what I’ve seen and heard of him he’s solid defensively, really good at 1 v 1’s but rarely goes forward and is much more defensive minded

Don’t know how that would suit the current system, despite wanting to see the young lad get a chance

30-12-2023, 01:12 PM
Megwa starts for Airdrie today

30-12-2023, 01:31 PM
Think he’s been man of the match for them playing at right back a good few times.
Indeed.

VoltaireHibs
30-12-2023, 02:48 PM
Megwa starts for Airdrie today

My only concern with bringing Megwa back is that he is doing well at Airdrie, settled in and developing well by all accounts. To bring him back here when the team isn't having a great moment and, like it or not, the manager could be under pressure in a fairly short period of time, that maybe isn't he best thing for Megwa's career. I understand he's a Hibs player, but we do have a duty of care to young players, and launching him into a struggling team may not be the best way to go about things.

30-12-2023, 03:13 PM
My only concern with bringing Megwa back is that he is doing well at Airdrie, settled in and developing well by all accounts. To bring him back here when the team isn't having a great moment and, like it or not, the manager could be under pressure in a fairly short period of time, that maybe isn't he best thing for Megwa's career. I understand he's a Hibs player, but we do have a duty of care to young players, and launching him into a struggling team may not be the best way to go about things.

There’s no point in bringing him back to sit on the bench, he’d be better off staying at Airdrie
Not sure if he can be cover for Hibs in January, then head back to Airdrie at the end of the window

30-12-2023, 03:14 PM
Kerr Smith to St Johnstone until the end of the season from Villa according to reports. He was signed by Villa from Dundee Utd.

VoltaireHibs
30-12-2023, 04:19 PM
There’s no point in bringing him back to sit on the bench, he’d be better off staying at Airdrie
Not sure if he can be cover for Hibs in January, then head back to Airdrie at the end of the window

I said elsewhere that I'd like to see a few of the young guys put in together, Whitaker, Megwa, Molotnikov, Landers, let them go in as a gang and see how it goes. It's not like anyone in the first team is currently tearing it up.

30-12-2023, 04:27 PM

Megwa is doing exceptionally well on loan and should be given a full season at that level to continue his development 👍 I’m excited about Landers and think he could really benefit from a fast track January loan in League 1 or Championship too.

Scotty Leither
30-12-2023, 04:33 PM
I would hope we’re intending to spend some of the Melkerson money. The guy Dhanda from RC would be a good start, and preferably a done deal before the Motherwell game.

30-12-2023, 04:34 PM
I would hope we’re intending to spend some of the Melkerson money. The guy Dhanda from RC would be a good start.

Always think he looks a player. Always plays well against us at least.

Think he’s out of contract in the summer?

30-12-2023, 05:06 PM
I would hope we’re intending to spend some of the Melkerson money. The guy Dhanda from RC would be a good start, and preferably a done deal before the Motherwell game.

Not sure what type of player he is? People didn't like Mallan and is he not a similar type of player?

Scotty Leither
30-12-2023, 05:21 PM
Not sure what type of player he is? People didn't like Mallan and is he not a similar type of player?

Whenever I’ve seen him he looks to get on the ball and link with his forwards. Something we’ve sorely missed in our midfield for goodness knows how long.

He wouldn’t be very expensive to bring in either, if his contract is up in the summer as someone said higher up this thread.

What do I know though, I’m maybe just putting a name out there that might improve us after that showing on Wednesday past…

Crunchie
30-12-2023, 05:27 PM
And scored a screamer of a free kick today :agree:

30-12-2023, 05:31 PM

I don’t think so. From the little I’ve seen of him, I think he’s a number 10 that plays off the front man where as Mallan was just a really weak (imo) midfielder who had a good shot but very little else.

ruthven_raiders
30-12-2023, 05:32 PM

Is that you hoping or heard something?

Mrimbetween
30-12-2023, 05:34 PM
If only, looks classy

30-12-2023, 05:37 PM
2 assists two goals this season.

7 assists 6 goals last season.

Doesn’t seem that exciting to me.

30-12-2023, 05:47 PM

I think we need someone to link midfield to attack. I’m not one for stats b it whenever I’ve seen him he seems to do that.

For me, it’s more that type of player that Dhanda is rather than actually him being the missing piece of the jigsaw.

Scotty Leither
30-12-2023, 06:00 PM
Is that you hoping or heard something?

Hope rather than expecting…overall I’m just praying the planned investment happens to be honest, as I’m also hoping it leads to a total clear out of the club on and off the field.

Wednesday night, and the general rinse and repeat/Groundhog Day manner in which we go about our business has got me totally scunnered with the Hibs just now.

Let’s hope it gets the green light, and that Foley is the real deal.

geohibby
30-12-2023, 06:09 PM

In a Ross County team

ruthven_raiders
30-12-2023, 06:12 PM
Hope rather than expecting…overall I’m just praying the planned investment happens to be honest, as I’m also hoping it leads to a total clear out of the club on and off the field.

Wednesday night, and the general rinse and repeat/Groundhog Day manner in which we go about our business has got me totally scunnered with the Hibs just now.

Think most Hibs supporters on here are of that opinion too

30-12-2023, 06:55 PM
Really hope we make a few signings early doors to get them in and familiar with Monty’s tactics.

Wonder if the rumour posted on here a few pages back about a midfielder signed is true? Really hope so.

I know JDH is back training. I like him as a player and think Newell and him in a two could really work, he just can’t seem to get a run of games injury free. Cheers, LJ

30-12-2023, 07:01 PM

So you’re fed up with rinse and repeat so you want everyone rinsed out the door. Hardly makes sense.

30-12-2023, 07:07 PM
Really hope we make a few signings early doors to get them in and familiar with Monty’s tactics.

Wonder if the rumour posted on here a few pages back about a midfielder signed is true? Really hope so.

I know JDH is back training. I like him as a player and think Newell and him in a two could really work, he just can’t seem to get a run of games injury free. Cheers, LJ
You would think if they were signed we could just announce it. Montgomery said he wants players who are going to hit the ground running or words to that affect. I wonder where theae kind of signings come from if they are playing football semi-regularly

30-12-2023, 07:09 PM
You would think if they were signed we could just announce it. Montgomery said he wants players who are going to hit the ground running or words to that affect. I wonder where theae kind of signings come from if they are playing football semi-regularly

Nisbet from CCM? Think he plays every game for them

Scotty Leither
30-12-2023, 07:14 PM
So you’re fed up with rinse and repeat so you want everyone rinsed out the door. Hardly makes sense.

Fair challenge…I’ll refine it a bit then.

I want us to stop selling our best players and replacing them with guff like Henderson and Jeggo, and also cease the downright bewildering signings of players that never trouble the first team - out of the current crop, that means Tait, Mackay, Harbottle, Delfrerrier, and add in the others that have been already punted, e.g. Mueller and Bojang.

If that means rinsing and resetting the recruitment team and the way they go about their business, then good. I’d include our chattering CEO and his vanity appointments of managers that seem to think we can play like Man City with Bristol City-standard players.

Like I say, scunnered…

30-12-2023, 07:17 PM

I’d like to see him signed. Everything we don’t have in the middle tbh. Tenacious, energetic, never stops can tackle and links up play. Wins the odd header (at 5ft 5 or shorter)

30-12-2023, 07:21 PM

He's due to play tomorrow in the televises game, think it's an 8am UK time kick off?

30-12-2023, 07:21 PM

I want us to stop selling our best players and replacing them with guff like Henderson and Jeggo, and also cease the downright bewildering signings of players that never trouble the first team - out of the current crop, that means Tait, Mackay, Harbottle, Delfrerrier, and add in the others that have been already punted, e.g. Mueller and Bojang.

If that means rinsing and resetting the recruitment team and the way they go about their business, then good. I’d include our chattering CEO and his vanity appointments of managers that seem to think we can play like Man City with Bristol City-standard players.

Like I say, scunnered…

We did appoint a director of football and change the structure 6 months ago so that’s a fair reset I’d say. Time will tell if it’s going to be any good right enough.

Keepthefaith
30-12-2023, 07:22 PM

I don't want a total clear out. I want us to build sensibly, make astute signings and support good young players to come through. Look at Newcastle. Huge investment but they've had success taking a pragmatic approach, with the young lad Miley a stand out...17 years old and a local lad.

This is what I want to see and for me it's the model most likely to create long term success and avoid the rinse and repeat you're talking about. I was as sick as anyone on Weds with the same old scenario but it's not like we were outplayed or even deserved to get beat. They had one but of quality coupled with an error from rocky ( who for the most part won every header before that).

A couple of astute signings will make a huge difference.

30-12-2023, 07:22 PM
I’d like to see him signed. Everything we don’t have in the middle tbh. Tenacious, energetic, never stops can tackle and links up play. Wins the odd header (at 5ft 5 or shorter)

Have to admit I've never seen him play. Folk I know who have think he looks a player. Height thing doesn't really bother me too much, you can be wee and still put yourself about.

He's due to play tomorrow in the televises game, think it's an 8am UK time kick off?

Hmm, have to think it's not him then if a midfielder has signed.

Scotty Leither
30-12-2023, 07:24 PM
We did appoint a director of football and change the structure 6 months ago so that’s a fair reset I’d say. Time will tell if it’s going to be any good right enough.

He’s already had one window. Nae upgrade to the area which needs the most improvement, midfield.

30-12-2023, 07:25 PM
Have to admit I've never seen him play. Folk I know who have think he looks a player. Height thing doesn't really bother me too much, you can be wee and still put yourself about.

Hmm, have to think it's not him then if a midfielder has signed.

Doesn’t bother me either.

I like what I see but as you say if we’ve already signed someone why would they play for another team?

Hopefully find out soon enough.

30-12-2023, 07:28 PM
Doesn’t bother me either.

I like what I see but as you say if we’ve already signed someone why would they play for another team?

Hopefully find out soon enough.

Definitely.

We really need an Allan, MacLaren and Kamberi type of January. That transformed our season so we know it can happen.

Keepthefaith
30-12-2023, 07:30 PM

Like I say, scunnered…

Can't argue with some of the players you name. Tait and McKay were part of the previous recruitment teams approach to sign the best up and coming Scottish talent which unfortunately was poor judgement. Others like Mueller...well I think Ian Gordon would openly admit to that huge mistake! Bojang was apparently a punt...one evidently not worth taking just like that lad we signed from non league england a few years back.

The recruitment team HAS had the overhaul you're suggesting, but it's not going to bring instant guaranteed results, that's just fantasy football stuff

30-12-2023, 07:31 PM
Definitely.

We really need an Allan, MacLaren and Kamberi type of January. That transformed our season so we know it can happen.

That would be some transfer window so fingers crossed whoever comes in is of that standard.

30-12-2023, 07:35 PM
He’s already had one window. Nae upgrade to the area which needs the most improvement, midfield.

Kind of the point though, one window. That we had to sack a manager almost immediately after. Going to take a bit longer than that to figure out if those changes are going to work.

Edit - Had to sack the manager just before it closed.

VoltaireHibs
30-12-2023, 07:36 PM
I don't want a total clear out. I want us to build sensibly, make astute signings and support good young players to come through. Look at Newcastle. Huge investment but they've had success taking a pragmatic approach, with the young lad Miley a stand out...17 years old and a local lad.

This is what I want to see and for me it's the model most likely to create long term success and avoid the rinse and repeat you're talking about. I was as sick as anyone on Weds with the same old scenario but it's not like we were outplayed or even deserved to get beat. They had one but of quality coupled with an error from rocky ( who for the most part won every header before that).

A couple of astute signings will make a huge difference.

I'm on this ship. Two or three quality signings to help the team out as opposed to a fire sale. Experienced central defender, aggressive midfielder and a target man that can play a bit, like Kukhyarevich, or the man himself as he isn't getting much game time at Swansea. Increase competition and add some strength in depth. Stability allows us to then introduce youngsters on a regular basis. I'm at the point where if we're going to persist with 4-4-2 and NM, which we probably should..., then he needs a bit of breathing space to make it work, so the rest of this season will probably be an experiment in who can stay and play and who can't. It's tough for us fans but it's better than rinse and repeat. At some point you have to properly back your horse and shut out the noise.

VoltaireHibs
30-12-2023, 07:38 PM
Kind of the point though, one window. That we had to sack a manager almost immediately after. Going to take a bit longer than that to figure out if those changes are going to work.

I think B McD's hands are tied by the players given longish contracts previously. There's half a dozen players we need to shift out, at least, but can't because no one wants them.

Keepthefaith
30-12-2023, 07:43 PM
I think B McD's hands are tied by the players given longish contracts previously. There's half a dozen players we need to shift out, at least, but can't because no one wants them.

Agreed. JDH was going to be let go but refused the move, likewise doige. We have 4 midfielders out on loan, Kenneth, Tait, McKay and Henderson...that's a lot of wages being tied up. It's not always as simple as go out and buy what we need

30-12-2023, 07:46 PM

That's the downside of giving players long contracts and big wage. Fine if they work out but stuck with them if they don't.

FWIW I reckon anybody that is out of contract at the end of the season will struggle to get another one.

VoltaireHibs
30-12-2023, 07:47 PM
Agreed. JDH was going to be let go but refused the move, likewise doige. We have 4 midfielders out on loan, Kenneth, Tait, McKay and Henderson...that's a lot of wages being tied up. It's not always as simple as go out and buy what we need

Yup, the only thing I ever heard LJ say that was indisputably correct was that the squad was too big. :wink:

30-12-2023, 07:51 PM

There’s still a short term responsibility on him to bring in good players though. He was brought in on the back of having great contacts both down south and abroad. I’m not sure we’ve seen much benefit of that.

Looking at the summer transfer window, it’s not been a particularly great start for him so far I don’t think.

Wollacott- poor
Harbottle- poor signing so far.
Obita- I like him but nothing special really.
Levitt- quite disappointing so far imo.
Vente- promising start but not looked worth the money for a wee while.
ALF- good player but been injured more than not, as most predicted when signing someone his age (I didn’t, I thought he’d be better than he has been)

Feels like I’ve missed players but I can’t think who.

I think BM seems like a really decent guy but I can’t say I’m overly impressed by his signings so far.

30-12-2023, 07:54 PM
That's the downside of giving players long contracts and big wage. Fine if they work out but stuck with them if they don't.

FWIW I reckon anybody that is out of contract at the end of the season will struggle to get another one.

Do you think we’ll offer Paul and Lewis coaching roles at the club ? I think that’s an option for both. Would be a great move by the club for me, both ultimate professionals and could see them doing a great job in the Academy.

30-12-2023, 08:05 PM
There’s still a short term responsibility on him to bring in good players though. He was brought in on the back of having great contacts both down south and abroad. I’m not sure we’ve seen much benefit of that.

Looking at the summer transfer window, it’s not been a particularly great start for him so far I don’t think.

Wollacott- poor
ALF- good player but been injured more than not, as most predicted when signing someone his age (I didn’t, I thought he’d be better than he has been)

I think BM seems like a really decent guy but I can’t say I’m overly impressed by his signings so far.

There is always going to be signings that don’t work, but we can’t be paying a fee and giving 3 year deals to players that hardly ever play (Wollacott and Harbottle). I found the decision, whoever was responsible for it, to give Delferriere a new contract odd as well, he looks miles from being a first team player.

The others I think are decent players, with us not getting enough from Levitt and Vente. Interested to see what January brings.

30-12-2023, 08:20 PM

Wollacott- poor

Always hard to tell when some don’t get a chance like Harbottle and Wollacott. This time last year Fish was classed as a terrible signing and someone we were desperate to terminate the loan of - now we think he’s a really good young player.

I think with Harbottle aswell when he was announced it said similar to we’d do what we done with fish and get him ready for second part of the season.

Fish, despite some dodgy moments has been good imo.

Getting Youan permanently was really good business even if he’s not been as effective.

Obita is someone I’m a big fan off, solid defensively and a really good left foot

ALF has been a very astute signing imo, unlucky with his injury but can’t use that against him or the club as they happen all the time

Levitt and Vente both have a lot of ability but both need to do far more.

Boruc looks decent when featured imo and a bit unlucky he never got more games, a good third choice imo.

The one bit of business I was confused at was Delferriere getting an extension.

It’s a lot more of a normal transfer window and I think we’re slowly getting back to signing the sort of players we should. Monty having such an obvious way of playing will make recruitment that bit easier too.

If fit, I think 6 out of our 9 summer signings start for us in our strongest 11 - Fish, Obita, Youan, Levitt, Vente, ALF - that’s progress for me.

30-12-2023, 08:21 PM
There is always going to be signings that don’t work, but we can’t be paying a fee and giving 3 year deals to players that hardly ever play (Wollacott and Harbottle). I found the decision, whoever was responsible for it, to give Delferriere a new contract odd as well, he looks miles from being a first team player.

The others I think are decent players, with us not getting enough from Levitt and Vente. Interested to see what January brings.

Couldn’t agree more.

I also expected us to be getting good loan deals from big clubs down south due to his contacts, never happened in the summer though. I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt because of who the manager was in the summer but he needs to deliver good results at some point, hopefully this window.

The decision to give Delferrier a 3 year deal is almost a sackable offence in itself, surely a 1 year extension would have been sufficient if there was people in the club who saw something we didn’t?!

30-12-2023, 08:21 PM

Wollacott- poor

I still think Vente is a very talented footballer, the trouble being is that he's not playing in a role that he's suited to. Unfortunately his recent body language suggests that he's not exactly a happy bunny.

Keepthefaith
30-12-2023, 08:26 PM
Always hard to tell when some don’t get a chance like Harbottle and Wollacott. This time last year Fish was classed as a terrible signing and someone we were desperate to terminate the loan of - now we think he’s a really good young player.

I think with Harbottle aswell when he was announced it said similar to we’d do what we done with fish and get him ready for second part of the season.

Fish, despite some dodgy moments has been good imo.

Getting Youan permanently was really good business even if he’s not been as effective.

Obita is someone I’m a big fan off, solid defensively and a really good left foot

ALF has been a very astute signing imo, unlucky with his injury but can’t use that against him or the club as they happen all the time

Levitt and Vente both have a lot of ability but both need to do far more.

Boruc looks decent when featured imo and a bit unlucky he never got more games, a good third choice imo.

The one bit of business I was confused at was Delferriere getting an extension.

It’s a lot more of a normal transfer window and I think we’re slowly getting back to signing the sort of players we should. Monty having such an obvious way of playing will make recruitment that bit easier too.

If fit, I think 6 out of our 9 summer signings start for us in our strongest 11 - Fish, Obita, Youan, Levitt, Vente, ALF - that’s progress for me.

I agree with the sentiment of this though do think Levitt hasn't done enough to warrant a starting spot and think we could upgrade him obita I would also look to upgrade and have him as back up with lewy standing down. We were unlucky with ALF as he really did make a difference early on

30-12-2023, 08:31 PM
I see Mark O'Hara at St Mirren scored again today. Any chance we may be in for him this summer?

30-12-2023, 08:31 PM
I see Mark O'Hara at St Mirren scored again today. Any chance we may be in for him this summer?

Also missed a penalty then went off injured. Didn't have a great game by all accounts.

30-12-2023, 08:46 PM
Also missed a penalty then went off injured. Didn't have a great game by all accounts.

He's not had a good season by all accounts

30-12-2023, 09:11 PM
I think I must be alone in thinking the Delferriere still has something to offer.

30-12-2023, 09:12 PM
I think I must be alone in thinking the Delfierrier still has something to offer.

Hopefully, you are.

30-12-2023, 09:14 PM
I think I must be alone in thinking the Delfierrier still has something to offer.

Used to think that as well, but just can't see it at this level. He's never a RB in a million years and as athletic and strong as he is, he isn't good enough technically to play central midfield.

Basically I've no idea where he plays.

30-12-2023, 09:14 PM
I think I must be alone in thinking the Delferriere still has something to offer.

He’ll be 22 in March. There are occasional late bloomers but he’s in Sam Stanton & Danny Handling territory IMO.

30-12-2023, 09:16 PM
He’ll be 22 in March. There are occasional late bloomers but he’s in Sam Stanton & Danny Handling territory IMO.

I’d take Stanton back tomorrow.

Greenio
30-12-2023, 09:20 PM
I still think Vente is a very talented footballer, the trouble being is that he's not playing in a role that he's suited to. Unfortunately his recent body language suggests that he's not exactly a happy bunny.

Body language?

30-12-2023, 09:30 PM
Do you think we’ll offer Paul and Lewis coaching roles at the club ? I think that’s an option for both. Would be a great move by the club for me, both ultimate professionals and could see them doing a great job in the Academy.

Not sure if it will happen or not, I wouldn't be against it either to be honest.

Both players have wives and young families and I don't know what kind of money our Academy pays.

I haven't heard of any contract talks for either but that doesn't mean to say they haven't happened.

FWIW I would wager that one or both of Paul's laddies will play for Hibs down the line.

30-12-2023, 09:30 PM

No, I think he has something to offer in midfield.

Not sure any of our midfielders (including arguably Joe Newell) really have what it takes to thrive in a 442 though.

supermcginn
30-12-2023, 10:01 PM

He's a better passer of the ball than Campbell.

30-12-2023, 10:15 PM
Body language?

Looks *issed off.

Keepthefaith
30-12-2023, 10:18 PM
Looks *issed off.

He was pissed off playing under LJ and said as much after he left, referred to the ball being pumped forward too much whereas he needs it played to feet

He's still adapting. Balls not dropping for him recently he could really have done with that shot against hearts going in rather than being blocked for the penalty 🙄

Scotty Leither
30-12-2023, 11:06 PM
One player with an Australian connection I’d like to sign is Jason Cummings. Worth a goal in the Derby fixture for a start.

Cat Stanton
30-12-2023, 11:10 PM
He's a better passer of the ball than Campbell.

A one-legged sheep is a better passer of the ball than Campbell.

Cat Stanton
30-12-2023, 11:11 PM
Are there any actual real transfer rumours?

30-12-2023, 11:27 PM
One player with an Australian connection I’d like to sign is Jason Cummings. Worth a goal in the Derby fixture for a start.

Firm agree :agree:

31-12-2023, 01:54 AM

Totally agree re: Vente, I’ve rarely been so frustrated as a Hibs supporter as I am in terms of how we play Dylan. I firmly believe that he’s as good a finisher as Shankland and Miovski, but we create next to nothing for him.

It was different earlier in the season - he scored with his first five shots for us and has barely missed the target with a chance since. However, we’ve barely carved anything out for him in recent weeks.

Any striker devoid of service will struggle to score - Kyogo is as prolific a striker as we’ve seen in the SPL, but his goal today made it 3 in 15 games for him. He’s not been missing chances, he’s been devoid of service.

If Vente was missing loads of chances I’d have concerns, but he’s barely had a sniff in recent weeks.

31-12-2023, 02:03 AM

Doesn’t make him a bad player but his penalty miss today was one of the worst I’ve ever seen.

Halmyre Hibee
31-12-2023, 08:13 AM
https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/exclusive-gillingham-midfielder-dom-jefferies-wanted-by-hibernian-in-january-transfer-swoop/

31-12-2023, 08:15 AM
https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/exclusive-gillingham-midfielder-dom-jefferies-wanted-by-hibernian-in-january-transfer-swoop/

Hibs currently sit in sixth position in the Scottish Premiership table under manager Jack Ross, and they are said to be keen to sign Jefferies to add to their midfield options when the transfer window opens.

31-12-2023, 08:17 AM

Apparently Jack Ross is still our manager, it’s 2019, we’ve not had the pandemic and everything is OK. It’s a miracle!

31-12-2023, 08:22 AM
Sounds like the type of left field signing teams like motherwell and st Mirren make and we usually scratch our head thinking why are we not finding these guys.

Time to cut out the middle man.

31-12-2023, 08:22 AM

Well it’s a rumour I suppose.

Remember when we used to have midfielders who shot and scored goals and stuff, that’s what I really crave from this transfer window. Even if it’s an attacking midfielder that plays as a number 10.

This guy might be decent so it’s not a pop at him, I’m just not convinced he appears to be what we are needing.

31-12-2023, 08:26 AM

Plays in a 4-4-2.

31-12-2023, 08:54 AM
I know nothing about jefferies but had a search on Twitter and Gillingham fans love him.

Saying he’s their best player, full of energy,commitment and just an all round midfielder.

Sounds exactly like what some have been calling out for

31-12-2023, 08:58 AM

I feel like we get linked to these kinds of players all the time by similar EFL sites but never actually sign them

31-12-2023, 09:19 AM
Nisbet and Farrell who have both been linked with us linked up well together for a goal this morning

https://x.com/aleaguemen/status/1741377702798729636?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

big gogs
31-12-2023, 09:23 AM
No disrespect to both players,great professionals,cup winners etc.but how many coaches do we need,can the club afford more coaches.could their salaries go towards another player or two.i have nothing against them,but the club cannot be run on sentiment.

31-12-2023, 09:27 AM
Nisbet and Farrell who have both been linked with us linked up well together for a goal this morning

https://x.com/aleaguemen/status/1741377702798729636?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Farrell MOM.

Commentary said that earlier Farrell had said pre match when asked about the remainder of the season….along the lines of as long as he is with The Mariners he will do his very best for them, but he does have ambitions to play overseas.

Sounds like he’s going……somewhere

31-12-2023, 09:32 AM
No disrespect to both players,great professionals,cup winners etc.but how many coaches do we need,can the club afford more coaches.could their salaries go towards another player or two.i have nothing against them,but the club cannot be run on sentiment.

I think they are already coaching.

Lmc2105
31-12-2023, 09:33 AM
Dubai isn’t that far from Australia :greengrin

31-12-2023, 09:50 AM
I think they are already coaching.

Stevenson did an interview a year or so ago, said he knew he was in his twilight years and seen his job as helping Doig and Mackie improve, wouldn't be surprised if Lewis joined Daz as an U18 coach.

31-12-2023, 09:56 AM
Plays in a 4-4-2.

Thought no team plays 442 anymore :greengrin

31-12-2023, 09:57 AM
Dubai isn’t that far from Australia :greengrin

Sorry if I’m being an idiot but what’s the relevance of Dubai?

31-12-2023, 10:00 AM
Sorry if I’m being an idiot but what’s the relevance of Dubai?

Rumour is Hibs are going to a winter training camp in Dubai?

31-12-2023, 10:04 AM
I know nothing about jefferies but had a search on Twitter and Gillingham fans love him.

Saying he’s their best player, full of energy,commitment and just an all round midfielder.

Sounds exactly like what some have been calling out for

Dom Jefferies' Gillingham League Two Stats 2023-

Appearances

Average Minutes Per Game

Goals

Assists

Shots Per Game

Touches Per Game

Pass Accuracy

85%

Interceptions Per Game

Tackles Per Game

Successful Dribbles Per Game

Duels Won Per Game

Possession Lost Per Game

Stats As Of December 30, 2023 -

31-12-2023, 10:09 AM
An Aberdeen fan has pulled some stats out on
Nisbet
Docherty
Baccus
O'Hara

All players who have been mentioned on here.

https://twitter.com/AberIytics/status/1741091454175379632?t=Bfbq1F3fRGkOVcdXoHQBrA&s=19

31-12-2023, 10:19 AM
Remember when we used to have midfielders who shot and scored goals and stuff, that’s what I really crave from this transfer window. Even if it’s an attacking midfielder that plays as a number 10..
Josh Campbell has 5 in 13 games.

Chipper1875
31-12-2023, 10:28 AM
Rumour is Hibs are going to a winter training camp in Dubai?

Yes they are . Playing a couple of games . Think head out on the 9th

31-12-2023, 10:34 AM

Has he scored that many? Transfermarkt says 3 and in one of those it was when he was playing as a forward off the front man in the game against St Mirren so gets that one chalked off as a goal scoring midfielder 😂

Tbh even if you’re right, he’s just not someone I have ever taken to. Too many games pass him by and very poor passer of the ball. He does have a knack of being on the right place at the right time which he deserves credit for, too many matches he’s a man down when we’re in possession for me though.

31-12-2023, 10:36 AM
Has he scored that many? Transfermarkt says 3 and in one of those it was when he was playing as a forward off the front man in the game against St Mirren so gets that one chalked off as a goal scoring midfielder 😂

Tbh even if you’re right, he’s just not someone I have ever taken to. Too many games pass him by and very poor passer of the ball. He does have a knack of being on the right place at the right time which he deserves credit for, too many matches he’s a man down when we’re in possession for me though.
You could be right I took it from wiki

CentreForward
31-12-2023, 10:36 AM
Can’t really see how we can criticise Vente. He’s clearly a class act but we aren’t using him as we should be. He needs to be in and around the box much more.We need to utilise him properly and then I am sure we will see him scoring again. Plenty of other good names being mentioned as possible signings. They mostly sound like players who could really enhance the squad but it often seems to be the Hibs way that we end up stifling these sort of players ability and not getting the best out of them.

31-12-2023, 11:03 AM

Maybe the “and stuff” part of Bingo’s post meant the ability to find a teammate with a simple pass.

31-12-2023, 11:05 AM
Maybe the “and stuff” part of Bingo’s post meant the ability to find a teammate with a simple pass.

Maybe.

31-12-2023, 11:31 AM

Aye, I don’t like to be too harsh on Campbell as I recognise the amount of goals he gets can’t be down to pure luck and he’s clearly got something. His effort levels can’t ever be doubted either.

Just my opinion but the only position Campbell could play for us is as a number 10 off the front man. Again though, for me, I want our number 10 to be a classy Latapy or a Darren Jackson type rather than a grafter.

31-12-2023, 11:35 AM
Can’t really see how we can criticise Vente. He’s clearly a class act but we aren’t using him as we should be. He needs to be in and around the box much more.We need to utilise him properly and then I am sure we will see him scoring again. Plenty of other good names being mentioned as possible signings. They mostly sound like players who could really enhance the squad but it often seems to be the Hibs way that we end up stifling these sort of players ability and not getting the best out of them.

Whilst I agree Vente needs to play higher up and we need need to create more chances for him, I still think he needs to do more too.

He’s shown he has the ability to take a good touch and link the play but he’s not done that as effectively lately imo.

I’m actually quite excited at seeing him and Doidge up top as think that may allow him to play more of his own game

31-12-2023, 11:40 AM
Whilst I agree Vente needs to play higher up and we need need to create more chances for him, I still think he needs to do more too.

He’s shown he has the ability to take a good touch and link the play but he’s not done that as effectively lately imo.

I’m actually quite excited at seeing him and Doidge up top as think that may allow him to play more of his own game

One of the first steps to creating more chances would be changing the formation but that's not going to happen. We could do with getting Youan back in the XI, preferably left wing. He's the best option we have for getting to the byline and pulling the ball back across.

No doubt tavares has done well since coming back in but Youan delivers more despite his inconsistencies.

31-12-2023, 11:48 AM
Bit of a Greggs moment but my mate text Dhanda’s Uncle yesterday and told him to get him to Hearts. The reply was “Hibs are in for him”.

Think he’s got family who stay in Woodburn, Dalkeith

31-12-2023, 12:22 PM
Bit of a Greggs moment but my mate text Dhanda’s Uncle yesterday and told him to get him to Hearts. The reply was “Hibs are in for him”.

Contract up in the summer.

Victor
31-12-2023, 12:27 PM
Does the transfer window, blow open; creak open, or what?

31-12-2023, 12:31 PM

Who knows? But it definitely slams shut! :greengrin

gegs70
31-12-2023, 12:34 PM
No, I think he has something to offer in midfield.

Not sure any of our midfielders (including arguably Joe Newell) really have what it takes to thrive in a 442 though.

Joe newell has done well,but our midfield needs cleared out and restarted been poor for a long time.

gegs70
31-12-2023, 12:36 PM
Who knows? But it definitely slams shut! :greengrin

It closes to the Indiana Jones theme tune just as Iain Gordon grabs his hat at the last minute.....

31-12-2023, 01:10 PM

Along with pretty much all our players over the past 5 and a bit years I’ve found it hard to make my mind up about him as he has clear qualities and has had very good games hidden amongst weaknesses in his game and a lot of rubbish performances too.

31-12-2023, 01:14 PM

Swings, always swings open

Cat Stanton
31-12-2023, 01:24 PM
Could we sign the Arbroath 'keeper as a striker? What a goal yesterday!

Victor
31-12-2023, 01:26 PM
Swings, always swings open

Like that. You only sign when you’re swinging.

Dmas
31-12-2023, 01:35 PM

I like dhanda can’t see him playing in a 2 man midfield though

31-12-2023, 01:40 PM
I like dhanda can’t see him playing in a 2 man midfield though

Think he’d be either wide cutting in or the one that plays up with Vente and then drops off like Campbell did.

I’m unsure about Dhanda overall though, seems to have ability and scores some screamers but alot of his game seems to be touch and just whipping a cross in.

Probably an instruction from county though with white being in the box, hopefully can mix it up a bit more with us

31-12-2023, 01:43 PM
It closes to the Indiana Jones theme tune just as Iain Gordon grabs his hat at the last minute.....

Pooper scooper would probably be more appropriate than hat tbf…

31-12-2023, 03:03 PM

Now that’s a rumour 👏

Hibees1973
31-12-2023, 03:07 PM

Yes, you are alone.

Hibees1973
31-12-2023, 03:11 PM

I like Dhanda.

One like him in the team is enough. Problem we have is that we have quite a few show ponies just now. On current form Tavares, Youan and Boyle are three such ponies we already have.

31-12-2023, 04:23 PM
Dhanda isn't good enough.

Frequently on the bench or subbed by County.

31-12-2023, 04:34 PM
I’m still confused as to why delfierre got a 3 year contract extention and never gets started

Dont understand that one personally

31-12-2023, 04:52 PM
Dhanda isn't good enough.

Frequently on the bench or subbed by County.

Averages 70 minutes a game for Ross County in the league.
Still not convinced he's a Hibs type player.

31-12-2023, 04:56 PM
I’m still confused as to why delfierre got a 3 year contract extention and never gets started

I don’t understand why he got a contract extention. If you needed an example of why scouting off just stats is a bad idea, he’s your man.

All the physical and technical attributes a footballer needs, but goes into a blind panic if something round goes within five feet of him.

31-12-2023, 04:58 PM

I’m the same, never really gave it much thought until last night but i can’t stop thinking about it now.

Assuming he was showing more in training than we’ve seen on the pitch, why not just give him a 1 year deal?

Scotty Leither
31-12-2023, 04:59 PM

True…we hand out a lot of deals like that. Henderson too, when he signed him he couldn’t make the starting lineup at Ross County or Dunfermline - he’s on a 3-year deal too, isn’t he?

I hope if the investment goes ahead we can bite the bullet and pay 6 or 7 off with a mutual agreement.

Biggest January in years looming. I hope we get it right.

Torto7
31-12-2023, 05:30 PM

He'll be cheap and can cover various positions plus he's young enough where he might put it all together and be a 1st team player. He's pretty low risk.

31-12-2023, 05:31 PM
He'll be cheap and can cover various positions plus he's young enough where he might put it all together and be a 1st team player. He's pretty low risk.

Unless he was injured, 3 younger Hibs players than him were on the bench against Hearts

31-12-2023, 05:42 PM
True…we hand out a lot of deals like that. Henderson too, when he signed him he couldn’t make the starting lineup at Ross County or Dunfermline - he’s on a 3-year deal too, isn’t he?

I hope if the investment goes ahead we can bite the bullet and pay 6 or 7 off with a mutual agreement.

I'm not convinced a lot will happen in January

31-12-2023, 05:50 PM
I'm not convinced a lot will happen in January

Much as I think we’re pish at the moment, I don’t think we need loads to happen. A couple of good players, that go right in to the team, would make a big difference. Particularly a centre half who is capable of organising the rest of them for me. Saw it last year, one experienced player in Jeggo and one good player in CJ made a massive difference.

31-12-2023, 05:57 PM
Much as I think we’re pish at the moment, I don’t think we need loads to happen. A couple of good players, that go right in to the team, would make a big difference. Particularly a centre half who is capable of organising the rest of them for me. Saw it last year, one experienced player in Jeggo and one good player in CJ made a massive difference.

We desperately need a creative midfielder in there with Newell, a good midfield would do wonders for the defence and frontline. A right back too.

Rumble de Thump
31-12-2023, 06:04 PM
We'll be bringing in at least a couple of players to cover for players we're losing to the AFCON and Asia Cup. I'm sure Monty said we were looking at players who were soon to be out of contract. If we're signing any players like that maybe we can agree deals to being them in sooner rather than later. Some players may go out of loan. Would be good for Murray Johnson to get a chance on loan somwhere again.

31-12-2023, 06:47 PM

Remember though that Martin Boyle was doing little enough for Dundee that they thought a swap for Alex Harris would be good business.

Just because a player isn’t necessarily standing out where he is doesn’t mean they won’t join us and be effective.

Hibs4185
31-12-2023, 07:01 PM

In the champions league (after the takeover) do you not need so many homegrown players??

31-12-2023, 08:13 PM
Livingston FC is delighted to announce the signing of Australian striker Tete Yengi from Ipswich Town.

The 6ft 5in, 23 year old arrives in West Lothian from Portman Road having just completed a loan spell with Finnish top-flight club KuPS where he played in this season's UEFA Europa Conference League.

Welcome to the Lions, Tete! 🦁

🖥️ livingstonfc.co.uk/welcome-tete-y…

31-12-2023, 08:21 PM
Livingston FC is delighted to announce the signing of Australian striker Tete Yengi from Ipswich Town.

The 6ft 5in, 23 year old arrives in West Lothian from Portman Road having just completed a loan spell with Finnish top-flight club KuPS where he played in this season's UEFA Europa Conference League.

6ft5!!! He wouldn’t fit in Primark.

Bridge hibs
31-12-2023, 08:21 PM

🖥️ livingstonfc.co.uk/welcome-tete-y…16 games for Northampton and 0 goals with 1 goal scored playing a similar amount of games in Finland, he is quite tall though similar to their other striker Nouble who many on here were eager to sign

31-12-2023, 08:33 PM

They’ve signed the wrong Yengi!

PHeffernan
31-12-2023, 08:51 PM
They’ve signed the wrong Yengi!

They couldn't afford his older brother.
Younger brother has technical ability but plays by the numbers and won't get the time on the ball he still needs in the SPL.
Will develop and do okay in the Championship next season.

31-12-2023, 09:02 PM
16 games for Northampton and 0 goals with 1 goal scored playing a similar amount of games in Finland, he is quite tall though similar to their other striker Nouble who many on here were eager to sign

Yengi will have a good game against Hibs, ragdolling Paul Hanlon about the place and we'll have calls to sign him for the next three transfer windows along with Omeonga.

31-12-2023, 09:04 PM
Yengi will have a good game against Hibs, ragdolling Paul Hanlon about the place and we'll have calls to sign him for the next three transfer windows along with Omeonga.

To be honest, if we want to sign every player that ragdolls Paul Hanlon, we're going to have a long shopping list!

31-12-2023, 10:28 PM
They couldn't afford his older brother.
Younger brother has technical ability but plays by the numbers and won't get the time on the ball he still needs in the SPL.
Will develop and do okay in the Championship next season.

I dunno mate, tbh I can’t remember seeing him kick a ball.

I know from Mr Google he had a few runs with Newcastle Jets as a youth a few years ago before somehow ending up at Ipswich, before in turn being loaned out to various outposts, but he certainly isn’t on the radar of most A League followers I reckon.

I never knew his brother who is with Portsmouth, had a brother….and when I saw the headline ‘Livingston sign Yengi’ my immediate reaction was of the WTF! variety!!

Will be interesting to see if he manages to score a few goals in the SPL…..he certainly doesn’t seem to be a prolific scorer anywhere else by any means.

Hibee Daft
31-12-2023, 11:29 PM
We signed anyone yet?

01-01-2024, 01:59 AM
We signed anyone yet?

Griffiths but we may be waiting for international clearance

01-01-2024, 07:20 AM
Griffiths but we may be waiting for international clearance

Joking aside..the Oz transfer window doesn’t open until January 11, so presumably we’ll have to wait until then for confirmation of any additions from Oz.

01-01-2024, 07:56 AM
Joking aside..the Oz transfer window doesn’t open until January 11, so presumably we’ll have to wait until then for confirmation of any additions from Oz.

I thought it was the buying clubs window that mattered - GOC went to Russia when our window was closed but theirs was open, didn’t he? :dunno:

01-01-2024, 08:00 AM

The dates of the Aus transfer window don’t matter.

01-01-2024, 08:31 AM
The dates of the Aus transfer window don’t matter.

Good!

Torto7
01-01-2024, 11:09 AM
16 games for Northampton and 0 goals with 1 goal scored playing a similar amount of games in Finland, he is quite tall though similar to their other striker Nouble who many on here were eager to sign

That'll help the standard of the league go up.:rolleyes:

I'm in two minds about Livvy. On one hand it's easy to get to and we always take a big support on the other they add absolutely nothing to the league and Martindale is a jakey *** version of Craig Levein so Craig Levein basically.

01-01-2024, 11:13 AM
That'll help the standard of the league go up.:rolleyes:

I'm in two minds about Livvy. On one hand it's easy to get to and we always take a big support on the other they add absolutely nothing to the league and Martindale is a jakey *** version of Craig Levein so Craig Levein basically.
They'll be replaced by Dundee United or Raith, both are good trips and will bring more to the top flight especially DU

01-01-2024, 12:16 PM
They'll be replaced by Dundee United or Raith, both are good trips and will bring more to the top flight especially DU

Raith would bring another plastic pitch. I hope they stay down.

01-01-2024, 12:41 PM
DR Reporting sevco are in for Josh Doig.

01-01-2024, 12:42 PM
DR Reporting second are in for Josh Doig.
He’d be better signing for first. :greengrin

01-01-2024, 12:45 PM
DR Reporting sevco are in for Josh Doig.

Bit of a windfall for us then if it comes off.

01-01-2024, 12:50 PM
The ever recurring transfer :greengrin

VoltaireHibs
01-01-2024, 01:05 PM

Not sure we'll get that much tbh. Say they pay 4 million, does our percentage not amount to anything over the original 3 million fee, so 30% of 1 million say? Not nothing but not huge. Can't see Sevco paying much more than that.

01-01-2024, 01:15 PM
Not sure we'll get that much tbh. Say they pay 4 million, does our percentage not amount to anything over the original 3 million fee, so 30% of 1 million say? Not nothing but not huge. Can't see Sevco paying much more than that.

Seen reports of Leeds and Torino being interested also.

01-01-2024, 01:17 PM
Liverpool have recalled Owen Beck .

01-01-2024, 01:26 PM
Liverpool have recalled Owen Beck .

Interesting. Maybe heading to a Championship club. Looked a player.

01-01-2024, 01:28 PM

Yep..seen this story about Doig regularly rerun more times than I’ve seen Love Actually

01-01-2024, 01:35 PM

Levitt?

01-01-2024, 01:36 PM

Sevco heard the fee was 5M but they think that's Italian lira....

Sioux
01-01-2024, 01:38 PM
Interesting. Maybe heading to a Championship club. Looked a player.

Roberson and now Tsimikas are both injured. I doubt he'll be going anywhere.

01-01-2024, 01:39 PM
Levitt?

So far he’s definitely not an improvement. Just another in a long line of central midfielders who don’t offer enough. One assist and zero goals so far.

01-01-2024, 01:41 PM
Roberson and now Tsimikas are both injured. I doubt he'll be going anywhere.

Robertson expected back this month though I’m sure? If he plays for Liverpool can he go back out on loan later in the window?

ElginHibbie
01-01-2024, 01:44 PM
Robertson expected back this month though I’m sure? If he plays for Liverpool can he go back out on loan later in the window?

Would only be able to go back to Dundee as think can only play for 2 clubs in a season

May be different rules if registering with different FAs though

01-01-2024, 02:32 PM

Didn’t Steven Fletcher make money for Hibs for 2 or 3 transfers after he left us?

01-01-2024, 02:34 PM

That’s not something I’ve ever heard of, I thought it was taken off the fee paid at the time, so it would be 30% of the £4m say, which would be £1.2m.

bringbackbenny
01-01-2024, 02:49 PM
That’s not something I’ve ever heard of, I thought it was taken off the fee paid at the time, so it would be 30% of the £4m say, which would be £1.2m.

Interesting, I thought the percentage was only applied to sum over and above the original fee

01-01-2024, 02:56 PM
So far he’s definitely not an improvement. Just another in a long line of central midfielders who don’t offer enough. One assist and zero goals so far.

It is a bit difficult when they are regularly being outnumbered in that department.

01-01-2024, 03:07 PM
Interesting, I thought the percentage was only applied to sum over and above the original fee

I think there are different clauses depending on the deal, some will be a percentage of the profit and others a percentage of the fee.

01-01-2024, 03:18 PM
It is a bit difficult when they are regularly being outnumbered in that department.

He's nowhere near Hibs' standard

01-01-2024, 03:25 PM

Who is? And what is Hibs standard?

01-01-2024, 03:28 PM

I remember Hibs standards in the late sixties, until the mid-seventies, precious few occasions since then.

01-01-2024, 05:09 PM
Seen reports of Leeds and Torino being interested also.

I hope he goes to one of them. I don't want to dislike Josh Doig, but anyone associated with that club is worthy of an intense dislike.

01-01-2024, 05:10 PM
Didn’t Steven Fletcher make money for Hibs for 2 or 3 transfers after he left us?
Yip, but he actually got transferred.

thebausburst
01-01-2024, 07:00 PM
Some talk of CJ Egan Riley possibly coming back, would be great if there is anything in it, personally I’ve heard nothing.

01-01-2024, 07:06 PM
Some talk of CJ Egan Riley possibly coming back, would be great if there is anything in it, personally I’ve heard nothing.

Egan-Riley would instantly be the best right back at the club. Would improve us right away.

01-01-2024, 07:10 PM
I’d prob play Egan Riley in midfield to be honest

In a 3 but that’s not going to happen any time soon

01-01-2024, 07:17 PM

Some talk where?

Paul1642
01-01-2024, 07:29 PM
Remember though that Martin Boyle was doing little enough for Dundee that they thought a swap for Alex Harris would be good business.

Just because a player isn’t necessarily standing out where he is doesn’t mean they won’t join us and be effective.

That particular deal goes a bit against the norm. Generally signing a player who’s not standing out for a Scottish team (not including old firm) doesn’t work out for us. Boyle signed for us 9 years ago (scary) and there aren’t really any examples of this since.

We’ve also seen plenty players who are standing out where they are suddenly become a bit crap when they sign for Hibs.

Also worth noting about that deal that Harris had looked fantastic up untill his injury vs Motherwell and was well worth a punt from Dundees perspective.

01-01-2024, 07:30 PM
That particular deal goes a bit against the norm. Generally signing a player who’s not standing out for a Scottish team (not including old firm) doesn’t work out for us. Boyle signed for us 9 years ago (scary) and there aren’t really any examples of this since.

We’ve also seen plenty players who are standing out where they are suddenly become a bit crap when they sign for Hibs.

Also worth noting about that deal that Harris had looked fantastic up untill his injury vs Motherwell and was well worth a punt from Dundees perspective.

McGinn

Paul1642
01-01-2024, 07:35 PM
McGinn

Was he not one of St Mirren best players in a division above us? I didn’t really pay attention to the SPFL whilst we were out of it to be honest.

ElginHibbie
01-01-2024, 07:47 PM
Was he not one of St Mirren best players in a division above us? I didn’t really pay attention to the SPFL whilst we were out of it to be honest.

Was a good player in a team that were relegated

Stokesy's on fire
01-01-2024, 08:55 PM

He looked the real deal would have him back no bother

Hibees1973
01-01-2024, 09:18 PM
Just heard a rumour from a decent source there has been a bid put in for Joe Newell.

There was an offer for him in the summer but Hibs rejected it (around £800k) but the same club have come back again.

Yorkshire championship club. Possibly Huddersfield Town or Sheffield Wednesday.

Paul1642
01-01-2024, 09:23 PM
Just heard a rumour from a decent source there has been a bid put in for Joe Newell.

There was an offer for him in the summer but Hibs rejected it (around £800k) but the same club have come back again.

If there’s any truth in this then their bid wants to be around 4 times that amount. He’s our best player right now and still in contract.

01-01-2024, 09:27 PM

Anything towards £2m and up I’d be l inclined to take, especially as Newell is now 30, if I had any faith we could use the money wisely to finally fix the midfield. As it is the thought of selling our only decent midfielder is a scary prospect.

01-01-2024, 09:28 PM
If there’s any truth in this then their bid wants to be around 4 times that amount. He’s our best player right now and still in contract.

Whilst I don’t disagree on Newell’s value to our team at the moment, nobody is bidding 3 million odd quid for him.

01-01-2024, 09:29 PM

One of these clubs are more than likely getting relegated. Not sure Sheffield Wednesday have £800k to spend on a player, if that's the kind of money we are talking about.

01-01-2024, 09:32 PM

If we sell Newell I'll be honest I'd be worried. Captain, best player and about the only player that gets us right now.

Hope it's not true. Showed how much we missed him in Perth

Paul1642
01-01-2024, 09:33 PM
Whilst I don’t disagree on Newell’s value to our team at the moment, nobody is bidding 3 million odd quid for him.

If the talked about investment is in fact coming then one of the first things that needs to change is Hibs not selling our best players unless the deal is too good to turn down. Selling Newell for any less than 2 million would be poor business.

01-01-2024, 09:33 PM
I’d bite your hand off for £1 million quid for newell

30 year old who like the rest of the squad is very hot and cold

If that money is re-invested we could get 2/3 decent players in for that

I like Newell but if your getting that amount of money for him, sorry but see you later.

Paul1642
01-01-2024, 09:35 PM

This is great in theory but in my lifetime of watching Hibs has never come to fruition.

Also we could get one, maximum two players even close to 1st team level for that money. Factor in Tax, wages, agent fees and signing fees it’s gonna be 1.

01-01-2024, 09:41 PM
This is great in theory but in my lifetime of watching Hibs has never come to fruition.

Also we could get 1, maximum two players for that money. Factor in Tax, wages, agent fees and signing fees it’s gonna be 1.

Sadly I agree

Has to happen one time, surely

I’d take Baccus, Ohara, beck if it meant losing newell

01-01-2024, 09:43 PM

I like Newell but if your getting that amount of money for him, sorry but see you later.

I’m no quite sure I’d bite anyones hand off for that as I think he’s our only reasonably consistent midfielder. But I do think talk of a multi million pound fee for him is mad, it’s never going to happen. There might come a point where he wants to get back down the road as well if there was a bid in from a team closer to home. All a bit hypothetical obviously and I think he’ll be about for a while yet.

01-01-2024, 09:45 PM
Montgomery saying he wants 4 in.

01-01-2024, 09:48 PM

Would be lunacy to sell him in the January window, would bite us in the erchie big time.

01-01-2024, 09:51 PM
I’m no quite sure I’d bite anyones hand off for that as I think he’s our only reasonably consistent midfielder. But I do think talk of a multi million pound fee for him is mad, it’s never going to happen. There might come a point where he wants to get back down the road as well if there was a bid in from a team closer to home. All a bit hypothetical obviously and I think he’ll be about for a while yet.

I agree with you

However the description of reasonably Consistant description is what I strive for hibs to get away from

We want better

Those standards more so with foley should be deemed not acceptable

Fingers crossed

01-01-2024, 09:52 PM
Would be lunacy to sell him in the January window, would bite us in the erchie big time.

I agree, if that offer is there come summer however….

01-01-2024, 09:57 PM
If we sell Newell I'll be honest I'd be worried. Captain, best player and about the only player that gets us right now.

You don't think Boyle, hanlon or Stevenson "get us"?

badabing67
01-01-2024, 10:02 PM

Rotherham is in South Yorkshire was that not where we got him from.

01-01-2024, 10:03 PM
I'd be gutted if Newell left, he's a player I really like and when he's good, we're good. We need to be keeping our best players until we've got better to come in.

01-01-2024, 10:04 PM
Sadly I agree

You'd take two midfielders who are worse than Newell if it meant losing Newell?

01-01-2024, 10:06 PM
You don't think Boyle, hanlon or Stevenson "get us"?

'About the only player' I said.

01-01-2024, 10:09 PM
Sadly I agree

Baccus and Ohara couldn’t lace Newells boots

badabing67
01-01-2024, 10:09 PM
I'd be gutted if Newell left, he's a player I really like and when he's good, we're good. We need to be keeping our best players until we've got better to come in.

I don't think he wants to leave, I doubt he would leave us for one of those clubs anyway. Not unless its Leeds which I doubt.

01-01-2024, 10:13 PM
No danger I’d be selling Newell for 1 million.

He’s imo, one of our best and most consistent performers, a leader and we’re a much better team when he plays.

There’s no guarantees we’d find a replacement as good as him, especially for a fee of upto 1 million, and with that you’d have to pay the wages to go with it.

Guys of his quality are more achievable when they’re out of contract, there will be very few who fit that bracket in January.

We also have the foley money (hopefully coming), so we shouldn’t be selling our best players for that sort of sum when they’re worth more than that to the team.

01-01-2024, 10:15 PM

2/3 decent players for a million 🤷*♂️ Armstrong from Killie would improve our midfield but we need to be keeping our best players and adding some quality, not selling arguably our best midfielder.

01-01-2024, 10:17 PM

Did I say they could?

01-01-2024, 10:26 PM

Wonder if it could be Hull. If they were to make a good financial offer plus throw in Docherty it may be more appealing to some?

Think Docherty is out the picture down there, he could be a decent replacement for Newell so if he was to come in plus we were to get some cash to spend it might not be the worst deal in the world.

01-01-2024, 10:28 PM
Wonder if it could be Hull. If they were to make a good financial offer plus throw in Docherty it may be more appealing to some?

Think Docherty is out the picture down there, he could be a decent replacement for Newell so if he was to come in plus we were to get some cash to spend it might not be the worst deal in the world.

There’s absolutely no way they’d be offering money plus Doherty, who probably has a higher market value than Newell.

We shouldn’t be selling our best player and captain.

01-01-2024, 10:32 PM
There’s absolutely no way they’d be offering money plus Doherty, who probably has a higher market value than Newell.

We shouldn’t be selling our best player and captain.

He’s out of contract in the summer and sounds like he’s not getting a new deal, I’ve really no idea but I wouldn’t have thought it would be out of the question.

01-01-2024, 10:35 PM
He’s out of contract in the summer and sounds like he’s not getting a new deal, I’ve really no idea but I wouldn’t have thought it would be out of the question.

Aye, fair point. Didn’t know his contract situation 👍

badabing67
01-01-2024, 10:53 PM

He is out of contract in May 2025

01-01-2024, 11:04 PM
Barry bannan out of contract in summer , need creativity

01-01-2024, 11:08 PM

Wow! Love to know the players better than Joe we would replace him with.

Some people are not going to realise his worth to us until he is no longer here.

Best player. Captain. Leader. Must stay.

PHeffernan
01-01-2024, 11:27 PM
If the talked about investment is in fact coming then one of the first things that needs to change is Hibs not selling our best players unless the deal is too good to turn down. Selling Newell for any less than 2 million would be poor business.

Newell is 31 in 2 months and has only 17 months left on his contract.
Based on that a million quid would be good business but can't see it when replacements are hard to find in January.

PHeffernan
01-01-2024, 11:36 PM
Barry bannan out of contract in summer , need creativity

He's already 34. His best days are behind him and the injury years beckon.

Greenio
02-01-2024, 01:34 AM
Wouldn't want Newell to go mid season. Summer maybe. I think he's great. But prob got to get used to Monty being able to build his own team. Also might be time Joe fancied a new challenge. Would miss his haircut tho

PHeffernan
02-01-2024, 02:08 AM
I dunno mate, tbh I can’t remember seeing him kick a ball.

I know from Mr Google he had a few runs with Newcastle Jets as a youth a few years ago before somehow ending up at Ipswich, before in turn being loaned out to various outposts, but he certainly isn’t on the radar of most A League followers I reckon.

I never knew his brother who is with Portsmouth, had a brother….and when I saw the headline ‘Livingston sign Yengi’ my immediate reaction was of the WTF! variety!!

Will be interesting to see if he manages to score a few goals in the SPL…..he certainly doesn’t seem to be a prolific scorer anywhere else by any means.

I hadn't heard of him either.
As ever Mr Youtube showed me lots of clips of him and informed my post.
He's pretty green so I think he will struggle to make an impact.

02-01-2024, 07:12 AM

Agree totally

02-01-2024, 08:15 AM
Lots of chat about manager and getting his own players in.

Whatever players come in during January must be starting players.

We have enough squad fillers and we will only progress if they are here to start regularly.

02-01-2024, 08:17 AM

We have enough squad fillers and we will only progress if they are here to start regularly.

Absolutely agree.

02-01-2024, 08:18 AM

Looking at what our bench is likely to be, I’m not sure we do have enough squad fillers?!

Agree with the general point though, I’m just being nippy.

02-01-2024, 08:21 AM
Looking at what our bench is likely to be, I’m not sure we do have enough squad fillers?!

Agree with the general point though, I’m just being nippy.

You know this but the idea is that the starters are relegated to the bench.

I am not expecting this to happen in January, but I look through the team and there’s almost no players I would think that the above can’t happen to.

If we get 4 players as per what Monty wants, who come in and put four of our current starters onto the bench then that is a great start.

Add to that the returns of Cadden and McKirdy, the bench could quickly become a very decent quality.

02-01-2024, 08:39 AM
Confirming interest in Josh Doig - Leeds have apparently made contact with Verona.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/leeds-united-hold-talks-over-hellas-verona-left-back-josh-doig/ar-AA1mlbxM?ocid=msedgntp&pc=HCTS&cvid=4a9ec91a76cd4d14a3eef33a131b3253&ei=23

02-01-2024, 08:50 AM
I know Newell loves it here but at 30, it could be one last big pay day for him, he's under contract so we can't force him, interesting.

02-01-2024, 08:55 AM
Selling Newell would be ridiculous,

When is it ever a good idea to sell your best player when you’re already struggling?

It’s not like we’d make enough money selling him to go improve multiple other issues in the squad

02-01-2024, 08:57 AM
Confirming interest in Josh Doig - Leeds have apparently made contact with Verona.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/leeds-united-hold-talks-over-hellas-verona-left-back-josh-doig/ar-AA1mlbxM?ocid=msedgntp&pc=HCTS&cvid=4a9ec91a76cd4d14a3eef33a131b3253&ei=23

Think leeds would be a good move from a Hibs point of view as they’re probably more likely to pay the most amount of money.

02-01-2024, 09:04 AM

We're in a battle to finish top six. Selling Newell would be crazy. Unless he wants to move of course.

Leitherhibs
02-01-2024, 09:09 AM
Anyone heard any gossip on the below?

- Boruc away on loan to a Dutch Eerste Divisie side
- Wollacott been told he can go
- Megwa being recalled

02-01-2024, 09:14 AM
Newell is from Tamworth which is about 1 hour 30 from Sheffield.

Hull a bit further.

Don’t think Sheff Wednesday would spend £1 million on a 30 year old. Especially with the chance they could get relegated.

Bridge hibs
02-01-2024, 09:14 AM

- Megwa being recalledNot heard anything but most of that makes sense, however the Wollacott and Boruc deals Im unsure about, if both go we would only be left with Marshall and Johnston who appeared to be below Wollacott and Boruc in the pecking order. Will Johnston be no2 to Marshall then ?

JammyDoidger
02-01-2024, 09:48 AM
Hopefully at the very least we spend the Melkersen money. If we aren't going to spend it I'd rather we just kept him.

02-01-2024, 09:49 AM

- Megwa being recalled

So if that goes through we’re effectively looking at 2 of the 4 incoming players being goalkeepers?

Renfrew_Hibby
02-01-2024, 09:59 AM
Newell is from Tamworth which is about 1 hour 30 from Sheffield.

Hull a bit further.

Don’t think Sheff Wednesday would spend £1 million on a 30 year old. Especially with the chance they could get relegated.

Is Sheffield Wednesday not a financial basket case?

02-01-2024, 10:24 AM
Is Sheffield Wednesday not a financial basket case?

Yep. Be very surprised if they spent money on anyone.

The owner is wanting their fans to foot a £2m tax bill.

02-01-2024, 11:01 AM
Wow! Love to know the players better than Joe we would replace him with.

Some people are not going to realise his worth to us until he is no longer here.

Best player. Captain. Leader. Must stay.

Best player - yes, without a doubt, but that's not really saying much.

Captain - yes, the only player that has the ability to drive us forward, but doesn't happen often enough IMO

Leader - as Captain

Must stay - happy for him to stay, but we need better in the central midfield position. He's a class act, but I feel we need someone with more drive to speed the forward momentum.

I'd be happy to see Super Joe go, but only if that means better players coming in. If it's a JDH type player then I'd not be happy.

Fully agree! We typically have zero impact players on the bench, especially when he plays Boyle, Tavares and Youan from the start. I'd imagine that the latter two would start all games in January with Boyle away, so our only real option is bringing on Doidge, assuming the ineffectively used Vente starts.

02-01-2024, 11:16 AM
The thought that Joe Newell could be replaced just because we pick up £1 million or so is absolutely laughable. Always amazed me how folk get excited about bringing in a few quid.

The suggestion that he’s sellable and we could get 2/3 worthy replacements with the fee is rather confusing to say the least.

It’s the fact that he’s 30 and nearly out of contract that means we’d only get £1 million. That should tell you his worth. We build a team around him - not get rid of him.

Rumble de Thump
02-01-2024, 11:31 AM
How much did we pay for Joe Newell?

Hibs4185
02-01-2024, 11:36 AM
I used to be one of the biggest critics of Joe Newell but he has grown to become an important player for us.

Whether that is because he’s the best of a bad bunch in an average team or because he’s upped his levels.

Personally I’d take the money for him, purely because if we have an ambitions to be consistently third, we need to find players who can perform consistently 3-4 years and build a team around. JN isn’t that man due to his age.

Happy for him to stay but if it is a million, I think we would need to accept.

02-01-2024, 11:36 AM
The thought that Joe Newell could be replaced just because we pick up £1 million or so is absolutely laughable. Always amazed me how folk get excited about bringing in a few quid.

The suggestion that he’s sellable and we could get 2/3 worthy replacements with the fee is rather confusing to say the least.

It’s the fact that he’s 30 and nearly out of contract that means we’d only get £1 million. That should tell you his worth. We build a team around him - not get rid of him.

Yup. We are struggling just now so selling Newall before we have a replacement would be bonkers, and we can't talk about 2/3 players ready to walk into & improve the first team for that money.
Not sure we could afford to lose anyone just now, never mind Newall, if Boyle, Miller, Rocky and Wollacott are all off to the Asia & African tournaments in early January.

02-01-2024, 11:46 AM
Newell just bought a new house and settled up here be surprised if he goes

Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 11:46 AM

Absolutely. If we sold Newell for £1m I reckon we’d have about a 1 in 10 chance of replacing him with better and even then, it wouldn’t likely be significantly better. Nowhere near worth the gamble of selling him unless it’s silly money.

Scotty Leither
02-01-2024, 12:19 PM
I've grown to like Joe, one of the few players at Hibernian just now that "gets" the club and the fans, I think.

I think he'd be good at the base of a diamond with a couple of willing runners beside him and a creative midfielder in front of him - doubt we'll see that kind of player brought in this window though, or indeed if our current manager will ever be that adventurous in the way he sets up.

02-01-2024, 12:40 PM
I would very much doubt that any team would be willing to pay a million pounds for Newell. He's the best of our midfield but I'm still not hugely convinced by him. Tidy on the ball, rarely passes forward, competes well and retains possession, but often disappears from games.

02-01-2024, 12:48 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/67857803

Newell the only Hibs player in the lists for assists and tackles here. His importance is massively under appreciated by anyone who thinks he hides.

02-01-2024, 12:49 PM

- Megwa being recalled

Johnston on the bench ahead of Boruc today which suggests you might be right with that one.

cameronw-hfc
02-01-2024, 12:55 PM
I would very much doubt that any team would be willing to pay a million pounds for Newell. He's the best of our midfield but I'm still not hugely convinced by him. Tidy on the ball, rarely passes forward, competes well and retains possession, but often disappears from games.

Rarely ever hides or disappears.

Dmas
02-01-2024, 02:08 PM
https://x.com/joedonnohue/status/1742185224019079493?s=46&t=Q9xj1Of6Boq0Mkc1E67TtQ

Kris Moore defender at Leeds on loan CB RB LB he can play

Bridge hibs
02-01-2024, 02:17 PM
https://x.com/joedonnohue/status/1742185224019079493?s=46&t=Q9xj1Of6Boq0Mkc1E67TtQ

Kris Moore defender at Leeds on loan CB RB LB he can play Moore has impressed at youth level at Leeds United. His performances have been drawing plaudits from those at the club.

However, playing youth football only allows a player to develop so far. What young players such as Moore need is that step up to senior football.

The Leeds United youngster would get that step up if he moves on loan to Hibernian. It would see him playing at a level beyond what he’d experience if he stayed at Thorp Arch with the Whites youngsters.

In terms of both the player and Leeds United, this would be an excellent January move that would suit both parties. Time will tell if anything comes to fruition though.

02-01-2024, 02:17 PM

Kris Moore defender at Leeds on loan CB RB LB he can play

The YEP understands Hibs are keen to add at least one defender this month, while a handful of potential transfer targets were spotted at the Scottish club's training ground last week.

02-01-2024, 03:10 PM
The YEP understands Hibs are keen to add at least one defender this month, while a handful of potential transfer targets were spotted at the Scottish club's training ground last week.

Has anyone been hiding in the bushes at EM to identify these targets? :greengrin

02-01-2024, 03:23 PM
Squads ****ing terrible

Can we sign some proper defenders please

itslegaltender
02-01-2024, 03:43 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/67857803

Newell the only Hibs player in the lists for assists and tackles here. His importance is massively under appreciated by anyone who thinks he hides.

He did his usual hiding act today. We will never progress till we get shot of him.